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HOW TO CITE RULES AND RSMO

RULES

The rules are codified in the Code of State Regulations in this system–

         Title Division Chapter Rule

3 CSR 10- 4 .115

    Department Code of Agency General area Specific area

State Division regulated regulated

Regulations

and should be cited in this manner: 3 CSR 10-4.115.

Each department of state government is assigned a title. Each agency or division in the department is assigned a division

number. The agency then groups its rules into general subject matter areas called chapters and specific areas called rules.

Within a rule, the first breakdown is called a section and is designated as (1). Subsection is (A) with further breakdown

into paragraphs 1., subparagraphs A., parts (I), subparts (a), items I. and subitems a.

The rule is properly cited by using the full citation, for example, 3 CSR 10-4.115 NOT Rule 10-4.115.

Citations of RSMo are to the Missouri Revised Statutes as of the date indicated.

Code and Register on the Internet

The Code of State Regulations and Missouri Register are available on the Internet. 

The Code address is www.sos.mo.gov/adrules/csr/csr

The Register address is www.sos.mo.gov/adrules/moreg/moreg

These websites contain rulemakings and regulations as they appear in the Code and Registers. 



Emergency Rules

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2210—State Board of Optometry 

Chapter 2—General Rules 

EMERGENCY AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2210-2.070 Fees. The State Board of Optometry is propos-
ing to add paragraph (1)(C)1.  

PURPOSE: The State Board of Optometry is statutorily obligated to
enforce and administer the provisions of Chapter 336, RSMo, govern-
ing the practice of optometry. Pursuant to section 336.160, RSMo,
the board shall set the appropriate amount of fees by rule so that the
revenue produced shall not substantially exceed the cost and expense
of administering the provisions of Chapter 336, RSMo. Based on the
board’s five- (5-) year projections, the board finds it necessary to
reduce renewal fees for Missouri licensed optometrists.

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: The State Board of Optometry is statu-
torily obligated to set all fees, by regulation, necessary to administer
the provisions of Chapter 336, RSMo. Pursuant to section 336.160,
RSMo, the board shall set the appropriate amount of fees by rule, so
that the revenue produced shall not substantially exceed the cost and
expense of administering the provisions of Chapter 336, RSMo.
Therefore, the board is proposing to decrease 2018 renewal fees for
Missouri optometrists from one hundred fifty dollars ($150) to one

hundred twenty-five dollars ($125). Optometrists’ renewal notices
will be mailed on August 1, 2018. Without this emergency amend-
ment, the decreased fee requirements will not be effective prior to
mailing and the board will collect more revenue than it is statutorily
authorized to collect. The scope of the emergency amendment is lim-
ited to the circumstances creating the emergency and complies with
the protections extended in the Missouri and United States
Constitutions. In developing this emergency amendment, the board
has determined that the fee decrease is necessary for the 2018 renew-
al period to prevent funds from exceeding the maximum fund balance,
thereby resulting in a transfer from the fund to general revenue as set
forth in section 336.140.2, RSMo. Pursuant to section 324.001.10,
RSMo, a compelling governmental interest is deemed to exist for the
purposes of section 536.025, RSMo, for licensure fees to be reduced
by emergency rule, if the projected fund balance of any agency
assigned to the Division of Professional Registration is reasonably
expected to exceed an amount that would require transfer from that
fund to general revenue. The board believes this emergency amend-
ment to be fair to all interested persons and parties under the circum-
stances. This emergency amendment was filed May 11, 2018, becomes
effective May 21, 2018, and expires February 28, 2019.

(1) The following fees are established by the State Board of
Optometry:

(C) Biennial Renewal Fee                                                 $150
1. Effective August 1, 2018 through December 31, 

2018                                                                      $125

AUTHORITY: sections 336.140 and 336.160, RSMo [Supp. 2007]
2016. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 210-2.070. Emergency rule
filed June 30, 1981, effective July 9, 1981, expired Nov. 11, 1981.
Original rule filed June 30, 1981, effective Oct. 12, 1981. For inter-
vening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Emergency amendment filed May 11, 2018, effective May 21, 2018,
expires Feb. 28, 2019. A proposed amendment covering this same
material is published in this issue of the Missouri Register.
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Rules appearing under this heading are filed under the

authority granted by section 536.025, RSMo 2000. An

emergency rule may be adopted by an agency if the agency

finds that an immediate danger to the public health, safety, or

welfare, or a compelling governmental interest requires

emergency action; follows procedures best calculated to

assure fairness to all interested persons and parties under

the circumstances; follows procedures which comply with the

protections extended by the Missouri and the United States
Constitutions; limits the scope of such rule to the circum-

stances creating an emergency and requiring emergency

procedure, and at the time of or prior to the adoption of such

rule files with the secretary of state the text of the rule togeth-

er with the specific facts, reasons, and findings which support

its conclusion that there is an immediate danger to the public

health, safety, or welfare which can be met only through the

adoption of such rule and its reasons for concluding that the

procedure employed is fair to all interested persons and par-

ties under the circumstances.

Rules filed as emergency rules may be effective not less

than ten (10) days after filing or at such later date as

may be specified in the rule and may be terminated at any

time by the state agency by filing an order with the secretary

of state fixing the date of such termination, which order shall

be published by the secretary of state in the Missouri
Register as soon as practicable.

All emergency rules must state the period during which

they are in effect, and in no case can they be in effect

more than one hundred eighty (180) calendar days or thirty

(30) legislative days, whichever period is longer. Emergency

rules are not renewable, although an agency may at any time

adopt an identical rule under the normal rulemaking proce-

dures.
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Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 10—[Market] Ag Business Development

Chapter 1—Organization and Description

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 10-1.010 General Organization. The department is deleting
sections (1) and (2) and adding new sections (1) and (2).

PURPOSE: The rule amendment reflects the move of the education
loans and Young Farmers Capitol Improvement loans to MASBDA,
and updating language based on strategic planning results.

PURPOSE: The purpose of this rule is to comply with section
536.023, RSMo 1986 which requires each agency to adopt as a rule
a description of its operation and the methods in which the public
may obtain information or make submissions or requests.

[(1) The Division of Market Development is a unit of the

Department of Agriculture, state of Missouri. 
(A) The primary responsibilities of this division are to pro-

vide marketing services to producers, distributors and con-
sumers of agricultural commodities and to administer the
funds of the Rural Rehabilitation Corporation. 

(B) In order to provide these services, the activities consist
of commodity market news, domestic and export market
promotion and development, educational loans, 4-H and FFA
crop and livestock program, young farmers capital improve-
ment loans in cooperation with FMHA and Building Our
American Communities program. 

(2) This division is located at 1616 Missouri Blvd., Jefferson
City, MO 65101, (314) 751-2613.]

(1) The Ag Business Development Division is a unit of the
Department of Agriculture, state of Missouri.

(A) The primary responsibilities of this division are to provide
leadership for the promotion and advancement of Missouri’s
agricultural economy in support of producers, consumers, and
agri-business innovation, technology adoption, and economic
development. 

(B) To accomplish this the division pursues advocacy for pro-
ducers and consumers through domestic and international mar-
ket development and business development activities.

(2) This division is located at 1616 Missouri Blvd., Jefferson City,
MO 65101, (573) 751-2613.

AUTHORITY: section 536.023, RSMo [1986] 2016. Original rule
filed April 9, 1976, effective July 15, 1976. Amended: Filed May 11,
2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, Ag Business Development
Division, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102, or online at
Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 50—Fairs

Chapter 1—Organization and Description

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 50-1.010 General Organization. The rule provided a
description of the operation and methods where the public could
obtain information or make submissions or requests.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded as the description of the
Missouri State Fair’s duties and contact information are outdated.

AUTHORITY: sections 262.450, 262.460, 262.470 and 262.480,
RSMo 1986. Original rule filed April 9, 1976, effective July 15,
1976. Rescinded: Filed May 11, 2018.

Proposed Rules

1258

Under this heading will appear the text of proposed rules
and changes. The notice of proposed rulemaking is

required to contain an explanation of any new rule or any
change in an existing rule and the reasons therefor. This is set
out in the Purpose section with each rule. Also required is a
citation to the legal authority to make rules. This appears fol-
lowing the text of the rule, after the word  “Authority.”

Entirely new rules are printed without any special symbol-
ogy under the heading of proposed rule. If an existing

rule is to be amended or rescinded, it will have a heading of
proposed amendment or proposed rescission. Rules which
are proposed to be amended will have new matter printed in
boldface type and matter to be deleted placed in brackets.

An important function of the Missouri Register is to solicit
and encourage public participation in the rulemaking

process. The law provides that for every proposed rule,
amendment, or rescission there must be a notice that anyone
may comment on the proposed action. This comment may
take different forms.

If an agency is required by statute to hold a public hearing
before making any new rules, then a Notice of Public

Hearing will appear following the text of the rule. Hearing
dates must be at least thirty (30) days after publication of the
notice in the Missouri Register. If no hearing is planned or
required, the agency must give a Notice to Submit
Comments. This allows anyone to file statements in support
of or in opposition to the proposed action with the agency
within a specified time, no less than thirty (30) days after pub-
lication of the notice in the Missouri Register. 

An agency may hold a public hearing on a rule even
though not required by law to hold one. If an agency

allows comments to be received following the hearing date,
the close of comments date will be used as the beginning day
in the ninety- (90-) day-count necessary for the filing of the
order of rulemaking.

If an agency decides to hold a public hearing after planning
not to, it must withdraw the earlier notice and file a new

notice of proposed rulemaking and schedule a hearing for a
date not less than thirty (30) days from the date of publication
of the new notice.

Proposed Amendment Text Reminder:
Boldface text indicates new matter.
[Bracketed text indicates matter being deleted.]
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PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Mark Wolfe, Missouri
State Fair Director, PO Box 630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson
City, MO 65102, or online at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public
hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 50—Fairs

Chapter 2—Registration Statement

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 50-2.010 Registration Statement. This rule provided a com-
plete listing of all fairs and dates.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded as the State Aid to Fairs pro-
gram (created in Section 262.450, RSMo.) has not been funded by
the legislature and is no longer an active program. 

AUTHORITY: section 262.470, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed July
5, 1968, effective July 15, 1968. Rescinded: Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Mark Wolfe, Missouri
State Fair Director, PO Box 630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson
City, MO 65102, or online at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public
hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 50—Fairs

Chapter 3—Concessions at State Fair

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 50-3.020 Concession Contracts. This rule listed contractual
rights and obligations of the Missouri State Fair with those using
rental space.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded as the rule is outdated and
obsolete. The current concessionaire and exhibitor needs are met
through contracts and other Missouri State Fair policies enacted by
the Missouri State Fair Commission. 

AUTHORITY: Chapter 262 and section 262.270, RSMo Supp. 1987.
This rule was previously filed as 2 CSR 50-4.020. Emergency rule
filed March 27, 1980, effective April 8, 1980, expired Aug. 6, 1980.

Original rule filed April 2, 1992, effective Jan. 15, 1993. Rescinded:
Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Mark Wolfe, Missouri
State Fair Director, PO Box 630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson
City, MO 65102, or online at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public
hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 50—Fairs

Chapter 4—Solicitation on Missouri State Fair Property

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 50-4.010 Rental Space Required to Advocate or Solicit
Support for Ideas, Causes, Products, or Any of These, While on
State Fair Property. This rule placed restrictions on any individual,
group or organization who advocates or solicits support for ideas,
causes, products, or any of these, while on state fair property.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded as the rule is outdated and
obsolete. The current rules regarding rental space and prohibited
actions on the MSF fairgrounds are met through contracts and other
policies enacted by the Missouri State Fair Commission. 

AUTHORITY: Chapter 262 and section 262.270, RSMo Supp. 1987.
Emergency rule filed Aug. 2, 1990, effective Aug. 12, 1990, expired
Dec. 9, 1990. Emergency rule filed Aug. 5, 1991, effective Aug. 15,
1991, expired Dec. 12, 1991. Original rule filed April 2, 1992, effec-
tive Jan. 15, 1993. Rescinded: Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Mark Wolfe, Missouri
State Fair Director, PO Box 630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson
City, MO 65102, or online at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public
hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 50—Fairs

Chapter 5—Admissions

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 50-5.010 Admissions Policy. This rule listed the guidelines
for admission to the Missouri State Fair.

Page 1259
June 15, 2018
Vol. 43, No. 12 Missouri Register



PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded as the rule is outdated and
obsolete. Current admission and camping requirements are outlined
by fair policies and the public may obtain information by contacting
the Fair or online. 

AUTHORITY: Chapter 262 and section 262.270, RSMo Supp. 1987.
Original rule filed April 2, 1992, effective Jan. 15, 1993. Rescinded:
Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Mark Wolfe, Missouri
State Fair Director, PO Box 630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson
City, MO 65102, or online at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public
hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 50—Fairs

Chapter 6—Contracts for Goods and Services Needed by
the Missouri State Fair

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 50-6.010 Hiring Procedures for Personnel During the
State Fair. This rule provided for procedures for hiring personnel
from the private sector for the two-week period of the Missouri State
Fair and the way those services are outlined.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded as the rule is outdated and
obsolete. Current fair policies and contracts adopted by the commis-
sion dictate personnel details.

AUTHORITY: Chapter 262 and section 262.270, RSMo Supp. 1987.
Original rule filed April 2, 1992, effective Jan. 15, 1993. Rescinded:
Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Mark Wolfe, Missouri
State Fair Director, PO Box 630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson
City, MO 65102, or online at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public
hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 50—Fairs

Chapter 6—Contracts for Goods and Services Needed by
the Missouri State Fair

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 50-6.020 Contracts for Professional Services. This rule
provided procedures where the director of the Missouri State Fair

contracts for professional services needed for the conduct of the fair.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded as the rule is outdated and
obsolete. Current fair policies and contracts adopted by the commis-
sion dictate professional service details.

AUTHORITY: Chapter 262 and section 262.270, RSMo Supp. 1987.
Original rule filed April 2, 1992, effective Jan. 15, 1993. Rescinded:
Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Mark Wolfe, Missouri
State Fair Director, PO Box 630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson
City, MO 65102, or online at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public
hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 50—Fairs

Chapter 6—Contracts for Goods and Services Needed by
the Missouri State Fair

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 50-6.030 Solicitation of Sponsors for the State Fair. The
rule described the authority that the director of the Missouri State
Fair has to solicit and negotiate sponsorships for the good of the fair.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded as the rule is outdated and
obsolete. Current fair policies and contracts adopted by the commis-
sion dictate sponsorship details.

AUTHORITY: Chapter 262 and section 262.270, RSMo Supp. 1987.
Original rule filed April 2, 1992, effective Jan. 15, 1993. Rescinded:
Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Mark Wolfe, Missouri
State Fair Director, PO Box 630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson
City, MO 65102, or online at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public
hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 50—Fairs

Chapter 6—Contracts for Goods and Services Needed by
the Missouri State Fair

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 50-6.040 Contracts to Provide Entertainment at the State
Fair. This rule provided for the director of the Missouri State Fair
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to arrange for various forms of entertainment and informational
exhibits for the fair.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded as the rule is outdated and
obsolete. Current fair policies and contracts adopted by the commis-
sion dictate entertainment details. 

AUTHORITY: Chapter 262 and section 262.270, RSMo Supp. 1987.
Original rule filed April 2, 1992, effective Jan. 15, 1993. Rescinded:
Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Mark Wolfe, Missouri
State Fair Director, PO Box 630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson
City, MO 65102, or online at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public
hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 50—Fairs

Chapter 7—Off-Season Use of State Fair Facilities

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 50-7.010 Policy and Procedure for Use of Any Facility at
the State Fair During the Off-Season. This rule provided the
guidelines for off-season use of Missouri State Fair facilities.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded as the rule is outdated and
obsolete. Current fair policies and contracts adopted by the commis-
sion dictate use of the State Fairgrounds during the off season. 

AUTHORITY: Chapter 262 and section 262.270, RSMo Supp. 1987.
Original rule filed April 2, 1992, effective Jan. 15, 1993. Rescinded:
Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Mark Wolfe, Missouri
State Fair Director, PO Box 630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson
City, MO 65102, or online at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public
hearing is scheduled.

Title 7—MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF 
TRANSPORTATION

Division 10—Missouri Highways and Transportation
Commission

Chapter 11—Procurement of Supplies

PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

7 CSR 10-11.010 Definition of Terms. The Missouri Highways and

Transportation Commission is amending sections (3), (8), (9), (10),
(12), (16), (18), (21), (22), (27), (29), (31); deleting sections (24)
and (26); adding new sections (16), (18), and (26); and renumbering
as necessary. 

PURPOSE: This proposed amendment removes unnecessary restric-
tive wording, clarifies definitions to make them easier to understand,
and adds definitions for indefinite delivery contracts, invitation for
quotation, and request for information. 

(3) Bidder/Offeror—A person or entity submitting a solicitation doc-
ument to the department. 

(8) Contract—An offer to perform [a contract for] work and labor
or to supply materials, goods, or services at a specified price that is
acceptable to the commission; also may include detailed informa-
tion about services to be furnished. 

(9) Contractor—A successful bidder/offeror [to whom] who has
received an award by the commission and with which a contract
has been [awarded by] executed with the commission. 

(10) Debarment—An exclusion from contracting with the commis-
sion [for] that is issued by the commission and has an indefinite
period of time in duration.

(12) Director—The director of the General Services Division of the
department or a designated representative (i.e., designee) of the
director. 

(16) Indefinite Delivery Contract (IDC)—Resulting from a com-
petitive procurement, contracts awarded for facility mainte-
nance, construction, repair, rehabilitation, renovation, or alter-
ation services of a recurring nature when the delivery times and
quantities are indefinite. Work orders are placed with the con-
tractors based on pre-described and pre-priced tasks when the
need for the services arises.

[(16)](17) Invitation for bid (IFB)—A formal request for sealed bids
which [are] is solicited based upon specifications for which bids
must be submitted. 

(18) Invitation for quotation (IFQ)—An informal request for
either bids or proposals based upon either a specification or a
scope of work requirement. Establishes a target date and time by
which quotations must be submitted.

[(17)](19) Missouri firm—A corporation which is incorporated in
Missouri, or in the case of a partnership, joint venture, or sole pro-
prietorship, a business which has its principal place of business in
Missouri. 

[(18)](20) Multiple award—A purchase order or contract awarded
to/executed with two (2) or more bidders/offerors required to meet
the needs of the department. 

[(19)](21) Nonresponsive bid/proposal—A bid or proposal which
does not fulfill all terms, conditions, and specifications outlined in
the solicitation document. 

[(20)](22) Notice to proceed—A document sent by the department
that gives notice to the bidder/offeror to begin performance on its
contract. 

[(21)](23) Purchase—The term purchase [I]includes rental or leas-
ing of any equipment, articles, or supplies. 

[(22)](24) Purchase order—A document issued by the department[,]
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authorizing a bidder/offeror to deliver goods. 

[(23)](25) Responsible bid/proposal—Bid/proposal which complies
with all terms, conditions, and specifications outlined in the solicita-
tion document. 

[(24) Request for bid (RFB)—A formal request for sealed bids
which is solicited and based upon specifications for which
bids must be submitted. Bids must be submitted by a spe-
cific date and time.] 

(26) Request for information (RFI)—An Informal request for
information which is solicited and based upon identified needs.

[(25)](27) Request for proposal (RFP)—A formal request for sealed
proposals which is solicited and based on scope of work require-
ments. Proposals must be submitted by a specific date and time. 

[(26) Request for quotation (RFQ)—An informal request for
either bids or proposals based upon either a specification or
a scope of work requirement. Establishes a target date and
time by which quotations must be submitted.] 

[(27)](28) Solicitation—A process of notifying prospective
bidders/offerors that the department wishes to receive bids or pro-
posals to provide goods, services, or a combination of goods and ser-
vices to the commission. The term includes [R]IFQ, RFQ, RFP,
IFB, RFB, and any other procurement method which may be used
by the commission. 

[(28)](29) State—The state of Missouri. 

[(29)](30) Substitution—A shipment of an item that materially con-
forms to the specifications of the solicitation but is technically dif-
ferent from [the] such item [bid] in the solicitation. 

[(30)](31) Supplies—Materials, equipment, contractual services,
and all articles or things. 

[(31)](32) Suspension—An exclusion from contracting with the com-
mission [for] that is issued by the commission and has a temporary
period of time. 

[(32)](33) Vendor—Any individual, partnership, company, corpora-
tion, or joint venturer providing supplies to the commission. 

AUTHORITY: sections 226.020, 226.130, 227.030, and 227.210,
RSMo [2000] 2016. Original rule filed April 5, 1993, effective Oct.
10, 1993. Amended: Filed June 5, 2009, effective Jan. 30, 2010.
Amended: Filed May 4, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission, Pamela J.
Harlan, Secretary to the Commission, 105 W. Capitol Avenue, PO Box
270, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102 or Pamela.Harlan@modot.mo.gov.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public
hearing is scheduled. 

Title 7—MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF 
TRANSPORTATION

Division 10—Missouri Highways and Transportation
Commission

Chapter 11—Procurement of Supplies

PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

7 CSR 10-11.020 Procedures for Solicitation, Receipt of Bids, and
Award and Administration of Contracts. The Missouri Highways
and Transportation Commission is amending sections (1) through
(11), (13), (15) through (18), subsections (2)(A) through (2)(D),
(3)(A) through (3)(C), (5)(B), (5)(C), and (7)(C) through (7)(M);
adding a new section (4); and renumbering as necessary. 

PURPOSE: This proposed amendment removes unnecessary restric-
tive wording, updates revised definitions from 7 CSR 10-11.010 for
invitation for quotation and request for information, and adds
authority to procure indefinite delivery services. 

(1) Informal Procurement Methods. When the procurement is esti-
mated to be less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000), an
informal method of solicitation may be utilized. Informal methods of
procurement may include [request] invitation for quotation
([R]IFQ), telephone quotes, etc.

(2) Request for Bid/Invitation for Bid. A formal method of solic-
itation will be used [W]when the procurement is estimated to be
twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) or more[, a formal method
of solicitation must be utilized. Formal competitive bidding
shall be accomplished by utilizing]. The formal method of
solicitation will be either an invitation for bid (IFB) or request for
bid (RFB), etc.

(A) In a [F]formal [bids must be received in] solicitation,
sealed responses will be submitted to the division, or a secured
electronic database [in a sealed format], by the time set for the
opening of bids.

(B) Formal bids received after the time set for the opening of bids
[shall be considered late and] will not be opened.

(C) After the bid opening, all [B]bids received in response to an
IFB[/RFB shall be] are available for public review [after the bid
opening during regular working hours].

(D) When the division decides in its discretion that all bids are
unacceptable and circumstances do not permit a rebid, negotiations
may be conducted by the division with only those bidders who sub-
mitted bids in response to the IFB[/RFB]. [No additional bidders
shall be solicited.] Upon determination that negotiations will be
conducted, the bids and related documents will be closed to public
viewing in accordance with section 610.021, RSMo.

(3) Request for Proposals. Formal request for proposal (RFP)
solicitation methods will be used [W]when the procurement requires
the utilization of competitive negotiation[, the formal request for
proposal (RFP) solicitation method shall be utilized].

(A) [Formal proposals must be received i]In response to an
RFP, sealed responses will be submitted to the division, or a
secured electronic database [in a sealed format], by the time set
for the opening of the proposals.

(B) Formal proposals received after the time set for the opening of
bids/proposals [shall be considered late and] will not be opened.

(C) Proposals received in response to an RFP [shall not be] are
available for public review [until] after a contract is executed or all
proposals are rejected.

(D) Offerors who obtain information concerning a competitor’s
proposal may be disqualified for consideration for a contract award.
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(4) Indefinite Delivery Contracts. IDC contracts may be utilized
for facility maintenance, construction, repair, rehabilitation, ren-
ovation, or alteration services of a recurring nature when the
delivery times and quantities are indefinite with a total cost of
less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000).

[(4)](5) Single Feasible Source. The division may waive the require-
ment of competitive bids or proposals for supplies when the division
has determined in writing that there is only a single feasible source
for the supplies. Immediately upon discovering that other feasible
sources exist, the division shall rescind the waiver and proceed to
procure the supplies through the competitive processes as described
in this rule. 

(A) A single feasible source exists when[:]—
1. Supplies are proprietary and only available from the manu-

facturer or a single distributor; or 
2. Based on past procurement experience, it is determined that

only one (1) distributor services the region in which the supplies are
needed; or 

3. Supplies are available at a discount from a single distributor
for a limited period of time. 

(B) When the Single Feasible Source procurement method is uti-
lized, [the division shall use] the following guidelines [to support
the Single Feasible Source determination] will be used:

1. The following guidelines may be utilized to determine if sup-
plies can be purchased as a single feasible source due to being pro-
prietary:

A. The parts are required to maintain validity of a warranty;
B. Additions to a system must be compatible with original

equipment;
C. Only one (1) type of computer software exists for a spe-

cific application; 
D. Factory authorized maintenance must be utilized to main-

tain validity of a warranty;
E. The materials are copyrighted and are only available from

the publisher or a single distributor; or
F. The services of a particular provider are unique, e.g.,

entertainers, authors, etc.;
2. The following guidelines may be utilized if past procurement

activity indicates [that] only one (1) bid has been submitted in a par-
ticular region. In these situations, the division shall monitor the mar-
ket for developing competition; and

3. The following guidelines may be utilized to determine if sup-
plies may be purchased as a single feasible source due to being avail-
able at a discount for a limited period of time:

A. The discounted price [must be] is compared to a price
established through a reasonable market analysis; and

B. The discounted price should normally be at least ten per-
cent (10%) less than the current contract or other comparable price.
A discount of less than ten percent (10%) may be acceptable under
appropriate market conditions.  The discount should be compared to
a price which, where feasible, [should be no more than] is within
the most recent twelve (12) months [old].

(C) [On] The division shall post any proposed single feasible
source purchase [where the] with an estimated expenditure [shall
be] of five thousand dollars ($5,000) or [over, the division shall
post notice of the proposed purchase] more. [Where the esti-
mated expenditure is twenty-five thousand dollars
($25,000) or over, the division shall also advertise its intent
to make such purchase in such places as are most likely to
reach prospective bidders or offerors and may provide such
information through an electronic medium available to the
general public at least five (5) days before the contract is to
be let.] If the estimated expenditure is twenty-five thousand dol-
lars ($25,000) or more, the intent to make such purchase will be
advertised in such places as are most likely to reach prospective
bidders or offerors and may provide such information through an
electronic medium available to the general public at least five (5)

days before the contract is to be awarded. Other methods of adver-
tisement, however, may be [adopted] used by the division when
such other methods are deemed more advantageous for the supplies
to be purchased. [The requirement for a]Advertising may be
waived, if not feasible, due to the supplies being available at a dis-
count for only a limited period of time.  

[(5)](6) Emergency Procurement. When conditions meet the crite-
ria of an emergency situation as defined in 7 CSR 10-11.010, emer-
gency procurement procedures may be utilized. [The requirement
for f]Formal competitive bids or proposals may be waived[.
However], [the] but an emergency procurement should be made
with as much informal bidding as practicable. [Emergency proce-
dures shall only be utilized to purchase] Only those supplies
which are necessary to alleviate the emergency may be purchased
using emergency procedures.

[(6)](7) Cooperative Procurement. When circumstances dictate
that it would be most advantageous, the division may purchase sup-
plies from or in cooperation with another governmental entity.

(A) Supplies purchased from another governmental entity should
be limited to those supplies which are provided directly by such enti-
ty.

(B) Supplies purchased in cooperation with another governmental
entity may be purchased based on contracts established in accordance
with that entity’s laws and regulations.

[(7)](8) Applicable Procedures. Regardless of the solicitation
method utilized, the following procedures apply:

(A) [The division shall develop] All solicitation documents
will use standardized terms and conditions [to be included with
the solicitation documents];

(B) The division may request bids/proposals for new equipment
employing the trade-in of used equipment. The solicitation document
may request pricing with a trade-in and without a trade-in;

(C) The division may require bid/proposal, payment, and/or per-
formance bonds. The solicitation document shall identify the
acceptable form and amount of any required bid/proposal, pay-
ment, and/or performance bond.  In addition—

[1. The acceptable form and amount of the bid/proposal
bond shall be stipulated in the solicitation document.]

[2.]1. The bid/proposal bond of unsuccessful vendors may be
returned after the finalization of the award to the successful vendor.
If the successful vendor fails to [accept] execute the contract with
the commission, the amount of the bid/proposal bond of the suc-
cessful vendor may be forfeited to the commission. 

[3.]2. [If a payment and/or performance bond is
required, t]The bid/proposal bond of the successful vendor may be
returned after the receipt of the successful vendor’s payment and/or
performance bond. [The acceptable form and amount of the
payment and/or performance bond shall be stipulated in the
solicitation document.] If the contractor fails to submit the pay-
ment and/or performance bond as required, the bid/proposal bond
may be forfeited to the commission and the contract [shall be] void-
ed;

(D) In the event [that] the division receives a container which is
not identifiable as responsive to a specific bid/proposal, an autho-
rized person within the division may open the container to determine
the contents. If the contents are determined to be responsive to a
division bid/proposal, the container will be resealed and the solici-
tation number, opening date, and time will be noted on the outside[.
The container will then be filed until the official time for
opening] and included with all bids at the official time for open-
ing the responses;

(E) After the bid/proposal opening, a vendor may be permitted to
withdraw a bid/proposal prior to award at the sole discretion of the
division if there is a verifiable error in the bid/proposal and enforce-
ment of the bid would impose an unconscionable hardship on the
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vendor. This withdrawal will be considered only after receipt of a
written request and supporting documentation from the vendor.
[Withdrawal shall be t]The vendor’s sole remedy for an error
other than an obvious clerical error is bid withdrawal. Withdrawal
of a bid/proposal may result in forfeiture of the bid/proposal bond;

(F) For bids/proposals with a value of twenty-five thousand dollars
($25,000) or more, a ten percent (10%) preference is given to bid-
ders/offerors who can certify that goods or commodities to be pro-
vided in accordance with the contract are manufactured or produced
in the United States or imported in accordance with a qualifying
treaty, law, agreement, or regulation [shall be entitled to a ten
percent (10%) preference] over bidders whose products do not
qualify. Failure to provide a certification may result in forfeiture of
any preference. [The provisions in this subsection (7)(F) shall]
This preference does not apply to bids/proposals for goods or com-
modities [funded by] purchased with federal funds;

(G) In addition to cost, subjective judgment may be utilized in the
evaluation of bids/proposals provided [that] the method is published
in the solicitation document;

(H) The division may request samples to be provided free of
charge for evaluation purposes. [Any samples requested must
be provided free of charge.] Samples [which are] not destroyed
by testing will be returned at the vendor’s expense if return of the
samples is stipulated in the vendor’s bid/proposal. Samples submit-
ted by a vendor who receives the award may be kept for the duration
of the contract for comparison with shipments received; 

(I) During the course of a solicitation, vendors may be required to
demonstrate proposed products[. Such demonstration shall be
coordinated by] or services under coordination of the division;

(J) Applicable preference statutes will be applied [W]when bids
are equal in all respects[, any preferences shall be applied in
accordance with applicable statute]. If [all such bidders or
none qualify for the statutory preference, the contract shall
be awarded by] bids are equal in all respects after all applicable
statutory preferences are applied, a formal drawing of lot will be
used to award the contract. Whenever practical, the drawing will
be held in the presence of the vendors who are considered equal. If
this is not practical, the drawing will be witnessed by a disinterested
person; 

(K) The division may make multiple awards from a single solici-
tation document when such awards are in the best interest of the com-
mission as determined in the sole discretion of the division;

(L) [After an award is made, t]The solicitation file or facsimile
thereof shall be made available to the public for inspection at any
time [during regular working hours] after an award is made; and

(M) [Unless otherwise specified in the contract,] The
approval of the division is required prior to shipment or perfor-
mance when substitution of items, personnel, or services [shall
require the approval of the division prior to shipment or per-
formance] is proposed, unless otherwise specified in the con-
tract.

[(8)](9) Minority and Women Business Enterprises. The division
will encourage participation in the procurement process and fairness
in consideration of bids/proposals submitted by Minority Business
Enterprises (MBEs) and Women Business Enterprises (WBEs).
Programs/procedures designed to accomplish these objectives may
include: inclusion of MBE/WBE subcontractor requirements in
solicitation documents, close review of bond requirements, targeted
notice of procurement opportunities, utilization of minority and
women personnel on evaluation committees, etc.

[(9)](10) Bid Protest. A bid or proposal award protest must be [sub-
mitted] in writing and [must be] received by the division within ten
(10) calendar days after the date of award. If the tenth day falls on a
Saturday, Sunday, or state holiday, the period shall extend to the next
state business day. A protest submitted after expiration of the ten-
(10-)[-] calendar-day period shall not be considered. The written

protest should include the following information:
(A) Name, address, and phone number of the protester;
(B) Signature of the protester or the protester’s representative;
(C) Solicitation number;
(D) Detailed statement describing the grounds for the protest; and
(E) Supporting exhibits, evidence, or documents to substantiate

claim.  

[(10)](11) Award. [The award of a] A contract or purchase order
[shall be] is awarded based on the terms and conditions [set forth]
in the solicitation document. The director’s discretion may be uti-
lized in the evaluation of bids/proposals provided [that] the evalua-
tion categories and the relative percentage of impact are published in
the solicitation document. 

(A) Any bid/proposal failing to agree to, and comply with, all
terms, conditions, and specifications stated in the solicitation docu-
ment [shall be] is considered [as] nonresponsive to the solicitation
and shall not be considered for the award of a contract or purchase
order. 

(B) The commission may reject all bids/proposals and may waive
any minor informality or irregularity in a bid/proposal. The commis-
sion also may make multiple awards from a single solicitation docu-
ment when permitted by the solicitation document. 

[(11)](12) Corrections to Bid/Proposal Documents. When preparing
a bid/proposal, a bidder/offeror may correct an error by marking it
out or erasing it. The change should be initialed by the person sign-
ing the bid/proposal. [No bid/proposal shall be altered or
amended] Alterations or amendments to bid/proposals cannot
be made after the time and date specified for the opening of
bids/proposals. In the case of errors in the extension of price, the unit
price will govern. 

[(12)](13) Cancellation of Solicitation. The division may cancel a
solicitation document at any time without cause. 

[(13)](14) New Supplies. All supplies and equipment offered and
furnished must be new and of current production unless the solicita-
tion document specifically permits the offer of used items.
[Remanufactured or reconstructed items shall not be consid-
ered new.] 

[(14)](15) Rejection of Supplies. Products, equipment, or items
delivered that do not meet the specifications of the contract may be
rejected. When rejected, the vendor must make immediate replace-
ment in accordance with the specifications of the contract. 

[(15)](16) Inspection. All materials, equipment, and supplies [shall]
may be [subject to] inspect[ion]ed and test[s]ed by the department.
Items that do not meet the specifications of a contract may be reject-
ed. The contractor is not relieved of any liability under the con-
tract if the division fail[ure]s to reject upon receipt or after part or
all of the items have been consumed [shall not relieve the contrac-
tor of any liability under the contract]. 

[(16)](17) Services. Services which have not been performed in
accordance with specifications or the scope of work of a contract may
be rejected. The vendor is not relieved of any liability under the
contract if the division fail[ure]s to reject upon receipt or after part
or all of those services have been performed [shall not relieve the
vendor of any liability under the contract]. 

[(17)](18) Assignment. [Permission from the commission to a]
A contractor must request permission from the commission, in
writing, to assign a contract or order [must be requested by the
contractor in writing]. [A contractor shall not assign its inter-
est in a contract or order to another party without receiving
written permission from the division acting on behalf of the
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commission.] The division, acting on behalf of the commission,
will provide written permission, if the division agrees to the
request.

[(18)](19) Arbitration. The commission, unless specifically agreed
upon by the parties in writing, shall not be bound by a compulsory
arbitration or other compulsory dispute resolution provision which is
present in any of vendor’s forms or boilerplate.

AUTHORITY: sections 226.020, 226.130, 227.030, and 227.210,
RSMo [2000] 2016. Original rule filed April 5, 1993, effective Oct.
10, 1993. Rescinded and readopted: Filed June 5, 2009, effective
Jan. 30, 2010. Amended: Filed May 4, 2018. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission, Pamela J.
Harlan, Secretary to the Commission, 105 W. Capitol Avenue, PO Box
270, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102 or Pamela.Harlan@modot.mo.gov.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public
hearing is scheduled. 

Title 7—MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF 
TRANSPORTATION

Division 10—Missouri Highways and Transportation
Commission

Chapter 11—Procurement of Supplies

PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

7 CSR 10-11.030 Vendor [Registration, Notification of
Competitive Bidding Opportunities,] Suspension[,] and
Debarment. The Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission
is amending the title, purpose statement, sections (3), (4), (5); subsec-
tions (3)(A) through (3)(C), (4)(A), (4)(B); deleting sections (1) and
(2); and renumbering as necessary. 

PURPOSE: This proposed amendment removes procedures no longer
applicable for vendor registration and vendor notification of bidding
opportunities and removes unnecessary restrictive wording.  

PURPOSE: This rule describes [procedures for vendor registra-
tion, vendor notification of bidding opportunities, and] proce-
dures for suspension and debarment of vendors. 

[(1) Any individual, business, or organization may complete
a commission vendor registration in order to be added to the
commission’s vendor database. It is the vendor’s sole
responsibility to update their vendor registration information
with the commission. 

(2) A person, business, or corporation contracting with the
commission shall be considered as an independent contrac-
tor and shall not be considered nor represent him/herself as
an employee or agency of the commission or department. A
corporation must be authorized to do business in Missouri by
registering with the Office of the Secretary of State before
proceeding with work under a contract unless specifically
exempt pursuant to section 351.572, RSMo.]

[(3)](1) Suspension. The director, or director’s designee, may sus-
pend a vendor for cause. [The vendor shall be mailed a] A formal
notice of suspension outlining the reasons for, the specific conditions
of, and the effective period of the suspension, shall be mailed to the
vendor. The director or designee may suspend a vendor whenev-
er, in their sole discretion, it is in the best interest of the commis-
sion to do so. It is the responsibility of the vendor, [U]upon com-
pletion of the suspension period [it shall be the responsibility of
the vendor], to request, in writing, reinstatement if desired. [A
request for reinstatement should be made in writing.]

(A) [Any] During suspension, bids/proposals submitted by a sus-
pended vendor shall not be considered.

(B) The suspension of a vendor may be for a period of up to one
hundred eighty (180) days for a first violation, and [for not more
than] up to a year for subsequent violation(s).

(C) The vendor may appeal its suspension [by submitting a], in
writing, within fourteen (14) calendar days after receiving the
formal notice. The written request to the director or director’s
designee [within fourteen (14) calendar days after receipt of
the formal notice. The vendor must provide] may include spe-
cific evidence and reasons why suspension is not warranted. On the
basis of [this] the information in the appeal, the suspension may be
modified, rescinded, or affirmed by the director. The director’s
final decision on the vendor’s appeal shall be [final and] mailed to
all parties.

[(4)](2) Debarment. The director, or director’s designee, may
debar a vendor for cause. A formal notice of debarment outlining
the reasons for, the specific conditions of, and the actions neces-
sary for the vendor to be eligible to contract again, shall be
mailed to the vendor. The director may debar a vendor whenever,
in the director’s sole discretion, it is in the best interest of the com-
mission to do so. A vendor may be debarred for a single incident of
serious misconduct or after multiple less serious incidents. [The
director shall notify the vendor of the reason for debarment
and any action the vendor must take in order to be found eli-
gible to contract again.]

(A) [Any] During debarment, bids/proposals submitted by a
debarred vendor shall not be considered. 

(B) [The vendor may appeal the debarment by requesting
that the determination be reviewed by the director or
designee. Any request for review must be in writing and filed
within fourteen (14) calendar days after the date of receipt of
the notice of debarment. The request must set forth specific
evidence and reasons why debarment should be reversed. The
director’s determination on the vendor’s appeal shall be final
and mailed to all parties.] The vendor may appeal its debarment,
in writing, within fourteen (14) calendar days after receiving the
formal notice. The written request to the director may include spe-
cific evidence and reasons why debarment is not warranted and is
addressed to the director. On the basis of this information, the
debarment may be modified, rescinded, or affirmed. The direc-
tor’s decision on the vendor’s appeal will be mailed to all parties
and is considered the final decision.

[(5)](3) The following shall be sufficient cause for suspension or
debarment. The list is not meant to be all inclusive but [shall serve
as] is a guideline for vendor discipline and business ethics.

(A) Failure to perform in accordance with the terms and condi-
tions and requirements of any contract/purchase order;

(B) Violating any federal, state, or local law, ordinance, or regu-
lation in the performance of any contract/purchase order; 

(C) Providing false or misleading information on an application,
in a bid/proposal, or in correspondence to the department or a state
agency; 

(D) Failing to honor a bid/proposal for the length of time speci-
fied;

(E) Colluding with others to restrain competition; 
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(F) Obtaining information, by whatever means, related to a pro-
posal submitted by a competitor in response to a [request for pro-
posal (RFP)] solicitation in order to obtain an unfair advantage dur-
ing the negotiation process; or

(G) Contacting proposal/bid evaluators or any other person who
may have influence over the award, without authorization from the
division, for the purpose of influencing the award of a contract.

AUTHORITY: sections 226.020, 226.130, 227.030, and 227.210,
RSMo [2000] 2016. Original rule filed April 5, 1993, effective Oct.
10, 1993. Rescinded and readopted: Filed June 5, 2009, effective
Jan. 30, 2010. Amended: Filed May 4, 2018. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission, Pamela J.
Harlan, Secretary to the Commission, 105 W. Capitol Avenue, PO Box
270, Jefferson City, Missouri 65102 or Pamela.Harlan@modot.mo.gov.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public
hearing is scheduled. 

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 2—Air Quality Standards and Air Pollution
Control Rules Specific to the Kansas City Metropolitan

Area

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-2.260 Control of Petroleum Liquid Storage, Loading
and Transfer. The commission proposes to amend the purpose and
sections (1) through (5). If the commission adopts this rule action,
the department intends to submit this rule amendment to the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency to replace the current rule that is
in the Missouri State Implementation Plan. The evidence supporting
the need for this proposed rulemaking is available for viewing at the
Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution Control
Program at the address listed in the Notice of Public Hearing at the
end of this rule. More information concerning this rulemaking can be
found at the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Proposed
Rules website www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules.

PURPOSE: This amendment removes obsolete provisions, reduces
the regulatory burden on facilities, improves consistency with the St.
Louis rule 10 CSR 10-5.220 that regulates the same facilities, and
clarifies rule language on testing, reporting, and other items. This
amendment also complies with Executive Order 17-03 criteria and
removes any unnecessary restrictive words, adds back definitions
specific to the rule, and adds incorporations by reference as applic-
able. The evidence supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking,
per 536.016, RSMo, is Executive Order 17-03 Red Tape Reduction
Review and related comments.

