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Under this heading will appear the text of proposed
rules and changes. The notice of proposed rulemak-
ing is required to contain an explanation of any new rule or
any change in an existing rule and the reasons therefor.
This is set out in the Purpose section with each rule. Also
required is a citation to the legal authority to make rules.
This appears following the text of the rule, after the word
“Authority.”
ntirely new rules are printed without any special sym-
bology under the heading of the proposed rule. If an
existing rule is to be amended or rescinded, it will have a
heading of proposed amendment or proposed rescission.
Rules which are proposed to be amended will have new
matter printed in boldface type and matter to be deleted
placed in brackets.
Ar; important function of the Missouri Register is to
olicit and encourage public participation in the rule-
making process. The law provides that for every proposed
rule, amendment or rescission there must be a notice that
anyone may comment on the proposed action. This com-
ment may take different forms.
f an agency is required by statute to hold a public hear-
ing before making any new rules, then a Notice of Public
Hearing will appear following the text of the rule. Hearing
dates must be at least 30 days after publication of the
notice in the Missouri Register. If no hearing is planned or
required, the agency must give a Notice to Submit
Comments. This allows anyone to file statements in support
of or in opposition to the proposed action with the agency
within a specified time, no less than 30 days after publica-
tion of the notice in the Missouri Register.
n agency may hold a public hearing on a rule even
though not required by law to hold one. If an agency
allows comments to be received following the hearing date,
the close of comments date will be used as the beginning
day in the 90-day-count necessary for the filing of the order
of rulemaking.
f an agency decides to hold a public hearing after plan-
ning not to, it must withdraw the earlier notice and file a
new notice of proposed rulemaking and schedule a hearing
for a date not less than 30 days from the date of publication
of the new notice.

Proposed Amendment Text Reminder:
Boldface text indicates new matter.
[Bracketed text indicates matter being deleted.]

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 10—Air Conservation Commission
Chapter 5—Air Quality Standards and Air Pollution
Control Rules Specific to the St. Louis Metropolitan
Area

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

10 CSR 10-5.380 Motor Vehicle Emissions Inspection. The
commission proposes to amend subsections (3)(E) and (3)(J) and
add subsections (2)(C) and (7)(C). If the commission adopts this
rule action, it will be submitted to the U.S. Environmental
Protection Agency to replace the current rule in the Missouri State
Implementation Plan.

PURPOSE: This amendment enacts the revised provisions of sec-
tions 643.305-643.350, RSMo. One wait time penalty is removed,
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inspection program options for Franklin County residents are
incorporated and the transitional program is incorporated.

(2) Applicability.

(C) Owners of motor vehicles registered in Franklin County
who choose to have their vehicles biennial emission inspected
shall have their vehicles inspected at emission stations in City
of St. Louis or the counties of St. Louis, St. Charles, or
Jefferson pursuant to this rule.

(3) General Requirements.

(E) Emission Inspection Fee.

1. The vehicle owner or driver shall pay twenty-four dollars
($24) to the centralized emission inspection station.

2. This fee shall also include free reinspections, provided the
vehicle owner or driver complies with all reinspection require-
ments as required in subsection (3)(G) of this rule, and the rein-
spections are conducted within thirty (30) days of the initial inspec-
tion.

3. The required test fee shall be reduced on days of operation,
other than the last three (3) days of operation in each calendar
month, by an amount proportional to the time that the vehicle
owner or driver is required to wait before the inspection begins.

[A. If the wait time is greater than fifteen (15) min-
utes, the fee shall be reduced by five dollars ($5);]

[B.] A. If the wait time is greater than thirty (30) minutes,
the fee shall be reduced by ten dollars ($10); or

[C.] B. If the wait time is greater than one (1) hour, the fee
shall be reduced by twenty dollars ($20).

4. The fee reimbursed to the state by the contractor shall be
two dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) for each individual fee paid by
a vehicle owner or driver. The fee shall be remitted to the director
of revenue on a weekly basis. The director of revenue shall deposit
the fee into the “Missouri Air Emission Reduction Fund” as estab-
lished by 643.350, RSMo.

(J) Vehicle Registration. After a subject vehicle has passed the
emission inspection or received a waiver, the emission inspection
certificate of compliance issued by the emission inspection station
shall be submitted with registration documents by the vehicle
owner or representative to the Missouri Department of Revenue at
the time of vehicle registration. This requirement shall not apply
to vehicles registered during the transitional period under sub-
section (7)(C) of this rule.

(7) Documentation.

(C) Transitional Period. The transitional period shall begin
January 1, 2000, and end when the centralized test-only emis-
sion inspection stations begin emissions inspections.

1. Owners of subject vehicles shall receive either a clean
screen notice as provided in subsection (3)(I) of this rule or an
emission extension certificate and emission extension sticker,
which will allow subject vehicle owners to register their vehicle
in a timely manner. An emission extension certificate is the
document that allows subject vehicle owners to register their
vehicles with a deferred emissions inspection. An emission
extension sticker is the sticker that temporarily replaces the
emission sticker for up to six (6) months.

