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HOW TO CITE RULES AND RSMO

RULES

The rules are codified in the Code of State Regulations in this system–

         Title Division Chapter Rule

3 CSR 10- 4 .115

    Department Code of Agency General area Specific area

State Division regulated regulated

Regulations

and should be cited in this manner: 3 CSR 10-4.115.

Each department of state government is assigned a title. Each agency or division in the department is assigned a division

number. The agency then groups its rules into general subject matter areas called chapters and specific areas called rules.

Within a rule, the first breakdown is called a section and is designated as (1). Subsection is (A) with further breakdown

into paragraphs 1., subparagraphs A., parts (I), subparts (a), items I. and subitems a.

The rule is properly cited by using the full citation, for example, 3 CSR 10-4.115 NOT Rule 10-4.115.

Citations of RSMo are to the Missouri Revised Statutes as of the date indicated.

Code and Register on the Internet

The Code of State Regulations and Missouri Register are available on the Internet. 

The Code address is www.sos.mo.gov/adrules/csr/csr

The Register address is www.sos.mo.gov/adrules/moreg/moreg

These websites contain rulemakings and regulations as they appear in the Code and Registers. 



Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 20—Administrative Services

Chapter 1—Organization and Description

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 20-1.010 General Organization. This rule complied with
section 536.023, RSMo 1986 which required each agency to adopt
as a rule a description of its operation and the methods whereby the
public may obtain information or make submissions or requests.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded as the Administrative
Services Division within the Missouri Department of Agriculture was
merged into the Office of the Director.

AUTHORITY: section 536.023, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed April
9, 1976, effective July 15, 1976. Rescinded: Filed May 21, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies

or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Alan Freeman, PO Box
630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson City, MO 65102, or online
at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division [20] 110—[Administrative Services]

Office of the Director
Chapter [3] 4—Registration of Foreign-Owned 

Agricultural Land

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

[2 CSR 20-3.010] 2 CSR 110-4.010 Who Shall Register. The
department is moving the rule, amending the purpose, and sections
(1)–(4).

PURPOSE: The proposed amendment updates the division, chapter
number, and provides updates to section (1) to reflect current loca-
tion of corresponding rules and the method to obtain forms.

PURPOSE: This rule designates guidelines and specifications for the
registration of foreign ownership of agricultural land with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture in compliance with section
442.592, RSMo [1986].

(1) Any foreign person, as defined in section 442.592.1., RSMo
[(1986)], who acquires or transfers any interest in agricultural land
in Missouri, within thirty (30) days of the date of acquisition or
transfer, shall file a report with the director of the Department of
Agriculture, P[.]O[.] Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0630, [on
forms which shall be supplied, without charge, upon request
in writing] forms are available on the Missouri Department of
Agriculture’s website.

(2) In any instance where more than one (1) foreign person, as
defined in section 442.592, RSMo [(1986)], acquires or transfers
any interest in any tract or parcel of Missouri agricultural land, each
such foreign person shall file the report required.

(3) Reporting is not required when an interest in agricultural land is
acquired or transferred by a foreign person or a foreign business for
the sole purpose of extracting, refining, processing, or transporting
oil, gas, coal, or lignite.

(4) If any foreign person or entity was obligated,  under the provi-
sions of Chapter 442, RSMo [(1986)], to file a report with the
director of the Department of Agriculture on any previous date and
failed to do so, that foreign person or entity shall file the report
required by this chapter within thirty (30) days (June 14, 1982) of the
effective date of this rule (May 15, 1982).

AUTHORITY: section 442.592, RSMo [1986] 2016. Original rule
filed Jan. 12, 1982, effective May 15, 1982. Amended and moved:
Filed May 21, 2018.
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Proposed Amendment Text Reminder:
Boldface text indicates new matter.
[Bracketed text indicates matter being deleted.]

Under this heading will appear the text of proposed rules
and changes. The notice of proposed rulemaking is

required to contain an explanation of any new rule or any
change in an existing rule and the reasons therefor. This is set
out in the Purpose section with each rule. Also required is a
citation to the legal authority to make rules. This appears fol-
lowing the text of the rule, after the word  “Authority.”

Entirely new rules are printed without any special symbol-
ogy under the heading of proposed rule. If an existing

rule is to be amended or rescinded, it will have a heading of
proposed amendment or proposed rescission. Rules which
are proposed to be amended will have new matter printed in
boldface type and matter to be deleted placed in brackets.

An important function of the Missouri Register is to solicit
and encourage public participation in the rulemaking

process. The law provides that for every proposed rule,
amendment, or rescission there must be a notice that anyone
may comment on the proposed action. This comment may
take different forms.

If an agency is required by statute to hold a public hearing
before making any new rules, then a Notice of Public

Hearing will appear following the text of the rule. Hearing
dates must be at least thirty (30) days after publication of the
notice in the Missouri Register. If no hearing is planned or
required, the agency must give a Notice to Submit
Comments. This allows anyone to file statements in support
of or in opposition to the proposed action with the agency
within a specified time, no less than thirty (30) days after pub-
lication of the notice in the Missouri Register. 

An agency may hold a public hearing on a rule even
though not required by law to hold one. If an agency

allows comments to be received following the hearing date,
the close of comments date will be used as the beginning day
in the ninety- (90-) day-count necessary for the filing of the
order of rulemaking.

If an agency decides to hold a public hearing after planning
not to, it must withdraw the earlier notice and file a new

notice of proposed rulemaking and schedule a hearing for a
date not less than thirty (30) days from the date of publication
of the new notice.
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PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Alan Freeman, PO Box
630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson City, MO 65102, or online
at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division [20] 110—[Administrative Services]

Office of the Director
Chapter [3] 4—Registration of Foreign-Owned 

Agricultural Land

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

[2 CSR 20-3.020] 2 CSR 110-4.020 Interest Defined. The depart-
ment is moving the rule and amending section (1).

PURPOSE: The proposed amendment updates the division, chapter
number, and provides updates to section (1) to reflect current loca-
tion of corresponding rules.

PURPOSE: This rule defines an interest as it relates to registration
with the Missouri Department of Agriculture of foreign persons or
entities who or which own agricultural land in Missouri pursuant to
Chapter 442, RSMo.

(1) Interest, as used in [2 CSR 20-3.010(1) and (2)] 2 CSR 110-
4.010(1) and (2), shall be defined as all interests acquired, trans-
ferred, or held in agricultural lands by a foreign person, as that term
is defined in section 442.591, RSMo [(1986)], except—

AUTHORITY: section 442.592, RSMo [1986] 2016. Original rule
filed Jan. 12, 1982, effective May 15, 1982. Amended and moved:
Filed May 21, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Alan Freeman, PO Box
630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson City, MO 65102, or online
at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division [20] 110—[Administrative Services]

Office of the Director
Chapter [3] 4—Registration of Foreign-Owned 

Agricultural Land

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

[2 CSR 20-3.030] 2 CSR 110-4.030 Nonfarming Purposes
Interpreted. The department is moving the rule, amending the pur-
pose, and amending section (1).

PURPOSE: The proposed amendment updates the division, chapter
number, and provides updates to section (1) to reflect current loca-
tion of corresponding rules.

PURPOSE: This rule interprets the phrase nonfarming purposes as
that phrase is found in section 442.591, RSMo [1986].

(1) The phrase nonfarming purposes is interpreted to include, but is
not limited to, the conducting and active operation of research or
experimentation for the purpose of developing or improving any type
of agricultural practice, tool, device, or implement, where any agri-
cultural production is incidental to the research or experimentation,
and the cost of the research or experimentation exceeds the amount
of income derived from the sale of all agricultural production.

AUTHORITY: section 442.592, RSMo [1986] 2016. Original rule
filed Jan. 12, 1982, effective May 15, 1982. Amended and moved:
Filed May 21, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Alan Freeman, PO Box
630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson City, MO 65102, or online
at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division [20] 110—[Administrative Services]

Office of the Director
Chapter [3] 4—Registration of Foreign-Owned 

Agricultural Land

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

[2 CSR 20-3.040] 2 CSR 110-4.040 Procedure for Filing. The
department is moving the rule, amending the purpose, and amending
sections (1), (4), and (5).

PURPOSE: The purpose of the amendment is to reflect current busi-
ness processes for registration of foreign-owned agriculture land
including the division responsible and how forms are available for
registration of stated lands.

PURPOSE: This rule sets out procedures for the registration of for-
eign ownership of agricultural land with the Missouri Department of
Agriculture in compliance with section 442.592, RSMo [1986].

(1) A report upon forms, which [will be provided upon written
request to] are available on the Missouri Department of
Agriculture’s website, shall be filed within thirty (30) days of the
date of acquisition or transfer of any interest in agricultural land in
Missouri by any foreign person, as that term is defined in section
442.592.1., RSMo [1986].
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(4) The report required by this rule shall contain the following infor-
mation in the appropriate spaces provided on the form:

(I) In the case where any foreign person acquires an interest in
agricultural land for the purposes outlined in section 442.591, RSMo
[(1986)], a declaration of the intended use of the land, which dec-
laration shall be supplemented by submitting in writing to the direc-
tor of the Department of Agriculture an amended declaration each
time the intended use of all or a portion of the land changes.

(5) Failure to file the report required by this rule subjects the foreign
person holding an interest in the Missouri farmland to a substantial
civil penalty as provided in section 442.592.6., RSMo [(1986)].

AUTHORITY: section 442.592, RSMo [1986] 2016. Original rule
filed Jan. 12, 1982, effective May 15, 1982. Amended and moved:
Filed May 21, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Alan Freeman, PO Box
630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson City, MO 65102, or online
at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 20—Administrative Services

Chapter 3—Registration of Foreign-Owned 
Agricultural Land

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 20-3.050 Severability. This rule insured the continued exis-
tence of the remaining rules within the chapter should any rule or
portion be declared invalid or unconstitutional.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded as the rule is redundant to
section 442.571(4), RSMo.

AUTHORITY: section 442.592, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed Jan.
12, 1982, effective May 15, 1982. Rescinded: Filed May 21, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Alan Freeman, PO Box
630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson City, MO 65102, or online
at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 60—Grain Inspection and Warehousing

Chapter 1—Organization and Description

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 60-1.010 General Organization. The department is amend-
ing the purpose and sections (1) and (2).

PURPOSE: The purpose of this amendment is to update the descrip-
tion of operation and contact information for the Grain Inspection
and Warehousing Division, a unit of the Missouri Department of
Agriculture. 

PURPOSE: The purpose of this rule is to comply with section
536.023, RSMo [1986] which requires each agency to adopt as a
rule a description of its operation and the methods where the public
may obtain information or make submissions or requests.

(1) The Division of Grain Inspection and Warehousing is a unit of the
Department of Agriculture, state of Missouri. 

(A) [The primary] One (1) responsibility of the division[, as a
designed inspection agency] is the Grain Inspection Program,
an inspection agency designated by the United States Department
of Agriculture [is to provide the], which provides services pertain-
ing to grain inspection as set out in The United States Grain
Standards Act. As a disinterested third party, this [division insures]
program ensures the buyer and seller of a fair market value of
[his/her] their grain. The duties consist of official sampling, inspec-
tion, weighing, and chemical analysis of grain and official processed
commodities supervision.

(B) A second responsibility of the division is the Grain
Regulatory Program that provides regulatory oversight to the
grain warehouse and merchandising industry.  This oversight
ensures a financially stable grain marketing system in Missouri
where grain farmers can both store and merchandise their grain
production.  The duties consist of reviewing financial statements
in the licensing process and periodic on-site audits of the
licensees’ facilities.

(C) A third responsibility of the division is the Commodity
Services Program which is responsible for checkoff collections of
nine Missouri commodities: beef, corn, soybeans, rice, sheep and
wool, wine, aquaculture, peaches, and apples. This program is
responsible for conducting seven (7) annual merchandising coun-
cil elections on behalf of the director: beef, corn, soybean, rice,
sheep, aquaculture, and wine.   

(2) The address of the main division office is—PO Box 630, 1616
Missouri Boulevard, [P.O. Box 630,] Jefferson City, MO 65102,
(573) 751-[2558]4112.

AUTHORITY: section 536.023, RSMo [Supp. 1998] 2016. Original
rule filed April 9, 1976, effective July 15, 1976. Amended: Filed Oct.
25, 1999, effective June 30, 2000. Amended: Filed May 18, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may submit a written
statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment.
Written statements shall be sent to the attention of Joe Walker, Grain
Regulatory Services, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102.
Comments may also be made on the Department of Agriculture’s
website: mda.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
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within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 60—Grain Inspection and Warehousing

Chapter 2—Grain Sampling

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 60-2.010 Grain Sampling. The director of the Department
of Agriculture was authorized to establish all necessary and reason-
able regulations and fees for sampling grain whenever the value of
grain was established by analysis of a sample drawn by the buyer or
his/her representative. This rule established a method that allowed
the seller that was dissatisfied with the buyer’s grade to obtain an
official analysis of his lot of grain from an official grain inspection
laboratory of the Department of Agriculture.

PURPOSE: The rule states, in section (8), it was only in effect until
January 1, 1979, unless renewed prior to that date by the director.
This rule has not been renewed and is outdated and not necessary.
265.505, RSMo provides adequate guidelines to protect sellers’ inter-
est.

AUTHORITY: section 265.505, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed Oct.
14, 1976, effective Jan. 14, 1977. Rescinded: Filed May 18, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may submit a written
statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission.
Written statements shall be sent to the attention of Joe Walker, Grain
Regulatory Services, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102.
Comments may also be made on the Department of Agriculture’s
website: mda.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 60—Grain Inspection and Warehousing

Chapter 4—Missouri Grain Warehouse Law

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 60-4.016 Application of Law. This rule explained the inter-
pretation made by the department regarding the application of
Missouri Grain Warehouse Law as provided in section 411.681,
RSMo.

PURPOSE: This rule is outdated and unnecessary. 411.015, RSMo
provides that all grain warehouses fall under the provision of the
Missouri Grain Warehouse Law (411, RSMo). 2 CSR 60-4.015 pro-
vides for exemption of train warehouses licensed under the United
States Warehouse Act to avoid duplication of licenses and obtrusive
burden to the business.

AUTHORITY: section 411.070, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed Jan.
5, 1993, effective June 7, 1993. Rescinded: Filed May 18, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the

aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may submit a written
statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission.
Written statements shall be sent to the attention of Joe Walker, Grain
Regulatory Services, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102.
Comments may also be made on the Department of Agriculture’s
website: mda.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 60—Grain Inspection and Warehousing

Chapter 4—Missouri Grain Warehouse Law

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 60-4.045 Weighing of Grain. This rule clarified who could
weigh or supervise the actual weighing of grain at terminal ware-
house locations, as well as at other grain warehouse locations, in
Missouri as described in sections 411.030 and 411.160, RSMo.

PURPOSE: The rule is outdated and unnecessary. 411.030, RSMo
provides the exclusive right for the Department of Agriculture to offi-
cially inspect and grade all grains for which standards have been
established under the United States Grain Standards Act. Section
411.060, RSMo further clarifies that official inspection and weighing
of grain will be performed by persons appointed by the Director of
Agriculture.  

AUTHORITY: section 411.070, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed Nov.
2, 1992, effective May 5, 1993. Rescinded: Filed May 18, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may submit a written
statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission.
Written statements shall be sent to the attention of Joe Walker, Grain
Regulatory Services, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102.
Comments may also be made on the Department of Agriculture’s
website: mda.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 60—Grain Inspection and Warehousing

Chapter 4—Missouri Grain Warehouse Law

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 60-4.060 Safety Requirements. This rule established the
responsibility for safe working conditions for employees of the
Department of Agriculture.

PURPOSE: This rule is unnecessary. 411.283 and 411.750, RSMo
require licensees to provide safe working conditions for employees of
the Department of Agriculture. This rule is a duplication of 411.283
and 411.759, RSMo.
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AUTHORITY: section 411.070, RSMo 1986. This rule was previously
filed as 2 CSR 40-4.060. Original rule filed May 5, 1972, effective
May 15, 1972. Amended: Filed Feb. 13, 1980, effective May 11,
1980. Rescinded and readopted: Filed Feb. 2, 1990, effective May
31, 1990. Rescinded: Filed May 18, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may submit a written
statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission.
Written statements shall be sent to the attention of Joe Walker, Grain
Regulatory Services, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102.
Comments may also be made on the Department of Agriculture’s
website: mda.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 60—Grain Inspection and Warehousing

Chapter 4—Missouri Grain Warehouse Law

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 60-4.070 Notification of Destruction or Damage to Grain.
This rule established the responsibility of a warehouseman to notify
the department if all or part of the grain contained in a licensed ware-
house was destroyed or damaged. 

PURPOSE: This rule is obsolete and not required by statute.
Monitoring of electronic news sources by the Department of
Agriculture provides information without required notification by the
warehouseman.

AUTHORITY: section 411.070, RSMo Supp. 1998. This rule was pre-
viously filed as 2 CSR 40-4.070. Original rule filed May 5, 1972,
effective May 15, 1972. For intervening history, please consult the
Code of State Regulations. Rescinded: Filed May 18, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may submit a written
statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission.
Written statements shall be sent to the attention of Joe Walker, Grain
Regulatory Services, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102.
Comments may also be made on the Department of Agriculture’s
website: mda.mo.gov.  To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 60—Grain Inspection and Warehousing

Chapter 4—Missouri Grain Warehouse Law

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 60-4.080 Storage Space Approval. The department is remov-

ing the form titled “Original Application for Missouri Grain
Warehouse and/or Missouri Grain Dealer License.”

PURPOSE: There is no change to the text of this rule. This rule is
being amended to remove the outdated form titled “Schedule of
Charges for Storing and Handling Grain.”

AUTHORITY: section 411.070, RSMo [1986] 2016. This rule was
previously filed as 2 CSR 40-4.080. Original rule filed May 5, 1972,
effective May 15, 1972. Amended: Filed Feb. 13, 1980, effective May
11, 1980. Rescinded and readopted: Filed Feb. 2, 1990, effective
May 31, 1990. Amended: Filed May 18, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may submit a written
statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment.
Written statements shall be sent to the attention of Joe Walker, Grain
Regulatory Services, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102.
Comments may also be made on the Department of Agriculture’s
website: mda.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 60—Grain Inspection and Warehousing

Chapter 4—Missouri Grain Warehouse Law

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 60-4.090 Scale Tickets. This rule defined a scale ticket, stat-
ed when the tickets must be completed and what information they
must contain.

PURPOSE: Amendments to Chapter 411 have incorporated items of
this rule, making this rule obsolete and unnecessary. This rule dupli-
cates 411.517 (amended 2014) and 411.518 (amended 1997) RSMo.

AUTHORITY: section 411.070, RSMo 1986. This rule was previously
filed as 2 CSR 40-4.090. Original rule filed May 5, 1972, effective
May 15, 1972. Amended: Filed Feb. 13, 1980, effective May 11,
1980. Rescinded and readopted: Filed Feb. 2, 1990, effective May
31, 1990. Rescinded: Filed May 18, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may submit a written
statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission.
Written statements shall be sent to the attention of Joe Walker, Grain
Regulatory Services, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102.
Comments may also be made on the Department of Agriculture’s
website: mda.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 60—Grain Inspection and Warehousing

Chapter 4—Missouri Grain Warehouse Law

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 60-4.120 Tariffs. The department is removing the form titled
“Schedule of Charges for Storing & Handling Grain.”

PURPOSE: There is no change to the text of this rule. This rule is
being amended to remove the outdated form titled “Schedule of
Charges for Storing and Handling Grain.”

AUTHORITY: section 411.070, RSMo [2000] 2016. Original rule
filed Feb. 13, 1980, effective May 11, 1980. Amended: Filed Dec. 29,
2015, effective June 30, 2016. Amended: Filed May 18, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may submit a written
statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment.
Written statements shall be sent to the attention of Joe Walker, Grain
Regulatory Services, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102.
Comments may also be made on the Department of Agriculture’s
website: mda.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 60—Grain Inspection and Warehousing

Chapter 4—Missouri Grain Warehouse Law

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 60-4.130 Acceptance of Appraisal Values on Financial
Statements. The department is removing the form titled “Application
to Submit Appraisal.”

PURPOSE: There is no change to the text of this rule. This rule is
being amended to remove the outdated form titled “Application to
Submit Appraisal.”

AUTHORITY: sections 411.070 and 411.260, RSMo [1986] 2016.
Original rule filed Jan. 11, 1985, effective May 26, 1985. Amended:
Filed March 16, 1988, effective June 27, 1988. Amended: Filed May
18, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may submit a written
statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment.
Written statements shall be sent to the attention of Joe Walker, Grain
Regulatory Services, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102.
Comments may also be made on the Department of Agriculture’s
website: mda.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 60—Grain Inspection and Warehousing

Chapter 4—Missouri Grain Warehouse Law

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

2 CSR 60-4.170 Insurance Deductible. The department is removing
the form titled “Certificate of Insurance on Grain in Licensed
Missouri Public Grain Warehouses.”

PURPOSE: There is no change to the text of this rule. This rule is
being amended to remove the outdated form titled “Certificate of
Insurance on Grain in Licensed Missouri Public Grain Warehouses.”

AUTHORITY: sections 411.070[, RSMo 1986] and 411.290, RSMo
[Supp. 1987] 2016. Original rule filed March 2, 1989, effective
May 25, 1989. Amended: Filed May 18, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may submit a written
statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment.
Written statements shall be sent to the attention of Joe Walker, Grain
Regulatory Services, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102.
Comments may also be made on the Department of Agriculture’s
website: mda.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 60—Grain Inspection and Warehousing

Chapter 5—Missouri Grain Dealer’s Law

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 60-5.040 Daily Position Record. This rule required Class I
and Class II grain dealers to keep a daily position record which
reflects grain movements in and out of the facility and total grain in
the facility.

PURPOSE: This rule is not applicable. A daily position record is not
required by the Missouri Grain Dealer Law (276.401-276.582,
RSMo).

AUTHORITY: section 276.406, RSMo Supp. 1999. Original rule
filed March 15, 1982, effective June 11, 1982. Amended: Filed Oct.
25, 1999, effective June 30, 2000. Rescinded: Filed May 18, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may submit a written
statement in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission.
Written statements shall be sent to the attention of Joe Walker, Grain
Regulatory Services, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102.
Comments may also be made on the Department of Agriculture’s
website: mda.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 110—Office of the Director 

Chapter 1—Missouri Qualified Fuel Ethanol Producer
Incentive Program 

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 110-1.010 Description of General Organization;
Definitions; Requirements of Eligibility, Licensing, Bonding, and
Application for Grants; Procedures for Grant Disbursements;
Record Keeping Requirements, and Verification Procedures for
the Missouri Qualified Fuel Ethanol Producer Incentive
Program. This rule described the operation of the program; defined
terms; established requirements for eligibility, licensing, bonding,
and application for grants; described procedures for grant disburse-
ments; and established record keeping requirements and verification
procedures.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded as section 142.028, RSMo
(and its grant of rulemaking authority) expired on December 31, 2015
per section 142.029, RSMo. All owed payments have been made to
qualified ethanol producers. 

AUTHORITY: section 142.028, RSMo Supp. 2002. Original rule filed
June 14, 1995, effective Dec. 30, 1995. Amended: Filed June 13,
2000, effective Dec. 30, 2000. Emergency amendment filed Aug. 14,
2002, effective Aug. 28, 2002, expired Feb. 23, 2003. Amended:
Filed Aug. 14, 2002, effective Feb. 28, 2003. Rescinded: Filed May
21, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Alan Freeman, PO Box
630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson City, MO 65102, or online
at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Division 110—Office of the Director

Chapter 2—Missouri Qualified Biodiesel Producer 
Incentive Program

PROPOSED RESCISSION

2 CSR 110-2.010 Description of General Organization;
Definitions; Requirements of Eligibility, Licensing, Application
for Grants; Procedures for Grant Disbursements; Record
Keeping Requirements, and Verification Procedures for the
Missouri Qualified Biodiesel Producer Incentive Program. This
rule described the operation of the program; defined terms; estab-
lished requirements for eligibility, licensing, and application for
grants; described procedures for grant disbursements; and estab-
lished record keeping requirements and verification procedures.

PURPOSE: The rule is being rescinded as section 142.031, RSMo
expired December 31, 2009. The rule is no longer necessary because
the eligible producers have already submitted applications and met
the requirements necessary to receive payments.

AUTHORITY: section 142.031, RSMo Supp. 2007. Emergency rule
filed July 20, 2006, effective Aug. 28, 2006, expired Feb. 23, 2007.
Original rule filed July 20, 2006, effective Feb. 28, 2007. Amended:
Filed June 4, 2008, effective Dec. 30, 2008. Rescinded: Filed May
21, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Agriculture, ATTN: Alan Freeman, PO Box
630, 1616 Missouri Boulevard, Jefferson City, MO 65102, or online
at Agriculture.Mo.Gov/proposed-rules/. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC 
DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission
Chapter 3—Filing and Reporting Requirements

PROPOSED RESCISSION

4 CSR 240-3.161 Electric Utility Fuel and Purchased Power Cost
Recovery Mechanisms Filing and Submission Requirements. This
rule set forth the information that an electric utility was to provide
when it sought to establish, continue, modify, or discontinue and/or
true-up its rate adjustment mechanism (i.e., fuel and purchased
power adjustment clause or interim energy charge). It also set forth
the requirements for the submission of Surveillance Monitoring
Reports as required for electric utilities that had a rate adjustment
mechanism.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded in its entirety because the
requirements have been consolidated into 4 CSR 240-20.090.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 393.140, RSMo 2000 and
386.266, RSMo Supp. 2005. Original rule filed June 16, 2006, effec-
tive Jan. 30, 2007. Rescinded: Filed May 24, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition to
the proposed rescission with the Missouri Public Service Commission,
Morris L. Woodruff, Secretary of the Commission, 200 Madison
Street. PO Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0360. To be considered,
comments must be received at the commission’s offices on or before
August 6, 2018, and should include a reference to Commission Case
No. EX-2016-0294.  Comments may also be submitted via a filing
using the commission’s electronic filing and information system at
http://www.psc.mo.gov/efis.asp. A public hearing is scheduled for
August 13, 2018 at 10:00 a.m., in Room 310 of the Governor Office
Building, 200 Madison St., Jefferson City, Missouri.  Interested per-
sons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments and/or
testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission,
and may be asked to respond to commission questions. 
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SPECIAL NEEDS: Any persons with special needs, as addressed by
the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Missouri
Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing
at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-
800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC 
DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission
Chapter 10—Utilities

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-10.085 Incentives for Acquisition of Nonviable Utilities

PURPOSE: The purpose of this proposed rule is to create a process
for a water or sewer utility to propose an acquisition incentive to
encourage acquisition of nonviable water or sewer utilities by a water
or sewer utility with the resources to rehabilitate the acquired utility
within a reasonable time frame.

(1) As used in this rule, the following terms mean:
(A) Nonviable utility—

1. A utility that is in violation of statutory or regulatory stan-
dards that affect the safety and adequacy of the service provided,
including, but not limited to, the public service commission law, the
federal clean water law, the federal Safe Drinking Water Act, as
amended, and the regulations adopted under these laws; 

2. A utility that has failed to comply, within a reasonable period
of time, with any order of the department of natural resources or the
commission concerning the safety and adequacy of service; 

3. A utility that is not reasonably expected to furnish and main-
tain safe and adequate service and facilities in the future; or

4. A utility that is insolvent;
(B) Rate of return premiums. Additional rate of return basis points,

up to one hundred (100) basis points, awarded at the commission’s
discretion in recognition of risks involved in acquisition of nonviable
utilities and the associated system improvement costs; 

(C) Debit acquisition adjustment. Adjustments to an acquiring util-
ity’s rate base to reflect a portion or all of the excess acquisition cost
over depreciated original cost of the acquired system; and 

(D) Plant-in-service study. A report detailing a determination of
the value of the original costs of the property of a public utility that
requires the acquiring utility to accumulate the records and account-
ing details in order to support reasonable plant, reserve, and contri-
butions in aid of construction balances.

(2) An application for an acquisition incentive in the form of a rate
of return premium and/or debit acquisition adjustment must be filed
at the beginning of a case seeking authority under sections 393.190
or 393.170, RSMo. If the commission determines the request for an
acquisition incentive is in the public interest, it shall grant the
request. The commission may apply a rate of return premium and/or
debit acquisition adjustment in the applicant’s next rate case proceed-
ing following acquisition of a nonviable utility if the commission
determines it will not result in unjust or unreasonable rates. 

