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MISSOURI
REGISTER

Under this heading will appear the text of proposed
rules and changes. The notice of proposed rulemak-
ing is required to contain an explanation of any new rule or
any change in an existing rule and the reasons therefor.
This is set out in the Purpose section with each rule. Also
required is a citation to the legal authority to make rules.
This appears following the text of the rule, after the word
“Authority.”
ntirely new rules are printed without any special sym-
bology under the heading of the proposed rule. If an
existing rule is to be amended or rescinded, it will have a
heading of proposed amendment or proposed rescission.
Rules which are proposed to be amended will have new
matter printed in boldface type and matter to be deleted
placed in brackets.
Ar; important function of the Missouri Register is to
olicit and encourage public participation in the rule-
making process. The law provides that for every proposed
rule, amendment or rescission there must be a notice that
anyone may comment on the proposed action. This com-
ment may take different forms.
f an agency is required by statute to hold a public hear-
ing before making any new rules, then a Notice of Public
Hearing will appear following the text of the rule. Hearing
dates must be at least 30 days after publication of the
notice in the Missouri Register. If no hearing is planned or
required, the agency must give a Notice to Submit
Comments. This allows anyone to file statements in support
of or in opposition to the proposed action with the agency
within a specified time, no less than 30 days after publica-
tion of the notice in the Missouri Register.
n agency may hold a public hearing on a rule even
though not required by law to hold one. If an agency
allows comments to be received following the hearing date,
the close of comments date will be used as the beginning
day in the 90-day-count necessary for the filing of the order
of rulemaking.
f an agency decides to hold a public hearing after plan-
ning not to, it must withdraw the earlier notice and file a
new notice of proposed rulemaking and schedule a hearing
for a date not less than 30 days from the date of publication
of the new notice.

Proposed Amendment Text Reminder:
Boldface text indicates new matter.
[Bracketed text indicates matter being deleted.]

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 4—Wildlife Code: General Provisions

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-4.110 General Prohibitions; Applications. The
department proposes to amend section (1).

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies the types of animals that are
covered by this rule.

(1) No bird, fish, amphibian, reptile, mammal or other form of
wildlife, including their homes, dens, nests and eggs in Missouri
shall be molested, pursued, taken, hunted, trapped, tagged,

marked, enticed, poisoned, killed, transported, stored, served,
bought, sold, given away, accepted, possessed, propagated,
imported, exported or liberated to the wild in any manner, num-
ber, part, parcel or quantity, at any time, except as specifically
permitted by these rules and any laws consistent with Article IV,
sections 40-46 of the Constitution of Missouri.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 26, 1975, effective July 7, 1975. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 4—Wildlife Code: General Provisions

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-4.113 Ginseng. The department proposes to amend sec-
tions (1) and (2).

PURPOSE: This amendment mandates ginseng harvest practices
and clarifies inclusive dates.

(1) Wild ginseng (Panax quinquefolium) may be harvested from
September 1 through December 31. Wild ginseng plants or roots
harvested must possess three (3) or more true leaves (prongs)
or flowering/fruiting stalks. The entire stalk, minus the mature
fruits, shall be kept with the plants until they are taken to the
harvester’s home or place of business. When harvesting wild
ginseng, harvesters shall plant all seeds from harvested plants
within one hundred feet (100') of the parent plants. Plants or
roots of ginseng taken in Missouri, or acquired from outside the
state, may be purchased, sold, transported or exported only from
September 1 [to] through March 15; provided, certified roots
may be possessed, purchased, sold, transported or exported
throughout the year in accordance with this rule.

(2) Wild and cultivated Missouri ginseng plants or roots exported
from the state must be accompanied by a numbered certificate of
origin on forms provided by the department. Roots may be import-
ed from other states, territories or countries only with appropriate
certification of origin. Uncertified roots that have been received
from outside the state must be returned to that state for certifica-
tion within thirty (30) days of receipt. Uncertified Missouri roots
may be possessed only from September 1 /to/ through March 15.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Aug. 29, 1983, effective Jan. 1, 1984. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.
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PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 4—Wildlife Code: General Provisions

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-4.115 Special Regulations for Department Areas.
The department proposes to amend provisions of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment sets public use hours for August A.
Busch Memorial Conservation Area, removes the prohibition of
pets on Conservation Commission Headquarters, opens Ronald
and Maude Hartell Conservation Area to public use, removes
Swiftwater Bend from the list of conservation areas where hunting
is prohibited and clarifies inclusive dates for season.

(1) The special regulations in this rule apply on all lands and
waters (referred to as areas) owned, leased or managed under for-
mal cooperative agreement by the Department of Conservation.
The director may issue temporary written exceptions to provisions
of this rule for emergency or special events and for other compat-
ible uses.

(B) Closed Hours. All areas are closed to public use from 10:00
p-m. to 4:00 a.m. daily; however, hunting, fishing, trapping, dog
training, camping, launching boats and landing boats are permit-
ted at any time on areas where these activities are authorized,
except as further restricted in this rule. Parking or storage of water-
craft and commercial vehicles is prohibited during the closed
hours.

1. On Blind Pony Lake Conservation Area, Little Dixie Lake
Conservation Area and Riverwoods Conservation Area, all public
use is prohibited from 10:00 p.m. to 4:00 a.m. daily.

2. On August A. Busch Memorial Wildlife Area, all pub-
lic use is prohibited from 10:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. daily.

[2.] 3. On Donaldson Point Conservation Area, all public use
is prohibited, except fishing and waterfowl hunting by boat only,
when the Mississippi River water level is at or above thirty-four
feet (34") on the New Madrid gauge.

[3.] 4. On Seven Island Conservation Area, all public use is
prohibited, except fishing and waterfowl hunting by boat only,
when the Mississippi River water level is at or above forty-three
feet (43') on the Cairo gauge.

[4.] 5. On Hornersville Swamp Conservation Area, all pub-
lic use is prohibited, except fishing and waterfowl hunting by boat
only, when the water level is at or above two hundred thirty-nine
feet (239') on the Hornersville gauge.

[5.] 6. On [August A. Busch Memorial Conservation
Area,] Columbia Bottom Conservation Area, Ronald and Maude
Hartell Conservation Area and James A. Reed Memorial
Wildlife Area, all public use is prohibited from 10:00 p.m. to 6:00
a.m. daily from April 1 to September 30, and from 7:00 p.m. to
6:00 a.m. daily from October 1 to March 31, except for authorized
hunting and fishing activities or as otherwise provided.

[6.] 7. On Bellefontaine Conservation Area, Conservation
Commission Headquarters, Powder Valley Conservation Nature
Center and Runge Conservation Nature Center, all public use is
prohibited from 8:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. daily from April 1 [to]
through October 31, and from 6:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. daily from
November /to] through March 31, except as otherwise provided.

[7.] 8. On Springfield Conservation Nature Center, all pub-
lic use is prohibited from 9:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. daily from March
1 [to] through October 31, and from 6:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. daily
from November 1 /to] through February 28, except that specifi-
cally authorized meetings, programs and special events are per-
mitted at any time on the area.

[8.79. On Rockwoods Range and Rockwoods Reservation, all
public use is prohibited from one-half (1/2) hour after sunset to
sunrise daily.

(D) Pets, Dogs and Field Trials. Pets are permitted but must be
on a leash or confined at all times, except that dogs may be used
for hunting and training for the purposes of locating, tracking or
retrieving game as defined by the Wildlife Code, on areas where
and when hunting and dog training are permitted. Field and
retriever trials are permitted only with a special use permit.

1. On Thomas S. Baskett Wildlife Research and Education
Center, Bellefontaine Conservation Area, Burr Oak Woods
Conservation Area, [Conservation Commission Headquar-
ters,] Engelmann Woods Natural Area, Powder Valley
Conservation Nature Center, Rockwoods Reservation, Runge
Conservation Nature Center and Springfield Conservation Nature
Center, all pets are prohibited.

2. On Duck Creek Conservation Area, dog training is per-
mitted only by holders of a valid area dog training permit during
dates and hours established for this activity.

(L) Use of Boats and Motors. Boats, including sailboats, may be
used on waters designated as open to boats, except as further
restricted in this rule. Boats may not be left unattended overnight.
Houseboats are prohibited. Registration and a fee are required for
rental of department-owned boats. Fees must be paid prior to use.

1. Except as otherwise provided, only electric motors are per-
mitted on impoundments of less than seventy (70) acres. Electric
motors and outboard motors are permitted on impoundments of
seventy (70) or more acres and on certain areas in conjunction with
waterfowl hunting, except that only electric motors are permitted
on Robert G. DeLaney Lake Conservation Area. Outboard motors
in excess of ten (10) horsepower must be operated at slow, no-wake
speed, except as otherwise provided in paragraph (1)(L)S.

