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Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS 
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners 

Chapter 2—Private Security 

PROPOSED RESCISSION 

17 CSR 10-2.020 Application for a License. This rule, in order to 
promote and protect the public welfare, required board to investigate 
the background, qualifications and ability of all applicants and 
required that applicants use application forms provided by board. 

PURPOSE: Board wishes to rescind this rule and adopt a new rule 
in its place to clarify the language in the rule and insure compliance 
with the applicable law. 

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Dec. 
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please 
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded: Filed March 1, 
2021. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies 
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the 
aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in 
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Board 
of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust St., 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be 
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the 
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled. 

 
 

Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS 
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners 

Chapter 2—Private Security 

PROPOSED RULE  

17 CSR 10-2.020 Application for a License 

PURPOSE: In order to promote and protect the public welfare, the 
Board of Police Commissioners (board) shall license and regulate 
those persons wishing to provide private security services or propri-
etary private investigative services. Application forms provided by the 
board shall be used by all applicants. All forms may be downloaded 
at www.kcpd.org. 

(1) All individual applicants are required to complete an “Employer’s 
Application for Employment of Private Security/Proprietary Private 
Investigator ‘Intent to Hire Form’” (Form 5409 P.D.). This form 
must be completed any time a license is applied for, renewed, trans-
ferred, or upgraded. All firms, companies, partnerships, corpora-
tion, sole proprietorships, and political subdivisions to be licensed 
under the provisions of section (5) below shall complete “Application 
for Company License” (Form 5486 P.D.) 

(2) The board shall conduct a criminal history records check of each 
applicant and may conduct investigations as provided by section 
84.720, RSMo. The applicant must pay the fee for the criminal his-
tory records check and fingerprinting at the time of application and 
upon each annual renewal. 

(3) Each applicant shall submit to photographing and fingerprinting 
and shall provide proof of identity by submitting with the application 
a photo identification card, original Social Security card, proof of 

citizenship, permanent resident card, Military DD214, most recent 
name change documentation from a court of competent jurisdiction, 
or other equivalent identification. If an applicant provides proof of 
identity by submitting permanent resident card, the applicant must 
provide sufficient proof that they have established a bona fide resi-
dence in the United States of America. If an applicant requests a 
replacement license because of a name change, the applicant must 
supply to the Private Officers Licensing Unit (POLU) the appropri-
ate name change documentation from a court of competent jurisdic-
tion. 

(4) Each applicant shall provide any additional information requested 
by the board to conduct its investigation and shall comply with all 
requests of the board in the conduct of its investigation for a license 
under these rules, including without limitation, execution of a release 
allowing the board to review personnel records from prior employ-
ers. 

(5) Firms, companies, partnerships, corporations, sole proprietor-
ships, or political subdivisions engaging in the business of providing 
private security services or proprietary private investigative services 
or firms, companies, partnerships, corporations, sole proprietor-
ships, or political subdivisions that employ other individuals to per-
form private security services or proprietary private investigative ser-
vices shall be licensed in addition to any individual license required 
under these rules. An applicant wishing to obtain a company license 
for the sole purpose of employing proprietary private investigators 
must meet the guidelines outlined in 17 CSR 10-2.050(1)(C). Any 
license granted under this section shall be designated a “company 
license.” All company names must be approved by POLU. All 
licensed companies are required to annually pay a company fee by 
January 31 of each year and are required to comply with the terms 
of this regulation and all federal, state, and local laws. Failure to pay 
such fee will result in the suspension of the company license. In the 
absence of the annual company license, all licenses granted to 
employees or agents of that company are automatically suspended. 

(6) Before being licensed under these rules, company applicants shall 
file with the board a certificate of liability insurance in the amount 
of one (1) million dollars or the equivalent, naming the board as an 
additional insured and certificate holder and protecting the board 
from liability judgments, suits, and claims, including, but not limited 
to, suits for bodily injury, personal injury, including false arrest, 
libel, slander, invasion of privacy, and property damage arising out 
of the licensing of individuals and entities providing private security 
services or proprietary private investigative services. The insurance 
must be written by a company approved by the Missouri superinten-
dent of insurance and approved by the board with respect to its form, 
manner of execution, and sufficiency, provided further however, 
before a license is issued to a nonresident of Missouri, the applicant 
must file with the Missouri Secretary of State a written consent for 
jurisdiction of the courts of Missouri, and any case(s) arising from 
any contract for performance of private security services or propri-
etary private investigative services made within the city are to be per-
formed wholly or in part, in the city or in any way connected with 
the business within the city or occurring in connection with the busi-
ness of the one licensed within the city. Any company licensed must 
provide the insurance specified and cover all employees; provided 
however, that in the event a suit is filed or claim is made involving 
the board, the company shall immediately notify the board at which 
time the licensee may be required to furnish additional insurance. 
Failure of a licensee to maintain insurance is grounds for revocation. 
In the absence of adequate insurance, all licenses granted to employ-
ees or agents of that company are automatically suspended. 
Equivalent shall mean a bond in like amount or a certificate of self-
insurance by a company with audited net worth of five (5) million 
dollars. Each certificate of insurance must stipulate coverage for 
armed/unarmed personnel as appropriate. The naming of the board 
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as an additional insured in no way constitutes or should be construed 
as a waiver or limitation of the board’s rights or defenses with regard 
to sovereign immunity, governmental immunity, official immunities, 
and/or any of the protections provided under federal and state con-
stitutions or by law. 

(7) When, in the opinion of the board, an applicant has fulfilled the 
requirements of these rules, the board may issue the applicant a 
license to provide private security services or proprietary private 
investigative services. 

(8) All those licensed under these rules shall immediately notify the 
board in writing of any change of address or employment; a company 
shall notify the board in writing of the termination of employment of 
any person listed on the company application or any licensed employ-
ee and notify the board as to whether or not the individual’s license 
has been returned to the company. 