(3) Filing Requirements—
(A) An application for an acquisition incentive to acquire a nonvi-

able utility shall include the following:
1. A statement as to whether the nonviable utility is related to

the operation of another utility (for example, a water or sewer system
providing service to the same or similar service area) and whether
the related utility operation is part of the transaction;

2. Records related to the original cost of the nonviable utility.
The acquiring utility must exercise due diligence and make reason-
able attempts to obtain, from the seller, documents related to original

cost. In particular, as part of its exercise of due diligence, the acquir-
ing utility shall request, from the seller, for purposes of conducting
the plant-in-service study, records relating to the original cost of the
assets being acquired and records relating to contributions in aid of
construction (CIAC) amounts, including:

A. Accounting records and other relevant documentation, and
agreements of donations of contributions, services, or property from
states, municipalities, or other government agencies, individuals, and
others for construction purposes;

B. Records of un-refunded balances in customer advances for
construction (CAC); 

C. Records of customer tap-in fees and hook-up fees; 
D. Prior original cost studies; 
E. Records of local, state, and federal grants used for con-

struction of utility plant;
F. Relevant commission records;
G. A summary of the depreciation schedules from all filed

federal tax returns; and
H. Other accounting records supporting plant-in-service; and

3. If the system to be acquired is part of a larger transaction
involving multiple systems of which some do not qualify as nonvi-
able, a detailed revenue and rate base plan describing how the acquir-
ing utility will only apply the sought acquisition adjustment to the
nonviable system(s) within the larger transaction; 

(B) If any of the items required under paragraph (3)(A)2. are
unavailable at the time the application is filed, they shall be furnished
by the acquiring utility prior  to  the next rate case; and 

(C) The failure of a seller to provide cost-related documents, after
reasonable attempts to obtain the data, will not be a basis for the
acquiring utility to provide incomplete information about the value of
the acquired system’s assets in its proposed rate base.  Any informa-
tion not available from the seller shall be estimated by the acquiring
utility, along with documentation supporting the reasonableness of
the estimates developed.

(4) When submitting an application for an acquisition incentive to
acquire a nonviable utility, the acquiring utility has the burden of
proof and shall demonstrate the following: 

(A) The acquiring utility is not a nonviable utility and will not be
materially impaired by the acquisition; 

(B) The acquiring utility maintains the managerial, technical, and
financial capabilities to safely and adequately operate the system to
be acquired; 

(C) The system to be acquired is a nonviable utility;
(D) The purchase price and financial terms of the acquisition are

fair and reasonable and have been reached through arm’s-length
negotiations; 

(E) Any plant improvements necessary to make the utility viable
will be completed within a period of time no longer than three (3)
years after the effective date of acquisition; 

(F) How managerial or operational deficiencies that can be cor-
rected without capital improvements will be corrected within six (6)
months of the acquisition; 

(G) How capital improvements and operational changes planned
within the next three (3) years will correct deficiencies;  

(H) The acquisition is in the public interest; and 
(I) The acquisition would be unlikely to occur without the proba-

bility of obtaining an acquisition incentive.

(5) If the acquisition incentive is approved by the commission, the
utility shall file a rate case no later than twelve (12) months after
commission approval of the acquisition or within the period of time
as ordered by the commission in section 393.190 or 393.170, RSMo
case, unless the utility requests and the commission otherwise
approves. Rate impacts of the approved incentive mechanism will go
into effect upon order of the commission at the conclusion of that
first rate case proceeding. If the acquisition incentive is approved in
section 393.190 or 393.170, RSMo case, prior to its next rate case,
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the acquiring utility shall—
(A) Book contributions that were properly recorded on the books

of the acquired system as CIAC. If evidence supports other CIAC
that was not booked by the seller, the acquiring utility shall make an
effort, supported with documentation, to determine the actual CIAC
and record the contributions for ratemaking purposes, such as lot sale
agreements or capitalization vs. expense of plant-in-service on tax
returns; 

(B) Identify all plant retirements and plant no longer used and use-
ful, and complete the appropriate accounting entries; and

(C) If the records are not available from the acquired system to
complete subsection (5)(A) or (5)(B), on a going-forward basis, cre-
ate and maintain documentation of (5)(A) and (5)(B) from the date
of acquisition. 

(6) If a debit acquisition adjustment is approved, in its next rate case
proceeding, an acquiring utility shall file a plant-in-service study to
support the amount of its requested acquisition adjustment addition
to its rate base. The acquiring utility shall reconcile and explain any
discrepancies between the acquiring utility’s plant-in-service study of
original cost valuation and the commission’s records, to the extent
reasonably known and available to the acquiring utility, at the same
time the supporting documentation for the study is filed. Any dis-
putes regarding the acquiring utility’s plant-in-service study will be
resolved in that first subsequent rate case proceeding.  

(7) Nothing in the rule precludes an acquiring utility that pays less
than the depreciated original cost of the acquired system from seek-
ing to include in rate base an amount up to the depreciated original
cost of the acquired system.

(8) Provisions of this rule may be waived by the commission for good
cause shown.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.040, 386.250, 393.140, and 393.146,
RSMo 2016. Original rule filed May 30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to the proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission,
Morris L. Woodruff, Secretary of the Commission, 200 Madison
Street, PO Box 360, Jefferson City MO 65102-0360. To be consid-
ered, comments must be received at the commission’s offices on or
before August 1, 2018, and should include a reference to Commission
Case No. AX-2018-0240. Comments may also be submitted via a fil-
ing using the commission’s electronic filing and information system
at http://www.psc.mo.gov/efis.asp. A public hearing is scheduled for
August 7, 2018 at 10:00 a.m., in Room 305 of the Governor Office
Building, 200 Madison St., Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested per-
sons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments
and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule,
and may be asked to respond to commission questions. 

SPECIAL NEEDS: Any persons with special needs, as addressed by
the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Missouri
Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing
at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-
800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC 
DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission
Chapter 10—Utilities

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 240-10.095 Environmental Improvement Contingency Fund

PURPOSE: This rule provides parameters and procedures for small
water and/or sewer utilities to request a special fund to collect rev-
enue from customers to make  improvements necessitated by environ-
mental regulations.

(1) For the purposes of this rule only, a water or sewer utility serving
eight thousand (8,000) or fewer customers shall be considered a
small utility.

(2) A small utility or commission staff may request establishment of
an Environmental Improvement Contingency Fund (EICF) during the
course of a rate case, whether filed pursuant to 4 CSR 240-10.075 or
section 393.150, RSMo.

(3) Following the request for an EICF, the staff will—
(A) Investigate the small utility’s financial resources and its ability

to finance capital improvements;
(B) Conduct a managerial audit to determine the quality of the

small utility’s management; and
(C) Conduct a comprehensive review of the necessary improve-

ments at the small utility. 

(4) An EICF may only go into effect if, at the conclusion of the rate
case where the small utility or commission staff requests an ECIF,
the commission approves the following items:

(A) A list of necessary improvements.
1. The list of necessary improvements may only include those

improvements that— 
A. Are directly related to environmental rules, regulations, or

orders of the Missouri Department of Natural Resources (DNR), the
United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), or other reg-
ulatory authority including, but not limited to, federal, state, or local
authorities, city ordinances, and the state attorney general; and

B. Are reasonably anticipated to be completed within five (5)
years of the effective date of new rates, although, for good cause
shown, the commission may consider projects that require longer to
complete; and

2. During the rate case, upon request by the small utility or by
direction of the commission, staff will assist the utility in identifying
a list of necessary improvements;

(B) An estimated amount of funds necessary for the improvements
in the list described in subsection (4)(A).

1. Staff and the small utility will submit the estimated amount
of funds necessary for the improvements, which may include costs
for preliminary engineering reports related to those improvements.  

2. The percentage of the estimated amount collectable through
an EICF will be based on an analysis of the needs of the small utility
and its ability to secure financing through normal debt or equity
sources. The commission may give special consideration to requests
that do not require full funding of the estimated amount collectible. 

3. If a requested EICF includes funds for a preliminary engi-
neering report, the report must be completed and submitted to the
commission prior to the first disbursement from the EICF account;
and    

(C) A schedule for completion of the list of improvements required
by subsection (4)(A). Upon request by the small utility or by direc-
tion of the commission, staff will assist the small utility in preparing
such a schedule. 

Page 1425
July 2, 2018
Vol. 43, No. 13 Missouri Register



(5) The EICF must be collected as a part of the customer charge on
customers’ bills.

(A) Revenues collected must be recorded by the small utility and
placed into a commission-approved account specifically segregated
from all other utility accounts, for the explicit purpose of regulatory
review and tracking.

(B) Funds held in the EICF account shall only be disbursed to pay
for projects approved during the rate case as noted in section (4)
above.  

(C) Disbursements from the EICF account shall only be made
after notice to staff and public counsel.

1. The notice must be sent to staff and public counsel at least
thirty (30) days prior to a disbursement.

2. If any party objects to the proposed disbursement, detailed
objections must be filed in the official case file in which the EICF
was approved no later than ten (10) days after receiving the disburse-
ment notice. The commission may then determine whether or not to
approve the requested disbursement of the funds.

3. If no timely objection is raised or staff and public counsel
notify the small utility they agree to the disbursement, the small util-
ity may make the disbursement described in its notice no later than
the date specified in that notice. 

4. The commission will resolve any dispute regarding the pro-
posed disbursements prior to the specified disbursement date.

(6) Every quarter after receiving commission approval of an EICF,
the small utility shall submit documentation to staff and public coun-
sel reporting—

(A) Monthly EICF funds received from customers;
(B) Monthly EICF deposits to the escrow account; 
(C) Monthly EICF expenditures; and
(D) End-of-month balance of the EICF account.

(7) After an EICF is established, the small utility shall file a subse-
quent rate request no later than five (5) years after the effective date
of the EICF, during which—  

(A) Any monies expended from the fund shall be treated as con-
tributions-in-aid-of-construction for purposes of setting rates for the
small utility. The EICF will be trued-up and will be reviewed to
determine if it should—

1. Remain in effect at the current rate; or 
2. Remain in effect at a different rate; or 
3. Be terminated. 

(8) Staff or the public counsel may, at their discretion, bring before
the commission a complaint against the small utility seeking both
civil penalties and direction from the commission to promptly stop
all collection of an EICF if, upon review of documentation described
in section (6) above, staff, public counsel, or another regulatory
authority has indication that the small utility has used EICF funds for
any purpose other than as approved by the commission. Nothing in
this rule shall prohibit civil or criminal action by any state or federal
authority against the small utility for misuse of customer funds.

(9) Provisions of this rule may be waived by the commission for good
cause shown.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.040, 386.250, 393.140, and 393.270,
RSMo 2016. Original rule filed May 30, 2018. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-

MENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to the proposed rule with the Missouri Public Service Commission,
Morris L. Woodruff, Secretary of the Commission, 200 Madison
Street, PO Box 360, Jefferson City MO 65102-0360.  To be consid-
ered, comments must be received at the commission’s offices on or
before August 1, 2018, and should include a reference to Commission
Case No. AX-2018-0241.  Comments may also be submitted via a fil-
ing using the commission’s electronic filing and information system
at http://www.psc.mo.gov/efis.asp. A public hearing is scheduled for
August 7, 2018 at 2:00 p.m., in Room 305 of the Governor Office
Building, 200 Madison St., Jefferson City, Missouri.  Interested per-
sons may appear at this hearing to submit additional comments
and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule,
and may be asked to respond to commission questions. 

SPECIAL NEEDS: Any persons with special needs, as addressed by
the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Missouri
Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing
at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-
800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC 
DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission
Chapter 20—Electric Utilities

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 240-20.090 [Electric Utility] Fuel and Purchased Power
[Cost Recovery] Rate Adjustment Mechanisms. The commission
is amending and revising all sections of this rule to consolidate the
filing requirements for applications for fuel adjustment clauses to be
established, continued, or modified.  

PURPOSE: This proposed amendment modifies the definitions,
structure, operation, and procedures relevant to the filing and pro-
cessing of applications to allow fuel and purchased power costs and
fuel-related revenues in an interim energy charge or a fuel adjustment
clause. The interim energy charge is established in a general rate
proceeding, while the fuel adjustment clause allows periodic rate
adjustments outside general rate proceedings. 

(1) [Definitions. As used in this rule, the following terms
mean as follows:] The following subsections define various
terms as used in this rule:

(A) Accumulation period means the time period set by the
commission in the general rate proceeding over which historical
fuel and purchased power costs and fuel-related revenues are
accumulated for purposes of determining the actual net energy
costs (ANEC). An accumulation period may be a time period
between three (3) and twelve (12) months with the timing and
number of accumulation periods to be determined in the general
rate proceeding establishing, continuing, or modifying the FAC;

(B) Actual net energy costs (ANEC) means prudently incurred
fuel and purchased power costs minus fuel-related revenues of a
rate adjustment mechanism (RAM) during the accumulation
period;

(C) Base energy costs means the fuel and purchased power
costs net of fuel-related revenues determined by the commission
to be included in a RAM that are also included in the revenue
requirement used to set base rates in a general rate case;

(D) Base factor (BF) means the base energy costs per kilowatt
hour (kWh) measured at the regional transmission organization’s
applicable price node for the electric utility’s load or, if the elec-
tric utility is not a participant in a regional transmission organi-
zation, at the generator. The base factor(s) shall be established in
a general rate proceeding and may vary by season of the year;
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(E) Base rates means the tariffed rates that do not change
between general rate proceedings;

[(A)](F) Electric utility or utility means electrical corporation as
defined in section 386.020, RSMo, subject to commission regulation
pursuant to Chapters 386 and 393, RSMo;

(G) EFIS means the electronic filing and information system of
the commission;

(H) FAC charge means the positive or negative dollar amount
on each utility customer’s bill, which in the aggregate is to recov-
er from or return to customers the fuel and purchased power
adjustment (FPA) amount; 

(I) Fuel adjustment clause (FAC) means a mechanism estab-
lished in a general rate proceeding which is designed to recover
from or return to customers the fuel and purchased power
adjustment (FPA) amounts through periodic changes to the fuel
adjustment rates made outside a general rate proceeding;

(J) Fuel adjustment rate (FAR) means the rate used to deter-
mine the FAC charge on each utility customer’s bill during a
recovery period of a FAC. The FAR shall be designed to recover
from or return to customers the recovery period FPA. The FAR
may be positive or negative;

(K) Fuel and purchased power adjustment (FPA) means the
dollar amount intended to be recovered from or returned to cus-
tomers during a given recovery period of a FAC. The FPA may be
positive or negative. It includes:

1. The difference between the ANEC and NBEC during the
corresponding accumulation period taking into account any
incentive ordered by the commission;

2. True-up amount(s) ordered by the commission prior to or
on the same day as commission approval of the FAR adjustment;

3. Interest on the FPA, true-up amount, and any prudence
adjustment;

4. Prudence adjustment(s) ordered by the commission since
the last FAR adjustment; and

5. Any other adjustment ordered by the commission;
[(B)](L) Fuel and purchased power costs means prudently incurred

and used fuel and purchased power costs, including transportation
costs. Prudently incurred costs do not include any increased costs
resulting from negligent or wrongful acts or omissions by the utility.
If not inconsistent with a commission approved incentive plan, fuel
and purchased power costs also include prudently incurred actual
costs of net cash payments or receipts associated with hedging instru-
ments tied to specific volumes of fuel and associated transportation
costs.

1. If off-system sales revenues are not reflected in the rate
adjustment mechanism (RAM), fuel and purchased power costs shall
only reflect the prudently incurred fuel and purchased power costs
necessary to serve the electric utility’s Missouri retail customers.

[2. If off-system sales revenues are reflected in the
RAM, fuel and purchased power costs reflect both:

A. The prudently incurred fuel and purchased power
costs necessary to serve the electric utility’s Missouri retail
customers; and

B. The prudently incurred fuel and purchased power
costs associated with the electric utility’s off-system sales;

(C) Fuel adjustment clause (FAC) means a mechanism
established in a general rate proceeding that allows periodic
rate adjustments, outside a general rate proceeding, to
reflect increases and decreases in an electric utility’s pru-
dently incurred fuel and purchased power costs. The FAC
may or may not include offsystem sales revenues and asso-
ciated costs. The commission shall determine whether or not
to reflect off-system sales revenues and associated costs in
a FAC in the general rate proceeding that establishes, contin-
ues or modifies the FAC;]

2. Fuel and purchased power costs do not include environ-
mental costs as defined in 4 CSR 240-20.091(1) or renewable
energy standard compliance costs as defined in 4 CSR 240-

20.100(1); 
(M) Fuel-related revenues means those revenues related to the

generation, sale, or purchase of energy. Fuel-related revenues
may include, but are not limited to, off-system sales, emission
allowance sales, and renewable energy credits or certificates
whenever such renewable energy credits or certificates are not
included in a Renewable Energy Standard Rate Adjustment
Mechanism (RESRAM) in compliance with 4 CSR 240-20.100;

[(D)](N) General rate proceeding means a general rate increase
proceeding or complaint proceeding before the commission in which
all relevant factors that may affect the costs, or rates and charges of
the electric utility are considered by the commission;

[(E) Initial RAM rules means the rules first adopted by the
commission to implement Senate Bill 179 of the Laws of
Missouri 2005;]

(O) Interest means monthly interest at the utility’s short term
borrowing rate to accurately and appropriately remedy any over-
or under-billing during a recovery period, true-up, or any com-
mission ordered refund of imprudently incurred costs;

[(F)](P) Interim energy charge (IEC) means [a refundable fixed
charge,] a mechanism that includes a refundable fixed amount
billed through an interim energy rate (IER) established in a gen-
eral rate proceeding[,] that permits an electric utility to recover some
or all of its fuel and purchased power costs separate from the fuel
and purchased power costs included in its base rates. [An IEC
may or may not include offsystem sales and revenues and
associated costs. The commission shall determine whether
or not to reflect off-system sales revenues and associated
costs in an IEC in the general rate proceeding that establish-
es, continues or modifies the IEC;] Base energy cost in the base
rates is the floor of the IEC. The base energy cost plus the fuel
and purchased power costs billed through the IER is the ceiling
of the IEC. An IEC may or may not include fuel-related revenues
and costs related to those revenues; 

(Q) Megawatt hour (mWh) is one (1) million watt hours or one
thousand (1,000) kilowatt hours (kWh);

(R) MCF is one thousand (1,000) cubic feet of natural gas;
(S) MMBtu is equal to one (1) million Btus; 
(T) Net base energy costs (NBEC) means the product of the

utility’s base factor (BF) times the kWh measured at the regional
transmission organization’s price node for the electric utility’s
load or, if the electric utility is not a participant in a regional
transmission organization at the generator, for the accumulation
period;  

(U) Other parties means any party to the applicant’s most
recent general rate proceeding in which the RAM at issue was
established, continued, or modified;

[(G)](V) Rate adjustment mechanism (RAM) refers to either a
commission-approved fuel adjustment clause (FAC) or a commis-
sion-approved interim energy charge (IEC);

(W) Rebase base energy costs means the resetting of the base
energy cost in each general rate proceeding in which the FAC is
continued or modified;

(X) Recovery period means the period over which the FAR is
applied to retail customer usage on a per kilowatt-hour (kWh)
basis in an effort to recover the FPA. A recovery period is deter-
mined in a general rate case and shall not be longer than twelve
(12) billing months; 

[(H)](Y) Staff means the staff of the Public Service Commission;
and

[(I) True-up year means the twelve (12)-month period
beginning on the first day of the first calendar month follow-
ing the effective date of the commission order approving a
RAM unless the effective date is on the first day of the cal-
endar month. If the effective date of the commission order
approving a rate mechanism is on the first day of a calendar
month, then the true-up year begins on the effective date of
the commission order. The first annual true-up period shall
end on the last day of the twelfth calendar month following
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the effective date of the commission order establishing the
RAM. Subsequent true-up years shall be the succeeding
twelve (12)-month periods. If a general rate proceeding is
concluded prior to the conclusion of a true-up year, the true-
up year may be less than twelve (12) months.]

(Z) True-up amount means—
1. For a FAC, the true-up amount shall be the difference

between the FPA and the utility’s aggregate FAC charges billed
for a recovery period. If the aggregate FAC charges billed for
recovery period are more than the FPA, the true-up amount will
be negative. If the aggregate FAC charges billed for a recovery
period are less than the FPA, the true-up amount will be positive.

A. The electric utility may request in its general rate case
to use the final Regional Transmission Organization (RTO) deter-
minants to update the FPA for its true-up if the electric utility
belongs to an RTO where the RTO may, after the beginning of the
recovery period, finalize the determinants used to calculate the
FPA for the recovery period. 

2. For an IEC, the true-up amount shall be determined as
follows for each consecutive twelve- (12-) month period—

A. If the actual fuel and purchased power cost is greater
than the IEC ceiling, the true-up amount shall be zero;

B. If the actual fuel and purchased power cost is less than
the IEC ceiling and greater than the IEC floor, the true-up
amount shall be the difference between the actual fuel and pur-
chased power cost and the combined IEC billed plus the base
energy cost. The customers will be credited/refunded this
amount; or

C. If the actual fuel and purchased power cost is less than
the IEC floor, the true-up amount shall be the aggregate IEC
billed. The customers will be credited/refunded this amount.

(2) [Applications to Establish, Continue or Modify a RAM.
Pursuant to the provisions of this rule, 4 CSR 240-2.060 and
section 386.266, RSMo, only] Establishment, Continuance, or
Modification of a RAM. [a]An electric utility may only file a
request with the commission to establish, continue, or modify a
RAM in a general rate proceeding [may file an application with
the commission to establish, continue or modify a RAM by fil-
ing tariff schedules]. Any party in a general rate proceeding [in
which a RAM is effective or proposed] may seek to continue,
modify, or oppose the RAM. The commission shall approve, modify,
or reject such [applications to establish a RAM] request only after
providing the opportunity for a full hearing in a general rate proceed-
ing. The commission shall consider all relevant factors that may affect
the costs or overall rates and charges of the petitioning electric utility.

[(A) The commission may approve the establishment, con-
tinuation or modification of a RAM and associated rate
schedules provided that it finds that the RAM it approves is
reasonably designed to provide the electric utility with a suf-
ficient opportunity to earn a fair return on equity and so long
as the rate schedules that implement the RAM conform to
the RAM approved by the commission.

(B) The commission may take into account any change in
business risk to the utility resulting from establishment, con-
tinuation or modification of the RAM in setting the electric
utility’s allowed return in any rate proceeding, in addition to
any other changes in business risk experienced by the elec-
tric utility.

(C) In determining which cost components to include in a
RAM, the commission will consider, but is not limited to only
considering, the magnitude of the costs, the ability of the
utility to manage the costs, the volatility of the cost compo-
nent and the incentive provided to the utility as a result of
the inclusion or exclusion of the cost component. The com-
mission may, in its discretion, determine what portion of pru-
dently incurred fuel and purchased power costs may be
recovered in a RAM and what portion shall be recovered in

base rates.
(D) The electric utility shall include in its initial notice to

customers regarding the general rate case, a commission
approved description of how the costs passed through the
proposed RAM requested shall be applied to monthly bills.]

(A) The electric utility shall file the following supporting infor-
mation, in electronic format where available (with formulas
intact), as part of, or in addition to, its direct testimony:

1. An example of the notice to be provided to customers to
be approved by the commission. The notice shall include a
description of how its proposed RAM shall be applied to monthly
bills, the electric utility’s estimate of the amount of the proposed
change in rates arising from changes in the base energy costs, and
the estimated impact on a typical residential customer’s bill
resulting from the proposed change to the base energy costs;

2. An example customer bill showing how the proposed
RAM shall be separately identified on affected customers’ bills in
accordance with section (12);

3. Proposed RAM tariff sheets;
4. A detailed description of the design and intended opera-

tion of the proposed RAM;
5. A detailed explanation of how the proposed RAM is rea-

sonably designed to provide the electric utility a sufficient oppor-
tunity to earn a fair return on equity;

6. A detailed explanation of how the proposed FAC shall be
trued-up for over-and under-billing, or how and when the
refundable portion of the proposed IEC shall be trued-up;

7. A detailed description of how the electric utility’s monthly
short-term interest rate will be defined and how it will be
applied, during the accumulation period and the recovery peri-
od, to true-up amounts and prudence disallowances;

8. A detailed description of how the proposed RAM is com-
patible with the requirement for prudence reviews;

9. In order for the commission to make the determination in
subsection (C), a detailed explanation of each fuel and purchased
power cost type and fuel-related revenue type that is to be recov-
ered under the proposed RAM including, but not limited to—

A. Why the cost or revenue type should be included in the
RAM; 

B. The cost incurred or revenue received by the electric
utility’s proposed test year; 

C. The annual expected magnitude of the cost or revenue
for the next four (4) years; 

D. A measure of volatility and the reason for the volatility
of the cost or revenue type; 

E. The uncertainty surrounding the cost or revenue type
and the reason for the uncertainty; 

F. An explanation of how the electric utility manages the
cost or revenue type; and 

G. The specific account or any other designation ordered
by the commission where the cost or revenue type will be record-
ed on the electric utility’s books and records;

10. A detailed explanation of the fuel-related revenues that
are to be considered in determining the amount to be recovered
under the proposed RAM with identification of the specific
account and any other designation ordered by the commission
where that revenue will be recorded on the electric utility’s books
and records;

11. A detailed explanation of any incentive feature in the
proposed RAM with the expected benefit and cost each feature is
intended to produce for both the electric utility and its Missouri
retail customers;

12. A detailed explanation of any rate volatility mitigation
feature in the proposed RAM;

13. A detailed explanation of any feature of the proposed
RAM and any existing electric utility policy, procedure, or prac-
tice that ensures only prudent fuel and purchased power costs
and fuel-related revenue shall be recovered through the proposed
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RAM, including, but not limited to, competitive bidding prac-
tices;

14. If the proposed RAM includes incorporating fuel and
purchased power costs and fuel-related revenue in the electric
utility’s base rates, a detailed explanation of the methodology
used to allocate fuel and purchased power costs and fuel-related
revenue to specific customer classes in the base rates and in any
subsequent rate adjustments during the term of the proposed
RAM;

15. A detailed explanation of the rate design of the RAM for
each customer class, including at a minimum the electric utility’s
justification for the methodology chosen for determining the rate
design and how that methodology is consistent with the method-
ology used to allocate fuel costs, purchased power costs, and fuel-
related revenue in base rates; 

16. A detailed explanation of any change to the electric util-
ity’s business risk resulting from implementation of the proposed
RAM, in addition to any other changes in business risk the elec-
tric utility may experience;

17. A detailed explanation of any risk to each of the electric
utility’s Missouri retail customer classes resulting from imple-
mentation of the proposed RAM, including the electric utility’s
estimated quantification of any risk and how the electric utility
will manage that risk;

18. A copy of the results of heat rate tests and/or efficiency
tests that were conducted on each of the electric utility’s steam
generators, including nuclear steam generators, heat recovery
steam generators, steam turbines, and combustion turbines for
the electric utility’s general rate proceeding proposing to estab-
lish, continue, or modify the RAM.  The electric utility may, in
lieu of filing the foregoing results with the commission, provide
the results to staff, Office of the Public Counsel (OPC), and
other parties as part of the workpapers it provides in connection
with its direct case filing.   If the electric utility submits the heat
rate tests and/or efficiency tests in workpapers, it will provide a
statement in its testimony as to where the results can be found in
workpapers;

19. Information that shows that the electric utility has in
place a long-term resource planning process;

20. If the electric utility proposes to include emissions
allowances costs or sales revenue in the proposed FAC and not in
an environmental cost recovery mechanism, a detailed explana-
tion of its emissions management policy, and its forecasted envi-
ronmental investments, emissions allowances purchases, and
emissions allowances sales;

21. For each power generating unit the electric utility owns
or controls, in whole or in part, the electric utility shall file
graphs, accompanied by the data supporting the graphs, for each
month over the immediately preceding five (5) years, showing the
monthly equivalent availability factor, the monthly equivalent
forced outage rate, and the length and timing of each planned
outage of that unit; and

22. Authorization for the staff to release to all parties to the
general rate proceeding in which the establishment of a RAM is
requested, the previous five (5) years of historical surveillance
monitoring reports the electric utility submitted in EFIS.   

(B) An electric utility filing for modification or continuance of
a RAM in which the information required in subsection (2)(A)
has been previously filed with the commission as part of a general
rate proceeding and has not changed, may certify that the infor-
mation has not changed, in lieu of providing copies of informa-
tion, and provide to all parties the general rate case number and
location in EFIS, including the EFIS item and page number
where the information can be found. An electric utility filing to
continue or modify a RAM must also provide to all parties any
additional information the commission ordered the electric utility
to provide when seeking to continue or modify its RAM.

(C) The commission may approve the establishment, continua-

tion, or modification of a RAM and associated tariff sheets pro-
vided that it finds that the RAM is reasonably designed to pro-
vide the electric utility with a sufficient opportunity to earn a fair
return on equity and so long as the tariff sheets that implement
the RAM conform to the RAM approved by the commission.  The
commission may consider, but is not limited to, considering—

1. Fuel and purchased power costs, fuel-related revenues
that would flow through the RAM, or other factors it deems
appropriate;

2. Any change in business risk of the utility resulting from
establishment, continuation, or modification of the RAM in set-
ting the electric utility’s allowed return on equity in any general
rate proceeding, in addition to any other changes in business risk
experienced by the electric utility; and

3. In determining which fuel and purchased power cost
types and fuel-related revenue types to include in a RAM, the
commission may consider the magnitude of each cost or revenue
type, the ability of the utility to manage each cost or revenue
type, the volatility of each cost or revenue type and the incentive
provided to the utility as a result of the inclusion or exclusion of
each cost or revenue type. The commission may, in its discretion,
determine what portion of prudently incurred fuel and pur-
chased power costs and fuel-related revenues may be recovered in
a RAM and what portion shall be recovered in base rates.  

[(E)](D) Any party to the general rate proceeding may oppose [the
establishment, continuation or modification of a] any RAM
and/or may propose alternative RAMs for the commission’s consid-
eration [including but not limited to modifications to the elec-
tric utility’s proposed RAM].

