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Chapter 2—Income Tax 

 
12 CSR 10-2.005 Questions and Answers 
(Rescinded October 30, 2002) 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1986. 
This rule was previously filed as Income Tax 
Release 73-11, Jan. 29, 1974, effective Feb. 
8, 1974. Rescinded: Filed April 4, 2002, 
effective Oct. 30, 2002. 

Mobil Oil Corp. v. State Tax Commission of 
Missouri, 513 SW2d 319 (1974). In authoriz-
ing the prescription of rules relating to the 
administration  of the income tax laws, former 
section 143.200, RSMo does not delegate to 
the director of revenue the power to promul-
gate rules of substantial law. The rules which 
the director of revenue is empowered by for-
mer section 143.200, RSMo to prescribe are 
limited to procedural rules useful in the 
administration and enforcement of the income 
tax laws. However, the statutory direction that 
the rules shall follow the federal rules as 
nearly as practicable does not require or 
authorize the director to ignore a specific, 
pertinent, applicable state statute and pro-
mulgate rules in conflict therewith (subject 
matter of section 143.200, RSMo now cov-
ered by section 143.961, RSMo Supp. 1973). 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.010 Capital Loss Allocation 
Between Spouses 

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the method to 
be used by married persons filing joint feder-
al income tax returns in allocating capital 
losses between the spouses for Missouri 
income tax purposes. 

PUBLISHER’S NOTE:  The secretary of state 
has determined that the publication of the 
entire text of the material which is incorpo-
rated by reference as a portion of this rule 
would be unduly cumbersome or expensive.   
This material as incorporated by reference in 
this rule shall be maintained by the agency at 
its headquarters and shall be made available 
to the public for inspection and copying at no 
more than the actual cost of reproduction. 
This note applies only to the reference mate-
rial. The entire text of the rule is printed 
here. 

(1) The following general rules have been 
issued by the Missouri Department of 

Revenue and should be used in arriving at 
Missouri adjusted gross income (MAGI) of 
each spouse in situations involving losses 
from sale or exchange of capital assets, but 
only if the spouses file a joint federal income 
tax return for the year.  

(2) Losses: General Rule. If the losses from 
the sale or exchange of capital assets exceed 
the net gains from the sales, so a loss is 
reported on Form 1040, then, subject to the 
limitation provided for in Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC) Section 1211, allocate the excess 
to the spouse responsible for the excess. (For 
examples 1-3 below, the Section 1211 limita-
tion is $3,000.) If both spouses are responsi-
ble for the excess, then allocate the excess, 
subject to IRC Section 1211 limitation, 
between the spouses on a pro rata basis.  

(A) Example No. 1: Assume the following 
facts on the joint federal income tax return 
for 2017: 

                 Spouse 1     Spouse 2      Total 
Wages             $10,000      $5,000        $15,000 
Gain (loss)      ($2,000)      ($3,000)      ($5,000) 
Section 1211  
 limitation                                          ($3,000) 
Federal adjusted gross income (FAGI)    $12,000 

Missouri Answer: The amount of the excess 
is $5,000 but, because of the limitation of 
IRC Section 1211, the deductibility of the 
loss is limited to $3,000. Since both spouses 
are responsible for the excess, then allocate 
the $3,000 on a pro rata basis, that is—
Spouse 1 (2/5 x 3,000) and Spouse 2 (3/5 x 
3,000). 
 
MAGI is therefore— 
                   Spouse 1      Spouse 2     Total 
Wages             $10,000       $5,000      
Section 1211 
 deduction       ($1,200)       ($1,800) 
MAGI             $8,800         $3,200     $12,000 
 

(B) Example No. 2: Assume the following 
facts on the joint federal income tax return 
for 2017: 
                     Spouse 1      Spouse 2     Total 

Wages               $10,000     $5,000       $15,000 
Short-term 
 Gain (loss)        ($200)      ($300)       ($500) 
Long-term 
 Gain (loss)       ($8,000)    ($3,000)    ($5,000) 
Section 1211 
 limitation                                         ($3,000) 
Federal adjusted gross income              $12,000 
 
Missouri Answer: The amount of the excess 
is $5,500 but, because of the limitation of 
IRC Section 1211, the deductibility of the 
loss is limited to $3,000. The $5,500 excess 

includes $5,200 for Spouse 1 and $300 for 
Spouse 2.  Since both spouses are responsible 
for the excess, then allocate the $3,000 on a 
pro rata basis, that is, Spouse 1 (5,200/5,500 
x 3,000) and Spouse 2 (300/5,500 x 3,000). 
 
MAGI is therefore— 
                   Spouse 1        Spouse 2  Total 
Wages           $10,000          $5,000       
Section 1211 
 deduction     ($2,850)         ($150) 
MAGI            $7,150          $4,850      $12,000 

 
(C) Example No. 3: Assume the following 

facts on the joint federal income tax return 
for 2017: 
                                    
                      Spouse 1      Spouse 2    Total 
Wages              $10,000        $5,000     $15,000 
Short-term 
 Gain (loss)      $1,000         ($1,000)    $0 
Long-term 
 Gain (loss)      ($8,000)        $3,000     ($5,000) 
Section 1211  
 limitation                                          ($3,000) 
FAGI                                                 $12,000 
 
Missouri Answer: Since there are no net 
short-term losses, all of the IRC Section 1211 
limitation of $3,000 should be allocated from 
excess long-term losses. Since Spouse 1 is 
responsible for the excess, the entire amount 
of the limitation is allocated to Spouse 1. 
 
MAGI is therefore: 
                   Spouse 1      Spouse 2     Total 
Wages             $10,000       $5,000      
Section 1211 
 deduction       ($3,000)       $0 
MAGI             $7,000         $5,000     $12,000 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 2016.* 
This rule was previously filed as Income Tax 
Release 73-11, Jan. 29, 1974, effective Feb. 
8, 1974. Amended: Filed Oct. 2, 2018, effec-
tive April 30, 2019. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.015 Employers’ Withholding 
of Tax 

PURPOSE: This rule provides a guide to 
employers in properly fulfilling their respon-
sibilities of withholding Missouri taxes from 
the wages of employees. 

(1) General Information. The Missouri gener-
al assembly in 1972 enacted Senate Bill 549, 
a new Missouri income tax law. This law 
adopts many provisions and terms of the 
Internal Revenue Code. Its withholding provi-
sions are applicable to wages paid after 



December 31, 1972. The “Missouri 
Employer’s Tax Guide” and this rule are 
designed to assist employers in withholding 
Missouri income tax from wages paid from 
sources in Missouri. An employer may gen-
erally follow the provisions of the Internal 
Revenue Service (IRS) Publication 15  
(Circular E), Employer’s Tax Guide relating 
to withholding income tax. An employer 
already assigned a Missouri tax identification 
number will not need to obtain a new one. If 
a business is discontinued, transferred, or 
sold, the employer must file a Final Report, 
Form 5633, to close the employer’s withhold-
ing account. If the business of another 
employer is acquired, do not use the number 
assigned to that business; a new number must 
be obtained. 

(2) Employers. An employer is any person, 
firm, corporation, association, fiduciary of 
any kind, or other type of organization for 
whom an individual performs service as an 
employee, unless the person or organization 
for whom the individual performs service 
does not have control of the payment of com-
pensation for the service (section 143.191, 
RSMo). The term employer means the per-
son, including all government agencies, who 
controls the payment of the compensation. 
An employer required to withhold Missouri 
income tax is personally liable for the tax. 
Any amount of tax actually deducted and 
withheld by an employer is a special fund in 
trust for the director of revenue (section 
143.241, RSMo). An employee does not have 
a right of action against the employer in 
respect to any money deducted and withheld 
from his or her wages if it is paid over to the 
director of revenue in good faith compliance 
with the Missouri Income Tax Law. 

(3) Registration of Employers. Every employ-
er must register with the Missouri 
Department of Revenue by completing the 
Missouri Tax Registration Application, Form 
DOR-2643. A permanent registration number 
will be assigned. A new application is 
required, and a new Missouri tax identifica-
tion number will be assigned, when any 
change in ownership or ownership type 
occurs. An employer who receives a new 
identification number as a result of a change 
in ownership type must file a Final Report, 
Form 5633, to close the old account. These 
numbers are not transferable and should be 
referred to in all reports and correspondence 
concerning withholding. 

(4) Employer With More Than One (1) 
Payroll Unit—Complex Employer. If a con-
solidated report and remittance of the tax 
withheld cannot be made by the employer 
because of the complexity of the organiza-

tion, branch offices, or divisions may be des-
ignated as withholding agents. These agents 
can perform the actual withholding and 
remitting. However, regardless of any internal 
arrangements which may be established by 
the complex employer, the legal responsibili-
ty and liability under the law still rests with 
the home office. If the complex employer has 
designated withholding agents, and the agents 
wish to claim the compensation deduction, 
only one (1) agent will be entitled to the full 
deduction and the remaining agents will be 
entitled to one-half of one percent (1/2%) 
deduction of income taxes withheld if the 
returns are filed timely. 

(5) Seasonal. If an employer is only open for 
several months out of the year, the employer 
may register as a seasonal employer. 

(6) Employees. The term employee for 
Missouri withholding purposes has the same 
meaning as it has for federal withholding as 
set forth in Publication 15, (Circular E), 
Employer’s Tax Guide. This definition is the 
same for Missouri residents and nonresi-
dents. 

(7) Wages. The term wages for Missouri 
withholding purposes has the same meaning 
as it has for federal withholding as set forth 
in Publication 15, (Circular E), Employer’s 
Tax Guide. Wages include all pay given to an 
employee for services performed. The pay 
may be in cash or in other forms. It includes 
salaries, vacation allowances, bonuses, and 
commissions, regardless of how measured or 
paid. 

(8) Interstate Transportation Employees. 
(A) Rail, Motor, and Motor Private 

Carriers. 49 U.S.C. section 11504, limits 
state taxation on wages of employees of rail, 
motor, and motor private carriers. Missouri 
withholding is required on rail, motor, and 
motor private carrier employees whose state 
of residence is Missouri. Employees of rail 
carriers and motor carriers who perform reg-
ularly assigned duties in more than one (1) 
state are subject to state income tax only in 
their state of residency. 

(B) Air and Water Carriers. 49 U.S.C. sec-
tions 1512 and 11504, limit taxation on wages 
of employees of air and water carriers to the 
employee’s state of residence, and to the state 
in which the employee earns more than fifty 
percent (50%) of the wages paid by the air or 
water carrier if different from the state of res-
idence.  

(9) Nonresident Employees Subject to 
Withholding. If a nonresident employee per-
forms all services within Missouri, tax shall 
be withheld from all wages paid as in the case 

of a resident. If services are performed partly 
within and partly without the state, only 
wages paid for services performed within 
Missouri are subject to Missouri withholding 
tax. If only a portion of an employee’s wages 
is subject to Missouri withholding tax, then 
the amount of Missouri tax required to be 
withheld is calculated using a percent of the 
amount listed in the withholding tables. The 
calculation begins by determining the amount 
that would be withheld if all the wages were 
subject to Missouri withholding. This amount 
is then multiplied by a percent which is deter-
mined by dividing the wages subject to 
Missouri withholding tax by the total federal 
wages. 

(A) Example: Nonresident earns $20,000 
in wages, $12,000 from Missouri sources. 
Missouri withholding would be 60% 
($12,000 ÷ $20,000 equals 60%) of the 
withholding required on $20,000. Therefore, 
if $100 per month should be withheld for an 
individual earning $20,000, then for this non-
resident, $60 should be withheld each month 
(100 x 60% = $60). 

(10) Resident of Missouri Employed in 
Another State. A Missouri resident paying 
income tax to another state because of 
employment in that state may file a 
Withholding Affidavit For Missouri 
Residents, Form MO W-4C. If the employee 
does not complete Form MO W-4C, the 
employer may withhold Missouri taxes on all 
services performed, regardless of where per-
formed. All income received for services per-
formed in another state not having a state 
income tax is subject to Missouri withhold-
ing. If services are performed partly within 
and partly without the state, only wages paid 
for that portion of the services performed 
within Missouri are subject to Missouri with-
holding tax, provided that the services per-
formed in the other state are subject to the 
other state’s withholding provisions. If a ser-
vice is partly within and partly without 
Missouri and only a portion of an employee’s 
wages is subject to Missouri withholding tax, 
then the amount of Missouri tax required to 
be withheld is calculated using a percentage 
of the amount listed in the withholding tables. 
The calculation begins by determining the 
amount that would be withheld if all the 
wages were subject to Missouri withholding. 
This amount is then multiplied by a percent, 
which is determined by dividing the wages 
subject to Missouri withholding tax by the 
total federal wages.  

(A) Example: A resident employee earns 
$1,500 per month and is single. The employee 
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performs 40% of his or her services in 
Kansas. The remaining 60% of the employ-
ee’s services are performed in Missouri. If 
the total withholding on all earnings is $40 
per month, the actual withholding for 
Missouri would be $24 ($40 x 60% = $24). 

(11) Missouri Employer with Nonresident 
Employees. If a nonresident employee per-
forms all services outside Missouri, his or 
her wages are not subject to Missouri with-
holding. A nonresident employee performing 
services in more than one (1) state is subject 
to withholding as outlined in section (9). 

(12) Supplemental Wage Payments. If supple-
mental wages are paid, such as bonuses, com-
missions, overtime pay, back pay, including 
retroactive wage increases or reimbursements 
for nondeductible moving expenses in the 
same payment with regular wages, Missouri 
income tax shall be withheld as if the total of 
the supplemental and regular wages were a 
single wage payment for the regular payroll 
period. If supplemental wages are paid in a 
different payment from regular wages, the 
method of withholding income tax depends in 
part on whether income tax is withheld from 
the employee’s regular wages. 

(A) If income tax has been withheld from 
the employee’s regular wages, choose either 
one (1) of the following methods for with-
holding income tax on the supplemental 
wages: 

1. Method One. Withhold at a flat per-
centage rate that is the lower of a) five and 
four tenths percent (5.4%) or b) the highest 
individual income tax rate determined under 
section 143.011, RSMo, for the current tax 
year of the supplemental wages; or 

2. Method Two. Add the supplemental 
wages to the employee’s regular wages paid to 
the employee within the same calendar year 
for the payroll period and determine the 
income tax to be withheld as if the aggregate 
amount were one (1) payment. Subtract the 
tax already withheld from the regular wage 
payment and withhold the remaining tax from 
the supplemental wage payment. 

(B) If income tax has not been withheld 
from the regular wages (for example, where 
an employee’s withholding exemption 
exceeds his  or her wages), use Method Two 
described in paragraph (12)(A)2. of this rule. 
Add the supplemental wages to the regular 
wages paid within the same calendar year for 
the payroll period and withhold income tax 
on the total amount as though the supplemen-
tal wages and regular wages were one (1) pay-
ment for a regular payroll period. 

(13) Tips Treated as Supplemental Wages. 
Employers must withhold Missouri income 
tax based upon total tips reported by the 
employee, unless the amount of tips received 
by the employer and remitted to the employee 
is greater in which case the greater amount 
shall be withheld.  If an employee shares tips, 
the employer shall withhold only from the 
employee who actually receives the shared 
tips. Employers shall withhold income tax on 
tips using the same options indicated for 
withholding on supplemental wage payments. 

(14) Vacation Pay. Vacation pay received by 
an employee is subject to withholding as 
though it were a regular wage payment made 
for the payroll periods during the vacation. If 
vacation pay is paid in addition to regular 
wages for the vacation period, the vacation 
pay is treated as a supplemental wage pay-
ment. An employee who is not a resident of 
Missouri but works in Missouri is subject to 
withholding on his or her vacation pay. 

(15) Lump-Sum and Periodic Distribution. 
Missouri follows the federal guidelines for 
lump-sum and periodic distributions. A 
lump-sum distribution is withheld at a flat 
rate that is the lower of a) five and four tenths 
percent (5.4%) or b) the highest individual 
income tax rate determined under section 
143.011, RSMo, for the current tax year. If a 
periodic distribution, follow the computer 
formula or tax tables. 

(16) Determining Proper Amount to 
Withhold. To determine income tax withhold-
ing, take into account— 

(A) Wages paid during the payroll period, 
including tips and vacation pay; and 

(B) Filing status, as there are separate 
withholding calculations for single, married, 
and head of household employees.  

(17) Exemption for Nontaxable Individuals. 
Exemption from withholding for an individ-
ual is valid only if the employee submits to 
the employer a completed Form MO W-4 
(Employee’s Withholding Allowance 
Certificate), certifying that the employee has 
no income tax liability from the previous year 
and expects none for the current year. The 
employee must file a Form MO W-4 annually 
if the employee wishes to continue to be 
exempt. 

(18) Employee Withholding Certificate. Each 
employee is required to file a completed 
Form MO W-4 that reflects the filing status 
on his or her income tax return. The Form 
MO W-4 must be used by the employer to 
determine the amount of Missouri income tax 
which must be withheld from each paycheck. 
If an employee has more than one (1) employ-
er, he or she may want to withhold an addi-

tional amount on Line 2 of Form MO W-4 for 
his or her principal employer to ensure that 
the total amount withheld approximates the 
actual income tax liability. Failure to with-
hold enough from each payroll period could 
cause an employee to be subject to underpay-
ment penalties. If an employee expects to 
have income other than his or her wages, or 
income from multiple jobs, he or she may 
request additional amounts be withheld in 
addition to the standard withholding calcula-
tions that are based on the standard deduction 
for the filing status indicated on the Form 
MO W-4. The additional amount should be 
included on Form MO W-4, Line 2. 
Employees who expect to receive a refund (as 
a result of itemized deductions, modifica-
tions, or tax credits) on their tax returns may 
direct the employer to only withhold the 
amount indicated on Form MO W-4, Line 3, 
in which case the employer will not use the 
standard calculations for withholding.  If the 
employee does not indicate an amount to be 
withheld or if the amount indicated is more 
than is available for the payroll period, the 
employer will use the standard calculations. 
Employers are required to submit a copy of 
each completed Form MO W-4 or an equiva-
lent form for each new employee to the 
Missouri Department of Revenue within 
twenty (20) calendar days of hire. “Date of 
hire” is defined as the date the employee 
reports to work or the date the employee 
signs the federal W-4 form, whichever is ear-
lier. The department will in turn forward the 
Form MO W-4 to the Division of Child 
Support Enforcement. 

(19) Withholding Tables. Withholding tables 
prepared by the Missouri Department of 
Revenue take into account allowable deduc-
tions; therefore withholding is based on gross 
wages before any deductions, such as Federal 
Insurance Contribution Act (FICA), state 
unemployment insurance, pension funds, or 
insurance, etc. In determining the amount of 
tax to be withheld, the employer should use 
the table for the correct payroll period—daily, 
weekly, bi-weekly, semimonthly, and monthly 
periods. Any other period would be a miscel-
laneous pay period. Tables show wage brack-
ets in the two (2) left-hand columns. The fil-
ing status is shown at the top of each of the 
remaining columns. 

(20) Percentage Withholding Formula. A 
percentage withholding formula has been 
published by the director of revenue and it 
may be used on electronic data processing 
equipment for withholding Missouri income 
tax. Any other method must be submitted to 
and approved by the director of revenue.  
Missouri withholding is calculated by sub-
tracting the annual standard deduction from 
the employee’s annual gross income and 



multiplying the result by the applicable tax 
rate. The formula is illustrated in the 
“Employer’s Tax Guide (Form 4282).” 

(21) Filing Frequency Requirements. 
Missouri withholding returns must be filed by 
the due date as long as an account is main-
tained with the Missouri Department of 
Revenue even if there was no payroll for the 
reporting period. Returns must be filed each 
reporting period, even though there may not 
have been any tax withheld. There are four 
(4) filing frequencies: quarter-monthly, 
monthly, quarterly, and annually (section 
143.221 and 143.225, RSMo). A newly reg-
istered employer is initially assigned a filing 
frequency on the basis of the employer’s esti-
mation of future withholdings. If the assigned 
filing frequency differs from the filing 
requirements established by statute, it is the 
employer’s responsibility to immediately 
notify the Department of Revenue. The time 
for filing shall be as follows: 

(A) Quarter-Monthly. Employers required 
to withhold nine thousand ($9,000) or more 
per month for at least two (2) months during 
the preceding twelve (12) months shall file on 
a quarter-monthly basis; 

(B) Monthly. Employers required to with-
hold five hundred dollars ($500) per month 
for at least two (2) months during the preced-
ing twelve (12) months shall file on a month-
ly basis; 

(C) Quarterly. Employers not required to 
file and pay taxes withheld on a monthly 
basis who withheld at least twenty dollars 
($20) per quarter during at least one (1) quar-
ter of the preceding four (4) quarters shall file 
on a quarterly basis; and 

(D) Annually. Employers required to with-
hold less than twenty dollars ($20) during any 
of the preceding four (4) quarters shall file on 
an annual basis. 

(22) Reporting Requirement. Every employer 
withholding Missouri income tax from 
employee’s wages is required by statute to 
report and remit the tax to the state of 
Missouri on the Employer’s Return of 
Income Taxes Withheld (Form MO-941). See 
regulation 12 CSR 10-2.016 for information 
on the requirements for employers to remit 
payments on Quarter-Monthly accounts. 

(A) A separate reporting form must be 
filed for each reporting period. A personal-
ized booklet of reporting forms detailing the 
employer’s name, address, employer identifi-
cation number, filing frequency, and due date 
is provided to each active account. If an 
employer misplaces, damages, or does not 
receive the necessary reporting forms, 
replacement forms should be requested, 

allowing sufficient time to file a timely 
return. If a blank form is used, the employ-
er’s name, address, and identification number 
must appear as filed on previous returns and 
the period for which the remittance is made 
must be indicated. Failure to receive report-
ing forms does not relieve the employer of 
responsibility to report and remit tax with-
held. If an employer temporarily ceases to 
pay wages, a return must be filed for each 
period indicating that no tax was withheld. 
Failure to do so will result in the issuance of 
non-filer notices. 

(B) Do not include the fourth quarter or 
twelfth month return with the Form W-
2(s)/1099R(s) and Form MO W-3. The last 
annual remittance must be sent separately 
with Form MO-941. Employers with two 
hundred fifty (250) or more employees are 
required to submit these items electronically 
by the last day of January.  Paper filers are 
required to submit copies of all withholding 
statements by the last day of February.  Paper 
filings must also be accompanied by a list, 
preferably an adding machine tape or a com-
puter printout, of the total amount of the 
income tax withheld as shown on all “Copy 
1s” of Form W-2 and Form 1099-R. Large 
numbers of forms may be forwarded to the 
Department of Revenue in packages of conve-
nient size. Each package must be identified 
with the name and account number of the 
employer and the packages must be consecu-
tively numbered. Any employee’s copies of 
the Withholding Statement (Form W-2 or 
Form 1099-R) which cannot be delivered to 
the employee after reasonable effort is exert-
ed, must be kept by the employer for at least 
four (4) years. The Department of Revenue 
will accept computer produced magnetic tape 
records instead of the paper Form W-2 or 
Form 1099-R. The employer must meet tape 
data specifications which are established by 
the Department of Revenue. The department 
follows specifications outlined in Social 
Security Administration Publication 42-007. 
Employers must also include the 
Supplemental record (Code S or Code 1 S).  

(C) If an employer closes or ceases to pay 
wages, a Final Report, Form 5633 must be 
filed. This form, which is included in the 
voucher booklet, is provided to all active 
accounts. 

(23) Time and Place for Filing Returns and 
Remitting Tax. 

(A) All returns and remittances must be 
filed with the Department of Revenue at the 
specific address indicated on the form. The 
dates on which the returns and payments are 
due are as follows: 

1. Quarter-Monthly (see 12 CSR 10-
2.016). The quarter-monthly periods are: the 
first seven (7) days of a calendar month; the 

eighth to the fifteenth day of a calendar 
month; the sixteenth to the twenty-second day 
of a calendar month; and the twenty-third day 
through the last day of a calendar month. 
Payments must be made within three (3) 
banking days after the end of the quarter-
monthly period or received by the 
Department of Revenue or its designated 
depository within four (4) banking days after 
the end of the quarter-monthly period. 
Quarter-monthly filers are required to pay by 
use of an electronic funds payment system 
established by the department. If quarter-
monthly filers are unable to use the electronic 
funds payment system, alternative electronic 
payment methods are outlined in the 
“Employer Tax Guide” Form 4282. An 
Employer’s Return of Income Taxes Withheld 
(Form MO-941) reconciling the quarter-
monthly payments and detailing any under-
payment of tax is due by the fifteenth day of 
the following month except for the third 
month of a quarter in which case the 
Employer’s Return of Income Taxes Withheld 
(Form MO-941) is due the last day of the suc-
ceeding month; 

2. Monthly. Return and payment must 
be made by the fifteenth day of the following 
month except for the third month of a quarter 
in which case the return is due the last day of 
the succeeding month; 

3. Quarterly. Return and payment must 
be made on or before the last day of the 
month following the close of the calendar 
quarter; and 

4. Annually. Return and payment must 
be made on or before January 31 of the suc-
ceeding year. 

(B) When the due date falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or legal holiday, the return and pay-
ment will be considered timely if made on the 
next business day (section 143.851, RSMo). 

(24) Correcting Mistakes in Reporting or 
Withholding. 

(A) Overpayment. If withholding tax has 
been over-reported, the employer must file an 
Amended Employer’s Return of Income 
Taxes Withheld, Form MO-941, along with 
supporting documentation, such as a copy of 
the payroll ledger, records, or W-2s. A claim 
for credit or refund of an overpayment of 
withheld tax must be filed by the taxpayer 
within three (3) years from the time the 
return was filed or two (2) years from the 
time the tax was paid, whichever period 
expires later. If no return was filed by the tax-
payer, a claim for credit or refund must be 
filed within two (2) years from the time the 
tax was paid. No claim for credit or refund 
will be allowed after the expiration of the 
period of limitation prescribed in section 
143.801, RSMo. 

(B) Underpayment. If withholding tax has 
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been under-reported, the employer must file 
an Amended Employer’s Return of Income 
Taxes Withheld (Form MO-941) to report the 
additional withholding. 

(25) Erroneous Withholding. If Missouri tax 
has been withheld from an employee’s pay-
check and the employee is not subject to 
Missouri tax, it is the employer’s responsibil-
ity to complete an Amended Employer’s 
Return of Income Taxes Withheld (Form MO-
941), along with supporting documentation, 
such as a copy of the payroll ledger, records, 
or W-2s. 

(26) Employer Compensation. For every 
remittance made to the director of revenue, 
on or before the respective due date for the 
payment involved, each employer (except the 
United States, the state of Missouri, and all 
agencies and political subdivisions of the 
state of Missouri or the United States govern-
ment) may deduct and retain as compensation 
the following percentages of the total amount 
of the tax withheld and paid annually: two 
percent (2%) of the first five thousand dollars 
($5,000) or less; one percent (1%) of the 
amount in excess of five thousand dollars up 
to ten thousand dollars ($5,000–$10,000); 
one-half of one percent (1/2%) of the amount 
collected in excess of ten thousand dollars 
($10,000). The employer is not entitled to 
any compensation if any payment is not made 
on or before the due date. Compensation for 
complex employers is covered in section (4). 

(27) Failure to Pay Taxes Withheld—Special 
Deposits. Any employer who fails to remit 
income tax withheld, or to file tax returns as 
required, may be required to deposit the taxes 
in a special trust account for Missouri (see 
section 32.052, RSMo). Penalties are provid-
ed for failure to make payment. If the director 
of revenue finds that the collection of taxes 
required to be deducted and withheld by an 
employer may be jeopardized by delay, he or 
she may require the employer to remit the tax 
or make a return at any time. A lien outstand-
ing with regard to any tax administered by the 
director shall be a sufficient basis for this 
action (see section 143.221.4, RSMo). In 
addition, any officer, director, statutory 
trustee, or employee of any corporation who 
has direct control, supervision, or responsi-
bility for filing returns and making payments 
of the tax, who fails to file and make pay-
ment, may be personally assessed the tax, 
including interest, additions to tax and penal-
ties pursuant to section 143.241.2, RSMo. 

(28) Statements for Employees. Two (2) des-
ignated copies of the “W-2 Wage and Tax 
Statement” must be provided to each 
employee to whom wages were paid and were 

subject to withholding whether or not tax was 
withheld on the payments. Wages include 
sickness or injury payments made by an 
employer under wage continuation plans and 
all remuneration whether paid in cash or oth-
erwise. The W-2 form supplied by the IRS 
must be used for this purpose unless the 
employer uses a substitute form approved by 
the Department of Revenue. If it becomes 
necessary to correct Form W-2 after it has  
been issued to an employee, two (2) corrected 
statements must be issued to the employee 
and a copy mailed to the Department of 
Revenue. The new copies must be clearly 
marked “Corrected by Employer.” In case a 
withholding statement is lost or destroyed, a 
substitute copy must be issued to the employ-
ee and must be clearly marked “Reissued by 
Employer.” If employment terminates during 
the year two (2) copies of Form W-2, copy 2 
and C, must be provided to the employee 
within thirty (30) days of the last payment of 
wages. Interrupted or intermittent employ-
ment is not considered terminated as long as 
there is reasonable expectation of further 
employment on the part of both the employer 
and the employee. If an employee’s services 
are terminated and a Form W-2 has been pro-
vided for the period worked during the year 
and the employee is later reemployed by the 
same employer during the calendar year, 
another withholding statement must be pro-
vided to the employee covering only the later 
period of employment within the calendar 
year. All withholding statements must be fur-
nished to employees not later than January 31 
of the following calendar year for which the 
W-2 applies. 

(29) Records to Be Kept by Employers. 
(A) The following records must be retained 

for all employees: 
1. Name, address, Social Security num-

ber, and period of employment; 
2. Amounts and dates of all wage pay-

ments subject to the Missouri withholding 
tax; 

3. Employees’ state income tax with-
holding certificate; 

4. Employer’s state income tax with-
holding registration number; 

5. Record of quarter-monthly, monthly, 
quarterly, and annual returns filed including 
dates and amounts of payments; and 

6. Records that would assist the 
Missouri Department of Revenue in auditing 
the employer’s records. 

(B) All records should be kept for at least 
three (3) years after the date the taxes to 
which they relate become due, or the date the 
taxes are paid, whichever is later. 

(C) In addition to the records listed in 
paragraphs (29)(A)1.–6., all records of the 
allocation of working days in the state of 
Missouri must be retained for all nonresident 
employees. 

(30) Penalties, Interest, and Additions to Tax. 
(A) Interest at the statutory rate must be 

included on all payments of tax not filed on a 
timely basis. Interest is subject to change on 
an annual basis pursuant to section 32.065, 
RSMo. 

(B) An employer’s failure to file a timely 
return, unless due to reasonable cause and 
not due to willful neglect, will result in addi-
tions to tax of five percent (5%) per month or 
a fraction of a month not to exceed 
twenty-five percent (25%) pursuant to section 
143.741.1, RSMo. 

(C) A deficiency is subject to an addition 
to tax of five percent (5%) if the delinquency 
is due to negligence or disregard of rules, or 
fifty percent (50%) if the deficiency is due to 
fraud pursuant to section 143.751.1 and .2, 
RSMo. 

(D) Failure to timely pay tax requires a five 
percent (5%) addition to tax pursuant to sec-
tion 143.751.3, RSMo. 

(E) A quarter-monthly penalty of five per-
cent (5%) in lieu of all other penalties, inter-
est or additions to tax will be imposed on a 
quarter-monthly period underpayment pur-
suant to section 143.225.6, RSMo. 

(F) A person who willfully fails to collect, 
account for, or pay withholding taxes is sub-
ject to a penalty equal to the amount not paid 
to the state, pursuant to section 143.751.4, 
RSMo. In addition, any officer, director, 
statutory trustee, or employee of any corpora-
tion who has direct control, supervision, or 
responsibility for filing returns and making 
payments of the tax, who fails to file and 
make payment, may be personally assessed 
the tax, including interest, additions to tax 
and penalties pursuant to section 143.241.1, 
RSMo. 

(G) Penalties for criminal offenses are also 
provided in sections 143.911 to 143.951, 
RSMo. 

(H) A Certificate of Tax Lien may be filed 
for record with the recorder’s office. The lien 
shall arise on the date an assessment becomes 
final and shall attach to all real and personal 
property owned by or acquired by the taxpay-
er. A Certificate of Tax Lien also may be 
filed with the clerk of the circuit court and 
shall have the force and effect of a default 
judgment pursuant to section 143.902, 
RSMo. 

(I) Failure to file a timely Wage and Tax 
Statement, W-2, is subject to a penalty of two 
dollars ($2) per statement not to exceed one 
thousand dollars ($1,000) unless the failure is 
due to reasonable cause and not willful 



neglect pursuant to section 143.741.2, 
RSMo. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 2016.* 
This rule was previously filed as “Missouri 
Employer’s Tax Guide” Feb. 20, 1973, effec-
tive March 2, 1973. Original rule filed Jan. 
29, 1974, effective Feb. 8, 1974. Emergency 
amendment filed Jan. 13, 1983, effective Jan. 
23, 1983, expired May 23, 1983. Amended: 
Filed Jan. 13, 1983, effective April 11, 1983. 
Amended: Filed March 9, 1984, effective July 
1, 1984. Amended: Filed June 2, 1993, effec-
tive Nov. 8, 1993. Amended: Filed July 28, 
1995, effective Jan. 30, 1996. Amended: 
Filed Feb. 6, 1998, effective Aug. 30, 1998. 
Emergency amendment filed Nov. 30, 1999, 
effective Dec. 10, 1999, expired June 6, 
2000. Amended: Filed Nov. 30, 1999, effec-
tive June 30, 2000. Amended: Filed April 1, 
2002, effective Oct. 30, 2002. Emergency 
amendment filed April 16, 2019, effective 
April 26, 2019, expired Feb. 5, 2020. 
Amended: Filed April 16, 2019, effective Nov. 
30, 2019. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 

 
 
12 CSR 10-2.016 Quarter-Monthly Period 
Reporting and Remitting Withholding Tax 

PURPOSE: Under the State Income Tax Law 
(section 143.011, RSMo), this rule establish-
es the requirement of reporting and remitting 
withholding taxes on a quarter-monthly peri-
od to protect state revenue and improve the 
cash flow of revenue for the state. 

(1) If an employer is required under sections 
143.191–143.265, RSMo to deduct and with-
hold the aggregate amount of nine thousand 
dollars ($9,000) or more in each of at least 
two (2) months during the prior twelve (12) 
months, the employer must file a return 
(MO-941P) and remit payment to the director 
of revenue on a quarter-monthly basis. 
Amounts remitted on a quarter-monthly basis 
shall be treated as payments on the employ-
er’s monthly return (MO-941). A monthly  
return (MO-941) reconciling the quarter- 
monthly payments is required by the fifteenth 
day of the following month, except for the 
return for the third month of the quarter 
which is due the last day of the following 
month. The employer shall mail a quar-
ter-monthly payment voucher (MO-941P) and 
payment to the address provided on Form 
MO-941P within three (3) banking days fol-
lowing the end of the quarter-monthly period 

or deliver the form and payment to the direc-
tor of revenue in Jefferson City, Missouri or 
his/her designated depository within four (4) 
banking days after the end of the quar-
ter-monthly period. The compensation autho-
rized in section 143.261, RSMo may be taken 
by the employer against the payment required 
to be made only if the payment is made by the 
employer on a timely basis as provided in 
section 143.851, RSMo. Banking days shall  
not include Saturday, Sunday or legal holi-
days. 

(2) A quarter-monthly filer has the option 
to— 

(A) Pay one hundred percent (100%) of the 
estimated quarter-monthly amount, as deter-
mined by the department, within three (3) 
banking days after end of each quarter-
monthly period (four (4) times a month); or 

(B) Pay at least ninety percent (90%) of the 
actual tax due by the due date of that partic-
ular quarter-monthly period. If there is no 
payroll during a quarter-monthly period, no 
quarter-monthly payment voucher is neces-
sary. 

1. Example: An employer has a semi-
monthly payroll cycle which falls on January 
15 and on January 31. The actual Missouri 
income tax withholding for the January 15 
payroll is $12,000. The employer must remit 
at least 90% of the $12,000 ($10,800) with 
the second quarter-monthly payment voucher 
that is due no later than January 18. The 
actual Missouri income tax withholding for 
the January 31 payroll is $15,000. The 
employer must remit at least 90% of the 
$15,000 ($13,500) with the fourth quarter-
monthly payment voucher that is due no later 
than February 3. Since the employer did not 
have a payroll during the first or third quar-
ter-monthly periods, a quarter-monthly pay-
ment voucher does not need to be submitted 
for those two periods. 

2. Example: An employer has only one 
monthly payroll period and it falls on January 
20 payroll. The actual Missouri income tax 
withholding for the January 20 payroll is 
$30,000. The employer must remit at least 
90% of the $30,000 ($27,000) with the third 
quarter-monthly payment voucher that is due 
no later than January 25. Since the employer 
did not have a payroll during the first, second 
or fourth quarter-monthly periods, a quarter-
monthly payment voucher does not need to be 
submitted for those three periods. Any 
required additional tax due must be paid on 
or before the due date of the return. 

(3) Quarter-monthly period means— 

(A) The first seven (7) days of a calendar 
month; 

(B) The eighth to fifteenth day of a calen-
dar month; 

(C) The sixteenth to twenty-second day of 
a calendar month; and 

(D) The twenty-third day through the last 
day of a calendar month. 

(4) A quarter-monthly penalty of five percent 
(5%) in lieu of all other penalties, interest or 
additions to tax imposed by the statutes will 
be charged on the amount of the underpay-
ment for each quarter-monthly period. The 
quarter-monthly penalty of five percent (5%) 
of underpayment for each quarter-monthly 
period will not be imposed if one (1) of the 
following exceptions is met: 

(A) One hundred percent (100%) of the 
estimated quarter-monthly amount, as deter-
mined by the department, is paid within three 
(3) banking days after the end of each quar-
ter-monthly period (four (4) times a month); 
or 

(B) At least ninety percent (90%) of the 
actual tax due is paid by the due date of that 
particular quarter-monthly period. If there is 
not a payroll during a quarter-monthly peri-
od, no quarter-monthly payment voucher is 
necessary. 

(5) If any employer reports withholding on a 
complex unit reporting basis, then the nine 
thousand dollar ($9,000) aggregate amount 
as defined in section (1) is the total of all 
amounts required to be deducted and with-
held by section 143.191, RSMo for all indi-
vidual units of an employer. 

(6) Overpayments. If withholding tax has 
been over reported in any one (1) period, an 
Employer’s Withholding Tax Overpayment 
Amended Report (Form 941X) must be filed 
with the Department of Revenue, along with 
supporting documentation; such as a copy of 
your payroll ledger, records or W-2’s. An 
overpayment notice will be issued by the 
director for any excess remittance over the 
actual amount due for a period. An employer 
cannot take credit for an overpayment until 
s/he has received notification from the direc-
tor of revenue. 

(7) Underpayments. If withholding tax has 
been underported in any one (1) period, the 
employer must file an Employers’ 
Withholding Tax Underpayment Amended 
Return, Form MO-941U to report the addi-
tional withholding. However, no penalty for 
underpayment of any amount required to be 
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paid will be imposed on any employer for 
failure to comply with the quarter-monthly 
filing requirements for the first two (2) 
months the employer is obligated to make 
quarter-monthly payments. 

(8) Any employer who has been placed on a 
quarter-monthly filing frequency who consis-
tently is not required to deduct and withhold 
nine thousand dollars ($9,000) or more for a 
monthly period may request permission from 
the director to file and pay on a less frequent 
basis. An employer must file and pay on a 
quarter-monthly basis for a minimum of 
twelve (12) months before requesting a 
change in filing frequency. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1994.* 
Emergency rule filed Oct. 13, 1982, effective 
Nov. 1, 1982, expired Feb. 28, 1983. 
Original rule filed Oct. 13, 1982, effective 
Jan. 13, 1983. Emergency amendment filed 
Nov. 12, 1982, effective Nov. 22, 1982, 
expired Feb. 28, 1983. Amended: Filed 
March 9, 1984, effective June 11, 1984. 
Amended: Filed June 2, 1993, effective Jan. 
31, 1994. Amended: Filed April 14, 1995, 
effective Sept. 30, 1995. Amended: Filed 
Feb. 6, 1998, effective Aug. 30, 1998. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 

 
12 CSR 10-2.017 Transient Employer Fin-
ancial Assurance Instrument for Employ-
er’s Withholding Tax 

PURPOSE: This rule establishes guidelines 
for filing financial assurance instruments to 
secure payment of withholding tax by 
out-of-state transient employers. 

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state 
has determined that the publication of the 
entire text of the material which is incorpo-
rated by reference as a portion of this rule 
would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. 
Therefore, the material which is so incorpo-
rated is on file with the agency who filed this 
rule, and with the Office of the Secretary of 
State. Any interested person may view this 
material at either agency’s headquarters or 
the same will be made available at the Office 
of the Secretary of State at a cost not to 
exceed actual cost of copy reproduction. The 
entire text of the rule is printed here. This 
note refers only to the incorporated by refer-
ence material. 

(1) Out-of-State Transient Employer Defined. 

(A) Transient employer means an employer 
as defined in sections 143.191, 287.030 and 
288.032, RSMo making payment of wages 
taxable under the Missouri income tax law, 
the Workers’ Compensation Law and the 
Missouri employment security law who is not 
domiciled in Missouri and who temporarily 
transacts any business within Missouri. The 
transaction of business is considered tempo-
rary at any time it cannot be reasonably 
expected to continue for a period of at least 
twenty-four (24) consecutive months. 

(B) Transient employers shall not include 
any employer who is not subject to Missouri 
income tax because of the provisions of 15 
U.S.C. 381. 

(C) Every transient employer shall file 
with the director of revenue a financial assur-
ance instrument including, but not limited to, 
a cash bond, surety bond or an irrevocable 
letter of credit as defined in the Uniform 
Commercial Code Section 400.5-103, 
RSMo. 

(2) Types of Financial Assurance Instru-
ments. Financial assurance instruments 
which may be posted to secure payments of 
taxes by out-of-state transient employers shall 
be in the form of a surety bond, cash bond or 
an irrevocable letter of credit issued by any 
state or federal financial institution, or any 
other financial assurance instrument which is 
deemed acceptable by the director of revenue. 
Other financial assurance instruments will be 
reviewed for approval on a case-by-case 
basis. 

(A) A surety bond shall be issued by an 
insurance company licensed for bonding in 
Missouri on behalf of the applicant on the 
form provided by the Department of Revenue. 
An example of this form is printed with this 
rule. The form shall bear the seal of the 
insurance company, the effective date and be 
accompanied by a power of attorney letter if 
signed by the attorney-in-fact. It also shall 
contain the signature of the applicant. 

(B) A cash bond shall be paid to the direc-
tor of revenue in the form of a cashier’s 
check, money order or certified check and be 
accompanied by a notarized cash bond form 
provided by the Department of Revenue. An 
example of this form is printed with this rule. 

(C) An irrevocable letter of credit issued by 
any state or federal financial institution may 
be submitted to the Department of Revenue 
on a form provided by the department. An 
example of this form is printed with this rule. 

1. The letter of credit shall be irrevoca-
ble and the beneficiary shall be the 
Department of Revenue. Payment shall be 

made immediately upon presentment of a 
demand for payment signed by the director of 
revenue or a designated representative. 

2. All letters of credit shall conform to 
the Department of Revenue’s required for-
mat. A standard letter of credit form embody-
ing this format shall be provided by the 
Department of Revenue. All letters of credit 
shall be accompanied by an authorization for 
release of confidential information allowing 
the director of revenue or a designee to 
release confidential tax information to the 
issuing bank. 

3. A demand for payment upon a letter of 
credit shall be presented for payment only for 
reasons that bond proceeds are needed to sat-
isfy any delinquencies or claims as provided 
for in section 285.230, RSMo. 

4. Letters of credit shall have a term of 
one (1) year and shall be automatically 
renewable on an annual basis for an addition-
al one (1) year. A letter of credit may be can-
celled by the issuer sixty (60) days after writ-
ten notice is delivered to the Department of 
Revenue. Upon the notice of cancellation, the 
transient employer shall be required to file a 
new financial assurance instrument on or 
before the expiration of the sixty (60)-day 
period. If the required financial assurance 
instrument is not received within that time 
period, the employer commits the crime of 
failure to file a financial assurance instrument 
if the employer knowingly fails to comply. 

5. If a transient employer ceases busi-
ness or desires to substitute a financial assur-
ance instrument for his/her letter of credit, 
the director of revenue shall retain the letter 
of credit for a period of ninety (90) days or 
until the director of revenue is satisfied that 
no claims exist against the letter of credit. 

6. A transient employer shall be 
required to increase the amount of the letter 
of credit in any situation where the employer 
would be required to increase its financial 
assurance instrument as provided for in sec-
tion 285.230, RSMo. This additional instru-
ment may be satisfied by increasing the letter 
of credit or submitting an additional financial 
assurance instrument. 

(3) Amount of Financial Assurance 
Instrument. The amount of the financial 
assurance instrument shall be determined by 
the director of revenue. This financial assur-
ance instrument shall not be less than the 
average estimated quarterly withholding tax 
liability of the taxpayer, but in no case less 
than five thousand dollars ($5,000) nor more 
than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). 

(A) Example 1: Mr. Kansas Contractor has 
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been awarded a contract to renovate a build-
ing in Kansas City, Missouri. Mr. Kansas 
Contractor has employed ten (10) Missouri 
residents to assist in the renovation. The 
employees are being paid four hundred dol-
lars ($400) in wages per week. Each employ-
ee is married, claiming one (1) personal 
exemption and no dependent exemptions. Mr. 
Kansas Contractor is required to post the 
minimum five thousand dollar ($5,000) 
financial assurance instrument. 

(B) Example 2: Mrs. Illinois Drywaller 
accepts a contract to drywall several new 
apartment complexes in St. Louis, Missouri. 
Mrs. Illinois Drywaller hires numerous 
Missouri resident drywallers to assist in the 
work. Mrs. Illinois Drywaller’s Missouri 
monthly withholding is twenty-three hundred 
dollars ($2,300). Mrs. Illinois Drywaller is 
required to post a financial assurance instru-
ment in the amount of six thousand nine hun-
dred dollars ($6,900). The six thousand nine 
hundred dollars ($6,900) is the approximate 
amount of withholding for these employees 
for one (1) calendar quarter. 

(4) General Financial Assurance Instrument 
Examples. The following are general exam-
ples illustrating the out-of-state transient 
employer financial assurance instrument 
requirement: 

(A) Example 1: Mr. Jones, an out-of-state 
contractor, has been awarded a contract to 
perform work in Missouri. He must obtain 
and file an application for a Missouri 
Employer’s Withholding Tax Number. 
Furthermore, he does not meet the criteria to 
be exempt from the financial assurance 
instrument requirement. Mr. Jones, therefore, 
must submit a financial assurance instrument 
with the application before he can obtain his 
Missouri Withholding Tax Identification 
Number; 

(B) Example 2: Mrs. Davis is an 
out-of-state contractor whose principal place 
of business is in a county of another state 
which borders Missouri. Mrs. Davis is a tran-
sient employer and must file an application 
for a Missouri Employer’s Withholding Tax 
Number. Mrs. Davis has not been under con-
tract to perform work in Missouri for at least 
sixty (60) days each year for the past two (2) 
calendar years and, therefore, must submit a 
financial assurance instrument with the 
Missouri Tax Registration Application; and 

(C) Example 3: Mr. Smith, an out-of-state 
contractor, has been awarded a contract to 
perform work in Missouri. Mr. Smith is a 
transient employer and must file an applica-
tion for a Missouri Employer’s Withholding 

Tax Number. Mr. Smith does meet all the cri-
teria for exemption from the financial assur-
ance instrument requirement. Therefore, he 
is not required to file a financial assurance 
instrument with the application but must noti-
fy the Department of Revenue of his exemp-
tion status. 

(5) Replacing or Applying for Return of 
Financial Assurance Instrument. 