(9) Licenses, issued under these rules, are not transferable or assign-
able. When any person’s license has been terminated, suspended, 
revoked, or has expired, the license shall be mailed or delivered to 
the POLU. If the license is lost or stolen, the license holder shall 
immediately notify POLU and provide a lost card affidavit signed by 
a company representative. An additional fee and a new Form 5409 
P.D. are required. If the license has been stolen, a police report list-
ing the license may be accepted in lieu of the additional fee. Any per-
son licensed under these rules may hold a maximum of three (3) 
licenses. 

(10) All those licensed will be required to furnish a photograph and 
description of all vehicles to be used in the course of their business, 
including state license numbers, vehicle identification numbers, and 
provide proof of adequate automobile liability insurance coverage in 
accordance with the requirements established by the state of 
Missouri. All vehicles must clearly state that the vehicle is a security 
vehicle and display the company name. Use of any sign, signal, or 
other device contrary to the ordinance of the city, or which is similar 
in appearance to those used by the department is prohibited and may 
be grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license. No pri-
vate security company, proprietary private investigative company, or 
individual is authorized to operate any emergency vehicle as that 
term is defined by state law or city ordinance, other than Airport 
Police and Park Rangers. No vehicle displaying the word “police” 
shall be approved for use except as set out in 17 CSR 10-
2.030(1)(A)5-6. 

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2016. Original rule filed Dec. 
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please 
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded and readopted: 
Filed March 1, 2021. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or 
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the 
aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities nine 
hundred seventy thousand dollars ($970,000) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in 
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Board of 
Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust St,, 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be 
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the 
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled. 
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Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS 
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners 

Chapter 2—Private Security 

PROPOSED RESCISSION 

17 CSR 10-2.030 Classification of Licenses. This rule established 
minimum qualification standards and classification of licenses related 
to specific private security services provided by board. 

PURPOSE: Board wishes to rescind this rule and adopt a new rule 
in its place to clarify the language in the rule and insure compliance 
with the applicable law. 

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Dec. 
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please 
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded: Filed March 1, 
2021. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies 
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the 
aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in 
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Board 
of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust St., 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be 
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the 
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled. 

 
 

Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS 
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners 

Chapter 2—Private Security 

PROPOSED RULE  

17 CSR 10-2.030 Classification of Licenses 

PURPOSE: This rule establishes minimum standards and classifica-
tion of licenses related to specific private security services or propri-
etary private investigative services provided. 

(1) Individual licenses to provide private security services or propri-
etary private investigative services granted pursuant to this chapter 
shall be classified as either Class A licenses or Class B licenses. 

(A) Class A licensees (other than those solely seeking an 
Administrative License) shall have the authority to detain or appre-
hend suspects either committing felonies, misdemeanors, or city 
ordinance violations in the presence of the licensee or during the 
attempt to commit the same or upon probable cause to believe an 
offense was committed; provided, however, the authority is limited 
to the private property the licensee is hired to protect during the 
hours s/he is hired to protect said private property and is not to 
extend to the public streets of the city. No vehicle pursuits are 
allowed except as specifically authorized in 17 CSR 10-
2.030(1)(A)5. Class A licenses may be further classified pursuant to 
the following titles, designations, and authorities: 

1. Administrative Agent—One who directly supervises a 
Security Officer; 

2. Loss prevention agent—One who is unarmed, nonuniformed, 
and is responsible to observe, investigate, apprehend, and prosecute 
shoplifters, fraud checks, internal thefts, and the like. This individual 
is employed to prevent theft by unobtrusive, alert skills; 

3. Patrol agent—Armed or unarmed, uniformed position dele-
gated all the responsibility of a guard with the authority to react to 

illegal action by apprehension or detention. Persons, such as bank 
guards and hospital security, are normally assigned to a particular 
designated post to protect persons and property. This individual may 
also be responsible for proactive, aggressive policing of the property 
they are hired to protect. These responsibilities include foot patrol, 
response to alarms, self-initiated activity such as car and pedestrian 
checks on designated private property, investigations, apprehension 
or detention of suspects, and assisting in prosecution; 

4. Proprietary private investigator—An armed or unarmed, 
nonuniformed person employed exclusively and regularly by one (1) 
employer in connection with the affairs of that employer and where 
there exists an employer-employee relationship, responsible for 
investigations which impact that employer. The qualification for this 
classification is set out in 17 CSR 10-2.050(1)(C);  

5. Airport police—Armed and uniformed position responsible 
for patrolling the property designated as the Kansas City 
International Airport and the Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport 
who are granted special permission to be known as the Kansas City 
International Airport Police. These officers are exempt from the pro-
visions of 17 CSR 10-2.060(4). Airport police personnel shall be 
required to have a Class A license. Officers with licenses pursuant to 
this subclassification have the following authority, in addition to 
those created by the Class A license. The Class A license that has the 
airport police designation shall have authority to enforce city ordi-
nance and state statute violations upon the public streets of the city, 
but only upon the streets within the property boundaries of the 
Kansas City International Airport and the Charles B. Wheeler 
Downtown Airport. The Class A license that has the designation 
unarmed, uniformed “traffic control officer” shall have the authority 
to control traffic and issue citations for parking violations, but only 
upon the streets within the property boundaries of the Kansas City 
International Airport and the Charles B. Wheeler Downtown 
Airport. This section grants no authority to engage in a vehicle pur-
suit on streets not within the property boundaries of the Kansas City 
International Airport or the Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport; 
and 

6. Park Rangers—Armed and uniformed position responsible 
for providing security for the City of Kansas City, Missouri parks and 
park property, which is granted special permission to be known as 
the park rangers.  Park rangers shall be required to have a Class A 
license. Officers with licenses pursuant to this subclassification have 
the following authority, in addition to those created by the Class A 
license. The Class A license that has the park ranger designation 
shall have authority to enforce specific agreed-upon city ordinance 
violations exclusively upon park property. This section grants no 
authority to engage in a vehicle pursuit on roadways that are not park 
property. 

