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Emergency Rules

Title 11—DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
Division 90—Missouri 911 Service Board 

Chapter 2—911 Financial Assistance Program 

EMERGENCY AMENDMENT 

11 CSR 90-2.010 Definitions. The board is amending subsection 
(1)(G). 

PURPOSE: This amendment changes the definition of eligible appli-
cants to include elected emergency services boards consistent with a 
change to section 650.335, RSMo that becomes effective on August 
28, 2021. 

EMERGENCY AMENDMENT: This emergency amendment informs 
the public that due to a change in section 650.335, RSMo that 
became effective on August 28, 2021, elected emergency services 
boards will become eligible to submit applications to the board for 
financial assistance for all or a portion of costs incurred in imple-
menting a 911 communications service project. This emergency 
amendment is necessary to make the rule consistent with section 
650.335, RSMo, in time for elected emergency services boards to 
submit applications for funding for 911 communications service pro-
jects during the application window of the board’s financial assis-
tance program. Absent the emergency amendment, elected emergency 
services boards, contrary to statute, will be unable to submit appli-
cations for funding for 911 communications service projects during 
the next application window of the board’s financial assistance pro-

gram. As a result, the board finds a compelling governmental inter-
est, which requires this emergency action. A proposed amendment, 
which covers the same material, is published in this issue of the 
Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency amendment is limited 
to the circumstances creating the emergency and complies with the 
protections extended in the Missouri and United States 
Constitutions. The board believes this emergency amendment is fair 
to all interested persons and parties under the circumstances. This 
emergency amendment was filed August 31, 2021, becomes effective 
September 15, 2021, and expires March 13, 2022.  

(1) As used in this chapter, the following terms shall mean:  
(G) “Eligible applicants” or “Applicants,” counties [and], cities, 

and elected emergency service boards that sections 650.330 and 
655.335, RSMo authorize to submit applications to the board for 
grants and loans to finance all or a portion of the costs incurred by 
their 911 services authorities in implementing a 911 communications 
service project;  

AUTHORITY: sections 650.330 and 650.335, RSMo Supp. [2020] 
2021. Emergency rule filed May 6, 2020, effective May 21, 2020, 
expired Feb. 25, 2021. Original rule filed May 7, 2020, effective Dec. 
30, 2020. Emergency amendment filed Aug. 31, 2021, effective Sept. 
15, 2021, expires March 13, 2022. A proposed amendment covering 
this same material is published in this issue of the Missouri Register. 

PUBLIC COST: This emergency amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) 
in the time the emergency is effective. 

PRIVATE COST: This emergency amendment will not cost private 
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the time the emer-
gency is effective. 

 
 

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
Division 10—Director of Revenue 
Chapter 26—Dealer Licensure 

EMERGENCY RULE 

12 CSR 10-26.230 Dealer Administrative Fees and System 
Modernization 

PURPOSE: Section 301.558, RSMo, requires motor vehicle dealers 
collecting administrative fees to remit ten-percent (10%) of those fees 
to the Motor Vehicle Administration Technology Fund for the devel-
opment of a modernized, integrated system for the Department of 
Revenue. This rule clarifies the process for declaring whether an 
administrative fee is charged and if so the amount, the process for 
remitting payment and reporting sales, disciplinary action that may 
occur for failure to timely remit payment, and provides other guide-
lines for modernization efforts. 

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: Beginning August 28, 2021 the 
Department of Revenue will be mandated to implement the provisions 
of SB 176 which require collection of information from motor vehicle 
dealers, boat dealers, and powersport dealers licensed pursuant to 
sections 301.550 to 301.580, RSMo, who collect an administrative fee 
pursuant to section 301.558, RSMo, and for immediate development 
and implementation of a process for remittance of ten percent (10%) 
of administrative fees charged to the Motor Vehicle Administration 
Technology Fund for the development of a modernized, integrated 
system for the Department of Revenue. This emergency rule is neces-
sary to ensure public awareness of the requirements and to preserve 
a compelling governmental interest requiring an early effective date 
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 authority granted by section 536.025, RSMo. An emer-
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fare, or a compelling governmental interest requires emer-

gency action; follows procedures best calculated to assure 

fairness to all interested persons and parties under the cir-
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rule files with the secretary of state the text of the rule togeth-

er with the specific facts, reasons, and findings which support 

its conclusion that there is an immediate danger to the public 

health, safety, or welfare which can be met only through the 
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Register as soon as practicable. 
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in that the rule informs the affected businesses of the procedural 
requirements for remittance of ten percent (10%) of administrative 
fees charged to the Motor Vehicle Administration Technology Fund 
and ensures the department will be able to remit the fees as required 
by law. A proposed rule, which covers the same material, is pub-
lished in this issue of the Missouri Register. The director has limited 
the scope of the emergency rule to the circumstances creating the 
emergency. The director has followed procedures calculated to assure 
fairness to all interested persons and parties and has complied with 
protections extended by the Missouri and United States 
Constitutions. This emergency rule was filed August 19, 2021, 
becomes effective September 2, 2021, and expires February 28, 2022. 

(1) Beginning December 1, 2021, all motor vehicle dealers, boat 
dealers, and powersport dealers licensed pursuant to sections 
301.550 to 301.580, RSMo, (“Licensees”) who charge an adminis-
trative fee as allowed under Section 301.558, RSMo, must remit 
funds equaling ten-percent (10%) of all administrative fees collected 
to the Motor Vehicle Administration Technology Fund (the “Fund”) 
for the implementation of the modernized, integrated system 
described in section 301.558, RSMo. If an administrative fee is 
charged but is later refunded or credited back to the purchaser of a 
vehicle or vessel, no credit or refund will be permitted on any fees 
remitted to the Fund. 

(A) Beginning on January 20, 2022 for motor vehicle, boat, and 
powersport sales in December 2021, and on or about the 20th of each 
month thereafter for sales occurring the month prior, an electronic 
notification will be generated and issued to each Licensee which 
charges  an administrative fee in compliance with 301.558 RSMo. 
The electronic notification will indicate the amount due and payable 
to the Fund and the Licensee must authorize the Department of 
Revenue to initiate an automated clearing house (ACH) transaction 
with the Licensee’s financial institution to credit/debit the amount 
due and payable to the Fund. The amount due and payable will be 
ten-percent (10%) of each administrative fee charged by the Licensee 
based upon the total number of sales reported in the previous month, 
as well as any additional or amended sales in prior monthly sales 
reports, less any sales exempted pursuant to subsection 5 of section 
301.558.   

1. Any Licensee charging administrative fees must provide the 
following information to the Department of Revenue: 

A. Name of the bank or other financial institution; 
B. Banking or other financial institution account number; 
C. Banking or other financial institution routing number; 
D. Whether or not the account is a checking or savings 

account; 
E. Signature of an authorized person on the bank or other 

financial institution account; and 
F. Any other information necessary to complete the monthly 

ACH transaction. 

(2) Effective January 1, 2022, all Licensees will be required to apply 
for licensure or license renewal  through the Department of 
Revenue’s electronic online business licensing portal. 

(3) All current Licensees in existence when this rule becomes effec-
tive must, prior to December 1, 2021, in a manner prescribed by the 
Department of Revenue, declare whether they are charging an admin-
istrative fee in their current licensure period, and if so the amount of 
the administrative fee being charged in accordance with Section 
301.558, RSMo. In addition, all current Licensees must provide the 
information required by Paragraph (1)(A)1. above. 