(A) If a cash bond is replaced by a differ-
ent type of financial assurance instrument, 
the cash bond will be refunded to the taxpay-
er; provided, all taxes due are paid and the 
taxpayer files a request for refund on the 
forms provided by the Department of 
Revenue. 

(B) If a surety bond is replaced by a differ-
ent type of financial assurance instrument, 
the surety bond will be cancelled; provided, 
the issuing insurance company provides the 
Department of Revenue with a written notice 
sixty (60) days prior to the cancellation date. 
This cancellation shall not affect any liability 
incurred or accrued prior to the termination 
of the sixty (60)-day period. 

(C) If an irrevocable letter of credit is 
replaced by a different type of financial 
assurance instrument, the irrevocable letter of 
credit will be returned to the issuing financial 
institution; provided, the financial institution 
provides the Department of Revenue with a 
written notice sixty (60) days prior to the can-
cellation date. Cancellation shall not affect 
any liability incurred or accrued prior to the 
termination of the sixty (60)-day period. 

(6) Exemptions From the Out-of-State 
Transient Employer Financial Assurance 
Instrument Requirement. Employers meeting 
all the following criteria are not required to 
file a transient employer withholding tax 
financial assurance instrument: 

(A) The principal place of business of the 
employer must be in a county of another state 
which borders Missouri; 

(B) The employer must have been under 
contract to perform work in Missouri for at 
least sixty (60) days each year for the past 
two (2) calendar years immediately preceding 
the employer’s initial application for exemp-
tion from the transient employer bonding 
requirements; and 

(C) The employer must have in his/her 
possession a tax clearance issued by the 
Department of Revenue stating that the tran-
sient employer has complied with the tax laws 
of this state and with the provisions of the 
Workers’ Compensation and employment 
security laws during the period set out in sub-

section (6)(B) of this rule. On or before 
January 31 of each year, except January 31 
following the year during which the employer 
meets these criteria, the employer shall sub-
mit a request to the Department of Revenue 
for a renewed tax clearance. 

(7) Certification of Workers’ Compensation 
Insurance. Every transient employer shall 
certify to the director of revenue that the 
employer has sufficient Workers’ Compen-
sation insurance either through a self-insured 
plan or through a private company (carrier). 
A transient employer shall provide the 
Department of Revenue with a copy of its 
Workers’ Compensation insurance policy. 
The insurance policy shall be forwarded to 
the Division of Workers’ Compensation of 
the Missouri Department of Labor and 
Industrial Relations for verification of the 
insurance policy. 

AUTHORITY: sections 143.961, RSMo 1986 
and Senate Bill 4477 of the 87th General 
Assembly to be codified as section 285.230, 
RSMo in 1994.* Original rule filed Aug. 8, 
1989, effective Nov. 26, 1989. Emergency 
amendment filed Aug. 18, 1994, effective 
Aug. 28, 1994, expired Dec. 25, 1994. 
Emergency amendment filed Dec. 9, 1994, 
effective Dec. 26, 1994, expired April 24, 
1995. Amended: Filed Aug. 18, 1994, effec-
tive Feb. 26, 1995. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972 and 285.230, 
RSMo 1988, amended 1994. 



  CODE OF STATE REGULATIONS  13JOHN R. ASHCROFT     (3/31/19) 
Secretary of State

Chapter 2—Income Tax 12 CSR 10-2



14                  CODE OF STATE REGULATIONS        (3/31/19)     JOHN R. ASHCROFT 
Secretary of State

12 CSR 10-2—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE Division 10—Director of Revenue    



  CODE OF STATE REGULATIONS  15JOHN R. ASHCROFT     (3/31/19) 
Secretary of State

Chapter 2—Income Tax 12 CSR 10-2



16                  CODE OF STATE REGULATIONS        (3/31/19)     JOHN R. ASHCROFT 
Secretary of State

12 CSR 10-2—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE Division 10—Director of Revenue    



  CODE OF STATE REGULATIONS  17JOHN R. ASHCROFT     (6/30/21) 
Secretary of State

Chapter 2—Income Tax 12 CSR 10-2



18                  CODE OF STATE REGULATIONS        (6/30/21)     JOHN R. ASHCROFT 
Secretary of State

12 CSR 10-2—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE Division 10—Director of Revenue    

12 CSR 10-2.019 Determination of With-
holding for Work Performed at Temporary 
Work Location  

PURPOSE: This rule modifies the manner in 
which the amounts required to be withheld by 
certain employers for employees performing 
services for wages from a temporary work 
location are calculated during a defined peri-
od. 

(1) Definitions. 
(A) Employer—The term “employer” as 

used in this rule has the same meaning as 
supplied by 12 CSR 10-2.015(2). 

(B) Employee—The term “employee” as 
used in this rule has the same meaning as 
supplied by 12 CSR 10-2.015(6).  

(C) Primary Work Location—The term 
“primary work location” means the address 
of the employer where the employee was reg-
ularly assigned to work immediately preced-
ing the declaration date. 

(D) Temporary Work Location—The term 
“temporary work location” means a location 
where the employee worked during the 
COVID-19 relief period that was in a state 
other than the state of the employee’s primary 
work location. 

(E) Time and Attendance System—The 
term “time and attendance system” means a 
system in which— 

1. The employee is required on a con-
temporaneous basis to record his or her work 
location for every day worked outside of the 
employee’s primary work location; and  

2. The system is designed to allow the 
employer to allocate the employee’s wages for 
income tax purposes among all taxing juris-
dictions in which the employee performs ser-
vices for wages for such employer. 

(F) Wages—The term “wages” as used in 
this rule has the same meaning as supplied by 
section 143.191.2, RSMo.  

(G) Declaration Date—The term “declara-
tion date” means the date upon which the 
United States Government declared a 
“Federally declared disaster” as defined in 26 
USC section 165(i)(5)(A) with respect to the 
COVID-19 pandemic, specifically, March 13, 
2020. 

(H) COVID-19 Relief Period—The term 
“COVID-19 relief period” means the period 
of time beginning on the date upon which the 
United States Government declared a 
“Federally declared disaster” as defined in 26 
USC section 165(i)(5)(A) with respect to the 
COVID-19 pandemic (March 13, 2020) and 
ending on December 31, 2020. 

(2) For services performed by an employee 
after the declaration date and prior to the ear-

lier of the time at which an employer began 
withholding based on a time and attendance 
system for such employee or the end of the 
COVID-19 relief period, each employer may 
elect to withhold income tax from wages paid 
to such employee as if such wages were 
earned from work performed at the employ-
ee’s primary work location, despite such 
employee working from a temporary work 
location during the COVID-19 relief period. 

(A) This rule shall only apply to— 
1. Employers that did not maintain a 

time and attendance system for all employees 
on or before the declaration date, and only 
where such employer is— 

A. An employer having a primary 
work location in Missouri with employees 
working from temporary work locations in 
states other than Missouri; or 

B. An employer having a primary 
work location in a state other than Missouri 
with employees working from temporary 
work locations in Missouri. 

(3) Affidavit Required—Each employer who 
elects to withhold and remit tax based on the 
primary work location of its employees under 
section (2) of this rule shall submit an affi-
davit notifying the Department of Revenue on 
or before January 31, 2021, of the following: 

(A) The employer did not have a time and 
attendance system in place for all employees 
as of the declaration date; 

(B) The employer did not have a time and 
attendance system in place to identify the 
locations at which employees performed ser-
vices during the COVID-19 relief period 
prior to the implementation of a time and 
attendance system, if an employer imple-
mented a time and attendance system during 
the COVID-19 relief period; 

(C) The employer will issue forms W-2 to 
employees consistent with the primary work 
location of each employee for all or part of 
the COVID-19 relief period during which an 
employee was not covered by a time and 
attendance system; and 

(D) The employer will issue communica-
tion notifying impacted employees of the 
employer’s election made pursuant to section 
(2) of this regulation no later than five (5) 
business days after submission of the affidavit 
contemplated by this section. 

(4) Examples. 
(A) Employer maintains a primary work 

location for its employees in Missouri. 
Employer did not have a time and attendance 
system in place at the beginning of the 
COVID-19 relief period, but implemented 
one on November 1, 2020. Employer had 
employees working from temporary work 

locations in other states. Under section (2), 
employer elects to withhold wages as if the 
employees were working at the primary work 
location. As a result, employer will withhold 
Missouri income tax from wages paid to 
employees working from temporary work 
locations from March 13, 2020, through 
November 1, 2020.  

(B) Employer maintains a primary work 
location for its employees in Missouri. 
Employer did not have a time and attendance 
system in place at the beginning of the 
COVID-19 relief period, and has not imple-
mented one during the COVID-19 relief peri-
od. Employer had employees working from 
temporary work locations in other states. 
Under section (2), employer elects to with-
hold wages as if the employees were working 
at the primary work location. As a result, 
employer will withhold Missouri income tax 
from wages paid to employees working from 
temporary work locations from March 13, 
2020, through December 31, 2020. 

(C) Employer maintains a primary work 
location for its employees in Kansas. 
Employer did not have a time and attendance 
system in place at the beginning of the 
COVID-19 relief period, but implemented 
one on November 1, 2020. Employer had 
employees working from temporary work 
locations in Missouri. Under section (2), 
employer elects to withhold wages as if the 
employees were working at the primary work 
location. As a result, employer will withhold 
Kansas income tax from wages paid to 
employees working from temporary work 
locations in Missouri from March 13, 2020, 
through November 1, 2020. Employer is not 
required to withhold or remit Missouri 
income tax from the employees working from 
temporary work locations in Missouri.  

(D) Employer maintains a primary work 
location for its employees in Kansas. 
Employer did not have a time and attendance 
system in place at the beginning of the 
COVID-19 relief period, and has not imple-
mented one during the COVID-19 relief peri-
od. Employer had employees working from 
temporary work locations in Missouri. Under 
section (2), employer elects to withhold 
wages as if the employees were working at the 
primary work location. As a result, employer 
will withhold Kansas income tax from wages 
paid to employees working from temporary 
work locations from March 13, 2020, 
through December 31, 2020. Employer is not 
required to withhold or remit Missouri 
income tax from the employees working from 
temporary work locations in Missouri.  

(E) Employer had a time and attendance 
system in place at the beginning of the 
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COVID-19 relief period.  Employer is ineli-
gible to elect to withhold on the basis of the 
employer’s primary work location, and 
instead withholds on the basis of the location 
where its employees actually performed ser-
vices for wages for the employer as recorded 
by the time and attendance system.  

(5) Nothing in this rule shall be interpreted as 
affecting in any way the income tax liability 
of any resident or nonresident within the 
meaning of Chapter 143, RSMo, nor shall 
this rule be interpreted as affecting in any 
way any liabilities arising from any municipal 
income or earnings tax imposed by any polit-
ical subdivision of the state of Missouri.  

AUTHORITY: sections 136.120, 143.191.3(1), 
143.511, and 143.961, RSMo 2016.* 
Emergency rule filed Jan. 6, 2021, effective 
Jan. 21, 2021, expired July 19, 2021. 
Original rule filed Jan. 11, 2021, effective 
July 30, 2021.  

*Original authority: 136.120, RSMo 1945; 143.191, 
RSMo 1972, amended 1988, 1990, 1992, 1994, 2014, 
2018; 143.511, RSMo 1972, amended 1994; and 143.961, 
RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.020 Difference in Basis on 
December 31, 1972 
(Rescinded July 30, 2018) 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1986. 
Regulation 1.121-3(b) was originally filed 
March 15, 1974, effective March 25, 1974. 
Rescinded: Filed Jan. 18, 2018, effective July 
30, 2018. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.025 Adjustment to Avoid 
Double Taxation 
(Rescinded July 30, 2018) 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1986. 
Regulation 1.121-3(c) was originally filed 
March 15, 1974, effective March 25, 1974. 
Rescinded: Filed Jan. 18, 2018, effective July 
30, 2018. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.030 Subsequent Change of 
Accounting Period 

PURPOSE: This rule serves as a guideline in 
the determination of the amount of an individ-
ual taxpayer’s allowable personal and depen-
dency exemptions where a short taxable peri-
od income tax return is required due to a 
change in the taxpayer’s taxable year for fed-
eral income tax purposes. 

(1) If a taxpayer’s taxable year is changed for 
federal income tax purposes, the Missouri  
taxable year will automatically be changed. 
No application for change of accounting peri-
od for Missouri income tax purposes will be 
required. If a short taxable period for federal 
income tax purposes results from a change in 
the taxpayer’s accounting period, the taxpay-
er also shall file a Missouri income tax return 
for that short taxable period, attaching a copy 
of one (1) of the items indicating federal per-
mission. Missouri taxable income shall be 
computed on the basis of the period for which 
the return is made and in accordance with the 
rules applicable to the determination of 
Missouri taxable income generally, except 
that the amount of allowable personal and 
dependency exemptions shall be reduced to 
the amount which bears the same ratio to the 
full amount  for those exemptions as the num-
ber of months in the period bears to twelve 
(12) months. 

(2) Example: A resident individual has been 
filing his/her federal and Missouri income 
tax returns on the basis of a fiscal year ending 
September 30. S/he changes to a calendar 
year basis and files a federal income tax 
return for the short taxable period October 1 
to December 31. S/he is entitled to one (1) 
personal exemption. His/her federal adjusted 
gross income (FAGI) for the short taxable 
period is as follows: 

Salary                                            $3,000 
United States bond interest               $   40 
Savings bank interest                        $   60 
FAGI                                             $3,100 
 
His/her Missouri taxable income (before fed-
eral income tax deduction) is as follows: 
FAGI                                             $3,100 
 
Less modification for United 
  States bond interest                        $  (40) 
Missouri adjusted gross income         $3,060 
Federal itemized deduction 
  (no federal standard deduction 
  is allowable for short-period 
  returns; no Missouri modifi- 
  cations applicable)                       $(250) 
 
Personal exemption 
  ($1,200 × 3/12)                              $(300) 
 
Missouri taxable income (before 
  federal income tax deduction)         $2,510 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1986.* 
Regulation 1.271-2 was originally filed 

March 8, 1974, effective March 18, 1974. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.035 Conformity of Missouri 
With Federal Accounting Methods 

PURPOSE: The rule provides that a taxpayer 
must employ the same method of accounting 
for Missouri income tax purposes as is used 
for federal income tax purposes. 

(1) A taxpayer must employ the same method 
of accounting in determining Missouri tax-
able income as is used for federal income tax 
purposes. The term method of accounting 
refers not only to the overall method of 
accounting (such as cash or accrual) but also 
to the accounting treatment of particular 
items of income, gain, loss or deduction, 
such as depreciation, bad debts, inventory 
valuation, research and experimental expen-
ditures. 

(2) If the taxpayer is allowed or is required to 
change an accounting method for federal 
income tax purposes, a similar change in the 
accounting method for Missouri income tax 
purposes will automatically be made. No 
application for change of accounting method 
for Missouri income tax purposes shall be 
required. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1986.* 
Regulations 1.281-1 and 1.281-2 were origi-
nally filed March 8, 1974, effective March 
18, 1974. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 

Armco Steel Corporation v. State Tax 
Commission, 580 SW2d 242 (Mo. banc 
1979). Appellant filed a consolidated federal 
tax return for 1969, making certain intercor-
porate payments to its subsidiaries for their 
tax losses incurred. Appellant then claimed 
as a deduction on its Missouri tax return the 
amount of federal tax that would have been 
paid if the appellant had filed as a separate 
entity. For deduction purposes on Missouri 
income tax returns, United States income 
taxes “assessed” are those that are actually 
paid. And, although the director of revenue is 
to “follow as nearly as practicable the rules 
and regulations prescribed by the United 
States government on income tax assessments 
and collection,” the director cannot interpret 
the statute in accordance with the federal reg-
ulations if to do so will change the substantive 
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rules of the Missouri statute. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.040 Transitional Adjustments 
in Accounting Methods 
(Rescinded October 30, 2002) 

AUTHORITY: section 143.301, RSMo 1986. 
Regulation 1.301 was originally filed April 3, 
1974, effective April 13, 1974. Rescinded: 
Filed April 4, 2002, effective Oct. 30, 2002. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.045 Missouri Consolidated 
Income Tax Returns 

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the require-
ments for the filing of Missouri consolidated 
income tax returns by affiliated groups or 
corporations. 

(1) Authority for Regulation. This rule is pro-
mulgated under the general regulatory powers 
granted to the director of revenue and the spe-
cific authority set forth in section 
143.431.3(5), RSMo, relating to Missouri 
consolidated income tax returns. 

(2) Affiliated group. The term affiliated 
group means those members of an affiliated 
group of corporations as defined by Internal 
Revenue Code (IRC) Section 1504 and the 
applicable treasury regulations which partici-
pate or are required to participate in the filing 
of a federal consolidated income tax return 
for the taxable year. 

(3) Missouri consolidated return year. The 
term Missouri consolidated return year 
means a taxable year for which a Missouri 
consolidated return is filed or required to be 
filed by an affiliated group under this rule. 

(4) New member. The term new member 
shall mean a corporation which is a member 
of an affiliated group during the current 
Missouri consolidated return year but which 
was not a member of the group for the imme-
diately preceding Missouri consolidated 
return year. 

(5) Multistate Tax Compact. The term 
Multistate Tax Compact shall mean the 
Multistate Tax Compact as enacted into law 
in Missouri as section 32.200, RSMo. 

(6) IRC section. The term IRC section shall 
mean the pertinent provision of the Internal 
Revenue Code for the taxable year. 

(7) Required member. The term required 
member shall mean any corporation included 
on the federal consolidated return for the 
affiliated group, except: 

(A) An express company which pays an 
annual tax on its gross receipts in this state; 

(B) An insurance company which pays an 
annual tax on its gross premium receipts in 
this state;  

(C) A Missouri mutual or extended 
Missouri mutual insurance company orga-
nized under Chapter 380, RSMo; or 

(D) An association or credit union which 
pays an annual tax pursuant to section 
148.620, RSMo. 

(8) Treas. Reg. Section. The term Treas. 
Reg. Section shall mean the pertinent provi-
sions of the regulation promulgated by the 
United States Treasury for the taxable year. 

(9) Director of revenue. The term director of 
revenue, except as otherwise specifically pro-
vided in this rule, shall mean the director of 
revenue or his/her duly authorized agent or 
designee. 

(10) Computing Missouri consolidated tax-
able income from all sources. The Missouri 
consolidated taxable income (all sources) of 
an affiliated group shall be its federal consol-
idated taxable income for the taxable year, 
adjusted to reflect the modifications provided 
in section 143.121, RSMo, and the applica-
ble modifications provided in section 
143.141, RSMo, and to reflect the exclusion 
of any members of the affiliated group that 
are not required members. There shall be 
subtracted the federal income tax deduction 
provided in section 143.171, RSMo. There 
shall be subtracted, to the extent included in 
federal consolidated taxable income, corpo-
rate dividends from sources within Missouri. 

(11) Computing Missouri consolidated tax-
able income from Missouri sources. 

(A) The Missouri consolidated taxable 
income (Missouri sources) of an affiliated 
group shall be so much of its Missouri con-
solidated taxable income (all sources) as is 
derived from sources within Missouri pur-
suant to the interstate division of income 
rules set forth in section (18) of this rule. If 
only part of the Missouri consolidated taxable 
income (all sources) is derived from sources 
within Missouri, the Missouri consolidated 
taxable income (Missouri sources) shall only 
reflect the effect of the following listed 
deductions to the extent applicable to 
Missouri: 

1. The deduction for federal income tax 
provided in section 143.171, RSMo; and 

2. The effect on Missouri consolidated 
taxable income (all sources) of the deduction 
for consolidated net operating loss allowed by 
IRC Section 172 and the applicable Treas. 
Reg. issued under IRC Section 1502. The 
extent these deductions applicable to 
Missouri shall be determined by multiplying 
the amount that would otherwise affect 
Missouri consolidated taxable income (all 
sources) by the ratio of Missouri consolidated 
taxable income (Missouri sources) for the 
year divided by the Missouri consolidated 
taxable income (all sources) for the year. For 
the purpose of the preceding sentence, 
Missouri consolidated taxable income shall 
not reflect the deductions listed in subsec-
tions (A) and (B) of this section. 

(B) If an affiliated group files a Missouri 
income tax return in which one or more 
members of the affiliated group are not 
required members, the federal income tax 
deduction for such Missouri income tax 
return shall be determined by multiplying the 
federal income tax liability of the affiliated 
group by a fraction, the numerator of which 
is the sum of the federal taxable incomes of 
the required members and the denominator of 
which is the sum of the federal taxable 
incomes of all members of the affiliated 
group. 

(12) Qualifying for Privilege to File 
Consolidated Return. An affiliated group 
(other than one which is required to file a 
Missouri consolidated return for the year) 
shall be qualified to file a Missouri consoli-
dated return if— 

(A) It files a federal consolidated return for 
the taxable year; 

(B) Each corporation which has been a 
member of the affiliated group during any 
part of the taxable year for which the 
Missouri consolidated return is to be filed 
consents to this rule in the manner provided 
in sections (24)–(26) of this rule; and 

(C) The affiliated group is not disqualified 
from filing a Missouri consolidated return for 
the year under section (16) of this rule. 

(13) Election to File. For tax years with a due 
date for filing the common parent’s Missouri 
return (including extensions of time to file) 
after December 28, 1998, if an affiliated 
group qualified to file a Missouri consolidat-
ed return wishes to elect to file a Missouri 
consolidated return, the election must be 
exercised by the filing of a Missouri consoli-
dated return on or before the due date 
(including extensions of time) for the filing of 
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the common parent’s separate Missouri 
return. For tax years with a due date for filing 
the common parent’s Missouri return (includ-
ing extensions of time to file) before 
December 28, 1998, an affiliated group qual-
ified to file a Missouri consolidated return 
could elect to file a Missouri consolidated 
return by the filing of— 

(A) A Missouri consolidated return on or 
before the due date (including extensions of 
time) for the filing of the common parent’s 
separate Missouri return; or 

(B) If the affiliated group did not file a 
Missouri consolidated return within such 
time because it was precluded from doing so 
under Missouri law, a Missouri consolidated 
return within the statute of limitations applic-
able to the filing of an amended return. 

(14) Election Irrevocable. The exercise of an 
election to file a Missouri consolidated return 
is irrevocable and may not be withdrawn after 
the due date (including extensions of time) 
for the filing of the common parent’s separate 
Missouri return. 

(15) Continued Filing Requirement. Except 
as provided in sections (32)–(35) of this rule, 
an affiliated group which filed (or was 
required to file) a Missouri consolidated 
return for the immediately preceding taxable 
year is required to file a Missouri consolidat-
ed return for the current taxable year. 

(16) Disqualification to File. If an affiliated 
group filed (or was required to file) a 
Missouri consolidated return for the immedi-
ately preceding taxable year and, by virtue of 
sections (32)–(35) of this rule, it does not file 
or is not permitted to file a Missouri consol-
idated return for the current taxable year, 
then it shall not be qualified to file a Missouri 
consolidated return for a period of five (5) 
years after its last preceding Missouri consol-
idated return year. 

(17) Filing Consolidated Return in Special 
Circumstances. Notwithstanding that an affil-
iated group may be disqualified to file a 
Missouri consolidated return for the current 
taxable year under section (16) of this rule, 
the director of revenue may permit the affili-
ated group to file a Missouri consolidated 
return for the current taxable year. 
Application for permission shall be directed 
to the personal attention of the director of 
revenue, shall be made in writing, and shall 
set forth in detail the factual and legal argu-
ments which the director of revenue is being 

requested to consider. No application for per-
mission shall be granted until the affiliated 
group receives written permission bearing the 
signature of the director of revenue. 

(18) Interstate Division of Income Rules for 
First Missouri Consolidated Return Year. In 
the determination of that portion of the 
Missouri consolidated taxable income (all 
sources) as is derived from sources within 
Missouri, the affiliated group shall select, in 
its first Missouri consolidated return year, 
one (1) of the applicable interstate division of 
income methods set forth in the following 
subsections: 

(A) Method Under Section 143.451.2., 
RSMo. If each member of the affiliated 
group, if filing separate Missouri returns, 
would qualify to determine that portion of its 
Missouri taxable income as is derived from 
sources within Missouri by application of the 
interstate division of income methods set 
forth in section 143.451.2., RSMo, then the 
affiliated group, as a whole, shall use 
either— 

1. The single factor sales (business 
transactions) method provided in section 
143.451.2., RSMo; or 

2. The uniform method for division of 
income provided in the Multistate Tax 
Compact and the corresponding rules of the 
Missouri Department of Revenue; 

(B) Method Under Section 143.451.3.– 
143.451.6., RSMo. If each member of the 
affiliated group, if filing separate Missouri 
returns, would qualify to determine that por-
tion of its Missouri taxable income derived 
from sources within Missouri by application 
of the interstate division of income methods, 
set forth in section 143.451.3–143.451.6., 
RSMo (and each mem  ber uses the same 
method), then the affiliated group, as a 
whole, shall use either— 

1. The applicable method set forth in 
section 143.451.3.–143.451.6., RSMo; or 

2. The uniform method for division of 
income provided in the Multistate Tax 
Compact and the corresponding rules of the 
Missouri Department of Revenue; 

(C) Method Under Section 143.461, 
RSMo. If each member of the affiliated 
group, if filing separate Missouri returns, 
would qualify to determine that portion of its 
Missouri taxable income as is derived from 
sources within Missouri by application of the 
elective division of income method approved 
under section 143.461, RSMo (and each 
member uses the same approved method) 
then the affiliated group, as a whole, shall 
use either— 

1. The elective division of income 
method approved under section 143.461, 
RSMo; or 

2. The uniform method for division of 
income provided in the Multistate Tax 
Compact and the corresponding rules of the 
Missouri Department of Revenue; 

(D) Members to Which Different Interstate 
Division of Income Methods Apply—General 
Rule. If the affiliated group is composed of a 
membership such that, if separate Missouri 
returns were filed by each member, the same 
interstate division of income method under 
section 143.451.2., RSMo (relating to gener-
al business corporations), 143.451.3., RSMo 
(relating to transportation), 143.451.4., 
RSMo (relating to railroads, and the like), 
143.451.5., RSMo (relating to interstate 
bridges), 143.451.6., RSMo (relating to tele-
phone or telegraph companies), or 143.461, 
RSMo (other approved methods), would not 
apply to each member, then the affiliated 
group, as a whole, shall determine that por-
tion of its Missouri consolidated taxable 
income (all sources) as is derived from 
sources within Missouri by application of— 

1. The uniform method for division of 
income provided in the Multistate Tax 
Compact and the corresponding rules of the 
Missouri Department of Revenue;  

2. The method the director of revenue 
may approve after a finding of special cir-
cumstances; or 

3. The percentage obtained by the 
method set forth in subsection (18)(E) of this 
rule; and 

(E) Members to Which Different Interstate 
Divisions of Income Methods Apply— 
Special Rule. If an affiliated group described 
in subsection (18)(D) of this rule and it elects 
to use the interstate division of income 
method referred to in paragraph (18)(D)2. of 
this rule, it shall arrive at an interstate divi-
sion of income percentage in the following 
manner: 

1. Each member shall determine its own 
federal taxable income (loss) for the year, 
computed as though each member had filed a 
separate federal income tax return for the 
year. For the purposes of this paragraph, the 
separate federal taxable income (loss) of each 
member shall not reflect the deduction for net 
operating loss allowable by IRC Section 172 
and shall not reflect dividend income from 
sources within Missouri; 

2. Each member shall adjust its own 
separate federal taxable income (loss) so 
determined to reflect the modifications pro-
vided in sections 143.121 and 143.141, 
RSMo, applicable to those members. If, as a 



result of the computation contained in this 
paragraph (18)(E)2., a member has a sepa-
rate Missouri taxable loss for the year, that 
member, for purposes of subsection (18)(E), 
shall be considered to have had a positive 
Missouri taxable income for the year in an 
amount equal to the loss; 

3. The amount determined pursuant to 
paragraphs (18)(E)1. and 2., for the purposes 
of subsection (18)(E), shall be considered the 
separate Missouri taxable income (all 
sources) of each member for the year; 

4. Each member shall determine that 
portion of its own separate Missouri taxable 
income (all sources) as is derived from 
sources within Missouri by application of 
whichever interstate division of income 
method under section 143.451 or 143.461, 
RSMo, is applicable to each member; and 

5. The combined amounts of the 
Missouri taxable income (Missouri sources) 
of each member, so determined, shall be 
divided by the combined amounts of the 
Missouri taxable income (all sources) of each 
member, so determined, to arrive at a per-
centage and the percentage thus obtained 
shall be deemed to be that percentage of the 
Missouri consolidated taxable income (all 
sources) as is derived from sources within 
Missouri. 

(19) Intercompany Transactions. For the pur-
poses of determining the amount of sales or 
business transactions under the interstate 
division of income methods provided in sec-
tions 143.451.2. and 143.461, RSMo, and in 
the Multistate Tax Compact, the term sales 
and business transactions shall include all 
intercompany sales (business transactions) as 
defined in Treas. Reg. Section 1.1502–13. 

(20) Subsequent Missouri Consolidated Re-
turn Years. In the determination of Missouri 
consolidated taxable income (Missouri 
sources) for its second and succeeding 
Missouri consolidated return years, the affil-
iated group shall use the same interstate divi-
sion of income method as it used in its first 
year, or select a different interstate division 
of income method pursuant to section (18) of 
this rule. 

(21) Election of Interstate Division of Income 
Method. For any taxable year, the interstate 
division of income method may not be 
changed following the due date (including 
extensions of time) for filing the return for 
such year. 

(22) Computation of Tax Liability. The Mis-
souri income tax liability of an affiliated 
group for a Missouri consolidated return year 
shall be determined by adding together— 

(A) The tax imposed by section 143.071, 
RSMo, on the Missouri consolidated taxable 
income (Missouri sources) for each year; 

(B) The additions to tax imposed by sec-
tion 143.741, RSMo; 

(C) The additions to tax and penalties 
imposed by section 143.751, RSMo; and 

(D) The additions to tax imposed by sec-
tion 143.761, RSMo. 

(23) Liability For Tax. The common parent 
corporation and each required member which 
was a member of the affiliated group during 
any part of the Missouri consolidated return 
year shall be jointly and severally liable for 
the tax computed in accordance with this 
rule, together with the interest on the tax, 
computed in accordance with section 
143.731, RSMo. No agreement entered into 
by one (1) or more members of the affiliated 
group with any other member of the group or 
with any other person in any case shall have 
the effect of reducing the liability prescribed. 

(24) Consent to This Rule. Each required 
member must execute a Form MO-22 
(Authorization and Consent of Subsidiary 
Corporation to be Included in a Missouri 
Consolidated Income Tax Return) for the first 
Missouri consolidated return year in which it 
first becomes a member of the affiliated 
group. If a required member fails to execute 
a Form MO-22, the director of revenue may: 
a) treat such failure as a request by the affili-
ated group to discontinue, for good cause, the 
filing of a Missouri consolidated return with 
respect to the year of the failure and all 
Missouri consolidated return years after that;  
b) recalculate the Missouri tax liability of the 
affiliated group to include the required mem-
ber; or c) accept the return without the con-
sent pursuant to section (25) of this regula-
tion. The affiliated group shall continue to be 
subject to section (15) of this rule unless and 
until the director of revenue grants written 
permission to the affiliated group to discon-
tinue the filing of Missouri consolidated 
returns. 

(25) Consent Under Facts and Circum -
stances. If a required member fails to execute 
a Form MO-22, the director of revenue may 
determine that the member has joined in the 
making of the Missouri consolidated return of 
the affiliated group. 

(26) Failure to Consent Due to Mistake. If 
any required member has failed to join in the 
making of a Missouri consolidated return and 
the common parent establishes to the satisfac-
tion of the director of revenue that the failure 
was due to a mistake of law or fact, or to 
inadvertence, then the member shall be 
allowed to file a Form MO-22 and join in the 
making of the Missouri consolidated return. 

(27) Consolidated Return Made by Common 
Parent. The Missouri consolidated return 
shall be made by the common parent on Form 
MO-1120 (Corporation Income Tax Return) 
and shall be filed by the common parent. 

(28) Attachments to Form MO-1120. In addi-
tion to those matters required of all corpora-
tions, an affiliated group shall be required to 
submit the following items: 

(A) For the first Missouri consolidated 
return year, a Form MO-22 executed by each 
member of an affiliated group; 

(B) For the second and succeeding 
Missouri consolidated return years, a Form 
MO-22 executed by each new required mem-
ber of an affiliated group; 

(C) A detailed schedule i) identifying any 
members of the affiliated group that are not 
required members and the reason for exclu-
sion, and ii) showing all adjustments to fed-
eral consolidated taxable income due to the 
exclusion of any members of the affiliated 
group that are not required members; and 

(D) The affiliated group shall attach to its 
Form MO-MS (Corporation Allocation and 
Apportionment of Income) a detailed sched-
ule which the interstate division of income 
data of each member of the affiliated group is 
set forth. 

(29) Common Parent as Agent for All Other 
Members. The common parent, for all pur-
poses other than the making of the consent 
required by subsection (12)(B) of this rule, 
shall be the sole agent for each subsidiary 
member in the affiliated group, duly autho-
rized to act in its own name in all matters 
relating to the Missouri tax liability for the 
Missouri consolidated return year. No sub-
sidiary member shall have authority to act for 
or to represent itself in any matter. For exam-
ple, all correspondence will be carried on 
directly with the common parent; the com-
mon parent shall file for all extensions of 
time, including extensions of time for pay-
ment of Missouri tax; notices of deficiencies 
will be mailed to the common parent and the 
mailing only to the common parent shall be 
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considered as a mailing to each subsidiary 
member in the affiliated group; notice and 
demand for payment of taxes will be given 
only to the common parent and the notice and 
demand will be considered as a notice and 
demand to each subsidiary member; the com-
mon parent will file petitions and conduct 
proceedings before the director of revenue 
and the Administrative Hearing Commission; 
and any petition shall be considered as also 
having been filed by each subsidiary. The 
common parent will file claims for refund or 
credit and any refund will be made directly to 
and in the name of the common parent and 
will discharge any liability of Missouri in 
respect to that refund to any subsidiary mem-
ber; and the common parent in its name will 
execute closing agreements and all other doc-
uments and any agreement or any other doc-
uments so executed shall be considered as 
having also been given or executed by each 
subsidiary member. Notwithstanding the pro-
visions of this section, any notice of deficien-
cy, in respect to the tax for a Missouri con-
solidated return year, will name each corpo-
ration which was a member of the affiliated 
group during any part of the period (but a 
failure to include the name of any member 
will not affect the validity of the notice of 
deficiency as to the other members); any 
notice and demand for payment will name 
each corporation which was a member of the 
affiliated group during any part of the period 
(but a failure to include the name of any 
member will not effect the validity of the 
notice and demand as to the other members); 
and any other proceeding to collect the 
amount of any assessment, after the assess-
ment has been made, will name the corpora-
tion from which the collection is to be made. 
The provisions of this section shall apply 
whether or not a Missouri consolidated 
return is made for any subsequent year and 
whether or not one (1) or more subsidiaries 
have become or have ceased to become mem-
bers of the affiliated group at any time. 
Notwithstanding the provisions of this sec-
tion, the director of revenue, upon notifying 
the common parent, may deal directly with 
any subsidiary member of the affiliated group 
with respect to its liability, in which event 
that member shall have full authority to act 
for itself. 

(30) Notification of Deficiency to Corpora-
tion Which Has Ceased to be a Member of an 
Affiliated Group. If a subsidiary has ceased 
to be a member of an affiliated group and if 
the subsidiary files written notice of the ces-
sation with the director of revenue, then the 

director of revenue, upon written request of 
that subsidiary, will furnish it with a copy of 
any notice of deficiency with respect to the 
tax for a Missouri consolidated return year 
for which it was a member and a copy of any 
notice and demand for payment of the defi-
ciency. The filing of the written notification 
and request by a subsidiary corporation shall 
not limit the scope of the agency of the com-
mon parent provided in section (29) of this 
rule. Failure by the director of revenue to 
comply with the written request shall not 
limit the liability of the corporation provided 
in section (29) of this rule. 

(31) Effect of Dissolution of Common 
Parent. If a common parent contemplates dis-
solution, or is about to be dissolved, or if for 
any other reason its existence is about to ter-
minate, it shall notify the director of revenue 
of that fact and designate, subject to the 
approval of the director of revenue, another 
member of the affiliated group to act as agent 
in its place to the same extent and subject to 
the same conditions and limitations as are 
applicable to the common parent. If the 
notice thus required is not given by the com-
mon parent, or the designation is not 
approved by the director of revenue, the 
remaining members of the affiliated group, 
subject to the approval of the director of rev-
enue, may designate another member of the 
group to act as the agent and notice of that 
designation shall be given to the director of 
revenue. Until a notice in writing designating 
a new agent has been approved by the director 
of revenue, any notice of deficiency or other 
communication mailed to the common parent 
shall be considered as having been properly 
mailed to the agent of the affiliated group; or 
if the director of revenue has reason to 
believe that the existence of the common par-
ent has terminated, if s/he deems it advisable, 
s/he may deal directly with any member of 
the affiliated group with respect to its 
Missouri consolidated tax liability. 

(32) Automatic Termination of Right to File 
Missouri Consolidated Return. The right of 
an affiliated group to file a Missouri consoli-
dated return for the taxable year shall be 
dependent upon that group filing a federal 
consolidated return for the same year. Upon 
the discontinuance of the filing of a federal 
consolidated return, the filing of a Missouri 
consolidated return shall similarly be discon-
tinued. 

(33) Permission to Discontinue Filing Mis-
souri Consolidated Return—Substantial 

Change in Law or Regulation. Upon timely 
written application to the director of revenue, 
an affiliated group may discontinue the filing  
of a Missouri consolidated return for the tax-
able year (or may withdraw a Missouri con-
solidated return previously filed for the tax-
able year) if the net result of all amendments 
to applicable law and the corresponding rules 
with effective dates commencing within the 
taxable year has a substantial adverse effect 
on the Missouri consolidated  tax liability of 
the affiliated group for that year relative to 
what the aggregate Missouri tax liability 
would be if the members of the affiliated 
group filed separate Missouri returns for the 
year. 

(A) Prima Facie Substantial Change. The 
difference between the Missouri consolidated 
tax liability, taking into account the changes 
in the law or regulations effective for the year 
and the aggregate Missouri tax liability of the 
members of the affiliated group computed as 
if each member filed a separate Missouri 
return for the year, also taking into account 
the changes in the law or regulations effective 
for the year (postlaw difference) shall be 
compared with the difference between the 
Missouri consolidated tax liability of the 
affiliated group for the taxable year, without 
regard to the changes in the law or regula-
tions, and the aggregate Missouri tax liability 
of the members of the affiliated group com-
puted as if separate Missouri returns had 
been filed by the members for the year, also 
without regard to the changes in the law or 
regulations (prelaw difference). If the postlaw 
difference is one hundred fifteen percent 
(115%) greater than the prelaw difference 
and that difference is at least five thousand 
dollars ($5,000), a substantial adverse change 
shall be deemed to have occurred. 

(B) Timely Application. Any application to 
discontinue the filing of Missouri consolidat-
ed returns on account of section (33) shall be 
made in writing to the director of revenue on 
or before the later of— 

1. The due date (including extensions of 
time) for the filing of the Missouri consoli-
dated return for the taxable year; or 

2. Ninety (90) days after the effective 
date of the Missouri law or Missouri 
Department of Revenue regulation on account 
of which a substantial change is alleged to 
have occurred. 

(34) Permission to Discontinue Filing 
Missouri Consolidated Returns For Good 
Cause. Upon the timely written application by 
the affiliated group and upon showing of good 
cause for the action, the director of revenue 



may permit the affiliated group to discontinue 
the filing of Missouri consolidated returns 
upon the terms and conditions as s/he may 
prescribe. Any application for permission to 
discontinue the filing of Missouri consolidat-
ed return on account of section (34) shall be 
made to the director of revenue on or before 
the due date (including extensions of time) 
for the filing of the Missouri consolidated 
return for the year. 

(35) Revocation of Right to File Missouri 
Consolidated Return. The director of revenue, 
upon finding that the filing of Missouri con-
solidated returns by the affiliated group does 
not clearly reflect the Missouri taxable 
income derived from sources within Missouri 
and for the purpose of preventing avoidance of 
Missouri tax liability, may terminate the right 
of an affiliated group to file a Missouri con-
solidated return for that year or, in the alter-
native, may distribute, apportion, or allocate 
items of income, deductions, credits, or 
allowances between or among the members of 
the affiliated group so that the portion of the 
Missouri consolidated taxable income (all 
sources) as is derived from sources within 
Missouri is clearly reflected. The procedure 
outlined in sections 143.611–143.691, 
RSMo, inclusive, shall be applicable to 
actions of the director of revenue under this 
section. 

(36) Estimated Tax on Consolidated Basis. 
Beginning with its third Missouri consolidat-
ed return year, an affiliated group shall file its 
declaration of estimated tax on a consolidated 
basis for that year and for each subsequent 
Missouri consolidated return year. The group 
shall be treated as a single corporation for 
purposes of sections 143.531 and 143.541, 
RSMo (relating to the declaration and pay-
ment of estimated tax). If separate Missouri 
returns are filed by the members for a taxable 
year, the amount of any estimated tax pay-
ments made with respect to a Missouri con-
solidated declaration of estimated tax for that 
year shall be credited against the separate 
Missouri tax liabilities of the members in any 
manner designated by the common parent 
which is satisfactory to the director of rev-
enue. The consolidated declaration of esti-
mated tax shall be filed and payment shall be 
made by the common parent. 

(37) Estimated Tax on Separate Basis. For 
each taxable year preceding the third 
Missouri consolidated return year, each 
member of the affiliated group shall be treat-

ed as a separate corporation for the purposes 
of sections 143.531 and 143.541, RSMo. For 
the first two (2) Missouri consolidated return 
years, the amount of any estimated tax pay-
ments made for the year by the members of 
the affiliated group shall be credited against 
the Missouri consolidated tax liability of the 
affiliated group for that year. A statement 
shall be attached to the declaration setting 
forth the name, address, and federal employer 
identification number of each member of the 
affiliated group as well as the amount of dec-
laration of estimated tax payments by each 
member together with the date of each pay-
ment. 

(38) Additions to Tax For Failure to Pay 
Estimated Tax on Consolidated Basis. If the 
affiliated group is required to file a Missouri 
consolidated declaration of estimated tax 
under section (36) of this rule, then, if the 
group— 

(A) Files a Missouri consolidated return 
for the taxable year with the term tax shown 
on the return, for the purposes of section 
143.761.4(1), RSMo, the tax shall be shown 
on the Missouri consolidated return for the 
preceding taxable year, and the term facts 
shown on the return, for purposes of section 
143.761.4(4), RSMo, the facts shall be 
shown on the Missouri consolidated return 
for the preceding taxable year; or 

(B) Does not file a Missouri consolidated 
return for the taxable year, the term amount, 
if any, of the installment paid by any member, 
for the purposes of section 143.761.2(2), 
RSMo, an amount shall be apportioned to 
that member in a manner designated by the 
common parent which is satisfactory to the 
director of revenue. For the purposes of sec-
tion 143.761.4(1), RSMo, the tax shown on 
the return for any member shall be the por-
tion of the tax shown on the Missouri consol-
idated return for the preceding year allocated 
to that member in a manner designated by the 
common parent which is satisfactory to the 
director of revenue. For purposes of section 
143.761.4(4), RSMo, the facts shown on the 
return shall be the facts shown on the 
Missouri consolidated return for the preced-
ing year and the tax computed under that sec-
tion shall be allocated to the members in a 
manner designated by the common parent and 
satisfactory to the director of revenue. 

(39) Additions to Tax For Failure to Pay 
Estimated Tax on Separate Basis. If the mem-
bers of an affiliated group are treated as sep-
arate corporations for the taxable year under 
section (37) of this rule and the affiliated 

group files a Missouri consolidated return for 
the year, then, for the purposes of section 
143.761.2(1), RSMo, the tax shown on the 
return for any member shall be the portion of 
the tax shown on the Missouri consolidated 
return allocable to that member in a manner 
designated by the common parent and satis-
factory to the director of revenue. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.431.3(5), RSMo 
Supp. 2009.* Regulation 1.431-3 was first 
filed July 21, 1975, effective July 31, 1975. 
Amended: Filed Oct. 16, 2002, effective June 
30, 2003. Amended: Filed Dec. 1, 2009, 
effective June 30, 2010. 

*Original authority: 143.431, RSMo 1972, amended 
2004, 2007. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.050 Elective Division of 
Income 

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the funda-
mental requirements for a petition by a cor-
porate taxpayer for permission to use a spe-
cial method of allocating income to Missouri. 

(1) Authority for Rule. This rule is being 
issued under the general regulatory powers 
granted to the director of revenue in section 
143.961, RSMo which became effective on 
January 1, 1973. 

(2) Applicability and Scope of Rule. This rule 
is intended as an interpretive guideline in the 
application of section 143.461, RSMo and it 
sets forth the fundamental requirements for a 
petition for permission to use a special 
method of allocation under section 
143.461.2., RSMo. This rule applies to all 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
1973, and it also applies with respect to all 
fiscal year taxable periods which contained 
parts of each of the years 1972 and 1973 for 
those corporate taxpayers which had properly 
elected to determine their tax and taxable 
income under the provisions of sections 
143.011–143.996, RSMo. Chapter 143, 
RSMo and the corresponding regulations 
shall continue in force and effect with respect 
to all other taxable years. 

(3) Definitions. As used in this rule— 
(A) The term director, except as specifical-

ly otherwise provided in this rule, shall mean 
the director of revenue or his/her duly autho-
rized agent or designee; and 

(B) The term Missouri taxable income 
from all sources shall mean so much of the 
federal taxable income of the corporation for 
the taxable year increased or decreased, as 

24                  CODE OF STATE REGULATIONS        (6/30/21)     JOHN R. ASHCROFT 
Secretary of State

12 CSR 10-2—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE Division 10—Director of Revenue    



  CODE OF STATE REGULATIONS  25JOHN R. ASHCROFT     (6/30/21) 
Secretary of State

Chapter 2—Income Tax 12 CSR 10-2

the case may be, by the modifications provid-
ed for in sections 143.121 and 143.141, 
RSMo. There shall be subtracted, to the 
extent included in federal taxable income, 
corporate dividends from sources within 
Missouri and there also shall be subtracted 
the federal income tax deduction provided for 
in section 143.171.1., RSMo. The amount of 
dividends deducted shall depend on the 
apportionment method selected. If single fac-
tor apportionment is selected, the corporation 
shall deduct dividends based on whether they 
are Missouri source dividends or 
non-Missouri source dividends. This also 
applies to special methods selected. 

1. If the three (3)-factor apportionment 
method is selected, the dividend deduction 
shall be based on the apportionment percent-
age calculated before taking into account any 
allowable nonbusiness income. Business div-
idends, as defined by the Multistate Tax 
Compact, are to be multiplied by the appor-
tionment factor in order to calculate the 
deduction. Also, a corporation with a com-
mercial domicile in Missouri can deduct any 
nonbusiness dividends as defined by the com-
pact. 

2. The director of revenue may adopt 
procedures for verifying the actual amount of 
dividends deducted and may prescribe what 
documents are necessary for verification. 

(4) Required Use of Statutory Methods. A 
corporate taxpayer shall determine income 
applicable to this state for the taxable year by 
either—a) multiplying the total Missouri tax-
able income from all sources for the taxable 
year by the fraction determined under section 
143.451, RSMo, or b) allocating and appor-
tioning the total Missouri taxable income 
from all sources for the year in the manner 
determined under  section 32.200 article IV. 
1.–17., RSMo and by subtracting from the 
amount so determined, its deduction, if any, 
for a prior year’s federal income tax under 
section 143.171.2., RSMo. The preceding 
sentence shall not apply to those corporations 
which have received written permission from 
the director of revenue him/herself to—a) use 
another method of allocation pursuant to sec-
tion 143.461, RSMo for the taxable year, or 
b) use another method of allocation and 
apportionment pursuant to section 32.200 
article IV.18., RSMo if the other approved 
method is applicable to the taxpayer year and 
the corporate taxpayer actually uses the other 
approved method for the taxable year. A cor-
porate taxpayer which uses an authorized 
method of determining income applicable to 
this state for the taxable year shall not be 

entitled to subsequently change to another 
method with respect to that same taxable 
year. 

