
Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures

Chapter 10—Liquefied Petroleum Gases

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 90-10.012 Registration—Training. The director of agri-
culture is amending section (4) and removing the forms that follow
this rule in the Code of State Regulations.

PURPOSE: The purpose of this amendment is to more appropri-
ately set the training interval and curriculum requirements that will
increase the quality of training programs in Missouri while also
creating uniformity in training with programs in other states.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The forms referenced in this rule may be
accessed through the Missouri Department of Agriculture’s website
at www.mda.state.mo.us or by request from the agency at (573)
751-4278.

(4) Every individual, except clerical personnel and others not actu-
ally handling LPGs or servicing appliances or equipment, with-
in any business involved in handling, storing or transporting LPGs
or involved in the installation, repairing or servicing of piping,
equipment or appliances for use with LPGs must attend and com-
plete [a] an initial training program, including the passing of a
written examination[, managers must attend every five (5)
years and all other personnel every three (3) years, regard-
ing the safe handling, storing and bulk delivery of LPGs
and the safe installation, repairing or servicing of piping,
equipment and appliances for use with LPGs.] with a score
of at least seventy-five percent (75%). Every individual subject
to the requirements of this section shall attend refresher train-
ing at least once every three (3) years. New employees shall be
trained by their employer until such time that training is avail-
able through a state-approved training program. [These] Each
training program’s curriculum must be based on the National
Propane Gas Association’s (NPGA) Certified Employee
Training Program (CETP) or equivalent, structured to meet
the trainees needs, and approved by the director. All training pro-
grams submitted to the director must contain information on
applicable statutes and regulations governing liquefied petroleum
gases; must be resubmitted to the director for review and approval
on an annual basis or at such time change has been made; and any
training program that, through audit, does not meet the approved
training program criteria, may be rejected for use by the director.

AUTHORITY: section 323.020, RSMo [1994] 2000. Original rule
filed July 13, 1977, effective Nov. 11, 1977. Amended: Filed May
2, 1985, effective Sept. 27, 1985. Amended: Filed March 3, 1989,
effective June 29, 1989. Amended: Filed Nov. 13, 1997, effective
June 30, 1998. Amended: Filed Dec. 3, 2001.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment is estimated to cost
state agencies or political subdivisions less than five hundred dol-
lars ($500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment is estimated to cost
private entities four hundred ninety-six thousand, three hundred-
ten dollars and fifty cents ($496,310.50) in the aggregate every
three (3) years.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Department of Agriculture, Weights and Measures Division, Ron
Hooker, Acting Director, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
0630. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty
(30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.
No public hearing is scheduled.
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Proposed Amendment Text Reminder:
Boldface text indicates new matter.
[Bracketed text indicates matter being deleted.]

Under this heading will appear the text of proposed
rules and changes. The notice of proposed rulemak-

ing is required to contain an explanation of any new rule or
any change in an existing rule and the reasons therefor.
This is set out in the Purpose section with each rule. Also
required is a citation to the legal authority to make rules.
This appears following the text of the rule, after the word
“Authority.”

Entirely new rules are printed without any special sym-
bology under the heading of the proposed rule. If an

existing rule is to be amended or rescinded, it will have a
heading of proposed amendment or proposed rescission.
Rules which are proposed to be amended will have new
matter printed in boldface type and matter to be deleted
placed in brackets.

An important function of the Missouri Register is to
solicit and encourage public participation in the rule-

making process. The law provides that for every proposed
rule, amendment or rescission there must be a notice that
anyone may comment on the proposed action. This com-
ment may take different forms.

If an agency is required by statute to hold a public hear-
ing before making any new rules, then a Notice of Public

Hearing will appear following the text of the rule. Hearing
dates must be at least thirty (30) days after publication of
the notice in the Missouri Register. If no hearing is planned
or required, the agency must give a Notice to Submit
Comments. This allows anyone to file statements in support
of or in opposition to the proposed action with the agency
within a specified time, no less than thirty (30) days after
publication of the notice in the Missouri Register. 

An agency may hold a public hearing on a rule even
though not required by law to hold one. If an agency

allows comments to be received following the hearing date,
the close of comments date will be used as the beginning
day in the ninety (90)-day-count necessary for the filing of
the order of rulemaking.

If an agency decides to hold a public hearing after plan-
ning not to, it must withdraw the earlier notice and file a

new notice of proposed rulemaking and schedule a hearing
for a date not less than thirty (30) days from the date of pub-
lication of the new notice.
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Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures

Chapter 10—Liquefied Petroleum Gases

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 90-10.013 Installation Requirements. The director of
agriculture is amending section (11) and removing the forms that
follow this rule in the Code of State Regulations.

PURPOSE: The purpose of this amendment is to more appropri-
ately address the unique application of cylinders utilized in hot air
balloon service. This amendment will give the balloon owners and
operators greater flexibility in refueling the balloons while main-
taining an adequate level of safety.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The forms referenced in this rule may be
accessed through the Missouri Department of Agriculture’s website
at www.mda.state.mo.us or by request from the agency at (573)
751-4278.