(B) Class B licenses shall not grant the authority for the licensees 
to detain or apprehend suspects. An applicant shall designate the par-
ticular subclassification listed in this subsection when applying for a 
Class B license. An applicant must make a separate application when 
applying for a Class B license designating more than one (1) subclas-
sification of authority. The license identification issued by the Board 
of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri (the board) shall 
designate which subcategory of a Class B license has been granted. 

1. Guard—A guard is an unarmed, uniformed position with pri-
mary responsibilities being to watch and report on/or in a specific 
premises or designated area, to escort or guide, to control crowds, to 
give directions, to monitor camera systems, to control access, and to 
offer assistance for the safety of others. The guard has no authority 
to detain or apprehend a person suspected of committing a crime. 

2. Armed courier—An armed, uniformed position primarily 
responsible for the protection and transport of money and other valu-
ables from one (1) designated area to another. This licensee has the 
authority to conduct private security services on the public streets of 
the city, but this authority is limited to protecting property from 
activities which would impact the property protected. The courier 
must meet the qualifications relating to authority to carry a firearm, 
as set out in this chapter. 
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3. Proprietary private investigator—An armed or unarmed, 
nonuniformed person employed exclusively and regularly by one (1) 
employer in connection with the affairs of that employer and where 
there exists an employer-employee relationship, responsible for 
investigations which impact that employer. The qualification for this 
classification is set out in 17 CSR 10-2.050(1)(C). 

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2016. Original rule filed Dec. 
5. 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please 
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded and readopted: 
Filed March 1, 2021. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or 
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the 
aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities 
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in 
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Board of 
Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust St., 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be 
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the 
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled. 

 
 

Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS 
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners 

Chapter 2—Private Security 

PROPOSED RESCISSION 

17 CSR 10-2.040 Application Forms and Licensing Fees. This rule 
established a schedule of licensing fees and provided a list of 
approved forms used by the board to administer its responsibilities in 
the area of regulation and licensing of private security personnel. 

PURPOSE: Board wishes to rescind this rule and adopt a new rule 
in its place to clarify the language in the rule and insure compliance 
with the applicable law. 

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Dec. 
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please 
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded: Filed March 1, 
2021. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies 
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the 
aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in 
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Board 
of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust St., 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be 
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the 
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled. 

 
 

Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS 
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners 

Chapter 2—Private Security 

PROPOSED RULE  

17 CSR 10-2.040 Application Forms and Licensing Fees 

PURPOSE: The Board of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, 
Missouri (board), in order to administer its responsibilities in the 
area of regulation and licensing of private security and proprietary 
private investigative personnel, shall establish a schedule of licensing 
fees and list of approved forms. 

(1) The fees for licensing, renewing, transferring, etc., are as fol-
lows: 

(A) New Company License                                          $400.00 
(B) Company License Renewal                                     $300.00 
(C) Class A—Armed License                                       $145.00 
(D) Class A—Armed License Renewal                          $ 90.00 
(E) Class A—Unarmed License                                   $ 90.00 
(F) Class A—Unarmed License (two (2) years)              $130.00 
(G) Class A—Unarmed License Renewal                       $  65.00 
(H) Class A—Unarmed License Renewal  
     (two (2) years)                                                      $100.00 
(I) Class B—Armed License                                        $145.00 
(J) Class B—Armed License Renewal                            $ 90.00 
(K) Class B—Unarmed License                                   $ 90.00 
(L) Class B—Unarmed License Renewal                        $  65.00 
(M) Replacement of Lost/Stolen License                       $  40.00 
(N) Dual License                                                       $  65.00 
(O) Change of Company Name (up to  
     and including 15 employees; over 15 employees,  
     add an additional $5.00 per employee)                     $150.00 
(P) Change of License Classification                             $  65.00 
(Q) Written Test Failure                                              $  65.00 
(R) Range Failure (failure to  
     qualify range appointment)                                     $  85.00 
(S) Failure to Attend Range Appointment                      $100.00 
(T) Weapon Change                                                    $  85.00 
(U) State/NCIC/FBI Annual  
     Fingerprinting Fee                                                $  40.00 
(V) Reinstatement Fee (following  
     suspension/revocation)                                           $  65.00 
(W) License Transfer                                                  $  65.00 
(X) Copy Fee                                                             $  1.00 
                                                                              per page 
(Y) Annual Range Fee (Handgun  
     Training and Qualification/ 
     Continuing Education)                                           $  85.00 
(Z) Annual Range Fee (Rifle Training and  
     Qualification Continuing Education)                        $200.00 
(AA) Annual Range Fee (Shotgun  
       Training and Qualification/ 
       Continuing Education)                                         $  85.00 
(BB) Administrative License  
       (no Administrative License is required  
       for one (1) person security firms or 
       for anyone who has another 
       license hereunder                                                $145.00 

(2) Only cash, credit or debit cards, money orders, cashier’s checks, 
or checks drawn on accounts of licensed companies are accepted in 
payment of fees. All fees are nonrefundable. 

(3) The board will provide forms for applicants to use. All forms may 
be located at www.kcpd.org. 

(A) Form 5001 P.D., “Information for Private Security/Proprietary 
Investigative Personnel,” provides basic information to private secu-
rity and proprietary private investigative personnel which includes 
the source of the board’s authority to license private security and pro-
prietary private investigative personnel; information on the classifi-
cations of licenses; the duties and authority of the various license 
classifications; information concerning firearms qualification; and 
scheduling and directions to the police pistol range. 

