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Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION 
Division 10—Conservation Commission 

Chapter 10—Wildlife Code: Commercial Permits: 
Seasons, Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-10.705 Commercialization. The commission proposes to
amend this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies an individual’s right to due
process before the suspension, revocation, or denial of a permit or
privilege if they are found to be out of compliance with this Code. 

Wildlife may be bought, sold, offered for sale, exchanged, trans-
ported, or delivered only under the conditions of the prescribed per-
mit, or as otherwise provided in this chapter. No affidavit, receipt,
or other document may be issued or used in lieu of the required per-

mit. Any permit issued or obtained by false statement or through
fraud, or while permits are revoked or denied by the commission,
shall be invalid. [Renewal of permits is conditioned on com-
pliance with provisions of this Code.] As provided in rule 3
CSR 10-5.216, the commission may suspend, revoke, or deny a
permit or privilege for cause, but not until an opportunity has
been afforded for a hearing before the commission or its autho-
rized representative.  Hearings under this section shall be non-
contested cases unless the permittee is entitled by law to a con-
tested case hearing.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. and section
252.240, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 18, 1970, effective
Dec. 31, 1970. For intervening history, please consult the Code of
State Regulations. Amended: Filed March 12, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with Tom A.
Draper, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0180. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION 
Division 10—Conservation Commission 

Chapter 10—Wildlife Code: Commercial Permits: 
Seasons, Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-10.722 Resident Roe Fish Commercial Harvest Permit.
The commission proposes to amend this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment removes shovelnose sturgeon as a
species available for roe harvest from the Missouri River to align
Missouri’s regulations with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s sim-
ilarity of appearance ruling. 

Required in addition to the Commercial Fishing Permit to take, pos-
sess, and sell [shovelnose sturgeon and their eggs from the
Missouri River and] bowfin, paddlefish, and shovelnose sturgeon
and their eggs from the Mississippi River in accordance with 3 CSR
10-10.725. Fee: Five hundred dollars ($500).

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. and section
252.240, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Dec. 30, 2003, effective
July 1, 2004. For intervening history, please consult the Code of
State Regulations. Amended: Filed March 12, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with Tom A.

581

Proposed Rules

Proposed Amendment Text Reminder:
Boldface text indicates new matter.
[Bracketed text indicates matter being deleted.]

Under this heading will appear the text of proposed rules
and changes. The notice of proposed rulemaking is

required to contain an explanation of any new rule or any
change in an existing rule and the reasons therefor. This is set
out in the Purpose section with each rule. Also required is a
citation to the legal authority to make rules. This appears fol-
lowing the text of the rule, after the word  “Authority.”

Entirely new rules are printed without any special symbol-
ogy under the heading of proposed rule. If an existing

rule is to be amended or rescinded, it will have a heading of
proposed amendment or proposed rescission. Rules which
are proposed to be amended will have new matter printed in
boldface type and matter to be deleted placed in brackets.

An important function of the Missouri Register is to solicit
and encourage public participation in the rulemaking

process. The law provides that for every proposed rule,
amendment, or rescission there must be a notice that anyone
may comment on the proposed action. This comment may
take different forms.

If an agency is required by statute to hold a public hearing
before making any new rules, then a Notice of Public

Hearing will appear following the text of the rule. Hearing
dates must be at least thirty (30) days after publication of the
notice in the Missouri Register. If no hearing is planned or
required, the agency must give a Notice to Submit
Comments. This allows anyone to file statements in support
of or in opposition to the proposed action with the agency
within a specified time, no less than thirty (30) days after pub-
lication of the notice in the Missouri Register. 

An agency may hold a public hearing on a rule even
though not required by law to hold one. If an agency

allows comments to be received following the hearing date,
the close of comments date will be used as the beginning day
in the ninety- (90-) day-count necessary for the filing of the
order of rulemaking.

If an agency decides to hold a public hearing after planning
not to, it must withdraw the earlier notice and file a new

notice of proposed rulemaking and schedule a hearing for a
date not less than thirty (30) days from the date of publication
of the new notice.
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Draper, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0180. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION 
Division 10—Conservation Commission 

Chapter 10—Wildlife Code: Commercial Permits: 
Seasons, Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-10.725 Commercial Fishing: Seasons, Methods. The
commission proposes to amend subsection (1)(B), delete subsection
(1)(C), amend section (3), delete sections (4) and (5), renumber sub-
sequent sections, amend new section (6), amend new subsection
(6)(C), add subsection (6)(D), re-letter subsequent subsection,
amend new sections (7) and (8),  add section (9), renumber subse-
quent sections, amend new sections (10) and (11), and add section
(12) of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment removes references to shovelnose stur-
geon harvest on the Missouri River and Mississippi River below
Melvin Price Locks and Dam to align Missouri’s regulations with
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s similarity of appearance ruling,
hoop net leads are further defined, and the harvest of Asian carp
which jump into watercraft used by commercial fishermen is allowed.

(1) Commercial fish and live bait may be taken and possessed in any
numbers by the holder of a commercial fishing permit from com-
mercial waters with seines, gill nets, trammel nets, hoop nets with or
without wings, trotlines, throwlines, limb lines, bank lines, or jug or
block lines, and any number of hooks, except:

(B) [On the Missouri River downstream from U.S. Highway
169 to Carl R. Noren Access and downstream from Chamois
Access to its confluence with the Mississippi River, where
shovelnose sturgeon twenty-four inches (24”) to thirty inch-
es (30”) in length (measured from tip of snout to fork of tail)
may be taken and possessed only from November 1 through
May 15 and only by the holder of a Resident Roe Fish
Commercial Harvest Permit. (]Endangered species as listed in 3
CSR 10-4.111(3), including lake sturgeon and pallid sturgeon, may
not be taken or possessed, and must be returned to the water
unharmed immediately after being caught.[)]

[(C) On portions of the Mississippi River defined as com-
mercial waters where shovelnose sturgeon twenty-four inch-
es (24”) to thirty-two inches (32”) in length (measured from
tip of snout to fork of tail) may be taken and possessed only
from October 15 through May 15 and only by holders of a
Resident Roe Fish Commercial Harvest Permit or
Nonresident Mississippi River Roe Fish Commercial Harvest
Permit.]

(3) On the Missouri River [upstream from U.S. Highway 169
and downstream from Carl R. Noren Access to Chamois
Access] or banks thereof, game fish (including channel, blue, and
flathead catfish[,]; paddlefish; and shovelnose sturgeon) may not be
possessed or transported while fishing by commercial methods or
while possessing commercial fishing gear and shall be returned to the
water unharmed immediately after being caught.

[(4) From May 16 through October 31 on the Missouri River
downstream from U.S. Highway 169 to Carl R. Noren
Access and downstream from Chamois Access to its con-
fluence with the Mississippi River or banks thereof, game
fish (including channel, blue and flathead catfish, paddlefish
and shovelnose sturgeon) may not be possessed or trans-
ported while fishing by commercial methods or while pos-

sessing commercial fishing gear and shall be returned to the
water unharmed immediately after being caught.]

[(5) From November 1 through May 15 on the Missouri River
downstream from U.S. Highway 169 to Carl R. Noren
Access and downstream from Chamois Access to its con-
fluence with the Mississippi River or banks thereof, the fol-
lowing may not be possessed or transported while fishing by
commercial methods or while possessing commercial fishing
gear and shall be returned to the water unharmed immedi-
ately after being caught:

(A) Game fish (including channel, blue and flathead catfish
and paddlefish).

(B) Shovelnose sturgeon less than twenty-four inches
(24”) or more than thirty inches (30”) in length (measured
from tip of snout to fork of tail).]

[(6)](4) On that part of the St. Francis River which forms the bound-
ary between the states of Arkansas and Missouri, the following may
not be possessed or transported while fishing by commercial meth-
ods or while possessing commercial fishing gear and shall be
returned to the water unharmed immediately after being caught:

(A) Channel, blue, and flathead catfish less than fifteen inches
(15") in total length[.]; and

(B) Other game fish (including paddlefish and shovelnose stur-
geon).

[(7)](5) From May 16 through October 14 on the portions of the
Mississippi River defined as commercial waters, the following may
not be possessed or transported while fishing by commercial meth-
ods or while possessing commercial fishing gear and shall be
returned to the water unharmed immediately after being caught:

(A) Channel, blue, and flathead catfish less than fifteen inches
(15") in total length[.];

(B) Paddlefish less than twenty-four inches (24") in length (mea-
sured from eye to fork of tail)[.];

(C) Shovelnose sturgeon[.]; and
(D) Other game fish.

[(8)](6) From October 15 through May 15 on the portions of the
Mississippi River defined as commercial waters unless further
restricted, the following may not be possessed or transported while
fishing by commercial methods or while possessing commercial fish-
ing gear and shall be returned to the water unharmed immediately
after being caught:

(A) Channel, blue, and flathead catfish less than fifteen inches
(15") in total length[.];

(B) Paddlefish less than twenty-four inches (24") in length (mea-
sured from eye to fork of tail)[.];

(C) Shovelnose sturgeon upstream from Melvin Price Locks and
Dam less than twenty-four inches (24") or more than thirty-two inch-
es (32") in length (measured from tip of snout to fork of tail)[.];

(D) Shovelnose sturgeon downstream from Melvin Price Locks
and Dam; and

[(D)](E) Other game fish.

[(9)](7) While on waters of the state and adjacent banks, the head
and tail must remain attached to all fish, bowfin, and shovelnose
sturgeon must remain whole and intact, and the ovaries of paddlefish
must remain intact and accompany the fish from which they were
removed.

[(10)](8) Commercial fishing gear may not be used or set within three
hundred (300) yards of any spillway, lock, dam, or the mouth of any
tributary stream or ditch, or in waters existing temporarily through
overflow outside the banks of the specified rivers except as [provided
in section (7) of this rule] specified in 3 CSR 10-20.805(14), and
may not be used to take fish underneath or through the ice. [Seines,
gill nets, and trammel nets having a mesh smaller than two
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inches (2”) bar measure, measured when wet, may not be
used. Hoop nets, including wings and leads, having a mesh
smaller than one and one-half inches (1 1/2”) bar measure,
measured when wet, may not be used. Hoop net wings and
leads must be a single panel and not more than six feet (6’)
in depth. Hooks attached to trotlines or throwlines shall be
staged not less than two feet (2’) apart. While in use, all
commercial fishing gear shall be labeled with tags furnished
by the department and placed as indicated on the tags.
Portions of trotlines and jug or block lines, throwlines, bank
lines, and limb lines must have the commercial tag number
under which they are being fished attached to each line.
Commercial fishing gear may not be possessed on waters of
the state or adjacent banks that are not open to commercial
fishing, except during transportation by boat from the near-
est access location to commercial fishing waters as deter-
mined by the department.]

(9) Commercial gear must meet the following requirements:
(A) Seines, gill nets, and trammel nets having a mesh smaller

than two inches (2") bar measure, measured when wet, may not
be used; 

(B) Hoop nets having a mesh smaller than one and one-half
inches (1 1/2") bar measure, measured when wet, may not be
used. Hoop net wings and leads must be a single panel, not more
than six feet (6') in depth, mesh size one and one half inches (1
1/2") bar measure, measured when wet, and made of twine not
less than three sixty-fourths of an inch (3/64") in diameter;

(C) Hooks attached to trotlines or throwlines shall be staged
not less than two feet (2') apart; 

(D) While in use, all commercial fishing gear shall be labeled
with tags furnished by the department and placed as indicated on
the tags. Portions of trotlines and jug or block lines, throwlines,
bank lines, and limb lines must have the commercial tag number
under which they are being fished attached to each line; and 

(E) Commercial fishing gear may not be possessed on waters of
the state or adjacent banks that are not open to commercial fish-
ing, except during transportation by boat from the nearest access
location to commercial fishing waters as determined by the
department.

[(11)](10) The possession of game fish except as defined as com-
mercial fish in 3 CSR 10-20.805(13) while in the act of using com-
mercial fishing gear or aboard a boat transporting fish taken by com-
mercial fishing gear is prohibited.

[(12)](11) The possession of extracted eggs of any fish species,
except as provided in section [(9)](7) of this rule, is prohibited while
on waters of the state and adjacent banks.

(12) Bighead carp, common carp, grass carp, and silver carp
that jump from the water on or into a watercraft, or onto land,
may be taken and possessed in any number.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. and section
252.240, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Aug. 16, 1973, effective
Dec. 31, 1973. For intervening history, please consult the Code of
State Regulations. Amended: Filed March 12, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will cost private entities
approximately ten thousand one hundred twelve dollars and twenty
cents ($10,112.20) in the aggregate. This information is based on 28
commercial fisherman x 6.2 hoop nets each = 173.6 hoop net leads.
Approximately 173.6 hoop net leads will be replaced at $58.25 each
=$10,112.20 aggregate costs (one- (1-) time).

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with Tom A.
Draper, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0180. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 12—Wildlife Code: Special Regulations for 
Areas Owned by Other Entities

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-12.109 Closed Hours. The commission proposes to delete
subsection (1)(G) and re-letter subsequent subsections of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment removes a reference to a lake no longer
managed by the department.

(1) Closed Hours. The following areas are closed to public use from
10:00 p.m. to 4:00 a.m. daily; however, hunting, fishing, trapping,
dog training, camping, launching boats, and landing boats are per-
mitted at any time on areas where these activities are authorized,
except as further restricted in this chapter.

[(G) Green City Lake]
[(H)](G) Kirksville (Hazel Creek Lake, Spur Pond) 
[(I)](H) Lancaster (City Lake, Paul Bloch Memorial Pond)
[(J)](I) LaPlata City Lake
[(K)](J) Liberty (Fountain Bluff Park Ponds Nos. 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6,

7, and 8)
[(L)](K) Macon County (Fairgrounds Lake)
[(M)](L) Marceline (Marceline City Lake, Old Marceline City

Reservoir)
[(N)](M) Memphis (Lake Showme)
[(O)](N) Milan (Elmwood Lake)
[(P)](O) Monroe City (Route J Reservoir)
[(Q)](P) Palmyra (Akerson Access)
[(R)](Q) Pemiscot County (Triangle Boat Club Access)
[(S)](R) Rockaway Beach Access
[(T)](S) Sedalia Water Department (Spring Fork Lake)
[(U)](T) Springfield City Utilities (Fellows Lake, Lake

Springfield, Tailwaters Access)

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. and section
252.240, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed June 1, 2001, effective Oct.
30, 2001. For intervening history, please consult the Code of State
Regulations. Amended: Filed March 12, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with Tom A.
Draper, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0180. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 12—Wildlife Code: Special Regulations for 
Areas Owned by Other Entities

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-12.110 Use of Boats and Motors. The commission pro-
poses to delete subsection (6)(F) and re-letter subsequent subsections
of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment removes a reference to a lake no longer
managed by the department.

(6) Outboard motors in excess of ten (10) horsepower may be used
but must be operated at slow, no-wake speed on the following areas: 

[(F) Green City Lake;]
[(G)](F) Little River Drainage District (Headwaters Diversion

Channel);
[(H)](G) Higginsville City Lake;
[(I)](H) Holden City Lake;
[(J)](I) Iron Mountain City Lake;
[(K)](J) La Plata City Lake;
[(L)](K) Macon City Lake;
[(M)](L) Marceline (Marceline City Lake, Old Marceline City

Reservoir);
[(N)](M) Mark Twain National Forest (Council Bluff Lake,

Palmer Lake);
[(O)](N) Maysville (Willow Brook Lake);
[(P)](O) Memphis (Lake Showme);
[(Q)](P) Milan (Elmwood Lake);
[(R)](Q) Moberly (Rothwell Park Lake, Sugar Creek Lake, and

Water Works Lake);
[(S)](R) Monroe City (Route J Reservoir);
[(T)](S) Unionville (Lake Mahoney);
[(U)](T) Wakonda State Park (Agate Lake and Wakonda Lake);

and
[(V)](U) Watkins Woolen Mill State Park and Historic Site

(Williams Creek Lake);

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. and section
252.240, RSMo 2000. This rule previously filed as 3 CSR 10-4.116.
Original rule filed April 30, 2001, effective Sept. 30, 2001. For inter-
vening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended: Filed March 12, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with Tom A.
Draper, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0180. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 12—Wildlife Code: Special Regulations for 
Areas Owned by Other Entities

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-12.135 Fishing, Methods. The commission proposes to
delete subsection (4)(E) and re-letter subsequent subsections of this
rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment removes a reference to a lake no longer
managed by the department.