(4) Effective January 1, 2022, as part of an initial application for 
licensure or a Licensee’s renewal application for licensure, any appli-
cant or Licensee must declare whether it intends to collect an admin-
istrative fee under Section 301.558, RSMo, and if so, at what dollar 
amount that fee will be established. The applicant or Licensee must 

charge the declared administrative fee to all retail customers for the 
entire licensure period on all sales not exempted pursuant to subsec-
tion 5 of section 301.558. In addition, all applicants desiring to col-
lect an administrative fee and renewal Licensees must provide the 
information required by Paragraph (1)(A)1. above.  

(A) Licensees shall be authorized to charge an administrative fee 
of up to five hundred dollars ($500), and the maximum fee permitted 
to be charged shall be increased annually as described in subsection 
4 of section 301.558, RSMo. The Director of the Department of 
Revenue shall base any maximum fee increase identified on an annu-
al review of the prior calendar year, and shall furnish the maximum 
annual fee determined to the Secretary of State on January 15th of 
each year, or as soon as is practicable thereafter. 

(B) The table outlined in 12 CSR 10-26.231 provides calendar 
year adjustments to the administrative fee in accordance with section 
301.558, RSMo. 

(C) Franchised new motor vehicle dealers limited by a franchise 
agreement, or documents incorporated by the franchise agreement, 
may exempt certain classes of customers clearly identified in the 
franchise agreement or incorporated documents from being required 
to charge the declared administrative fee. New motor vehicle dealers 
seeking licensure or renewal shall indicate whether any classes of 
customers are exempted under the terms of its franchise agreement 
or incorporated documents and must report any exempted sales in its 
monthly electronic sales reporting required by section 301.280, 
RSMo, and this rule.  

1. The Licensee must maintain monthly documentation in a 
table or worksheet of all sales which are exempted and include in the 
table or worksheet the purchaser’s name, date of sale, class of cus-
tomer, as well as the year, make, and VIN of the purchased vehicle. 

2. The required documentation must be provided to the 
Department of Revenue upon a request to inspect such documenta-
tion, and the documentation must be maintained for a minimum of 
three years after the year in which the sale occurred. 

3. Upon implementation of updates to the electronic dealer sales 
reporting system incorporating a means to report exempted sales, the 
Department may notify Licensees that they no longer need to meet 
the requirements of paragraphs (4)(C)1.-2. above. 

(5) Any Licensee who fails to meet its obligation relating to section 
301.558, RSMo, or this rule shall be subject to disciplinary action 
for violation of Section 301.562.2(8), including but not limited to 
suspension; revocation; non-renewal of the Licensee’s license to 
operate a motor vehicle dealership; and revocation of the ability to 
issue temporary registrations upon the sale of vehicles. If appropri-
ate, the Department of Revenue may enter into a settlement with the 
Licensee consistent with subsection 7 of section 501.562, RSMo, to 
resolve a disciplinary action arising under this provision. Any such 
settlement will only be entered into upon full payment of monies 
owed and payable to the Fund, and any other amounts assessed as a 
result of disciplinary action shall be separate and distinct from 
monies owed to the Fund. An employee with the Department of 
Revenue, as well as any other duly authorized law enforcement 
agency, may audit any Licensee in similar manner and scope as is 
allowed under section 301.564, RSMo, to ensure compliance with 
the requirements of section 301.558, RSMo, and this rule. 

(6) To ensure the timely remittance of all dealer fees required to be 
paid pursuant to sections 301.550 to 301.580, RSMo, all sales 
required to be reported pursuant to section 301.280, RSMo, must be 
filed electronically with the Department of Revenue for the 2022 
licensure year and every year thereafter. However, any dealer which 
has been previously licensed prior to January 1, 2022, and who is 
not charging an administrative fee may choose to file sales reports 
electronically or by paper process until the next license renewal. 

AUTHORITY: sections 301.553 and 301.558, RSMo Supp. 2021. 
Emergency rule filed Aug. 19, 2021, effective Sept. 2, 2021, expires 
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Feb. 28, 2022. A proposed rule covering this same material is pub-
lished in this issue of the Missouri Register.   

PUBLIC COST: This emergency rule will not cost state agencies or 
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the 
time the emergency is effective, as any costs associated with the emer-
gency rule are not a product of the rule itself but incident to the statu-
tory changes included in SB 176 (2021). 

PRIVATE COST: This emergency rule will not cost private entities 
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the time the emergency is 
effective, as any costs associated with the emergency rule are not a 
product of the rule itself but incident to the statutory changes includ-
ed in SB 176 (2021). 

 
 

Title 13—DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
Division 70—MO HealthNet Division 

Chapter 3—Conditions of Provider Participation,  
Reimbursement, and Procedure of General Applicability 

EMERGENCY AMENDMENT 

13 CSR 70-3.200 Ambulance Service Reimbursement Allowance.  
The division is amending the purpose and paragraph (1)(A)5. 

PURPOSE: This emergency amendment excludes certain revenues 
from the definition of “gross receipts” when used to calculate the 
Ambulance Service Reimbursement Allowance.  

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the formula for determining the 
Ambulance Service Reimbursement Allowance that each ground 
emergency ambulance service must pay, except for any ambulance 
service owned and operated by an entity owned or operated by the 
board of curators, as defined in Chapter 172, RSMo, or any depart-
ment of the state, in addition to all other fees and taxes now required 
or paid, for the privilege of engaging in the business of providing 
ground emergency ambulance services in Missouri.  

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: This emergency amendment excludes 
certain revenues from the definition of “gross receipts.”  This emer-
gency amendment is necessary to maintain the state’s federal funding 
for the MO HealthNet (Medicaid) Program. The MO HealthNet pro-
gram is critically important to the health, safety, and welfare of 
Missourians. By excluding certain revenues from the definition of 
“gross receipts” in calculating the Ambulance Service 
Reimbursement Allowance, it allows the Department of Social 
Services to maintain the ambulance provider tax that contributes to 
the state’s share of Medicaid funding without jeopardizing federal 
funding through a reduction. This exemption is needed immediately 
because MHD will be unable to draw in federal matching funds from 
the Ambulance Service Reimbursement Allowance, which will result 
in a budget shortfall of approximately ten million dollars 
($10,000,000.00). The shortfall would, in turn, result in a reduction 
of rates, which may affect Missourians’ access to MO HealthNet ser-
vices. Every year, the MO HealthNet Division (MHD) provides a fed-
erally-prescribed formula (see 42 CFR 433.68) to the Center for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to determine whether the 
Ambulance Service Reimbursement Allowance meets federal require-
ments that provider taxes must meet in order to maintain Missouri’s 
federal Medicaid funding. MHD has determined that the addition to 
the definition of “gross receipts” under this emergency amendment is 
urgently needed in order to accomplish this. As a result, the 
Department of Social Services finds a compelling governmental inter-
est  requiring this emergency action. A proposed amendment, which 
covers the same material, is published in this issue of the Missouri 
Register. The scope of this emergency amendment is limited to the 
circumstances creating the emergency and complies with the protec-

tions extended in the Missouri and United States Constitutions. The 
Department of Social Services believes this emergency amendment is 
fair to all interested persons and parties under the circumstances. 
This emergency amendment was filed August 24, 2021, becomes 
effective September 8, 2021, and expires March 6, 2022. 

(1) Ambulance Service Reimbursement Allowance shall be assessed 
as described in this section. 

(A) Definitions. 
1. Ambulance. Ambulance shall have the same meaning as such 

term is defined in section 190.100, RSMo.  
2. Department. Department of Social Services. 
3. Director. Director of the Department of Social Services. 
4. Division. MO HealthNet Division. 
5. Gross receipts. Emergency ambulance revenue from 

Medicare, Medicaid, insurance, and private payments received by an 
ambulance service licensed under section 190.109, RSMo (or by its 
predecessor in interest following a change of ownership). Revenue 
from CPT Code A0427/A0425 ambulance service, advanced life 
support, emergency transport, level 1 (ALS1–emergency), and asso-
ciated ground mileage; CPT Code A0429/A0425 ambulance ser-
vices, basic life support, emergency transport (BLS–emergency), and 
associated ground mileage; and CPT Code A0433/A0425 advanced 
life support, level 2 (ALS2), and associated ground mileage.  