(B) Form 5297 P.D., “Instructions for Licensing a Company to 
Employ Private Security and Proprietary Private Investigative 
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Personnel,” provides instructions for licensing a company to employ 
private security and proprietary private investigative personnel which 
includes instructions concerning the required certificate of liability 
insurance; required documents; fee required; criminal history 
records check information; lists the private officer license classifica-
tions; procedures for monthly invoices; and information concerning 
the required examination and firearms qualification. 

(C) Form 5409 P.D. is the “Employer’s Application for 
Employment of Private Security/Proprietary Private Investigators 
‘Intent to Hire.’” This form must be presented any time a license is 
applied for, renewed, or transferred. This is the basic application 
form for individual licensees which requests the following informa-
tion: name of business, address, and telephone number; the individ-
ual applicant’s name, address, telephone number, date of birth, and 
Social Security number; the type of license being applied for; and if 
armed, the make, model, caliber, and serial number of the firearm 
the applicant intends to carry. The form must be signed by both the 
individual applicant and an authorized company representative. No 
Form 5409 P.D. will be accepted if signed by a person other than the 
authorized representative designated by the company in writing and 
on file with the Private Officers Licensing Unit (POLU). 

(D) Form 5486 P.D. is the “Application for Company License.” 
This form is the basic application form for companies wishing to reg-
ularly work or employ persons to engage in private security or pro-
prietary private investigative businesses in the city of Kansas City, 
Missouri. It requires the following information: the company’s trade 
name; the company’s legal name, its address, its mailing address, 
and business phone; the principal name of the company and home 
office address and telephone; whether the company is using a ficti-
tious name and whether that name is registered with the Missouri 
secretary of state; whether the business is a corporation registered in 
a state other than Missouri but doing business in Missouri; a copy of 
the company’s registration in Missouri and certificate of good stand-
ing from the Missouri secretary of state if appropriate; a description 
of the company; information concerning whether a license issued by 
any governmental entity to the company has ever been denied, sus-
pended, or revoked; a description of the uniform along with a pho-
tograph which clearly displays the company name and the word secu-
rity either on the uniform or company patch to be worn by the com-
pany’s personnel (the POLU will approve in advance all uniforms to 
be worn by any licensee); the approximate number of persons to be 
licensed; a list of all company-owned firearms; a list of the names, 
addresses, and capacities of each of the owners, partners, officers, 
directors, and associates of the company; a list of the company’s con-
tact persons who are authorized to sign and do business with the 
board; information and proof that the persons listed in the application 
are U.S. citizens; and the company’s federal employment identifica-
tion number (E.I.N.). 

(E) Form 5715 P.D. is the “Verification of Firearms Training” 
form. This form requires an individual and his/her instructor to cer-
tify that the applicant has been trained in the use of the firearm the 
applicant intends to carry on duty. Information concerning what the 
training must include appears on the form. The form must be signed 
by the training instructor and the training instructor’s company must 
be listed. This form must be presented to the POLU prior to the 
applicant being scheduled for the range. 

(F) Form 5636 P.D. is the “Weapons Discharge Report.” This 
form is designed to report information whenever a licensee dis-
charges his/her firearm. Information which must be provided on the 
form includes: the name of the licensee and date the license expires; 
the licensee’s weapon make, model, and serial number; the location 
of the incident; the time of the incident; the name of the licensee’s 
supervisor and the time they were notified of the discharge; whether 
the licensee was on-duty and in uniform; whether any fatalities or 
injuries resulted from the discharge; whether the shooting was acci-
dental or intentional; the case report number in connection with the 
incident; a narrative description of what transpired; the signature of 
the licensee along with the licensee’s date of birth; and the signature 

of the company representative along with the company name and 
address. This form must be received by the POLU within five (5) 
days of the incident. 

(G) Form 5707 P.D. is a “Temporary License Extension” form. It 
requests the date, the name of the licensee, their date of birth, and 
their employer’s name. This form provides a temporary license to 
those who have not yet attended their scheduled firearms qualifica-
tion date. 

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2016. Original rule filed Dec. 
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please 
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded and readopted: 
Filed March 1, 2021. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will cost state agencies or polit-
ical subdivisions fifteen thousand three hundred forty dollars 
($15,340) in the aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities nine 
hundred fourteen thousand one hundred twenty-three dollars 
($914,123) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in 
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Board of 
Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust St., 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be 
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the 
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled. 
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Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS 
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners 

Chapter 2—Private Security 

PROPOSED RESCISSION 

17 CSR 10-2.050 Testing Requirements and Qualification Stand-
ards. This rule established testing requirements for those seeking 
individual licensing pursuant to these provisions established qualifi-
cation standards pursuant to the duties carried out by individuals pro-
viding private security services. 

PURPOSE: Board wishes to rescind this rule and adopt a new rule 
in its place to clarify the language in the rule and insure compliance 
with the applicable law. 

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Dec. 
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please 
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded: Filed March 1, 
2021. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies 
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the 
aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in 
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Board 
of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust St., 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be 
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the 
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled. 

 
 

Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS 
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners 

Chapter 2—Private Security 

PROPOSED RULE  

17 CSR 10-2.050 Testing Requirements and Qualification Stand-
ards 

PURPOSE: In accordance with generally recognized policing stan-
dards, the Board of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri 
(board) has established testing requirements for those seeking indi-
vidual licensing pursuant to these provisions and has established 
qualification standards pursuant to the duties carried out by individ-
uals providing private security or proprietary private investigative 
services. 