2. The owner of a vehicle that has not received a clean
screen notice and who cannot obtain an emission inspection
during the transitional period may submit an emission exten-
sion certificate, in lieu of an emission inspection certificate, to
the Missouri Department of Revenue in order to register the
vehicle only during the transitional period. Owners of such
vehicles who do not receive an emission extension certificate by
mail may obtain one from the Department of Revenue at the
time the vehicle is registered during the transitional period.
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3. The emission extension certificate shall contain the cer-
tificate’s expiration date.

4. The emission extension sticker shall be affixed on the
inside of the vehicle’s front windshield in the lower left hand
corner. Previous emission inspection stickers affixed to the
windshield shall be removed. Stickers are valid for six (6) cal-
endar months.

5. The owner shall have their subject vehicle emission
inspected prior to the emission extension sticker expiring.

6. The emission inspection sticker that replaces the emis-
sion extension sticker shall be valid until the subject vehicle’s
next required emission inspection.

7. No emission inspection fee is required for the emission
extension certificate and emission extension sticker.

8. The automobile dealer may sell the vehicle with prior
inspection and approval. The automobile dealer shall disclose,
in writing, prior to sale, whether the vehicle obtained approval
by meeting the emissions standards established pursuant to
sections 643.300 to 643.355, RSMo or by obtaining a waiver
pursuant to section 643.335, RSMo. A vehicle sold pursuant to
this subsection by a licensed motor vehicle dealer shall be
inspected and approved within the one hundred twenty (120)
days immediately preceding the date of sale, and, for the pur-
pose of registration of such vehicle, such inspection shall be
considered timely.

9. The automobile dealer may sell the vehicle without
prior inspection and approval. The automobile dealer shall dis-
close conspicuously on the sales contract and bill of sale that
the purchaser has the option to return the vehicle that fails an
emission inspection within ten (10) days, provided that the
vehicle has no more than one thousand (1,000) additional miles
since the time of sale. The automobile dealer shall inform the
purchaser about emission inspecting the vehicle.

10. The automobile dealer shall either repair the returned
vehicle and provide an emissions certificate and sticker within
five (5) working days or enter into any mutually acceptable
agreement with the purchaser.

11. The automobile dealer and used car purchaser may
emission inspect their vehicles using the contractor’s mobile
emission vans. 1971 through 1980 model year vehicles shall
have the idle test pursuant to subsection (4)(A) of this rule.
1981 and newer model year vehicles shall have the two-speed
idle test pursuant to subsection (4)(E) of this rule. All vehicles
shall receive the gas cap test and OBD test pursuant to sub-
sections (5)(F) and (5)(G) of this rule.

AUTHORITY: section 643.310.1, RSMo Supp. [1998] 1999.
Original rule filed June 14, 1982, effective Jan. 13, 1983. For
intervening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Emergency amendment filed Nov. 30, 1999, effective Jan. 1, 2000,
expires June 28, 2000. Amended: Filed Dec. 1, 1999.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will cost $7,031 in FY
2000 and $28,968 in FY 2001. The proposed rule will cost
$234,938 in the aggregate. Note attached fiscal note for assump-
tions that apply.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT
COMMENTS: A public hearing on this proposed amendment will
begin at 9:00 a.m., February 8, 2000. The public hearing will be
held at the Ramada Inn, Hermitage Room, 1510 Jefferson Street,
Jefferson City, Missouri. Opportunity to be heard at the hearing
shall be afforded any interested person. Written request to be heard
should be submitted at least seven days prior to the hearing to
Roger D. Randolph, Director, Air Pollution Control Program, 205

Jefferson Street, P.O. Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176,
(573) 751-4817. Interested persons, whether or not heard, may
submit a written statement of their views until 5:00 p.m., February
15, 2000. Written comments shall be sent to Chief, Planning
Section, Air Pollution Control Program, 205 Jefferson Street, P.O.
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.
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FISCAL NOTE
PRIVATE ENTITY COST

I. RULE NUMBER

Title: 10 — Department of Natural Resources

Division: 10 — Air Conservation Commission

Chapter: 5 — Air Quality Standards and Air Pollution Control Rules Specific to the St. Louis Metropolitan Area

Type of Rulemaking:  Proposed Amendment

Rule Number and Name: 10 CSR 10-5.380 — Motor Vehicle Emissions Inspection

II. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Estimate of the number of entities by | Classification by types of the Estimate in the aggregate as to the
class which would likely be affected | business entities which would likely | cost of compliance with the rule by
by the adoption of the Proposed Rule: | be affected: the affected entities:
9,375 Motor Vehicle Owners in $234,938
Franklin County

III. WORKSHEET

Fiscal Year 2000 2001 Annualized
Aggregate
I/M Fee $7,031 $28,968 $31,697

1) 75,000 * 0.5 = 37,500 vehicles
2) 37,500 *0.25 = 9,375 vehicles
3) 9,375 * $24 = $225,000

4) 9,375 * $21 =$196,875

5) $225,000 - $196,875 = $28,125

6) a.9,375 * 1.03 = 9,656 vehicles tested in FY2001

b. 9,375 * 1.03% = 9,946 vehicles tested in FY2002

c.9,375 * 1.033 = 10,244 vehicles tested in FY2003

d. 9,375 * 1.03*= 10,552 vehicles tested in FY2004

e. 9,375 * 1.03° = 10,868 vehicles tested in FY2005

£ 9,375 * 1.03% = 11,194 vehicles tested in FY2006

g. 9,375 * 1.037 = 11,530 vehicles tested in FY2007

2 mos
h. 9,375 * 1.03% * 12 mos = 1,979 vehicles tested in FY2008
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7) FY 2000: $28,125 * 0.25 = $7,031
8) FY 2001: (9,656 * $24) — (9,656 * $21) = $28,968

9) FY 2002 thru FY 2008 calculations are similar to 8) above except using applicable number of vehicles tested
from 6) above.