2. On August A. Busch Memorial Conservation Area and
James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife Area, only department-owned
boats may be used and only electric motors are permitted.

3. On Bellefontaine Conservation Area, Hunnewell Lake
Conservation Area and Weldon Spring Conservation Area, use of
privately-owned boats is prohibited on impounded waters.

4. On waters managed under cooperative agreements with
other governmental entities, only electric motors are permitted;
except that on Confederate Memorial State Park Lakes boats are
prohibited; and only outboard motors not in excess of ten (10)
horsepower may be used on Agate Lake, Wakonda State Park Lake
and Watkins Mill State Park Lake. Outboard motors in excess of
ten (10) horsepower may be used on Council Bluff Lake but must
be operated at slow, no-wake speed.

5. On Thomas Hill Reservoir, sailboarding, scuba diving and
water skiing are permitted, except water skiing is prohibited north
of Highway T on the Stinking Creek Arm of the lake and on the
warm water arm of the lake upstream from the marker buoys. All
boating is prohibited on the main arm of the lake above Highway
T from October 15 through January 15. Where boating is permit-
ted, no horsepower restrictions apply. Boats may be left unattend-
ed overnight.

(O) Hunting. Hunting, under statewide seasons, methods and
limits, is permitted except as further restricted in this rule.
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1. Hunting may be further restricted on designated portions
of areas which include, but are not limited to, refuges, wildlife
sanctuaries, shooting ranges, residences, work areas, campgrounds
and other public use or service areas.

2. Firearms may not be used to take bullfrogs and green
frogs.

3. Hunting is prohibited on all public fishing access areas less
than forty (40) acres in size.

4. Hunting is prohibited on the following conservation areas:

A. Allred Lake Natural Area

B. Austin Community Lake

C. Louis H. Bangert Memorial Wildlife Area

D. Thomas S. Baskett Wildlife Research and Education
Center

E. Bellefontaine

E Binder Community Lake

G. Bird’s Blue Hole

H. Bittern Bottoms

I. Robert L. Blattner

J. Marguerite Bray

K. Caldwell Memorial Wildlife Area

[J.] L. Camdenton Office

[K.] M.. Caruthersville Rookery

[L.] N. Climax Springs Towersite

[M.] O. Conservation Commission Headquarters

[N.] P. Robert G. DeLaney Lake

[0.] Q. Doniphan Towersite

[P] R. Drovers Prairie

[Q.] S. Engelmann Woods Natural Area

[R.] T. Eugene Towersite

[S.] U. Ella Ewing Lake

[T.] V. Foxglove

[U.] W. Friendly Prairie

[V.] X. Gay Feather Prairie

[W.] Y. Gravois Mills Access

Z. Ronald and Maude Hartell

[X.] AA. James R. Harter

[Y.] BB. Ruth and Paul Henning

[Z.] CC. Hinkson Woods

[AA.] DD. Hunkah Prairie

[BB.] EE. Hurricane Deck Towersite

[CC.] FF. Joplin Towersite

[DD.] GG. LaPetite Gemme Prairie

[EE.] HH. Lebanon Towersite

[FF.] II. Lichen Glade

[GG.] JJ. Limpp Community Lake

[HH.] KK. Little Osage Prairie

[ll.] LL. Lower Taum Sauk Lake

[JJ.] MM. Maple Flats Access

[KK.] NN. Miller Community Lake

[LL.] OO. Mint Spring

[MM.] PP. Mo-Ko Prairie

[NN.] QQ. Mount Vernon Prairie

[00.] RR. Niawathe Prairie

[PR] SS. Pawhuska Prairie

[QQ.] TT. Perry County Community Lake

[RR.] UU. Pickle Springs Natural Area

[SS.] VV. Plad Towersite

[TT.] WW. Port Hudson Lake

[UU.] XX. Powder Valley Conservation Nature Center

[VV.] YY. Redman

[WW.] ZZ. Sterling Price Community Lake

[XX.] AAA. Ray County Community Lake

[YY.] BBB. Riverwoods

[ZZ.] CCC. Rockwoods Reservation

[AAA.] DDD. E O. and Leda J. Sears Memorial Wildlife
Area

[BBB.] EEE. Shawnee Mac Lakes

[CCC.] FFE. Sims Valley Community Lake

[DDD.] GGG. Springfield Conservation Nature Center

[EEE.] HHH. Julian Steyermark Woods

[FFF. Swiftwater Bend]

[GGG.] 1. Thirtyfour Corner Blue Hole

[HHH.] JJJ. Tri-City Community Lake

[lll.] KKK. Tywappity Community Lake

[JJJ.] LLL. Tzi-Sho Prairie

[KKK.] MMM. Ulman Towersite

[LLL.] NNN. Upper Mississippi Conservation Area
(Clarksville Refuge)

[MMM. ] O0O. Vandalia Community Lake

[NNN.] PPP. Wah-Kon-Tah Prairie (only on portion owned
by the Nature Conservancy)

[000.] QQQ. Wah-Sha-She Prairie

[PPP] RRR. Warrenton Towersite

[/QQQ.] SSS. Wildcat Glade Natural Area

[RRR.] TTT. Walter Woods

[SSS.] UUU. Mark Youngdahl Urban

5. Firearms firing single projectiles are prohibited on the fol-

lowing conservation areas:

A. Beaver Creek

B. Bennett Spring Access

C. Bois D’Arc

D. Branch Towersite

E. Brickley Hollow Access

F. Catawissa

G. West Central Regional Office (Golden Valley
Archery Range)

[G.] H. Charity Access

[H.] 1. Crooked Creek

[l.] J. Diamond Grove Prairie

[J.] K. Dorris Creek Prairie

[K.] L. Dorsett Hill Prairie

[L.] M. Arthur Dupree Memorial

[M.] N. Eagle Bluffs

[N.] O. Peter A. Eck

[O.] P. Earthquake Hollow

Q. Ferguson-Herold

[P] R. Larry R. Gale Access

[Q.] S. Grand Bluffs

[R.] T. Horse Creek Prairie

[S.] U. Anthony and Beatrice Kendzora

[T.] V. Little Bean Marsh

[U.] W. Little Dixie Lake

[V.] X. Little Prairie

[W.] Y. Little River

[X.] Z. Caroline Sheridan Logan Memorial Wildlife Area

[Y.] AA. Lone Jack Lake

[Z.] BB. Lost Valley Fish Hatchery

[AA.] CC. Alice Ahart Mansfield Memorial

DD. Marais Temps Clair

[BB.] EE. Mo-No-I Prairie

[CC.] FFE. Mon-Shon Prairie

[DD.] GG. Pacific Palisades

[EE.] HH. Guy B. Park

[FF.] 11. Reform

[GG.] JJ. Rocky Barrens

[HH.] KK. Dr. O.E. and Eloise Sloan

[1l.] LL. Sunbridge Hills

[JJ.] MM. Tipton Ford Access

[KK.] NN. Treaty Line Prairie

[LL.] OO. Valley View Glades Natural Area

[MM.] PP. Archie and Gracie VanDerhoef Memorial State
Forest

[NN.] QQ. Victoria Glades

[0OO0.] RR. Vonaventure Memorial Forest and Wildlife
Area
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[PR] SS. George O. White State Forest Nursery
[QQ.] TT. White River Trace
[RR.] UU. Young

6. On August A. Busch Memorial Conservation Area, Platte
Falls Conservation Area, James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife Area,
Saint Stanislaus Conservation Area and Weldon Spring
Conservation Area, firearms firing single projectiles are prohibit-
ed, except during special deer hunts, and except that raccoons may
be taken with a twenty-two (.22) caliber firearm on the August A.
Busch Memorial Conservation Area, Platte Falls Conservation
Area and Weldon Spring Conservation Area when treed with the
aid of dogs.

7. Firearms hunting is prohibited on Boston Ferry
Conservation Area, Jamesport Community Lake, J. Thad Ray
Memorial Wildlife Area, Lon Sanders Canyon Conservation Area
and Henry J. Waters II and C.B. Moss Memorial Wildlife Area.

