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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF
COMMERCE AND INSURANCE
Division 700—Insurance Licensing
Chapter 6—Bail Bond Agents and
Surety Recovery Agents

20 CSR 700-6.100 Applications, Fees, and
Renewals—Bail Bond Agents, General Bail
Bond Agents, and Surety Recovery Agents

PURPOSE: This rule establishes initial and
renewal application requirements for bail
bond agents, general bail bond agents, and
surety recovery agents under sections
374.695-374.789, RSMo.

(1) Application Forms. The following forms
have been adopted and approved for filing
with the department:

(A) The Missouri Uniform Application For
Bail Bond or Surety Recovery License form
(Form B1), or any form which substantially
comports with the specified form, and;

(B) The Missouri Uniform Renewal
Application For Bail Bond or Surety
Recovery License form (Form BR), or any
form which substantially comports with the
specified form.

(2) Application and Fees.
(A) Initial License. The following shall be
included in an initial application for license:

1. Form B1 and attachments;

2. Payment of a licensing fee of one hun-
dred fifty dollars ($150); and

3. A fingerprint-based background
check through the Missouri Highway Patrol.

(B) Renewal License. The following shall
be included in a license renewal application:

1. Form BR and attachments;

2. Payment of a licensing renewal fee of
one hundred fifty dollars ($150) for the two-
(2-) year license; and

3. If not provided with the applicant’s
initial license application, a fingerprint-based
background check through the Missouri
Highway Patrol.

(3) Failure to Timely Apply for Renewal. If a
general bail bond agent, bail bond agent, or
surety recovery agent fails to file for renewal
of their license on or before the expiration
date, the department will collect a late fee of
twenty-five dollars ($25) per month or frac-
tion of a month after the renewal deadline.

(4) Availability of Forms. The department on
request will supply in printed format the
forms listed in this rule. Accurate reproduc-
tion of the forms may be utilized for filing in
lieu of the printed forms. All application
forms referenced herein are available at

http://www.insurance.mo.gov.

AUTHORITY: sections 374.045, 374.705,
374.710, 374.730, 374.783, and 374.786,
RSMo 2016, and sections 374.715 and
374.784, RSMo Supp. 2018.* Original rule
filed March 14, 1994, effective Sept. 30,
1994. Amended: Filed Sept. 14, 2004, effec-
tive March 30, 2005. Emergency amendment
filed Jan. 3, 2006, effective Jan. 13, 2006,
expired July 11, 2006. Amended: Filed Jan.
3, 2006, effective June 30, 2006. Amended:
Filed Nov. 30, 2007, effective July 30, 2008.
Amended: Filed March 8, 2019, effective
Sept. 30, 2019.

*Original authority: 374.045, RSMo 1967, amended 1993,
1995, 2008; 374.705, RSMo 1983, amended 1993, 2004;
374.710, RSMo 1983, amended 1995, 2004; 374.715,
RSMo 1983, amended 1997, 2004, 2018; 374.730, RSMo
1983, amended 2004; 374.783, RSMo 2004; 374.784,
RSMo 2004, 2018; and 374.786, RSMo 2004.

20 CSR 700-6.150 Initial Basic Training
for Bail Bond Agents, General Bail Bond
Agents and Surety Recovery Agents

PURPOSE: This rule outlines initial basic
training requirements for bail bond agents,
general bail bond agents, and surety recovery
agents under sections 374.710 and 374.784,
RSMo Supp. 2004.

(1) Initial Basic Training. Except as other-
wise provided by law, before an individual
may be licensed as a bail bond agent, gener-
al bail bond agent, or surety recovery agent
s/he must first fulfill the initial basic training
requirements set forth in sections 374.710
and 374.784, RSMo. The initial basic train-
ing must be completed within a twelve (12)-
month period prior to submitting an applica-
tion. The basic course of training shall con-
sist of a minimum of twenty-four (24) hours,
taught by personnel with qualifications
approved by the director and shall include
instruction in all of the following subject
areas:
(A) Areas of Law.