(1) All applicants for licensing shall successfully pass a written 
examination as presented by the department to potential licensees 
demonstrating they have received appropriate training from their 
employer. A person failing to obtain a passing score as established by 
the board may be allowed to retake the written test three (3) times. 
An additional fee and a new Form 5409 P.D. is required each time 
the test is retaken. The test may not be taken more than one (1) time 
per day. An applicant shall have the right to review their test. The 
Private Officers Licensing Unit (POLU) may refuse to test any per-
son if evidence exists that there is grounds for denial of the license.  
Retired sworn members of the department are not required to be test-
ed. The board has established categories of testing that reflect the 
responsibilities and qualifications required for the type of license 
sought by the applicant. An information manual outlining the exam-
ination will be available from the POLU. It is the company’s respon-

sibility to provide training necessary to prepare the applicant to take 
and pass the board’s written examination. In addition to obtaining the 
license as an armed licensee, the company must provide a certifica-
tion from a firearms instructor who has been certified by a recog-
nized organization on the department’s then currently approved list 
that the applicant or licensee has completed the required firearms 
training as described in 17 CSR 10-2.055, and must present a com-
pleted Form 5715 P.D. at the time of application. The licensee must 
successfully qualify annually with their weapon. The qualification 
will be equivalent to that required for department police officers. In 
addition, any person holding an armed license shall requalify any 
time they change weapons. A licensee may only carry and qualify 
with one (1) handgun per company. As set out in 17 CSR 10-
2.040(1), a fee will be charged anytime a weapon change is made. 

(A) Applicants for Class A licensing, in addition to those topics 
listed in subsection (1)(B) of this rule, shall also be trained by their 
employer and tested on issues of crime and criminal liability, 
firearms responsibility and liability, and patrol techniques. Class A 
licenses issued to those requesting designation as a proprietary pri-
vate investigator shall also be trained by the employer and tested on 
investigative techniques, illegal electronic surveillance, audio record-
ing, and visual or video recording when permissible. 

(B) Applicants for Class B licensing as provided in this chapter 
shall be tested on detention and seizure, how to interact with the gen-
eral public and public officials, the licensing process, including 
rules, how to react to crisis situations, and liability issues. 

(C) Applicants for proprietary private investigator must possess a 
high school diploma and one (1) of the following: A two (2) year 
degree in Administration of Criminal Justice or a bachelor’s degree; 
two (2) consecutive years prior investigative experience in law 
enforcement, military police, or military intelligence functions; or 
two (2) years consecutive experience with a licensed private security 
or proprietary private investigative company, and be certified by that 
company as to knowledge of the law and investigative techniques. 

(D) In addition to the proficiency certification from a firearms 
instructor that the applicant or licensee has completed the required 
firearms training as described in 17 CSR 10-2.055, each armed 
licensee will complete a four (4) hour handgun information and qual-
ification session at the Kansas City, Missouri Police Pistol Range 
(range) each year and additional hours for rifle and/or shotgun infor-
mation and qualification if the applicant wishes to carry one (1) or 
both of those weapons. If an applicant wishes to carry both weapons, 
the applicant will be required to complete both a rifle and a shotgun 
information and qualification session and pay the fees associated 
with those sessions as provided in 17 CSR 10-2.040(1)(Y), (Z), and 
(AA). Each company representative and licensee will pay the  fees 
associated with these requirements as set out in 17 CSR 10-2.040(1). 

(2) As all applicants for Class A licenses (other than those solely 
seeking an Administrative License) are granted the authority to 
detain or apprehend, each applicant’s employer must certify annually 
on the Form 5409 P.D. that the applicant—  

(A) Is physically and mentally capable of being able to safely 
detain or apprehend suspects without the necessity of resorting to the 
displaying or discharging of a weapon; and  

(B) Meets the physical and mental standards equivalent to those 
required of department police officers.  This will require every appli-
cant to submit at renewal annually a Form 5409 P.D. The board may 
investigate the certification and may reject the application if there is 
evidence that the certification is false or incorrect. 

(3) Additionally, each applicant applying for any license under these 
provisions must meet these standards— 

(A) Meet the qualifications in 17 CSR 10-2.020(3); 
(B) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age to hold an armed 

license and be at least eighteen (18) years of age to hold an unarmed 
license; 

(C) Meet mental standards equivalent to those required of depart-
ment police officers; 
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(D) Be capable of understanding and performing the duties and 
responsibilities of a licensee; 

(E) If the applicant served in the Armed Forces of the United 
States within ten (10) years prior to the date of application, the final 
discharge of the applicant from the armed forces must be honorable 
or general under honorable conditions; 

(F) Not have been convicted of, or pled guilty or no contest to, a 
felony, a misdemeanor, or an ordinance violation in federal, state, or 
municipal court (if the conviction was over 5 years ago or was less 
than 5 years ago and was a misdemeanor or city ordinance violation, 
and any sentence, fine, or probationary conditions have been fully 
satisfied and completed, the applicant may appeal this requirement to 
the board, and the board may waive this requirement in its sole dis-
cretion following such an appeal); 

(G) For armed applicants, not be the respondent named in a full 
order of protection currently in effect issued after a hearing by a 
court of competent jurisdiction; 

(H) Have no prior revocation of a security license (including with-
out limitation any security firms for which an applicant for a new 
company license is affiliated with an owner, partner, officer, director, 
manager, member, or associate who had his or her license revoked); 

(I) Failing to meet the standards as set out herein; 
(J) Making any false statements or giving any false information in 

connection with an application for a license; 
(K) Failing to provide information deemed necessary in order to 

establish eligibility; 
(L) Holding a license which is suspended, including a suspension 

which is currently under review or under a stay pending the outcome 
of litigation in a court of competent jurisdiction (including without 
limitation any security firms for which an applicant for a new com-
pany license is affiliated with an owner, partner, officer, director, 
manager, member, or associate who had his or her license suspend-
ed); 

(M) Providing other facts or actions which demonstrate that the 
applicant is unsuitable or ineligible for license or lacks good moral 
character by having engaged in acts of moral turpitude such as fraud, 
dishonesty, violence, bribery, sexual misconduct, or as otherwise 
defined by the common law of Missouri;  

(N) Being terminated from or resigning under investigation or 
threat of discharge from the department or any other law enforcement 
agency shall make an individual ineligible for a license, but s/he may 
appeal to the board pursuant to the appeal process contained in this 
chapter; and 

(O) Being arrested during the pendency of his or her application. 