(4) Carp, buffalo, suckers, and gar may be taken by atlatl, gig, bow,
or crossbow during statewide seasons on the following lakes:

[(E) Green City Lake]
[(F)](E) Hamilton City Lake
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[(G)](F) Harrison County Lake
[(H)](G) Jackson County (Lake Jacomo, north of Colbern Road)
[(I)](H) Kirksville (Hazel Creek Lake)
[(J)](I) Maryville (Mozingo Lake)
[(K)](J) Macon City Lake
[(L)](K) Marceline (Marceline City Lake, Old Marceline City

Reservoir)
[(M)](L) Maysville (Willow Brook Lake)
[(N)](M) Memphis (Lake Showme)
[(O)](N) Moberly (Sugar Creek Lake)
[(P)](O) St. Louis County (Sunfish Lake)
[(Q)](P) Thousand Hills State Park (Forest Lake)
[(R)](Q) Unionville (Lake Mahoney)
[(S)](R) Wakonda State Park lakes

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. and section
252.240, RSMo 2000. This rule previously filed as 3 CSR 10-4.116.
Original rule filed April 30, 2001, effective Sept. 30, 2001. For inter-
vening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended: Filed March 12, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with Tom A.
Draper, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0180. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 20—Wildlife Code: Definitions

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-20.805 Definitions. The commission proposes to amend
section (13) of this rule.

PURPOSE: The amendment aligns the Wildlife Code with current
federal regulations for shovelnose sturgeon.

(13) Commercial fish: All fish except endangered species as listed in
3 CSR 10-4.111(3) and game fish as defined in this rule. Includes
those species for which sale is permitted when legally obtained. For
purposes of this Code, packaged salt water species or freshwater
species not found in waters of this state, when the processed fish are
truly labeled as to content, point of origin, and name and address of
the processor, are exempt from restrictions applicable to native com-
mercial fish. Commercial fish include common snapping and soft-
shelled turtles and crayfish taken from waters open to commercial
fishing. In the Mississippi River and that part of the St. Francis River
which forms the boundary between the states of Arkansas and
Missouri, commercial fish also include channel, blue, and flathead
catfish at least fifteen inches (15") in total length. In the Mississippi
River only, commercial fish also include paddlefish at least twenty-
four inches (24") in length (measured from eye to fork of tail) and
shovelnose sturgeon twenty-four inches to thirty-two inches
(24"–32") in length (measured from tip of snout to fork of tail)
upstream from Melvin Price Locks and Dam. [In the Missouri
River downstream from U.S. Highway 169 to Carl R. Noren
Access and downstream from Chamois Access to its con-

fluence with the Mississippi River, commercial fish also
include shovelnose sturgeon twenty-four inches to thirty
inches (24”–30”) in length (measured from tip of snout to
fork of tail).]

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. and section
252.240, RSMo 2000. This rule previously filed as 3 CSR 10-11.805.
Original rule filed April 30, 2001, effective Sept. 30, 2001. For inter-
vening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended: Filed March 12, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with Tom A.
Draper, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation, PO Box 180,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0180. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 7—DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division 60—Traffic and Highway Safety Division

Chapter 2—Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device 
Certification and Operational Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

7 CSR 60-2.010 Definitions. The Missouri Highways and Trans-
portation Commission is amending subsection (1)(A).

PURPOSE: This proposed amendment defines the terms used in the
breath alcohol ignition interlock device certification and operational
requirements.

(1) Definitions.
(A) The following words and terms as used in these requirements

shall have the following meaning:
1. Alcohol retest setpoint—The breath alcohol concentration at

which the ignition interlock device is set [to lock the ignition] for
the rolling retests;

2. Alcohol setpoint—The breath alcohol concentration at which
the ignition interlock device is set to lock the ignition. The alcohol
setpoint is the nominal lock point at which the ignition interlock
device is set at the time of calibration;

3. Alveolar air—Deep lung air or alveolar breath, which is the
last portion of a prolonged, uninterrupted exhalation;

4. Authorized service provider—A person, company, or autho-
rized franchise who is certified by the state of Missouri to provide
breath alcohol ignition interlock devices under sections
577.600–577.614, RSMo;

5. Bogus breath sample—Any gas sample other than an unal-
tered, undiluted, and unfiltered alveolar air sample from a driver;

6. Breath alcohol concentration (BAC)—The number of grams
of alcohol (% weight/volume) per two hundred ten (210) liters of
breath;

7. Breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID)—A mechan-
ical unit that is installed in a vehicle which requires the taking of a
BAC test prior to the starting of the vehicle and at periodic intervals
after the engine has been started. If the unit detects a BAC test result
below the alcohol setpoint, the unit will allow the vehicle’s ignition
switch to start the engine and will provide a warning message. If
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the unit detects a BAC test result at or above the alcohol setpoint, the
vehicle will be prohibited from starting;

8. Breath sample—Expired human breath containing primarily
alveolar air;

9. Calibration—The process which ensures an accurate alcohol
concentration reading on a device;

10. Circumvention—An unauthorized, intentional, or overt act
or attempt to start, drive, or operate a vehicle equipped with a breath
alcohol ignition interlock device without the driver of the vehicle
providing a pure breath sample;

11. Committee—The persons delegated to conduct informal
reviews of suspension or revocation of a device by the Missouri
Highways and Transportation Commission;

12. Designated monitoring period—The period of time indi-
cated by the Department of Revenue for required monitoring of
the driver’s ignition interlock use by the authorized service
provider;

[11.]13. Device—Breath alcohol ignition interlock device
(BAIID);

[12.]14. Download—The transfer of information from the
interlock device’s memory onto disk or other electronic or digital
transfer protocol;

[13.]15. Emergency service—Unforeseen circumstances in the
use and/or operation of a breath alcohol ignition interlock device, not
covered by training or otherwise documented, which requires imme-
diate action;

[14.]16. Filtered breath sample—A breath sample which has
been filtered through a substance in an attempt to remove alcohol
from the sample;

17. Global positioning system—A feature of the device that
will log the location (longitude and latitude), date and time of
each breath sample including any refusal, any circumvention
attempt, and any attempt to tamper with the ignition interlock
device;

[15.]18. Independent laboratory—A laboratory which is prop-
erly equipped and staffed to conduct laboratory tests on ignition
interlock devices;

[16.]19. Initial breath test—A breath test required to start a
vehicle to ensure that the driver’s BAC is below the alcohol setpoint;

[17.]20. Installation—Mechanical placement and electrical
connection of a breath alcohol ignition interlock device in a vehicle
by installers;

[18.]21. Installer—A dealer, distributor, supplier, individual,
or service center who provides device calibration, installation, and
other related activities as required by the authorized service provider;

[19.]22. Lockout—The ability of the device to prevent a vehi-
cle’s engine from starting unless it is serviced or recalibrated;

[20.]23. NHTSA—Federal agency known as the National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration;

[21.]24. Operator—Any person who operates a vehicle that has
a court-ordered or Department of Revenue required breath alcohol
ignition interlock device installed;

[22.]25. Permanent lockout—A feature of a device in which a
vehicle will not start until the device is reset by a device installer;

26. Photo ID technology—A feature of the device that incor-
porates technology that will photograph the person who is pro-
viding the breath test;

27. Refusal—The failure of a driver to provide a breath sam-
ple and complete the breath test when prompted by the ignition
interlock device;

[23.]28. Pure breath sample—Expired human breath containing
primarily alveolar air and having a breath alcohol concentration
below the alcohol setpoint of twenty-five thousandths (.025);

[24.]29. Reinstallation—Replacing a breath alcohol ignition
interlock device in a vehicle by an installer after it has been removed
for service;

[25.]30. Retest—Two (2) additional chances to provide a breath

sample below the alcohol setpoint when the first sample failed; or
three (3) chances to provide a breath alcohol sample below the alco-
hol setpoint on the rolling retest;

31. Revocation—A revocation is a removal of a device from
the approved list and requires reapplication under 7 CSR 60-
2.020. After revocation, an authorized service provider must wait
at least one (1) year or longer, if determined by Traffic and
Highway Safety Division or the committee, before reapplication;

[26.]32. Rolling retest—A subsequent breath test that must be
conducted five (5) minutes after starting the vehicle and randomly
during each subsequent thirty- (30-)[-] minute time period thereafter
while the vehicle is in operation;

[27.]33. Service lockout—A feature of the breath alcohol igni-
tion interlock device which will not allow a breath test and will not
allow the vehicle to start until the device is serviced and recalibrated
as required;

34. Suspension—The period after a finding by the Missouri
Department of Transportation, Traffic and Highway Safety
Division or the committee designated by the Missouri Highways
and Transportation Commission to conduct informal review of a
device that is to be or has been removed from the list of approved
devices. A suspension is temporary and may not require the man-
ufacturer to go through the approval procedure although the
Traffic and Highway Safety Division or the committee may
impose requirements before the suspension is removed;

[28.]35. Tampering—An overt, purposeful attempt to physical-
ly alter or disable an ignition interlock device, or disconnect it from
its power source, or remove, alter, or deface physical anti-tampering
measures, so a driver can start the vehicle without taking and pass-
ing an initial breath test;

[29.]36. Temporary lockout—A feature of the device which
will not allow the vehicle to start for fifteen (15) minutes after three
(3) failed attempts to blow a pure breath sample; and

[30.]37. Violations reset—A feature of a device in which a ser-
vice reminder is activated due to one (1) of the following reasons:

A. Two (2) fifteen- (15-)[-] minute temporary lockouts with-
in a thirty- (30-)[-] day period; 

B. Any three (3) refusals to provide a retest sample within a
thirty- (30-)[-] day period; [or]

C. Any three (3) retest breath samples above the alcohol set-
point within a thirty- (30-)[-] day period; or

D. Any attempts to circumvent or tamper with a device.

AUTHORITY: sections 302.060, 302.304, 302.309, 302.525, and
577.041, RSMo Supp. 2012, sections 577.600–577.614, RSMo 2000
and RSMo Supp. [2009] 2012, and section 226.130, RSMo 2000.
This rule originally filed as 11 CSR 60-2.010. Emergency rule filed
Feb. 5, 1996, effective Feb. 15, 1996, expired Aug. 12, 1996.
Original rule filed Feb. 16, 1996, effective Aug. 30, 1996. For inter-
vening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended: Filed March 7, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Department of Transportation, Pamela J. Harlan, Secretary
to the Commission, PO Box 270, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hear-
ing is scheduled.
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Title 7—DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division 60—Traffic and Highway Safety Division

Chapter 2—Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device 
Certification and Operational Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

7 CSR 60-2.020 Approval Procedure. The Missouri Highways and
Transportation Commission is amending subsections (1)(B) and
(1)(C).

PURPOSE: This proposed amendment outlines the necessary steps
for manufacturers to get their interlock devices approved and certi-
fied in the state of Missouri.

(1) Approval Procedure.
(B) Application.

1. Application to become an authorized service provider must
be made by submitting a letter requesting approval of a breath alco-
hol ignition interlock device to the State of Missouri, Department of
Transportation, Traffic and Highway Safety Division, PO Box 270,
Jefferson City, MO 65102, in the manner described herein. All appli-
cants must certify that their device— 

A. Does not impede the safe operation of a vehicle;
B. Minimizes opportunities to circumvent the device; and
C. Prevents an operator from starting a vehicle when the

operator has a breath alcohol concentration which exceeds the alco-
hol setpoint.

2. An application for certification must include all of the fol-
lowing:

A. A written request for certification of a device on the com-
pany’s letterhead, signed by an authorized representative of the com-
pany;

B. The name and business address of the applicant;
C. The name and model number of the device[. A separate

application is required for each model of device];
D. Complete technical specifications describing the device’s

accuracy, reliability, security, data collection and recording, tamper
detection, and environmental features;

E. A quality control plan that outlines the requirements
for installation sites, service centers, and technicians who install
and/or service ignition interlock devices. The plan must be sub-
mitted annually, or when changes occur, and must include, but
not be limited to, the following:

(I) Certification that ignition interlock technicians do
not have two (2) or more alcohol-related enforcement contacts as
defined in section 302.525, RSMo, or a manslaughter, involun-
tary manslaughter, or any other type of crime or conduct involv-
ing moral turpitude that would compromise the program;

(II) Installation sites and service centers are operating
as a business meeting all federal, state, and local government reg-
ulations;

(III) The process the authorized service provider will
use for ongoing supervision of the sites and technicians in the
state; and

(IV) Outline suspension and revocation procedures for
installation sites, service centers, and technicians for non-com-
pliance of requirements set forth in 7 CSR 60-2.010 through 7
CSR 60-2.060 or any policies outlined by the authorized service
provider;

[E.]F. A complete and certified copy of data from an inde-
pendent laboratory demonstrating that the device meets or exceeds
the standards established by the United States Department of
Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
identified as “Model Specifications for Breath Alcohol Ignition
Interlock Devices” 57 FR  11772–11787 (April 7, 1992), which is
incorporated by reference and made a part of this rule as published
in the Federal Register by the National Highway Traffic Safety

Administration, 1200 New Jersey SE, Washington, DC 20590 and
effective April 7, 1992. This rule does not incorporate any subse-
quent amendments or additions to this publication;

[F.]G. A complete listing of all installers that includes the
name, location, phone number, contact name, and hours of opera-
tion; [and]

[G.]H. The applicant’s toll-free customer service/ques-
tion/complaint hot-line number[.]; and

I. A separate application is required for devices that dif-
fer in any operational aspect.

3. The applicant seeking certification shall—
A. Agree to ensure any service performed outside the state

of Missouri on a device installed pursuant to Missouri law shall
be in compliance with all requirements included herein;

B. Agree to ensure proper record keeping and provide tes-
timony relating to any aspect of the installation, service, repair,
removal, interpretation of any report, or information recorded in
the data storage system of a device;

C. Advise the Missouri Department of Transportation,
Traffic and Highway Safety Division, whether the device for
which certification is being sought in Missouri is the subject of
any action to disallow, or has ever been, in any way, disallowed
for use in another state whether such action occurred before or
after approval in Missouri and if or when such action is or has
been appealed in the other state and the outcome of the appeal;

D. Upon request of the Missouri Department of
Transportation, Traffic and Highway Safety Division, and/or an
agent of the state, for each device submitted for certification or
certified under this section, agree to install the device with all
proposed anti-circumvention features activated in a vehicle pro-
vided by the state, and/or an agent of the state; and

E. The state, and/or an agent of the state, may conduct
compliance testing on the device submitted for certification and
periodically throughout the certification period.

[3.]4. All compliance costs associated with the [certification
and recertification process] requirements set forth in 7 CSR 60-
2.010 through 7 CSR 60-2.060 shall be borne by the applicant or
authorized service provider.

(C) Approval.
1. The state of Missouri will issue a letter of certification or a

letter of refusal to certify within sixty (60) days after receipt of a
completed application. No device should be deemed approved,
regardless of the time frame, unless the applicant has received writ-
ten notification from the state of Missouri, Department of
Transportation, Traffic and Highway Safety Division.