[(F)](E) The RAM, and [periodic adjustments thereto] any
adjustments to the FARs if a FAC is approved, shall be based on
historical fuel and purchased power costs and fuel-related revenues. 

[(G) The electric utility shall meet the filing requirements
in 4 CSR 240-3.161(2) in conjunction with an application to
establish a RAM and 4 CSR 240-3.161(3) in conjunction
with an application to continue or modify a RAM.]

(F) For an electric utility with a FAC, the utility shall include
in its proposed tariff sheets provisions which shall accurately and
appropriately remedy any true-up amount as part of the electric
utility’s determination of its FPA for a change to its FARs. The
proposed tariff sheets shall include, at a minimum: 

1. When the electric utility will file for a true-up; 
2. How the true-up amount will be determined including,

but not limited to, any recalculation of the FPA; and
3. How and when the true-up amount will be recovered.

For an electric utility with an IEC mechanism, a true-up must be
filed within sixteen (16) months of the operation of law date of
the IEC and be filed annually thereafter.

[(H)](G) Any party to the general rate proceeding may propose a
cap on the [change in the FAC, reasonably designed] periodic
changes to the fuel adjustment rate (FAR), to mitigate volatility in
rates, provided it proposes a method for the utility to recover all of
the costs it would be entitled to recover in the FAC, together with
interest thereon.

(3) [Application for Discontinuation of a RAM. The commis-
sion shall allow or require the rate schedules that define and
implement a RAM to be discontinued and withdrawn only
after providing the] Discontinuance of a RAM. The tariff sheets
that define and implement a RAM shall only be discontinued and
withdrawn after the opportunity for a full hearing in a general rate
proceeding. The commission shall consider all relevant factors that
affect ratepayers, the cost or overall rates, and charges of the peti-
tioning electric utility.

(A) When an electric utility files a general rate proceeding in
which it requests that its RAM be discontinued, the electric util-
ity shall file with the commission, and serve on the parties, the
following supporting information, in electronic format where
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available (with formulas intact), as part of, or in addition to, its
direct testimony:

1. An example of the notice to be provided to customers
regarding the general rate case to be approved by the commis-
sion, and a description of why it believes the RAM should be dis-
continued;

2. A detailed explanation of how the electric utility proposes
to discontinue its RAM.

A. If requesting to discontinue its FAC, the electric utility
shall include the following in its explanation:

(I) The ending date of the last FAC accumulation peri-
od;

(II) The beginning and ending dates of the recovery
period for that accumulation period; and

(III) The procedure for the true-up associated with the
recovery period for that accumulation period.

B. If requesting to discontinue its IEC, the electric utility
shall include a detailed explanation of how any over-billing will
be returned to the electric utility’s retail customers;  

3. A detailed explanation of why the RAM is no longer nec-
essary to provide the electric utility a sufficient opportunity to
earn a fair return on equity;

4. A detailed explanation of any impact on setting the elec-
tric utility’s allowed return on equity in any rate proceeding as a
result of the change to the electric utility’s business risk resulting
from discontinuation of its RAM, in addition to any other
changes in business risk experienced by the electric utility; 

5. Any additional information that the commission ordered
the electric utility to provide when seeking to discontinue its
RAM.

[(A)](B) Any party to the general rate proceeding may oppose the
discontinuation of a RAM on the grounds that the utility is oppor-
tunistically discontinuing the RAM due to declining fuel or pur-
chased power costs and/or increasing [off-system sales] fuel-relat-
ed revenues. If the commission finds that the utility is opportunisti-
cally seeking to discontinue the RAM for any of these reasons, the
commission shall not allow the RAM to be discontinued, and shall
order its continuation or modification. In addition to other reme-
dies provided by law, the commission may reject the utility’s
request for discontinuance of a RAM if it finds that the utility
has not complied with this rule in its request to discontinue its
RAM. To continue or modify the RAM under such circumstances,
the commission must find that it provides the electric utility with a
sufficient opportunity to earn a fair rate of return on equity and the
[rate schedules] tariff sheets filed to implement the RAM must
conform to the RAM approved by the commission.  Any RAM and
periodic adjustments [thereto] to the FAR shall be based on histor-
ical fuel and purchased power costs.

[(B)](C) The commission may take into account any change in
business risk [to the corporation] of the electric utility resulting
from discontinuance of the RAM in setting the electric utility’s
allowed return on equity in any general rate proceeding[,] in addi-
tion to any other changes in the electric utility’s business risk
[experienced by the electric utility].

[(C) The electric utility shall include in its initial notice to
customers, regarding the general rate case, a commission
approved description of why it believes the RAM should be
discontinued. 

(D) Subsections (2)(A) through (C), (F) and (G) shall apply
to any proposal for continuation or modification.

(E) The electric utility shall meet the filing requirements in
4 CSR 240-3.161(4).]

[(4) Periodic Adjustments of FACs. If an electric utility files
proposed rate schedules to adjust its FAC rates between
general rate proceedings, the staff shall examine and analyze
the information filed by the electric utility in accordance with
4 CSR 240-3.161 and additional information obtained

through discovery, if any, to determine if the proposed
adjustment to the FAC is in accordance with the provisions
of this rule, section 386.266, RSMo and the FAC mecha-
nism established in the most recent general rate proceeding.
The staff shall submit a recommendation regarding its exam-
ination and analysis to the commission not later than thirty
(30) days after the electric utility files its tariff schedules to
adjust its FAC rates. If the FAC rate adjustment is in accor-
dance with the provisions of this rule, section 386.266,
RSMo, and the FAC mechanism established in the most
recent general rate proceeding, the commission shall either
issue an interim rate adjustment order approving the tariff
schedules and the FAC rate adjustments within sixty (60)
days of the electric utility’s filing or, if no such order is
issued, the tariff schedules and the FAC rate adjustments
shall take effect sixty (60) days after the tariff schedules
were filed. If the FAC rate adjustment is not in accordance
with the provisions of this rule, section 386.266, RSMo, or
the FAC mechanism established in the most recent rate pro-
ceeding, the commission shall reject the proposed rate
schedules within sixty (60) days of the electric utility’s filing
and may instead order implementation of an appropriate
interim rate schedule(s).

(A) An electric utility with a FAC shall file one (1) manda-
tory adjustment to its FAC in each true-up year coinciding
with the true-up of its FAC. It may also file up to three (3)
additional adjustments to its FAC within a true-up year with
the timing and number of such additional filings to be deter-
mined in the general rate proceeding establishing the FAC
and in general rate proceedings thereafter.

(B) The electric utility must be current on its submission
of its Surveillance Monitoring Reports as required in section
(10) and its monthly reporting requirements as required by 4
CSR 240-3.161(5) in order for the commission to process
the electric utility’s requested FAC adjustment increasing
rates.

(C) If the staff, Office of the Public Counsel (OPC) or other
party which receives, pursuant to a protective order, the
information that the electric utility is required to submit in 4
CSR 240-3.161 and as ordered by the commission in a pre-
vious proceeding, believes that the information required to
be submitted pursuant to 4 CSR 240-3.161 and the com-
mission order establishing the RAM has not been submitted
in compliance with that rule, it shall notify the electric utility
within ten (10) days of the electric utility’s filing of an appli-
cation or tariff schedules to adjust the FAC rates and identify
the information required. The electric utility shall supply the
information identified by the party, or shall notify the party
that it believes the information provided was in compliance
with the requirements of 4 CSR 240-3.161, within ten (10)
days of the request. If the electric utility does not timely
supply the information, the party asserting the failure to pro-
vide the required information must timely file a motion to
compel with the commission. While the commission is con-
sidering the motion to compel, the processing timeline for
the adjustment to increase FAC rates shall be suspended. If
the commission then issues an order requiring the informa-
tion be provided, the time necessary for the information to
be provided shall further extend the processing timeline for
the adjustment to increase FAC rates. For good cause shown
the commission may further suspend this timeline. Any delay
in providing sufficient information in compliance with 4 CSR
240-3.161 in a request to decrease FAC rates shall not alter
the processing timeline.]

(4) Requirements for Electric Utilities that have a RAM. If the
commission grants, modifies, or continues an electric utility’s
RAM, the electric utility shall—
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(A) Upon thirty (30) days prior written notice to the electric util-
ity, provide for review by staff at its corporate headquarters, or
some other place mutually agreed upon by the electric utility and
staff, a copy of each and every nuclear fuel, coal, natural gas, and
fuel transportation contract (to the extent related to generation of
electricity), the utility’s hedging policies and the utility’s internal
policy for participating in a Regional Transmission Organization
(RTO) ancillary services market (if applicable), including every
amendment and modification to each such contract or policy that
was in effect during a RAM for the electric utility; and

(B) Notify the staff through EFIS of every new nuclear fuel,
coal, natural gas, and fuel transportation contract and every new
amendment and every new modification to currently existing con-
tracts or to the policies referenced in subsection (4)(A) above
within thirty (30) days of the effective date of the contract,
amendment, or modification. The notification shall include
where the contracts, amendments, modifications, and related
competitive bidding materials may be reviewed.

(5) Periodic Reports. So long as it has a RAM in effect, each elec-
tric utility shall submit a report that covers each period used to
accumulate costs and revenues for inclusion in the RAM through
EFIS and to staff, OPC, and other parties. Each periodic report
shall be verified by the affidavit of an electric utility representa-
tive(s) who has knowledge of the subject matter and who attests
to both the veracity of the information and his/her knowledge of
it. The information identified in this section shall be provided in
electronic format where available (with formulas intact), and
shall be submitted no later than the utility’s filing for an adjust-
ment to its RAM based on that accumulation period.  Each peri-
odic report shall contain the following information by month:

(A) The billing month actual energy usage in kWhs by rate
class and voltage level;

(B) Net base energy costs billed in base rates by rate class
and voltage level along with workpapers (with formulas intact)
detailing the calculation;

(C) FARs by voltage level along with workpapers (with formu-
las intact) detailing the calculation;

(D) The fuel and purchased power costs and fuel related rev-
enues for each month, year-to-date, and prior calendar year by
account and any other designation ordered. If accounts, sub-
accounts, and other designations are not comparable to costs
and revenues listed in the electric utility’s FAC tariff sheets,
the electric utility shall also include the costs as listed in the tar-
iff sheets;

(E) Off-System Sales.
1. If sold within an RTO market—

A. Revenue net of the cost of any energy purchases in the
RTO market;

B. MWh’s net of the MWh’s for any energy purchases in
the RTO market.

2. If sold outside of an RTO market (physical bilateral trans-
actions)—

A. Total MWh’s;
B. Total revenues;

(F) Capacity Sales.
1. If sold within an RTO market—

A. MW capacity sold net of MW capacity purchased;
B. Revenue received net of the cost of capacity purchased.

2. If sold outside on an RTO market (third party bilateral
transactions)—

A. MW capacity sold;
B. Total revenue;

(G) Energy Purchases.
1. If purchased within an RTO market—

A. Cost net of the revenue of any energy sales from the
RTO market;

B. MWh’s net of the MWh’s for any energy sales from the

RTO market.
2. If purchased outside of an RTO market (physical bilateral

transactions)—
A. Total MWh’s.
B. Total revenues;

(H) Capacity Purchases.
1. If purchased within an RTO market—

A. MW capacity purchased net of MW capacity sold;
B. Cost net of the revenue received for capacity sold.

2. If purchased outside on an RTO market (third party bilat-
eral transactions)—

A. MW capacity purchased;
B. Cost;

(I) Reason for the purchase of capacity in the RTO markets;
(J) The following information for the period, by generation

facility, by fuel type, and by total for the electric utility:
1. Quantity of fuel burned, with the designation of the units

in which the quantity is reported (e.g., tons, MCF, MMBtu);
2. Million British Thermal Units (MMBtu) of fuel burned;
3. Average cost of fuel per MMBtu, by fuel type;
4. Aggregate megawatt hours (mWhs) of net energy generat-

ed by the generating facility at each generation station, where net
energy generated is the gross generation net of the station use; 

5. Average cost of fuel per mWh; and
6. The cost of fuel purchased by fuel type and, for coal, a

breakdown between the cost of the coal commodity and the cost
of coal transportation;

(K) A detailed description of the accounts or other designa-
tions ordered by the commission, where each fuel and purchased
power cost or fuel-related revenue is recorded.  The report shall
identify any changes since the last periodic report to accounts or
other designations of costs and revenue types ordered to be
included by the commission in the last general rate proceeding;

(L) Each revision to the electric utility’s internal policy for par-
ticipating in— 

1. RTO ancillary services market, if the RTO in which the
electric utility participates has such a market; 

2. RTO energy markets by RTO; 
3. RTO capacity markets by RTO; 
4. Financial swaps or other financial-only transactions (if

such financial transactions are included in the electric utility’s
RAM);

(M) Any additional information that the commission has
ordered the electric utility to provide in its periodic reports.

(6) Surveillance Monitoring Reports.  So long as it has a RAM in
effect, each electric utility shall submit in EFIS and submit to
staff, OPC, and other parties, a surveillance monitoring report,
within fifteen (15) days after each of the electric utility’s United
States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) 10-Q and 10-
K filings are due.  The surveillance monitoring report shall be
verified by the affidavit of an electric utility representative(s) who
has knowledge of the subject matter and who attests to both the
veracity of the information and his/her knowledge of it. These
surveillance monitoring reports are confidential.

(A) There are six (6) parts to the electric utility surveillance
monitoring report. Each part, except Part I—Rate Base
Quantifications, shall contain information for the last twelve-
(12-) month period and the last quarter based on total company
electric operations data and on Missouri jurisdictional operations
data. Part I—Rate Base Quantifications, shall contain only infor-
mation as of the ending date of the period being reported. The
content of the surveillance monitoring report follows:

1. Part I—Rate Base Quantifications. The quantification of
rate base items in Part I shall be consistent with the methods and
procedures used in the electric utility’s most recent rate proceed-
ing before the commission, unless otherwise specified. Part I
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shall consist of specific quantifications of the following rate base
items:

A. Plant-in-service;
B. Reserve for depreciation;
C. Materials and supplies;
D. Cash working capital;
E. Fuel inventory;
F  Prepayments;
G. Other regulatory assets;
H. Customer advances;
I. Customer deposits;
J. Accumulated deferred income taxes; 
K. All other items included in the electric utility’s rate

base from its most recent general rate proceeding before the com-
mission; 

L. Net Operating Income from Part III; and
M. Calculation of the overall return on rate base;

2. Part II—Capitalization Quantifications. Part II shall con-
sist of specific quantifications of the following capitalization-
related items:

A. Common stock equity (net);
B. Preferred stock (par or stated value outstanding);
C. Long-term debt (including current maturities);
D. Short-term debt; and
E. Weighted cost of capital including component costs;

3. Part III—Income Statement. Part III shall consist of an
income statement containing specific quantifications of—

A. Operating revenues, including revenues from sales to
industrial, commercial, and residential customers, sales for
resale and all other components of total operating revenues;

B. Operating and maintenance expenses in fuel expense,
production expense, purchased power energy, and purchased
power capacity;

C. Transmission expense;
D. Distribution expense;
E. Customer accounts expense;
F. Customer service and information expense;
G. Sales expense;
H. Administrative and general expense;
I. Depreciation, amortization, and decommissioning

expense;
J. Taxes other than income taxes;
K. Income taxes; and
L. Quantification of heating degree and cooling degree

days, both actual and normal;
4. Part IV—Jurisdictional Allocation Factors. Part IV shall

consist of a list of the jurisdictional allocation factors used for
determining the electric utility’s rate base, capitalization quan-
tification, and income statement;

5. Part V—Financial Data Notes. Part V shall consist of
notes to the reported financial data including, but not limited to:

A. Out-of-period adjustments;
B. Specific quantification of material variances between

actual and budget financial performance;
C. Specific identification and quantification of material

variances between current twelve- (12-) month period and prior
twelve- (12-) month period revenue;

D. The expense levels of each item the commission has
ordered be tracked in the RAM;

E. Budgeted capital projects; and
F. Events that materially affect debt or equity surveillance

components;
6. Part VI—Missouri Energy Efficiency and Investment Act

(MEEIA). An electric utility with approved MEEIA demand-side
management programs and/or an approved demand-side pro-
grams investment mechanism shall include all quarterly filing
requirements of 4 CSR 240-20.093(9); 

(B) Each surveillance monitoring report shall include any addi-

tional information the commission has ordered be provided.

(7) Budget Report.  Annually the electric utility shall submit in
EFIS and provide to staff, OPC, and other parties, its approved
budget for the upcoming budget year, in electronic format (with
formulas intact) and in a layout similar to its surveillance moni-
toring report.  The budget submission shall provide a quarterly
and annual quantification of the electric utility’s income state-
ment. The budget report shall be submitted within thirty (30)
days of when the electric utility’s budget is approved by the elec-
tric utility’s management or within sixty (60) days of the begin-
ning of the electric utility’s fiscal year, whichever is earliest. The
budget submission shall be designated “highly confidential” and
treated accordingly.

(8) Periodic Changes to Fuel Adjustment Rates. An electric utility
that has a FAC shall file proposed tariff sheet(s) to adjust its
FARs following each accumulation period. The FARs shall be
designed to bill the electric utility’s customers, in the aggregate,
the FPA if the FPA is positive, or return the FPA to the utility’s
customers if the FPA is negative. When an electric utility files
with the commission tariff schedule(s) to change its fuel adjust-
ment rates and serves it upon parties, the filed tariff schedule(s)
shall be accompanied by—

(A) Prefiled testimony that shall include:
1. The proposed FARs;
2. The change in the FARs; 
3. The impact of the proposed FARs on the monthly bill of

the electric utility’s typical residential customer, together with
the definition of typical residential customer used to determine
that impact;

(B) The following information in electronic format where avail-
able (with formulas intact):

1. For the period of historical costs which are being used to
propose the fuel adjustment rates—

A. The billing month and calendar month actual energy
sales in kilowatt-hours, by rate class and voltage level;

B. The actual fuel costs of the types of fuel costs designat-
ed in the FAC, listed by generating station and fuel type; 

C. The actual purchased power costs of the types of pur-
chased power costs designated in the electric utility’s FAC, differ-
entiated by—

(I) Purchased power;
(II) Demand costs and energy costs, separately stated;

and
(III) The actual fuel transportation costs of the types of

fuel costs designated in the FAC;
D. The megawatt-hours and costs of purchased power of

the type included in the electric utility’s FAC; 
E. Revenues, gross and net of off-system sales;
F. Fuel-related revenues other than off-system sales rev-

enues separated by type of fuel-related revenue;
G. Net base energy costs collected in permanent rates—

(I) Any additional requirements the commission
ordered;

(II) Calculation of each of the proposed fuel adjustment
rates; and

(III) Calculations of the voltage differentiation in the
proposed FAC rates, if any, to account for differences in line loss-
es by service voltage level; and

H. Extraordinary costs not to be passed through, if any,
due to such costs being an insured loss, or subject to reduction
due to litigation or for any other reason;

2. The electric utility’s monthly short-term debt interest
rate, along with—

A. An explanation of how that rate was determined;
B. The calculation of the short-term debt interest rate;
C. Identification of any changes in the basis(es) used for
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determining the short-term debt interest rate since the last FAC
rate adjustment; and 

D. If there is a change in the basis(es) used for determin-
ing the short-term debt interest rate, a copy(ies) of the changed
basis(es) or identification of where it/they may be reviewed; 

(C) Workpapers, in electronic format where available (with
formulas intact), supporting all items in subsections (A) and (B)
that are not provided in the electric utility’s section (5) submis-
sion shall be submitted through EFIS and provided to staff,
OPC, and other parties;  

(D) The electric utility shall initiate a new case with an ER des-
ignation for each periodic adjustment of its FARs;  

(E) An electric utility with a FAC shall file an adjustment to its
FARs within two (2) months of the end of each accumulation peri-
od after the effective date of the FAC;  

(F) The tariff sheets reflecting the RAM define the costs
and revenues that can be included in the RAM, subject to
the following:

1. If an RTO implements a new market settlement type
that the electric utility or another party believes possesses the
characteristics of, and is of the nature of, an RTO revenue or
cost type approved by the commission for inclusion in the elec-
tric utility’s FAC in the previous general rate increase, the elec-
tric utility shall include the new market settlement type subject
to the following requirements:

A. The party proposing the inclusion of a new market set-
tlement type shall make a filing before the commission.

(I) If the electric utility is proposing the inclusion of a
new market settlement type, it will make a filing with the com-
mission giving notice of the new cost or revenue type no later
than sixty (60) days prior to the electric utility including the new
settlement type in the ANEC.

(II) If a party other than the electric utility is propos-
ing the inclusion of a new market settlement type, the filing shall
be made sixty (60) days prior to the electric utility’s next periodic
adjustment filing;

B. The filing shall include, but is not be limited to:
(I) Identification of the account affected by the change;
(II) A description of the new settlement type demon-

strating that it possesses the characteristics of, and is of the
nature of a cost or revenue type allowed in the electric utility’s
FAC by the commission in the preceding general rate case; and

(III) Identification of the preexisting schedule, or mar-
ket settlement type which the new settlement type replaces or
supplements; and

C. To challenge the inclusion of a new market settlement
type, a party shall make a filing before the commission including
the reasons why it believes the electric utility did not show that
the new market settlement type possesses the characteristics of
a cost or revenue type allowed by the commission.

(I) The filing shall be made within thirty (30) days of
the electric utility’s filing.

(II) The party requesting the inclusion of the new mar-
ket settlement type shall bear the burden of proof to show that
the new market settlement type possesses the characteristics of,
and is of the nature of a cost or revenue type allowed in the elec-
tric utility’s FAC by the commission in the preceding general rate
case.

(III) If a party challenges the inclusion of the market
settlement type, the challenge will not delay the FAR filing
schedule.

(IV) If the challenge is upheld by the commission, the
costs will be refunded or revenues returned along with interest
in the next periodic adjustment;

(G) The electric utility must be current on its submission of its
surveillance monitoring reports;

(H) Staff shall review the information filed and submitted by
the electric utility in accordance with this rule and additional

information obtained through discovery, if any, to determine if
the proposed adjustment to the FARs is in accordance with the
provisions of this rule, section 386.266, RSMo, and the FAC
mechanism established, continued, or modified in the utility’s
most recent general rate proceeding. Within thirty (30) days after
the electric utility files its testimony and tariff sheets to adjust its
FARs, the staff shall submit a recommendation regarding its
examination and analysis to the commission;  

(I) OPC and other parties may file a response to the electric
utility’s proposed FAR adjustment within forty (40) days after the
electric utility files its testimony and tariff sheet(s) to adjust its
FARs;  

(J) Within sixty (60) days after the electric utility files its testi-
mony and tariff sheet(s) to adjust its FARs, the commission shall
either—

1. Issue an interim rate adjustment order approving the tar-
iff sheets and the adjustments to the FARs;  

2. Allow the tariff sheets and the adjustments to the FARs to
take effect without commission order; or

3. If it determines the adjustment to the FARs is not in
accordance with the provisions of this rule, section 386.266,
RSMo, and the FAC mechanism established in the electric utili-
ty’s most recent general rate proceeding, reject the proposed rate
schedules, suspend the timeline of the FAR adjustment filing, set
a prehearing date, and order the parties to propose a procedural
schedule. The commission may order the electric utility to file
tariff sheet(s) to implement interim adjusted FARs to reflect any
part of the proposed adjustment that is not in question;  

(K) If the staff, OPC, or other party which receives, pursuant
to 4 CSR 240-2.135, the information that the electric utility is
required to submit and as ordered by the commission in a previ-
ous proceeding, believes the information is insufficient to make a
recommendation regarding the electric utility’s proposed FAR, it
shall notify the electric utility within ten (10) business days of the
electric utility’s filing of tariff sheets to adjust the FARs and iden-
tify the information required and not submitted in compliance
with that rule or order. The electric utility shall supply the infor-
mation identified by the party, or shall notify the party that it
believes the information provided was in compliance with the
requirements of this rule and the commission’s most recent order
establishing, continuing, or modifying the FAC, within ten (10)
business days of the request. If the electric utility does not timely
supply the information, the party asserting the failure to provide
the required information must timely file a motion to compel
with the commission. 

1. While the commission is considering the motion to com-
pel, the processing timeline for the adjustment to increase the
FARs shall be suspended. If the commission then issues an order
requiring the information be provided, the time necessary for the
information to be provided shall further extend the processing
timeline for the adjustment to increase the FARs. If the commis-
sion issues an order compelling discovery, interest will not be
accrued by the utility from the time the commission receives a
motion to compel until the time that the utility provides the
requested information.  For good cause shown the commission
may further suspend this timeline.  

2. Except as provided herein, any delay in providing suffi-
cient information in compliance with this rule and the commis-
sion’s most recent order establishing, continuing, or modifying
the FAC in a request to decrease the FARs shall not alter the pro-
cessing timeline.

[(5)](9) True-Ups of RAMs. [An electric utility that files for a
RAM shall include in its tariff schedules and application, if
filed in addition to tariff schedules, provision for true-ups on
at least an annual basis which shall accurately and appropri-
ately remedy any over-collection or under-collection through
subsequent rate adjustments or refunds.] The purpose of a
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true-up case is to accurately and appropriately remedy any over-
billing or under-billing during a recovery period, including the
interest accrued at the utility’s short-term interest rate.

[(A) The subsequent true-up rate adjustments or refunds
shall include interest at the electric utility’s short-term bor-
rowing rate.

(B) The true-up adjustment shall be the difference
between the historical fuel and purchased power costs
intended for collection during the true-up period and billed
revenues associated with the RAM during the true-up peri-
od.]

(A) When an electric utility files with the commission to true-
up its RAM the filing shall be accompanied by—

1. Pre-filed testimony that includes a discussion detailing the
material factors which contributed to the true-up amount;

2. The following information in electronic format where
available (with formulas intact):

A. Any revision to the calculation of the net base energy
cost for the accumulation period; 

B. The calculation of the monthly amount that was over-
billed or under-billed through its RAM;

C. The electric utility’s monthly short-term debt interest
rate along with—

(I) An explanation of how that rate was determined;
(II) The calculation of the short-term debt interest rate;
(III) Identification of any changes in the basis(es) used

for determining the short-term debt interest rate since the last
RAM rate adjustment; and 

(IV) If there is a change in the basis(es) used for deter-
mining the short-term debt interest rate, a copy(ies) of the
changed basis(es) or identification of where it/they may be
reviewed; 

D. Any additional information that the commission has
ordered the electric utility to include in its RAM true-up filing;

3. Workpapers, in electronic format where available (with
formulas intact), supporting all items in this subsection, shall be
submitted in EFIS and provided to staff, OPC, and other par-
ties.

(B) The electric utility shall initiate a new file in EFIS desig-
nated as an “electric other” (EO) file number for each true-up of
its RAM.

(C) The electric utility must be current on its submission of its
[S]surveillance [M]monitoring [R]reports [as required in section
(10) and its monthly reporting requirements as required by 4
CSR 240-3.161(5)] at the time that it files its [application for a]
true-up of its RAM in order for the commission to process the elec-
tric utility’s requested [annual] true-up of any [under-collection]
under-billing.

(D) The staff shall examine and analyze the information filed and
submitted by the electric utility pursuant to 4 CSR 240-3.161 and
additional information obtained through discovery, to determine
whether the true-up is in accordance with the provisions of this rule,
section 386.266, RSMo and the RAM established in the electric
[utility’s most recent general rate proceeding.] utility pur-
suant to this rule and additional information obtained through
discovery and as ordered by the commission, to determine
whether the true-up amount is in accordance with the provisions
of this rule, section 386.266, RSMo, and the RAM established in
the electric utility’s most recent general rate proceeding. The staff
shall submit a recommendation regarding its examination and analy-
sis to the commission not later than thirty (30) days after the electric
utility files [its tariff schedules for a true-up. The commission
shall either issue an order deciding the true-up within sixty
(60) days of the electric utility’s filing, suspend the timeline
of the true-up in order to receive additional evidence and
hold a hearing if needed or, if no such order is issued, the
tariff schedules and the FAC rate adjustments shall take
effect by operation of law sixty (60) days after the utility’s

filing] for a true-up amount.
[1. If the staff, OPC or other party which receives, pur-

suant to a protective order, the information that the electric
utility is required to submit in 4 CSR 240-3.161 and as
ordered by the commission in a previous proceeding,
believes the information that is required to be submitted pur-
suant to 4 CSR 240-3.161 and the commission order estab-
lishing the RAM has not been submitted or is insufficient to
make a recommendation regarding the electric utility’s true-
up filing, it shall notify the electric utility within ten (10) days
of the electric utility’s filing and identify the information
required. The electric utility shall supply the information
identified by the party, or shall notify the party that it
believes the information provided was responsive to the
requirements, within ten (10) days of the request. If the elec-
tric utility does not timely supply the information, the party
asserting the failure to provide the required information must
timely file a motion to compel with the commission. While
the commission is considering the motion to compel the pro-
cessing timeline for the adjustment to the FAC rates shall be
suspended. If the commission then issues an order requiring
the information to be provided, the time necessary for the
information to be provided shall further extend the process-
ing timeline. For good cause shown the commission may fur-
ther suspend this timeline.