1. Statute: Chapter 374,
374.695 to 374.789, RSMo;

2. Statute: Chapter 544, RSMo—Aurrest,
Examination, Commitment and Bail;

3. Applicable federal and state constitu-
tional and case law, including, but not limit-
ed to:

A. Warrants/warrant procedures.

sections

E. Custody and transportation.
(B) Bail Bond Training.
1. Licensing.
A. Test procedures.
B. Regulation.
C. Terminology.
2. Documentation.
A. Power of Attorney.
B. Contracts: elements, classifica-
tions.
C. Certifications.
D. Revocation of bail.
E. Incarceration, surrender
release.
3. Missouri Supreme Court Rules:
33.17, 33.18, 33.19.
4. Rights of a bondsman.
A. History.
B. Powers.
C. Principles.
D. Practices.
5. Business etiquette.
A. Contracts.
B. Appearance.
C. Ethics.
(C) Surety Recovery Training.
1. Licensing.
A. Test procedures.
B. Regulation.
C. Terminology.
2. Documentation.
A. Contracts.
B. Authority.
(I) Warrants.
(II) Certifications.
(IIT) Extradition.
(IV) Incarceration and surrender.
3. Apprehension procedures.
A. Authority notification.
B. Techniques.
(D) Verification.
(II) Proper use of force.
(IIT) Self-identification.
(IV) Custody and transportation.
4. Legal liability.

and

(2) Authorized Educational Providers.

(A) Pending approval by the department
upon submission of an application for course
provider, the director shall grant authority to
public or private institutions, educational
organizations, associations or individuals to
provide the required initial basic training.
All course provider applications must include
a course outline and list of instructors, as pro-
vided herein. Applicants for course provider
must have demonstrated three (3) years prior
competent experience in the areas of instruc-
tion listed in section (1) of this rule.

(B) Each course provider and each course
must be approved by the director. Appli-
cation forms for this approval are available on

JOHN R. ASHCROFT
Secretary of State

(10/31/19)
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the department’s website at www.insur-
ance.mo.gov and at the department. In order
for the director to review applications for
approval, the following must be submitted:

1. The provider’s application must
include each instructor’s qualifications and a
listing of dates and times of all scheduled
courses. Upon approval of the course, notifi-
cation will be returned to the provider indi-
cating the course number assigned by the
department. Once approved, subsequent
courses with a schedule of dates and times the
course will be offered must be submitted thir-
ty (30) days prior to holding the course.

2. A course outline prepared by each
instructor which demonstrates the topics to
be taught and the time that will be devoted to
each topic. Course outlines shall indicate a
sufficient amount of time for each subject
area and must include all subjects as listed in
this section.

3. An application fee of one hundred
dollars ($100) must be submitted with the
provider and course application. Personal
checks are not accepted.

4. The cost per student for the twenty-
four (24)-hour initial basic training which
shall not exceed two hundred dollars ($200).

(C) All approved course providers shall
complete a class roster in the form approved
by the department indicating all course atten-
dees for each day classes are held which shall
be sent to the department within thirty (30)
days of completion of the course.

(D) Course providers shall present each
attendee with a Certificate of Completion of
Initial Basic Training upon the attendee’s suc-
cessful completion of the course, in the form
approved by the department.

(E) The department may audit the
approved courses at any time.

(F) Self-study courses in any format, or
electronic or telephone conference courses
shall not be eligible for approval for initial
basic training.

(G) Class roster and Certificate of
Completion of Initial Basic Training forms
are available on the department’s website at
www.insurance.mo.gov and at the depart-
ment.

AUTHORITY: section 374.045, RSMo 2000
and sections 374.705, 374.710, and 374.784,
RSMo Supp. 2007.* Original rule filed Sept.
14, 2004, effective March 30, 2005.
Amended: Filed Nov. 30, 2007, effective July
30, 2008.

*Original authority: 374.045, RSMo 1967, amended
1993, 1995; 374.705, RSMo 1983, amended 1993, 2004;
374.710, RSMo 1983, amended 1995, 2004; and 374.784,
RSMo 2004.

20 CSR 700-6.160 Continuing Education
for Bail Bond Agents, General Bail Bond
Agents, and Surety Recovery Agents

PURPOSE: This rule establishes procedures
with regard to the continuing education
requirements contained in sections 374.710
and 374.784, RSMo.