8. Deer hunting with firearms and muzzleloading firearms is
prohibited on the following conservation areas:

A. Wilbur Allen Memorial

B. Blind Pony Lake

C. Bois D’Arc

D. Coon Island

E. Corkwood

F. Cuivre Island (mainland portion)

G. Duck Creek (south of Highway Z)

[H. Ferguson-Herold]

[1.] H. Nannie B. Floyd Memorial

[J.] 1. Fountain Grove

[K.] J. Four Rivers (north of Little Osage River)

[L.] K. Grand Pass

[M.] L. Hite Prairie

[N.] M. Hornersville Swamp

[O.] N. Indigo Prairie

[P.] O. Lake Girardeau

[Q.] P. B. K. Leach Memorial

[R.] Q. Lost Valley Fish Hatchery

[S.] R. Mingo National Wildlife Refuge (Pool 8)

[T.] S. Monegaw Prairie

[U.] T. Montrose

[V.] U. Mound View Access

[W.] V. Old Town Access

[X.] W. Otter Slough

[Y.] X. Prairie Slough

[Z.] Y. Redwing Prairie

[AA.] Z. Shell-Osage

[BB.] AA. Ted Shanks

[CC.] BB. Sky Prairie

[DD.] CC. Sni-A-Bar

[EE.] DD. Sunrise Access

[FF.] EE. Ten Mile Pond

[GG.] FF. Upper Mississippi Conservation Area (Bay
Island Unit)

[HH.] GG. Warbler Woods

9. Deer hunting is permitted on the following conservation
areas only during the archery season and the December muzzle-
loading portion of the firearms deer season:

A. Bilby Ranch

B. Bob Brown

C. Dresser Island Unit of Upper Mississippi Conservation
Area

D. Bradley A. Hammer Memorial

E. Loutre Lick Access

E. Moore’s Mill Access

G. Nodaway Valley

H. Rocky Fork Lakes

I. Seven Island

10. During firearms and the December muzzleloading portion
of the firearms deer season, only deer having at least one (1) antler

not less than three inches (3") long may be taken or possessed on
the following conservation areas:

A. Apple Creek

B. Buffalo Hills

C. Busiek State Forest and Wildlife Area

D. Compton Hollow

E. Crooked River

E Cuivre Island (island portion)

G. Daniel Boone

H. Danville

I. Davisdale

J. General Watkins

K. Indian Trail

L. J.N. “Turkey” Kearn Memorial Wildlife Area

M. Lamine River

N. Little Indian Creek

O. Little Lost Creek

P. William R. Logan

Q. Magnolia Hollow

R. Ralph and Martha Perry Memorial

S. Pleasant Hope

T. Ranacker

U. Frank Reifsnider State Forest

V. River 'Round

W. Settle’s Ford

X. Robert E. Talbot

Y. William G. and Erma Parke White Memorial Wildlife
Area

11. Deer may be hunted under statewide regulations, except

only deer having at least one (1) antler not less than three inches
(3") long may be taken or possessed during the first two (2) days
of the November portion of the firearms season on the following
conservation areas:

A. Brickyard Hill

B. Bunch Hollow

C. Charlie Heath Memorial

D. Honey Creek

E. Lake Paho

E Locust Creek

G. Moniteau Creek

H. Monkey Mountain

I. Mussel Fork

J. Rebel’s Cove

12. Deer may be hunted under statewide regulations on the

following conservation areas, except that centerfire firearms are
prohibited:

A. Belcher Branch Lake

B. Buffalo Wallow Prairie

C. Bushwhacker Lake

D. Clear Creek

E. Comstock Prairie

F Lester R. Davis Memorial

G. Grandfather Prairie

H. Harmony Mission Lake

I. Hi Lonesome Prairie

J. Howell Island

K. King Lake

L. Wilfrid V. and Anna C. Kneib Memorial

M. Little Compton Lake

N. Jamerson C. McCormack

0. Nodaway County Community Lake

P. Osage Prairie

Q. Paint Brush Prairie

R. Peabody

S. Pigeon Hill

T. The Edward B. and Marie O. Risch

U. Sears Community Lake

V. Shawnee Trail



June 1, 2000
Vol. 25, No. 11

Missouri Register

Page 1389

W. Stony Point Prairie

X. Swift Ditch Access

Y. Taberville Prairie

Z. Wah-Kon-Tah Prairie (only portion owned by
Conservation Commission west of Mo. Highway H and north of
Mo. Highway 82)

AA. Wolf Bayou

13. Special hunts: Special hunts may be held on designated
areas in accordance with seasons and methods established by reg-
ulation. All residents participating in a managed deer hunt must
possess a Resident Managed Deer Hunting Permit. All nonresi-
dents participating in a managed deer hunt must possess a
Nonresident Managed Deer Hunting Permit.

A. On August A. Busch Memorial Conservation Area,
Weldon Spring Conservation Area, Forest 44 Conservation Area,
Charles W. Green Conservation Area, James A. Reed Memorial
Wildlife Area, Burr Oak Woods Conservation Area, Peck Ranch
Conservation Area (fenced portion), Rockwoods Range,
Whetstone Creek Conservation Area and Caney Mountain
Conservation Area (fenced portion), deer hunting is only permit-
ted during managed hunts, except that antlerless deer may be taken
only by archery methods and limits on James A. Reed Memorial
Wildlife Area each Monday through Friday from December 1 /to]
through the close of the statewide archery deer hunting season.

B. On Drury-Mincy Conservation Area, Platte Falls
Conservation Area and Yellow Creek Conservation Area, firearms
and muzzleloading firearms deer hunting are only permitted dur-
ing managed hunts.

C. All persons hunting during a managed deer hunt, except
archery-only hunts, shall wear a cap or hat, and a shirt, vest or
coat having the outermost color commonly known as daylight flu-
orescent orange, blaze orange or hunter orange, which shall be
plainly visible from all sides while being worn. Camouflage
orange garments do not meet this requirement.

D. During managed deer hunts, historic weapons shall
include only longbows, crossbows and muzzleloading or cap-and-
ball firearms not smaller than forty caliber (.40) capable of load-
ing only from the muzzle and firing only a single projectile at one
(1) discharge.

E. During special hunts, doves may be hunted on Bois
D’Arc Conservation Area and waterfowl may be hunted on August
A. Busch Memorial Conservation Area and Charles W. Green
Conservation Area.

14. Fall firearms turkey hunting is prohibited on Duck Creek
Conservation Area (south of Highway Z), Eagle Bluffs
Conservation Area and Grand Pass Conservation Area.

15. On designated portions of Peck Ranch Conservation
Area, spring turkey hunting is permitted only with a special per-
mit; fall turkey hunting is prohibited.

16. On Caney Mountain Conservation Area (fenced portion)
and Drury-Mincy Conservation Area (Drury portion), spring
turkey hunting is permitted only with a longbow.

17. On the fenced portion of Caney Mountain Conservation
Area, turkey and squirrel hunting with muzzleloading shotguns
and longbows is permitted during the fall firearms turkey season.

18. On August A. Busch Memorial Conservation Area:

A. Rabbits may be hunted in designated areas with shotgun
or longbow from sunrise to 4:30 p.m., /Monday through
Friday,] from January 1 [to] through February 15/, except dur-
ing special deer hunts]. The daily limit is four (4) rabbits.

B. Doves may be hunted from one-half (1/2) hour before
sunrise to 1:00 p.m. during the statewide season.

C. Squirrels and groundhogs may be hunted only with
shotgun from the fourth Saturday in May through October 15.

D. Rabbit, squirrel and dove hunters may also take coyotes.

E. Raccoon, skunks and opossum may be hunted from 6:00
p-m. to 1:00 a.m. from December 15 /[to/ through December 31.

F Spring turkey hunting is permitted only with a special
permit; fall firearms turkey hunting is prohibited.

G. Quail /and pheasant hunting are prohibited] hunt-
ing is permitted only during managed hunts.

19. On James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife Area:

A. Rabbits may be hunted in designated areas with shotgun
or longbow from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily from December 1
[to] through the end of the statewide season by holders of a valid
area daily hunting tag.

B. Doves may be hunted in assigned areas from assigned
shooting stations from noon to sunset each Monday through
Friday, except Labor Day, during the statewide season by holders
of a valid area daily hunting tag.

C. Squirrels may be hunted in designated areas with shot-
gun or longbow from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily from December
1 [to] through December 31 by holders of a valid area daily hunt-
ing tag.

D. Turkey, furbearer and quail hunting are prohibited
except during special hunts.

E. Waterfowl may be hunted by reservation only by hold-
ers of a valid area daily hunting tag on designated days and only in
designated areas, except that hunters may retrieve dead birds and
shoot downed cripples.

20. On Weldon Spring Conservation Area, spring turkey
hunting and fall archery turkey hunting are permitted only by hold-
ers of a special permit.

21. On Bois D’Arc Conservation Area and White River Trace
Conservation Area, quail and dove hunting are permitted only until
1:00 p.m. daily. During the first seven (7) days of dove season,
doves may be taken in assigned areas only by holders of a valid
area daily hunting tag. Quail may be taken only by holders of a
valid area daily hunting tag until the area is posted closed based on
harvest surveys.