(5) Request for Permission to Use Other 
Method. A corporation may make a written 
petition to the director for permission to 
determine income applicable to this state for 
the taxable year by use of its own allocation 
method if the books and records of the tax-
payer are kept in a manner as to show such 
other method of allocation between this state 
and other states involved, of income from 
transactions partly within and partly without 
this state, including gross income and deduc-
tions applicable to gross income, and the 
method does show the income applicable to 
this state, including gross income and deduc-
tions applicable to gross income. 

(6) Petition for Use of Other Approved 
Method. A petition for permission to use a 
method of allocation disclosed in the taxpay-
er’s books and records shall be typewritten, 
delivered to the director of revenue in 
Jefferson City, Missouri at least sixty (60) 
days before the end of the taxable year with 
respect to which the permission is sought, 
shall be made on the best information, knowl-
edge and belief of the petitioner and shall be 
subscribed under a declaration that it is made 
under penalties of perjury. The petition shall 
contain the name, federal identification num-
ber and address of the principal  place of 
business of the petitioner; the address of each 
location at which the taxpayer conducts busi-
ness and the nature of the business conducted 
at each location; the place(s) at which the 
books and records of the taxpayer are located; 
the beginning and ending dates of the first 
taxable year with respect to which permission 
to use another method is sought; a detailed 
explanation of the allocation method dis-
closed in the corporation’s books and 
records; a clear demonstration of the applica-
tion of the method by showing each item of 
income and expense for the taxable year 
immediately preceding the taxable year with 
respect to which permission is sought, the 
states to which income and expense are allo-
cated, and the amounts of each item of 
income and expense allocated to each state; 
and other data and information which the 
corporate taxpayer would urge upon the 
director in his/her consideration of the peti-
tion. 

(7) Granting of Permission to Use Other 
Approved Method. If, upon  the basis of the 
facts contained in the petition, other facts 

which may come to the attention of the direc-
tor of revenue and all hearings, if any, held 
with respect to the petition, the director of 
revenue shall find that the allocation method 
disclosed in the books and records of the cor-
porate taxpayer does show the income applic-
able to this state including gross income and 
deductions applicable to gross income, the 
director of revenue him/herself or his/her 
specifically designated representative shall 
send written notification over his/her person-
al signature to the corporation at least thirty 
(30) days prior to the last day on which the 
corporation’s return for that taxable year is 
required to be filed (determined with regard 
to extensions of time for filing) that it may 
use that method as long as the method shows 
the income applicable to this state, including 
gross income and deductions applicable to 
gross income. No permission shall be 
deemed to have been granted unless it is 
granted by the director of revenue him/herself 
or his/her specifically designated representa-
tive in writing over his/her personal signa-
ture. The mere use or continued use by the 
corporate taxpayer of a special method with-
out specific disapproval by the director of rev-
enue or his/her specifically designated repre-
sentative shall not constitute the granting of 
permission. A corporate taxpayer which does 
not receive explicit written permission from 
the director of revenue him/herself or his/her 
specifically designated representative as pro-
vided shall be required to determine income 
applicable to this state under section (4) of 
this rule. 

(8) Revocation of Prior Approved Method. A 
corporation having previously received 
explicit written permission from the director 
of revenue him/herself of his/her specifically 
designated representative to use a special 
method of allocation shall cease using that 
method whenever that method ceases to show 
income applicable to this state, including 
gross income and deductions applicable to 
gross income and shall further cease using 
that method whenever the director of revenue 
him/herself or his/her specifically designated 
representative finds and notifies the corpora-
tion in writing on or before ninety (90) days 
before the end of the taxable year that the 
method does not so show. The revocation of a 
prior approved method shall not preclude the 
taxpayer from petitioning to the director of 
revenue, as prescribed, for permission to use 
some other method of allocation determined 
under its books and records. 

(9) Failure to Timely Acquire Permission for 
Other Approved Method or to Continue Use 
of a Prior Approved Method. The failure, 
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after a prior approved method has been 
revoked, to timely submit a petition for per-
mission to use another method or the failure 
to make a return on a basis which has been 
approved by the director of revenue and 
which stands unrevoked shall constitute an 
election by the taxpayer to determine income 
applicable to this state by use of the method 
provided for in section (4) of this rule. A cor-
poration may use a method which had been 
approved by the director of revenue for the 
taxable year only if the prior approved 
method was applicable to the immediately 
preceding taxable year and the corporate tax-
payer used that other approved method in the 
immediately preceding taxable year. 

(10) Information Required to be Submitted 
With Missouri Income Tax Return. For each 
taxable year with respect to which a corpora-
tion files a Missouri income tax return deter-
mining income applicable to this state by use 
of a special method approved by the director 
of revenue, there shall be submitted with the 
return for that taxable year the following 
items: a copy of the written notice bearing 
the signature of the director of revenue 
him/herself where permission to use the 
other approved method was granted and a 
statement indicating whether or not there has 
been a material change in the business oper-
ations or accounting procedures from those in 
existence in the first taxable year with respect 
to which the permission was originally grant-
ed. The failure, refusal or inability of a  cor-
poration to submit the items mentioned in the 
preceding sentence shall constitute an elec-
tion by the corporation to determine income 
applicable to this state by use of the methods 
described in section (4) of this rule. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1986.* 
Regulation 1.461 was originally filed on Dec. 
22, 1975, effective Jan. 2, 1976. Amended: 
Filed April 4, 1984, effective July 12, 1984. 
Amended: Filed Aug. 14, 1990, effective Feb. 
14, 1991. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 

In re Kansas City Star Co., 142 SW2d 1029 
(1940). Trial court did not err by rejecting 
offered finding that state auditor had promul-
gated a rule during the years 1934, 1935 and 
1936 declaring the total net income of manu-
facturing and business companies subject to 
income tax unless they had a branch house or 
capital investment outside the state. This rule 
had been promulgated under former Missouri 
St. Ann. section 10115, but subsequently 
overturned by Supreme Court.

12 CSR 10-2.052 Optional Single Sales 
Factor 

PURPOSE: This rule sets out the availability 
of the new apportionment method provided in 
section 143.451.2(3), RSMo, as amended in 
HB 128, enacted by the 97th General 
Assembly (2013). 

(1) In general, if a corporation files its origi-
nal income tax return on or after August 28, 
2013, it may elect the new apportionment 
method authorized by section 143.451.2(3), 
RSMo, to compute its Missouri corporate 
taxable income from sources in this state.  

(2) Definition of Terms. 
(A) “Corporation” is an entity defined in 

section 143.441.1(1), RSMo. 
(B) “Income tax return” is the Missouri 

corporate income tax return for the taxable 
year. 

(C) “New apportionment method” is the 
method of computing an interstate division of 
income under section 143.451.2(3), RSMo. 

(D) “Original return” is the initial income 
tax return filed for a taxable year, and does 
not mean an amended income tax return filed 
for a taxable year for which a corporation has 
previously filed any income tax return. 

(E) “Taxable year” is the same tax period 
the corporation used for reporting its federal 
income tax liability under the Internal 
Revenue Code of 1986, as amended. 

(3) Basic Application. An eligible corpora-
tion may elect to use the new apportionment 
method to compute its Missouri corporate 
taxable income from sources in this state on 
its original income tax return. The election to 
use the new apportionment method is avail-
able for any original income tax return that is 
filed on or after August 28, 2013, regardless 
of the taxable year for which the original 
income tax return is being filed. This election 
is not available for any income tax return that 
was filed on or before August 27, 2013. 

(4) Eligibility. The election to use the new 
apportionment method is only available to a 
corporation that is eligible to compute an 
interstate division of income under section 
143.451.2, RSMo. 

(A) Current filings. The election to use the 
new apportionment method is reported on the 
original income tax return filed for the tax-
able year that was filed on or after August 28, 
2013. The election to use the new apportion-
ment method is not revocable and cannot be 
changed on any subsequent amended income 
tax return for the taxable year. 

(B) Prior filings. The election to use the 
new apportionment method is not available 
on any amended return regardless of when 
filed. 

(5) Examples.  
(A) A corporation operates during the tax-

able year January 1, 2013 through December 
31, 2013. It sells tangible property and has 
income resulting from transactions partially 
in this state and partially in another state or 
states. It may elect to use the new apportion-
ment method in determining its interstate 
division of income for purposes of computing 
its Missouri taxable income when it files its 
original income tax return on April 15, 2014. 

(B) A corporation operates during the tax-
able year January 1, 2012 through December 
31, 2012. It sells tangible property and has 
income resulting from transactions partially 
in this state and partially in another state or 
states. It may elect to use the new apportion-
ment method in determining its interstate 
division of income for purposes of computing 
its Missouri taxable income if it files (under 
an extension of time to file) its original 
income tax return for this taxable year on or 
after August 28, 2013. 

(C) A corporation operates during the tax-
able year January 1, 2012 through December 
31, 2012. It sells tangible property and has 
income resulting from transactions partially 
in this state and partially in another state or 
states. It may not elect to use the new appor-
tionment method in determining its interstate 
division of income for purposes of computing 
its Missouri taxable income if it has filed its 
original income tax return for this taxable 
year on or before August 27, 2013. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 2000, 
and section 143.451.2(3), RSMo Supp. 
2013.* Original rule filed Sept. 18, 2013, 
effective March 30, 2014. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.055 Failure to File Tax 
Returns 
(Rescinded May 30, 2004) 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1986. 
Regulation 1.741 was originally filed Dec. 
22, 1975, effective Jan. 2, 1976. Amended: 
Filed Sept. 1, 1993, effective April 9, 1994.  
Rescinded: Filed Nov. 7, 2003, effective May 
30, 2004. 
 
United States v. Boyle, 105 S. Ct. 687 
(1985). The issue in this case was whether 
the taxpayer had proved reasonable cause for 
the late filing of a federal estate tax return 
under Internal Revenue Code 6651(a)(1). The 
language in this section is very similar to the 
language contained in section 143.741, 
RSMo and other Missouri revenue penalty 
statutes. To show reasonable cause, the 
Supreme Court said the taxpayer must 
“demonstrate that he exercised ‘ordinary 
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business care and prudence’ but nevertheless 
was ‘unable to file the return within the pre-
scribed time;” 

Estate of Clifford Bockelman v. Director of 
Revenue, Case No. RV-83-3510 (A.H.C. 
5/14/86). The personal representative’s attor-
ney had told her that they did not need to 
worry about the Missouri estate tax return 
until such time as all federal estate tax mat-
ters had been completed. The Administrative 
Hearing Commission determined that the 
personal representative had exercised ordi-
nary business care and prudence and thus the 
failure to file Missouri estate tax return in a 
timely fashion was due to reasonable cause 
and not willful neglect. 

Estate of Orpha T. Neusteter v. Director of 
Revenue, Case No. RV-86-2063 (A.H.C. 
11/6/87). The personal representative had 
not established the daily volume of mail han-
dled by his office nor a record of timely filings 
over a period of time. These facts, the com-
mission stated, were essential. In addition, 
the commission noted that the personal repre-
sentative had nine months to file and the tax-
payer in Armco had fifteen days. Based on 
this, the personal representative did not 
establish that his failure to file was due to 
reasonable cause and not willful neglect. 
Therefore, the additions were properly 
imposed by the department. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.060 Failure to Pay Tax 
(Rescinded May 30, 2004) 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1986. 
Regulation 1.751 was first filed Dec. 22, 
1975, effective Jan. 2, 1976. Amended: Filed 
Sept. 1, 1993, effective April 9, 1994. 
Rescinded: Filed Nov. 7, 2003, effective May 
30, 2004. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.065 Failure to Pay Estimated 
Tax 
(Rescinded October 30, 2002) 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1986. 
Regulation 1.761 was originally filed Dec. 
22, 1975, effective Jan. 2, 1976. Amended: 
Filed Nov. 5, 1982, effective Feb. 11, 1983. 
Rescinded: Filed April 4, 2002, effective Oct. 
30, 2002. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.067 Failure to Pay Estimated 
Tax for Tax Years Ending After December 
31, 1983 

PURPOSE: This rule clarifies the require-
ment for filing declaration of estimated 
income tax by individuals and corporations 

and the determination of the amount of the 
installments required to be paid by the appro-
priate due dates. 

(1) Authority for Rule. This rule is being 
issued under the general regulatory powers 
granted to the director of revenue in section 
143.961, RSMo which became effective on 
January 1, 1973. 

(2) Applicability and Scope of Rule. This rule 
is applicable only with respect to taxable 
years ending after December 31, 1983 and is 
intended as an interpretive guideline in the 
application of Chapter 143, RSMo.  

(3) Definitions. As used in this rule— 
(A) The term director shall mean the direc-

tor of revenue or his/her duly authorized 
agent or designee; 

(B) The term farmer shall mean an individ-
ual having an estimated Missouri adjusted 
gross income (MAGI) from farming for the 
taxable year which is at least two-thirds (2/3) 
of his/her total estimated MAGI taxable in 
this state for the taxable year. The term does 
not include a fisherman or a corporation; 

(C) The term large corporation shall mean 
that the corporation (or any predecessor cor-
poration) in any of the three (3) preceding 
taxable years had a federal taxable income of 
at least one (1) million dollars and had a 
Missouri taxable income of at least one hun-
dred thousand dollars ($100,000); and 

(D) The term other corporation shall mean 
any corporation not defined in subsection 
(3)(C). 

(4) General Rule. Section 143.761.1., RSMo 
imposes an addition to tax in the case of any 
underpayment of estimated tax by an individ-
ual or a corporation (with certain exceptions 
described in section 143.761.4., RSMo). 
This addition to tax is in addition to any 
applicable civil or criminal penalties and is 
imposed without regard to whether or not 
extenuating circumstances disclosed a reason-
able cause or lack of willful neglect for the 
underpayment. There are no provision for the 
payment of interest with respect to any under-
payment of estimated tax. 

(5) Amount and Period of Underpayment. 
The amount of the underpayment for any 
installment date is the excess of— 

(A) Ninety percent (90%) in the case of 
corporations, eighty percent (80%) in the 
case of individuals, sixty-six and two-thirds 
percent (66 2/3%) in the case of a farmer) of 
the tax shown on the return for the taxable 
year, or if no return was filed, ninety percent 
(90%) in the case of corporations, eighty per-
cent (80%) in the case of individuals, 
sixty-six and two-thirds percent (66 2/3%) in 
the case of a farmer of the tax for the year, 

divided by the number of installment dates 
prescribed for the taxable year, over; and 

(B) The amount, if any, of the installment 
paid on or before the last day prescribed for 
its payment. 

(6) The amount of the addition is determined 
at the rate set forth in section (8) of this rule 
upon the underpayment of any installment of 
estimated tax for the year from the date the 
installment is required to be paid until the fif-
teenth day of the fourth month following tax 
underpayment is paid, whichever is earlier. 
For the purpose of determining the period of 
underpayment, the date prescribed for the 
payment of any installment of estimated tax 
shall be determined without regard to any 
extension of time; and a payment of estimated 
tax on any installment date, to the extent that 
it exceeds the amount of the installment 
determined under subsection (5)(A) of this 
rule for the installment date, shall be consid-
ered a payment of any previous underpay-
ment. 

(7) In determining the amount of the install-
ment paid on or before the last day prescribed 
for payment of the installment, the estimated 
tax shall be computed without any reduction 
for the amount which the taxpayer estimates 
as his/her credit for taxes withheld at the 
source on wages, and the amount of that cred-
it shall be deemed a payment of estimated 
tax. An equal part of the amount of the credit 
shall be considered paid on each installment 
date for the taxable year unless the taxpayer 
establishes the dates on which all amounts 
were actually withheld. In the latter case, all 
amounts withheld shall be considered as pay-
ments of estimated tax on the dates the 
amounts were actually withheld. 

(8) Beginning January 1, 1983, the rate of 
additions to tax is the same as established by 
the director of revenue under authority of sec-
tion 32.065, RSMo and 12 CSR 10-41.010 
Annual Adjusted Rate of Interest. 

(9) Statement Relating to Underpayment. If 
there has been an underpayment of estimated 
tax as of any installment date prescribed for 
its payment and the taxpayer believes that one 
(1) or more of the exceptions described in 
section 143.761.4., RSMo precludes the 
imposition of the addition to the tax, the 
appropriate Missouri form should be attached 
to the income tax return for the taxable year 
showing the applicability of an exception. 
Any error in computation of the estimate will 
result in the imposition of the additions to tax 
on the total amount of the underpayment and 
not on the amount by which the taxpayer fails 
to come within one (1) of the five (5) excep-
tions. 
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(10) Exceptions to Imposition of Additions to 
Tax. Exceptions shown in subsections 
(10)(A)–(D) apply to individuals. Exceptions 
shown in subsections (10)(A)–(E) apply to all 
corporations except large corporations as 
defined in subsection (3)(C) of this rule. Only 
the exceptions shown in subsections (10)(B), 
(C) and (E) apply to large corporations. The 
addition to the tax under section 143.761, 
RSMo will not be imposed for any underpay-
ment of any installment of estimated tax, if, 
on or before the date prescribed for payment 
of the installment, the total amount of all pay-
ments of estimated tax equals or exceeds the 
least of the following amounts: 

(A) The amount which would have been 
required to be paid on or before the date pre-
scribed for payment if the estimated tax were 
the tax shown on the return for the preceding 
taxable year was a year of twelve (12) months 
and a return showing a liability for tax was 
filed for that year; 

(B) The amount which would have been 
required to be paid on or before the date pre-
scribed for payment if the estimated tax were 
an amount equal to ninety percent (90%) in 
the case of other corporations, eighty percent 
(80%) in the case of individuals, (sixty-six 
and two-thirds percent (66 2/3%) in the case 
of a farmer) of the tax computed by placing 
on an annualized basis the taxable income for 
the calendar months in the taxable year pre-
ceding that date. The taxable income shall be 
placed on an annualized basis by— 

1. Multiplying by twelve (12) (or the 
number of months in the taxable year if less 
than twelve (12)) the taxable income (com-
puted without the standard deduction and 
without the deduction for personal and 
dependency exemptions) or the AGI if the 
standard deduction is to be used for the cal-
endar months; 

2. Dividing the resulting amount by the 
number of those calendar months; 

3. Deducting from that amount the stan-
dard deduction, if applicable, the deductions 
for personal and dependency exemptions 
determined as of the date prescribed for pay-
ment and the deduction for federal income 
tax liability; and 

4. Multiplying, in the case of a corpora-
tion other than a large corporate taxpayer, the 
amount determined in paragraph (10)(B)3. of 
this rule by the applicable percentage deter-
mined under section 143.451 or 32.300, 
RSMo as of the last day of the month preced-
ing the date prescribed for payment; 

(C) An amount equal to ninety percent 
(90%) of the tax computed, at the rate applic-
able to the taxable year, on the basis of the 
actual taxable income for the calendar 
months in the taxable year preceding the date 
prescribed for payment; 

(D) The amount which would have been 
required to be paid on or before the date pre-

scribed for payment if the estimated tax were 
an amount equal to a tax determined on the 
basis of the tax rates and the taxpayer’s status 
with respect to personal and dependency 
exemptions for the taxable year, but other-
wise on the basis of the facts shown on the 
return for the preceding taxable year and the 
law applicable to that year, in case of a tax-
payer required to file a return for the preced-
ing taxable year; 

(E) The amount which would have been 
required to be paid on or before the date pre-
scribed for payment if the estimated tax were 
an amount equal to ninety percent (90%) of 
the tax computed by placing on an annualized 
basis the taxable income for the calendar 
months in the taxable year preceding that 
date. The taxable income shall be placed on 
an annualized basis by— 

1. Multiplying by twelve (12) the taxable 
income; 

2. Dividing the resulting amount by the 
number of months in the taxable year (3, 5, 
6, 8, 9 or 11) as the case may be; and 

3. Using the calculations in paragraphs 
(10)(E)1. and 2. as follows: 

A. For the first three (3) months of 
the taxable year, in the case of an installment 
required to be paid in the fourth month; 

B. For the first three (3) months or for 
the first five (5) months of the taxable year, in 
the case of an installment required to be paid 
in the sixth month; 

C. For the first six (6) months or for 
the first eight (8) months of the taxable year, 
in the case of an installment required to be 
paid in the ninth month; and 

D. For the first nine (9) months or for 
the first eleven (11) months of the taxable 
year, in the case of the installment required to 
be paid in the twelfth month; 

(F) For example, illustrating the applica-
tion of the provisions for imposition of addi-
tion to tax for any underpayment of estimated 
tax in the case of an individual, see the exam-
ples set out in 12 CSR 10-2.065(10); and 

(G) Taxpayer, a farmer, files an income tax 
return on February 15 of the succeeding year 
paying his/her total tax liability of five thou-
sand dollars ($5,000) on that date. In this 
case, there is no underpayment of estimated 
tax since the filing of the return and payment 
of the tax on or before February 28 of the 
succeeding year is considered as the taxpay-
er’s declaration of estimated tax which was 
required to be filed by January 15 of the suc-
ceeding taxable year under section 
143.521.6., RSMo. In the event that the tax-
payer in this example had filed his/her decla-
ration of estimated tax on or before January 
15 of the succeeding year, s/he would have 
been required to pay sixty-six and two-thirds 
percent (66 2/3%) of his/her total tax liability 
for the year on that date. 

(11) Example: The following example illus-
trates the application of the new exception to 
the imposition of the addition to tax for an 
underpayment of estimated tax for a calendar 
year large corporation: 

(A) The Y Corporation is a large corpora-
tion meeting all requirements in subsection 
(3)(C). Assume in the first three (3) months 
of the taxable year its federal taxable income 
from all sources was two (2) million dollars 
and that it had no positive or negative modi-
fications for the period under sections 
143.121 and 143.141, RSMo. Further as -
sume that its apportionment factor for the 
period is fifty percent (50%). The following 
procedure would be followed in determining 
whether the exception in subsection (10)(E) 
of this rule would apply to its required first 
installment payment due in the fourth month: 

1. Net income all sources 
  January through March 
                                    $ 2,000,000; 
2. Annualized income— 
  line 1. × 12/3              $ 8,000,000; 
3. Less estimated 
    federal tax                 $ 3,659,750; 
4. Annualized Missouri 
  taxable income 
   all sources                  $ 4,340,250; 
5. Annualized Missouri 
  taxable income at 50%  $ 2,170,125; 

and 
6. Estimated Missouri 
    tax at 100%               $108,506.25. 

If the large corporation estimated tax pay-
ments paid on or before the date due for the 
first installment is at least $24,413.82 
($108,506.25 × 90% × 1/4) no addition to 
tax would be imposed with respect to the first 
installment. 

(12) Statutory Changes Require Amended 
Installment. Taxpayers required to make a 
declaration of estimated tax shall make a 
recalculation of the installment due when 
there is a change in statute which affects the 
estimated liability and installments for their 
taxable period. Example: Assume Z 
Corporation had a state income tax estimated 
tax for their fiscal year beginning July 1, 
1983 and ending June 30, 1984 based upon a 
Missouri taxable income of $2,000,000 with 
a tax of $100,000. To avoid additions to tax, 
the exception provided in section 
143.761.4(2), RSMo of eighty percent (80%) 
was used. Effective January 1, 1984, House 
Bill No. 10, First Extraordinary Session, 
82nd General Assembly, increased the eighty 
percent (80%) to ninety percent (90%) for 
corporations. The taxpayer had paid two (2) 
installments of $20,000 each prior to the 
change in statute. The calculation to deter-
mine the amount of the third and fourth 
installment would be as follows:
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(A) Missouri taxable 
      income                         $2,000,000; 
(B) Missouri tax (5% rate)     $  100,000; 
(C) Estimated tax after 
      change of statute 
      90% × $100,000           $   90,000; 
(D) Amount required to be paid 

      through 3 installments 
      ($90,000 ÷ 4 × 3)        $   67,500; 

(E) Amount paid first 2 
     installments 
       ($20,000 × 2)                 $   40,000; 

(F) Amount of 3rd installment 
     (line (D) minus (E))         $   27,500; 
and 

(G) Amount of 4th installment 
     (line (C) × 1/4)              $   22,500. 

If the corporations estimated tax payment 
equals ninety percent (90%) of the amount 
due for the three (3) installments no additions 
to tax would be imposed with respect to the 
third installment. This same calculation 
method would apply to a calendar year situa-
tion when the statute was changed and 
applied during their taxable period. 

(13) Determination of Taxable Income for 
Installment Periods. In determining the 
applicability of the exceptions in section 
143.761.4(2) or (3), RSMo, there must be an 
accurate determination of the amount of 
income and deductions for the calendar 
months in the taxable year preceding the 
installment date as of which the determina-
tion is made. For example, if a taxpayer dis-
tributes year-end bonuses to its employees 
but does not determine the amount of the 
bonuses until the next to the last month of the 
taxable year, it may not deduct any portion of 
the year-end bonuses in determining the tax-
able income for any installment period other 
than the final installment period for the tax-
able year. If a taxpayer on an accrual method 
of accounting wishes to use either of the 
exceptions in section 143.761.4(2) or (3), 
RSMo, s/he must establish the amount of 
income and deductions for each applicable 
installment period. If income is derived from 
business in which the production, purchase 
or sale of merchandise is an income-produc-
ing factor requiring the use of inventories, the 
taxpayer will be unable to determine accu-
rately the amount of the taxable income for 
the applicable period unless there can be 
established, with reasonable accuracy, the 
cost of goods sold for the applicable install-
ment period. The cost of goods sold for the 
period shall be considered, unless a more 
exact determination is available, as that part 
of the cost of goods sold during the entire tax-
able year as the gross receipts from the sales 
for the installment period is to the gross 
receipts from the sale for the entire taxable 
year. 

(14) Members of Partnerships. In determin-
ing a partner’s taxable income for the months 
in his/her taxable year which precede the 
month in which the installment date occurs, 
each partner shall take into account all items 
for any partnership taxable year ending with 
or within this taxable year to the extent that 
those items are attributable to months in the 
partnership taxable year which preceded the 
month in which the installment date occurs 
together with any guaranteed payments from 
the partnership to the extent that the guaran-
teed payments are includable in his/her tax-
able income for those months. The provisions 
of this section may be illustrated by the fol-
lowing examples: 

(A) A, who is an individual calendar year 
taxpayer, is a member of a partnership whose 
taxable year ends on January 31. A must take 
into account, in the determination of his/her 
taxable income for the installment due on 
April 15, 1984, all of his/her distributive 
share of partnership items and the amount of 
any guaranteed payments made to him/her 
which were deductible by the partnership in 
the partnership taxable year beginning on 
February 1, 1983 and ending on January 31, 
1984; and 

(B) Assume that the taxable year of the 
partnership of which A, a calendar year tax-
payer, is a member ends on June 30. A must 
take into account, in the determination of 
his/her taxable income for the installment due 
on April 15, 1984, his/her distributive share 
of partnership items for the period July 1, 
1983 through March 31, 1984; and for the 
installment due on June 15, 1984 s/he must 
take into account the amounts for the period 
July 1, 1983 through May 31, 1984; and for 
the installment due on September 15, 1984, 
s/he must take into account the amounts for 
the entire partnership taxable year of July 1, 
1983 through June 30, 1984 (the date on 
which the partnership taxable year ends). 

(15) Beneficiaries of Estates and Trusts. In 
determining the applicability of the excep-
tions in subsections (10)(A) and (B) of this 
rule as of any installment date, the beneficia-
ry of an estate or trust must take into account 
his/her distributable share of income from the 
estate or trust for the applicable period 
(whether or not actually distributed) if the 
trust or estate is required to distribute income 
to him/her currently. If the estate or trust is 
not required to distribute income currently, 
only the amounts actually distributed to the 
beneficiary during the period must be taken 
into account. If the taxable year of the bene-
ficiary and the taxable year of the estate or 
trust are different, there shall be taken into 
account the beneficiary’s distributable share 
of income, or the amount actually distributed 
to him/her, as the case may be, during the 
months in the taxable year of the estate or 

trust ending within the taxable year of the 
beneficiary which precedes the month in 
which the installment date occurs. This rule 
is similar to the rule that applies for a mem-
ber of a partnership when a partner and a 
partnership of which s/he is a member have 
different taxable years. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1986.* 
Original rule filed Dec. 30, 1983, effective 
April 12, 1984. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.070 Interest on Overpayments 

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the circum-
stances under which a taxpayer who has paid 
too much tax will receive interest on the 
amount of the tax refund. 

(1) Authority for Rule. This rule is being 
issued under the general regulatory powers 
granted to the director of revenue and the spe-
cific authority set forth in section 143.811, 
RSMo.  

(2) Applicability and Scope of Rule. This rule 
shall apply to those instances in which an 
overpayment of the taxes imposed by sections 
143.011–143.996, RSMo has occurred and 
shall apply only with respect to taxable peri-
ods beginning on or after January 1, 1973. It 
is intended to serve as an interpretive guide-
line in the application of section 143.811.1., 
2., 4. and 5., RSMo as affected by sections 
143.601 and 143.801, RSMo. 

(3) The term sections 143.011–143.996, 
RSMo shall mean the Missouri Income Tax 
Law, which became effective on January 1, 
1973. 

(4) As used in this rule, the term director 
shall mean the director of revenue or his/her 
duly authorized agent or designee. 

(5) Subject to the limitations provided in this 
rule, interest shall be allowed and paid upon 
any overpayment with respect to the taxpay-
er’s liability for taxes, computed on a daily 
basis at the rate provided by statute, from the 
dates of the overpayment to the date shown on 
the refund check that is issued by the treasur-
er of Missouri. If the taxpayer elects to have 
all or a part of the overpayment shown on the 
return applied to the taxpayer’s estimated tax 
for a succeeding year, the portion of the over-
payment that is credited to the estimated tax 
for the succeeding year or any installment 
shall be considered to be refunded to the tax-
payer on the date that the original return was 
filed and no interest shall be allowed on the 
portion of the overpayment so credited or 
applied. 
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(6) Time Return Filed. For purposes of this 
rule, a return filed before the last day pre-
scribed for the filing of the return shall be 
considered as filed on the last day (deter-
mined without regard to any extensions of 
time for filing the return). For returns filed 
after the fifteenth day of the fourth month fol-
lowing the close of the taxpayer’s taxable 
year, the time filed shall be the actual time 
filed. 

(7) Time Tax Paid. For purposes of this rule, 
payment of any portion of the tax made 
before the fifteenth day of the fourth month 
following the close of the taxpayer’s taxable 
year shall be considered as paid on the fif-
teenth day of the fourth month. For payments 
made after the fifteenth day of the fourth 
month following the close of the taxpayer’s 
taxable year, whether or not a valid extension 
of time to pay is in effect, the time paid shall 
be the actual time paid. 

(8) Limitations. If any overpayment is refund-
ed within four (4) months after the last date 
prescribed (or permitted by extension of 
time) for filing the original return of the tax 
or within four (4) months after the return was 
filed, whichever is later, no interest shall be 
allowed on the overpayment as provided by 
section 143.811.4., RSMo. Where the tax-
payer’s return is not complete, delaying the 
processing by the director and requiring the 
director to request additional information 
from the taxpayer, the four (4)-month period 
referred to in this rule shall begin at such 
time as the additional requested information 
is submitted. 

(9) Carrybacks of Net Operating Loss and 
Corporate Capital Loss. Any overpayment 
resulting from a carryback, including a net 
operating loss and a corporate capital loss, 
shall be deemed not to have been made prior 
to the close of the taxable year in which the 
loss arises, per section 143.811.5., RSMo. 
The carryback will be deemed to be an 
amended federal income tax return under 
section 143.601, RSMo which requires that 
any taxpayer filing an amended federal 
income tax return shall also file, within nine-
ty (90) days after that, an amended return 
under sections 143.011–143.996, RSMo. 

(10) Examples: The amounts used in any of 
the following examples for additions to tax 
and interest are for illustrative purposes only 
and do not necessarily reflect the actual addi-
tions to tax and interest that might be due in 
those situations. For purposes of these exam-
ples, current year returns shall mean returns 
filed, or required to be filed, for the immedi-
ately preceding taxable year for taxes 
imposed by sections 143.011–143.996, 
RSMo: 

(A) Taxpayer files his/her 1974 calendar 
year return on January 15, 1975 indicating an 
overpayment. If the director makes a refund 
of the overpayment on or before August 15, 
1975, no interest shall be allowed on the 
overpayment. In this example, the return is 
considered filed on the last day prescribed for 
the filing (April 15, 1975) and the director 
has four (4) months in which to make the 
refund. If the refund is not made by August 
15, 1975, interest shall be allowed and paid 
for the period April 15, 1975 (the date the tax 
is considered paid) until the date of the 
refund; 

(B) Taxpayer files his/her 1974 calendar 
year return on June 15, 1975 with a valid 
sixty (60)-day extension of time to file in 
effect, indicating an overpayment. All tax 
payments were made on or before April 15, 
1975. If the director makes a refund of the 
overpayment on or before October 15, 1975, 
no interest shall be allowed on the overpay-
ment. In this example, even though the tax is 
considered paid on April 15, 1975, the direc-
tor has four (4) months in which to make the 
refund from the date the return is filed. If the 
refund is not made by October 15, 1975, 
interest shall be allowed and paid for the peri-
od April 15, 1975 until the date of the 
refund. The result in this example would be 
the same whether or not a valid extension of 
time to file or pay the tax had been in effect; 

(C) Taxpayer files his/her 1974 calendar 
year return on June 15, 1975 indicating a bal-
ance due of one hundred fifty dollars ($150) 
which is paid with the return, there being no 
valid extension of time to file the return or 
pay the tax in effect. Upon subsequent review 
of the return, a mathematical error is discov-
ered overstating the taxpayer’s 1974 tax lia-
bility by two hundred dollars ($200). If the 
director makes a refund of the overpayment 
on or before October 15, 1975, no interest 
shall be allowed on the overpayment. If the 
refund is not made on or before October 15, 
1975, interest shall be allowed and paid on 
the overpayment in the following manner. On 
the fifty-dollar ($50) overpayment that would 
have been shown on the original return, if 
correctly filed, from April 15, 1975 to the 
date of the refund; and on the one hundred 
and fifty dollars ($150) paid with the original 
return, from June 15, 1975 (the date the tax 
was paid) to the date of the refund. The result 
in this example would be the same whether or 
not a valid extension of time to file or pay the 
tax had been in effect; and 

(D) Taxpayer, a corporation, files its esti-
mated tax declaration for calendar year 1975 
with the director and pays the first two install-
ment payments of five hundred dollars ($500) 
each on April 15, 1975 and June 15, 1975, 
respectively. Taxpayer incurs a net operating 
loss for calendar year 1975 and files his/her 
Missouri income tax return on April 15, 

1976, requesting a refund of the resulting 
overpayment. The taxpayer fails to attach to 
its Missouri return a copy of the federal form 
1120 as required. Upon timely review of the 
taxpayer’s Missouri return, the director 
requests from the taxpayer a copy of the fed-
eral return which is not submitted until 
December 15, 1976. If the director makes a 
refund of the overpayment on or before April 
15, 1977, no interest shall be allowed on the 
overpayment. If the refund is made after 
April 15, 1977, interest shall be allowed and 
paid from April 15, 1976 to the date of the 
refund. In this example, the four (4)-month 
noninterest payment period does not begin 
until the required information is submitted. 

(11) Change in Federal Taxable Income. 
Section 143.601, RSMo provides that if the 
amount of the taxpayer’s federal taxable 
income reported on his/her federal income 
tax return, for any taxable year, is changed or 
corrected by the United States Internal 
Revenue Service (IRS) or other competent 
authority, or as the result of a renegotiation of 
a contract or subcontract with the United 
States, the taxpayer shall report the change or 
correction in federal taxable income within 
ninety (90) days after the final determination 
of the change, correction or renegotiation. 
Any taxpayer filing an amended federal 
income tax return also shall file, within nine-
ty (90) days after that, an amended return 
under sections 143.011–143.996, RSMo and 
shall provide information as the director may 
require. The examples under this section do 
not apply where the federal change is on 
account of a net operating or a corporate cap-
ital loss carryback. 

(A) On January 15, 1975, taxpayer’s fed-
eral taxable income for calendar year 1973 is 
changed by the United States IRS indicating 
an overpayment. Taxpayer files an amended 
return with the director on April 15, 1975 
(the ninetieth day) reflecting the federal 
changes and indicating an overpayment of 
his/her 1973 income tax liability. Taxpayer 
filed his/her 1973 income tax return and paid 
the tax on or before April 15, 1974. In this 
situation, interest shall be allowed and paid 
from April 15, 1974 until the date of the 
refund. 

(B) On January 15, 1975, taxpayer’s feder-
al taxable income for calendar year 1973 is 
changed by the United States IRS indicating 
an overpayment. Taxpayer files an amended 
return with the director on April 30, 1975 
(after the ninetieth day) reflecting the federal 
change and indicating an overpayment of 
his/her 1973 income tax liability. Taxpayer 
filed his/her 1973 income tax return and paid 
the tax prior to April 15, 1974. In this situa-
tion, interest shall be allowed and paid from 
April 15, 1974 until April 15, 1975 (the 
ninetieth day). Note that in this case, failure 
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to file an amended return within the ninety 
(90)-day period required by section 143.601, 
RSMo shall cause the interest to cease to 
accrue after the ninetieth day. 

(C) Assume the same fact as in subsection 
(11)(A) of this rule except taxpayer filed 
his/her original 1973 income tax return on 
June 15, 1974, with a valid extension of time 
to file attached, and all taxes were paid on or 
before April 15, 1974 until the date of the 
refund. Note that an extension of time to file 
has no bearing on the interest payment period 
if all taxes were paid before April 15, 1974. 
In this situation, interest shall be allowed and 
paid from April 15, 1974. If the amended 
return was filed with the director after the 
ninetieth day, the interest would cease to 
accrue on the ninetieth day. 

(D) On January 15, 1975, taxpayer’s fed-
eral taxable income for calendar year 1973 is 
changed by the United States IRS indicating 
an overpayment. Taxpayer files an amended 
return with the director on April 10, 1975 
(before the ninetieth day) reflecting the feder-
al change and indicating an overpayment of 
his/her 1973 income tax liability. Taxpayer 
filed his/her 1973 income tax return on July 
1, 1974 indicating a balance due, indicating 
additions to tax and interest, and paid the lia-
bility on that date. In this situation, interest 
shall be allowed and paid from July 1, 1974, 
the date the tax was actually paid, until the 
date of the refund. If the taxpayer’s amended 
return was not filed on or before the ninetieth 
day, interest would be allowed and paid only 
until the ninetieth day (July 1, 1974 through 
April 15, 1975). Note that interest will be 
paid not only with respect to the taxes previ-
ously paid by the taxpayer but also with 
respect to the additions to tax and interest 
previously paid. 

(E) On April 15, 1976, taxpayer’s federal 
taxable income for calendar year 1973 is 
changed by the United States IRS resulting in 
an overpayment of his/her 1973 tax liability. 
On April 16, 1977, taxpayer files an amend-
ed return with the director, reflecting the fed-
eral changes, and also indicating an overpay-
ment. Taxpayer filed his/her original 1973 
income tax return on April 15, 1974 and all 
taxes were paid on that date. In this example, 
the taxpayer has filed his/her claim for credit 
or refund within one (1) year from the time 
the amended return was required to be filed 
(within one (1) year after ninety (90) days 
after April 15, 1976). Note that even though 
the three (3)-year limitation of section 
143.801.1., RSMo, and the two (2)-year lim-
itation of section 143.801.2., RSMo have 
elapsed, section 143.801.4., RSMo allows 
the claim to be filed within one (1) year. 
Interest shall be allowed and paid in this sit-
uation from April 15, 1974 until the ninetieth 
day after April 15, 1976. 

(12) Carrybacks—Example 1: In calendar 
year 1976, taxpayer incurs a net operating 
loss, or a corporate capital loss, which is 
allowable as a carryback to calendar year 
1973. Taxpayer’s original 1973 Missouri 
income tax return was filed on April 15, 
1974, and all tax payments were made prior 
to that date. Taxpayer files an amended 1973 
federal income tax return on January 1, 
1977, and an amended 1973 Missouri income 
tax return on the same day requesting refund 
of the resulting overpayment for 1973. In this 
situation, interest shall be allowed and paid 
from January 1, 1977 to the date of the 
refund. In this example, the overpayment is 
deemed not to have been made prior to the 
close of the taxable year in which the loss 
arises. 

(13) Carrybacks—Example 2: Assume the 
same facts as in section (12) of this rule 
except the taxpayer does not file his/her 
amended Missouri income tax return until 
April 2, 1977, which is after the ninetieth day 
after January 1, 1977. In this situation, inter-
est shall be allowed and paid for the period 
January 1, 1977 until the ninetieth day 
(March 31, 1977). Note that the failure of the 
taxpayer to file within the ninety (90)-day 
period required under section 143.601, 
RSMo caused the interest to cease to accrue 
on the ninetieth day. 

(14) Amended Returns—Example 1: On 
January 15, 1975, taxpayer files an amended 
Missouri income tax return for calendar year 
1973 correcting an error or omission on 
his/her original 1973 return. The original 
return for 1973 was filed on March 3, 1974 
with a balance due that was paid on that date. 
The amended return indicates an overpay-
ment for 1973. In this situation, interest shall 
be allowed and paid for the period April 15, 
1974 until the date of the refund. 

(15) Amended Returns—Example 2: On 
January 15, 1975, taxpayer files an amended 
Missouri income tax return for calendar year 
1973 correcting an error or omission on the 
1973 return. The original return for 1973 was 
filed on June 15, 1974 (with no valid exten-
sion of time to file or pay the tax) indicating 
a balance due of two hundred dollars ($200) 
which was paid on that date. On November 
15, 1974, taxpayer was assessed additions to 
tax and interest of twenty-five dollars ($25) 
under sections 143.731 and 143.741, RSMo 
which s/he remitted on that date. The amend-
ed return indicates an overpayment for 1973 
of three hundred dollars ($300). Interest shall 
be allowed and paid in the following manner: 
on the one hundred dollar ($100) overpay-
ment that would have been shown on the orig-
inal return, if correctly filed, from April 15, 
1974 to the date of the refund; on the two 

hundred dollars ($200) paid with the original 
return, from June 15, 1974 to the date of the 
refund; and on the twenty-five dollar ($25) 
additions to tax and interest, from November 
15, 1974 to the date of the refund. The inter-
est payments begin from the time the tax was 
paid or considered paid. Note that the interest 
payment dates would not have been affected 
if a valid extension of time to file the return 
or pay the tax had been in effect. 

(16) Amended Returns—Example 3: On May 
15, 1977, taxpayer files an amended 
Missouri income tax return for calendar year 
1973 indicating an overpayment. Taxpayer 
filed his/her original 1973 return on April 
15, 1974. In this example, no credit or refund 
shall be allowed or paid. A claim for credit or 
refund of an overpayment of any tax imposed 
by sections 143.011–143.996, RSMo shall be 
filed by the taxpayer within three (3) years 
from the time the return was filed, or two (2) 
years from the time the tax was paid, 
whichever of those periods expires the later; 
or if no return was filed by the taxpayer, with-
in two (2) years from the time the tax was 
paid. Nor credit or refund shall be allowed or 
made after the expiration of the period of lim-
itation prescribed for the filing of a claim for 
credit or refund, unless the claim for credit or 
refund is filed by the taxpayer within that 
period. 

(17) Amended Returns—Example 4: On May 
15, 1977, taxpayer files an amended 
Missouri income tax return for calendar year 
1973 indicating an overpayment of one thou-
sand dollars ($1,000). Taxpayer filed his/her 
original 1973 return on May 14, 1974 show-
ing a balance due of five hundred dollars 
($500) which the taxpayer did not pay until 
June 15, 1975. Taxpayer was assessed and 
paid additions to tax and interest in the 
amount of fifty dollars ($50) on August 15, 
1975. In this example, taxpayer has not filed 
a claim within three (3) years of the date the 
return was filed (which would expire on May 
14, 1977) but has filed within two (2) years 
from the time some (but not all) of the tax 
was paid. In this situation, the refund shall 
not exceed the portion of the tax paid during 
the two (2) years immediately preceding the 
filing of the claim, section 143.801.2., 
RSMo. In this example, interest shall be 
allowed and paid in the following manner: on 
the five hundred dollar ($500) overpayment 
from June 15, 1975 to the date of the refund; 
and on the fifty dollars ($50) from August 
15, 1975 until the date of the refund. 

(18) Flood Loss. If the taxpayer elects under 
the Disaster Relief Act of 1974 to deduct a 
disaster loss in the taxable year immediately 
preceding the taxable year in which the loss 
occurs, the overpayment will deemed to have 
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occurred in the taxable year for which the 
deduction is claimed on the federal return. 

(A) Example: On January 15, 1975, tax-
payer files an amended federal income tax 
return and an amended Missouri income tax 
return for calendar year 1973 as the result of 
a flood loss which occurred in 1974, indicat-
ing an overpayment for 1973. Taxpayer’s 
original 1973 income tax return was filed 
before April 15, 1974, with all taxes paid by 
that date. In this example, interest shall be 
allowed and paid from April 15, 1974 until 
the date of the refund. The interest calcula-
tion date begins on April 15, 1974, because 
the overpayment on account of the 1974 flood 
loss is deemed to have occurred in the 1973 
taxable year (the taxable year immediately 
preceding the taxable year in which the loss 
actually did occur). 

(B) Example: On January 15, 1975, tax-
payer files an amended federal income tax 
return and an amended Missouri income tax 
return for calendar year 1973 as the result of 
a flood loss which occurred in 1974. 
Taxpayer’s original 1973 income tax return 
was filed on June 1, 1974 showing a balance 
due of five hundred dollars ($500) which was 
paid on that date. On November 15, 1974, 
taxpayer was assessed additions to tax and 
interest in the amount of fifty dollars ($50) 
under sections 143.731 and 143.741, RSMo 
which was paid by the taxpayer on that date. 
Taxpayer’s amended 1973 income tax return 
indicates an overpayment of his/her 1973 
income tax liability of seven hundred dollars 
($700). In this situation, interest shall be 
allowed and paid in the following manner: on 
the two hundred dollar ($200) overpayment 
that would have been shown on the original 
return had the amount of the disaster loss 
been shown on the original return from April 
15, 1974 to the date of the refund; on the five 
hundred dollars ($500) paid with the original 
return from June 1, 1974 to the date of the 
refund; and on the fifty dollars ($50) addi-
tions to tax and interest from November 15, 
1974 to the date of the refund. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.811, RSMo 1986.* 
Regulation 1.811 was originally filed Dec. 
22, 1975, effective Jan. 2, 1976. 

*Original authority: 143.811, RSMo 1972, amended 
1982, 1988. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.075 Multistate Allocation and 
Apportionment 

PURPOSE: This rule represents the methods 
to be used in allocating and apportioning 
income to Missouri under that part of 
Chapter 32, RSMo which is commonly known 
as the Multistate Tax Compact. 

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state 
has determined that the publication of the 
entire text of the material which is incorpo-
rated by reference as a portion of this rule 
would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. 
Therefore, the material which is so incorpo-
rated is on file with the agency who filed this 
rule, and with the Office of the Secretary of 
State. Any interested person may view this 
material at either agency’s headquarters or 
the same will be made available at the Office 
of the Secretary of State at a cost not to 
exceed actual cost of copy reproduction. The 
entire text of the rule is printed here. This 
note refers only to the incorporated by refer-
ence material. 

(1) Authority for Rule. This rule is being 
issued under the general regulatory powers 
granted to the director of revenue in section 
143.961, RSMo which became effective 
January 1, 1973, and in accordance with sub-
section 3 of article VII of the Multistate Tax 
Compact, section 32.200, RSMo. 