(1) As used in this rule, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

(A) “Approved course”—means an educa-
tional presentation offered in a class, semi-
nar, self-study, or other form of instruction
involving state and federal laws related to the
bail bond industry, law enforcement, surety
contract principles, procedures related to the
apprehension of prisoners, procedures for
field operations, principles of investigation,
or other related areas approved by the direc-
tor;

(B) “CEC”—means continuing education
credit for licensed bail bond agents, general
bail bond agents, and surety recovery agents;

(C) “Classroom”—means an area designat-
ed for instructional purposes;

(D) “Bail Bond Agent, General Bail Bond
Agent, and Surety Recovery Agent
Continuing Education Certificate of Course
Completion”—means a form provided by the
director and completed by the authorized
provider representative of an approved course
which signifies satisfactory completion of the
course and reflects the hours of credit earned;

(E) “Bail Bond Agent, General Bail Bond
Agent, and Surety Recovery Agent Continuing
Education Certification Summary”—means a
form provided by the director and completed
by the licensee which documents compliance
with the continuing education requirements in
section 374.710, RSMo;

(F) “Bail Bond Agent, General Bail Bond
Agent, and Surety Recovery Agent Continuing
Education Provider Application for Course
Approval”—means a form provided by the
director and completed by the course provider
which requests approval of a continuing edu-
cation course from the director;

(G) “Affidavit of Bail Bond Agent, General
Bail Bond Agent, and Surety Recovery Agent
Exam Proctor”—means a form which can be
accessed at the department’s website at
http://www.insurance.mo.gov, or at the
department, to be completed by the exam
proctor of an exam taken by the licensee to
complete the requirements for credit for a
self-study course;

(H) Exam proctor—a disinterested third
party of at least eighteen (18) years of age,
who has no corporate, employment, personal
relationship, or other interest in the licensee’s
performance on the examination;

(I) Teleconference course—a live interac-
tive broadcast that is transmitted via satellite
or other electronic means;

(J) Credit hour—constitutes fifty (50) min-
utes of uninterrupted instruction during an
approved course. Partial hours of credit are
not allowed;

(K) Director—the director of the
Department of Commerce and Insurance or
their designee;

(L) Licensee—a person who is licensed by
the department as a bail bond agent, general
bail bond agent, or surety recovery agent;

(M) Self-study course—any course com-
pleted by a licensee using books, recorded
audio, videotapes, computer programs,
Internet rebroadcast of a taped event, or any
other medium of instruction without the pres-
ence of an instructor or monitor.

(2) CEC credit hours may be earned through
the following:

(A) Classroom instruction with a maxi-
mum of eight (8) credit hours per course. A
licensee is not required to pass an examina-
tion to receive CEC for a classroom delivered
course.

(B) Self-Study Courses. The licensee must
pass a proctored exam to receive credit. The
maximum allowable credit for self-study
courses is eight (8) credit hours per course.

1. The credit hours for a self-study
course will be determined by the following
method:

A. Workbooks or other printed mate-
rial—every fifteen (15) pages will equal one
(1) credit hour;

B. Computer-based courses or
Internet courses will be calculated as: three
(3) screens (750 words) will equal one (1)
printed page and forty-five (45) screens will
equal one (1) credit hour.

2. Proctored exams are to consist of at
least twenty-five (25) questions and the
licensee will be awarded one (1) credit hour
for every twenty-five (25) questions complet-
ed without access to books, notes, or any
other reference material or information that
would give or assist the licensee with the
answers to the examination questions.

(3) A provider of classroom instruction or a
self-study course must seek approval from the
director by completing the form “Continuing
Education Provider Application for Bail Bond
Course Approval,” which can be accessed at
the department’s website at http://www.insur-
ance.mo.gov or at the department. CEC will
not be given to licensees for attending courses
prior to the course approval date.

(4) Filing Fees for Course Approval. Every
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applicant seeking approval by the director of
a continuing education course shall pay to the
director a filing fee of fifty dollars ($50) per
course, included with the application form
required by the director. Courses are
approved for a period of no more than one (1)
year. Applicants holding courses intended to
be offered for a longer period must reapply
for approval on forms prescribed by the direc-
tor and submit an additional fifty dollar ($50)
fee.

(5) All course providers must furnish a Bail
Bond Agent, General Bail Bond Agent, and
Surety Recovery Agent Continuing Education
Certificate of Course Completion to any
licensee who completes an approved course.
The form can be accessed at the department’s
website at http://www.insurance.mo.gov or
at the department.