(11) All LPG dispensers shall have recommended fill procedures
posted in a conspicuous location and all cylinder fill dispensers
shall be equipped with a state-approved scale to be utilized for the
safe filling of LPG cylinders. LP gas cylinders of one hundred
(100) pounds water capacity or less shall be filled by weight only
utilizing a state-approved scale. Cylinders of one hundred (100)
pounds capacity or less shall not be filled from any LP gas deliv-
ery vehicle. An exception may be made by the inspection
authority for cylinders utilized in hot air balloon service if the
cylinders are approved for such service, have an accurate
approved method of gauging, are in good condition and are
filled in a safe location away from any source of ignition.

AUTHORITY: section 323.020, RSMo [1994] 2000. Original rule
filed July 13, 1977, effective Nov. 11, 1977. Amended: Filed May
2, 1985, effective Sept. 27, 1985. Amended: Filed March 3, 1989,
effective June 29, 1989. Amended: Filed Nov. 13, 1997, effective
June 30, 1998. Amended: Filed Dec. 3, 2001

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars
($500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Department of Agriculture, Weights and Measures Division, Ron
Hooker, Acting Director, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
0630. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty
(30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.
No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures

Chapter 10—Liquefied Petroleum Gases

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 90-10.020 NFPA Manual No. 54, National Fuel Gas
Code. The director of agriculture is amending the Summary sec-
tion and section (1).

PURPOSE: The proposed amendment to this rule will adopt the
most recent edition of the National Fire Protection Association
Manual 54, the National Fuel Gas Code.  Adoption of this code

will more appropriately address safety hazards associated with liq-
uefied petroleum gas appliances, equipment and systems.

SUMMARY: The scope of National Fire Protection Association
(NFPA) Manual No. 54, National Fuel Gas Code, [1996] 1999
edition, is to develop fire safety codes, standards, recommended
practices and manuals, as may be considered desirable, covering
the installation of piping and appliances using fuel gases such as
natural gas, manufactured gas, liquefied petroleum gas and lique-
fied petroleum gas-air mixture.

(1) Standards contained in National Fire Protection Association
(NFPA) Manual No. 54, National Fuel Gas Code, [1996] 1999
edition are [adopted] incorporated herein by reference. The
balance of this rule sets forth requirements for liquefied petroleum
(LPG) applications not covered in the manual.

AUTHORITY: sections 261.023.6 and 323.020, RSMo [1994]
2000. Original rule filed Jan. 24, 1968, effective Feb. 3, 1968.
Amended: Filed Sept. 8, 1969, effective Sept. 18, 1969. Amended:
Filed May 13, 1977, effective Jan. 13, 1978. Amended: Filed May
2, 1985, effective Sept. 27, 1985. Amended: Filed March 3, 1989,
effective June 29, 1989. Amended: Filed Nov. 13, 1997, effective
June 30, 1998. Amended:  Filed Dec. 3, 2001.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars
($500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than one hundred fifty thousand, one hundred twen-
ty-three dollars and fifty cents ($150,123.50) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Department of Agriculture, Weights and Measures Division, Ron
Hooker, Acting Director, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
0630. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty
(30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.
No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 90—Weights and Measures

Chapter 10—Liquefied Petroleum Gases

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 90-10.040 NFPA Manual No. 58, Storage and Handling
of Liquefied Petroleum Gases. The director of agriculture is
amending sections (1) and (6) and adding a new section (8).

PURPOSE: The proposed amendment to this rule will adopt the
most recent edition of the National Fire Protection Association
Manual 58, the standard for the storage and handling of liquefied
petroleum gases.  Adoption of this code will more appropriately
address safety hazards associated with liquefied petroleum gas
appliances, equipment and systems.

(1) This rule [adopts] incorporated by reference National Fire
Protection Association (NFPA) Manual No. 58, Storage and
Handling of Liquefied Petroleum Gases, [1995] 2001 edition as
the current Standard for the Storage and Handling of Liquefied
Petroleum Gases [except that sections 2-2.6.6 shall not
apply].

(6) At all LPG dispensers, it shall be the dispenser owner’s respon-
sibility to [train] provide initial training to specific persons on
the operation of the dispenser. It shall be illegal for any person
other than the trained person to operate the dispensing device. It
shall be the responsibility of the owner or manager of each
business, where a dispenser is located and operated, to provide
continuing training, as required by section 2 CSR 90-10.012(4),
for each employee operating the dispenser. 

(8) The written Fire Safety Analysis, required by the 2001  edi-
tion of the National Fire Protection Association’s Pamphlet 58,
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Code, section 3.10.2.2 shall be pre-
pared by a person approved by the Department of
Agriculture’s Division of Weights and Measures, who has  rel-
evant experience and is knowledgeable of the practices of the
LP gas  industry. The Fire Safety Analysis for an engineered
facility, such as one that incorporates refrigerated storage,
automated fuel standby (either  industrial or utility) or pipeline
terminals, shall be prepared, stamped and  signed by a profes-
sional engineer who has relevant experience in LP gas or  fire
protection.