(4) Applicants and their employers, in the event of license denial, 
will be given a written notification. Applicants may appeal in writing 
to the POLU within thirty (30) business days of denial notification. 
The appeal should contain a brief statement responding to the rea-
sons for denial. The board will then notify the applicant in writing 
of its formal decision on the matter. Applicants have no right to a 
hearing or presentation to the board. 

(5) The board reserves the right to prohibit the holder of a license 
from carrying any firearm. 

(6) All licenses granted by the board as set out herein may be tem-
porary until the completion of the applicant’s criminal history 
records check. Armed licenses will not be issued until the criminal 
history records check results are received by the POLU. 

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2016. Original rule filed Dec. 
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please 
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded and readopted: 
Filed March 1, 2021. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will cost state agencies or polit-
ical subdivisions five thousand one hundred dollars ($5,100) in the 

aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities one 
hundred nineteen thousand three hundred forty dollars ($119,340) in 
the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in 
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Board of 
Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust St., 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be 
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the 
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled. 
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Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS 
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners 

Chapter 2—Private Security 

PROPOSED RESCISSION 

17 CSR 10-2.055 Weapons Regulations and Firearms Qualifica-
tion. This rule established requirements for persons seeking licenses 
for positions authorized to carry approved firearms. 

PURPOSE: Board wishes to rescind this rule and adopt a new rule 
in its place to clarify the language in the rule and insure compliance 
with the applicable law. 

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Dec. 
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please 
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded: Filed March 1, 
2021. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies 
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the 
aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in 
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Board 
of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust St., 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be 
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the 
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled. 

 
 

Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS 
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners 

Chapter 2—Private Security 

PROPOSED RULE  

17 CSR 10-2.055 Weapons Regulations and Firearms Qualifica-
tion 

PURPOSE: Applicants seeking licenses for positions authorized to 
carry approved firearms must be certified as qualified to carry those 
firearms pursuant to requirements as established by the Board of 
Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri (board) herein. 

(1) A licensee is authorized to carry only handguns in a strong side 
hip holster approved by the board and only if the licensee has quali-
fied with that handgun as set out herein. All licensees must have a 
completed Verification of Firearms Training Form (Form 5715 P.D.) 
before reporting to the Private Officers Licensing Unit (POLU). The 
handguns approved by the board are as follows: .38 caliber, double 
action solid frame revolvers (five (5) or six (6) shot); and semiauto-
matics, double action only or double/single action, which are 
equipped with a decocker or decocker safety. This requirement limits 
the semi-automatics which may be carried to .40, .45, and 9mm cal-
ibers. Striker action handguns are acceptable. The department shoot-
ing range supervisor or his/her designee may deny a licensee the 
opportunity to qualify if, in their discretion, they believe a person or 
a firearm does not meet the requirements set out herein or presents 
a danger to others. 

(2) Licensees may carry patrol rifles under the following terms and 
conditions. The only approved rifle will be the semi-automatic 
AR15, .223/5.56 caliber firearm. The Patrol Rifle must meet the fol-
lowing requirements to be approved for testing at the department 

shooting range and use on duty: 
(A) AR-15 type firearm that has forged upper and lower receivers. 

No cast or carbon fiber; 
(B) A sixteen inch (16") overall barrel length; 
(C) A factory-type trigger system. Lightweight match style trig-

gers are not permitted on an approved personal rifle; 
(D) Iron sights, with a front tritium (night) sight (mandatory). 

Pop-up sights are also acceptable; 
(E) A minimum of two (2), 30 round magazines or three (3), 20 

round magazines; 
(F) A mountable light source (minimum of 80-90 lumens); 
(G) A sling (1, 2, or 3 point styles are required); 
(H) Armed licensees carrying a Patrol Rifle will only carry U.S. 

made factory loaded 55 grain soft point ammunition in the weapon. 
(Hollow point and full metal jacket ammunition are forbidden.) 

(3) Licensees may carry patrol shotguns under the following condi-
tions. The Patrol Shotgun must meet the following requirements to 
be approved for testing at the department shooting range and use on 
duty: 

(A) 12 gauge pump action shotgun; 
(B) Minimum eighteen and one-half inch (18.5") barrel, maxi-

mum of twenty inch (20") (no rifled barrels, no ported barrels); 
(C) Minimum 4 round magazine capacity; 
(D) Must have a sling (1, 2, or 3 point) attached to the weapon; 
(E) Metallic sights only (no scopes, red dots, or other optics); 
(F) Subdued finish, blued, parkerized, matte finish; 
(G) Stock trigger/safety systems, no aftermarket trigger systems or 

safeties; 
(H) No muzzle brake/compensators/hold off devices allowed; 
(I) No barrel shrouds allowed; 
(J) No knives or bayonets or bayonet attachments allowed; 
(K) Extended magazine tubes will be allowed, but must not extend 

more than one inch (1") past the muzzle; 
(L) Armed licensees carrying a Patrol Shotgun will only carry 

U.S. made factory loaded 12 gauge slug or U.S. made factory loaded 
12 gauge buckshot (#4 buckshot, #1 buckshot or 00 buckshot) 
ammunition in the weapon. 

(4) All applicants seeking licensure for positions for which firearms 
may be possessed must qualify annually with the firearm(s) on the 
department pistol range and under the supervision of the depart-
ment’s firearms instructors. The firearms qualifications standards 
shall be in accordance with those established by department for its 
officers. 