(6) Bail bond agents, general bail bond
agents, and surety recovery agents must sub-
mit a Bail Bond Agent, General Bail Bond
Agent, and Surety Recovery Agent
Continuing Education Certification Summary
to the director to show compliance with sec-
tions 374.710 and 374.784, RSMo. The form
can be accessed at the department’s website
at http://www.insurance.mo.gov or at the
department.

(7) Bail bond agents, general bail bond
agents, and surety recovery agents taking
self-study courses must have the exam proc-
tor complete an Affidavit of Bail Bond Agent,
General Bail Bond Agent, and Surety
Recovery Agent Exam Proctor to show com-
pliance with sections 374.710 and 374.784,
RSMo, and return the form to the provider.
The form can be accessed at the department’s
website at http://www.insurance.mo.gov or
at the department.

(8) Within thirty (30) days of the date a course
is completed by a licensee, providers shall
notify the director of the credit hours earned
in an electronic manner. Specifications may be
obtained by contacting the Licensing Section
of the department.

(A) For good cause shown, the director
may by written order waive application of the
provisions of this section. The extent of any
waiver will be governed by the terms of the
written order granting the waiver.

(9) A licensee may not repeat a course for
credit during the same biennial licensure
period.

(10) Courses that were taken prior to the date
of Missouri licensure will not be allowable
for credit as continuing education.

(11) The department may audit approved
courses or a licensee’s continuing education
records at any time.

(12) Failure of providers to comply with
Missouri insurance statutes or regulations
may result in revocation of course approval or
corrective action against the provider as
authorized by law.

(13) Reporting Period.

(A) All bail bond agents, general bail bond
agents, and surety recovery agents must show
proof of compliance with the continuing edu-
cation requirements at the time of their bien-
nial license renewal by filing a Bail Bond
Agent, General Bail Bond Agent, and Surety
Recovery Agent Continuing Education
Certification Summary listing all completed
courses.

(14) The cost per student for eight (8) credit
hours is not to exceed one hundred fifty dol-
lars ($150).

AUTHORITY: sections 374.045, 374.705,
and 374.710, RSMo 2016, and section
374.784, RSMo Supp. 2018.* Original rule
filed Sept. 14, 2004, effective March 30,
2005. Amended: Filed Nov. 30, 2007, effec-
tive July 30, 2008. Amended: Filed March 8,
2019, effective Sept. 30, 2019. Non-substan-
tive change filed Sept. 11, 2019, published
Oct. 31, 2019.

*Original authority: 374.045, RSMo 1967, amended
1993, 1995, 2008; 374.705, RSMo 1983, amended 1993,
2004; 374.710, RSMo 1983, amended 1995, 2004; and
374.784, RSMo 2004, amended 2018.

20 CSR 700-6.170 Change of Status
Notification for Bail Bond Agents, General
Bail Bond Agents and Surety Recovery
Agents

PURPOSE: This rule sets the requirements
for notification of the Department of
Commerce and Insurance of a change in sta-
tus of specified information provided on the
original application.

(1) Bail bond agents, general bail bond agents
and surety recovery agents shall inform the
director of a change of name or change of
address within thirty (30) days of the change
by submitting a change in status form which
may be obtained on the department website at
www.insurance.mo.gov or at the offices of
the department.

(2) General bail bond corporations shall
inform the director of a change of
officers/owners within thirty (30) days of the

change by submitting a change in status form
which may be obtained on the department
website at www.insurance.mo.gov or at the
offices of the department.

(3) Failure to timely inform the director of
the changes described in this rule may result
in a forfeiture not to exceed the sum of ten
dollars ($10) per month.

AUTHORITY: section 374.045, RSMo 2000
and sections 374.705, 374.710, and 374.784,
RSMo Supp. 2007.* Original rule filed Sept.
14, 2004, effective March 30, 2005.
Amended: Filed Nov. 30, 2007, effective July
30, 2008. Non-substantive change filed Sept.
11, 2019, published Oct. 31, 2019.

*Original authority: 374.045, RSMo 1967, amended
1993, 1995; 374.705, RSMo 1983, amended 1993, 2004;
374.710, RSMo 1983, amended 1995, 2004; and 374.784,
RSMo 2004.

20 CSR 700-6.200 Assignment
Acknowledgement

and

PURPOSE: This rule is intended to clarify
the procedure for the asset assignment
requirement under sections 374.715 and
374.740, RSMo.