AUTHORITY: sections 261.023.6 and 323.020, RSMo [1994]
2000. Original rule filed Jan. 24, 1968, effective Feb. 3, 1968. For
intervening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended: Filed Dec. 3, 2001.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $3,765,300 in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $19,498,816 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Department of Agriculture, Weights and Measures Division, Ron
Hooker, Acting Director, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
0630. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty
(30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.
No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 90—State Board of Cosmetology
Chapter 2—Cosmetology Schools

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 90-2.010 Schools. The board is proposing to amend para-
graph (7)(I)3. and section (10).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to delete the portion of the
rule that requires student kits to contain sterilizing agents. Also,
this amendment will require instructor licenses to be posted with a
current photograph attached.

(7) Minimum Equipment and Training Supplies. All schools of
cosmetology in Missouri shall have on hand and maintain in good
working condition at all times the following equipment and train-
ing supplies:

(I) Sterilizers.
1. Five (5) large wet sterilizers or individual wet containers

in each station of the clinic that are large enough to cover combs
and brushes (each shall contain a wet sterilizing agent).

2. Three (3) dry sterilizers or individual dry containers in
each station of the clinic that are large enough to hold combs and
brushes clear and free of unsterilized items and tools.

3. All kits shall [contain sterilizing agents] be kept clean
and remain free of unsterilized items and tools;

(10) Supervision. Every holder of the license to operate a school
shall be responsible to provide continuous and adequate supervi-
sion of the school’s students by licensed instructors at all times
during regular school hours. The holder(s) of the school license
shall employ and have present in the school a competent licensed
instructor for every twenty-five (25) students enrolled and sched-
uled to be in attendance for a given class period. Instructor
licenses shall be conspicuously displayed with a photograph
taken within the last two (2) years. Instructor trainees shall not
be counted as licensed instructors for purposes of meeting this
requirement and under no circumstances shall an instructor trainee
be left solely in charge of the school. 

AUTHORITY: sections 329.040 and 329.210[, RSMo Supp.
1999 and] as amended by HB 567 (2001) and 329.050, 329.120
and 329.230, RSMo [1994] 2000. This version of rule filed June
26, 1975, effective July 6, 1975. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed Nov. 30,
2001.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars
($500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri State Board of Cosmetology, Pamela A. Hoelscher,
Executive Director, PO Box 1062, Jefferson City, MO 65102.  To
be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No pub-
lic hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 90—State Board of Cosmetology
Chapter 2—Cosmetology Schools

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 90-2.020 Manicuring Schools. The board is proposing to
amend paragraph (3)(G)3.

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to delete the portion of the
rule that requires student kits to contain sterilizing agents.

(3) Minimum equipment and training supplies for manicuring
schools shall be—

(G) Sterilizers.
1. Three (3) large wet sterilizers or individual wet containers

in each station of the clinic that are large enough to cover all need-
ed implements (each shall contain a wet sterilizing agent).

2. Two (2) individual containers in each station of the clinic
that are large enough to cover all needed implements each shall be
kept clear and free of unsterilized items and tools.

3. All kits shall [contain sterilizing agents] be kept clean
and remain free of unsterilized items and tools;

AUTHORITY: sections 329.040 and 329.210 as amended by HB
567 (2001) and 329.230, RSMo [1994] 2000. Original rule filed
March 9, 1982, effective June 11, 1982. For intervening history,
please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
Nov. 30, 2001.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars
($500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri State Board of Cosmetology, Pamela A. Hoelscher,
Executive Director, PO Box 1062, Jefferson City, MO 65102.  To
be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No pub-
lic hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 90—State Board of Cosmetology
Chapter 2—Cosmetology Schools

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 90-2.030 Esthetic Schools. The board is proposing to
amend subsection (4)(V).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to delete the portion of the
rule that requires student kits to contain sterilizing agents.

(4) Minimum Equipment and Training Supplies. Esthetic schools
in Missouri shall have on hand and maintain in good working con-
dition at all times the following equipment and training supplies:

(V) Individual student kit materials for each student enrolled
which shall include [sterilizing agent and] the following materi-
als:  skin cleanser, skin freshener, moisturizer foundation (light,
medium and dark), concealer (light, medium and dark), blusher,
(light, medium and dark), eye liner pencil, liquid or cream mas-
cara, wedge sponges, powder brush, contour brush, applicators,
plastic spatulas, and esthetic textbook. All student kits shall be
kept clean and remain free of unsterilized items and tools.

AUTHORITY: sections 329.040 and 329.210 as amended by HB
567 (2001) and 329.230, RSMo [1994] 2000. Original rule filed
Dec. 14, 1995, effective June 30, 1996. Amended: Filed Nov. 30,
2001.
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PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri State Board of Cosmetology, Pamela A. Hoelscher,
Executive Director, PO Box 1062, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No pub-
lic hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 90—State Board of Cosmetology
Chapter 4—Beauty Shops

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 90-4.020 Practice Outside of or Away from Beauty
Shops. The board is proposing to amend subsection (3)(A).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to delete the portion of the
rule that requires kits to contain an active fumigant. 

(3) Portable Kit Requirements.
(A) All supplies and implements shall be transported in an air-

tight container [containing an active fumigant,] and all imple-
ments, towels and instruments shall be sterilized and wrapped or
stored in individual plastic containers. All kits shall be kept clean
and remain free of unsterilized items and tools.