2. If the party requesting the information can demon-
strate to the commission that the adjustment shall result in
a reduction in the FAC rates, the processing timeline shall
continue with the best information available. When the elec-
tric utility provides the necessary information, the RAM shall
be adjusted again, if necessary, to reflect the additional
information provided by the electric utility.]

(E) OPC and other parties may file a response to the proposed
true-up amount within forty (40) days of the electric utility true-
up filing. 

(F) Within sixty (60) days of the electric utility’s true-up filing
the commission shall issue an order—

1. Allowing the tariff sheet(s) reflecting the true-up amount
to take effect without commission order; or

2. If it determines that the true-up amount reflected in the
tariff sheet(s) is incorrect, rejecting the proposed tariff sheet(s)
containing the true-up amount, suspending the timeline of the
true-up filing, setting a prehearing date, and ordering the parties
to propose a procedural schedule. The commission shall allow the
electric utility to file tariff sheet(s) to implement interim FARs
reflecting any part of the true-up amount that is not in question,
and questions about the correctness of the true-up amount will
not delay adjustments to FAR rates unrelated to the true-up. 

(G) If the staff, OPC or other party which receives, pursuant
to 4 CSR 240-2.135, the information that the electric utility is
required to submit and as ordered by the commission in a previ-
ous proceeding, believes the information is insufficient to make a
recommendation regarding the electric utility’s true-up filing, it
shall notify the electric utility within ten (10) days of the electric
utility’s filing and identify the information required. The electric
utility shall supply the information identified by the party, or
shall notify the party that it believes the information provided
was responsive to the requirements, within ten (10) days of the
request. If the electric utility does not timely supply the informa-
tion, the party asserting the failure to provide the required infor-
mation must timely file a motion to compel with the commission. 

1. While the commission is considering the motion to com-
pel, the processing timeline for the determination of the true-up
amount shall be suspended. If the commission then issues an
order requiring the information to be provided, the time neces-
sary for the information to be provided shall further extend the
processing timeline. If the commission issues an order compelling
discovery, interest will not be accrued by the utility from the time
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the commission receives a motion to compel until the time that
the utility provides the requested information. For good cause
shown the commission may further suspend this timeline.  

2. If the party requesting the information can demonstrate
to the commission that the true-up amount shall result in a
reduction in the FAR, the processing timeline shall continue with
the best information available. When the electric utility provides
the necessary information, the FAR shall be adjusted again, if
necessary, to reflect the additional information provided by the
electric utility.

[(6)](10) Duration of RAMs and Requirement for General Rate
Case. Once a RAM is approved by the commission, it shall remain
in effect for a term of not more than four (4) years unless the com-
mission earlier authorizes the modification, extension, or discontin-
uance of the RAM in a general rate proceeding, although an electric
utility may submit proposed rate schedules to implement periodic
adjustments to its FAC rates between general rate proceedings.

(A) If the commission approves a RAM for an electric utility, the
electric utility must file a general rate case with the effective date of
new rates to be no later than four (4) years after the effective date of
the commission order implementing the RAM, assuming the maxi-
mum statutory suspension of the rates so filed.

1. The four- (4-)[-] year period shall not include any periods in
which the electric utility is prohibited from collecting any charges
under the [adjustment mechanism] RAM, or any period for
which charges collected under the [adjustment mechanism] RAM
must be fully refunded. In the event a court determines that the
[adjustment mechanism] RAM is unlawful and all [moneys]
monies collected are fully refunded as a result of such a decision, the
electric utility shall be relieved of any obligation to file a general rate
case. The term fully refunded as used in this section does not include
amounts refunded as a result of reductions in fuel or purchased
power costs minus fuel-related revenues or prudence adjustments.

[(7)](11) Prudence Reviews Respecting RAMs. A prudence review
of the costs subject to the RAM shall be conducted no less frequently
than at eighteen- (18-)[-] month intervals.

(A) All amounts ordered refunded by the commission shall include
interest at the electric utility’s short-term borrowing rate.

(B) The staff shall file notice within ten (10) days of starting its
prudence review and shall submit a recommendation regarding its
examination and analysis to the commission not later than one hun-
dred eighty (180) days after [the staff initiates] initiating its pru-
dence [audit] review. [The timing and frequency of prudence
audits for each RAM shall be established in the general rate
proceeding in which the RAM is established. The staff shall
file notice within ten (10) days of starting its prudence audit.
The commission shall issue an order not later than two hun-
dred ten (210) days after the staff commences its prudence
audit if no party to the proceeding in which the prudence
audit is occurring files, within one hundred ninety (190) days
of the staff’s commencement of its prudence audit, a
request for a hearing.] Parties to the prudence review proceed-
ing shall have ten (10) days after the staff files its recommenda-
tion to request a hearing. The commission shall issue an order
not later than thirty (30) days after the staff files its recommen-
dation if no party requests a hearing.

1. If the staff, OPC, or other party auditing the RAM believes
that insufficient information has been supplied to make a recommen-
dation regarding the prudence of the electric utility’s RAM, it may
utilize discovery to obtain the information it seeks. If the electric util-
ity does not timely supply the information, the party asserting the
failure to provide the required information must timely file a motion
to compel with the commission. While the commission is consider-
ing the motion to compel the processing timeline shall be suspended.
If the commission then issues an order requiring the information to
be provided, the time necessary for the information to be provided

shall further extend the processing timeline. For good cause shown
the commission may further suspend this timeline.

2. If the timeline is extended due to an electric utility’s failure
to timely provide sufficient responses to discovery and a refund is
due to the customers, the electric utility shall refund all imprudently
incurred costs plus interest at the electric utility’s short-term borrow-
ing rate.

[(8)](12) Disclosure on Customers’ Bills. Any amounts charged
under a [RAM approved by the] commission-approved RAM
shall be separately disclosed on each customer’s bill. Proposed lan-
guage regarding this disclosure shall be submitted to the commission
for the commission’s approval in the general rate proceeding estab-
lishing, modifying, or continuing the RAM.

[(9)](13) Rate Design of the RAM. The design of the RAM rates shall
reflect differences in losses incurred in the delivery of electricity at
different voltage levels for the electric utility’s different rate classes[.
Therefore, the electric utility shall conduct a] as determined
through the periodic conduct of Missouri jurisdictional system loss
studies. When the electric utility initially seeks authority to use a
RAM, the end of the twelve- (12-) month period of actual data col-
lected that is used in its Missouri jurisdictional system loss study
within twenty-four (24) months [prior to the general rate proceed-
ing in which it requests its initial RAM.  The electric utility
shall conduct a Missouri jurisdictional loss study no less often
than every four (4) years thereafter, on a schedule that per-
mits the study to be used in the general rate proceeding nec-
essary for the electric utility to continue to utilize a RAM.]
immediately preceding the date the utility files its general rate case
requesting a RAM. When the electric utility seeks to continue or
modify its RAM, the end of the twelve- (12-) month period of
actual data collected that is used in its Missouri jurisdictional
system loss study must be no earlier than two (2) years before the
beginning of the twelve- (12-) month period the utility uses for
developing the general rates it proposes the commission approve
in that general rate proceeding. 

[(10) Submission of Surveillance Monitoring Reports. Each
electric utility with an approved RAM shall submit to staff,
OPC and parties approved by the commission a Surveillance
Monitoring Report in the form and having the content provid-
ed for by 4 CSR 240-3.161(6).

(A) The Surveillance Monitoring Report shall be submitted
within fifteen (15) days of the electric utility’s next sched-
uled United States Securities and Exchange Commission
(SEC) 10-Q or 10-K filing with the initial submission within
fifteen (15) days of the electric utility’s next scheduled SEC
10-Q or 10-K filing following the effective date of the com-
mission order establishing the RAM.

(B) If the electric utility also has an approved environmen-
tal cost recovery mechanism, the electric utility must submit
a single Surveillance Monitoring Report for both the environ-
mental cost recovery mechanism and the RAM.

(C) Upon a finding that a utility has knowingly or reckless-
ly provided materially false or inaccurate information to the
commission regarding the surveillance data prescribed in 4
CSR 240-3.161(6), after notice and an opportunity for a
hearing, the commission may suspend a fuel adjustment
mechanism or order other appropriate remedies as provided
by law.]

[(11)](14) Incentive Mechanism or Performance-Based Program.
During a general rate proceeding in which an electric utility has pro-
posed establishment or modification of a RAM, or in which a RAM
may be allowed to continue in effect, any party may propose for the
commission’s consideration incentive mechanisms or performance-
based programs to improve the efficiency and cost effectiveness of
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the electric utility’s fuel and purchased power procurement activities
and/or off-system sales activities.

(A) The incentive mechanisms or performance-based programs
may or may not include some or all components of [fuel and pur-
chased power costs] base energy costs, designed to provide the
electric utility with incentives to improve the efficiency and cost-
effectiveness of its fuel and purchased power procurement activities
and/or off-system sales.

(B) Any incentive mechanism or performance-based program shall
be structured to align the interests of the electric utility’s customers
and shareholders. The anticipated benefits to the electric utility’s
customers from the incentive or performance-based program shall
equal or exceed the anticipated costs of the mechanism or program
to the electric utility’s customers. [For this purpose,] Customer
rates shall include the cost of an incentive mechanism or perfor-
mance-based program [shall include any increase in expense or
reduction in revenue credit that increases rates to cus-
tomers] in any time period above what they would be without the
incentive mechanism or performance-based program.

(C) If the commission approves an incentive mechanism or perfor-
mance-based program, such incentive mechanism or performance-
based program shall be binding on the commission for the entire
term of the incentive mechanism or performance-based program. If
the commission approves an incentive mechanism or performance-
based program, such incentive mechanism or performance based
program shall be binding on the electric utility for the entire term of
the incentive mechanism or performance-based program unless oth-
erwise ordered or conditioned by the commission. 

[(12)](15) Pre-Existing Adjustment Mechanisms, Tariffs, and
Regulatory Plans. The provisions of this rule shall not affect[:]—

(A) Any adjustment mechanism, [rate schedule,] tariff, incentive
plan, or other ratemaking mechanism that was approved by the com-
mission and in effect prior to the effective date of this rule; and

(B) Any experimental regulatory plan that was approved by the
commission and in effect prior to the effective date of this rule.

[(13)](16) Nothing in this rule shall preclude a complaint case from
being filed, as provided by law[, on the grounds that a utility is
earning more than a fair return on equity, nor shall an electric
utility be permitted to use the existences of its RAM as a
defense to a complaint case based upon an allegation that it
is earning more than a fair return on equity]. If a complaint is
filed on the grounds that [a utility is earning more than a fair
return on equity,] an electric utility is acting in violation of its
approved RAM tariff sheets or on the grounds that its rates have
become unjust and unreasonable, the commission shall issue a pro-
cedural schedule that includes a clear delineation of the case timeline
no later than sixty (60) days from the date the complaint is filed.

[(14) Rule Review. The commission shall review the effec-
tiveness of this rule by no later than December 31, 2010,
and may, if it deems necessary, initiate rulemaking proceed-
ings to revise this rule.]

(17) Party status and party rights in RAM proceedings subse-
quent to the last general rate case where the commission estab-
lishes, continues, or modifies the electric utility’s RAM.

(A) Each party to the most recent general rate proceeding in
which the commission established, continued, or modified the
electric utility’s RAM shall be a party to each subsequent related
RAM rate adjustment proceeding, RAM true-up proceeding,
and RAM prudence review proceeding, without applying to the
commission for intervention, and shall be provided the periodic
reports and surveillance monitoring reports required by this rule
during the period of time when they are entitled to be a party to
such proceedings without applying for intervention. In any sub-
sequent general rate proceeding, such person or entity must seek

and be granted status as an intervenor to be a party to that case
and to consequently be a party, without seeking and being grant-
ed status as an intervenor to RAM-related proceedings initiated
after that case. 

(B) Anyone may seek to intervene, pursuant to 4 CSR 240-
2.075, in any RAM rate adjustment proceeding, RAM true-up
proceeding, RAM prudence review proceeding, or general rate
proceeding to modify, continue, or discontinue a RAM. If no
party objects to the intervention request within ten (10) days of
when it is filed, then the applicant for intervention shall be
deemed to have been granted intervention without a specific com-
mission order, unless within the above-referenced ten- (10-) day
period the commission denies the application for intervention on
its own motion. If an objection to the application for intervention
is filed on or before the end of the above-referenced ten- (10-) day
period, the commission shall rule on the application and the
objection within ten (10) days of the filing of the objection.

(18) Discovery.  Each discovery response that a party obtains in
general rate proceedings where the commission approves, modi-
fies, rejects, continues, or discontinues a RAM and in related
subsequent RAM rate adjustment proceedings, RAM true-up
proceedings, and RAM prudence review proceedings may be
offered as evidence in any subsequent RAM rate adjustment pro-
ceeding, RAM true-up proceeding, RAM prudence review pro-
ceeding, or general rate proceeding to modify, continue, or dis-
continue its RAM as if the response were made to a discovery
request in that proceeding without requiring the party who made
the request to resubmit the same discovery request (data request,
interrogatory, request for production, request for admission, or
deposition), subject to commission ruling on any evidentiary
objection(s).  Unless the commission orders otherwise, sua sponte
or on a party’s motion, the discovery response shall have the
same protection it was last afforded, by rule or by commission
order.

(19) Supplementing and updating discovery responses in subse-
quent related proceedings. A party who provided a discovery
response in a prior case as described in section (18) shall be
under no obligation to supplement or update that response in a
subsequent proceeding, unless the requesting party issues a dis-
covery request in the subsequent case which clearly identifies the
particular discovery requests to be supplemented or updated and
the particular period to be covered by the updated response. A
party responding to a request to supplement or update a prior
proceeding discovery response shall supplement or update the
discovery response where the responding party has learned or
subsequently learns its response is in some material respect insuf-
ficiently detailed or incorrect.

(20) The commission shall establish a new case for each general
rate proceeding, RAM rate adjustment proceeding, RAM true-
up proceeding, and RAM prudence review proceeding. 

(21) Right to Discovery Unaffected. In addressing certain discov-
ery matters and the provision of certain information by electric
utilities, this rule is not intended to restrict the discovery rights
of any party.

[(15)](22) Waiver of Provisions of this Rule. Provisions of this rule
may be waived by the commission for good cause shown after an
opportunity for a hearing.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250, 386.266, and 393.140, [RSMo
2000 and 386.266,] RSMo [Supp. 2005] 2016. Original rule
filed June 15, 2006, effective Jan. 30, 2007. Amended: Filed May
24, 2018.
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PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to the proposed amendment with the Missouri Public Service
Commission, Morris L. Woodruff, Secretary of the Commission, 200
Madison Street, PO Box 360, Jefferson City MO  65102-0360.  To be
considered, comments must be received at the commission’s offices
on or before August 6, 2018, and should include a reference to
Commission Case No. EX-2016-0294.  Comments may also be sub-
mitted via a filing using the commission’s electronic filing and infor-
mation system at http://www.psc.mo.gov/efis.asp. A public hearing
is scheduled for August 13, 2018 at 10:00 a.m., in Room 310 of the
Governor Office Building, 200 Madison St., Jefferson City, Missouri.
Interested persons may appear at this hearing to submit additional
comments and/or testimony in support of or in opposition to this pro-
posed amendment, and may be asked to respond to commission ques-
tions.  

SPECIAL NEEDS: Any persons with special needs, as addressed by
the Americans with Disabilities Act, should contact the Missouri
Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days prior to the hearing
at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer Services Hotline 1-
800-392-4211 or TDD Hotline 1-800-829-7541.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 70—Soil and Water Districts Commission

Chapter 2—Referendums

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 70-2.010 Conduct of Referendums. The commission is
amending sections (1), (2), (4), (6), and (7); deleting section (5) and
renumbering sections (6) and (7). Proposed amendments will delete
or update obsolete rule language in sections (1) and (7); delete lan-
guage that is duplicative with state statutes in sections (1) and (2);
delete applicable rule requirements and procedures in sections (4),
(5), and (7) and move to commission policy (District Operations
Manual) and delete and replace restrictive words in sections (1), (2),
(4), (5), and (7).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended because it has not been
revised since 1955 and is not current with state statutes or commis-
sion policy. The proposed amendments to 10 CSR 70-2.010 were iden-
tified during the Red Tape Reduction review pursuant to Executive
Order 17-03. 

(1) The process for the local committee and election judges [shall]
is—

(A) Publish successive notices of the referendum [and selection
of supervisors] in one (1) or more newspapers in the county where
the referendum is being held during each of the two (2) weeks imme-
diately preceding the referendum;

(B) [Provide sealed ballot boxes and o]Open polls promptly at
the time advertised;

(C) Furnish official ballots to each polling place; and
(D) Close the polls promptly at the closing hour designated but

allow those who have entered the polling place before this time to
complete their ballots.

(2) [Three (3) official election judges are required for each
polling place. They must be residents and landowners within

the proposed district.] If any elected judge is not present at the
polls on the date and time of the referendum, [those] the judges pre-
sent may select any citizen [of] in the [proposed] district to serve in
[his/her] their place and [give him/her] provide the necessary
instructions. [All instructions to judges must make clear that
any person designated to conduct a referendum or assist in
a referendum and who thereby gains knowledge as to how
any land representative voted and reveals knowledge to any
other person shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.]

(3) Only one (1) vote is allowed per farm [either] by the owner or
[his/her] their legal representative. A tract of land must be operated
as an independent farm enterprise to entitle its land representative to
a single vote. Two (2) or more tracts of land that are operated by one
(1) management entity as an independent farm enterprise will be
entitled to one (1) vote. [The size of each farm must be at least
three (3) acres or more.]

(4) Each farm owner may personally cast as many votes in the soil
district referendum [and election of supervisors] as [s/he] they
own[s] independently operated farms. If [it is impossible for] the
landowner is unable to personally cast [his/her] their eligible
vote(s) [because of absentee landownership, sickness or for
any other reason over which s/he has no control, the soil dis-
tricts law provides that s/he], they may give a power of attorney
to a taxpayer residing within the county to represent [him/her] them
in [this] the referendum [and election of supervisors. It is the
policy of the commission to require that this taxpayer not be
a legal land representative for more than one (1) landowner,
unless legal representation has been established previously
by reason of professional or paid farm managership].

[(5) Immediately after closing the polls, the judges shall open
the ballot boxes and carefully count the ballots cast. They
shall tally on the tally sheet provided for the referendum, the
number of “Yes” votes and the number of “No” votes and on
the tally sheet provided for the election of supervisors write
plainly the names of the nominees in the proper spaces and
tally the votes each receives on the lines just below  the
name. The nominee who receives the largest number of
votes will be declared elected a supervisor provided the
State Soil and Water Districts Commission finds that the vote
constituted a substantial expression of opinion.]

[(6)](5) All blanks on the [“L]list of [V]voters[”] and all [“R]refer-
endum[”] and [“E]election[”] tally sheets must be correctly filled in.

[(7)](6) [After the ballots have been counted, they shall be
sealed in a package by the judges at the polls and shall not
be inspected except in the case of a contested election and
then only on order of the proper court. Arrangements should
be made to return ballot boxes, “Listing” sheets,
“]Referendum[”] and [“E]election[”] tally sheets and all supplies
should be returned to the clerk of the county court within twenty-
four (24) hours after polls are closed, where they shall be safely pre-
served for twelve (12) months.  In case arrangements cannot be made
with the county clerk, all these materials shall be sent to the
chair[man] of the [State] Soil and Water Districts Commission. The
chair[man] of the local committee and the clerk of the county court
shall certify the total referendum vote by area[s] and polling place[s
and the total election votes by areas for each nominee] and
report the[ir] results to the [director] chair of the Soil and Water
Districts Commission.

AUTHORITY: section 278.080, RSMo [1986] 2016. This version of
rule filed Dec. 7, 1955, effective Dec. 17, 1955. Amended: Filed
May 23, 2018.
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PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment with the Soil and Water Districts
Commission, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be consid-
ered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. A public meeting is
scheduled for August 2, 2018, at the Department of Natural
Resources, Bennett Springs Conference Room, 1730 E. Elm St.,
Jefferson City, MO 65101.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 70—Soil and Water Districts Commission

Chapter 2—Referendums

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 70-2.020 Conduct of Supervisor Elections. The commis-
sion is amending sections (2), (3), (6), (8), and (11); deleting sec-
tions (1), (4), (5), (7), (9), and (10) and renumbering sections (2),
(3), (6), (8), and (11). Proposed amendments will delete section (1)
and move definitions to 10 CSR 70-4.010; delete or update obsolete
rule language in sections (2), (3), (6), (8), and (11); delete language
that is duplicative with state statutes in sections (1) and (6); delete
applicable rule requirements and procedures in sections (4), (5), (7),
(8), (9), and (10) and move to commission policy (District
Operations Manual); and delete and replace restrictive words in sec-
tions (1), (2), (4), (5), (8), (9), and (10).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended because it has not been
revised since 1987 and is not current with state statutes or commis-
sion policy. The proposed amendments to 10 CSR 70-2.020 were
identified during the Red Tape Reduction review pursuant to
Executive Order 17-03. 

[(1) Definitions
(A) SWCD—a Soil and Water Conservation District estab-

lished in accordance with the provisions of sections
278.060 and 278.155, RSMo.

(B) Landowner—any person, firm or corporation who holds
title to any lands lying within a district organized under
Chapter 278, RSMo.

(C) Land Representative—the owner, or representative
authorized by power of attorney, of any farm lying within the
SWCD; provided, however, that any land representative must
be a taxpayer of the county within which the SWCD  is
located.

(D) Farm—land which has been assigned an ASCS
(U.S.D.A., Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation
Service) farm number or land which has been assessed as
agricultural land within land grades I through VII by the
county assessor.

(E) Commission—the Soil and Water Districts
Commission of the state of Missouri, the agency created by
state law for administration of Soil and Water Conservation
Districts.]

[(2)](1) The Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) Board
[of Supervisors] is responsible for conducting the election [under
the rules and procedures developed by the commission. The
SWCD Board shall conduct an election by the date or within

four (4) months after the date a term of office expires] of
supervisors. Elections may be conducted electronically or with
paper ballots.

[(3)](2) The SWCD shall be partitioned by the commission into four
(4) territories for the purpose of identifying [nominating commit-
tees and subsequently,] candidates for the [office of] SWCD
[supervisor] board.

[(4) The SWCD Board shall identify one (1) nominating com-
mittee for each territory where a term of office is expiring.
A committee shall consist of three (3) land representatives
residing in the same territory where the committee has
responsibility. No elected supervisor may serve on a nomi-
nating committee.

(5) A nominating committee has the duty to nominate not
less than two (2) qualified candidates. The committee shall
submit the names of candidates who have agreed to serve,
if elected, to the SWCD Board. These names shall be provid-
ed not less than two (2) months prior to the proposed elec-
tion date.]

[(6)](3) To qualify for office, a candidate shall—
(A) Be a land representative as defined in [(1)(C)] 10 CSR 70-

4.010;
[(B) Be a resident taxpaying citizen within that SWCD for

two (2) years next preceding the election date;]
[(C)](B) Be a cooperator of the SWCD; [and]
[(D)](C) Reside in or own a farm lying in the same territory where

[the nominating committee has responsibility.] there is an
expiring term; and

(D) Be eighteen (18) years of age or older by the election date.

[(7) Any land representative not nominated by the nominating
committee, but residing in a territory where an office term is
expiring, may become a candidate for office and may have
their name placed on the ballot if they meet the preceding
qualifications and complete the following requirements:

(A) Secure petition signatures of ten (10) land representa-
tives in the territory where an office term is expiring stating
desire for placing this candidate’s name on the ballot; and

(B) Submit the petition to the SWCD Board not less than
ten (10) work days before the date of the election.]

[(8)](4) Eligibility for Voting.
(A) [Only a land representative is eligible to cast a vote in

SWCD supervisor elections. If challenged, eligibility to vote
must be demonstrated by the land representative.] To vote in
the election, voters must own land that is assessed agricultural by
the county assessor and each entity who is a legal landowner or
their Power of Attorney, which includes voting in SWCD elec-
tions, is entitled to one (1) vote.

[(B) Each farm as defined in (1)(D) shall be entitled to rep-
resentation in SWCD supervisor elections and for the purpos-
es of this rule a land representative shall be deemed as own-
ing one (1) farm and having one (1) vote regardless of the
number of farms claimed by such person.

(C) In the event of a farm as defined in (1)(D) being owned
by more than one (1) person the following voting limitations
shall apply:

1. A farm owned by a firm or corporation may be repre-
sented by one (1) vote cast by one (1) land representative so
authorized  by  the firm or corporation; and

2. A farm owned by a partnership, or jointly by a hus-
band and wife, may be represented by two (2) votes cast by
two (2) land representatives.

(D) An eligible land representative of an SWCD, as defined
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in (1)(C), may vote in any SWCD supervisor election held
within that particular SWCD.

(E) If it is impossible for the farm owner to personally par-
ticipate in voting, a Power of Attorney may be given to a tax-
paying citizen of the county who may represent the owner
and cast the vote. A person so authorized shall not be the
legal land representative for more than one (1) farm owner.
The Power of Attorney authorization must be given to the
election judges.

(9) SWCD Board Responsibility.
(A) Publish two (2) legal notices of election in a newspaper

of general circulation in the SWCD. One (1) notice shall
appear in the latest issue distributed before the election
date, the other notice shall appear one (1) week prior to the
final one. The notice may include a sample ballot.

(B) Select and instruct three (3) residents of the SWCD to
serve as election judges. Three (3) judges are required for
each polling location.

(C) Provide a locked or sealed ballot box for each polling
location. Provide ballots, tally sheets, list of voters sheets
and a storage envelope to the judges.

(D) Store the sealed envelope containing voted ballots for
one (1) year from the election date in a secure location.

(E) Require the poll to be open in accordance with one (1)
of the following:

1. If the election is held in conjunction with an annual
meeting, provisions must be made to have the balloting avail-
able at a central location not later than twelve (12:00) noon
on the day of the annual meeting. The balloting shall be
moved to the meeting place in order to give those attending
the opportunity of casting a ballot. The time for closing the
polls of each location shall be specified in the legal notices;
or

2. If no annual meeting is to be held during the period
specified for holding the election, provisions should be made
for conducting the election at one (1) or more locations for
a period of not less than six (6) hours.

(10) Election Judge Responsibility
(A) Open and close the polls promptly at the time adver-

tised allowing those who have entered the polls before clos-
ing time to complete their ballots.

(B) Collect and attach any Power of Attorney authorization
to the List of Voters form and make the proper notation on
the form.

(C) After the polls are closed, count the ballots, record on
the tally sheet the number of votes each candidate received
and certify the count.

(D) Place the counted ballots in an envelope and seal
them. After sealing, ballots shall not be inspected except in
case of a contested election and then only on order of the
proper court.

(E) Hand over the sealed ballots to the District Board of
Supervisors for proper storage.]

[(11)](5) The election shall be certified by a majority of the board
responsible for conducting the election. The SWCD Board of
Supervisors shall complete and sign two (2) copies of the [“R]report
and [C]certification of [S]supervisor [E]election[”] form. One (1)
copy shall be mailed to the Soil and Water Conservation Program and
one (1) copy shall be kept permanently in the SWCD files[,] along
with the tally sheet signed by the judges. After the election, the newly
composed board shall select new officers and mail a copy of the
[reorganization of] officers[, with their complete addresses,]
to the Soil and Water Conservation Program.

AUTHORITY: section 278.080.5(2), RSMo [1986] 2016. Original

rule filed May 28, 1987, effective Aug. 27, 1987. Amended: Filed
May 23, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment with the Soil and Water Districts
Commission, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be consid-
ered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. A public meeting is
scheduled for August 2, 2018, at the Department of Natural
Resources, Bennett Springs Conference Room, 1730 E. Elm St.,
Jefferson City, MO 65101.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 70—Soil and Water Districts Commission

Chapter 3—Formation of Subdistrict

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 70-3.010 Formation of Soil and Water Conservation
Subdistricts. The commission is amending sections (3), (9), (10),
(15), (16), and (20); deleting sections (1), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8), (12),
(13), (14), (18), and (22) and renumbering sections (2), (3), (9),
(10), (11), (15), (16), (17), (19), (20), (21), and (23). Proposed
amendments will delete or update obsolete rule language in sections
(9), (10), and (20) and delete language that is duplicative with state
statutes in sections (3), (9), (15), (16), and (20).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended because it has not been
revised since 1957 and is not current with state statutes or commis-
sion policy. The proposed amendments to 10 CSR 70-3.010 were iden-
tified during the Red Tape Reduction review pursuant to Executive
Order 17-03. 

[(1) Petitions are to be filed with the board of supervisors of
the soil and water conservation district by the landowners
within the proposed subdistrict. The petition shall set forth
and meet the following qualifications:

(A) Request a hearing and referendum on the formation of
the subdistrict;

(B) Shall include the entire hydrologic area on which a pro-
posed plan of work is to be developed and the area included
must be contiguous and;

(C) Shall provide a legal description of the land suggested
for inclusion in the subdistrict (incorporated areas may be
excluded by description);

(D) Contain a brief statement of the reason for organiza-
tion;

(E) Be signed by one (1) or more owners of at least fifty
percent (50%) of the lands within the proposed subdistrict;
and

(F) Request that the proposed area be organized as a sub-
district.]

[(2)](1) Petition forms may be secured from the local soil and water
conservation district board of supervisors or from the state commis-
sion office in Jefferson City, Missouri.

