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4 CSR 340-4.010 Wood Energy Credit 

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the require-
ments and procedures for claiming the tax
credit on wood energy products as well as
extending the tax credit eligibility dates as
provided for in sections 135.300–135.311,
RSMo Supp. 1996.

(1) Definitions. 
(A) Charcoal—The solid carbonaceous

residue remaining following the pyrolysis
(carbonization or destructive distillation) of
carbonaceous raw materials. Charcoal is pro-
duced batchwise or continuously by heating
the raw materials in kilns or furnaces with
limited quantities of air. Only the pure char-
coal or raw charcoal produced from Missouri
forest industry residue by a Missouri wood
energy producer is eligible for the wood ener-
gy tax credit.

(B) Missouri forestry industry residue—
Residue that results from normal timber har-
vest or production from a location within
Missouri. It includes slash, saw dust, shav-
ings, edgings, slabs, leaves, bark and timber
thinnings from timber stand improvements
which are located within Missouri. 

(C) Processed wood products—Wood pel-
lets, cubes, charcoal, flour or any product
that results from thermal, chemical or
mechanical processes that sufficiently alter
Missouri forestry industry residue into a
product that can be used as an energy source.
Processed wood products can not exceed a
moisture level of twenty percent (20%) dry
weight. Items that do not qualify as processed
wood products are—hogged wood, chipped
wood and any by-products produced from
these processed wood products (that is, the
sale and production of heat, steam and/or
electricity from Missouri forestry industry
residue). 

(D) Wood energy producer—Any person,
firm or business who engages in the business
of producing processed wood products from
Missouri forest industry residue to be used as
an energy source. 

(E) Wood energy producing facility—A
Missouri facility using Missouri forestry
industry residue to produce processed wood
products. 

(2) A Missouri wood energy producer shall
make application for the credit to the
Missouri Department of Natural Resources,
Division of Energy. Applications can be

made for processed wood products resulting
from the use of Missouri forestry industry
residue used on or after January 1, 1997.
Unused credit may be carried over to any
subsequent taxable year, not to exceed four
(4) years, subject to 10 CSR 140-4.010(3).
The application will include the number of
tons of processed wood products produced in
Missouri during the preceding calendar year,
the name and address of the purchaser to
whom the processed wood products were ini-
tially sold, the number of tons sold to each
initial purchaser and any documentation
required by DNR.  The application will be
received and reviewed by the Department of
Natural Resources, Division of Energy and
that division will certify to the Department of
Revenue all applicants which qualify as a
wood energy producer.

(3) The tax credit to the wood energy pro-
ducer shall be five dollars ($5) per ton of pro-
cessed Missouri forestry industry residue.
The calculation of the tax credit shall be five
dollars ($5) per ton of wood pellets sold and
for charcoal shall be five dollars ($5) per ton
of charcoal sold, adjusted by a multiplier of
four (4).  The formula used to calculate the
tax credit for charcoal is based on the amount
of Missouri forest industry residue, required
to produce one (1) ton of charcoal.  The pro-
cessor of the Missouri forestry industry
residue shall receive the tax credit.  Any
Missouri forestry industry residue used to
produce heat in the manufacture of processed
wood products does not qualify for the tax
credit.  There can be only one (1) tax credit
claimed on any given Missouri forestry
industry residue.  Applicants who qualify
through the Department of Natural
Resources, Division of Energy and are certi-
fied to the Department of Revenue by the
Department of Natural Resources, Division
of Energy for the tax credit may claim the
credit for a period of five (5) years. The cred-
it can only be used against the income tax
otherwise due. This credit is not available for
use against withholding tax liabilities. Any
credit which exceeds the tax due shall not be
refunded but may be carried forward to four
(4) succeeding tax years. If the credit is not
used or assigned within five (5) years it
expires.

(4) The wood energy producer may elect to
assign to a third party or parties the approved
tax credit,  if the credit has not expired or has
not been previously used.  The certification
of the assignment must be filed with the
Missouri Department of Revenue on a depart-
ment form at the time the assignment takes
place.  The credit can only be used against

the income tax otherwise due.  This credit is
not available for use against withholding tax
liabilities.  Any credit which exceeds the tax
due shall not be refunded but may be carried
forward for four (4) succeeding tax years.  If
the credit is not used or assigned within five
(5) years it expires.

(5) A wood energy producer using the feder-
al credit for wood energy is not eligible to
claim the state tax credit.

AUTHORITY: sections 135.300–135.311 and
536.023.3, RSMo Supp. 1997 and 536.010,
RSMo 1994.* This rule originally filed as 10
CSR 140-4.010. Original rule filed Dec. 31,
1991, effective May 14, 1992. Amended:
Filed June 23, 1997, effective Feb. 28, 1998.
Amended: Filed April 22, 1998, effective
Dec. 30, 1998. Moved to 4 CSR 340-4.010,
effective Aug. 28, 2013.

*Original authority: 135.300, RSMo 1985, amended
1996; 135.305, RSMo 1985, amended 1996; 135.307,
RSMo 1985, amended 1996; 135.309, RSMo 1985,
amended 1996; 135.311, RSMo 1985, amended 1991,
1996; 536.010, RSMo 1945, amended 1957, 1976;
536.023, RSMo 1975, amended 1976, 1997.