(2) Applicability and Scope of Rule. This rule 
is intended as an interpretive guideline in the 
application of Article VI of the Multistate Tax 
Compact, section 32.200, RSMo, imple-
mented by adopting the Multistate Tax 
Commission’s allocation and apportionment 
regulations which were adopted by the com-
mission February 21, 1973. The apportion-
ment rules set forth in this rule are applicable 
to any taxpayer having business income, 
regardless of whether or not it has nonbusi-
ness income, and the allocation rules set forth 
in this rule are applicable to any taxpayer 
having nonbusiness income, regardless of 
whether or not it has business income. The 
numerical references contained in this rule 
are to Article IV of the Multistate Tax 
Compact, section 32.200, RSMo, and its 
subsections. The only exceptions to the allo-
cation and apportionment rules contained in 
this rule are those set forth in sections (63)–
(66) of this rule under the authority of Article 
IV.18. of the Multistate Tax Compact, section 
32.200, RSMo. This rule is not intended to 
modify existing regulations concerning juris-
dictional standards. 

(3) As used in this rule, the term director of 
revenue shall mean the director of revenue or 
his/her duly authorized agent or designee. 

(4) Business and Nonbusiness Income. 
Section 32.200 (Article IV.1.), RSMo defines 
business income as income arising from 
transactions and activity in the regular course 
of the taxpayer’s trade or business and 
includes income from tangible and intangible 
property if the acquisition, management and 
disposition of the property constitute integral 
parts of the taxpayer’s regular trade or busi-

ness operations. In essence, all income which 
arises from the conduct of trade or business 
operations of a taxpayer is business income. 
For purposes of administration of section 
32.200 (Article IV), RSMo, the income of 
the taxpayer is business income unless clearly 
classifiable as nonbusiness income. 
Nonbusiness income means all income other 
than business income. The classification of 
income by the labels occasionally used, such 
as manufacturing income, compensation for 
services, sales income, interest, dividends, 
rents, royalties, gains, operating income, non-
operating income, and the like, is of no aid in 
determining whether income is business or 
nonbusiness income. Income of any type or 
class and from any source is business income 
if it arises from transactions and activity 
occurring in the regular course of a trade or 
business. Accordingly, the critical element in 
determining whether income is business 
income or nonbusiness income is the identifi-
cation of the transactions and activity which 
are the elements of a particular trade or busi-
ness. In general all transactions and activities 
of the taxpayer which are dependent upon or 
contribute to the operations of the taxpayer’s 
economic enterprise as a whole constitute the 
taxpayer’s trade or business and will be trans-
actions and activity arising in the regular 
course of, and will constitute integral parts 
of, a trade or business. 

(5) Business and Nonbusiness Income—Ap -
plication of Definitions. The following are 
rules and examples for determining whether 
particular income is business or nonbusiness 
income (The examples used throughout this 
rule are illustrative only and do not purport to 
set forth all pertinent facts.): 

(A) Rents From Real and Tangible 
Personal Property. Rental income from real 
and tangible property is business income if 
the property with respect to which the rental 
income was received is used in the taxpayer’s 
trade or business, or incidental to the trade or 
business and therefore is includable in the 
property factor under sections (21)–(24) of 
this rule. 

1. Example: The taxpayer operates a 
multistate car rental business. The income 
from car rentals is business income. 

2. Example: The taxpayer is engaged in 
the heavy construction business in which it 
uses equipment such as cranes, tractors and 
earth-moving vehicles. The taxpayer makes 
short-term leases of the equipment when par-
ticular pieces of equipment are not needed on 
any particular project. The rental income is 
business income. 

3. Example: The taxpayer operates a 
multistate chain of men’s clothing stores. The 
taxpayer purchases a five (5)-story office 
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building for use in connection with its trade 
or business. It uses the street floor as one (1) 
of its retail stores and the second and third 
floors for its general corporate headquarters. 
The remaining two (2) floors are leased to 
others. The rental of the two (2) floors is inci-
dental to the operation of the taxpayer’s trade 
or business. The rental income is business 
income. 

4. Example: The taxpayer operates a 
multistate chain of grocery stores. It purchas-
es as an investment an office building in 
another state with surplus funds and leases 
the entire building to others. The net rental 
income is not business income of the grocery 
store trade or business. Therefore, the net 
rental income is nonbusiness income. 

5. Example: The taxpayer operates a 
multistate chain of men’s clothing stores. The 
taxpayer invests in a twenty (20)-story office 
building and uses the street floor as one (1) of 
its retail stores and the second floor for its 
general corporate headquarters. The remain-
ing eighteen (18) floors are leased to others. 
The rental of the eighteen (18) floors is not 
incidental to but rather is separate from the 
operation of the taxpayer’s trade or business. 
The net rental income is not business income 
of the clothing store trade or business. 
Therefore, the net rental income is nonbusi-
ness income. 

6. Example: The taxpayer constructed a 
plant for use in its multistate manufacturing 
business and twenty (20) years later the plant 
was closed and put up for sale. The plant was 
rented for a temporary period from the time 
it was closed by the taxpayer until it was sold 
eighteen (18) months later. The rental income 
is business income and the gain on the sale of 
the plant is business income. 

7. Example: The taxpayer operates a 
multistate chain of grocery stores. It owned 
an office building which it occupied as its 
corporate headquarters. Because of inade-
quate space, taxpayer acquired a new and 
larger building elsewhere for its corporate 
headquarters. The old building was rented to 
an investment company under a five (5)-year 
lease. Upon expiration of the lease, taxpayer 
sold the building at a gain (or loss). The net 
rental income received over the lease period 
is nonbusiness income and the gain (or loss) 
on the sale of the building is nonbusiness 
income; 

(B) Gains or Losses From Sales of Assets. 
Gain or loss from the sale, exchange or other 
disposition of real or tangible or intangible 
personal property constitutes business 
income if the property while owned by the 
taxpayer was used in the taxpayer’s trade or 
business. However, if the property was uti-
lized for the production of nonbusiness 

income or otherwise was removed from the 
property factor before its sale, exchange or 
other disposition, the gain or loss will consti-
tute nonbusiness income. 

1. Example: In conducting its multistate 
manufacturing business, the taxpayer system-
atically replaces automobiles, machines and 
other equipment used in the business. The 
gains or losses resulting from those sales con-
stitute business income. 

2. Example: The taxpayer constructed a 
plant for use in its multistate manufacturing 
business and twenty (20) years later sold the 
property at a gain while it was in operation by 
the taxpayer. The gain is business income. 

3. Example: Same as paragraph (5)(B)2. 
of this rule except that the plant was closed 
and put up for sale but was not in fact sold 
until a buyer was found eighteen (18) months 
later. The gain is business income. 

4. Example: Same as paragraph (5)(B)2. 
of this rule except that the plant was rented 
while being held for sale. The rental income 
is business income and the gain on the sale of 
the plant is business income. 

5. Example: The taxpayer operates a 
multistate chain of grocery stores. It owned 
an office building which it occupied as its 
corporate headquarters. Because of inade-
quate space, taxpayer acquired a new and 
larger building elsewhere for its corporate 
headquarters. The old building was rented to 
an unrelated investment company under a 
five (5)-year lease. Upon expiration of the 
lease, taxpayer sold the building at a gain (or 
loss). The gain (or loss) on the sale is non-
business income and the rental income 
received over the lease period is nonbusiness 
income; 

(C) Interest. Interest income is business 
income where the intangible with respect to 
which the interest was received arises out of, 
or was created in, the regular course of the 
taxpayer’s trade or business operations or 
where the purpose for acquiring and holding 
the intangible is related to or incidental to the 
trade or business operations. 

1. Example: The taxpayer operates a 
multistate chain of department stores, selling 
for cash and on credit. Service charges, inter-
est or time-price differentials and the like are 
received with respect to installment sales and 
revolving charge accounts. These amounts 
are business income. 

2. Example: The taxpayer conducts a 
multistate manufacturing business. During 
the year the taxpayer receives a federal 
income tax refund and collects a judgment 
against a debtor of the business. Both the tax 
refund and the judgment bore interest. The 
interest income is business income. 

3. Example: The taxpayer is engaged in 

a multistate manufacturing and wholesaling 
business. In connection with that business, 
the taxpayer maintains special accounts to 
cover these items as Workers’ Compensation 
claims, rain and storm damage, machinery 
replacement, and the like. The moneys in 
those accounts are invested at interest. 
Similarly, the taxpayer temporarily invests 
funds intended for payment of federal, state 
and local tax obligations. The interest income 
is business income. 

4. Example: The taxpayer is engaged in 
a multistate money order and traveler’s 
checks business. In addition to the fees 
received in connection with the sale of the 
money orders and traveler’s checks, the tax-
payer earns interest income by the investment 
of the funds pending their redemption. The 
interest income is business income. 

5. Example: The taxpayer is engaged in 
a multistate manufacturing and selling busi-
ness. The taxpayer usually has working capi-
tal and extra cash totaling two hundred thou-
sand dollars ($200,000) which it regularly 
invests in short-term interest bearing securi-
ties. The interest income is business income. 

6. Example: In January, the taxpayer 
sold all the stock of subsidiary for twenty 
(20) million dollars. The funds are placed in 
an interest-bearing account pending a deci-
sion by management as to how the funds are 
to be utilized. The interest income is nonbusi-
ness income; 

(D) Dividends. Dividends are business 
income where the stock with respect to which 
the dividends are received arises out of or 
was acquired in the regular course of the tax-
payer’s trade or business operations or where 
the purpose for acquiring and holding the 
stock is related to or incidental to the trade or 
business operations. 

1. Example: The taxpayer operates a 
multistate chain of stock brokerage houses. 
During the year the taxpayer receives divi-
dends on stock it owns. The dividends are 
business income. 

2. Example: The taxpayer is engaged in 
a multistate manufacturing and wholesaling 
business. In connection with that business, 
the taxpayer maintains special accounts to 
cover such items as Workers’ Compensation 
claims, etc. A portion of the moneys in those 
accounts is invested in interest-bearing 
bonds. The remainder is invested in various 
common stocks listed on national stock 
exchanges. Both the interest income and any 
dividends are business income. 

3. Example: The taxpayer and several 
unrelated corporations own all of the stock of 
a corporation whose business operations con-
sist solely of acquiring and processing mate-
rials for delivery to the corporate owners. 



34                  CODE OF STATE REGULATIONS        (6/30/21)     JOHN R. ASHCROFT 
Secretary of State

12 CSR 10-2—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE Division 10—Director of Revenue    

The taxpayer acquired the stock in order to 
obtain a source of supply of materials used in 
its manufacturing business. The dividends are 
business income. 

4. Example: The taxpayer is engaged in a 
multistate heavy construction business. Much 
of its construction work is performed for agen-
cies of the federal government and various  
state governments. Under state and federal 
laws applicable to contracts for these agencies, 
a contractor must have adequate bonding 
capacity, as measured by the ratio of its cur-
rent assets (cash and marketable securities) to 
current liabilities. In order to maintain an ade-
quate bonding capacity, the taxpayer holds 
various stocks and interest-bearing securities. 
Both the interest income and any dividends 
received are business income. 

5. Example: The taxpayer receives divi-
dends from the stock of its subsidiary or affil-
iate which acts as the marketing agency for 
products manufactured by the taxpayer. The 
dividends are business income. 

6. Example: The taxpayer is engaged in 
a multistate glass manufacturing business. It 
also holds a portfolio of stock and 
interest-bearing securities, the acquisition 
and holding of which are unrelated to the 
manufacturing business. The dividends and 
interest income received are nonbusiness 
income; and 

(E) Patent and Copyright Royalties. Patent 
and copyright royalties are business income 
where the patent or copyright with respect to 
which the royalties were received arises out 
of or was created in the regular course of the 
taxpayer’s trade or business operations or 
where the purpose of acquiring and holding 
the patent or copyright is related to or inci-
dental to the trade or business operations. 

1. Example: The taxpayer is engaged in 
the multistate business of manufacturing and 
selling industrial chemicals. In connection 
with that business the taxpayer obtained 
patents on certain of its products. The taxpay-
er licensed the production of the chemicals in 
foreign countries, in return for which the tax-
payer receives royalties. The royalties 
received by the taxpayer are business income. 

2. Example: The taxpayer is engaged in 
the music publishing business and holds 
copyrights on numerous songs. The taxpayer 
acquires the assets of a smaller publishing 
company, including music copyrights. After 
these acquired copyrights are used by the tax-
payer in its business, any royalties received 
on these copyrights are business income. 

3. Example: Same as example in para-
graph (5)(E)2. of this rule, except that the 
acquired company also held the patent on a 

type of phonograph needle. The taxpayer 
does not manufacture or sell phonographs or 
phonograph equipment. Any royalties 
received on the patent would be nonbusiness 
income. 

(6) Proration of Deductions. In most cases, 
an allowable deduction of a taxpayer will be 
applicable only to the business income aris-
ing from a particular trade or business or to 
a particular item of nonbusiness income. In 
some cases, an allowable deduction may be 
applicable to the business incomes of more 
than one (1) trade or business or to several 
items of nonbusiness income. In those cases, 
the deduction shall be prorated among the 
trades or businesses and the items of nonbusi-
ness income in a manner which fairly distrib-
utes the deduction among the classes of 
income to which it is applicable. In filing 
returns with this state, if the taxpayer departs 
from or modifies the manner of prorating any 
of the deduction used in returns for prior 
years, the taxpayer shall disclose in the return 
for the current year the nature and extent of 
the modification. If the return or reports filed 
by a taxpayer with all states to which the tax-
payer reports under section 32.200 (Article 
IV), RSMo of this Compact or the Uniform 
Division of Income for Tax Purposes Act are 
not uniform in the application or proration of 
any deduction, the taxpayer shall disclose in 
its return to this state the nature and extent of 
the variance. 

(7) Taxpayer means any corporation, partner-
ship, firm, association, governmental unit or 
agency or person acting as a business entity 
in more than one (1) state. 

(8) Apportionment refers to the division of 
business income between states by the use of 
a formula containing apportionment factors. 

(9) Allocation refers to the assignment of 
nonbusiness income to a particular state. 

(10) Business activity refers to the transac-
tions and activity occurring in the regular 
course of a particular trade or business of a 
taxpayer. 

(11) Application of Article IV—Ap portion-
ment. If the business activity in respect to any 
trade or business of a taxpayer occurs both 
within and without this state and, if by reason 
of that business activity the taxpayer is tax-
able in another state, the portion of the net 
income (or net loss) arising from the trade or 
business which is derived from sources with-
in this state shall be determined by apportion-

ment in accordance with section 32.200 
(Articles IV.9.–IV.17), RSMo. 

(12) Application of Article IV—Allocation. 
Any taxpayer subject to the taxing jurisdic-
tion of this state shall allocate all of its non-
business income or loss within or without this 
state in accordance with section 32.200 
(Articles IV.4.–IV.8), RSMo. 

(13) Consistency and Uniformity in Report-
ing. In filing returns with this state if the tax-
payer departs from or modifies the manner in 
which income has been classified as business 
income or nonbusiness income in returns for 
prior years, the taxpayer shall disclose in the 
return for the current year the nature and 
extent of the modification. If the returns or 
reports filed by a taxpayer for all states to 
which the taxpayer reports under section 
32.200 (Article IV), RSMo of the Compact 
or the Uniform Division of Income for Tax 
Purposes Act are not uniform in the classifi-
cation of income as business or nonbusiness 
income, the taxpayer shall disclose in its 
return to this state the nature and extent of the 
variance. 

(14) Taxable in Another State—In General. 
Under section 32.200 (Article IV.2.), RSMo 
the taxpayer is subject to the allocation and 
apportionment provisions of section 32.200 
(Article IV), RSMo if it has income from 
business activity that is taxable both within 
and without this state. A taxpayer’s income 
from business activity is taxable without this 
state if the taxpayer, by reason of the business 
activity (that is, the transaction and activity 
occurring in the regular course of a particular 
trade or business), is taxable in another state 
within the meaning of section 32.200 (Article 
IV.3.), RSMo. A taxpayer is taxable within 
another state if it meets either one (1) of two 
(2) tests— 

(A) If by reason of business activity in 
another state, the taxpayer is subject to one 
(1) of the types of taxes specified in section 
32.200 (Article IV.3(1)), RSMo, namely, a 
net income tax, a franchise tax measured by 
net income, a franchise tax for the privilege 
of doing business or a corporate stock tax; or 

(B) If by reason of the business activity, 
another state has jurisdiction to subject the 
taxpayer to a net income tax, regardless of 
whether or not the state imposes this tax on 
the taxpayer. 

(15) Taxable in Another State—Nonbusiness 
Income Only. A taxpayer is not taxable in 
another state with respect to a particular trade 
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or business merely because the taxpayer con-
ducts activities in the other state pertaining to 
the production of nonbusiness income or 
business activities relating to a separate trade 
or business. 

(16) Taxable in Another State. A taxpayer is 
subject to one (1) of the taxes specified in 
section 32.200 (Article IV.3(1)), RSMo if it 
carries on business activities in the state and 
that state imposes the tax on business activi-
ties. Any taxpayer which asserts that it is sub-
ject to one (1) of the taxes specified in section 
32.200 (Article IV.3(1)), RSMo in another 
state shall furnish to the director of revenue 
of this state, upon his/her request, evidence 
to support the assertion. The director of rev-
enue of this state may request that the evi-
dence include proof that the taxpayer has 
filed the requisite tax return in the other state 
and has paid any taxes imposed under the law 
of the other state; the taxpayer’s failure to 
produce proof that may be taken into account 
in determining whether the taxpayer in fact is 
subject to one (1) of the taxes specified in 
section 32.200 (Article IV.3(1)), RSMo in 
the other state. If the taxpayer voluntarily 
files and pays one (1) or more of the taxes 
when not required to do so by the laws of that 
state or pays a minimal fee for qualification, 
organization or for the privilege of doing 
business in the state, but does not actually 
engage in business activity in that state, or 
does actually engage in some business activi-
ty, not sufficient for nexus, and the minimum 
tax bears no relation to the taxpayer’s busi-
ness activity within that state, the taxpayer is 
not subject to one (1) of the taxes specified 
within the meaning of section 32.200 (Article 
IV.3(1)), RSMo. Example: State A has a cor-
poration franchise tax measured by net 
income, for the privilege of doing business in 
that state. Corporation X files a return and 
pays the fifty-dollar ($50) minimum tax, 
although it carries on no business activity in 
State A. Corporation X is not taxable in State 
A. 

(17) Taxability. The concept of taxability in 
another state is based upon the premise that 
every state in which the taxpayer is engaged 
in business activity may impose an income 
tax even though every state does not do so. In 
states which do not, other types of taxes may 
be imposed as a substitute for an income tax. 
Therefore, only those taxes enumerated in 
section 32.200 (Article IV.3(1)), RSMo 
which may be considered as basically revenue 
raising rather than regulatory measures shall 
be considered in determining whether the 

taxpayer is subject to one (1) of the taxes 
specified in section 32.200 (Article IV.3(1)), 
RSMo in another state. 

(A) Example: State A requires all nonresi-
dent corporations which qualify or register in 
State A to pay to the secretary of state an 
annual license fee or tax for the privilege of 
doing business in the state regardless of 
whether the privilege is in fact exercised. The 
amount paid is determined according to the 
total authorized capital stock of the corpora-
tion; the rates are progressively higher by 
bracketed amounts. The statute set a mini-
mum fee of fifty dollars ($50) and a maxi-
mum fee of five hundred dollars ($500). 
Failure to pay the tax bars a corporation from 
utilizing the state courts for enforcement of 
its rights. State A also imposes a corporation 
income tax. Nonresident Corporation X is 
qualified in State A and pays the required fee 
to the secretary of state but does not carry on 
any business activity in State A (although it 
may utilize the courts of State A). 
Corporation X is not taxable in State A. 

(B) Example: Same facts as in subsection 
(17)(A) of this rule except that Corporation X 
is subject to and pays the corporation income 
tax. Payment is prima facie evidence that 
Corporation X is subject to the net income 
tax of State A and is taxable in State A. 

(C) Example: State B requires all nonresi-
dent corporations qualified or registered in 
State B to pay to the secretary of state an 
annual permit fee or tax for doing business in 
the state. The base of the fee or tax is the sum 
of outstanding capital stock, surplus and 
undivided profits. The fee or tax base attrib-
utable to State B is determined by a three 
(3)-factor apportionment formula. Nonre -
sident Corporation X which operates a plant 
in State B pays the required fee or tax to the 
secretary of state. Corporation X is taxable in 
State B. 

(D) Example: State A has a Corporation 
franchise tax measured by net income for the 
privilege of doing business in that state. 
Corporation X files a return based upon its 
business activity in the state but the amount 
of computed liability is less than the mini-
mum tax. Corporation X pays the minimum 
tax. Corporation X is subject to State A’s cor-
poration franchise tax. 

(18) Taxable in Another State. The second 
test, that of section 32.200 (Article IV.3(2)), 
RSMo, applies if the taxpayer’s business 
activity is sufficient to give the state jurisdic-
tion to impose a net income tax by reason of 
the business activity under the Constitution 
and statutes of the United States. Jurisdiction 

to tax is not present where the state is prohib-
ited from imposing the tax by reason of the 
provisions of P.L. 86-272, 15 U.S.C.A. 
Sections 381–385. In the case of any state as 
defined in section 32.200 (Article IV.1(8)), 
RSMo, other than a state of the United States 
or political subdivision of that state, the 
determination of whether that state has juris-
diction to subject the taxpayer to a net income 
tax shall be made as though the jurisdictional 
standard applicable to a state of the United 
States applies in that state. If jurisdiction is 
otherwise present, that state is not considered 
as without jurisdiction by reason of the provi-
sions of a treaty between that state and the 
United States. Example: Corporation X is 
actively engaged in manufacturing farm 
equipment in State A and in Foreign Country 
B. Both State A and Foreign Country B 
impose a net income tax but Foreign Country 
B exempts corporations engaged in manufac-
turing farm equipment. Corporation X is sub-
ject to the jurisdiction of State A and Foreign 
Country B. 

(19) Apportionment Formula. All business 
income of each trade or business of the tax-
payer shall be apportioned to this state by use 
of the apportionment formula set forth in 
32.200 (Article IV.9), RSMo. The elements 
of the apportionment formula are the proper-
ty factor (see sections (20)–(24) of this rule), 
the payroll factor (see sections (34)–(41) of 
this rule) and the sales factor (see sections 
(42)–(46) of this rule) of the trade or business 
of the taxpayer. 

(20) Property Factor—In General. The prop-
erty factor of the apportionment formula for 
each trade or business of the taxpayer shall 
include all real and tangible personal proper-
ty owned or rented by the taxpayer and used 
during the tax period in the regular course of 
that trade or business. The term real and tan-
gible personal property includes land, build-
ings, machinery, stocks of goods, equipment 
and other real and tangible personal property 
but does not include coin or currency. 
Property used in connection with the produc-
tion of nonbusiness income shall be excluded 
from the property factor. Property used both 
in the regular course of taxpayer’s trade or 
business and in the production of nonbusiness 
income shall be included in the factor only to 
the extent the property is used in the regular 
course of taxpayer’s trade or business. The 
method of determining that portion of the 
value to be included in the factor will depend 
upon the facts of each case. The property fac-
tor shall include the average value of property 
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includable in the factor (see sections (31)–
(33) of this rule). 

(21) Property Factor—Property Used for the 
Production of Business Income. Property 
shall be included in the property factor if it is 
actually used or is available for or capable of 
being used during the tax period in the regu-
lar course of the trade or business of the tax-
payer. Property held as reserves or standby 
facilities or property held as a reserve source 
of materials shall be included in the factor. 
For example, a plant temporarily idle or raw 
material reserves not currently being 
processed are includable in the factor. 
Property or equipment under construction 
during the tax period (except inventory type 
goods in process) shall be excluded from the 
factor until that property is actually used in 
the regular course of the trade or business of 
the taxpayer. If the property is partially used 
in the regular course of the trade or business 
of the taxpayer while under construction, the 
value of the property to the extent used shall 
be included in the property factor. Property 
used in the regular course of the trade or 
business of the taxpayer shall remain in the 
property factor until its permanent withdraw-
al is established by an identifiable event such 
as its conversion to the production of non-
business income, its sale or the lapse of an 
extended period of time (normally five (5) 
years) during which the property is held for 
sale. 

(A) Example: Taxpayer closed its manufac-
turing plant in State X and held the property 
for sale. The property remained vacant until 
its sale one (1) year later. The value of the 
manufacturing plant is included in the prop-
erty factor until the plant is sold. 

(B) Example: Same as subsection (21)(A) 
of this rule except that the property was rent-
ed until the plant was sold. The plant is 
included in the property factor until the plant 
is sold. 

(C) Example: Taxpayer closed its manufac-
turing plant and leased the building under a 
five (5)-year lease. The plant is included in 
the property factor until the commencement 
of the lease. 

(D) Example: The taxpayer operates a 
chain of retail grocery stores. Taxpayer 
closed Store A, which was then remodeled 
into three (3) small retail stores such as a 
dress shop, dry cleaning and barber shop, 
which were leased to unrelated parties. The 
property is removed from the property factor 
on the date the remodeling of Store A com-
menced. 

(22) Property Factor—Consistency in 
Reporting. In filing returns with this state, if 
the taxpayer departs from or modifies the 
manner of valuing property, or of excluding 
or including property in the property factor 
used in returns for prior years in the return 
for the current year, the taxpayer shall dis-
close  the nature and extent of the modifica-
tion. If the returns or reports filed by the tax-
payer with all states to which the taxpayer 
reports under section 32.200 (Article IV), 
RSMo of the Multistate Tax Compact or the 
Uniform Division of Income for Tax 
Purposes Act are not uniform in the valuation 
of property and in the exclusion or inclusion 
of property in the property factor, in its return 
to this state, the taxpayer shall disclose the 
nature and extent of the variance. 

(23) Property Factor—Numerator. The num-
erator of the property factor shall include the 
average value of the real and tangible person-
al property owned or rented by the taxpayer 
and used in this state during the tax period in 
the regular course of the trade or business of 
the taxpayer. Property in transit between 
locations of the taxpayer to whom it belongs 
shall be considered to be at the destination for 
purposes of the property factor. Property in 
transit between a buyer and seller which is 
included by a taxpayer in the denominator of 
its property factor in accordance with its reg-
ular accounting practices shall be included in 
the numerator according to the state of desti-
nation. The value of mobile or movable prop-
erty, such as construction equipment, trucks 
or leased electronic equipment, which are 
located within and without this state during 
the tax period shall be determined for purpos-
es of the numerator of the factor on the basis 
of total time within the state during the tax 
period. An automobile assigned to a traveling 
employee shall be included in the numerator 
of the factor or the state to which the employ-
ee’s compensation is assigned under that pay-
roll factor or in the numerator of the state in 
which the automobile is licensed. 

(24) Property Factor—Valuation of Owned 
Property. Property owned by the taxpayer 
shall be valued at its original cost. As a gen-
eral rule, original cost is deemed to be the 
basis of the property for federal income tax 
purposes (prior to any federal adjustments) at 
the time of acquisition by the taxpayer and 
adjusted by subsequent capital additions or 
improvements and partial disposition, by rea-
son of sale, exchange, abandonment, and the 
like. 

(A) Example: The taxpayer acquired a fac-

tory building in this state at a cost of five 
hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) and 
eighteen (18) months later expended one hun-
dred thousand dollars ($100,000) for major 
remodeling of the building. Taxpayer filed its 
return for the current taxable year on the cal-
endar-year basis. Depreciation deduction in 
the amount of twenty-two thousand dollars 
($22,000) was claimed on the building for its 
return for the current taxable year. The value 
of the building includable in the numerator 
and denominator of the property factor is six 
hundred thousand dollars ($600,000) as the 
depreciation deduction is not taken into 
account in determining the value of the build-
ing for purposes of the factor. 

(B) Example: During the current taxable 
year, X Corporation merges into Y Corp -
oration in a tax-free reorganization under the 
Internal Revenue Code (IRC). At the time of 
the merger, X Corporation owns a factory 
which X built five (5) years earlier at a cost 
of one (1) million dollars. X has been depre-
ciating the factory at the rate of two percent 
(2%) per year, and its basis in X’s hands at 
the time of the merger is nine hundred thou-
sand dollars ($900,000). Since the property 
is acquired by Y in a transaction in which, 
under the IRC, its basis in Y’s hands is the 
same as its basis in X’s, Y includes the prop-
erty in Y’s property factor at X’s original 
cost, without adjustment for depreciation, 
that is one (1) million dollars. 

(C) Example: Corporation Y acquires the 
assets of Corporation X in a liquidation by 
which Y is entitled to use its stock cost as the 
basis of the X assets under Section 334(b)(2) 
of the 1954 IRC (that is, stock possessing 
eighty percent (80%) control is purchased 
and liquidated within two (2) years). Under 
these circumstances, Y’s cost of the assets is 
the purchase price of the X stock prorated 
over the X assets. 

(D) If original cost of property is unascer-
tainable, the property is included in the factor 
at its fair market value as of the date of the 
acquisition by the taxpayer. 

(E) Inventory of stock of goods shall be 
included in the factor in accordance with the 
valuation method used for federal income tax 
purposes. 

(F) Property acquired by gift or inheritance 
shall be included in the factor at its basis for 
determining depreciation for federal income 
tax purposes. 

(25) Property Factor—Valuation of Rented 
Property. Property rented by the taxpayer is 
valued at eight (8) times its net annual rental 
rate. The net annual rental rate for any item 
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of rented property is the annual rental rate 
paid by the taxpayer for the property, less the 
aggregate annual subrental rates paid by sub-
tenants of the taxpayer (see sections (61) and 
(62) of this rule for special rules where the 
use of the net annual rental rate produces a 
negative or clearly inaccurate value or where 
property is used by the taxpayer at no charge 
or rented at a nominal rental rate). 

(26) Subrentals. Subrents are not deducted 
when the subrents constitute business income 
because the property which produces the sub-
rents is used in the regular course of a trade 
or business of the taxpayer when it is produc-
ing that income. Accordingly there is no 
reduction in its value. 

(A) Example: The taxpayer receives sub-
rents from a baker’s concession in a food 
market operated by the taxpayer. Since the 
subrents are business income, they are not 
deducted from rent paid by the taxpayer for 
the food market. 

(B) Example: The taxpayer rents a five 
(5)-story office building primarily for use in 
its multistate business, uses three (3) floors 
for its offices and subleases two (2) floors to 
various other businesses and persons such as 
professional people, shops and the like. The 
rental of the two (2) floors is incidental to the 
operation of the taxpayer’s trade or business. 
Since the subrents are business income, they 
are not deducted from the rent paid by the 
taxpayer. 

(C) Example: The taxpayer rents a twenty 
(20)-story office building and uses the lower 
two (2) stories for its general corporation 
headquarters. The remaining eighteen (18) 
floors are subleased to others. The rental of 
the eighteen (18) floors is not incidental to 
but rather is separate from the operation of 
the taxpayer’s trade or business. Since the 
subrents are nonbusiness income, they are to 
be deducted from the rent paid by the taxpay-
er. 

(27) Annual rental rate is the amount paid as 
rental for property for a twelve (12)-month 
period (that is, the amount of the annual 
rent). Where property is rented for less than 
a twelve (12)-month period, the rent paid for 
the actual period of rental shall constitute the 
annual rental rate for the tax period. 
However, where a taxpayer has rented prop-
erty for a term of twelve (12) or more months 
and the current tax period covers a period of 
less than twelve (12) months (due, for exam-
ple, to a reorganization or change of account-
ing period), the rent paid for the short tax 
period shall be annualized. If the rental term 

is for less than twelve (12) months, the rent 
shall not be annualized beyond its term. Rent 
shall not be annualized because of the uncer-
tain duration when the rental term is on a 
month-to-month basis. 

(A) Example: Taxpayer A which ordinarily 
files its returns based on a calendar year is 
merged into taxpayer B on April 30. The net 
rent paid under a lease with five (5) years 
remaining is two thousand five hundred dol-
lars ($2,500) a month. The rent for the tax 
period January 1 to April 30 is ten thousand 
dollars ($10,000). After the rent is annual-
ized, the net rent is thirty thousand dollars 
($30,000) ($2,500 × 12). 

(B) Example: Same facts as in subsection 
(27)(A) of this rule except that the lease 
would have terminated on August 31. In this 
case, the annualized net rent is twenty thou-
sand dollars ($20,000) ($2,500 × 8). 

(28) Annual rent is the actual sum of money 
or other consideration payable, directly or 
indirectly, by the taxpayer or for its benefit 
for the use of the property and includes: 

(A) Any amount payable for the use of real 
or tangible personal property, or any part of 
that property, whether designated as a fixed 
sum or money, or as a percentage of sales, 
profits or otherwise. Example: A taxpayer, 
pursuant to the terms of a lease, pays a lessor 
one thousand dollars ($1,000) per month as a 
base rental and at the end of the year pays the 
lessor one percent (1%) of its gross sales of 
four hundred thousand dollars ($400,000). 
The annual rent is sixteen thousand dollars 
($16,000) – (($12,000) plus one percent 
(1%) of four hundred thousand dollars 
($400,000) or four thousand dollars 
($4,000)); and 

(B) Any amount payable as additional rent 
or in lieu of rents, such as interest, taxes, 
insurance, repairs or any other items which 
are require to be paid by the terms of the 
lease or other arrangement, not including 
amounts paid as service charges, such as util-
ities, janitor services, and the like. If a pay-
ment includes rent and other charges unseg-
regated, the amount of rent shall be deter-
mined by consideration of the relative values 
of the rent and the other items. 

1. Example: A taxpayer, under the terms 
of a lease, pays the lessor twelve thousand 
dollars ($12,000) a year rent plus taxes in the 
amount of two thousand dollars ($2,000) and 
interest on a mortgage in the amount of one 
thousand dollars ($1,000). The annual rent is 
fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000). 

2. Example: A taxpayer stores part of its 
inventory in a public warehouse. The total 

charge for the year was one thousand dollars 
($1,000) of which seven hundred dollars 
($700) was for the use of storage space and 
three hundred dollars ($300) for inventory 
insurance, handling and shipping charges, 
and cash on delivery collections. The annual 
rent is seven hundred dollars ($700). 

(29) Annual rent does not include incidental 
day-to-day expenses such as hotel or motel 
accommodations,  daily rental of automobiles 
and the like. 

(30) Leasehold improvements, for the pur-
poses of the property factor, shall be treated 
as property owned by the taxpayer regardless 
of whether the taxpayer is entitled to remove 
the improvements or the improvements revert 
to the lessor upon expiration of the lease. 
Hence, the original cost of leasehold 
improvements shall be included in the factor. 

(31) Property Factor—Averaging Property 
Values. As a general rule, the average value of 
property owned by the taxpayer shall be 
determined by averaging the values at the 
beginning and ending of the tax period. 
However, the director of revenue may require 
or allow averaging by monthly values if that 
method of averaging is required to properly 
reflect the average value of the taxpayer’s 
property for the tax period. 

(32) Averaging by monthly values will gener-
ally be applied if substantial fluctuations in 
the values of the property exist during the tax 
period or where property is acquired after the 
beginning of the tax period or disposed of 
before the end of the tax period. Example: 
The monthly value of the taxpayer’s property 
was as follows: 
     January                                $  2,000 
     February                               $  2,000 
     March                                  $  3,000 
     April                                    $  3,500 
     May                                     $  4,500 
     June                                     $ 10,000 
     July                                     $ 15,000 
     August                                 $ 17,000 
     September                            $ 23,000 
     October                                $ 25,000 
     November                             $ 13,000 
     December                             $    200 
                        Total               $120,000 

The average value of the taxpayer’s property 
includable in the property factor for the 
income year is determined as follows: 

$120,000 
= $10,000

 
                    12
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(33) Averaging with respect to rented proper-
ty is achieved automatically by the method of 
determining the net annual rental rate of that 
property as set forth in sections (25)–(30) of 
this rule. 

(34) Payroll Factor—In General. The payroll 
factor of the apportionment formula for each 
trade or business of the taxpayer shall include 
the total amount paid by the taxpayer in the 
regular course of its trade or business for 
compensation during the tax period. 

(35) The total amount paid to employees is 
determined upon the basis of the taxpayer’s 
accounting method. If the taxpayer has adopt-
ed the accrual method of accounting, all com-
pensation properly accrued shall be deemed 
to have been paid. Notwithstanding the tax-
payer’s method of accounting, at the election 
of the taxpayer, compensation paid to 
employees may be included in the payroll fac-
tor by use of the cash method if the taxpayer 
is required to report that compensation under 
the method for unemployment compensation 
purposes. The compensation of any employee 
on account of activities which are connected 
with the production of nonbusiness income 
shall be excluded from the factor. 

(A) Example: The taxpayer uses some of 
its employees in the construction of a storage 
building which, upon completion, is used in 
the regular course of taxpayer’s trade or busi-
ness. The wages paid to those employees are 
treated as a capital expenditure by the taxpay-
er. The amount of those wages is included in 
the payroll factor. 

(B) Example: The taxpayer owns various 
securities which it holds as an investment 
separate and apart from its trade or business. 
The management of the taxpayer’s investment 
portfolio is the only duty of Mr. X, an 
employee. The salary paid for Mr. X is 
excluded from the payroll factor. 

(36) The term compensation means wages, 
salaries, commissions and any other form of 
remuneration paid to employees for personal 
services. Payments made to an independent 
contractor or any other person not properly 
classifiable as an employee are excluded. 
Only amounts paid directly to employees are 
included in the payroll factor. Amounts con-
sidered paid directly include the value of 
board, rent, housing, lodging and other ben-
efits or services furnished to employees by 
the taxpayer in return for personal services; 
provided, that those amounts constitute 
income to the recipient under the federal 
IRC. In the case of employees not subject to 

the federal IRC (for example, those employed 
in foreign countries), the determination of 
whether the benefits or services would con-
stitute income to the employees shall be made 
as though those employees are subject to the 
federal IRC. 

(37) The term employee means any officer of 
a corporation, or any individual who, under 
the usual common-law rules applicable in 
determining the employer-employee relation-
ship, has the status of an employee. Generally 
a person will be considered to be an employ-
ee if s/he is included by the taxpayer as an 
employee for purposes of the payroll taxes 
imposed by the Federal Insurance Contribu-
tions Act (FICA); except that, since certain 
individuals are included within the term, 
employees in FICA who would not be 
employees under the usual common-law 
rules, it may be established that a person who 
is included as an employee for purposes of 
FICA is not an employee for purposes of this 
rule. 

(38) Return Consistency. In filing returns 
with this state, if the taxpayer departs from or 
modifies the treatment of compensation paid 
used in returns for prior years, the taxpayer 
shall disclose in the return for the current 
year the nature and extent of the modifica-
tion. If the returns or reports filed by the tax-
payer with all states to which the taxpayer 
reports under section 32.200 (Article IV), 
RSMo of this the Multistate Tax Compact or 
the Uniform Division of Income for Tax 
Purposes Act are not uniform in the treatment 
of compensation paid, the taxpayer shall dis-
close in its return to this state the nature and 
extent of the variance. 

(39) Payroll Factor—Denominator. The 
denominator of the payroll factor is the total 
compensation paid everywhere during the tax 
period. Accordingly, compensation paid to 
employees whose services are performed 
entirely in a state where the taxpayer is 
immune from taxation, for example, by P.L. 
86-272, is included in the denominator of the 
payroll factor. Example: A taxpayer has 
employees in its state of legal domicile (State 
A) and is taxable in State B. In addition the 
taxpayer has other employees whose services 
are performed entirely in State C where the 
taxpayer is immune from taxation by P.L. 
86-272. As to these latter employees, the 
compensation will be assigned to State C 
where their services are performed (that is, 
included in the denominator—but not the 
numerator—of the payroll factor) even though 

the taxpayer is not taxable in State C. 

(40) Payroll Factor—Numerator. The numer-
ator of the payroll factor is the total amount 
paid in this state during the tax period by the 
taxpayer for compensation. The tests in sec-
tion 32.200 (Article IV.14.), RSMo to be 
applied in determining whether compensation 
is paid in this state are derived from the 
Model Unemployment Compensation Act. 
Accordingly, if compensation paid to employ-
ees is included in the payroll factor by use of 
the cash method of accounting or if the tax-
payer is required to report the compensation 
under that method for unemployment com-
pensation purposes, it shall be presumed that 
the total wages reported by the taxpayer to 
this state for unemployment compensation 
purposes constitute compensation paid in this 
state except for compensation excluded under 
sections (34)–(41) of this rule. The presump-
tion may be overcome by satisfactory evi-
dence that an employee’s compensation is not 
properly reportable to this state for unem-
ployment compensation purposes. 

(41) Payroll Factor—Compensation Paid in 
This State. Compensation is paid in this state 
if any one (1) of the following tests, applied 
consecutively, are met: 

(A) The employee’s service is performed 
entirely within the state; 

(B) The employee’s service is performed 
both within and without the state, but the ser-
vice performed without the state is incidental 
to the employee’s service within the state. 
The word incidental means any service which 
is temporary or transitory in nature or which 
is rendered in connection with an isolated 
transaction; and 

(C) If the employee’s services are per-
formed both within and without this state, the 
employee’s compensation will be attributed to 
this state if— 

1. The employee’s base of operations is 
in this state. The term base of operations is 
the place of more or less permanent nature 
from which the employee starts his/her work 
and to which s/he customarily returns in 
order to receive instructions from the taxpay-
er or communications from his/her customers 
or other persons or to replenish stock or 
other materials, repair equipment or perform 
any other functions necessary to the exercise 
of his/her trade or profession at some other 
point(s);  

2. There is no base of operations in any 
state in which some part of the service is per-
formed, but the place from which the service 
is directed or controlled is in this state; or 
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3. The base of operations or the place 
from which the service is directed or con-
trolled is not in any state in which some part 
of the service is performed, but the employ-
ee’s residence is in this state. The term place 
from which the service is directed or con-
trolled refers to the place from which the 
power to direct or control is exercised by the 
taxpayer. 

(42) Sales Factor—In General. Section 
32.200 (Article IV.1(7)), RSMo defines the 
term sales to mean all gross receipts of the 
taxpayer not allocated under section 32.200 
(Article IV.5.–8.), RSMo. Thus, for the pur-
poses of the sales factor of the apportionment 
formula for each trade or business of the tax-
payer, the term sales means all gross receipts 
derived by the taxpayer from transactions and 
activity in the regular course of that trade or 
business. The following are rules for deter-
mining sales in various situations: 

(A) In the case of a taxpayer engaged in 
manufacturing and selling or purchasing and 
reselling goods or products, sales includes all 
gross receipts from the sales of those goods 
or products (or other property of a kind 
which would properly be included in the 
inventory of the taxpayer if on hand at the 
close of the tax period) held by the taxpayer 
primarily for sale to customers in the ordi-
nary course of its trade or business. Gross 
receipts for this purpose means gross sales 
less returns and allowances, and includes all 
interest income, service charges, carrying 
charges or time-price differential charges 
incidental to those sales. Federal and state 
excise taxes (including sales taxes) shall be 
included as part of the receipts if those taxes 
are passed on to the buyer or included as part 
of the selling price of the product; 

(B) In the case of cost plus fixed fee con-
tracts, such as the operation of a govern-
ment-owned plant for a fee, sales include the 
entire reimbursed cost, plus the fee; 

(C) In the case of a taxpayer engaged in 
providing services, such as the operation of 
an advertising agency, or the performance of 
equipment service contracts, research and 
development contracts, sales include the 
gross receipts from the performance of those 
services including fees, commission and sim-
ilar items; 

(D) In the case of a taxpayer engaged in 
renting real or tangible property, sales 
include the gross receipts from the rental, 
lease or licensing the use of the property; 

(E) In the case of a taxpayer engaged in the 
sale, assignment or licensing of intangible 
personal property, such as patents and copy-

rights, sales include the gross receipts from 
them; and 

(F) If a taxpayer derives receipts from the 
sale of equipment use in its business, these 
receipts constitute sales. For example, a truck 
express company owns a fleet of trucks and 
sells its trucks under a regular replacement 
program. The gross receipts from the sales of 
the trucks are included in the sales factor. 

(43) Exceptions. In some cases certain gross 
receipts should be disregarded in determining 
the sales factor in order that the apportion-
ment formula will operate fairly to apportion 
to this state the income of the taxpayer’s trade 
or business. 

(44) Return Consistency. In filing returns 
with this state, if the taxpayer departs from or 
modifies the basis for excluding or including 
gross receipts in the sales factor used in 
returns for prior years, the taxpayer shall dis-
close in the return for the current year the 
nature and extent of the modification. If the 
returns or reports filed by the taxpayer with 
all states to which the taxpayer reports under 
section 32.200 (Article IV), RSMo of this 
Compact or the Uniform Division of Income 
for Tax Purposes Act are not uniform in the 
inclusion of exclusion of gross receipts, the 
taxpayer shall disclose in its return to this 
state the nature and extent of the variance. 

(45) Sales Factor—Denominator. The denom-
inator of the sales factor shall include the 
total gross receipts derived by the taxpayer 
from transactions and activity in the regular 
course of its trade or business except receipts 
excluded under section (64) of this rule. 

(46) Sale Factor—Numerator. The numerator 
of the sales factor shall include gross receipts 
attributable to this state and derived by the 
taxpayer from transactions and activity in the 
regular course of its trade of business. All 
interest income, service, charges, carrying 
charges or time-price differential charges 
incidental to the gross receipts shall be 
included regardless of the place where the 
accounting records are maintained or the 
location of the contract or other evidence of 
indebtedness. 

(47) Sales of Tangible Personal Property in 
This State. Gross receipts from sales of tan-
gible personal property (except sales to the 
United States government; see section (54) of 
this rule) are in this state if the property is— 

(A) Delivered or shipped to a purchaser 
within this state regardless of the free on 
board (f.o.b.) point or other conditions of 

sale; or 
(B) Shipped from an office, store, ware-

house, factory or other place of storage in this 
state and the taxpayer is not taxable in the 
state of the purchaser. 

(48) Property shall be deemed to be delivered 
or shipped to a purchaser within this state if 
the recipient is located in this state, even 
though the property is ordered from outside 
this state. Example: The taxpayer, with 
inventory in State A, sold one hundred thou-
sand dollars ($100,000) of its products to a 
purchaser having branch stores in several 
states including this state. The order for the 
purchase was placed by the purchaser’s cen-
tral purchasing department located in State B. 
Twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) of 
the purchaser’s order was shipped directly to 
purchaser’s branch store in this state. The 
branch store in this state is the purchaser 
within this state with respect to twenty-five 
thousand dollars ($25,000) of the taxpayer’s 
sales. 

(49) Property is delivered or shipped to a 
purchaser within this state if the shipment 
terminates in this state, even though the prop-
erty is subsequently transferred by the pur-
chaser to another state. Example: The taxpay-
er makes a sale to a purchaser who maintains 
a central warehouse in this state at which all 
merchandise purchases are received. The 
purchaser reships the goods to its branch 
stores in another state for sale. All of taxpay-
er’s products shipped to the purchaser’s 
warehouse in this state is property delivered 
or shipped to a purchaser within this state. 

(50) The term purchaser within this state 
shall include the ultimate recipient of the 
property if the taxpayer in this state, at the 
designation of the purchaser, delivers to or 
has the property shipped to the ultimate 
recipient within this state. Example: A tax-
payer in this state sold merchandise to a pur-
chaser in State A. Taxpayer directed the man-
ufacturer or supplier of the merchandise in 
State B to ship the merchandise to the pur-
chaser’s customer in this state pursuant to 
purchaser’s instructions. The sale by the tax-
payer is in this state. 

(51) When property being shipped by a seller 
from the state of origin to a consignee in 
another state is diverted while enroute to a 
purchaser in this state, the sales are in this 
state. Example: The taxpayer, a produce grow-
er in State A, begins shipment of perishable 
produce to the purchaser’s place of business in 
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State B. While enroute, the produce is divert-
ed to the purchaser’s place of business in this 
state in which state the taxpayer is subject to 
tax. The sale by the taxpayer is attributed to 
this state. 