A. Starting on October 1, 2021, “gross receipts” shall not 
include revenue from taxes collected under law, grants, subsidies 
received from governmental agencies,  the value of charity care, 
or revenue received from supplemental reimbursement for 
ground emergency medical transportation under section 
208.1030, RSMo.  

6. Engaging in the business of providing ambulance services. 
Accepting payment for ambulance services as such term is defined in 
section 190.100, RSMo. 

AUTHORITY: sections 190.803, 190.815, 190.836, [and] 208.201, 
and 660.017, RSMo [Supp. 2013] 2016. Original rule filed March 
19, 2010, effective Nov. 30, 2010. Amended: Filed Oct. 10, 2013, 
effective April 30, 2014. Amended: Filed Aug. 24, 2021. Emergency 
amendment filed Aug. 24, 2021, effective Sept. 8, 2021, expires 
March 6, 2022. A proposed amendment covering the same material 
is published in this issue of the Missouri Register.   

PUBLIC COST: This emergency amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) 
in the time the emergency is effective.   

PRIVATE COST: This emergency amendment will not cost private 
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the time the emer-
gency is effective. 

 
 

Title 13—DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES  
Division 70—MO HealthNet Division  

Chapter 15—Hospital Program 

EMERGENCY AMENDMENT 

13 CSR 70-15.015 Direct Medicaid Payments. The division is 
amending subsections (1)(A) and (2)(B). 

PURPOSE: This emergency amendment removes outdated language 
and updates the criteria used to determine safety net hospitals. 

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: The Department of Social Services, MO 
HealthNet Division (MHD) finds that this emergency amendment is 
necessary to preserve a compelling governmental interest as it allows 
the State Medicaid Agency to pay hospital providers the Direct 
Medicaid Payment. These payments provide hospitals the ability to 
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provide sufficient medical care to Medicaid participants and the 
uninsured. An early effective date is required because this emergency 
amendment establishes the Federal Reimbursement Allowance (FRA) 
funded hospital payments for dates of service beginning July 1, 2021 
in regulation to ensure that quality health care continues to be pro-
vided to MO HealthNet participants and indigent patients at hospitals 
that have relied on MO HealthNet payments to meet those patients’ 
needs. The division must analyze hospital data, which are not com-
plete until near the end of the state fiscal year, in conjunction with 
the funding to determine the appropriate level of payments. 
Therefore, due to timing of the receipt of this information and the 
necessary July 1, 2021 effective date, an emergency regulation is nec-
essary. As a result, the MHD finds it necessary to preserve its com-
pelling governmental interest in providing these payments to hospital 
providers, which requires an early effective date. If this emergency 
amendment is not enacted, there will be significant cash flow short-
ages causing a financial strain on Missouri hospitals which serve 
approximately nine hundred seventy-one thousand (971,000) MO 
HealthNet participants plus the uninsured. This financial strain, in 
turn, will result in an adverse impact on the health and welfare of 
MO HealthNet participants and uninsured individuals in need of 
medical treatment. A proposed amendment, which covers the same 
material, is published in this issue of the Missouri Register. This 
emergency amendment limits its scope to the circumstances creating 
the emergency and complies with the protections extended by the 
Missouri and United States Constitutions. The MHD believes this 
emergency amendment to be fair to all interested parties under the 
circumstances. This emergency amendment was filed August 26, 
2021, becomes effective September 10, 2021, and expires March 8, 
2022. 

(1) Direct Medicaid Qualifying Criteria. 
(A) An inpatient hospital provider may qualify as a 

Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) based on the following crite-
ria. Hospitals shall qualify as a Disproportionate Share Hospital for 
a period of only one (1) state fiscal year (SFY) and must requalify at 
the beginning of each SFY to continue their DSH classification— 

1. If the facility offered nonemergency obstetric services as of 
December 21, 1987, there must be at least two (2) obstetricians with 
staff privileges at the hospital who have agreed to provide obstetric 
services to individuals entitled to these services under the Missouri 
Medicaid plan. In the case of a hospital located in a rural area (area 
outside of a metropolitan statistical area, as defined by the federal 
Executive Office of Management and Budget), the term obstetrician 
includes any physician with staff privileges at the hospital to perform 
nonemergency obstetric procedures. This section does not apply to 
hospitals either with inpatients predominantly under eighteen (18) 
years of age or which did not offer nonemergency obstetric services 
as of December 21, 1987;  

2. As determined from the fourth prior year audited [desk-
reviewed] cost report, the facility must have either—  

A. A Medicaid inpatient utilization rate (MIUR) at least one 
(1) standard deviation above the state’s mean MIUR for all Missouri 
hospitals. The MIUR will be expressed as the ratio of total Medicaid 
days (TMD) provided under a state plan divided by the provider’s 
total number of inpatient days (TNID). The state’s mean MIUR will 
be expressed as the ratio of the sum of the total number of the 
Medicaid days for all Missouri hospitals divided by the sum of the 
total patient days for the same Missouri hospitals. Data for hospitals 
no longer participating in the program will be excluded; 

 
             TMD 
[MIUR = TNID] 

 
MIUR = TMD / TNID 

or 
B. A low-income utilization rate (LIUR) in excess of twenty-

five percent (25%). The LIUR shall be the sum (expressed as a per-
centage) of the fractions, calculated as follows: 

(I) Total MO HealthNet patient revenues (TMPR) paid to 
the hospital for patient services under a state plan plus the amount of 
the cash subsidies (CS) directly received from state and local govern-
ments, divided by the total net revenues (TNR) (charges, minus con-
tractual allowances, discounts, and the like) for patient services plus 
the CS; and  

(II) The total amount of the hospital’s charges for patient 
services attributable to charity care (CC) (care provided to individu-
als who have no source of payment, third-party, or personal 
resources) less CS directly received from state and local governments 
in the same period, divided by the total amount of the hospital’s 
charges (THC) for patient services. The total patient charges attrib-
uted to CC shall not include any contractual allowances and discounts 
other than for indigent patients not eligible for MO HealthNet under 
a state plan; 

 
TMPR + CS            CC - CS 

[LIUR =   TNR + CS      +     THC] 
 

LIUR = ((TMPR + CS) / (TNR + CS)) + ((CC – CS) / 
(THC)) 

3. As determined from the fourth prior year audited [desk-
reviewed] cost report, the hospital— 

A. Has an unsponsored care ratio of at least ten percent 
(10%). The unsponsored care ratio is determined as the sum of bad 
debts and CC divided by TNR  and also meets either of the criteria 
in paragraph (1)(A)2.; or 

B. Ranks in the top fifteen (15) in the number of Medicaid 
inpatient days provided by that hospital compared to Medicaid patient 
days provided by all hospitals, and the hospitals also have a Medicaid 
nursery utilization ratio greater than thirty-five percent (35%) as 
computed by dividing Title XIX nursery and neonatal days by total 
nursery and neonatal days; or 

C. Operated a neonatal intensive care unit with a ratio of 
Missouri Medicaid neonatal patient days to Missouri Medicaid total 
patient days in excess of nine percent (9%) reported or verified by 
the division from the fourth prior year cost report; 

4. As determined from the fourth prior year audited [desk-
reviewed] cost report— 

A. The acute care hospital has an unsponsored care ratio of 
at least sixty-five percent (65%) and is licensed for less than fifty 
(50) inpatient beds; or 

B. The acute care hospital has an unsponsored care ratio of at 
least sixty-five percent (65%) and is licensed for fifty (50) inpatient 
beds or more and has an occupancy rate of more than forty percent 
(40%); or 

C. A public non-state governmental acute care hospital 
with a low income utilization rate (LIUR) of at least fifty percent 
(50%) and a Medicaid inpatient utilization rate (MIUR) greater 
than one standard deviation from the mean, and is licensed for 
fifty (50) inpatient beds or more and has an occupancy rate of at 
least forty percent (40%); or 

[C.]D. The hospital is owned or operated by the Board of 
Curators as defined in Chapter 172, RSMo, or their successors; or 

[D.]E. The hospital is a public hospital operated by the 
Department of Mental Health primarily for the care and treatment of 
mental disorders; and 

5. As determined from the fourth prior year audited [desk-
reviewed] cost report, hospitals which annually provide more than 
five thousand (5,000) Title XIX days of care and whose Title XIX 
nursery days represent more than fifty percent (50%) of the hospital’s 
total nursery days. 