PURPOSE: This rule restricts volatile organic compound emissions
from the handling of petroleum liquids in three (3) specific areas:
petroleum storage tanks with a capacity greater than forty thousand
(40,000) gallons, the loading of gasoline into delivery vessels, and
the transfer of gasoline from delivery vessels into stationary storage
containers. Exemptions are provided for facilities that make transfers

into stationary storage containers of certain sizes and types. This rule
is [required in order] necessary to reduce hydrocarbon emissions in
the Kansas City metropolitan area that contribute to the formation of
ozone.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state has determined that the
publication of the entire text of the material which is incorporated by
reference as a portion of this rule would be unduly cumbersome or
expensive. This material as incorporated by reference in this rule
shall be maintained by the agency at its headquarters and shall be
made available to the public for inspection and copying at no more
than the actual cost of reproduction. This note applies only to the ref-
erence material. The entire text of the rule is printed here.

(1) Applicability. This rule [shall apply] applies throughout Clay,
Jackson, and Platte Counties.

(2) Definitions.
(A) Bulk plant—Any gasoline storage and distribution facility

that receives gasoline by pipeline, ship or barge, or cargo tank
and subsequently loads the gasoline into gasoline cargo tanks for
transport to gasoline dispensing facilities, and has a gasoline
throughput of less than twenty thousand (20,000) gallons per day.
Gasoline throughput is the maximum calculated design through-
put as may be limited by compliance with an enforceable condi-
tion under federal, state, or local law.

(B) Bulk terminal—Any gasoline storage and distribution facil-
ity that receives gasoline by pipeline, ship or barge, or delivery
tank and has a gasoline throughput of twenty thousand (20,000)
gallons per day or greater. Gasoline throughput is the maximum
calculated design throughput as may be limited by compliance
with an enforceable condition under federal, state, or local law.

[(A)](C) CARB—California Air Resources Board[, 2020 L
Street, PO Box 2815, Sacramento, CA 95812].

(D) Cargo tank—A delivery tank truck or railcar which is
loading gasoline or which has loaded gasoline on the immediately
previous load.

(E) Condensate (hydrocarbons)—A hydrocarbon liquid sepa-
rated from natural gas which condenses due to changes in the
temperature or pressure, or both, and remains liquid at standard
conditions.

(F) Crude oil—A naturally occurring mixture consisting of
hydrocarbons and sulfur, nitrogen, or oxygen derivatives of
hydrocarbons (or a combination of these derivatives), which is a
liquid at standard conditions.

(G) Custody transfer—The transfer of produced crude oil or
condensate, or both, after processing or treating, or both, in the
producing operations, from storage tanks or automatic transfer
facilities to pipelines or any other forms of transportation.

[(B)](H) Department—Missouri Department of Natural Resources[,
205 Jefferson Street, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO
65102].

[(C) Initial fueling of motor vehicles—The operation of dis-
pensing gasoline fuel into a newly assembled motor vehicle
at an automobile assembly plant while the vehicle is still
being assembled on the assembly line. The newly assembled
motor vehicles being fueled on the assembly line must have
fuel tanks that have never before contained gasoline fuel.

(D) MO/PETP—The Missouri Performance Evaluation Test
Procedures, a set of test procedures for evaluating perfor-
mance of Stage I/II vapor control equipment and systems to
be installed or that have been installed in Missouri. Contact
the department for a copy of the latest MO/PETP.] 

(I) Delivery vessel—A tank truck, trailer, or railroad tank car.
(J) External floating roof—A storage vessel cover in an open

top tank consisting of a double deck or pontoon single deck
which rests upon and is supported by petroleum liquid being con-
tained and is equipped with a closure seal(s) to close the space
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between the roof edge and tank wall.
(K) Gasoline—A petroleum liquid having a Reid vapor pres-

sure four pounds (4 lbs) per square inch or greater. 
(L) Gasoline dispensing facility (GDF)—Any stationary facility

which dispenses gasoline into the fuel tank of a motor vehicle and
is not—

1. A gasoline distribution facility that transfers, loads, or
unloads gasoline at bulk terminals, bulk plants, or pipeline facil-
ities; or

2. A manufacturer of new motor vehicles performing initial
fueling operations dispensing gasoline into newly assembled
motor vehicles equipped with onboard refueling vapor recovery
(ORVR) at an automobile assembly plant while the vehicle is still
being assembled on the assembly line.

(M) Lower explosive limit (LEL)—The lower limit of flamma-
bility of a gas or vapor at ordinary ambient temperatures
expressed in percent of the gas or vapor in air by volume. 

(N) Monthly throughput—The total volume of gasoline that is
loaded into all gasoline storage tanks during a month, as calcu-
lated on a rolling thirty (30)-day average.

(O) Onboard refueling vapor recovery (ORVR)—A system on
motor vehicles designed to recover hydrocarbon vapors that
escape during refueling.

(P) Petroleum liquid—Petroleum, condensate, and any finished
or intermediate products manufactured in a petroleum refinery
with the exception of Numbers 2–6 fuel oils meeting ASTM D396-
17 requirements as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.040(12), gas turbine
fuel oils Number 2-GT–4-GT meeting ASTM D2880-15 require-
ments as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.040(20), and diesel fuel oils
Number 2-D and 4-D meeting ASTM D975-17 requirements as
specified in 10 CSR 10-6.040(14).

[(E)](Q) Staff director—Director of the Air Pollution Control
Program of the Department of Natural Resources, or a designated
representative.

[(F)](R) Stage I vapor recovery system—A system used to capture
the gasoline vapors that would otherwise be emitted when gasoline is
transferred from a loading installation to a delivery vessel or from a
delivery vessel to a storage tank.

(S) Submerged fill pipe—Any fill pipe the discharge opening of
which is entirely submerged when the liquid level is six inches
(6") above the bottom of the tank. When applied to a tank that
is loaded from the side, any fill pipe, the discharge opening of
which is entirely submerged when the liquid level is eighteen
inches (18") or twice the diameter of the fill pipe, whichever is
greater, above the bottom of the tank.

(T) True vapor pressure—The equilibrium partial pressure exert-
ed by a petroleum liquid as determined in American Petroleum
Institute, Manual of Petroleum Measurement Standards, Chapter
19.2, Evaporative Loss From Floating-Roof Tanks, 2012, as pub-
lished by the American Petroleum Institute is incorporated by ref-
erence. Copies can be obtained from the API Publishing Services,
1220 L Street, Washington, DC 20005. This rule does not incorpo-
rate any subsequent amendments or additions.

(U) Ullage—Volume in a container left empty to provide for
contents in the container to expand.

(V) Vapor recovery system—A vapor gathering system capable
of collecting the hydrocarbon vapors and gases discharged and a
vapor disposal system capable of processing the hydrocarbon
vapors and gases so as to limit their emission to the atmosphere. 

(W) Vapor tight—When applied to a delivery vessel or vapor
recovery system as one that sustains a pressure change of no more
than seven hundred fifty (750) pascals (three inches (3") of water)
in five (5) minutes when pressurized to a gauge pressure of four
thousand five hundred (4,500) pascals (eighteen inches (18") of
water) or evacuated to a gauge pressure of one thousand five hun-
dred (1,500) pascals (six inches (6") of water). 

(X) Waxy, heavy pour crude oil—A crude oil with a pour point
of fifty degrees Fahrenheit (50 °F) or higher compliant with

ASTM D97-12 requirements as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.040(10).
[(G)](Y) Definitions of certain terms specified in this rule, other

than those specified in this rule section, may be found in 10 CSR 10-
6.020.

(3) General Provisions.
(A) Petroleum Storage Tanks.

1. No owner or operator of petroleum storage tanks shall cause
or permit the storage in any stationary storage tank of more than forty
thousand (40,000) gallons capacity of any petroleum liquid having a
true vapor pressure of one and one-half (1.5) pounds per square inch
absolute (psia) or greater at ninety degrees Fahrenheit (90 °F),
unless the storage tank is a pressure tank capable of maintaining
working pressures sufficient at all times to prevent volatile organic
compound (VOC) vapor or gas loss to the atmosphere or is equipped
with one (1) of the following vapor loss control devices:

A. A floating roof, consisting of a pontoon type, double-deck
type or internal floating cover, or external floating cover, that rests
on the surface of the liquid contents and is equipped with a closure
seal(s) to close the space between the roof edge and tank wall.
Storage tanks with external floating roofs shall meet the additional
following requirements:

(I) The storage tank shall be fitted with either—
(a) A continuous secondary seal extending from the

floating roof to the tank wall (rim-mounted secondary seal); or
(b) A closure or other device approved by the staff direc-

tor that controls VOC emissions with an effectiveness equal to or
greater than a seal required under subpart (3)(A)1.A.(I)(a) of this
rule;

(II) All seal closure devices shall meet the following
requirements:

(a) There are no visible holes, tears, or other openings
in the seal(s) or seal fabric;

(b) The seal(s) is intact and uniformly in place around
the circumference of the floating roof between the floating roof and
the tank wall; and

(c) For vapor-mounted primary seals, the accumulated
area of gaps exceeding 0.32 centimeters, one-eighth inch (1/8")
width, between the secondary seal and the tank wall shall not exceed
21.2 cm2 per meter of tank diameter (1.0 in2 per foot of tank diam-
eter);

(III) All openings in the external floating roof, except for
automatic bleeder vents, rim space vents, and leg sleeves shall be
equipped with—

(a) Covers, seals or lids in the closed position except
when the openings are in actual use; and

(b) Projections into the tank which remain below the liq-
uid surface at all times;

(IV) Automatic bleeder vents shall be closed at all times
except when the roof is floated off or landed on the roof leg supports;

(V) Rim vents shall be set to open when the roof is being
floated off the leg supports or at the manufacturer’s recommended
setting; and

(VI) Emergency roof drains shall have slotted membrane
fabric covers or equivalent covers which cover at least ninety percent
(90%) of the area of the opening;

B. A vapor recovery system with all storage tank gauging and
sampling devices gas-tight, except when gauging or sampling is tak-
ing place. The vapor disposal portion of the vapor recovery system
shall consist of an adsorber system, condensation system, incinerator
or equivalent vapor disposal system that processes the vapor and
gases from the equipment being controlled; or

C. Other equipment or means of equal efficiency for purpos-
es of air pollution control as approved by the staff director.

2. Control equipment described in subparagraph (3)(A)1.A. of
this rule shall not be allowed if the petroleum liquid other than gaso-
line has a true vapor pressure of 11.1 psia or greater at ninety
degrees Fahrenheit (90 °F). All storage tank gauging and sampling
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devices shall be gas-tight except when gauging or sampling is taking
place.

3. Owners and operators of petroleum storage tanks subject to
this subsection shall maintain written records of maintenance (both
routine and unscheduled) performed on the tanks, all repairs made,
the results of all tests performed, and the type and quantity of petro-
leum liquid stored in them.

4. This subsection [shall] does not apply to petroleum storage
tanks which—

A. Are used to store processed and/or treated petroleum or
condensate when it is stored, processed, and/or treated at a drilling
and production installation prior to custody transfer;

B. Contain a petroleum liquid with a true vapor pressure less
than 27.6 kilopascals (kPa) (4.0 psia) at ninety degrees Fahrenheit
(90 °F);

C. Are of welded construction, and equipped with a metallic-
type shoe primary seal and have a shoe-mounted secondary seal or
closure devices of demonstrated equivalence approved by the staff
director; or

D. Are used to store waxy, heavy pour crude oil.
(B) Gasoline Loading.

1. No owner or operator of a gasoline [loading installation]
distribution facility or delivery vessel shall cause or permit the
loading of gasoline into any delivery vessel from a [loading instal-
lation] distribution facility unless the [loading installation] distri-
bution facility is equipped with a vapor recovery system or equiva-
lent. [This system or system equivalent shall be approved by
the staff director and the delivery vessel shall be in compli-
ance with subsection (3)(D) of this rule] The delivery vessel
must be in compliance with subsection (3)(D) of this rule.

2. Loading shall be accomplished in a manner that the displaced
vapors and air will be vented only to the vapor recovery system.
Measures shall be taken to prevent liquid drainage from the loading
device when it is not in use or to accomplish complete drainage
before the loading device is disconnected. The vapor disposal portion
of the vapor recovery system shall consist of one (1) of the follow-
ing:

A. An adsorber system, condensation system, incinerator, or
equivalent vapor disposal system that processes the vapors and gases
from the equipment being controlled and limits the discharge of VOC
into the atmosphere to ten (10) milligrams of VOC vapor per liter of
gasoline loaded;

B. A vapor handling system that directs the vapor to a fuel gas
system; or

C. Other equipment of an efficiency equal to or greater than
subparagraph (3)(B)2.A. or B. of this rule if approved by the staff
director.

3. Owners and operators of [loading installation] distribution
facilities subject to this subsection shall maintain complete records
documenting the number of delivery vessels loaded and their owners.

4. This subsection [shall] does not apply to [loading installa-
tion] distribution facilities whose average monthly throughput of
gasoline is less than or equal to one hundred twenty thousand
(120,000) gallons when averaged over the most recent calendar year,
provided that the installation loads gasoline by submerged loading.

A. [To maintain the exemption] Upon request of the
director, these installations shall submit to the staff director [on a
form supplied by the department by February 1 of each
year], a report stating gasoline throughput for each month of the pre-
vious calendar year. [After the effective date of this rule, any
revision to the department supplied forms will be presented
to the regulated community for a forty-five (45) day com-
ment period.]

B. Delivery vessels purchased after [the effective date of
this rule] April 30, 2004 shall be Stage I equipped.

[C. A loading installation that fails to meet the require-
ments of the exemption for one (1) calendar year shall not
qualify for the exemption again.

D. To maintain the exemption owners or operators
shall maintain records of gasoline throughput and gasoline
delivery.]

[E.]C. Delivery vessels operated by an exempt installation
shall not deliver to Stage I controlled tanks unless the delivery vessel
is equipped with and employs Stage I controls.

(C) Gasoline Transfer.
1. No owner or operator of a gasoline storage tank or delivery

vessel shall cause or permit the transfer of gasoline from a delivery
vessel into a gasoline storage tank with a capacity greater than [two
hundred fifty (250)] five hundred fifty (550) gallons unless—

A. The storage tank is equipped with a submerged fill pipe
extending unrestricted to within six inches (6") of the bottom of the
tank, and not touching the bottom of the tank, or the storage tank is
equipped with a system that allows a bottom fill condition;

B. All storage tank caps and fittings are vapor-tight when
gasoline transfer is not taking place; and

C. Each storage tank is vented via a conduit that is[:]—
(I) At least two inches (2") inside diameter;
(II) At least twelve feet (12') in height above grade; and
(III) Equipped with a pressure/vacuum valve that is CARB

certified [and MO/PETP approved at three inches water col-
umn pressure/eight inches water column vacuum (3”
wcp/8” wcv). When the owner or operator provides docu-
mentation that the system is CARB certified for a different
valve and will not function properly with a 3” wcp/8” wcv
valve, the valve shall be MO/PETP approved. All
pressure/vacuum valves shall be bench tested prior to instal-
lation. Initial fueling facilities shall have MO/PETP approved
pressure/vacuum valves.] or equivalent as approved by the staff
director. The pressure specifications for the pressure/vacuum
valves shall be a positive pressure setting of two and one-half to
six inches (2.5–6") of water and a negative pressure setting of six
to ten inches (6–10") of water.

2. Stationary storage tanks with a capacity greater than two
thousand (2,000) gallons shall also be equipped with a Stage I vapor
recovery system in addition to the requirements of paragraph (3)(C)1.
of this rule and the delivery vessels to these tanks shall be in com-
pliance with subsection (3)(D) of this rule.

A. The vapor recovery system shall collect no less than ninety
percent (90%) by volume of the vapors displaced from the stationary
storage tank during gasoline transfer and shall return the vapors via
a vapor-tight return line to the delivery vessel. After the effective
date of this rule, all coaxial systems shall be equipped with poppeted
fittings.

B. At the time of installation and every six (6) years there-
after, each Stage I vapor recovery system shall be static pressure
tested. The department must be notified at least seven (7) days
prior to the test date to allow an observer to be present. The test
results must be submitted to the staff director within fourteen
(14) days of test completion. Each system has to be capable of
meeting the static pressure performance requirement of the fol-
lowing equation:

Pf = 2e−760.490/v

Where:
Pf = Minimum allowable final pressure, inches of water.
v = Total ullage affected by the test, gallons.
e = Dimensionless constant equal to approximately 2.718.
2 = The initial pressure, inches water.

C. Pressure/vacuum valves shall be bench tested at the
time of installation and every three (3) years thereafter. The
department must be notified at least seven (7) days prior to the
test date to allow an observer the opportunity to be present. The
test results must be submitted to the staff director within four-
teen (14) days of test completion. The pressure specifications for
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pressure vacuum valves must be a positive pressure setting of two
and one-half to six inches (2.5–6") of water and a negative pres-
sure setting of six to ten inches (6–10") of water. The leak rate of
each pressure/vacuum valve shall not exceed four tenths (0.40)
cubic foot per hour at a pressure of two inches (2.0") of water
and four tenths (0.40) cubic foot per hour at a vacuum of four
inches (4.0") of water. 

[B.]D. A delivery vessel shall be refilled only at installations
complying with the provisions of subsection (3)(B) of this rule.

[C.]E. This subsection shall not be construed to prohibit
safety valves or other devices required by governmental regulations.

3. No owner or operator of a gasoline delivery vessel shall
cause or permit the transfer of gasoline from a delivery vessel into a
storage tank with a capacity greater than two thousand (2,000) gal-
lons unless—

A. The owner or operator employs one (1) vapor line per
product line during the transfer. The staff director may approve other
delivery systems upon submittal to the department of test data
demonstrating compliance with subparagraph (3)(C)2.A. of this rule;

B. [The vapor hose(s) employed] Each vapor hose is no
less than three inches (3") inside diameter; [and]

C. [The product hose(s) employed is no more than]
Each product hose is less than or equal to four inches (4") inside
diameter[.]; and

D. Any component of the vapor recovery system that is not
preventing vapor emissions as designed is repaired.

4. [The owner or operator of stationary storage tanks
subject to this subsection shall keep records documenting
the vessel owners and number of delivery vessels unloaded
by each owner. The owner or operator shall retain on-site
copies of the loading ticket, manifest or delivery receipt for
each grade of product received, subject to examination by
the staff director upon request. If a delivery receipt is
retained rather than a manifest or loading ticket, the delivery
ticket shall bear the following information: vendor name,
date of delivery, quantity of each grade, point of origin, and
the manifest or loading ticket number. The required retention
on-site of the loading ticket, manifest or delivery receipt
shall be limited to the four (4) most recent records for each
grade of product.] The owner or operator of a vapor recovery
system subject to subsection (3)(C) of this rule shall maintain
records of inspection reports, enforcement documents, gasoline
deliveries, routine and unscheduled maintenance, repairs, and all
results of tests conducted. Unless otherwise specified in this rule,
records have to be kept for two (2) years and made available to
the staff director within five (5) business days of a request.

5. The provisions of paragraph (3)(C)2. of this rule [shall] do
not apply to transfers made to storage tanks equipped with floating
roofs or their equivalent.

6. The provisions of paragraphs (3)(C) 1.–4. of this rule [shall]
do not apply to stationary storage tanks having a capacity less than
or equal to two thousand (2,000) gallons used exclusively for the
fueling of implements of agriculture or were installed prior to June
12, 1986.

(D) Gasoline Delivery Vessels.
1. No owner or operator of a gasoline delivery vessel shall oper-

ate or use a gasoline delivery vessel which is loaded or unloaded at
an installation subject to subsections (3)(B) or (C) of this rule
unless—

A. [The delivery vessel is tested annually to demon-
strate compliance with the test method specified in 40 CFR
part 63, subpart R, section 63.425(e)] Cargo tank tightness
test is conducted annually;

B. The owner or operator obtains the completed test results
signed by a representative of the testing facility upon successful com-
pletion of the leak test[. Blank test certification application
forms for the test results will be provided to the testing facil-
ities by the department. After the effective date of this rule,

any revision to the department supplied forms will be pre-
sented to the regulated community for a forty-five (45)-day
comment period. The owner or operator shall send a copy of
the signed successful test results to the staff director. The
staff director, upon receipt of acceptable test results, shall
issue an official sticker to the owner or operator];

[C. The Missouri sticker is placed on the upper left
portion of the back end of the vessel;]

[D.]C. The delivery vessel is repaired by the owner or oper-
ator and retested within fifteen (15) days of testing if it does not
[meet the leak test criteria of paragraph (3)(D)1. of this rule]
pass the cargo tank tightness test; and

[E.]D. A copy of the vessel’s current [Tank Truck
Tightness Test] cargo tank tightness test results are kept with the
delivery vessel at all times and made immediately available to the
staff director upon request.

[2. An owner or operator of a gasoline delivery vessel
who can demonstrate to the satisfaction of the staff director
that the vessel has passed a current annual leak test in
another state shall be deemed to have satisfied the require-
ments of subparagraph (3)(D)1.A. of this rule, if the other
state’s leak test program requires the same gauge pressure
and test procedures as the test specified in subparagraph
(3)(D)1.A. of this rule. The owner or operator shall apply for
a Missouri sticker and display the Missouri sticker on the
upper left portion of the back end of the delivery vessel.

3. Owners and operators of gasoline delivery vessels
shall maintain written records of all tests and maintenance
performed on the vessels.]

[4.]2. This subsection shall not be construed to prohibit safety
valves or other devices required by governmental regulations.

(E) Owner/Operator Compliance. The owner or operator of a
vapor recovery system subject to this rule shall—

1. Operate the vapor recovery system and the gasoline loading
equipment in a manner that prevents—

A. Gauge pressure from exceeding four thousand five hun-
dred (4,500) pascals (eighteen inches (18") of [H2O] water) in the
delivery vessel;

B. A reading equal to or greater than one hundred percent
(100%) of the lower explosive limit (LEL, measured as propane) at
two and one-half (2.5) centimeters from all points on the perimeter
of a potential leak source when measured by [the method refer-
enced in] Method 21—Determination of Volatile Organic
Compound Leaks as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.030[(14)(E)](22)
during loading or transfer operations; and

C. Visible liquid leaks during loading or transfer operation;
2. Repair and retest within fifteen (15) days, a vapor recovery

system that exceeds the limits in subsection (3)(E) of this rule; and
3. [Maintain written records of inspection reports,

enforcement documents, gasoline deliveries, routine and
unscheduled maintenance and repairs and all results of tests
conducted.] The owner or operator of a vapor recovery system
subject to subsection (3)(E) of this rule shall maintain records of
inspection reports, enforcement documents, gasoline deliveries,
routine and unscheduled maintenance, repairs, and all results of
tests conducted. Unless otherwise specified in this rule, records
shall be kept for two (2) years and made available to the staff
director within five (5) business days of a request.

(4) Reporting and Record Keeping. The reporting and record keeping
requirements are located in paragraphs (3)(A)3., (3)(B)3., (3)(C)4.,
[(3)(D)3.] and (3)(E)3. of this rule. In addition, all records shall be
maintained for a minimum of two (2) years, and shall be made imme-
diately available to inspectors upon request.

(5) Test Methods.
(A) [Testing and monitoring procedures to determine com-

pliance with subsection (3)(D) of this rule and confirm the

Page 1269
June 15, 2018
Vol. 43, No. 12 Missouri Register



continuing existence of leak-tight conditions shall be conduct-
ed using the method referenced in 10 CSR 10-6.030(14)(B)
or by any method determined by the staff director.] Testing
procedures to determine compliance with subparagraph
(3)(D)1.A. shall be performed according to 40 CFR 63.425(e),
Subpart R. 40 CFR 63 promulgated as of June 30, 2018 is hereby
incorporated by reference in this rule, as published by the Office
of the Federal Register. Copies can be obtained from the U.S.
Publishing Office Bookstore, 710 N. Capitol Street NW,
Washington, DC 20401. This rule does not incorporate any sub-
sequent amendments or additions.

(B) Testing procedures to determine compliance with subpara-
graph (3)(B)2.A. of this rule shall be conducted using [the method
referenced in] Method 25—Determination of Total Gaseous
Nonmethane Organic Emissions as Carbon as specified in 10
CSR 10-6.030[(14)(A)](22) or by any method determined by the
staff director.

[(D) A static leak decay test of the Stage I vapor recovery
system shall be required once every five (5) years to demon-
strate system vapor tightness. In addition, a bench test of
each pressure/vacuum valve shall be required once every
two (2) years to demonstrate component vapor tightness.]

[(E)](D) [Additional testing may also be required by the
staff director in order to determine proper functioning of
vapor recovery equipment.] Testing procedures to determine
compliance with subparagraph (3)(C)2.B. of this rule shall be
conducted using California Air Resources Board Vapor Recovery
Test Procedure TP-201.1E—Leak Rate and Cracking Pressure of
Pressure/Vacuum Vent Valves, adopted October 8, 2003, or by
any method determined by the staff director. Test Procedure TP-
201.1E is hereby incorporated by reference in this rule, as pub-
lished by the California Air Resources Board. Copies can be
obtained from the California Air Resources Board, PO Box 2815,
Sacramento, CA 95812.  This rule does not incorporate any sub-
sequent amendments or additions.

(E) Testing procedures to determine compliance with subpara-
graph (3)(C)2.C. of this rule shall be conducted using California
Air Resources Board Vapor Recovery Test Procedure TP-201.3—
Determination of 2-Inch WC Static Pressure Performance of
Vapor Recovery Systems of Dispensing Facilities, adopted April
12, 1996, and amended March 17, 1999, or by any method deter-
mined by the staff director. Test Procedure TP-201.3 is hereby
incorporated by reference in this rule, as published by the
California Air Resources Board. Copies can be obtained from the
California Air Resources Board, PO Box 2815, Sacramento, CA
95812. This rule does not incorporate any subsequent amend-
ments or additions.

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo [2000] 2016. Original rule
filed Jan. 15, 1979, effective June 11, 1979. For intervening history,
please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed May
9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin at
9:00 a.m., August 30, 2018. The public hearing will be held at the
Elm Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level,
Bennett Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri.

Opportunity to be heard at the hearing shall be afforded any inter-
ested person. Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit
a statement of their views until 5:00 p.m., September 6, 2018. Send
online comments via the proposed rules web page
www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules, email comments to
apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written comments to Chief, Air Quality
Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air
Pollution Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
0176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 2—Air Quality Standards and Air Pollution
Control Rules Specific to the Kansas City Metropolitan

Area

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-2.300 Control of Emissions From the Manufacturing of
Paints, Varnishes, Lacquers, Enamels, and Other Allied Surface
Coating Products. The commission proposes to amend the purpose
and sections (1) and (2); and amend and restructure existing sections
(3)–(6) into new sections (3)–(5). If the commission adopts this rule
action, the department intends to submit this rule amendment to the
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to replace the current rule that
is in the Missouri State Implementation Plan. The evidence supporting
the need for this proposed rulemaking is available for viewing at the
Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution Control
Program at the address listed in the Notice of Public Hearing at the
end of this rule. More information concerning this rulemaking can be
found at the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Proposed
Rules website www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules.

PURPOSE: The purpose of this rulemaking is to comply with
Executive Order 17-03 criteria and will remove the unnecessary use
of restrictive words. This rulemaking will also restructure the rule
into the standard rule organization format, clarify rule language,
update incorporations by reference, and add definitions specific to
this rule. The evidence supporting the need for this proposed rule-
making, per 536.016, RSMo, is Executive Order 17-03 Red Tape
Reduction Review and related comments.

PURPOSE: This [regulation] rule specifies operating equipment
requirements and operating procedures for the reduction of volatile
organic compounds from the manufacture of paints, varnishes, lac-
quers, enamels, and other allied surface coating products in [the
Kansas City metropolitan area] Clay, Jackson, and Platte
Counties.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state has determined that
the publication of the entire text of the material which is incorporated
by reference as a portion of this rule would be unduly cumbersome
or expensive. This material as incorporated by reference in this rule
shall be maintained by the agency at its headquarters and shall be
made available to the public for inspection and copying at no more
than the actual cost of reproduction. This note applies only to the ref-
erence material. The entire text of the rule is printed here.

(1) [Application] Applicability.
(A) This [regulation shall apply] rule applies throughout Clay,

Jackson, and Platte Counties.
(B) This [regulation] rule applies to those [installations] facili-

ties which have the uncontrolled potential to emit more than two hun-
dred fifty kilograms per day (250 kg/day) or one hundred (100) tons
per year of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) from the manufacture
of paints, varnishes, lacquers, enamels, and other allied surface coat-
ing products. [This does not include any installation which
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does not have an allowable VOC emission limit established
under 10 CSR 10-6.060 or legally enforceable state imple-
mentation plan revision and which has uncontrolled potential
emissions less than two hundred fifty (250) kg/day or one
hundred (100) tons per year. The uncontrolled potential to
emit is the potential emissions (as defined) plus the emis-
sions removed by control devices.]

(2) Definitions [of certain terms specified in this regulation
may be found in 10 CSR 10-6.020].

(A) Add-on control device—An air pollution control device,
such as a thermal oxidizer or carbon adsorber, that reduces pol-
lution in an air stream by destruction or removal before dis-
charge to the atmosphere.

(B) Condenser—Any heat transfer device used to liquefy
vapors by removing their latent heats of vaporization including,
but not limited to, shell and tube, coil, surface, or contact con-
densers.

(C) Control device—Any equipment that reduces the quantity
of a pollutant that is emitted to the air. The device may destroy
or secure the pollutant for subsequent recovery. Includes, but is
not limited to, incinerators, carbon adsorbers, and condensers.

(D) Director—Director of the Missouri Department of Natural
Resources or a representative designated to carry out the duties
as described in 643.060, RSMo.

(E) Facility—All contiguous or adjoining property that is
under common ownership or control, including properties that
are separated only by a road or other public right-of-way.

(F) Paints, varnishes, lacquers, enamels, and other allied sur-
face coating manufacturing facility—Any facility which mixes,
blends, or compounds paints, varnishes, lacquers, enamels, shel-
lacs, or sealers which is classified under standard industrial clas-
sification code 2851, as described in the  1987 edition of the
Federal Standard Industrial Classification Manual which is hereby
incorporated by reference in this rule, as published by the
Executive Office of the President, Office of Management and
Budget. Copies can be obtained from the U.S. Publishing Office
Bookstore, 710 N. Capitol Street NW, Washington, DC 20401.

(G) Potential to emit—The emission rates of any pollutant at
maximum design capacity. Annual potential shall be based on the
maximum annual-rated capacity of the installation assuming
continuous year-round operation. Federally enforceable permit
conditions on the type of materials combusted or processed,
operating rates, hours of operation, and the application of air
pollution control equipment shall be used in determining the
annual potential. Secondary emissions do not count in determin-
ing annual potential.

(H) Volatile organic compound (VOC)—See definition in 10
CSR 10-6.020.

(3) General Provisions. [No owner or operator of a manufactur-
ing installation subject to this regulation and producing the
products listed in section (1) shall cause or allow the manu-
facture of these products unless the operating equipment
meets the requirements contained in this regulation and
without adhering to operating procedures recommended by
the equipment manufacturer and approved by the director.]

[(4)](A) Operating Equipment and Operating Procedure
Requirements.

[(A)]1. Tanks storing VOC with a vapor pressure greater than
or equal to ten kilo pascals (10 kPa) (1.5 psi) at twenty degrees
Celsius (20 oC), shall be equipped with pressure/vacuum conserva-
tion vents set at 0.2 kPa (0.029 psi), except where more effective air
pollution control is used and has been approved by the director.
Stationary VOC storage containers with a capacity greater than two
hundred fifty (250) gallons shall be equipped with a submerged-fill
pipe or bottom fill, except where more effective air pollution control
is used and has been approved by the director.

[(B)]2. Covers shall be installed on all open-top tanks used for
the production of [nonwaterbase] non-water-based coating prod-
ucts[. These covers shall] and remain closed except when produc-
tion, sampling, maintenance, or inspection procedures require oper-
ator access.

[(C)]3. Covers shall be installed on all tanks containing VOC
used for cleaning equipment[. These covers shall] and remain
closed except when operator access is required.

[(D)]4. All vapors from varnish cooking operations shall be col-
lected and passed through a control device which removes at least
eighty-five percent (85%) of the VOCs from these vapors before they
are discharged to the atmosphere.

[(E)]5. All grinding mills shall be operated and maintained in
accordance with manufacturer’s specifications. The manufacturer’s
specifications shall be kept on file and made available to the director
upon his/her request.

[(F)]6. The polymerization of synthetic varnish or resin shall be
done in a completely enclosed operation with the VOC emissions
controlled by the use of surface condensers or equivalent controls.

[1.]A. If surface condensers are used, the temperature of the
exit stream shall not exceed the temperature at which the vapor pres-
sure is 3.5 kPa (0.5 psi) for any organic compound in the exit stream.

[2.]B. If equivalent controls are used, the VOC emissions
must be reduced by an amount equivalent to the reduction which
would be achieved under subparagraph [(4)(F)1.] (3)(A)6.A. [Any
owner or operator desiring to use equivalent controls to com-
ply with this subsection shall submit proof of equivalency as
part of the control plan required under subsection (5)(A) of
this regulation.] Equivalent controls may not be used [unless]
until proof of equivalency has been submitted to the department
and approved by the director.

[(5) Compliance Dates.
(A) The owner or operator of a paint, varnish, lacquer,

enamel or other allied surface coating production installation
subject to this regulation shall submit a final control plan to
the director for his/her approval no later than January 25,
1988. This plan shall include a time schedule for compliance
containing an engineering design, increments of progress
final compliance and testing dates.

(B) Compliance with this regulation shall be accomplished
by affected installations promptly, but in no case later than
March 31, 1988.]

[(6)](B) Compliance [Methods and Record Keeping]
Determination.

[(A)]1. The VOC control efficienc[y]ies specified in [subsec-
tions (4)(D) and (F)] paragraphs (3)(A)4. and (3)(A)6. shall be
determined by the [testing methods referenced in 10 CSR 10-
6.030(14)(A)] method in section (5) of this rule. [The same
method shall be used to sample emissions from alternate
control measures subject to the director’s review in subsec-
tion (4)(A).]

[(B)]2. Owners or operators utilizing add-on control technology
shall monitor the following parameters continuously while the affect-
ed equipment is in operation:

[1.]A. Exit stream temperature on all condensers;
[2.]B. Routine and unscheduled maintenance and repair

activities on all air pollution control equipment; and
[3.]C. Any other parameter which the director determines is

necessary to quantify emissions or otherwise determine compliance
with this regulation.

[(C) Records shall be kept on production rates sufficient to
determine daily VOC emissions and any equipment test
results performed in conjunction with this regulation.

(D) The owner or operator shall maintain all recorded infor-
mation required under subsections (6)(B) and (C) and shall
keep the records for a period of not less than two (2) years.
All these records shall be made available to the director upon
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his/her request.]

(4) Reporting and Record Keeping.
(A) Records shall be kept on production rates sufficient to

determine daily VOC emissions and any equipment test results
performed in accordance with this regulation.

(B) The owner or operator shall maintain all recorded infor-
mation required under section (4) of this rule. All records shall
be kept for at least two (2) years and made available to the direc-
tor upon request.

(5) Test Methods. 40 CFR 60, Appendix A-7, Method 25 as spec-
ified in 10 CSR 10-6.030(22).

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo [1986] 2016. Original rule
filed April 2, 1986, effective Sept. 26, 1986. For intervening history,
please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed May
9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin at
9:00 a.m., August 30, 2018. The public hearing will be held at the Elm
Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level, Bennett
Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri. Opportunity to be
heard at the hearing shall be afforded to any interested person.
Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit a statement of
their views until 5:00 p.m., September 6, 2018. Send online comments
via the proposed rules web page www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules,
email comments to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written comments to
Chief, Air Quality Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-0176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 5—Air Quality Standards and Air Pollution
Control Rules Specific to the St. Louis Metropolitan

Area

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-5.500 Control of Emissions From Volatile Organic
Liquid Storage. The commission proposes to amend sections (1),
(3), (4), and (5); renumber current subsections (2)(B) and (2)(C);
renumber and amend current subsection (2)(D); remove current sub-
section (2)(E); and add new subsections (2)(B)–(2)(L), (2)(N), and
(2)(P)–(2)(X). If the commission adopts this rule action, the depart-
ment intends to submit this rule amendment to the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency to replace the current rule that is
in the Missouri State Implementation Plan. The evidence supporting
the need for this proposed rulemaking is available for viewing at the
Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution Control
Program at the address listed in the Notice of Public Hearing at the
end of this rule. More information concerning this rulemaking can be
found at the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Proposed
Rules website www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules.

PURPOSE: This rule limits the volatile organic compound (VOC)
emissions from installations with volatile organic liquid storage vessels
by incorporating reasonably available control technology (RACT) as

required by the Clean Air Act Amendments (CAAA) of 1990. The pur-
pose of this rulemaking is to remove unnecessary restrictive words,
add definitions specific to this rule, update incorporations by refer-
ence, and make other changes to clarify rule language. The evidence
supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking, per 536.016,
RSMo, is Executive Order 17-03 Red Tape Reduction Review and
related comments.

(1) Applicability.
(A) This rule [shall apply] applies throughout the City of St.

Louis and St. Charles, St. Louis, Jefferson, and Franklin Counties.
(B) [The provisions of t]This rule [shall apply] applies to all

storage [containers of] vessels with a capacity greater than or
equal to forty thousand (40,000) gallons that are used to store
volatile organic liquid (VOL) with [a maximum true vapor pres-
sure of one-half pound per square inch (0.5 psia) or greater
in any stationary tank, reservoir or other container of forty
thousand (40,000) gallon capacity or greater, except to ves-
sels as follows] the following exceptions:

1. Except as specified in subsections (4)(E) and (4)(H) of this
rule, storage [V]vessels with a capacity greater than or equal to
forty thousand (40,000) gallons storing a liquid with a maximum true
vapor pressure [of] less than one-half (0.5) psia are exempt from
the provisions of this rule; and

2. Except as specified in subsections (4)(E) and (4)(H) of this
rule, storage vessels with a design capacity less than forty thou-
sand (40,000) gallons are exempt from the provisions of this rule.

(C) This rule does not apply to the following:
[2.]1. Vessels permanently attached to mobile vehicles such as

trucks, railcars, barges, or ships;
[3.]2. Vessels used to store beverage alcohol;
[4.]3. Pressure vessels designed to operate in excess of twenty-

nine and four-tenths (29.4) psia and without emissions to the atmos-
phere;

[5.]4. Vessels [of] at coke oven by-product plants;
[6.]5. Vessels used only to store or transfer petroleum liquids

and that are subject to the requirements of 10 CSR 10-5.220; [or]
and

[7.]6. Vessels used to store volatile organic liquids that are sub-
ject to or exempt from the requirements of 40 CFR [parts] 60, 61,
or 63.

(2) Definitions.
(B) Closed vent system—A system that is not open to the

atmosphere and that is composed of hard-piping, ductwork, con-
nections, and, if necessary, flow-inducing devices that transport
gas or vapor from a piece or pieces of equipment to a control
device or back to a process.

(C) Condensate—Hydrocarbon liquid separated from natural
gas that condenses due to changes in the temperature or pres-
sure, or both, and remains liquid at standard conditions.

(D) Control equipment—Any equipment that reduces the
quantity of a pollutant that is emitted to the air. The device may
destroy or secure the pollutant for subsequent recovery. Includes,
but is not limited to, incinerators, carbon adsorbers, and con-
densers.

(E) Control device—An enclosed combustion device, vapor
recovery system, or flare.

(F) Department—The Missouri Department of Natural
Resources, which includes the director thereof, or the person or
division or program within the department delegated the author-
ity to render the decision, order, determination, finding, or other
action that is subject to review by the commission. PO Box 176,
Jefferson City, MO 65102.

(G) Director—Director of the Missouri Department of Natural
Resources or a representative designated to carry out the duties
as described in 643.060, RSMo.

(H) External floating roof—A storage vessel cover in an open
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top tank consisting of a double deck or pontoon single deck
which rests upon and is supported by petroleum liquid being con-
tained and is equipped with a closure seal(s) to close the space
between the roof edge and tank wall.

(I) Facility—All contiguous or adjoining property that is under
common ownership or control, including properties that are sep-
arated only by a road or other public right-of-way.

(J) Federally enforceable—All limitations and conditions which
are enforceable by the administrator, including those require-
ments developed pursuant to 40 CFR 55, 60, 61, and 63; require-
ments within any applicable state implementation plan; require-
ments in operating permits issued pursuant to 40 CFR 70 or 71,
unless specifically designated as nonfederally enforceable; and
any permit requirements established pursuant to 40 CFR 52.10,
52.21, or 55, or under regulations approved pursuant to 40 CFR
51, subpart I, including operating permits issued under a U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency-approved program that is
incorporated into the state implementation plan and expressly
requires adherence to any permit issued under such program.

(K) Fill—The introduction of VOL into a storage vessel but not
necessarily to complete capacity.

(L) Internal floating roof—A product cover in a fixed roof tank
which rests upon or is floated upon the volatile organic com-
pound liquid being contained and which is equipped with a slid-
ing seal(s) to close the space between the edge of the covers and
tank shell.

[(B)](M) Liquid-mounted seal—A foam- or liquid-filled seal
mounted in contact with the liquid between the wall of the storage ves-
sel and the floating roof continuously around the circumference of the
tank.

(N) Maximum true vapor pressure—The equilibrium partial
pressure exerted by the stored VOL, at the temperature equal to
the highest calendar-month average of the VOL storage tempera-
ture for VOLs stored above or below the ambient temperature or
at the local maximum monthly average temperature as reported
by the National Weather Service for VOLs stored at the ambient
temperature, as determined by an appropriate test method in
section (5) of this rule.

[(C)](O) Mechanical shoe seal—A metal sheet held vertically
against the wall of the storage vessel by springs or weighted levers
and is connected by braces to the floating roof. A flexible coated fab-
ric (envelope) spans the annular space between the metal sheet and
the floating roof.

(P) Petroleum—The crude oil removed from the earth and the
oils derived from tar sands, shale, and coal.

(Q) Petroleum liquids—Petroleum, condensate, and any fin-
ished or intermediate products manufactured in a petroleum
refinery.

(R) Petroleum refinery—Any facility engaged in producing
gasoline, kerosene, distillate fuel oils, residual fuel oils, lubri-
cants, or other products through distillation of petroleum or
through redistillation, cracking, extracting, or reforming of
unfinished petroleum derivatives.

(S) Reid vapor pressure—The absolute vapor pressure of
volatile crude oil and volatile nonviscous petroleum liquids except
liquefied petroleum gases, as determined by an appropriate test
method in section (5) of this rule.

(T) Standard conditions—A gas temperature of seventy degrees
Fahrenheit (70 °F) and a gas pressure of 14.7 pounds per square
inch absolute (psia).

(U) Storage vessel—Any tank, reservoir, or container used for
the storage of volatile organic liquids, but does not include:

1. Frames, housing, auxiliary supports, or other compo-
nents that are not directly involved in the containment of liquids
or vapors; or

2. Subsurface caverns or porous rock reservoirs.
(V) Vapor-mounted seal—A foam-filled primary seal mounted

continuously around the circumference of the tank so there is an

annular vapor space underneath the seal. The annular vapor
space is bounded by the bottom of the primary seal, the tank
wall, the liquid surface, and the floating roof.