22. On Lake Girardeau Conservation Area, hunting is per-
mitted only from November 1 /to/ through April 1.

23. On Marais Temps Clair Conservation Area, doves, rails
and snipe may be hunted during that part of the season which falls
prior to October 15, and deer and rabbits may be hunted from
after the area’s prescribed duck season through the end of the
statewide seasons by holders of a valid area daily hunting tag,
except in areas closed by posting. Dove hunting is permitted only
until 1:00 p.m. daily. Quail, pheasant, squirrel, groundhog, /rab-
bit, deer,] turkey, crow and furbearers hunting are prohibited.
Waterfowl hunting is permitted only on Friday, Saturday, Sunday
and Monday during the prescribed waterfowl hunting season,
except the area is open daily until 1:00 p.m. for teal hunting dur-
ing the early season.

24. On Robert E. Talbot Conservation Area, quail may be
taken only by holders of a valid area daily hunting tag.

25. On Capps Creek Conservation Area, Reform
Conservation Area, Dr. O.E. and Eloise Sloan Conservation Area,
Robert E. Talbot Conservation Area and Whetstone Creek
Conservation Area, quail hunting is permitted only until 1:00 p.m.
daily from November 1 /to] through December 15.

26. On Otter Slough Conservation Area, rabbit, deer and
turkey hunting are prohibited.

27. On Big Creek Conservation Area, deer may not be taken
with rifles or pistols firing centerfire cartridges.

28. On Jim Bridger Urban Conservation Area, Forest 44
Conservation Area and Rockwoods Range, hunting is prohibited
except for deer and turkey during special hunts, except that antler-
less deer may be taken only by archery methods and limits on Jim
Bridger Urban Conservation Area each Monday through Friday
from October 1 to the opening of statewide firearms deer hunting
season. On Pelican Island Natural Area, hunting is prohibited
except for deer during special hunts.

29. Waterfowl hunting is permitted under statewide regula-
tions, except as further restricted in this rule.
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A. Waterfow] hunting is prohibited on the following con-
servation areas:
(D) Blind Pony Lake
(II) Cooley Lake
(IIT) Grand Glaize Waterfowl Refuge
(IV) Hunnewell Lake
(V) Lake Girardeau
(VI) Lake Paho
(VII) Lone Jack Lake
B. Waterfowl hunting is prohibited after 1:00 p.m. on des-
ignated portions of the following conservation areas:
(I) Amarugia Highlands
(IT) Bob Brown
(IIT) Columbia Bottom
[(I1)] @V) Coon Island
[(IV)] (V) Duck Creek
[(V)] (VI) Eagle Bluffs
[(VI)] (VII) Fountain Grove
[(VIl)] (VIII) Grand Pass
[(Vill)] IX) B. K. Leach Memorial
(X) Little River
[(IX)] (XT) Long Branch Lake
[(X)] (XII) Marais Temps Clair
[(X1)] (XIII) Mingo National Wildlife Refuge
[(X1)] (XIV) Otter Slough
[(X/)] (XV) James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife Area
[(X1V)] (XVI) Schell-Osage
[(XV)] (XVII) Ted Shanks
[(XVI)] XVIII) Swan Lake National Wildlife Refuge
[(XVII)] (XIX) Ten Mile Pond
[(XVII)] (XX) Yellow Creek
C. Waterfowl may be taken on the following conservation
areas by holders of a valid area daily hunting tag only from a blind
or in a designated area, except that hunters may retrieve dead birds
and pursue and shoot downed cripples. Waterfowl hunters must
check out immediately after the close of their hunting trip and
prior to processing birds; these conservation areas are closed to
waterfowl hunting on December 25. Nonhunters are prohibited
within the shooting areas during the waterfowl hunting season
unless they are members of and remain with a party authorized to
use the area, except that portions of these conservation areas may
be open to fishing during all or part of the waterfowl season.
Hunting of other wildlife is prohibited, except in designated areas,
from October 15 [to] through the end of the area’s prescribed
waterfowl season.
(I) Bob Brown
(II) Columbia Bottom
[(/)] (II) Coon Island
[(lll)] IV) Duck Creek
[(IV)] (V) Eagle Bluffs
[(V)] (VI) Fountain Grove
[(VI)] (VII) Grand Pass
[(VIl)] (VIII) B. K. Leach Memorial
[(VIIl)] IX) Marais Temps Clair
[(1X)] (X) Mingo National Wildlife Refuge
[(X)] (XI) Montrose
[(X1)] (XII) Nodaway Valley
[(X1l)] (XIII) Otter Slough
[(XII1)] (XIV) Schell-Osage
[(XIV)] (XV) Ted Shanks
[(XV)] (XVI) Swan Lake National Wildlife Refuge
(geese only)
[(XVI)] (XVII) Ten Mile Pond
D. On Fountain Grove Conservation Area, Grand Pass
Conservation Area, Swan Lake National Wildlife Refuge and
Yellow Creek Conservation Area, no more than ten (10) shotgun
shells daily may be fired at Canada geese by each hunter.
E. Special waterfowl refuges:

(I) On Bull Shoals Waterfowl Refuge, all hunting, fish-
ing, trapping, boating and vehicles are prohibited from November
15 [to] through February 15 on the lands and waters of the
Theodosia Arm of Bull Shoals Lake—to include all of Section 13
and South Half of Section 12, T22N, R16W; all of Section 17,
South Half of Sections 7 and 8, and that part of Sections 19 and
20 North of Highway 160 bridge, all in T22N, R15W.

(I) On Stockton Lake Waterfowl Refuge, all hunting,
fishing, trapping and boating are prohibited from October 15
through the area’s prescribed duck and Canada goose seasons on
all Corps of Engineers lands and waters on and adjacent to the
Little Sac Arm from the Highway 123 bridge to the county road
bridge crossing Little Sac River in Section 11, T32N, R24W.

(III) On Smithville Lake Waterfowl Refuge, all hunting,
fishing, trapping and boating are prohibited from October 15
through January 15 in units designated by posting.

[(IV) On Grand River Bottoms Waterfow! Refuge
of Truman Reservoir, as posted, all hunting, fishing, boat-
ing, trespassing and vehicles are prohibited on Corps of
Engineers lands and waters from December 1 to March
16.]

[(V)] (IV) On Dehn Marsh and Sac River Marsh of
Truman Reservoir, waterfowl hunting is prohibited.

[(V1)] (V) On Thomas Hill Reservoir, waterfowl hunting
is prohibited on the lands and waters of the main arm between
Highway T and county road 462, three and one-half (3 1/2) miles
north of Highway T from October 15 [to/ through the close of the
waterfowl season.

[(VIl)] (VI) On Ralph and Martha Perry Memorial
Conservation Area Waterfowl Refuge, as posted, all hunting, fish-
ing, boating, trespassing and vehicles are prohibited from October
15 [to] through the close of the waterfowl season.

E. Use or possession of lead shot is prohibited for all hunt-
ing in designated zones on the following conservation areas:

(I) Bob Brown

(II) Columbia Bottom

[(//)] (D) Cooley Lake

[(lll)] (IV) Coon Island

[(IV)] (V) Duck Creek

[(V)] (VI) Eagle Bluffs

[(VI)] (VII) Fountain Grove

[(VIl)] (VIII) Four Rivers

[(VIIl)] IX) Grand Pass

[(1X)] (X) B. K. Leach Memorial

[(X)] (XI) Little Bean Marsh

[(X1)] XII) Little River

[(X/l)] (XIII) Marais Temps Clair

[(XIIl)] (XIV) Montrose

[(XIV)] (XV) Nodaway Valley

[(XV)]] (XVI) Otter Slough

[(XVI)] (XVII) Schell-Osage

[(XVI)] (XVIII) Settle’s Ford

[(XVIll)] (XIX) Ted Shanks

[(XIX)] (XX) Ten Mile Pond

G. On [Four Rivers Conservation Area] Settle’s Ford
Conservation Area, hunting of other wildlife is permitted except
in designated waterfowl hunting areas from October 15 through the
end of the prescribed Canada goose season. Waterfowl hunters
must preregister and check out daily at designated hunter record
boxes prior to and immediately after completing the hunt. Non-
hunters are prohibited within the waterfowl hunting areas unless
they are members of and remain with a party authorized to use the
area.

H. On Little River Conservation Area, /duck hunting is
prohibited. Goose hunting is permitted in designated areas
only after the end of the prescribed zone duck hunting
season] waterfowl hunting is permitted only during special
hunts or by holders of a valid area daily hunting tag.
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I. On Four Rivers Conservation Area, in designated
waterfowl hunting areas, waterfowl hunters must register
before hunting and check out daily at Area Headquarters. On
the remaining portions of the area, waterfowl hunters must
register before hunting at designated hunter record boxes and
check out immediately after completion of the hunt. In desig-
nated waterfowl hunting areas, hunting is closed on December
25. Nonhunters are prohibited within the designated waterfowl
hunting areas unless they are members of and remain with a
party authorized to use the area.