2. The state of Missouri will notify applicants for certifi-
cation if their application is incomplete and, if the application is
incomplete, will specify what information or documents are needed
to complete the application.

3. The state of Missouri, Department of Transportation,
Traffic and Highway Safety Division, will publish and maintain a
list of approved devices. The list will be updated as changes occur.

AUTHORITY: sections 302.060, 302.304, 302.309, 302.525, and
577.041, RSMo Supp. 2012, sections 577.600–577.614, RSMo 2000
and RSMo Supp. [2008] 2012, and section 226.130, RSMo 2000.
This rule originally filed as 11 CSR 60-2.020. Emergency rule filed
Feb. 5, 1996, effective Feb. 15, 1996, expired Aug. 12, 1996.
Original rule filed Feb. 16, 1996, effective Aug. 30, 1996. Moved to
7 CSR 60-2.020, effective Aug. 28, 2003. Amended: Filed May 7,
2009, effective Dec. 30, 2009. Amended: Filed March 7, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.
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NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Department of Transportation, Pamela J. Harlan, Secretary
to the Commission, PO Box 270, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hear-
ing is scheduled.

Title 7—DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division 60—Traffic and Highway Safety Division

Chapter 2—Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device 
Certification and Operational Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

7 CSR 60-2.030 Standards and Specifications. The Missouri
Highways and Transportation Commission is amending the purpose,
subsections (1)(A)–(1)(C) and (1)(E), and adding a new subsection
(1)(G).

PURPOSE: This proposed amendment clarifies installation and cer-
tification standards and procedures for ignition interlock devices in
the state of Missouri.

PURPOSE: This rule outlines the minimum standards and specifica-
tions for ignition interlock device approval and [certification]
installation in the state of Missouri.

(1) Standards and Specifications.
(A) [Beginning July 1, 2009,] [a]All devices [newly] installed

into a vehicle must be based on electro-chemical fuel cell sensor
technology and shall meet or exceed the standards established by the
United States Department of Transportation, National Highway
Traffic Safety Administration, identified as “Model Specifications
for Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Devices” 57 FR 11772–11787
(April 7, 1992), which is incorporated by reference and made a part
of this rule as published in the Federal Register by the National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey SE,
Washington, DC 20590 and effective April 7, 1992. This rule does
not incorporate any subsequent amendments or additions to this pub-
lication. [Beginning July 1, 2011, all devices currently
installed in an operator’s vehicle that are not electro-chemi-
cal fuel cell technology shall be removed by the authorized
service provider of the non-electro-chemical fuel cell device
and such authorized service provider shall install new
devices based on electro-chemical fuel cell technology,
which must be selected from the state of Missouri’s list of
such approved devices. The authorized service provider shall
notify by May 1, 2011, operators with non-electro-chemical
fuel cell devices in their vehicles that such devices are to be
removed from the operators’ vehicles at the cost of the
authorized service provider and that new devices shall be
installed at the authorized service provider’s expense.]

1. All devices approved by the Missouri Department of
Transportation, Traffic and Highway Safety Division, must contain
an anti-circumvention feature to help deter bogus breath samples and
that feature should not be disengaged by any other person, including,
but not limited to, the installer.

2. All devices approved by the Missouri Department of
Transportation, Traffic and Highway Safety Division, shall be pro-
grammed to allow the vehicle to be restarted without requiring an
additional breath test for three (3) minutes after the ignition has been
turned off or the vehicle has stalled, except when the driver has failed
to take a random test or has provided a breath sample over the
alcohol setpoint.

3. An ignition interlock installer shall—
A. Install an ignition interlock device on a vehicle only if

the vehicle is driven in to the service center;
B. Ensure that a driver or other unauthorized person does

not witness the installation or removal of an ignition interlock
device; and 

C. Inspect all vehicles prior to installation to determine
that mechanical and electrical parts of the vehicle affected by an
ignition interlock device are in acceptable condition and not
install a device unless and until the vehicle is in acceptable con-
dition.

4. The following anti-tampering measures shall be utilized
when installing an ignition interlock device: 

A. Place all connections between a device and the vehicle
under the dash or in an inconspicuous area of the vehicle;

B. Cover all of the following connections with a unique
and easily identifiable seal, epoxy, resin, wire, sheathing, or tape:

(I) Any portion of an ignition interlock device that can
be disconnected;

(II) All wires used to install the device that are not
inside a secured enclosure; and

(III) All exposed electrical connections.
(B) All approved devices must have an alcohol setpoint of twenty-

five thousandths (.025) for initial startup.
1. A device shall be programmed to allow a maximum of three

(3) attempts to blow a breath sample below the alcohol setpoint with-
in a ten- (10-)[-] minute period.

2. Three (3) failed startup attempts within a ten- (10-)[-] minute
period shall result in a fifteen- (15-)[-] minute temporary lockout.

3. Two (2) fifteen- (15-)[-] minute temporary lockouts within a
thirty- (30-)[-] day period will result in a violations reset message.

4. The violations reset message shall instruct the operator to
return the device to the installer for servicing within five (5) work-
ing days.

A. As the result of a reset message, the installer must down-
load and calibrate the device.

B. The installer must report all violations to the court-ordered
supervising authority within three (3) working days.

5. If the vehicle is not returned to the installer within five (5)
working days, the device shall cause the vehicle to enter a permanent
lockout condition.

(C) A retest feature is required for all devices.
1. A device shall be programmed to require a rolling retest five

(5) minutes after the start of the vehicle and randomly during each
subsequent thirty- (30-)[-] minute time period thereafter as long as
the vehicle is in operation.

2. Any breath sample above the alcohol retest setpoint of twen-
ty-five thousandths (.025) or any failure to provide a retest sample
within five (5) minutes shall activate the vehicle’s horn or other
installed alarm and/or cause the vehicle’s emergency lights to flash
until the engine is shut off by the operator. Three (3) breath samples
above the alcohol setpoint or three (3) refusals by the driver to pro-
vide a retest sample within a thirty- (30-)[-] day period [will] shall
result in a violations reset message.

3. The violations reset message shall instruct the operator to
return the device to the installer for servicing within five (5) work-
ing days.

A. As the result of a reset message, the installer must down-
load and calibrate the device.

B. The installer must report all violations to the court-ordered
supervising authority within three (3) working days.

4. If the vehicle is not returned to the installer within five (5)
working days, the device shall cause the vehicle to enter a permanent
lockout condition.

(E) A device shall record data in its memory in such a manner that
a hard copy report can be printed which includes all of the following
information:

1. The date and time of any use or attempted use of a vehicle;
2. The date and time of any act or attempt to tamper or cir-

cumvent the device;
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3. The date, time, and breath alcohol concentration, in grams
per two hundred ten (210) liters of air, of each breath sample pro-
vided to the device; 

4. The date and time of any malfunctions of the device;
5. The date and time of any failures to provide retest samples;
6. The date that a “service required” (that is, violations reset)

message is issued to the operator; [and]
7. The date that any service is performed[.]; and
8. Photo identification and global positioning data when the

features are enabled as required by the court supervising author-
ity, Department of Revenue, or Missouri statute.

(G) The sale or use of any type of remote code allowing a dri-
ver to bypass a lockout condition or any user to not provide a
breath sample on vehicle start up is prohibited.

AUTHORITY: sections 302.060, 302.304, 302.309, 302.525, and
577.041, RSMo Supp. 2012, sections 577.600–577.614, RSMo 2000
and RSMo Supp. [2009] 2012, and section 226.130, RSMo 2000.
This rule originally filed as 11 CSR 60-2.030. Emergency rule filed
Feb. 5, 1996, effective Feb. 15, 1996, expired Aug. 12, 1996.
Original rule filed Feb. 16, 1996, effective Aug. 30, 1996. Moved to
7 CSR 60-2.030, effective Aug. 28, 2003. Emergency amendment
filed May 7, 2009, effective July 1, 2009, expired Dec. 30, 2009.
Amended: Filed May 7, 2009, effective Dec. 30, 2009. Emergency
amendment filed April 8, 2010, effective April 18, 2010, expired Nov.
30, 2010. Amended: Filed April 8, 2010, effective Nov. 30, 2010.
Amended: Filed March 7, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Department of Transportation, Pamela J. Harlan, Secretary
to the Commission, PO Box 270, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hear-
ing is scheduled.

Title 7—DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division 60—Traffic and Highway Safety Division

Chapter 2—Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device 
Certification and Operational Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

7 CSR 60-2.040 Responsibilities of Authorized Service Providers.
The Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission is amending
subsections (1)(A) and (1)(B).

PURPOSE: This proposed amendment clarifies the record-keeping
protocols for breath alcohol ignition interlock device authorized ser-
vice providers.

(1) Responsibilities of Authorized Service Providers.
(A) The responsibilities of a breath alcohol ignition interlock

device authorized service provider to the state of Missouri shall
include:

1. The authorized service provider shall carry product liability
insurance with minimum liability limits of one (1) million dollars per
occurrence and three (3) million dollars aggregate total.  The liabil-
ity insurance shall include coverage for defects in product design and
materials as well as manufacturing, calibration, installation, and

removal of devices. The authorized service provider shall ensure that
its installers are named additional insureds or that its installers carry
like insurance in the amounts stated herein. The proof of insurance
shall include a statement from the insurance company that thirty (30)
days’ notice will be given to the director, Traffic and Highway Safety
Division, before cancellation of the insurance. Proof of insurance must
be submitted to the Missouri Department of Transportation, Traffic
and Highway Safety Division within thirty (30) days after a Letter of
Certification has been issued.  Failure to provide certificate of insur-
ance may result in suspension or revocation of approval for the
device;

2. The authorized service provider shall indemnify and hold
harmless the state of Missouri and its officers, employees, and agents
from all claims, demands, actions, and costs whatsoever which may
arise, directly or indirectly, out of any act or omission by the autho-
rized service provider or its installers relating to the installation, ser-
vice, repair, use, or removal of a device;

3. The authorized service provider shall provide expert or other
required testimony in any civil or criminal proceedings or adminis-
trative hearings as to the method of manufacture of the device, how
said device functions, [and] the testing protocol by which the device
was evaluated for approval, and interpretation of any report or
information recorded in the data storage system of the device.
Failure to provide testimony may result in suspension or revocation
of approval for the device;

4. The authorized service provider shall notify the Missouri
Department of Transportation, Traffic and Highway Safety Division
in writing of any material modification or alteration in the compo-
nents, design, or installation and operating instructions of any device
approved for use in the state of Missouri and shall provide the Traffic
and Highway Safety Division satisfactory proof that any modifications
or alterations do not adversely affect the ability of the device to satis-
fy the standards established by the United States Department of
Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, iden-
tified as “Model Specifications for Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock
Devices” 57 FR 11772–11787 (April 7, 1992), which is incorporated
by reference and made a part of this rule as published in the Federal
Register by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration,
1200 New Jersey SE, Washington, DC 20590 and effective April 7,
1992. This rule does not incorporate any subsequent amendments or
additions to this publication;

5. The authorized service provider must provide informational
materials to the Division of Probation and Parole, the circuit courts
(including circuit, associate, and municipal divisions), and the
Department of Revenue for distribution to operators at no cost;

6. In cases of operator noncompliance, the authorized service
provider or his/her installer must notify the appropriate court-
ordered supervising authority before the end of the next working day.
Noncompliance shall include tampering, circumvention, violations
resets, high breath alcohol concentration (BAC), missing a scheduled
service date, or other noncompliance as determined by the referring
court;

7. The authorized service provider shall notify the appropriate
court-ordered supervising authority by the end of the next working
day of removal of a device; 

8. The authorized service provider, installation site, and ser-
vice center shall conduct physical tamper inspections any time the
device is serviced or given routine inspection, maintenance, or
repair. Tamper inspections shall include the following:

A. Inspection of all external wiring, insulation, connections,
tamper seals, and sheathing for the device and where the device con-
nects to the vehicle; and 

B. Checking the device for proper operation to ensure tamper
detection capabilities;

9. The authorized service provider must immediately notify the
chief law enforcement official of the county, or a city not within a
county, where the installer is located, and the court-ordered super-
vising authority of any evidence of tampering with or circumvention
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of the device. The evidence must be preserved by the authorized ser-
vice provider or his/her installer until otherwise notified by local law
enforcement officials;

10. The authorized service provider must provide summary
reports every thirty (30) days to the court-ordered supervising
authority. The summary reports must contain a summary of viola-
tions, the number of starts, and all noncompliance on devices placed
in service in the state of Missouri under sections 577.600–577.614,
RSMo;

11. The authorized service provider must provide to the court-
ordered supervising authority additional reports, to include, but not
be limited to, records of installation, calibrations, maintenance
checks, and usage records on devices placed in service in the state of
Missouri under sections 577.600–577.614, RSMo. These records
shall be agreed upon and transmitted using electronic transfer proto-
cols or in hard copy;

12. The authorized service provider must provide a quarterly
status report to the Missouri Department of Transportation, Traffic
and Highway Safety Division.  The first quarter of each year shall
be January 1 through March 31. The quarterly reports should reach
the Traffic and Highway Safety Division on or before the fifteenth
of the month immediately following the end of the quarter. The
reports shall be filed electronically and contain the following infor-
mation: the name of the ignition interlock device, total number of
devices in operation in Missouri each quarter at the time of report-
ing, total number of devices installed during the quarter, total num-
ber of voluntary installations during the quarter, total number of
devices removed during the quarter, total number of breath tests,
total number of breath alcohol tests resulting in a BAC above the
alcohol setpoint, total number of attempts to circumvent the device
as defined in 7 CSR 60-2.010, total number of vehicle starts, total
number of miles driven, and the total number of devices that mal-
functioned or were defective;

13. The authorized service provider shall grant the state of
Missouri, or an agent of the state, the right to inspect or request
copies of any and all operator files and records on a random basis at
no cost;

14. The authorized service provider shall supply for each igni-
tion interlock device installed as a result of a Missouri probation
order a warning label, which shall not be less than one-half inch
(1/2") in height by three inches (3") in length and shall contain the
following language: “WARNING! ANY PERSON TAMPERING,
CIRCUMVENTING OR OTHERWISE MISUSING THIS DEVICE
IS GUILTY OF A CLASS A MISDEMEANOR.”; 

15. The authorized service provider must notify the Traffic and
Highway Safety Division electronically [or in writing] of changes in
the status of any installer and additions or deletions or other changes
to its complete listing of all installers that includes the name, loca-
tion, phone number, and contact name[, and hours of operation].
Such notification shall occur at least once per month and shall occur
more frequently if additional changes are made; [and]

16. Data downloaded from an ignition interlock device shall
be—

A. Reviewed by the authorized service provider for any
evidence of violations reset, tampering, and/or circumvention as
defined in 7 CSR 60-2.010 for the designated monitoring period;
and

B. All information obtained as a result of each calibration
or inspection must be retained by the authorized service provider
for three (3) years from the date the ignition interlock device is
removed from the vehicle;

[16.]17. The authorized service provider shall electronically
notify the Department of Revenue in a format as determined by the
director of revenue within one (1) working day of the following:

A. The date the ignition interlock device was installed;
B. [The driver’s failure to have the ignition interlock

device calibrated every thirty (30) days] A service lockout con-
dition; [and]

C. The date the ignition interlock device was removed[.]; and
D. The completion of the designated monitoring period of

ignition interlock use by the driver with no violation resets, tam-
pering, and/or circumventions as defined in 7 CSR 60-2.010; 

18. Each installation site and service center must maintain
records documenting all calibrations, downloads, and any other
services performed on an ignition interlock device, including ser-
vice of a violation reset; and

19. Retention of the record of installation, calibrations,
downloads, service, and associated invoices must be maintained
for a minimum of three (3) years.