10) The $234,938 aggregate cost is obtained by summing the totals of 7), 8) and 9) above.
11) The total annualized aggregate is the aggregate cost divided by 7.4167 (or 7 years and 5 months).
IV. ASSUMPTIONS

1. Franklin County has 75,000 registered vehicles.

2. 50% of the registered Franklin County vehicles eligible for biennial emission inspection.

3. 25% of the eligible vehicles will choose a biennial emission inspection.

4. There is a $24 inspection fee for the biennial program.

5. Thereis a $21 inspection fee for two years of the annual inspection program ($10.50 annually).

6. The difference between the annual and the biennial fees will be the additional cost that Franklin County
residents will pay for an enhanced emission inspection.

7. Emission inspections will begin April 2000 and end August 2007 resulting in 7 years and 5 months of
collecting emission fees. The life of the rule is estimated to be 7 years and 5 months.

8. Franklin County will grow approximately 3% a year.
9. There will be approximately 3 months of emission inspections in FY2000.

10. Franklin county residents will get these inspections in combination with other trips so no other extra cost
will be incurred.
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Title 11—DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Division 60—Division of Highway Safety
Chapter 1—Motorcycle Safety Education Program

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

11 CSR 60-1.070 Motorcycle Requirements. The division is
amending section (4).

PURPOSE: This amendment will increase the engine displacement
for motorcycles used in an approved Motorcycle Rider Training
Program.

(4) A moped, no-ped, motor scooter, motor-assisted bicycle, or a
motorcycle with an engine displacement of over /350cc] 500cc—
(A) May not be used in the basic course; and
(B) May be used in the advanced course only if it meets all other
requirements of this rule.

AUTHORITY: section 302.134, RSMo [Supp. 1995] Supp. 1999.
Original rule filed March 20, 1996, effective September 30, 1996.
Amended: Filed Nov. 22, 1999.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Division of Highway Safety, P.O. Box 104808, Jefferson City, MO
65102. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty
days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No
public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 2—Income Tax

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

12 CSR 10-2.015 Employers’ Withholding of Tax. The director
proposes to amend section (10), subsections (21)(B), (22)(A) and
(B), (23)(A), and sections (27) and (30).

PURPOSE: The purpose of this amendment is to bring the Form
MO W-3 due date in agreement with the Internal Revenue Service
due date for Form W-3, change the threshold for monthly filers and
bring the retention of undeliverable employee Form W-2s in agree-
ment with the Internal Revenue Service.

(10) Resident of Missouri Employed in Another State. A Missouri
resident paying income tax to another state because of employment
in that state may file a Withholding Affidavit For Missouri
Residents, Form MO W-4C. [which provides for exclusion
from withholding when fifty percent (50%) or more of the
services are performed in a state other than Missouri. The
original copy must be mailed to the Department of
Revenue and the duplicate retained by the employer as the
basis for not withholding from the employee’s wages.
When a Missouri resident is employed less than fifty per-
cent (50%) in another state having a state income tax,
only income received for services performed in Missouri or
another state not having a state income tax is subject to
Missouri withholding. In determining the amount of tax to
be withheld, the employer should use only the balance of
income not subject to withholding by another state.] If the

employee does not complete Form MO W-4C, the employer
may withhold Missouri taxes on all services performed, regard-
less of where performed. All income received for services per-
formed in another state not having a state income tax is sub-
ject to Missouri withholding. If services are performed partly
within and partly without the state, only wages paid for that
portion of the services performed within Missouri are subject
to Missouri withholding tax, provided that the services per-
formed in the other state are subject to the other state’s with-
holding provisions. If a service is partly within and partly with-
out Missouri and only a portion of an employee’s wages is sub-
ject to Missouri withholding tax, then the amount of Missouri
tax required to be withheld is calculated using a percentage of
the amount listed in the withholding tables. The calculation
begins by determining the amount that would be withheld if all
the wages were subject to Missouri withholding. This amount
is then multiplied by a percent, which is determined by divid-
ing the wages subject to Missouri withholding tax by the total
federal wages.