30. On Eagle Bluffs Conservation Area, B. K. Leach
Memorial Conservation Area, William R. Logan Conservation
Area and William G. and Erma Parke White Memorial Wildlife
Area, doves may be hunted only in assigned areas from an
assigned shooting station on designated days from 1:00 p.m. to
5:00 p.m. during the September portion of the statewide season by
holders of a valid area daily hunting tag.

31. On Columbia Bottom Conservation Area and Saint
Stanislaus Conservation Area, hunting is permitted only during
special hunts or by holders of a valid daily hunting tag.

32. On Lake Paho Conservation Area, doves may be hunted
from one-half (1/2) hour before sunrise to 1:00 p.m. during the
statewide season.

(P) Fishing. Fishing, under statewide seasons, methods and lim-
its, is permitted, except as further restricted in this rule.

1. Fishing may be further restricted on designated portions of
conservation areas.

2. Fishing is prohibited on the following conservation areas or
individually named lakes:

A. Allred Lake Natural Area

B. Rudolf Bennitt Lake

C. Robert L. Blattner

D. Burr Oak Woods

E. Gama Grass Prairie

F Gay Feather Prairie

G. Charles W. Green

H. Happy Holler Lake

I. Hunkah Prairie

J. Little Osage Prairie

K. Chloe Lowry Marsh Natural Area

L. Mo-Ko Prairie

M. Mon-Shon Prairie

N. Mount Vernon Prairie

O. Niawathe Prairie

P. Pawhuska Prairie

Q. Powder Valley Conservation Nature Center

R. Springfield Conservation Nature Center

S. Turtle Rock Lake

T. Tzi-Sho Prairie

U. Wah-Kon-Tah Prairie (only on portion owned by the
Nature Conservancy)

V. Wah-Sha-She Prairie

W. Henry J. Waters II and C.B. Moss Memorial Wildlife
Area

3. On all impounded waters, fish may be taken only with pole
or rod with attached line and not more than three (3) poles or rods
with attached line may be used by one (1) person at any time,
except as further provided in this rule.

A. On Forest Lake, Montrose Conservation Area, Schell-
Osage Conservation Area, Ted Shanks Conservation Area and
Thomas Hill Reservoir, fish may be taken with limb lines and bank
lines.

B. Carp, buffalo, suckers and gar may be taken by gig,
longbow or crossbow during statewide seasons on the following
conservation areas or individually named lakes:

(I) Atlanta
(IT) Bismarck
(1) Blackjack Access

(IV) Bob Brown

(V) Cooley Lake

(VI) Deer Ridge

(VII) Deroin Bend

(VIII) Duck Creek

(IX) Eagle Bluffs

(X) Connor O. Fewel

(XI) Fountain Grove

(XII) Four Rivers

(XIII) Forest Lake

(XIV) Franklin Island

(XV) Grand Pass

(XVI) Hunnewell Lake

(XVID) King Lake

(XVIII) Kings Prairie Access
(XIX) Lake Paho

(XX) Lamine River

(XXI) B. K. Leach Memorial
(XXII) Limpp Community Lake
(XXIII) Little Compton Lake
(XXIV) Locust Creek

(XXV) Manito Lake

(XXVI) Marais Temps Clair
(XXVII) Nodaway Valley
(XXVIII) Otter Lake

(XXIX) Peabody

(XXX) Ralph and Martha Perry Memorial
(XXXI) Haysler A. Poague
(XXXII) Pony Express Lake
(XXXIII) Rebel’s Cove
(XXXIV) Schell-Osage
(XXXV) Henry Sever
(XXXVI) Settle’s Ford
(XXXVII) Ted Shanks
(XXXVIII) Thurnau

(XXXIX) Truman Reservoir
(XL) Wakonda State Park Lakes
(XLI) Worth County Community Lake
(XLII) Worthwine Island

4. On [August A. Busch Memorial Conservation Area,]
Conservation Commission Headquarters and James A. Reed
Memorial Wildlife Area, fishing is permitted in designated waters
from 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., October 1 [to/ through March 31
and from 6:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m., April 1 [to/ through September
30. On August A. Busch Memorial Conservation Area, fishing
is permitted on designated waters from 6:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
daily. On designated lakes at Conservation Commission
Headquarters, only flies and artificial lures may be used, and all
fish must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after
being caught. On Coot Lake on James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife
Area, from November 1 [to]/ through February 19, only flies,
artificial lures and soft plastic baits (unscented) may be used and
all fish must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after
being caught.

5. On Ronald and Maude Hartell Conservation Area, fish-
ing is permitted on designated waters. Only flies, artificial
lures and soft plastic baits (unscented) may be used and all fish
must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after
being caught. Possession of fish on the area is prohibited except
by special use permit.

[5.] 6. Fishing is permitted, except in designated areas, on
the following conservation areas.

A. Bellefontaine

B. Bilby Ranch Lake
C. Bob Brown

D. Cooley Lake

E. Coon Island

F. Duck Creek
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G. Eagle Bluffs

H. Fountain Grove

I. Four Rivers

J. Grand Pass

K. Hornersville Swamp

L. B. K. Leach Memorial

M. Maple Leaf Lake

N. Marais Temps Clair

O. Monegaw Prairie

P. Montrose

Q. Osage Prairie

R. Otter Slough

S. Pony Express Lake

T. Schell-Osage

U. Settle’s Ford

V. Seven Island

W. Ted Shanks

X. Taberville Prairie

Y. Ten Mile Pond

Z. Wah-Kon-Tah Prairie (only on portion owned by
Conservation Commission west of Mo. Highway H and north of
Mo. Highway 82)

[6.] 7. On Binder Community Lake, fishing is prohibited
from 11:00 p.m. to 3:00 a.m. daily.

[7.] 8. On Maramec Spring Trout Park, Bennett Spring State
Park, Montauk State Park and Roaring River State Park:

A. Fishing is permitted in designated waters during posted
hours. Not more than one (1) pole or rod with attached line may
be used by one (1) person at any time. Gigging, snaring, snagging,
frogging and the taking of live bait are prohibited. Flies, artificial
lures, unscented soft plastic baits and natural and scented baits may
be used, except in waters posted as restricted to specific baits or
lures. The use of any foods to attract fish, except when placed on
a hook, is prohibited.

B. Trout fishing is permitted from March 1 /[to] through
October 31. The daily limit is five (5) trout, and no person shall
continue to fish for any species after having five (5) trout in pos-
session. Fishing in the designated trout waters is permitted only by
holders of a signed valid area daily trout fishing tag.

C. On a designated portion of Montauk State Park and
Roaring River State Park, catch and release trout fishing only is
permitted from March 1 /to/ through October 31. Only flies may
be used, and all trout must be returned to the water unharmed
immediately after being caught. Trout may not be possessed in
these designated areas, and no person with five (5) trout already in
possession may fish there.

D. Trout fishing is permitted from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays from the second Friday in
November /[to] through the second Sunday in February. Fishing
in designated trout waters is permitted only by holders of a valid
area winter trout fishing tag. Only flies may be used, and all trout
must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after being
caught. Trout may not be possessed on these waters.

[8.] 9. On Jerry J. Presley Conservation Education Center,
fishing is permitted only by holders of a valid area special use per-
mit. Except as otherwise provided on the special use permit, all
fish must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after
being caught.

[9.710. Daily and possession limits. Statewide daily and pos-
session limits shall apply for all species, except that: In impound-
ed waters, daily limits are catfish in the aggregate (channel catfish,
blue catfish, flathead catfish), four (4); black bass, six (6); crap-
pie, thirty (30); and all other fish, statewide limits, but not to
exceed twenty (20) in the aggregate; except as further restricted in
this rule.

A. The daily limit for black bass shall be two (2) on the
following conservation areas:

(I) Amarugia Highlands

(IT) Arrow Rock State Historic Site

(II) Atkinson Lake

(IV) Baltimore Bend

(V) Belcher Branch Lake

(VI) Bellefontaine

(VII) August A. Busch Memorial

(VIII) Confederate Memorial State Park Lakes

(IX) Robert G. DeLaney Lake

(X) Lake Paho

(XTI) Lone Jack Lake

(XII) Manito Lake

(XIII) Maple Leaf Lake

(XIV) Port Hudson Lake

(XV) James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife Area

(XVI) Schell Lake

(XVII) Watkins Mill State Park Lake

(XVIII) Weldon Spring

B. On Bellefontaine Conservation Area, Che-Ru Lake,
Hazel Hill Lake and Schell-Osage Conservation Area, the daily
limit for crappie shall be fifteen (15).

C. On August A. Busch Memorial Conservation Area and
James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife Area, the daily limit for white
bass, striped bass and their hybrids in the aggregate shall be four
(4); on James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife Area, the aggregate
daily limit for all other fish shall be ten (10).