(W) Vapor Recovery system—An individual unit or series of
material recovery units, such as absorbers, condensers, and car-
bon adsorbers, used for recovering volatile organic compounds.

(X) Volatile organic compound (VOC)—See definition in 10
CSR 10-6.020.

[(D)](Y) Volatile organic liquid (VOL)—Any substance which is a
liquid at storage conditions [and which contains] containing one
(1) or more volatile organic compounds [as defined in 10 CSR 10-
6.020].

[(E) Definitions of certain terms specified in this rule, other
than those specified in this rule section, may be found in 10
CSR 10-6.020.]

(3) General Provisions.
(A) Every owner or operator storing VOL in a vessel of forty thou-

sand (40,000) gallons or greater with a maximum true vapor pres-
sure greater than or equal to one-half (0.5) psia but less than three-
quarters (0.75) psia shall be subject to the [record-keeping] record
keeping requirements [of] in subsection (4)[(G)](F) of this rule and
the monitoring requirements [of] in subsection (4)[(H)](G) of this
rule. Furthermore, every owner or operator storing VOL in a vessel
of forty thousand (40,000) gallons or greater with a maximum true
vapor pressure equal to three-quarters (0.75) psia but less than eleven
and one-tenth (11.1) psia shall reduce VOC emissions from storage
[tanks, reservoirs or other containers] vessels as follows:

1. [Each] Equip each fixed roof [tank shall be equipped]
storage vessel with a vapor control system that meets the specifi-
cations contained in paragraph (3)(A)3. of this rule or an internal
floating roof that meets the following specifications [or shall be
equipped with a vapor control system that meets the speci-
fications contained in paragraph (3)(A)4. of this rule]:

A. The internal floating roof shall rest or float on the liquid
surface but not necessarily in complete contact with it inside a stor-
age vessel that has a fixed roof. The internal floating roof shall be
floating on the liquid surface at all times, except during initial fill and
during those intervals when the storage vessel is completely emptied
and subsequently refilled. When the roof is resting on the leg sup-
ports, the process of filling, emptying, or refilling shall be continu-
ous and [shall be] accomplished as rapidly as possible;

B. Each internal floating roof shall be equipped with one (1)
of the following closure devices between the wall of the storage vessel
and the edge of the internal floating roof:

(I) A liquid-mounted seal;
(II) Two (2) seals mounted one (1) above the other so that

each forms a continuous closure that completely covers the space
between the wall of the storage vessel and the edge of the internal
floating roof. The lower seal may be vapor-mounted, but both must
be continuous; or

(III) A mechanical shoe seal;
C. Each opening in a non-contact internal floating roof except

for automatic bleeder vents such as vacuum breaker vents and the rim
space vents shall provide a projection below the liquid surface;

D. Each opening in the internal floating roof except for leg
sleeves, automatic bleeder vents, rim space vents, column wells, lad-
der wells, sample wells, and stub drains shall be equipped with a
cover or lid which is to be maintained in a closed position at all times
with no visible gap except when the device is in actual use. The cover
or lid shall be equipped with a gasket. Covers on each access hatch
and automatic gauge float well shall be bolted except when they are
in use;

E. Automatic bleeder vents shall be equipped with a gasket
and [shall be] remain closed at all times when the roof is floating
except when the roof is being floated off or is being landed on the
roof leg supports;

F. Rim space vents shall be equipped with a gasket and [shall
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be] set to open only when the internal floating roof is not floating or
at the manufacturer’s recommended setting;

G. Each penetration of the internal floating roof for the pur-
pose of sampling a sample well[. The sample well shall have]
with a slit fabric cover that covers at least ninety percent (90%) of
the opening; and

H. Each penetration of the internal floating roof that allows
for passage of a ladder shall have a gasketed sliding cover;

[2. During the next scheduled tank cleaning or before
March 15, 2004, whichever comes first, each internal float-
ing roof tank shall meet the specifications set forth in sub-
paragraphs (3)(A)1.A. through (3)(A)1.H. of this rule;]

[3.]2. Each external floating roof [tank] storage vessel shall
meet the following specifications:

A. Each external floating roof shall be equipped with a clo-
sure device between the wall of the storage vessel and the roof edge.
The closure device shall consist of two (2) seals, one (1) above the
other. The lower seal is referred to as the primary seal, and the upper
seal is referred to as the secondary seal.

(I) Except as provided in subparagraph (3)(C)2.D. of this
rule, the primary seal shall completely cover the annular space
between the edge of the floating roof and [tank] storage vessel wall
and shall be either a liquid-mounted seal or a mechanical shoe seal.

(II) The secondary seal shall completely cover the annular
space between the external floating roof and the wall of the storage
vessel in a continuous fashion except as allowed in subparagraph
(3)(C)2.D. of this rule[.];

[(III) The tank shall be equipped with the closure
device after the next scheduled tank cleaning, but no later
than March 15, 2004;]

B. Except for automatic bleeder vents and rim space vents,
each opening in a non-contact external floating roof shall provide a
projection below the liquid surface. Except for automatic bleeder
vents, rim space vents, roof drains, and leg sleeves, each opening in
the roof shall be equipped with a gasketed cover, seal or lid that is to
be maintained in a closed position at all times with no visible gap
except when the device is in actual use. Automatic bleeder vents shall
be closed at all times when the roof is floating except when the roof
is being floated off or is being landed on the roof leg supports. Rim
vents shall be set open when the roof is being floated off the roof leg
supports or at the manufacturer’s recommended setting. Automatic
bleeder vents and rim space vents shall be gasketed. Each emergency
roof drain shall include a slotted membrane fabric cover that covers
at least ninety percent (90%) of the area of the opening; and

C. The roof shall be floating off the roof leg supports on the
liquid at all times except when the [tank] storage vessel is complete-
ly emptied and subsequently refilled. The process of filling, empty-
ing, or refilling when the roof is resting on the leg supports shall be
continuous and [shall be] accomplished as rapidly as possible;

[4.]3. [After the next tank cleaning but no later than
March 15, 2004, a c]Closed vent systems and control devices
respectively shall meet the following specifications:

A. The closed vent system shall be designed to collect all
VOC vapors and gases discharged from the storage vessel and oper-
ated with no detectable emissions as indicated by an instrument read-
ing of less than five hundred parts per million (500 ppm) above back-
ground and visual inspections, as determined by the methods [spec-
ified] in 40 CFR 60.485(c), [which is hereby incorporated by
reference] as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.030(22); and

B. The control device shall be designed and operated to
reduce inlet VOC emissions by ninety percent (90%) or greater. If a
flare is used as the control device, it shall meet the specifications
described in the general control device requirements of 40 CFR
60.18, [which is hereby incorporated by reference] as specified
in 10 CSR 10-6.030(22); or

[5.]4. An alternative emission control plan equivalent to the
requirements of paragraphs (3)(A)1., (3)(A)2., or (3)(A)3. [or
(3)(A)4.] of this rule that has been approved by the department and

the United States Environmental Protection Agency in a federally
enforceable permit.

(B) [After the next tank cleaning but no later than March
15, 2004, t]The owner or operator of each storage vessel with a
design capacity equal to or greater than forty thousand (40,000) gal-
lons which contains VOL that, as stored, has a maximum true vapor
pressure greater than or equal to eleven and one-tenth (11.1) psia
shall equip each storage vessel with a closed vent system and control
device as specified in paragraph (3)(A)[4.]3. of this rule.

(C) Testing Requirements. The owner or operator of each storage
vessel specified in section (1) of this rule shall comply with the
requirements of paragraph (3)(C)1., (3)(C)2., or (3)(C)3. of this
rule. The applicable requirements for a particular storage vessel
depends on the control equipment installed to meet the requirements
of this rule.

1. After installing the control equipment necessary [for the
source] to comply with [the requirements of] paragraph[s]
(3)(A)1. [and (3)(A)2.] of this rule for permanently affixed roofs
and internal floating roofs, each owner or operator shall—

A. Visually inspect the internal floating roof, the primary
seal, and the secondary seal (if one (1) is in service) prior to filling
the storage vessel with VOL. If there are holes, tears, or other open-
ings in the primary seal, the secondary seal, or the seal fabric or
defects in the internal floating roof, or both, [the owner or opera-
tor shall] repair the items before filling the storage vessel;

B. For storage vessels equipped with a liquid-mounted or
mechanical shoe primary seal, visually inspect the internal floating
roof and the primary seal or the secondary seal (if one (1) is in ser-
vice) through manholes and roof hatches on the fixed roof at least
once every twelve (12) months after initial fill. If the internal floating
roof is not resting on the surface of the VOL inside the storage vessel,
or if there is liquid accumulated on the roof, or if the seal is
detached, or if there are holes or tears in the seal fabric, [the owner
or operator shall] repair the items or empty and remove the storage
vessel from service within forty-five (45) days. If a failure that is
detected during inspections required in this rule subsection cannot be
repaired within forty-five (45) days and if the storage vessel cannot
be emptied within forty-five (45) days, the owner or operator may
request a thirty (30)-day extension from the department in the inspec-
tion report [required] described in paragraph (4)(A)2. of this rule.
Such a request for an extension must document that alternate storage
capacity is unavailable and specify a schedule of actions the owner
or operator will take that will assure that the control equipment will
be repaired or the storage vessel will be emptied within thirty (30)
days;

C. For storage vessels equipped with both primary and sec-
ondary seals—

(I) Visually inspect the storage vessel as specified in sub-
paragraph (3)(C)1.D. of this rule at least every five (5) years; or

(II) Visually inspect the storage vessel as specified in sub-
paragraph (3)(C)1.B. of this rule;

D. Visually inspect the internal floating roof, [the] primary
seal, [the] secondary seal (if one (1) is in service), gaskets, slotted
membranes, and sleeve seals (if any) each time the storage vessel is
emptied and degassed. If the internal floating roof has defects, the
primary seal has holes, tears, or other openings in the seal, or if the
seal fabric or the secondary seal has holes, tears, or other openings
in the seal, or if the seal fabric or the gaskets no longer close off the
liquid surfaces from the atmosphere, or if the slotted membrane has
more than ten percent (10%) open area, [the owner or operator
shall] repair the items as necessary so that none of the conditions
specified in this rule subsection exist before refilling the storage ves-
sel with VOL. In no event shall inspections conducted in accordance
with this provision occur at intervals greater than ten (10) years in
the case of storage vessels subject to the annual visual inspection as
specified in subparagraph (3)(C)1.B. and part (3)(C)1.C.(II) of this
rule and at intervals no greater than five (5) years in the case of stor-
age vessels specified in part (3)(C)1.C.(I) of this rule; and
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E. Notify the department in writing at least thirty (30) days
prior to the filling or refilling of each storage vessel for which an
inspection is [required by] conducted in accordance with subpara-
graphs (3)(C)1.A. and (3)(C)1.D. of this rule to afford the department
the opportunity to have an observer present. If the inspection
[required by] under subparagraph (3)(C)1.D. of this rule is not
planned and the owner or operator could not have known about the
inspection thirty (30) days in advance of refilling the [tank] storage
vessel, [the owner or operator shall] notify the department at least
seven (7) days prior to the refilling of the storage vessel. Notification
shall be made by telephone immediately followed by written documen-
tation demonstrating why the inspection was unplanned. Alternatively,
this notification including the written documentation may be made in
writing and sent by express mail so that it is received by the depart-
ment at least seven (7) days prior to the refilling.

2. The owner or operator of external floating roof [tanks] stor-
age vessels shall—

A. Determine the gap areas and maximum gap widths
between the primary seal and the wall of the storage vessel and
between the secondary seal and the wall of the storage vessel.

(I) Perform [M]measurements of gaps between the [tank]
storage vessel wall and the primary seal (seal gaps) [shall be per-
formed] during the hydrostatic testing of the storage vessel or within
sixty (60) days after the initial fill with VOL and at least once every
five (5) years thereafter.

(II) Perform [M]measurements of gaps between the [tank]
storage vessel wall and the secondary seal [shall be performed]
within sixty (60) days after the initial fill with VOL and at least once
per year thereafter.

(III) If any source ceases to store VOL for a period of one
(1) year or more, subsequent introduction of VOL into the storage
vessel shall be considered an initial fill for the purposes of parts
(3)(C)2.A.(I) and (3)(C)2.A.(II) of this rule;

B. Determine gap widths and areas in the primary and sec-
ondary seals individually according to the following procedures:

(I) Measure seal gaps, if any, at one (1) or more floating
roof levels when the roof is floating off the roof leg supports;

(II) Measure seal gaps around the entire circumference of
the [tank] storage vessel in each place where a one-eighth inch
(1/8") in diameter uniform probe passes freely without forcing or
binding against seal between the seal and the wall of the storage ves-
sel and measure the circumferential distance of each such location;
and

(III) Determine the total surface area of each gap described
in part (3)(C)2.B.(II) of this rule by using probes of various widths
to measure accurately the actual distance from the [tank] storage
vessel wall to the seal and multiplying each such width by its respec-
tive circumferential distance;

C. Add the gap surface area of each gap location for the pri-
mary seal and the secondary seal individually and divide the sum for
each by the nominal diameter of the [tank] storage vessel and com-
pare each ratio to the respective standards in subparagraph
(3)(C)2.D. of this rule;

D. Make necessary repairs or empty the storage vessel within
forty-five (45) days after identification in any inspection for seals not
meeting the requirements listed in parts (3)(C)2.D.(I) and
(3)(C)2.D.(II) of this rule.

(I) The accumulated area of gaps between the [tank] stor-
age vessel wall and the mechanical shoe or liquid-mounted primary
seal shall not exceed one inch (1.0") per foot of [tank] storage vessel
diameter, and the width of any portion of any gap shall not exceed
one and one-half inches (1.5"). There shall be no holes, tears, or
other openings in the shoe, seal fabric, or seal envelope.

(II) The secondary seal shall meet the following require-
ments:

(a) Be installed above the primary seal so that it com-
pletely covers the space between the roof edge and the [tank] storage
vessel wall except as provided in part (3)(C)2.B.(III) of this rule;

(b) The accumulated area of gaps between the [tank]
storage vessel wall and the secondary seal used in combination with
a metallic shoe or liquid-mounted primary seal shall not exceed one
inch (1.0") per foot of [tank] storage vessel diameter, and the width
of any portion of any gap shall not exceed one-half inch (0.5"). There
shall be no gaps between the [tank] storage vessel wall and the sec-
ondary seal when used in combination with a vapor mounted prima-
ry seal; and

(c) There shall be no holes, tears, or other openings in
the seal or seal fabric.

(III) If a failure that is detected during inspections required
in subparagraph (3)(C)2.A. of this rule cannot be repaired within
forty-five (45) days and if the storage vessel cannot be emptied with-
in forty-five (45) days, the owner or operator may request a thirty
(30)-day extension from the department in the inspection report
required in subparagraph (3)(C)2.D. of this rule. Such extension
request must include a demonstration of unavailability of alternate
storage capacity and a specification of a schedule that will assure that
the control equipment will be repaired or the storage vessel will be
emptied as soon as possible;

E. Notify the department thirty (30) days in advance of any
gap measurements required by subparagraph (3)(C)2.A. of this rule
to afford the department the opportunity to have an observer present;
and

F. Visually inspect the external floating roof, the primary
seal, secondary seal, and fittings each time the storage vessel is emp-
tied and degassed.

(I) If the external floating roof has defects, if the primary
seal has holes, tears, or other openings in the seal or the seal fabric,
or if the secondary seal has holes, tears, or other openings in the seal
or the seal fabric, [the owner or operator shall] repair the items
as necessary so that none of the conditions specified in this rule sub-
section exist before filling or refilling the storage vessel with VOL.

(II) For all the inspections required by subparagraph
(3)(C)2.F. of this rule, the owner or operator shall notify the depart-
ment in writing at least thirty (30) days prior to the filling or refilling
of each storage vessel to afford the department the opportunity to
inspect the storage vessel prior to refilling. If the inspection
[required by] under subparagraph (3)(C)2.F. of this rule is not
planned and the owner or operator could not have known about the
inspection thirty (30) days in advance of refilling the [tank] storage
vessel, [the owner or operator shall] notify the department at
least seven (7) days prior to the refilling of the storage vessel.
Notification shall be made by telephone immediately followed by
written documentation demonstrating why the inspection was
unplanned. Alternatively, this notification including the written doc-
umentation may be sent by express mail so that it is received by the
department at least seven (7) days prior to the refilling.

3. The owner or operator of each [source that is] storage ves-
sel equipped with a closed vent system and a flare to meet the
requirements of paragraph (3)(A)[4.]3. of this rule shall meet the
requirements specified in the general control device requirements of
40 CFR 60.18(e) and (f), [which are hereby incorporated by ref-
erence] as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.030(22).

(4) Reporting and Record Keeping. [The owner or operator shall
maintain all records required by this rule section, except for
the records required by subsection (4)(F) of this rule, on-site
for at least five (5) years. The records required by subsection
(4)(F) of this rule shall be kept on-site for the life of the
source. The records required by this rule shall be made avail-
able to the department immediately upon request.]
             (A) After installing control equipment in accordance with
paragraph (3)(A)1. [or (3)(A)2.] of this rule for fixed roofs and
internal floating roofs, the owner or operator shall—

1. Keep a record of each inspection performed as required by
subparagraphs (3)(C)1.A., (3)(C)1.B, (3)(C)1.C., and (3)(C)1.D. of
this rule. Each record shall identify the storage vessel on which the
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inspection was performed [and shall], contain the date the storage
vessel was inspected, and the observed condition of each component
of the control equipment including seals, internal floating, and fit-
tings;

2. If any of the conditions described in subparagraph (3)(C)1.B.
of this rule are detected during the annual visual inspection [required
by subparagraph (3)(C)1.B. of this rule], report to the department
within twenty (20) days after the inspection the identity of the storage
vessel, the nature of the defects, and the date the storage vessel was
emptied or the nature of and date the repair was made; and

3. After each inspection required by subparagraph (3)(C)1.C. of
this rule where tears or holes in the seal or seal fabric, or defects in
the internal floating roof, or other control equipment defects listed in
part (3)(C)1.C.(II) of this rule are discovered, report to the depart-
ment within twenty (20) days after the inspection the identity of the
storage vessel and the reason it did not meet the specifications of
paragraph (3)(A)1.[, (3)(A)2.] or (3)(C)1. of this rule, and list each
repair made.

(B) After installing control equipment in accordance with para-
graph (3)(A)[3.]2. of this rule for external floating roofs, the owner
or operator shall—

1. Within sixty (60) days after performing the seal gap measure-
ments required by subparagraph (3)(C)2.A. of this rule, furnish the
department with a report that contains the date of measurement, the
raw data obtained in the measurement, and the calculations of this
rule described in subparagraphs (3)(C)2.B. and (3)(C)2.C. of this
rule;

2. Maintain records of each gap measurement performed [as
required by] under subparagraph (3)(C)2.B. of this rule. Such
records shall identify the storage vessel in which the measurement
was performed and shall contain the date of measurement, the raw
data obtained in the measurement, and the calculations of this rule
described in subparagraphs (3)(C)2.B. and (3)(C)2.C. of this rule;
and

3. After each seal gap measurement that detects gaps exceeding
the limitations specified by subparagraph (3)(C)2.D. of this rule,
submit a report to the department within twenty (20) days after the
inspection identifying the storage vessel and containing the informa-
tion specified in paragraph (4)(B)1. of this rule and the date the stor-
age vessel was emptied or the repairs were made and the date of the
repair.

(C) After installing control equipment to comply with subsection
(3)(C) of this rule for closed vent systems and control device other
than a flare, the owner or operator shall maintain a record of the
measured values of the parameters monitored in accordance with the
requirements of this rule.

(D) After installing a closed vent system and flare to comply with
subsection (3)(C) of this rule, the owner or operator shall—

1. Provide the department with a report containing the measure-
ments [required by 40 CFR 60.18(f)(1), (2), (3), (4), (5), and
(6)] recorded under paragraph (3)(C)3. of this rule within six (6)
months after the initial start-up date;

2. Maintain records of all periods of operation during which the
flare pilot flame is absent; and

3. Report semiannually all periods recorded under [40 CFR
60.115b(d)(2), which is hereby incorporated by reference,]
paragraph (4)(D)2. of this rule in which the pilot flame was absent.

[(E) The owner or operator shall maintain records of tank
cleaning operations to document the date when control
devices are required.]

[(F)](E) The owner or operator of each storage vessel specified in
section (1) of this rule shall maintain readily accessible records of the
dimensions of the storage vessel and an analysis of the capacity of the
storage vessel. Each storage vessel with a design capacity less than
forty thousand (40,000) gallons is subject to no provision of this rule
other than those required by maintaining readily accessible records of
the dimensions of the storage vessel and analysis of the capacity of the
storage vessel.

[(G)](F) Except as provided in paragraphs [(4)(H)3. and
(4)(H)4.] (4)(G)3. and (4)G)4. of this rule, the owner or operator
of each storage vessel subject to the requirements in subsection
(3)(A) or (3)(B) of this rule with a design capacity greater than or
equal to forty thousand (40,000) gallons storing a liquid with a max-
imum true vapor pressure greater than or equal to one-half (0.5) psia
but less than three-quarters (0.75) psia shall maintain a record of the
VOL storage, the period of storage, and the maximum true vapor
pressure of the VOL during the respective storage period.

[(H)](G) Monitoring Requirements.
1. Except as provided in paragraph [(4)(H)4.] (4)(G)4. of this

rule, the owner or operator of each storage vessel with a design
capacity greater than or equal to forty thousand (40,000) gallons
storing a liquid with a maximum true vapor pressure that is normally
less than three-quarters (0.75) psia shall notify the department within
thirty (30) days when the maximum true vapor pressure of the liquid
exceeds three-quarters (0.75) psia.

2. Available data on the storage temperature may be used to
determine the maximum true vapor pressure.

A. For storage vessels operated above or below ambient tem-
peratures, the maximum true vapor pressure is calculated based upon
the highest expected calendar-month average of the storage tempera-
ture. For storage vessels operated at ambient temperatures, the max-
imum true vapor pressure is calculated based upon the maximum
local monthly average ambient temperature as reported by the
National Weather Service.

B. For other liquids, the vapor pressure shall be determined
by an appropriate test method in section (5) of this rule or calculated
by an appropriate method approved by the department.

3. The owner or operator of each storage vessel storing a mix-
ture of indeterminate or variable composition shall be subject to the
following:

A. Prior to the initial filling of the storage vessel, the maxi-
mum true vapor pressure for the range of anticipated liquid compo-
sitions to be stored will be determined using the methods described
in paragraph [(4)(H)2.] (4)(G)2. of this rule; and

B. For storage vessels in which the vapor pressure of the
anticipated liquid composition is one-half (0.5) psia or greater but
less than three-quarters (0.75) psia, perform an initial physical test
of the vapor pressure [is required]; a physical test at least once every
six (6) months thereafter is required as determined by an appropriate
test method in section (5) of this rule.

4. The owner or operator of each storage vessel equipped with
a closed vent system and control device meeting the specifications of
subsection (3)(A) or (3)(B) of this rule is exempt from the require-
ments of paragraphs [(4)(H)1. and (4)(H)2.] (4)(G)1. and (4)(G)2.
of this rule.

(H) The owner or operator shall maintain all records required
by this rule section, except for the records described in subsection
(4)(E) of this rule, on-site for at least five (5) years. The records
described in subsection (4)(E) of this rule shall be kept on-site for
the life of the source. The records required by this rule shall be
made available to the department immediately upon request.

(5) Test Methods. 
(A) [Compliance with the requirements of this rule shall be

determined by applying the following test methods, as
appropriate:] Petroleum Institute (API)  Manual of Petroleum
Measurement Standards (MPMS) Chapter 19.2 Evaporative Loss
from External Floating-Roof Tanks, Third Edition, as published
by API October 2012. This manual is hereby incorporated by ref-
erence in this rule. Copies can be obtained from API, 1220 L
Street NW, Washington, DC 20005. This rule does not incorpo-
rate any subsequent amendments or additions.

[1. Test Methods 1 and 2 (40 CFR 60, Appendix A) for
determining flow rates, as necessary;

2. Test Method 18 (40 CFR 60, Appendix A) for deter-
mining gaseous organic compound emissions by gas chro-
matography;
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3. Test Method 21 (40 CFR 60, Appendix A) for deter-
mination of volatile organic compound leaks;

4. Test Method 22 (40 CFR 60, Appendix A) for visual
determination of fugitive emissions from material sources
and smoke emissions from flares;

5. Test Method 25 (40 CFR 60, Appendix A) for deter-
mining total gaseous nonmethane organic emissions as car-
bon;

6. Test Methods 25A or 25B (40 CFR 60, Appendix A)
for determining total gaseous organic concentrations using
flame ionization or nondispersive infrared analysis;

7. Test method described in 40 CFR 60.113(a)(ii) for
measurement of storage tank seal gap;

8. Determination of true vapor pressure using American
Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) Test Methods
D323-94, D4953, D5190 or D5191 for the measurement of
Reid vapor pressure; and

9. Other test methods for determining compliance may
be used if found to be equivalent after review by the depart-
ment.]

(B) American Society of Testing and Materials (ASTM) D323-
15a Standard Test Method for Vapor Pressure of Petroleum
Products (Reid Method), as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.040(11).

(C) ASTM D2879-10 Standard Test Method for Vapor Pressure-
Temperature Relationship and Initial Decomposition Temperature
of Liquids by Isoteniscope, as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.040(35).

(D) ASTM D4953-15 Standard Test Method for Vapor Pressure
of Gasoline and Gasoline-Oxygenate Blends (Dry Method), as
specified in 10 CSR 10-6.040(26).

(E) ASTM D5191-15 Standard Test Method for Vapor Pressure
of Petroleum Products (Mini Method), as specified in 10 CSR 10-
6.040(27).

(F) Other method approved by the director.

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo [Supp. 1998] 2016. Original
rule filed July 15, 1999, effective Feb. 29, 2000. Amended: Filed
May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin at
9:00 a.m., August 30, 2018. The public hearing will be held at the Elm
Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level, Bennett
Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri. Opportunity to be
heard at the hearing shall be afforded to any interested person.
Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit a statement of
their views until 5:00 p.m., September 6, 2018. Send online comments
via the proposed rules web page www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules,
email comments to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written comments to
Chief, Air Quality Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-0176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 5—Air Quality Standards and Air Pollution
Control Rules Specific to the St. Louis Metropolitan

Area

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10 5.530 Control of Volatile Organic Compound
Emissions From Wood Furniture Manufacturing Operations. The
commission proposes to amend the purpose, sections (3)–(4), and
subsections (1)(A), (1)(B), (1)D), (2)(A), (2)(E), (2)(M), (2)(X),
(2)(AA), (2)(DD), (2)(RR), (5)(A), and (5)(C). If the commission
adopts this rule action, the department intends to submit this rule
amendment to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to replace
the current rule that is in the Missouri State Implementation Plan.
The evidence supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking is
available for viewing at the Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program at the address listed in the
Notice of Public Hearing at the end of this rule. More information
concerning this rulemaking can be found at the Missouri Department
of Natural Resources’ Proposed Rules website www.dnr.mo.gov/pro-
posed-rules.

PURPOSE: The purpose of this amendment is to remove unnecessary
restrictive words, correct test method references, and make minor
clarifications and grammatical changes. The evidence supporting the
need for this proposed rulemaking, per 536.016, RSMo, is Executive
Order 17-03 Red Tape Reduction review and related comments.

PURPOSE: This rule limits the volatile organic compound (VOC)
emissions from wood furniture manufacturing operations by incorpo-
rating reasonably available control technology (RACT) [as required
by] per 172(c)(1) of the Clean Air Act [Amendments (CAAA) of
1990].

(1) Applicability.
(A) This rule [shall apply] applies throughout the City of St.

Louis and St. Charles, St. Louis, Jefferson, and Franklin Counties.
(B) This rule is applicable to all existing wood furniture manufac-

turing installations that have the potential to emit equal to or greater
than twenty-five (25) tons per year of volatile organic compounds
(VOC).

(D) In the event that other rules in Title 10 Division 10 of the Code
of State Regulations are also applicable to wood furniture manufac-
turing installations, the more stringent rule [requirement shall
apply] applies.

(2) Definitions.
(A) Adhesive—Any chemical substance [that is] applied for [the

purpose of] bonding two (2) surfaces together other than by
mechanical means.

(E) Basecoat—A coat of colored material, usually opaque, [that
is] applied before graining inks, glazing coats, or other opaque fin-
ishing materials and is usually topcoated for protection.

(M) Continuous coater—A finishing system that continuously
applies finishing materials onto furniture parts moving along a con-
veyor system. Finishing materials that are not transferred to the part
are recycled to the finishing material reservoir. Several types of appli-
cation methods [can] may be used with a continuous coater includ-
ing spraying, curtain coating, roll coating, dip coating, and flow
coating.

(X) Finishing material—[A c]Coatings used in the wood furniture
industry[. For the wood furniture manufacturing industry,
such materials include] including, but [are] not limited to,
basecoats, stains, washcoats, sealers, and topcoats.

(AA) Nonpermanent final finish—A material such as a wax, pol-
ish, nonoxidizing oil, or similar substance that must be [periodical-
ly] reapplied periodically to a surface over its lifetime to maintain or
restore the [reapplied] material’s intended effect.

(DD) Organic solvent—A liquid containing volatile organic com-
pounds [that is] used for dissolving or dispersing constituents in a
coating, adjusting the viscosity of a coating, cleaning, or washoff.
When used in a coating, the organic solvent evaporates during drying
and does not become a part of the dried film.

(RR) Wood furniture component—Any part [that is] used in the
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manufacture of wood furniture. Examples include, but are not limited
to, drawer sides, cabinet doors, seat cushions, and laminated tops.

(3) General Provisions.
(A) Restriction of Emissions.

1. The owner or operator of an affected source shall limit VOC
emissions from finishing operations by complying with one (1) of the
following requirements:

A. Where only topcoat is applied without sealers, the topcoat
shall have a VOC content no greater than Table 1; or

Table 1
kg VOC/kg solids lb VOC/lb solids

(as applied) (as applied)
Topcoat             0.8                                       0.8

B. Where topcoat and sealers are applied and—
(I) Where sealer is not acid-cured alkyd amino vinyl or

topcoat is not acid-cured alkyd amino conversion varnish, the VOC
contents shall be no more than shown in Table 2;

Table 2
kg VOC/kg solids lb VOC/lb solids

(as applied) (as applied)
Sealer               1.9                                       1.9
Topcoat             1.8                                       1.8

(II) Where sealer is acid-cured alkyd amino vinyl and top-
coat is acid-cured alkyd amino conversion varnish, the VOC contents
shall be no more than shown in Table 3;

Table 3
kg VOC/kg solids lb VOC/lb solids

(as applied) (as applied)
Sealer               2.3                                       2.3
Topcoat             2.0                                       2.0

(III) Where sealer is not acid-cured alkyd amino vinyl and
topcoat is acid-cured alkyd amino conversion varnish, the VOC con-
tents shall be no more than shown in Table 4; or

Table 4
kg VOC/kg solids lb VOC/lb solids

(as applied) (as applied)
Sealer               1.9                                       1.9
Topcoat             2.0                                       2.0

(IV) Where sealer is acid-cured alkyd amino vinyl and top-
coat is not acid-cured alkyd amino conversion varnish, the VOC con-
tents shall be no more than shown in Table 5.

Table 5
kg VOC/kg solids lb VOC/lb solids

(as applied) (as applied)
Sealer               2.3                                       2.3
Topcoat             1.8                                       1.8

2. As an alternate to the finishing operation requirements of
paragraph (3)(A)1. of this rule, the owner or operator of an affected
source may use an averaging approach to verify compliance by using
this paragraph. Compliance is demonstrated when actual emissions
from the affected source are less than or equal to allowable emissions
using one (1) of the following inequalities:

0.9(0.8(TC1 + TC2 +...)) > [(ERTC1)(TC1) +
(ERTC2)(TC2) +...]                                                             (1)

0.9{[1.8(TC1 + TC2 +...)] +
[1.9(SE1 + SE2 +...)] + 
[9.0 (WC1 + WC2 +...)] +
[1.2(BC1 + BC2 +...)] +

[0.791(ST1 + ST2 +...)]} > [ERTC1(TC1) +
ERTC2(TC2) +...] +
[ERSE1(SE1) + ERSE2(SE2) +...] +
[ERWC1(WC1) +
ERWC2(WC2) +...] +
[ERBC1(BC1) + ERBC2(BC2) +...] +
[ERST1(ST1) +
ERST2 (ST2) + ...]                                                              (2)

where:
TCi       =kilograms of solids of topcoat “i” used;
SEi        =kilograms of solids of sealer “i” used;
WCi      =kilograms of solids of washcoat “i” used;
BCi       =kilograms of solids of basecoat “i” used;
STi        =liters of stain “i” used;
ERTCi    =VOC content of topcoat “i” in kg VOC/kg solids, as
            applied;
ERSEi     =VOC content of sealer “i” in kg VOC/kg solids, as 
            applied;
ERWCi    =VOC content of washcoat “i” in kg VOC/kg solids, as
            applied;
ERBCi    =VOC content of basecoat “i” in kg VOC/kg solids, as 
            applied; and
ERSTi     =VOC content of stain “i” in kg VOC/liter (kg/l), as
            applied.

Note 1:  Various numeric values used in inequalities (0.8, 1.8, 1.9,
etc.) are maximum allowable VOC contents for various coatings.

Note 2:  The 0.9 multiplying factor on the allowable emissions side
of the inequality is used to assure that sources using the averaging
approach demonstrate [that] their emissions are no greater than
ninety percent (90%) of what they would be if they were using com-
pliant coatings.

For Inequalities (1) and (2), the facility must use the actual VOC con-
tent of the finishing materials used prior to the effective date of this
rule if the VOC content is less than the allowable VOC content. For
example, if the affected source was using topcoats with a VOC con-
tent of 1.7 kilograms of VOC per kilogram of solids (1.7 pounds of
VOC per pound of solids) before being subject to this rule, the affect-
ed source must use that value in Inequality (2) rather than 1.8.

3. As an alternate to the finishing operation requirements of
subparagraph (3)(A)1.A. or part (3)(A)1.B.(II) of this rule, the
owner or operator of an affected source may use a control system
(capture device/control device) that will achieve an equivalent
reduction in emissions as demonstrated using the compliance
requirements of subparagraph (3)(C)1.B. of this rule.

4. As an alternate to the finishing operation requirements of
paragraphs (3)(A)1. and (3)(A)2. of this rule, the owner or operator
of an affected source may use a combination of the methods present-
ed in paragraphs (3)(A)1., (3)(A)2., and (3)(A)3. of this rule as
demonstrated using the compliance requirements of subparagraph
(3)(C)1.C. of this rule.

5. The owner or operator of an affected source shall limit VOC
emissions from cleaning operations when using a strippable booth
coating[. The VOC contents shall be no more than] to that
shown in Table 6.

Table 6
kg VOC/kg solids lb VOC/lb solids

(as applied) (as applied)
Strippable 
booth
coating             0.8                                       0.8

(B) Work Practice Standards. The owner or operator of an affected
source shall develop and maintain work practice standards that
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include, at a minimum:
1. A written work practice implementation plan that defines

work practices for each wood furniture manufacturing operation and
addresses each of the topics specified in paragraphs (3)(B)2. through
(3)(B)10. of this subsection. The plan shall be developed no more
than sixty (60) days after the compliance date of this rule. The owner
or operator of the affected source shall comply with each provision
of the work practice implementation plan. The written work practice
implementation plan shall be available for inspection by the depart-
ment, upon request. If the department determines that the work prac-
tice implementation plan does not adequately address each of the top-
ics specified in paragraphs (3)(B)2. through (3)(B)10. of this subsec-
tion, the department may require the affected source to modify the
plan;

2. Operator training for all new and existing personnel, includ-
ing contract personnel, who are involved in finishing, cleaning, or
washoff operations or implementation of the requirements of this
rule. All new personnel, those hired after the effective date of the
rule, shall be trained upon hiring. All existing personnel, those hired
before the effective date of the rule, shall be trained within six (6)
months of the effective date of the rule. All personnel shall be given
refresher training annually. The affected source shall maintain a copy
of the training program with the work practice implementation plan.
The training program shall include, at a minimum, the following:

A. A list of all [current] trained personnel by name and job
description [that are required to be trained];

B. An outline of the subjects [to be] covered in the initial and
refresher training for each position, or group of personnel;

C. Lesson plans for courses to be given at the initial and the
annual refresher training that include, at a minimum, appropriate
application techniques, appropriate cleaning and washoff procedures,
appropriate equipment setup and adjustment to minimize finishing
material usage and overspray, and appropriate management of
cleanup wastes; and

D. A description of the methods to be used at the completion
of initial or refresher training to demonstrate and document success-
ful completion, and a record of the date each employee is trained;

3. [A] An equipment leak inspection and maintenance plan
[that shall be] prepared and maintained with the work practice
implementation plan and specify, at a minimum—

A. A minimum visual inspection frequency of once per
month for all equipment used to transfer or apply finishing materials
or organic solvents; 

B. An inspection schedule;
C. Methods for documenting the date and results of each

inspection and any repairs [that were made];
D. The time frame between identifying [a] an equipment

leak and making the repair, which adheres to the following schedule:
(I) A first attempt at repair (e.g., tightening of packing

glands) shall be made no later than five (5) working days after the
equipment leak is detected; and

(II) Final repairs shall be made within fifteen (15) working
days, unless the leaking equipment is to be replaced by a new pur-
chase, in which case repairs shall be completed within three (3)
months;

4. A cleaning and washoff solvent accounting system that
includes an organic solvent accounting form to record—

A. The quantity and type of organic solvent used each month
for washoff and cleaning;

B. The number of pieces washed off with the reason for
washoff; and

C. The net quantity of spent organic solvent generated from
each activity. The net quantity of spent solvent is equivalent to the
total amount of organic solvent that is generated from the activity
minus any organic solvent that is recycled on-site for operations other
than cleaning or washoff and any organic solvent [that was sent]
disposed off-site;

5. Spray booth cleaning [that shall] not [use] using com-

pounds containing more than eight (8.0) percent by weight of VOC
for cleaning spray booth components other than conveyors, continu-
ous coaters and their enclosures, and/or metal filters, unless the
spray booth is being refurbished. If the spray booth is being refur-
bished (that is, the spray booth coating or other material used to
cover the booth is being replaced), the affected source shall use no
more than one (1.0) gallon of organic solvent to prepare the booth
prior to applying the booth coating;

6. Storage requirements to ensure that owners or operators of
affected sources use normally closed containers for storing finishing,
cleaning, and washoff materials;

7. Application equipment requirements to ensure owners or
operators of affected sources do not use conventional air spray guns
for applying finishing materials except for the following conditions:

A. When applying finishing materials that have a VOC con-
tent no greater than 1.0 kg VOC/kg solids (1.0 lb VOC/lb solids), as
applied;

B. To touch-up and repair when—
(I) The finishing materials are applied after completion of

the finishing operation; or
(II) The finishing materials are applied after the stain and

before any other type of finishing material is applied, and the finish-
ing materials are applied from a container that has a volume of no
more than two (2.0) gallons;

C. When spray is automated (that is, the spray gun is aimed
and triggered automatically, not manually);

D. When emissions from the finishing application station are
directed to a control device; 

E. When the conventional air spray gun is used to apply fin-
ishing materials and the cumulative total usage of that finishing mate-
rial is no more than five (5.0) percent of the total gallons of finishing
material used during that semiannual reporting period; or

F. When the conventional air spray gun is used to apply stain
on a part for which it is technically or economically infeasible to use
any other spray application technology. For this condition, the owner
or operator of the affected source shall demonstrate why it is techni-
cally or economically infeasible by submitting to the department [a
videotape, a technical report or other] documentation to support
the affected source’s claim. The support documentation shall include
the following criteria, either independently or in combination:

(I) The production speed is too high or the part shape is
too complex for one (1) operator to coat the part and the finishing
application station is not large enough to accommodate an additional
operator; or

(II) The excessively large vertical spray area of the part
makes it difficult to avoid sagging or runs in the stain;

8. Line cleaning that pumps or drains all organic solvent used
for line cleaning into a normally closed container;

9. Gun cleaning that collects all organic solvent used to clean
spray guns into a normally closed container; and

10. Washoff operations that control emissions from washoff
operations by—

A. Using normally closed tanks for washoff; and
B. Minimizing dripping by tilting or rotating the part to drain

as much organic solvent as possible.
(C) Compliance Procedures and Monitoring Requirements.

1. The owner or operator of an affected source subject to the
emission standards in subsection (3)(A) of this rule shall demonstrate
compliance with those requirements by using one (1) of the following
methods:

A. To demonstrate that each sealer, topcoat, and strippable
booth coating meets the applicable requirements of paragraphs
(3)(A)1. and (3)(A)5. of this rule, the owner or operator shall main-
tain certified product data sheets for each of these finishing materi-
als. If solvent or other VOC is added to the finishing material before
application, the owner or operator shall maintain documentation
showing the VOC content of the finishing material as applied, in kg
VOC/kg solids (lb VOC/lb solids); or
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B. To demonstrate compliance through the use of a control
system (capture device/control device) per paragraph (3)(A)3. of
this rule, the owner or operator shall—

(I) Determine the overall control efficiency needed to
demonstrate compliance using Equation (3) as follows;

R = [(C - E)/C] × 100                                                         (3)

where:
R    =the overall efficiency of the control system, expressed as a per-

centage;
C    =the VOC content of a coating (C), in kilograms of VOC per 

kilogram of coating solids (kg VOC/kg solids), as applied.
Also given in pounds of VOC per pound of coating solids (lb
VOC/lb solids), as applied; and

E    =the emission limit achieved by the affected emission point(s), 
in kg VOC/kg solids;

(II) Document that the value of C in Equation (3) is
obtained from the VOC and solids content of the as-applied finishing
material; and

(III) Calculate the overall efficiency of the control device,
using the procedure in subsection (5)(D) of this rule, and demon-
strate that the value of the overall efficiency of the control system,
expressed as a percentage, is equal to or greater than the value of R
calculated by Equation (3)[.]; or

C. To demonstrate compliance through the use of a combina-
tion of the methods per paragraph (3)(A)4. of this rule, the owner or
operator shall meet all individual compliance requirements for the
applicable methods being combined.

2. Initial compliance.
A. The owner or operator of an affected source subject to a

requirement of paragraph (3)(A)1. or (3)(A)5. of this rule that is
complying through the method established in subparagraph
(3)(C)1.A. of this rule, shall submit an initial compliance status
report, as required by paragraph (4)(A)2. of this rule, stating that
compliant sealers and/or topcoats and strippable booth coatings are
being used by the affected source.