(21) Filing Frequency Requirements. Missouri withholding returns
must be filed by the due date as long as an account is maintained
with the Missouri Department of Revenue, even if there was no
payroll for the reporting period. Returns must be filed each report-
ing period, even though there may not have been any tax withheld.
There are four (4) filing frequencies: quarter-monthly, monthly,
quarterly and annually (section 143.221 and 143.225, RSMo). A
newly registered employer is initially assigned a filing frequency
on the basis of his/her estimation of future withholdings. If the
assigned filing frequency differs from the filing requirements
established by statute, it is the employer’s responsibility to imme-
diately notify the Department of Revenue. The time for filing shall
be as follows:

(B) Monthly. Employers required to withhold /two] five hun-
dred /fifty] dollars [($250)] ($500) per month for at least two (2)
months during the preceding twelve (12) months shall file on a
monthly basis;

(22) Reporting Requirement. Every employer withholding
Missouri income tax from employee’s wages is required by statute
to report and remit the tax to the state of Missouri on the Missouri
Form MO-941. See regulation 12 CSR 10-2.016 for information
on filing a Form MO-941P to remit required payments on Quarter-
Monthly accounts.

(A) A separate reporting form must be filed for each reporting
period. A personalized booklet of reporting forms detailing the
employer’s name, address, employer identification number, filing
frequency and due date is provided to each active account. The
voucher booklet supplied to an employer required to pay on a quar-
ter-monthly basis also includes payment vouchers Form MO-941P,
for the four (4) quarter-monthly periods. If an employer misplaces,
damages or does not receive the necessary reporting forms,
replacement forms should be requested, allowing sufficient time to
file a timely return. If a blank form is used, the employer’s name,
address and identification number must appear as filed on previ-
ous returns and the period for which the remittance is made must
be indicated. Failure to receive reporting forms does not relieve the
employer of responsibility to report and remit tax withheld. If an
employer temporarily ceases to pay wages a return must be filed
for each period indicating that no tax was withheld. Failure to do
so will result in the issuance of [estimated billing] non-filer
notices.

(B) On or before /January 317] February 28, or with the final
return filed at an earlier date, each employer must file a Form MO
W-3 (Transmittal of Wage and Tax Statements) and copies of all
withholding tax statements, Form W-2/1099R, copy 1, for the
year. Do not include the fourth quarter or twelfth month return
with the Form W-2(s)/1099R(s) and Form MO W-3. The last
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annual remittance must be sent separately with Form MQO-941.
Large numbers of forms may be forwarded to the Department of
Revenue in packages of convenient size. Each package must be
identified with the name and account number of the employer and
the packages must be consecutively numbered. Any employee’s
copies of the Withholding Statement (Form W-2/1099R) which
cannot be delivered to the employee after reasonable effort is exert-
ed, /should be transmitted to the Missouri Department of
Revenue by July 31 of the next calendar year. Any branch
establishments of the employer may send any undeliver-
able employee’s copies directly to the Department of
Revenue.] must be kept by the employer for at least four (4)
years. The Department of Revenue will accept computer produced
magnetic tape records instead of the paper Form W-2/1099R. The
employer must meet tape data specifications which are established
by the Department of Revenue. The department follows specifi-
cations outlined in Social Security Administration Publication
42-007. Employers must also include the Supplemental record
(Code S or Code 1 S).

(23) Time and Place for Filing Returns and Remitting Tax.

(A) All returns and remittances must be filed with the
Department of Revenue at the specific address indicated on the
[voucher] form. The dates on which the returns and payments are
due are as follows:

1. Quarter-Monthly (see 12 CSR 10-2.016). The
quarter-monthly periods are: the first seven (7) days of a calendar
month; the eighth to the fifteenth day of a calendar month; the six-
teenth to the twenty-second day of a calendar month; and the twen-
ty-third day through the last day of a calendar month. Payments
must be mailed within three (3) banking days after the end of the
quarter-monthly period or received by the Department of Revenue
or its designated depository within four (4) banking days after the
end of the quarter-monthly period. A monthly return (MO-941)
reconciling the quarter-monthly payments and detailing any under-
payment of tax is due by the fifteenth day of the following month
except for the third month of a quarter in which case the MO-941
is due the last day of the succeeding month;

2. Monthly. Return and payment must be made by the fif-
teenth day of the following month except for the third month of a
quarter in which case the return is due the last day of the suc-
ceeding month;

3. Quarterly. Return and payment must be made on or before
the last day of the month following the close of the calendar quar-
ter; and

4. Annually. Return and payment must be made on or before
January 31 of the succeeding year.

(27) Failure to Pay Taxes Withheld—Special Deposits. Any
employer who fails to remit income tax withheld, or to file tax
returns as required, may be required to deposit the taxes in a spe-
cial trust account for Missouri (see /sub/section 32.052, RSMo).
Penalties are provided for failure to make payment. If the director
of revenue finds that the collection of taxes required to be deduct-
ed and withheld by an employer may be jeopardized by delay, s/he
may require the employer to remit the tax or make a return at any
time. A lien outstanding with regard to any tax administered by the
director shall be a sufficient basis for this action (see [sub/section
143.221.4, RSMo). In addition, any officer, director, statutory
trustee or employee of any corporation who has direct control,
supervision or responsibility for filing returns and making pay-
ments of the tax, who fails to file and make payment, may be per-
sonally assessed the tax, including interest, additions to tax and
penalties pursuant to /sub/section 143.241.2, RSMo.

(30) Penalties, Interest and Additions to Tax.