D. On Duck Creek Conservation Area, statewide limits
shall apply for all nongame fish.

E. At Blind Pony Lake Conservation Area, the daily limit
for black bass shall be one (1).

E At Tobacco Hills Lake, the daily limit for bluegill shall
be eight (8).

G. On Bellefontaine Conservation Area and Port Hudson
Lake, the daily limit for other fish (those not listed by name in this
paragraph) shall be (10) in the aggregate.

[70.] 11. Length limits. Statewide length limits shall apply
for all species, except as further restricted in this rule.

A. On all impoundments, except as authorized in parts
(1)(P)10.A.(I)-(V), all black bass more than twelve inches (12")
but less than fifteen inches (15") total length must be returned to
the water unharmed immediately after being caught.

(I) All black bass less than twelve inches (12") total
length must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after
being caught on the following conservation areas:

(a) Bois D’Arc

(b) Knob Noster State Park Lakes
(c) Malta Bend Community Lake
(d) Painted Rock

(e) Peabody

(f) Haysler A. Poague

(g) Robert E. Talbot

(h) Van Meter State Park Lake

(IT) All black bass less than fifteen inches (15") total
length must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after
being caught on the following conservation areas:

(a) Amarugia Highlands

(b) Arrow Rock State Historic Site

(c) Atkinson Lake

(d) Baltimore Bend

(e) Big Oak Tree State Park

(f) Bilby Ranch lake

(g) Binder Community lake

(h) Bismarck

(i) Buffalo Bill Lake

(j) August A. Busch Memorial (except Lakes 33 and
35)

(k) Che-Ru Lake

(1) Jerry P. Combs Lake

(m) Confederate Memorial State Park Lakes
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(n) Deer Ridge Lake

(o) Fourche Lake

(p) General Watkins

(q) Huzzah Pond

[(g)] (r) Jamesport Community Lake

[(r)] (s) Limpp Community Lake

[(s)] (t) Little Compton Lake

[(t)] (u) Loggers Lake

[(u)] (v) Lone Jack Lake

[(v)] (w) Maple Leaf Lake

[(w)] (x) McCormack Lake

[(x)] (y) Noblett Lake

[(y)] (z) Nodaway County Community Lake
[(z)] (aa) Perry County Community Lake
[faa)] (bb) Pershing State Park Ponds
[(bb)] (cc) Pony Express

[(cc)] (dd) Ray County Community Lake
[(dd)] (ee) James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife Area
[(ee)] (ff) Rinquelin Trail Community Lake
[(ff)] (gg) Roby Lake

[(gg)] (hh) Schell Lake

[fhh)] (ii) Ted Shanks

[(ii)] (jj) Tobacco Hills Lake

[(jj)] (kk) Union Ridge Lake

[(kk)] (1) Vandalia Community Lake

[(!l)] (mm) Watkins Mill State Park Lake
[fmm)] (nn) Weldon Spring

[fnn)] (00) Worth County Community Lake

(III) On Bellefontaine Conservation Area, August A.
Busch Memorial Lakes 33 and 35, Belcher Branch Lake, Robert
G. DeLaney Lake, Lake Paho, Manito Lake and Port Hudson
Lake, all black bass less than eighteen inches (18") total length
must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after being
caught.

(IV) On Blind Pony Lake Conservation Area, all black
bass less than twenty inches (20") total length must be returned to
the water unharmed immediately after being caught.

(V) On Hazel Hill Lake, all black bass more than four-
teen inches (14") but less than eighteen inches (18") total length
must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after being
caught.

B. On August A. Busch Memorial Conservation Area and
James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife Area, all white bass, striped
bass and their hybrids less than twenty inches (20") total length
must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after being
caught.

C. On Blind Pony Lake Conservation Area, Hazel Hill
Lake and Manito Lake Conservation Area, all channel catfish and
all blue catfish less than fifteen (15") total length must be returned
to the water unharmed immediately after being caught.

D. On August A. Busch Memorial Conservation Area,
Che-Ru Lake, James A. Reed Memorial Wildlife Area and Schell-
Osage Conservation Area, all flathead catfish less than twenty-four
inches (24") total length must be returned to the water unharmed
immediately after being caught.

E. On Tobacco Hills Lake, all bluegill less than eight inch-
es (8") total length must be returned to the water unharmed imme-
diately after being caught.

F. On Lake Girardeau Conservation Area and Henry Sever
Conservation Area, all muskellunge less than forty-two inches
(42") total length must be returned to the water unharmed imme-
diately after being caught.

[11.] 12. Salvage seining of nongame fish may be permitted
seasonally for personal use with written permission of the depart-
ment.

[12.] 13. Seining or trapping live bait, including tadpoles, is
prohibited on streams in Mule Shoe Conservation Area and on all

impounded waters and their discharge channels, except as further
defined in this rule.

A. Seining or trapping live bait, including tadpoles, is per-
mitted on designated impoundments on Bob Brown Conservation
Area, Fountain Grove Conservation Area, Grand Pass
Conservation Area and Nodaway Valley Conservation Area.

B. On designated waters on Schell-Osage Conservation
Area, gizzard shad may be taken by live bait methods.

[13.] 14. On Wire Road Conservation Area, nongame fish
may be taken by snagging, snaring, or grabbing from March 15
[to] through May 15. A daily limit of twenty (20) and a posses-
sion limit of forty (40) shall apply to fish taken by these methods.

[714.] 15. On Prairie Lake on Weldon Spring Conservation
Area, fishing is prohibited during the area’s prescribed waterfowl
hunting season.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. This ver-
sion of rule filed Dec. 15, 1975, effective Dec. 27, 1975. For inter-
vening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended: Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 4—Wildlife Code: General Provisions

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-4.116 Special Regulations for Areas Owned by Other
Entities. The department proposes to amend paragraphs (2)(A)2.,
(2)(D)9. and subsections (4)(A) and (B).

PURPOSE: This amendment will permit the use of electronic
motors on Warrensburg (Lion’s Lake) and clarifies inclusive dates.

(2) The special regulations in this section apply on all lands and
waters included in the department’s Urban Fishing Program and
Community Assistance Program.
(A) Boats and Motors. Boats with electric motors may be used
except as follows:
1. Boats are prohibited on the following areas:

A. Bridgeton (Kiwanis Lake)

B. California (Proctor Park Lake)

C. Cole County (Jaycee Park Lake)

D. Columbia (Antimi Lake, Cosmo-Bethel Lake, Lake of
the Woods)

E. Dexter City Lake

F. Farmington City Lake

G. Jackson (Rotary Park Lake)

H. Jackson County (Alex George Lake, Bergan Lake,
Bowlin Road Lake, Fleming Pond, Scherer Lake, Wyatt Lake)

I. Jefferson City (McKay Park Lake)

J. Mexico (Kiwanis Lake)

K. Mineral Area College (Quarry Pond)

L. Mount Vernon (Williams Creek Park Lake)
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M. Overland (Wild Acres Park Lake)

N. Rolla (Schuman Park Lake)

0. Saint Louis County (Bee Tree Lake)

P. Sedalia (Clover Dell Park Lake, Liberty Park Lake)

Q. The James Foundation (Scioto Lake)

R. University of Missouri (South Farm R-1 Lake)

2. Only boats without motors may be used on Columbia
(Twin Lake) fand Warrensburg (Lion’s Lake)].

3. Outboard motors must be operated at slow, no-wake speed
on Concordia (Edwin A. Pape Lake).

4. No boat motor restrictions apply on Harrison County Lake
and Maryville (Mozingo Lake).

5. Outboard motors not in excess of forty (40) horsepower
may be used on Springfield City Utilities (Fellows Lake).

6. Outboard motors not in excess of ten (10) horsepower may
be used on the following areas:

A. Bethany (North Bethany City Reservoir)

B. Fayette (D. C. Rogers Lake, Fayette City Lake No. 2)

C. LaBelle City Lake

D. LaPlata City Lake

E. Macon City Lake

E Moberly (Rothwell Park Lake, Water Works Lake)

G. Odessa (City Lake)

H. Springfield City Utilities (Lake Springfield)

I. Unionville City Lake

7. Outboard motors in excess of ten (10) horsepower may be
used but must be operated at slow, no-wake speed on the following
areas:

A. Brookfield City Lake

B. Cameron (Grindstone Reservoir)

C. Fredericktown City Lake

D. Higginsville City Lake

E. Holden City Lake

E Iron Mountain City Lake

G. Marceline City Lake

H. Memphis (Lake Showme)

I. Milan (Elmwood Lake)

(D) Fishing. Fishing, under statewide seasons, methods and
limits, is permitted except as further restricted in this section.