(5) An applicant must display the ability to safely and properly han-
dle his/her approved firearm(s). 

(6) An applicant shall not be licensed if the applicant— 
(A) Displays an inability to handle a firearm safely and properly; 

or 
(B) Does not attain the minimum scores for qualification.  The 

applicant shall be given a maximum of two (2) additional opportuni-
ties to qualify. An additional fee and new Forms 5409 P.D. and 5715 
P.D. are required for each additional qualification and will be sched-
uled by the POLU. If the applicant fails to qualify after two (2) addi-
tional attempts, the applicant will not be allowed to attempt to qualify 
for one (1) year from the date of the last failure. 

(7) In addition to the applicant successfully passing an approved 
firearms qualification test, the applicant or his/her employer must 
satisfy the physical certification requirements for a Class A license 
as established herein. 

(8) Licensees holding an armed license may wear their approved 
firearm with their uniform, unless classified as a nonuniformed pro-
prietary private investigator, while at work and while traveling direct-
ly to and from work. 
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(9) Those licensed as private security and proprietary private inves-
tigators must comply with city ordinance and state law which pro-
hibits carrying a firearm or other weapon readily capable of lethal 
use into any building owned or occupied by any agency of the state 
government. This includes the POLU and any other office within the 
building or any other building occupied by the department. 

(10) Each security firm shall designate a training coordinator (the 
training coordinator) who will be responsible for ensuring that all 
armed members of the security firm receive training from a quali-
fied firearms instructor experienced in providing law 
enforcement/security training, as described in 17 CSR 10-2.050(1).  
The training coordinator will be the person responsible for signing 
Form 5715, verifying each individual armed security officer has 
received verifiable training.  Form 5715 is an official document and 
any training coordinator knowingly providing false information to the 
POLU will be subject to removal as the training coordinator for a 
period of two (2) years and training coordinator and the security firm 
will be subject to the disciplinary procedures set forth in 17 CSR 10-
2.060. Training coordinators will be provided a checklist detailing 
the mandatory training requirements, must sign verifying that the 
mandatory training has been conducted, and the security firm will be 
subject to investigation if the individual attempting to qualify has not 
been properly trained. 

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2016. Original rule filed May 
28, 1993, effective Jan. 31, 1994. For intervening history, please 
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded and readopted: 
Filed March 1, 2021. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or 
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the 
aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities twenty-
two thousand five hundred five dollars ($22,505) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in 
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Board of 
Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust St., 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be 
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the 
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled. 
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Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS 
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners 

Chapter 2—Private Security 

PROPOSED RESCISSION 

17 CSR 10-2.060 Regulation, Suspension, and Revocation. This 
rule gave the board the power to suspend or revoke any license grant-
ed by it and set out an appeal process for any license so affected. 

PURPOSE: Board wishes to rescind this rule and adopt a new rule 
in its place to clarify the language in the rule and insure compliance 
with the applicable law. 

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Dec. 
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please 
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded: Filed March 1, 
2021. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies 
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the 
aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in 
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Board 
of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust St., 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be 
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the 
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled. 

 
 

Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS 
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners 

Chapter 2—Private Security 

PROPOSED RULE  

17 CSR 10-2.060 Regulation, Suspension, and Revocation 

PURPOSE: Under section 84.720, RSMo, the Board of Police 
Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri (board) shall regulate indi-
viduals providing private security/proprietary private investigative 
services. Pursuant to this authority, the board has the power to sus-
pend, impose a fine, order probation, or revoke any license granted 
by it; and the board is obligated to furnish an appeal process for any 
license so affected. 

(1) The board may monitor and investigate allegations of improper 
conduct and the activities of individuals providing private security 
and proprietary private investigative services and firms, companies, 
partnerships, entities, or political subdivisions providing security ser-
vices or proprietary private investigative services pursuant to these 
rules. 

(2) All licenses shall expire either one (1) year or two (2) years from 
the date of issuance depending on the duration of the initial license 
issued to the applicant. For licenses renewed after their expiration 
date, the licensee will be processed as a new applicant. 

(3) A licensee must carry his/her license with him/her at all times 
while they are working. The license card must be worn on the out-
ermost garment while on duty. The licensee must produce such 
license immediately at the request of a police officer; employee of the 
board; or person that the licensee has stopped or detained, if the 
licensee holds a license which allows him/her to stop and detain per-
sons. 

(4) The Private Officers Licensing Unit (POLU) will approve in 
advance all uniforms to be worn by any licensee. No uniform identi-
cal to or bearing resemblance to any uniform used by the department 
shall be approved. Additionally, no uniforms, badges, or other 
insignia using the word “police” shall be approved for use, except as 
provided in 17 CSR 10-2.030(1)(A)5.-6. Companies licensed under 
this chapter shall provide the board a description, including the type 
and color of the company uniform along with a photograph of the 
uniform. The company name must appear on the uniform or a patch 
and the word “security” must also appear on the uniform or patch. 
The word “security” must be clearly displayed on the outermost 
clothing to be worn by the licensee. 

(5) Individuals providing private security services or proprietary pri-
vate investigative services are required to file a discharge of firearms 
report with the board within five (5) days of the incident whenever 
they discharge a firearm in the course of their occupation, other than 
formal firearms training. 

(6) Individuals providing private security services or proprietary pri-
vate investigative services are required to notify the POLU when they 
are arrested or have any criminal court cases pending within five (5) 
days of the incident. The following information must be provided 
within five (5) days of the occurrence of each of the following: the 
original arrest charge, any additional charge, the conviction, plea of 
guilty or no-contest, jurisdiction where the arrest occurred and 
where the conviction, plea of guilty or no-contest, sentence, fine, or 
probationary conditions if applicable. 