AUTHORITY: sections 329.110.2[, RSMo Supp. 1999] and
329.230, RSMo [1994] 2000, and 329.210 as amended by HB
567 (2001). Original rule filed Dec. 7, 1983, effective March 13,
1984. Amended: Filed Aug. 2, 1990, effective Dec. 31, 1990.
Rescinded and readopted: Filed March 15, 2000, effective Sept.
30, 2000. Amended: Filed Nov. 30, 2001.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars
($500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri State Board of Cosmetology, Pamela A. Hoelscher,
Executive Director, PO Box 1062, Jefferson City, MO 65102.  To
be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No pub-
lic hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 90—State Board of Cosmetology
Chapter 8—Training Hours

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 90-8.010 Hours. The board is proposing to amend sub-
section (1)(B). 

PURPOSE:  This rule is being amended to comply with revisions
made to section 329.040.3(2), RSMo that became effective with the
passage of House Bill 567 of the 91st General Assembly extending

the maximum hours accepted for a course of study for students,
instructor trainees and apprentices.

(1) Minimum–Maximum Hours Accepted.
(B) All students, instructor trainees and apprentices shall be

enrolled in a course of study of no less than three (3) hours per day
and no more than [eight (8)] twelve (12) hours per day with a
weekly total that is no less than fifteen (15) hours and no more
than [forty-eight (48)] seventy-two (72) hours. 

AUTHORITY: sections 329.040[,] and 329.210, as amended by
HB 567 (2001) and 329.230, RSMo 2000. This version of rule
filed June 26, 1975, effective July 6, 1975. Amended: Filed March
31, 1988, effective June 27, 1988. Amended: Filed Aug. 2, 1990,
effective Dec. 31, 1990. Amended: Filed Dec. 14, 1995, effective
June 30, 1996. Rescinded and readopted: Filed March 1, 2001,
effective Aug. 30, 2001. Amended: Filed Nov. 30, 2001.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars
($500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri State Board of Cosmetology, Pamela A. Hoelscher,
Executive Director, PO Box 1062, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No pub-
lic hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 90—State Board of Cosmetology
Chapter 12—Instructor Trainees

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 90-12.080 Renewal Requirements for Instructor
License. The board is proposing to amend section (2).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to require instructors to
provide proof of obtaining twelve (12) hours of continued educa-
tion from a board-approved seminar.

(2) Renewal is contingent upon attending a board-approved semi-
nar and submitting to the board proof of twelve (12) hours of
attendance issued by seminar sponsors, showing the date and place
of the seminar. It is the responsibility of each licensed instructor
to attend a board-approved seminar within the two (2) years imme-
diately preceding the renewal date and insure that evidence of
attendance accompanies the  application for each license renewal.

AUTHORITY: sections 329.120 and 329.230, RSMo [1986] 2000
and 320.210 as amended by HB 567 (2001). Original rule filed
Oct. 11, 1978, effective Jan. 13, 1979. For intervening history,
please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
Nov. 30, 2001.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars
($500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.
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NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri State Board of Cosmetology, Pamela A. Hoelscher,
Executive Director, PO Box 1062, Jefferson City, MO 65102.  To
be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No pub-
lic hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 90—State Board of Cosmetology
Chapter 13—General Rules

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 90-13.070 Change of Mailing Address

PURPOSE: This rule requires a license holder to provide the board
with a current name and mailing address.

(1) A licensee shall ensure that the office has their current legal
name and address.

(A) A licensee whose address has changed shall inform the
office of the address change within thirty (30) days of the effective
date.

(B) A licensee whose name is changed by marriage or court
order shall notify the office in writing within thirty (30) days of the
name change and provide a copy of the appropriate documents ver-
ifying the name change.

AUTHORITY: sections 320.120 and 329.230, RSMo 2000 and
320.210 as amended by HB 567 (2001). Original rule filed Nov. 30,
2001.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Missouri State Board of Cosmetology, Pamela A. Hoelscher,
Executive Director, PO Box 1062, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No pub-
lic hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 100—Division of Credit Unions
Chapter 2—State-Chartered Credit Unions

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 100-2.085 Credit Union Service Organization (CUSO).
The director of the Division of Credit Unions proposes amending
this rule by amending sections (1), (2), (3) and (4), adding a new
section (5), amending the current section (5) and renumbering it as
section (6), deleting the current section (6) and adding a new sec-
tion (7), renumbering current sections (7) and (8), as sections (8)
and (9) respectively, adding a new subsection (9)(B), deleting cur-
rent section (9), and adding a new section (10).

PURPOSE: This proposed amendment allows credit unions greater
flexibility in structuring and funding CUSOs, offers credit unions

the ability to fund CUSOs engaging in a broader range of activi-
ties, modifies the restrictions on the CUSO related activities of cer-
tain credit union related parties, identifies an appeal process, and
provides CUSOs the ability to object to certain items being con-
sidered for inclusion in examination reports.