[(3)](2) [The petitions shall be reviewed by the supervisors of
the local soil and water conservation district, and if found
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adequate, they shall arrange for a hearing.] The soil and water
conservation districts’ supervisors should require certification by an
elected county official that the signatures on the petition are those of
bonafide landowners.

[(4) Within thirty (30) days after petitions have been filed, the
board of soil and water conservation district supervisors
shall fix a date, hour and place for a hearing.

(5) The board directs the chairman to cause notice to be
given to the owners of each tract of land within the pro-
posed subdistrict. The notice to be by publication once each
week for two (2) consecutive weeks in one (1) newspaper of
general circulation in the county, the last publication of
which shall not be less than ten (10) days prior to the date
set for the hearing on the petition. Proof of this service shall
be by affidavit of the publisher and be on file with the Soil
and Water Districts Commission office in Jefferson City at
the time the hearing begins.

(6) The soil and water conservation districts’ supervisors
shall consider and determine whether the operation of the
subdistrict is desirable, practicable, feasible and of necessity
in the interest of public health, safety and the general wel-
fare.

(7) All objections to establishment of a subdistrict for any
reason must be made in writing and filed with the secretary
of the board  of supervisors (or combined boards, if applica-
ble) at, or before, the time set for the hearing.

(8) All interested parties shall have the right to attend the
hearing and to be heard.]

[(9)](3) The supervisors may divide a subdistrict into [three (3)]
five (5) areas to nominate trustees.

[(10)](4) Landowners present at the hearing will nominate at least
two (2) landowners from each of the [three (3)] five (5) designated
areas, whose names will be placed on the ballot for election to serve
as trustees of the subdistrict.

[(11)](5) Landowners present at the hearing will name the polling
places and select the judges of the polls for the referendum.

[(12) The soil and water conservation districts’ supervisors,
for good cause, may adjourn the hearing to a day certain
which shall be announced at the time of adjournment and
made a matter of record.

(13) A copy of the official notice of hearing shall be filed
with the Soil and Water Districts Commission in Jefferson
City.

(14) After the hearings, upon reaching a favorable conclu-
sion, the soil and water conservation district supervisors
shall call for and conduct, or cause to be conducted, a ref-
erendum.]

[(15)](6) [The referendum shall be by ballot of landowners
within the area of the proposed subdistrict.] Any landowner
may be represented by notarized proxy not more than one (1) year
old.

[(16)](7) The voting will be on the question of establishing the pro-
posed area as a subdistrict. [The ballot shall be so worded as to
clearly state that a tax, not to exceed forty cents (40¢) on
one hundred dollars ($100) valuation of all real estate within

the subdistrict, will be authorized if the subdistrict is
formed.]

[(17)](8) Notice of the referendum shall be made in the same manner
as the notice of the hearing and a copy of the notice shall be filed
with the Soil and Water Districts Commission in Jefferson City.

[(18) If sixty-five percent (65%) or more of all landowners
voting in a referendum vote in favor of the establishment of a
soil and water conservation subdistrict, the soil and water
conservation district supervisors shall declare that the sub-
district is duly organized and the action shall be recorded in
their official minutes together with an appropriate official
name or designation of the subdistrict.]

[(19)](9) After the entry in the official minutes of the board of soil
and water conservation district supervisors of the creation of the sub-
district, the soil and water conservation districts’ supervisors shall
certify this fact on a separate form and record authentic copies by fil-
ing it with the recorder of deeds of each county in which any portion
of the subdistrict lies. The certification form shall also be filed with
the Soil and Water Districts Commission in Jefferson City.

[(20)](10) [Three (3)] Five (5) landowners representing the [three
(3)] five (5) designated areas within the proposed subdistrict shall be
elected to serve as trustees of the subdistrict. [One (1) trustee shall
be elected for a period of two (2) years; one (1) trustee shall
be elected for a period of four (4) years; and one (1) trustee
shall be elected for a period of six (6) years. Each of their
successors shall be elected for a period of six (6) years.]
Elections shall not fall upon the date of any regular political election
held in the county and a simple majority vote is needed to elect a
trustee. [The trustees shall be responsible for the administra-
tion of the subdistrict. Each trustee shall be reimbursed for
any expenses incurred in carrying out his/her responsibilities
for the subdistrict.]

[(21)](11) The board of supervisors of a subdistrict shall submit to
the Soil and Water Districts Commission copies of any rules, forms,
or other documents used in pursuance of their duties and other infor-
mation concerning their activities as the commission may require.

[(22) Subdistricts may be formed lying in more than one (1)
soil and water conservation district. In this case, the wording
of all forms and documents used in this formation will be
changed to read in the plural as necessary. If the proposed
subdistrict lies in more than one (1) soil and water conser-
vation district, the petition may be presented to the board of
any one (1) of the districts and the supervisors of all districts
shall act jointly as a board with respect to all matters con-
cerning the subdistrict, including its formation. They shall
organize a single board and designate the chairman, vice-
chairman, secretary and treasurer. The treasurer shall be the
duly elected and bonded treasurer of one (1) of the compo-
nent boards of supervisors.]

[(23)](12) If the boundary of a subdistrict intersects a property, no
less than a legally described one-quarter of a quarter section of land
(40 acres) shall be considered for tax assessment purposes.

AUTHORITY: section 278.210, RSMo [1986] 2016. Original rule
filed Aug. 12, 1957, effective Aug. 22, 1957. Amended: Filed May
23, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.
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PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment with the Soil and Water Districts
Commission, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be consid-
ered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. A public meeting is
scheduled for August 2, 2018, at the Department of Natural
Resources, Bennett Springs Conference Room, 1730 E. Elm St.,
Jefferson City, MO 65101.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 70—Soil and Water Districts Commission

Chapter 4—Definitions 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 70-4.010 Definitions. The commission is amending section
(1) and subsections (A) and (D) through (Q); deleting subsections
(B) and (C); and relettering subsections (A) and (D) through (Q).
Proposed amendments will delete or update obsolete rule language in
subsections (K), (L), (N), and (O) and delete and replace restrictive
words in subsections (A) and (D) through (Q).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended because it has not been
revised since 1983 and is not current with state statutes or commis-
sion policy. The proposed amendments to 10 CSR 70-4.010 were iden-
tified during the Red Tape Reduction review pursuant to Executive
Order 17-03. 

(1) Definitions. [As used in these rules, unless the context
otherwise requires—]

(A) Act [shall] means the Missouri Soil and Water Conservation
Districts Law;

[(B) Actual approved costs shall mean the amounts deter-
mined to be fair and reasonable costs incurred in establish-
ing eligible practices to be cost-shared through the Missouri
Soil and Water Conservation Cost-Share Program. These
costs shall include those items established under 10 CSR
70-5.040(2);

(C) Apportion shall mean to set aside funds for use in
accordance with the act and these rules, but shall not mean
any physical distribution or other transfer of funds;]

[(D)](B) District board or [B]board or board of supervisors
[shall] means the local governing body of a soil and water conserva-
tion district elected or appointed in accordance with the provisions of
the Act;

[(E)](C) State Soil and Water Districts Commission or commission
[shall]means the agency created by section 278.080, RSMo for the
administration of the soil and water conservation districts provided
for by the Act;

[(F)](D) Conservation plan [shall] means the properly recorded
decisions of the cooperating landowner on how [s/he] they plan[s],
within practical limits, to use [his/her] their land in an operating
unit within its capabilities and to treat it according to its needs for
maintenance or improvement of the soil, water, and other related
resources;

[(G)](E) Cost-Share Program [shall] means the Missouri State
Soil and Water Conservation Cost-Share Program created by the
Missouri State Soil and Water Conservation Districts Act, [c]Chapter
278, RSMo;

[(H)](F) District [shall] means a soil and water conservation dis-
trict as defined in 278.070(4), RSMo;

[(I)](G) Eligible practice [shall] means a soil and water conserva-
tion practice designated as eligible for state cost-share funds by the
commission in accordance with 10 CSR 70-5.020(1);

[(J)](H) Farm [shall] means a tract of land three (3) acres or more
in size on which agriculture activities are normally performed or a
tract of land of any size from which one thousand dollars ($1000) or
more of agriculture products are normally sold in a year;

[(K)](I) Landowner [shall] means any person, firm, or corpora-
tion holding title to any lands lying within a district organized or to
be organized under the provisions of chapter 278, RSMo. Any
landowner may be represented by notarized power-of-attorney not
more than one (1) year old. The term operator may be used inter-
changeably with landowner only for Chapter 5. The operator is
the principal person who runs a farm by conducting or supervis-
ing the work, making day-to-day management decisions and
incurring expenses for applying or implementing conservation
practices. The operator may be a landowner, tenant, lessee, or
sublessee;

[(L)](J) Land representative[,] means the owner or representative
authorized by power-of-attorney of any farm lying within an area pro-
posed to be established, and subsequently established, as a soil and
water conservation district under Chapter 278, RSMo. Each farm
[shall be] is entitled to representation by a land representative; pro-
vided, however, that [any] the land representative [must be] is a tax-
payer of the county within which the soil and water district is locat-
ed;

[(M)](K) Participating district [shall] means a soil and water con-
servation district which is a party to a then current Memorandum of
Understanding entered into in accordance with 10 CSR 70-5.010(1);

[(N)](L) Practice [shall] means any individual structure, conser-
vation measure, or operation which [shall] constitutes a viable
method of erosion abatement [and], sediment control, or protection
of water quality;

[(O)](M) [SCS shall] NRCS means the United States Department
of Agriculture [Soil] Natural Resources Conservation Service;

[(P)](N) State cost-share funds [shall] means funds available
through the Missouri State Soil and Water Conservation Cost-Share
Program; and

[(Q)](O) Tolerable soil loss limits [shall] means the maximum rate
of annual soil loss that will permit crop productivity to be obtained
economically and indefinitely.

AUTHORITY: Chapter 278, RSMo [1986] 2016. Original rule filed
Aug. 12, 1980, effective Jan. 1, 1981. Amended: Filed Dec. 14,
1982, effective April 11, 1983. Amended: Filed May 23, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment with the Soil and Water Districts
Commission, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be consid-
ered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. A public meeting is
scheduled for August 2, 2018, at the Department of Natural
Resources, Bennett Springs Conference Room, 1730 E. Elm St.,
Jefferson City, MO 65101.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 70—Soil and Water Districts Commission

Chapter 5—State Funded Cost-Share Program

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 70-5.010 [Apportionment] Allocation of Funds. The com-
mission is amending the rule title and sections (1) and (2); deleting
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subsections (2)(A) and (2)(B), adding new section (3), and reletter-
ing the remaining subsections under (2). Proposed amendments will
delete or update obsolete rule language in sections (1) and (2) and
delete or replace restrictive words in sections (1) and (2).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended because it has not been
revised since 2008 and is not current with state statutes or commis-
sion policy. The proposed amendments to 10 CSR 70-5.010 were iden-
tified during the Red Tape Reduction review pursuant to Executive
Order 17-03. 

(1) General Availability of Funds. State cost-share funds [shall be]
are available only to landowners [of land] located in soil and water
conservation districts which have agreed to locally administer the
program and have executed a Memorandum of Understanding with
the commission setting forth the terms of assistance. To be eligible, a
landowner must have a conservation plan as approved by the district.

(2) Annual [Apportionment] Allocation of Funds. All funds
[apportioned] allocated to the cost-share program for any fiscal
year shall be apportioned by the commission to the participating dis-
tricts by considering the character of the districts’ soil and water
conservation needs according to criteria developed by the commis-
sion.

[(A) Fiscal Year Limitations. Funds allocated to districts but
unclaimed at the end of each fiscal year, shall be returned to
the commission.

(B) Release of Funds for Reapportionment. A district, at
any time, may provide notice to the commission that it has
not obligated all funds made available under section (2), that
it does not expect to do so by the end of the fiscal year and
that it releases any portion of those funds for reapportion-
ment by the commission.

(C) Termination of the Memorandum of Understanding. In
the event that the Memorandum of Understanding required
by section (1) is terminated by any district or by the commis-
sion, the district shall release all funds unobligated as of the
effective date of termination and shall further release, as
they become available, obligated funds for which no claim for
payment is made in a timely manner.

(D) Use of Released Funds. Funds released by any district
in accordance with subsections (2)(A)–(C) shall be returned
to the Cost- Share Program to be reallocated by the commis-
sion considering the relative need basis or reserved by the
commission for special allotment under subsection (2)(E).]

[(E)](A) Special [Allotments] Allocations. The commission may
withhold funds from the general [apportionment under section
(2) and may reserve funds released by the districts under
subsections (2)(A)–(C)] allocation for the purpose of cost-sharing
special projects which the commission considers necessary and of
high priority for the [abatement of soil erosion and the control-
ling of sediment. The funds thus withheld for the general
apportionment or returned to the commission shall be allot-
ted to a district(s) specified by the commission for the cost-
sharing of certain critical-needs projects. The special critical-
needs projects shall be planned and designed by the com-
mission incorporating the cooperative assistance of the local
district(s) involved and with the technical assistance avail-
able to the district(s)] saving of soil and water on Missouri’s
agricultural land.

(3) Termination of the Memorandum of Understanding. In the
event that the Memorandum of Understanding is terminated by
any district or by the commission, the commission may withdraw
funds assigned to that district.

AUTHORITY: sections 278.070, 278.080, and 278.110, RSMo
[2000 and section 278.080, RSMo Supp. 2007] 2016.

Original rule filed Aug. 12, 1980, effective Jan. 1, 1981. Emergency
amendment filed July 29, 2009, effective Aug. 8, 2009, expired Feb.
25, 2010. Amended: Filed Sept. 26, 2007, effective May 30, 2008.
Amended: Filed May 23, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment with the Soil and Water Districts
Commission, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be consid-
ered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. A public meeting is
scheduled for August 2, 2018, at the Department of Natural
Resources, Bennett Springs Conference Room, 1730 E. Elm St.,
Jefferson City, MO 65101.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 70—Soil and Water Districts Commission

Chapter 5—State Funded Cost-Share Program

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 70-5.020 Application and Eligibility for Funds. The com-
mission is amending sections (1) through (9). Proposed amendments
will delete or update obsolete rule language in sections (1) through
(9); delete applicable rule requirements and procedures in section (2)
and move to commission policy (Cost-Share Handbook); and delete
and replace restrictive words in sections (1), (2), (3), (5), (6), (7),
(8), and (9), and delete the forms following the rule.

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended because it has not been
revised since 1999 and is not current with state statutes or commis-
sion policy. The proposed amendments to 10 CSR 70-5.020 were
identified during the Red Tape Reduction review pursuant to
Executive Order 17-03. 

(1) Establishing Practice Eligibility. The commission [shall] estab-
lishes a list of eligible practices for which cost-share funds [should
be utilized] are available and [annually shall] affirms or
modif[y]ies the list as it considers appropriate. The participating dis-
tricts shall develop annual priority listings of preferred practices from
the commission eligibility list upon which they will base their con-
siderations for cost-sharing. Landowners [shall be] are eligible for
cost-share funds [only] for only the [types of] practices designated
as eligible [for these purposes] by both the Soil and Water
Districts Commission and [by] the participating districts. No eligible
practices are available to treat flood scouring problems.

(2) Application for Assistance. To be eligible for assistance from the
Cost-Share Program, a landowner must make application on forms
provided by the commission. Copies of these forms [shall be] are
available at district offices. The district’s board will act upon only
those applications for cost-sharing from landowners who have a con-
servation plan as approved by the district[, except as provided in
sections (7) and (8), and] for eligible practices on which construc-
tion or implementation has not yet begun. [In commission-approved
Special Area Land Treatment (SALT) program projects, the dis-
trict board of supervisors may approve SALT cost-share appli-
cations at the date of the conservation plan approval or at the
approval date of the SALT project, whichever is later.] However,
governmental agencies, political subdivisions, and public institutions
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are excluded from participation in the Cost-Share Program. [As a
further stipulation for receiving cost-sharing assistance, the
land upon which the practice is to be implemented or con-
structed must be eroding at rates greater than tolerable soil
loss limits or be experiencing active gully erosion, except
that cost-sharing assistance also may be available in the fol-
lowing instances when excessive erosion is not necessarily
occurring:]

[(A) For eligible practices to prevent gully erosion when
needed to complete a water disposal system;

(B) For the establishment of permanent forest cover on mar-
ginal or riparian lands;

(C) For the exclusion of domestic livestock grazing from
existing woodlands on marginal or riparian soils;

(D) For a no-till practice for forage conversions;
(E) For grade stabilization structures that are greater than

ten (10) years old when the principal pipe has failed;
(F) For a no-till practice to improve the vegetative cover of

pasture and rangeland to provide continued erosion preven-
tion; and

(G) For a practice to demonstrate benefits of a planned
grazing system.]

(3) Funding Determination and Limits. It [shall be] is the responsi-
bility and duty of the board of supervisors to determine the actual
dollar amount of cost-sharing on individual applications. [State
cost-share rates shall not exceed the limits established in 10
CSR 70-5.040(1).] In the event that the landowner wishes to con-
struct or implement practices over and above the size or scope deter-
mined by a qualified technician to be of minimum and necessary need
for soil and water conservation, the board shall provide cost-share
assistance on only that part of the practice necessary for soil and
water conservation purposes.

(4) Availability of Federal Funds. [Applications for cost-sharing
assistance may be approved by the district board of supervi-
sors when it determines that federal funds are unavailable to
that applicant for the proposed practice.] State cost-sharing
assistance [also ]is available for practice units applied for but not
approved by the federal program, if those additional units constitute
a complete structure, conservation measure, or operation in and of
themselves. State cost-sharing assistance may supplement federal
cost-sharing on an individual practice, [within limits set forth in
section (3),] and only upon practice components cost-shared by the
federal program[, when the estimated cost-share portion of
the practice exceeds the national program allowable dollar
figure from the federal program. Special area land treatment
project areas approved by the commission are exempt from
the provisions of this rule].

(5) Compliance with Applicable Law. In the installation of any eligi-
ble practices, the landowner [solely shall be] is responsible for
assuring compliance with any applicable federal, state, or local laws,
ordinances, and regulations. The landowner is also [is solely]
responsible for obtaining all permits, licenses or other instruments of
permission required before the installation of the proposed practice.

(6) Group Projects. Landowners may cooperate with other landown-
ers in the event that the most appropriate solution to the soil and
water conservation needs addressed [in the Act] requires eligible
practices to be located on or across property lines of different
landowners. In these cases, an agreement between or among cooper-
ating landowners must be prepared by or on behalf of the group stip-
ulating and providing for, but not limited to, the divisions of unshared
costs, maintenance, such easements as necessary to accomplish the
installation, operation, and maintenance of the practice and the shar-
ing of rights and benefits over and above the public benefits which
might accrue from the installation of the practice. This agreement

and an [group] area conservation plan [shall] may be submitted to
the district(s) within which the land included in the plans lies. Upon
approval of the [group] area conservation plan by the district(s), the
individual landowners are eligible to apply for cost-sharing assistance
under this rule. The [group] area conservation plan may serve in
lieu of the individual landowner conservation plans [as stipulated
in section (2)]. All other requirements for application and cost-
sharing assistance remain in effect.

(7) Special Projects. Upon notification [to a district(s)] of [a fund
availability] available funds for special critical-needs projects [so]
designated by the commission, the district board shall make all rea-
sonable efforts to contact landowners [of land] within the special
project area [which lies within the district boundaries,] to
inform them [landowners] of the [availability of the] available
[special] cost-share funds and to encourage the landowners to coop-
erate in the special critical-needs projects. [Each l]Landowners with-
in the project boundaries [shall then be eligible to] may apply for
the special cost-shar[ing]e assistance on practices specified as eligi-
ble by the commission [in its project plan]. [Application shall be
made at the local district office in the manner of application
for general state cost- sharing assistance to landowners, but
action on applications by the board as set forth in 10 CSR
70-5.050(2) shall not be taken unless applications from
landowners covering seventy-five percent (75%) of the land
to be treated are made. In special critical-needs project coop-
eration, the landowner requirement of a conservation plan as
approved by the district, under section (2), is waived. All
other landowner requirements and obligations here named
shall remain in effect.] Cooperation in these special projects is
entirely voluntary [on the part of the] for landowners.

(8) Termination Date. All applications shall specify a termination
date [which shall not exceed twelve (12) months from the
date the landowner’s application is approved by the board. In
commission-approved SALT projects, the district board of
supervisors may set the termination date to be anytime dur-
ing the lifetime of the SALT project] for completion of the con-
servation practice. Claims for payment received after the termina-
tion date shall not be honored unless an amendment for an extension
is approved by the board. Amendments for extensions can be autho-
rized for an adequate period of time determined by the board to be
reasonable and fair to the landowner. [An amendment for an
extension must be approved prior to the termination date of
the original application and only when the implementation or
construction has begun on the practice.]

(9) Application Amendments. A copy of [any] amendments will be
furnished to each party receiving a copy of the original application
and the board shall approve each amendment before it [shall]
becomes effective. [An amendment to a cost-share application
shall not be appropriate in the event that the construction or
implementation of a practice has begun, except as provided
in subsections (10)(A), (C) and (F). An amendment to an
application for cost-sharing assistance shall be appropriate
for any of the following reasons:] The commission will provide
guidance regarding appropriate reasons for amendments.

[(A) To increase the quantities of eligible components need-
ed on the practice;

(B) To comply with an amended conservation plan;
(C) To extend the termination date indicated on the original

application consistent with section (9);
(D) To cancel the application or agreement by mutual con-

sent;
(E) To increase the obligation to the landowner for the pro-

posed practice; or
(F) To reflect the added costs to the landowner when phys-

ical conditions at the practice site which require design
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changes are encountered.]

AUTHORITY: sections 278.070.4, 278.080.1, 278.080.5(8), and
278.110.8, RSMo [1994 and 278.080.1 and 278.080.5(8),
RSMo Supp. 1998] 2016. Original rule filed Aug. 12, 1980,
effective Jan. 1, 1981. For intervening history, please consult the
Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed May 23, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment with the Soil and Water Districts
Commission, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be consid-
ered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. A public meeting is
scheduled for August 2, 2018, at the Department of Natural
Resources, Bennett Springs Conference Room, 1730 E. Elm St.,
Jefferson City, MO 65101.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 70—Soil and Water Districts Commission

Chapter 5—State Funded Cost-Share Program

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 70-5.030 Design, Layout and Construction of Proposed
Practices; Operation and Maintenance. The commission is amend-
ing sections (1), (2), (3), and (6); deleting sections (4) and (5) and
renumbering section (6). Proposed amendments will delete or update
obsolete rule language in the Editor’s Note and sections (1), (2), (3),
and (6); delete sections (4) and (5) and language in sections (2) and
(6) that are duplicative with commission policy (Cost-Share
Handbook) and delete restrictive words in sections (2) and (6).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended because it has not been
revised since 1983 and is not current with state statutes or commis-
sion policy. The proposed amendments to 10 CSR 70-5.030 were
identified during the Red Tape Reduction review pursuant to
Executive Order 17-03.

[Editor’s Note: The secretary of state has determined that
the publication of this rule in its entirety would be unduly
cumbersome or expensive. The entire text of the material ref-
erenced has been filed with the secretary of state. This
material may be found at the Office of the Secretary of State
or at the head- quarters of the agency and is available to any
interested person at a cost established by state law.]

(1) Technical Specifications. The commission shall rely on stan-
dards and [S]specifications for soil and water conservation practices
[set forth in the Soil Conservation Service Field Office
Technical Guide are to be] used by the United States
Department of Agriculture Natural Resources Conservation
Service as the basis for determining need and practicability of the
proposed practice, [for] preparing plans and specifications, [for]
designing and laying out the practices, and [for] certifying the proper
installation of the practices. [Specifications for additional soil
and water conservation practices not set forth in the Soil
Conservation Services Field Office Technical Guide and
m]Modifications to [those included in the technical guide] the
standards and specifications may be considered and authorized by

the commission [at the request of the district]. Practice descrip-
tion and specification information will be [on file] available in the
district office.

(2) Inspections and Certifications. A [responsible] certified techni-
cian shall inspect the work in progress to determine that practice
standards and specifications are met. Following the installations, [it
will be the responsibility of] the technician [to] will certify to the
district that the practice was or was not properly installed. If the dis-
trict does not receive a technician’s certification that the practice was
properly installed, it shall not approve any claim to the commission
for payment regarding the practice. [In the event that any techni-
cian responsible for complying with any portion of the rule is
different from the technician who originally certified the fea-
sibility of the practices in the original conservation plan, and
if the technician is other than an individual employed for
those purposes by the district or the Soil Conservation
Service, the qualifications of this technician shall be estab-
lished to the satisfaction of the board before proceeding any
further with the processing of any claim for payment.]

(3) Operation and Maintenance by Landowner. [Except as provid-
ed in section (4), t]The landowner shall be responsible for the
operation and maintenance of all practices constructed with assis-
tance from the Cost-Share Program and the landowner will be
expected to maintain the [same] practices in good operating condi-
tion to assure their continued effectiveness [for the purpose(s) for
which they were installed].

[(4) Operation and Maintenance by the District. If within the
specified life span of  the practice the district determines
that landowner operation and maintenance responsibilities
would constitute an undue burden upon the landowner, the
district may assume responsibility for all or a part of the
operation and maintenance and, prior to and as a condition
for approval of a claim for payment for cost-share funds, as a
condition of the cost-share assistance agreement under sec-
tion (5), shall require the landowner to provide the district
with the necessary easement or other land rights necessary
to perform the operation or maintenance.

(5) Cost-Share Assistance Agreement. As a condition for
receiving any cost-share funds for eligible practices, the
landowner, before submission of a claim for reimbursement,
shall enter into an agreement of maintenance on forms sup-
plied by the commission. The provisions of the agreement
shall state; if the practice is removed, altered or modified so
as to lessen its effectiveness, without prior approval of the
district, for a period  of ten (10) years or the expected life
span of the practice, whichever is the lesser, after the date of
receiving payment, the landowner or his/her heirs, assignees
or other transferees, shall refund to the Cost-Share Program
the prorated amount of the state cost-share payment previ-
ously received for the practice or portion of the practice
which has been removed, altered or modified; and that if the
district assumes maintenance responsibilities, right of
access will be granted by the landowner. A copy of the agree-
ment shall be recorded by the commission in the county
where the land upon which the practices are constructed is
located if the commission concurs with a board’s determina-
tion that there is a need for recording.]

[(6)](4) Requests for Removal, Alteration, or Modification of
Practices. [A landowner may request t]The commission may
grant a district’s [approval of] request for the removal, alteration or
modification of [the] a practice at any time during the ten- (10-)[-]
year or expected life span, whichever is less[er], following payment
of cost-share assistance. [In determining whether to approve or
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disapprove the action, the district shall consider—]
[(A) The value of the practice in conserving soil and water

resources;
(B) The extent to which the practice hinders the highest

and best use of the land upon which the practice is located;
(C) Whether alternative soil and water conservation mea-

sures have been or are to be constructed or implemented;
and

(D) The time remaining in the designed life of the prac-
tice.]

AUTHORITY: sections 278.070, 278.080, and 278.110, RSMo
[1986] 2016. Original rule filed Aug. 12, 1980, effective Jan. 1,
1981. Emergency amendment filed July 29, 2009, effective Aug. 8,
2009, expired Feb. 25, 2010. Amended: Filed Dec. 14, 1982, effective
April 11, 1983. Amended: Filed May 23, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment with the Soil and Water Districts
Commission, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be consid-
ered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. A public meeting is
scheduled for August 2, 2018, at the Department of Natural
Resources, Bennett Springs Conference Room, 1730 E. Elm St.,
Jefferson City, MO 65101.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 70—Soil and Water Districts Commission

Chapter 5—State Funded Cost-Share Program

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 70-5.040 Cost-Share Rates and Reimbursement
Procedures. The commission is amending sections (1), (2), (3), and
(4). Proposed amendments will delete or update obsolete rule lan-
guage in sections (1), (2), (3), and (4); delete applicable rule require-
ments and procedures in sections (3) and (4) that are duplicative with
commission policy (District Operations Manual) and delete and
replace restrictive words in sections (1) and (2).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended because it has not been
revised since 2009 and is not current with state statutes or commis-
sion policy. The proposed amendments to 10 CSR 70-2.020 were
identified during the Red Tape Reduction review pursuant to
Executive Order 17-03. 

(1) Cost-Share Rates. Cost-share and incentive rates [shall not
exceed seventy-five percent (75%) of the] are established by
the commission and based on the estimated approved costs of eligi-
ble practices [or the incentive rates established annually by the
commission for certain management practices] which have
proven to be effective soil and water conservation methods.

(2) Eligible Costs. Eligible costs will be determined by the [district
and shall] commission to include [all] necessary and reasonable
costs incurred by the landowner in installing or [applying] imple-
menting an approved practice. The costs may include, but are not
limited to, machine hire or the [costs of the] use of [his/her] the
landowner’s own equipment, [needed] necessary materials deliv-

ered to and used at the site, and labor required to construct the prac-
tice.