(B) The responsibilities of an authorized service provider to the
operator shall include:

1. Written instructions on how to clean and care for the device;
2. Written instructions on what type of vehicle malfunctions or

repairs may affect the device, and what to do when such repairs are
necessary; 

3. Written and hands-on training for the operator, and all per-
sons who will use the vehicle, on how to use the device after it is
installed in the operator’s vehicle. Training shall include operation,
maintenance, and safeguards against improper operations;

4. An emergency twenty-four- (24-)[-] hour toll-free telephone
number that the operator may contact to receive assistance in the
event of device failure or vehicle problems related to the interlock
device. Calls must either be answered by an ignition interlock
technician qualified to service the manufacturer’s ignition inter-
lock device, or the call must be returned by a qualified technician
within thirty (30) minutes of the original call.

A. Assistance shall include technical information, tow ser-
vice, and/or road service.

B. Emergency assistance related to the failure of a device
should be provided within two (2) hours [for vehicles located in
or near an area with an installation or repair center].

C. The device must be made functional within twenty-four
(24) hours from when the call for assistance is made or the device
must be replaced;

5. Restoration of the operator’s vehicle to its original condition
after removal of the breath alcohol ignition interlock device; and

6. Access to an enclosed building with a separate waiting area
for operators. If installation is by a mobile unit, the operator must
have a separate, enclosed waiting area available.

AUTHORITY: sections 302.060, 302.304, 302.309, 302.525, and
577.041, RSMo Supp. 2012, sections 577.600–577.614, RSMo 2000
and RSMo Supp. [2008] 2012, and section 226.130, RSMo 2000.
This rule originally filed as 11 CSR 60-2.040. Emergency rule filed
Feb. 5, 1996, effective Feb. 15, 1996, expired Aug. 12, 1996.
Original rule filed Feb. 16, 1996, effective Aug. 30, 1996. Moved to
7 CSR 60-2.040, effective Aug. 28, 2003. Emergency amendment
filed May 7, 2009, effective July 1, 2009, expired Dec. 30, 2009.
Amended: Filed May 7, 2009, effective Dec. 30, 2009. Amended:
Filed March 7, 2013. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Department of Transportation, Pamela J. Harlan, Secretary
to the Commission, PO Box 270, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hear-
ing is scheduled.
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Title 7—DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division 60—Traffic and Highway Safety Division

Chapter 2—Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device 
Certification and Operational Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

7 CSR 60-2.050 Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device
Security. The Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission is
amending the purpose and subsection (1)(A). 

PURPOSE: This proposed amendment provides for physical tamper
inspection by authorized breath alcohol ignition interlock service
providers.

PURPOSE: This rule outlines the security and inspection require-
ments of the authorized service providers.

(1) Security.
(A) The authorized service providers shall be responsible for

ensuring that the installers comply with all of the following security
requirements:

1. Only authorized [employees] technicians of an installer
may observe the installation of a device. Reasonable security mea-
sures must be taken to prevent the operator from observing the instal-
lation of a device, or obtaining access to installation materials;

2. An installer is prohibited from assisting or facilitating any
tampering or circumvention of a device; [and]

3. An installer [may] shall not install or service a device on a
vehicle owned or operated by any of its employees[.]; and

4. Physical tamper inspections shall be conducted any time
the device is serviced or given routine inspection, maintenance,
or repair. Tamper inspections shall include the following:

A. Inspection of all external wiring, insulation, connec-
tions, tamper seals, and sheathing for the device and where the
device connects to the vehicle; and

B. Checking the device for proper operation to ensure
tamper detection capabilities.

AUTHORITY: sections 302.060, 302.304, 302.309, 302.525, and
577.041, RSMo Supp. 2012, sections 577.600–577.614, RSMo 2000
and RSMo Supp. [2008] 2012, and section 226.130, RSMo 2000.
This rule originally filed as 11 CSR 60-2.050. Emergency rule filed
Feb. 5, 1996, effective Feb. 15, 1996, expired Aug. 12, 1996.
Original rule filed Feb. 16, 1996, effective Aug. 30, 1996. Moved to
7 CSR 60-2.050, effective Aug. 28, 2003. Amended: Filed May 7,
2009, effective Dec. 30, 2009. Amended: Filed March 7, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Department of Transportation, Pamela J. Harlan, Secretary
to the Commission, PO Box 270, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hear-
ing is scheduled.

Title 7—DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division 60—Traffic and Highway Safety Division

Chapter 2—Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device 
Certification and Operational Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

7 CSR 60-2.060 Suspension, or Revocation of Approval of a
Device. The Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission is
amending section (1) and adding sections (2) and (3).

PURPOSE: This proposed amendment clarifies the conditions for
which ignition interlock device certification may be suspended or
revoked.

(1) Suspension[, or Revocation] of Approval of a Device. 
(A) The state of Missouri, Department of Transportation, Traffic

and Highway Safety Division may suspend [or revoke] approval of
a device, and temporarily remove it from the list of approved
devices, for any of the following reasons:

[1. Defects in design, materials, or workmanship caus-
ing repeated failures of a device;]

[2.]1. Termination or cancellation of an authorized service
provider’s liability insurance;

[3. Discontinuance in the business of manufacturing
devices;]

[4.]2. Voluntary request by an authorized service provider to
[cancel] suspend approval of a device; or

[5. Violation by an authorized service provider, or
installer, of any of the provisions set forth in 7 CSR 60-2.010
through 7 CSR 60-2.060; or

6. Modification or alteration of the components, design,
or installation and operation instructions in such a way that
the requirements of the United States Department of
Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administra-
tion, identified as “Model Specifications for Breath Alcohol
Ignition Interlock Devices” 57 FR 11772–11787, which is
incorporated by reference and made a part of this rule as pub-
lished in the Federal Register by the National Highway Traffic
Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey SE, Washington, DC
20590 and effective April 7, 1992, are no longer satisfied.
This rule does not incorporate any subsequent amendments
or additions to this publication.]

3. Any issues with a device, installation site, service center,
or technician that are determined to be minor in nature and do
not compromise the safety of the public.

(B) A suspension shall last for at least ninety (90) days after the
final decision of the Missouri Department of Transportation,
Traffic and Highway Safety Division or the committee, whichev-
er comes last. A device that has been suspended may have to fol-
low the procedures of 7 CFR 60-2.020 to become re-approved.
The Missouri Department of Transportation, Traffic and
Highway Safety Division or the committee may impose addition-
al requirements to ensure the safety of the public for a suspend-
ed device to be approved. Actions that have the effect of jeopar-
dizing public safety by the authorized service provider and/or
their installers may result in a longer suspension, not to exceed
one (1) year.

(2) Revocation of Approval of a Device.
(A) The state of Missouri, Department of Transportation,

Traffic and Highway Safety Division may revoke approval of a
device, and remove it from the list of approved devices, for any of
the following reasons:

1. Defects in design, materials, or workmanship causing
repeated failures of a device;

2. Discontinuance in the business of manufacturing devices;
3. Voluntary request by an authorized service provider to

revoke approval of a device;
4. Violation by an authorized service provider, or installer,

of any of the provisions set forth in 7 CSR 60-2.010 through 7
CSR 60-2.060; or

5. Modification or alteration of the components, design, or
installation and operation instructions in such a way that the
requirements of the United States Department of Transportation,
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National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, identified as
“Model Specifications for Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock
Devices” 57 FR 11772–11787, which is incorporated by reference
and made a part of this rule as published in the Federal Register
by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1200
New Jersey SE, Washington, DC 20590 and effective April 7,
1992, are no longer satisfied. This rule does not incorporate any
subsequent amendments or additions to this publication.

(B) A revocation shall last for at least one (1) year after the
final decision of the Missouri Department of Transportation,
Traffic and Highway Safety Division or the committee, whichev-
er comes last. A device that has been revoked will have to follow
the procedures of 7 CFR 60-2.020 to become approved. The
Missouri Department of Transportation, Traffic and Highway
Safety Division or the committee may impose additional require-
ments to ensure the safety of the public for a revoked device to
be approved. Actions that have the effect of jeopardizing public
safety by the authorized service provider and/or their installers
may result in a longer revocation, not to exceed five (5) years.

(3) Notice and Review.
[(B)](A) Notice of suspension or revocation shall be mailed to a

representative of the authorized service provider at the last known
address on file with the Missouri Department of Transportation,
Traffic and Highway Safety Division. The notice is deemed received
three (3) days after mailing unless returned by postal authorities.

[(C)](B) A suspension or revocation is effective fifteen (15) days
after notification is deemed received by the authorized service
provider when no written request for an informal review has been
received by the Missouri Department of Transportation, Traffic
and Highway Safety Division.

(C) If, in the sole discretion of the Missouri Department of
Transportation, Traffic and Highway Safety Division, the device
shall be suspended or revoked immediately due to a risk to pub-
lic safety, such suspension or revocation is effective the day noti-
fication is deemed received by the authorized service provider.

(D) An authorized service provider may request an informal
review of a suspension or revocation. This request must be submit-
ted to the Missouri Department of Transportation, Traffic and
Highway Safety Division, in writing, within ten (10) days of receipt
of a notice of suspension or revocation.

1. The informal review may be conducted in person, in writing,
or by telephone with Missouri Department of Transportation, Traffic
and Highway Safety Division personnel delegated to conduct such
informal review by the Missouri Highways and Transportation
Commission.

2. In the event that the informal review is unable to resolve the
dispute between the Traffic and Highway Safety Division and the
authorized service provider, the [initial determination] committee
may issue a decision which shall become the final decision of the
commission.

(E) Within [ninety (90)] thirty (30) days of the event of suspen-
sion, revocation, or voluntary surrender of approval, an authorized
service provider shall be responsible for notifying operators of decer-
tified devices and shall bear the cost for the removal of any and all
decertified devices from operators’ vehicles and the installation of
new devices which must be selected from the state of Missouri’s list
of approved devices.

AUTHORITY: sections 302.060, 302.304, 302.309, 302.525, and
577.041, RSMo Supp. 2012, sections 577.600–577.614, RSMo 2000
and RSMo Supp. [2008] 2012, and section 226.130, RSMo 2000.
This rule originally filed as 11 CSR 60-2.060. Emergency rule filed
Feb. 5, 1996, effective Feb. 15, 1996, expired Aug. 12, 1996.
Original rule filed Feb. 16, 1996, effective Aug. 30, 1996. Moved to
7 CSR 60-2.060, effective Aug. 28, 2003. Amended: Filed May 7,
2009, effective Dec. 30, 2009. Amended: Filed March 7, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Department of Transportation, Pamela J. Harlan, Secretary
to the Commission, PO Box 270, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hear-
ing is scheduled.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 5—Air Quality Standards and Air Pollution
Control Rules Specific to the St. Louis Metropolitan

Area

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-5.570 Control of Sulfur Emissions From Stationary
Boilers. The commission proposes to amend section (2) and subsec-
tions (3)(A) and (3)(C).  If the commission adopts this rule action,
it will be the department’s intention to submit this rule action to the
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for inclusion in the Missouri
State Implementation Plan. The evidence supporting the need for this
proposed rulemaking is available for viewing at the Missouri
Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program at
the address listed in the Notice of Public Hearing at the end of this
rule.  More information concerning this rulemaking can be found at
the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Environmental
Regulatory Agenda website, www.dnr.mo.gov/regs/index.html.

PURPOSE: This rule limits sulfur dioxide (SO2) emissions from
industrial boilers in the St. Louis Nonattainment Area. This amend-
ment will clarify that the limit for emissions from breweries is for
applicable units only and not a limit for the entire installation’s emis-
sions. This amendment will also remove definitions that can be found
in 10 CSR 10-6.020 Definitions and Common Reference Tables. The
evidence supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking, per
536.016, RSMo, is a letter dated June 26, 2009, from Anheuser-
Busch, Inc. requesting clarification of the regulatory language.

(2) Definitions. Definitions of certain terms specified in this rule
may be found in 10 CSR 10-6.020.

[(A) Boiler—An enclosed device using controlled flame
combustion and having the primary purpose of recovering
thermal energy in the form of steam or hot water.

(B) Commercial/Institutional boiler—A boiler used in com-
mercial establishments or institutional establishments such
as medical centers, institutions of higher education, hotels,
and laundries to provide electricity, steam, and/or hot water.

(C) Gaseous fuel—A combustible gas that includes, but is
not limited to, natural gas, landfill gas, coal derived gas,
refinery gas, and biogas. Blast furnace gas is not considered
a gaseous fuel for the purposes of this rule.

(D) Industrial boiler—A boiler used in manufacturing, pro-
cessing, mining, and refining, or any other industry to pro-
vide steam, hot water, and/or electricity.

(E) Liquid fuel—A combustible liquid that includes, but is
not limited to, distillate oil, residual oil, waste oil, and
process liquids.

(F) Process heater—Any enclosed device using controlled
flame, that is not a boiler, and the unit’s primary purpose is
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to transfer heat indirectly to a process material (liquid, gas,
or solid) or to heat transfer material for use in a process unit,
instead of generating steam.  Process heaters are devices in
which the combustion gases do not directly come into con-
tact with process materials. Process heaters do not include
units used for comfort heat or space heat, food preparation
for onsite consumption, or autoclaves.

(G) Solid fuel—A solid material used as a fuel that
includes, but is not limited to, coal, wood, biomass, tires,
plastics, and other nonfossil solid materials.

(H) Temporary boiler—Any gaseous or liquid fuel boiler
that is designed to, and is capable of, being carried or moved
from one (1) location to another. A temporary boiler that
remains at a location for more than one hundred eighty
(180) days during any three hundred sixty-five (365)-day
period is no longer considered to be a temporary boiler. Any
temporary boiler that replaces a temporary boiler at a loca-
tion and is intended to perform the same or similar function
will be included in calculating the consecutive time period.

(I) Definitions of certain terms specified in this rule, other
than those identified in this rule section, may be found in 10
CSR 10-6.020.]

(3) General Provisions.
(A) Emission Limitations.

1. Except as otherwise provided in this section, no installation
shall cause or allow the emission of sulfur dioxide (SO2) into the
atmosphere exceeding one (1.0) pound (lb) of SO2 per mmBtu of
actual heat input in any thirty (30)-day period from any installation
with applicable units.

2. No brewery shall cause or allow the [emission of SO2 into
the atmosphere exceeding three thousand fifty (3,050) tons
SO2 in any twelve (12)-month rolling period from any instal-
lation with applicable units] combined total of atmospheric
emissions of SO2 from all applicable emission units within an
installation to exceed three thousand fifty (3,050) tons during any
twelve (12)-month rolling period. SO2 emission from all applicable
units shall be determined by compliance with subparagraph
(3)(C)2.D. of this rule.

(C) Measurements for Multi-Unit and Multi-Fuel Installations.
For sources not controlling SO2 emissions by flue gas desulphuriza-
tion equipment or by sorbent injection, the following alternate com-
pliance method may be used:

1. SO2 emission rates for a single boiler that burns different
fuels. The owner or operator of an affected installation shall deter-
mine the SO2 emission rate of a large boiler which burns multiple
fuels separately, according to the following formula:

q r s
∑ (Kaq) + ∑ (Kbr) + ∑ (Kcs)

Es =  i=1          i=1          i=1   
HT

Where:
Es = unit SO2 emissions in lb per mmBtu heat input;
Ka = solid fuel sample monthly composite SO2 emission rate in
lbs;
Kb = liquid fuel sample monthly composite SO2 emission rate in
lbs;
Kc = gaseous fuel sample monthly composite SO2 emission rate
in lbs;
q = number of different solid fuels used including the number of
different batches of coal;
r = number of different liquid fuels used;
s = number of different gaseous fuels used; and
HT[=]= total heat content for all fuels in any monthly period.

2. Averaging SO2 emissions among different boilers.

A. To meet the requirements of paragraphs (3)(A)1. and
(3)(A)2. of this rule, if there is more than one (1) existing boiler
located at an installation, compliance may be demonstrated by emis-
sion averaging according to the procedures in this paragraph.