(1) Definition. A credit union service organization (CUSO) is a
legal entity established by or funded by one (1) or more credit
unions (with or without participation of other parties) to meet the
needs of its member credit union(s) by providing [primarily
those] services and performing [primarily those] activities that
are associated with [routine] credit union operations.

(2) Structure. A credit union can invest in a CUSO, only if the
CUSO [must be organized] is structured as a corporation, a
limited liability company, or [as] a limited partnership with the
credit union participating as a limited partner. [These forms of
organization do not guarantee against potential liability of
the participating credit union.] The credit union must obtain
legal advice as to whether the organization and operation of the
CUSO is in a manner that meets the goal of limited liability. In
general, the corporate form must be adequately capitalized and
operated as a separate entity. The limited partnership form must
not engage in activities that would cause the limited partnership to
be treated as a general partnership.  For purposes of this rule,
“corporation” means a legally incorporated corporation as
established and maintained under relevant state or federal law.

(3) Funding. No single credit union’s investment(s) in [a] and/or
loan(s) to any or all CUSO(s) shall exceed in the aggregate [one
per centum (1%) of the total paid in and unimpaired capi-
tal and surplus of the credit union (shares and undivided
earnings). The credit union also may lend in the aggregate
to the CUSO up to one per centum (1%) of its total paid
in and unimpaired capital and surplus.] twenty-five percent
(25%) of the credit union’s net capital (reserves and undivided
earnings), unless prior approval is obtained from the director
of the Division of Credit Unions. 

(4) Permissible Services and Activities. A credit union can invest
in and/or lend to a CUSO, only if the CUSO complies with all
applicable laws and limits its services and activities to the fol-
lowing general categories of services or activities:

[(A) A CUSO may perform any of the following opera-
tional services: credit card and debit card services; auto-
matic teller machine (ATM) services; electronic funds
transfer (EFT) services, accounting services, data process-
ing services, sale or lease of computer hardware and soft-
ware, management and personnel training and support,
payment item processing, locator services, marketing ser-
vices, debt collection services, credit analysis, loan servic-
ing, and coin and currency services. 

(B) A CUSO may offer the following financial services:
financial planning and counseling, retirement counseling,
investment counseling, discount brokerage services, estate
planning, income tax preparation, developing and adminis-
tering individual retirement accounts (IRA), Keogh, deferred
compensation and other personnel benefit plans; trust ser-
vices; acting as trustee, guardian, conservator, estate
administrator, or in any other fiduciary capacity; real estate
agency services; agent for sale of insurance; personal prop-
erty leasing; and provision of vehicle warranty programs. A
CUSO must comply with applicable state and local laws
when engaging in activities or services as listed previously.
Any service or activity which is not authorized in the pre-
ceding subsection (4)(A) and this subsection must be
approved by the director of the Division of Credit Unions
before a CUSO may offer that service or activity. Any
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request for approval must include a full explanation of the
proposed service or activity and how it is associated with
routine credit union operations.]

(A) Checking and currency services;
(B) Clerical, professional and management services;
(C) Loan origination;
(D) Electronic transaction services;
(E) Financial counseling services;
(F) Fixed asset services;
(G) Insurance brokerage or agency;
(H) Leasing;
(I) Loan support services;
(J) Record retention, security and disaster recovery services;
(K) Securities brokerage services;
(L) Shared credit union branch (service center) operations;
(M) Travel agency services;
(N) Trust and trust-related services;
(O) Real estate brokerage services; or 
(P) Other services or activities approved by the director of

the Division of Credit Unions.  

(5) In connection with providing a permissible service, a CUSO
may invest in a non-CUSO service provider.  The amount of the
CUSO’s investment is limited to the amount necessary to par-
ticipate in the service provider, or a greater amount if neces-
sary to receive a reduced price for goods or services.

[(5)] (6) Prohibited Activities. A CUSO may not acquire control,
directly or indirectly, of another depository financial institution
nor invest in shares, stocks or obligations of an insurance compa-
ny, trade association, liquidity facility of other similar organiza-
tion. The credit union will not engage in any activities, contract for
or enter into any form or manner of arrangement that will allow
the credit union to be committed or potentially committed for an
amount in excess of its legally allowed investment in or [lendings]
loans to the CUSO(s).

[(6) Insider Dealings. Individuals who serve as officials of
or who are employed by a credit union and immediate fam-
ily members of those individuals may not receive any
salary, commission, investment income or other income or
compensation from any CUSO affiliated with their credit
union. For purposes of this section, official means any
director or committee member and immediate family mem-
ber means a spouse or a child, parent, grandchild, grand-
parent, brother or sister or the spouse of any such indi-
vidual. An affiliated CUSO is one which a credit union
invests in or loans to.]