B. The owner or operator of an affected source subject to a
requirement of paragraph (3)(A)1. of this rule that is complying
through the method established in subparagraph (3)(C)1.A. of this
rule and is applying sealers and/or topcoats using continuous coaters
shall demonstrate initial compliance by—

(I) Submitting an initial compliance status report stating
that compliant sealers and/or topcoats, as determined by the VOC
content of the finishing material in the reservoir and the VOC content
as calculated from records, are being used; or

(II) Submitting an initial compliance status report stating
that compliant sealers and/or topcoats, as determined by the VOC
content of the finishing material in the reservoir, are being used and
the viscosity of the finishing material in the reservoir is being mon-
itored. The affected source shall also provide data that demonstrates
the correlation between the viscosity of the finishing material and the
VOC content of the finishing material in the reservoir.

C. The owner or operator of an affected source demonstrat-
ing compliance with this rule through the use of a control system
(capture device/control device) per paragraph (3)(A)3. and subpara-
graph (3)(C)1.B. of this rule, shall demonstrate initial compliance
by—

(I) Submitting a monitoring plan that identifies the operat-
ing parameter to be monitored for the capture device and discusses
why the parameter is appropriate for demonstrating ongoing compli-
ance;

(II) Conducting an initial performance test using the proce-
dures and test methods listed in subsections (5)(C) and (5)(D) of this
rule (test methods in paragraphs (5)(C)3., (5)(C)4., and (5)(C)5. of
this rule shall be performed, as applicable, at least twice during each
test period);

(III) Calculating the overall control efficiency using the

procedure in subsection (5)(D) of this rule; 
(IV) Determining those operating conditions critical to

determining compliance and establishing operating parameters that
will ensure compliance with the standard as follows:

(a) For compliance with a thermal incinerator, minimum
combustion temperature shall be the operating parameter;

(b) For compliance with a catalytic incinerator equipped
with a fixed catalyst bed, the minimum gas temperature both
upstream and downstream of the catalyst bed shall be the operating
parameter;

(c) For compliance with a catalytic incinerator equipped
with a fluidized catalyst bed, the minimum gas temperature upstream
of the catalyst bed and the pressure drop across the catalyst bed shall
be the operating parameters; and

(d) For compliance with a carbon adsorber, the operat-
ing parameters shall be either the total regeneration mass stream flow
for each regeneration cycle and the carbon bed temperature after each
regeneration, or the concentration level of organic compounds exiting
the adsorber, unless the owner or operator requests and receives
approval from the director to establish other operating parameters;
and

(V) The owner or operator of an affected source demon-
strating compliance with this rule per subparagraph (3)(C)2.C. of
this rule shall calculate the site-specific operating parameter value as
the arithmetic average of the maximum or minimum operating para-
meter values, as appropriate, that demonstrate compliance with the
standards, during the three (3) test runs required by paragraph
(5)(C)1. of this rule.

D. The owner or operator of an affected source subject to the
work practice standards in subsection (3)(B) of this rule shall submit
an initial compliance status report, as required by paragraph (4)(A)3.
of this rule, stating that the work practice implementation plan has
been developed and procedures have been established for implement-
ing the provisions of the plan.

(D) Special Requirements for Sources Using An Averaging
Approach. The owner or operator of an affected source complying
with the emission limitations in subsection (3)(A) of this rule through
the procedures established in paragraph (3)(A)2. of this rule shall
also meet the following requirements:

1. Program goals and rationale. The owner or operator of the
affected source shall provide a summary of the reasons why the
affected source would like to comply with the emission limitations
through the procedures established in paragraph (3)(A)2. of this rule
and a summary of how averaging can be used to meet the emission
limitations. The affected source shall also document that the addi-
tional environmental benefit requirement is being met through the
use of the inequalities in paragraph (3)(A)2. of this rule. These
inequalities ensure that the affected source is achieving an additional
ten percent (10%) reduction in emissions when compared to affected
sources using a compliant coatings approach to meet the require-
ments of the rule[.];

2. Program scope. The owner or operator of the affected source
shall describe the types of finishing materials that will be included in
the affected source’s averaging program. Stains, basecoats, washcoats,
sealers, and topcoats may all be used in the averaging program.
Finishing materials [that are] applied using continuous coaters may
only be used in an averaging program if the affected source can deter-
mine the amount of finishing material used each day[.];

3. Program baseline. The baseline for each finishing material
included in the averaging program shall be the lower of the actual or
allowable emission rate as of the effective date of this rule[.];

4. Quantification procedures. The owner or operator of the
affected source shall specify methods and procedures for quantifying
emissions. Quantification procedures for VOC content are included
in section (5) of this rule. The owner or operator shall specify meth-
ods to be used for determining the usage of each finishing material.
The quantification methods used shall be accurate enough to ensure
that the affected source’s actual emissions are less than the allowable
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emissions, as calculated using Inequality (1) or (2) in paragraph
(3)(A)2. of this rule, on a daily basis to a level of certainty compa-
rable to that for traditional control strategies applicable to surface
coating sources[.];

5. Monitoring, record keeping, and reporting. The owner or
operator of an affected source shall provide a summary of the mon-
itoring, record keeping, and reporting procedures that will be used to
demonstrate daily compliance with the inequalities presented in para-
graph (3)(A)2. of [the] this rule. The monitoring, record keeping,
and reporting procedures shall be structured in such a way that
inspectors and facility owners can determine an affected source’s
compliance status for any day. Furthermore, the procedures shall
include methods for determining required data when monitoring,
record keeping, and reporting violations result in missing, inade-
quate, or erroneous monitoring and record keeping. These proce-
dures must ensure that sources have sufficiently strong incentive to
properly perform monitoring and record keeping[.];

6. Implementation schedule. The owner or operator of an affect-
ed source shall submit an averaging proposal for state and EPA
approval by July 31, 2001[.]; and

7. Administrative procedures. Any affected source may submit
an averaging approach proposal to the director for consideration in
meeting the compliance requirements of this rule. The director shall
take the following actions:

A. Determine whether or not the proposal submittal is com-
plete and notify the submitter of the completeness status within thirty
(30) calendar days of receipt of the proposal; and

B. Approve or disapprove the proposal within thirty (30) cal-
endar days of determining that a proposal submittal is complete.

(4) Reporting and Record Keeping.
(A) Reporting Requirements.

1. The owner or operator of an affected source using a control
system to [fulfill the requirements of] comply with this rule [are]
is required to submit a written report of the [performance test]
results [for] from the performance test[, required by part] in
(3)(C)2.C.(II) of this rule[,] to the director within sixty (60) calendar
days of completion of the performance test.

2. The owner or operator of an affected source subject to this
rule shall submit an initial compliance report [no later than] within
sixty (60) calendar days after the compliance date. The report shall
include the items required [by] in paragraph (3)(C)2. of this rule.

3. The owner or operator of an affected source subject to this
rule and demonstrating compliance in accordance with subparagraph
(3)(C)1.A. or (3)(C)1.B. of this rule shall submit a semiannual report
covering the previous six (6) months of wood furniture manufactur-
ing operations according to the following schedule:

A. The first report shall be submitted thirty (30) calendar
days after the end of the first six (6)-month period following the com-
pliance date;

B. Subsequent reports shall be submitted within thirty (30)
calendar days after the end of each six (6)-month period following
the first report; and

C. Each semiannual report shall include a statement of
whether the affected source was in compliance or noncompliance,
and, if the affected source was in noncompliance, the measures taken
to bring the affected source into compliance.

(B) Record Keeping Requirements.
1. The owner or operator of an affected source subject to the

emission standards in subsection (3)(A) of this rule shall maintain
records of the following:

A. A certified product data sheet for each finishing material
and strippable booth coating subject to the emission limits in subsec-
tion (3)(A) of this rule; and

B. The VOC content, kg VOC/kg solids (lb VOC/lb solids),
as applied, of each finishing material and strippable booth coating
subject to the emission limits in subsection (3)(A) of this rule, and
copies of data sheets documenting how the as-applied values were

determined.
2. The owner or operator of an affected source following the

compliance method of subparagraph (3)(C)1.B. of this rule shall
maintain the following records:

A. Copies of the calculations to support the equivalency of
using a control system, as well as the data [that are] necessary to
support the calculation of E in Equation (3) and the calculation of
overall efficiency for a control system for subsection (5)(D) of this
rule;

B. Records of the daily average value of each continuously
monitored parameter for each operating day. If all recorded values
for a monitored parameter are within the range established during the
initial performance test, the owner or operator may record that all
values were within the range rather than calculating and recording an
average for that day; and

C. Records of the pressure drop across the catalyst bed for
facilities complying with the emission limitations using a catalytic
incinerator with a fluidized catalyst bed.

3. The owner or operator of an affected source subject to the
work practice standards in subsection (3)(B) of this rule shall main-
tain, on-site, the work practice implementation plan and all records
associated with fulfilling the requirements of that plan, including, but
not limited to:

A. Records demonstrating that the operator training program
is in place;

B. Records maintained in accordance with the inspection and
maintenance plan;

C. Records associated with the cleaning solvent accounting
system;

D. Records associated with the limitation on the use of con-
ventional air spray guns showing total finishing material usage and
the percentage of finishing materials applied with conventional air
spray guns for each semiannual reporting period;

E. Records showing the VOC content of compounds used for
cleaning booth components, except for solvent used to clean convey-
ors, continuous coaters and their enclosures, and/or metal filters; and

F. Copies of logs and other documentation developed to
demonstrate that the other provisions of the work practice implemen-
tation plan are followed. 

4. In addition to the records required by paragraph (4)(B)1. of
this rule, the owner or operator of an affected source that complies
through the method established in subparagraph (3)(C)1.A. or by
demonstrating compliance with subsection (3)(A) of this rule shall
maintain a copy of the compliance certifications submitted in accor-
dance with paragraph (4)(A)3. of this rule for each semiannual peri-
od following the compliance date.

5. The owner or operator of an affected source shall maintain a
copy of all other information submitted with the initial status report
required by paragraph (4)(A)2. of this rule and the semiannual
reports required by paragraph (4)(A)3. of this rule.

6. The owner or operator of an affected source shall maintain
all records for a minimum of five (5) years. 

7. Failure to maintain the records required by paragraphs
(4)(B)1. through (4)(B)6. of this rule [shall] constitutes a violation
of the rule for each day records are not maintained. 

(5) Test Methods.
(A) The VOC content and the solids content by weight of the as-

supplied finishing materials shall be determined by [10 CSR 10-
6.030(14)(C), Reference] Method 24[—Determination of
Volatile Matter Content, Water Content, Density, Volume,
Solids and Weight Solids of Surface Coatings] as specified in
10 CSR 10-6.030(22). The owner or operator of the affected source
may request approval from the director to use an alternative or equiv-
alent method for determining the VOC content of the finishing mate-
rial.

(C) Owners or operators using a control system [shall] have to
demonstrate initial compliance using the [procedures in paragraphs
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(5)(C)1. through (5)(C)5. of this rule] following 40 CFR 60
methods as incorporated by reference in 10 CSR 10-6.030(22). 

1. The VOC concentration of gaseous air streams shall be deter-
mined with a test consisting of three (3) separate runs, each lasting a
minimum of thirty (30) minutes using one (1) of the following refer-
ence methods [as specified by 40 CFR 60, Appendix A—
Reference Methods]: 

A. [Method 18—Measurement of Gaseous Organic
Compound Emissions by Gas Chromatography] Method 18;

B. [10 CSR 10-6.030(14)(A), Reference] Method 25[—
Determination of Total Gaseous Nonmethane Organic
Emissions as Carbon]; or

C. [Method 25A—Determination of Total Gaseous
Organic Concentration Using Flame Ionization Analyzer]
Method 25A.

2. Sample and velocity traverses shall be determined by using
one (1) of the following reference methods [as specified by 40
CFR 60, Appendix A—Reference Methods]: 

A. [10 CSR 10-6.030(1), Reference] Method 1[—
Sample and Velocity Traverses for Stationary Sources]; or

B. [Method 1A—Sample and Velocity Traverses for
Stationary Sources with Small Stacks or Ducts] Method 1A.

3. Velocity and volumetric flow rates shall be determined by
using one (1) of the following reference methods [as specified by
40 CFR 60, Appendix A—Reference Methods]:

A. [10 CSR 10-6.030(2), Reference] Method 2[—
Determination of Stack Gas Velocity and Volumetric Flow
Rate (Type S Pitot Tube)]; or

B. [Method 2A—Direct Measurement of Gas Volume
Through Pipes and Small Ducts] Method 2A;

C. [Method 2C—Determination of Stack Gas Velocity
and Volumetric Flow Rate in Small Stacks or Ducts
(Standard Pitot Tube)] Method 2C; 

D. [Method 2D—Measurement of Gas Volumetric
Flow Rates in Small Pipes and Ducts] Method 2D;

E. [Method 2F—Determination of Stack Gas Velocity
and Volumetric Flow Rate With Three-Dimensional Probes]
Method 2F;

F. [Method 2G—Determination of Stack Gas Velocity
and Volumetric Flow Rate With Two-Dimensional Probes]
Method 2G; or

G. [Method 2H—Determination of Stack Gas Velocity
Taking Into Account Velocity Decay Near the Stack Wall]
Method 2H.

4. To analyze the exhaust gases, use [10 CSR 10-6.030(3),
Reference] Method 3[—Gas Analysis for Carbon Dioxide,
Oxygen, Excess Air and Dry Molecular Weight].

5. To measure the moisture in the stack gas, use [10 CSR 10-
6.030(4), Reference] Method 4[—Determination of Moisture
Content in Stack Gases].

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo [Supp. 1998] 2016. Original
rule filed July 15, 1999, effective Feb. 29, 2000. Amended: Filed
May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS:  A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin
at 9:00 a.m., August 30, 2018. The public hearing will be held at the
Elm Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level,
Bennett Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri.

Opportunity to be heard at the hearing shall be afforded any interested
person. Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit a state-
ment of their views until 5:00 p.m., September 6, 2018. Send online
comments via the proposed rules web page www.dnr.mo.gov/pro-
posed-rules, email comments to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written
comments to Chief, Air Quality Planning Section, Missouri
Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program, PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 5—Air Quality Standards and Air Pollution
Control Rules Specific to the St. Louis Metropolitan

Area

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-5.540 Control of Emissions From Batch Process
Operations. The commission proposes to amend subsections (1)(A)–
(1)(E), (4)(A), (4)(C), (5)(A), (5)(C), and (5)(F)–(5)(H), and section
(3); renumber existing subsection (2)(J) to (2)(K); renumber and
amend existing subsections (4)(G)–(4)(I); add new subsection (2)(J);
and delete subsections (2)(K) and (4)(F).  If the commission adopts
this rule action, the department intends to submit this rule amendment
to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to replace the current
rule that is in the Missouri State Implementation Plan. The evidence
supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking is available for view-
ing at the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution
Control Program at the address listed in the Notice of Public Hearing
at the end of this rule. More information concerning this rulemaking
can be found at the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’
Proposed Rules website www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules.

PURPOSE: This rule limits the volatile organic compound (VOC)
emissions from batch process operations by incorporating reasonably
available control technology (RACT) as required by the Clean Air Act
Amendments (CAAA) of 1990. The purpose of this rulemaking is to
comply with Executive Order 17-03 criteria and will remove the
unnecessary use of restrictive words, clarify rule language, update
incorporations by reference, and add definitions specific to this rule.
The evidence supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking, per
536.016, RSMo, is Executive Order 17-03 Red Tape Reduction
Review and related comments.

(1) Applicability.
(A) This rule [shall apply] applies throughout the City of St.

Louis and St. Charles, St. Louis, Jefferson, and Franklin Counties.
(B) This rule [is applicable] applies to all batch process opera-

tions that have the potential to emit [equal to or greater than] one
hundred (100) tons or more per year of volatile organic compounds
(VOC) at [sources] facilities identified by any of the following four
(4)-digit standard industrial classification (SIC) codes, as defined in
the 1987 edition of the Federal Standard Industrial Classification
Manual[: SIC 2821, 2833, 2834, 2861, 2865, 2869, and
2879.], which is hereby incorporated by reference in this rule,
as published by the Executive Office of the President, Office of
Management and Budget. Copies can be obtained from the U.S.
Publishing Office Bookstore, 710 N. Capitol Street NW,
Washington, DC 20401. This rule does not incorporate any sub-
sequent amendments or additions:

1. SIC 2821 Plastics Materials, Synthetic Resins, and
Nonvulcanizable Elastomers;

2. SIC 2833 Medicinal Chemicals and Botanical Products;
3. SIC 2834 Pharmaceutical Preparations;
4. SIC 2861 Gum and Wood Chemicals;
5. SIC 2865 Cyclic Organic Crudes and Intermediates, and
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Organic Dyes and Pigments;
6. SIC 2869 Industrial Organic Chemicals, Not Elsewhere

Classified; or
7. SIC 2879 Pesticides and Agricultural Chemicals, Not

Elsewhere Classified.
(C) The following single unit operations and batch process trains

are [subject to this rule but are considered to be de minimis
and are, therefore,] exempt from the control requirements of sec-
tion (3) of this rule. However, the record keeping and reporting
requirements in section (4) of this rule shall apply to such [de min-
imis] single unit operations and batch process trains:

1. Within a batch process operation, any single unit operation
with uncontrolled total annual mass emissions of less than or equal
to five hundred (500) pounds per year (lb/yr) of VOC. [Such] These
single unit operations are also excluded from the calculation of the
total annual mass emissions for a batch process train. If the uncon-
trolled total annual mass emissions from [such] an exempt single
unit operation exceed five hundred (500) lb/yr of VOC in any subse-
quent year, the [source] owner or operator shall calculate applica-
bility in accordance with subsection (1)(E) of this rule for both the
individual single unit operation and the batch process train contain-
ing the single unit operation; and

2. Any batch process train containing process vents that have,
in the aggregate, uncontrolled total annual mass emissions, as deter-
mined in accordance with paragraph [(3)(E)1.] (3)(D)1. of this rule,
of less than thirty thousand (30,000) lb/yr of VOC for all products
manufactured in [such] that batch process train.

(D) The applicability equations in subsection (1)(E) of this rule,
which require the calculation of uncontrolled total annual mass emis-
sions and flow rate value, shall be used to determine whether a single
unit operation or a batch process train is subject to the control
requirements in section (3) of this rule. The applicability equations
[shall be applied] apply to the following:

1. Any single unit operation with uncontrolled total annual mass
emissions that exceed five hundred (500) lb/yr of VOC and [with] a
VOC concentration greater than five hundred (500) parts per million
by volume (ppmv). In this individual determination, [no] the applic-
ability analysis [shall] should not be performed for any single unit
operation with a VOC concentration [of] less than or equal to five
hundred (500) ppmv; and

2. Any batch process train containing process vents which, in
the aggregate, have uncontrolled total annual mass emissions of thir-
ty thousand (30,000) lb/yr or more of VOC from all products man-
ufactured in the batch process train. Any single unit operation with
uncontrolled total annual mass emissions exceeding five hundred
(500) lb/yr, regardless of VOC concentration, shall be included in the
aggregate applicability analysis.

(E) Applicability Equations. The applicability equations in this
rule subsection are specific to volatility.

1. Weighted average volatility (WAV) shall be calculated as fol-
lows:

               n
               ∑    [(VPi) × (MVOCi)]
               i=1     [(MWVOCi)] 
WAV   =  _______________________
               n
               ∑      [(MVOCi)]  
               i=1    [(MWVOCi)]

where:
WAV         =weighted average volatility;
MVOCi     =mass of VOC component i;
MWVOCi  =molecular weight of VOC component i; and
VPi          =vapor pressure of VOC component i.

2. For purposes of determining applicability, flow rate values
shall be calculated as follows:

A. For [L]low WAV has a vapor pressure less than or equal
to seventy-five (75) millimeters of Mercury (mmHg) at twenty
degrees Celsius (20 °C), and shall use the following equation: 

FR = [0.07 (UTAME)] - 1,821

Where:
FR          =Vent stream flow rate, expressed as standard cubic feet 
              per minute (scfm);
UTAME   =Uncontrolled total annual mass emissions of VOC, 
              expressed as lb/yr;

B. Moderate WAV has a vapor pressure greater than seventy-
five (75) mmHg but less than or equal to one hundred fifty (150)
mmHg at twenty degrees Celsius (20 °C), and shall use the following
equation: 

FR = [0.031 (UTAME)] - 494

C. High WAV has a vapor pressure greater than one hundred
fifty (150) mmHg at twenty degrees Celsius (20 °C), and shall use
the following equation: 

FR = [0.013 (UTAME)] - 301

3. To determine the vapor pressure of VOC, the applicable
methods and procedures in section (5) of this rule shall apply.

(2) Definitions. 
(J) Volatile organic compound (VOC)—The definition for this

term can be found in 10 CSR 10-6.020.
[(J)](K) Volatility—For purposes of this rule, low volatility mate-

rials are defined as those which have a vapor pressure less than or
equal to seventy-five (75) mmHg at twenty degrees Celsius (20 °C),
moderate volatility materials have a vapor pressure greater than sev-
enty-five (75) and less than or equal to one hundred fifty (150)
mmHg at twenty degrees Celsius (20 °C), and high volatility mate-
rials have a vapor pressure greater than one hundred fifty (150)
mmHg at twenty degrees Celsius (20 °C). To evaluate VOC volatility
for single unit operations that service numerous VOCs or for process-
es handling multiple VOCs, the weighted average volatility can be
calculated from knowing the total amount of each VOC used in a
year, and the individual component vapor pressure, per the equation
in paragraph (1)(E)1. of this rule.

[(K) Definitions of certain terms, other than those speci-
fied in this rule, may be found in 10 CSR 10-6.020.]

(3) General Provisions.
(A) Every owner or operator of a single unit operation with an

average flow rate, as determined in accordance with paragraph
[(3)(E)2.] (3)(D)2. of this rule, below the flow rate value calculated
by the applicability equations contained in subsection (1)(E) of this
rule, shall reduce uncontrolled VOC emissions from [such] that sin-
gle unit operation by an overall efficiency, on an annual average, of
at least ninety percent (90%), or twenty (20) ppmv, per batch cycle.

(B) Every owner or operator of a batch process train with an aver-
age flow rate, as determined in accordance with subparagraph
[(3)(E)2.B.] (3)(D)2.B. of this rule, below the flow rate value calcu-
lated by the applicability equations contained in subsection (1)(E) of
this rule, shall reduce uncontrolled VOC emissions from [such] that
batch process train by an overall efficiency, on an annual average, of
at least ninety percent (90%), or twenty (20) ppmv, per batch cycle.
[For purposes of demonstrating compliance with the emis-
sion limitations in this rule section, a]Any control device meet-
ing the criteria in subsection [(3)(D)] (3)(C) of this rule [shall be
deemed to achieve] is presumed to have a control efficiency of
ninety percent (90%), or twenty (20) ppmv, per batch cycle, as
applicable.

Page 1283
June 15, 2018
Vol. 43, No. 12 Missouri Register



[(C) Notwithstanding subsection (3)(A) or (3)(B) of this
rule, any source that has installed on or before December
15, 1999, any control device which is demonstrated to the
department’s satisfaction to be unable to meet the applica-
ble control requirements of this rule section, a scrubber, or
shell and tube condenser using a non-refrigerated cooling
media, and such device achieves at least eighty-one percent
(81%) control efficiency of VOC emissions, is required to
meet the ninety percent (90%) emission limitation or twenty
(20) ppmv VOC concentration in subsection (3)(A) or (3)(B)
of this rule, as applicable, upon the earlier to occur of the
date the device is replaced for any reason, including, but not
limited to, normal maintenance, malfunction, accident, and
obsolescence, or May 1, 2002. Control devices installed on
or before December 15, 1999, that do not achieve at least
eighty-one percent (81%) control efficiency of VOC emis-
sions shall comply with the control requirements of subsec-
tion (3)(A) or (3)(B) on or before May 1, 2001. A scrubber,
shell and tube condenser using a non-refrigerated cooling
media, or other control device meeting the criteria of this
rule subsection, is considered replaced when—

1. The entire device is replaced; or
2. When either the cost to repair the device or the cost

to replace part of the device exceeds fifty percent (50%) of
the cost of replacing the entire device with a control device
that complies with the ninety percent (90%) emission limi-
tation or twenty (20) ppmv VOC concentration level in sub-
section (3)(A) of this rule, as applicable.]

[(D)](C) Control Equipment Specifications.
1. If a boiler or process heater is used to comply with this rule

section, the vent stream shall be introduced into the flame zone of
the boiler or process heater. The boiler or process heater shall meet
the control device requirements for boilers and process heaters
included in 40 CFR 60.703, 60.704, and 60.705, as specified in 10
CSR 10-6.030(22).

2. If a flare is used to comply with this rule section, it shall
comply with the requirements of 40 CFR 60.18, [which are hereby
incorporated by reference] as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.030(22).
[The flare operation requirements of 40 CFR 60.18 do not
apply i]If a process[,] not subject to this rule[,] vents an emergency
relief discharge into a common flare header and causes the flare ser-
vicing the process subject to this rule to [not comply with one or
more] violate any of the provisions of 40 CFR 60.18, the flare will
be temporarily exempt from those provisions. This exemption
from flare specification requirements is [a temporary exemption
lasting] only [for the period of time] valid during the emergency
relief venting discharge.

3. If an afterburner, scrubber, absorber, condenser, or adsorber
is used to comply with this rule section, [such] those equipment
shall meet the control device requirements [for this equipment]
included in 40 CFR 60.703, 60.704, and 60.705, as specified in 10
CSR 10-6.030(22).

4. If an incinerator is used to comply with this rule section, the
incinerator shall meet the control device requirements for incinera-
tors included in 40 CFR 60.703, 60.704, and 60.705, as specified
in 10 CSR 10-6.030(22). 

[(E)](D) Determination of uncontrolled total annual mass emis-
sions and actual weighted average flow rate values for batch process
operations.

1. Uncontrolled total annual mass emissions shall be deter-
mined by the following methods:

A. Direct process vent emissions measurements taken prior
to any release to the atmosphere, following any recovery device and
prior to any control device, provided [such] these measurements
conform with the requirements of measuring the mass flow rate of
VOC incoming to the control device as in paragraph (5)(F)2. and
subparagraphs (5)(F)3.A. and (5)(F)3.B. of this rule; or

B. Engineering estimates of the uncontrolled VOC emissions

from a process vent or process vents, in the aggregate, within a batch
process train, using either the potential or permitted number of batch
cycles per year or total production as represented in the source’s
operating permit.

(I) Engineering estimates of the uncontrolled VOC emis-
sions shall be based upon accepted chemical engineering principles,
measurable process parameters, or physical or chemical laws and
their properties. Examples of methods include, but are not limited to,
the following:

(a) Use of material balances based on process stoichiom-
etry to estimate maximum VOC concentrations;

(b) Estimation of maximum flow rate based on physical
equipment design such as pump or blower capacities; and

(c) Estimation of VOC concentrations based on satura-
tion conditions.

(II) All data, assumptions, and procedures used in any
engineering estimate shall be documented.

2. Average flow rate shall be determined by any of the following
methods:

A. Direct process vent flow rate measurements taken prior to
any release to the atmosphere, following any recovery device and
prior to any control device, provided such measurements conform
with the requirements of measuring incoming volumetric flow rate in
paragraph (5)(F)2. of this rule;

B. Average flow rate for a single unit operation having multi-
ple emission events or batch process trains shall be the weighted
average flow rate, calculated as follows:

              n
              ∑ (AFRi x ADEi)
WAF  =  i=l                      
              n
              ∑ (ADEi)
              i=l

where: 
WAF      =Actual weighted average flow rate for a single unit opera-
            tion or batch process train; 
AFRi      =Average flow rate per emission event; 
ADEi     =Annual duration of emission event; and 
n           =Number of emission events. 

For purposes of this formula, the term “emission event” shall be
defined as a discrete period of venting that is associated with a single
unit operation. For example, a displacement of vapor resulting from
the charging of a single unit operation with VOC will result in a dis-
crete emission event that will last through the duration of the charge
and will have an average flow rate equal to the rate of the charge. The
expulsion of expanded vapor space when the single unit operation is
heated is also an emission event. Both of these examples of emission
events and others may occur in the same single unit operation during
the course of the batch cycle. If the flow rate measurement for any
emission event is zero, according to paragraph (5)(F)2. of this rule,
then such event is not an emission event for purposes of this rule sec-
tion; or

C. Engineering estimates calculated in accordance with the
requirements in subparagraph (3)(E)1.B. of this rule.

3. For purposes of determining the average flow rate for steam
vacuuming systems, the steam flow shall be included in the average
flow rate calculation.

4. In cases where two (2) or more single unit operations share
a process vent and where flow measurement for such single unit
operations is difficult, alternate methods of flow measurement may
be used only when approved by the department.

(4) Reporting and Record Keeping.
(A) Every owner or operator of a [de minimis] single unit oper-

ation or batch process train exempt under paragraph (1)(C)1. or
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(1)(C)2. of this rule shall keep records of the uncontrolled total annu-
al mass emissions [for any de minimis single unit operation or
batch process train, as applicable,] and documentation verifying
these values or measurements. The documentation shall include the
engineering calculations, any measurements made in accordance
with section (5) of this rule, and the potential or permitted number
of batch cycles per year, or, in the alternative, total production as rep-
resented in the [source’s] facility’s operating permit.

(C) Every owner or operator of a batch process operation subject
to the control requirements of section (3) of this rule shall keep
records of the following parameters required to be monitored under
subsection [(4)(I)] (4)(H) of this rule:

1. If using a thermal or catalytic afterburner to comply with
section (3) of this rule, records indicating the average combustion
chamber temperature of the afterburner or the average temperature
upstream and downstream of the catalyst bed for a catalytic after-
burner, measured continuously and averaged over the same time peri-
od as the performance test;

2. If using a flare to comply with section (3) of this rule, con-
tinuous records of the flare pilot flame monitoring and records of all
periods of operations during which the pilot flame is absent; or

3. If using any of the following as a control device, the following
records:

A. Where a scrubber is used, the exit specific gravity or
alternative parameter which is a measure of the degree of absorbing
liquid saturation, if approved by the department, and the average exit
temperature of the absorbing liquid, measured continuously and
averaged over the same time period as the performance test both
measured while the vent stream is routed normally;

B. Where a condenser is used, the average exit or product
side temperature measured continuously and averaged over the same
time period as the performance test while the vent stream is routed
normally;

C. Where a carbon adsorber is used, the total steam mass
flow measured continuously and averaged over the same time period
as the performance test full carbon bed cycle, temperature of the car-
bon bed after regeneration and within fifteen (15) minutes after com-
pletion of any cooling cycle(s), and duration of the carbon bed steam-
ing cycle all measured while the vent stream is routed normally; or

D. As an alternative to subparagraphs (4)(C)3.A., (4)(C)3.B.
or (4)(C)3.C. of this rule, at a minimum, records indicating the con-
centration level or reading indicated by the VOC monitoring device
at the outlet of the scrubber, condenser or carbon adsorber, measured
continuously and averaged over the same time period as the perfor-
mance test while the vent stream is routed normally.

[(F) Notwithstanding subsections (4)(A) through (4)(E) of
this rule, any owner or operator of a batch process operation
which uses either a scrubber, shell and tube condenser using
nonrefrigerated cooling media, or other control device meet-
ing the criteria of subsection (3)(D) of this rule, is required
to monitor compliance with the requirements on and after
the earlier to occur of the date such device is replaced for
any reason or May 1, 2002.]

[(G)](F) The owner or operator of a [de minimis] single unit
operation or batch process train exempt from the control require-
ments of section (3) of this rule shall notify the department in writing
if the uncontrolled total annual mass emissions [from such de min-
imis single unit operation or batch process train] exceed the
threshold in paragraph (1)(C)1. or (1)(C)2. of this rule, respectively,
within sixty (60) days after the event occurs. [Such] This notifica-
tion shall include a copy of all records of [such] the event.

[(H)](G) [Every owner or operator of a batch process oper-
ation] All records required [to keep records] under this rule sec-
tion shall be maintained [such records] on-site for at least five (5)
years and [shall make all such records] made available to the
department immediately upon request.

[(I)](H) Monitoring Requirements.
1. Every owner or operator using an afterburner to comply with

section (3) of this rule shall install, calibrate, maintain, and operate,
according to manufacturer’s specifications, temperature monitoring
devices with an accuracy of plus or minus one percent (± 1%) of the
temperature being measured expressed in degrees Celsius, equipped
with continuous recorders.

A. Where a catalytic afterburner is used, temperature moni-
toring devices shall be installed in the gas stream immediately before
and after the catalyst bed.

B. Where an afterburner other than a catalytic afterburner is
used, a temperature monitoring device shall be installed in the com-
bustion chamber.

2. Every owner or operator using a flare to comply with section
(3) of this rule, shall install, calibrate, maintain, and operate, accord-
ing to manufacturer’s specifications, a heat sensing device, such as
an ultraviolet beam sensor or thermocouple, at the pilot light to indi-
cate continuous presence of a flame.

3. Every owner or operator using a scrubber to comply with
section (3) of this rule shall install, calibrate, maintain, and operate,
according to manufacturer’s specifications, the following:

A. A temperature monitoring device for scrubbant liquid hav-
ing an accuracy of plus or minus one percent (± 1%) of the temper-
ature being monitored expressed in degrees Celsius and a specific
gravity device for scrubbant liquid, each equipped with a continuous
recorder; or

B. A VOC monitoring device used to indicate the concentra-
tion of VOC exiting the control device based on a detection principle
such as infrared, photoionization, or thermal conductivity, each
equipped with a continuous recorder.

4. Every owner or operator using a condenser to comply with
section (3) of this rule shall install, calibrate, maintain, and operate,
according to manufacturer’s specifications, the following:

A. A condenser exit temperature monitoring device equipped
with a continuous recorder and having an accuracy of plus or minus
one percent (± 1%) of the temperature being monitored expressed in
degrees Celsius; or

B. A VOC monitoring device used to indicate the concentra-
tion of VOC such as infrared, photoionization, or thermal conductiv-
ity, each equipped with a continuous recorder.

5. Every owner or operator using a carbon adsorber to comply
with this rule shall install, calibrate, maintain, and operate, accord-
ing to the manufacturer’s specifications, the following equipment:

A. An integrating regeneration stream flow monitoring device
having an accuracy of plus or minus ten percent (± 10%), and a car-
bon bed temperature monitoring device having an accuracy of plus or
minus one percent (± 1%) of the temperature being monitored
expressed in degrees Celsius, both equipped with a continuous
recorder; or

B. A VOC monitoring device used to indicate the concentra-
tion level of VOC exiting [such] the device based on a detection
principle such as infrared, photoionization, or thermal conductivity,
each equipped with a continuous recorder.

6. Every owner or operator using a boiler or process heater with
a design heat input capacity less than forty-four (44) megawatts to
comply with section (3) of this rule shall install, calibrate, maintain,
and operate, according to the manufacturer’s specifications, a tem-
perature monitoring device in the firebox with an accuracy of plus or
minus one percent (± 1%) of the temperature being measured
expressed in degrees Celsius, equipped with a continuous recorder.
Any boiler or process heater in which all process vent streams are
introduced with primary fuel is exempt from this requirement.

7. The owner or operator of a process vent shall be permitted
to monitor by an alternative method or may monitor parameters other
than those listed in paragraphs (4)(I)1. through (4)(I)6. of this rule,
if approved by the department. [Such] The alternative method or
parameters shall be contained in the source’s operating permit as fed-
erally enforceable permit conditions.

[8. Notwithstanding paragraphs (4)(I)1. through (4)(I)7. of
this rule, sources using a scrubber, shell and tube condenser
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using a nonrefrigerated cooling media, or other control
device meeting the criteria of subsection (3)(D) of this rule,
are required to monitor compliance with the requirements of
this rule on and after the earlier to occur of the date such
device is replaced for any reason or May 1, 2002.]

(5) Test Methods.
(A) Upon the department’s request, the owner or operator of a

batch process operation shall conduct testing to demonstrate compli-
ance with section (3) of this rule. The owner or operator shall, at its
own expense, conduct [such] these tests in accordance with the
applicable test methods and procedures specified in subsections
(5)(D), (5)(E), and (5)(F) of this rule.

(C) When a flare is used to comply with the control requirements
of section (3) of this rule, the flare shall comply with the require-
ments of 40 CFR 60.18, as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.030(22).

(F) The following methods in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A, [which
are hereby incorporated by reference] as specified in 10 CSR
10-6.030(22), shall be used to demonstrate compliance with the
reduction efficiency requirement in section (3) of this rule:

1. Method 1 or 1A, as appropriate, for selection of the sampling
sites if the flow measuring device is not a rotameter. The control
device inlet sampling site for determination of vent stream VOC com-
position reduction efficiency shall be prior to the control device and
after the control device;

2. Method 2, 2A, 2C, 2D, 2F, 2G or 2H as appropriate, for
determination of gas stream volumetric flow rate flow measurements,
which shall be taken continuously. No traverse is necessary when the
flow measuring device is an ultrasonic probe; and

3. Method 25A or Method 18, if applicable, to determine the
concentration of VOC in the control device inlet and outlet, where—

A. The sampling time for each run shall be as follows:
(I) For batch cycles less than eight (8) hours in length,

appropriate operating parameters shall be recorded at a minimum of
fifteen (15)-minute intervals during the batched period; 

(II) For batch cycles of eight (8) hours and greater in
length, the owner or operator may either test in accordance with the
test procedures defined in part (5)(F)3.A.(I) of this rule or the owner
or operator may elect to perform tests, pursuant to either Method
25A or Method 18, only during those portions of each emission
event which profiles a representative sample occurring within the
batch cycle. For each emission event of less than four (4) hours in
duration, the owner or operator shall test continuously over the entire
emission event as in part (5)(F)3.A.(I) of this rule. For each emission
event of greater than four (4) hours in duration, the owner or opera-
tor shall elect either to perform a minimum of three (3) one-hour test
runs during the emission event or shall test continuously over the
entire emission event within each single unit operation in the batch
process train. The owner or operator shall define the total batch
process by all its intrinsic emission events. To demonstrate that the
portion of the emission event to be tested profiles a representative
sample occurring within the batch cycle, the owner or operator elect-
ing to rely on this option shall develop an emission profile for each
entire emission event. [Such] These emission profiles shall be based
upon either process knowledge or test data collected. Examples of
information that could constitute process knowledge include, but are
not limited to, calculations based on material balances, duration,
emission levels, constituents, reactants, byproducts, and process sto-
ichiometry. Previous test results may be used provided [such] the
results are still relevant to the current process vent stream conditions;
or

(III) For purposes of paragraph (5)(F)3. of this rule, the
term “emission event” [shall be defined as] means a discrete peri-
od of venting that is associated with a single unit operation. For
example, a displacement of vapor resulting from the charging of a
single unit operation with VOC will result in a discrete emission

event that will last through the duration of the charge and will have
an average flow rate equal to the rate of the charge. The expulsion of
expanded single unit operation vapor space when the vessel is heated
is also an emission event. Both of these examples of emission events
and others may occur in the same single unit operation during the
course of the batch cycle. If the flow rate measurement for any emis-
sion event is zero (0), in accordance with paragraph (5)(F)2. of this
rule, then [such] this event is not an emission event for purposes of
this rule section;

B. Calculate the mass emission rate (MERi) into the control
device as follows:

MERi = CiQi

where:
Ci     =concentration into the control device; and
Qi     =flow rate into the control device;

C. Calculate the mass emission rate (MERo) out of the con-
trol device as follows:

MERo= CoQo
where:

Co    =concentration out of the control device; and
Qo    =flow rate out of the control device; and

D. Calculate the total overall control device efficiency (η) as
follows:
                              η =(MERi - MERo)/MERi

(G) Upon request by the department to conduct testing, an owner
or operator of a batch process operation which has installed a scrub-
ber, a shell and tube condenser using a nonrefrigerated cooling
media, or any other control device which meets the criteria of sub-
section [(3)(D)] (3)(C) of this rule, shall demonstrate that [such] the
device achieves the control efficiency applicable within section (3) of
this rule [upon the earlier to occur of the date the device is
replaced or May 1, 2002].

(H) The owner or operator of a batch process operation may pro-
pose an alternative test method or procedures to demonstrate compli-
ance with the control requirements in section (3) of this rule. [Such]
Alternative methods or procedures [shall be] may only be used
after they are approved by the department.

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo [Supp. 1998] 2016. Original
rule filed July 15, 1999, effective Feb. 29, 2000. Amended: Filed
May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin at
9:00 a.m., August 30, 2018. The public hearing will be held at the Elm
Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level, Bennett
Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri. Opportunity to be
heard at the hearing shall be afforded to any interested person.
Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit a statement of
their views until 5:00 p.m., September 6, 2018. Send online comments
via the proposed rules web page www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules,
email comments to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written comments to
Chief, Air Quality Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-0176.
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Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling
and Reference Methods and Air Pollution Control 

Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.070 New Source Performance Regulations. The com-
mission proposes to amend the rule purpose and sections (1) through
(5). If the commission adopts this rule action, the department intends
to advise the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency that we will
accept delegation of enforcement authority for these federal regula-
tions. The evidence supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking
is available for viewing at the Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program at the address listed in the
Notice of Public Hearing at the end of this rule. More information
concerning this rulemaking can be found at the Missouri Department
of Natural Resources’ Proposed Rules website www.dnr.mo.gov/pro-
posed-rules.

PURPOSE: The purpose of this rulemaking is to comply with
Executive Order 17-03 criteria and will remove the unnecessary use
of restrictive words. This amendment also incorporates by reference
new emission standards, updates, and clarifications to federal rule
40 CFR 60 that were promulgated from January 1, 2013 through
March 12, 2018. It also clarifies the rule purpose, removes unneces-
sary rule language, clarifies much of the remaining rule language,
presents the list of incorporated federal subparts in a more user-
friendly format, and makes other clarifying changes. The evidence
supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking, per 536.016,
RSMo, is the Title V Operating Permit Program requirements, 40
CFR 70, State/EPA Workplan, and Executive Order 17-03.

PURPOSE: [This rule establishes acceptable design and per-
formance criteria for specified new or modified emission
sources.] This rule incorporates by reference the new source per-
formance standards in 40 CFR 60. This provides the Missouri
Department of Natural Resources the authority to implement and
enforce these U.S. Environmental Protection Agency regulations.

(1) Applicability. This rule applies to sources subject to 40 CFR
60 subparts incorporated by reference in subsection (3)(A) of this
rule.

[(A) The provisions of 40 CFR 60 promulgated as of June
30, 2012, and Federal Register Notices 77 FR 48433, 77 FR
49490, and 77 FR 56422 promulgated from July 1, 2012,
through December 31, 2012, shall apply and are hereby
incorporated by reference in this rule, as published by the
Office of the Federal Register, U.S. National Archives and
Records, 700 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, DC
20408. This rule does not incorporate any subsequent
amendments or additions.

(B) Exceptions to subsection (1)(A) of this rule are as fol-
lows: 

1. Sections 60.4, 60.9, and 60.10 of subpart A; 
2. Subpart B in its entirety;
3. Those provisions which are not delegable by the

United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); and
4. Incinerators which are subject to Hazardous Waste

Management Commission rule 40 CFR 264, subpart O, as
incorporated in 10 CSR 25-7.264, shall not be subjected to
the requirements of this rule. The exemptions granted under
40 CFR 264.340(b), as incorporated in 10 CSR 25-7.264,
are subject to this rule. All other applicable requirements of
this chapter shall remain in effect as to the incinerators.