(3) Documenting Costs. [All authorized items or costs for which
the landowner desires cost- sharing assistance shall be sup-
ported by receipts of payments from the vendor(s). Receipts
of payments from the vendor(s) shall show the name of the
vendor(s), the materials, labor or equipment used on the
practice, the component(s) cost, the total amount paid for
the component(s), the date payment was received and the
vendor’s verification of payment received. Should receipts
include components which were not needed on the approved
practice, the bill shall be adjusted to reflect the actual cost
of minimum and necessary components. Costs for labor,
materials or equipment incurred by the landowner or by the
current farm operator when no vendor receipts for payment
are obtainable should be listed on a certification worksheet
showing the component(s) cost, amount or number of each
component and the total amount for which payment is
claimed.] The commission determines the supporting documen-
tation necessary to approve cost-share payments.

(4) Claim for Payment. The landowner is eligible for payment
[A]after the practice has been completed and certified by the
[responsible] technician[, the landowner shall complete a
claim for payment on forms provided by the commission and
available at the location where the application form was
obtained. A copy of the certification worksheet of costs
incurred by the landowner or the current farm operator and
of the vendor(s) receipts, both required by section (3), shall
be attached to the claim for payment before submission to
the district. The landowner at the same time shall complete
and sign the agreement form required by 10 CSR 70-
5.030(5), a copy of which shall be submitted to the district
for processing along with the claim for payment] and
approved by the district board.

AUTHORITY: section 278.080, RSMo [Supp. 2007] 2016. Original
rule filed Aug. 12, 1980, effective Jan. 1, 1981. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
May 23, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment with the Soil and Water Districts
Commission, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be consid-
ered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. A public meeting is
scheduled for August 2, 2018, at the Department of Natural
Resources, Bennett Springs Conference Room, 1730 E. Elm St.,
Jefferson City, MO 65101.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 70—Soil and Water Districts Commission

Chapter 5—State Funded Cost-Share Program

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 70-5.050 District Administration of the Cost-Share
Program. The commission is amending sections (2), (4), and (9);
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deleting sections (1), (3), (5), (7), and (8) and renumbering sections
(2), (4), (6), and (9). Proposed amendments will delete and update
rule language in sections (2), (4), and (9) and delete and replace
restrictive words in sections (2) and (4).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended because it has not been
revised since 1992 and is not current with state statutes or commis-
sion policy. The proposed amendments to 10 CSR 70-5.050 were
identified during the Red Tape Reduction review pursuant to
Executive Order 17-03. 

[(1) Application. This rule shall apply only to districts which
have entered into a Memorandum of Understanding with the
commission agreeing to assist the commission in the admin-
istration of the Cost-Share Program and to applicants having
active conservation plans as required by 10 CSR 70-5.010(1)
as approved by the district and to eligible practices covered
by the conservation plan.]

[(2)](1) District Board Action on Applications. The district board
[of supervisors] shall review the cost-share assistance application
and any amendments and [shall] approve or disapprove each applica-
tion or amendment. The action shall be recorded in the official min-
utes of the district meeting and the landowners shall be notified of the
action within [ten (10)] thirty (30) days. [The board at this time
also shall determine the amount of funding under 10 CSR
70-5.020(3).] Special circumstances may arise where district
board approval for cost-share assistance is needed before the next
monthly district board meeting. In those cases, the district board
shall establish specific criteria by which any district board member
may approve that action. [All those approvals shall be reviewed
at the next board meeting and recorded in the official min-
utes of the district meeting.] Applications for cost-share assis-
tance may be approved by the district board only when there is a suf-
ficient unobligated fund balance to provide the estimated cost-share
amount [based upon the actual cost information available to
the district]. The district board shall not approve any application
for cost-share assistance on which the construction or implementa-
tion of projects or practices has begun.

[(3) Recordkeeping. The district shall maintain a record of
funds obligated as applications for cost-share assistance are
approved based upon estimated costs. A cost-share ledger
will be kept current showing the balance of unobligated
funds and other information as the commission determines
is necessary to provide for proper documentation of all
expenditures from the Cost-Share Program.]

[(4)](2) District Review of Claim for Payment. Upon completion of
an [approved] eligible practice, the district shall review and approve
the claim for payment [prepared by the landowner in accor-
dance with 10 CSR 70-5.040(4) and, if it finds that the prac-
tice was installed properly, that all other conditions have been
satisfied and that the claim has been completed properly and
is accompanied by all required supporting documentation,
shall approve the claim for payment]. If the district determines
that [the claim is prepared improperly, or that other] deficien-
cies exist, [it] the district shall [so] notify the landowner and [shall]
provide the landowner with a reasonable opportunity to correct the
deficiencies and [to] resubmit the claim for payment.

[(5) District Assistance to Landowner. The district shall pro-
vide assistance as it considers appropriate to the landowner
in the completion of necessary forms and any other Cost-
Share Program matters.]

[(6)](3) Filing System. To provide for efficient processing of requests
for cost-sharing assistance and for maintenance of necessary docu-

mentation of matters relating to the administration of the Cost-Share
Program, the district shall develop and maintain with the assistance
of the commission, a filing system which includes copies of all forms
completed by the landowner and all other information considered rel-
evant to the construction of the eligible practices and to the cost-shar-
ing assistance provided. The files shall be available for inspection by
the personnel of the commission and by representatives of the state
auditor’s office during normal business hours of the district.

[(7) Quarterly Reports. The district, no later than the tenth
day of October, January, April and July of each state fiscal
year, shall submit a report to the commission indicating the
status of cost-share funds as shown on each district cost-
share ledger required by section (3) at the close of the last
day of the preceding month.

(8) Delegation of Responsibilities by the Board. The commis-
sion shall be notified in writing of any delegation of respon-
sibilities. The board of supervisors may delegate any of the
authorities and responsibilities assigned to it by these rules
to a member or subcommittee of the board, except—

(A) Establishment of preferred practices in accordance
with 10 CSR 70-5.020(1);

(B) Establishment of cost-sharing dollar amounts under 10
CSR 70-5.020(3);

(C) Application amendment determination as specified in
10 CSR 70-5.030(6); and

(D) Application and claim for payment approval in accor-
dance with this rule.]

[(9)](4) Regardless of the source of funding, each district board [of
supervisors] is authorized to deny any application for participation
in any program generally available through the district which is
administered by the State Soil and Water Districts [C]commission.
The district board [of supervisors] shall notify the applicant of the
denial by certified mail, return receipt requested. The applicant may
request the Soil and Water Districts Commission to conduct a review
of his/her application. The request must be in writing and be directed
to the Soil and Water Districts Commission, P[.]O[.] Box 176,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176. The request must be received by the
commission no later than thirty (30) days from the date the applicant
received the denial letter from the district board. The applicant, upon
request, may appear before the commission in person, by a represen-
tative, or in writing. The commission shall schedule the review of the
application at a regularly scheduled meeting of the commission with-
in one hundred twenty (120) days of the district board’s denial. The
commission shall give the applicant at least twenty (20) days’ notice
by letter of the regularly scheduled meeting when the commission
will review the application.

AUTHORITY: sections 278.070, 278.080, and 278.110, RSMo
[1986] 2016. Original rule filed Aug. 12, 1980, effective Jan. 1,
1981. For intervening history, please consult the Code of State
Regulations. Amended: Filed May 23, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment with the Soil and Water Districts
Commission, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be consid-
ered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. A public meeting is
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scheduled for August 2, 2018, at the Department of Natural
Resources, Bennett Springs Conference Room, 1730 E. Elm St.,
Jefferson City, MO 65101.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 70—Soil and Water Districts Commission

Chapter 5—State Funded Cost-Share Program

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 70-5.060 Commission Administration of the Cost-Share
Program. The commission is amending sections (1), (2), (4), (5),
and (7); deleting sections (3) and (6); adding a new section (4) and
renumbering sections (4), (5), (6), and (7) that follow the new sec-
tion (4). Proposed amendments will delete or update obsolete rule
language in sections (1), (2), (4), and (5) and delete and replace
restrictive words in sections (1), (2), (4), (5), and (7).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended because it has not been
revised since 1996 and is not current with state statutes or commis-
sion policy. The proposed amendments to 10 CSR 70-5.060 were
identified during the Red Tape Reduction review pursuant to
Executive Order 17-03.

(1) Forms. The commission shall [prepare] develop and make avail-
able to participating districts, [sufficient copies of all] forms nec-
essary for district administration, and [shall] further prepare and
keep updated [a handbook] guidance for district use in assisting in
the administration of the Cost-Share Program.

(2) Commission Review of Claims for Payment. Upon receipt from a
district-approved claim for payment, a commission representative
[shall] reviews the claim and the supporting documentation which is
attached. If the claim is determined to be complete and properly doc-
umented, [the commission shall prepare a voucher for transmit-
tal to the] payment will be made by the Office of Administration
[for preparation of a warrant payable] to the landowner.

[(3) Payment to Landowner and Recording Agreement. Upon
receipt of the warrant from the Office of Administration, the
commission shall transmit the same by mail to the landown-
er. The district shall be notified monthly of any transmission
at which time  the commission shall complete all necessary
portions of the cost-sharing assistance agreement prepared
by the landowner at the time the claim for payment was pre-
pared. Costs incurred in the recording and indexing of the
agreements shall be paid by the commission.]

(3) Variance Requests. The commission may grant individual
variances upon presentation of adequate proof that compliance
with sections 278.060 to 278.300, RSMo or any rule or regula-
tion, standard, requirement, limitation, or order of the commis-
sion will have an arbitrary and unreasonable impact on landown-
ers participating in soil and water conservation eligible practices.
In determining under what conditions and to what extent a vari-
ance may be granted, the commission has wide discretion in
weighing the equities involved as well as the advantages and dis-
advantages of approving or disapproving a variance request. 

(A) The variance request shall—
1. Be in writing;
2. Be filed with the program director of the Soil and Water

Conservation Program; and
3. Specify the reasons a variance should be granted by the

commission.
(B) The burden is placed on the applicant of a variance to show

the inequities if the variance is not granted.
(C) The program director shall promptly investigate the appli-

cation and make a recommendation to the commission as to
whether the variance should be granted or denied.

(4) Incomplete or Inaccurate Claims for Payments. [If, in reviewing
the claim for payment, the commission or its agent deter-
mines that the information contained in the claim is incom-
plete or inaccurate, that an error exists in the final computa-
tions or that proper documentation has not been supplied, it
shall notify the district of the deficiency. The district then
shall request the landowner to complete a claim for payment
and if necessary a new cost-sharing assistance agreement
required by 10 CSR 70-5.030(5).] No payment will be autho-
rized until the commission has determined that the claim for payment
and necessary supporting documentations are complete and accurate
[in all respects. Cost- sharing assistance agreements shall
not be recorded until the payment in fact has been autho-
rized by the commission and received by the landowner].

(5) Violations of Cost-Sharing Assistance Agreement. In the event the
commission is notified of an alleged violation of the cost-sharing
assistance agreement, a representative of the commission, or a repre-
sentative of the district, or both, shall investigate the alleged viola-
tion and report the results of the investigation to the commission. If,
following the investigation, it appears as though a violation has
occurred, the district board of supervisors shall notify the landowner
by certified mail, return receipt requested, and [shall] make demand
for repayment of the appropriate amount to the state Cost-Share
Program within thirty (30) days after receipt of the demand for repay-
ment. Within that thirty- (30-)[-] day period, the landowner may
request the commission review the demand for repayment. The
request for a review must be in writing. The review shall be conduct-
ed at a regularly scheduled commission meeting, allowing adequate
opportunity for the landowner to present arguments in support of the
claim. The landowner’s arguments may be presented by the landown-
er, by a representative, or in writing. If, following the review, the
commission determines that no violation has occurred or that exten-
uating circumstances justify the landowner’s position, the demand for
repayment shall be withdrawn and the commission shall [so] notify
the landowner of its decision. If, however, following the review, the
commission determines the violation did occur, it shall [so] notify
the landowner by certified mail, return receipt requested, and [shall]
renew the demand for repayment. If the repayment is not received
within thirty (30) days of receipt of the commission’s request for
repayment or if all deficiencies are not corrected at the landowner’s
expense within the time specified[,] by the commission, the commis-
sion may refer the matter to the Office of the Attorney General for
recovery of the state cost-share funds.

[(6) Report to Districts. The commission shall prepare on a
monthly basis a report to each participating district indicat-
ing the payments which have been made from the Cost-
Share Program during the preceding month and any other
information determined by the commission to be of value to
the districts regarding the administration of the program.]

[(7)](6) New Practices. The commission [shall have] has the author-
ity to conduct a pilot project for the purpose of testing development
and implementation of new cost-share practices appropriate for future
soil and water conservation resource needs. A pilot project will be
conducted for a specified period of time in a limited area determined
by the commission.

AUTHORITY: sections 278.070(4), 278.080(8), and 278.110.8,
RSMo [Supp. 1995] 2016. Original rule filed Aug. 12, 1980,
effective Jan. 1, 1981. For intervening history, please consult the
Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed May 23, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
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in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment with the Soil and Water Districts
Commission, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be consid-
ered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. A public meeting is
scheduled for August 2, 2018, at the Department of Natural
Resources, Bennett Springs Conference Room, 1730 E. Elm St.,
Jefferson City, MO 65101.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 70—Soil and Water Districts Commission

Chapter 6—Tax Levy Referendums

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 70-6.010 Watershed [Subdistrict] District Tax Levy
Referendums. The commission is amending the name of 10 CSR 70-
6.010 and amending sections (1)–(7). Proposed amendments will
delete or update obsolete rule language in the rule name, purpose
statement, and sections (1)–(7).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended because it has not been
revised since 1984 and is not current with state statutes or commis-
sion policy. The proposed amendments to 10 CSR 70-6.010 were iden-
tified during the Red Tape Reduction review pursuant to Executive
Order 17-03. 

(1) The [governing body or the] trustees of the [subdistrict when
acting with the approval of the governing body as provided in
section 278.240, RSMo, is] watershed district are responsible
for conducting referendums [under the rules and procedures
developed by the Soil and Water Districts Commission] as
outlined below.

(2) Watershed [sub]district referendums for tax levies should be held
separately and distinctly from soil and water conservation district
(SWCD) elections for district supervisors, but may be held in con-
junction with watershed district trustee elections.

(3) Each landowner is eligible to vote and may cast [his/her] their
vote at a[ny one of the] designated polling place[s]. If [it is
impossible for any] a landowner is unable to personally cast
[his/her eligible] their vote, [that person] they may give power of
attorney to a taxpaying citizen of the [subdistrict] watershed dis-
trict to represent [him/her] them. The power of attorney authoriza-
tion form must be given to the referendum judges.

(4) The [subdistrict’s governing body, or the] watershed district
trustees [of the subdistrict when acting with the approval of
the governing body as provided in section 278.240, RSMo,]
will—

(A) Provide legal notice of the referendum once each week for two
(2) consecutive weeks immediately preceding the week of the election
in one (1) newspaper of general circulation in the watershed
[sub]district; the last notice to be published at least ten (10) days
prior to the referendum date. If sufficient need for notices in more
than one (1) newspaper can be shown, the commission may approve,
in advance, additional publications;

(B) Select three (3) judges who will agree to conduct the referen-
dum for each polling place. The[y] judges must be landowners with-
in the [subdistrict] watershed district;

(D) Prepare ballots, tally sheets, voter registration sheets, and an
envelope for storing cast ballots[;] and deliver them to the judges.

Ballots shall state the amount of the proposed tax and whether it is
an organization tax or a tax for construction, repair, alteration, main-
tenance, and operation;

(5) The referendum judges will—
(A) Be present during the polling period and for counting the

votes. If any election judge is not present at the time for opening the
polls, those judges present shall select a landowner of the [subdis-
trict] watershed district to serve and they shall give this person the
necessary instructions. A majority of the election judges shall deter-
mine, in accordance with section (3), the qualifications of a voter as
presented at the polls;

(D) After the polls are closed, count the ballots, record on the tally
sheet the number of “Yes” and “No” votes, and certify the results.
A majority vote shall determine the issue;

(F) [Hand over] Provide the sealed ballots to the [governing
body (] watershed district or one (1) of the SWCD boards as direct-
ed by the [governing body)] watershed district for proper storage.
Ballots shall be safely preserved for twelve (12) months.

(6) The [governing body,] watershed district or one (1) of the
SWCD[s] boards as directed by the [governing body] watershed dis-
trict, may request reimbursement for the cost of legal notices from
the Soil and Water Districts Commission. To request reimbursement,
send to the Soil and Water Conservation Program [Office] an origi-
nal and two (2) copies of the [A]affidavit of [P]publication, an orig-
inal and one (1) copy of the paid receipt, and an original and two (2)
copies of the [R]requisition for [E]election [E]expense [R]reimburse-
ment form. Other expenses incurred in administering referendums
are the responsibility of the SWCD[(s)]. [(]These expenses may be
included as items reimbursable through the SWCD’s normal
[A]administrative [E]expense [A]allocation.[)]

(7) The [governing body (] watershed district or one (1) of the
SWCD boards as directed by the [governing body)] watershed dis-
trict, will complete and sign two (2) copies of the [R]report and
[C]certification of [T]tax [L]levy [R]referendum form. One (1) copy
shall be mailed to the Soil and Water Conservation Program. One (1)
copy and a tally sheet signed by the judges shall be kept permanently
[for] in the SWCD files.

AUTHORITY: section 278.210, RSMo [1986] 2016. Original rule
filed June 15, 1984, effective Oct. 11, 1984. Amended: Filed May 23,
2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC MEETING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment with the Soil and Water Districts
Commission, PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be consid-
ered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. A public meeting is
scheduled for August 2, 2018, at the Department of Natural
Resources, Bennett Springs Conference Room, 1730 East Elm Street,
Jefferson City, MO 65101.

Title 11—DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Division 45—Missouri Gaming Commission

Chapter 7—Security and Surveillance

PROPOSED RESCISSION

11 CSR 45-7.090 Dock Site Commission Facility. This rule estab-
lished requirements for a commission dock site facility.
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PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because the excursion gam-
bling boats no longer cruise. Therefore, there is no need to require a
separate dock site facility.

AUTHORITY: sections 313.004, 313.800, 313.805 and 313.824,
RSMo 1994. Emergency rule filed Sept. 1, 1993, effective Sept. 20,
1993, expired Jan. 17, 1994. Emergency rule filed Jan. 5, 1994,
effective Jan. 18, 1994, expired Jan. 30, 1994. Original rule filed
Sept. 1, 1993, effective Jan. 31, 1994. Amended: Filed June 2, 1995,
effective Dec. 30, 1995. Rescinded: Filed May 31, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed rescission with the Missouri Gaming Commission,
PO Box 1847, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of
this notice in the Missouri Register. A public hearing is scheduled
for Tuesday, July 31, 2018, at 10:00 a.m., in the Missouri Gaming
Commission’s Hearing Room, 3417 Knipp Drive, Jefferson City,
Missouri.

Title 11—DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
Division 45—Missouri Gaming Commission 

Chapter 10—Licensee’s Responsibilities

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

11 CSR 45-10.020 Licensee’s and Applicant’s Duty to Disclose
Changes in Information. The commission is amending section (4).

PURPOSE: This amendment modifies the meaning of “material
change.” 

(4) For the purposes of this rule, “material change” shall mean any
change in personal identification or residence information, such as
name, address, and phone number; information required in section
313.847, RSMo; or other information that might affect an applicant
or licensee’s suitability to hold a gaming license, including, but not
limited to, arrests, convictions, and guilty pleas, disciplinary actions
or license denials in other jurisdiction(s), [significant changes in
financial condition,] or relationships or associations with persons
having criminal records or notorious reputations.  

AUTHORITY: sections 313.004, [RSMo 2000, and sections]
313.800, 313.805, and 313.807, RSMo [Supp. 2013] 2016.
Emergency rule filed Sept. 1, 1993, effective Sept. 20, 1993, expired
Jan. 17, 1994. Emergency rule filed Jan. 5, 1994, effective Jan. 18,
1994, expired Jan. 30, 1994. Original rule filed Sept. 1, 1993, effec-
tive Jan. 31, 1994. For intervening history, please consult the Code
of State Regulations. Amended: Filed May 31, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition

to this proposed amendment with the Missouri Gaming Commission,
PO Box 1847, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of
this notice in the Missouri Register. A public hearing is scheduled
for Tuesday, July 31, 2018, at 10:00 a.m., in the Missouri Gaming
Commission’s Hearing Room, 3417 Knipp Drive, Jefferson City,
Missouri.

Title 11—DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Division 45—Missouri Gaming Commission

Chapter 40—Fantasy Sports Contests

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

11 CSR 45-40.060 Cash Reserve and Segregated Account Require-
ments. The commission is amending section (2).

PURPOSE: This amendment removes the option of using a special
purpose segregated account to hold player’s funds held by Missouri
residents. 

(2) Funds held in player accounts of Missouri residents shall be pro-
tected as set forth herein. A fantasy sports operator shall maintain a
reserve in the form of cash, cash equivalents, or a combination there-
of to protect player funds [in one (1) of the following ways:].

[(A) Cash Reserve.]
[1.](A) The amount of the reserve shall be equal to, at a mini-

mum, the sum of all registered players’ funds held in player accounts
of Missouri residents.

[2.](B) The reserve agreements must reasonably protect the
reserve against claims of the operator’s creditors other than the
authorized players for whose benefit and protection the reserve is
established, and must provide the following:

[A.]1. The reserve shall be established and held in trust for the
benefit and protection of authorized players to the extent the licensed
operator holds money in player accounts for players;

[B.]2. The reserve must not be released, in whole or in part,
except upon written instruction or approval of the commission. The
reserve must be available within ninety (90) days of written demand
or written instruction. If the reserve is released to the commission,
the commission may interplead the funds in the circuit court of Cole
County for distribution to the authorized players for whose protection
and benefit the account was established and to the other such persons
as the court determines are entitled thereto, or shall take such other
steps as necessary to effect the proper distribution of the funds, or
may do both;

[C.]3. The licensed operator may receive income accruing on
the reserve, without obtaining permission from the commission; and 

[D.]4. The licensed operator has no interest or title to the
reserve.

[3.](C) The reserve must be held or issued by a federally insured
financial institution and must be established pursuant to a written
agreement between the licensed operator and the financial institution.

[4.](D) The proposed reserve arrangement is not effective for pur-
poses of complying with section 313.930.3(4), RSMo, until the com-
mission’s written approval has been obtained. 

[5.](E) The reserve arrangement agreements may be amended
only with the prior written approval of the commission[; and].

[(B) Special purpose segregated account with a separate
corporate entity. 

1. A fantasy sports contest operator may establish a
special purpose segregated account that is]

(F) The account shall be maintained and controlled by a properly
constituted corporate entity that is not the fantasy sports contest oper-
ator and whose governing board includes one (1) or more corporate
directors who are independent of the fantasy sports contest operator
and of any corporation related to or controlled by the fantasy sports
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contest operator. The corporate entity must meet the following
requirements:

[2. The special purpose segregated account with a sep-
arate corporate entity must hold, at a minimum, the sum of
all authorized player funds held in player accounts of
Missouri residents for use in fantasy sports contests. 

3. The special purpose segregated account must rea-
sonably protect the funds against claims of the operator’s
creditors other than the authorized players for whose benefit
and protection the special purpose segregated fund is estab-
lished, and must provide that:

A. The segregated account is established and held for
the benefit and protection of authorized players; 

B. The fantasy sports contest operator may receive
income accruing on the segregated account. However, the
fantasy sports contest operator has no interest in or title to
the segregated account; and 

C. The funds in the segregated account held for the
benefit of Missouri residents may only be distributed for the
following: 

(I) For payment to players upon completion of fan-
tasy sports contests or otherwise for the reconciliation of
player accounts;

(II) For income earned on the account, to the fanta-
sy sports contest operator;

(III) To the Missouri Gaming Commission in the event
that the fantasy sports operator’s license expires, is surren-
dered, or is otherwise revoked. The Missouri Gaming
Commission may interplead the funds in the Cole County
Circuit Court for distribution to the authorized players for
whose protection and benefit the account was established
and to other such persons as the court determines are entitled
thereto, or shall take such other steps as necessary to effect
the proper distribution of the funds, or may do both; or

(IV) As authorized in writing in advance by any
agreement approved by the Missouri Gaming Commission.]

[4.]1. The corporate entity must require a unanimous vote of all
corporate directors to file bankruptcy[.];

[5.]2. The corporate entity must obtain permission from the
Missouri Gaming Commission prior to filing bankruptcy or entering
into receivership[.];

[6.]3. The corporate entity must have articles of incorporation
that prohibit commingling of funds with that of the fantasy sports
contest operator except as necessary to reconcile the accounts of
players with sums owed by those players to the fantasy sports contest
operator[.];

[7.]4. The corporate entity must be restricted from incurring
debt other than to fantasy sports players pursuant to the rules that
govern their accounts for contests[.];

[8.]5. The corporate entity must be restricted from taking on
obligations of the fantasy sports contest operator other than obliga-
tions to players pursuant to the rules that govern their accounts for
contests[.]; and 

[9.]6. The corporate entity must be prohibited from dissolving,
merging, or consolidating with another company without the written
approval of the Missouri Gaming Commission while there are unsat-
isfied obligations to fantasy sports contest players.

AUTHORITY: sections 313.915, 313.950, and 313.955, RSMo 2016.
Emergency rule filed Aug. 29, 2016, effective Sept. 8, 2016, expired
March 6, 2017. Original rule filed Aug. 29, 2016, effective March
30, 2017. Amended: Filed May 31, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-

ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in opposition
to this proposed amendment with the Missouri Gaming Commission,
PO Box 1847, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of
this notice in the Missouri Register. A public hearing is scheduled
for Tuesday, July 31, 2018, at 10:00 a.m., in the Missouri Gaming
Commission’s Hearing Room, 3417 Knipp Drive, Jefferson City,
Missouri.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2015—Acupuncturist Advisory Committee

Chapter 1—General Rules

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2015-1.010 [Public Information,] Complaint Handling
and Disposition. The committee is amending the title, deleting sec-
tions (1), (2), (3), (4), (8), (9), and (10) and amending and renum-
bering the remaining sections.

PURPOSE: This amendment removes information on public records
since it is addressed in statute and clarifies the complaint handling
process.

[(1) All public records of the Missouri Acupuncturist
Advisory Committee shall be open for inspection and copy-
ing by any member of the general public during normal busi-
ness hours (8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, holi-
days excepted) except for those records closed pursuant to
section 610.021, RSMo. 

(2) The State Board of Chiropractic Examiners establishes
the executive director of the board as custodian of the advi-
sory committee records as required by section 610.023,
RSMo. The executive director is responsible for maintaining
advisory committee records of meeting proceedings and
responding to requests for access to public records.

(3) The Acupuncturist Advisory Committee will receive and
process each complaint made against any licensee, applicant
or unlicensed individual or entity, in which the complaint
alleges certain acts or practices which may constitute one
(1) or more violations of the provisions of sections 324.475
to 324.499, RSMo. Any member of the public or the profes-
sion, or any federal, state or local official may make and file
a complaint with the Acupuncturist Advisory Committee.
Complaints will be received from sources both within and
without Missouri and processed in the same manner as
those originating within Missouri. No member of the
Acupuncturist Advisory Committee may file a complaint
with the board while serving in that capacity, unless that
member is excused from further deliberation or activity con-
cerning the matters alleged within that complaint. The exec-
utive director or any division staff member may file a com-
plaint pursuant to this rule in the same manner as any mem-
ber of the public. 

(4) Complaints shall be mailed or delivered to the following
address: Acupuncturist Advisory Committee, PO Box 672,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. Complaints may be based upon
personal knowledge or beliefs based on information received
from other sources.]
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[(5)](1) All complaints shall be made in writing addressed to the
Missouri Acupuncture Advisory Committee, 3605 Missouri
Boulevard, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102 and [shall]
fully identify the complainant by name and address. Verbal or tele-
phone communications will not be considered or processed as com-
plaints. The person making these communications will be asked to
file a written statement. No member of the Advisory Committee
for Acupuncturists may file a complaint with the advisory com-
mittee while holding that office, unless that member is excused
from further advisory committee deliberation or activity con-
cerning the matters alleged within that complaint. Any division
staff member or the advisory committee may file a complaint
pursuant to this rule in the same manner as any member of the
public.

[(6)](2) Upon receipt of a complaint in proper form, the [division,]
board[,] or advisory committee may investigate the actions of the
licensee, applicant, registrant, or unlicensed individual or entity
against whom the complaint is made. [In conducting an investi-
gation, the division/board, in its discretion, may request the
licensee, applicant, registrant or unlicensed individual or
entity under investigation to answer the charges made
against him/her in writing and to produce relevant documen-
tary evidence and may request him/her to appear before it.]
Each complaint received under this rule shall be acknowledged in
writing and the complainant be notified of the ultimate disposi-
tion of the complaint.

[(7)](3) The advisory committee will maintain each complaint
received under this rule. The complaint file will contain a record of
each complainant’s name and address; subject(s) of the complaint;
the date each complaint is received by the [division] advisory com-
mittee; a brief statement of the complaint, including the name of any
person injured or victimized by the alleged acts or practices; and the
ultimate disposition of the complaint. [This complaint file shall be
a closed record of the division.]

[(8) Each complaint received under this rule shall be
acknowledged in writing. The complainant shall be notified
of the ultimate disposition of the complaint.