(7) Related Parties.
(A) The officials and senior management employees (and

their immediate family members) of a credit union that has
outstanding loans or investments in a CUSO must not receive
any salary, commission, investment income, or other income or
compensation from the CUSO either directly or indirectly, or
from any person being served through the CUSO. This provi-
sion does not prohibit such credit union officials or senior man-
agement employees from assisting in the operation of a CUSO,
provided the officials or senior management employees are not
compensated by the CUSO. Further, the CUSO may reimburse
the credit union for the services provided by such credit union
officials and senior management employees only if the account
receivable of the credit union due from the CUSO is paid in full
at least every one hundred twenty (120) days. For purposes of
this section, “official” means affiliated credit union directors
or committee members. For purposes of this section, “senior
management employee” means affiliated credit union chief
executive officer (typically this individual holds the title of

President or Treasurer/Manager), any assistant chief executive
officers (e.g. Assistant President, Vice President, or Assistant
Treasurer/Manager) and the chief financial officer (Comp-
troller). For purposes of this section, “immediate family mem-
ber” means a spouse or other family members living in the
same household.

(B) The prohibition contained in subsection (A) of this sec-
tion also applies to credit union employees not otherwise cov-
ered if the employees are directly involved in dealing with the
CUSO unless the credit union’s board of directors determines
that the credit union employees’ positions do not present a con-
flict of interest.

(C) All transactions with business associates or family mem-
bers of credit union officials, senior management employees,
and their immediate family members, not specifically prohib-
ited by subsections (A) and (B) of this section must be con-
ducted at arm’s length and in the interest of the credit union.   

[(7)] (8) Accounting.
(A) Credit unions must follow generally accepted accounting

principles (GAAP) in their involvement with CUSOs. 
(B) Credit unions must obtain, from any CUSO for which the

credit union has an outstanding loan or investment, a certified pub-
lic accountant (C.P.A.) audit on at least an annual basis and finan-
cial statements (balance sheet and income statement) on at least a
quarterly basis. 

(C) A CUSO must agree in writing with its participating credit
unions to follow GAAP.

[(8)] (9) Director Access to Books and Records. 
(A) A CUSO must agree, in writing, with its participating cred-

it unions to provide the director or his/her representative with
complete access to any books and records of the CUSO and to
make periodic reports in the manner and form deemed necessary
by the director in carrying out his/her duties.

(B) Any findings made by the director or his/her representa-
tive that are intended for distribution to the CUSO’s partici-
pating credit unions shall be presented first to the CUSO’s
board of directors.  The CUSO shall be given fifteen (15) days
to object in writing, with a detailed explanation, to any infor-
mation contained in the director’s findings that the CUSO rea-
sonably believes could jeopardize its independent relationship
with the CUSO’s participating credit unions such that the cred-
it unions would be exposed to liability.  Such written objections
shall be submitted to the director, who shall then make a deter-
mination as to the need to amend the findings prior to pre-
senting them to the participating credit unions.  The director
or his/her representative may make such additional inquiries
or investigations as deemed necessary for a determination of
the issue.

[(9) Preexisting Credit Union Service Organizations. Any
CUSO that was in existence prior to January 26, 1986
and that was legally operating in a manner that, although
inconsistent with this rule, may continue operation until
January 26, 1987.]

(10) Right to Appeal.  In any matter relating to a credit
union’s interest in a CUSO that requires the director to exer-
cise his or her decision-making authority to approve or deny a
credit union’s request, the credit union may exercise its right
to appeal the director’s denial pursuant to the provisions of
Chapter 536, RSMo.  Such appeal shall be heard pursuant to
sections 536.100 to 536.140, RSMo, if such matter is deemed
a contested case following a hearing before the division as
determined by rules promulgated by the director.  If no such
hearing is available for review of the director’s decision, then
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the credit union may seek review pursuant to the remedies
afforded in section 536.150, RSMo.

AUTHORITY: sections 370.070, 370.100, 370.120 [and
370.275, RSMo 1986] and 370.075, RSMo [Supp. 1988]
2000. Original rule filed Oct. 17, 1985, effective Jan. 26, 1986.
Amended: Filed Nov. 30, 2001.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars
($500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Division of Credit Unions, John P. Smith, Director, PO Box 1607,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled. 

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 205—Missouri Board of Occupational Therapy
Chapter 1—General Rules

PROPOSED RESCISSION

4 CSR 205-1.030 Policy for Release of Public Records. This rule
established the policy regarding the release of information on any
meeting, record or vote of the committee.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded to allow the board to
adopt an updated administrative policy for better compliance to
sections 610.010–610.200, RSMo, the Missouri “Sunshine Law.”

AUTHORITY: sections 324.065, RSMo Supp. 1997 and
610.010–610.200, RSMo 1994 and Supp. 1997. Original rule filed
Aug. 4, 1998, effective Dec. 30, 1998. Rescinded: Filed Nov. 30,
2001.

PUBLIC COST: The proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: The proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Board of Occupational Therapy, Vanessa Beauchamp,
Executive Director, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1335.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30)
days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No
public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 205—Missouri Board of Occupational Therapy
Chapter 3—Licensure Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 205-3.010 Application for Licensure as an Occupational
Therapist

PURPOSE: This amendment deletes the forms that immediately
follow this rule in the Code of State Regulations.

AUTHORITY: sections 324.050, 324.056, 324.065, 324.068,
324.071, 324.083 and 324.086, RSMo [Supp. 1997] 2000.
Original rule filed Aug. 4, 1998, effective Dec. 30, 1998.
Amended: Filed Nov. 30, 2001.