(C) In addition to complying with the provisions of this
rule, affected sources may be required to obtain an operating

permit pursuant to Title V of the Clean Air Act Amendments
or 10 CSR 10-6.065.

(D) Where emission limitations, test procedure, or other
requirements found in both subsection (1)(A) of this rule and
in another rule under Title 10 Division 10 of the Code of
State Regulations are applicable to an emission source, the
more restrictive rule requirement shall be applied.]

(2) Definitions. Certain terms used in 40 CFR [part] 60 refer to fed-
eral officers, agencies, and publications. The following terms are
substituted when applicable to Missouri [shall be substituted]
where appropriate for the [delegable] federal counterparts:

(A) Director [shall be] is substituted for Administrator;
(B) Missouri Department of Natural Resources [shall be] is sub-

stituted for EPA, EPA Regional Office, or Environmental Protection
Agency; and

(C) Missouri Register [shall be] is substituted for Federal
Register.

(3) General Provisions. [The following New Source
Performance Standards (NSPS) 40 CFR part 60 subparts
adopted by reference in subsection (1)(A) of this rule are list-
ed below by individual source operations or installations in
these categories and subject to this rule as specified in the
applicable subpart:

Subpart        Title
(D) Standards of Performance for Fossil-Fuel-Fired Steam

Generators for Which Construction is Commenced After
August 17, 1971

(Da) Standards of Performance for Electric Utility Steam
Generating Units for Which Construction is Commenced
After September 18, 1978

(Db) Standards of Performance for Industrial-Commercial-
Institutional Steam Generating Units

(Dc) Standards of Performance for Small Industrial-
Commercial-Institutional Steam Generating Units

(E) Standards of Performance for Incinerators
(Ea) Standards of Performance for Municipal Waste

Combustors for Which Construction is Commenced After
December 20, 1989 and on or Before September 20, 1994

(Eb) Standards of Performance for Large Municipal Waste
Combustors for Which Construction is Commenced After
September 20, 1994 or for Which Modification or
Reconstruction is Commenced After June 19, 1996

(Ec) Standards of Performance for Hospital/Medical/Infec-
tious Waste Incinerators for Which Construction is
Commenced After June 20, 1996

(F) Standards of Performance for Portland Cement Plants
(G) Standards of Performance for Nitric Acid Plants
(Ga) Standards of Performance for Nitric Acid Plants for

Which Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification
Commenced After October 14, 2011

(H) Standards of Performance for Sulfuric Acid Plants
(I) Standards of Performance for Hot Mix Asphalt Facilities
(J) Standards of Performance for Petroleum Refineries
(Ja) Standards of Performance for Petroleum Refineries for

Which Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Com-
menced After May 14, 2007

(K) Standards of Performance for Storage Vessels for
Petroleum Liquids for Which Construction, Reconstruction,
or Modification Commenced After June 11, 1973, and Prior
to May 19, 1978

(Ka) Standards of Performance for Storage Vessels for
Petroleum Liquids for Which Construction, Reconstruction,
or Modification Commenced After May 18, 1978, and Prior
to July 23, 1984

(Kb) Standards of Performance for Volatile Organic Liquid
Storage Vessels (Including Petroleum Liquid Storage Vessels)
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for Which Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification
Commenced After July 23, 1984

(L) Standards of Performance for Secondary Lead Smelters
(M) Standards of Performance for Secondary Brass and

Bronze Production Plants
(N) Standards of Performance for Primary Emissions from

Basic Oxygen Process Furnaces for Which Construction is
Commenced After June 11, 1973

(Na) Standards of Performance for Secondary Emissions
from Basic Oxygen Process Steelmaking Facilities for Which
Construction is Commenced After January 20, 1983

(O) Standards of Performance for Sewage Treatment
Plants

(P) Standards of Performance for Primary Copper Smelters
(Q) Standards of Performance for Primary Zinc Smelters
(R) Standards of Performance for Primary Lead Smelters
(S) Standards of Performance for Primary Aluminum

Reduction Plants
(T) Standards of Performance for the Phosphate Fertilizer

Industry: Wet-Process Phosphoric Acid Plants
(U) Standards of Performance for the Phosphate Fertilizer

Industry: Superphosphoric Acid Plants
(V) Standards of Performance for the Phosphate Fertilizer

Industry: Diammonium Phosphate Plants
(W) Standards of Performance for the Phosphate Fertilizer

Industry: Triple Superphosphate Plants
(X) Standards of Performance for the Phosphate Fertilizer

Industry: Granular Triple Superphosphate Storage Facilities
(Y) Standards of Performance for Coal Preparation Plants
(Z) Standards of Performance for Ferroalloy Production

Facilities
(AA) Standards of Performance for Steel Plants: Electric

Arc Furnaces Constructed After October 21, 1974, and On
or Before August 17, 1983

(AAa) Standards of Performance for Steel Plants: Electric
Arc Furnaces and Argon-Oxygen Decarburization Vessels
Constructed After August 17, 1983

(BB) Standards of Performance for Kraft Pulp Mills
(CC) Standards of Performance for Glass Manufacturing

Plants
(DD) Standards of Performance for Grain Elevators
(EE) Standards of Performance for Surface Coating of

Metal Furniture
(GG) Standards of Performance for Stationary Gas

Turbines
(HH) Standards of Performance for Lime Manufacturing

Plants
(KK) Standards of Performance for Lead-Acid Battery

Manufacturing Plants
(LL) Standards of Performance for Metallic Mineral

Processing Plants
(MM) Standards of Performance for Automobile and Light

Duty Truck Surface Coating Operations
(NN) Standards of Performance for Phosphate Rock Plants
(PP) Standards of Performance for Ammonium Sulfate

Manufacture
(QQ) Standards of Performance for the Graphic Arts

Industry: Publication Rotogravure Printing
(RR) Standards of Performance for Pressure Sensitive Tape

and Label Surface Coating Operations
(SS) Standards of Performance for Industrial Surface

Coating: Large Appliances
(TT) Standards of Performance for Metal Coil Surface

Coating
(UU) Standards of Performance for Asphalt Processing and

Asphalt Roofing Manufacture
(VV) Standards of Performance for Equipment Leaks of

VOC in the Synthetic Organic Chemicals Manufacturing

Industry for which Construction, Reconstruction, or
Modification Commenced After January 5, 1981, and on or
Before November 7, 2006

(VVa) Standards of Performance for Equipment Leaks of
VOC in the Synthetic Organic Chemicals Manufacturing
Industry for Which Construction, Reconstruction, or
Modification Commenced After November 7, 2006

(WW) Standards of Performance for the Beverage Can
Surface Coating Industry

(XX) Standards of Performance for Bulk Gasoline
Terminals

(AAA) Standards of Performance for New Residential
Wood Heaters

(BBB) Standards of Performance for the Rubber Tire
Manufacturing Industry

(DDD) Standards of Performance for Volatile Organic
Compound (VOC) Emissions from the Polymer
Manufacturing Industry

(FFF) Standards of Performance for Flexible Vinyl and
Urethane Coating and Printing

(GGG) Standards of Performance for Equipment Leaks of
VOC in Petroleum Refineries for which Construction,
Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced After January
4, 1983, and on or Before November 7, 2006

(GGGa) Standards of Performance for Equipment Leaks of
VOC in Petroleum Refineries for Which Construction,
Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced After
November 7, 2006

(HHH) Standards of Performance for Synthetic Fiber
Production Facilities

(III) Standards of Performance for Volatile Organic
Compound (VOC) Emissions From the Synthetic Organic
Chemical Manufacturing Industry (SOCMI) Air Oxidation
Unit Processes

(JJJ) Standards of Performance for Petroleum Dry
Cleaners

(KKK) Standards of Performance for Equipment Leaks of
VOC From Onshore Natural Gas Processing Plants

(LLL) Standards of Performance for Onshore Natural Gas
Processing: SO2 Emissions

(NNN) Standards of Performance for Volatile Organic
Compound (VOC) Emissions From Synthetic Organic
Chemical Manufacturing Industry (SOCMI) Distillation
Operations

(OOO) Standards of Performance for Nonmetallic Mineral
Processing Plants

(PPP) Standard of Performance for Wool Fiberglass
Insulation Manufacturing Plants

(QQQ) Standards of Performance for VOC Emissions From
Petroleum Refinery Wastewater Systems

(RRR) Standards of Performance for Volatile Organic
Compound Emissions From Synthetic Organic Chemical
Manufacturing Industry (SOCMI) Reactor Processes

(SSS) Standards of Performance for Magnetic Tape
Coating Facilities

(TTT) Standards of Performance for Industrial Surface
Coating: Surface Coating of Plastic Parts for Business
Machines

(UUU) Standards of Performance for Calciners and Dryers
in Mineral Industries

(VVV) Standards of Performance for Polymeric Coating of
Supporting Substrates Facilities

(WWW) Standards of Performance for Municipal Solid
Waste Landfills

(AAAA) Standards of Performance for Small Municipal
Waste Combustion Units for Which Construction is
Commenced After August 30, 1999 or for Which
Modification or Reconstruction is Commenced After June 6,
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2001
(CCCC) Standards of Performance for Commercial and

Industrial Solid Waste Incineration Units for Which
Construction Is Commenced After November 30, 1999 or
for Which Modification or Reconstruction Is Commenced on
or After June 1, 2001

(EEEE) Standards of Performance for Other Solid Waste
Incineration Units for Which Construction Commenced After
December 9, 2004, or for Which Modification or
Reconstruction Is Commenced on or After June 16, 2006

(IIII) Standards of Performance for Stationary Compression
Ignition Internal Combustion Engines

(JJJJ) Standards of Performance for Stationary Spark
Ignition Internal Combustion Engines

(KKKK) Standards of Performance for Stationary
Combustion Turbines

(LLLL) Standards of Performance for New Sewage Sludge
Incineration Units

(OOOO) Standards of Performance for Crude Oil and
Natural Gas Production, Transmission and Distribution]

(A) Incorporations by Reference.
1. The provisions of 40 CFR 60, promulgated as of July 1,

2018, and Federal Register notice 83 FR 10628, promulgated on
March 12, 2018, are hereby incorporated by reference in this
rule, as published by the Office of the Federal Register. Copies
can be obtained from the U.S. Publishing Office Bookstore, 710
N. Capitol Street NW, Washington, DC 20401. This rule does not
incorporate any subsequent amendments or additions.

2. Exceptions to paragraph (3)(A)1. of this rule are—
A. Those provisions which are not delegable by the U.S.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); 
B. Sections 60.4, 60.9, and 60.10 of subpart A;
C. Subpart B;
D. Subpart AAA;
E. Subpart QQQQ; and
F. Incinerators subject to Hazardous Waste Management

Commission rule 40 CFR 264, subpart O, as incorporated in 10
CSR 25-7.264, are not subject to this rule. The sources exempted
in 40 CFR 264.340(b), as incorporated in 10 CSR 25-7.264, are
subject to this rule. All other applicable requirements of Division
25 remain in effect.

(B) The subparts of 40 CFR 60 incorporated by reference in
subsection (3)(A) of this rule are—
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(4) Reporting. Reporting requirements are specified in each federal
regulation [adopted] incorporated by reference.

(5) Test Methods. [The sampling methods given in 40 CFR part
60, Appendix A and specified in 10 CSR 10-6.030 shall be
effective as of the date in section (1) of this rule] The test
methods are specified in 40 CFR 60, Appendices A-1 through A–
8 and 10 CSR 10-6.030.

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo [Supp. 2013] 2016. Original
rule filed Dec. 10, 1979, effective April 11, 1980. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
May 15, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. The pri-
vate entity fiscal cost impacts for compliance with the federal stan-
dards are accounted for in the federal rulemakings.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin at

9:00 a.m., August 30, 2018. The public hearing will be held at the Elm
Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level, Bennett
Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri. Opportunity to be
heard at the hearing shall be afforded to any interested person.
Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit a statement of
their views until 5:00 p.m., September 6, 2018. Send online comments
via the proposed rules web page www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules,
email comments to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written comments to
Chief, Air Quality Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-0176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling
and Reference Methods and Air Pollution Control 

Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.075 Maximum Achievable Control Technology
Regulations. The commission proposes to amend sections (2) and (3).
If the commission adopts this rule action, the department intends to
advise the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency that we will accept
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delegation of enforcement authority for these federal regulations. The
evidence supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking is available
for viewing at the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air
Pollution Control Program at the address listed in the Notice of Public
Hearing at the end of this rule. More information concerning this rule-
making can be found at the Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Proposed Rules website www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules.

PURPOSE: This rule incorporates by reference the maximum achiev-
able control technology regulations in 40 CFR 63, providing the
Missouri Department of Natural Resources the authority to imple-
ment and enforce these U.S. Environmental Protection Agency regu-
lations. The purpose of this rulemaking is to comply with Executive
Order 17-03 criteria and will remove the unnecessary use of restric-
tive words. This amendment also incorporates by reference new emis-
sion standards, updates, and clarifications to federal rule 40 CFR 63
that were promulgated from January 1, 2016 through January 29,
2018, and makes other clarifying changes. The evidence supporting
the need for this proposed rulemaking, per 536.016, RSMo, is the
Title V Operating Permit Program requirements, 40 CFR 70,
State/EPA Workplan, and Executive Order 17-03.

(2) Definitions. Certain terms used in 40 CFR 63 refer to federal
officers, agencies, and publications. The following terms [must be]
are substituted when applicable to Missouri where appropriate for
the federal counterparts:

(3) General Provisions. 
(A) Incorporations by Reference.

1. The provisions of 40 CFR 63 promulgated as of July 1,
[2015] 2018, and Federal Register notices [80 FR 44772, 80 FR
45280, 80 FR 50386, 80 FR 54728, 80 FR 56700, 80 FR
62390, 80 FR 65470, 80 FR 72790, 80 FR 75178, 80 FR
75817, and 80 FR 76152] 82 FR 45193, 82 FR 47328, 82 FR
48156, 82 FR 49513, and 83 FR 3986 promulgated between July 1,
[2015] 2017 and [December 31, 2015] January 29, 2018, [as
published by the Office of the Federal Register, U.S. National
Archives and Records, 700 Pennsylvania Avenue NW,
Washington, DC 20408, shall apply and are hereby incorpo-
rated by reference in this rule] are hereby incorporated by ref-
erence in this rule, as published by the Office of the Federal
Register. Copies can be obtained from the U.S. Publishing Office
Bookstore, 710 N. Capitol Street NW, Washington, DC 20401.
This rule does not incorporate any subsequent amendments or addi-
tions.

2. Exceptions to paragraph (3)(A)1. of this rule are—
A. Those provisions which are not delegable by the United

States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA); and
B. Sections 63.13 and 63.15(a)(2) of subpart A.

(B) The Missouri Department of Natural Resources (MoDNR)
maintains authority for implementation of all standards incorporated
by reference in subsection (3)(A) of this rule. The table below lists
the subparts of 40 CFR 63 incorporated by reference in subsection
(3)(A) of this rule, including the primary agency responsible for
enforcement of the standard:

Page 1294 Proposed Rules
June 15, 2018

Vol. 43, No. 12



Page 1295
June 15, 2018
Vol. 43, No. 12 Missouri Register

[F]



June 15, 2018
Vol. 43, No. 12Page 1296 Proposed Rules

[F]

[&]



Page 1297
June 15, 2018
Vol. 43, No. 12 Missouri Register

[Emissions]

[:]



June 15, 2018
Vol. 43, No. 12Page 1298 Proposed Rules



Page 1299
June 15, 2018
Vol. 43, No. 12 Missouri Register



June 15, 2018
Vol. 43, No. 12Page 1300 Proposed Rules



AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo 2016. Original rule filed May
1, 1996, effective Dec. 30, 1996. For intervening history, please con-
sult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed May 15, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. The pri-
vate entity fiscal cost impacts for compliance with the federal stan-
dards are accounted for in the federal rulemakings.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin at
9:00 a.m., August 30, 2018. The public hearing will be held at the Elm
Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level, Bennett
Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri. Opportunity to be
heard at the hearing shall be afforded to any interested person.
Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit a statement of
their views until 5:00 p.m., September 6, 2018. Send online comments
via the proposed rules web page www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules,

email comments to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written comments to
Chief, Air Quality Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-0176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling
and Reference Methods and Air Pollution Control 

Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.080 Emission Standards for Hazardous Air
Pollutants. The commission proposes to amend sections (2) and (3).
If the commission adopts this rule action, the department intends to
advise the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency that we will accept
delegation of enforcement authority for these federal regulations. The
evidence supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking is available
for viewing at the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air
Pollution Control Program at the address listed in the Notice of Public
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Hearing at the end of this rule. More information concerning this
rulemaking can be found at the Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Proposed Rules website www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-
rules.

PURPOSE: This rule incorporates by reference the maximum achiev-
able control technology regulations in 40 CFR 61. This provides the
Missouri Department of Natural Resources the authority to imple-
ment and enforce these U.S. Environmental Protection Agency regu-
lations. The purpose of this rulemaking is to comply with Executive
Order 17-03 criteria and will remove the unnecessary use of restric-
tive words. This amendment also incorporates by reference new emis-
sion standards, updates, and clarifications to federal rule 40 CFR 61
that were promulgated from January 1, 2016 through July 1, 2017,
and makes other clarifying changes. The evidence supporting the
need for this proposed rulemaking, per 536.016, RSMo, is the Title
V Operating Permit Program requirements, 40 CFR 70, State/EPA
Workplan, and Executive Order 17-03.

(2) Definitions. Certain terms used in 40 CFR 61 refer to federal
officers, agencies, and publications. The following terms [must be]
are substituted when applicable to Missouri where appropriate for
the federal counterparts:

(3) General Provisions.
(A) Incorporations by Reference.

1. The provisions of 40 CFR 61 promulgated as of July 1,
[2015] 2018, are hereby incorporated by reference in this rule,
as published by the Office of the Federal Register[, U.S. National
Archives and Records, 700 Pennsylvania Avenue NW,
Washington, DC 20408, shall apply and are hereby incorpo-
rated by reference in this rule]. Copies can be obtained from
the U.S. Publishing Office Bookstore, 710 N. Capitol Street NW,
Washington, DC 20401. This rule does not incorporate any subse-
quent amendments or additions.

2. Exceptions to paragraph (3)(A)1. of this rule are—
A. Those provisions which are not delegable by the U.S.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA);
B. Sections 61.04, 61.16, and 61.17 of subpart A;
C. Subpart B;
D. Subpart H;
E. Subpart I;
F. Subpart K;
G. Subpart Q;
H. Subpart R;
I. Subpart T; and
J. Subpart W.

(B) The subparts of 40 CFR 61 incorporated by reference in sub-
section (3)(A) of this rule are—
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AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo 2016. Original rule filed Dec.
10, 1979, effective April 11, 1980. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed May 15,
2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. The pri-
vate entity fiscal cost impacts for compliance with the federal stan-
dards are accounted for in the federal rulemakings.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin at
9:00 a.m., August 30, 2018. The public hearing will be held at the Elm
Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level, Bennett
Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri. Opportunity to be
heard at the hearing shall be afforded to any interested person.
Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit a statement of
their views until 5:00 p.m., September 6, 2018. Send online comments
via the proposed rules web page www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules,
email comments to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written comments to
Chief, Air Quality Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-0176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling
and Reference Methods and Air Pollution Control 

Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.120 Restriction of Emissions of Lead From Specific

Lead Smelter-Refinery Installations. The commission proposes to
amend subsections (1)(A), (3)(B), (3)(C), (5)(A), (5)(B), and (5)(E).
If the commission adopts this rule action, the department intends to
submit this rule amendment to the U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency to replace the current rule that is in the Missouri State
Implementation Plan. The evidence supporting the need for this pro-
posed rulemaking is available for viewing at the Missouri Department
of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program at the address
listed in the Notice of Public Hearing at the end of this rule. More
information concerning this rulemaking can be found at the Missouri
Department of Natural Resources’ Proposed Rules website
www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules. 

PURPOSE: This rule establishes maximum allowable rates of emis-
sions of lead from stacks in specific lead-smelter installations, except
where New Source Performance Standards apply (as provided in 10
CSR 10-6.070). It also provides for the operation and maintenance of
equipment and procedures specific to controlling lead emissions to
the ambient air, both from stacks and from the fugitive emissions that
escape stack collection systems at these installations. This amend-
ment is to comply with Executive Order 17-03 criteria and removes
Table 1 because it is no longer necessary due to the shutdown of the
facility, updates a federal secondary Maximum Achievable Control
Standard, removes any unnecessary restrictive words, and adds
incorporations by reference as applicable. The evidence supporting
the need for this proposed rulemaking, per 536.016, RSMo, is
Executive Order 17-03 Red Tape Reduction Review and related com-
ments.

(1) Applicability.
(A) This rule [shall apply] applies to existing installations in

Missouri engaged in specific smelting and refining for the production
of lead.

(3) General Provisions.
(B) Provisions Pertaining to Limitations of Lead Emissions from

Specific Installations. 
[1. Doe Run primary lead smelter-refinery in Herculaneum,
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Missouri. This installation shall limit lead emissions into the
atmosphere to the allowable amount as shown in Table I.

Table I
                                                                   Emissions
Stack Name                                                   Limitation
                                                           (lbs per 24
hours)
Main Stack                                                     794.0
Number 7 & 9
Baghouse Stack                                             56.6

Number 8 Baghouse Stack                               8.2]

[2.]1. Doe Run Resource Recycling Division in Boss, Missouri,
shall limit main stack lead emissions into the atmosphere to
[0.00087] 0.000087 grains of lead per dry standard cubic [feet]
foot of air. This installation shall limit total lead production to one
hundred seventy-five thousand (175,000) tons per year.

(C) Provisions Pertaining to Limitations of Lead Emissions From
Other Than Stacks at All Installations. 

1. The owner or operator shall control fugitive emissions of lead
from all process and area sources at an installation by measures
described in a work practice manual identified in paragraph (3)(C)2.
of this rule. It [shall be] is a violation of this rule to fail to adhere
to the requirements of these work practices. 

2. Work practice manual. 
A. The owner or operator shall prepare, submit for approval,

and then implement a process and area-specific work practice manual
that will apply to locations of fugitive lead emissions at the installa-
tion. 

B. The manual shall be the method of determining compli-
ance with the provisions of this section. Failure to adhere to the work
practices in the manual [shall be] is a violation of this rule. 

C. Any change to the manual proposed by the owner or oper-
ator following the initial approval shall be requested in writing to the
director. Any proposed change shall demonstrate that the change in
the work practice will not lessen the effectiveness of the fugitive
emission reductions for the work practice involved. Written approval
by the director is required before any change becomes effective in the
manual. 

D. If the director determines a change in the work practice
manual is necessary, the director will notify the owner or operator of
that installation. The owner or operator shall revise the manual to
reflect these changes and submit the revised manual within thirty
(30) days of receipt of notification. These changes shall become
effective following written approval of the revised manual by the
director.

(5) Test Methods.
(A) The method of determining the concentration of visible emis-

sions from stack sources shall be Method 9—Visual Determination
of the Opacity of Emissions from Stationary Sources or Method
22—Visual Determination of Fugitive Emissions from Material
Sources and Smoke Emissions from Flares as specified in 10 CSR
10-6.030[(9)](22). 

(B) The method of measuring lead in stack gases shall be [the
sampling method] Method 12—Determination of Inorganic
Lead Emissions from Stationary Sources as specified in 10 CSR
10-6.030[(12)](22). 

(E) The methods for demonstrating compliance at the Doe Run
Resource Recycling Division in Boss, Missouri, shall be those spec-
ified in 40 CFR [part] 63, subpart X. 40 CFR 63, Subpart X pro-
mulgated as of July 1, 2018 is hereby incorporated by reference
in this rule, as published by the Office of the Federal Register.
Copies can be obtained from the U.S. Publishing Office
Bookstore, 710 N. Capitol Street NW, Washington, DC 20401.
This rule does not incorporate any subsequent amendments or
additions.

AUTHORITY: sections 643.050 and 643.055, RSMo [2000] 2016.
Original rule filed Aug. 4, 1988, effective Dec. 29, 1988. For inter-
vening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended: Filed May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin at
9:00 a.m., August 30, 2018. The public hearing will be held at the Elm
Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level, Bennett
Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri. Opportunity to be
heard at the hearing shall be afforded to any interested person.
Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit a statement of
their views until 5:00 p.m., September 6, 2018. Send online comments
via the proposed rules web page www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules,
email comments to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written comments to
Chief, Air Quality Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-0176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling
and Reference Methods and Air Pollution Control 

Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10 6.130 Controlling Emissions During Episodes of High
Air Pollution Potential. The commission proposes to amend the rule
purpose and sections (1), (2), and (3); and remove sections (4) and
(5). If the commission adopts this rule action, the department intends
to submit this rule amendment to the U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency to replace the current rule in the Missouri State
Implementation Plan. The evidence supporting the need for this pro-
posed rulemaking is available for viewing at the Missouri
Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program at
the address listed in the Notice of Public Hearing at the end of this
rule. More information concerning this rulemaking can be found at
the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Proposed Rules web-
site www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules.

PURPOSE: The purpose of this amendment is to remove outdated,
overburdensome requirements and reaffirm the department’s author-
ity to take necessary and appropriate actions to mitigate an episode
of extremely high air pollution. The evidence supporting the need for
this proposed rulemaking, per 536.016, RSMo, is Executive Order
17-03 Red Tape Reduction review and 536.175, RSMo, and related
comments.

PURPOSE: This rule [specifies the conditions that establish air
pollution alert and emergency alert levels and the associated
procedures and emissions reduction objectives] provides for
the mitigation of an emergency air pollution episode as required by
643.090, RSMo. 

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state has determined that the
publication of the entire text of the material which is incorporated by
reference as a portion of this rule would be unduly cumbersome or
expensive. This material as incorporated by reference in this rule
shall be maintained by the agency at its headquarters and shall be
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made available to the public for inspection and copying at no more
than the actual cost of reproduction. This note applies only to the ref-
erence material. The entire text of the rule is printed here.

(1) [Applicability.] In the event of an emergency air pollution
episode, in which Air Quality Index levels reach purple or
maroon levels, the director of the Missouri Department of
Natural Resources will notify the public and take actions to mit-
igate the high air pollution episode as expediently as possible.
The Air Quality Index (EPA-456/F-A-002) as published by the
Environmental Protection Agency in February, 2014 is hereby
incorporated by reference in this rule. Copies can be obtained
from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), 5285
Port Royal Road, Springfield, VA 22161. This rule does not incor-
porate any subsequent amendments or additions.

[(A) This rule shall apply to all sources and premises
throughout the entire state with air emissions that con-
tribute to sulfur dioxide (SO2), carbon monoxide (CO), ozone
(O3), nitrogen dioxide (NO2), or Particulate Matter—10
Micron (PM10) and 2.5 Micron (PM2.5).

(B) The boundaries of the affected area shall be deter-
mined at the discretion of the director in accordance with
the nature and magnitude of the pollutant concentrations
and meteorological conditions that cause the alert.]

(2) [Definitions. Definitions of certain terms specified in this
rule may be found in 10 CSR 10-6.020.] The director will
determine the boundaries of the affected area in accordance with
the nature and magnitude of the pollutant concentrations and
meteorological conditions causing the episode.

(3) [General Provisions.] When, in the judgment of the director,
meteorological conditions and pollutant concentrations warrant
discontinuance of emergency conditions, the director shall termi-
nate the mitigation measures.

[(A) Air Pollution Alerts.
1. The Air Quality Index shall be reported to the general

public on a daily basis by all metropolitan statistical areas
with a population exceeding three hundred fifty thousand
(350,000).

2. Alert levels for applicable air pollutants are stated in
terms of the Air Quality Index (AQI) as defined in 40 CFR
58, Appendix G. Table A shows the relation of the AQI
ranges to alert categories.

3. Alert types and levels of initiation. If an AQI value
falls within the AQI range listed in Table A of this rule, the

corresponding alert color shall be initiated. 
4. Declaration of alerts. An orange alert, red alert, pur-

ple alert, or maroon emergency alert may be declared on the
basis of deteriorating air quality alone; an Air Stagnation
Advisory need not be in effect. The appropriate alert level
should be declared by the director as ambient monitoring
would indicate.

5. Termination of alerts. When, in the judgment of the
director, meteorological conditions and pollutant concentra-
tions warrant discontinuance of any alert condition, the
director shall notify the technical staff, the chairman, and
members of the Missouri Air Conservation Commission that
the alert has been discontinued and issue a public notice to
that effect.

(B) Conditions. This subsection provides conditions that
establish alert level categories.  
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Table A 

AQI  

AQI Alert Category 
Alert 
Color 

0–50 Good Green 

51–100 Moderate Yellow 
101–150 Unhealthy for 

 Sensitive 
groups 

Orange 

151–200 Unhealthy Red 
201–300 Very Unhealthy Purple 
301–400 Hazardous Maroon 
401–500 Hazardous Maroon 



(C) Procedures. This subsection establishes procedures for
addressing alert level conditions.  

Page 1306 Proposed Rules
June 15, 2018

Vol. 43, No. 12

Table B 

Conditions for Alert Level Categories 

Orange (101-150) Red (151-200) Purple (201-300) Maroon (301-500) 
 
This alert level AQI value 
is equaled or exceeded at 
any one (1) monitoring 
station within the affected 
area, unless there is a 
current forecast of 
meteorological 
improvement within the 
next twenty-four (24) 
hours. 

-- and -- 
Meteorological conditions 
are such that the 
conditions can be 
expected to remain or 
reoccur in this alert level 
range during the next 
twenty-four (24) or more 
hours or increase unless 
control actions are taken. 

 
This alert level AQI value 
is equaled or exceeded at 
any one (1) monitoring 
station within the affected 
area, unless there is a 
current forecast of 
meteorological 
improvement within the 
next twenty-four (24) 
hours. 

-- and -- 
Meteorological conditions 
are such that the 
conditions can be 
expected to remain or 
reoccur in this alert level 
range during the next 
twenty-four (24) or more 
hours or increase unless 
control actions are taken. 
 

 
This alert level AQI value 
is equaled or exceeded at 
any one (1) monitoring 
station within the affected 
area.  

 
This alert level AQI value 
is equaled or exceeded at 
any one (1) monitoring 
station within the affected 
area.  

 
 

-- or -- 
This alert level AQI value 
is equaled or exceeded as 
the arithmetic mean for 
twelve (12) consecutive 
hours and an Air 
Stagnation Advisory is in 
effect.  
 

 
 

-- or -- 
This alert level AQI value 
is equaled or exceeded as 
the arithmetic mean for 
twelve (12) consecutive 
hours and a forecast of 
stagnation for the 
following twelve (12) 
hours is received.  
 

                 
--  or -- 

The red alert AQI value is 
equaled or exceeded as 
the arithmetic mean for 
twenty-four (24) 
consecutive hours and a 
forecast of stagnation for 
the following twelve (12) 
hours is received. 
 

                   
--  or -- 

The purple alert AQI value 
is equaled or exceeded as 
the arithmetic mean for 
twenty-four (24) 
consecutive hours and a 
forecast of stagnation for 
the following twelve (12) 
hours is received.  
                   

 
 

--  or -- 
The red alert AQI value is 
equaled or exceeded as 
the arithmetic mean for 
thirty-six (36) consecutive 
hours and a forecast of 
stagnation for the 
following twelve (12) 
hours is received. 
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Table C 

Procedures 

Red (151-200) Purple (201-300) Maroon (301-500) 

The general public shall be informed 
through the news media that an 
alert of this level exists, the 
geographical area(s) where the alert 
is applicable, the emission and type 
of source(s) that initiated the alert, 
individual abatement actions that 
will help alleviate the problem, and 
encourage those with respiratory 
ailments or heart conditions to take 
the most appropriate and expedient 
precautions. 
 

The general public shall be informed 
through the news media that an 
alert of this level exists, the 
geographical area(s) where the alert 
is applicable, the emission and type 
of source(s) that initiated the alert, 
individual abatement actions that 
will help alleviate the problem, and 
encourage those with respiratory 
ailments or heart conditions to take 
the most appropriate and expedient 
precautions. 

The general public shall be informed 
through the news media that an 
alert of this level exists, the 
geographical area(s) where the alert 
is applicable, the emission and type 
of source(s) that initiated the alert, 
individual abatement actions that 
will help alleviate the problem, and 
encourage those with respiratory 
ailments or heart conditions to take 
the most appropriate and expedient 
precautions. 

All affected governmental control 
agencies shall be notified of the 
existing alert level and that 
coordination of action is required. 
 

All affected governmental control 
agencies shall be notified of the 
existing alert level and that 
coordination of action is required. 

All affected governmental control 
agencies shall be notified of the 
existing alert level and that 
coordination of action is required. 

 
All hospitals within the affected 
area shall be notified of the existing 
alert level and be prepared for an 
increase in the number of patients 
seeking treatment. 
 

 
All hospitals within the affected 
area shall be notified of the existing 
alert level and be prepared for an 
increase in the number of patients 
seeking treatment. 

 
All hospitals within the affected 
area shall be notified of the existing 
alert level and be prepared for an 
increase in the number of patients 
seeking treatment. 

 
The frequency of air monitoring 
shall be increased at all monitoring 
stations that are not continuous at 
intervals not exceeding one (1) hour 
with continual hourly review at a 
central control location, if this 
equipment is available and it is 
deemed necessary by the director. 
 

 
The frequency of air monitoring 
shall be increased at all monitoring 
stations that are not continuous at 
intervals not exceeding one (1) hour 
with continual hourly review at a 
central control location, if this 
equipment is available and it is 
deemed necessary by the director. 

 
The frequency of air monitoring 
shall be increased at all monitoring 
stations that are not continuous at 
intervals not exceeding one-half 
(1/2) hour with continual half-hour 
review at a central control location, 
if this equipment is available and it 
is deemed necessary by the 
director. 

 
All open burning shall cease 
throughout the affected area. 

 
All open burning and incineration 
shall cease throughout the affected 
area. 

 
All open burning and incineration 
shall cease throughout the affected 
area. 
 

 
The general public shall be 
requested through the news media 
to restrict the unnecessary use of 
motor vehicles. 

 
The general public shall be told 
through the news media that local 
vehicular traffic shall avoid certain 
areas and all unnecessary use of 
motor vehicles is restricted. 
Nonlocal vehicular traffic may be 
diverted around the affected area 
depending upon which pollutant(s) 
caused the existing conditions. 

 
The use of motor vehicles is 
prohibited except in emergencies 
with the approval of local or state 
police. 
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 Airlines operating within the purple 
alert area shall be notified that 
those conditions exist and that a 
reduction of flights out of the 
airport may be required. 
 

All airplane flights originating within 
the area of the maroon emergency 
alert shall be cancelled. 

  
If requested by the director, 
facilities that are sources of air 
contaminant emissions are required 
to file alert plans in accordance with 
section (4) of this rule and shall be 
prepared to implement the plan 
upon notification by the director in 
the event of a purple alert.  

 
If requested by the director, 
facilities that are sources of air 
contaminant emissions are required 
to file alert plans in accordance with 
section (4) of this rule and shall be 
prepared to implement the plan 
upon notification by the director in 
the event of a maroon emergency 
alert.  
 

   
All places of employment described 
as follows shall immediately cease 
operation during a maroon 
emergency alert: mining and 
quarrying; contract construction 
work; wholesale trade 
establishments; schools and 
libraries; governmental agencies 
except those needed to administer 
the air pollution alert program and 
other essential agencies determined 
by the director to be vital for public 
safety and welfare and needed to 
administer the provisions of this 
rule; retail trade stores except those 
dealing primarily in sale of food or 
pharmacies; banks, real estate 
agencies, insurance offices, and 
similar business; laundries, cleaners 
and dryers, beauty and barber 
shops, and photographic studios; 
amusement, recreational, gaming, 
and entertainment service 
establishments; automobile repair 
and automobile service garages; and 
advertising offices, consumer credit 
reporting, adjustment and collection 
agencies, printing and duplicating 
services, rental agencies, and 
commercial testing laboratories. 
 
All manufacturing facilities except 
those required to submit alert plans  
shall institute action that will result 
in maximum reduction of air 
contaminants from their operations 
by ceasing, curtailing, or postponing 
operations to the extent possible 
without causing injury to persons or 
damage to equipment. 
 

 



(4) Reporting and Record Keeping. Facilities that are sources
of air contaminant emissions and required to file alert plans
per Table C of this rule shall file purple and maroon alert
plans with the director within sixty (60) days of the direc-
tor’s request. Alert plans shall—

(A) Address the objectives provided in Tables D, E, and F;
and

(B) Include the planning necessary for implementation.  
Updates to alert plans, including requests for rescissions,
shall be provided when changes to operations necessitate.
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Table D 
Purple Alert (201-300) Plan Objectives 

Sources Objectives 
Electric power generating facilities Reduction of emissions by diverting electric power 

generation to facilities outside of area for which the alert 
is called. 
 
If applicable, reduce emissions by utilization of fuels 
having low ash and sulfur content. If applicable, soot 
blowing and boiler lancing to be allowed only during 
periods of high atmospheric turbulence (12:00 noon to 
4:00 p.m.). 
 

Process steam generating facilities Reduction of steam load demands consistent with 
continuing the operation of the plant. 
 
If applicable, reduce emissions by utilization of fuels 
having low ash and sulfur content. If applicable, soot 
blowing and boiler lancing to be allowed only during 
periods of high atmospheric turbulence (12:00 noon to 
4:00 p.m.). 
 

Manufacturing industries of the following Standard 
Industrial Classification Manual (SIC) group 
designations: grain industries, group 20; paper and 
allied products industries, group 26; chemicals and 
allied products industries, group 28; petroleum 
refining and related industries, group 29; stone, 
glass, clay, and concrete product industries, group 
32; primary metal industries, group 33 
 

Reduction of heat load demands for processing to a 
minimum. 
 

Reduction of air contaminant emissions by curtailing, 
postponing, or deferring production and allied operations. 
Stoppage of all trade waste disposal practices that emit 
particles, gases, vapors, or malodorous substances 
including incineration. 
 

Other manufacturing facilities required to submit 
alert plans by the director 

Reduction of heat load demands for processing to a 
minimum. 
 
Reduction of air contaminant emissions by curtailing, 
postponing, or deferring production and allied operations. 
Stoppage of all trade waste disposal practices that emit 
particles, gases, vapors, or malodorous substances 
including incineration. 
 

Private, public, and commercial operations For refuse disposal, stoppage of all open burning including 
disposal of trees and burning at fire-fighting schools, 
except as required for disposal of hazardous materials or 
other emergency needs. 
 
For refuse disposal, operation of incinerators shall cease 
per Table C of this rule.  
 

Transportation See Table C of this rule for motor vehicle restrictions.  
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Table E 
Maroon Emergency Alert (301-400) Plan Objectives 

Sources Objectives 
Electric power generating facilities Reduction of emissions by diverting electric power 

generation to facilities outside of area for which the alert 
is called. 
 
If applicable, reduce emissions by utilization of fuels 
having low ash and sulfur content. If applicable, soot 
blowing and boiler lancing to be allowed only during 
periods of high atmospheric turbulence (12:00 noon to 
4:00 p.m.). 
 

Process steam generating facilities If applicable, obtain maximum reduction of air 
contaminant emissions by utilization of fuels having the 
lowest ash and sulfur content. 
 
If applicable, maximize use of periods of high atmospheric 
turbulence (12:00 noon to 4:00 p.m.) for soot blowing 
and boiler lancing.  
 

Manufacturing industries of the following Standard 
Industrial Classification Manual (SIC) group 
designations: grain industries, group 20; paper and 
allied products industries, group 26; chemicals and 
allied products industries, group 28; petroleum 
refining and related industries, group 29; stone, 
glass, clay, and concrete product industries, group 
32; primary metal industries, group 33 
 

Maximum reduction of heat load demands for processing.  
 

Maximum reduction of air contaminant emissions by, if 
necessary, postponing production and allied operations. 
Stoppage of all trade waste disposal practices that emit 
particles, gases, vapors, or malodorous substances 
including incineration. 
 

Other manufacturing facilities required to submit 
alert plans by the director 

Maximum reduction of heat load demands for processing.  
 
Maximum reduction of air contaminant emissions by, if 
necessary, postponing production and allied operations. 
Stoppage of all trade waste disposal practices that emit 
particles, gases, vapors, or malodorous substances 
including incineration. 
 

Private, public, and commercial operations For refuse disposal, stoppage of all open burning including 
disposal of trees and burning at fire-fighting schools, 
except as required for disposal of hazardous materials or 
other emergency needs. 
 
For refuse disposal, operation of incinerators shall cease 
per Table C of this rule.  
 

Transportation See Table C of this rule for motor vehicle restrictions.  
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Table F 
Maroon Emergency Alert (401-500) Plan Objectives 

Sources Objectives 
Electric power generating facilities Reduction of emissions by diverting electric power 

generation to facilities outside of area for which the alert 
is called. 
 
If applicable, reduce emissions by utilization of fuels 
having low ash and sulfur content. If applicable, soot 
blowing and boiler lancing to be allowed only during 
periods of high atmospheric turbulence (12:00 noon to 
4:00 p.m.). 
 

Process steam generating facilities Maximum reduction of air contaminant emissions by 
reducing heat and steam load demands to values 
consistent with preventing equipment damage. 
 
If applicable, maximize use of periods of high atmospheric 
turbulence (12:00 noon to 4:00 p.m.) for soot blowing 
and boiler lancing. 
 

Manufacturing industries of the following Standard 
Industrial Classification Manual (SIC) group 
designations: grain industries, group 20; paper and 
allied products industries, group 26; chemicals and 
allied products industries, group 28; petroleum 
refining and related industries, group 29; stone, 
glass, clay, and concrete product industries, group 
32; primary metal industries, group 33 
 

Maximum reduction of heat load demands for processing.  
 

Elimination of air contaminant emissions from the 
manufacturing operations by ceasing, curtailing, 
postponing, or deferring production and allied operations 
to the extent possible without causing injury to persons or 
damage to equipment. 
 

Other manufacturing facilities required to submit 
alert plans by the director 

Maximum reduction of heat load demands for processing. 
 
Elimination of air contaminant emissions from the 
manufacturing operations by ceasing, curtailing, 
postponing, or deferring production and allied operations 
to the extent possible without causing injury to persons or 
damage to equipment. 
 

Private, public, and commercial operations For refuse disposal, stoppage of all open burning including 
disposal of trees and burning at fire-fighting schools, 
except as required for disposal of hazardous materials or 
other emergency needs. 
 
For refuse disposal, operation of incinerators shall cease 
per Table C of this rule.  
 
The following places of employment, if notified by the 
director, immediately shall cease operations: mining and 
quarrying operations; construction projects except as 
required to avoid emergent physical harm; manufacturing 
establishments except those required to have in force an 
air pollution alert plan; wholesale trade establishments; 
governmental units, except as required to implement the 
provisions of this rule and other operations essential to 
immediate protection of the public welfare and safety; 
retail trade and service establishments except pharmacies, 
food stores, and other similar operations providing for 
emergency needs; other commercial service operations, 
such as those engaged in banking, insurance, real estate, 
advertising, and the like; educational institutions; and 
amusement, recreational, gaming, and entertainment 
facilities. 
 