(9) This rule shall not be deemed to limit the division, board
or advisory committee authority to file a complaint with the
Administrative Hearing Commission (AHC) charging a
licensee with any actionable conduct or violation. The com-
plaint filed by the board need not be limited to the acts
charged in a public complaint. 

(10) The division, board and advisory committee interpret
this rule, which is required by law, to exist for the benefit of
those members of the public who submit complaints to the
division/board. This rule does not create any cause of action
for licensees against whom the division/board has instituted
or may institute administrative or judicial proceedings con-
cerning possible violations of the provisions of sections
324.475 through 324.499, RSMo.]

AUTHORITY: sections 324.481, 324.496, and 324.499,
[620.010.14(7) and 620.010.15(6),] RSMo [2000] 2016. This
rule originally filed as 4 CSR 15-1.010. Original rule filed July 24,
2001, effective Feb. 28, 2002. Moved to 20 CSR 2015-1.010, effective
Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018.  

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-

ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.  

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Acupuncturist Advisory Committee, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City,
MO 65102, by facsimile at (573) 751-0735, or via email at acupunc-
ture@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2015—Acupuncturist Advisory Committee

Chapter 1—General Rules

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2015-1.020 Acupuncturist Credentials, Name and Address
Changes. The committee is amending the purpose statement, sec-
tions (1) and (3), deleting sections (2) and (4), and renumbering as
necessary.

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies the procedure for name and
address changes.

PURPOSE: This rule specifies the title [that shall be] used by a
licensed acupuncturist and requirements for maintaining current
licensee information.

(1) Any person licensed as an acupuncturist shall use the abbrevia-
tions L.AC. or the licensure title Licensed Acupuncturist after the
licensee’s name and ensure that the license bears the current legal
name of the licensee.

[(2) All individuals licensed pursuant to this chapter shall
ensure that the license bears the current legal name of that
licensee.]

[(3)](2) A licensee whose name or address has changed shall, within
thirty (30) days of such change:

(A) Notify the [board in writing of the change and provide
a copy of the appropriate document indicating the] advisory
committee via regular mail at PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO
65102, fax at 573/751/0735 or email at acupuncture@pr.mo.gov.
A name change requires a copy of the document authorizing the
name change; and

(B) Destroy the license bearing the former name.

[(4) A licensee whose address and/or telephone number has
changed from that printed on the license shall inform the
advisory committee, in writing, within thirty (30) days of the
effective date of the change.]

[(5)](3) A licensed acupuncturist shall use only those educational
credentials in association with the license that have been earned at an
acceptable educational institution as defined in 20 CSR 2015-4.020
and that are related to acupuncture.

AUTHORITY: sections 324.481 and 324.487, RSMo [2000] 2016.
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 15-1.020. Original rule filed July
24, 2001, effective Feb. 28, 2002. For intervening history, please con-
sult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

Page 1451
July 2, 2018
Vol. 43, No. 13 Missouri Register



PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.  

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Acupuncturist Advisory Committee, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City,
MO 65102, by facsimile at (573) 751-0735, or via email at acupunc-
ture@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2015—Acupuncturist Advisory Committee

Chapter 1—General Rules

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2015-1.030 Fees. The committee is adding new subsection
(3)(E).

PURPOSE: This amendment adds a late renewal fee.

(3) The fees are established as follows:
(E) Late Renewal Fee                                                 $ 50.00

AUTHORITY: sections 324.481, 324.487, 324.490, and 324.493,
RSMo 2016. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 15-1.030. Original
rule filed July 24, 2001, effective Feb. 28, 2002. For intervening his-
tory, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed
May 30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will increase revenue for
the Acupuncturist Advisory Committee by one hundred dollars ($100)
biennially for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the costs will
recur for the life of the rule, may vary with inflation, and are expect-
ed to increase at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight
Committee.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will cost private entities
one hundred dollars ($100) biennially for the life of the rule. It is
anticipated that the costs will recur for the life of the rule, may vary
with inflation, and are expected to increase at the rate projected by
the Legislative Oversight Committee.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Acupuncturist Advisory Committee, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City,
MO 65102, by facsimile at (573) 751-0735, or via email at acupunc-
ture@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2015—Acupuncturist Advisory Committee

Chapter 2—Acupuncturist Licensure Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2015-2.010 Application for Licensure. The committee is
amending sections (2), (3), and (4) and deleting sections (5) and (6).

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies the application process.

(2) The application shall be [typewritten or] printed in black ink,
signed, notarized, and accompanied by all documents required by the
advisory committee and the application fee as defined in 20 CSR
2015-1.030(3)(A). Documentation [required to be submitted
with the application shall] includes, [but] and is not limited to,
the following:

(A) Two (2) sets of fingerprints [and the applicable fee as
defined in 20 CSR 2015-1.030(3)(C)]. Any fees due for a fin-
gerprint background check shall be paid by the applicant directly
to the Missouri State Highway Patrol or its approved vendor(s);

(3) An applicant for licensure based upon certification by the
National Commission for the Certification of Acupuncture and
Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) shall be currently certified as a diplo-
mate in acupuncture by NCCAOM. The applicant [shall be] is
responsible for authorizing NCCAOM to verify certification [to] and
notify the advisory committee [and verification of certification
shall be sent to the advisory committee by NCCAOM]. 

(4) A person applying for licensure based upon current licensure,
certification, or registration in another state or jurisdiction of the
United States shall comply with sections (1) and (2) of this rule and
[shall] submit the following:

[(A) A copy of the state’s or jurisdiction of the United
States’ laws, rules and regulations pertaining to the regula-
tion of acupuncture; and]

[(B)](A) Verification of licensure, certification, or registration as
an acupuncturist to be provided directly to the advisory committee
office from the state[,] or jurisdiction of the United States regulatory
agency[,] that shall include:

1. Status of the applicant’s license;
2. License original issue date and if there has been any lapse in

the license;
3. License expiration date; and
4. Information regarding any complaints, investigations, or dis-

ciplinary action.

[(5) The advisory committee shall review the information
submitted for licensure based on licensure, certification or
registration in another state or jurisdiction of the United
States to determine equivalency with Missouri requirements
for acupuncture licensure.

(6) After review of an application by the advisory committee,
the applicant will be informed in writing concerning the
results of the review.]

AUTHORITY: sections 324.481, 324.487, and 324.493, RSMo
[2000] 2016. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 15-2.010. Original
rule filed July 24, 2001, effective Feb. 28, 2002. Moved to 20 CSR
2015-2.010, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed June 27, 2008,
effective Dec. 30, 2008. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)

in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.  

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Acupuncturist Advisory Committee, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City,
MO 65102, by facsimile at (573) 751-0735, or via email at acupunc-
ture@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2015—Acupuncturist Advisory Committee

Chapter 2—Acupuncturist Licensure Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2015-2.020 License Renewal, Restoration and Continuing
Education. The committee is amending sections (2) and (3) and
deleting section (5).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to reduce unnecessary regu-
latory restrictions and remove duplicative language found in statute. 

(2) Receipt of the renewal form and fee postmarked after the expira-
tion date of the license shall cause the license to become not current
and a licensee who continues to practice without a valid license
[shall be deemed to be] is practicing in violation of sections
324.475 to 324.499, RSMo and subject to the penalties contained
therein.

(3) Prior to the expiration date of the license and as a condition of
the license renewal, a licensed acupuncturist shall complete thirty
(30) hours of continuing education within the two- (2-)[-] year licen-
sure period. Continuing education shall be related to the practice of
acupuncture and include universal precautions/infection control and
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification. For the first year
of licensure continuing education hours [shall] are not [be]
required.

[(5) Violation of any provision of this rule shall be grounds
for discipline in accordance with section 324.496, RSMo.]

AUTHORITY: sections 324.481, 324.490, 324.493, and 324.496,
RSMo [2000] 2016. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 15-2.020.
Original rule filed July 24, 2001, effective Feb. 28, 2002. For inter-
vening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended: Filed May 30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.  

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Acupuncturist Advisory Committee, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City,
MO 65102, by facsimile at (573) 751-0735, or via email at acupunc-
ture@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2015—Acupuncturist Advisory Committee
Chapter 3—Standards of Practice, Code of Ethics, 

Professional Conduct

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2015-3.010 Standards of Practice. The committee is amend-
ing sections (2), (4), (5), (7), (8), (9), (10), and (11).

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies the standards of practice.

(2) Each acupuncturist shall:
(F) Update patient records at each session. Such updated patient

record information shall include, [but shall] and not be limited to,
the following:

1. Changes or additions regarding patient assessment;
2. Date and type of acupuncture service provided;
3. The signature of the acupuncturist and, when applicable, the

name of the detox technician or acupuncture trainee that provided the
acupuncture service;

(4) For the purpose of this rule, [but not necessarily for other
legal purposes,] an acupuncturist shall maintain patient records for
a minimum of five (5) years after the date of service is rendered, or
not less than the time required by other applicable laws or regula-
tions, if that time is longer than five (5) years.

(5) If a licensed acupuncturist discontinues practice in Missouri, the
licensee shall notify the patient in writing at least thirty (30) days in
advance of discontinuing practice that the patient records [shall be
made] are available to either the patient or another licensed
acupuncturist of the patient’s choosing. The [board] advisory com-
mittee may waive the thirty- (30-)[-] day requirement if the licensee
can make a showing of good cause for failing to comply.

(7) Acupuncturists, auricular detox technicians, and acupuncturist
trainees under the supervision of a licensed acupuncturist shall fol-
low the standards for Clean Needle Technique (CNT) as published
by the National Acupuncture Foundation in effect at the time the
acupuncture service is performed, and [shall] follow universal pre-
cautions. 

(8) All disposable needles shall be disposed of immediately after use
and placed in a biohazard container [as required by] pursuant to
the U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health
Administration (OSHA). 

(9) When reusable needles are used, a basic, double sterilization pro-
cedure protocol shall be utilized. Specific procedures of the protocol
are outlined in the Clean Needle Technique Manual published by the
National Acupuncture Foundation. [The procedures include, but
are not limited to the following:]

[(A) Immediately after each use, the reusable needle shall
be stored in a container designated for contaminated nee-
dles. Initial sterilization may be obtained by using a chemical
sterilant;

(B) After the first sterilization, the needle shall be soaked
in a chemical disinfectant as defined in section (11) of this
rule; and

(C) Final sterilization procedures shall conform to one of
the following: 

1. Pressurized steam bath, such as an autoclave, at a
required two hundred fifty degrees Fahrenheit (250°F), at
fifteen (15) pounds pressure for thirty (30) minutes. The
pressure must be released quickly at the end of the steriliza-

tion cycle; or
2. Dry heat sterilization at a required three hundred thir-

ty-eight degrees Fahrenheit (338°F) for two (2) hours.

(10) Glass bead devices, boiling water, alcohol and pressure
cookers shall not be acceptable forms of sterilization.]

[(11)](10) After each patient, [a chemical disinfectant] an
antibacterial product shall be used on all equipment that does not
penetrate the skin, come into direct contact with needles, or is made
of rubber or plastic. [Chemical disinfectants include, but are
not limited to:]

[(A) Chlorine-based agents, such as bleach; 
(B) Aqueous solution of two percent (2%) glutaraldehyde;
(C) Seventy percent (70%) ethyl or isopropyl alcohol.]

AUTHORITY: sections 324.481 and 324.496, RSMo [2000] 2016.
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 15-3.010. Original rule filed July
24, 2001, effective Feb. 28, 2002. Amended: Filed March 15, 2004,
effective Sept. 30, 2004. Amended: Filed Feb. 15, 2005, effective
Aug. 30, 2005. Moved to 20 CSR 2015-3.010, effective Aug. 28,
2006. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.  

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Acupuncturist Advisory Committee, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City,
MO 65102, by facsimile at (573) 751-0735, or via email at acupunc-
ture@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2015—Acupuncturist Advisory Committee
Chapter 3—Standards of Practice, Code of Ethics, 

Professional Conduct

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2015-3.020 Code of Ethics. The committee is amending
subsections (1)(E), (1)(H), (2)(C), (2)(E) and deleting section (3).

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies the code of ethics.

(1) All applicants and licensees shall[:]—
(E) When conducting research [the acupuncturist shall], com-

ply with federal, state, and local laws or rules and applicable stan-
dards of ethical procedures regarding research with human subjects;

(H) Within the limits of the law, [an acupuncturist shall] report
to the advisory committee all knowledge pertaining to known or sus-
pected violations of the laws and regulations governing the practice
of acupuncture [that is not confidential and/or any other
applicable state or federal laws and rules. The acupuncturist
shall cooperate with any investigation or proceeding].

(2) An acupuncturist shall not[:]—
(C) Exploit a patient/client, detox technician, or trainee for the

purpose of financial gain. For the purpose of this rule exploitation
[shall be] is defined as any relationship between the acupuncturist,
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patient/client, technician, or trainee that may cause harm to the
patient/client, technician, or trainee;

(E) Engage in or exercise influence concerning sexual activity with
a patient, trainee(s), or detox technician during an ongoing profes-
sional relationship with such person or within six (6) months after
termination of such professional relationship: 

1. For the purpose of this rule sexual activity [shall include
but] includes and is not [be] limited to kissing, touching, caressing
by any person or between persons that is intended to erotically stim-
ulate either person, or which is likely to cause such stimulation and
includes sexual intercourse, sodomy, fellatio, cunnilingus, masturba-
tion, oral copulation, and penetrating the anal or vaginal opening
with anything. Sexual activity can involve the use of any device or
object and is not dependent on whether penetration, orgasm, or ejac-
ulation has occurred. For the purpose of this rule, masturbation
means the manipulation of any body tissue with the intent to cause
sexual arousal. 

[(3) Failure of an applicant to adhere to the code of ethics
constitutes unprofessional conduct and may be grounds for
denial or discipline of a license.]

AUTHORITY: sections 324.481 and 324.496, RSMo [2000] 2016.
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 15-3.020. Original rule filed July
24, 2001, effective Feb. 28, 2002. Moved to 20 CSR 2015-3.020,
effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.  

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Acupuncturist Advisory Committee, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City,
MO 65102, by facsimile at (573) 751-0735, or via email at acupunc-
ture@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2015—Acupuncturist Advisory Committee

Chapter 4—Supervision of Auricular Detox Technicians
and Acupuncturist Trainees

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2015-4.010 Supervision of Auricular Detox Technicians.
The committee is amending sections (2), (4), (5), (6), and (7), delet-
ing section (3) and renumbering as necessary.

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies supervision of auricular detox
technicians. 

(2) [A licensed acupuncturist shall provide supervision of a
technician. For the purpose of this rule, electronic communi-
cation is acceptable for supervision if the communication is
visually and/or verbally interactive, and no more than fifty
percent (50%) of the supervision shall be by electronic
means.] When providing supervision to a technician, a licensed
acupuncturist shall have supervisory meetings with the techni-
cian a minimum of four (4) hours per month and be available on-
site, by telephone or pager, when the technician is providing ser-

vices as defined in 20 CSR 2015-4.010(1).
(A) [A licensed acupuncturist shall be available on-site or

by telephone or pager when the detox technician is providing
services as defined in 20 CSR 2015-4.010(1).] A minimum
of two (2) hours per month shall consist of face-to-face supervi-
sion, at no less than fifty (50) continuous minutes per supervisory
meeting, and include observing the technician inserting and
removing the acupuncture needles in the auricle of the ear.

(B) The remaining two (2) hours per month of supervisory
meetings may be face-to-face or via electronic communication to
include telephone contact, Internet such as email, video tape, or
simultaneous visual and verbal interaction via the Internet.

[(3) Each technician shall meet with the licensed acupunc-
turist supervisor face-to-face a minimum of two (2) hours
per week every two (2) weeks for each detox program utiliz-
ing the technician. The technician must obtain at least four
(4) hours of face-to-face supervision within a calendar
month for each detox program.]

[(4)](3) The licensed acupuncturist must exercise professional
[judgement] judgment when determining the number of techni-
cians s/he can safely and effectively supervise to ensure that quality
care is provided at all times.

[(5)](4) Any duties assigned to a technician must be determined and
[appropriately] supervised by a licensed acupuncturist and [must]
not exceed the level of training, knowledge, skill, and competence of
the detox technician being supervised. An acupuncturist may dele-
gate to a technician only specific tasks that are not evaluative, assess-
ment oriented, task selective, or recommending in nature. 

[(6)](5) [The licensed supervising acupuncturist is responsi-
ble for the professional conduct of a technician functioning
in the acupuncture setting and performing procedures as
defined in section (1) of this rule.] When providing supervision
of a technician, a licensed acupuncturist is responsible for the
oversight of the auricular detoxification procedures only. When
referring to procedures provided by a technician, only the terms
auricular detoxification or auricular detox shall be used.

[(7)](6) Duties or functions that a technician [may] shall not per-
form include, [but] and are not limited to:

(C) Development, planning, adjusting, or modification of
acupuncture treatment procedures;

(E) [Any a]Acupuncture [service] performed independently or
without supervision of a licensed acupuncturist. 

AUTHORITY: sections 324.475, 324.481, and 324.484, RSMo
[2000] 2016. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 15-4.010. Original
rule filed July 24, 2001, effective Feb. 28, 2002. Moved to 20 CSR
2015-4.010, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed June 27, 2008,
effective Dec. 30, 2008. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.  

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Acupuncturist Advisory Committee, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City,
MO 65102, by facsimile at (573) 751-0735, or via email at acupunc-
ture@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2015—Acupuncturist Advisory Committee

Chapter 4—Supervision of Auricular Detox Technicians
and Acupuncturist Trainees

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2015-4.020 Supervision of Acupuncturist Trainees. The
committee is amending sections (1), (2), and (5) and deleting section
(6).

PURPOSE: This amendment reduces unnecessary regulatory restric-
tions and consolidates regulatory language. 

(1) An acupuncturist trainee (trainee) shall practice acupuncture on
members of the public while under the direct supervision of a
licensed acupuncturist. For the purpose of this rule direct supervision
[shall be defined as] is the control, direction, instruction, and reg-
ulation of a student at all times.

(2) In order to qualify as a trainee, the individual shall be enrolled
in a course of study authorized by the advisory committee and not
receive compensation for any acupuncture provided by the
trainee. 

(5) Any duties assigned to an acupuncturist trainee must be super-
vised by a licensed acupuncturist and [must] not exceed the level of
training, knowledge, skill, and competence of the individual being
supervised. The licensed acupuncturist is responsible for the acts or
actions performed by any acupuncturist trainee functioning in the
acupuncture setting.

[(6) Trainees shall not receive compensation for any
acupuncture services.]

AUTHORITY: sections 324.481 and 324.487, RSMo [2000] 2016.
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 15-4.020. Original rule filed July
24, 2001, effective Feb. 28, 2002. Amended: Filed March 15, 2004,
effective Sept. 30, 2004. Moved to 20 CSR 2015-4.020, effective Aug.
28, 2006. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.  

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Acupuncturist Advisory Committee, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City,
MO 65102, by facsimile at (573) 751-0735, or via email at acupunc-
ture@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be received with-
in thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 4—Applications

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2030-4.010 Filing Deadline—[Architects,] Professional
Engineers[,] and Professional Land Surveyors[, Landscape
Architects, Engineer Interns and Land Surveyors-in-Training].
The board is amending the title, purpose statement, and section (1).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to delete reference to the fil-
ing deadline for applicants for examination as architects, landscape
architects, engineer interns, and land surveyors-in-training due to the
conversion to Computer Based Testing.

PURPOSE: This rule sets filing deadline for applicants for examina-
tion and licensure as [architects,] professional engineers[,] and
professional land surveyors[, landscape architects, engineer
interns and land surveyors-in-training]. 

(1) [All a]Applications for examination and licensure as [an archi-
tect,] a professional engineer[,] or professional land surveyor [or
landscape architect and all applications for examination and
enrollment as an engineer intern or land surveyor-in-training]
shall be filed with the board prior to the established filing deadline.

AUTHORITY: sections 327.041, 327.141, 327.231, 327.241,
327.312, [and] 327.313, [RSMo 2000 and 327.041] and
327.615, RSMo [Supp. 2001] 2016. This rule originally filed as 4
CSR 30-4.010. Original rule filed Aug. 22, 1973, effective Sept. 22,
1973. For intervening history, please consult the Code of State
Regulations. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or
via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 5—Examinations 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2030-5.010 Special Examinations Prohibited. The board
is amending the language of the rule.

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended due to the conversion to
Computer Based Testing.

Examinations administered by the board [shall] will be given at
times and places established by the board. Examinations adminis-
tered by the National Council of Architectural Registration
Boards (NCARB), the National Council of Examiners for
Engineering and Surveying (NCEES), or the Council of
Landscape Architectural Registration Boards (CLARB), will be
given at times and places established by the council. No special
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examinations will be conducted.

AUTHORITY: section 327.041, RSMo [1986] 2016. This rule orig-
inally filed as 4 CSR 30-5.010. Original rule filed March 16, 1970,
effective April 16, 1970. Moved to 20 CSR 2030-5.010, effective Aug.
28, 2006. Non-substantive change filed Oct. 21, 2015, published
Dec. 31, 2015. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or
via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 5—Examinations 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2030-5.030 Standards for Admission to Examination—
Architects. The board is amending section (1) and deleting sections
(2), (3), and (4).  

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to delete reference to a com-
bined total of twelve (12) years of education, above the high school
level, in section (1) and to delete sections (2), (3), and (4) in their
entirety since this method of licensure is no longer an option and
therefore not relevant.

[PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state has determined
that the publication of the entire text of the material which
is incorporated by reference as a portion of this rule would
be unduly cumbersome or expensive.  This material as incor-
porated by reference in this rule shall be maintained by the
agency at its headquarters and shall be made available to the
public for inspection and copying at no more than the actual
cost of reproduction. This note applies only to the reference
material. The entire text of the rule is printed here.]

(1) Every graduate from a curriculum fully accredited by the
National Architectural Accreditation Board (NAAB), or other desig-
nated agencies as recognized by the National Council of
Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB), [who shall] applying
for architectural licensure shall submit with and as a part of the appli-
cation documents as required in section 327.131, RSMo, a fully cer-
tified and completed Architectural Experience Program (AXP)
record formerly known as an Intern Development Program (IDP)
record. A person participating in [IDP] AXP through NCARB who
has graduated with an NAAB accredited degree or equivalent degree
from Canada [or who has acquired a combined total of twelve
(12) years of education, above the high school level pursuant
to section 327.131, RSMo], may use the term “Architectural

Intern.”

[(2) Prior to January 1, 2012, every nongraduate applying
for architectural licensure shall submit with and as part of
the application documents as required in section 327.131,
RSMo, a weekly record or log of diversified architectural
experience covering a period of not fewer than two hundred
eight (208) weeks immediately prior to application.  Every
weekly record or log shall be witnessed by the signature of
a licensed architect having direct personal supervision of
that experience.  In addition to the experience log, there also
shall be included in the application a chronological list of the
education and architectural experience the applicant claims
prior to the period of the log which will furnish a total of
eight (8) years of architectural experience.

(3) The standard for satisfactory architectural experience
shall be the criteria set forth in the National Council of
Architectural Registration Board’s Circular of Information
No. 1, Appendix A dated 1990–1991, which is incorporated
herein by reference. A copy of the information may be
obtained by contacting the National Council of Architectural
Registration Boards, 1801 K Street NW, Suite 1100,
Washington DC 20006-1301. The referenced material does
not include any later amendments or additions.

(4) The standard for satisfactory architectural education
shall be the criteria set forth in the National Council of
Architectural Registration Board’s Circular of Information
No. 1, Appendix A dated 1978, which is incorporated herein
by reference.  A copy of the information may be obtained by
contacting the National Council of Architectural Registration
Boards, 1801 K Street NW, Suite 1100, Washington DC
20006-1301. The referenced material does not include any
later amendments or additions.]

AUTHORITY: sections 327.041, [and] 327.131, [RSMo Supp.
2008 and sections] 327.141, and 327.221, RSMo [2000] 2016.
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 30-5.030. Original rule filed
March 16, 1970, effective April 16, 1970. For intervening history,
please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed May
30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or
via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 5—Examinations 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT
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20 CSR 2030-5.055 Passing Grade—Architects. The board is
amending the text of the rule.

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to reflect the current way the
architectural examinations are being graded by the National Council
of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB).

[The passing grade shall be seventy-five (75) on each portion
of the architectural examination except for the design
(graphic) portion of the examination. The passing grade for
the design (graphic) portion of the examination, which is
graded on a pass/fail basis, shall be pass.] An applicant must
obtain a passing score on each portion of the architectural exam-
ination in accordance with National Council of Architectural
Registration Boards (NCARB) standards.

AUTHORITY: section 327.041, RSMo [Supp. 1989] 2016. This
rule originally filed as 4 CSR 30-5.055. Original rule filed Dec. 8,
1981, effective March 11, 1982. Amended: Filed Feb. 4, 1992, effec-
tive June 25, 1992. Moved to 20 CSR 2030-5.055, effective Aug. 28,
2006. Non-substantive change filed Oct. 21, 2015, published Dec.
31, 2015. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or
via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 5—Examinations 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2030-5.080 Standards for Licensure—Professional
Engineers. The board is amending the title, sections (1), (3), (4),
and (7) and deleting section (9).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to bring the standards for
admission to the engineering examinations in compliance with sec-
tions 327.221 and 327.392, RSMo.

(1) Before being admitted to the examination, an applicant for licen-
sure as a professional engineer shall have the knowledge, skills, and
experience as the board deems necessary to qualify the applicant for
being placed in responsible charge of engineering work. The mini-
mum length of experience required of the applicant, based on educa-
tion, is three (3) years for any applicant holding a master’s degree in
engineering; however, an applicant will not be admitted to the exam-
ination sooner than four (4) years after the applicant has satisfied the
educational requirements of sections 327.221 and 327.241, RSMo,
provided, however, any applicant [who shall have been] conferred

with a master’s degree in engineering concurrently while acquiring
three (3) years of satisfactory engineering experience, as provided in
this rule, [shall be admitted] qualifies for admission to the exam-
ination. The Engineers’ Council for Professional Development
(ECPD) has been succeeded by the Accreditation Board for
Engineering and Technology, Inc. (ABET). For purposes of evaluat-
ing engineering curricula at the baccalaureate level, the programs
accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission (EAC) of
ABET shall be the basis used for evaluation of programs not accred-
ited by EAC of ABET.

(3) Foreign-educated applicants holding an engineering degree not
accredited by ECPD, ABET, or its successor organizations will be
required to submit a favorable evaluation report completed by an
evaluation service acceptable by the professional engineering division
of the board certifying equivalency to an ABET accredited degree.
Applicants holding a United States of America (U[.]S[.]A[.]) engi-
neering degree not accredited by ECPD, ABET, or its successor
organizations will be required to have their educational degree pro-
gram evaluated in order to determine whether or not it is equal to or
exceeds the programs accredited by ECPD, ABET, or their successor
organizations. The evaluation must be completed by an [engineer(s)
experienced in evaluating academic credentials selected by
the professional engineering division or by an] evaluation ser-
vice acceptable by the professional engineering division of the board.
The evaluator, by evaluation of transcripts and an official publication
describing the engineering degree program of the institution, person-
al interview, by examination, or both in any other manner deemed
suitable, shall make an evaluation as to whether the academic pro-
gram completed by the applicant meets the minimum educational
requirements established by section 327.221, RSMo. The evaluator
shall recommend to the professional engineering division and report
how any deficiencies can be corrected, listing prescribed educational
areas to bring the applicant’s academic qualifications up to the
required minimum. Deficiencies in engineering courses must be
made up with courses offered by an EAC/ABET-accredited degree
program or equivalent. The report of the evaluator [shall not be] is
not binding upon the division.

(4) An applicant who completes an engineering education program
that is non-accredited and not deemed substantially equivalent and
who then earns a graduate engineering degree from a United States
school with an EAC/ABET-accredited undergraduate or graduate
program in an equivalent discipline [shall] will be accepted for the
licensure process. The graduate degree should be treated as confirm-
ing the undergraduate degree giving the applicant equal standing with
an applicant who has graduated from an EAC/ABET undergraduate
engineering program. The degree earned in the graduate program
validates the degree earned in the non-accredited undergraduate pro-
gram and would not then be applicable for experience credit.

(7) In evaluating the minimum engineering work experience required
of all applicants, [the professional engineering division shall
grant] maximum credit [as follows] granted includes the follow-
ing:

[(9) In accordance with the authority conferred upon the
board at section 327.241.6., RSMo, the board provides that
any person, upon satisfactory showing of an urgent need,
such as absence from the United States, economic hardship
or professional necessity, and who has graduated from and
holds an engineering degree from an accredited school of
engineering, and has acquired at least three and one-half (3
1/2) years of satisfactory  experience, and previously has
been classified an engineer-in-training or engineer-intern by
having successfully passed the first part of the examination,
shall be eligible to take the second part of the examination
and, upon passing, shall be entitled to receive a certificate

Page 1460 Proposed Rules
July 2, 2018

Vol. 43, No. 13



of licensure to practice as a professional engineer subject,
however, to other provisions of Chapter 327, RSMo, includ-
ing having acquired four (4) years of satisfactory experi-
ence.]

AUTHORITY: sections 327.041, [RSMo Supp. 2007 and sec-
tions] 327.221, and 327.241, RSMo [2000] 2016. This rule origi-
nally filed as 4 CSR 30-5.080. Original rule filed March 16, 1970,
effective April 16, 1970. For intervening history, please consult the
Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or
via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov.  To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 5—Examinations 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2030-5.090 Scope of Examination—Professional
Engineers. The board is amending the title, the purpose statement
and all sections of the rule.