PUBLIC COST: The proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: The proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Occupational Therapy, Vanessa Beauchamp,
Executive Director, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1335.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30)
days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No
public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 205—Missouri Board of Occupational Therapy
Chapter 3—Licensure Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 205-3.020 Application for Licensure as an Occupational
Therapy Assistant

PURPOSE: This amendment deletes the forms that immediately
follow this rule in the Code of State Regulations.

AUTHORITY: sections 324.050, 324.056, 324.065, 324.068,
324.071, 324.083 and 324.086, RSMo [Supp. 1997] 2000.
Original rule filed Aug. 4, 1998, effective Dec. 30, 1998.
Amended: Filed Nov. 30, 2001.

PUBLIC COST: The proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: The proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Occupational Therapy, Vanessa Beauchamp,
Executive Director, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1335.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30)
days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No
public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 220—State Board of Pharmacy
Chapter 2—General Rules

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 220-2.020 Pharmacy Permits. The board is proposing to
add a new subsection (9)(J).
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PURPOSE: This amendment is to implement section 329.220,
RSMo that became effective with the passage of House Bill 567 of
the 91st General Assembly and provides a definition of Class J:
Shared Service. 

(9) The following classes of pharmacy permits or licenses are here-
by established:

(J) Class J: Shared Service.  A pharmacy that provides ser-
vices as defined in section 338.010, RSMo, and is involved in
the processing of a request from another pharmacy to fill or
refill a prescription drug order, or that performs or assists in
the performance of functions associated with the dispensing
process, drug utilization review (DUR), claims adjudication,
refill authorizations and therapeutic interventions.

AUTHORITY: sections 338.140, RSMo 2000 and 338.220,
[RSMo Supp. 1999] as amended by HB 567 (2001) and
Omnibus State Reorganization Act of 1974 (Appendix B). Original
rule filed July 18, 1962, effective July 28, 1962.  For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed Nov. 30, 2001.

PUBLIC COST: The proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: The proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
State Board of Pharmacy, Kevin Kinkade, Executive Director, PO
Box 625, Jefferson City, MO 65102.  To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 220—State Board of Pharmacy
Chapter 2—General Rules

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 220-2.650  Standards of Operation for a Class J:
Shared Services Pharmacy

PURPOSE: The purpose of this rule is to establish minimum stan-
dards of operation for  Class J:  Shared Services Pharmacy, in
compliance with House Bill 567 of the 91st General Assembly.

(1) Class J: Shared Services: Shared Service Pharmacy is defined
as the processing by a pharmacy of a request from another phar-
macy to fill or refill a prescription drug order, or that performs or
assists in the performance of functions associated with the dis-
pensing process, drug utilization review (DUR), claims adjudica-
tion, refill authorizations, and therapeutic interventions.

(A) A pharmacy may perform or outsource centralized pre-
scription processing services provided the parties:

1. Have the same owner, or have a written contract outlining
the services to be provided and the responsibilities and account-
abilities of each party in fulfilling the terms of said contract in
compliance with federal and state laws and regulations;

2. Maintain separate licenses for each location involved in
providing shared services; and

3. Share a common electronic file or have appropriate tech-
nology to allow access to sufficient information necessary or
required to fill or refill a prescription drug order.

(B) There must be separate and distinct record keeping systems
between shared service pharmacies with real-time on-line access to
shared services by both pharmacies. Transfer of prescription infor-
mation between two (2) pharmacies that are accessing the same
real-time, on-line database pursuant to the operation of a shared
service pharmacy operation shall not be considered a prescription
copy and, therefore, is not subject to the requirements of 4 CSR
220-2.120.

(C) The parties performing or contracting for centralized pre-
scription processing services shall maintain a policy and proce-
dures manual and documentation that implementation is occurring
in a manner that shall be made available to the board for review
upon request and that includes, but is not limited to, the following:

1. A description of how the parties will comply with federal
and state laws and regulations;

2. The maintenance of appropriate records to identify the
responsible pharmacist(s) in the dispensing and counseling
processes;

3. The maintenance of a mechanism for tracking the pre-
scription drug order during each step in the dispensing process;

4. The provision of adequate security to protect the confiden-
tiality and integrity of patient information;

5. The maintenance of a quality assurance program for phar-
macy services designed to objectively and systematically monitor
and evaluate the quality and appropriateness of patient care, pur-
sue opportunities to improve patient care and resolve identified
problems.

(2) Pharmacies that participate in shared services are hereby
exempt from the provisions of 4 CSR 220-2.200 Sterile
Pharmaceuticals, subsection (4)(D) regarding the delivery of such
products directly to the patient.

AUTHORITY: sections 338.140, 338.240, and 338.280, RSMo
2000 and 338.210 and 338.220 as amended by HB 567 (2001).
Original rule filed Nov. 30, 2001.

PUBLIC COST: The proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: The proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
State Board of Pharmacy, Kevin Kinkade, Executive Director, PO
Box 625, Jefferson City, MO 65102.  To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 13—DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Division 73—Missouri Board of Nursing Home

Administrators
Chapter 2—General Rules

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

13 CSR 73-2.015 Fees. The board is amending subsections (1)(C)
and (E), and section (2).

PURPOSE: This amendment establishes the dollar amount for the
state exam fee and the payee of that fee. It also deletes language
referencing the computer administration fee.