(2) Direct Medicaid Payments. 
(B) The MO HealthNet Division will calculate the Direct 
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Medicaid payment as follows: 
1. The MO HealthNet share of the inpatient FRA assessment 

will be calculated by dividing the hospital’s inpatient Medicaid 
patient days by the total inpatient hospital patient days from the hos-
pital’s base cost report to arrive at the inpatient Medicaid utilization 
percentage. This percentage is then multiplied by the inpatient FRA 
assessment for the current SFY to arrive at the increased allowable 
MO HealthNet costs for the inpatient FRA assessment. The MO 
HealthNet share of the outpatient FRA assessment will be calculated 
by dividing the hospital’s outpatient MO HealthNet charges by the 
total outpatient hospital charges from the base cost report to arrive at 
the MO  HealthNet utilization percentage. This percentage is then 
multiplied by the outpatient FRA assessment for the current SFY to 
arrive at the increased allowable MO HealthNet costs for the outpa-
tient FRA assessment.  

A. Effective for payments made on or after May 1, 2017, 
only the Fee-for-Service (FFS) and Out-of-State (OOS) components 
of the MO HealthNet share of both the inpatient and outpatient FRA 
assessment will be included in the Direct Medicaid add-on payment.  

2. The unreimbursed MO HealthNet costs are determined by 
subtracting the hospital’s per diem rate from its trended per diem 
costs. The difference is multiplied by the estimated MO HealthNet 
patient days for the current SFY plus the out-of-state days from the 
fourth prior year cost report trended to the current SFY. The FFS 
days are determined from a regression analysis of the hospital’s FFS 
days from February 1999 through December of the second prior 
SFY. The managed care days are based on the FFS days determined 
from the regression analysis, as follows: The FFS days are factored 
up by the percentage of FFS days to the total of FFS days plus man-
aged care days from the hospital’s fourth prior year cost report. The 
difference between the FFS days and the FFS days factored up by the 
FFS days’ percentage are the managed care days.  

[A. Effective for payments made on or after May 1, 
2017, the estimated MO HealthNet patient days for the SFY 
shall be determined by adjusting the FFS days from the 
state’s MMIS for the second prior Calendar Year (CY) (i.e., 
for SFY 2017, second prior CY would be 2015) by— 

(I) The trend determined from a regression analysis 
of the hospital’s FFS days from February 1999 through 
December of the second prior CY; and 

(II) The days estimated to shift from FFS to man-
aged care effective May 1, 2017. The estimated managed 
care days for populations added to managed care beginning 
May 1, 2017 will be subtracted from the trended FFS days 
to yield the estimated MO HealthNet patient days. 

B. Effective for payments made on or after July 1, 
2018, the estimated MO HealthNet patient days for the SFY 
shall be determined by adjusting the FFS days from the 
state’s MMIS for the second prior Calendar Year (CY) (i.e., 
for SFY 2019, second prior CY would be 2017) by— 

(I) The trend determined from a regression analysis 
of the hospital’s FFS days from February 1999 through 
December of the second prior CY;  

(II) A percentage adjustment shall be applied to the 
regression due to statewide managed care;  

(III) The FFS days are factored up by the percentage 
of FFS days to the total of FFS days plus managed care days 
from the hospital’s fourth prior year cost report to yield the 
estimated MO HealthNet patient days; and 

(IV) From the total estimated MO HealthNet patient 
days, remove the SFY 2019 estimated managed care days to 
yield the estimated MO HealthNet FFS patient days. 

C. Effective for payments made on or after July 1, 
2019, the estimated MO HealthNet patient days for the SFY 
shall be determined by adjusting the FFS days from the 
state’s MMIS for the second prior Calendar Year (CY) (i.e., 
for SFY 2020, second prior CY would be 2018) by— 

(I) The trend determined from a regression analysis 

of the hospital’s FFS days from February 1999 through 
December of the second prior CY;  

(II) A percentage adjustment shall be applied to the 
regression due to statewide managed care;  

(III) The FFS days are factored up by one (1) of the 
following: 

(a) For hospitals that are in a managed care exten-
sion region or a Psychiatric hospital, the lower of the per-
centage of FFS days to the total of FFS days plus managed 
care days from the hospital’s fourth prior year cost report or 
from the hospital’s second prior year cost report to yield the 
estimated MO HealthNet patient days; or 

(b) For hospitals that are not in a managed care 
extension region or a Psychiatric hospital, the percentage of 
FFS days to the total of FFS days plus managed care days 
from the hospital’s fourth prior year cost report to yield the 
estimated MO HealthNet patient days; and 

(IV) The difference between the FFS days and the 
FFS days factored up by the FFS days’ percentage are the 
managed care days.] 

[D.]A. Effective for payments made on or after July 1, 2020, 
the estimated MO HealthNet patient days for the SFY shall be deter-
mined by adjusting the FFS days from the state’s MMIS for the sec-
ond prior Calendar Year (CY) (i.e., for SFY 2021, second prior CY 
would be 2019) by— 

(I) The trend determined from a quadratic regression 
analysis of the hospital’s FFS days from February 1999 through 
December of the second prior CY;  

(II) The FFS days are factored up by one (1) of the 
 following: 

(a) For hospitals that are in a managed care extension 
region or a Psychiatric hospital, the lower of the percentage of FFS 
days to the total of FFS days plus managed care days from the hospi-
tal’s fourth prior year cost report or from the hospital’s third prior 
year cost report to yield the estimated MO HealthNet patient days; 
or 

(b) For hospitals that are not in a managed care extension 
region or a Psychiatric hospital, the percentage of FFS days to the 
total of FFS days plus managed care days from the hospital’s fourth 
prior year cost report to yield the estimated MO HealthNet patient 
days; and 

(III) The difference between the FFS days and the FFS days 
factored up by the FFS days’ percentage are the managed care days. 

[E.]B. The trended cost per day is calculated by trending the 
base year costs per day by the trend indices as defined in 13 CSR 70-
15.010(3)(B), using the rate calculation in 13 CSR 70-15.010(3)(A).  

[F.]C. For hospitals that meet the requirements in paragraphs 
(1)(A)1., (1)(A)2., and (1)(A)4. of this rule (safety net hospitals), 
the base year cost report may be from the third [prior year], [the] 
fourth [prior year], or [the] fifth prior year. For hospitals that meet 
the requirements in paragraphs (1)(A)1. and (1)(A)3. of this rule 
(first tier [Disproportionate Share Hospitals] DSH), the base 
year cost report may be from the third [prior year], or [the] fourth 
prior year. The MO HealthNet Division shall exercise its sole discre-
tion as to which report is most representative of costs. For all other 
hospitals, the base year cost report is the fourth prior year. For any 
hospital that has both a twelve- (12-) month cost report and a partial 
year cost report, its base period cost report for that year will be the 
twelve- (12-) month cost report. 