(52) If the taxpayer is not taxable in the state 
of the purchaser, the sale is attributed to this 
state if the property is shipped from an office, 
store, warehouse, factory or other place of 
storage in this state. Example: The taxpayer 
has its head office and factory in State A. It 
maintains a branch office and inventory in 
this state. Taxpayer’s only activity in State B 
is the solicitation of orders by a resident 
salesman. All orders by the State B salesman 
are sent to the branch office in this state for 
approval and are filled by shipment from the 
inventory in this state. Since taxpayer is 
immune under P.L. 86-272 from tax in State 
B, all sales of merchandise to purchasers in 
State B are attributed to this state, the state 
from which the merchandise was shipped. 

(53) If a taxpayer whose salesman operates 
from an office located in this state makes a 
sale to a purchaser in another state in which 
the taxpayer is not taxable and the property is 
shipped directly by a third party to the pur-
chaser, the following rules apply: if the tax-
payer is taxable in the state from which the 
third party ships the property, then the sale is 
in that state; and if the taxpayer is not taxable 
in the state from which the property is 
shipped, then the sale is in this state. 
Example: The taxpayer in this state sold mer-
chandise to a purchaser in State A. Taxpayer 
is not taxable in State A. Upon direction of 
the taxpayer, the merchandise was shipped 
directly to the purchaser by the manufacturer 
in State B. If the taxpayer is taxable in State 
B, the sale is in State B. If the taxpayer is not 
taxable in State B, the sale is in this state. 

(54) Sales Factor—Sales of Tangible Personal 
Property to United States Government in This 
State. Gross receipts from sales of tangible 
personal property to the United States gov-
ernment are in this state if the property is 
shipped from an office, store, warehouse, fac-
tory or other place of storage in this state. For 
purposes of this rule, only sales for which the 
United States government makes direct pay-
ment to the seller under the terms of a con-
tract constitute sales to the United States gov-
ernment. Thus, as a general rule, sales by a 
subcontractor to the prime contractor, the 
party to the contract with the United States 
government, do not constitute sales to the 
United States government. 

(A) Example: A taxpayer contracts with 
General Services Administration to deliver X 
number of trucks which were paid for by the 
United States government. The sale is a sale 
to the United States government. 

(B) Example: The taxpayer  as a subcon-
tractor to a prime contractor with the 
National Aeronautics and Space Administra-
tion contracts to build a component of a rock-
et for one (1) million dollars. The sale by the 
subcontractor to the prime contractor is not a 
sale to the United States government. 

(55) Sales Factor—Sales Other Than Sales of 
Tangible Personal Property in This State. 
Section 32.200 (Article IV.17.), RSMo pro-
vides for the inclusion in the numerator of the 
sales factor of gross receipts from transac-
tions other than sales of tangible personal 
property (including transactions with the 
United States government); under that sec-
tion, gross receipts are attributed to this state 
if the income-producing activity which gave 
rise to the receipts is performed wholly with-
in this state. Also, gross receipts are attrib-
uted to this state if, with respect to a particu-
lar item of income, the income-producing 
activity is performed within and without this 
state but  the greater proportion of the 
income-producing activity is performed in 
this state, based on costs of performance. 

(56) Income-Producing Activity. The term 
income-producing activity applies to each 
separate item of income and means the trans-
actions and activity directly engaged in by the 
taxpayer in the regular course of its trade or 
business for the ultimate purpose of obtaining 
gains or profit. This activity does not include 
transactions and activities performed on 
behalf of a taxpayer, such as those conducted 
on its behalf by an independent contractor. 
Accordingly, income-producing activity 
includes, but is not limited to, the following: 

(A) The rendering of personal services by 
employees or the utilization of tangible and 
intangible property by the taxpayer in per-
forming a service; 

(B) The sale, rental, leasing, licensing or 
other use of real property; 

(C) The rental, leasing, licensing or other 
use of tangible personal property; and 

(D) The sale, licensing or other use of 
intangible personal property. 

(57) The mere holding of intangible personal 
property is not, of itself, an income-produc-
ing activity. 

(58) Costs of Performance. The term costs of 

performance means direct costs determined 
in a manner consistent with generally accept-
ed accounting principles and in accordance 
with accepted conditions or practices in the 
trade or business of the taxpayer. 

(59) Receipts (other than from sales of tangi-
ble personal property), in respect to a partic-
ular income-producing activity, are in this 
state if the income-producing activity is per-
formed— 

(A) Wholly within this state; or 
(B) Both inside and outside this state and a 

greater proportion of the income-producing 
activity is performed in this state than in any 
other state, based on costs of performance. 

(60) Special Rules. The following are special 
rules for determining when receipts from the 
income-producing activities described in the 
following are in this state: 

(A) Gross receipts from the sale, lease, 
rental or licensing of real property are in this 
state if the real property is located in this 
state; 

(B) Gross receipts from the rental, lease or 
licensing of tangible personal property are in 
this state if the property is located in this 
state. The rental, lease, licensing or other use 
of tangible personal property in this state is a 
separate income-producing activity from the 
rental, lease, licensing or other use of the 
same property while located in another state; 
consequently, if property is within and with-
out this state during the rental, lease or 
licensing period, gross receipts attributable to 
this state shall be measured by the ratio which 
the time the property was physically present 
or was used in this state bears to the total 
time or use of the property everywhere dur-
ing that period. Example: Taxpayer is the 
owner of ten (10) railroad cars. During the 
year, the total of the days each railroad car 
was present in this state was fifty (50) days. 
The receipts attributable to the use of each of 
the railroad cars in this state are a separate 
item of income and shall be determined as 
follows: 

(10 × 50)=500 
× Total Receipts

 
              3650 
= Receipts Attributable to this State; and 

 
(C) Gross receipts for the performance of 

personal services are attributable to this state 
to the extent those services are performed in 
this state. If services relating to a single item 
of income are performed partly within and 
partly without this state, the gross receipts 
for the performance of those services shall 
be attributable to this state only if a greater 
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proportion of the services was performed in 
the state, based on costs of performance. 
Usually, where services are performed partly 
within and partly without this state, the ser-
vices performed in each state will constitute a 
separate income-producing activity; in that 
case, the gross receipts for the performance of 
services attributable to this state shall be mea-
sured by the ratio which the time spent in per-
forming the services in this state bears to the 
total time spent in performing the services 
everywhere. Time spent in performing ser-
vices includes the amount of time expended 
in the performance of a contract or other 
obligation which gives rise to the gross 
receipts. Personal service not directly con-
nected with the performance of the contract, 
or other obligation, as for example, time 
expended in negotiating the contract, is 
excluded from the computations. 

1. Example: Taxpayer, a road show, gave 
theatrical performances at various locations 
in State X and in this state during the tax 
period. All gross receipts from performances 
given in this state are attributed to this state. 

2. Example: Taxpayer, a public opinion 
survey corporation, conducted a poll by its 
employees in State X and in this state for the 
sum of nine thousand dollars ($9,000). The 
project required six hundred (600) man-hours 
to obtain the basic data and prepare the sur-
vey report. Two hundred (200) of the six hun-
dred (600) man-hours were expended in this 
state. The receipt attributable to this state is: 

$3,000 ( 200 × $9,000 = $3,000) 

                  600 

(61) Section 32.200 (Article IV.18.), RSMo 
provides that, if the allocation and apportion-
ment provisions of section 32.200 (Article 
IV), RSMo do not fairly represent the extent 
of the taxpayer’s business activity in this 
state, the taxpayer may petition for or the 
director of revenue may require, in respect to 
any part of the taxpayer’s business activity, if 
reasonable— 

(A) Separate accounting; 
(B) The exclusion of any one (1) or more 

of the additional factors; 
(C) The inclusion of one (1) or more addi-

tional factors which will fairly represent the 
taxpayer’s business activity in this state; or 

(D) The employment of any other method 
to effectuate an equitable allocation and 
apportionment of the taxpayer’s income. 

(62) Section 32.200 (Article IV.18.), RSMo 
permits a department from the allocation and 
apportionment provisions of section 32.200 

(Article IV), RSMo only in limited and spe-
cific cases. Section 32.200 (Article IV.18.), 
RSMo may be invoked only in specific cases 
where unusual fact situations (which ordinar-
ily will be unique and nonrecurring) produce 
incongruous results under the apportionment 
and allocation provisions contained in section 
32.200 (Article IV), RSMo. In the case of 
certain industries such as air transportation, 
rail transportation, ship transportation, truck-
ing, television, radio, motion pictures, vari-
ous types of professional athletics etc., the 
sections of this rule in respect to the appor-
tionment formula do not set forth appropriate 
procedures for determining the apportion-
ment factors. Nothing in section 32.200 
(Article IV.18.), RSMo or in sections (61)–
(64) of this rule shall preclude the director of 
revenue from establishing appropriate proce-
dures under section 32.200 (Article IV.10.–
17.), RSMo for determining the apportion-
ment factors for these industries, but those 
procedures shall be applied uniformly. 

(63) Special Rules—Property Factor. The fol-
lowing special rules are established in respect 
to the property factor of the apportionment 
formula: 

(A) If the subrents taken into account in 
determining the net annual rental rate under 
sections (25)–(30) of this rule produce a neg-
ative or clearly inaccurate value for any item 
of property, another method which will prop-
erly reflect the value of rented property may 
be required by the director of revenue or 
requested by the taxpayer. In no case, howev-
er, shall that value be less than an amount 
which bears the same ratio to the annual 
rental rate paid by the taxpayer for the prop-
erty as the fair market value of that portion of 
the property used by the taxpayer bears to the 
total fair market value of the rented property. 
Example: The taxpayer rents a ten (10)-story 
building at an annual rental rate of one (1) 
million dollars. Taxpayer occupies two (2) 
stories and sublets eight (8) stories for one 
(1) million dollars a year. The net annual 
rental rate of the taxpayer must not be less 
than two-tenths (2/10) of the taxpayer’s annu-
al rental rate for the entire year or two hun-
dred thousand ($200,000); and 

(B) If property owned by others is used by 
the taxpayer at no charge or rented by the tax-
payer for a nominal rate, the net annual rental 
rate for that property shall be determined on 
the basis of a reasonable market rental rate 
for the property. 

(64) Special Rules—Sales Factor. The follow-
ing special rules are established in respect to 

the sales factor of the apportionment formu-
la: 

(A) Where substantial amounts of gross 
receipts arise from an incidental or occasion-
al sale of a fixed asset used in the regular 
course of the taxpayer’s trade or business, 
those gross receipts shall be excluded from 
the sales factor. For example, gross receipts 
from the sale of a factory or plant will be 
excluded; 

(B) Insubstantial amounts of gross receipts 
arising from incidental or occasional transac-
tions or activities may be excluded from the 
sales factor unless the exclusion would mate-
rially affect the amount of income appor-
tioned to this state. For example, the taxpayer 
ordinarily may include or exclude from the 
sales factor gross receipts from transactions 
such as the sale of office furniture, business 
automobiles, and the like; and 

(C) Where the income-producing activity 
in respect to business income from intangible 
personal property can be readily identified, 
that income included in the denominator of 
the sales factor and, if the income-producing 
activity occurs in this state, in the numerator 
of the sales factor as well. For example, usu-
ally the income-producing activity can be 
readily identified in respect to interest income 
received on deterred payments on sales of 
tangible property (subsection (42)(A) of this 
rule) and income from the sale, licensing or 
other use of intangible personal property 
(subsection (56)(D) of this rule). Where busi-
ness income from intangible property cannot 
readily be attributed to any particular 
income-producing activity of the taxpayer, 
that income cannot be assigned to the numer-
ator of the sales factor for any state and shall 
be excluded from the denominator of the 
sales factor. For example, where business 
income in the form of dividends received on 
stock, royalties received on patents or copy-
rights, or interest received on bonds, deben-
tures or government securities results from 
the mere holding of the intangible personal 
property by the taxpayer, the dividends and 
interest shall be excluded from the denomina-
tor of the sales factor. 

(65) Single Trade or Business. The determi-
nation of whether the activities of the taxpay-
er constitute a single trade or business or 
more than one (1) trade or business will be 
established by the facts in each case. In gen-
eral, the activities of the taxpayer will be 
considered a single business if there is evi-
dence to indicate that the segments under 
consideration are integrated with, dependent 
upon or contribute to each other and the 
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operations of the taxpayer as a whole. The 
following factors are considered to be good 
indicia of a single trade or business and the 
presence of any of these factors creates a 
strong presumption that the activities  of the 
taxpayer constitute a single trade or business: 

(A) Same Type of Business. A taxpayer is 
generally engaged in a single trade or busi-
ness when all of its activities are in the same 
general line. For example, a taxpayer which 
operates a chain of retail grocery stores will 
almost always be engaged in a single trade or 
business; 

(B) Steps in a Vertical Process. A taxpayer 
is almost always engaged in a single trade or 
business when its various divisions or seg-
ments are engaged in different steps in a 
large, vertically structured enterprise. For 
example, a taxpayer which explores for and 
mines copper ores; concentrates, smelts and 
refines the copper ores; and fabricates the 
refined copper into consumer products in 
engaged in a single trade or business, regard-
less of the fact that the various steps in the 
process are operated substantially indepen-
dently of each other with only general super-
vision from the taxpayer’s executive offices; 
and 

(C) Strong Centralized Management. A 
taxpayer which might otherwise be consid-
ered as engaged in more than one (1) trade or 
business is properly considered as engaged in 
one (1) trade or business when there is a 
strong central management, coupled with the 
existence of centralized departments for func-
tions, such as financing, advertising, research 
or purchasing. Thus, some conglomerates 
may properly be considered as engaged in 
only one (1) trade or business when the cen-
tral executive officers are normally involved 
in the operations of the various divisions and 
there are centralized offices which perform 
for the divisions the normal matters which a 
truly independent business would perform for 
itself, such as accounting, personnel, insur-
ance, legal, purchasing, advertising or 
financing. 

(66) Combined Reports Prohibited. Returns 
which combine and apportion the taxable 
income of more than one (1) corporation are 
prohibited, except to the extent that they sat-
isfy the requirements of section 143.431.3., 
RSMo. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1986.* 
Regulation 1.32.200-IV was first filed Dec. 
30, 1975, effective Jan. 9, 1976. Amended: 
Filed Feb. 24, 1984, effective June 11, 1984. 
Amended: Filed July 2, 1985, effective Oct. 

11, 1985. Amended: Filed Oct. 8, 1986, 
effective Jan. 30, 1987. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 

In re Kansas City Star Co., 142 SW2d 1029 
(1940). Trial court did not err by rejection 
offered finding that state auditor had promul-
gated a rule during the years 1934, 1935 and 
1936 declaring the total net income of manu-
facturing and business companies subject to 
income tax unless they had a branch house or 
capital investment outside the state. This rule 
had been promulgated under former Missouri 
St. Ann, section 10115, but subsequently 
overturned by Supreme Court. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.076 Allocation and Appor-
tionment (Beginning on or After January 
1, 2020) 

PURPOSE: This rule interprets sections 
143.431 and 143.455, RSMo for purposes of 
the apportionment and allocation of a corpo-
rate taxpayer’s income where that taxpayer is 
taxable in another state.   

(1) Income Derived from Sources Within this 
State. On or after January 1, 2020, a corpo-
ration’s income derived from sources within 
Missouri is its federal taxable income allocat-
ed to Missouri or apportioned to Missouri 
pursuant to section 143.455, RSMo. Section 
143.455, RSMo replaces all methods and 
tests previously used in Missouri to apportion 
and allocate corporate income, including the 
‘source of income test’ and the Multistate Tax 
Compact three-factor method. 

(2) Definitions. 
(A) “Allocation” refers to the assignment 

of a portion of net income to a particular 
state. Any taxpayer subject to the taxing juris-
diction of this state shall assign all of its non-
apportionable income within or without this 
state in accordance with sections 143.455.5.-
143.455.9., RSMo. 

(B) “Apportionment” refers to the division 
of apportionable income between states by 
the use of a formula containing one (1) or 
more apportionment factors. 

(C) “Director” or “Director of Revenue” 
shall mean the Missouri Director of Revenue 
or his/her duly authorized agent or designee. 

(D) “Franchise tax,” as that term is used in 
section 143.455.4., RSMo and in this regula-
tion, means a tax, or a portion of a tax, 
charged for the privilege of doing business in 
a state. 

(E) “Gross receipts” are the gross amounts 
realized (the sum of money and the fair mar-
ket value of other property or services 
received) on the sale or exchange of property, 
the performance of services, or the use of 
property or capital in a transaction which 
produces apportionable income in which the 
income or loss is recognized under the 
Internal Revenue Code, and, where the 
income of foreign entities is included in 
apportionable income, amounts which would 
have been recognized under the Internal 
Revenue Code if the relevant transactions or 
entities were in the United States. Amounts 
realized on the sale or exchange of property 
are not reduced for the cost of goods sold or 
the basis of property sold.  

(F) “Net Income,” for purposes of section 
143.455, RSMo, means the taxpayer’s feder-
al taxable income, net of Missouri additions, 
subtractions and deductions; except, that in 
section 143.455.10., RSMo the phrase “net 
income” refers to that portion of the taxpay-
er’s federal taxable income, net of Missouri 
additions, subtractions, and deductions which 
also constitutes apportionable income. 

(G) “Petition” or “Petitioning,” as those 
terms are used in section 143.455.13.(2)-(3), 
RSMo, means the filing of written or elec-
tronic document(s) with the director at least 
sixty (60) days before the end of the tax year 
to which alternative apportionment is sought 
to apply, in the manner prescribed, and con-
taining the following information: 

1. The name and tax identification num-
ber of the taxpayer seeking alternative appor-
tionment; 

2. The name, telephone number, email 
address, and mailing address of each individ-
ual filing the petition on behalf of the taxpay-
er; 

3. A power of attorney form (Form 
2827) signed by an officer of the corporation 
authorizing the person(s) named in paragraph 
(2)(G)2. above to serve as an authorized 
agent with respect to any of the tax years to 
which the alternative apportionment may 
apply and all previous tax years that may be 
discussed in connection with the petition; 

4. A statement describing with particu-
larity the alternative apportionment method 
sought; 

5. A statement setting forth the facts and 
arguments from the facts to the conclusion 
that the ordinary allocation and apportion-
ment provisions of section 143.455, RSMo 
do not fairly represent the extent of the cor-
poration’s income applicable to this state; 

6. A statement setting forth the facts and 
arguments from the facts to the conclusion 
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that the alternative apportionment method 
sought by the taxpayer is reasonable; 

7. A Missouri tax return for the first tax 
year the alternative apportionment method is 
to be applied, completed using the ordinary 
apportionment and allocation provisions of 
section 143.455, RSMo, and prepared using 
reasonably estimated figures; and 

8. A Missouri tax return for the first tax 
year the alternative apportionment method is 
to be applied, completed using the alternative 
apportionment method sought, and prepared 
using reasonably estimated figures.  

(H) “Receipts” has the meaning given in 
section 143.455.3.(6), RSMo, with the fol-
lowing clarifications: 

1. Receipts from the maturity of a bond 
or other debt instrument are excluded from 
the definition of “receipts” used in section 
143.455.3.(6), RSMo; 

2. Receipts from the sale or exchange of 
a security are excluded from the definition of 
“receipts” used in section 143.455.3.(6), 
RSMo, even if the sale or exchange was made 
as part of a corporation’s regular business; 
and 

3. Receipts from the sale or exchange of 
currency, including foreign currencies or 
cryptocurrencies, are excluded from the defi-
nition of “receipts” used in section 
143.455.3.(6), RSMo. 

(I) “Receipts Factor” means the fraction 
stated in section 143.455.10., RSMo, the 
numerator of which is the total receipts of the 
corporation in Missouri during the tax period 
and the denominator of which is the total 
receipts of the corporation everywhere during 
the tax period. 

(J) “Securities,” means any interest or 
instrument commonly treated as a security as 
well as other instruments which are custom-
arily sold in the open market or on a recog-
nized exchange, including, but not limited to, 
transferable shares of a beneficial interest in 
any corporation or other entity, bonds, deben-
tures, notes, and other evidences of indebted-
ness, accounts receivable and notes receiv-
able, cash and cash equivalents including for-
eign currencies, and repurchase and futures 
contracts. 

(K) “Taxpayer” or “Entity” means any 
individual, corporation, partnership, firm, 
association, or governmental unit. 

(L) “Ultimate beneficiary of the service,” 
as that term is used in section 
143.455.12.(1)(c), RSMo and except for bar-
tering or similar in-kind transactions, means 
the entity that receives benefit or value from, 
but does not also receive monetary or credit-
based payment (other than refunds, cashback, 

or discount-equivalents) in direct connection 
with, the service at issue. Examples of the 
ultimate beneficiary of the service include: 

1. For entertainment services, the indi-
vidual(s) viewing, interacting with, experi-
encing, or otherwise deriving entertainment 
value from such services; 

2. For education services, the individ-
ual(s) receiving instruction, teaching, coach-
ing, or lectures from the education provider, 
regardless of the medium used to transmit 
such educational content (e.g. telephonically 
or by internet or mail); 

3. For investment advising or invest-
ment management services, the location of 
the ultimate investor, determined by ignoring 
investment intermediaries such as investment 
funds; and 

4. For advertising services, the entities 
which have their products, services, or mes-
sages advertised through the provider of 
advertising services.  

(3) Apportionable Income. All income is pre-
sumed to be apportionable unless it is clearly 
nonapportionable under the U.S. Constitution 
or the laws of this state. Sections 143.455.5. 
through 143.455.9., RSMo provide for the 
allocation of certain categories of income only 
if that income is nonapportionable. In general 
all transactions and activities of the taxpayer 
which are dependent upon, or contribute to, 
the operations of the taxpayer’s economic 
enterprise as a whole constitute the taxpayer’s 
trade or business and will be transactions and 
activity arising in the regular course of, or 
will constitute integral parts of, a trade or 
business. Income from such transactions and 
activities is apportionable income, although 
the concept of apportionable income extends 
to all income of the taxpayer unless nonap-
portionable. 

(4) Accounting Terms and Classification 
Conventions. The categories and terms to 
describe income items used in financial or 
other forms of accounting, or as conventions 
by any taxpayer or industry, are not conclu-
sive in determining whether any item of 
income constitutes apportionable or nonap-
portionable income. The classification of 
income by the labels occasionally used, such 
as manufacturing income, compensation for 
services, sales income, interest, dividends, 
rents, royalties, gains, operating income, non-
operating income, and the like, is not conclu-
sive in determining whether income is appor-
tionable or nonapportionable income.  

(5) Taxable in Another State. For purposes of 
section 143.455.4.(2), RSMo, another state 
has jurisdiction to subject the taxpayer to a 

net income tax in the following circum-
stances. The circumstances provided are non-
exclusive and a taxpayer may be subject to a 
net income tax in another state even if it fails 
to meet any of the following: 

(A) The taxpayer has its commercial domi-
cile in another state; or 

(B) The taxpayer derives income from a 
part of its unitary business in another state, 
and that taxpayer is not entitled to the protec-
tions of the Interstate Income Act of 1959 
with respect to that state. 

Even if a state cannot impose a tax on a tax-
payer’s net income by operation of the 
Interstate Income Act of 1959, a taxpayer is 
still taxable in that state if the taxpayer is sub-
ject to a franchise measured by net income, a 
franchise tax for the privilege of doing busi-
ness, or a corporate stock tax in that state. A 
taxpayer is not taxable in another state with 
respect to a particular trade or business mere-
ly because the taxpayer conducts activities in 
the other state pertaining to the production of 
nonapportionable income or business activi-
ties relating to a separate trade or business 
not taxable by that state under the U.S. 
Constitution. 

(6) Consistency in Reporting. In filing returns 
with this state, if the taxpayer departs from or 
modifies the manner in which the same item 
of income has been classified as apportion-
able income or nonapportionable income in 
returns for prior years, the taxpayer shall dis-
close in an attachment to the return for the 
current year the nature and extent of the mod-
ification. 

(7) Taxable In Another State—Reporting. 
Any taxpayer which asserts that it is subject 
to one (1) of the taxes generally described in 
section 143.455.4., RSMo in another state 
shall furnish to the director, upon his/her 
request, evidence to support the assertion. 
The director may request proof the taxpayer 
has filed the requisite tax return in the other 
state and has paid any taxes imposed under 
the law of the other state. The taxpayer’s fail-
ure to produce proof may be taken into 
account in determining whether the taxpayer 
in fact is subject to tax in another state. If the 
taxpayer pays a minimal fee for qualification, 
organization, or for the privilege of doing 
business in the state, but does not actually 
engage in business activity in that state, or 
does actually engage in some business activi-
ty, not sufficient for income tax, franchise 
tax, or stock tax nexus, and the minimum tax 
bears no relation to the taxpayer’s business 
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activity within that state, the taxpayer is not 
subject to tax in another state for purposes of 
section 143.455.4., RSMo. 

(A) Example: State A has a corporation 
franchise tax measured by net income for the 
privilege of doing business in that state. 
Corporation X files a return and pays the 
fifty-dollar ($50) minimum tax, although it 
carries on no business activity in State A. 
Corporation X is not taxable in State A. 

(8) Taxability. The concept of taxability in 
another state is based upon the premise that 
every state in which the taxpayer is engaged 
in business activity may impose an income, 
franchise, or stock tax even though every 
state does not do so. In states which do not 
impose such taxes, other types of taxes, fees, 
or even penalties may be imposed as a substi-
tute for an income, franchise, or stock tax. 
Therefore, only those taxes generally 
described in section 143.455.4., RSMo, 
which are essentially revenue raising, rather 
than penalties or occupational/business 
licenses that are not essentially revenue rais-
ing, shall be considered in determining 
whether the taxpayer is subject to one of the 
taxes generally described in section 
143.455.4., RSMo, in another state. 
Jurisdiction to tax is not present where the 
state is prohibited from imposing the tax by 
reason of the provisions of P.L. 86-272, 15 
USCA Sections 381-385, and is further pro-
hibited by federal law from imposing a fran-
chise tax measured by net income or for the 
privilege of doing business, or a corporate 
stock tax. 

(A) Example: State A requires all nonresi-
dent corporations which qualify or register in 
State A to pay to the secretary of state an 
annual license fee or tax for the privilege of 
doing business in the state regardless of 
whether the privilege is in fact exercised. The 
amount paid is determined according to the 
total authorized capital stock of the corpora-
tion, and the rates are progressively higher by 
bracketed amounts. The statute sets a mini-
mum fee of fifty dollars ($50) and a maxi-
mum fee of five hundred dollars ($500). 
Failure to pay the tax bars a corporation from 
utilizing the state courts for enforcement of 
its rights. State A also imposes a corporation 
income tax. Nonresident Corporation X is 
qualified in State A and pays the required fee 
to the secretary of state but does not carry on 
any business activity in State A (although it 
may utilize the courts of State A). 
Corporation X is not taxable in State A. 

(B) Example: Same facts as in the previous 
subsection except that Corporation X is sub-

ject to and pays the corporation income tax. 
Payment is prima facie evidence that 
Corporation X is subject to the net income 
tax of State A and is taxable in State A. 

(C) Example: State B requires all nonresi-
dent corporations qualified or registered in 
State B to pay to the secretary of state an 
annual permit fee or tax for doing business in 
the state. The base of the fee or tax is the sum 
of outstanding capital stock, surplus, and 
undivided profits. The fee or tax base attrib-
utable to State B is determined by a three-fac-
tor apportionment formula. Nonresident 
Corporation X which operates a plant in State 
B pays the required fee or tax to the secretary 
of state. Corporation X is taxable in State B. 

(D) Example: State A has a corporation 
franchise tax measured by net income for the 
privilege of doing business in that state. 
Corporation X files a return based upon its 
business activity in the state but the amount 
of computed liability is less than the mini-
mum tax. Corporation X pays the minimum 
tax. Corporation X is subject to State A’s cor-
poration franchise tax. 

(9) Receipts Factor. Generally, all gross 
receipts of a taxpayer that are received from 
transactions and activity in the regular course 
of the taxpayer’s trade or business are consid-
ered receipts for purposes of the receipts fac-
tor. Where a taxpayer’s entire activity in the 
regular course of trade or business is com-
posed of hedging transactions or the disposi-
tion of cash or securities, such that the 
denominator of the receipts factor would be 
zero, the total receipts factor shall be one 
hundred percent (100%); in such instances, 
taxpayers are invited to apply for alternative 
apportionment pursuant to section 
143.455.13., RSMo. Exclusion of an item 
from the definition of “receipts” is not deter-
minative of its character as apportionable or 
nonapportionable income. The following are 
additional rules for determining “receipts” in 
various situations: 

(A) In the case of a taxpayer engaged in 
manufacturing and selling or purchasing and 
reselling goods or products, “receipts” 
includes all gross receipts from the sales of 
such goods or products (or other property of 
a kind which would properly be included in 
the inventory of the taxpayer if on hand at the 
close of the tax period) held by the taxpayer 
primarily for sale to customers in the ordi-
nary course of its trade or business. Gross 
receipts for this purpose means gross sales 
less returns and allowances;  

(B) When property being shipped by a 
seller from the state of origin to a consignee 

in another state is diverted while en route to 
a purchaser in this state, the sales are in this 
state. 

1. Example: The taxpayer, a produce 
grower in State A, begins shipment of perish-
able produce to the purchaser’s place of busi-
ness in State B. While en route, the produce 
is diverted to the purchaser’s place of busi-
ness in this state in which state the taxpayer 
is subject to tax. Receipts from this sale by 
the taxpayer are attributed to this state; 

(C) In the case of cost plus fixed fee con-
tracts, such as the operation of a government-
owned plant for a fee, “receipts” includes the 
entire reimbursed cost plus the fee;  

(D) In the case of a taxpayer engaged in 
providing services, such as the performance 
of equipment service contracts or research 
and development contracts, “receipts” 
includes the gross receipts from the perfor-
mance of such services, including fees, com-
missions, and similar items;  

(E) In the case of a taxpayer engaged in the 
sale of equipment used in the taxpayer’s trade 
or business, where the taxpayer disposes of 
the equipment under a regular replacement 
program, “receipts” includes the gross 
receipts from the sale of this equipment. For 
example, a truck-based delivery company that 
owns a fleet of trucks and sells its trucks 
under a regular replacement program the 
gross receipts from the sale of the trucks 
would be included in “receipts”; and  

(F) For purposes of determining the 
receipts factor, receipts are presumed not to 
include: 1) damages and other amounts 
received as the result of litigation; 2) where 
the taxpayer is an agent of another, property 
acquired by that agent on behalf of another; 
3) tax refunds and other tax benefit recover-
ies; 4) contributions to capital; 5) income 
from forgiveness of indebtedness; 6) amounts 
realized from exchanges of inventory that are 
not recognized by the Internal Revenue Code; 
or 7) amounts realized as a result of factoring 
accounts receivable recorded on an accrual 
basis; and 8) repayment of loan principal.  

(10) Ultimate Beneficiary Approximation. In 
the event that the ultimate beneficiary is a 
corporation or other entity that owns, or 
operates in, locations in multiple states, and 
the extent to which the ultimate beneficiary is 
located in Missouri is not reasonably deter-
minable— 

(A) The extent to which the ultimate bene-
ficiary is located in Missouri may be reason-
ably approximated as the ratio of the ultimate 
beneficiary’s locations in Missouri to the 
number of its locations throughout the United 
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States;  
(B) If the ratio in subsection (10)(A) above 

is not reasonably determinable, the extent to 
which that ultimate beneficiary is located in 
Missouri may be approximated as the ratio of 
one to the number of states in which the ulti-
mate beneficiary operates; and  

(C) If the ratio in subsection (10)(B) is not 
reasonably determinable, the extent to which 
the ultimate beneficiary is located in Missouri 
may be approximated as fifty percent (50%). 
A taxpayer shall not be subject to an addition 
to tax for negligence in relying upon this 
approximation. 

(11) Alternative Apportionment by the 
Director. Consistent with section 
143.455.13., RSMo, the director may adjust 
a taxpayer’s return to utilize, or if no return 
was filed the director may utilize in estimat-
ing Missouri taxable income, an alternative 
apportionment method in order to equitably 
allocate and apportion the corporation’s 
income. In this event, a taxpayer adversely 
affected by this determination challenges 
such a determination by raising it as an issue 
in the taxpayer’s protest of a notice of defi-
ciency under section 143.631, RSMo, or 
refund denial under section 143.841, RSMo. 
Whether the director has proven the require-
ments of section 143.455.13.(3)(a)-(b), 
RSMo, by a preponderance of the evidence is 
a determination within the director’s discre-
tion. 

(12) Petition for Alternative Apportionment 
by the Taxpayer. A taxpayer may seek alter-
native apportionment under section 
143.455.13.(2), RSMo by filing a petition in 
the manner prescribed on the director’s web-
site or latest corporate income tax return 
instructions. A petition is subject to denial if 
it fails to comport with the definition of peti-
tion set forth in this regulation. A denial by 
the director may be appealed to the 
Administrative Hearing Commission consis-
tent with section 621.050, RSMo. 

(13) Transactions and Activity in the Regular 
Course of the Taxpayer’s Trade or Business. 
For a transaction or activity to be in the reg-
ular course of the taxpayer’s trade or busi-
ness, the transaction or activity need not be 
one that frequently occurs in the trade or 
business. Most, but not all, frequently occur-
ring transactions or activities will be in the 
regular course of that trade or business. It is 
sufficient to classify a transaction or activity 
as being in the regular course of a trade or 
business, if it is reasonable to conclude trans-

actions of that type are customary in the kind 
of trade or business being conducted or are 
within the scope of what that kind of trade or 
business does. However, even if a taxpayer 
frequently or customarily engages in invest-
ment activities, if those activities are for the 
taxpayer’s mere financial betterment rather 
than for the operations of the trade or busi-
ness, such activities are not in the regular 
course of the taxpayer’s trade or business. 
Examples of income from activity in the reg-
ular course of the taxpayer’s trade or business 
include, but are not limited to:  

(A) Income from sales of inventory, prop-
erty held for sale to customers, and services 
which are commonly sold by the trade or 
business; and 

(B) Income from the sale of property used 
in the production of apportionable income of 
a kind that is sold and replaced with some 
regularity, even if replaced less frequently 
than once a year. 

(14) Unitary Business of the Taxpayer.  
(A) A unitary business is a single econom-

ic enterprise that is made up either of sepa-
rate parts of a single entity or of a commonly 
controlled group of entities that are suffi-
ciently interdependent, integrated, or interre-
lated through their activities so as to provide 
synergy, mutual benefit, the sharing or 
exchange of value among them, or a signifi-
cant flow of value to the separate parts of the 
economic enterprise. This sharing, exchange, 
or flow of value may also be described as 
requiring that the operation of one (1) part of 
the business be dependent upon, or con-
tribute to, the operation of another part of the 
business. If the activities of one (1) business 
either contributes to the activities of another 
business or are dependent upon the activities 
of another business, those businesses are part 
of a unitary business. A single taxpayer may 
have more than one (1) unitary business. 

(B) A unitary business may exist within a 
single taxpayer or among a commonly con-
trolled group of taxpayers. A taxpayer’s for-
mal  business organization structure is not 
determinative of a taxpayer’s unitary busi-
ness. 

(C) The purpose of this subsection is to 
clarify the concept of “unitary business” to 
aid in determining a taxpayer’s apportionable 
income. A taxpayer’s apportionable income 
includes, but is not necessarily limited to, the 
income from one (1) or more unitary busi-
ness(es) of the taxpayer, any part of which is 
conducted within Missouri. An item of 
income is from a unitary business if it is 
described by either sections 

143.455.3.(1)(a)a. or 143.455.3.(1)(a)b., 
RSMo, but the concept of unitary business 
income is not necessarily limited to income 
described in those statutory provisions. 

(D) The factors of functional integration, 
centralization of management, and economies 
of scale, alone or in combination, provide 
evidence of whether a set of business activi-
ties constitutes a unitary business. Further 
indicators providing evidence of a unitary 
business include business activities in the 
same line of business or business activities 
which are steps in a vertical business process. 

(E) Nothing in this section should be con-
strued to create a “combined reporting” 
requirement under which a taxpayer is oblig-
ated to include in its consolidated group on 
its consolidated Missouri tax return all enti-
ties with which the taxpayer has a unitary 
business relationship.  

(F) A taxpayer’s unitary business is pre-
sumed to include, but is not presumptively 
limited to, the industry description within the 
North American Industry Classification 
System corresponding to the Principal 
Business Activity Code(s) reported on the 
taxpayer’s federal income tax return or relat-
ed filings. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 2016, 
and section 143.455, RSMo Supp. 2020. 
Original rule filed Sept. 8, 2020, effective 
March 30, 2021.   

*Original authority: 143.455, RSMo 2018 and 143.961, 
RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.080 Domestic International 
Sales Corporations 

PURPOSE: The director of revenue has the 
responsibility of administering the Missouri 
income tax laws and, in that capacity, is 
required to interpret the taxing statute. This 
rule sets forth the interpretation of Chapter 
143, RSMo by the Missouri Department of 
Revenue regarding income taxation of domes-
tic international sales corporations. 

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state 
has determined that the publication of the 
entire text of the material which is incorpo-
rated by reference as a portion of this rule 
would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. 
Therefore, the material which is so incorpo-
rated is on file with the agency who filed this 
rule, and with the Office of the Secretary of 
State. Any interested person may view this 
material at either agency’s headquarters or 
the same will be made available at the Office 



of the Secretary of State at a cost not to 
exceed actual cost of copy reproduction. The 
entire text of the rule is printed here. This 
note refers only to the incorporated by refer-
ence material. 

(1) Any corporation which satisfies the 
requirements of Section 992 of the Internal 
Revenue Code of 1954 for a taxable year and 
is excepted from the imposition of federal 
income taxes as a domestic international sales 
corporation (DISC) shall not be subject to the 
Missouri income tax on corporations for that 
same taxable year. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1986.* 
Original rule filed July 13, 1976, effective 
Oct. 11, 1976. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.085 Credit for New or 
Expanded Business Facility 

PURPOSE: This rule clarifies and carries 
out the provisions of the credit for a new or 
expanded business facility as provided in sec-
tions 135.100–135.160, RSMo. 

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state 
has determined that the publication of the 
entire text of the material which is incorpo-
rated by reference as a portion of this rule 
would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. 
Therefore, the material which is so incorpo-
rated is on file with the agency who filed this 
rule, and with the Office of the Secretary of 
State. Any interested person may view this 
material at either agency’s headquarters or 
the same will be made available at the Office 
of the Secretary of State at a cost not to 
exceed actual cost of copy reproduction. The 
entire text of the rule is printed here. This 
note refers only to the incorporated by refer-
ence material. 

(1) Employee shall be defined as provided in 
Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 
3121(d). To qualify as a new business facility 
employee under section 135.100(5), RSMo, 
an employee’s work must be in direct connec-
tion with the operation of the new business 
facility. A new business facility employee 
shall not include a person who works on the 
average less than twenty (20) hours per week 
throughout the taxable year or a person 
employed on a seasonal basis who works less 
than eighty percent (80%) of the days of the 
season customary for the position in which 
the person is employed. 

(2) The number of new business facility 
employees shall be determined, for each year 
the credit is claimed, as provided in section 
135.100(4), RSMo. The number of new busi-
ness facility employees shall be determined 
by dividing the sum of the number of new 
business facility employees on the last busi-
ness day of each month of the taxable year 
during which the new business facility was in 
operation by the number of full calendar 
months during the taxable period the facility 
was in operation. The number of new busi-
ness facility employees for each year must be 
at least two (2) more than the number of per-
sons employed during the year preceding the 
taxable year in which commencement of 
commercial operations occurs at the new 
business facility. In determining the number 
of new business facility employees pursuant 
to subdivision 135.100(4), RSMo, any major 
fractional portion (which shall be deemed to 
be fifty-one percent (51%) or more) shall be 
considered one (1) employee for purposes of 
calculating the credit. For any taxable year, if 
the number of new business facility employ-
ees falls below two (2), the taxpayer shall not 
be allowed any credit. The number of these 
years when the credit is not allowed shall be 
subtracted from the available ten (10)-year 
period of the credit. If the number of new 
business facility employees in any year again 
equals or exceeds two (2) and the ten 
(10)-year period has not ended, the taxpayer 
may again claim the credit in each of the 
remaining years in which there are at least 
two (2) new business facility employees. 

(3) Upon the change of ownership or lessee, 
the use of a facility must be changed substan-
tially from its previous usage to be eligible 
for the credit, unless the facility had previ-
ously qualified for the credit (see section 
(11)). This section shall not apply to the pur-
chaser of a new business facility who was the 
facility’s lessee immediately prior to pur-
chase. However, in this case, the credit shall 
be based upon the investment in the new busi-
ness facility. 

(4) “Depreciable tangible personal property,’’ 
as used in section 135.100(7), RSMo, shall 
mean the tangible personal property as 
defined in IRC Section 167 and both acquired 
and used within the year the credit is  
claimed. All real and tangible personal prop-
erty shall be deemed to be acquired and used 
in the first year of eligibility for the federal 
depreciation deduction. The property shall 
have the same original total cost used by the 
taxpayer for the depreciation deduction for 

federal income tax purposes. 

(5) New business facility investment shall be 
determined for each year in which the credit 
is claimed. All property shall be valued at its 
original cost basis, if owned, or eight (8) 
times the net annual rental rate if leased. If 
property is not regularly or periodically used 
by the taxpayer in the operation of the facility, 
the investment shall decrease by the original 
cost basis of the property. If the qualifying 
investment in the new business facility or 
expansion is increased, the increase may be 
used in the computation of the existing new 
business facility’s credit pursuant to the 
requirements of subdivision 135.100(4), (9) 
or (6), RSMo. For an expansion or improve-
ment to constitute a separate facility eligible 
for the credits, the investment must exceed 
either one hundred thousand dollars 
($100,000) or, if less, one hundred percent 
(100%) of the total investment (original cost 
plus improvements and additions less retire-
ments) in the original facility immediately 
prior to expansion. In the case of a facility 
qualifying under the exception in subdivision 
135.100(9), RSMo, the investment in the 
new facility must exceed either one (1) mil-
lion dollars or, if less, one hundred percent 
(100%) of the total investment (original cost 
plus improvements and additions less retire-
ments) in the old facility at the time commer-
cial operations were discontinued. 

(6) The credit may be used only in the year 
for which it is calculated. Unused credits are 
forfeited and may not be carried forward or 
back to other years. 

(7) A partner’s distributive share of the credit 
shall be determined by the relevant provisions 
of the partnership agreement. If no such pro-
visions exist, or if the purpose of the relevant 
provisions of the partnership agreement is tax 
avoidance, the share shall be determined by 
the provisions for the division of the general 
profits or losses as described in IRC Section 
702(a)(9). If a partner retires, dies or sells 
his/her interest in the partnership, his/her dis-
tributive share of the credit for the taxable year 
shall be determined in accordance with the 
regulations promulgated under IRC Section 
706. A shareholder of a corporation described 
in section 143.471, RSMo shall be allowed an 
amount of credit equal to the shareholder’s pro 
rata share of the credit as determined in accor-
dance with IRC Section 1377. The corporation 
or partnership shall provide to each sharehold-
er or partner the information relating to 
his/her share or interest. A corporation 
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described in section 143.471, RSMo or a 
partnership shall attach the following to its 
income tax return: 

(A) A list of shareholders or partners; 
(B) Each shareholder’s or partner’s pro-

portionate share of ownership in the corpora-
tion or partnership; 

(C) Each shareholder’s or partner’s Social 
Security number; 

(D) Each shareholder’s or partner’s pro-
portionate share of the taxpayer’s new busi-
ness facility income; and 

(E) Each shareholder’s or partner’s pro-
portionate share of the credit allowed under 
Chapter 135, RSMo. 

(8) The credit available to a new business 
facility, expanded facility or additional facili-
ty may be applied to up to one hundred per-
cent (100%) of the income tax liability on the 
taxpayer’ new business facility income. The 
credit may not be applied against a tax liabil-
ity incurred on income which is not attributed 
to a new business facility or the expanded 
portion of a facility which qualifies as a new 
business facility. 

(9) The election by the taxpayer to defer com-
mencement of the ten (10)-year period during 
which the credit is allowable is irrevocable. In 
the case of a corporation or partnership, the 
election shall be made by the entity and shall 
be binding upon all shareholders or partners. 

(10) To perfect the election to defer com-
mencement of the ten (10)-year period during 
which the credit is allowable, the taxpayer 
shall attach to its income tax return, for the 
taxable year in which commercial operations 
commenced at the qualifying facility, a writ-
ten statement providing the following infor-
mation: the location of the facility, the type of 
revenue-producing enterprise conducted at 
the facility, the number of new business facil-
ity employees employed at the facility, the 
number of employees employed at the facility, 
the number of employees employed in 
Missouri, the amount of new business facility 
investment in the facility, the amount of total 
investment employed in Missouri, the date of 
taxpayer’s acquisition of the facility, a 
description of the method of acquisition of 
the facility, a description of any past business 
activity at the facility, a description of previ-
ous ownership of the facility and a statement 
that the taxpayer elects to deter the com-
mencement of the credit to a specific taxable 
year. The taxable year specified may not be 
later than the third taxable year following the 
taxable year in which commencement of 
commercial operations at the new business 

facility occurs. 

(11) In order to continue to qualify as a new 
business facility in the hands of a transferee, 
the transferee must operate the facility, which 
qualified for the credit prior to transfer, in a 
revenue-producing enterprise and otherwise 
continue to qualify for the credit. 

(12) A transferor shall include with its income 
tax return a written statement to the director of 
revenue as required by subsection 135.130.3., 
RSMo, containing the following information: 
name, address and federal employer identifica-
tion number of the transferor; name, address 
and federal employer identification number of 
the transferee; the date of commencement of 
operations at the new business facility, copies 
of each Missouri New Business Facility 
Credit Form filed by the transferor for each 
year in which the credit provided in section 
135.110, RSMo was claimed; a description 
of the revenue-producing enterprise to be 
conducted by the transferee, if known; a full 
accounting of the investment of that portion 
of the facility to be retained by the transferor; 
a statement as to whether the transferor is 
related to the transferee as defined in section 
135.100(8), RSMo; and a description of the 
method of transfer (that is, lease, sale, gift, 
and the like). 

(13) Upon termination of the operation of a 
revenue-producing enterprise, the taxpayer 
shall notify the director of revenue of the ter-
mination in a written statement attached to 
the income tax return for the year in which 
the termination occurs. The notice shall 
include the following information: name, 
address and federal employer identification 
number of the taxpayer; the date of com-
mencement of operations at the facility; the 
date of termination of operations at the facil-
ity; a copy of each Missouri New Business 
Facility Credit Form filed by the taxpayer for 
the facility for each year in which the credit 
provided in section 135.110, RSMo was 
claimed; a copy of the written statement 
electing to defer commencement of the ten 
(10)-year period if applicable; a description 
of the revenue-producing enterprise conduct-
ed by the taxpayer at the facility prior to ter-
mination; the number of employees retained 
by the taxpayer but transferred to another 
operation of the taxpayer; information as to 
the disposition of investment in the facility; 
the reason for termination; the probability 
and possible date of resumption of operations 
and an accounting of any previous transfer 
under section 135.130, RSMo. Failure by the 

taxpayer to notify the director of revenue of 
termination as provided in this section shall 
be prima facie evidence that the termination 
was not due to reasonable cause. 

(14) The director of revenue will consider the 
following items as major factors in determin-
ing whether “resumption of operations of a 
revenue-producing enterprise at such new 
business facility will provide increased 
opportunities for employment and result in a 
substantial contribution to the economy of the 
state” and whether “the termination of oper-
ations was due to reasonable cause” pursuant 
to section 135.140, RSMo: the length of time 
that the facility was dormant, the number of 
new business facility employees retained by 
the taxpayer at other operations at the time of 
termination, and the number of new employ-
ees to be hired upon resumption of opera-
tions. A dormant period exceeding five (5) 
years shall constitute prima facie evidence of 
a lack of reasonable cause for termination as 
well as lack of increased opportunities and 
substantial contribution to the economy upon 
resumption of operations. 