B. For a group of two (2) or more existing boilers that each
vent to a separate or common stack, SO2 emissions may be averaged
to demonstrate compliance with the limits in paragraphs (3)(A)1. and
(3)(A)2. of this rule. 

C. Compliance with the limit in paragraph (3)(A)1. of this
rule must be demonstrated on a monthly rolling average. The first
period begins on the compliance date.  For each monthly period, the
following equation must be used to calculate the monthly rolling
average weighted emission rate using the actual heat capacity for
each existing boiler participating in the emissions averaging option.

n
∑ (Er x Hb)

Avg Weighted Emissions =  i=1           
n

∑ Hb
i=1

Where:
Avg Weighted Emissions = monthly average weighted emission level
for SO2, in units of lbs per mmBtu of heat input;
Er = Emission rate, in units of lbs per mmBtu of heat input;
Hb = The average heat input for each monthly period of boiler, i, in
units of mmBtu; and
n = Number of boilers participating in the emissions averaging
option.

D. Compliance with the limit in paragraph (3)(A)2. of this
rule must be demonstrated on a twelve (12)-month rolling total. The
first period begins on the compliance date. For each twelve (12)-
month period, the following equation must be used to calculate the
twelve (12)-month rolling total weighted emission rate using the actu-
al heat capacity for each existing boiler participating in the emission
averaging option.

q r s
n ∑ (Kaq)n + ∑(Kbr)n + ∑(Kcs)n

Avg SO2 Emissions = ∑  i=1           i=1         i=1     
i=1                      1

Where:
Avg SO2 Emissions = twelve (12)-month total weighted emission
level for SO2, in units of tons of SO2;
Ka = solid fuel monthly SO2 emissions in tons based on materi-
al/mass balance as the source of the emission factor;
Where:

Sulfur %
by weight      64.064      tons fuel

Ka =________ × ________ × ________

100 32.065       burned    

Kb = liquid fuel monthly SO2 emissions in tons based on similar
material/mass balance calculations as Ka as the source of the emis-
sion factor;
Kc = gaseous fuel monthly SO2 emissions in tons based on simi-
lar material/mass balance calculations as Ka as the source of the
emission factor;
n = number of boilers participating in the emissions averaging
option;
q = number of different solid fuels used including the number of
different batches of coal;
r = number of different liquid fuels used; and
s = number of different gaseous fuels used.
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AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo [2000] Supp. 2012. Original
rule filed Dec. 16, 2008, effective Sept. 30, 2009. Amended: Filed
March 13, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin at
9:00 a.m., May 30, 2013.  The public hearing will be held at the Elm
Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level,
Bennett Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri.
Opportunity to be heard at the hearing shall be afforded any inter-
ested person.  Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit
a written or email statement of their views until 5:00 p.m., June 6,
2013.  Written comments shall be sent to Chief, Air Quality Planning
Section, Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution
Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.
Email comments shall be sent to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling
and Reference Methods and Air Pollution Control 

Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.060 Construction Permits Required. The commission
proposes to amend subsections (5)(D), (6)(A), (6)(E), and (8)(A). If
the commission adopts this rule action, it will be the department’s
intention to submit this rule amendment to the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency to replace the current rule that is in the Missouri
State Implementation Plan.  The evidence supporting the need for this
proposed rulemaking is available for viewing at the Missouri
Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program at
the address listed in the Notice of Public Hearing at the end of this
rule. More information concerning this rulemaking can be found at the
Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Environmental
Regulatory Agenda website, www.dnr.mo.gov/regs/index.html.

PURPOSE: This rule defines sources which are required to obtain
permits to construct. It establishes requirements to be met prior to
construction or modification of any of these sources. This rule also
establishes permit fees and public notice requirements for certain
sources and incorporates a means for unifying the processing of con-
struction and operating permit issuance. The purpose of this amend-
ment is to incorporate by reference three (3) U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency (EPA) rules that revise plantwide applicability lim-
itations for greenhouse gases (GHGs), repeal the grandfather provi-
sion for particulate matter less than 2.5 micrometers (PM2.5) under
the prevention of significant deterioration (PSD) program, and cor-
rect the definition of regulated New Source Review (NSR) pollutant in
the NSR program.  At the same time, the notification period for ini-
tial equipment start-up is being modified to improve tracking of
new/modified equipment and testing and de minimis permit air qual-
ity analysis requirements are being clarified.  The evidence support-
ing the need for this proposed rulemaking, per 536.016, RSMo, is
Federal Register Notice dated July 12, 2012, finalizing step 3 of the
GHG tailoring rule; Federal Register Notice dated May 18, 2011,
repealing grandfather clause for PM2.5 under PSD program; Federal
Register Notice dated October 25, 2012, correcting regulated NSR
pollutant definition; email dated October 7, 2009, requesting rule

language correction; and Rule Comment Form dated August 10, 2010,
requesting rule language clarification.

(5) De Minimis Permits. 
(D) Air Quality Analysis Requirements.

1. An air quality analysis will not be required for applications
having a maximum design capacity emission rate of no more than the
hourly de minimis level unless paragraph (5)(D)2. of this rule
applies. For applications having a maximum design capacity emis-
sion rate greater than the hourly de minimis level, a permit will be
issued only if an air quality analysis demonstrates that the proposed
construction or modification will not [appreciably affect air qual-
ity or the air quality standards are not appreciably exceed-
ed.]—

A. Interfere with the attainment or maintenance of
NAAQS and the air quality standards established in 10 CSR 10-
6.010; or

B. Cause or contribute to ambient air concentrations in
excess of any applicable maximum allowable increase listed in
subsection (11)(A) Table 1, of this rule, over the baseline concen-
tration in any attainment or unclassified area.

2. Exceptions. The director may require an air quality analysis
for applications if it is likely that emissions of the proposed con-
struction or modification will [appreciably affect air quality or
the air quality standards are being appreciably exceeded or
complaints filed in the vicinity of the proposed construction
or modification warrant an air quality analysis.]—

A. Interfere with the attainment or maintenance of
NAAQS and the air quality standards established in 10 CSR 10-
6.010;

B. Cause or contribute to ambient air concentrations in
excess of any applicable maximum allowable increase listed in
subsection (11)(A) Table 1, of this rule, over the baseline concen-
tration in any attainment or unclassified area; or

C. Complaints filed in the vicinity of the proposed con-
struction or modification warrant an air quality analysis.

(6) General Permit Requirements for Construction or Emissions
Increase Greater Than De Minimis Levels. 

(A) A permit shall be issued pursuant to this section only if it is
determined that the proposed source operation or installation will
not—

1. Violate any of the applicable provisions of this rule; 
2. Interfere with the attainment or maintenance of [ambient air

quality standards] NAAQS and the air quality standards estab-
lished in 10 CSR 10-6.010; 

3. Cause or contribute to ambient air concentrations in excess
of any applicable maximum allowable increase listed in subsection
(11)(A) Table 1, of this rule,  over the baseline concentration in any
attainment or unclassified area; 

4. Violate any applicable requirements of the Air Conservation
Law; and 

5. Cause an adverse impact on visibility in any Class I area
(those designated in paragraph (12)(I)3. of this rule). 

(E) After a permit has been granted—
1. The owner or operator subject to the provisions of this rule

shall furnish the permitting authority written notification as follows: 
A. A notification of the anticipated date of initial start-up of

the source operation or installation [not more than sixty (60)
days or less than] within thirty (30) days [prior to that date] of
actual start-up; and 

B. A notification of the actual date of initial start-up of a
source operation or installation within fifteen (15) days after that
date; 

2. A permit may be revoked if construction or modification
work is not begun within two (2) years from the date of issuance or
if work is suspended for one (1) year, and if— 

A. The delay was reasonably foreseeable by the owner or
operator at the time the permit was issued; 
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B. The delay was not due to an act of God or other conditions
beyond the control of the owner or operator; or 

C. Failure to revoke the permit would be unfair to other
potential applicants; 

3. Any owner or operator who constructs, modifies, or operates
an installation not in accordance with the application submitted and
the permit issued, including any terms and conditions made a part of
the permit, or any owner or operator of an installation who com-
mences construction or modification after May 13, 1982, without
meeting the requirements of this rule, is in violation of this rule; 

4. Approval to construct shall not relieve any owner or operator
of the responsibility to comply fully with applicable provisions of the
Air Conservation Law and rules or any other requirements under
local, state, or federal law; and 

5. The permitting authority may require monitoring of visibili-
ty in any Class I area (those designated in paragraph (12)(I)3. of this
rule) near the new installation or major modification for these pur-
poses and by such means as the permitting authority deems neces-
sary and appropriate. 

(8) Attainment and Unclassified Area Permits.
(A) All of the subsections of 40 CFR 52.21, other than (a) Plan

disapproval, (q) Public participation, (s) Environmental impact state-
ments, and (u) Delegation of authority, promulgated as of July 1,
[2011] 2012, and Federal Register Notice [76 FR 43507] 77 FR
41051 promulgated [July 20, 2011] July 12, 2012, Federal
Register Notice 77 FR 65107 promulgated October 25, 2012, and
Federal Register Notice 76 FR 28646 promulgated May 18, 2011,
are hereby incorporated by reference in this rule, as published by the
Office of the Federal Register, U.S. National Archives and Records,
700 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20408. This rule
does not incorporate any subsequent amendments or additions.

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo Supp. [2011] 2012. Original
rule filed Dec. 10, 1979, effective April 11, 1980. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
March 13, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. The pri-
vate entity fiscal cost impacts for compliance with the federal stan-
dards are accounted for in the federal rulemakings.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS:  A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin
at 9:00 a.m., May 30, 2013.  The public hearing will be held at the
Elm Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level,
Bennett Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri.
Opportunity to be heard at the hearing shall be afforded any inter-
ested person.  Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit
a written or email statement of their views until 5:00 p.m. June 6,
2013.  Written comments shall be sent to Chief, Air Quality Planning
Section, Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution
Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.
Email comments shall be sent to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling
and Reference Methods and Air Pollution Control 

Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.110 Reporting Emission Data, Emission Fees, and
Process Information. The commission proposes to amend section
(2), subsection (3)(A), and section (4).  If the commission adopts
this rule action, it will be the department’s intention to submit this
rule amendment to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to
replace the current rule that is in the Missouri State Implementation
Plan. The evidence supporting the need for this proposed rulemak-
ing is available for viewing at the Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program at the address listed in the
Notice of Public Hearing at the end of this rule. More information
concerning this rulemaking can be found at the Missouri Department
of Natural Resources’ Environmental Regulatory Agenda website,
www.dnr.mo.gov/regs/index.html.

PURPOSE: This rule provides procedures for reporting emission
related information and establishing emission fees for the purpose of
state air resource planning.  The purpose of this amendment is to add
a reference to applicable year(s) for set emission fees, clarify infor-
mation required in emission reports, clarify types and frequency of
reports to be submitted for Emissions Inventory Questionnaire pur-
poses, and remove definitions of terms now located in 10 CSR 10-
6.020. The evidence supporting the need for this proposed rulemak-
ing, per 536.016, RSMo, is 643.079, RSMo; a Rule Comment Form
dated September 20, 2011, requesting rule language clarification; a
rule comment file note dated October 21, 2011, requesting an update
to a table term; and an email dated October 17, 2012, requesting that
control device ID be included in recordkeeping requirements.

(2) Definitions.
[(A) Air emissions reporting rule—The U.S. Environmental

Protection Agency (EPA) rule that finalized changes to emis-
sion reporting requirements in 40 CFR Part 51 (Federal
Register, December 18, 2008).

(B) Missouri Emissions Inventory System (MoEIS)—Online
interface of the state of Missouri’s air emissions inventory
database. 

(C) Particulate matter (PM)—Any material or particle,
except uncombined water, that exists in a finely divided form
as a liquid or solid and as specifically defined as follows:

1. Condensable PM (PMcon)—Material that is vapor
phase at stack conditions but which condenses and/or
reacts upon cooling and dilution in the ambient air to form
solid or liquid PM immediately after discharge from the
stack. Note that all condensable PM, if present from a
source, is typically in the PM2.5 size fraction and, therefore,
all of it is a component of both primary PM2.5 and primary
PM10;

2. Filterable PM (PMfil)—Particles that are directly emit-
ted by a source as a solid or liquid at stack or release con-
ditions and captured on the filter of a stack test train.
Filterable PM2.5 is particulate matter with an aerodynamic
diameter equal to or less than 2.5 micrometers. Filterable
PM10 is particulate matter with an aerodynamic diameter
equal to or less than 10 micrometers; and

3. Primary PM (PMpri)—The sum of condensable and fil-
terable PM.

(D) Point source—Large, stationary (nonmobile), identifi-
able source of emissions that releases pollutants into the
atmosphere. A point source is an installation that is either—

1. A major source under 40 CFR part 70 for the pollu-
tants for which reporting is required; or

2. A holder of an intermediate operating permit.
(E) Reporting year—Twelve (12)-month calendar year end-

ing December 31. The reporting requirement for installations
with three (3)-year reporting cycles begins with the 2011
reporting year. The subsequent reporting years will be every
three (3) years following 2011 (i.e., 2014, 2017, 2020, etc.).
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(F) Small source—An installation subject to this rule but
not a point source as defined in this section of the rule.

(G) Emissions report—A report that satisfies the provisions
of this rule and is either a—

1. Full emissions report—Contains all required data ele-
ments for current reporting year; or

2. Reduced reporting form—Represents data elements
and emissions from the last full emissions report.]

[(H)](A) Reportable pollutants—The regulated air pollutants at the
process level required for emission inventory reporting as summa-
rized in Table 1 of this rule.

[(I)](B) Reporting threshold—Minimum amount of reportable
emissions at the emission unit level that requires reporting as sum-
marized in Table 1 of this rule. Emissions below this amount may be
designated as insignificant on the full emissions report.

[(J)](C) Definitions of certain terms specified in this rule, other
than those specified in this rule section, may be found in 10 CSR 10-
6.020.

(3) General Provisions.
(A) Emission Fees.

1. Any installation subject to this rule, except sources that pro-
duce charcoal from wood, shall pay an annual emission fee of forty
dollars and no cents ($40.00) per ton of applicable pollutant emis-
sions identified in Table 2 of this rule for calendar years 2013,
2014, and 2015 in accordance with paragraphs (3)(A)2. through
(3)(A)7. of this rule.

2. For full emissions reports, the fee is based on the informa-
tion provided in the installation’s emissions report. For sources
which qualify for and use the Reduced Reporting Form, the fee shall
be based on the last full emissions report.

3. The fee shall apply to the first four thousand (4,000) tons of 

each air pollutant subject to fees as identified in Table 2 of this rule.
No installation shall be required to pay fees on total emissions in
excess of twelve thousand (12,000) tons for any reporting year. An
installation subject to this rule which emitted less than one (1) ton of
all pollutants subject to fees shall pay a fee for one (1) ton.

4. An installation which pays emission fees to a holder of a cer-
tificate of authority issued pursuant to section 643.140, RSMo, may
deduct those fees from the emission fee due under this section.

5. The fee imposed in paragraph (3)(A)1. of this rule shall not
apply to NH3, CO, PM2.5, or HAPs reported as PM10 or VOC, as
summarized in Table 2 of this rule.