[G.]D. The trended cost per day does not include the costs 
associated with the FRA assessment, the application of minimum uti-
lization, the utilization adjustment, and the poison control costs com-
puted in paragraphs (2)(B)1., 3., 4., and 5.;  

3. The minimum utilization costs for capital and medical educa-
tion is calculated by determining the difference in the hospital’s cost 
per day when applying the minimum utilization, as identified in 13 
CSR 70-15.010(5)(C)4., and without applying the minimum utiliza-
tion. The difference in the cost per day is multiplied by the estimated 
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MO HealthNet patient days for the SFY; 
4. The utilization adjustment cost is determined by estimating 

the number of MO HealthNet inpatient days the hospital will not pro-
vide as a result of the managed care health plans limiting inpatient 
hospital services. These days are multiplied by the hospital’s cost per 
day to determine the total cost associated with these days. This cost 
is divided by the remaining total patient days from its base period 
cost report to arrive at the increased cost per day. This increased cost 
per day is multiplied by the estimated MO HealthNet days for the 
current SFY to arrive at the MO HealthNet utilization adjustment.  

A. Effective July 1, 2011, the utilization adjustment will no 
longer apply to any hospital other than safety net hospitals as defined 
in subsection (1)(B), children’s hospitals as defined in 13 CSR 70-
15.010(2)(Q), and specialty pediatric hospitals as defined in 13 CSR 
70-15.010(2)(O). Children’s hospitals and specialty pediatric hospi-
tals will continue to receive fifty percent (50%) of the adjustment 
calculated in accordance with paragraph (2)(B)4. Safety net hospitals 
will continue to receive one hundred percent (100%) of the adjust-
ment calculated in accordance with paragraph (2)(B)4.;  

5. The poison control cost shall reimburse the hospital for the 
prorated MO HealthNet managed care cost. It will be calculated by 
multiplying the estimated MO HealthNet share of the poison control 
costs by the percentage of managed care participants to total MO 
HealthNet participants; and  

6. Effective July 1, 2006, the costs for including out-of-state 
Medicaid days is calculated by subtracting the hospital’s per diem 
rate from its trended per diem cost and multiplying this difference by 
the out-of-state Medicaid days as determined from the regression 
analysis performed using the out-of-state days from the fourth, fifth, 
and sixth prior year cost reports. 

AUTHORITY: sections 208.153, 208.201, and 660.017, RSMo 2016, 
and section 208.152, RSMo Supp. [2020] 2021. This rule was pre-
viously filed as part of 13 CSR 70-15.010. Emergency rule filed April 
30, 2020, effective May 15, 2020, expired Feb. 24, 2021. Original 
rule filed April 30, 2020, effective Nov. 30, 2020. Emergency amend-
ment filed Aug. 26, 2021, effective Sept. 10, 2021, expires March 8, 
2022. A proposed amendment covering this same material is pub-
lished in this issue of the Missouri Register. 

PUBLIC COST: This emergency amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) 
in the time the emergency is effective. 

PRIVATE COST: This emergency amendment will not cost private 
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the time the emer-
gency is effective. 

 
 

Title 13—DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES  
Division 70—MO HealthNet Division  

Chapter 15—Hospital Program 

EMERGENCY AMENDMENT 

13 CSR 70-15.110 Federal Reimbursement Allowance (FRA). The 
division is amending subparagraph (1)(A)13.G., removing sections 
(2) through (4), renumbering, and adding a new section (4). 

PURPOSE: This emergency amendment provides for the State Fiscal 
Year (SFY) 2022 trend factor to be applied to the inpatient and out-
patient adjusted net revenues determined from the Federal 
Reimbursement Allowance (FRA) fiscal year cost report to determine 
the inpatient and outpatient adjusted net revenues subject to the FRA 
assessment. Additionally, this emergency amendment establishes the 
FRA assessment effective July 1, 2021. Lastly, this emergency amend-
ment is removing outdated language regarding the FRA Assessment. 

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: The Department of Social Services, 
MO HealthNet Division (MHD) finds that this emergency amendment 
is necessary to preserve a compelling governmental interest of col-
lecting state revenue in order to provide health care to individuals eli-
gible for the MO HealthNet program and for the uninsured. An early 
effective date is required because the emergency amendment is nec-
essary to establish the Federal Reimbursement Allowance (FRA) 
assessment rate effective for dates of service beginning July 1, 2021 
in regulation in order to collect the state revenue to ensure access to 
hospital services for MO HealthNet participants and indigent 
patients at hospitals that have relied on MO HealthNet payments to 
meet those patients’ needs. The Missouri Partnership Plan between 
the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and the 
Missouri Department of Social Services (DSS), which establishes a 
process whereby CMS and DSS determine the permissibility of the 
funding source used by Missouri to fund its share of the MO 
HealthNet program, is based on a state fiscal year.  In order to deter-
mine the trends for State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2021, all relevant infor-
mation from the necessary sources must be available to MHD. The 
division uses the best information available when it starts calculating 
the assessment so it uses the trend published in the Fourth Quarter 
Healthcare Cost Review publication which is generally not available 
until January. The division must also analyze hospital revenue data, 
which is not complete until near the end of the state fiscal year, in 
conjunction with the trend and hospital FRA-funded payments to 
determine the appropriate level of assessment. Without this informa-
tion, the trends cannot be determined. Therefore, due to the timing 
of the receipt of this information and the necessary July 1, 2021 effec-
tive date, an emergency regulation is necessary. The MHD also finds 
an immediate danger to public health and welfare which requires 
emergency action. If this emergency amendment is not enacted, hos-
pitals will be over-assessed, causing a financial strain on Missouri 
hospitals which serve approximately nine hundred seventy-one thou-
sand (971,000) MO HealthNet participants plus the uninsured.  This 
financial strain, in turn, will result in an adverse impact on the 
health and welfare of MO HealthNet participants and uninsured indi-
viduals in need of medical treatment. This emergency amendment will 
result in an increase of FRA Assessment of approximately $12.5 mil-
lion to the hospital industry. A proposed amendment, which covers 
the same material, is published in this issue of the Missouri Register. 
This emergency amendment limits its scope to the circumstances cre-
ating the emergency and complies with the protections extended by 
the Missouri and United States Constitutions. The MHD believes 
this emergency amendment to be fair to all interested parties under 
the circumstances. This emergency amendment was filed August 26, 
2021, becomes effective September 10, 2021, and expires March 8, 
2022. 

(1) Federal Reimbursement Allowance (FRA). FRA shall be assessed 
as described in this section.  

(A) Definitions.  
1. Bad debts—Amounts considered to be uncollectible from 

accounts and notes receivable that were created or acquired in pro-
viding services. Allowable bad debts include the costs of caring for 
patients who have insurance, but their insurance does not cover the 
particular service procedures or treatment rendered. 

2. Base cost report—Desk-reviewed Medicare/Medicaid cost 
report. The Medicare/Medicaid Cost Report version 2552-96 (CMS 
2552-96) shall be used for fiscal years ending on or after September 
30, 1996. The Medicare/Medicaid Cost Report version 2552-10 (CMS 
2552-10) shall be used for fiscal years beginning on and after May 1, 
2010. When a hospital has more than one (1) cost report with periods 
ending in the base year, the cost report covering a full twelve- (12-) 
month period will be used. If none of the cost reports covers a full 
twelve (12) months, the cost report with the latest period will be used. 
If a hospital’s base cost report is less than or greater than a twelve- 
(12-) month period, the data shall be adjusted, based on the number 
of months reflected in the base cost report, to a twelve- (12-) month 
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period.  
3. Charity care—Those charges written off by a hospital based 

on the hospital’s policy to provide health care services free of charge 
or at a reduced charge because of the indigence or medical indigence 
of the patient. 