(B) An employer’s failure to file a timely return, unless due to
reasonable cause and not due to willful neglect, will result in addi-
tions to tax of five percent (5%) per month or a fraction of a month

not to exceed twenty-five percent (25%) pursuant to /subdivision
143.741(1)] section 143.741.1, RSMo.

(C) A deficiency is subject to an addition to tax of five percent
(5%) if the delinquency is due to negligence or disregard of rules,
or fifty percent (50%) if the deficiency is due to fraud pursuant to
[subdivision 143.751(1) and (2)] section 143.751.1 and .2,
RSMo.

(D) Failure to timely pay tax requires a five percent (5%) addi-
tion to tax pursuant to [subdivision 143.751(3)] section
143.751.3, RSMo.

(E) A quarter-monthly penalty of five percent (5%/0]J) in lieu of
all other penalties, interest or addition/n/s to tax will be imposed
on a quarter-monthly period underpayment pursuant to section
143.225.6, RSMo.

(F) A person who willfully fails to collect, account for or pay
withholding taxes is subject to a penalty equal to the amount not
paid to the state, pursuant to section 143.751/(4)].4, RSMo. In
addition, any officer, director, statutory trustee or employee of any
corporation who has direct control, supervision or responsibility
for filing returns and making payments of the tax, who fails to file
and make payment, may be personally assessed the tax, including
interest, additions to tax and penalties pursuant to /sub/section
143.241.1, RSMo.

(G) [Criminal penalties] Penalties for criminal offenses are
also provided /in] throughout sections 143.911-143.951, RSMo.

(I) Failure to file a timely Wage and Tax Statement, W-2, is sub-
ject to a penalty of two dollars ($2) per statement not to exceed one
thousand dollars ($1,000) unless the failure is due to reasonable
cause and not willful neglect pursuant to /[subdivision
143.741(2)] section 143.741.2, RSMo.

AUTHORITY: section 143.961, RSMo 1994. This rule was previ-
ously filed as “Missouri Employer’s Tax Guide” Feb. 20, 1973,
effective March 2, 1973. Original rule filed Jan. 29, 1974, effec-
tive Feb. 8, 1974. For intervening history, please consult the Code
of State Regulations. Emergency amendment filed Nov. 30, 1999,
effective Dec. 10, 1999, expires June 6, 2000. Amended: Filed
Nov. 30, 1999.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Department of Revenue, Office of Legislation and Regulations,
P.O. Box 629, Jefferson City, MO 65105. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 101—Sales/Use Tax—Nature of Tax

PROPOSED RULE
12 CSR 10-101.500 Burden of Proof

PURPOSE: Section 136.300, RSMo, addresses which party has
the burden of proof on any factual issue relevant to ascertaining
the liability of a taxpayer. Sections 32.200, article V, section 2;
144.210; and 144.635, RSMo, also address the burden of proof
and in particular the use of exemption certificates to meet the
burden. Section 621.050, RSMo, addresses which party has the
burden of proof in a proceeding before the Administrative Hearing
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Commission. This rule explains how these rules work together to
determine which party has the burden of proof in a dispute involy-
ing sales or use tax.

(1) In general, the taxpayer has the burden of proof except in spe-
cific circumstances.

(2) Definition of Terms.
(A) Burden of proof—Burden of persuading the finder of fact
that the existence of a fact is more probable than the nonexistence.
(B) Good faith—Honesty of intention and freedom from knowl-
edge of circumstances which ought to put the holder upon inquiry.

(3) Basic Application of Burden of Proof.

(A) The department always has the burden of proof regarding—

1. Whether the taxpayer has been guilty of fraud with attempt
to evade tax; and

2. Whether the taxpayer is liable as the transferee of proper-
ty of another taxpayer.

(B) The taxpayer always has the burden of proof on any issue
with respect to the applicability of any tax exemption or credit.

(C) The taxpayer has the burden of proof on all other issues
unless—

1. The taxpayer has produced evidence establishing there is a
reasonable dispute with respect to the issue;

2. The taxpayer has adequate records of its transactions and
provides the Department of Revenue reasonable access to these
records;

3. In the case of a partnership, corporation or trust, the net
worth of the taxpayer does not exceed seven (7) million dollars and
the taxpayer does not have more than five hundred (500) employ-
ees at the time the final decision of the director of the Department
of Revenue is issued; and

4. If all three (3) conditions are met, the department has the
burden of proof with respect to any factual issue relevant to ascer-
taining the liability of a taxpayer.

(D) A taxpayer can generally meet its burden of proof by obtain-
ing and maintaining exemption certificates signed by the purchas-
er or its agent. An exemption certificate that is not obtained in
good faith, however, will not satisfy the burden of proof. Even
when a taxpayer does not have a valid exemption certificate, it may
prove that the transaction is exempt from sales and use tax by proof
admissible under the applicable rules of evidence.

(4) Examples.

(A) The department alleges that a taxpayer fabricated exemption
certificates in order to evade sales tax. The department has the
burden of proof.

(B) The taxpayer sells tangible personal property and claims that
the sale was exempt from tax. The taxpayer always has the burden
of proof.