(15) In the case of a member of an affiliated 
group of corporations who qualifies and 
elects to file a Missouri consolidated income 
tax return pursuant to subdivision 
143.431.3(1), RSMo, the computation and 
use of the credit allowed under sections 
135.100–135.160, RSMo shall be limited to 
that member’s separate income tax liability as 
though a separate income tax return was 
filed. 

(16) If the business is entitled to the credits 
established by sections 135.100–135.160, 
RSMo prior to designation of an enterprise 
zone, the designation of an enterprise zone 
does not change the character or amount of 
the prior credits. Any additional investments 
or employees by that business after designa-
tion of an enterprise zone and before the 
completion of the ten (10)-year period will be 
limited to the amount of credits available 
under sections 135.100–135.160, RSMo 
unless the additional investment and employ-
ees qualify by themselves under sections 
135.200–135.255, RSMo, in which case the 
additional investment and employees shall 
qualify for the credits under sections 
135.200–135.255, RSMo. In no case shall 
the same investment and employees be eligi-
ble for the credits available under both sec-
tions 135.100–135.160 and 135.200–
135.255, RSMo. 



(17) All procedural matters related to filing a 
claim under sections 135.100–135.160, 
RSMo including refunds, deficiencies, inter-
est, contents of returns, limitations and penal-
ties shall be determined pursuant to sections 
143.481–143.996, RSMo. 

AUTHORITY: section 135.150, RSMo 1986.* 
Original rule filed Jan. 15, 1985, effective 
June 13, 1985. 

*Original authority: 135.150, RSMo 1980, amended 
1980, 1986, 1991. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.090 Computation of Federal 
Income Tax Deduction for Consolidated 
Groups 

PURPOSE: This rule sets out the formula 
that will be used to determine the federal 
income tax deduction of a member of the affil-
iated group for each taxable year an affiliated 
group of corporations filed a federal consoli-
dated income tax return and did not file a 
Missouri consolidated income tax return. 

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state 
has determined that the publication of the 
entire text of the material which is incorpo-
rated by reference as a portion of this rule 
would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. 
Therefore, the material which is so incorpo-
rated is on file with the agency who filed this 
rule, and with the Office of the Secretary of 
State. Any interested person may view this 
material at either agency’s headquarters or 
the same will be made available at the Office 
of the Secretary of State at a cost not to 
exceed actual cost of copy reproduction. The 
entire text of the rule is printed here. This 
note refers only to the incorporated by refer-
ence material. 

(1) For each taxable year an affiliated group 
of corporations filing a federal consolidated 
income tax return does not file a Missouri 
consolidated income tax return, the federal 
income tax deduction of a member of the 
affiliated group shall be determined by apply-
ing the formula set forth as follows: 

(A) The group’s consolidated federal 
income tax liability under Chapter 1 of the 
Internal Revenue Code (IRC) for the same 
taxable year for which the Missouri return is 
being filed after reduction for all credits on 
the return, except for the credit for the over-
payment of any federal tax and the credits 
allowed by the IRC of 1954 by Section 31 (tax 
withheld on wages), Section 33 (tax on a for-
eign country and United States possessions) 

and Section 39 (tax on certain uses of gaso-
line, special fuels and lubricating oils) shall 
be multiplied by a fraction, the numerator of 
which shall be the federal taxable income of 
the member in question and the denominator 
of which shall be the sum of the federal tax-
able income of each member of the consoli-
dated group; and 

(B) The product computed in subsection 
(1)(A) shall be multiplied by a fraction, the 
numerator of which shall be the taxpayer’s 
Missouri taxable income (excluding any fed-
eral income tax deduction) from Missouri 
sources and the denominator of which shall 
be the Missouri taxable income (excluding 
any federal income tax deduction) as though 
the taxpayer had derived all of its income 
from sources within Missouri. 

(2) This rule applies to taxable years begin-
ning on or after June 11, 1984. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1986.* 
Original rule filed Feb. 24, 1984, effective 
June 11, 1984. Amended: Filed Aug. 17, 
1984, effective Dec. 13, 1984. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.105 Report of Changes in 
Federal Income Tax Return 

PURPOSE: Under the State Income Tax Law 
(section 143.011, RSMo), this rule establish-
es the proper procedures for reporting any 
change(s) in the taxpayer’s federal taxable 
income or federal income tax liability for the 
purpose of the determination of the correct 
state income tax liability. 

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state 
has determined that the publication of the 
entire text of the material which is incorpo-
rated by reference as a portion of this rule 
would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. 
Therefore, the material which is so incorpo-
rated is on file with the agency who filed this 
rule, and with the Office of the Secretary of 
State. Any interested person may view this 
material at either agency’s headquarters or 
the same will be made available at the Office 
of the Secretary of State at a cost not to 
exceed actual cost of copy reproduction. The 
entire text of the rule is printed here. This 
note refers only to the incorporated by refer-
ence material. 

(1) In General. If the taxpayer’s federal tax-
able income or federal tax reported on 
his/her federal income tax return is changed, 

the taxpayer shall file an amended return with 
the Department of Revenue reflecting the 
final determination. 

(2) Time of Notice. The taxpayer must report 
the change(s) within ninety (90) days after the 
final determination of the change(s) and pay 
any tax due. Interest is due pursuant to sec-
tion 143.731, RSMo. Failure to pay the tax 
due within ninety (90) days will result in 
additions to tax of five percent (5%). 

(3) Final Determination. For the purposes of 
this rule, the following shall be deemed a 
final determination: 

(A) Payment of any additional federal 
income tax, not the subject of any other final 
determination described in subsections 
(3)(B)–(F) of this rule; 

(B) The signing of a Federal Form 870 or 
other IRS form consenting to the deficien-
cies, accepting any over assessment shown on 
the form, or both. However, where the signa-
ture of an authorized representative of the 
IRS is also required, the final determination 
shall occur when the taxpayer receives notice 
of the signing by the IRS; 

(C) The expiration of the ninety (90)-day 
time period (one hundred fifty (150)-day 
period in the case of notice addressed to a 
person outside the United States and the 
District of Columbia) within which a petition 
for redetermination may be filed with the 
United States Tax Court with respect to a 
statutory notice of deficiency issued by the 
IRS, if a petition is not filed with that court 
within that time; 

(D) A closing agreement entered into with 
the IRS under Section 7121 of the Internal 
Revenue Code (IRC). The final determination 
shall occur when the taxpayer receives notice 
of the signing by the commissioner of internal 
revenue; 

(E) A decision by the United States Tax 
Court, United States District Court, United 
States Court of Appeals, United States Court 
of Claims or the United States Supreme 
Court which has become final, or the date the 
court approves a voluntary agreement stipu-
lating disposition of the case; and 

(F) The allowance of a tentative carryback 
adjustment in accordance with Section 6411 
of the IRC based on a net operating loss car-
ryback. 

(4) Requirements for Reporting Federal 
Change. An amended return shall be filed as 
specified in section (5) reflecting and explain-
ing all changes affecting the original return 
filed. In addition, a copy of the Summary of 
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the Federal Revenue Agent’s Report (com-
monly referred to as an RAR), a copy of a 
closing agreement entered into with the IRS 
under Section 7121 of the IRC or a copy of a 
final court decision, as appropriate, shall be 
submitted in support of the Report of Change. 

(5) Amended Returns. If a taxpayer files an 
amended federal income tax return, an 
amended state income tax return reflecting 
the same changes shall be filed with the 
Department of Revenue. The amended tax 
return and any additional tax due shall be 
filed and paid within ninety (90) days after 
the amended return is filed with the IRS or 
within ninety (90) days of the final determi-
nation. 

(6) Assessment. If a taxpayer fails to comply 
with the requirements of reporting a federal 
change as outlined in this rule, a notice of 
deficiency may be issued at any time within 
one (1) year after the director of revenue 
becomes aware of the change(s). The amount 
of any proposed assessment, set forth in the 
notice of deficiency, shall be limited to the 
changes outlined in the federal determination 
and how they affect Missouri taxable income. 
However, the limitations contained in this 
section shall not be construed to reduce the 
statute of limitations that would otherwise be 
applicable. 

(7) Claim for Refund Period. A taxpayer may 
file a claim for refund not later than one (1) 
year and ninety (90) days after the date of 
final determination as specified in section (3) 
except as provided in subsections 143.801.5. 
and 6., RSMo. The claim shall be limited to 
the changes set forth in the federal determina-
tion. The limitations contained in this section 
shall not be construed to reduce the statute of 
limitations that would otherwise be applica-
ble. Interest on a claim for refund filed after 
the ninety (90)-day period specified in section 
(2), will cease to accrue after the ninetieth 
day. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1994.* 
Original rule filed July 31, 1984, effective 
Jan. 12, 1985. Amended: Filed Sept. 1, 
1993, effective Jan. 31, 1994. Amended:
Filed Oct. 24, 1997, effective April 30, 1998. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 

 
12 CSR 10-2.110 Penalty for Filing Incom-
plete or Misleading Income Tax Returns 
(Rescinded December 26, 1985) 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1978. 
Original rule filed Aug. 13, 1984, effective 
Dec. 13, 1984. Rescinded: Filed July 23, 
1985, effective Dec. 26, 1985. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.115 Enterprise Zone Credit 
and Exemption 
(Rescinded July 30, 1994)  

AUTHORITY: section 135.250, RSMo 1986. 
Original rule filed Jan. 15, 1985, effective 
June 13, 1985. Rescinded: Filed Feb. 4, 
1994, effective July 30, 1994. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.120 Information at Source 
Reporting Requirements 
(Rescinded July 30, 2018) 

AUTHORITY: section 143.591, RSMo 1994. 
Original rule filed Jan. 15, 1985, effective 
June 13, 1985. Rescinded: Filed Jan. 18, 
2018, effective July 30, 2018. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.125 Cultural Contributions 

PURPOSES: This rule establishes the 
requirements and procedures for claiming the 
deduction provided in section 143.141, RSMo 
for contributions of literary, musical, scholar-
ly and artistic compositions. 

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state 
has determined that the publication of the 
entire text of the material which is incorpo-
rated by reference as a portion of this rule 
would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. 
Therefore, the material which is so incorpo-
rated is on file with the agency who filed this 
rule, and with the Office of the Secretary of 
State. Any interested person may view this 
material at either agency’s headquarters or 
the same will be made available at the Office 
of the Secretary of State at a cost not to 
exceed actual cost of copy reproduction. The 
entire text of the rule is printed here. This 
note refers only to the incorporated by refer-
ence material. 

(1) The itemized deduction authorized by sec-
tion 143.141(3), RSMo for cultural contribu-
tions will be allowed if the following require-
ments are met: 

(A) The taxpayer must itemize deductions 
on both the federal and Missouri returns for 
the tax year in which the cultural contribution 
is made; 

(B) The not-for-profit agency or institution 

to which the contribution is made must be 
exempt from taxation as specified in section 
501 of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC); 

(C) The taxpayer must be the original cre-
ator of the literary, musical, scholarly or 
artistic composition which constitutes the 
cultural contribution; 

(D) The cultural contribution must be 
appraised within one (1) year of donation by 
a qualified appraiser who is not a relative of 
the donor or donee as defined in Title 26, 
IRC section 168(e)(4)(D). The appraisal must 
contain a detailed description of the composi-
tion, the appraiser’s name, address, phone 
number and be signed and dated by the 
appraiser under penalties of perjury; 

(E) The appraisal must be attached to the 
income tax return and be accompanied by a 
sworn statement from the donor and donee 
which indicates acceptance, by both, of the 
fair market value fixed by the appraiser. The 
statement shall also show the actual date of 
the donation of the cultural contribution, the 
donor’s address and telephone number and 
the address where the composition may be 
viewed, if applicable; and 

(F) The cultural contribution and the 
appraisal are subject to review and approval 
by the Department of Revenue. The amount 
of the deduction for the cultural contribution 
shall not exceed the appraised value estab-
lished in subsection (1)(E) reduced by any 
amount deducted from federal adjusted gross 
income attributable to the contribution. 
Those parts of the federal income tax return 
pertaining to that deduction shall be attached 
to the Missouri return. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.591, RSMo 1994.* 
Original rule filed Jan. 15, 1985, effective 
June 13, 1985. 

*Original authority: 143.591, RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.130 Allocation of Taxable 
Social Security Benefits Between Spouses 

PURPOSE: This rule explains the proper 
method of determining and reporting the tax-
able portion of Social Security benefits in 
cases where both spouses have income. 

(1) Social Security benefits which are includ-
ed in federal adjusted gross income (AGI) 
must be allocated between spouses on the 
Missouri Individual Income Tax Return, 
Form 40. They must be allocated between 
spouses based on the proportionate share of 
gross Social Security benefits received by 
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each spouse, multiplied by the portion of the 
benefits included in federal taxable income. 
Example: A husband receives eight thousand 
dollars ($8,000) in Social Security benefits 
and the wife receives two thousand dollars 
($2,000), for total gross benefit of ten thou-
sand dollars ($10,000). The husband’s propor-
tionate share is eighty percent (80%) and the 
wife’s is twenty percent (20%). If four thou-
sand dollars ($4,000) in benefits were includ-
ed in federal taxable income, then the hus-
band’s allocated portion on the Missouri 
return would be three thousand two hundred 
dollars ($3,200) and the wife’s portion would 
be eight hundred dollars ($800). This is 
arrived at by multiplying four thousand dollars 
by eighty percent ($4,000 × 80%) for the 
husband and four thousand dollars by twenty 
percent ($4,000 × 20%) for the wife. These 
amounts must be used in calculating the 
Missouri AGI of the husband and wife. 

AUTHORITY sections 143.031, 143.111 and 
143.181, RSMo 1994.* Original rule filed 
Jan. 15, 1985, effective June 13, 1985. 

*Original authority: 143.031, RSMo 1972; 143.181, 
RSMo 1972, amended 1983 and 143.611, RSMo 1972. 
 
 

12 CSR 10-2.135 Frivolous Returns 

PURPOSE: This rule provides examples of 
misleading or incomplete returns and when 
the penalty for filing that return will be 
imposed. 

(1) A penalty of up to five hundred dollars 
($500) will be imposed for filing an incom-
plete or misleading income tax return. Any 
taxpayer(s) who files a misleading or incom-
plete return will be mailed a notice stating 
that fact. The notice will be sent, by regular 
mail, to the address on the return or the best 
address available. The taxpayer(s) will have 
ninety (90) days (one hundred fifty (150) days 
if the taxpayer(s) is outside the United States) 
from the date the notice is mailed to file a 
proper tax return. The date the notice is 
mailed will be the date of the letter unless 
shown to be otherwise by the taxpayer(s). 

(2) The filing of a legitimate return will not 
abate the assessment after the expiration of 
the time period for filing a legitimate return. 
Some examples of misleading or incomplete 
returns which will incur the penalty are listed 
in this rule, but are not limited to these exam-
ples only: 

(A) A return is filed on which the format 
has been changed without consent of the 
Missouri Department of Revenue; 

(B) A return is filed which the taxpayer 
claims s/he cannot legally pay because the 
United States Constitution requires gold or 
silver standard and not federal reserve notes 
as legal tender; 

(C) A return is filed on which the taxpayer 
claims to be a wage earner and refuses to pay 
or file a return because wages are not 
income; 

(D) Any instance where the taxpayer fails 
to file or complete a return citing violation of 
his/her constitutional rights; 

(E) A return is filed where the taxpayer 
lowers his/her income by discounting his/her 
income because of inflation or other factors; 
and 

(F) Any return filed which does not meet 
the previous criteria but is determined by the 
Department of Revenue to be misleading or 
incomplete for any other reason. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.773, RSMo 1994.* 
Original rule filed Jan. 15, 1985, effective 
June 13, 1985. Amended: Filed Aug. 14, 
1986, effective Nov. 28, 1986. 

*Original authority: 143.773, RSMo 1984. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.140 Partnership Filing 
Requirements 

PURPOSE: This rule explains the circum-
stances under which a partnership return 
shall be filed and the general contents of that 
return. 

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state 
has determined that the publication of the 
entire text of the material which is incorpo-
rated by reference as a portion of this rule 
would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. 
Therefore, the material which is so incorpo-
rated is on file with the agency who filed this 
rule, and with the Office of the Secretary of 
State. Any interested person may view this 
material at either agency’s headquarters or 
the same will be made available at the Office 
of the Secretary of State at a cost not to 
exceed actual cost of copy reproduction. The 
entire text of the rule is printed here. This 
note refers only to the incorporated by refer-
ence material. 

(1) All partnerships, as defined in the 
Internal Revenue Code (IRC) section 761, 
which have a resident partner, or any income 
derived from sources in this state shall file a 

properly completed return. This return shall 
be filed regardless of whether the partnership 
has elected not to file for federal purposes 
pursuant to section 761 of the IRC. 

(2) The return shall be made using Missouri 
Department of Revenue Form 65. Each 
return shall have attached to it a copy of fed-
eral Form 1065 and all its schedules, includ-
ing K-1. 

(3) An entity electing to be completely 
excluded from the partnership provisions of 
the IRC which has nonresident partners shall 
be required to file Form 65 containing only 
its name, address and required signature and 
attach a copy of federal Form 1065 and the 
statement required with that return for the 
first taxable year to which the exclusion 
applied. 

(4) An entity electing to be completely 
excluded from the partnership provision of 
the IRC shall not file if it has no nonresident 
partners. 

(5) The return shall be filed on or before the 
fifteenth day of the fourth month following 
the close of each taxable year. Taxable year 
means a year or period which would be a tax-
able year if the partnership were subject to 
tax under sections 143.011–143.996, RSMo. 

AUTHORITY: sections 143.091, 143.401 and 
143.581, RSMo 1994.* Original rule filed 
July 11, 1985, effective Dec. 26, 1985. 

*Original authority: 143.091, RSMo 1972, amended 
1989; 143.401, RSMo 1972; and 143.581, RSMo 1972. 

 
12 CSR 10-2.145 Regulation for Computa-
tion of Interest on Investment Tax Credit 
Carryback 
(Rescinded October 30, 2002) 

AUTHORITY: sections 143.601, 143.711 and 
143.731, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed 
Oct. 1, 1985, effective Dec. 26, 1985. 
Rescinded: Filed April 4, 2002, effective Oct. 
30, 2002. 

 
12 CSR 10-2.150 Tax Exempt Status of 
United States Government-Related Obliga -
tions 

PURPOSE: This rule notifies the public of 
the exempt or nonexempt status of United 
States government obligations pursuant to 
section 143.121, RSMo. 
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(1) Any obligations issued pursuant to the 
provisions of an Act of Congress of the 
United States known as the Farm Credit Act 
of 1971 are tax exempt. Obligations issued by 
the following United States government agen-
cies and other exempt entities are tax exempt: 
Banks for Cooperatives, Federal Intermediate 
Credit Banks, Federal Land Banks, Federal 
Home Loan Banks, United States Postal 
Service, Federal Housing Administration 
Debentures, Public Housing Notes and Bonds, 
General Services Administration, Small 
Business Administration, Tennessee Valley 
Authority, Student Loan Marketing 
Association, Treasury Bills and Bonds, United 
States Individual Retirement Bonds, United 
States Series E. Bonds, United States Series 
H. Bonds, Commodity Credit Corporation, 
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, 
Federal Farm Loan Corporation, Federal 
Financing Bank Obligations, General 
Insurance Fund, National Credit Union Cen-
tral Liquidity Facility, National Farm Loan 
Association, Public Debt, United States Cer-
tificates of Indebtedness, United States 
Freedom Shares, Zero Coupon Bonds, 
Certificate of Accrual on Treasury Securities 
(Cats), Zero Coupon Based Rate Adjustment 
Securities (Zebras), Treasury Investment 
Growth Receipts (Tigrs), Financial Corpora-
tion Bonds, Resolution Funding Corporation 
Bonds, Educational Institution Bonds, Fin-
ancing Corporation Obligations, Puerto 
Rican Bonds, American Samoa, Guam, 
Northern Mallana Covenant, Northern 
Mariana, Virgin Islands, Federal Farm Credit 
Banks and Junior College Building 
Corporation Bonds, Series B, 1988. 

(2) Obligations issued by the following 
United States government-related agencies 
are not tax exempt: Federal Home Loan 
Mortgage Corporation, Federal National 
Mortgage Association, Government National 
Mortgage Association, New Communities 
Debentures, Export-Import Bank of United 
States, Farmers Home Administration, 
Washington Metropolitan Area Transit 
Authority and Repurchase Agreements. 

(3) See 12 CSR 10-2.155 with respect to the 
Missouri income taxation of interest received 
from a mutual fund or regulated investment 
company. 

(4) The list of obligations provided in this 
regulation is not all inclusive. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1994.* 
Original rule filed Dec. 23, 1985, effective 

May 29, 1986. Emergency amendment filed 
Dec. 2, 1992, effective Jan. 1, 1993, expired 
April 30, 1993. Emergency amendment filed 
April 14, 1993, effective May 1, 1993, 
expired Aug. 28, 1993. Amended: Filed Dec. 
2, 1992, effective July 7, 1993. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 

31 U.S.C. 3124, Farmers & Traders State 
Bank v. Johnson, 458 NE2d 1365 (1984). 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.155 Regulated Investment 
Companies 

PURPOSE: This rule explains when a taxpay-
er may deduct or must add back income from 
a regulated investment company on its 
Missouri return. 

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state 
has determined that the publication of the 
entire text of the material which is incorpo-
rated by reference as a portion of this rule 
would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. 
Therefore, the material which is so incorpo-
rated is on file with the agency who filed this 
rule, and with the Office of the Secretary of 
State. Any interested person may view this 
material at either agency’s headquarters or 
the same will be made available at the Office 
of the Secretary of State at a cost not to 
exceed actual cost of copy reproduction. The 
entire text of the rule is printed here. This 
note refers only to the incorporated by refer-
ence material. 

(1) The term regulated investment company, 
(RIC or mutual fund) as used in this rule, 
shall mean an organization which meets the 
qualifications and has made the proper elec-
tion required by Internal Revenue Code (IRC) 
section 851. 

(2) Pass through of Exempt-Interest on 
United States Obligations. As used in this 
section, the term United States Obligations 
means those obligations described in section 
143.121.3(a), RSMo, including those obliga-
tions described in 12 CSR 10-2.150. An RIC 
having income from United States 
Obligations may pass the exempt character of 
that income through to its shareholders as 
state income tax exempt-interest dividends. 
To the extent provided in this section, this 
exempt-interest is allowable as a modification 
on the shareholder’s income tax return. The 
modification allowed will be the amount 
received by the shareholder as a state income 
tax exempt-interest dividend, less the 
amounts described in subsections (2)(A) and 

(B). A state income tax exempt-interest divi-
dend means any dividend or part of a divi-
dend paid by an RIC, attributable to United 
States Obligations (other than exempt-interest 
dividends as defined in Internal Revenue 
Code (Section 852(b)(5)) as determined by 
the RIC, and designated by the RIC as a state 
income tax exempt-interest dividend in a 
written notice mailed to its shareholders not 
later than sixty (60) days after the close of its 
taxable year. The notice also must state the 
amount of interest paid or expense incurred 
by an RIC in the production of the state 
income tax exempt-interest dividends. The 
taxpayer’s state income tax exempt-interest 
dividends shall be reduced by the amount 
of— 

(A) The federal corporate dividend 
received deduction attributable to the state 
tax exempt-interest dividends; and  

(B) Interest paid or expense incurred to 
produce the state tax exempt-interest divi-
dends, to the extent that the interest paid or 
expense incurred exceeds five hundred dol-
lars ($500) pursuant to section 143.121.3(a), 
RSMo. 

(3) A copy of the year-end statement received 
from the RIC identifying all United States 
Obligations by issuer or a summary docu-
ment indicating the percentage of dividends 
attributable to interest on United States 
Obligations must be attached to the Missouri 
income tax return when filed. The percentage 
referred to in the preceding sentence shall be 
identical for every person who was a share-
holder at any time during a calendar year, 
irrespective of whether that shareholder 
acquired or disposed of his/her interest dur-
ing that year. 

(4) Amounts excluded from federal taxable 
income on the taxpayer’s federal return as 
exempt-interest dividends, as defined in IRC 
section 852(b)(5), must be included in 
Missouri taxable income pursuant to section 
143.121.2(b), RSMo, to the extent that the 
interest from which they are derived would 
not be exempt from Missouri income tax if 
held directly by a resident. 

(A) Example: An RIC declares and pays a 
federal exempt-interest dividend pursuant to 
IRC section 852(b)(5) of 100x dollars to all of 
its shareholders. The dividend is therefore 
exempt from federal income taxation. 20x 
dollars of the federal exempt-interest paid is 
attributable to the net interest earned by the 
RIC on obligations issued by Missouri and its 
political subdivisions. 10x dollars of the fed-
eral exempt-interest dividend is attributable 



to the net interest earned on obligations of the 
territory of Puerto Rico, the interest on 
which, pursuant to federal law and section 
143.121.3(a), RSMo is exempt from 
Missouri income taxation. The remaining 70x 
dollars of the federal exempt-interest divi-
dend is attributable to the net interest earned 
on obligations from other states, the interest 
on which is not excludable from Missouri 
taxable income. An RIC may designate 30x 
dollars of the federal exempt-interest divi-
dend as a dividend which need not be includ-
ed in Missouri taxable income. Each share-
holder of the RIC may exclude thirty percent 
(30%) of his/her federal exempt-interest div-
idend (20x dollars plus 10x dollars divided by 
100x dollars) from Missouri taxable income. 
The remaining seventy percent (70%) of the 
federal exempt-interest dividend is includable 
in Missouri taxable income by the sharehold-
ers of the RIC pursuant to section 
143.121.2(b), RSMo. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1994.* 
Original rule filed Jan. 7, 1986, effective 
May 11, 1986. Emergency amendment filed 
Dec. 2, 1992, effective Jan. 1, 1993, expired 
April 30, 1993. Emergency amendment filed 
April 14, 1993, effective May 1, 1993, 
expired Aug. 28, 1993. Amended: Filed Dec. 
2, 1992, effective July 8, 1993. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 

 
12 CSR 10-2.160 State Income Tax 
Deduction Add-Back  

PURPOSE: This rule lends guidance to tax-
payers in determining the proportion of their 
state income taxes which must be added to 
Missouri adjusted gross income pursuant to 
section 143.141(1) and (2), RSMo.  

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state 
has determined that the publication of the 
entire text of the material which is incorpo-
rated by reference as a portion of this rule 
would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. 
Therefore, the material which is so incorpo-
rated is on file with the agency who filed this 
rule, and with the Office of the Secretary of 
State. Any interested person may view this 
material at either agency’s headquarters or 
the same will be made available at the Office 
of the Secretary of State at a cost not to 
exceed actual cost of copy reproduction. The 
entire text of the rule is printed here. This 
note refers only to the incorporated by refer-
ence material. 

(1) Background. Included in the Revenue 
Reconciliation Act of 1990 was a provision 
which required individuals with federal 
adjusted gross income over certain income 
thresholds to reduce the amount allowable for 
federal itemized deductions by three percent 
(3%) of the excess over that threshold (26 
U.S.C. 68). Certain deductions such as med-
ical expenses, investment interest and casual-
ty, theft or wagering losses are not subject to 
this reduction. The threshold amounts are 
adjusted annually for inflation.  

(2) Section 143.141, RSMo defines Missouri 
itemized deductions. This section allows a 
taxpayer who itemized at the federal level to 
elect to itemize at the state level. The state 
itemized deductions are those allowable by 
the federal government subject to certain 
modifications. One modification is that state 
income taxes included in federal itemized 
deductions must be subtracted to arrive at 
Missouri itemized deductions. Missouri does 
not allow state income taxes as an itemized 
deduction, where the IRS does allow state 
income taxes as an itemized deduction. 
Therefore, any state income tax included in 
federal itemized deductions must be eliminat-
ed to arrive at Missouri itemized deductions. 
For the remainder of this rule, this subtrac-
tion from federal itemized deductions will be 
referred to as an add-back. This term is used 
because when itemized deductions are 
decreased Missouri taxable income is 
increased. Hence, taxpayer is actually adding 
state income taxes to federal adjusted gross 
income to arrive at Missouri taxable income.  

(3) House Bill 1155, passed during the 86th 
General Assembly, changed the language in 
section 143.141(1) and (2), RSMo. 
Previously, taxpayers were required to add-
back all state income taxes regardless of any 
reductions at the federal level. This law 
changed the language regarding the state 
income tax add-back to read that Missouri 
itemized deductions, which begin with federal 
itemized deductions, must be reduced by the 
proportional amount of those deductions rep-
resenting any income taxes imposed by this 
state, another state of the United States or a 
political subdivision of the United States or 
the District of Columbia. This law is effective 
for all tax years beginning on or after January 
1, 1993. Under this new law, the amount of 
state income taxes added to Missouri adjusted 
gross income will be the ratio of state income 
taxes (numerator) over total reducible itemized 
deductions (denominator) multiplied by the 
total reduction in federal itemized deductions; 

this product is then subtracted from the pre-
reduction total of state income taxes shown on 
the federal return.  

(A) Example 1: Assume the federal thresh-
old amounts are $100,000 for married filing 
joint and $50,000 for married filing separate. 
Taxpayer’s filing status is married filing joint. 
federal adjusted gross income 
  (AGI)                                 $250,000  
 
Federal AGI in excess of $100,000 limit 

$250,000 – $100,000 = $150,000 
 
Three percent (3%) of amount in excess 
  of $100,000   $150,000 × 3% = $4,500 
 
Total itemized deductions             $20,000 
  $10,000 of state income taxes (reducible)  
  $10,000 in charitable contributions 
  (reducible)  
 
Allowable federal itemized  
  deductions  $20,000 – $4,500 = $15,500 
 
Ratio of state income taxes to  
  total reducible federal itemized 
  deductions   $10,000 ÷ $20,000 = 50% 
 
Portion of reduction of federal  
  itemized deductions attributable  
  to state income taxes 

$4,500 × 50% = $2,250 

State income tax added back  
  (amount of allowable federal itemized 
  deductions attributable to state 
  income taxes) 

$10,000 – $2,250 = $7,750 
 
Missouri itemized deductions 

$15,500 – $7,750 = $7,750 
  

(B) Example 2: Assume the federal thresh-
old amounts are $100,000 for married filing 
joint and $50,000 for married filing separate. 
Taxpayer’s filing status is married filing joint. 
Taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross income 
(AGI) is $80,000. Taxpayer has $30,000 in 
itemized deductions ($10,000 from each; 
state income taxes, charitable contributions 
and medical expenses). Because taxpayer’s 
federal AGI is below $100,000, his/her fed-
eral itemized deductions will not be reduced. 
Therefore, in calculating Missouri itemized 
deductions, the full amount of state income 
taxes ($10,000) which were included in fed-
eral itemized deductions, must be added-back 
to arrive at Missouri itemized deductions 
($30,000 – $10,000 = $20,000). 
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(C) Example 3. Assume the federal thresh-
old amounts are $100,000 for married filing 
joint and $50,000 for married filing separate. 
Taxpayer’s filing status is married filing joint. 
 
Federal AGI                            $250,000 
 
Federal AGI in excess of $100,000 limit 

  $250,000 – $100,000 = $150,000 
Three percent (3%) of amount in excess  
  of $100,000   $150,000 × 3% = $4,500 
 
Total itemized deductions             $30,000  
  $10,000 of state income taxes (reducible)  
  $10,000 in charitable contributions 
  (reducible)  
  $10,000 in medical expenses (not  
  subject to reduction per 26 U.S.C. 68) 

Allowable federal itemized  
  deductions  $30,000 – $4,500 = $25,500 
 
Ratio of state income taxes to  
  total reducible federal  
  itemized deductions (medical expenses  
  cannot be reduced) 

$10,000 ÷ $20,000 = 50% 
Portion of reduction of federal  
  itemized deductions attributable  
  to state income taxes 

$4,500 × 50% = $2,250  
 
State income tax added back  
  (amount of allowable federal itemized 
  deductions attributable to state 
  income taxes) 

$10,000 – $2,250 = $7,750  
 
Missouri itemized deductions 

$25,500 – $7,750 = $17,750  

(4) The proportional language in section 
143.141, RSMo only applies while the 
Internal Revenue Code provides for a reduc-
tion in itemized deductions. Otherwise, all 
state income taxes must be added back.  

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1986.* 
Original rule filed March 14, 1986, effective 
June 28, 1986. Rescinded and readopted: 
Filed June 2, 1993, effective Nov. 8, 1993. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.165 Net Operating Losses 

PURPOSE: This rule explains the proper 
Missouri income tax treatment of net operat-
ing losses by corporations. 

(1) Federal Taxable Income Not Less Than 
Zero (0). Federal taxable income is the start-
ing point for computing Missouri taxable 
income. Federal taxable income, as it is used 
to compute Missouri taxable income, may not 
be less than zero (0) or a negative figure. 

(A) Example: In the  current year taxpayer 
had a federal net operating loss of one (1) 
million dollars, of which one hundred twen-
ty-five thousand dollars ($125,000) was 
attributable to Missouri income taxes. In a 
prior year, taxpayer had federal taxable 
income of $2,500,000. For this example, 
assume the taxpayer had no Missouri modifi-
cations to federal taxable income. Also 
assume the prior year return reflected a 
deduction of seven hundred fifty thousand 
($750,000) for federal tax liability and after 
applying the net operating loss (NOL) the 
federal tax liability was reduced to four hun-
dred fifty thousand dollars ($450,000). The 
taxpayer should determine his/her current 
and prior year Missouri income tax as fol-
lows: 
 
Current year   Federal subtotal           <$  875,000>  
                    Mo. state income tax     <$  125,000>  
                    Federal NOL                <$1,000,000>   
                    Mo. return line  -1               $  0   
                    Mo. state income tax       $  125,000   
                    Mo. taxable income         $  125,000   
                    Mo. tax rate                   ×     5%   
                    Mo. tax due                    $    6,250     
Prior year       Federal taxable income     $2,500,000  
                    Minus NOL carry back  <$1,000,000>  
                    Federal taxable income 
                     as amended                   $1,500,000    
                    Minus federal tax 
                     liability                         $  450,000   
                    Mo. taxable income         $1,050,000   
                    Mo. tax rate                   ×     5%   
                    Mo. tax due                    $   52,500   
                    Mo. tax  
                     paid on original return  <$   87,500>  
                    Mo. tax refund due        <$   35,000>*  

*The thirty-five thousand dollar ($35,000) 
refund includes $6,250 attributable to the 
$125,000 deduction for state taxes. 

(2) NOL. 
(A) Taxpayers who file a consolidated 

Missouri return must treat NOLs identically 
on the federal and Missouri returns. 

(B) Taxpayers who file separate federal and 
Missouri returns must treat NOLs identically 
on the federal and Missouri returns. 

(C) Consolidated Federal and Separate 
Missouri Return. Taxpayers who file consoli-
dated federal and separate Missouri returns 
shall compute separate federal taxable 
income as if each member filed a separate 
federal return with the limitation that the tax-
payer shall be bound by the election to carry 
losses forward or backward which is made on 
the consolidated return. If there is a consoli-

dated gain, then the Missouri taxpayer may 
elect to carry loss backward or forward pur-
suant to Internal Revenue Code section 172. 

1. Example: Company D files federal 
consolidated and Missouri separate returns. 
In 1986, Company D has a federal consoli-
dated loss of one hundred thousand dollars 
($100,000), which it carries back for federal 
income tax purposes to its return for 1983, 
reducing federal taxable income and federal 
income tax liability. Assuming taxpayer has 
separate company loss to carry back from 
1986, that loss may be deducted on its sepa-
rate Missouri return for 1983. That loss may 
not be used to reduce federal taxable income 
on the Missouri return to a negative number. 

(3) Recomputation of the Federal Income Tax 
Deduction for Separate Missouri Return 
Filers to Reflect Consolidated Return NOL. 
Taxpayer’s federal income tax deduction shall 
be determined as follow: 1) a fraction shall be 
created, the numerator of which is the tax-
payer’s original taxable income reduced by its 
pro rata share of the consolidated loss and 
the denominator of which is the original con-
solidated taxable income reduced by total 
consolidated loss; and 2) total federal income 
tax of the consolidated group after deduction 
of the net operating loss is multiplied by the 
fraction to arrive at the adjusted federal 
income tax deduction. 

(A) Example: First, allocate the loss to the 
loss companies. 

           Allocated 
Com-           Line 30         To Total          Consolidated 
pany               Loss           Percent                  Loss   
A              ($ 50,000)         45.455%           $34,091 
B 
C              ($ 50,000)         45.455%           $34,091 
D 
E               ($ 10,000)          9.090%           $ 6,818   
                ($110,000)            100%            ($75,000) 
 
Second, reduce original taxable income by 
the allocated loss. 
 
             1980            1983          New         To             1139 
Com-   Original     Allocated    Taxable     Total           Tax 
pany     Line 30         Loss       Income    Percent     Liability 
A         $100,000     ($34,091)     $ 65,909  26.460%    $19,845 
B         $ 50,000                       $ 50,000  20.073%    $15,055 
C         $ 25,000     ($34,091)      
D         $100,000                      $100,000  40.146%    $30,110 
E         $ 40,000     ($ 6,818)     $ 33,182  13.321%    $ 9,990 
           $315,000     ($75,000)    $249,091    100%      $75,000 

(B) Actual separate return loss will be used 
to compute separate return federal taxable 
income. 

(4) Leaving a Consolidated Group. A former 
member of a consolidated group who filed a 
separate Missouri return must recompute its 
federal income tax deduction to reflect any 
decrease in consolidated federal income tax 
liability attributable to an NOL carry back by 
the group and to reflect any change in its rel-
ative share of federal income tax liability 



54                  CODE OF STATE REGULATIONS        (6/30/21)     JOHN R. ASHCROFT 
Secretary of State

12 CSR 10-2—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE Division 10—Director of Revenue    

attributable to the net operating loss carry 
back by the group. 

(5) Taxpayers who elect a proper method of 
computing the federal income tax deduction 
for a particular year shall continue to use that 
method to compute the effect of NOL on the 
federal income tax deduction for that year, 
regardless of the method used in the year of 
the loss. 

(6) When a member of an affiliated group of 
corporations that files a federal consolidated 
return files a separate Missouri return or 
when a member included in a federal consol-
idated return is properly excluded from the 
Missouri consolidated return and its items of 
income and deduction are not included in the 
group’s Missouri consolidated return, then 
the carryover attributes for the Missouri 
return may be different from the carryover 
attributes for the federal consolidated return.  
When the filing status or combination for the 
Missouri return for any taxable year is differ-
ent from the federal filing status or combina-
tion for that taxable year, the taxpayer must 
follow the federal Internal Revenue Code 
(IRC) and regulations as they would apply to 
the facts and circumstances for the Missouri 
return. Under no circumstances may the 
same loss or deduction be used more than 
once for Missouri purposes. No loss or 
deduction will be allowed unless the taxpayer 
provides a schedule identifying the source of 
each loss or deduction. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 2000.* 
Original rule filed Oct. 22, 1986, effective 
March 26, 1987. Amended: Filed Feb. 23, 
1989, effective Aug. 11, 1989. Amended: 
Filed Jan. 10, 2002, effective July 30, 2002. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.170 Wood Energy Credit 
(Rescinded September 6, 1992) 

AUTHORITY: section 135.311 and 136.120, 
RSMo 1986. Original rule filed Nov. 12, 
1986, effective March 12, 1987. Rescinded: 
Filed April 1, 1992, effective Sept. 6, 1992. 

 
12 CSR 10-2.175 Agricultural Unemployed 
Person 
(Rescinded October 30, 2002) 

AUTHORITY: section 135.285, RSMo 1994. 
Emergency rule filed Nov. 18, 1986, effective 
Nov. 28, 1986, expired March 28, 1987. 

Original rule filed Nov. 18, 1986, effective 
March 12, 1987. Rescinded: Filed April 4, 
2002, effective Oct. 30, 2002. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.180 Public Law 86-272 
Immunity  

PURPOSE: This rule explains the depart-
ment’s position with respect to the type and 
amount of activity which is immune or not 
immune from taxation by reason of P.L. 86-
272. This constitutes the changes made by the 
Multistate Tax Commission at the 1993 annu-
al meeting.  

(1) Nature of Property Being Sold. Only the 
sale of tangible personal property is afforded 
immunity under P.L. 86-272; therefore, the 
leasing, renting, licensing or other disposi-
tion of tangible personal property, intangibles 
or any other type of property is not immune 
from taxation by reason of P.L. 86-272. The 
definition of tangible personal property for 
this purpose is that to be found under each 
state’s respective laws.  

(2) Solicitation of Orders. 
(A) For the instate activity to be immune, 

it must be limited solely to solicitation 
(except for de minimis activities conducted by 
independent contractors described in section 
(3)). Solicitation means—1) speech or con-
duct that explicitly or implicitly invites an 
order; and 2) activities that neither explicitly 
or implicitly invite an order, but are entirely 
ancillary to requests for an order. 

(B) Ancillary activities are those activities 
that serve no independent business function 
for the seller apart from their connection to 
the solicitation of orders. Activities that a 
seller would engage in apart from soliciting 
orders shall not be considered as ancillary to 
the solicitation of orders. The mere assign-
ment of activities to sales personnel does not, 
merely by this assignment, make the activi-
ties ancillary to solicitation of orders. 
Additionally, activities that seek to promote 
sales are not ancillary, because P.L. 86-272 
does not protect activity that facilitates sales, 
it only protects ancillary activities that facili-
tate the request for an order. The conduct of 
activities not falling within the foregoing def-
inition of solicitation will cause the company 
to lose the exemption from a net income tax 
afforded by P.L. 86-272, unless the disquali-
fying activities, taken together, are de min-
imis. 

(C) De minimis activities are those that, 
when taken together, establish only a trivial 

additional connection with the taxing state. 
An activity regularly conducted within a tax-
ing state pursuant to a company policy or on 
a continuous basis shall normally not be con-
sidered trivial. Whether or not an activity 
consists of a trivial or non-trivial additional 
connection with the state is to be measured 
on both a qualitative and quantitative basis. If 
this activity either qualitatively or quantita-
tively creates a non-trivial connection with 
the taxing state, then the activity exceeds the 
protection of P.L. 86-272. Establishing that 
the disqualifying activities only account for a 
relatively small part of the business conduct-
ed within the taxing state is not determinative 
of whether a de minimis level of activity 
exits. The relative economic importance of 
the disqualifying instate activities, as com-
pared to the protected activities, does not  
determine whether the conduct of the disqual-
ifying activities within the taxing state is 
inconsistent with the limited protection 
afforded by P.L. 86-272.  

(D) Examples of activities presently treated 
by the signatory states (unless otherwise stat-
ed as an exception or addition) as either non-
immune or immune are as follows:  

(E) Non-Immune Activities. The following 
instate activities conducted (assuming they 
are not of a de minimis level) will cause oth-
erwise immune sales to lose their immunity:  

1. Making repairs or providing mainte-
nance;  

2. Collecting current or delinquent 
accounts;  

3. Investigating credit worthiness;  
4. Installing or supervising installation; 
5. Conducting training courses, semi-

nars or lectures for personnel other than per-
sonnel involved only in solicitation; 

6. Providing any kind of technical assis-
tance or services, including, but not limited 
to, engineering assistance or services, when 
one of the purposes thereof is other than the 
facilitation of the solicitation of orders; 

7. Investigating, handling, or otherwise 
assisting in resolving customer complaints, 
other than mediating direct customer com-
plaints when the sole purpose of the media-
tion is to ingratiate the sales personnel with 
the customer; 

8. Approving or accepting orders;  
9. Repossessing property;  
10. Securing deposits on sales;  
11. Picking up or replacing damaged or 

returned property;  
12. Hiring, training or supervising per-

sonnel, other than personnel involved only in 
solicitation; 

13. Providing shipping information and 
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coordinating deliveries;  
14. Maintaining a sample or display 

room in excess of two (2) weeks (fourteen 
(14) days) at any one (1) location during the 
tax year;  

15. Carrying samples for sale, exchange 
or distribution in any manner for considera-
tion or other value;  

16. Owning, leasing, or maintaining any 
of the following facilities or property instate:  

A. Repair shop;  
B. Parts department;  
C. Purchasing office;  
D. Employment or recruiting office;  
E. Warehouse;  
F. Meeting place for directors, offi-

cers or employees;  
G. Stock of goods other than samples 

for sales personnel or that are used entirely 
ancillary to solicitation;  

H. Telephone answering service that 
is formally attributed to the company or to 
the agent(s) of the company in their agency 
status;  

I.  Mobile stores, that is, vehicles 
with drivers who are sales personnel making 
sales from the vehicles; and 

J. Real property or fixtures to real 
property of any kind;  

17. Consigning tangible personal prop-
erty to any person, including an independent 
contractor;  

18. Maintaining, by any employee, an 
office or place of business (in-home or other-
wise) that is paid for directly or indirectly by 
the company and that is formally attributed to 
the company or to the agent(s) of the compa-
ny in their agency status, even if the office is 
for the exclusive use of soliciting orders. (For 
example, a telephone listing for the company 
or for the agents of the company in their 
capacity as agents or other indications 
through advertising or business literature that 
the company or its agents can be contacted at 
a specific place shall normally be determined 
as the company maintaining within the state 
an office or place of business attributable to 
the company or to its agents in their agency 
status.); 

19. Using agency stock checks or any 
other instrument or process by which sales 
are made within this state by sales personnel; 
and 

20. Conducting any activity not listed in 
subsection (2)(F) of this rule which is not 
entirely ancillary to requests for orders, even 
if the activity helps to increase purchases; 
and 

(F) Immune Activities. The following 
instate activities will not cause the loss of 

immunity for otherwise immune sales:  
1. Soliciting orders for sales by any type 

of advertising;  
2. Carrying samples only for display or 

for distribution without charge or other con-
sideration;  

3. Owning or furnishing autos to sales 
personnel;  

4. Passing inquiries and complaints on 
to the home office;  

5. Missionary sales activities;  
6. Checking of customers’ inventories 

without a charge therefor (for reorder, but not 
for other purposes such as quality control);  

7. Maintaining sample or display room 
for two (2) weeks (fourteen (14) days) or less 
at any one (1) location during the tax year; 

8. Soliciting of orders for sales by an 
instate resident employee of the company; 
provided the employee maintains no instate 
sales office or place of business (in-home or 
otherwise) that is attributable to the compa-
ny’s agent(s) in their agency capacity; 

9. Recruiting, training or evaluating 
sales personnel, including occasional use of 
homes, hotels or similar places for meetings 
with sales personnel;  

10. Maintaining, by any sales employee, 
an in-home office that is not paid for directly 
or indirectly by the company and which is not 
attributable to the company or to the compa-
ny’s agent(s) in their agency capacity; and 

11. Mediating direct customer com-
plaints when the purpose of this is solely for 
ingratiating the sales personnel with the cus-
tomer and facilitating requests for orders.  

(3) Independent Contractors. P.L. 86-272 
provides immunity to certain in-state activi-
ties if conducted by an independent contrac-
tor that would not be afforded if performed 
by the company or its agents or other repre-
sentatives. Independent contractors may 
engage in the following limited activities in 
the state without the company’s loss of immu-
nity:  

(A) Soliciting sales;  
(B) Making sales; and  
(C) Maintaining an office.  

(4) Sales representatives who represent a sin-
gle principal are not considered to be inde-
pendent contractors and are subject to the 
same limitations as those provided under sec-
tions (2) and (3) of this statement. 

(5) Maintenance of a stock of goods in the 
state by the independent contractor under 
consignment or any other type of arrange-
ment with the company, except for purposes 
of display and solicitation, shall remove the 
immunity. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1994.* 
Original rule filed April 6, 1987, effective 
July 23, 1987. Amended: Filed Jan. 4, 1994, 
effective July 30, 1994. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.190 Partners and S 
Corporation Shareholders Composite 
Individual Income Tax Return Filing 
Requirements, Withholding of Income Tax 
Requirements and Partnership/S Cor-
poration Withholding Exemption 

PURPOSE: This rule clarifies the circum-
stances under which a composite individual 
income tax return for nonresident partners or 
nonresident S corporation shareholders may 
be filed and the general contents of the return 
as well as the withholding requirements for 
nonresident partners and shareholders and 
the related withholding exemption. Limited 
liability companies which are treated as part-
nership for income tax purposes, and limited 
liability partnerships, will be considered 
partnerships for purposes of this rule.  