4. Contractual allowances—Difference between established rates 
for covered services and the amount paid by third-party payers under 
contractual agreements. The Federal Reimbursement Allowance 
(FRA) is a cost to the hospital, regardless of how the FRA is remitted 
to the MO HealthNet Division, and shall not be included in contrac-
tual allowances for determining revenues. Any redistributions of MO 
HealthNet payments by private entities acting at the request of partic-
ipating health care providers shall not be included in contractual 
allowances or determining revenues or cost of patient care.  

5. Department—Department of Social Services.  
6. Director—Director of the Department of Social Services.  
7. Division—MO HealthNet Division, Department of Social 

Services.  
8. Engaging in the business of providing inpatient health care—

Accepting payment for inpatient services rendered.  
9. Federal Reimbursement Allowance (FRA)—The fee assessed 

to hospitals for the privilege of engaging in the business of providing 
inpatient health care in Missouri. The FRA is an allowable cost to the 
hospital. 

10. Fiscal period—Twelve- (12-) month reporting period deter-
mined by each hospital.  

11. Gross hospital service charges—Total charges made by the 
hospital for inpatient and outpatient hospital services that are covered 
under 13 CSR 70-15.010. 

12. Hospital—A place devoted primarily to the maintenance and 
operation of facilities for the diagnosis, treatment, or care for not 
fewer than twenty-four (24) hours in any week of three (3) or more 
nonrelated individuals suffering from illness, disease, injury, defor-
mity, or other abnormal physical conditions; or a place devoted pri-
marily to provide, for not fewer than twenty-four (24) hours in any 
week, medical or nursing care for three (3) or more nonrelated indi-
viduals. The term hospital does not include convalescent, nursing, 
shelter, or boarding homes as defined in Chapter 198, RSMo.  

13. Hospital revenues subject to FRA assessment effective July 
1, 2008—Each hospital’s inpatient adjusted net revenues and outpa-
tient adjusted net revenues subject to the FRA assessment will be 
determined as follows: 

A. Obtain “Gross Total Charges” from Worksheet G-2, Line 
25, Column 3 from CMS 2552-96, or Worksheet G-2, Line 28, 
Column 3 from CMS 2552-10, of the third prior year cost report 
(i.e., FRA fiscal year cost report) for the hospital. Charges shall 
exclude revenues for physician services. Charges related to activities 
subject to the Missouri taxes assessed for outpatient retail pharmacies 
and nursing facility services shall also be excluded. “Gross Total 
Charges” will be reduced by the following: 

(I) “Nursing Facility Charges” from Worksheet C, Part I, 
Line 35, Column 6 from CMS 2552-96, or Worksheet C, Part I, Line 
45, Column 6 from CMS 2552-10; 

(II) “Swing Bed Nursing Facility Charges” from Worksheet 
G-2, Line 5, Column 1 from CMS 2552-96, or Worksheet G-2, Line 
6, Column 1 from CMS 2552-10; 

(III) “Nursing Facility Ancillary Charges” as determined 
from the Department of Social Services, MO HealthNet Division, 
nursing home cost report. (Note: To the extent that the gross hospital 
charges, as specified in subparagraph (1)(A)13.A. above, include 
long-term care charges, the charges to be excluded through this step 
shall include all long-term care ancillary charges including skilled 
nursing facility, nursing facility, and other long-term care providers 
based at the hospital that are subject to the state’s provider tax on 
nursing facility services.);   

(IV) “Distinct Part Ambulatory Surgical Center Charges” 
from Worksheet G-2, Line  22, Column  2 from CMS 2552-96, or 
Worksheet G-2, Line 25, Column 2 from CMS 2552-10; 

(V) “Ambulance Charges” from Worksheet C, Part I, Line 
65, Column 7 from CMS 2552-96, or Worksheet C, Part I, Line 95, 
Column 7 from CMS 2552-10; 

(VI) “Home Health Charges” from Worksheet G-2, Line 
19, Column 2 from CMS 2552-96, or Worksheet G-2, Line 22, 
Column 2 from CMS 2552-10;   

(VII) “Total Rural Health Clinic Charges” from Worksheet 
C, Part I, Column 7, Lines 63.50–63.59 from CMS 2552-96, or 
Worksheet C, Part I, Column 7, Line 88 and subsets from CMS 
2552-10; and  

(VIII) “Other Non-Hospital Component Charges” from 
Worksheet G-2, Lines 6, 8, 21, 21.02, 23, and 24  from CMS 2552-
96, or Worksheet G-2, Lines 5, 7, 9, 21, 24, 26, and 27 from CMS 
2552-10; 

B. Obtain “Net Revenue” from Worksheet G-3, Line 3, 
Column 1. The state will ensure this amount is net of bad debts and 
other uncollectible charges by survey methodology;  

C. “Adjusted Gross Total Charges” (the result of the compu-
tations in subparagraph (1)(A)13.A.) will then be further adjusted by 
a hospital-specific collection-to-charge ratio determined as follows:  

(I) Divide “Net Revenue” by “Gross Total Charges”; and 
(II) “Adjusted Gross Total Charges” will be multiplied by 

the result of part (1)(A)13.C.(I) to yield “Adjusted Net Revenue”; 
D. Obtain “Gross Inpatient Charges” from Worksheet G-2, 

Line 25, Column 1 from CMS 2552-96, or Worksheet G-2, Line 28, 
Column 1 from CMS 2552-10, of the most recent cost report that is 
available for a hospital; 

E. Obtain “Gross Outpatient Charges” from Worksheet G-2, 
Line 25, Column 2 from CMS 2552-96, or Worksheet G-2, Line 28, 
Column 2 from CMS 2552-10, of the most recent cost report that is 
available for a hospital; 

F. Total “Adjusted Net Revenue” will be allocated between 
“Net Inpatient Revenue” and “Net Outpatient Revenue” as follows: 

(I) “Gross Inpatient Charges” will be divided by “Gross 
Total Charges”; 

(II) “Adjusted Net Revenue” will then be multiplied by the 
result to yield “Net Inpatient Revenue”; and 

(III) The remainder will be allocated to “Net Outpatient 
Revenue”; and 

G. The trend indices, if greater than 0%, will be determined 
based on the Health Care Costs index as published in Healthcare 
Cost Review by Institute of Health Systems (IHS), or equivalent pub-
lication, regardless of any changes in the name of the publication or 
publisher, for each State Fiscal Year (SFY).  The trend indices listed 
below will be applied to the apportioned inpatient adjusted net rev-
enue and outpatient adjusted net revenue in order to inflate or trend 
forward the adjusted net revenues from the FRA fiscal year cost 
report to the current state fiscal year to determine the inpatient and 
outpatient adjusted net revenues subject to the FRA assessment.   