6. Emission fees for the reporting year are due June 1 after each
reporting year. The fees shall be payable to the Missouri Department
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TABLE 1. Reportable Pollutants with Reporting Thresholds 

  

 

 

  
 

 

Process Level Reportable Pollutants 

 Emission Unit Level Reporting  

Threshold 

Point Sources Small Sources Tons Pounds 

PM10 fil PM10 pri 

 

0.438 

 

876 

 PMcon 

PM2.5 fil PM2.5 pri 0.438 876 

 PMcon 

SO2 1 2000 

NOx 1 2000 

VOC 0.438 876 

CO 1 2000 

Category One (1) HAP a 

Category Two (2) HAP b  

0.01 a 20 a 

0.1 b 200 b 

NH3 0.438 876 

Lead a 0.01 a 20 a 

a Category One (1) Hazardous Air Pollutant (HAP) chemicals include Polycyclic Organic Matter, Arsenic Compounds, Lead Compounds,
Chromium Compounds, Mercury Compounds (Alkyl and Aryl), Mercury Compounds (Inorganic), Nickel Compounds, Chlordane, Benzene,
Methoxychlor, Vinyl Chloride, Heptachlor, Benzidine, Butadiene (1,3-), Chloromethyl Methyl Ether, Hexachlorobenzene,
Bis(chloromethyl)ether, Asbestos, Polychlorinated Biphenyls, Trifluralin, Tetrachlorodibenzo-P-Dioxin (2,3,7,8-), Toxaphene, and Coke Oven
Emissions.
b Category Two (2) HAP chemicals are those defined in 10 CSR 10-6.020 that are not included in the list of Category One (1) HAP chemi-
cals



of Natural Resources.
7. To determine emission fees, an installation shall be consid-

ered one (1) source as defined in section 643.078.2, RSMo, except
that an installation with multiple operating permits shall pay emission
fees separately for air pollutants emitted under each individual per-
mit.

(4) Reporting and Record Keeping. All data collected and recorded
in accordance with the provisions of this rule shall be retained by the
owner or operator for not less than five (5) years after the end of the
calendar year in which the data was collected and all these records
shall be made available upon the director’s request.

(A) The owner or operator of an installation that is subject to this
rule shall collect information as required in this section of the rule.
The information required in the emissions report is listed in Table 3
of this rule. All data elements must be reported initially and only
changed data elements must be reported subsequently. To ensure per-
mit consistency, the Air Pollution Control Program Emissions
Inventory Unit will provide assistance to identify and quantify the
data elements in Table 3 of this rule. 
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TABLE 2. Pollutant Fee Applicability 

Pollutants Subject  

to Fees 

Pollutants Not  

Subject to Fees 

PM10 pri PM2.5  pri 

SO2 CO 

NOx NH3 

VOC HAPs reported as 

PM10 or VOC 

HAP  

Lead  



(B) Types and Frequency of Reporting. The requirements in
this subsection are summarized in Table 4 of this rule.

1. All sources (Part 70, intermediate, and small) must sub-
mit a Full Emissions Report for the first full calendar year of
operation and, for point sources, a Full Emissions Report is
required for an initial partial year of operation.

2. Starting with reporting year 2011, subsequent years of
operation reports or forms shall be submitted as follows:

A. Part 70 sources must continue to submit a Full
Emissions Report annually;

B. Intermediate sources must submit a Full Emissions
Report every third year after 2011 (subsequent years 2014, 2017,
2020, etc.) and may submit a Reduced Reporting Form in other
years unless either or both of the following apply:

(I) Any change in installation-wide emissions subject to
fees of plus or minus five (5) tons or more since the last Full
Emissions Report submitted requires a Full Emissions Report for
that year; and

(II) A construction permit action issued under 10 CSR
10-6.060 section (5) or (6) requires a Full Emissions Report for
the first full year the affected permitted equipment operates; and

C. Small sources may submit a Reduced Reporting Form
for all subsequent years after a Full Emissions Report unless
either or both of the following apply:

(I) Any change in installation-wide emissions subject to
fees of plus or minus five (5) tons or more since the last Full
Emissions Report submitted requires a Full Emissions Report for

that year; and
(II) A construction permit action issued under 10 CSR

10-6.060 section (5) or (6) requires a Full Emissions Report for
the first full year the affected permitted equipment operates.

3. An installation may choose to complete a Full Emissions
Report in any year. 
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TABLE 3. Data Elements 

   

1.   Inventory year 

2.   Contact name 

3.   Contact phone number 

4.   Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) County Code 

5.   Installation plant ID Code 

6.   Emission unit ID  

7.   Stack ID  

8.   Site name 

9.   Physical address 

10. Source Classification Code (SCC) 

11. Heat content (fuel) (annual average) 

12. Ash content (fuel) (annual average) 

13. Sulfur content (fuel) (annual average) 

14. Reportable [P]pollutant 

15. Activity level/throughput  

16. Annual emissions 

17. Emission factor, with method 

18. Winter throughput (percent) 

19. Spring throughput (percent) 

20. Summer throughput (percent) 

21. Fall throughput (percent) 

22. Hr/day in operation 

23. Days/wk in operation 

24. Wks/yr in operation 

25. Stack height 

26. Stack diameter 

27. Exit gas temperature 

28. Exit gas velocity 

29. Exit gas flow rate 

30. Capture efficiency (percent) 

31. Control efficiency (percent) 

32. Control device type and ID 

33. Emission release point type 

34. Maximum Hourly Design Rate (MHDR) 

 

  



[(B)](C) Submittal Requirements.
1. The full emissions report shall be submitted either electron-

ically via MoEIS, which requires Form 1.0 signed by an authorized
company representative, or on Emissions Inventory Questionnaire
(EIQ) paper forms on the frequency specified in Table 4 of this rule.
Alternate methods of reporting the emissions, such as a spreadsheet
file, can be submitted for approval by the director.
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TABLE 4. Summary of Types and Frequency of Reporting 

 

  
Emission Year 

Installation 

classification 
2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 

Years 

Beyond 

2017* 

Part 70 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 

Full 

Emissions 

Report 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 

* 

Intermediate 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 

Reduced 

Reporting 

Form 

(subpara-
graph 

(4)(B)2.B.) 

Reduced 

Reporting 

Form 

(subpara-
graph 

(4)(B)2.B.) 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 

Reduced 

Reporting 

Form 

(subpara-
graph 

(4)(B)2.B.) 

Reduced 

Reporting 

Form 

(subpara-
graph 

(4)(B)2.B.) 

Full 
Emissions 

Report 

* 

Small Source 

Reduced 

Reporting 

Form 

(subpara-
graph 

(4)(B)2.C.) 

Reduced 

Reporting 

Form 

(subpara-
graph 

(4)(B)2.C.) 

Reduced 

Reporting 

Form 

(subpara-
graph 

(4)(B)2.C.) 

Reduced 

Reporting 

Form 

(subpara-
graph 

(4)(B)2.C.) 

Reduced 

Reporting 

Form 

(subpara-
graph 

(4)(B)2.C.) 

Reduced 

Reporting 

Form 

(subpara-
graph 

(4)(B)2.C.) 

Reduced 

Reporting 

Form 

(subpara-
graph 

(4)(B)2.C.) 

* 

*Reporting requirements for years beyond 2017 are repeated in three (3)-year cycles. 

  (e.g. requirements for years 2018, 2019, and 2020 are the same as years 2012, 2013, and 2014 respectively) 

 

  

 

 

[TABLE 4. Reporting Frequency 
 
 
Installation Classification 

Frequency of Full Emissions  
Report 

Frequency of Reduced Reporting 
Form 

Any installation required to obtain a 
Part 70 permit under 10 CSR 10-
6.065. 

Annually. Not Applicable. 

Any installation with an intermediate 
operating permit. 

Once every three (3) years beginning 
with reporting year 2011, with 
subsequent years of 2014, 2017, 
2020, etc., and when installation-
wide emissions subject to fees 
increase or decrease by five (5) tons 
or more since the last full emissions 
report. 

When installation-wide emissions 
subject to fees increase or decrease 
less than five (5) tons compared to 
the last full emissions report. 

Small sources, as defined in 
subsection (2)(F) of this rule. 

When installation-wide emissions 
subject to fees increase or decrease 
by five (5) tons or more since the last 
full emissions report. 

When installation-wide emissions 
subject to fees increase or decrease 
less than five (5) tons compared to 
the last full emissions report.] 

 

  

 



[(C)]2. An installation not required to submit a full emissions
report is required to submit a Reduced Reporting Form, which is due
April 1 after each reporting year.

[(D)]3. The full emissions report is due April 1 after each
reporting year. If the full emissions report is filed electronically via
MoEIS, this due date is extended to May 1.

[(E) For small sources, the first full emissions report is for
the first full calendar year of operation in order to obtain a
representative annual emissions total.

(F) For point sources, the initial full emissions report will
be required for the first partial year of operation.

(G) For holders of intermediate permits and small sources
as defined in this rule, a construction permit action issued
under 10 CSR 10-6.060 section (5) or (6) requires a full
emissions report for the first full calendar year the affected
permitted equipment operates.]

[(H)]4. The installation owner or operator of record on
December 31 of the reporting year is responsible for the emissions
report and associated fees for the entire reporting year.

[(I)]5. If there is no production from an installation in a report-
ing year, no emission fees are due for that year but notice of such sta-
tus must be provided to the director in writing by the emissions
report due date of April 1.

[(J)]6. If an installation is out of business, the final emissions
report required will be for the full or partial year the installation went
out of business. Notice of such status must be provided to the direc-
tor in writing by the emissions report due date of April 1.

[(K)]7. After the effective date of this rule, any revision to the
department-supplied EIQ forms will be presented to the regulated
community for a forty-five (45)-day comment period.

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo [2000] Supp. 2012. Original
rule filed June 13, 1984, effective Nov. 12, 1984. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
March 13, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS:  A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin
at 9:00 a.m., May 30, 2013.  The public hearing will be held at the
Elm Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level,
Bennett Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri.
Opportunity to be heard at the hearing shall be afforded any inter-
ested person.  Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit
a written or email statement of their views until 5:00 p.m., June 6,
2013. Written comments shall be sent to Chief, Air Quality Planning
Section, Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution
Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.
Email comments shall be sent to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling
and Reference Methods and Air Pollution Control 

Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED RESCISSION

10 CSR 10-6.345 Control of NOx Emissions From Upwind
Sources. This rule protected air quality in the St. Louis area by
addressing nitrogen oxides (NOx) sources proposed for construction

outside and upwind of the St. Louis nonattainment area. This rule is
proposed for rescission because it has expired on December 30, 2011.
If the commission adopts this rule action, it will be the department’s
intention not to submit this rule rescission to the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency because the rule was not written as a permanent
requirement and the rule has never been approved as part of the
Missouri State Implementation Plan. The evidence supporting the need
for this proposed rulemaking is available for viewing at the Missouri
Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program at
the address listed in the Notice of Public Hearing at the end of this rule.
More information concerning this rulemaking can be found at the
Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Environmental Regulatory
Agenda website, www.dnr.mo.gov/regs/index.html.

PURPOSE: This rule protected air quality in the St. Louis area by
addressing nitrogen oxides (NOx) sources proposed for construction
outside and upwind of the St. Louis nonattainment area.  This rule is
proposed for rescission because it has expired. Subsection (1)(C)
states this rule expires five (5) years from the December 30, 2006,
effective date. The five (5)-year period ended on December 30, 2011.
The evidence supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking, per
536.016, RSMo, is the expiration requirement in subsection (1)(C) of
this rule. 

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed May
4, 2006, effective Dec. 30, 2006. Rescinded: Filed March 13, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.  

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: A public hearing on this proposed rescission will begin at
9:00 a.m., May 30, 2013.  The public hearing will be held at the Elm
Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level,
Bennett Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri.
Opportunity to be heard at the hearing shall be afforded any inter-
ested person. Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit
a written or email statement of their views until 5:00 p.m., June 6,
2013. Written comments shall be sent to Chief, Air Quality Planning
Section, Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution
Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.
Email comments shall be sent to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling
and Reference Methods and Air Pollution Control 

Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.390 Control of NOx Emissions From Large Station-
ary Internal Combustion Engines. The commission proposes to
amend the purpose, section (2), and subsections (3)(E) and (3)(F). If
the commission adopts this rule action, it will be the department’s
intention to submit this rule amendment to the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency to replace the current rule that is in the Missouri
State Implementation Plan. The evidence supporting the need for this
proposed rulemaking is available for viewing at the Missouri
Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program at
the address listed in the Notice of Public Hearing at the end of this
rule. More information concerning this rulemaking can be found at the
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Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Environmental
Regulatory Agenda website, www.dnr.mo.gov/regs/index.html.

PURPOSE: This rule reduces emissions of oxides of nitrogen (NOx)
to ensure compliance with the federal NOx control plan to reduce the
transport of air pollutants. This rule establishes emission levels for
large stationary internal combustion engines. This amendment will
correct a wording error found in subsection (3)(F).  In addition, the
amendment will remove the definitions from the rule that can now be
found in 10 CSR 10-6.020, Definitions and Common Reference
Tables.  The definitions are being removed because they were added
to 10 CSR 10-6.020 as part of the Air Program’s consolidation of all
air rule definitions. The evidence supporting the need for this pro-
posed rulemaking, per 536.016, RSMo, is a Rule Comment Note from
staff mentioning the text error in subsection (3)(F).

PURPOSE: This rule reduces emissions of oxides of nitrogen (NOx)
to ensure compliance with the federal NOx control plan to reduce the
transport of air pollutants. This rule establishes emission levels for
large stationary internal combustion engines. The evidence support-
ing the need for this [proposed rulemaking] rule, per section
536.016, RSMo, is the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency NOx
State Implementation Plan (SIP) Call dated April 21, 2004.

(2) Definitions. Definitions of certain terms used in this rule may
be found in 10 CSR 10-6.020.

[(A) Diesel engine—A compression ignited (CI) two- or
four-stroke engine in which liquid fuel is injected into the
combustion chamber and ignited when the air charge has
been compressed to a temperature sufficiently high for auto-
ignition.

(B) Dual fuel engine—Compression ignited stationary inter-
nal combustion engine that is capable of burning liquid fuel
and gaseous fuel simultaneously.

(C) Emergency standby engine—An internal combustion
engine used only when normal electrical power or natural
gas service is interrupted, or for the emergency pumping of
water for either fire protection or flood relief.  An emergency
standby engine may not be operated to supplement a prima-
ry power source when the load capacity or rating of the pri-
mary power source has been either reached or exceeded.

(D) Engine rating—The output of an engine as determined
by the engine manufacturer and listed on the nameplate of
the unit, regardless of any derating.

(E) Higher heating value (HHV)—The total heat liberated
per mass of fuel burned in British thermal units (Btu) per
pound, when fuel and dry air at standard conditions under-
go complete combustion and all resultant products are
brought to their standard states at standard conditions.  If
certification of the HHV is not provided by the third party
fuel supplier, it shall be determined by one of the following
test methods:  ASTM D2015-85 for solid fuels; ASTM
D240-87 or ASTM D2382-88 for liquid hydrocarbon fuels;
or ASTM D1826-88 or ASTM D1945-81 in conjunction with
ASTM D3588-89 for gaseous fuels.  These methods are all
incorporated by reference as specified at 40 CFR 52.3002.

(F) Lean-burn engine—Any two- or four-stroke spark ignit-
ed (SI) engine with greater than four percent (4%) oxygen in
the engine exhaust.

(G) Maintenance operation—Normal routine maintenance
on any stationary internal combustion engine subject to this
rule or the use of an emergency standby engine and fuel sys-
tem during testing, repair and routine maintenance to verify
its readiness for emergency standby use.

(H) Output—The shaft work output from any engine plus
the energy reclaimed by any useful heat recovery system.

(I) Peak load—The maximum instantaneous operating
load.

(J) Permitted capacity factor—The annual permitted fuel

use divided by the manufacturers specified maximum fuel
consumption times eight thousand seven hundred sixty
(8,760) hours per year.

(K) Rich-burn engine—A two- or four-stroke SI engine
where the oxygen content in the exhaust stream before any
dilution is one percent (1%) or less measured on a dry basis.