(1) The following fees are required by the Board of Nursing Home
Administrators:
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(C) State Exam Fee [and computer administration
fee for the state exam as fixed by the
National Association of Board of Examiners
of Long Term Care Administrators;] $75.00
(E) License Renewal Late Penalty Fee
(This fee is in addition to the renewal fee listed in 
subsection (1)[(C)](D)) $25.00;

(2) Fees listed in (1)(A) and [(D)] (C)–(H) must be made payable
to the Division of Aging in the form of a cashier’s check, compa-
ny check or money order. Fees listed in (1)(B) [and (C)] must be
made payable to the National Association of Board of Examiners
of Long Term Care Administrators (NAB).

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo [Supp. 1998] 2000.
Original rule filed Jan. 3, 1992, effective May 14, 1992.
Amended: Filed March 4, 1993, effective Aug. 9, 1993. Emergency
amendment filed Nov. 17, 1999, effective Dec. 11, 1999, expired
June 7, 2000. Amended: Filed Nov. 1, 1999, effective April 30,
2000. Emergency amendment filed Nov. 30, 2001, effective Jan. 1,
2002, expires June 29, 2002. Amended: Filed Nov. 30, 2001.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars
($500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Board of Nursing Home Administrators, Diana Love, Executive
Secretary, PO Box 1337, 2023 St. Mary’s Blvd., Jefferson City,
MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 13—DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Division 73—Board of Nursing Home Administrators

Chapter 2—General Rules

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

13 CSR 73-2.070 Examination. The board is amending sections
(2) and (3), moving and renumbering sections (4)–(7) to section
(3) subsections (A)–(D), adding a new section 4, and renumbering
sections (8)–(11).

PURPOSE: This amendment establishes separate procedures for
taking the national exam and the state exam.

(2) The examination(s) must be taken within twelve (12) months of
the written notice of board evaluation and qualification. Failure to
do so will cause full reapplication to be necessary.

(3) Qualified applicants will be eligible to take the national
[and/or state] examination through the testing service by follow-
ing the procedures set forth in subsections [(4)–(7)] (A)–(D) [of
this rule].

[(4)] (A) Applicants must submit the National Association of
Boards of Examiners of Long Term Care Administrators (NAB)
Application Form for Computerized Testing, the Fee Payment
Transmittal Form, and the required fees to the board office. The
applicant will receive from the testing service an authorization let-
ter including a list of testing center vendors, each center’s toll-free
telephone number and instructions on the scheduling process.

[(5)] (B) Applicants must schedule to sit the examination with-
in sixty (60) days of the date on the testing service’s authorization
letter.

[(6)] (C) Failure to schedule and sit the examination(s) within
the sixty (60)-day period will cause the applicant’s name to be
removed from the eligibility list kept by the testing service.
Applicants may reschedule by resubmitting the NAB Application
Forms and paying any required fees.

[(7)] (D) Applicants must comply with all criteria and require-
ments established by the board, the National Association of Board
of Examiners of Long Term Care Administrators (NAB), the test-
ing service and the testing center.

(4) Qualified applicants will be eligible to take the state exam-
ination administered by the board once a written request and
the seventy-five dollars ($75) fee are received by the board. The
examination will be scheduled at least monthly if one (1) or
more applicants are awaiting examination.

[(8)] (5) Individuals making initial application for licensure, with-
in twenty-one (21) days of a board meeting date, may be required
to wait until a subsequent date to be evaluated.

[(9)] (6) Applicants shall obtain a passing score on the examina-
tion(s) administered by the board. The passing score shall be based
upon the scale score passing point of one hundred thirteen (113)
on the federal portion of the examination and seventy-five percent
(75%) on the state portion of the examination.

[(10)] (7) If an applicant fails to make a passing grade on one or
both of the required examinations, the applicant may make appli-
cation for reexamination and pay the required fees. If an applicant
fails only one of the required examinations and then fails to retake
and pass the examination within a twelve (12)-month period, the
applicant shall be required to take and pass both examinations
before the board will issue the applicant a license.

[(11)] (8) If an applicant fails the examination a third time, the
applicant must complete a course of instruction prescribed and
approved by the board. After completion of the board-prescribed
course of instruction, the applicant may reapply for board-
approved examination(s). No applicant shall be licensed by the
board after a third licensure examination failure unless the appli-
cant successfully completes the board-prescribed course of instruc-
tion and passes the board-approved examination(s). With regard to
any nationally certified examination required for licensure, no
examination scores from other states shall be recognized by the
board after the applicant has failed for a third time to pass the
examination.

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo [Supp. 1998] 2000.
Original rule filed May 13, 1980, effective Aug. 11, 1980. For
intervening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Emergency amendment filed Nov. 30, 2001, effective Jan. 1, 2002,
expires June 29, 2002. Amended: Filed Nov. 30, 2001. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars
($500) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Board of Nursing Home Administrators, Diana Love, Executive
Secretary, PO Box 1337, 2023 St. Mary’s Blvd., Jefferson City,
MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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