[(I) SFY 2016 = 
(a) Inpatient Adjusted Net Revenues—0% 
(b) Outpatient Adjusted Net Revenues—3.90% 

(II) SFY 2017 = 
(a) Inpatient Adjusted Net Revenues—0% 
(b) Outpatient Adjusted Net Revenues—4.10% 

(III) SFY 2018 = 
(a) Inpatient Adjusted Net Revenues—0% 
(b) Outpatient Adjusted Net Revenues—0% 

(IV) SFY 2019 = 
(a) Inpatient Adjusted Net Revenues—0% 
(b) Outpatient Adjusted Net Revenues—0%] 

[V](I) SFY 2020 = 
(a) Inpatient Adjusted Net Revenues—0% 
(b) Outpatient Adjusted Net Revenues—2.9% 

[VI](II) SFY 2021 = 
(a) Inpatient Adjusted Net Revenues—3.2%  
(b) Outpatient Adjusted Net Revenues—0%  

(III) SFY 2022 = 
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(a) Inpatient Adjusted Net Revenues—4.2%  
(b) Outpatient Adjusted Net Revenues—0%  

[(2) Beginning July 1, 2010, the FRA assessment shall be 
determined at the rate of five and forty-five hundredths per-
cent (5.45%) of each hospital’s inpatient adjusted net rev-
enues and outpatient adjusted net revenues as set forth in 
paragraph (1)(A)13. The FRA assessment rate of five and 
forty-five hundredths percent (5.45%) will be applied indi-
vidually to the hospital’s inpatient adjusted net revenues and 
outpatient adjusted net revenues. The hospital’s total FRA 
assessment is the sum of the assessment determined from 
its inpatient adjusted net revenue plus the assessment deter-
mined for its outpatient adjusted net revenue. 

(3) Beginning October 1, 2011, the FRA assessment shall be 
determined at the rate of five and ninety-five hundredths per-
cent (5.95%) of each hospital’s inpatient adjusted net rev-
enues and outpatient adjusted net revenues as set forth in 
paragraph (1)(A)13.  The FRA assessment rate of five and 
ninety-five hundredths percent (5.95%) will be applied indi-
vidually to the hospital’s inpatient adjusted net revenues and 
outpatient adjusted net revenues. The hospital’s total FRA 
assessment is the sum of the assessment determined from 
its inpatient adjusted net revenue plus the assessment deter-
mined for its outpatient adjusted net revenue. 

(4) Beginning July 1, 2017, the FRA assessment shall be 
determined at the rate of five and seventy hundredths per-
cent (5.70%) of each hospital’s inpatient adjusted net rev-
enues and outpatient adjusted net revenues as set forth in 
paragraph (1)(A)13. The FRA assessment rate of five and 
seventy hundredths percent (5.70%) will be applied individ-
ually to the hospital’s inpatient adjusted net revenues and 
outpatient adjusted net revenues. The hospital’s total FRA 
assessment is the sum of the assessment determined from 
its inpatient adjusted net revenue plus the assessment deter-
mined for its outpatient adjusted net revenue. 

(A) If the reduction of disproportionate share hospital allot-
ments for federal fiscal year 2018 is implemented as provid-
ed in section 1923(f)(7) of the Social Security Act, the FRA 
assessment shall be set, effective on the date of such reduc-
tion, at the rate of five and fifty hundredths percent (5.50%) 
of each hospital’s inpatient adjusted net revenues and out-
patient adjusted net revenues as set forth in paragraph 
(1)(A)13. The FRA assessment rate of five and fifty hun-
dredths percent (5.50%) will be applied individually to the 
hospital’s inpatient adjusted net revenues and outpatient 
adjusted net revenues. The hospital’s total FRA assessment 
is the sum of the assessment determined from its inpatient 
adjusted net revenue plus the assessment determined for its 
outpatient adjusted net revenue.] 

[(5)](2) Beginning July 1, 2018, the FRA assessment shall be deter-
mined at the rate of five and sixty hundredths percent (5.60%) of 
each hospital’s inpatient adjusted net revenues and outpatient adjust-
ed net revenues as set forth in paragraph (1)(A)13.  The FRA assess-
ment rate of five and sixty hundredths percent (5.60%) will be 
applied individually to the hospital’s inpatient adjusted net revenues 
and outpatient adjusted net revenues. The hospital’s total FRA 
assessment is the sum of the assessment determined from its inpatient 
adjusted net revenue plus the assessment determined for its outpatient 
adjusted net revenue. 

[(6)](3) Beginning July 1, 2020, the FRA assessment shall be deter-
mined at a rate of five and seventy-five hundredths percent (5.75%) 
of each hospital’s inpatient adjusted net revenues and outpatient 
adjusted net revenues as set forth in paragraph (1)(A)13. The FRA 

assessment rate will be applied individually to the hospital’s inpatient 
adjusted net revenues and outpatient adjusted net revenues. The hos-
pital’s total FRA assessment is the sum of the assessment determined 
from its inpatient adjusted net revenue plus the assessment deter-
mined for its outpatient adjusted net revenue. 

(4) Beginning July 1, 2021, the FRA assessment shall be deter-
mined at a rate of five and forty-eight hundredths percent 
(5.48%) of each hospital’s inpatient adjusted net revenues and 
outpatient adjusted net revenues as set forth in paragraph 
(1)(A)13. The FRA assessment rate will be applied individually 
to the hospital’s inpatient adjusted net revenues and outpatient 
adjusted net revenues. The hospital’s total FRA assessment is the 
sum of the assessment determined from its inpatient adjusted net 
revenue plus the assessment determined for its outpatient adjust-
ed net revenue. 

AUTHORITY: sections 208.201, 208.453, 208.455, and 660.017, 
RSMo 2016. Emergency rule filed Sept. 21, 1992, effective Oct. 1, 
1992, expired Jan. 28, 1993. Emergency rule filed Jan. 15, 1993, 
effective Jan. 25, 1993, expired May 24, 1993. Original rule filed 
Sept. 21, 1992, effective June 7, 1993. For intervening history, please 
consult the Code of State Regulations. Emergency amendment filed 
Aug. 26, 2021, effective Sept. 10, 2021, expires March 8, 2022. A 
proposed amendment covering this same material is published in this 
issue of the Missouri Register. 

PUBLIC COST: For SFY 2022, this emergency amendment will result 
in an FRA Assessment cost to state agencies or political subdivisions 
of approximately one million nine hundred thousand dollars 
($1,900,000) in the time the emergency is effective.  

PRIVATE COST: For SFY 2022, this emergency amendment will 
result in an FRA Assessment cost to private entities of approximately 
ten million six hundred thousand dollars ($10,600,000) in the time 
the emergency is effective.   
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Title 19—DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND SENIOR  
SERVICES 

Division 30—Division of Regulation and Licensure 
Chapter 82—General Licensure Requirements 

EMERGENCY AMENDMENT 

19 CSR 30-82.050 Transfer and Discharge Procedures. The 
department is amending sections (4), (6), (7), and (8). 

PURPOSE: This emergency amendment transitions transfer and dis-
charge hearings from the Department of Social Services to the 
Department of Health and Senior Services, updates the mailing 
address and adds a fax number, a phone number and email address 
about where to send transfer or discharge appeals and motions and 
where to contact the Department of Health and Senior Services.  

EMERGENCY STATEMENT: In September of 2021, the Department 
of Health and Senior Services is transitioning transfer and discharge 
hearings from the Department of Social Services to the Department 
of Health and Senior Services. This emergency amendment is neces-
sary to inform the public about how and where to file an appeal of a 
written notice from a facility to transfer or discharge a resident.  The 
emergency amendment provides the new information about where to 
file appeals and motions by updating the state agency name, the mail-
ing address, the fax number and the email address. The emergency 
amendment also adds a phone number where the public can contact 
the Department of Health and Senior services about transfer and dis-
charge hearings.  As a result, the department finds a compelling gov-
ernmental interest, which requires this emergency action. A proposed 
amendment which covers the same material, is published in this issue 
of the Missouri Register. The scope of this emergency amendment is 
limited to the circumstances creating the emergency and complies 
with the protections extended in the Missouri and United States 
Constitutions. The department believes this emergency amendment is 
fair to all interested persons and parties under the circumstances. 
This emergency amendment was filed September 1, 2021, becomes 
effective September 16, 2021, and expires March 14, 2022.  