(L) Stationary internal combustion engine—Internal com-
bustion engine of the reciprocating type that is either
attached to a foundation at a facility or is designed to be
capable of being carried or moved from one (1) location to
another and remains at a single site at a building, structure,
facility, or installation for more than twelve (12) consecutive
months. Any engine or engines that replace an engine at a
site that is intended to perform the same or similar function
as the engine replaced is included in calculating the consec-
utive time period. Nonroad engines and engines used solely
for competition are not stationary internal combustion
engines.

(M) Stoichiometric air/fuel ratio—The air/fuel ratio where
all fuel and all oxygen in the air/fuel mixture will be con-
sumed.

(N) Unit—Any diesel, lean-burn, or rich-burn stationary
internal combustion engine as defined in this section.

(O) Utilization rate—The amount of an engine’s capacity
reported in horsepower-hours that is utilized.

(P) Definitions of certain terms used in this rule, other than
those specified in this rule, may be found in 10 CSR 10-
6.020.]

(3) General Provisions.
(E) Monitoring Requirements.

1. Any owner or operator meeting the applicability of section
(1) of this rule shall not operate such equipment unless it is equipped
with one (1) of the following:

A. A continuous emissions monitoring system (CEMS),
which meets the applicable requirements of 40 CFR [part] 60, sub-
part A, Appendix B, and complies with the quality assurance proce-
dures specified in 40 CFR [part] 60, Appendix F. The CEMS shall
be used to demonstrate compliance with the applicable emission
limit; or

B. A calculational and record keeping procedure based upon
actual NOx emissions testing and correlations with operating para-
meters. The installation, implementation, and use of such an alter-
nate calculational and record keeping procedure must be approved by
the director and EPA and incorporated into the SIP in writing prior
to implementation.

2. The CEMS or approved alternate monitoring procedure shall
be operated and maintained in accordance with an on-site CEMS or
alternate monitoring plan approved by the director.

(F) Excess Emissions During Start-Up, Shutdown, or
Malfunction. If the owner or operator provides notice of excess emis-
sions pursuant to state rule 10 CSR 10-6.050(3)(B), the director will
determine whether the excess emissions are attributable to start-up,
shutdown, or malfunction conditions, pursuant to rule 10 CSR 10-
6.050(3)(C). If the director determines that the excess emissions are
attributable to such conditions, and if such excess emissions cause [a
kiln] an engine to exceed the applicable emission limits in this rule,
the director will determine whether enforcement action is warranted,
as provided in rule 10 CSR 10-6.050(3)(C). If the director deter-
mines that the excess emissions are attributable to a start-up, shut-
down, or malfunction condition and does not warrant enforcement
action, those emissions would not be included in the calculation of
ozone season NOx emissions.  

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo [2000] Supp. 2012. Original
rule filed Feb. 14, 2005, effective Oct. 30, 2005. Amended: Filed
Aug. 27, 2009, effective May 30, 2010. Amended: Filed March 13,
2013.

Page 602 Proposed Rules
April 15, 2013
Vol. 38, No. 8



PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS:  A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin
at 9:00 a.m., May 30, 2013.The public hearing will be held at the
Elm Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level,
Bennett Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri.
Opportunity to be heard at the hearing shall be afforded any inter-
ested person.  Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit
a written or email statement of their views until 5:00 p.m., June 6,
2013. Written comments shall be sent to Chief, Air Quality Planning
Section, Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution
Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.
Email comments shall be sent to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling
and Reference Methods and Air Pollution Control 

Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.400 Restriction of Emission of Particulate Matter
From Industrial Processes. The commission proposes to amend the
purpose, section (2), and section (5). If the commission adopts this
rule action, it will be the department’s intention to submit this rule
amendment to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to replace
the current rule that is in the Missouri State Implementation Plan.
The evidence supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking is
available for viewing at the Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program at the address listed in the
Notice of Public Hearing at the end of this rule.  More information
concerning this rulemaking can be found at the Missouri Department
of Natural Resources’ Environmental Regulatory Agenda website,
www.dnr.mo.gov/regs/index.html.

PURPOSE: This regulation restricts the emission of filterable partic-
ulate matter in the source gas of an operation or activity except
where 10 CSR 10-6.405 and/or 10 CSR 10-6.070 would be applied.
This amendment is to provide a hierarchy of various compliance
methods to use for demonstrating compliance, clarify that this rule
limits filterable particulate matter only, and remove definitions that
can be found in 10 CSR 10-6.020 Definitions and Common Reference
Tables.  The evidence supporting the need for this proposed rule-
making, per 536.016, RSMo, is a rule comment form dated Dec. 9,
2011, with a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency email requesting
clarification of methods used by sources to demonstrate compliance
with this rule. 

PURPOSE: This regulation restricts the emission of filterable par-
ticulate matter in the source gas of an operation or activity except
where 10 CSR 10-6.405 and/or 10 CSR 10-6.070 would be applied.

(2) Definitions.  Definitions of certain terms specified in this rule
may be found in 10 CSR 10-6.020.

[(A) Process weight is defined as the total weight of all
materials, including solid fuels, introduced into an emission
unit, which may cause any emission of particulate matter,
but excluding liquids and gases used solely as fuels and air
introduced for purposes of combustion. 

(B) Process weight rate is defined as a rate in tons per

hour established as follows:
1. The rate of materials introduced to the process which

may cause any emission of particulate matter;
2. For continuous or long-run steady-state emission

units, the total process weight for the entire period of con-
tinuous operation or for a typical portion, divided by the
number of hours of that period or portion; 

3. For cyclical or batch emission units, the total process
weight for a period of time which covers a complete opera-
tion or an integral number of cycles, divided by the hours of
actual process operation during that period; or 

4. Where the nature of any process or operation or the
design of any equipment permits more than one (1) inter-
pretation of this section, that interpretation which results in
the minimum value for allowable emissions shall apply.  

(C) For purposes of this regulation, a jobbing cupola is
defined as a cupola which has a single melting cycle oper-
ated no more than ten (10) hours in any consecutive twen-
ty-four (24) hours and no more than fifty (50) hours in any
consecutive seven (7) days. 

(D) A smoke generating device is defined as a specialized
piece of equipment which is not an integral part of a com-
mercial, industrial, or manufacturing process and whose sole
purpose is the creation and dispersion of fine solid or liquid
particles in a gaseous medium.

(E) Definitions of certain terms specified in this rule, other
than those specified in this rule section, may be found in 10
CSR 10-6.020.]

(5) Test Methods. [The amount of particulate matter emitted
shall be determined as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.030(5). Any
other test method must be approved by the director.] The fol-
lowing hierarchy of emission measurement approaches shall be
used to determine compliance with section (3) of this rule. If
compliance data is not available from a measurement approach,
or an approach is impractical for a source, then the next
approach listed in the hierarchy shall be used in its place. The
choice of an emissions measurement approach is subject to the
approval of the director—

(A) Continuous Emission Monitoring System (CEMS);
(B) Stack tests as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.030(5)(A) or (5)(B),

as determined by the director; 
(C) Compliance Assurance Monitoring (CAM) plan found in

the facility’s operating permit; or
(D) Other methods, as described in permits issued under 10

CSR 10-6.060 or 10 CSR 10-6.065 or as approved by the direc-
tor.  These may include approved engineering calculations or
other U.S. Environmental Protection Agency documentation.

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo Supp. [2011] 2012. Original
rule filed Jan. 14, 2000, effective Aug. 30, 2000. Amended: Filed
Dec. 22, 2000, effective Sept. 30, 2001. Amended: Filed Sept. 9,
2008, effective May 30, 2009. Amended: Filed July 1, 2010, effective
Feb. 28, 2011. Amended: Filed Sept. 16, 2011, effective May 30,
2012. Amended: Filed March 13, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS:  A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin
at 9:00 a.m., May 30, 2013.  The public hearing will be held at the
Elm Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level,
Bennett Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri.
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Opportunity to be heard at the hearing shall be afforded any inter-
ested person.  Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit
a written or email statement of their views until 5:00 p.m., June 6,
2013.  Written comments shall be sent to Chief, Air Quality Planning
Section, Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution
Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.
Email comments shall be sent to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov.

Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners

Chapter 2—Private Security

PROPOSED RESCISSION

17 CSR 10-2.010 Regulation and Licensing In General. This rule
established procedures, testing requirements, and license fees for
those persons required to be licensed.

PURPOSE: The board wishes to rescind this rule and adopt a new
rule in its place to clarify the language in the rule and ensure com-
pliance with the applicable law.

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed Dec.
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded: Filed March 14,
2013.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Board
of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust,
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners

Chapter 2—Private Security

PROPOSED RULE 

17 CSR 10-2.010 Regulation and Licensing In General

PURPOSE: Under the provisions of sections 84.420 and 84.720 of
the Revised Statutes of Missouri, the Board of Police Commissioners
of Kansas City, Missouri (board) has the authority and duty to regu-
late and license all private security and proprietary private inves-
tigative personnel, serving or acting as such within Kansas City,
Missouri (city). This rule establishes procedures, testing require-
ments, and license fees for those persons required to be licensed.

(1) Any corporation, partnership, or other entity that provides pri-
vate security services and proprietary private investigative services is
fully responsible for the acts and omissions of its employees acting
in the course and scope of their duties. Training is the responsibility
of the entity hiring such employees. The board is a licensing agency,
not an employer, and assumes no responsibilities for the acts or omis-
sions of any entity or individual providing such services. The board’s
functions are limited to licensing and regulating any entity or indi-
vidual who perform such services. The board shall have the power

and duty to enforce the provisions of these rules and upon complaint
of any person or on its own initiative to investigate violations, or to
investigate the business, business practices, or business method of
any person, firm, company, partnership, corporation, or political
subdivision applying for or holding a license for providing private
security services and proprietary private investigative services if, in
the opinion of board, the investigation is warranted. Each entity or
individual applicant shall be obligated to supply the information,
books, papers, or records as reasonably may be required concerning
proposed business practices or methods. Failure to comply with any
reasonable request of the board shall be grounds for denying an
application for a license or for revoking, suspending, or failing to
renew a license issued under these rules. Those licensed must main-
tain the records that the board requires which include, but are not
limited to, records of contract accounts, employment records, time
records, and assignment records along with records required to be
kept by federal and state law.

(2) Any license granted under section 84.720 of the Revised Statutes
of Missouri shall constitute a privilege to do business and shall not
invest the one licensed with any contractual interest, inherent right,
or property interest.

(3) Those licensed to perform private security services or proprietary
private investigative services have police powers limited to the prop-
erty which they have been lawfully assigned to protect. With the
exception of those licensed as airport police, whose authority is set
out in 17 CSR 10-2.030(1)(A)4., those licensed under these provi-
sions have no authority to enforce ordinances, statutes, or rules on
the public streets of city or at any location other than on the proper-
ty they have been assigned to protect.

(4) Private Officers Licensing Unit (POLU) is responsible for inves-
tigating, processing, licensing, inspecting, and the supervision of all
persons working or acting as licensed private security or proprietary
private investigators. The POLU is further responsible for issuing
and transferring all such licenses, for reinstatements, and for period-
ic inspection of license holders.

(5) Private security and proprietary private investigator licenses are
required for each of the following:

(A) Any individual providing private security services or propri-
etary private investigative services within the city whether for a
licensed private security business or otherwise; 

(B) Any firm, company, partnership, or corporation that provides
private security services or proprietary private investigative services;
and

(C) Any political subdivision, sole proprietorship, firm, company,
partnership, or corporation that employs personnel to provide private
security services or proprietary private investigative services.

(6) The board’s licensing requirements do not apply to persons act-
ing as bouncers, process servers, bondsmen, surety recovery agents
(bounty hunters), or investigators for attorneys unless acting in a pri-
vate security capacity as defined in these rules.

(7) No license is required for any peace officer authorized to exer-
cise police powers in the city who holds a valid Peace Officer
Standards and Training (POST) certificate.

(8) The board shall perform its functions under statute and under
these regulations through the POLU of the Kansas City, Missouri
Police Department (department). All private officers and proprietary
private investigators are subject to inspection by employees of the
board and members of the department. The purpose of such inspec-
tions is to ensure that the licensee is in compliance with the provi-
sions of this rule. Failure to cooperate with an employee of the board
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or member of the department may result in penalties being assessed
as set out in 17 CSR 10-2.060(9).

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Dec.
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded and readopted:
Filed March 14, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will cost state agencies or polit-
ical subdivisions eleven thousand, eight hundred twenty-five dollars
($11,825) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities nine
hundred fifty-seven thousand, seven hundred dollars ($957,700) in
the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Board of
Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust, Kansas
City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners

Chapter 2—Private Security

PROPOSED RESCISSION

17 CSR 10-2.020 Application for a License. This rule, in order to
promote and protect the public welfare, required the board to inves-
tigate the background, qualifications, and ability of all applicants and
required that applicants use application forms provided by the board.

PURPOSE: The board wishes to rescind this rule and adopt a new
rule in its place to clarify the language in the rule and ensure com-
pliance with the applicable law.

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed Dec.
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded: Filed March 14,
2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Board
of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust,
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners

Chapter 2—Private Security

PROPOSED RULE 

17 CSR 10-2.020 Application for a License

PURPOSE: In order to promote and protect the public welfare, the
Board of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri (board)
shall license and regulate those persons wishing to provide private
security services or proprietary private investigative services.
Application forms provided by the board shall be used by all appli-
cants. All forms may be downloaded at www.kcpd.org.

(1) All individual applicants are required to complete an “Employer’s
Application for Employment of Private Security/Proprietary Private
Investigator ‘Intent to Hire Form’” (Form 5409 P.D.). This form must
be completed any time a license is applied for, renewed, transferred,
or upgraded. All firms, companies, partnerships, corporation, sole
proprietorships, and political subdivisions to be licensed under the
provisions of section (5) below shall complete “Application for
Company License” (Form 5486 P.D.). 

(2) The board shall conduct a criminal history records check of each
applicant and may conduct investigations as provided by section
84.720 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri. The applicant must pay
the fee for the criminal history records check and fingerprinting at
the time of application and upon each annual renewal.

(3) Each applicant shall submit to photographing and fingerprinting
and shall provide proof of identity by submitting with the application
a photo identification card, original Social Security card, proof of

citizenship, permanent resident card, Military DD214, most recent
name change documentation from a court of competent jurisdiction,
or other equivalent identification. If an applicant provides proof of
identity by submitting permanent resident card, the applicant must
provide sufficient proof that they have established a bona fide resi-
dence in the United States of America. If an applicant requests a
replacement license because of a name change, the applicant must
supply to the Private Officers Licensing Unit (POLU) the appropri-
ate name change documentation from a court of competent jurisdic-
tion.  

(4) Each applicant shall provide any additional information required
by the board to conduct its investigation and shall comply with all
requests of the board in the conduct of its investigation for a license
under these rules.

(5) Firms, companies, partnerships, corporations, sole proprietor-
ships, or political subdivisions engaging in the business of providing
private security services or proprietary private investigative services
or firms, companies, partnerships, corporations, sole proprietor-
ships, or political subdivisions that employ other individuals to per-
form private security services or proprietary private investigative ser-
vices shall be licensed in addition to any individual license required
under these rules. An applicant wishing to obtain a company license
for the sole purpose of employing proprietary private investigators
must meet the guidelines outlined in 17 CSR 10-2.050(1)(C). Any
license granted under this section shall be designated “company
license.” All company names must be approved by POLU. All
licensed companies are required to annually pay a company fee by
January 31 of each year and are required to comply with the terms
of this regulation and all federal, state, and local laws. Failure to pay
such fee will result in the suspension of the company license. In the
absence of the annual company license, all licenses granted to
employees or agents of that company are automatically suspended.