1. Fishing may be further restricted on designated portions of
areas.

2. Bullfrogs and green frogs may be taken during the
statewide season by hand, handnet, gig, longbow or hook and line
except as follows:

A. Longbows may not be used to take frogs on Columbia
(Antimi Lake, Cosmo-Bethel Lake, Lake of the Woods, Twin
Lake) Farmington City Lake, Jackson County (Alex George Lake,
Bergan Lake, Bowlin Road Lake, Prairie Lee Lake, Scherer Lake,
Tarsney Lake, Wood Lake, Wyatt Lake), Mexico (Lakeview Lake,
Kiwanis Lake), Moberly (Rothwell Park Lake, Water Works Lake)
and The James Foundation (Scioto Lake).

B. Only pole and line may be used to take frogs on
Bridgeton (Kiwanis Lake), Butler City Lake, Kirkwood (Walker
Lake), Mineral Area College (Quarry Pond), Overland (Wild
Acres Park Lake), Saint Louis County (Bee Tree Lake, Creve
Coeur Lake, Simpson Lake, Spanish Lake, Sunfish Lake), Sedalia
(Clover Dell Park Lake, Liberty Park Pond), Warrensburg (Lion’s
Lake), Wentzville (Community Club Lake) and Windsor
(Farrington Park Lake).

3. Fishing is prohibited on Jackson County (Fleming Pond).

4. Fish may be taken from lakes only with pole and line with
lure or bait and not more than three (3) poles may be used by one
(1) person at any time, except as follows:

A. Carp, buffalo, suckers and gar may be taken by gig,
longbow or crossbow during statewide seasons on the following
lakes:

(I) Brookfield City Lake
(II) Bethany (North Bethany City Reservoir)

(III) Cameron (Reservoirs No. 1, 2 and 3, Grindstone
Reservoir)
(IV) Fayette (D. C. Rogers Lake, Fayette City Lake No.

2)

(V) Hamilton City Lake

(VI) Harrison County Lake

(VII) Jackson County (Lake Jacomo, north of Colbern
Road)

(VIII) Kirksville (Hazel Creek Lake)
(IX) Maryville (Mozingo Lake)

(X) Macon City Lake

(XTI) Saint Louis County (Sunfish Lake)
(XII) Unionville City Lake

B. Carp, buffalo, suckers and gar may be taken by gig dur-
ing statewide seasons on Jackson County (Prairie Lee Lake).

C. Carp, buffalo, gar and shad may be taken by longbow
from sunrise to midnight throughout the year on Concordia (Edwin
A. Pape Lake) and Higginsville City Lake.

5. Fishing is permitted, except in designated areas, on
Concordia (Edwin A. Pape Lake), Higginsville City Lake and
Odessa (City Lake, Upper Lake).

6. Statewide daily limits shall apply for all species, except as
follows:

A. The daily limit for black bass is two (2) on the follow-
ing lakes:

(I) Ballwin (New Ballwin Lake, Vlasis Park Lake)

(II) Bridgeton (Kiwanis Lake)

(IIT) Butler City Lake

(IV) California (Proctor Park Lake)

(V) Columbia (Twin Lake)

(VI) Concordia (Edwin A. Pape Lake)

(VII) Ferguson (January-Wabash Lake)

(VIII) Higginsville City Lake

(IX) Jackson County (Alex George Lake, Bergan Lake,
Bowlin Road Lake, Lake Jacomo, Prairie Lee Lake, Scherer Lake,
Tarsney Lake, Wood Lake, Wyatt Lake)

(X) Jefterson City (McKay Park Lake)

(XI) Kirksville (Hazel Creek Lake)

(XII) Kirkwood (Walker Lake)

(XIII) Macon (Blees Lake)

(XIV) Mineral Area College (Quarry Pond)

(XV) Overland (Wild Acres Park Lake)

(XVI) Saint Louis City (Benton Park Lake, Boathouse
Lake, Clifton Heights Park Lake, Fairgrounds Park Lake,
Horseshoe Lake, Hyde Park Lake, Jefferson Lake, Lafayette Park
Lake, North Riverfront Park Lake, O’Fallon Park Lake, Willmore
Park North Lake, Willmore Park South Lake)

(XVID) St. Louis County (Bee Tree Lake, Bellefontaine
Park Lake, Creve Coeur Lake, Queeny Park Lake, Simpson Lake,
Spanish Lake, Sunfish Lake, Suson Park Lakes No. 1, 2 and 3,
Tilles Park Lake, Veteran’s Memorial Park Lake)

(XVIII) University of Missouri (South Farm R-1 Lake)

(XIX) Warrensburg (Lion’s Lake)

(XX) Wentzville (Community Club Lake)

(XXI) Windsor (Farrington Park Lake)

B. The daily limit for bullheads is ten (10) on the follow-

ing lakes:

(I) Ballwin (New Ballwin Lake, Vlasis Park Lake)

(II) Ferguson (January-Wabash Lake)

(IIT) Saint Louis City (Benton Park Lake, Boathouse
Lake, Clifton Heights Park Lake, Fairgrounds Park Lake,
Horseshoe Lake, Hyde Park Lake, Jefferson Lake, Lafayette Park
Lake, North Riverfront Park Lake, O’Fallon Park Lake, Willmore
Park North Lake, Willmore Park South Lake)

(IV) Saint Louis County (Bellefontaine Park Lake,
Queeny Park Lake, Suson Park Lakes No. 1, 2 and 3, Tilles Park
Lake, Veteran’s Memorial Park Lake)
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C. The daily limit for carp is four (4) on the following

lakes:

(I) Ballwin (New Ballwin Lake, Vlasis Park Lake)

(II) Ferguson (January-Wabash Lake)

() Saint Louis City (Benton Park Lake, Boathouse
Lake, Clifton Heights Park Lake, Fairgrounds Park Lake,
Horseshoe Lake, Hyde Park Lake, Jefferson Lake, Lafayette Park
Lake, North Riverfront Park Lake, O’Fallon Park Lake, Willmore
Park North Lake, Willmore Park South Lake)

(IV) Saint Louis County (Bellefontaine Park Lake,
Queeny Park Lake, Suson Park Lakes No. 1, 2 and 3, Tilles Park
Lake, Veteran’s Memorial Park Lake)

D. The daily limit for channel catfish, blue catfish and flat-
head catfish in the aggregate is four (4).

E. The daily limit for crappie is fifteen (15) on the follow-
ing lakes:

(I) Ballwin (New Ballwin Lake, Vlasis Park Lake)

(II) Ferguson (January-Wabash Lake)

(III) Kirksville (Hazel Creek Lake)

(IV) Saint Louis City (Benton Park Lake, Boathouse
Lake, Clifton Heights Park Lake, Fairgrounds Park Lake,
Horseshoe Lake, Hyde Park Lake, Jefferson Lake, Lafayette Park
Lake, North Riverfront Park Lake, O’Fallon Park Lake, Willmore
Park North Lake, Willmore Park South Lake)

(V) Saint Louis County (Bee Tree Lake, Bellefontaine
Park Lake, Creve Coeur Lake, Queeny Park Lake, Simpson Lake,
Spanish Lake, Sunfish Lake, Suson Park Lakes No. 1, 2 and 3,
Tilles Park Lake, Veteran’s Memorial Park Lake)

(VI) Springfield City Utilities (Fellows Lake)

FE The daily limit for white bass, striped bass and their
hybrids in the aggregate is four (4) on Cameron (Reservoir No. 3)
and Saint Louis County (Creve Coeur Lake).

G. The daily limit for gizzard shad for bait on Jackson
County (Lake Jacomo, Prairie Lee Lake) and Concordia (Edwin
A. Pape Lake) is one hundred fifty (150).

H. The daily limit for other fish (those not included in
rules 3 CSR 10-6.505 through 3 CSR 10-6.545 and 3 CSR 10-
4.111) is twenty (20) in the aggregate, except on the following
lakes where the daily limit in the aggregate is ten (10), and except
for those fish included in (2)(D)6.B., C. and G.:

(I) Ballwin (New Ballwin Lake, Vlasis Park Lake)

(II) Bridgeton (Kiwanis Lake)

(IIT) Ferguson (January-Wabash Lake)

(IV) Kirkwood (Walker Lake)

(V) Mineral Area College (Quarry Pond)

(VI) Overland (Wild Acres Park Lake)

(VII) Saint Louis City (Benton Park Lake, Boathouse
Lake, Clifton Heights Park Lake, Fairgrounds Park Lake,
Horseshoe Lake, Hyde Park Lake, Jefferson Lake, Lafayette Park
Lake, North Riverfront Park Lake, O’Fallon Park Lake, Willmore
Park North Lake, Willmore Park South Lake)

(VII) Saint Louis County (Bee Tree Lake, Bellefontaine
Park Lake, Creve Coeur Lake, Queeny Park Lake, Simpson Lake,
Spanish Lake, Sunfish Lake, Suson Park Lakes No. 1, 2 and 3,
Tilles Park Lake, Veteran’s Memorial Park Lake)

(IX) Wentzville (Community Club Lake)

7. Statewide length limits shall apply for all species, except
that all black bass more than twelve inches (12") but less than fif-
teen inches (15") total length must be returned to the water
unharmed immediately after being caught, except as follows:

A. All black bass less than fifteen inches (15") total length
must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after being
caught on the following lakes.