(7) No person licensed under these provisions shall divulge to any 
unauthorized person or company any information or knowledge 
received from the department or any source when the divulgence 
would be detrimental to effective law enforcement. Under no circum-
stances may any records received from the department, whether gen-
erated by computer or otherwise, be accessed for personal use. 

(8) The chief of police or his/her designee may impose a fine, order 
probation, order a suspension, or revoke a license of any company 
granted under section 84.720, RSMo pursuant to the procedures set 
forth in section (10) of this rule, when there exists information that 
the licensee or, if the licensee is an organization, any of its officers, 
directors, partners, or associates has— 

(A) Failed to meet the qualifications in 17 CSR 10-2.020(3); 
(B) Failed to maintain the physical and mental standards required 

of department police officers; 
(C) Failed to understand and perform the duties and responsibili-

ties of a licensee; 
(D) Been convicted of, or pled guilty or no contest to, a felony, a 

misdemeanor, or an ordinance violation (other than a minor traffic 
violation) in federal, state, or municipal court; 

(E) For armed licensees, been named as the respondent in a full 
order of protection currently in effect issued after a hearing by a 
court of competent jurisdiction; 

(F) Failed to meet the standards as set out herein; 
(G) Failed to cooperate fully with the department in any matter; 
(H) Made a false statement or given any false information in con-

nection with an investigation by the POLU or the department; 
(I) Provided other facts or actions which demonstrate that the 

applicant is unsuitable or ineligible to continue to hold a license or 
lacks good moral character; 

(J) Being terminated from or resigning under investigation or 
threat of discharge from the department shall make an individual 
ineligible for a license, but s/he may appeal to the board pursuant to 
the appeal process contained in this chapter; and 

(K) Committed or permitted any employee or agent to work with-
out a license issued by the board or with an expired license. 

(9) Any fine imposed by the chief of police shall not exceed the sum 
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of ten thousand dollars ($10,000) for each violation. No suspension 
shall exceed ninety (90) days except that a suspension which is chal-
lenged and pending before a court of competent jurisdiction will con-
tinue in effect until a final judgment by a court of competent juris-
diction unless the court has issued a stay. 

(10) When the chief of police or his/her designee determines that a 
license granted pursuant to section 84.720, RSMo shall be suspended 
or revoked, the following procedures shall apply: 

(A) Notice of fine, probation, suspension, or revocation shall be 
mailed to the licensee and their company at the address maintained 
in the Private Officers Licensing Unit (POLU); 

(B) Notice of suspension or revocation shall be signed by the chief 
of police or his/her designee and shall indicate— 

1. The decision to suspend or revoke; 
2. The reason(s); 
3. Duration of the suspension, if determinable; 
4. Condition of reinstatement, if any; and 
5. A description of the appeal process; 

(C) Upon receipt of a notice of fine, probation, suspension, or 
revocation, the individual or organization affected may request a 
review of the action of the POLU by filing a notice of appeal, in writ-
ing, with the POLU within thirty (30) business days of the dated 
written notification of suspension or revocation at 635 Woodland, 
Suite 2104, Kansas City, MO 64106; 

(D) In the case of an appeal, the discipline initially assessed will 
continue in effect until and unless it is reversed, increased, or other-
wise amended, including the imposition of additional conditions of 
probation, by the board; 

(E) In the event of an appeal, the case shall be submitted to the 
board solely on the record. The record shall consist of all documen-
tary evidence obtained by or submitted to the POLU by the parties, 
any agreed upon statement of the case agreed to by all the parties, 
and the legal briefs as might be filed by the parties or their represen-
tatives. Investigatory, criminal, psychological, and medical records 
of an appellant as requested by the board, are subject to review.  
Individuals or organizations denied a license upon application may 
appeal to board pursuant to this section; and 

(F) The chief of police or his/her designee may place a licensee on 
probation in lieu of a fine, suspension, or revocation, with such 
terms as the chief of police or his/her designee shall deem reasonable 
under the circumstances. 

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2016. Original rule filed Dec. 
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please 
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded and readopted:  
Filed March 1, 2021. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or 
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the 
aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities two 
thousand dollars ($2,000) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in 
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Board of 
Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust St., 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be 
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the 
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled. 
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Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND 
INSURANCE 

Division 2255—Missouri Board for Respiratory Care 
Chapter 1—General Rules 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT 

20 CSR 2255-1.030 Complaint Handling and Disposition. The 
board is amending section (5). 

PURPOSE: This amendment allows the board to take disciplinary 
action for failure to respond to a board request or inquiry. 

(5) Each complaint received under this rule shall be acknowledged in 
writing. Failure of a licensee to respond in writing, within thirty 
(30) days from the date of the board’s written request or inquiry, 
mailed to the licensee’s address currently registered with the 
board, will be sufficient grounds for taking disciplinary action 
against that licensee. The complainant and licensee or permit holder 
shall be notified of the ultimate disposition of the complaint. 

AUTHORITY: sections 334.800, 334.840.2, and 334.850 [and 
620.010.15(6)], RSMo [Supp. 1997] 2016. This rule originally 
filed as 4 CSR 255-1.030. Emergency rule filed June 25, 1998, effec-
tive July 6, 1998, expired Feb. 25, 1999. Original rule filed June 25, 
1998, effective Jan. 30, 1999. Moved to 20 CSR 2255-1.030, effec-
tive Aug. 28, 2006. Amended: Filed Feb. 18, 2021.  

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) 
in the aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in 
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the 
Missouri Board for Respiratory Care, Attention: Vanessa 
Beauchamp, PO Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO  65102, by facsimile 
to (573) 526-3489, or via email to rcp@pr.mo.gov. To be considered, 
comments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication 
of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is sched-
uled. 
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