Transportation See Table C of this rule for motor vehicle restrictions.  
 



Page 1312 Proposed Rules
June 15, 2018

Vol. 43, No. 12

(5) Test Methods. The testing references for Missouri ambi-
ent air quality data are as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.040
Reference Methods.] 

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo [Supp. 2013] 2016. Original
rule filed May 11, 1984, effective Oct. 11, 1984. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin at
9:00 a.m., August 30, 2018. The public hearing will be held at the Elm
Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level, Bennett
Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri. Opportunity to be
heard at the hearing shall be afforded any interested person. Interested
persons, whether or not heard, may submit a statement of their views
until 5:00 p.m., September 6, 2018. Send online comments via the pro-
posed rules web page www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules, email com-
ments to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written comments to Chief, Air
Quality Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural Resources’
Air Pollution Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO
65102-0176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling
and Reference Methods and Air Pollution Control 

Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.161 Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste
Incinerators. The commission proposes to amend subsection (2)(A)
and sections (3) and (4). If the commission adopts this rule action,
the department intends to submit this rule amendment to the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency to replace the current rule that is
in the Missouri State Plan for Designated Facilities and Pollutants
pursuant to section 111(d) of the Clean Air Act for commercial and
industrial solid waste incinerators. The evidence supporting the need
for this proposed rulemaking is available for viewing at the Missouri
Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program at
the address listed in the Notice of Public Hearing at the end of this
rule.  More information concerning this rulemaking can be found at
the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Proposed Rules web-
site www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules.

PURPOSE: This rule incorporates by reference the federal regulatory
requirements for existing commercial and industrial solid waste
incineration units in Missouri. The purpose of this rulemaking is to
update the incorporation by reference date to include recent changes
to the federal Commercial and Industrial Solid Waste Incineration
(CISWI) rule. Recent changes include finalizing definitions for kiln
and continuous emissions monitoring system data during startup and
shutdown. Also, the particulate matter limit for waste-burning kilns
and the emission limits for coal-burning recovery units are finalized.
This rulemaking will also remove unnecessary use of restrictive
words, update/add incorporations by reference as applicable, and
make administrative updates. This rulemaking will also add an
optional production-based mercury (Hg) emission limit as an alter-
native to the concentration-based Hg emission limit for the waste-

burning kiln subcategory. This rulemaking will assure that state rule
requirements remain consistent with the latest federal rule require-
ments to avoid confusion. The evidence supporting the need for this
proposed rulemaking, per 536.016, RSMo, is Federal Register 81 FR
40955 dated June 23, 2016, Executive Order 17-03 Red Tape
Reduction Review and related comments, and a Central Plains
Cement Company variance request dated November 13, 2017, for an
alternative production-based Hg limit.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state has determined that the
publication of the entire text of the material which is incorporated by
reference as a portion of this rule would be unduly cumbersome or
expensive. This material as incorporated by reference in this rule
shall be maintained by the agency at its headquarters and shall be
made available to the public for inspection and copying at no more
than the actual cost of reproduction. This note applies only to the ref-
erence material. The entire text of the rule is printed here.

(2) Definitions.
(A) The [provisions] definitions of 40 CFR 60.2875[, promul-

gated as of February 7, 2013, shall apply and are hereby
incorporated by reference in this rule, as published by the
Office of Federal Register, U.S. National Archives and
Records, 700 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, DC
20408. This rule does not incorporate any subsequent
amendments or additions] apply as specified in 10 CSR 10-
6.030(22).

(3) General Provisions. The following references to 40 CFR 60.2575
through 60.2735, 40 CFR 60.2805 through 60.2870, and 40 CFR
60, Subpart DDDD Tables 1 through 9, [promulgated February 7,
2013, shall apply and are hereby incorporated by reference
in this rule, as published by the Office of the Federal
Register, U.S. National Archives and Records, 700
Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20408. This rule
does not incorporate any subsequent amendments or addi-
tions] apply as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.030(22)[.]:

(A) Increments of Progress—40 CFR 60.2575 through 60.2615
and 40 CFR 60.2815 through 60.2855;

(B) Waste Management Plan—40 CFR 60.2620 through 60.2630;
(C) Operator Training and Qualification—40 CFR 60.2635

through 60.2665;
(D) Emission Limitations and Operating Limits—40 CFR 60.2670

through 60.2685 and 40 CFR 60.2860;
(E) Performance Testing—40 CFR 60.2690 through 60.2695;
(F) Initial Compliance Requirements—40 CFR 60.2700 through

60.2706. If the owner or operator of a waste-burning kiln chooses
to switch to and comply with the equivalent production-based
mercury emission limit in subparagraph (3)(K)1.B. of this rule,
initial compliance shall be demonstrated pursuant to 40 CFR
63.1348(a)(5). The initial compliance test must begin on the first
operating day following completion of the field testing and data
collection that demonstrates that the continuous emissions moni-
toring system has satisfied the relevant performance acceptance
criteria of Performance Specifications 12A or 12B in 40 CFR
Part 60 Appendix B. The notification required by 40 CFR
60.2760(a) through (c) shall also include the owner or operators
intention to comply with the equivalent production-based mer-
cury emission limit in subparagraph (3)(K)1.B. of this rule. For
waste-burning kilns choosing to comply with the equivalent pro-
duction-based mercury emission limit in paragraph (3)(K)1.B. of
this rule, the term operating day in 40 CFR 63.1348(a)(5), 40
CFR 63.1348(b)(7) and 40 CFR 63.1349(b)(5) means any twenty
four (24)-hour period beginning at 12:00 midnight during which
the kiln produces any amount of clinker. 40 CFR 63.1348(a)(5),
40 CFR 63.1348 (b)(7), 63.1349(b)(5), and 40 CFR 60 Appendix



B Specifications 12A and 12B promulgated as of July 1, 2018 are
hereby incorporated by reference as published by the Office of
the Federal Register. Copies can be obtained from the U.S.
Publishing Office Bookstore, 710 N. Capitol Street NW,
Washington, DC 20401. This rule does not incorporate any sub-
sequent amendments or additions;

(G) Continuous Compliance Requirements—40 CFR 60.2710
through 60.2725. If the owner or operator of a waste-burning kiln
chooses to switch to and comply with the equivalent production-
based mercury emission limit in subparagraph (3)(K)1.B. of this
rule, continuous compliance shall be demonstrated pursuant to
the procedures of 40 CFR 63.1348(b)(7) and 40 CFR
63.1349(b)(5). 40 CFR 63.1348(b)(7), and 63.1349(b)(5) promul-
gated as of July 1, 2018 are hereby incorporated by reference as
published by the Office of the Federal Register. Copies can be
obtained from the U.S. Publishing Office Bookstore, 710 N.
Capitol Street NW, Washington, DC 20401. This rule does not
incorporate any subsequent amendments or additions;

(H) Monitoring—40 CFR 60.2730 through 60.2735 and 40 CFR
60.2865. If the owner or operator of a waste-burning kiln chooses
to switch to and comply with the equivalent production-based
mercury emission limit in subparagraph (3)(K)1.B. of this rule,
it must also monitor mercury pursuant to 40 CFR 63.1350(k),
the clinker production rate pursuant to 40 CFR 63.1350(d), and
the flow rate pursuant to 40 CFR 63.1350(n).  An owner or oper-
ator of a waste burning kiln is not required to develop an emis-
sions monitoring plan pursuant 40 CFR 63.1350(p)(1) through
(p)(4) if the owner or operator prepares the emissions monitoring
plan required pursuant to 40 CFR 60.2710(k) and 40 CFR
60.2710(l). 40 CFR 63.1350(d), (k), (n), and (p)(1) promulgated
as of July 1, 2018 are hereby incorporated by reference as pub-
lished by the Office of the Federal Register. Copies can be
obtained from the U.S. Publishing Office Bookstore, 710 N.
Capitol Street NW, Washington, DC 20401. This rule does not
incorporate any subsequent amendments or additions;

(I) Title V Operating Permits—40 CFR 60.2805; [and]
(J) Table 1 through Table 9. The compliance dates for the incre-

ments of progress are—
1. For Increment 1, the final control plan must be submitted

within one (1) year of the effective date of this rule; and 
2. For Increment 2, for CISWI units that commenced construc-

tion on or before June 4, 2010, the final compliance date is February
7, 2018[.]; and

(K) [General reference notes] Other requirements:
1. Units applicable under paragraph (1)(A)1. of this rule must

comply with the emission limits as follows:
A. For energy recovery units, Table 7 of 40 CFR 60 subpart

DDDD as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.030(22);
B. For waste burning kilns, Table 8 of 40 CFR 60 subpart

DDDD as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.030(22); and
C. For small remote incinerators, Table 9 of 40 CFR 60 sub-

part DDDD as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.030(22);
2. Units applicable under paragraph (1)(A)2. of this rule, Table

2 of 40 CFR 60 subpart DDDD as specified in 10 CSR 10-
6.030(22); and

3. Units applicable under paragraph (1)(A)3. of this rule, Table
6 of 40 CFR 60 subpart DDDD or Table 1 of 40 CFR 60 subpart
CCCC as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.030(22), whichever is more
stringent.

(4) Reporting and Record Keeping. The provisions of 40 CFR
60.2740 through 60.2800 and 40 CFR 60.2870, [promulgated as
of February 17, 2013, shall apply and are hereby incorporat-
ed by reference in this rule, as published by the Office of
Federal Register, U.S. National Archives and Records, 700
Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20408. This rule
does not incorporate any subsequent amendments or addi-

tions] apply as specified in 10 CSR 10-6.030(22). If the owner or
operator of a waste-burning kiln chooses to switch to and comply
with the equivalent production-based mercury emission limit in
subparagraph (3)(K)1.B. of this rule, it shall also keep records of
all data collected from the continuous flow rate monitoring sys-
tem required by 40 CFR 63 .1350(n), all data collected from the
clinker production monitoring system required by 40 CFR
63.1350(d), and all calculated thirty (30)-operating day rolling
average values derived from the mercury monitoring system.
Units in the waste-burning kiln subcategory complying with the
equivalent production-based mercury emission limit in subpara-
graph (3)(K)1.B. of this rule must also report all deviations from
the equivalent production-based mercury limit in accordance
with 40 CFR 60.2740 through 40 CFR 60.2800. 40 CFR
63.1350(d), and (n) promulgated as of July 1, 2018 and are here-
by incorporated by reference as published by the Office of the
Federal Register. Copies can be obtained from the U.S.
Publishing Office Bookstore, 710 N. Capitol Street NW,
Washington, DC 20401. This rule does not incorporate any sub-
sequent amendments or additions.

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo [Supp. 2013] 2016. Original
rule filed July 12, 2013, effective March 30, 2014. Amended: Filed
May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS:  A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin
at 9:00 a.m., August 30, 2018. The public hearing will be held at the
Elm Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level,
Bennett Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri.
Opportunity to be heard at the hearing shall be afforded to any inter-
ested person. Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit
a statement of their views until 5:00 p.m., September 6, 2018. Send
online comments via the proposed rules web page
www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules, email comments to
apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written comments to Chief, Air Quality
Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air
Pollution Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
0176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling
and Reference Methods and Air Pollution Control 

Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.241 Asbestos Projects—Registration, Abatement,
Notification, Inspection, Demolition, and Performance
Requirements. The commission proposes to amend sections (1), (2),
and (4) and subsections (3)(A)–(3)(F), delete subsection (3)(I), and
renumber and amend subsection (3)(J). If the commission adopts this
rule action, the department does not intend to submit this rule amend-
ment to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency because the rule is
administrative and the rule has never been approved as part of the
Missouri State Implementation Plan. The evidence supporting the
need for this proposed rulemaking is available for viewing at the
Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution Control
Program at the address listed in the Notice of Public Hearing at the
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end of this rule. More information concerning this rulemaking can be
found at the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Proposed
Rules website www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules.

PURPOSE: This rule requires asbestos contractors to register with
the department, to notify the department of each asbestos project, to
allow the department to inspect asbestos projects, and to pay inspec-
tion fees. Each person who intends to perform asbestos projects in
Missouri must register annually with the Missouri Department of
Natural Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program. Any person
undertaking a demolition or asbestos project must submit a notifica-
tion to the appropriate agency of the department for each asbestos
project and each notification must be accompanied by a fee. Asbestos
contractors must allow representatives of the department to conduct
inspections of projects and must pay inspection fees. The purpose of
this rulemaking is to comply with Executive Order 17-03 and related
comments and will remove the unnecessary use of restrictive words,
add definitions specific to this rule, update incorporated by reference
information, and remove the requirement to provide a forty-five (45)-
day comment period for revisions to department-supplied forms. This
proposed rulemaking will also add conditions for denial of asbestos
registration applications, clarifying requirements to receive and keep
asbestos registrations, and is consistent with 643.230.1 RSMo. The
evidence supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking, per
536.016, RSMo, is staff comments dated August 23, 2013 and July
11, 2016; and Executive Order 17-03 Red Tape Reduction Review and
related comments.

(1) Applicability. 
(A) This rule [shall apply] applies to—

1. All persons that authorize, design, conduct, and work in
asbestos projects; and 

2. All persons that undertake demolitions [projects] or monitor
air-borne asbestos and dispose of asbestos waste as a result of
asbestos projects.

(B) Exemptions. The department may exempt a person from reg-
istration, certification, and certain notification requirements provid-
ed the person conducts asbestos projects solely at the person’s own
place of business as part of normal operations in the facility and also
is subject to the requirements and applicable standards of the United
States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and United States
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 29 CFR
1926.1101 promulgated as of July 1, 2018 and are hereby incor-
porated by reference as published by the Office of the Federal
Register. Copies can be obtained from the U.S. Publishing Office
Bookstore, 710 N. Capitol Street NW, Washington, DC 20401.
This rule does not incorporate any subsequent amendments or
additions. This exemption shall not apply to asbestos contractors, to
those subject to the requirements of the Asbestos Hazard Emergency
Response Act (AHERA), and to those persons who provide a service
to the public in their place(s) of business as the economic foundation
of the facility. These shall include, but not be limited to, child day-
care centers, restaurants, nursing homes, retail outlets, medical care
facilities, hotels, and theaters. Business entities that have received
state approved exemption status shall comply with all federal air
sampling requirements for their planned renovation operations. The
Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response Act as published by the
Department of Commerce and Trade October 1986 is incorporat-
ed by reference in this rule. Copies can be obtained from the
National Technical Information Service (NTIS), 5285 Port Royal
Road, Springfield, VA 22161. This rule does not incorporate any
subsequent amendments or additions.

(2) Definitions. [Definitions of certain terms specified in this
rule may be found in 10 CSR 10-6.020.]

(A) Asbestos—The asbestiform varieties of serpentinite
(chrysotile), riebeckite (crocidolite), cummingtonite-grunerite,
anthophyllite, and actinolitetremolite.

(B) Asbestos abatement—The encapsulation, enclosure, or
removal of asbestos-containing materials, in or from a building,
or air contaminant source; or preparation of friable asbestos-
containing material prior to demolition.

(C) Asbestos inspector—An individual who collects and assim-
ilates information used to determine the presence and condition
of asbestos-containing material in a building or other air conta-
minant source. An asbestos inspector has to hold a diploma from
a fully-approved EPA or Missouri-accredited AHERA inspector
course and a high school diploma or its equivalent.

(D) Demolition—The wrecking or taking out of any load-sup-
porting structural member of a facility together with any related
handling operations or the intentional burning of any facility.

(E) Regulated asbestos-containing material (RACM)—Defined
as follows:

1. Friable asbestos material;
2. Category I nonfriable ACM that has become friable;
3. Category I nonfriable ACM that will be or has been sub-

jected to sanding, grinding, cutting, or abrading; or
4. Category II nonfriable ACM that has a high probability of

becoming or has become crumbled, pulverized, or reduced to pow-
der by the forces expected to act on the material in the course of
demolition or renovation operations regulated by this paragraph.

(F) Definitions. Definitions of certain terms specified in this
rule, other than those defined in this rule section, may be found
in 10 CSR 10-6.020.

(3) General Provisions. 
(A) Registration. 

1. Any person that conducts an asbestos project shall register
with the department. Business entities that qualify for exemption sta-
tus from the state must reapply for exemption from registration.  

2. The person shall apply for registration renewal on an annual
basis, and two (2) months before the expiration date shall send the
application to the department for processing. The contractor registra-
tion application or business exemption information shall be submit-
ted on the forms provided by the department.

3. Annually, the person submitting a registration application to
the department shall remit a nonrefundable fee of one thousand dol-
lars ($1,000) to the department. Effective January 1, 2017, the reg-
istration fee is two thousand six hundred fifty dollars ($2,650).

4. To determine eligibility for registration and registration
renewal, the department may consider the compliance history of the
applicant as well as that of all management employees and officers.
The department may also consider the compliance record of any
other entity of which those individuals were officers and management
employees.

5. Registration may be denied for any one (1) or more of the
following reasons:

A. Providing false or misleading statements in the appli-
cation;

B. Failure to submit a complete application;
C. Three (3) or more citations or violations of existing

asbestos regulations within the last two (2) years;
D. Three (3) or more violations of 29 CFR 1910.1001 or

29 CFR 1926.1101 within the last two (2) years;
E. Fraud or failure to disclose facts relevant to their appli-

cation; and
F. Any other information which may affect the applicant’s

ability to appropriately perform asbestos work.
(B) Abatement Procedures and Practices.

1. Asbestos project contractors shall use only individuals that
have been certified by the department in accordance with 10 CSR 10-
6.250 and Chapter 643, RSMo on asbestos abatement projects.

2. At each asbestos project site the person shall provide the fol-
lowing information for inspection by the department: 

A. Proof of current departmental registration; 
B. Proof of current departmental occupational certification
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for those individuals on the project; 
C. Most recent available air sampling results; 
D. Current photo identification for all applicable individuals

engaged in the project; and  
E. Proof of passage of the training course for the air sampling

technicians and photo identifications for air sampling technicians. 
(C) Revocation of Registration. The director may deny, suspend,

or revoke any person’s registration obtained under section (3) of this
rule if the director finds the person in violation of sections 643.225–
643.250, RSMo or Missouri rules 10 CSR 10-6.241 or 10 CSR 10-
6.250 or any applicable federal, state, or local standard for asbestos
abatement projects. 

(D) Any person that authorizes an asbestos project, asbestos
inspection, or any AHERA-related work [shall] has to ensure that
Missouri registered contractors and certified individuals are
employed, and that all post-notification procedures on the project are
in compliance with this rule and 10 CSR 10-6.250 and Chapter 643,
RSMo. Business entities that have exemption status from the state are
exempt from using registered contractors and from post-notification
requirements, when performing in-house asbestos abatement pro-
jects. 

(E) Asbestos Project Notification. Any person undertaking an
asbestos project shall submit a notification to the department for
review at least ten (10) working days prior to the start of the project.
Business entities with state-approved exemption status are exempt
from notification except for those projects for which notification is
required by the EPA’s National Emission Standards for Hazardous
Air Pollutants (NESHAPS). The department may waive the ten (10)-
working day review period upon request for good cause. To apply for
this waiver, the person shall complete the appropriate sections of the
notification form provided by the department. The person who
applies for the ten (10)-working day waiver must obtain approval
from the department before the project can begin. 

1. The person shall submit the notification form provided by the
department.

2. If an amendment to the notification is necessary, the person
shall notify the department immediately by telephone or FAX. The
department must receive the written amendment within five (5)
working days following verbal agreement. 

3. Asbestos project notifications shall state actual dates and
times of the project, the on-site supervisor, and a description of work
practices. If the person must revise the dates and times of the project,
the person shall notify the department and the regional office or the
appropriate local delegated enforcement agency at least twenty-four
(24) hours in advance of the change by telephone or FAX and then
immediately follow-up with a written amendment stating the change.
The department must receive the written amendment within five (5)
working days of the phone or FAX message.

4. A nonrefundable notification fee of one hundred dollars
($100) will be charged for each project constituting one hundred
sixty (160) square feet, two hundred sixty (260) linear feet, or thir-
ty-five (35) cubic feet or greater. Effective January 1, 2017, the noti-
fication fee is two hundred dollars ($200). If an asbestos project is
in an area regulated by an authorized local air pollution control
agency, and the person is required to pay notification fees to that
agency, the person is exempt from paying the state fees. Persons con-
ducting planned renovation projects determined by the department to
fall under EPA’s 40 CFR part 61 subpart M as specified in 10 CSR
10-6.030(23) must pay this fee and the inspection fees required in
subsection (3)(F) of this rule. 

5. Emergency project. Any person undertaking an emergency
asbestos project shall notify the department within twenty-four (24)
hours of the onset of the emergency by telephone and must receive
departmental approval of emergency status. [The person must
notify the department within twenty-four (24) hours of the
onset of the emergency.] Business entities with state-approved
exemption status are exempt from emergency notification for state-
approved projects that are part of a NESHAPS planned renovation

annual notification. If the emergency occurs after normal working
hours or weekends, the person shall contact the Environmental
Services Program. The notice shall provide—

A. A description of the nature and scope of the emergency; 
B. A description of the measures immediately used to miti-

gate the emergency; and 
C. A schedule for removal. Following the emergency notice,

the person shall provide to the director a notification on the form pro-
vided by the department and [the person shall] submit it to the
director within seven (7) days of the onset of the emergency. The
amendment requirements for notification found in subsection (3)(E)
of this rule are applicable to emergency projects. 

(F) Inspections. There shall be a charge of one hundred dollars
($100) per inspection for the first three (3) inspections of any
asbestos project. Effective January 1, 2017, the inspection fee is two
hundred dollars ($200) per inspection for the first two (2) inspec-
tions. The department or the local delegated enforcement agency
shall bill the person for that inspection(s) and the person shall submit
the fee(s) within sixty (60) days of the date of the invoice, or sooner,
if required by a local delegated enforcement agency within its area of
jurisdiction.

[(I) After the effective date of this rule, any revision to the
department-supplied forms will be presented to the regulat-
ed community for a forty-five (45)-day comment period.]

[(J)](I) Demolition [Projects]. Effective January 1, 2017, a non-
refundable notification fee of one hundred dollars ($100) will be
charged for each demolition [project] regulated under 10 CSR 10-
6.080. If a demolition [project] is in an area regulated by an autho-
rized local air pollution control agency and the person is required to
pay notification fees to that agency, the person is exempt from paying
the state fees.

(4) Reporting and Record Keeping.
(A) Post-Notification.

1. Any person undertaking an asbestos project that requires
notification according to subsection (3)(E) of this rule, on the depart-
ment-provided form shall notify the department within sixty (60)
days of the completion of the project. This notice shall include a
signed and dated receipt for the asbestos waste generated by the pro-
ject issued by the landfill named on the notification[. This notice
also shall include] and any final clearance air monitoring results.
The technician performing the analysis shall sign and date all reports
of analyses.

2. Business entities are exempt from post-notification require-
ments, but [shall] have to keep records of waste disposal for depart-
ment inspection.

(B) Additional Record Keeping.  The contractor and the owner
shall keep the air monitoring results for three (3) years[. The per-
son shall] and make the results available to representatives of the
department upon request. All AHERA projects shall comply with
EPA air monitoring requirements in 40 CFR part 763 promulgated
as of July 1, 2018 and are hereby incorporated by reference as
published by the Office of the Federal Register. Copies can be
obtained from the U.S. Publishing Office Bookstore, 710 N.
Capitol Street NW, Washington, DC 20401. This rule does not
incorporate any subsequent amendments or additions.

AUTHORITY: section 643.225, RSMo [Supp. 2013] 2016. Original
rule filed Jan. 12, 2004, effective Sept. 30, 2004. Amended: Filed
June 7, 2007, effective Jan. 30, 2008. Amended: Filed July 14, 2015,
effective Feb. 29, 2016. Amended: Filed May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.
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NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS:  A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin at
9:00 a.m., August 30, 2018. The public hearing will be held at the Elm
Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level, Bennett
Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri. Opportunity to be
heard at the hearing shall be afforded to any interested person.
Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit a statement of
their views until 5:00 p.m., September 6, 2018. Send online comments
via the proposed rules web page www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules,
email comments to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written comments to
Chief, Air Quality Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-0176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling
and Reference Methods and Air Pollution Control 

Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.250 Asbestos Projects—Certification, Accreditation
and Business Exemption Requirements. The commission proposes
to amend sections (1) and (2), and subsections (3)(A)–(3)(E); and
delete subsection (3)(G). If the commission adopts this rule action,
the department does not intend to submit this rule amendment to the
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency because the rule is adminis-
trative and the rule has never been approved as part of the Missouri
State Implementation Plan. The evidence supporting the need for this
proposed rulemaking is available for viewing at the Missouri
Department of Natural Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program at
the address listed in the Notice of Public Hearing at the end of this
rule. More information concerning this rulemaking can be found at
the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’ Proposed Rules web-
site www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules.

PURPOSE: This rule requires individuals who work in asbestos pro-
jects to be certified by the Missouri Department of Natural Resources
Air Pollution Control Program. This rule requires training providers
who offer training for asbestos occupations to be accredited by the
Missouri Department of Natural Resources Air Pollution Control
Program. This rule requires persons who hold exemption status from
certain requirements of this rule to allow the department to monitor
training provided to employees. Each individual who works in
asbestos projects must first obtain certification for the appropriate
occupation from the department. Each person who offers training for
asbestos occupations must first obtain accreditation from the depart-
ment. Certain business entities who meet the requirements for state-
approved exemption status must allow the department to monitor
training classes provided to employees who perform asbestos pro-
jects. The purpose of this rulemaking is to comply with Executive
Order 17-03 and related comments and will remove the unnecessary
use of restrictive words, add definitions specific to this rule, update
incorporated by reference information, and remove the requirement
to provide a forty-five (45)-day comment period for revisions to
department-supplied forms. This proposed rulemaking will also add
conditions for denial of asbestos occupation certification applica-
tions, clarifying requirements to receive and keep asbestos certifica-
tions, and is consistent with 643.230.1, RSMo. The evidence sup-
porting the need for this proposed rulemaking, per 536.016, RSMo,
is staff comments dated August 23, 2013 and July 11, 2016; and
Executive Order 17-03 Red Tape Reduction Review and related com-
ments.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state has determined that the
publication of the entire text of the material which is incorporated by
reference as a portion of this rule would be unduly cumbersome or
expensive. This material as incorporated by reference in this rule
shall be maintained by the agency at its headquarters and shall be
made available to the public for inspection and copying at no more
than the actual cost of reproduction. This note applies only to the ref-
erence material. The entire text of the rule is printed here.

(1) Applicability. This rule [shall apply] applies to—

(2) Definitions. [Definitions of certain terms specified in this
rule may be found in 10 CSR 10-6.020.]

(A) Asbestos—The asbestiform varieties of serpentinite
(chrysotile), riebeckite (crocidolite), cummingtonite-grunerite,
anthophyllite, and actinolitetremolite.

(B) Facility—Any institutional, commercial, public, industrial,
or residential structure, installation, or building (including any
structure, installation, or building containing condominiums or
individual dwelling units operated as a residential cooperative,
but excluding residential buildings having four (4) or fewer
dwelling units); any ship; and any active or inactive waste dispos-
al site. For purposes of this definition, any building, structure, or
installation that contains a loft used as a dwelling is not consid-
ered a residential structure, installation, or building. Any struc-
ture, installation or building that was previously subject to this
subpart is not excluded, regardless of its current use or function.

(C) Definitions. Definitions of certain terms specified in this
rule, other than those defined in this rule section, may be found
in 10 CSR 10-6.020.

(3) General Provisions.
(A) Certification.

1. An individual must receive certification from the department
before that individual participates in an asbestos project, inspection,
AHERA management plan, abatement project design, or asbestos air
sampling in the state of Missouri. This certification must be renewed
annually with the exception of air sampling professionals. To become
certified an individual must meet the qualifications in the specialty
area as defined in the EPA’s AHERA Model Accreditation Plan, 40
CFR part 763, Appendix C, subpart E promulgated as of July 1,
2018 and hereby incorporated by reference as published by the
Office of the Federal Register. Copies can be obtained from the
U.S. Publishing Office Bookstore, 710 N. Capitol Street NW,
Washington, DC 20401. This rule does not incorporate any sub-
sequent amendments or additions. The individual must successful-
ly complete a fully-approved U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA) or Missouri-accredited AHERA training course and
pass the training course exam and pass the Missouri asbestos exam-
ination with a minimum score of seventy percent (70%) and submit
a completed department-supplied application form to the department
along with the appropriate certification fees. The department shall
issue a certificate to each individual that meets the requirements for
the job category.

2. In order to receive Missouri certification, individuals must be
trained by Missouri accredited providers. 

3. Qualifications. An individual shall present proof of these to
the department with the application for certification. The following
are the minimum qualifications for each job category: 

A. An asbestos air sampling professional conducts, oversees,
or is responsible for air monitoring of asbestos projects. Air sam-
pling professionals must satisfy one (1) of the following qualifica-
tions for certification: 

(I) Bachelor of science degree in industrial hygiene plus
one (1) year of field experience. The individual must provide a copy
of his/her diploma, a certified copy of his/her transcript, and docu-
mentation of one (1) year of experience;
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(II) Master of science degree in industrial hygiene. The
individual must provide a copy of his/her diploma and a certified
copy of his/her transcript;

(III) Certification as an industrial hygienist as designated
by the American Board of Industrial Hygiene. The individual must
provide a copy of his/her certificate and a certified copy of his/her
transcript, if applicable;

(IV) Three (3) years of practical industrial hygiene field
experience including significant asbestos air monitoring and comple-
tion of a forty (40)-hour asbestos course including air monitoring
instruction. At least fifty percent (50%) of the three (3)-year period
must have been on projects where a degreed or certified industrial
hygienist or a Missouri certified asbestos air sampling professional
was involved. The individual must provide to the department written
reference by the industrial hygienist or the asbestos air sampling pro-
fessional stating the individual’s performance of monitoring was
acceptable and that the individual is capable of fulfilling the respon-
sibilities associated with certification as an asbestos air sampling
professional. The individual must also provide documentation of
his/her experience and a copy of his/her asbestos course certificate;
or

(V) Other qualifications including, but not limited to, an
American Board of Industrial Hygiene accepted degree or a
health/safety related degree combined with related experience. The
individual must provide a copy of his/her diploma and/or certifica-
tion, a certified copy of his/her transcript, and letters necessary to
verify experience;

B. An asbestos air sampling technician is an individual who
has been trained by an air sampling professional to do air monitoring
and who conducts air monitoring of asbestos projects. Air sampling
technicians need not be certified but are required to pass a training
course and have proof of passage of the course at the site along with
photo identification. This course [shall] includes: 

(I) Air monitoring equipment and supplies; 
(II) Experience with pump calibration and location; 
(III) Record keeping of air monitoring data for asbestos

projects; 
(IV) Applicable asbestos regulations; 
(V) Visual inspection for final clearance sampling; and 
(VI) A minimum of sixteen (16) hours of air monitoring

field equipment training by a certified air sampling professional; 
C. An asbestos inspector is an individual who collects and

assimilates information used to determine the presence and condition
of asbestos-containing material in a building or other air contaminant
source. An asbestos inspector must hold a diploma from a fully-
approved EPA or Missouri-accredited AHERA inspector course and
a high school diploma or its equivalent;

D. An AHERA asbestos management planner is an individ-
ual who, under AHERA, reviews the results of inspections, reinspec-
tions, or assessments and writes recommendations for appropriate
response actions. An AHERA asbestos management planner must
hold diplomas from a fully-approved EPA or Missouri-accredited
AHERA inspector course and a fully approved EPA or Missouri-
accredited management planner course. The individual must also
hold a high school diploma or its equivalent; 

E. An abatement project designer is an individual who
designs or plans asbestos abatement. An abatement project designer
must— [hold a diploma from a fully-approved EPA or
Missouri-accredited project designer course, must have an
engineering or industrial hygiene degree, and must have
working knowledge of heating, ventilation and air condition-
ing systems or an abatement project designer must hold a
high school diploma or its equivalent, must have a diploma
from a fully-approved EPA or Missouri-accredited project
designer course, and must have at least four (4) years expe-
rience in building design, heating, ventilation and air condi-
tioning systems.]

(I) Hold a diploma from a fully-approved EPA or
Missouri-accredited project designer course; 

(II) Have an engineering or industrial hygiene degree; 
(III) Have working knowledge of heating, ventilation,

and air conditioning systems; 
(IV) Hold a high school diploma or its equivalent; 
(V) Have a diploma from a fully-approved EPA or

Missouri-accredited project designer course; and 
(VI) Have at least four (4) years experience in building

design, heating, ventilation, and air conditioning systems.
The department may require individuals with professional degrees
for complex asbestos projects; 

F. An asbestos supervisor is an individual who directs, con-
trols, or supervises others in asbestos projects. An asbestos supervi-
sor shall—

(I) [h]Hold a diploma from a fully-approved EPA or
Missouri-accredited AHERA abatement contractor/supervisor
course; and 

(II) [h]Have one (1) year full-time prior experience in
asbestos abatement work or in general construction work; and 

G. An asbestos abatement worker is an individual who
engages in asbestos projects. An asbestos abatement worker shall—

(I) [h]Hold a diploma from a fully-approved EPA; or 
(II) Missouri-accredited AHERA worker training course. 

4. Certification may be denied for any one (1) or more of the
following:

A. Failure to meet minimum training, education, or expe-
rience requirements;

B. Providing false or misleading statements in the applica-
tion;

C. Failure to submit a complete application;
D. Three (3) or more citations or violations of existing

asbestos regulations within the last two (2) years;
E. Three (3) or more violations of 29 CFR 1910.1001 or

29 CFR 1926.1101 within the last two (2) years. 29 CFR
1910.1001 and 29 CFR 1926.1101 promulgated as of July 1, 2018
are hereby incorporated by reference as published by the Office
of the Federal Register. Copies can be obtained from the U.S.
Publishing Office Bookstore, 710 N. Capitol Street NW,
Washington, DC 20401. This rule does not incorporate any sub-
sequent amendments or additions;

F. Fraud or failure to disclose facts relevant to their appli-
cation;

G. Permitting the duplication or use by another of the
individual’s certificate; and

H. Any other information which may affect the appli-
cant’s ability to appropriately perform asbestos work.

(B) Recertification.
1. All asbestos inspectors, management planners, abatement

project designers, supervisors, and workers shall pass a Missouri-
accredited annual AHERA refresher course and examination in their
specialty area. The refresher course must be specific to the individ-
ual’s initial certification and must meet the requirements of the EPA’s
AHERA Model Accreditation Plan 40 CFR part 763 promulgated
as of July 1, 2018 and hereby incorporated by reference as pub-
lished by the Office of the Federal Register. Copies can be
obtained from the U.S. Publishing Office Bookstore, 710 N.
Capitol Street NW, Washington, DC 20401. This rule does not
incorporate any subsequent amendments or additions. 

2. In the case of significant changes in Missouri statutes or rules
the department will require individuals to retake a revised version of
the Missouri asbestos examination prior to being recertified.

(C) Certification/Recertification Fees. The department shall
assess—
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1. A seventy-five dollar ($75) application fee for each individ-
ual applying for certification except for asbestos abatement workers.
Effective January 1, 2017, the application fee is one hundred dollars
($100); 

2. A twenty-five dollar ($25) application fee for each asbestos
abatement worker. Effective January 1, 2017, the application fee is
forty dollars ($40); 

3. No application fees for asbestos air sampling technicians; 
4. A twenty-five dollar ($25) fee for each Missouri asbestos

examination; 
5. A five dollar ($5) renewal fee for each renewal certificate for

asbestos abatement workers. Effective January 1, 2017, the renewal
fee is twenty dollars ($20); and

6. A five dollar ($5) renewal fee for each renewal certificate for
non-asbestos abatement workers. Effective January 1, 2017, the
renewal fee is fifty dollars ($50). 

(D) Accreditation of Training Programs. To be a training provider
for the purposes of this rule, a person shall apply for accreditation to
the department and comply with EPA’s AHERA Model Accreditation
Plan 40 CFR part 763, Appendix C, subpart E as incorporated by
reference in paragraph (3)(B)1. of this rule. Business entities that
are determined by the department to fall under subsection (3)(E) of
this rule are exempt from this section. 

1. Training providers shall apply for approval of a training
course(s) as provided in section 643.228, RSMo, on the department-
supplied Asbestos Training Course Accreditation form. 

A. In addition to the written application, the training provider
[shall] is to present each initial course for the department to audit.
The department may deny accreditation of a course if the applicant
fails to provide information required within sixty (60) days of receipt
of written notice that the application is deficient. All training
providers must apply for reaccreditation biennially. 

B. Training providers must submit documentation that their
courses meet the criteria set forth in this rule. Out-of-state providers
must submit documentation of biennial audit by an accrediting
agency with a written verification that Missouri rules are addressed
in the audited course. 

C. Providers must pay an accreditation fee of one thousand
dollars ($1,000) per course category prior to issuance or renewal of
an accreditation. No person [shall] is to pay more than three thou-
sand dollars ($3,000) for all course categories for which accredita-
tion is requested at the same time. 

2. At least two (2) weeks prior to the course starting date, train-
ing providers shall notify the department of their intent to offer initial
training and refresher courses. The notification shall include the
course title, starting date, the location at which the course will take
place, and a list of the course instructors. 

3. All training courses shall have a ratio of students to instruc-
tors in hands-on demonstrations that shall not exceed ten-to-one
(10:1). 

4. Instructor qualifications. 
A. An individual must be Missouri-certified in a specialty

area before they will be allowed to teach in that specialty area, except
that instructors certified as supervisors may also instruct a worker
course.

B. An individual with experience and education in industrial
hygiene shall teach the sections of the training courses concerning the
performance and evaluation of air monitoring programs and the
design and implementation of respiratory protection programs. The
department does not require that the instructor hold a degree in
industrial hygiene, but the individual must provide documentation
and written explanation of experience and training.

C. An individual who is a Missouri-certified supervisor, and
who has sufficient training and work experience to effectively pre-
sent the assigned subject matter, shall teach the hands-on training
sections of all courses. 

D. An individual who teaches the portions of the project
designer’s course involving heating, ventilation, and air conditioning

(HVAC) systems, must—
(I) [b]Be a licensed architect[,] or a licensed engineer; or 
(II) [m]Must provide documentation of training and at

least five (5) years’ experience in the field.
5. The course provider must administer and monitor all course

examinations. The course provider assumes responsibility for the
security of exam contents and shall ensure that the participant passes
the exam on his/her own merit. Minimum security measures for the
written exams include ample space between participants, absence of
written materials other than the examination and supervision of the
exam by course provider. 

6. When the provider offers training on short notice, the training
provider shall notify the department as soon as possible but no later
than two (2) days prior to commencement of that training. 

7. When the provider cancels the course, the training provider
should notify the department at the same time s/he notifies course
participants, and shall follow-up with written notification. 

8. When rules, policies, or procedures change, the training
provider must update the initial and refresher courses. The training
provider must notify the department as soon as s/he makes the
changes. 

9. The department may withdraw accreditation from providers
who fail to accurately portray their Missouri accreditation in adver-
tisements, who fail to ensure security of examinations, who fail to
ensure that each student passes the exam on his/her own merit, or
who issue improper certificates. 

10. Training course providers must notify the department of any
changes in training course content or instructors. Training course
providers must submit resumés of all new instructors to the depart-
ment as soon as substitutions or additions are made. 

11. The department may revoke or suspend accreditation of any
course subject to this rule if alterations in the course cause it to fail
the department’s accreditation criteria. 

12. Training providers shall have thirty (30) days to correct
identified deficiencies in training course(s) before the department
revokes accreditation. 

(E) Business Exemptions. The department may exempt a person
from registration, certification, and certain notification requirements
provided the person conducts asbestos projects solely at the person’s
own place(s) of business as part of normal operations in the facility
and the person is also subject to the requirements and applicable
standards of the EPA and United States Occupational Safety and
Health Administration (OSHA) 29 CFR 1926.1101 as incorporated
by reference in subparagraph (3)(A)4.E. of this rule. The person
shall submit an application for exemption to the department on the
department-supplied form. This exemption shall not apply to
asbestos abatement contractors, to those subject to the requirements
of AHERA, and to those persons who provide a service to the public
in their place(s) of business as the economic foundation of the facil-
ity. These shall include, but not be limited to, child daycare centers,
restaurants, nursing homes, retail outlets, medical care facilities,
hotels, and theaters. The department shall review the exemption
application within one hundred eighty (180) days. State-exempted
business entities shall comply with all federal air sampling require-
ments for planned renovation operations. 

1. Training course requirements. 
A. The person shall fill out the department-supplied form

describing training provided to employees and an explanation of how
the training meets the applicable OSHA and EPA standards. 

B. The person shall notify the department two (2) weeks
before the person conducts training programs. This notification shall
include the course title, start-up date, location, and course instruc-
tor(s). 

C. If the person cancels the course, the person shall notify the
department at the same time the person notifies course participants[.
The person shall] and follow up with written notification to the
department. 

D. When regulations, policies, or procedures change, the
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person must update the initial and refresher courses[. The person
must] and notify the department as soon as the person makes the
changes. 

E. When the person conducts hands-on training, the ratio of
students to instructors shall not exceed ten-to-one (10:1). 

F. The person must allow representative(s) of the department
to attend the training course for purposes of determining compliance
with this rule. 

G. Exempted persons shall submit to the director changes in
curricula, instructors, and other significant revisions to the training
program as they occur[. The person must] and submit resumés of
all new instructors to the department as soon as substitutions or addi-
tions are made. 

H. The department may revoke or suspend an exemption if
on-site inspection indicates that the training fails the exemption
requirements. These include, but are not limited to, a decrease in
course length, a change in course content or use of different instruc-
tors than those indicated in the application. The department, in writ-
ing, shall notify the person responsible for the training of deficien-
cies. The person shall have thirty (30) days to correct the deficiencies
before the department issues final written notice of exemption with-
drawal. 

2. If the department finds an exemption application deficient,
the person has sixty (60) days to correct the deficiencies. If, within
sixty (60) days, the person fails to provide the department with the
required information, the department may deny approval of the
exemption. 

3. The person shall submit a fee of two hundred fifty dollars
($250) with the application for exemption. This is a nonrefundable
one (1)-time fee.

[(G) After the effective date of this rule, any revision to the
department-supplied forms will be presented to the regulat-
ed community for a forty-five (45)-day comment period.]

AUTHORITY: section 643.225, RSMo [Supp. 2013] 2016. Original
rule filed Dec. 14, 1992, effective Sept. 9, 1993. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin at
9:00 a.m., August 30, 2018. The public hearing will be held at the Elm
Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level, Bennett
Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri. Opportunity to be
heard at the hearing shall be afforded to any interested person.
Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit a statement of
their views until 5:00 p.m., September 6, 2018. Send online comments
via the proposed rules web page www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules,
email comments to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written comments to
Chief, Air Quality Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-0176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling
and Reference Methods and Air Pollution Control 

Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.280 Compliance Monitoring Usage. The commission
proposes to amend sections (2) and (3), and subsection (5)(A). If the
commission adopts this rule action, the department intends to submit
this rule amendment to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to
replace the current rule that is in the Missouri State Implementation
Plan. The evidence supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking
is available for viewing at the Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program at the address listed in the
Notice of Public Hearing at the end of this rule. More information
concerning this rulemaking can be found at the Missouri Department
of Natural Resources’ Proposed Rules website www.dnr.mo.gov/pro-
posed-rules.