(4) Before a facility transfers or discharges a resident, the facility 
shall: 

(A) Send written notice to the resident in a language and manner 
reasonably calculated to be understood by the resident. The notice 
must also be sent to any legally authorized representative of the res-
ident and to at least one family member. In the event that there is no 
family member known to the facility, the facility shall send a copy of 
the notice to the appropriate regional coordinator of the Missouri 
State Ombudsman’s office; 

(B) Include in the written notice the following information: 
1. The reason for the transfer or discharge; 
2. The effective date of transfer or discharge; 
3. The resident’s right to appeal the transfer or discharge notice 

to the director of the [Division of Aging] Department of Health 
and Senior Services or his/her designated hearing official within 
thirty (30) days of the receipt of the notice;  

4. [The address to which the] That a request for a hearing 
should be sent to [:Administrative Hearings Unit, Division of 
Legal Services, P.O. Box 1527, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
1527] Department of Health and Senior Services Appeals Unit, 
P.O. Box 570, 912 Wildwood Drive 3rd floor, Jefferson City, 
Missouri 65102-0570; by fax to (573) 751-0247 or by email to 
DHSS.Appeals@health.mo.gov and the phone number for the 
appeals unit is (573) 522-1699; 

5. That filing an appeal will allow a resident to remain in the 
facility until the hearing is held unless a hearing official finds other-
wise; 

6. The location to which the resident is being transferred or dis-
charged; 

7. The name, address, and telephone number of the designated 
regional long-term care ombudsman office; 

8. For Medicare and Medicaid certified facility residents with 
developmental disabilities, the mailing address, and telephone num-
ber of the Missouri Protection and Advocacy Agency, 925 South 
Country Club Drive, Jefferson City, MO 65109, (573) 893-3333, or 
the current address and telephone number of the protection advocacy 
agency if it has changed. The protection and advocacy agency is 
responsible for the protection and advocacy of developmentally dis-
abled individuals established under Part C of the Developmental 
Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act. For Medicare and 
Medicaid certified facility residents with mental illness, the address 
and telephone number of Missouri Protection and Advocacy Agency, 
the agency responsible for persons with mental illness under the 
Protection and Advocacy for Mentally Ill Individuals Act; and  

(C) Record and document in detail in each affected resident’s 
record the reason for the transfer or discharge. The recording of the 
reason for the transfer or discharge shall be entered into the resi-
dent’s record prior to the date the resident receives notice of the 
transfer or discharge, or prior to the time when the transferring or 
discharging facility decides to transfer or discharge the resident. 

(6) Any resident of a facility who receives notice of discharge from 
the facility in which he/she resides may file an appeal of the notice 
with the [Administrative Hearings Section, Division of Legal 
Services, P.O. Box 1527, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1527] 
Department of Health and Senior Services Appeals Unit, P.O. 
Box 570, 912 Wildwood Drive 3rd floor, Jefferson City, Missouri 
65102-0570; by fax to (573) 751-0247 or by email to 
DHSS.Appeals@health.mo.gov within thirty (30) days of the date 
the resident received the discharge notice from the facility. The resi-
dent’s legal guardian, the resident’s attorney-in-fact appointed under 
sections 404.700–404.725, RSMo (Durable Power of Attorney Law 
of Missouri) or pursuant to sections 404.800–404.865, RSMo 
(Durable Power of Attorney for Health Care Act) or any other indi-
vidual may file an appeal on the resident’s behalf. A Nursing Facility 
Transfer or Discharge Hearing Request form (MO Form 886-3245) 
to request a hearing may be obtained from the [Division of Aging] 
Department of Health and Senior Services or the regional ombuds-
man. However, the use of a form is not required in order to file a 
request for a hearing. The request for a hearing shall be verified in 
writing by the resident, his/her legal guardian, attorney-in-fact, or 
any other party requesting a hearing on the resident’s behalf by attest-
ing to the truth of the resident’s request for a hearing. 

(7) The director of the Department of [Social Services] Health and 
Senior Services shall designate a hearing official to hear and decide 
the resident’s appeal. 

(A) The designated hearing official shall notify the resident, the 
state long-term care ombudsman and the facility that the request for 
a hearing has been received and that a hearing has been scheduled. 

(B) The hearing may be held by telephone conference call or in 
person at any location the designated hearing official deems reason-
ably appropriate to accommodate the resident’s needs. 

(8) The discharge of the resident shall be stayed at the time the 
request for a hearing was filed unless the facility can show good 
cause why the resident should not remain in the facility until a writ-
ten hearing decision has been issued by the designated hearing offi-
cial. Good cause shall include, but is not limited to, those exceptions 
when the facility may notify the resident of a discharge from the facil-
ity with less than thirty (30) days notice as set forth in section (5) of 
this rule.  

(A) The facility may show good cause for discharging the resident 
prior to a hearing decision being issued by the designated hearing 
official by filing a written Motion to Set Aside the Stay with the 
[Administrative Hearings Unit] Department of Health and 
Senior Services Appeals Unit at the address, fax number or email 
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address in paragraph (4)(B)4. The facility must provide a copy of the 
Motion to Set Aside the Stay to the resident, or to the resident’s 
legally authorized representative  and to at least one (1) family mem-
ber, if one is known. In the event that a resident has no legally autho-
rized representative and no known family members, then a copy of 
the Motion to Set Aside the Stay must be provided to the Missouri 
State Long-Term Care Ombudsman’s Office. 

(B) Within five (5) days after a written Motion to Set Aside the 
Stay has been filed with the [Administrative Hearings Unit,] 
Department of Health and Senior Services Appeals Unit, the des-
ignated hearing official shall schedule a hearing to determine 
whether the facility has good cause to discharge the resident prior to 
a written hearing decision being issued. Notice of the good cause 
hearing need not be in writing. All parties and representatives who 
received a copy of the Motion to Set Aside the Stay under subsection 
(8)(A) of this rule shall also be notified of the good cause hearing. 

1.The designated hearing official shall have the discretion to 
consolidate the facility’s good cause hearing with the discharge hear-
ing requested by the resident. In the case of an emergency discharge, 
an expedited hearing shall be held upon the request of the resident, 
legally authorized representative, family member, and in a case 
where notice was required to be sent to the regional ombudsman, to 
the state long-term care ombudsman, so long as the parties waive the 
ten (10)- day notice requirement specified in section (9).  

2. Subsequent to the good cause hearing, the designated hearing 
official shall issue an order granting or denying the facility’s Motion 
to Set Aside the Stay. If the facility’s good cause hearing and the res-
ident’s discharge hearing were consolidated, the order shall also set 
forth whether the facility may discharge the resident.  

AUTHORITY: sections 192.2000, 198.009, and 198.088, [RSMo 
1994 and 660.050,] RSMo [Supp. 1997] 2016. This rule was 
originally filed as 13 CSR 15-10.050. Original rule filed Feb. 13, 
1998, effective Sept. 30, 1998. Moved to 19 CSR 30-82.050, effective 
Aug. 28, 2001. Emergency amendment filed Sept. 1, 2021, effective 
Sept. 16, 2021, expires March 14, 2022. A proposed amendment cov-
ering this same material is published in this issue of the Missouri 
Register.  

PUBLIC COST: This emergency amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) 
in the time the emergency is effective.  

PRIVATE COST: This emergency amendment will not cost private 
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the time the emer-
gency is effective. 
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T he Secretary of State shall publish all executive orders beginning January 1, 2003, pursuant to section 536.035.2, RSMo.
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