(1) Who May File a Composite Return. 
(A) Any partnership, S corporation, limit-

ed liability partnership or limited liability 
company (treated as a partnership for tax pur-
poses), with nonresident partners or S corpo-
ration shareholders not otherwise required to 
file a Missouri individual income tax return 
may file a composite return on behalf of its 
nonresident partners or shareholders. If the 
nonresident partner’s or S corporation share-
holder’s filing requirements result solely 
from one (1) or more interests in any other 
partnerships or S corporations, that nonresi-
dent partner or S corporation shareholder 
may be included in the composite return. 

(B) A composite return may be filed by all 
nonresident partners or S corporation share-
holders except— 

1. Nonresidents of Missouri who have 
income in Missouri from sources other than 
the partnership or S corporation; or  

2. Nonresidents of Missouri filing an 
individual income tax return.  

(C) Nonresident partners or S corporation 
shareholders who do not qualify to file a 
composite return must file an individual 
income tax return in Missouri reflecting 
income from all sources including his/her 
distributive share of the partnership or S cor-
poration income, as required under Chapter 
143, RSMo. Nonresident partners or S cor-
poration shareholders who do not file a com-
posite return may be subject to withholding 
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by the partnership or S corporation on their 
distributive share of the partnership’s or S 
corporation’s income for the taxable year of 
the partnership or S corporation as outlined 
in section (4). 

(2) Time and Place for Filing Partnership or 
S Corporation Returns and Payment of 
Estimated Taxes.  

(A) A partnership return or an S corpora-
tion return shall be filed based upon the pro-
visions of the law effective for each taxable 
year. 

(B) The partnership return or S corpora-
tion return shall reflect the total income of the 
partnership or S corporation from all sources 
and allocate to Missouri that portion of the 
total income which is derived from or con-
nected with sources in Missouri by using the 
apportionment formula in section 32.200 or 
143.451, RSMo. The ratio with a numerator 
of that portion of the total income which is 
derived from or connected with sources in 
Missouri and a denominator of the total 
income of the partnership or S corporation 
shall be the basis of allocation of each non-
resident partner’s or nonresident sharehold-
er’s income to Missouri by applying that per-
centage to the total distributable income of 
each nonresident partner or shareholder 
based upon his/her percentage of interest in 
the partnership or S corporation.  

(C) The estimated tax shall be paid in four 
(4) equal installments. The first installment 
shall be paid when the declaration is filed; 
the second and third installments on June 15 
and September 15, respectively, of the tax-
able year; and the fourth installment on 
January 15 of the succeeding taxable year.  

(3) Filing Requirements for the Composite 
Individual Income Tax Return of Nonresident 
Partners or Nonresident S Corporation 
Shareholders.  

(A) In lieu of each nonresident partner or 
S corporation shareholder filing a separate 
individual income tax return (provided they 
are not otherwise required to file a return), 
the partnership or S corporation may file an 
individual income tax return under the name 
of the partnership or S corporation on or 
before April 15 of each year. This return shall 
show on an appended schedule the name, 
address, Social Security number, the amount 
of each nonresident partner’s or nonresident 
S corporation shareholder’s income from 
Missouri sources as determined in subsection 
(2)(B) and the partner’s or shareholder’s fed-
eral distributive share of partnership or S cor-
poration income.  

(B) The tax rate to be applied to the 
Missouri income of each nonresident partner 
or S corporation shareholder determined in 
subsection (2)(B) in lieu of demonstrating the 
exact amount of this income, deductions and 
exemptions is six percent (6%).  

(C) The sum of the amount determined in 
subsection (3)(B) will be paid by the partner-
ship or S corporation in respect to the liabil-
ity of all its nonresident partners or nonresi-
dent S corporation shareholders not other-
wise required to file a return. 

(D) Timely filing of the composite return 
by the partnership or S corporation and time-
ly payment of the tax will discharge each 
nonresident partner’s or S corporation share-
holder’s responsibility to Missouri for filing a 
Missouri individual income tax return and 
paying the tax on the individual income tax 
return. 

(4) Withholding Requirements for a Partner-
ship or S Corporation. 

(A) In addition to the withholding require-
ments outlined in Chapter 143, RSMo, part-
nerships and S corporations are required to 
withhold Missouri income tax from any non-
resident individual partner(s) or S corpora-
tion shareholder(s) to which the partnership 
or S corporation pays or credits amounts on 
account of their distributive share of the 
partnership or S corporation income for the 
taxable year.  

(B) The partnership or S corporation is not 
required to withhold if— 

1. The nonresident partner or S corpora-
tion shareholder not otherwise required to 
file a return agrees to have the Missouri 
income tax due paid as part of a composite 
return; 

2. The nonresident partner or S corpora-
tion shareholder, not otherwise required to 
file a return has Missouri assignable federal 
adjusted gross income from the partnership 
or S corporation of less than twelve hundred 
dollars ($1,200); 

3. The partnership or S corporation is 
liquidated or terminated; and income was 
generated by a transaction related to termina-
tion or liquidation; or no cash or other prop-
erty was distributed in the current and prior 
taxable year. Note: Exceptions to the with-
holding requirement are not exceptions from 
Missouri income tax. The income generated 
by the termination or liquidation, although 
not subject to withholding, is subject to 
Missouri income tax; 

4. The partnership/S corporation files a 
signed Form MO-3NR (Partnership/S 
Corporation Withholding Exemption/Re-

vocation Agreement) that was provided to it 
by the nonresident partner or S corporation 
shareholder who has agreed to: 

A. File a return in accordance with 
the provisions of section 143.181, RSMo and 
to make timely payment of all taxes imposed 
on the partner/S corporation shareholder by 
this state with respect to income of the part-
nership/S corporation; and 

B. Be subject to personal jurisdiction 
in this state for purposes of the collection of 
income taxes, together with related interest 
and penalties, imposed on the partner/S cor-
poration shareholder by this state with respect 
to the income of the partnership/S corpora-
tion; or 

5. Form MO-3NR will be considered 
timely filed for a taxable year, and for all sub-
sequent taxable years, if it is filed before or 
in conjunction with the annual return for such 
taxable year pursuant to section 143.511, 
RSMo. A partnership/S corporation that does 
not timely file such an agreement for a tax-
able year shall not be precluded from timely 
filing such an agreement for subsequent tax-
able years. 

(C) The partnership or S corporation may 
determine the tax to be withheld in one (1) of 
two (2) ways. 

1. If the partner or shareholder submits 
a Form MO W-4, Missouri Withholding 
Allowance Certificate, Form MO W-4, the 
tax withheld may be determined based on the 
withholding tables provided by the director of 
revenue.  

2. If no Form MO W-4 is submitted the 
highest rate used to determine a Missouri 
income tax liability for an individual, six per-
cent (6%), will be applied to the Missouri 
income of each nonresident partner or S cor-
poration shareholder determined in subsec-
tion (2)(B). 

(D) If withholding is remitted to the 
Department of Revenue on behalf of a non-
resident partner or S corporation shareholder 
who subsequently has no tax liability, the 
partnership or S corporation may file a claim 
for refund with the Department of Revenue to 
recover the amount remitted. 

(5) Remitting Withholding on Nonresident 
Partners or S Corporation Shareholders to the 
Department of Revenue.  

(A) Withholding should be remitted on 
Form MO-1NR, Income Tax Withheld for 
Nonresident Individual Partners or S 
Corporation Shareholders. The Form MO-
1NR, all applicable Forms MO-2NR and 
payment must be filed by the due date or 
extended due date for filing the partnership or 
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S corporation income tax return. An exten-
sion of time for filing the partnership or S 
corporation return automatically extends the 
time for filing the Form MO-1NR. Form 
MO-1NR and Copy C of the Form MO-2NR 
must be filed with the Department of 
Revenue either before or at the same time the 
partnership or S corporation provides Copy A 
of the Form MO-2NR to the nonresident 
partner or S corporation shareholder. Failure 
to do so may result in the department disal-
lowing the withholding claimed by the non-
resident partner of S corporation shareholder. 

(B) A Form MO-2NR, Statement of 
Income Tax Payments for nonresident indi-
vidual partners or S corporation sharehold-
ers, must be completed for each nonresident 
partner or shareholder to whom payments or 
credits were made and were subject to with-
holding. 

1. Copy C must be attached to the Form 
MO-1NR when filed with the Department of 
Revenue.  

2. Copy A of the Form MO-2NR must 
be provided to each nonresident partner or S 
corporation shareholder to whom payments 
or credits were made and were subject to 
withholding. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.411, RSMo Supp. 
1997.* Original rule filed March 15, 1989, 
effective Sept. 11, 1989. Emergency amend-
ment filed Sept. 14, 1994, effective Sept. 24, 
1994, expired Jan. 21, 1995. Emergency 
amendment filed  Dec. 20, 1994, effective 
Jan. 22, 1995, expired May 21, 1995. 
Amended: Filed Sept. 14, 1994, effective 
April 30, 1995. Amended: Filed March 1, 
1996, effective Aug. 30, 1996. Amended: 
Filed Dec. 31, 1997, effective June 30, 1998. 

*Original authority: 143.411, RSMo 1972, amended 
1993, 1997. 

 
12 CSR 10-2.195 Special Needs Adoption 
Tax Credit  
(Rescinded May 30, 2006) 

AUTHORITY: section 135.339, RSMo 1994. 
Original rule filed Aug. 2, 1988, effective 
Dec. 11, 1988. Rescinded: Filed Nov. 1, 
2005, effective May 30, 2006. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.200 Trucking Companies  

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the uniform 
provisions concerning multistate allocation 
and apportionment of income from trucking 
companies which were enacted by the 

Multistate Tax Commission.  

(1) General. As used in this rule, the term 
trucking company means a motor common 
carrier, a motor contract carrier or an express 
carrier which primarily transports tangible 
personal property of others by motor vehicle 
for compensation. Where a trucking company 
has income from sources both within and 
without Missouri, the amount of business 
income from sources within Missouri shall be 
determined pursuant to this rule, unless the 
taxpayer elects to apportion pursuant to sec-
tion 143.451.4, RSMo. In those cases, the 
first step is to determine what portion of the 
trucking company’s income constitutes busi-
ness income and what portion constitutes 
nonbusiness income under section 32.200 
(Article IV.1.), RSMo  and the rules that 
interpret those provisions. Nonbusiness 
income is directly allocable to specific states 
pursuant to the provisions of section 32.200 
(Article IV.4–8.), RSMo. Business income is 
apportioned among the states in which the 
business is conducted and pursuant to the 
property, payroll and sales apportionment 
factors set forth in this rule. The sum of the 
items of nonbusiness income directly allocat-
ed to Missouri plus the amount of business 
income attributable to Missouri constitutes 
the amount of the taxpayer’s entire net 
income which is subject to tax in Missouri.  

(2) Business and Nonbusiness Income. For 
definitions, rules and examples for determin-
ing business and nonbusiness income, see 12 
CSR 10-2.075. 

(3) Apportionment of Business Income. In 
general, the property factor shall be deter-
mined in accordance with section 32.200 
(Article IV.10–12), RSMo, the payroll factor 
in accordance with section 32.200 (Article 
IV.13 and 14.), RSMo and the sales factor in 
accordance with section 32.200 (Article 
IV.15.–17.), RSMo, except as modified by 
this rule.  

(A) The Property Factor. Owned property 
shall be valued at its original cost and prop-
erty rented from others, including purchased 
transportation, shall be valued at eight (8) 
times the net annual rental rate in accordance 
with section 32.200 (Article IV.11.), RSMo 
and the rules that interpret those provisions. 
To the extent that the taxpayer’s records 
reflect a separate charge incurred for the use 
of purchased transportation attributable to the 
property used, this separate charge shall be 
used in calculating the value of rented prop-
erty. If a charge is not separated from that 
attributable to the compensation paid for the 

operator of the purchased transportation, the 
total combined charge shall be reduced by 
twenty percent (20%) to determine the por-
tion of the charge attributable solely to the 
value of the rented property. Mobile property, 
other than purchased transportation, which is 
owned by other trucking companies and tem-
porarily used by the taxpayer in its business 
and for which a per-diem or mileage charge 
is made shall not be included in the property 
factor as rented property. Mobile property 
which is owned by the taxpayer and tem-
porarily used by other trucking companies in 
their business and for which a per-diem or 
mileage charge is made by the taxpayer shall 
be included in the property factor of the tax-
payer.  

(B) General Definitions. The following 
definitions are applicable to the numerator 
and denominator of the property factor, as 
well as other apportionment factor descrip-
tions:  

1. Average value of property means the 
amount determined by averaging the values at 
the beginning and end of the income tax year, 
but the Department of Revenue may require 
the averaging of monthly values during the 
income year or this averaging as is necessary 
to reflect properly the average value of the 
trucking company’s property (see section 
32.200 (Article IV.12.), RSMo and the rules 
that interpret those provisions);  

2. Mobile property means all motor 
vehicles, including trailers, engaged directly 
in the movement of tangible personal proper-
ty, except for support vehicles used predomi-
nantly in a local capacity. Mobile property 
shall include purchased transportation;  

3. A mobile property mile is the move-
ment of a unit of mobile property a distance 
of one (1) mile whether loaded or unloaded;  

4. Original cost is deemed to be the 
basis of the property for federal income tax 
purposes (prior to any federal income tax 
adjustments, except for subsequent capital 
additions and improvements or partial dispo-
sitions) or, if the property has no basis, the 
valuation of this property for Interstate 
Commerce Commission purposes. If the 
original cost of property is unascertainable 
under the foregoing valuation standard, the 
property is included in the property factor at 
its fair market value as of the date of acquisi-
tion by the taxpayer (see section 32.200 
(Article IV.11.), RSMo);  

5. Property used during the course of 
the income year includes property which is 
available for use in the taxpayer’s trade or 
business during the income year;  

6. Purchased transportation means the 
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taxpayer’s use of a motor vehicle owned and 
operated by another for the purpose of trans-
porting tangible personal property for which 
a charge, whether based upon a per diem, 
mileage or other basis, is incurred;  

7. Temporarily used means the use of 
any mobile property owned by another for a 
period not to exceed thirty (30) days during 
any income year;  

8. The value of owned real and tangible 
personal property means its original cost (see 
section 32.200 (Article IV.11.), RSMo and 
the rules that interpret those provisions); and  

9. The value of rented real and tangible 
personal property means the product of eight 
(8) times the net annual rental rate (see sec-
tion 32.200 (Article IV.11.), RSMo and the 
rules that interpret those provisions).  

(C) The Denominator and Numerator of 
the Property Factor. The denominator of the 
property factor shall be the average value of 
all the taxpayer’s real and tangible personal 
property owned or rented and used during the 
income year. The numerator of the property 
factor shall be the average value of the tax-
payer’s real and tangible personal property 
owned or rented and used in Missouri during 
the income year. In the determination of the 
numerator of the property factor, all property, 
except mobile property as defined in this 
rule, shall be included in the numerator of the 
property factor in accordance with section 
32.200 (Article IV.10.–12.), RSMo and 12 
CSR 10-2.075. Mobile property, as defined 
in this regulation, which is located within and 
without Missouri during the income year 
shall be included in the numerator of the 
property factor in the ratio which mobile 
property miles in Missouri bear to the total 
mobile property miles. 

(D) The Payroll Factor. The denominator 
of the payroll factor is the compensation paid 
everywhere by the taxpayer during the 
income year for the production of business 
income (see section 32.200 (Article IV.13. 
and 14.), RSMo and 12 CSR 10-2.075). The 
numerator of the payroll factor is the total 
compensation paid in Missouri during the 
income year by the taxpayer. With respect to 
all personnel, except those performing ser-
vices within and without Missouri, compen-
sation paid to these employees shall be 
included in the numerator as provided in sec-
tion 32.200 (Article IV.13. and 14.), RSMo 
and 12 CSR 10-2.075. Compensation paid to 
employees performing services within and 
without Missouri shall be included in the 
numerator of the payroll factor in the ratio 
which their services performed in Missouri 
bear to their services performed everywhere 

based on mobile property miles.  
(E) The Sales (Revenue) Factor.  

1. General. All revenue derived from 
transactions and activities in the regular 
course of the taxpayer’s trade or business 
which produce business income shall be 
included in the denominator of the revenue  
factor (see section 32.200 (Article IV.1.), 
RSMo and 12 CSR 10-2.075). The numera-
tor of the revenue factor is the total revenue 
of the taxpayer. The total state revenue of the 
taxpayer other than revenue from hauling 
freight, mail and express shall be attributable 
to this state in accordance with section 
32.200 (Article IV.15.–17.), RSMo and 12 
CSR 10-2.075. 

2. Numerator of the sales (revenue) fac-
tor from freight, mail and express. The total 
revenue of the taxpayer attributable to 
Missouri during the income year from haul-
ing freight, mail and express shall be— 

A. Intrastate. All receipts from any 
shipment which both originates and termi-
nates within Missouri; and  

B. Interstate. That portion of the 
receipts from movements or shipments pass-
ing through, into or out of Missouri as deter-
mined by the ratio which the mobile property 
miles traveled in Missouri bear to the total 
mobile property miles traveled from points of 
origin to destination.  

(4) Records. The taxpayer shall maintain the 
records necessary to identify mobile property 
and to enumerate by state the mobile property 
miles traveled by mobile property as those 
terms are used in this rule. These records are 
subject to review by the Department of 
Revenue or its agents.  

(5) De Minimus Nexus Standard. Notwith -
standing any provision contained in this rule, 
12 CSR 10-2.011 shall not apply to require 
apportionment of income to Missouri if dur-
ing the course of the income tax year, the 
trucking company neither— 

(A) Owns nor rents any real or personal 
property in Missouri except mobile property; 

(B) Makes any pickups or deliveries 
within Missouri; 

(C) Travels more than twenty-five thou-
sand (25,000) mobile property miles within 
Missouri, provided that the total mobile prop-
erty miles traveled within Missouri during the 
income tax year does not exceed three per-
cent (3%) of the total mobile property miles 
traveled in all states by the trucking company 
during that period; nor  

(D) Makes more than twelve (12) trips 
into this state.  

AUTHORITY: sections 32.200 (Article VII) 
and 143.961, RSMo 1994.* Original rule 
filed Jan. 18, 1989, effective May 11, 1989. 

*Original authority: 32.200, RSMo 1967 and 143.961, 
RSMo 1972. 

 
12 CSR 10-2.205 Railroads 

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the uniform 
provisions concerning multistate allocation 
and apportionment of income from railroads 
which were enacted by the Multistate Tax 
Commission.  

(1) General. When a railroad has income 
from sources both within and without 
Missouri, the amount of business income 
from sources within Missouri shall be deter-
mined pursuant to this rule, unless the tax-
payer elects to apportion pursuant to 
143.451.4, RSMo. In those cases, the first 
step is to determine what portion of the rail-
road’s income constitutes business income 
and which portion constitutes nonbusiness 
income under section 32.200 (Article IV.1.), 
RSMo and the rules that interpret those pro-
visions. Nonbusiness income is directly allo-
cable to specific states pursuant to the provi-
sions of section 32.200 (Article IV.4.–8.), 
RSMo. Business income is apportioned 
among the states in which the business is con-
ducted pursuant to the property, payroll and 
sales apportionment factors set forth in this 
rule. The sum of the items of nonbusiness 
income directly allocated to this state, plus 
the amount of business income attributable to 
this state constitutes the amount of the tax-
payer’s entire net income which is subject to 
tax by this state.  

(2) Business and Nonbusiness Income. For 
definitions, rules and examples for determin-
ing business and nonbusiness income, see 12 
CSR 10–2.075.  

(3) Apportionment of Business Income. In 
general, the property factor shall be deter-
mined in accordance with section 32.200 
(Article IV.10.–12.), RSMo, except as modi-
fied in this rule.  

(A) The Property Factor. Owned property 
shall be valued at its original cost and prop-
erty rented from others shall be valued at 
eight (8) times the net annual rate in accor-
dance with section 32.200 (Article IV.11.), 
RSMo and the rules that interpret those pro-
visions. Railroad cars owned and operated by 
other railroads and temporarily used by the 
taxpayer in its business and for which a per-
diem or mileage charge is made are not 
included in the property factor as rented 
property. Railroad cars owned and operated 
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by the taxpayer and temporarily used by other 
railroads in their business and for which a 
per-diem charge is made by the taxpayer are 
included in the property factor of the taxpay-
er.  

(B) General Definitions. The following 
definitions are applicable to the numerator 
and denominator of the property factor:  

1. Original cost is deemed to be the 
basis of the property for federal income tax 
purposes (prior to any federal income tax 
adjustments except for subsequent capital 
additions, improvements to capital additions 
or partial dispositions); or, if the property has 
no basis, the valuation of the property for 
Interstate Commerce Commission purposes. 
If the original cost of property is unascertain-
able under the previously mentioned valua-
tion standards, the property is included in the 
property factor at its fair market value as of 
the date of acquisition by the taxpayer (see 
section 32.200 (Article IV.11.), RSMo);  

2. Rent does not include the per-diem 
and mileage charges paid by the taxpayer for 
the temporary use of railroad cars owned or 
operated by another railroad;  

3. The value of owned real and tangible 
personal property shall mean its original cost 
(see section 32.200 (Article IV.11.), RSMo 
and the rules that interpret those provisions);  

4. Average value of property means the 
amount determined by averaging the values at 
the beginning and end of the income tax year, 
but the Department of Revenue may require 
the averaging of monthly values during the 
income year or averaging as necessary to 
effect properly the average value of the rail-
road’s property (see section 32.200 (Article 
IV.12.), RSMo and the rules that interpret 
those provisions);  

5. The value of rented real and tangible 
personal property means the product of eight 
(8) times the net annual rental rate (see sec-
tion 32.200 (Article IV.11.), RSMo and the 
rules that interpret those provisions);  

6. Net annual rental rate means the 
annual rental rate paid by the taxpayer less 
any annual rental rate received by the taxpay-
er from subrentals;  

7. Property used during the income year 
includes property which is available for use in 
the taxpayer’s trade or business during the 
income year;  

8. A locomotive mile is the movement of 
a locomotive (a self-propelled unit of equip-
ment designed solely for moving other equip-
ment) a distance of one (1) mile under its own 
power; and  

9. A car mile is a movement of a unit of 
car equipment a distance of one (1) mile.  

(C) The Denominator and Numerator of 
the Property Factor. The denominator of the 
property factor shall be the average value of 
all of the taxpayer’s real and tangible personal 
property owned or rented and used during the 
income year. The numerator of the property 
factor shall be the average value of the tax-
payer’s real and tangible personal property 
owned or rented and used in Missouri during 
the income year. In determining the numera-
tor of the property factor, all property except 
mobile or movable property (for example, 
passenger cars, freight cars, locomotives and 
freight containers which are located within 
and without Missouri during the income 
year) shall be included in the numerator of 
the property factor in accordance with section 
32.200 (Article IV.10.–12.), RSMo, and the 
rules that interpret those provisions. Mobile 
or movable property (for example, passenger 
cars, freight cars, locomotives and freight 
containers which are located within and with-
out Missouri during the income year) shall be 
included in the numerator of the property fac-
tor in the ratio which locomotive miles and 
car miles in the state bear to the total every-
where.  

(D) The Payroll Factor. The denominator 
of the payroll factor is the total compensation 
paid everywhere by the taxpayer during the 
income year for the production of business 
income (see section 32.200 (Article IV.13. 
and 14.), RSMo and the rules that interpret 
those provisions). The numerator of the pay-
roll factor is the total amount paid in 
Missouri during the income year by the tax-
payer for compensation. With respect to all 
personnel except enginemen and trainmen 
performing services on interstate trains, com-
pensation paid to employees shall be included 
in the numerator as provided in section 
32.200 (Article IV.13. and 14.), RSMo and 
the rules that interpret those provisions. 
Compensation paid to enginemen and train-
men performing services on interstate trains 
shall be included in the numerator of the pay-
roll factor in the ratio which their services 
performed in Missouri bear to their services 
performed everywhere. Compensation for 
services performed in Missouri shall be 
deemed to be the compensation reported or 
required to be reported by the employees for 
determining their income tax liability to 
Missouri.  

(E) The Sales (Revenue) Factor.  
1. General. All revenue derived from 

transactions and activities in the regular 
course of the trade or business of the taxpayer 
which produces business income, except per-
diem and mileage charges which are collect-

ed by the taxpayer, is included in the 
denominator of the revenue factor (see sec-
tion 32.200 (Article IV.1.), RSMo and the 
rules that interpret those provisions). The 
numerator of the revenue factor is the total 
revenue of the taxpayer in Missouri during 
the income year. The total revenue of the tax-
payer in Missouri during the income year, 
other than revenue from hauling freight, pas-
sengers, mail and express, shall be attribut-
able to Missouri in accordance with section 
32.200 (Article IV.15.–17.), RSMo and the 
rules that interpret those provisions. 

2. Numerator of sales (revenue) factor 
from freight, mail and express. The total rev-
enue of the taxpayer in Missouri during the 
income year for the numerator of the revenue 
factor from hauling freight, mail and express 
shall be attributable to Missouri as follows:  

A. All receipts from shipments which 
both originate and terminate within Missouri; 
and  

B. That portion of the receipts from 
each movement or shipment passing through, 
into or out of Missouri is determined by the 
ratio which the miles traveled in Missouri 
bear to the total miles traveled from origin to 
destination.  

3. Numerator of sales (revenue) factor 
from passengers. The numerator of the sales 
(revenue) factor shall include:  

A. All receipts from the transporta-
tion of passengers (including mail and 
express handled in passenger service) which 
both originate and terminate within Missouri; 
and  

B. That portion of the receipts from 
the transportation of interstate passengers 
(including mail and express handled in pas-
senger service) determined by the ratio which 
revenue passenger miles in Missouri bear to 
the total everywhere.  

AUTHORITY: sections 32.200 (Article VII) 
and 143.961, RSMo 1994.* Original rule 
filed Jan. 18, 1989, effective May 11, 1989. 

*Original authority: 32.200, RSMo 1967 and 143.961, 
RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.210 Airlines 

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the uniform 
provisions concerning multistate allocation 
and apportionment of income from airlines 
which were enacted by the Multistate Tax 
Commission.  

(1) General. When an airline has income 
from sources both within and without 
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Missouri, the amount of business income 
from sources within Missouri shall be deter-
mined pursuant to section 32.200 (Article 
IV), RSMo of the Multistate Tax Commission 
except as modified by this rule, or unless the 
taxpayer elects to apportion pursuant to sec-
tion 143.451.4, RSMo.  

(2) Apportionment of Business Income.  
(A) General Definitions. The following 

definitions apply to the terms used in the 
apportionment factor descriptions:  

1. Value of owned real and tangible per-
sonal property shall mean its original cost 
(see section 32.200 (Article IV.11.), RSMo 
and the rules that interpret those provisions);  

2. Cost of aircraft by type means the 
average original cost or value of aircraft by 
type which are ready for flight;  

3. Original cost means the initial federal 
tax basis of the property plus the value of 
capital improvements to the property, except 
that, for this purpose, it shall be assumed that 
Safe Harbor Leases are not true leases and do 
not affect the original initial federal tax basis 
of the property (see 12 CSR 10-2.075);  

4. Average value of property means the 
amount determined by averaging the values at 
the beginning and ending of the income year, 
but the Department of Revenue may require 
the averaging of monthly values during the 
income year if averaging is necessary to 
reflect properly the average value of the air-
line’s property (see section 32.200 (Article 
IV.12.), RSMo and the rules that interpret 
those provisions);  

5. The value of rented real and tangible 
personal property means the product of eight 
(8) times the net annual rental rate (see sec-
tion 32.200 (Article IV.11.), RSMo and the 
rules that interpret those provisions);  

6. Net annual rental rate means the 
annual rental rate paid by the taxpayer;  

7. Property used during the income year 
includes property which is available for use in 
the taxpayer’s trade or business during the 
income year;  

8. Aircraft ready for flight means air-
craft owned or acquired through rental or 
lease (but no interchange) which are in the 
possession of the taxpayer and are available 
for service on the taxpayer’s routes;  

9. Revenue service means the use of air-
craft ready for flight for the production of 
revenue;  

10. Transportation revenue means rev-
enue earned by transporting passengers, 
freight and mail as well as revenue earned 
from liquor sales, pet crate rentals, and the 
like; and  

11. Departures means all takeoffs, regu-
larly scheduled or charter flights, that occur 

during revenue service.  
(B) Property Factor. Owned aircraft shall 

be valued at original cost and rented aircraft 
shall be valued at eight (8) times the net 
annual rental rate in accordance with section 
32.200 (Article IV.11.), RSMo and the rules 
that interpret those provisions. The use of the 
taxpayer’s owned or rented aircraft in an 
interchange program with another air carrier 
will not constitute a rental of the aircraft by 
the airline to the other participating airline. 
These aircraft shall be accounted for in the 
property factor of the owner. Parts and other 
expendables, including parts for use in con-
tract overhaul work, will be valued at cost.  

(C) The Denominator and Numerator of 
the Property Factor. The denominator of the 
property factor shall be the average value of 
all of the taxpayer’s real and tangible personal 
property owned or rented and used during the 
income year. The numerator of the property 
factor shall be the average value of the tax-
payer’s real and tangible personal property 
owned or rented and used in Missouri during 
the income year.  

1. In determining the numerator of the 
property factor, all property except aircraft 
ready for flight shall be included in the 
numerator of the property factor in accor-
dance with section 32.200 (Article IV.10.–
12.), RSMo. Aircraft ready for flight shall be 
included in the numerator of the property fac-
tor in the ratio calculated as follows: depar-
tures of aircraft from locations in Missouri 
weighted as to the cost and value of aircraft 
by type compared to total departures similar-
ly weighted.  

(D) The Payroll Factor. The denominator 
of the payroll factor is the total compensation 
paid everywhere by the taxpayer during the 
income year (see section 32.200 (Article 
IV.13. and 14.), RSMo). The numerator of 
the payroll factor is the total amount paid in 
this state during the income year by the tax-
payer for compensation. With respect to non-
flight personnel, compensation paid to these 
employees shall be included in the numerator 
as provided in section 32.200 (Article IV.13. 
and 14.), RSMo. With respect to flight per-
sonnel (the air crew aboard an aircraft assist-
ing in the operations of the aircraft or the 
welfare of passengers while in the air), com-
pensation paid to these employees shall be 
included in the ratio of departures of aircraft 
from locations in this state, weighted as to the 
cost and value of aircraft by type compared to 
total departures similarly weighted, multi-
plied by the total flight personnel compensa-
tion.  

(E) Sales (Transportation Revenue) Factor. 

The transportation revenue derived from 
transactions and activities in the regular 
course of the trade or business of the taxpayer 
and miscellaneous sales of merchandise, and 
the like, are included in the denominator of 
the revenue factor (see section 32.200 
(Article IV.1.), RSMo and the rules that 
interpret those provisions). Passive income 
items such as interest, rental income, divi-
dends, and the like, will not be included in 
the denominator nor will the proceeds or net 
gains or losses from the sale of aircraft be 
included. The numerator of the revenue fac-
tor is the total revenue of the taxpayer in 
Missouri during the income year. The total 
revenue of the taxpayer in Missouri during 
the income year is the result of the following 
calculation: the ratio of departure of aircraft 
in Missouri weighted as to the cost and value 
of aircraft by type, as compared to total 
departures similarly weighted multiplied by 
the total transportation revenue. The product 
of this calculation is to be added to any non-
flight revenues directly attributable to 
Missouri.  

(3) Records. The taxpayer must maintain the 
records necessary to arrive at departures by 
type of aircraft as used in these rules. These 
records are to be subject to review by the 
respective state taxing authorities or their 
agents.  

AUTHORITY: sections 32.200 (Article VII) 
and 143.961, RSMo 1994.* Original rule 
filed Jan. 18, 1989, effective May 11, 1989.  

*Original authority: 32.200, RSMo 1967 and 143.961, 
RSMo 1972. 
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Examples of the Manner in Which the Multistate Tax Commission 
Airline Regulation Would Apply to Specific Fact Situations 

 
EXAMPLE #1: Assume the following facts for an airline for a tax year: 
 
1. It has ten 747s ready for flight and in revenue service at an average cost per unit of $40,000,000 for nine of the aircraft. It rents the tenth 

747 from another airline for $9,000,000 per year. At eight times rents, the latter is valued at $72,000,000 for apportionment purposes. The 
total 747 valuation is, therefore, $432,000,000 for property factor denominator purposes. 

 
2. It has twenty 727s ready for flight in revenue service at an average cost per unit of $20,000,000. The total 727 valuation is, therefore, 

$400,000,000 for property factor denominator purposes.  
 
3. It has nonflight tangible property (ntp) valued at original cost of $200,000,000.  
 
4. It has the following annual payroll: 
    Flight personnel                                                      $ 60,000,000 
    Nonflight personnel (np)                                           $ 40,000,000 
    Total                                                                      $100,000,000 
 
5. From its operations, it has total receipts of $50,000,000, business net income of $1,000,000 and no nonbusiness income. 
 
6. It has the following within State X:  
   a. 10% of its 747 flight departures:                                                                     $43,200,000 
   b. 20% of its 727 flight departures:                                                                    $80,000,000 
   c. 5% of its ntp:                                                                                               $10,000,000 
   d. 15% of its np payroll:                                                                                   $ 6,000,000 
 
7. State X has a corporation tax rate of 10%. 
 
   The airline’s tax liability to State X would be determined as follows: 
 
    Property Factor: 
 
     $ 43,200,000 (747s) + $ 80,000,000 (727s) + $ 10,000,000 (ntp)    $133,200,000                

=    .1291
 

     $432,000,000       + $400,000,000       + $200,000,000      
= 

$1,032,000,000 
 
    Sales Factor: 
 
    $43,200,000 (747s) + $80,000,000 (727s)    $123,200,000                

=    .1481
 

    $432,000,000      + $400,000,000      
=

 $832,000,000 
    Payroll Factor: 
 
     $6,000,000 (nonflight) + $8,880,000 (.148 × $60,000,000) (flight)    

=
 $ 14,880,000            

=   .1488
 

                                    $100,000,000                                              $100,000,000 
 
    Average Ratio: 
    .1291 + .1481 + .1488      

=
  .4260     

=     .1420
 

                   3                            3 
 
    Taxable Income in State X: .1420 × $1,000,000 = $142,000 
    Tax Liability to State X: .10 × $142,200 = $14,200 
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EXAMPLE #2: Same facts except that paragraphs 6. and 7. are changed to read: 
 

6. It has the following within State Y: 
a. 6% of its 747 flight departures ($25,920,000) 
b. 31% of its 727 flight departures ($124,000,000) 
c. 3% of its ntp ($6,000,000) 
d. 7% of its NP  payroll ($2,800,000) 

 
7. State Y has a corporate tax rate of 6.5%. 
 
The airline’s tax liability to State Y would be determined as follows: 

 
     $25,920,000 (747s) + $124,000,000 (727s) + $6,000,000 (ntp)         $155,920,000          

= .1511
 

       $432,000,000    +   $400,000,000     +  $200,000,000     
=

   $1,032,000,000 
 
    Sales Factor: 
 
    $25,920,000 (747s) + $124,000,000 (727s)          $149,920,000     

= .1802
 

      $432,000,000    +   $400,000,000        
=

     $832,000,000 
 
    Payroll Factor: 
 
    $2,800,000 (nonflight) + $10,812,000 (flight) (that is, 1802 × $60,000,000)               $13,612,000 
                               $40,000,000 + $60,000,000                                             

=
      $100,000,000    

=   .1361
 

 
    Average Ratio: 
 
    .1511 + .1802 + .1361               .4674 
                 3                     

=
             3        

=    .1558
 

 
    Taxable Income in State Y: .1558 × $1,000,000 = $155,800 
 
    Tax Liability to State Y: .065 × $155,800 = $10,127 
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12 CSR 10-2.220 Taxation of Nonresident 
Members of Professional Athletic Teams  

PURPOSE: This rule clarifies the taxation of 
income of nonresident members of profession-
al athletic teams under existing Missouri 
statutes.  

(1) Teams and Nonresident Members 
Defined.  

(A) The term professional athletic team 
includes, but is not limited to, any profes-
sional baseball, basketball, football, soccer 
and hockey team.  

(B) Nonresident members of professional 
athletic teams shall include players on the dis-
abled list (if they are in uniform on the day of 
the game at the site of the game) and any oth-
ers travelling with and performing services on 
behalf of a professional athletic team.  

(2) Personal Service Income of Nonresident 
Members of Professional Athletic Teams 
Defined.  

(A) All nonresident members of profes-
sional athletic teams shall be taxed on that 
portion of their personal service income allo-
cable to Missouri.  

(B) Personal service income shall include 
exhibition and regular playing season salaries 
and wages, guaranteed payments, strike ben-
efits, deferred payments, severance pay, 
bonuses paid for playing in championship, 
playoff or bowl-type games and any other 
type of compensation paid to the nonresident 
member of a professional athletic team in that 
capacity.  

(3) Method of Allocation of Personal Service 
Income Earned by Nonresident Members of 
Professional Athletic Teams.  

(A) The personal service income earned by 
nonresident members of professional athletic 
teams allocable to Missouri shall be deter-
mined by a fraction, the denominator of 
which shall be the total number of duty days 
in the tax year of the athlete (including the 
sum of days spent at training camps, all post-
season games and travel days) and the numer-
ator of which shall be the number of duty 
days in the tax year which the nonresident 
member of the professional athletic team 
spent in Missouri.  

(B) Duty days shall be defined to include 
the days a nonresident member of a profes-
sional athletic team serves in that capacity 
after the commencement of team activities 
and begins with the first day s/he reports to 
the professional athletic team. 

(C) The allocation fraction in subsection 
(3)(A) shall be multiplied by the amount of 
personal service income to arrive at the 
amount of personal service income allocable 
to Missouri.  

(4) Other Income Defined. All other income 
earned in Missouri by nonresident members 
of professional athletic teams in any other 
capacity shall be included in Missouri adjust-
ed gross income as provided in Chapter 143, 
RSMo.  

(5) Reporting Requirements.  
(A) An income tax return shall be filed and 

the tax paid to the director of revenue as pre-
scribed in sections 143.481–143.511, RSMo.  

(B) Nonresident members of professional 
athletic teams may also be required to make 
declaration of estimated tax payments on a 
quarterly basis as set forth in sections 
143.521–143.541, RSMo.  

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1994.* 
Original rule filed Oct. 30, 1989, effective 
Jan. 26, 1990. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 

 
12 CSR 10-2.225 Withholding of Tax by 
Nonresident Professional Athletic Teams  

PURPOSE: This rule establishes guidelines 
for the employer withholding of income tax as 
specified in sections 143.191–143.265 and 
285.230, RSMo.  

(1) All nonresident professional athletic 
teams shall be considered transient employers 
as defined in section 285.230, RSMo and 
shall be required to file a financial assurance 
instrument pursuant to section 285.230, 
RSMo.  

(2) Teams and Members Defined.  
(A) The term professional athletic team 

includes, but is not limited to, any profes-
sional baseball, basketball, football, soccer 
and hockey team.  

(B) Members of professional athletic teams 
shall include players, managers, coaches, 
trainers, travelling secretaries, players on the 
disabled list (if they are in uniform on the day 
of the game at the site of the game) and any 
others travelling with and performing ser-
vices on behalf of a professional athletic 
team.  

(3) Personal Service Income of Members of 
Professional Athletic Teams Defined.  

(A) All nonresident members of profes-
sional athletic teams shall be taxed on that 
portion of their personal service income allo-
cable to Missouri.  

(B) Personal service income shall include 
exhibition and regular playing season salaries 
and wages, guaranteed payments, strike ben-
efits, deferred payments, severance pay, 
bonuses paid for playing in championship, 
playoff or bowl-type games and any other 
type of compensation paid to the nonresident 
member of a professional athletic team in that 
capacity.  

(4) Method of Allocation of Personal Service 
Income Earned by Members of Professional 
Athletic Teams.  

(A) The personal service income earned by 
members of professional athletic teams allo-
cable to Missouri shall be determined by a 
fraction, the denominator of which shall be 
the total number of duty days in the tax year 
of the athlete (including the sum of days spent 
at training camps, all postseason games and 
travel days) and the numerator of which shall 
be the number of duty days in the tax year 
which the member of the professional athletic 
team spent in Missouri.  

(B) Duty days shall be defined to include 
the days a member of a professional athletic 
team serves in that capacity after the com-
mencement of team activities and begins with 
the first day s/he reports to the professional 
athletic team.  

(C) The allocation fraction in subsection 
(4)(A) shall be multiplied by the amount of 
personal service income to arrive at the 
amount of personal service income allocable 
to Missouri.  

(5) Withholding and Reporting Obligations.  
(A) Any out-of-state professional athletic 

team which qualifies as a transient employer 
as specified in section 285.230, RSMo shall 
be required to withhold Missouri income 
taxes from wages and salaries paid to its team 
members as set forth in sections 143.191–
143.265, RSMo.  

(B) Every out-of-state professional athletic 
team required to deduct and withhold tax 
shall file an employer’s withholding tax 
return and pay the taxes withheld to the direc-
tor of revenue as set forth in sections 
143.191–143.265, RSMo.  

AUTHORITY: sections 143.961 and 285.230, 
RSMo 1994.* Original rule filed Oct. 30, 
1989, effective Jan. 26, 1990. Emergency 
amendment filed Aug. 18, 1994, effective 
Aug. 28, 1994, expired Dec. 25, 1994. 
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Emergency amendment filed Dec. 9, 1994, 
effective Dec. 26, 1994, expired April 24, 
1995. Amended: Filed Aug. 18, 1994, effec-
tive Feb. 26, 1995. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972 and 285.230, 
RSMo 1988, amended 1994. 

 
12 CSR 10-2.226 Withholding of Tax by 
Nonresident Professional Entertainers  

PURPOSE: This rule establishes guidelines 
for withholding of income tax as specified in 
sections 143.191–143.265 and 285.230, 
RSMo.  

(1) Nonresident Professional Entertainers 
Defined.  

(A) Nonresident professional entertainer 
means a corporation registered outside this 
state, or a person who is not a resident of 
Missouri as defined by section 143.101, 
RSMo, who, for compensation paid to an 
individual or other entity, performs any 
vocal, instrumental, musical, comedy, dra-
matic, dance or other performance in 
Missouri before a live audience. Nonresident 
professional entertainer also includes any 
person traveling with the entertainer and per-
forming services on behalf of the nonresident 
entertainer. For purposes of this definition, a 
“performance” does not include a presenta-
tion for educational purposes for which no 
admission fee, cover charge, purchase mini-
mum or other fee for admission is charged. 

(2) Personal Service Income of Nonresident 
Professional Entertainers Defined.  

(A) All nonresident professional entertain-
ers shall be subject to withholding on that 
portion of their personal service income allo-
cable to Missouri.  

(B) Personal service income shall include 
the total compensation received during the 
calendar year for entertainment performed in 
Missouri. 

(3) Any nonresident entertainer outside of 
Missouri that does not comply with section 
143.183.2., RSMo, shall be considered tran-
sient employers as defined in section 
285.230, RSMo and shall be required to file 
a financial assurance instrument pursuant to 
section 285.230, RSMo and 12 CSR 10-
2.017.  

(4) Withholding and Reporting Obligations.  
(A) Any individual or entity who pays 

compensation to a nonresident professional 
entertainer(s) is required to withhold 
Missouri income taxes, as a prepayment of 
tax, an amount equal to two percent (2%) of 

the total compensation paid to the nonresi-
dent entertainer for entertainment performed 
in Missouri, as set forth in sections 143.183 
and 285.230, RSMo.  

(B) Every individual or entity required to 
deduct and withhold tax from a nonresident 
entertainer, shall, for each calendar quarter, 
on or before the last day of the month follow-
ing the close of such calendar quarter, file  
Form MO-1ENT, Income Tax Payments for 
Nonresident Entertainers, with copies of 
Form MO-2ENT, Statement of Income Tax 
Payments for Nonresident Entertainers 
attached and pay the taxes withheld to the 
Director of Revenue as set forth in sections 
143.183 and 285.230, RSMo.  

AUTHORITY: sections 143.183 and 285.230, 
RSMo Supp. 1998.* Emergency rule filed 
Aug. 18, 1994, effective Aug. 28, 1994, 
expired Dec. 25, 1994. Emergency rule filed 
Dec. 9, 1994, effective Dec. 26, 1994, 
expired April 24, 1995. Original rule filed 
Aug. 18, 1994, effective Feb. 26, 1995. 
Amended: Filed Dec. 30, 1998, effective July 
30, 1999. 

*Original authority: 143.183, RSMo 1994, amended 1998  
and 285.230, RSMo 1988, amended 1994, 1997, 1998. 

12 CSR 10-2.230 Construction Contractors  

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the uniform 
provisions concerning multistate allocation 
and apportionment of income from construc-
tion contractors which were enacted by the 
Multistate Tax Commission.  

(1) General. When a taxpayer elects to use 
the percentage of completion method of 
accounting, or the completed contract 
method of accounting for long-term contracts 
(construction contracts covering a period in 
excess of one (1) year from the date of execu-
tion of the contract to the date on which the 
contract is finally completed and accepted) 
and has income from sources both within and 
without Missouri from a trade or business, 
the amount of business income derived from 
these long-term contracts from sources within 
Missouri shall be determined pursuant to this 
rule. In these cases, the first step is to deter-
mine which portion of the taxpayer’s income 
constitutes business income and which por-
tion constitutes nonbusiness income under 
section 32.200 (Article IV.1.), RSMo and the 
rules that interpret that provision. 
Nonbusiness income is directly allocated to 
specific states under section 32.200 (Article 
IV.4.–8.), RSMo and the rules that interpret 
those provisions. Business income is appor-

tioned among the states in which the business 
is conducted pursuant to the property, payroll 
and sales apportionment factors set forth in 
this rule. The sum of the items of nonbusi-
ness income directly allocated to Missouri 
plus the amount of business income attribut-
able to Missouri, constitutes the amount of 
the taxpayer’s entire net income which is sub-
ject to tax by Missouri. 

(2) Business and Nonbusiness Income. For 
definitions, rules and examples for determin-
ing business and nonbusiness income, see 12 
CSR 10-2.075.  

(3) Methods of Accounting and Year of 
Inclusion. For general rules of accounting, 
definitions and methods of accounting, see 
sections 143.271–143.301, RSMo and the 
rules that interpret those provisions.  

(4) Apportionment of Business Income. 
Business income is apportioned to Missouri 
by a three (3)-factor formula consisting of 
property, payroll and sales regardless of the 
method of accounting for long-term contracts 
elected by the taxpayer. The total of the prop-
erty, payroll and sales percentages is divided 
by three (3) to determine the apportionment 
percentage. The apportionment percentage is 
then applied to business income to determine 
the amount apportioned to Missouri.  

(A) Percentage of Completion Method. 
Under this method of accounting for long-
term contracts, the amount to be included 
each year as business income from each con-
tract is the amount by which the gross con-
tract price which corresponds to the percent-
age of the entire contract which has been 
completed during the income year exceeds all 
expenditures made during the income year in 
connection with the contract. In so doing, 
account must be taken of the material and 
supplies on hand at the beginning and end of 
the income year for use in each long-term 
contract.  