PURPOSE: This rule is necessary to meet the federal Clean Air Act
requirements for alternate compliance certification methods and to
enhance the enforceability of the state implementation plan. This rule
does this by establishing a methodology for identifying acceptable
testing, monitoring, or information. The purpose of this amendment
is to update the acceptable monitoring methods for compliance cer-
tification, correctly incorporate reference material, and remove one
(1) unnecessary restrictive word. The evidence supporting the need
for this proposed rulemaking, per 536.016, RSMo, is Executive
Order 17-03 Red Tape Reduction review and related comments.

PURPOSE: This rule is necessary to meet the federal Clean Air Act
requirements for alternate compliance certification methods and to
enhance the enforceability of the state implementation plan. This rule
does this by establishing a methodology for identifying acceptable
testing, monitoring, or information. 

(2) Definitions. [Terms and phrases used in this rule may be
found in 10 CSR 10-6.020 Definitions and Common Reference
Tables.] (Not Applicable)

(3) General Provisions.
(A) Compliance Certifications. Regardless of any other provision

in any plan approved by the administrator, for the purpose of submis-
sion of compliance certificates the owner or operator [is not prohib-
ited from using] may use the following in addition to any specified
compliance methods:

1. Monitoring methods outlined in 40 CFR [part] 64 promul-
gated as of July 1, 2018 is hereby incorporated by reference as
published by the Office of the Federal Register. Copies can be
obtained from the U.S. Publishing Office Bookstore, 710 N.
Capitol Street NW, Washington, DC 20401. This rule does not
incorporate any subsequent amendments or additions;

2. Monitoring method(s) approved for the source pursuant to 10
CSR 10-6.065 Operating Permits, and incorporated into an operating
permit; and

3. Any other monitoring methods approved by the director. 
(B) Enforcement. Regardless of any other provision in the state

implementation plan, any credible evidence may be used for the pur-
pose of establishing whether a source or facility has violated or is in
violation of any such plan or other applicable requirement.
Information from the use of the following methods is presumptively
credible evidence of whether a violation has occurred at a source:

1. Monitoring methods outlined in 40 CFR [part] 64[;], as
incorporated by reference in paragraph (3)(A)1. of this rule. 

2. A monitoring method approved for the source pursuant to 10
CSR 10-6.065 Operating Permits, and incorporated into an operating
permit; and

3. Compliance test methods specified in [the] this rule cited as
the authority for the emission limitations.

(5) Test Methods. The following testing, monitoring, or information
gathering methods are presumptively credible testing, monitoring, or
information gathering methods:

(A) Applicable monitoring or testing methods, cited in: 10 CSR
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10-6.030 Sampling Methods for Air Pollution Sources; 10 CSR 10-
6.040 Reference Methods; 10 CSR 10-6.070 New Source
Performance Standards; 10 CSR 10-6.075 Maximum Achievable
Control Technology Regulations; and 10 CSR 10-6.080 Emission
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants; or

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo [2000] 2016. Original rule
filed June 2, 1994, effective Dec. 30, 1994. Amended: Filed July 12,
2001, effective March 30, 2002. Amended: Filed May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS:  A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin at
9:00 a.m., August 30, 2018. The public hearing will be held at the Elm
Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level, Bennett
Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri. Opportunity to be
heard at the hearing shall be afforded to any interested person.
Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit a statement of
their views until 5:00 p.m., September 6, 2018. Send online comments
via the proposed rules web page www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules,
email comments to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written comments to
Chief, Air Quality Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-0176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling
and Reference Methods and Air Pollution Control 

Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.300 Conformity of General Federal Actions to State
Implementation Plans. The commission proposes to amend the rule
purpose, subsections (1)(A)–(1)(C), (1)(K), (3)(A), (3)(E), (3)(F),
(3)(I), (3)(J), (3)(L), (4)(C), and section (2). If the commission
adopts this rule action, the department intends to submit this rule
amendment to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to replace
the current rule that is in the Missouri State Implementation Plan.
The evidence supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking is
available for viewing at the Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program at the address listed in the
Notice of Public Hearing at the end of this rule. More information
concerning this rulemaking can be found at the Missouri Department
of Natural Resources’ Proposed Rules website www.dnr.mo.gov/pro-
posed-rules.

PURPOSE: The purpose of this rulemaking is to comply with
Executive Order 17-03 criteria and will remove the unnecessary use
of restrictive words. This rulemaking will also add definitions specif-
ic to this rule, remove references to a rule that is being rescinded,
and make other clarifying changes. The evidence supporting the need
for this proposed rulemaking, per 536.016, RSMo, is Executive
Order 17-03.

PURPOSE: This rule implements section 176(c) of the Clean Air Act,
as amended (42 U.S.C. [7401–7671q.] 7506(c)), and regulations
under 40 CFR 93, [S]subpart B, with respect to the conformity of
general federal actions to the applicable implementation plan. Under
those authorities, no department, agency, or instrumentality of the

federal government [shall] may engage in, support in any way or
provide financial assistance for, license or permit, or approve any
activity which does not conform to an applicable implementation
plan. This rule sets forth policy, criteria, and procedures for demon-
strating and assuring conformity of such actions to the applicable
implementation plan. This rule applies to all areas in the state of
Missouri [which are] designated as nonattainment or maintenance
for any criteria pollutant or standard for which there is a national
ambient air quality standard.

(1) Applicability.
(A) Conformity determinations for federal actions related to trans-

portation plans, programs, and projects developed, funded, or
approved under Title 23 U.S.C. or the Federal Transit Act (49
U.S.C. 1601 et seq.) must meet the procedures and criteria of [10
CSR 10-2.390 and] 10 CSR 10-5.480 in lieu of the procedures set
forth in this rule.

(B) For federal actions not covered by subsection (1)(A) of this
rule, a conformity determination is required for each criteria pollu-
tant or precursor where the total of direct and indirect emissions of
the criteria pollutant or precursor in a nonattainment or maintenance
area caused by a federal action would equal or exceed any of the de
minimis rates in paragraph (1)(B)1. or paragraph (1)(B)2. of this
rule.

1. For purposes of subsection (1)(B) of this rule, the following
rates apply in nonattainment areas (NAAs):

2. For purposes of subsection (1)(B) of this rule, the following
rates apply in maintenance areas:

(C) The requirements of this rule [shall] do not apply to the fol-
lowing federal actions[—]:

1. Actions where the total of direct and indirect emissions are
below the emissions levels specified in subsection (1)(B) of this rule; 

2. The following actions which would result in no emissions
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increase or an increase in emissions that is clearly below the de min-
imis levels identified in subsection (1)(B) of this rule:

A. Judicial and legislative proceedings; 
B. Continuing and recurring activities such as permit

renewals where activities conducted will be similar in scope and
operation to activities currently being conducted; 

C. Rulemaking and policy development and issuance;
D. Routine maintenance and repair activities, including repair

and maintenance of administrative sites, roads, trails, and facilities;
E. Civil and criminal enforcement activities, such as investi-

gations, audits, inspections, examinations, prosecutions, and the
training of law enforcement personnel;

F. Administrative actions such as personnel actions, organiza-
tional changes, debt management or collection, cash management,
internal agency audits, program budget proposals, and matters relat-
ing to the administration and collection of taxes, duties, and fees;

G. Routine, recurring transportation of material and personnel;
H. Routine movement of mobile assets, such as ships and air-

craft, in-home port reassignments, and stations (when no new sup-
port facilities or personnel are [required] necessary) to perform as
operational groups or for repair or overhaul;

I. Maintenance dredging and debris disposal where no new
depths are [required] necessary, applicable permits are secured, and
disposal will be at an approved disposal site;

J. [Actions w]With respect to existing structures, proper-
ties, facilities, and lands where future activities conducted will be
similar in scope and operation to activities currently being conducted
at the existing structures, properties, facilities, and lands; actions
such as relocation of personnel, disposition of federally-owned exist-
ing structures, properties, facilities, and lands, rent subsidies, opera-
tion and maintenance cost subsidies, the exercise of receivership or
conservatorship authority, assistance in purchasing structures, and
the production of coins and currency;

K. Granting of leases, licenses such as for exports and trade,
permits, and easements where activities conducted will be similar in
scope and operation to activities currently being conducted;

L. Planning, studies, and provision of technical assistance;
M. Routine operation of facilities, mobile assets, and equip-

ment;
N. Transfers of ownership, interests, and titles in land, facil-

ities, and real and personal properties, regardless of the form or
method of the transfer;

O. Designation of empowerment zones, enterprise communi-
ties, or viticultural areas;

P. Actions by any of the federal banking agencies or the fed-
eral reserve banks, including actions regarding charters, applications,
notices, licenses, the supervision or examination of depository insti-
tutions or depository institution holding companies, access to the dis-
count window, or the provision of financial services to banking orga-
nizations or to any department, agency, or instrumentality of the
United States;

Q. Actions by the board of governors of the Federal Reserve
System or any federal reserve bank to effect monetary or exchange
rate policy;

R. Actions that implement a foreign-affairs function of the
United States;

S. Actions (or portions thereof) associated with transfers of
land, facilities, title, and real properties through an enforceable con-
tract or lease agreement where the delivery of the deed is required to
occur promptly after a specific, reasonable condition is met, such as
promptly after the land is certified as meeting the requirements of the
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and
Liability Act (CERCLA), and where the federal agency does not
retain continuing authority to control emissions associated with the
lands, facilities, title, or real properties;

T. Transfers of real property, including land, facilities, and
related personal property from a federal entity to another federal
entity and assignments of real property, including land, facilities, and

related personal property from a federal entity to another federal
entity for subsequent deeding to eligible applicants;

U. Actions by the Department of the Treasury to effect fiscal
policy and to exercise the borrowing authority of the United States;
and

V. Air traffic control activities and adopting approach, depar-
ture, and enroute procedures for aircraft operations above the mixing
height specified in the applicable State Implementation Plan (SIP) or
Tribal Implementation Plan (TIP). Where the applicable SIP or TIP
does not specify a mixing height, the federal agency can use the three
thousand feet (3,000’) above ground level as a default mixing height,
unless the agency demonstrates that use of a different mixing height
is appropriate because the change in emissions at and above that
height caused by the federal action is below the de minimis levels
identified in subsection (1)(B) of this rule;

3. Actions where the emissions are not reasonably foreseeable,
such as the following:

A. Initial Outer Continental Shelf lease sales which are made
on a broad scale and are followed by exploration and development
plans on a project level; and

B. Electric power marketing activities that involve the acqui-
sition, sale, and transmission of electric energy; and

4. Actions which implement a decision to conduct or carry out
a program that has been found to conform to the applicable imple-
mentation plan, such as prescribed burning actions which are consis-
tent with a land management plan that has been found to conform to
the applicable implementation plan.

(K) The provisions of this rule [shall] apply in all nonattainment
and maintenance areas except conformity requirements for newly-
designated nonattainment areas are not applicable until one (1) year
after the effective date of the final nonattainment designation for each
National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) and pollutant in
accordance with section 176(c)(6) of the Act.

(2) Definitions. [Terms used in this rule shall have the meaning
given to them by the CAA, EPA regulations, and 10 CSR 10-
6.020, in that order of priority.]

(A) Affected federal land manager—The federal agency or the
federal official charged with direct responsibility for manage-
ment of an area designated as Class I under the Clean Air Act
(42 U.S.C. 7472) that is located within one hundred kilometers
(100 km) of the proposed federal action.

(B) Applicability analysis—The process of determining if the
federal action must be supported by a conformity determination.

(C) Applicable implementation plan or applicable state imple-
mentation plan (SIP)—The portion (or portions) of the SIP or
most recent revision thereof, which has been approved under sec-
tion 110(k) of the Act, a federal implementation plan promulgat-
ed under section 110(c) of the Act, or a plan promulgated or
approved pursuant to section 301(d) of the Act (tribal implemen-
tation plan) and which implements the relevant requirements of
the Act.

(D) Area-wide air quality modeling analysis—An assessment
on a scale that includes the entire nonattainment or maintenance
area using an air quality dispersion model or photochemical grid
model to determine the effects of emissions on air quality; for
example, an assessment using the U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency’s community multiscale air quality (CMAQ) modeling
system.

(E) Cause or contribute to a new violation—A federal action
that—

1. Causes a new violation of a national ambient air quality
standard (NAAQS) at a location in a nonattainment or mainte-
nance area which would otherwise not be in violation of the stan-
dard during the future period in question if the federal action
were not taken; or 

2. Contributes, in conjunction with other reasonably fore-
seeable actions, to a new violation of a NAAQS at a location in a
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nonattainment or maintenance area in a manner that would
increase the frequency or severity of the new violation.

(F) Caused by, as used in the terms direct emissions and indi-
rect emissions—Emissions that would not otherwise occur in the
absence of the federal action.

(G) Confidential business information—Information that has
been determined by a federal agency, in accordance with its
applicable regulations, to be a trade secret, or commercial or
financial information obtained from a person and privileged or
confidential and is exempt from required disclosure under the
Freedom of Information Act (5 U.S.C. 552(b)(4)).

(H) Conformity determination—The evaluation (made after an
applicability analysis is completed) that a federal action conforms
to the applicable implementation plan and meets the require-
ments of this rule.

(I) Conformity evaluation—The entire process from the applic-
ability analysis through the conformity determination that is
used to demonstrate that the federal action conforms to the
requirements of this rule.

(J) Continuous program to implement—The federal agency has
started the action identified in the plan and does not stop the
actions for more than an eighteen (18)-month period, unless it
can demonstrate that such a stoppage was included in the origi-
nal plan.

(K) Criteria pollutant or standard—Any pollutants for which
there is established a National Ambient Air Quality Standard at
40 CFR 50.

(L) Direct emissions—Those emissions of a criteria pollutant or
its precursors that are caused or initiated by the federal action
and originate in a nonattainment or maintenance area and occur
at the same time and place as the action and are reasonably fore-
seeable.

(M) Emergency—A situation where extremely quick action on
the part of the federal agencies involved is needed and where the
timing of such federal activities makes it impractical to meet the
requirements of this rule, such as natural disasters like hurri-
canes or earthquakes, civil disturbances such as terrorist acts,
and military mobilizations.

(N) Emission inventory—A listing of information on the loca-
tion, type of source, type and quantity of pollutant emitted, as
well as other parameters of the emissions.

(O) Emissions budgets—Those portions of the total allowable
emissions defined in a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency-
approved revision to the applicable implementation plan for a
certain date for the purpose of meeting reasonable further
progress milestones or attainment or maintenance demonstra-
tions, for any criteria pollutant or its precursors, specifically allo-
cated by the applicable implementation plan to mobile sources,
to any stationary source or class of stationary sources, to any fed-
eral action or class of action, to any class of area sources, or to
any subcategory of the emissions inventory. The allocation system
must be specific enough to assure meeting the criteria of section
176(c)(1)(B) of the Clean Air Act. An emissions budget may be
expressed in terms of an annual period, a daily period, or other
period established in the applicable implementation plan.

(P) Offsets (Emission offsets)—Emission reductions which are
quantifiable, consistent with the attainment and reasonable fur-
ther progress demonstrations of the applicable implementation
plan, surplus to reductions required by, and credited to, other
applicable implementation plan provisions, enforceable under
both state and federal law, and permanent within the time frame
specified by the program. 

(Q) Federal action—Any activity engaged in by a department,
agency, or instrumentality of the federal government, or any
activity that a department, agency, or instrumentality of the fed-
eral government supports in any way, provides financial assis-
tance for, licenses, permits, or approves, other than activities
related to transportation plans, programs, and projects devel-

oped, funded, or approved under Title 23 U.S.C. or the Federal
Transit Act (49 U.S.C. 1601 et seq.). Where the federal action is
a permit, license, or other approval for some aspect of a nonfed-
eral undertaking, the relevant activity is the part, portion, or
phase of the nonfederal undertaking that requires the federal
permit, license, or approval.

(R) Federal agency—A federal department, agency, or instru-
mentality of the federal government.

(S) Increase the frequency or severity of any existing violation
of any standard in any area—To cause a nonattainment area to
exceed a standard more often or to cause a violation at a greater
concentration than previously existed or would otherwise exist
during the future period in question, if the project were not
implemented.

(T) Indirect emissions—Those emissions of a criteria pollutant
or its precursors— 

1. That are caused or initiated by the federal action and
originate in the same nonattainment or maintenance area but
may occur at a different time or place; 

2. That are reasonably foreseeable; and
3. That the federal agency can practically control and will

maintain control due to a continuing program responsibility of
the federal agency, including, but not limited to—

A. Traffic on or to, or stimulated or accommodated by, a
proposed facility which is related to increases or other changes in
the scale or timing of operations of such facility; 

B. Emissions related to the activities of employees of con-
tractors or federal employees; 

C. Emissions related to employee commutation and simi-
lar programs to increase average vehicle occupancy imposed on
all employers of a certain size in the locality; or

D. Emissions related to the use of federal facilities under
lease or temporary permit. For the purposes of this definition,
even if a federal licensing, rulemaking, or other approving action
is a required initial step for a subsequent activity that causes
emissions, such initial steps do not mean that a federal agency
can practically control any resulting emissions.

(U) Local air quality modeling analysis—An assessment of
localized impacts on a scale smaller than the entire nonattain-
ment or maintenance area, including, for example, congested
roadways on a federal facility, which uses an air quality disper-
sion model (e.g., Industrial Source Complex Model or Emission
and Dispersion Model System) to determine the effects of emis-
sions on air quality.

(V) Maintenance area—An area that was designated as nonat-
tainment and has been re-designated in 40 CFR 81 to attainment,
meeting the provisions of section 107(d)(3)(E) of the Act and has
a maintenance plan approved under section 175A of the Act.

(W) Maintenance plan—A revision to the applicable Missouri
State Implementation Plan, meeting the requirements of section
175A of the Clean Air Act.

(X) Metropolitan planning organization (MPO)—The policy
board of an organization created as a result of the designation
process in 23 U.S.C. 134(d) and in 49 U.S.C. 5303. It is the
forum for cooperative transportation decision making and is
responsible for conducting the planning required under section
174 of the Clean Air Act.

(Y) Milestone—The meaning given in sections 182(g)(1) and
189(c)(1) of the Clean Air Act. It consists of an emissions level
and the date on which it is required to be achieved.

(Z) Mitigation measure—Any method of reducing emissions of
the pollutant or its precursor taken at the location of the federal
action and used to reduce the impact of the emissions of that pol-
lutant caused by the action.

(AA) National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS)—
Those standards established pursuant to section 109 of the Act
and defined by 40 CFR 50. It includes standards for carbon
monoxide (CO), lead (Pb), nitrogen dioxide (NO2) or oxides of
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nitrogen (NOx), ozone, particulate matter (PM10 and PM2.5), and
sulfur dioxide (SO2) or sulfur oxides (SOx).

(BB) National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA)—The
National Environmental Policy Act of 1969, as amended (42
U.S.C. 4321 et seq.).

(CC) Nonattainment area (NAA)—Any geographic area of the
United States which has been designated as nonattainment under
section 107 of the Clean Air Act and described in 40 CFR 81.

(DD) Precursors of a criteria pollutant are—
1. For ozone, nitrogen oxides (NOx), unless an area is

exempted from NOx requirements under section 182(f) of the
Clean Air Act, and volatile organic compounds (VOCs);

2. For PM10, those pollutants described in the PM10 nonat-
tainment area applicable state implementation plan as significant
contributors to the PM10 levels; and

3. For PM2.5—
A. Sulfur dioxide (SO2) in all PM2.5 nonattainment and

maintenance areas;
B. NOx in all PM2.5 nonattainment and maintenance areas

unless both the state and U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
(EPA) determine that it is not a significant precursor; and

C. VOC and ammonia (NH3) only in PM2.5 nonattainment
or maintenance areas where either the state or EPA determines
that they are significant precursors.

(EE) Reasonably foreseeable emissions—Projected future
direct and indirect emissions that are identified at the time the
conformity determination is made; the location of such emissions
is known and the emissions are quantifiable, as described and
documented by the federal agency based on its own information
and after reviewing any information presented to the federal
agency.

(FF) Regional water or wastewater projects—Include construc-
tion, operation, and maintenance of water or wastewater con-
veyances, water or wastewater treatment facilities, and water
storage reservoirs which affect a large portion of a nonattainment
or maintenance area.

(GG) Restricted information—Information that is privileged or
that is otherwise protected from disclosure pursuant to applica-
ble statutes, executive orders, or regulations. Such information
includes, but is not limited to, classified national security infor-
mation, protected critical infrastructure information, sensitive
security information, and proprietary business information.

(HH) Total of direct and indirect emissions—The sum of direct
and indirect emissions increases and decreases caused by the fed-
eral action; that is, the net emissions considering all direct and
indirect emissions. Any emissions decreases used to reduce such
total shall have already occurred or shall be enforceable under
state and federal law. The portion of emissions which are exempt
or presumed to conform under subsection (3)(C), (D), (E), or (F)
of this rule are not included in the total of direct and indirect
emissions, except as provided in subsection (3)(J) of this rule. The
total of direct and indirect emissions includes emissions of crite-
ria pollutants and emissions of precursors of criteria pollutants.
The segmentation of projects for conformity analyses when emis-
sions are reasonably foreseeable is not permitted by this rule.

(II) Tribal implementation plan (TIP)—A plan to implement
the national ambient air quality standards adopted and submit-
ted by a federally recognized Indian tribal government deter-
mined to be eligible under 40 CFR 49.9 and the plan has been
approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

(JJ) Definitions of certain terms not otherwise described or
defined in this rule may be found in 10 CSR 10-6.020.

(3) General Provisions.
(A) Prohibition.

1. No department, agency, or instrumentality of the federal gov-
ernment [shall] may engage in, support in any way, or provide finan-
cial assistance for, license or permit, or approve any activity which

does not conform to an applicable implementation plan.
2. A federal agency must make a determination that a federal

action conforms to the applicable implementation plan in accordance
with the requirements of this rule before the action is taken.

3. Notwithstanding any provision of this rule, a determination
that an action is in conformity with the applicable implementation
plan does not exempt the action from any other requirements of the
applicable implementation plan, the National Environmental Policy
Act (NEPA), or the CAA.

4. If an action would result in emissions originating in more
than one (1) nonattainment or maintenance area, the conformity must
be evaluated for each area separately. 

(E) Criteria for Determining Conformity of General Federal
Actions.

1. An action required under section (1) of this rule, to have a
conformity determination for a specific pollutant, will be determined
to conform to the applicable implementation plan if, for each pollu-
tant that exceeds the rates in subsection (1)(B) of this rule, or other-
wise requires a conformity determination due to the total of direct
and indirect emissions from the action, the action meets the require-
ments of paragraph (3)(E)3. of this rule, and meets any of the follow-
ing requirements:

A. For any criteria pollutant or precursor, the total of direct
and indirect emissions from the action are specifically identified and
accounted for in the applicable SIP attainment or maintenance
demonstration or reasonable further progress milestone or in a facil-
ity-wide emission budget included in a SIP in accordance with sub-
section (3)(H) of this rule;

B. For precursors of ozone, nitrogen dioxide, or particulate
matter (PM), the total of direct and indirect emissions from the
action are fully offset within the same nonattainment or maintenance
area (or nearby area of equal or higher classification provided the
emissions from that area contribute to the violations, or have con-
tributed to violations in the past, in the area with the federal action)
through a revision to the applicable SIP or a similarly-enforceable
measure that effects emission reductions so that there is no net
increase in emissions of that pollutant;

C. For any directly-emitted criteria pollutant, the total of
direct and indirect emissions from the action meet the require-
ments—

(I) Specified in paragraph (3)(E)2. of this rule, based on
area-wide air quality modeling analysis and local air quality model-
ing analysis; or

(II) Specified in subparagraph (3)(E)1.E. of this rule and,
for local air quality modeling analysis, the requirement of paragraph
(3)(E)2. of this rule;

D. For carbon monoxide or directly emitted PM—
(I) Where the department determines that an area-wide air

quality modeling analysis is not needed, the total of direct and indi-
rect emissions from the action meet the requirements specified in
paragraph (3)(E)2. of this rule, based on local air quality modeling
analysis; or

(II) Where the department determines that an area-wide air
quality modeling analysis is appropriate and that a local air quality
modeling analysis is not needed, the total of direct and indirect emis-
sions from the action meet the requirements specified in paragraph
(3)(E)2. of this rule, based on area-wide modeling, or meet the
requirements of subparagraph (3)(E)1.E. of this rule; or

E. For ozone or nitrogen dioxide, and for purposes of parts
(3)(E)1.C.(II) and (3)(E)1.D.(II) of this rule, each portion of the
action or the action as a whole meets any of the following require-
ments:

(I) Where EPA has approved a revision to the applicable
implementation plan after the area was designated as nonattainment
and the state or tribe makes a determination as provided in subpart
(3)(E)1.E.(I)(a) of this rule or where the state or tribe makes a com-
mitment as provided in subpart (3)(E)1.E.(I)(b) of this rule.

(a) The total of direct and indirect emissions from the
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action (or portion thereof) is determined and documented by the
department to result in a level of emissions which, together with all
other emissions in the nonattainment (or maintenance) area, would
not exceed the emissions budgets specified in the applicable SIP.

(b) The total of direct and indirect emissions from the
action (or portion thereof) is determined by the department to result
in a level of emissions which, together with all other emissions in the
nonattainment (or maintenance) area, would exceed an emissions
budget specified in the applicable implementation plan and the
department makes a written commitment to EPA which includes the
following:

I. A specific schedule for adoption and submittal of a
revision to the applicable implementation plan which would achieve
the needed emission reductions prior to the time emissions from the
federal action would occur;

II. Identification of specific measures for incorpora-
tion into the applicable implementation plan which would result in a
level of emissions which, together with all other emissions in the
nonattainment or maintenance area, would not exceed any emissions
budget specified in the applicable implementation plan;

III. A demonstration that all existing applicable
implementation plan requirements are being implemented in the area
for the pollutants affected by the federal action, and that local author-
ity to implement additional requirements has been fully pursued;

IV. A determination that the responsible federal agen-
cies have required all reasonable mitigation measures associated with
their action; and

V. Written documentation including all air quality
analyses supporting the conformity determination.

(c) Where a federal agency made a conformity determi-
nation based on a state’s or tribe’s commitment under subpart
(3)(E)1.E.(I)(b) of this rule and the state has submitted a SIP or TIP
to EPA covering the time period during which the emissions will
occur or is scheduled to submit such a SIP or TIP within eighteen
(18) months of the conformity determination, the state commitment
is automatically deemed a call for a SIP or TIP revision by EPA
under section 110(k)(5) of the CAA, effective on the date of the fed-
eral conformity determination and requiring response within eighteen
(18) months or any shorter time within which the state or tribe com-
mits to revise the applicable SIP;

(d) Where a federal agency made a conformity determi-
nation based on a state or tribal commitment under subpart
(3)(E)1.E.(I)(b) of this rule and the state or tribe has not submitted
a SIP covering the time period when the emissions will occur or is
not scheduled to submit such a SIP within eighteen (18) months of
the conformity determination, the state or tribe must, within eighteen
(18) months, submit to EPA a revision to the existing SIP committing
to include the emissions in the future SIP revision; 

(II) The action (or portion thereof), as determined by the
MPO, is specifically included in a current transportation plan and
transportation improvement program which have been found to con-
form to the applicable implementation plan under [10 CSR 10-
2.390 or] 10 CSR 10-5.480;

(III) The action (or portion thereof) fully offsets its emis-
sions within the same nonattainment or maintenance area (or nearby
area of equal or higher classification provided the emissions from
that area contribute to the violations, or have contributed to viola-
tions in the past, in the area with the federal action) through a revi-
sion to the applicable SIP or an equally-enforceable measure that
effects emission reductions equal to or greater than the total of direct
and indirect emissions from the action so that there is no net increase
in emissions of that pollutant;

(IV) Where EPA has not approved a revision to the relevant
SIP since the area was designated or reclassified, the total of direct
and indirect emissions from the action for the future years (described
in paragraph (3)(F)4. of this rule) do not increase emissions with
respect to the baseline emissions, and—

(a) The baseline emissions reflect the historical activity

levels that occurred in the geographic area affected by the proposed
federal action during—

I. The most current calendar year with a complete
emission inventory available before an area is designated unless EPA
sets another year; 

II. The emission budget in the applicable SIP; or
III. The year of the baseline inventory in the PM10

applicable SIP; and
(b) The baseline emissions are the total of direct and

indirect emissions calculated for the future years (described in para-
graph (3)(F)4. of this rule) using the historic activity levels
(described in subpart (3)(E)1.E.(IV)(a) of this rule) and appropriate
emission factors for the future years; or

(V) Where the action involves regional water or wastewater
projects, such projects are sized to meet only the needs of population
projections that are in the applicable SIP.

2. The area-wide and local air quality modeling analyses must—
A. Meet the requirements in subsection (3)(F) of this rule;

and
B. Show that the action does not—

(I) Cause or contribute to any new violation of any stan-
dard in any area; or

(II) Increase the frequency or severity of any existing vio-
lation of any standard in any area.

3. Notwithstanding any other requirements of this section, an
action subject to this rule [may] will not be determined to conform
to the applicable implementation plan unless the total of direct and
indirect emissions from the action is in compliance or consistent with
all relevant requirements and milestones contained in the applicable
implementation plan, such as elements identified as part of the rea-
sonable further progress schedules, assumptions specified in the
attainment or maintenance demonstration, prohibitions, numerical
emission limits, and work practice requirements, and such action is
otherwise in compliance with all relevant requirements of the applic-
able implementation plan.

4. Any analyses [required] conducted under this section must
be completed, and any mitigation requirements necessary for a find-
ing of conformity must be identified before the determination of con-
formity is made.

(F) Procedures for Conformity Determinations of General Federal
Actions.

1. The analyses [required] conducted under this rule must be
based on the latest planning assumptions.

A. All planning assumptions must be derived from the esti-
mates of current and future population, employment, travel, and con-
gestion most recently developed by the MPO or other agency autho-
rized to make such estimates, where available. 

B. Any revisions to these estimates used as part of the con-
formity determination, including projected shifts in geographic loca-
tion or level of population, employment, travel, and congestion, must
be approved by the MPO or other agency authorized to make such
estimates for the area.

2. The analyses [required] conducted under this rule must be
based on the latest and most accurate emission estimation techniques
available as described below, unless such techniques are inappropri-
ate, the federal agency may obtain written approval from the appro-
priate EPA regional administrator for a modification or substitution,
of another technique on a case-by-case basis or, where appropriate,
on a generic basis for a specific federal agency program.

A. For motor vehicle emissions, the most current version of
the motor vehicle emissions model specified by EPA and made avail-
able for use in the preparation or revision of SIPs in the state must
be used for the conformity analysis as specified below—

(I) The EPA must publish in the Federal Register a notice
of availability of any new motor vehicle emissions model; and

(II) A grace period of three (3) months [shall apply]
applies during which the motor vehicle emissions model previously
specified by EPA as the most current version may be used unless EPA
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announces a longer grace period in the Federal Register. Conformity
analyses for which the analysis was begun during the grace period or
no more than three (3) years before the Federal Register notice of
availability of the latest emission model may continue to use the pre-
vious version of the model specified by EPA.

B. For non-motor vehicle sources, including stationary and
area source emissions, the latest emission factors specified by EPA
in the “Compilation of Air Pollutant Emission Factors” (AP-42,
http://www.epa.gov/ttn/chiefs/efpac) must be used for the conformi-
ty analysis unless more accurate emission data are available, such as
actual stack test data from stationary sources which are part of the
conformity analysis.

3. The air quality modeling analyses [required] conducted
under this rule must be based on the applicable air quality models,
databases, and other requirements specified in the most recent ver-
sion of the “Guideline on Air Quality Models” (40 CFR 51,
Appendix W), unless—

A. The guideline techniques are inappropriate, in which case
the model may be modified or another model substituted on a case-
by-case basis or, where appropriate, on a generic basis for a specific
federal agency program; and

B. Written approval of the EPA regional administrator is
obtained for any modification or substitution.

4. The analyses [required] conducted under this rule must be
based on the total of direct and indirect emissions from the action and
must reflect emission scenarios that are expected to occur under each
of the following cases:

A. The attainment year specified in the SIP or, if the SIP does
not specify an attainment year, the latest attainment year possible
under the Act; 

B. The last year for which emissions are projected in the
maintenance plan;

C. The year during which the total of direct and indirect
emissions from the action is expected to be the greatest on an annual
basis; and

D. Any year for which the applicable SIP specifies an emis-
sions budget.

(I) Emissions Beyond the Time Period Covered by the SIP.  If a
federal action would result in total direct and indirect emissions
above the applicable thresholds which would be emitted beyond the
time period covered by the SIP, the federal agency can—

1. Demonstrate conformity with the last emission budget in the
SIP; or

2. Request the state or tribe to adopt an emissions budget for the
action for inclusion in the SIP.  The state or tribe must submit a SIP
or TIP revision to EPA within eighteen (18) months either including
the emissions in the existing SIP or establishing an enforceable com-
mitment to include the emissions in future SIP revisions based on the
latest planning assumptions at the time of the SIP revision. No such
commitment by a state or tribe [shall] may restrict a state’s or tribe’s
ability to require Reasonably Available Control Technology (RACT),
Reasonably Available Control Measures (RACM), or any other con-
trol measures within the state’s or tribe’s authority to ensure timely
attainment of the NAAQS.

(J) Timing of Offsets and Mitigation Measures.
1. The emissions reductions from an offset or mitigation mea-

sure used to demonstrate conformity must occur during the same cal-
endar year as the emission increases from the action except as pro-
vided in paragraph (3)(J)2. of this rule.

2. The state or tribe may approve emissions reductions in other
years provided—

A. The reductions are greater than the emission increases by
the following ratios:

(I) Extreme nonattainment areas                            1.5:1
(II) Severe nonattainment areas                              1.3:1
(III) Serious nonattainment areas                           1.2:1
(IV) Moderate nonattainment areas                       1.15:1
(V) All other areas                                              1.1:1

B. The time period for completing the emissions reductions
[must] cannot exceed twice the period of the emissions; and

C. The offset or mitigation measure with emissions reduc-
tions in another year will not—

(I) Cause or contribute to a new violation of any air quality
standard;

(II) Increase the frequency or severity of any existing vio-
lation of any air quality standard; or

(III) Delay the timely attainment of any standard or any
interim emissions reductions or other milestones in any area.

3. The approval by the state or tribe of an offset or mitigation
measure with emissions reductions in another year does not relieve
the state or tribe of any obligation to meet any SIP or CAA milestone
or deadline. The approval of an alternate schedule for mitigation
measures is at the discretion of the state or tribe, and [they] are [not
required] under no obligation to approve an alternate schedule.

(L) Early Emission Reduction Credit Programs at Federal
Facilities and Installations Subject to Federal Oversight.

1. Federal facilities and installations subject to federal oversight
can, with the approval of the state or tribal agency responsible for the
SIP or TIP in that area, create an early emissions reductions credit
program. The federal agency can create the emission reduction cred-
its in accordance with the requirements in paragraph (3)(L)2. of this
rule and can use them in accordance with paragraph (3)(L)3. of this
rule.

2. Creation of emission reduction credits.
A. Emissions reductions must be quantifiable through the use

of standard emission factors or measurement techniques. If non-stan-
dard factors or techniques to quantify the emissions reductions are
used, the federal agency must receive approval from the state or trib-
al agency responsible for the implementation of the SIP or TIP and
from EPA’s regional office. The emission reduction credits do not
have to be quantified before the reduction strategy is implemented
but must be quantified before the credits are used in the general con-
formity evaluation. 

B. The emission reduction methods must be consistent with
the applicable SIP or TIP attainment and reasonable further progress
demonstrations. 

C. The emissions reductions cannot be required by or credit-
ed to other applicable SIP or TIP provisions. 

D. Both the state or tribe and federal air quality agencies
must be able to take legal action to ensure continued implementation
of the emission reduction strategy.  In addition, private citizens must
also be able to initiate action to ensure compliance with the control
requirement. 

E. The emissions reductions must be permanent or [the]
have a specific time frame for the reductions [must be specified]. 

F. The federal agency must document the emissions reduc-
tions and provide a copy of the document to the state or tribal air
quality agency and the EPA regional office for review. The documen-
tation must include a detailed description of the emission reduction
strategy and a discussion of how it meets the requirements of sub-
paragraphs (3)(L)2.A. through (3)(L)2.E. of this rule.

3. Use of emission reduction credits. The emission reduction
credits created in accordance with paragraph (3)(L)2. of this rule can
be used, subject to the following limitations, to reduce the emissions
increase from a federal action at the facility for the conformity eval-
uation.

A. If the technique used to create the emission reduction is
implemented at the same facility as the federal action and could have
occurred in conjunction with the federal action, then the credits can
be used to reduce the total direct and indirect emissions used to
determine the applicability of the regulation [as required in] under
section (1) of this rule and as offsets or mitigation measures
[required by] under subsection (3)(E) of this rule.

B. If the technique used to create the emission reduction is
not implemented at the same facility as the federal action or could
not have occurred in conjunction with the federal action, then the
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credits cannot be used to reduce the total direct and indirect emis-
sions used to determine the applicability of the regulation [as
required in] under section (1) of this rule, but can be used to offset
or mitigate the emissions [as required by] under subsection (3)(E)
of this rule.

C. Emissions reductions credits must be used in the same
year in which they are generated. 

D. Once the emission reduction credits are used, they cannot
be used as credits for another conformity evaluation. However,
unused credits from a strategy used for one (1) conformity evaluation
can be used for another conformity evaluation as long as the reduc-
tion credits are not double counted. 

E. Federal agencies must notify the state or tribal air quality
agency responsible for the implementation of the SIP or TIP and EPA
Regional Office when the emission reduction credits are being used.

(4) Reporting and Record Keeping.
(C) The draft and final conformity determination [shall] will

exclude any restricted information or confidential business informa-
tion. The disclosure of restricted information and confidential busi-
ness information [shall be] is controlled by the applicable laws, reg-
ulations, security manuals, or executive orders concerning the use,
access, and release of such materials. Subject to applicable proce-
dures to protect restricted information from public disclosure, any
information or materials excluded from the draft or final conformity
determination or supporting materials may be made available in a
restricted information annex to the determination for review by fed-
eral and state representatives who have received appropriate clear-
ances to review the information.

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo [2000] 2016. Original rule
filed Oct. 4, 1994, effective May 28, 1995. Amended: Filed Jan. 30,
1996, effective Sept. 30, 1996. Amended: Filed Feb. 9, 2007, effec-
tive Sept. 30, 2007. Amended: Filed Jan. 5, 2011, effective Aug. 30,
2011. Amended: Filed May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS:  A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin at
9:00 a.m., August 30, 2018. The public hearing will be held at the Elm
Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level, Bennett
Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri. Opportunity to be
heard at the hearing shall be afforded to any interested person.
Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit a statement of
their views until 5:00 p.m., September 6, 2018. Send online comments
via the proposed rules web page www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules,
email comments to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written comments to
Chief, Air Quality Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-0176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission

Chapter 6—Air Quality Standards, Definitions, Sampling
and Reference Methods and Air Pollution Control 

Regulations for the Entire State of Missouri

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-6.380 Control of NOX Emissions From Portland
Cement Kilns. The commission proposes to amend sections (2), (4),

and (5) and subsections (3)(A) and (3)(B). If the commission adopts
this rule action, the department intends to submit this rule amend-
ment to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to replace the
current rule that is in the Missouri State Implementation Plan. The
evidence supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking is avail-
able for viewing at the Missouri Department of Natural Resources’
Air Pollution Control Program at the address listed in the Notice of
Public Hearing at the end of this rule. More information concerning
this rulemaking can be found at the Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Proposed Rules website www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-
rules.

PURPOSE: This rule reduces emissions of oxides of nitrogen (NOx)
to ensure compliance with the federal NOx control plan to reduce the
transport of air pollutants. The purpose of this rulemaking is to com-
ply with Executive Order 17-03 criteria and will remove the unnec-
essary use of restrictive words. This rulemaking will also remove
obsolete dates and add definitions specific to this rule. The evidence
supporting the need for this proposed rulemaking, per 536.016,
RSMo, is Executive Order 17-03.

(2) Definitions.
(A) Clinker—The product of a Portland cement kiln from which

finished cement is manufactured by milling and grinding.
(B) Director—Director of the Missouri Department of Natural

Resources, or a representative designated to carry out duties as
described in 643.060, RSMo.

[(B)](C) Long-dry kiln—A kiln fourteen feet (14') or larger in
diameter, four hundred feet (400') or greater in length, which
employs no preheating of the feed and the inlet feed to the kiln is dry.

[(C)](D) Long-wet kiln—A kiln fourteen feet (14') or larger in
diameter, four hundred feet (400') or greater in length, which
employs no preheating of the feed and the inlet feed to the kiln is a
slurry.  

[(D)](E) Low-NOx burners—A type of cement kiln burner (a
device that functions as an injector of fuel and combustion air into
kiln to produce a flame that burns as close as possible to the center
line of the kiln) that has a series of channels or orifices that 1) allow
for the adjustment of the volume, velocity, pressure, and/or direction
of the air carrying the fuel, known as primary air, into the kiln, and
2) impart high momentum and turbulence to the fuel stream to facil-
itate mixing of the fuel and secondary air.

[(E)](F) Mid-kiln firing—Secondary firing in kiln systems by
injecting fuel at an intermediate point in the kiln system using a spe-
cially designed fuel injection mechanism for the purpose of decreas-
ing NOx emissions through—

1. The burning of part of the fuel at a lower temperature; and 
2. The creation of reducing conditions at the point of initial

combustion. 
[(F)](G) Portland cement—A hydraulic cement produced by pul-

verizing clinker consisting essentially of hydraulic calcium silicates,
usually containing one (1) or more of the forms of calcium sulfate as
an interground addition.

[(G)](H) Portland cement kiln—A system, including any solid,
gaseous, or liquid fuel combustion equipment, used to calcine and
fuse raw materials, including limestone and clay, to produce Portland
cement clinker.

[(H)](I) Preheater/precalciner kiln—A kiln where the feed to the
kiln system is preheated in cyclone chambers and that utilizes a sec-
ond burner to provide heat for calcination of material prior to the
material entering the rotary kiln which forms clinker.

[(I)](J) Preheater kiln—A kiln where the feed to the kiln system is
preheated in cyclone chambers prior to the final fusion, which forms
clinker.

[(J)](K) Recoverable fuel—Fuels that have been permitted for use
for energy recovery under 10 CSR 10-6.065.

[(K)](L) Renewable fuel—Renewable energy resources that include,
but are not limited to, solar (photovoltaic), wind, and biomass.
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Biomass includes, but is not limited to: agricultural crops and crop
waste, untreated wood and wood wastes, livestock waste, wastepaper,
and organic municipal solid waste. 