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended due to the conversion to
Computer Based Testing which has resulted in a reduction of number
of hours allowed for testing.

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes [hours and] subject matter of engi-
neering examinations.  

(1) The engineering examination [shall] consists of two (2) parts.
Each part of the examination [shall] consists of two (2) [four (4)-
hour] sections. Any reexamination [shall] consists of all of part I or
part [two] II, as the case shall require.

(2) Part I of the engineering examination [shall be] is in mathematics
and basic sciences.

(3) Part II of the engineering examination [shall be] is in theory and
practice of engineering.

AUTHORITY: section 327.041, RSMo [1986] 2016. This rule orig-
inally filed as 4 CSR 30-5.090. Original rule field March 16, 1970,
effective April 16, 1970. Moved to 20 CSR 2030-5.090, effective Aug.
28, 2006. Non-substantive change filed Oct. 21, 2015, published
Dec. 31, 2015. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)

in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or
via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 5—Examinations 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2030-5.100 Passing of Part I Required—Professional
Engineers. The board is amending the title and section (1).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to reduce unnecessary regu-
latory restrictions.

(1) No applicant for licensure as a professional engineer under sec-
tion 327.221, RSMo [shall be allowed to] may take part II of the
required examination without having first passed part I of that exam-
ination.

AUTHORITY: sections 327.041, [and] 327.131, [RSMo Supp.
2005 and] 327.151, 327.221, and 327.241, RSMo [2000] 2016.
This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 30-5.100. Original rule filed Aug.
5, 1971, effective Sept. 5, 1971. For intervening history, please con-
sult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or
via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 5—Examinations 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2030-5.105 Reexaminations—Professional Engineers. The
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board is amending the title and sections (1) and (2).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended due to the conversion to
Computer Based Testing. Since all engineer-intern applicants now
apply directly with the National Council of Examiners for
Engineering and Surveying (NCEES), it is necessary for them to
apply for reexamination in accordance with its policy.

(1) An applicant for enrollment as an engineer-intern failing to make
a passing grade on the National Council of Examiners for
Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) Fundamentals of Engineering
Examination [shall] may have unlimited opportunities to retake the
examination so long as the applicant remains qualified to be exam-
ined on the date of the reexamination and providing the [following
criteria are met:

(A) The] applicant applies for reexamination [on forms fur-
nished by the board; and] in accordance with NCEES policy.

[(B) The applicant pays the required reexamination fee;
and

(C) The applicant files his/her application for reexamination
on or before the filing deadline established by the board; and

(D) The applicant provides any additional information
deemed pertinent by the board.]

(2) An applicant for examination and licensure as a professional engi-
neer failing to make a passing grade on the NCEES Principles and
Practice of Engineering Examination [shall] may have unlimited
opportunities to retake the examination so long as the applicant
remains qualified to be examined on the date of the reexamination
and providing the following criteria are met:

(B) The applicant pays the [required] reexamination fee; and

AUTHORITY: sections 327.041, [RSMo Supp. 2001,] 327.241,
and 327.251, RSMo [2000] 2016. This rule originally filed as 4
CSR 30-5.105. Original rule filed Dec. 8, 1981, effective March 11,
1982. Amended: Filed Nov. 1, 2001, effective June 30, 2002. Moved
to 20 CSR 2030-5.105, effective Aug. 28, 2006. Non-substantive
change filed Oct. 21, 2015, published Dec. 31, 2015. Amended: Filed
May 30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or
via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 5—Examinations 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2030-5.110 Standards for Admission to Examination—
Professional Land Surveyors. The board is amending sections (1)
and (2).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to reduce unnecessary regu-
latory restrictions.

(1) [No] Any person [shall] applying for examination and licensure
as a professional land surveyor in the state of Missouri [unless said
person is] must be currently enrolled as a land surveyor-in-training
and [unless said person shall] have acquired at least the following
satisfactory professional field and office experience while enrolled as
a land surveyor-in-training:

(A) If enrolled as a land surveyor-in-training prior to January 1,
2006 pursuant to the provisions of subsection (1) or (2) of section
327.312, RSMo, [said person shall have acquired] at least two
(2) years of satisfactory professional field and office experience in
land surveying under the immediate personal supervision of a
licensed professional land surveyor;

(B) If enrolled as a land surveyor-in-training prior to January 1,
2006 pursuant to the provisions of subsection (3) of section 327.312,
RSMo, [said person shall have acquired] at least one (1) year of
satisfactory professional field and office experience in land surveying
under the immediate personal supervision of a licensed professional
land surveyor; and

(C) If enrolled as a land surveyor-in-training on or after January
1, 2006 pursuant to the provisions of subsection (1), (2), or (3) of
section 327.312, RSMo, [said person shall have acquired] at
least four (4) years of satisfactory professional field and office expe-
rience in land surveying under the immediate personal supervision of
a professional land surveyor.

(2) [For p]Professional field and office experience in land surveying
[to be] is deemed satisfactory[,] if the applicant [shall have] has
obtained at least twenty-four (24) months of the required experience
as field experience and at least sixteen (16) months of the required
experience as office experience. Furthermore, all professional field
and office experience in land surveying shall be completed under the
immediate personal supervision of a licensed professional land sur-
veyor as defined in 20 CSR 2030-13.020. In evaluating satisfactory
professional field and office experience in land surveying, credit
shall be given as follows:

AUTHORITY: sections 327.041, 327.312, and 327.314, RSMo
[Supp. 2014] 2016. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 30-5.110.
Original rule filed March 16, 1970, effective April 16, 1970. For
intervening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended: Filed May 30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or
via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 5—Examinations 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT
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20 CSR 2030-5.130 Reexamination—Land Surveyor-in-Training
and Professional Land Surveyor. The board is amending all sec-
tions of the rule.

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended due to the conversion to
Computer Based Testing. Since all land surveyor-in-training appli-
cants now apply directly with the National Council of Examiners for
Engineering and Surveying (NCEES), it is necessary for them to
apply for reexamination in accordance with its policy.

(1) An applicant for enrollment as a land surveyor-in-training failing
to make a passing grade on the National Council of Examiners for
Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) Fundamentals of [Land]
Surveying Examination [shall] may have unlimited opportunities to
retake the examination so long as the applicant remains qualified to
be examined on the date of the reexamination and providing the [fol-
lowing criteria are met:

(A) The] applicant applies for reexamination [on forms fur-
nished by the board;] in accordance with NCEES policy.

[(B) The applicant pays the required reexamination fee;
(C) The applicant files his or her application for reexamina-

tion on or before the filing deadline established by the board;
and

(D) The applicant provides any additional information
deemed pertinent by the board.]

(2) An applicant for examination and licensure as a professional land
surveyor failing to make a passing grade on the NCEES Principles
and Practice of [Land] Surveying Examination [shall] may have
unlimited opportunities to retake the examination so long as the
applicant remains qualified to be examined on the date of the reex-
amination and providing the [following criteria are met:

(A) The] applicant applies for reexamination [on forms fur-
nished by the board;] in accordance with NCEES policy.

[(B) The applicant pays the required reexamination fee;
(C) The applicant files his or her application for reexamina-

tion on or before the filing deadline established by the board;
and

(D) The applicant provides any additional information
deemed pertinent by the board.]

(3) An applicant for examination and licensure as a professional land
surveyor failing to make a passing grade on the Missouri Specific
Examination [shall] may have unlimited opportunities to retake the
examination so long as the applicant remains qualified to be exam-
ined on the date of the reexamination and providing the following cri-
teria are met:

AUTHORITY: sections 327.041, [and] 327.312, 327.313, 327.314,
[RSMo Supp. 2001 and 327.312, 327.313,] 327.321,
327.331, and 327.341, RSMo [2000] 2016. This rule originally filed
as 4 CSR 30-5.130.  Original rule filed Dec. 8, 1981, effective March
11, 1982. For intervening history, please consult the Code of State
Regulations. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or
via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must

be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 5—Examinations 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2030-5.140 CLARB Examinations—Professional
Landscape Architects. The board is amending section (1).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to add the word
“Professional” in front of Landscape Architects.

(1) The board adopts the Council of Landscape Architectural
Registration Boards’ (CLARB) Landscape Architect Registration
Examination (LARE) or its successor as its own. All applications for
examination as a professional landscape architect shall be filed with
the Missouri Board for Architects, Professional Engineers,
Professional Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape
Architects, or a substantially equivalent provider so designated by the
board, prior to the [deadline] established [by the board] deadline.
An applicant [shall] must obtain a passing score on each portion of
the examination in accordance with CLARB standards.

AUTHORITY: sections 327.041 and 327.617, RSMo [Supp. 2003]
2016. This rule originally filed as 4 CSR 30-5.140. Original rule
filed Oct. 30, 2002, effective April 30, 2003. Amended: Filed Sept.
8, 2003, effective March 30, 2004. Moved to 20 CSR 2030-5.140,
effective Aug. 28, 2006. Non-substantive change filed Oct. 21, 2015,
published Dec. 31, 2015. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or
via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 5—Examinations 

PROPOSED RULE

20 CSR 2030-5.160 State Exam Covering Chapter 327, RSMo,
the Board Rules, and Ethics
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PURPOSE: This rule requires all applicants for an architectural,
professional engineering, or professional landscape architectural
license to pass a state specific examination covering Chapter 327,
RSMo, the board rules, and ethics before being issued a license to
practice. 

(1) An examination on Chapter 327, RSMo, board rules, and ethics
must be passed before an architect, professional engineer, or
professional landscape architect can be licensed to practice in
Missouri. 

(2) The purpose of the examination is to ensure that applicants are
familiar with the act regulating the professions of architects,
professional engineers, and professional landscape architects and the
ethics of practicing architecture, professional engineering, or
professional landscape architecture. This is an open book
examination administered online, at no cost to the applicant, via the
board’s website.

(3) Any applicant for examination and licensure as an architect,
professional engineer, or professional landscape architect failing to
make a passing grade on the examination may have unlimited
opportunities to retake the examination so long as the applicant
remains qualified to be examined.

(4) An applicant achieves a passing grade with a score of eighty
percent (80%).

AUTHORITY: section 327.041, RSMo 2016. Original rule filed May
30, 2018. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional Land
Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box 184,
Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or via
email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 6—Fees

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2030-6.015 Application, Renewal, [Reinstatement,]
Relicensure, and Miscellaneous Fees. The board is amending sec-
tions (1), (2), and (3).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to add the word
“Professional” in front of Landscape Architect and Land Surveyor
and to delete the reinstatement fee, the 327.391 application filing fee,
and the evaluation of non-accredited degree fee.  

(1) The following fees are established by the Missouri Board for

Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, and
Professional Landscape Architects:

(E) Professional Land Surveyor Application Filing 
Fee—Comity                                                            $200

(F) Professional Land Surveyor Application Filing 
Fee—Examination                                                     $100

(G) Professional Land Surveyor Missouri Specific 
Examination                                                             $100

(H) Professional Landscape Architect Application
     Filing Fee—Comity                                                   $200
(I) Professional Landscape Architect Application

Filing Fee—Examination                                            $100
(J) [327.391 or] 327.392 Application Filing Fee              $200
[(O) Individual Reinstatement Fee                         $150]
[(P)](O) Individual Relicensure Fee                                   $200
[(Q)](P) Corporate Application Fee                                   $200
[(R)](Q) Corporate Renewal Fee                                       $  50
[(S) Corporate Reinstatement Fee                         $150]
[(T)](R) Corporate Reauthorization Fee                             $200
[(U)](S) Certification Fee                                                $ 50
[(V)](T) Duplicate Certificate License Fee                         $ 10
[(W)](U) Insufficient Funds Check Charge                         $ 25
[(X)](V) Temporary Courtesy License Application
     Filing Fee for nonresident military spouse                    $ 50
[(Y)](W) Temporary Courtesy License Extension Fee 

for nonresident military spouse                                   $ 50
[(Z) Evaluation of Non-Accredited Engineering 

Degrees                                                      $300]

(2) Fees for photocopying and research [shall] not exceeding the
actual cost of the document search and duplication pursuant to sec-
tion 610.025, RSMo, may be charged.

(3) The provisions of this rule are declared severable. If any fee fixed
by this rule is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction or by
the Administrative Hearing Commission, the remaining provisions of
this rule [shall] remain in full force and effect, unless otherwise
determined by a court of competent jurisdiction or by the
Administrative Hearing Commission.

AUTHORITY: sections 324.008[, RSMo Supp. 2013,] and [sec-
tion] 327.041, RSMo [Supp. 2014] 2016. This rule originally filed
as 4 CSR 30-6.015. Emergency rule filed Aug. 12, 1981, effective
Aug. 22, 1981, expired Dec. 10, 1981. Original rule filed Aug. 12,
1981, effective Nov. 12, 1981. For intervening history, please consult
the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will cost state agencies or
political subdivisions approximately seven thousand two hundred
thirty dollars ($7,230) biennially for the life of the rule. It is antici-
pated that the costs will recur for the life of the rule, may vary with
inflation, and are expected to increase at the rate projected by the
Legislative Oversight Committee.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will save private entities
approximately seven thousand two hundred thirty dollars ($7,230)
biennially for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the costs will
recur for the life of the rule, may vary with inflation, and are expect-
ed to increase at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight
Committee.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or
via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 6—Fees

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2030-6.020 Reexamination Fees. The board is amending
the purpose statement and sections (1) and (2).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended due to the conversion to
Computer Based Testing. Since all engineer-intern and land survey-
or-in-training applicants now apply directly with the National
Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES), it is
necessary for them to apply for reexamination in accordance with the
Council’s policy.

PURPOSE: This rule sets reexamination fees for professional engi-
neers[, engineers-in-training, land surveyors-in-training] and
professional land surveyors. 

(1) The following reexamination/rescheduling application filing fees
are established by the Missouri Board for Architects, Professional
Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, and Professional
Landscape Architects:

(A) Professional Engineer                                                $ 50
[(B) Engineer Intern and Fundamentals of 

Engineering                                                   $ 50]
[(C)](B) Professional Land Surveyor Missouri Specific       $ 75
[(D)](C) Principles and Practice of Surveying                     $ 50
[(E) Land Surveyor-in-Training and Fundamentals

of Surveying                                                  $ 50]

(2) The provisions of this rule are declared severable. If any fee fixed
by this rule is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction or by
the Administrative Hearing Commission, the remaining provisions of
this rule [shall] remain in full force and effect, unless otherwise
determined by a court of competent jurisdiction or by the
Administrative Hearing Commission.

AUTHORITY: section 327.041, RSMo [Supp. 2005] 2016. This
rule originally filed as 4 CSR 30-6.020. Original rule filed March
16, 1970, effective April 16, 1970. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed May 30,
2018. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will cost state agencies or
political subdivisions approximately nineteen thousand one hundred
fifty dollars ($19,150) annually for the life of the rule. It is anticipat-
ed that the costs will recur for the life of the rule, may vary with
inflation, and are expected to increase at the rate projected by the
Legislative Oversight Committee.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will save private entities
approximately nineteen thousand one hundred fifty dollars ($19,150)
annually for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the costs will
recur for the life of the rule, may vary with inflation, and are expect-
ed to increase at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight
Committee.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or

via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 8—Land Surveying

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2030-8.020 Professional Land Surveyor—Professional
Development Units. The board is amending sections (1), (2), and
(4).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to reduce unnecessary regu-
latory restrictions.

(1) Each licensed professional land surveyor, as a condition for
renewal of his/her license, shall complete a minimum of twenty (20)
professional development units (PDUs) each two- (2-) year period
immediately preceding renewal, except as provided in section (2) of
this rule.

(A) Of the [required] twenty (20) professional development units,
licensed professional land surveyors shall complete a minimum of
two (2) professional development units in Surveying Standards (20
CSR 2030, Chapters 16 and 17, and/or Chapters 60 and 327, RSMo)
during the two- (2-) year period immediately preceding renewal.

(B) Of the [required] twenty (20) professional development units
in the two- (2-) year renewal period, not more than twelve (12) shall
be obtained in nonpersonal contact activities.  Nonpersonal contact
activities include correspondence courses, video and televised cours-
es, Internet and email courses, or other activities where the presenter
is not in physical proximity to the attendee.

(2) The following are exceptions to the requirement that licensees
successfully complete twenty (20) PDUs prior to renewal:

(A) The licensee can show good cause why he/she was unable to
complete the PDU requirements. In the event good cause is shown,
the licensee will be [required] allowed to make up all outstanding
required PDUs within a reasonable amount of time as established by
the board; 

(B) A professional land surveyor who holds licensure in Missouri
for less than twelve (12) months from the date of his/her initial licen-
sure, [shall not be required to] need not report PDUs at the first
license renewal; or

(4) In evaluating PDUs for licensure renewal, the board will be guid-
ed by the following standards and guidelines:

(B) Except as otherwise stated in this rule, licensees [shall] will
earn one (1) PDU for every fifty (50) to sixty (60) minutes of activity
that qualifies as acceptable PDU credit pursuant to this rule.

(C) Activities.
1. PDU activities must be relevant to the practice of land sur-

veying and may include technical, ethical, or business related con-
tent.

2. PDUs may be earned at locations outside Missouri, so long
as the activity qualifies as acceptable PDU credit pursuant to this
rule.

3. Assuming they otherwise qualify as acceptable PDU credit
pursuant to this rule, the following activities are acceptable sources
of PDU credits:

A. Successful completion of college or university course
earns thirty (30) PDUs per semester hour and twenty (20) PDUs per
quarter hour. Auditing or “hearing” a course qualifies for one-third
(1/3) PDU credit of that stated herein;

B. Active participation and successful completion of semi-
nars, tutorials, workshops, short courses, correspondence courses, or
televised or videotaped courses. Attending program presentations at

related technical or professional meetings. A correspondence course
must require the participant to show evidence of achievement with a
final graded test;

C. Authoring a paper or article earns five (5) PDUs upon
actual publication in a regionally or nationally circulated technical
journal or trade magazine. Credit cannot be claimed until that article
or paper is actually published. [Licensees shall not earn more
than ten (10) PDUs per two- (2-) year renewal period for
authoring a paper or article] PDUs earned for authoring a
paper or article are limited to ten (10) PDUs per two- (2-) year
renewal period;  

D. Teaching or instructing a course or seminar that satisfies
the PDU criteria described in this rule, or making a presentation at
a technical meeting or convention. For the original instruction or
presentation, a licensee [shall] earns two (2) PDUs for each PDU a
participant could earn pursuant to this rule. 

E. Notwithstanding the provisions above, PDUs will only be
awarded for the first occurrence of attending or teaching a qualifying
course or seminar per every two- (2-) year renewal period.

(7) The board will review all PDUs claimed in support of a renewal
application. If audited and it is determined that a portion of the
claimed PDUs fail to meet PDU requirements, the licensee will be
notified in writing of the denied PDUs. The licensee [shall] will have
three (3) months from the license renewal date in which to substan-
tiate the original claim or to earn other credits to meet the minimum
requirements. If PDUs are denied to the extent that the licensee has
failed to obtain the required number of PDUs for renewal, then the
board will deny issuance of the renewal.

AUTHORITY: section 327.041, RSMo [Supp. 2014] 2016. This rule
originally filed as 4 CSR 30-8.020. Original rule filed Dec. 8, 1981,
effective March 11, 1982. For intervening history, please consult the
Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018.   

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or
via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 10—Corporations

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2030-10.010 Application for Certificate of Authority. The
board is amending sections (1), (2), (4), and (5).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended for purpose of clarification
and to add the word “professional” in front of land surveying and
landscape architectural services and to allow managers of LLCs to
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serve as the managing agent.  This rule is being amended to provide
clarity as to who serves as the managing agent.

(1) A corporation desiring a certificate of authority authorizing it to
render architectural, professional engineering, professional land sur-
veying, or professional landscape architectural services in this state
shall submit an application to the executive director of the board, list-
ing the names and addresses of all officers and directors for a corpo-
ration or all members and managers for a limited liability compa-
ny[. It shall also list], and listing the managing agent for each pro-
fession who is licensed in this state to practice architecture, engineer-
ing, land surveying, or landscape architecture.

(2) [The managing agent shall be] Only an owner or officer of
[a] the applicant corporation, or member or manager of [a] the
applicant limited liability company, or a full-time employee of [a]
the applicant corporation or [a] the applicant limited liability com-
pany is eligible to be the managing agent. If the managing agent is
also the person providing immediate personal supervision, as defined
by board rule(s) 20 CSR 2030-13.010 and/or 20 CSR 2030-13.020,
then that person must [work in the same office where the work
is being performed] be employed directly under the licensee’s
organizational structure.

(4) A certificate of authority is not required by a principal firm if the
work is being done by a subconsultant who is licensed in this state.
The principal firm cannot advertise itself as being able to provide
architecture, engineering, land surveying, or landscape architecture
services, or include the names of those professions in the name of
their firm unless exempted pursuant to section 327.101(7), RSMo,
[or] section 327.191(5), RSMo, or section 327.629, RSMo. 

(5) A corporation which is currently authorized by this board to pro-
vide professional services may continue to renew its certificate of
authority under the rules that were in effect prior to October 30,
2005 so long as the persons listed in the corporation’s application do
not change.  If there is any change in any of the persons listed in the
corporation’s application, the provisions in this rule 20 CSR 2030-
10.010 [shall] apply. The change shall be reported on a new form
and submitted to the executive director of the board within thirty (30)
days after the effective day of the change. 

AUTHORITY: section 327.041, RSMo [Supp. 2007] 2016. This
rule originally filed as 4 CSR 30-10.010. Original rule filed Dec. 8,
1981, effective March 11, 1982. For intervening history, please con-
sult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or
via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors, 
and Professional Landscape Architects

Chapter 15—Public Records

PROPOSED RULE

20 CSR 2030-15.020 Easements and Property Descriptions

PURPOSE: This rule defines which easements and property descrip-
tions shall be prepared by a Professional Land Surveyor. 

(1) In accordance with section 327.272(3) and (4), RSMo, the sub-
division of a parcel of property to create a new parcel and the cre-
ation of a new recordable property description for that parcel is con-
sidered the practice of professional land surveying. A new recordable
property description is defined as a description for any parcel of land
that is not or has not previously been identified in the public record.

(2) A permanent easement is a recordable document for the acquisi-
tion and conveyance of property rights.  Creating a permanent ease-
ment encumbers a parcel of property and affects real property rights.
A professional land surveyor shall locate the boundary that an ease-
ment is based upon.

(3) The following services are not required to be performed by a pro-
fessional land surveyor because the location of boundary lines is not
affected:

(A) When the only property right being acquired or conveyed is
access rights.

(B) When the only property right being acquired is a temporary
easement.

(C) When the entire property is being acquired, and the property
description is being copied from a previous deed of record.

(D) When at least one (1) boundary of the easement is contiguous
with the property line in accordance with section (2) and is of uni-
form width.

AUTHORITY: section 327.041, RSMo 2016. Original rule filed May
30, 2018. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional Land
Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box 184,
Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or via
email at moapels@pr.mo.gov.  To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors,
and Professional Landscape Architects
Chapter 21—Professional Engineering

PROPOSED AMENDMENT
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20 CSR 2030-21.010 Design of Fire Suppression Systems. The
board is amending the purpose statement and all sections of the rule
and adding new section (4).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to define a qualified profes-
sional engineer and to provide clarity of the qualified professional
engineer’s responsibility regarding the design of fire suppression sys-
tems.

PURPOSE: This rule requires [the design of] fire suppression sys-
tems to be designed[, prepared,] and sealed by, or under the imme-
diate personal supervision of, a qualified professional engineer.  

(1) Pursuant to section 327.181, RSMo, the design of fire suppres-
sion systems is engineering and therefore the plans for those systems
must be designed[, prepared,] and sealed by, or under the imme-
diate personal supervision of, a qualified professional engineer.
This can be accomplished by either of two (2) ways:

(A) [The design] A qualified professional engineer seals [the]
construction documents that specify the design and performance cri-
teria for the fire suppression system, including sprinklers, fire
alarm[s, and other suppression] systems, and other fire suppres-
sion systems. The layout and sizing of these systems[,] may be done
by a Level III Technician certified by the National Institute for
Certification in Engineering Technologies (NICET) [or a profes-
sional engineer, can]. The resulting plans may be submitted to
the qualified professional engineer as [a] shop drawings. [These
shop drawings may be sealed by a professional engineer.]
The [design] qualified professional engineer issuing construction
documents specifying design and performance criteria must
review and approve the submitted shop drawings for compliance
with the design and specifications shown on the construction docu-
ments; [and] or

(B) [If there is no design engineer for the fire suppression
system, then the shop drawings] The plans for the sprinklers,
fire alarm[s] systems, and other fire suppression systems must be
designed and [prepared] sealed by, or under the immediate personal
supervision of, a qualified professional engineer. [These shop
drawings must be sealed by the professional engineer who
prepared them.]

(2) Nothing in this section [shall] prohibits the [design] qualified
professional engineer issuing construction documents specifying
design and performance criteria, at his/her discretion, to specify
and require [the] submitted shop drawings to be designed[, pre-
pared,] and sealed, by, or under the immediate personal supervi-
sion of, a qualified professional engineer.  

(3) The design of fire suppression systems for dwelling units as
defined in the National Fire Protection Association’s Standard for the
Installation of Sprinkler Systems (NFPA 13D) is exempt and is not
required to be designed by a qualified professional engineer so long
as the layout and sizing of these systems are done by a Level III
Technician certified in the Fire Suppression System Layout by the
NICET.  Engineering decisions needed when the scope of the project
is not clearly addressed in NFPA 13D shall be done by a qualified
professional engineer.

(4) The term “qualified professional engineer” used in 20 CSR
2030–21.010 means a professional engineer, as defined under sec-
tion 327.181, RSMo, who has specific sprinkler, fire alarm sys-
tem, or other fire suppression system education, training, and
experience, as determined by the board, necessary to protect the
health, safety, and welfare of the public.

AUTHORITY: section 327.041, RSMo [Supp. 2008] 2016. This
rule originally filed as 4 CSR 30-21.010. Original rule filed May 13,
2005, effective Nov. 30, 2005. Moved to 20 CSR 2030-21.010, effec-

tive Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed July 22, 2009, effective Jan. 30,
2010. Non-substantive change filed Oct. 21, 2015, effective Dec. 31,
2015. Amended: Filed May 30, 2018.  

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or
via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS AND PROFESSIONAL

REGISTRATION
Division 2030—Missouri Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Professional Land Surveyors,
and Professional Landscape Architects
Chapter 21—Professional Engineering

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 2030-21.020 Engineer of Record and Specialty Engineers.
The board is amending the purpose statement and section (1).

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to provide clarity between the
roles of the engineer of record, specialty engineer(s), and architect
of record.

PURPOSE: In instances when there is more than one (1) profession-
al engineer involved on a project, this rule will clarify what the
responsibilities are of each professional engineer.

(1) The professional engineer who develops the design criteria and
concept for a particular project [and discipline], who is in respon-
sible charge, and who [prepares] designs or causes to be [pre-
pared] designed under his/her immediate personal supervision the
[corresponding drawings, specifications, reports, or other
documents] technical submissions, shall be designated the engi-
neer of record for the project [and discipline]. A professional engi-
neer who provides services for specific portions of the project within
a particular engineering discipline, but does not have a direct orga-
nizational [contractual] relationship with the [corresponding]
engineer of record, shall be designated [the] a specialty engineer.  

(A) The engineer of record [shall] communicates in writing the
extent of and complete design criteria, performance specifications,
and other requirements for the portion of the project delegated to
[the] a specialty engineer[, which shall be limited to the same
discipline as that of the engineer of record].

(B) [The] A specialty engineer [shall] performs his/her services
in strict accordance with the written requirements of the engineer of
record, or [shall] clearly indicates in writing any exceptions taken to
said requirements in his/her submittals to the engineer of record.  

(C) [The] A specialty engineer [shall prepare] designs or causes
to be [prepared] designed under his/her immediate personal supervi-
sion the [drawings, specifications, reports, or other documents]
technical submissions that correspond to the portion of the project
delegated by the engineer of record; [shall] seals, signs, and dates
them in accordance with 20 CSR 2030-3.060; and [shall] submits
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them to the engineer of record.
(D) The engineer of record [shall] reviews the [drawings, spec-

ifications, reports, or other documents] technical submissions
submitted by the specialty engineer(s) and confirms in writing that
they conform to his/her written requirements and are consistent with
[the] his/her intent of [his/her drawings, specifications,
reports, or other documents prepared for] the project.

(E) An architect may delegate such engineering work as [is inci-
dental to the practice of architecture] the architect of record,
provided that he/she follows the requirements for the engineer of
record as described in this rule.

AUTHORITY:  section 327.041, RSMo [Supp. 2007] 2016.
Original rule filed Jan. 15, 2008, effective July 30, 2008. Non-sub-
stantive change filed Oct. 21, 2015, published Dec. 31, 2015.
Amended: Filed May 30, 2018. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Architects, Professional Engineers, Professional
Land Surveyors, and Professional Landscape Architects, PO Box
184, Jefferson City, MO 65102, via facsimile at (573) 751-8046, or
via email at moapels@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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