1. Example: A taxpayer using the per-
centage of completion method of accounting 
for long-term contracts entered into a long-
term contract to build a structure for 
$9,000,000. The contract allowed three (3) 
years for completion and as of the end of the 
second income year the taxpayer’s books of 
account, kept on the accrual method, dis-
closed the following: 
 
                                   Receipts         Expenditures 
End of 1st income year   $2,500,000     $2,400,000 
End of 2nd income year  $4,500,000     $4,100,000 
Totals                           $7,000,000     $6,500,000 
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In computing these expenditures, considera-
tion was given to material and supplies on 
hand at the beginning and end of each income 
year. It was estimated that the contract was 
thirty percent (30%) completed at the end of 
the first income year and eighty percent 
(80%) completed at the end of the second 
income year. The amount to be included as 
business income for the first income year is 
$300,000 (30% of $9,000,000 or $2,700,000 
less expenditures of $2,400,000 equals 
$300,000). The amount to be included as 
business income for the second income year 
is $400,000 (50% of $9,000,000 or 
$4,500,000 less expenditures of $4,100,000 
equals $400,000).  

(B) Completed Contract Method. Under 
this method of accounting, business income 
derived from long-term contracts is reported 
for the income year in which the contract is 
finally completed and accepted. Therefore, a 
special computation is required to compute 
the amount of business income attributable to 
Missouri from each completed contract (see 
section (5) of this rule). All receipts and 
expenditures applicable to these contracts, 
whether complete or incomplete as of the end 
of the income year, are excluded from busi-
ness income derived from other sources as, 
for example, short-term contracts, interest, 
rents, royalties, and the like, which are appor-
tioned by the regular three (3)-factor formula 
of property, payroll and sales.  

(C) Property Factor. In general, the 
numerator and denominator of the property 
factor shall be determined as set forth in sec-
tion 32.200 (Article IV.10.–12.), RSMo and 
the rules that interpret those provisions. 
However, the following special rules are also 
applicable:  

1. The average value of the taxpayer’s 
cost (including materials and labor) of con-
struction in progress, to the extent the costs 
exceed progress billings (accrued or received 
depending on whether the taxpayer is on the 
accrual or cash basis for keeping its accounts) 
shall be included in the denominator of the 
property factor. The value of any construction 
costs attributable to construction projects in 
Missouri shall be included in the numerator 
of the property factor.  

A. Example 1: Taxpayer commenced 
a long-term construction project in Missouri 
as of the beginning of a given year. By the 
end of its second income year, its equity in 
the costs of production to be reflected in the 
numerator and denominator of its property 
factor for that year is computed as follows: 
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                                                                                               1st Year                                           2nd Year 
                                                                                    Beginning        Ending                      Beginning        Ending 
Construction Costs                                                               0              $1,000,000 
Progress billings                                                                                    $  600,000 
Balance 12/31—1/1                                                                               $  400,000                $400,000 
Construction Costs—                                                                                                                                     
  Total from beginning of project                                                                                                                    $5,000,000 
Progress billings— 
  Total from beginning of project                                                                                                                   $4,000,000 
Balance 12/31                                                                                                                                             $1,000,000 
Balance beginning of year                                                                                                                            $  400,000 
  Total                                                                                                                                                        $1,400,000 
Average (1/2)—Value used in property factor                                                                                                   $  700,000 
 
Note: It may be necessary to use monthly averages if yearly averages do not properly reflect the average value of the taxpayer’s equity; see 
         section 32.200 (Article IV.12.), RSMo and the rules that interpret that provision. 
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B. Example 2: Same facts as in sub-
paragraph (4)(C)1.A. (Example 1) except that 
progress billings exceeded construction costs. 
No value for the taxpayer’s equity in the con-
struction project is shown in the property fac-
tor; 

2. Rent paid for the use of equipment 
directly attributable to a particular construc-
tion project is included in the property factor 
at eight (8) times the net annual rental rate 
even though this rental expense may be capi-
talized into the cost of construction; and 

3. The property factor is computed in 
the same manner for all long-term contract 
methods of accounting and is computed for 
each income year even though under the 
completed contract method of accounting, 
business income is computed separately (see 
section (5)).  

(D) Payroll Factor. In general the numera-
tor and denominator of the payroll factor 
shall be determined as set forth in section 
32.200 (Article IV.13. and 14.), RSMo and 
the rules that interpret those provisions. 
However, the following special rules are also 
applicable:  

1. Compensation paid employees which 
is attributable to a particular construction 
project is included in the payroll factor even 
though capitalized into the cost of construc-
tion; 

2. Compensation paid employees who in 
the aggregate perform most of their services 
in a state to which their employer does not 
report them for unemployment tax purposes 
shall be attributed to the state where the ser-
vices are performed.  

A. Example: A taxpayer engaged in a 
long-term contract in state X sends several 
key employees to that state to supervise the 
project. The taxpayer, for unemployment tax 
purposes, reports these employees to state Y 
where the main office is maintained and 
where the employees reside. For payroll fac-
tor purposes and in accordance with section 
32.200 (Article IV.14.), RSMo and the rules 
that interpret that provision, the compensa-
tion is assigned to the numerator of state X; 
and 

3. The payroll factor is computed in the 
same manner for all long-term contract meth-
ods of accounting and is computed for each 
income year even though, under the complet-
ed contract method of accounting, business 
income is computed separately (see section 
(5)).  

(E) Sales Factor. In general the numerator 
and denominator of the sales factor shall be 
determined as set forth in section 32.200 
(Article IV.15.–17.), RSMo and the rules 

that interpret those provisions. However, the 
following special rules are also applicable:  

1. Gross receipts derived from the per-
formance of a contract are attributable to 
Missouri if the construction project is located 
in Missouri. If the construction project is 
located partly within and partly without 
Missouri, the gross receipts attributable to 
Missouri are based upon the ratio which con-
struction costs for the project in Missouri 
incurred during the income year bear to the 
total of construction costs for the entire pro-
ject during the income year or any other 
method, such as engineering cost estimates, 
which will provide a reasonable apportion-
ment.  

A. Example 1: A construction project 
was undertaken in Missouri by a calendar 
year taxpayer which had elected one (1) of 
the long-term contract methods of account-
ing. The following gross receipts (progress 
billings) were derived from the contract dur-
ing the three (3) income years that contract 
was in progress: 

 
                        1st Year       2nd Year     3rd Year 
Gross Receipts  $1,000,000   $4,000,000   $3,000,000 

The gross receipts to be reflected in both the 
numerator and denominator of the sales fac-
tor for each of the three (3) years are the 
amounts shown.  

B. Example 2: A taxpayer contracts to 
build a dam on a river at a point which lies 
half within Missouri and half within state X. 
During the taxpayer’s first income year con-
struction costs in this state were $2,000,000. 
Total construction costs for the project during 
the income year were $3,000,000. Gross 
receipts (progress billings) for the year were 
$2,400,000. Accordingly, gross receipts of 
$1,600,000 ($2,000,000 ÷ $3,000,000 = 66 
2/3% × $2,400,000) are included in the 
numerator of the sales factor; 

2. If the percentage of completion 
method is used, the sales factor includes only 
that portion of the gross contract price which 
corresponds to the percentage of the entire 
contract which was completed during the 
income year.  

A. Example: A taxpayer which had 
elected the percentage of completion method 
of accounting entered into a long-term con-
struction contract. At the end of its current 
income year (the second since starting the 
project) it estimated that the project was thir-
ty percent (30%) completed. The bid price 
for the project was $9,000,000 and it had 
received $2,500,000 from progress billings 
as of the end of its current income year. The

amount of gross receipts to be included in the 
sales factor for the current income year is 
$2,700,000 (30% of $9,000,000), regardless 
of whether the taxpayer uses the accrual 
method or the cash method of accounting for 
receipts and disbursements; 

3. If the completed contract method of 
accounting is used, the sales factor includes 
the portion of the gross receipts (progress 
billings) received or accrued, whichever is 
applicable, during the income year attribut-
able to each contract.  

A. Example 1: A taxpayer which had 
elected the completed contract method of 
accounting entered into a long-term construc-
tion contract. By the end of its current 
income year (the second since starting the 
project), it had billed and accrued on its 
books a total of $5,000,000 of which 
$2,000,000 had accrued in the first year the 
contract was undertaken and $3,000,000 had 
accrued in the current (second) year. The 
amount of gross receipts to be included in the 
sales factor for the current income year is 
$3,000,000.  

B. Example 2: Same facts as in sub-
paragraph (4)(E)3.A. (Example 1), except the 
taxpayer keeps its books on the cash basis and 
as of the end of its current income year had 
received only $2,500,000 of the $3,000,000 
billed during the current year. The amount of 
gross receipts to be included in the sales fac-
tor for the current income year is 
$2,500,000; and 

4. The sales factor, except as noted in 
paragraphs (4)(E)2. and 3., is computed in 
the same manner, regardless of which long-
term method of accounting the taxpayer has 
elected and is computed for each income year 
even though under the completed contract 
method of accounting, business income is 
computed separately.  

(F) Apportionment Percentage. The total 
of the property, payroll and sales percentages 
is divided by three (3) to determine the 
apportionment percentage. The apportion-
ment percentage is then applied to business 
income to establish the amount apportioned 
to Missouri.  

(5) Completed Contract Method—Special 
Computation. The completed contract 
method of accounting requires that the report-
ing of income (or loss) be deferred until the 
year the construction project is completed or 
accepted. Accordingly, a separate computa-
tion is made for each contract completed dur-
ing the income year regardless of whether the 
project is located within or without Missouri 
in order to determine the amount of income 
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which is attributable to sources within 
Missouri. The amount of income from each 
contract completed during the income year 
apportioned to Missouri plus other business 
income apportioned to Missouri by the regu-
lar three (3)-factor formula such as interest 
income, rents, royalties, income from short-
term contracts, and the like, plus all nonbusi-
ness income allocated to Missouri is the mea-
sure of tax for the income year. The amount 
of income (or loss) from each contract which 
is derived from sources within Missouri 
using the completed contract method of 
accounting is computed as follows:  

(A) In the income year the contract is com-
pleted, the income (or loss) is determined; 
and 

(B) The income (or loss) determined in 
subsection (5)(A) is apportioned to Missouri 
by the following method:  

1. A fraction is determined for each year 
the contract was in progress. The numerator 
is the amount of construction costs paid or 
accrued each year the contract was in 
progress, and the denominator is the total of 
all construction costs for the project; 

2. Each percentage is multiplied by the 
apportionment formula percentage for that 
particular year as determined in subsection 
(4)(F) of this rule; and 

3. The percentages determined for each 
year the contract was in progress are totaled. 
The amount of total income (or loss) from the 
contract determined in subsection (5)(A) is 
multiplied by the total percentage. The result-
ing income (or loss) is the amount of business 
income from the contract derived from 
sources within Missouri.  

A. Example 1: A taxpayer using the 
completed contract method of accounting for 
long-term contracts is engaged in three (3) 
long-term contracts—Contract L in Missouri, 
Contract M in State X and Contract N in 
State Y. In addition, it has other business 
income (less expenses) during the income 
year 1990 from interest, rents and short-term 
contracts amounting to $500,000 and non-
business income allocable to Missouri of 
$8,000. During 1990 it completed Contract 
M in State X at a profit of $900,000. 
Contracts L and N in Missouri and State Y, 
respectively, were not completed during the 
income year. The apportionment percentages 
of the taxpayer as determined in subsection 
(4)(F) of this rule and the percentages of con-
tract costs as determined in subsection (5)(B) 
for each year Contract M in State X was in 
progress and are as follows:

                                     1988     1989      1990 
Apportionment 
 percentages                    30%      20%      40% 
Percentages of 
  construction 
  costs of Contract 
  M each year 
  to total construction 
  costs—(100%)               20%      50%      30% 

The corporation’s net income subject to tax 
in this state for 1990 is computed as follows: 
Business Income                      $500,000 
Apportion 40% to this state        $200,000 
Add: Income from Contract M*   $252,000 
  Total business income derived 
    from sources within this state  $452,000 
Add: Nonbusiness income allocated 
    to this state                         $  8,000 
Net income subject to tax           $460,000 
*Income from Contract M apportioned to 
this state 

1988 1989   1990    Total 
Apportionment 
  percentage  30%  20%   40% 
Percent of 
  construction costs 20% 50%   30%     100% 
Product  6% 10%    12%     28%* 
28% of $900,000 = $252,000 

 
B. Example 2: Same facts as in sub-

paragraph (5)(B)3.A. (Example 1) except that 
Contract L was started in 1990 in Missouri, 
the first year the taxpayer was subject to tax 
in Missouri. Contract L in Missouri and 
Contract N in state Y are incomplete in 1990.  

    The corporation’s net income subject to tax 
in this state for 1990 is computed as follows: 
Business income                      $500,000 
Apportion 40% to this state        $200,000 
Add: Income from Contract M*   $108,000 
 Total business income derived 
    from sources within the state   $308,000 
Add: Nonbusiness income allocated 
 to this state                            $  8,000 
Net income subject to tax           $316,000 

*Income from Contract M apportioned to this 
state 

1988 1989   1990    Total 
Apportionment 
  percentage  0%  0%    40% 
Percent of 
  Construction Costs 20% 50%   30%    100% 
Product  0%  0%    12%    12%* 
 
*12% of $900,000 = $108,000 
 
Note: Only 12% is used to determine the 

income derived from sources within this 
state since the corporation was not subject 
to tax in this state prior to 1990. 

C. Example 3: Same facts as in sub-
paragraph (5)(B)3.A. (Example 1) except that 
the figures relate to Contract L in Missouri 
and 1990 is the first year the corporation was 
taxable in another state (see section 32.200 
(Article IV.2. and 3.), RSMo and the rules 
that interpret those provisions). Contracts M 
and N in states X and Y were started in 1990 
and are incomplete.  
  The corporation’s net income subject to tax 
in Missouri for 1990 is computed as follows: 
Business income                      $500,000 
Apportion 40% to this state        $200,000 
Add: Income for Contract L*      $738,000 
Total business income derived from 
  sources within this state           $938,000 
 
Add: Nonbusiness income allocated 
 to this state                            $  8,000 
Net income subject to tax           $946,000 

*Income from Contract L apportioned to this 
state 

1988 1989   1990    Total 
Apportionment 
 Percentage 100% 100%  40% 
Percentage of 
 Construction Costs 20% 50%   30%    100% 
Product 20% 50%   12%     82%* 
82% of $900,000 = $738,000 

(6) Computation for Year of Withdrawal, 
Dissolution or Cessation of Business—Com -
pleted Contract Method. Use of the complet-
ed contract method of accounting for long-
term contracts requires that income derived 
from sources within Missouri from incom-
plete contracts in progress outside Missouri 
on the date of withdrawal, dissolution or ces-
sation of business in Missouri be included in 
the measure of tax for the taxable year during 
which the corporation withdraws, dissolves 
or ceases doing business in Missouri. 

(A) The amount of income (or loss) from 
each contract to be apportioned to this state 
by the apportionment method set forth in sub-
section (5)(B) of this rule shall be deter-
mined, as if the percentage of completion 
method of accounting were used, for all con-
tracts on the date of withdrawal, dissolution 
or cessation of business. The amount of busi-
ness income (or loss) for each contract shall 
be the amount by which the gross contract 
price from each contract which corresponds 
to the percentage of the entire contract which 
has been completed from the commencement 
of the contract to the date of withdrawal, dis-
solution or cessation of business exceeds all 
expenditures made during this period in con-
nection with each contract. In so doing, 
account must be taken of the material and 
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supplies on hand at the beginning and end of 
the income year for use in each contract.  

1. Example: A construction contractor 
qualified to do business in Missouri had 
elected the completed contract method of 
accounting for long-term contracts. It was 
engaged in two (2) long-term contracts. 
Contract L in Missouri was started in 1988 
and completed at a profit of $900,000 on 
December 16, 1990. The taxpayer withdrew 
on December 31, 1990. Contract M in state 
X was started in 1990 and was incomplete on 
December 31, 1990. The apportionment per-
centages of the taxpayer as determined in 
subsection (4) of this rule and percentages of 
construction costs are determined in subsec-
tion (5)(B) of this rule for each year Contract 
M in state X was in progress and are as fol-
lows: 

1988 1989    1990     Total 
Apportionment 
 percentage 30% 20%    40%  
Percentages of 
 construction costs 
Contract L, Missouri 20% 50%    30%     100% 
Contract M, State X  0% 10%    25%      35% 

  The corporation had other business income 
(net of expenses) of $500,000 during 1989 
and $300,000 during 1990. The gross con-
tract price of Contract M (State X) was 
$1,000,000 and it was estimated to be 35% 
completed on December 31, 1990. Total 
expenditures to date for Contract M (State X) 
were $300,000 for the period ended 
December 31, 1990.  
  The measure of tax for the taxable year 
ended December 31, 1990 is computed as 
follows: 
 1988 1989    1990     Total 
Apportionment 
 percentage 30% 20%    40%  
Percentages of 
 construction costs 
Contract L, Missouri 20% 50%    30%     100% 
Contract M, State X  0% 10%    25%      35% 

  The corporation had other business income 
(net of expenses) of $500,000 during 1989 
and $300,000 during 1990. The gross con-
tract price of Contract M (State X) was 
$1,000,000 and it was estimated to be 35% 
completed on December 31, 1990. Total 
expenditures to date for Contract M (State X) 
were $300,000 for the period ended 
December 31, 1990.  
  The measure of tax for the taxable year 
ended 12/31/90 is computed as follows:

                                Taxable Year 1990 
                              Income Year  Income Year 
                                   1990            1990 
Business income          $500,000       $300,000 
Apportionment 
 percentage to 
 this state                      20%              40% 
Amount apportioned 
 to this state                $100,000       $120,000 
Add: Income from 
 Contracts 
  *L (Missouri)           $252,000 
**M (State X)             $  6,000 
Total business income 
 derived from sources 
 within this state          $100,000       $378,000 

*Income from Contract L apportioned to this 
state 

1988 1989     1990      To t a l 
Apportionment 
 percentages 30% 20%     40% 
Percentage of 
 construction costs 20% 50%     30%      100% 
Product  6% 10%     12%       28% 

28% of $900,000 = $252,000 

**Income from Contract M apportioned to 
this state 

1988      1989     1990      Total
Apportionment 
 percentages 0%        20%     40%  
Percentage of 
 construction costs 0%        10%     25%      35%     
  Product 0%         2%     10%      12%*** 
 
***12.0% of $50,000 = $6,000 
***Computation of apportionable income 
from Contract M based on percentage of 
completion method: 

Total contract price                 $1,000,000 
Estimated to be 35% 
 completed                           $  350,000 
Less: Total expenditures to 
  date                                 $   300,000 
Apportionable income            $    50,000 

AUTHORITY: sections 32.200 (Article VII) 
and 143.961, RSMo 1994.* Original rule 
filed Dec. 17, 1990, effective April 29, 1991. 

*Original authority: 32.200, RSMo 1967 and 143.961, 
RSMo 1972. 

 
12 CSR 10-2.235 Government Pension 
Exemption 
(Rescinded May 30, 2004) 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1994. 
Original rule filed Sept. 11, 1992, effective 
April 8, 1993. Rescinded: Filed Nov. 7, 2003, 
effective May 30, 2004. 

12 CSR 10-2.240 Determin ation of Time -
liness  

PURPOSE: This rule interprets the income 
tax law as it applies to the determination of 
timeliness.  

(1) It is the taxpayer’s responsibility to see 
that a return, payment or other document 
required to be filed with or mailed to the 
Department of Revenue is received by the 
department.  

(2) If the postmark on the envelope or wrap-
per of any return, payment or document 
required to be filed before a prescribed date 
is made by the United States Postal Service, 
the date of the United States postmark 
stamped on the envelope or wrapper is treat-
ed as the date of delivery. If the envelope or 
wrapper has both a postal meter date and a 
postmark date applied by the United States 
Postal Service, the department will use the 
postmark date to determine the date of deliv-
ery.  

(3) If any return, document or payment is 
sent by United States registered mail, the date 
of registration of the return, document or 
payment is treated as the postmark date.  

(4) If any return, document or payment is 
sent by United States certified mail and the 
sender’s receipt is postmarked by the postal 
employee to whom the return, document or 
payment is presented, the date of the United 
States postmark on the receipt is treated as 
the postmark date.  

(5) Whenever notice is required to be sent by 
United States mail to be served on the direc-
tor of revenue, it may be sent by an electronic 
transmission known as a fax. The fax is con-
sidered timely if the date printed on the doc-
ument by the director’s receiving electronic 
equipment is on or before the due date. A 
notice being served by fax on the director 
must be transmitted to the director’s receiv-
ing electronic equipment using telephone 
number (573) 751-7150. As used in this rule 
and section 136.360, RSMo, the word notice 
does not include tax returns, requests for tax 
clearances, or any request under section 
143.241 or 144.150, RSMo.  

(6) If any return, document or payment is 
delivered by United States mail with a post-
mark date falling after the due date, the 
return, document or payment is considered 
late unless the postmaster for the jurisdiction 
where the payment was mailed, verifies in 



writing the payment was mailed on or before 
the due date, including any extension grant-
ed, and was delayed because of an error of 
the United States Postal Service and not 
because of an error by the taxpayer.  

(7) Any return, document or payment may be 
delivered by a private delivery service (PDS) 
to meet the timely mailing as timely 
filing/paying rule. Such PDS must be a prop-
erly designated PDS by the Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS) at the time the return, docu-
ment or payment is delivered. Refer to IRS 
rules to determine the designated PDS. The 
IRS publishes a list in March and September 
of each year. PDSs cannot deliver items to 
P.O. boxes. The United States Postal Services 
must be used to mail any return, document or 
payment to Missouri Department of Revenue 
P.O. box address. 

(8) The PDS is required to either—1) record 
electronically to its database (kept in the reg-
ular course of its business) the date on which 
an item was given to the PDS for delivery; or 
2) mark on the cover of the item the date on 
which an item was given to the PDS for 
delivery. The date recorded or the date 
marked under this regulation is treated as the 
postmark date for purposes of section 
143.851, RSMo.   

(9) If any date, including any extension of 
time for performing any act, falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday or a legal holiday in this 
state, the performance of the act shall be con-
sidered timely if it is performed on the next 
succeeding day which is not a Saturday, 
Sunday or legal holiday.  

(10) Example: Joe Jones, a Missouri taxpayer 
has a document that must be filed with the 
Department of Revenue on or before August 
1, 1993. For that document to be considered 
timely, he must do one (1) of the following: 

(A) Deposit the document with the United 
States Postal Service early enough that the 
United States postmark stamped on the enve-
lope will be August 1, 1993 or earlier;  

(B) Take the document to the United States 
Postal Office and have it registered by a 
postal employee on or before August 1, 1993; 
or  

(C) Present the document in a certified 
envelope with return receipt requested to a 
United States postal employee and ask the 
postal employee to postmark the item on or 
before August 1, 1993.  

AUTHORITY: sections 136.120 and 143.961, 
RSMo 1994.* Original rule filed March 1, 

1993, effective Oct. 10, 1993. Amended: 
Filed Sept. 29, 1999, effective March 30, 
2000. 

*Original authority: 136.120, RSMo 1945; and 143.961, 
RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.250 Reciprocal Agreements 
with Other States for Tax Refund Offsets 

PURPOSE: This rule allows the department 
to enter into reciprocal agreements to offset 
income tax refunds for state debts and estab-
lishes the requirements for such agreements. 

(1) In general, the department may enter into 
reciprocal agreements with other states to set 
off any income tax refund due any individual 
taxpayer of Missouri for debts of any other 
state that agrees to do the same for Missouri. 

(2) Definition of Terms. 
(A) Certified debt—A debt, as that term is 

defined in section 143.782(2), RSMo, certi-
fied by one (1) state to another state to be eli-
gible for a refund offset under the laws of the 
state referring the debt. 

(B) Debtor—See section 143.782(3), 
RSMo. 

(C) Reciprocal agreement—An agreement 
between Missouri and another state for each 
state to offset tax refunds due to a taxpayer of 
the state against debts owed by the taxpayer to 
the other state. 

(D) Refund—See section 143.782(5), 
RSMo. 

(3) Basic Application. 
(A) All reciprocal agreements will pro-

vide— 
1. Each state will offset individual 

income tax refunds due taxpayers of the state 
for certified debts of the other state; 

2. The state referring a debt (referring 
state) will certify that the debt is eligible for 
offset under the laws of the referring state; 

3. The offsetting state will give notice of 
the offset to the taxpayer as required by the 
law of the offsetting state; 

4. Each state will bear its own costs and 
neither state will charge the other state; 

5. If a taxpayer is entitled to a return of 
any portion of a tax refund that has been off-
set, the referring state will return the amount 
due to the taxpayer; 

6. Debts owed to the offsetting state will 
be offset before debts owed to the referring 
state; 

7. Each state will comply with all 
applicable state and federal confidentiality 

laws, regulations, and policies, including sec-
tion 32.057, RSMo; 

8. Either party may immediately termi-
nate the agreement if the other party breaches 
the confidentiality provisions of the agree-
ment;  

9. The method of exchange of informa-
tion and the method of offsetting the tax 
refund; 

10. Neither state will certify a debt of 
less than twenty-five dollars ($25) for a tax 
refund offset; and 

11. The offsetting state will provide 
notice to a non-obligated spouse of the non-
obligated spouse’s right to challenge the off-
set when a tax refund offsets against a joint or 
combined return. The notice will comply 
with the offsetting state’s requirements for 
due process. 

(B) A reciprocal agreement may contain 
any other terms that do not conflict with any 
required terms. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.784.5, RSMo 
2000.* Original rule filed June 10, 2010, 
effective Dec. 30, 2010. 

*Original authority: 143.784, RSMo 1982, amended 
1984, 1993, 1994. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.255 Allocation and Appor-
tionment for Nonresident Shareholders of 
S Corporations and Nonresident Partners 
of Partnerships  (Beginning on or After 
January 1, 2020) 

PURPOSE: This rule interprets and applies 
sections 143.421 and 143.471, RSMo, for 
purposes of determining the adjusted gross 
income from a shareholder’s pro rata share 
of items of S corporation income, gain, loss, 
or deduction and the adjusted gross income 
of a nonresident partner from the partner-
ship’s items of income, gain, loss, or deduc-
tion.  

(1) Definitions. 
(A) Missouri allocated income. That por-

tion of an entity’s nonapportionable income, 
as that term is used in section 143.455, 
RSMo, that is allocated to Missouri under 
any of the provisions of section 143.455, 
RSMo or any other applicable provision of 
Missouri law. 

(B) Missouri apportioned income. The 
income figure arrived at by multiplying an 
entity’s net income, less nonapportionable 
income, as that term is used in section 
143.455, RSMo, by the receipts factor pro-
vided in section 143.455.10., RSMo. 
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(2) S Corporation Income Derived from 
Sources Within this State. For all tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2020, items 
of S corporation income, gain, loss, or 
deduction entering into a nonresident share-
holder’s federal adjusted gross income are 
from sources within this state to the extent 
that— 

(A) The S corporation would include that 
item in its Missouri Apportioned Income by 
applying the provisions of section 143.455, 
RSMo, and the regulations issued in connec-
tion with section 143.455, RSMo, (including 
any applicable regulations applying to unique 
industries); or 

(B) The S corporation would include that 
item in its Missouri Allocated Income by 
applying the provisions of section 143.455, 
RSMo, and the regulations issued in connec-
tion with section 143.455, RSMo, (including 
any applicable regulations applying to unique 
industries). 

(3) Partnership Income Derived from Sources 
within this State. For all tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2020, items of partner-
ship income, gain, loss, or deduction entering 
into a nonresident partner’s federal adjusted 
gross income are from sources within this 
state to the extent that— 

(A) The partnership would include that 
item in its Missouri Apportioned Income by 
applying the provisions of section 143.455, 
RSMo, and the regulations issued in connec-
tion with section 143.455, RSMo, (including 
any applicable regulations applying to unique 
industries); or 

(B) The partnership would include that 
item in its Missouri Allocated Income by 
applying the provisions of section 143.455, 
RSMo, and the regulations issued in connec-
tion with section 143.455, RSMo, (including 
any applicable regulations applying to unique 
industries). 

(4) For purposes of applying this regulation, 
any references in section 143.455, RSMo to 
the term “corporation” shall be deemed to 
refer instead to the type of entity to which 
this regulation is applied. 

AUTHORITY: sections 143.421 and 143.961, 
RSMo 2016, and section 143.471.4, RSMo 
Supp. 2020. Original rule filed Sept. 8, 
2020, effective March 30, 2021. 

*Original authority: 143.421, RSMo 1972; 143.471, 
RSMo 1972, amended 1983, 1989, 1993, 1997, 1999, 
2006, 2018; and 143.961, RSMo 1972.

12 CSR 10-2.260 Apportionment Method 
for Broadcasters (Beginning on or After 
January 1, 2020) 

PURPOSE: This rule applies section 
143.455.13.(1), RSMo to implement an alter-
native corporation income tax apportionment 
method for broadcasters.  

(1) For any taxpayer that is a broadcaster as 
defined in subsection (2)(A) of this rule and 
files its original income tax return on or after 
January 1, 2020, shall use the apportionment 
method set forth in section (5) of this rule to 
compute its Missouri taxable income from 
sources in this state. 

(2) Definitions. 
(A) “Broadcaster” is a taxpayer that is a 

television broadcast network, a cable pro-
gram network, or a television distribution 
company. The term “broadcaster” does not 
include a platform distribution company or a 
television broadcast station. 

(B) “Broadcast customer” is a person, cor-
poration, partnership, limited liability com-
pany, or other entity, such as an advertiser or 
a platform distribution company, that has a 
direct connection or contractual relationship 
with the broadcaster under which revenue is 
derived by the broadcaster. 

(C) “Business customer” is a customer 
that is a business operating in any form, 
including an individual who operates a busi-
ness through the form of a sole proprietor-
ship. Sales to a non-profit organization, to a 
trust, to the U.S. government, to any foreign, 
state, or local government, or to any agent or 
instrumentality of such government shall be 
treated as sales to a business customer and 
shall be apportioned consistent with the rules 
that apply to such sales. 

(D) “Commercial domicile” is the princi-
pal place from which the trade or business of 
the business entity is directed or managed. 

(E) “Corporation” is an entity defined in 
section 143.441.1.(1), RSMo.  

(F) “Film programming” is one (1) or 
more performance, event, or production, or 
segments of performances, events, or produc-
tions, intended to be distributed for visual 
and/or auditory perception, including, but 
not limited to, news, entertainment, sporting 
events, plays, stories, or other literary, com-
mercial, educational, or artistic works.  

(G) “Income tax return” is the Missouri 
Corporation Income Tax Return for the tax-
able year. 

(H) “Individual customer” is any customer 
who is not a business customer as defined in 

subsection (2)(C) of this rule. 
(I) “Original return” is the initial income 

tax return filed for the taxable year, and does 
not mean an amended income tax return filed 
for a taxable year for which a corporation has 
previously filed any income tax return. 

(J) “Platform distribution company” is a 
cable service provider, a direct broadcast 
satellite system, an internet content distribu-
tor, or any other distributor that directly 
charges viewers for access to any film pro-
gramming. 

(K) “Taxable year” is the same period the 
corporation uses for reporting its federal 
income tax liability under the Internal 
Revenue Code of 1986, as amended. 

(3) Sourcing of Receipts from Broadcast 
Advertising Services. Notwithstanding any-
thing herein to the contrary, receipts from a 
broadcaster’s sale of advertising services to a 
broadcast customer are sourced to Missouri if 
the commercial domicile of the broadcast 
customer is in Missouri. For purposes of this 
provision, “advertising services” means an 
agreement to include the broadcast cus-
tomer’s advertising content in the broadcast-
er’s film programming. 

(4) Sourcing of Receipts from Licenses of 
Broadcasting Intangibles. Where a broadcast-
er grants a license to a broadcast customer 
for the right to use film programming, the 
licensing fees paid by the licensee for such 
right are sourced to Missouri to the extent 
that the broadcast customer is located in 
Missouri. In the case of business customers, 
the broadcast customer’s location shall be 
determined using the broadcast customer’s 
commercial domicile. In the case of individ-
ual customers, the broadcast customer’s loca-
tion shall be determined using the address of 
the broadcast customer listed in the broad-
caster’s records. 

(5) Alternative Apportionment Method for 
Broadcasters. A taxpayer who is a broadcaster 
shall apportion its apportionable income to 
this state by multiplying the net income by a 
fraction, the numerator of which is the sum of 
the taxpayer’s receipts from broadcast adver-
tising services sourced to Missouri under sec-
tion (3) of this rule plus the taxpayer’s 
receipts from licenses of broadcast intangibles 
sourced to Missouri under section (4) of this 
rule and the denominator of which is the sum 
of the taxpayer’s total receipts from broadcast 
advertising services from all sources plus the 
sum of the taxpayer’s total receipts from 
licenses of broadcast intangibles from all 



sources.  

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 2016, 
and section 143.455.13, RSMo Supp. 2020. 
Original rule filed Sept. 8, 2020, effective 
March 30, 2021. 

*Original authority: 143.455, RSMo 2018 and 143.961, 
RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.705 Filing Corporation Tax 
Returns 

PURPOSE: This rule sets certain instructions 
relating to the time and place for filing cor-
porate tax returns and the requirement of 
submitting copies of federal consolidated 
income tax returns are assigned a rule num-
ber in order to comply with the uniform pro-
cedures adopted by the secretary of state 
under section 536.023, RSMo. No changes in 
the substantive effect of the instructions have 
been made. 

(1) Time and Place for Filing Returns and 
Payment of Taxes. Corporation income tax 
returns shall be filed on or before the fif-
teenth day of the fourth month following the 
close of the taxpayer’s taxable year except 
where the taxpayer is an exempt organization. 
Exempt organizations shall have the same due 
date as set by the Internal Revenue Code of 
1986, as amended. A person required to 
make and file a return, on the same day with-
out assessment notice or demand, shall pay 
any tax due to the Director of Revenue. 
Installment payments may not be made. 
Returns must be mailed to the Department of 
Revenue, P.O. Box 700, Jefferson City, MO 
65105-0700. 

(2) Consolidated Federal Income Tax Returns 
Required—When. A corporation which par-
ticipates in the filing of a consolidated federal 
income tax return (if no Missouri consolidat-
ed return is filed) shall determine its federal 
taxable income as if it had filed a separate 
federal income tax return for the year. The 
corporation shall attach to its Missouri Form 
MO-1120 a copy of a federal Form 1120, 
together with all pertinent schedules, where 
its separate federal taxable income is comput-
ed. One (1) complete copy of the actual con-
solidated federal income tax return for the 
year, together with all pertinent schedules, 
shall be submitted by the parent corporation, 
and all subsidiary members filing a separate 
Missouri return shall attach a statement to the 
return where the consolidated return of the 
group is incorporated by reference. 

AUTHORITY: sections 143.511, 143.571 and  
143.961, RSMo 1994.* This rule was con-
tained in the general instructions of the cor-
poration income tax booklet filed Feb. 10, 
1975, effective Feb. 20, 1975. Emergency 
amendment filed Jan. 20, 1995, effective Jan. 
30, 1995, expired May 29, 1995. Amended: 
Filed Jan. 20, 1995, effective July 30, 1995. 

*Original authority: 143.511, RSMo 1972, amended 1994 
and 143.571 and 143.961, RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.710 Net Operating Losses on 
Individual Income Tax Returns 

PURPOSE: This rule explains the proper 
Missouri income tax treatment of net operat-
ing losses by individuals. 

(1) A taxpayer whose deductions for the year 
are more than his/her income for the year on 
his/her federal return (negative federal 
adjusted gross income) may have a net oper-
ating loss. The actual computation of the net 
operating loss is not identical to the computa-
tion of federal adjusted gross income or loss 
for the year. Therefore, the amount shown as 
a loss on Federal Form 1040 must be adjusted 
to arrive at the net operating loss for the year. 
Federal rules limit what can be deducted 
when figuring a net operating loss. A taxpay-
er must complete Schedule A of Federal 
Form 1045 in order to determine his/her 
actual net operating loss. 

(2) If it is determined that a net operating loss 
has been incurred, a deduction may be car-
ried back three (3) tax years before the loss 
year and/or carried forward fifteen (15) tax 
years after the loss year until the net operat-
ing loss is used up. The net operating loss 
deduction is a business deduction in the year 
to which it is carried, regardless of whether 
the taxpayer is engaged in a trade or business 
in that tax year. If the taxpayer elected on 
his/her federal return to forgo the carryback 
period, s/he must also forgo the carryback 
period on the Missouri return. 

(3) In the year of the net operating loss, a tax-
payer must perform the following to deter-
mine the amount to enter as federal adjusted 
gross income on the Missouri return. These 
procedures will prevent the potential double 
benefit from a net operating loss. 

(A) Complete Schedule A of Federal Form 
1045 to determine the net operating loss. 

(B) Calculate the difference between the 
federal adjusted gross income and the net 
operating loss (the difference between the 

first line and the last line of Schedule A of 
Federal Form 1045). 

1. If the net operating loss is greater 
than the federal adjusted gross income, enter 
the difference as a positive number on the 
federal adjusted gross income line on the 
Missouri return. 

2. If the federal adjusted gross income is 
greater than the net operating loss, enter the 
difference as a negative number on the feder-
al adjusted gross income line on the Missouri 
return. 

(C) Complete the remainder of the 
Missouri return as required. 

(D) Attach a copy of Schedule A of Federal 
Form 1045 to the Missouri return. 

(4) If a net operating loss carryback creates a 
negative federal adjusted gross income for 
the year to which it is carried back to, the 
taxpayer must perform the following to deter-
mine the amount to enter as federal adjusted 
gross income on the Missouri return. 

(A) Complete Schedule B of Federal Form 
1045 to determine how much net operating 
loss will be used up in the current tax year 
and the net operating loss carryover to be car-
ried to the next tax year. 

(B)  Calculate the difference between the 
federal adjusted gross income (after applying 
the net operating loss carryback) and the net 
operating loss carryover.  

1. If federal adjusted gross income (after 
applying the net operating loss carryback) is 
greater than the net operating loss carryover, 
enter the difference as a positive number on 
the federal adjusted gross income line on the 
Missouri return. 

2. If federal adjusted gross income (after 
applying the net operating loss carryback) is 
less than the net operating loss carryover, 
enter the difference as a negative number on 
the federal adjusted gross income line on the 
Missouri return. 

(C) Complete the remainder of the 
Missouri return as required. 

(D) Attach a copy of Schedule B of Federal 
Form 1045 to the Missouri return.  

(5) Example: Taxpayer A owns a construction 
company that incurs a loss in 1994. When the 
taxpayer completes his/her federal return for 
1994, federal adjusted gross income com-
putes to –$185,000. The taxpayer computes 
his/her actual net operating loss on Federal 
Form 1045 as –$253,191. The taxpayer elects 
to carry the loss back three (3) years. 

(A) Net operating loss is created in 1994: 
Federal adjusted gross income = –$185,000   

(From 1994 Federal Form 1040, line 32) 
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Net operating loss = –$253,191 (From 1994   
Federal Form 1045, Schedule A) 

Modified federal adjusted gross income =   
$68,191 for 1994 (Enter on 1994 Form 
MO-1040, Line 11) 
(B) Net operating loss carryback to 1991: 

Federal adjusted gross income = $131,000   
(From 1991 Federal Form 1040, line 32) 

Net operating loss carryback = –$253,191 
Federal adjusted gross income after apply-
ing the net operating loss carryback = –
$122,191 

Net operating loss carryforward to 1992   =–
$172,250 (From 1994 Federal Form 1045,   
Schedule B) 

Modified federal adjusted gross income =   
$50,059 for 1991 (Enter on 1991 Form   
MO-1040, Line 11) 
(C) Net operating loss carryback to 1992: 

Federal adjusted gross income = $149,000   
(From 1992 Federal Form 1040, line 32) 

Net operating loss carryback = –$172,250 
Federal adjusted gross income after applying   

the net operating loss carryback = -
$23,250 

Net operating loss carryforward to 1993 =   
–$65,500 (From 1994 Federal Form 1045,   
Schedule B) 

Modified federal adjusted gross income =   
$42,250 for 1992 (Enter on 1992 Form   
MO-1040, Line 11) 
(D) Net operating loss carryback to 1993: 

Federal adjusted gross income = $179,000   
(From 1993 Federal Form 1040, line 32) 

Net operating loss carryback = –$65,500 
Federal adjusted gross income after applying   

the net operating loss carryback = 
$113,500 

Net operating loss carryforward = $0 (From   
1994 Federal Form 1045, Schedule B) 

Modified federal adjusted gross income =   
$113,500 for 1993 (Enter on 1993 Form   
MO-1040, Line 11) 

(6) Example: Taxpayer B owns a retail store 
that incurs a loss in 1994. When the taxpayer 
completes his/her federal return for 1994, 
federal adjusted gross income computes to –
$185,000. The taxpayer computes his/her 
actual net operating loss on Federal Form 
1045 as –$180,000. The taxpayer elects to 
carry the loss back three (3) years. 

(A) A net operating loss is created in 1994: 
Federal adjusted gross income = –$185,000 

(From 1994 Federal Form 1040, line 32) 
Net operating loss = –$180,000 (From 1994 
   Federal Form 1045, Schedule A) 
Modified federal adjusted gross income = 

–$5,000 for 1994 (Enter on 1994 Form 
MO-1040, Line 11) 

(B) Net operating loss carryback to 1991: 
Federal adjusted gross income = $131,000 
   (From 1991 Federal Form 1040, line 32) 
Net operating loss carryback = –$180,000 

Federal adjusted gross income after 
applying   the net operating loss carry-
back = –$49,000  

Net operating loss carryforward to 1992 = 
–$45,000 (From 1994 Federal Form 
1045,   Schedule B) 

Modified federal adjusted gross income = 
 –$4,000 for 1991 (Enter on 1991 Form   
MO-1040, Line 11) 
(C) Net operating loss carryback to 1992: 

Federal adjusted gross income = $149,000 
   (From 1992 Federal Form 1040, line 32) 
Net operating loss carryback = –$45,000 

Federal adjusted gross income after 
applying   the net operating loss carry-
back = $104,000 

Net operating loss carryforward = $0 
(From   1994 Federal Form 1045, 
Schedule B) 

Modified federal adjusted gross income = 
$104,000 for 1992 (Enter on 1992 Form   
MO-1040, Line 11) 

(7) A nonresident taxpayer of Missouri must 
also follow the procedures outlined in sec-
tions (3) and (4) for the amount to enter on 
the federal adjusted gross income line on the 
Missouri return. When completing the Form 
MO-NRI to calculate the nonresident income 
percentage, if “Missouri Sources” line for 
“Missouri Nonresident Adjusted Gross 
Income” is equal to or greater than “All 
Sources” line for “Total Adjusted Gross 
Income,” enter one hundred percent (100%) 
in the “Missouri Income Percentage” line. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1994.* 
Original rule filed Nov. 29, 1995, effective 
May 30, 1996. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 

 
12 CSR 10-2.720 Reporting Requirements 
for Individual Medical Accounts 

PURPOSE: This rule provides the reporting 
requirements for individual medical 
accounts.  

Editor’s Note: The following material is 
incorporated into this rule by reference: 
1) Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the 

House of Representatives, Internal 
Revenue Code, Title 26 U.S. Code, sec-
tions 105 and 106 (Washington: 
Government Printing Office, 1988). 

In accordance with section 536.031(4), 
RSMo, the full text of material incorporated 
by reference will be made available to any 
interested person at the Office of the 
Secretary of State and the headquarters of the 
adopting state agency. 

(1) Employer contributions to an individual 
medical account that are used to pay for 
health care expenses of the employee in 
accordance with section 143.999, RSMo, 
shall be exempt from state income tax under 
Chapter 143, RSMo, to the extent that such 
contributions are not excluded from gross 
income under 26 U.S.C. sections 105 and 
106. 

(A) Employers making contributions to an 
employee individual medical account must 
place in the “Other” box of the year end 
Wage and Tax Statement, the amount of the 
contribution, and specify next to the contri-
bution, the word “IMA”. The amount indicat-
ed as “IMA” must be modified (subtracted) 
from the employee's federal adjusted gross 
income to the extent that it is included in fed-
eral adjusted gross income. This amount 
must be entered on the Form MO-A as a sub-
traction from federal adjusted gross income. 
The box “Other” must be checked and the 
word “IMA” must be indicated on the 
description line. A copy of the Wage and Tax 
Statement must be attached to the employee’s 
individual income tax return that is filed. 

(2) Any amount in the employee’s individual 
medical account that is unspent at the end of 
the year must remain in the account. The 
Department of Insurance has established by 
regulation (20 CSR 400-9.100) a balance for 
the account which, if exceeded, allows the 
employee to withdraw any moneys in excess 
of such balance. Any moneys withdrawn from 
the account for non-medical purposes, and 
interest earned on such moneys, are consid-
ered Missouri taxable income as provided in 
section 143.999, RSMo, and must be report-
ed on the Form MO-1040 in the year the non-
medical withdrawal is completed. 

(A) The individual medical account admin-
istrator must provide to the employee no later 
than January 31 following the previous calen-
dar year, a statement indicating the beginning 
balance of the individual medical account, 
the amount of contributions to the account, 
the amount of medical withdrawals from the 
account, the amount of non-medical with-
drawals from the account, the amount of 
interest earned on the account, the amount of 
interest earned on the non-medical with-
drawals from the account, and the ending  
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balance of the account. This statement must 
be attached to the employee’s individual 
income tax return that is filed. 

(B) The moneys withdrawn from the 
account for non-medical purposes and the 
interest earned on such moneys must be 
reported by the individual/employee as tax-
able income on the employee’s individual 
income tax return. This amount must be 
entered on Form MO-A as an addition to fed-
eral adjusted gross income. The box “Other” 
must be checked and the words “IMA non-
medical withdrawals” must be indicated on 
the description line. 

(3) The amount in the employee’s individual 
medical account is not subject to state income 
tax under Chapter 143, RSMo, while it 
remains in the account. Any amount spent 
from the employee’s individual medical 
account on medical and health care expenses, 
and interest accrued on such amount, are 
exempt from state income tax under Chapter 
143, RSMo. 

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1994.* 
Original rule filed Jan. 3, 1996, effective July 
30, 1996. 

*Original authority: 143.961, RSMo 1972. 
 
 
12 CSR 10-2.730 Expenses Related to 
Production of Tax Exempt Interest Income  

PURPOSE: This rule clarifies business 
expense reductions related to the production 
of exempt interest income pursuant to sections 
143.431.2 and 143.121.3(a), RSMo. 

(1) For purposes of this rule, exempt income 
means interest or dividends on obligations of 
the United States and its territories and pos-
sessions or of any authority, commission or 
instrumentality of the United States to the 
extent exempt from Missouri income taxes 
under the laws of the United States. Related 
expenses are defined as any expenses alloca-
ble to the earning of exempt income. 

(2) Any expenses incurred in the production 
of exempt income shall reduce the exempt 
income pursuant to section 143.121.3(a), 
RSMo. This statute is modeled after 26 
U.S.C. section 265 (Internal Revenue Code) 
which disallows the deduction for federal 
income tax purposes of expenses incurred to 
purchase or carry tax-exempt obligations. 

(3) In arriving at the amount of related 
expenses, the taxpayer may use actual 

expenses or a reasonable estimate. In general, 
the taxpayer should use the same or similar 
method to that used to compute related 
expenses for federal income tax purposes, 
provided that the method reasonably reflects 
related expenses for Missouri-exempt 
income. 

(4) If a taxpayer fails to compute reasonable 
related expenses, the director will make an 
adjustment based on the best information 
made available. If sufficient information is 
not made available or if the taxpayer’s 
records do not provide sufficient information, 
the director will use the following formula to 
compute related expenses: 
 
Exempt income

×Expense items=Reduction to exempt income 
Total income 

The principal expense item in this formula is 
interest expense, however, the director may 
include other expense items because of their 
direct relationship to the production of 
exempt income. The taxpayer may propose an 
alternative method provided that it properly 
reflects the amount of related expenses. 

(5) The reduction to exempt income shall be 
made only if related expenses total more than 
five hundred dollars ($500). 

AUTHORITY: sections 143.121 and 143.431, 
RSMo 1994.* Original rule filed July 19, 
1996, effective March 30, 1997. 

*Original authority: 143.121, RSMo 1972, amended 
1977, 1986, 1989, 1990 and 143.431, RSMo 1972. 
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