(C) The taxpayer sells tangible personal property and claims that
it was a sale for resale. The taxpayer presents a valid exemption
certificate. The taxpayer has met its burden of proof.

(D) A jeweler sells an expensive diamond ring to his neighbor,
known to the taxpayer not to be in the jewelry business. The neigh-
bor presents an exemption certificate claiming that the ring was
purchased for resale and therefore exempt from tax. The jeweler
may not accept the exemption certificate without further inquiry.

(E) A jeweler sells an expensive diamond ring to a purchaser
unknown to the jeweler but does not receive an exemption certifi-
cate. On a claim that this was an exempt sale for resale, the jewel-
er has the burden of proof and may prove that the sale was exempt
through testimony and documents admissible under the rules of
evidence.

(F) A jeweler sells an expensive diamond ring to a purchaser
unknown to the jeweler but does not receive an exemption certifi-
cate. The jeweler presents to the department an invoice for the dia-
mond ring showing it was sold to a wholesale jeweler. The burden
of proof shifts to the department, unless the jeweler is a partner-
ship, corporation or trust with a net worth of more than seven (7)
million dollars or with more than five (500) hundred employees.

AUTHORITY: section 144.270, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed
Nov. 18, 1999.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Department of Revenue, Office of Legislation and Regulations,
P.O. Box 629, Jefferson City, MO 65105. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 110—Sales/Use Tax—Exemptions

PROPOSED RULE

12 CSR 10-110.900 Farm Machinery and Equipment
Exemptions

PURPOSE: Sections 144.030.2(22), 144.045.1 and 144.047,
RSMo, exempt certain farm machinery, equipment, repair parts
and lubricants from taxation. This rule explains which items qual-
ify for these exemptions.

(1) In general, the purchase of farm machinery, equipment, repair
parts and supplies used exclusively and directly for producing
crops, raising and feeding livestock, fish or poultry or producing
milk for ultimate sale at retail is exempt from tax.

(2) Definition of Terms.

(A) Farm machinery—Machinery and equipment used directly
and exclusively in the agricultural production process.

(B) Repair and replacement parts—Items of tangible personal
property that are components of exempt farm machinery and
equipment. Included in the repair and replacement part category
are batteries, tires, fan belts, mufflers, spark plugs, oil filters, plow
points, standard type motors and cutting parts.

(3) Basic Application of Exemption.
(A) To qualify for exemption pursuant to section 144.030.2(22),
RSMo, items purchased must be—

1. Used exclusively for agricultural purposes;

2. Used on land owned or leased for the purpose of produc-
ing farm products;

3. Used directly in producing farm products to be sold ulti-
mately in processed form or otherwise at retail or in producing
farm products to be fed to livestock or poultry to be sold ultimately
in processed form at retail. The term “used directly” encompass-
es items that are used in some manner prior to the actual com-
mencement of production, during production, or in some manner
after the production has terminated. In determining whether items
are used directly, consideration must be given to the following fac-
tors:

A. Where the items in question are used;
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B. When the items in question are used; and
C. How the items in question are used to produce a farm
product; and

4. Farm machinery or equipment that meet these require-
ments are exempt from tax, as are repair or replacement parts
thereon and lubricants used exclusively for such farm machinery
or equipment and one-half (1/2) of any diesel fuel used in such
machinery or equipment.

(B) Pursuant to section 144.045.1, RSMo, farm machinery or
equipment that would otherwise qualify as exempt farm machinery
and equipment will not lose its exempt status merely because the
machinery or equipment is attached to a vehicle or real property.
Such equipment includes, but is not limited to, a grinder mixer
mounted on a vehicle or special livestock flooring. When exempt
farm machinery or equipment attached to a motor vehicle is sold
with the motor vehicle, the part of the total sales price attributable
to the farm machinery or equipment is exempt from tax if the farm
machinery or equipment is separately invoiced.

(C) Pursuant to section 144.047, RSMo, farm machinery
includes aircraft used solely for aerial application of agricultural
chemicals.

(D) Pursuant to section 144.030.2(34), RSMo, all sales of grain
bins for storage of grain for resale are exempt; however, parts pur-
chased separately for these bins are not exempt. Grain bins and all
parts purchased that qualify as farm machinery and equipment are
exempt.

(E) The fact that particular items may be considered to be essen-
tial or necessary will not automatically entitle them to exemption.
The following categories of items are excluded from the meaning
of the term farm machinery and farm equipment and are subject to
tax:

1. Under no circumstances can a motor vehicle or trailer ever
be treated as tax exempt farm machinery. The terms motor vehicle
and trailer are defined by the titling and licensing laws of Missouri
(Chapter 301);

2. Containers and storage devices such as oil and gas storage
tanks, pails, buckets and cans;

3. Hand tools and hand-operated equipment such as wheel-
barrows, hoes, rakes, pitchforks, shovels, brooms, wrenches, pli-
ers and grease guns;

4. Consumable items such as antifreeze, freon, ether, and
starter fluid;

5. Attachments and accessories not essential to the operation
of the machinery itself (except when sold as part of the assembled
unit) such as cigarette lighters, radios, canopies, air-conditioning
units, cabs, deluxe seats, tool or utility boxes and lubricators;

6. Equipment used in farm management such as communica-
tions and office equipment, repair, service, security or fire protec-
tion equipment;

7. Drainage tile, fencing material, building materials, gener-
al heating, lighting and ventilation equipment for nonproduction
areas; and

8. Machinery and equipment used for a dual purpose, one
purpose being agricultural and the other being nonagricultural are
not exempt.