[(L) Definitions of certain terms specified in this rule, other
than those defined in this rule section, may be found in 10
CSR 10-6.020.]

(3) General Provisions.
(A) [Beginning May 1, 2007 a]An owner or operator of any

Portland cement kiln subject to this rule shall not operate the kiln
during the period starting May 1 and ending September 30 of each
year, unless the kiln [installs] is equipped and operates with one (1)
of the following:

1. Low-NOx burners; 
2. Mid-kiln firing; 
3. An alternative control technology that is approved by the

[staff] director, and incorporated in the federally approved SIP, and
is proven to achieve emission reductions of thirty percent (30%) or
greater; 

4. An emission rate of[:]—
A. For long-wet kilns—6.8 pounds of NOx per ton of clinker

produced, averaged over the period from May 1 through September
30 of each year[.];

B. For long-dry kilns—6.0 pounds of NOx per ton of clinker
produced, averaged over the period from May 1 through September
30 of each year[.];

C. For preheater kilns—4.1 pounds of NOx per ton of clinker
produced, averaged over the period from May 1 through September
30 of each year[.]; or

D. For preheater/precalciner kilns—2.7 pounds of NOx per
ton of clinker produced, averaged over the period from May 1
through September 30 of each year; or

5. The findings of a case-by-case study committed to and con-
ducted by the owner or operator and approved by the [staff] director,
and incorporated into the federally approved SIP, taking into account
energy, environmental, and economic impacts and other costs to
determine an emission limitation that is achievable for the installation
through application of production processes or available methods,
systems and techniques, including fuel cleaning or treatment or inno-
vative fuel combustion techniques for control of NOx.

(B) To meet the requirements of paragraph (3)(A)3. or (3)(A)5. of
this rule, the owner or operator may take into account as a portion
of the [required] NOx reductions, physical and quantifiable measures
to increase energy efficiency, reduce energy demand, or increase use
of renewable or recoverable fuels.

(4) Reporting and Record Keeping.
(A) Reporting Requirements. The owner or operator of a kiln sub-

ject to this rule shall comply with the following requirements:
1. [By May 1, 2007, the o]Owners or operators shall submit

to the [staff] director the identification number and type of each unit
subject to this rule, the name and address of the plant where the unit
is located, and the name and telephone number of the person respon-
sible for demonstrating compliance with this rule by May 1 of the
same year as the first compliance period;

2. The owner or operator shall submit to the [staff] director by
October 31 of each year[, beginning in the year 2007,] an annual
report documenting for that unit[:]—

A. The emissions, in pounds of NOx per ton of clinker pro-
duced from each affected Portland cement kiln during the period
from May 1 through September 30;

B. The results of any performance testing; and
C. Cement kiln clinker production, in tons, from May 1

through September 30; and 
3. If the owner or operator elects to comply with paragraph

(3)(A)3. or (3)(A)5. of this rule, the owner or operator will supply[,
starting April 2008,] the [staff] director with a report as specified
in the compliance plan by April of the same year as the first com-

pliance period.
(B) Record Keeping Requirements.

1. Any owner or operator of a unit subject to this rule shall pro-
duce and maintain records, which shall include, but are not limited
to, the results of any initial performance test, the results of any sub-
sequent performance tests, the date, time, and duration of any start-
up, shutdown, or malfunction in the operation of any of the cement
kilns, or the emissions monitoring equipment, as applicable.

2. If an owner or operator elects to use subsection (3)(B) of this
rule as part of the compliance plan, the owner or operator must
retain records as agreed to in the approved compliance plan.

3. Daily cement kiln clinker production in tons per day.
4. Any applicable monitoring data.
5. All records [required to be produced or maintained]

shall be retained on-site for a minimum of five (5) years and made
available upon request.

(C) Monitoring Requirements.
1. An owner or operator complying with paragraph (3)(A)1. or

(3)(A)2. of this rule shall maintain and operate the device according
to the manufacturer’s specifications as approved by the permitting
agency. The monitoring shall[:]—

A. Include parameters indicated in the manufacturer’s speci-
fications and recommendations for the low-NOx burner or mid-kiln
firing system as approved by the permitting agency; and

B. Identify the specific operation conditions to be monitored
and correlation between the operating conditions and NOx emission
rate.

2. An owner or operator complying with paragraph (3)(A)3.,
(3)(A)4., or (3)(A)5. of this rule shall complete an initial perfor-
mance test by May 1[, 2007] of the same year as the first compli-
ance period and subsequent performance tests, on an annual basis,
consistent with the requirements of section (5) of this rule.

3. An owner or operator may comply with the requirements in
paragraph (4)(C)1. through the use of an alternative compliance
method approved by the [staff] director and incorporated in the fed-
erally approved SIP.

4. Any deviation from the operating conditions or specifica-
tions, which result in an increase in NOx emissions, established in
this paragraph constitute a violation of this rule, unless the owner or
operator demonstrates to the satisfaction of the director that the devi-
ation did not result in an increase in NOx emissions.

(5) Test Methods. NOx emission level testing shall use one (1) of the
following methods [as specified by] in 40 CFR [part] 60,
Appendix A-4[—Reference Methods], as specified in 10 CSR
10-6.030(22):

AUTHORITY: section 643.050, RSMo [2000] 2016. Original rule
filed Feb. 14, 2005, effective Oct. 30, 2005. Amended: Filed May 9,
2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS:  A public hearing on this proposed amendment will begin at
9:00 a.m., August 30, 2018. The public hearing will be held at the Elm
Street Conference Center, 1730 East Elm Street, Lower Level, Bennett
Springs Conference Room, Jefferson City, Missouri. Opportunity to be
heard at the hearing shall be afforded to any interested person.
Interested persons, whether or not heard, may submit a statement of
their views until 5:00 p.m., September 6, 2018. Send online comments
via the proposed rules web page www.dnr.mo.gov/proposed-rules,
email comments to apcprulespn@dnr.mo.gov, or written comments to
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Chief, Air Quality Planning Section, Missouri Department of Natural
Resources’ Air Pollution Control Program, PO Box 176, Jefferson
City, MO 65102-0176.

Title 11—DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Division 30—Office of the Director

Chapter 8—Local Government/School District 
Partnership Program

PROPOSED RESCISSION

11 CSR 30-8.010 Definitions. This rule defined terms used in the
rules which pertain to the administration and operations of the Local
Government/School District Partnership Program.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded because the state legislature
has not appropriated funds for this program since 2003. 

AUTHORITY: sections 589.300–589.310, RSMo (1994) and (Cum.
Supp. 1996). Emergency rule filed Aug. 6, 1996, effective Aug. 16,
1996, expired Feb. 11, 1997. Original rule filed Sept. 20, 1996,
effective April 30, 1997. Rescinded: Filed May 4, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Public Safety, Director’s Office, PO Box 749,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0749. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register.

Title 11—DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Division 30—Office of the Director

Chapter 8—Local Government/School District 
Partnership Program

PROPOSED RESCISSION

11 CSR 30-8.020 Eligible Applicants. This rule established criteria
to determine the eligibility of applicant agencies to receive assistance
from the Local Government/School District Partnership Program.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded because the state legislature
has not appropriated funds for this program since 2003. 

AUTHORITY: sections 589.300–589.310, RSMo (1994) and (Cum.
Supp. 1996). Emergency rule filed Aug. 6, 1996, effective Aug. 16,
1996, expired Feb. 11, 1997. Original rule filed Sept. 20, 1996,
effective April 30, 1997. Rescinded: Filed May 4, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Public Safety, Director’s Office, PO Box 749,

Jefferson City, MO 65102-0749. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register.

Title 11—DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Division 30—Office of the Director

Chapter 8—Local Government/School District 
Partnership Program

PROPOSED RESCISSION

11 CSR 30-8.030 Notification and Filing Procedure. This rule
established the procedure for applying for assistance from the Local
Government/School District Partnership Program.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded because the state legislature
has not appropriated funds for this program since 2003. 

AUTHORITY: section 589.307, RSMo (1994). Emergency rule filed
Aug. 6, 1996, effective Aug. 16, 1996, expired Feb. 11, 1997.
Original rule filed Sept. 20, 1996, effective April 30, 1997.
Rescinded: Filed May 4, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Public Safety, Director’s Office, PO Box 749,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0749. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register.

Title 11—DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Division 30—Office of the Director

Chapter 8—Local Government/School District 
Partnership Program

PROPOSED RESCISSION

11 CSR 30-8.040 Contract Awards, Monitoring and Review. This
rule established the procedure for awarding, monitoring and review-
ing programs funded by the Local Government/School District
Partnership Program.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded because the state legislature
has not appropriated funds for this program since 2003. 

AUTHORITY: sections 589.300–589.310, RSMo (1994) and (Cum.
Supp. 1996). Emergency rule filed Aug. 6, 1996, effective Aug. 16,
1996, expired Feb. 11, 1997. Original rule filed Sept. 20, 1996,
effective April 30, 1997. Rescinded: Filed May 4, 2018.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
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Department of Public Safety, Director’s Office, PO Box 749,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0749. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register.

Title 11—DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Division 30—Office of the Director

Chapter 9—Operation Payback

PROPOSED RESCISSION

11 CSR 30-9.010 Definition. This rule defined a crime tip organi-
zation as it applies under Operation Payback.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded because the state legislature
has not appropriated funds for this program since 2002. 

AUTHORITY: section 650.020, RSMo Supp. 1999. Emergency rule
filed Feb. 28, 2000, effective March 9, 2000, expired Aug. 26, 2000.
Original rule filed Feb. 28, 2000, effective Aug. 30, 2000. Rescinded:
Filed May 4, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Public Safety, Director’s Office, PO Box 749,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0749. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register.

Title 11—DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Division 30—Office of the Director

Chapter 9—Operation Payback

PROPOSED RESCISSION

11 CSR 30-9.020 Participation Eligibility Requirements. This rule
established the criteria for a crime tip organization to be registered
with the Missouri Department of Public Safety and thus be eligible
to request reimbursement funds through Operation Payback.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded because the state legislature
has not appropriated funds for this program since 2002. 

AUTHORITY: section 650.020, RSMo Supp. 1999. Emergency rule
filed Feb. 28, 2000, effective March 9, 2000, expired Aug. 26, 2000.
Original rule filed Feb. 28, 2000, effective Aug. 30, 2000. Rescinded:
Filed May 4, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Public Safety, Director’s Office, PO Box 749,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0749. To be considered, comments must be

received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register.

Title 11—DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Division 30—Office of the Director

Chapter 9—Operation Payback

PROPOSED RESCISSION

11 CSR 30-9.030 Reimbursement Criteria. This rule established
the criteria for a crime tip organization receiving reimbursement
funds through Operation Payback.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded because the state legislature
has not appropriated funds for this program since 2002. 

AUTHORITY: section 650.020, RSMo Supp. 1999. Emergency rule
filed Feb. 28, 2000, effective March 9, 2000, expired Aug. 26, 2000.
Original rule filed Feb. 28, 2000, effective Aug. 30, 2000. Rescinded:
Filed May 4, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Public Safety, Director’s Office, PO Box 749,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0749. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register.

Title 11—DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Division 30—Office of the Director

Chapter 9—Operation Payback

PROPOSED RESCISSION

11 CSR 30-9.040 Operation Payback Restrictions. This rule stip-
ulated prohibited use of reimbursement funds through Operation
Payback.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded because the state legislature
has not appropriated funds for this program since 2002. 

AUTHORITY: section 650.020, RSMo Supp. 1999. Emergency rule
filed Feb. 28, 2000, effective March 9, 2000, expired Aug. 26, 2000.
Original rule filed Feb. 28, 2000, effective Aug. 30, 2000. Rescinded:
Filed May 4, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Public Safety, Director’s Office, PO Box 749,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0749. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register.
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Title 11—DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Division 30—Office of the Director

Chapter 9—Operation Payback

PROPOSED RESCISSION

11 CSR 30-9.050 Organization Disqualification. This rule estab-
lished the criteria for which a crime tip organization may be removed
from, or denied entry into, the Operation Payback program.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded because the state legislature
has not appropriated funds for this program since 2002. 

AUTHORITY: section 650.020, RSMo Supp. 1999. Emergency rule
filed Feb. 28, 2000, effective March 9, 2000, expired Aug. 26, 2000.
Original rule filed Feb. 28, 2000, effective Aug. 30, 2000. Rescinded:
Filed May 4, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Public Safety, Director’s Office, PO Box 749,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0749. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 23—Motor Vehicle

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-23.180 Replacement Vehicle Identification Plates.
This rule clarified the issuance of replacement vehicle identification
number plates stamped with the original vehicle identification num-
ber assigned by the manufacturer of the motor vehicle or trailer by
the Department of Revenue.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because the department
lacks rulemaking authority as required by section 536.014, RSMo.
Section 301.300.4, RSMo also expressly limits the department’s
authority to promulgate rules under this provision.  

AUTHORITY: section 301.300, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed July
31, 1985, effective Nov. 28, 1985. Rescinded: Filed May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, General Counsel’s Office, PO Box
475, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0475. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 23—Motor Vehicle

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-23.255 Issuance of New and Replacement Vehicle
Identification Numbers. This rule clarified the issuance of a
Department of Revenue vehicle identification number to motor vehi-
cles and trailers which were never assigned a vehicle identification
number plate by their manufacturer; which have a number destroyed,
removed, covered or altered; or which were reconstructed with vari-
ous major component parts of other motor vehicles or trailers which
have conflicting or different vehicle identification numbers.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because it is unnecessary
and the department lacks rulemaking authority as required by section
536.014, RSMo. Section 301.380, RSMo addresses the circumstances
under which the department can issue a new or replacement VIN
number. 

AUTHORITY: sections 301.020, RSMo Supp. 2006 and 301.380,
RSMo 2000. Original rule filed March 21, 1986, effective July 11,
1986. Amended: Filed Oct. 6, 2006, effective April 30, 2007.
Rescinded: Filed May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, General Counsel’s Office, PO Box
475, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0475. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 23—Motor Vehicle

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-23.270 Watercraft and Outboard Motor Identification
Numbers. This rule set forth the procedures for issuance of water-
craft and outboard motor identification numbers.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because it is unnecessary.
Sections 306.030 and 306.031 RSMo, already address the issuance,
regulation, and replacement of serial numbers for vessels and out-
board motors.

AUTHORITY: sections 306.030, RSMo Supp. 2006 and 306.031,
RSMo 2000. Emergency rule filed March 17, 1986, effective March
27, 1986, expired July 25, 1986. Original rule filed March 17, 1986,
effective June 28, 1986. Amended: Filed Oct. 6, 2006, effective April
30, 2007. Rescinded: Filed May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.
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NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, General Counsel’s Office, PO Box
475, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0475. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 23—Motor Vehicle

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-23.275 Recognition of Nonresident Disabled Person
Windshield Placards. This rule set forth the criteria by which
Missouri recognized and honored vehicles displaying disabled person
windshield placards or disabled emblems issued to resident or non-
resident operators of these vehicles by the United States government,
another state, District of Columbia, or territory or possession of the
United States.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because it is unnecessary
and the department lacks rulemaking authority as required by section
536.014, RSMo. Section 301.271, RSMo specifically provides that
Missouri recognizes out of state registrations.  

AUTHORITY: sections 301.142, RSMo Supp. 2001 and 301.271,
RSMo 2000. Original rule filed April 21, 1986, effective Aug. 11,
1986. Amended: Filed Nov. 12, 1991, effective March 9, 1992.
Amended: Filed Sept. 27, 2001, effective March 30, 2002.
Rescinded: Filed May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, General Counsel’s Office, PO Box
475, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0475. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 23—Motor Vehicle

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-23.290 Use of License Plates After Name Change.
This rule clarified when continued use of previously issued license
plates is permissible by providing examples of various name-change
situations.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because it is unnecessary.
Sections 301.442 and 301.140, RSMo address the continued use of
previously issued license plates after a transfer. The examples provid-
ed in the rule are overly complicated and unnecessary.    

AUTHORITY: sections 301.140, RSMo Supp. 1987 and 301.442,
RSMo 1986. Original rule filed April 21, 1986, effective Aug. 11,
1986. Rescinded: Filed May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, General Counsel’s Office, PO Box
475, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0475. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 23—Motor Vehicle

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-23.426 Special Identification Numbers. This rule clar-
ified the issuance of special identification numbers to units seized by
law enforcement because the identification number has been
removed, covered, altered, destroyed, or defaced and the procedures
for obtaining these numbers.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because it is unnecessary.
Section 301.390, RSMo already describes the procedure for the
issuance of a special identification number to property seized by law
enforcement.   

AUTHORITY: section 301.390, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed April
23, 1992, effective Dec. 3, 1992. Rescinded: Filed May 9 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, General Counsel’s Office, PO Box
475, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0475. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 24—Driver License Bureau Rules

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-24.050 Deletion of Traffic Convictions and Suspension
or Revocation Data From Missouri Driver Records. This rule pro-
vided clarification of procedures to be followed for the expungement
from a Missouri driver record of previously recorded traffic viola-
tions or suspensions or revocations of a driving privilege.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because it lacks substantive
value and the department lacks rulemaking authority as required by
section 536.014, RSMo. This rule provided the department with per-
missive authority to delete certain traffic convictions from a Missouri
driving record.  The department is required to maintain copies of all
accident reports, applications for licenses, and abstracts of court
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convictions pursuant to section 302.120, RSMo. The department’s
authority in this area is also addressed in relationship to the
expungement of criminal records, sections 610.122 through 610.140,
RSMo.  Specifically, section 610.126 permits the department to keep
records necessary for administrative actions on a driver’s license.  

AUTHORITY: sections 302.286, 302.304, 302.309 and 303.041,
RSMo Supp. 2004, and 49 CFR 384.231(d). Original rule filed May
27, 1986, effective Aug. 25, 1986. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded: Filed May 9,
2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, General Counsel’s Office, PO Box
475, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0475. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 26—Dealer Licensure

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-26.200 Out-of-State Dealer Request to Participate in
Missouri Recreational Vehicle Show or Exhibit. Section 301.566,
RSMo, required a recreational vehicle (RV) dealer licensed in anoth-
er state who intends to participate in a RV show or exhibition in
Missouri to notify the Department of Revenue at least thirty (30) days
prior to the event. This rule established the form that must be used
to notify the department.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because the provisions of (1)
and (1)(B) within the rule are already stated in section 301.566.3, 4,
and 5. The form referenced in the provisions of (1)(A) within the rule
is not required, therefore the entire rule is unnecessary.

AUTHORITY: sections 301.553, RSMo 2000 and 301.566, RSMo
Supp. 2007. Original rule filed Aug. 8, 2007, effective Feb. 29, 2008.
Rescinded: Filed May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, General Counsel’s Office, PO Box
475, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0475. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 42—General Department Policies

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-42.060 Investment and Cash Management Procedures.

This rule identified the forms which funds are received by the
Investment and Cash Management Office. The rule also set deadlines
for receiving each type of funds at the Investment and Cash
Management Office for both normal working days and the last work-
ing day of the fiscal year.  

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because it is obsolete.  When
SAMII Financials was implemented in July of 1999, the department
no longer deposited funds using the revenue transmittal form SAM
540.   

AUTHORITY: section 136.110, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed Jan.
20, 1987, effective May 11, 1987. Rescinded: Filed May 9, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Revenue, General Counsel’s Office, PO Box
475, Jefferson City, MO 65105-0475. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2065—Endowed Care Cemeteries
Chapter 1—Organization and Description

PROPOSED RESCISSION

20 CSR 2065-1.020 Cemetery Advisory Committee. This rule
defined the Endowed Care Cemetery Advisory Committee.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded to dissolve the advisory com-
mittee.

AUTHORITY: sections 214.280, RSMo Supp. 1999 and 214.392,
RSMo 1994. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 65-1.020. Original
rule filed Sept. 11, 1997, effective March 30, 1998. Amended: Filed
April 14, 2000, effective Oct. 30, 2000. Moved to 20 CSR 2065-
1.020, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Rescinded: Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Office
of Endowed Care Cemeteries, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, Missouri
65102, by facsimile transmission to (573) 526-3489, or via email at
endocare@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2065—Endowed Care Cemeteries
Chapter 1—Organization and Description

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2065-1.030 Definitions. The office is proposing to delete
section (2) and renumber subsequent sections.

PURPOSE: This amendment deletes the definition of committee.

[(2) Committee—the Endowed Care Cemetery Advisory
Committee.]

[(3)](2) Division—the Division of Professional Registration.

[(4)](3) FDIC—Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation.

[(5)](4) Office—Office of Endowed Care Cemeteries.

AUTHORITY: sections 214.270 and 214.392[.1(5)], RSMo [Supp.
2007] 2016. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 65-1.030. Original
rule filed April 14, 2000, effective Oct. 30, 2000. Moved to 20 CSR
2065-1.030, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed June 16, 2008,
effective Dec. 30, 2008. Amended: Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Office of Endowed Care Cemeteries, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City,
Missouri 65102, by facsimile transmission to (573) 526-3489, or via
email at endocare@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2065—Endowed Care Cemeteries
Chapter 1—Organization and Description

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2065-1.050 Complaint Handling and Disposition. The
office is amending sections (1), (3), (4), (6), and (7).

PURPOSE: This amendment removes references to the Endowed
Care Cemetery Advisory Committee. 

(1) The Division of Professional Registration, in coordination with
the [Endowed Care Cemetery Advisory Committee] office, will
receive and process each complaint made against any holder of a cer-
tificate of authority in which the complaint alleges certain acts or
practices that may constitute one (1) or more violations of provisions
of sections 214.270–214.516, RSMo, or administrative rules. [No
member of the Endowed Care Cemetery Advisory
Committee may file a complaint with the division or commit-
tee while holding office, unless that member is excused from
further committee deliberation or activity concerning the

matters alleged within that complaint.] Any division staff mem-
ber [or committee member] may file a complaint pursuant to this
rule in the same manner as any member of the public.

(3) All complaints shall be made in writing on a form provided by
the division and shall fully identify the complainant by name and
address. Verbal or telephone communication will not be considered
or processed as complaints, however, the person making such com-
munication will be asked to supplement the communication with a
written complaint.  Complaints may be based upon personal knowl-
edge, or upon information and belief, reciting information received
from other sources. Individuals with special needs, as addressed by
the Americans with Disabilities Act, may notify the [committee]
office at (573) 751-0849 for assistance. The text for the hearing
impaired is (800) 735-2966.

(4) Each complaint received under this rule will be logged and main-
tained by the division. The log will contain a record of each com-
plainant’s name[;], the name and address of the subject(s) of the
complaint[;], the date each complaint was received by the
division/[committee;] office, a brief statement concerning the
alleged acts or practices, and the ultimate disposition of the com-
plaint. This log shall be a closed record of the committee.

(6) This rule shall not be deemed to limit the authority to file a com-
plaint with the Administrative Hearing Commission charging the
[committee’s] licensee with any actionable conduct or violation,
whether or not such a complaint exceeds the scope of the acts
charged in a preliminary public complaint filed with the [commit-
tee] office.

(7) The division interprets this rule, which is required by law, to exist
for the benefit of those members of the public who submit complaints
to the [committee] office. This rule is not deemed to protect[,] or
inure the benefit of those licensees or other persons against whom
the [committee] office has instituted or may institute administrative
or judicial proceedings concerning possible violations of the provi-
sions of sections 214.270–214.516, RSMo.

AUTHORITY: sections 214.392, [RSMo 1994 and
620.010.15(6),] RSMo [Supp. 1999] 2016. This rule originally
filed as 4 CSR 65-1.050. Original rule filed April 14, 2000, effective
Oct. 30, 2000. Moved to 20 CSR 2065-1.050, effective Aug. 28,
2006. Amended: Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Office of Endowed Care Cemeteries, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City,
MO 65102, by facsimile transmission to (573) 526-3489, or via email
at endocare@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2065—Endowed Care Cemeteries
Chapter 1—Organization and Description

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2065-1.060 Fees. The office is amending the purpose state-
ment.
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PURPOSE: This amendment replaces a reference to the Endowed
Care Cemetery Advisory Committee.

PURPOSE: This rule establishes fees for the Division of Professional
Registration and the [Endowed Care Cemetery Advisory
Committee] Office of Endowed Care Cemeteries.

AUTHORITY: sections 214.275, [RSMo Supp. 2001 and]
214.280, 214.283, and 610.026, RSMo [2000] 2016. This rule orig-
inally filed as 4 CSR 65-1.060. Original rule filed April 14, 2000,
effective Oct. 30, 2000. Amended: Filed Sept. 28, 2001, effective
March 30, 2002. Moved to 20 CSR 2065-1.060, effective Aug. 28,
2006. Amended: Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Office of Endowed Care Cemeteries, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City,
MO 65102, by facsimile transmission to (573) 526-3489, or via email
at endocare@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2065—Endowed Care Cemeteries

Chapter 2—General Rules

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2065-2.010 Application for a License. The office is amend-
ing section (1), deleting sections (3), (4), and (5), and renumbering as
necessary.

PURPOSE: This amendment deletes sections that restate statutory
language.

(1) [Application for licensure shall be submitted on the form
provided by the office.] License application [F]forms may be
obtained by contacting the Office of Endowed Care Cemeteries at
3605 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson City, MO 65102 or by calling
(573) 751-0849. The number for the hearing impaired is (800) 735-
2966. 

[(3) An applicant owning or operating an endowed care
cemetery shall submit along with the application a notarized
verification statement from the trustee verifying that a trust
fund has been established as required in section 214.310,
RSMo. If the trust fund is set aside in a segregated bank
account, a notarized statement from a licensed practicing
attorney with escrow powers, including the attorney’s
Missouri bar number, shall be submitted. 

(4) An applicant owning or operating an endowed care
cemetery shall submit along with the application a copy of
the trust fund agreement for approval by the office or an affi-
davit from a licensed practicing attorney in this state verify-
ing the agreement is in compliance with sections 214.270
to 214.516, RSMo.

(5) A notarized verification statement from a bonding com-
pany or insurance company shall accompany the application
verifying that a surety bond has been issued pursuant to
section 214.310, RSMo, if required.]

[(6)](3) Applicants approved for a license will receive one (1)
license. Duplicate licenses may be provided upon written request to
the division.

[(7)](4) An application for a license to operate a cemetery does not
constitute an election to operate a cemetery as an endowed care
cemetery. If an election pursuant to section 214.280, RSMo has not
been made for a cemetery, it must accompany the application for a
license.

AUTHORITY: section 214.275, RSMo [Supp. 2001] 2016. This rule
originally filed as 4 CSR 65-2.010. Original rule filed Sept. 28, 2001,
effective March 30, 2002. Moved to 20 CSR 2065-2.010, effective
Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Office of Endowed Care Cemeteries, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City,
MO 65102, by facsimile transmission to (573) 526-3489, or via email
at endocare@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2065—Endowed Care Cemeteries

Chapter 2—General Rules

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2065-2.020 Endowed Care Cemetery Converting to
Nonendowed. The office is deleting section (2).

PURPOSE: This amendment deletes a section that restates statutory
language.

[(2) The office shall inform the cemetery owner/operator
whether the cemetery may operate as a nonendowed ceme-
tery. The office may require an audit of the endowed care
trust funds prior to evaluating a request to convert a ceme-
tery from endowed to nonendowed care.  If the letter of
intent is approved by the office, the nonendowed section
shall be separately designated from the remainder of the
cemetery as required by law. All sections with burial spaces
previously sold as endowed care shall remain as endowed
care.  The endowed care fund in place at the time the ceme-
tery is converted to nonendowed shall remain intact and be
maintained pursuant to the trust requirements as set forth in
sections 214.240–214.516, RSMo. If the trust funds have
not been maintained in compliance with the Endowed Care
Cemetery Trust Fund Law prior to conversion to a nonen-
dowed care cemetery, the holder of the certificate of author-
ity shall be required to make all necessary deposits to the
trust fund prior to conversion to a nonendowed care ceme-
tery.]
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AUTHORITY: sections 214.280.2[, RSMo Supp. 1999] and
214.392, RSMo [1994] 2016. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 65-
2.020. Original rule filed April 14, 2000, effective Oct. 30, 2000.
Moved to 20 CSR 2065-2.020, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended:
Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Office of Endowed Care Cemeteries, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City,
MO 65102, by facsimile transmission to (573) 526-3489, or via email
at endocare@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2065—Endowed Care Cemeteries

Chapter 2—General Rules

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2065-2.050 License Renewal. The board is amending sub-
section (1)(B), deleting section (2), and renumbering as necessary.

PURPOSE: This amendment deletes a section that restates statutory
language. 

(1) All licenses shall be renewed annually and shall expire on August
31.

(B) The division [shall] will mail a renewal application to the last
known address of each current holder of a license to own or operate
a cemetery prior to the renewal date. 

[(2) The license issued to the owner or operator of a ceme-
tery which is not renewed within three (3) months after the
license renewal date shall be suspended automatically. The
holder of such a license shall have the right to have the sus-
pended license reinstated within nine (9) months of the date
of suspension if the person pays the required reinstatement
fee and complies with all other renewal requirements set
forth above. A license that is suspended and not reinstated
within nine (9) months of the suspension shall expire and be
void and the holder of such license shall have no rights or
privileges provided to holders of valid licenses. Any person
whose license has expired may be re-registered or reautho-
rized under the original license number upon demonstration
of current qualifications and payment of the following
required fees: original licensure fee and renewal fees and
reinstatement fees for each unpaid renewal period for which
the holder of the license owned or operated the cemetery.]

[(3)](2) Applicants that are approved for renewal will receive one (1)
license. Duplicate licenses may be provided upon payment of the
appropriate fee pursuant to rules promulgated by the division.

AUTHORITY: sections 214.275.4 and 214.276, RSMo [Supp.
2001] 2016. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 65-2.050. Original
rule filed Sept. 28, 2001, effective March 30, 2002. Moved to 20 CSR
2065-2.050, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed May 11, 2018. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)

in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Office of Endowed Care Cemeteries, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City,
Missouri 65102, by facsimile transmission to (573) 526-3489, or via
email at endocare@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2115—State Committee of Dietitians

Chapter 1—General Rules

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2115-1.010 General Organization. The committee is
amending sections (1) and (4).

PURPOSE: This amendment updates titles for licensed dietitians and
removes phone numbers.

(1) The purpose of the committee is to regulate the use of the title
licensed dietitian [and/or] L[.]D[.], or LDN, to protect the public
from misuse or misrepresentation of that title and to implement and
sustain a system for the examination and licensure of dietitians in this
state.

(4) The public may obtain information from the committee or make
submissions or requests by writing the executive director of the com-
mittee at 3605 Missouri Boulevard, P[.]O[.] Box 1335, Jefferson
City, MO 65102 [or by calling (573) 522-3438] or by electronic
mail (E-mail) at diet@mail.state.mo.us. [The TDD number is
(800) 735-2966.]

AUTHORITY: sections 324.200, 324.203, 324.225, and 324.228,
RSMo [Supp. 1999] 2016. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 115-
1.010. Original rule filed March 15, 2000, effective Sept. 30, 2000.
Moved to 20 CSR 2115-1.010, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended:
Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.  

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the State
Committee of Dietitians, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via
facsimile at (573) 526-3489, or via email at diet@pr.mo.gov. To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing
is scheduled. 

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2115—State Committee of Dietitians

Chapter 1—General Rules

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2115-1.030 Complaint Handling and Disposition. The
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committee is amending section (3).

PURPOSE:  This amendment removes a phone number from the rule.

(3) All complaints shall be made in writing and shall fully identify
the complainant by name and address. Verbal or telephone commu-
nication will not be considered or processed as a complaint, however,
the person making such communication will be asked to supplement
the communication with a written complaint. Complaints may be
based upon personal knowledge, or upon information and belief,
reciting information received from other sources. Individuals with
special needs, as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act,
may notify the committee office at (573) 522-3438 for assistance.
[The text for the hearing impaired is (800) 735-2966.]

AUTHORITY: sections 324.217[,] and 324.228 [and
620.010.15(6)], RSMo [Supp. 1999] 2016. This rule originally
filed as 4 CSR 115-1.030. Original rule filed March 15, 2000, effec-
tive Sept. 30, 2000. Moved to 20 CSR 2115-1.030, effective Aug. 28,
2006. Amended: Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.  

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the State
Committee of Dietitians, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via
facsimile at (573) 526-3489, or via email at diet@pr.mo.gov. To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing
is scheduled. 

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2115—State Committee of Dietitians

Chapter 2—Licensure Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2115-2.010 Application for Licensure/[Grandfather
Clause/]Reciprocity. The committee is amending the title, section
(1), and deleting section (4).

PURPOSE: This amendment deletes contact information and duplica-
tive statutory language.

(1) Applications for licensure shall be submitted on the forms pro-
vided by the committee and may be obtained by writing the commit-
tee at 3605 Missouri Boulevard, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO
65102, [by calling (573) 522-3438,] or by electronic mail
(email) at diet@pr.mo.gov. [The TDD number is (800) 735-
2966.]

[(4) In order to file an application for licensure under section
324.210.4, RSMo, the grandfather clause, communication,
such as a letter of intention, to apply for licensure pursuant
to that provision shall have been postmarked no later than
July 1, 2000. To complete the application process for licen-
sure pursuant to section 324.210.4, RSMo, the information
outlined in 20 CSR 2115-2.020 (grandfather clause) shall be
submitted to the state committee within one (1) year of the
effective date of this rule following the receipt of the letter

of intent postmarked by July 1, 2000.]

AUTHORITY: sections 324.210.4, 324.212, [and] 324.215, [RSMo
Supp. 2011,] and [section] 324.228, RSMo [2000] 2016. This
rule originally filed as 4 CSR 115-2.010. Original rule filed March
15, 2000, effective Sept. 30, 2000. Moved to 20 CSR 2115-2.010,
effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed Nov. 21, 2006, effective
May 30, 2007. Amended: Filed Nov. 15, 2011, effective May 30,
2012. Amended: Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.  

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the State
Committee of Dietitians, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via
facsimile at (573)526-3489, or via email at diet@pr.mo.gov. To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing
is scheduled. 

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2115—State Committee of Dietitians

Chapter 2—Licensure Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2115-2.020 Qualifications for Licensure. The committee
is amending section (1), deleting section (2), and renumbering as
necessary.

PURPOSE: This amendment updates licensure requirements.

(1) Any person applying for licensure[, except those applying for
licensure under section 324.210.4., RSMo, (grandfather
clause)] shall—

(A) Submit a photocopy of current registration card or other veri-
fication, as approved by the committee, from the Commission on
Dietetic Registration (CDR) that the applicant is currently regis-
tered[; and].

[(B) Successfully complete the academic requirements and
supervised practice experience as established by the American
Dietetic Association’s Commission on Accreditation/Approval
of Dietetic Education (CAADE) and—

1. Achievement of passing score on the examination
approved by the CDR no more than five (5) years prior to the
date of application; and

2. Applicants seeking licensure by examination shall
cause the CDR to report the examination score of the appli-
cant to the committee.

(2) Any person applying for licensure pursuant to section
324.210.4., RSMo, shall either—

(A) Submit a photocopy of current registration card or
other verification, as approved by the committee, from the
CDR that the applicant is currently registered; or

(B) Submit college transcripts and course descriptions ver-
ifying that the applicant has obtained a bachelor’s degree
from an accredited college or university with a major course
of study that includes all of the following course work:

1. Biological sciences—Nine (9) semester hours that
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must include human anatomy, physiology, and microbiology
or the equivalent as determined by the committee;

2. Chemistry—Six (6) semester hours that must include
biochemistry or the equivalent as determined by the commit-
tee;

3. Behavioral sciences—Six (6) semester hours (such as
psychology, sociology, counseling, or educational psycholo-
gy); 

4. Management—Six (6) semester hours that must
include food service management and institutional manage-
ment or the equivalent as determined by the committee; and

5. Foods and nutrition—Twenty-five (25) semester
hours that must include each of the following: diet therapy,
medical dietetics, clinical nutrition, nutrition through the life
cycle, applied human nutrition, advanced human nutrition,
and food science or the equivalent as determined by the
committee; and

(C) Provide proof of completion of nine hundred (900)
hours of continuous clinical experience in the field of dietet-
ics that meets the Foundation Knowledge and Skills and
Competency Requirements for Entry-Level Dietitians as
adopted by the American Dietetic Association, is approved
by the committee and has been acquired during or within
five (5) years of completion of academic requirements and
not more than five (5) years before the date of licensure
application.

1. Experience, as required under this rule, must be
observed, assessed and coordinated by a licensed dietitian,
a dietitian licensed in another state that has licensure
requirements determined by the committee to be equal to
the requirements of sections 324.200–324.225, RSMo, or
a dietitian in a state without licensing who is registered by
the CDR and submitted to the committee.  Experience must
be verified on a form provided by the committee and signed
before a notary public; or

2. A verification statement, signed by the applicant’s
internship director and/or program director, attesting that the
applicant has graduated from an American Dietetic
Association accredited curriculum and that he/she has com-
pleted an accredited American Dietetic Association intern-
ship shall be submitted to the committee.]

[(3)](2) Following review of each application by the committee, the
applicant shall be informed in writing of the decision regarding appli-
cation for licensure. Applicants that are approved for licensure will
receive one (1) license. Duplicate licenses may be provided upon
payment of the appropriate fee pursuant to rules promulgated by the
committee.

AUTHORITY: sections 324.210[, RSMo Supp. 2011,] and [sec-
tion] 324.228, RSMo [2000] 2016. This rule originally filed as 4
CSR 115-2.020. Original rule filed March 15, 2000, effective Sept.
30, 2000. Moved to 20 CSR 2115-2.020, effective Aug. 28, 2006.
Amended: Filed Nov. 15, 2011, effective May 30, 2012. Amended:
Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.  

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the State
Committee of Dietitians, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via
facsimile at (573) 526-3489, or via email at diet@pr.mo.gov. To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after

publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing
is scheduled. 

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2115—State Committee of Dietitians

Chapter 2—Licensure Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2115-2.030 Examination for Licensure. The committee is
amending section (1).

PURPOSE: This amendment updates the name of the national asso-
ciation for dietitians.

(1) The committee approves the examination offered by the
Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) for the [American
Dietetic Association] Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

AUTHORITY: sections 324.210.3 and 324.228, RSMo [Supp.
1999] 2016. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 115-2.030. Original
rule filed March 15, 2000, effective Sept. 30, 2000. Moved to 20 CSR
2115-2.030, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.  

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the State
Committee of Dietitians, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via
facsimile at (573) 526-3489, or via email at diet@pr.mo.gov.  To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing
is scheduled. 

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2115—State Committee of Dietitians

Chapter 2—Licensure Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2115-2.040 License Renewal. The committee is amending
subsection (1)(D).

PURPOSE:  This amendment adds a new title for licensed dietitians.

(1) All licenses shall be renewed biennially.  
(D) Failure to receive a renewal notice shall not relieve the

licensee of the obligation to renew the license in order to use the title
licensed dietitian [and/or], L[.]D[.], or LDN and pay the required
fee prior to the expiration date of the license.  

AUTHORITY: sections 324.212[, RSMo Supp. 2011,] and [sec-
tion] 324.228, RSMo [2000] 2016. This rule originally filed as 4
CSR 115-2.040. Original rule filed March 15, 2000, effective Sept.
30, 2000. Moved to 20 CSR 2115-2.040, effective Aug. 28, 2006.
Amended: Filed Nov. 15, 2011, effective May 30, 2012. Amended:
Filed May 11, 2018. 
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PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.  

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the State
Committee of Dietitians, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via
facsimile at (573) 526-3489, or via email at diet@pr.mo.gov.  To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing
is scheduled. 

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION 
Division 2200—State Board of Nursing 

Chapter 5—Definitions

PROPOSED RESCISSION

20 CSR 2200-5.010 Definitions. This rule provided definitions of
terms used by the Missouri State Board of Nursing.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded and the definition of proper
supervision is being incorporated into already existing rules. 

AUTHORITY: Chapter 335, RSMo 1986. This rule originally filed as
4 CSR 200-5.010. Original rule filed Oct. 14, 1981, effective Jan. 14,
1982. Amended: Filed March 15, 1983, effective June 11, 1983.
Moved to 20 CSR 2200-5.010, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Rescinded:
Filed May 11, 2018. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the State
Board of Nursing, Lori Scheidt, Executive Director, PO Box 656,
Jefferson City, MO 65102, by fax at (573) 751-0075, or via email at
nursing@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2210—State Board of Optometry 

Chapter 2—General Rules 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2210-2.070 Fees. The board is adding paragraph (1)(C)1.

PURPOSE: This amendment creates a one- (1-) time reduction of
renewal fees.

(1) The following fees are established by the State Board of
Optometry:

(C) Biennial Renewal Fee                                                 $150

1. Effective August 1, 2018 through July 31, 2020       $125

AUTHORITY: sections 336.140 and 336.160, RSMo [Supp. 2007]
2016. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 210-2.070. Emergency rule
filed June 30, 1981, effective July 9, 1981, expired Nov. 11, 1981.
Original rule filed June 30, 1981, effective Oct. 12, 1981. For inter-
vening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Emergency amendment filed May 11, 2018, effective May 21, 2018,
expires Feb. 28, 2019. Amended: Filed May 11, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will cost state agencies or
political subdivisions approximately thirty-two thousand five hundred
dollars ($32,500) from August 1, 2018 through July 31, 2020.
Effective September 1, 2020, the renewal fee will revert to its original
cost, and the additional costs will end.  

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will save private entities
approximately thirty-two thousand five hundred dollars ($32,500)
from August 1, 2018 through July 31, 2020.   

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Board of Optometry, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102, by fac-
simile at (573) 751-8216, or via email at optometry@pr.mo.gov. To
be considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.  No public
hearing is scheduled.
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2231—Division of Professional Registration

Chapter 2—Designation of License Renewal Dates and
Related Renewal Information

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2231-2.010 Designation of License Renewal Dates and
Related Renewal Information. The board is amending the purpose
statement and subsection (2)(D).

PURPOSE: This amendment updates statutory references and adds
“Professional” to Landscape Architects.

PURPOSE: This rule complies with section [620.010.15(2)]
324.001.3, RSMo, which requires the director of the Division of
Professional Registration to promulgate rules which designate for
each board or commission assigned to the division the renewal date
for licenses or certificates and section [620.010.14(6)] 324.001.7,
RSMo, which requires the director to be responsible for collecting
and accounting for all monies received by the division or its compo-
nent agencies.

(2) The license renewal dates designated for each agency assigned to
the division are—

(D) Missouri Board for Architects, Professional Engineers,
Professional Land Surveyors and Professional Landscape
Architects—

1. Architects, engineers, land surveyors—January 1;
2. Landscape architects—January 1; and
3. Firms/corporations—January 1;

AUTHORITY: section 324.001, RSMo [Supp. 2013] 2016. This rule
originally filed as 4 CSR 231-2.010. Emergency rule filed Feb. 9,
1982, effective Feb. 19, 1982, expired May 12, 1982. Original rule
filed Feb. 9, 1982, effective May 13, 1982. For intervening history,
please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed May
4, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Division of Professional Registration, Katie Steele Danner,
Division Director, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102, or via
email at profreg@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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