(6) Before being licensed under these rules, individual and company
applicants shall file with the board a certificate of liability insurance
in the amount of one (1) million dollars or the equivalent, naming the
board as an additional insured and certificate holder and protecting
the board from liability judgments, suits, and claims, including, but
not limited to, suits for bodily injury, personal injury, including false
arrest, libel, slander, invasion of privacy, and property damage aris-
ing out of the licensing of individuals and entities providing private
security services or proprietary private investigative services. The
insurance must be written by a company approved by the Missouri
superintendent of insurance and approved by the board with respect
to its form, manner of execution and sufficiency, provided further
however, before a license is issued to a nonresident of Missouri, the
applicant must file with the Missouri Secretary of State a written
consent for jurisdiction of the courts of Missouri, and any case(s)
arising from any contract for performance of private security services
or proprietary private investigative services made within city are to
be performed wholly or in part, in the city or in any way connected
with the business within the city or occurring in connection with the
business of the one licensed within the city. Any company licensed
must provide the insurance specified and cover all employees, pro-
vided however, that in the event a suit is filed or claim is made
involving the board, the company shall immediately notify the board
at which time the licensee may be required to furnish additional
insurance. Failure of a licensee to maintain insurance is grounds for
revocation. In the absence of adequate insurance, all licenses grant-
ed to employees or agents of that company are automatically sus-
pended. Equivalent shall mean a bond in like amount or a certificate
of self-insurance by a company with audited net worth of five (5) mil-
lion dollars. Each certificate of insurance must stipulate coverage for
armed/unarmed personnel as appropriate. 

(7) When, in the opinion of the board, an applicant has fulfilled the
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requirements of these rules, the board may issue the applicant a
license to provide private security services or proprietary private
investigative services.

(8) All those licensed under these rules shall immediately notify the
board in writing of any change of address or employment; a compa-
ny shall notify the board in writing of the termination of employment
of any person listed on the company application or any licensed
employee and notify the board as to whether or not the individual’s
license has been returned to the company.

(9) Licenses, issued under these rules, are not transferable or assign-
able. When any person’s license has been terminated, suspended,
revoked, or has expired, the license shall be mailed or delivered to
the POLU. If the license is lost or stolen, the license holder shall
immediately notify POLU and provide a lost card affidavit signed by
a company representative. An additional fee and a new Form 5409
P.D. are required. If the license has been stolen, a police report list-
ing the license may be accepted in lieu of the additional fee. Any per-
son licensed under these rules may hold a maximum of three (3)
licenses. 

(10) All those licensed will  be required  to furnish a photograph and
description of all vehicles to be used in the course of their business,
including state license numbers, vehicle identification numbers, and
provide proof of adequate automobile liability insurance coverage in
accordance with the requirements established by the state of
Missouri. All vehicles must clearly state that the vehicle is a securi-
ty vehicle and display the company name. Use of any sign, signal, or
other device contrary to the ordinance of the city, or which is simi-
lar in appearance to those used by the department is prohibited and
may be grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license. No
private security company, proprietary private investigative company,
or individual is authorized to operate any emergency vehicle as that
term is defined by state law or city ordinance without the prior
approval of the board.  No vehicle displaying the word “police” shall
be approved for use except as set out in 17 CSR 10-2.030(1)(A)4.

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Dec.
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. Rescinded and readopted: Filed
May 28, 1993, effective Jan. 31, 1994. Rescinded and readopted:
Filed Dec. 15, 1999, effective Aug. 30, 2000. Rescinded and read-
opted: Filed March 14, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will cost state agencies or polit-
ical subdivisions less than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggre-
gate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities
$1,170,000 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Board of
Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust, Kansas
City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners

Chapter 2—Private Security

PROPOSED RESCISSION

17 CSR 10-2.030 Classification of Licenses. This rule established
minimum qualification standards and classification of licenses relat-
ed to specific private security services provided by the board.

PURPOSE: The board wishes to rescind this rule and adopt a new
rule in its place to clarify the language in the rule and ensure com-
pliance with the applicable law.

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed Dec.
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded: Filed March 14,
2013.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Board
of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust,
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners

Chapter 2—Private Security

PROPOSED RULE 

17 CSR 10-2.030 Classification of Licenses

PURPOSE: This rule establishes minimum standards and classifica-
tion of licenses related to specific private security services or pro-
prietary private investigative services provided.

(1) Individual licenses to provide private security services or propri-
etary private investigative services granted pursuant to this chapter
shall be classified as either Class A licenses or Class B licenses.

(A) Class A licensees shall have the authority to detain or appre-
hend suspects either committing felonies, misdemeanors, or city
ordinance violations in the presence of the licensee or during the
attempt to commit the same or upon probable cause to believe an
offense was committed; provided, however, the authority is limited
to the property the licensee is hired to protect during the hours s/he
is hired to protect said property and is not to extend to the public
streets of the city with the exception of suspects fleeing from private
property on foot. In that case, the authority shall extend to the pub-
lic streets so long as there is hot pursuit and the suspect has not
attempted escape in a vehicle and further excepting airport police
officers whose authority is set forth in this rule. No vehicle pursuits
are allowed except as specifically authorized in 17 CSR 10-
2.030(10)(A)4. Class A licenses may be further classified pursuant
to the following titles, designations, and authorities:

1. Loss prevention agent—One who is unarmed, nonuniformed,
and is responsible to observe, investigate, apprehend, and prosecute
shoplifters, fraud checks, internal thefts, and the like. This individ-
ual is employed to prevent theft by unobtrusive, alert skills;

2. Patrol agent—Armed or unarmed, uniformed position dele-
gated all the responsibility of a guard with the authority to react to
illegal action by apprehension or detention. Persons, such as bank
guards and hospital security, are normally assigned to a particular
designated post to protect persons and property. This individual may
also be responsible for proactive, aggressive policing of the property
they are hired to protect. These responsibilities include foot patrol,
response to alarms, self-initiated activity such as car and pedestrian
checks on designated private property, investigations, apprehension
or detention of suspects, and assisting in prosecution;

3. Proprietary private investigator—An armed or unarmed,
nonuniformed person employed exclusively and regularly by one (1)
employer in connection with the affairs of that employer and where
there exists an employer-employee relationship, responsible for
investigations which impact that employer.  The qualification for this
classification is set out in 17 CSR 10-2.050(1)(C); and

4. Airport police—Armed and uniformed position responsible
for patrolling the property designated as the Kansas City
International Airport and the Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport
who are granted special permission to be known as the Kansas City
International Airport Police. These officers are exempt from the pro-
visions of 17 CSR 10-2.060(4). Airport police personnel shall be
required to have a Class A license. Officers with licenses pursuant to
this subclassification have the following authority, in addition to
those created by the Class A license. The Class A license that has the
airport police designation shall have authority to enforce city ordi-
nance and state statute violations upon the public streets of the city,
but only upon the streets within the property boundaries of the
Kansas City International Airport and the Charles B. Wheeler
Downtown Airport. The Class A license that has the designation
unarmed, uniformed “traffic control officer” shall have the authori-
ty to control traffic and issue citations for parking violations, but
only upon the streets within the property boundaries of the Kansas
City International Airport and the Charles B. Wheeler Downtown
Airport. This section grants no authority to engage in a vehicle pur-
suit on streets not within the property boundaries of the Kansas City
International Airport or the Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport.

(B) Class B licenses shall not grant the authority for the licensees
to detain or apprehend suspects. An applicant shall designate the par-
ticular subclassification listed in this subsection when applying for a
Class B license. An applicant must make a separate application when
applying for a Class B license designating more than one (1) sub-
classification of authority. The license identification issued by the
Board of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri (board)
shall designate which subcategory of a Class B license has been
granted.

1. Guard—A guard is an unarmed, uniformed position with pri-
mary responsibilities being to watch and report on/or in a specific
premises or designated area, to escort or guide, to control crowds, to
give directions, to monitor camera systems, to control access, and to
offer assistance for the safety of others. The guard has no authority
to detain or apprehend a person suspected of committing a crime. 

2. Armed courier—An armed, uniformed position primarily
responsible for the protection and transport of money and other valu-
ables from one (1) designated area to another. This licensee has the
authority to conduct private security services on the public streets of
the city, but this authority is limited to protecting property from
activities which would impact the property protected. The courier
must meet the qualifications relating to authority to carry a firearm,
as set out in this chapter.

3. Proprietary private investigator—An armed or unarmed,
nonuniformed person employed exclusively and regularly by one (1)
employer in connection with the affairs of that employer and where
there exists an employer-employee relationship, responsible for
investigations which impact that employer.  The qualification for this
classification is set out in 17 CSR 10-2.050(1)(C).
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AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Dec.
5. 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded and readopted:
Filed March 14, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will cost state agencies or polit-
ical subdivisions less than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggre-
gate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Board of
Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust, Kansas
City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners

Chapter 2—Private Security

PROPOSED RESCISSION

17 CSR 10-2.040 Application Forms and Licensing Fees. This rule
established a schedule of licensing fees and provided a list of
approved forms used by the board to administer its responsibilities in
the area of regulation and licensing of private security personnel.

PURPOSE: The board wishes to rescind this rule and adopt a new
rule in its place to clarify the language in the rule and ensure com-
pliance with the applicable law.

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed Dec.
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded: Filed March 14,
2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Board
of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust,
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners

Chapter 2—Private Security

PROPOSED RULE 

17 CSR 10-2.040 Application Forms and Licensing Fees

PURPOSE: The Board of Police Commissioners of Kansas City,
Missouri (board), in order to administer its responsibilities in the
area of regulation and licensing of private security and proprietary
private investigative personnel, shall establish a schedule of licens-
ing fees and list of approved forms.

(1) The fees for licensing, renewing, transferring, etc., are as fol-
lows:

(A) Annual Company License $300.00
(B) Class A—Armed License $145.00
(C) Class A—Armed License Renewal $ 90.00
(D) Class A—Unarmed License $ 90.00
(E) Class A—Unarmed License Renewal  $ 65.00
(F) Class B—Armed License $145.00
(G) Class B—Armed License Renewal $ 90.00
(H) Class B—Unarmed License $ 90.00
(I) Class B—Unarmed License Renewal $ 65.00
(J) Replacement of Lost/Stolen License  $ 65.00
(K) Dual License $ 65.00
(L) Change of Company Name  $150.00
(M) License Upgrade/Change of license classification $ 65.00
(N) Rescheduling Fee (test failure, fail to qualify or 

attend range)  $ 85.00
(O) Weapon Change  $ 85.00
(P) State/NCIC/FBI Annual Fingerprinting Fee  $ 40.00
(Q) Reinstatement Fee (following suspension/

revocation) $ 65.00
(R) License Transfer  $ 65.00
(S) Copy Fee  $ 1.00

per page
(T) Annual Range Fee (Training and Qualification/

Continuing Education)  $ 85.00
(U) Classroom Training/Continuing Education Fee 

(every 2 years)  $ 50.00

(2) Only cash, credit cards, money orders, cashier’s checks, or
checks drawn on accounts of licensed companies are accepted in pay-
ment of fees. All fees are nonrefundable.

(3) The board will provide forms for applicants to use. All forms may
be downloaded at www.kcpd.org.

(A) Form 5001 P.D., “Information for Private Security/Proprietary
Investigative Personnel,” provides basic information to private secu-
rity and proprietary private investigative personnel which includes
the source of the board’s authority to license private security and pro-
prietary private investigative personnel; information on the classifi-
cations of licenses; the duties and authority of the various license
classifications; information concerning firearms qualification; and
scheduling and directions to the police pistol range.

(B) Form 5297 P.D., “Instructions for Licensing a Company to
Employ Private Security and Proprietary Private Investigative
Personnel,” provides instructions for licensing a company to employ
private security and proprietary private investigative personnel which
includes instructions concerning the required certificate of liability
insurance; required documents; fee required; criminal history records
check information; lists the private officer license classifications;
procedures for monthly invoices; and information concerning the
required examination and firearms qualification.

(C) Form 5409 P.D. is the “Employer’s Application for
Employment of Private Security/Proprietary Private Investigators
‘Intent to Hire.’” This form must be presented any time a license is
applied for, renewed, or transferred. This is the basic application form
for individual licensees which requests the following information:
name of business, address, and telephone number; the individual
applicant’s name, address, telephone number, date of birth, and Social
Security number; the type of license being applied for; and if armed,
the make, model, caliber, and serial number of the firearm the appli-
cant intends to carry. The form must be signed by both the individ-
ual applicant and an authorized company representative.  No Form
5409 P.D. will be accepted if signed by a person other than the
authorized representative designated by the company in writing and
on file with the Private Officers Licensing Unit (POLU).

(D) Form 5486 P.D. is the “Application for Company License.”
This form is the basic application form for companies wishing to
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regularly work or employ persons to engage in private security or
proprietary private investigative businesses in the City of Kansas
City, Missouri. It requires the following information: the company’s
trade name; the company’s legal name, its address, its mailing
address, and business phone; the principal name of the company and
home office address and telephone; whether the company is using a
fictitious name and whether that name is registered with the Missouri
Secretary of State; whether the business is a corporation registered
in a state other than Missouri but doing business in Missouri; a copy
of the company’s registration in Missouri and certificate of good
standing from the Missouri Secretary of State if appropriate; a
description of the company; information concerning whether a
license issued by any governmental entity to the company has ever
been denied, suspended, or revoked; a description of the uniform
along with a photograph which clearly displays the company name
and the word security either on the uniform or company patch to be
worn by the company’s personnel (the POLU will approve in advance
all uniforms to be worn by any licensee); the approximate number of
persons to be licensed; a list of all company-owned firearms; a list
of the names, addresses, and capacities of each of the owners, part-
ners, officers, directors, and associates of the company; a list of the
company’s contact persons who are authorized to sign and do busi-
ness with the board; information and proof that the persons listed in
the application are U.S. citizens; and the company’s federal employ-
ment identification number (E.I.N.).

(E) Form 5715 P.D. is the “Verification of Firearms Training”
form. This form requires an individual and his/her instructor to cer-
tify that the applicant has been trained in the use of the firearm the
applicant intends to carry on duty. Information concerning what the
training must include appears on the form. The form must be signed
by the training instructor and the training instructor’s company must
be listed. This form must be presented to the POLU prior to the
applicant being scheduled for the range.

(F) Form 5636 P.D. is the “Weapons Discharge Report.” This
form is designed to report information whenever a licensee dis-
charges his/her firearm. Information which must be provided on the
form includes: the name of the licensee and date the license expires;
the licensee’s weapon make, model, and serial number; the location
of the incident; the time of the incident; the name of the licensee’s
supervisor and the time they were notified of the discharge; whether
the licensee was on-duty and in uniform; whether any fatalities or
injuries resulted from the discharge; whether the shooting was acci-
dental or intentional; the department’s case report number in con-
nection with the incident; a narrative description of what transpired;
the signature of the licensee along with the licensee’s date of birth;
and the signature of the company representative along with the com-
pany name and address. This form must be received by the POLU
within five (5) days of the incident.

(G) Form 5707 P.D. is a “Temporary License Extension” form. It
requests the date, the name of the licensee, their date of birth, and
their employer’s name. This form provides a temporary license to
those who have not yet attended their scheduled firearms qualifica-
tion date. 

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Dec.
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. Amended: Filed May 3, 1988,
effective Sept. 29, 1988. Rescinded and readopted: Filed May 28,
1993, effective Jan. 31, 1994. Rescinded and readopted: Filed Dec.
15, 1999, effective Aug. 30, 2000. Rescinded and readopted: Filed
March 14, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will cost state agencies or polit-
ical subdivisions twenty-two thousand, four hundred forty-three dol-
lars and twenty-five cents ($22,443.25) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities
$2,262,875 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Board of
Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust, Kansas
City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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