(F) Schedule A is a list of items of farm machinery and equip-
ment which will usually be exempt if used exclusively for agricul-
tural purposes on land owned or leased for the purpose of produc-
ing farm products and used directly in producing farm products or
livestock to be sold ultimately at retail.

Schedule A
Usually Exempt Items

Artificial insemination equipment
Augers

Bale loader

Bale transportation equipment

Baler twine

Baler wire

Balers

Batteries for farm machinery and equipment

Bedding used in production of livestock or poultry for food or
fiber

Binder twine

Binders

Brooders

Bulk feed storage tanks

Bulk milk coolers

Bulk milk tanks

Bulldozers used exclusively in agricultural production

Calcium for tires

Calf weaners and feeders

Cattle currying and oiling machine

Cattle feeder, portable

Chain saws for commercial use in harvesting timber, lumber and
in orchard pruning

Chicken pluckers

Choppers

Combines

Conveyors, portable

Corn pickers

Crawlers, tractor

Crushers

Cultipackers

Cultivators

Curtains and curtain controls for livestock and poultry confine-
ment areas

Debeakers for productive animals

Dehorners for productive animals

Discs

Drags

Dryers

Dusters

Egg handling equipment

Ensilage cutters

Fans, livestock and poultry

Farm tractors

Farm wagons

Farrowing houses, portable

Farrowing crates

Feed carts

Feed grinders/mixers

Feed storage bins

Feeders

Fertilizer distributors

Flooring slats

Foggers

Forage boxes

Forage harvester

Fruit graters

Fruit harvesters

Generators

Gestation crates

Grain augers

Grain bins for storage of grain for resale (but not separately
billed parts or add-ons to these grain bins)

Grain binders

Grain conveyors

Grain drills

Grain elevators, portable

Grain handling equipment

Grain planters

Greases and oils

Harrows (including spring-tooth harrow)

Hay loaders
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Head gates Automobiles

Heaters, livestock and poultry Axes

Hog feeders, portable Barn ventilators

Hoists, farm Brooms

Husking machines Brushes

Hydraulic fluid Building materials and supplies

Hydro-coolers Bulldozers

Incubators Cement

Irrigation equipment Chain saws

Livestock feeding, watering and handling equipment

Lubricating oils and grease

Manure handling equipment (including front and rear-end loaders
and blades)

Manure spreaders

Milk cans

Milk coolers

Milk strainers

Milking equipment (including bulk milk refrigerators, coolers
and tanks)

Milking machine

Mowers, hay and rotary blade used exclusively for agricultural
purposes

Panels, livestock

Pickers

Planters

Plows

Poultry feeder, portable

Pruning and picking equipment

Repair and replacement parts for exempt machinery

Rollers

Root vegetable harvesters

Rotary hoes

Scales (not truck scales)

Seed cleaners

Seed planters

Seeders

Shellers

Silo unloaders

Sorters

Sowers

Sprayers

Spreaders

Sprinkler systems, livestock and poultry

Squeeze chutes

Subsoiler

Threshing machines

Tillers

Tires for exempt machinery

Tractors, farm

Vacuum coolers

Vegetable graders

Vegetable washers

Vegetable waxers

Wagons, farm

Washers, fruit, vegetable and egg

Waxers

Weeders

(G) Schedule B is a list of items, which are usually taxable.

Schedule B
Usually Taxable Items

Acetylene torches

Air compressors

Air tanks

All-terrain vehicles (3-, 4- and 6-wheel)
Antifreeze

Cleansing agents and materials
Construction tools

Ear tags

Electrical wiring

Equipment and supplies for home or personal use
Ether

Fence building tools

Fence posts

Field toilets

Fire prevention equipment
Freon

Fuel additives

Garden hose

Garden rakes and hoes

Gasoline tanks and pumps

Golf carts

Hammers

Hand tools

Hog ringers

Hog rings

Lamps

Lanterns

Lawnmowers

Light bulbs

Marking chalk

Nails

Office supplies and equipment
Packing room supplies

Paint and decals

Personal property installed in or used in housing for farm workers
Posthole diggers (except commercial use in tree farms)
Pumps for household or lawn use
Pumps, gasoline

Refrigerators for home use
Repair tools

Road maintenance equipment
Road scrapers

Roofing

Sanders

Shovels

Silos

Small tools

Snow fence

Snowplows and snow equipment
Staples

Starting fluids

Supplies for home or personal use
Tanks, air

Tanks, gasoline

Tools for repair construction
Tractors, garden

Truck beds

Water hose

Welding equipment

Wire, fencing

Wrenches
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(4) Examples.

(A) An implement dealer sells a soilmover to a farmer. The soil-
mover is going to be used on low-lying agricultural land exclu-
sively for the purpose of controlling drainage. The sale of the
soilmover is exempt.