(1) The ten thousand dollar ($10,000) or
twenty-five thousand dollar ($25,000) asset
assignment described in sections 374.715 and
374.740, RSMo shall be held in the name of
the general bail bond agent, with the state of
Missouri, director of the department, as
assignee. The attachments referenced in sec-
tion (2) of 20 CSR 700-6.100 include the
Assignment, a completed Acknowledgement
of Assignment from the financial institution
issuing the Certificate of Deposit, and the
original Certificate of Deposit.

(2) Each general bail bond agent seeking
license renewal shall supply an original letter
from the financial institution that issued their
assigned Certificate of Deposit, stating that
the Certificate of Deposit is still assigned to
the state of Missouri, printed on the financial
institution’s letterhead, signed and dated by
an official of the financial institution, and
stating the Certificate of Deposit number and
the general bail bond agent’s name.

AUTHORITY: sections 374.045, 374.705,
374.710, and 374.740, RSMo 2016, and sec-
tion 374.715, RSMo Supp. 2018.* Original
rule filed Oct. 15, 1996, effective May 30,
1997. Amended: Filed Sept. 14, 2004, effec-
tive March 30, 2005. Amended: Filed Nov.
30, 2007, effective July 30, 2008. Amended:
Filed March 8, 2019, effective Sept. 30, 2019.

JOHN R. ASHCROFT
Secretary of State
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*Original authority: 374.045, RSMo 1967, amended
1993, 1995, 2008; 374.705, RSMo 1983, amended 1993,
2004; 374.710, RSMo 1983, amended 1995, 2004;
374.715, RSMo 1983, amended 1997, 2004, 2018; and
374.740, RSMo 1983, amended 2004.

20 CSR 700-6.250 Assignment of Additional
Assets

PURPOSE: This rule effectuates and aids in
the interpretation of the provisions of sections
374.715 and 374.740, RSMo, involving the
assignment of additional assets by general
bail bond agents.

(1) The director may require the assignment
of additional assets if:

(A) The department receives information
from a court or courts indicating that the gen-
eral bail bond agent has accumulated seven
thousand dollars ($7,000) in unsatisfied bond
forfeiture judgments;

(B) The department receives notice of mul-
tiple unsatisfied bond forfeiture judgments
within a thirty- (30-) day period;

(C) The department receives a complaint
that the general bail bond agent owes parties
to a bail contract, or any persons providing
funds or collateral for bail, in excess of five
thousand dollars ($5,000); or

(D) The department receives information
from a court or courts indicating that the gen-
eral bail bond agent, acting as surety, has exe-
cuted a bond or bonds exceeding their assets
declared pursuant to Supreme Court Rule
33.18.

(2) In the event that the general bail bond
agent receives notice from the department that
the assignment of additional assets is neces-
sary, the general bail bond agent shall obtain a
Certificate of Deposit in the name of the gen-
eral bail bond agent for the amount requested
by the department and submit to the depart-
ment within twenty (20) days the original
Certificate of Deposit, an Assignment, and a
completed Acknowledgement of Assignment
from the financial institution issuing the
Certificate of Deposit.

AUTHORITY: sections 374.045, 374.705,
and 374.740, RSMo 2016, and section
374.715, RSMo Supp. 2018.* Original rule
filed Sept. 14, 2004, effective March 30,
2005. Amended: Filed Nov. 30, 2007, effec-
tive July 30, 2008. Amended: Filed March 8,
2019, effective Sept. 30, 2019.

*Original authority: 374.045, RSMo 1967, amended
1993, 1995, 2008; 374.705, RSMo 1983, amended 1993,
2004; 374.715, RSMo 1983, amended 1997, 2004, 2018;

and 374.740, RSMo 1983, amended 2004.

20 CSR 700-6.300 Affidavits
(Rescinded September 30, 2019)

AUTHORITY: sections 374.045 and 374.760,
RSMo 2000 and section 374.705, RSMo
Supp. 2007. Original rule filed Oct. 15,
1996, effective May 30, 1997. Amended:
Filed April 23, 1999, effective Nov. 30, 1999.
Amended: Filed Sept. 14, 2004, -effective
March 30, 2005. Amended: Filed Nov. 30,
2007, effective July 30, 2008. Rescinded:
Filed March 8, 2019, effective Sept. 30, 2019.
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