(B) A farmer purchases a combine. The farmer later purchases
an AM/FM radio to be installed on the combine. The farmer’s pur-
chase of the combine is exempt; however, the farmer’s purchase of
the AM/FM radio is taxable. If the radio had been a part of the
assembled unit, the total price for the combine would have been
exempt.

(C) A farmer purchases a lawnmower. The farmer uses the
lawnmower to mow around grain bins, as well as mow his lawn.
The purchase of the lawnmower is subject to tax, since the lawn-
mower is not used exclusively and directly for agricultural pro-
duction.

(D) A farmer purchases a water chiller for use to control the cli-
mate inside the hatchers and setters. The water chiller is also used
to cool the administrative areas in the hatchery. The purchase of
the water chiller is subject to tax, since it is not used exclusively
for agricultural production.

(E) A farmer takes his tractor to the implement dealer for rou-
tine maintenance, which includes changing the oil, filters and
antifreeze. The sale of the oil and filters would be exempt; howev-
er, the antifreeze would be subject to tax.

(F) A farmer buys a bale spike to be installed on his pickup
truck. The bale spike is not subject to tax.

(G) A farm supply store sells commercial rabbitry equipment,
such as feeders, nest boxes and wire hanging cages used for rabbit
cages and feeders, to a farmer who raises rabbits in confinement
for human consumption. These items are not subject to tax.

AUTHORITY: sections 144.270 and 144.705, RSMo, (1994).
Original rule filed Nov. 18, 1999.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Department of Revenue, Office of Legislation and Regulations,
P.O. Box 629, Jefferson City, MO 65105. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice on the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue
Chapter 111—Sales/Use Tax—Machinery and
Equipment Exemptions

PROPOSED RULE

12 CSR 10-111.060 Material Recovery Processing Plant
Exemption

PURPOSE: Section 144.030.2(4), RSMo, exempts from taxation
machinery and equipment and certain materials and supplies used
to establish new, or to replace or expand existing, material recov-
ery processing plants in this state. This rule explains the elements
that must be met in order to qualify for the exemption.

(1) In general, the purchase of machinery and equipment, and the
materials and supplies required solely for the operation, installa-
tion or construction of such machinery and equipment, is exempt
from tax if used to establish new, or to replace or expand existing,
material recovery processing plants in this state.

(2) Definition of Terms.

(A) Material recovery processing plant—A facility which con-
verts recovered materials into a new product, or to a different form
which is used in producing a new product, and includes facilities
or equipment used exclusively for the collection of recovered mate-
rials for delivery to a material recovery processing plant but does
not include motor vehicles used on highways.

(B) Recovered materials—Those materials that have been divert-
ed or removed from the solid waste stream for sale, use, reuse or
recycling, whether or not they require subsequent separation and
processing.

(3) Basic Application of Exemption.

(A) Machinery and equipment for new, or to replace or expand
existing, material recovery processing plant—Purchases of
machinery and equipment used to establish new, or to expand
existing, material recovery processing plants in this state are not
subject to tax. Purchases of the materials and supplies required
solely for the operation, installation or construction of such
machinery and equipment are not subject to tax.

(B) New, replacement or expanded plant—Machinery and equip-
ment are exempt if used to establish a new, or replace or expand
an existing, material recovery processing plant. Materials and sup-
plies required solely for the operation, installation or construction
of machinery and equipment used in establishing a new plant, or
in replacing or expanding an existing plant are exempt.

(4) Examples.

(A) A new company purchases machinery and equipment to
retread old tires. The company purchases old tires and with the use
of the new machinery and equipment, it produces retread tires for
sale. The machinery and equipment may be purchased under the
material recovery processing plant exemption.

(B) A taxpayer recycles fuel. It processes both solid and liquid
waste materials for use as a fuel in its cement manufacturing oper-
ation. The taxpayer uses shredders and pulverizers to grind the
solid waste materials into sizes appropriate for processing. The
taxpayer’s mobile and conveyor systems are used to transport the
solid and liquid wastes to different processes performed on the
materials in taxpayer’s facility. The fuel recycling facility would
qualify as a material recovery processing plant because it converts
recovered materials, solid and liquid waste materials, into a new
product, fuels, that are then used to manufacture a new product,
cement.

(C) Assuming the same facts as in example (4)(B), the taxpayer
purchases lubricants to operate its machinery and equipment.
Because the lubricants are required solely for the operation of the
machinery and equipment, they are not subject to tax.

(D) Taxpayer does not operate a material recovery processing
plant but operates a facility used exclusively for the collection of
recovered materials for delivery to a material recovery processing
plant. Taxpayer purchases storage bins, conveyors and a special
truck for hauling waste material to and from its facility. The stor-
age bins and conveyors would be exempt from tax. The special
truck would be considered a motor vehicle pursuant to section
301.010, RSMo, and would be subject to tax.

(E) A taxpayer operates a recycling business that purchases alu-
minum, paper and other products to be bundled and then sold to
facilities which use them as raw materials to produce new and dif-
ferent products. A taxpayer purchases loaders, baling machines
and crushing equipment to prepare the materials for sale and ship-
ping. The loaders push the materials into the balers, which com-
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