(D) Bethany (Old Bethany City Reservoir)

(II) Butler City Lake

(IIT) California (Proctor Park Lake)

(IV) Cameron (Reservoirs No. 1, 2 and 3, Grindstone
Reservoir)

(V) Carthage (Kellogg Lake)

(VI) Concordia (Edwin A. Pape Lake)

(VII) Dexter City Lake

(VIII) Hamilton City Lake

(IX) Harrison County Lake

(X) Higginsville City Lake

(XTI) Holden City Lake

(XII) Iron Mountain City Lake

(XTII) Jackson (Rotary Park Lake)

(XIV) Jackson County (Alex George Lake, Bergan Lake,
Bowlin Road Lake, Lake Jacomo, Prairie Lee Lake, Scherer Lake,
Tarsney Lake, Wood Lake, Wyatt Lake)

(XV) Jefferson City (McKay Park Lake)

(XVI) Lancaster City Lake

(XVII) Maryville (Mozingo Lake)

(XVIII) Maysville (Willow Brook Lake)

(XIX) Mineral Area College (Quarry Pond)

(XX) Warrensburg (Lion’s Lake)

(XXI) Windsor (Farrington Park Lake)

(XXII) Unionville City Lake

(XXIII) University of Missouri (Dairy Farm Lake No. 1
and McCredie Lake)

B. All black bass less than eighteen inches (18") total
length must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after
being caught on the following lakes:

(I) Ballwin (New Ballwin Lake, Vlasis Park Lake)

(IT) Bridgeton (Kiwanis Lake)

(IIT) Columbia (Twin Lake)

(IV) Ferguson (January-Wabash Lake)

(V) Kirksville (Hazel Creek Lake)

(VI) Kirkwood (Walker Lake)

(VII) Macon (Blees Lake)

(VII) Overland (Wild Acres Park Lake)

(IX) Saint Louis City (Benton Park Lake, Boathouse
Lake, Clifton Heights Park Lake, Fairgrounds Park Lake,
Horseshoe Lake, Hyde Park Lake, Jefferson Lake, Lafayette Park
Lake, North Riverfront Park Lake, O’Fallon Park Lake, Willmore
Park North Lake, Willmore Park South Lake)

(X) Saint Louis County (Bee Tree Lake, Bellefontaine
Park Lake, Creve Coeur Lake, Queeny Park Lake, Simpson Lake,
Spanish Lake, Sunfish Lake, Suson Park Lakes No. 1, 2 and 3,
Tilles Park Lake, Veteran’s Memorial Park Lake)

(XI) University of Missouri (South Farm R-1 Lake)

(XII) Wentzville (Community Club Lake)

C. All black bass more than fourteen inches (14") but less
than eighteen inches (18") total length must be returned to the
water unharmed immediately after being caught on LaBelle City
Lake.

D. All white bass, striped bass and their hybrids less than
twenty inches (20") total length must be returned to the water
unharmed immediately after being caught on Cameron (Reservoir
No. 3) and Saint Louis County (Creve Coeur Lake).

E. All bluegill less than nine inches (9") total length must
be returned to the water unharmed immediately after being caught
on University of Missouri (Dairy Farm Lake No. 1 and McCredie
Lake).

E. All channel catfish less than fifteen inches (15") total
length must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after
being caught on Macon City Lake and Marceline City Lake.

G. All flathead catfish less than twenty-four inches (24")
total length must be returned to the water unharmed immediately
after being caught on Concordia (Edwin A. Pape Lake),
Higginsville City Lake and Saint Louis County (Bee Tree Lake,
Sunfish Lake).

H. All muskellunge less than forty-two inches (42") total
length must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after
being caught on Kirksville (Hazel Creek Lake).
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I. All walleye less than eighteen inches (18") total length
must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after being
caught on Memphis (Lake Showme) and Maryville (Mozingo
Lake).

8. Netting or trapping live bait is prohibited, except that on
Concordia (Edwin A. Pape Lake), Jackson County (Lake Jacomo,
Prairie Lee Lake) gizzard shad may be taken with dip net or throw
net.

9. All trout must be returned to the water unharmed immedi-
ately after being caught and only flies, artificial lures and soft plas-
tic baits (unscented) may be used from November 1 /to/ through
January 31 on Kirkwood (Walker Lake), Overland (Wild Acres
Park Lake) and Saint Louis County (Tilles Park Lake). Trout may
not be possessed on these waters during this season.

(4) On Mingo National Wildlife Refuge—

(A) Fishing is permitted under statewide regulations from
March 15 [to] through September 30 on all waters and from
October 1 [to] through March 14 on designated waters only.

(B) Nongame fish may be taken for personal use only by nets
and seines from March 15 /to] through September 30. All gear
shall be plainly labeled on a durable material with the name and
address of the person using the equipment.

(D) Squirrels may be taken from the opening of the statewide
season [to] through September 30 in designated areas by hunters
properly registered at the refuge or Duck Creek Conservation
Area.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed May 31, 1990, effective Jan. 1, 1991. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 5—Wildlife Code: Permits for Hunting,
Fishing, Trapping

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-5.205 Permits Required; Exceptions. The department
proposes to add subsection (1)(P).

PURPOSE: This amendment allows anglers to fish without permit
on a licensed trout fishing area.

(1) Any person who chases, pursues, takes, transports, ships, buys,
sells, possesses or uses wildlife in any manner must first obtain the
prescribed hunting, fishing, trapping or other permit, or be
exempted under 3 CSR 10-9.110, with the following exceptions:

(P) A customer or guest of a licensed trout fishing area may
fish for trout without permit (see 3 CSR 10-9.645).

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed July 22, 1974, effective Dec. 31, 1974. For intervening

history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 5—Wildlife Code: Permits for Hunting,
Fishing, Trapping

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-5.215 Permits and Privileges: How Obtained; Not
Transferable. The department proposes to amend section (5).

PURPOSE: This amendment changes the Migratory Bird Hunting
Permit season to July 1 through June 30.

(5) Permits are nontransferable and are valid from date of purchase
through the last day of February of the prescribed permit year;
except the Migratory Bird Hunting Permit shall be valid through
[March 10] June 30, and the Resident Trapping Permit and
Nonresident Furbearer Hunting and Trapping Permit shall be valid
through April 10. Except as provided for permits purchased by
telephone, or through the Internet, no affidavit, receipt or other
document may be issued or used in lieu of the required permit.
Temporary permit authorization number(s) allowing immediate use
of permit privileges may be provided for permits (except deer and
turkey permits) purchased through the department’s authorized
telephone or Internet sales service provider. The temporary permit
authorization number(s) and picture identification must be carried
at all times while hunting, fishing or trapping until the actual per-
mit(s) is received. Any permit issued or obtained by false state-
ment or through fraud, or while privileges are revoked or denied
by the commission, shall be invalid.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed July 22, 1974, effective Dec. 31, 1974. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 5—Wildlife Code: Permits for Hunting,
Fishing, Trapping

PROPOSED RULE
3 CSR 10-5.535 White River Border Lakes Permit

PURPOSE: This rule creates a White River Border Lakes Permit
that will allow Arkansas and Missouri residents to fish the other
state’s portion of Bull Shoals, Norfork and Table Rock lakes with-
out purchasing a Nonresident Fishing Permit.

Required for an Arkansas resident who is licensed to sport fish in
Arkansas, or who is legally exempted from the sport fishing
license requirements of Arkansas, to pursue, take, possess (with
the exception of trout) and transport fish, frogs, mussels, clams,
turtles, crayfish and live bait from the Missouri portion of the
impounded waters of Bull Shoals, Norfork and Table Rock lakes
without a Nonresident Fishing Permit; or, required for a Missouri
resident who is licensed to sport fish in Missouri, or who is legal-
ly exempted from the sport fishing license requirements of
Missouri, to pursue, take, possess (with the exception of trout) and
transport fish, frogs, mussels, clams, turtles, crayfish and live bait
from the Arkansas portion of the impounded waters of Bull Shoals,
Norfork and Table Rock lakes without an Arkansas Nonresident
Fishing License. Fee: ten dollars ($10).

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: Allowing Arkansas resident anglers to fish these
specified waters without a nonresident fishing permit is expected to
cost the Missouri Department of Conservation approximately
$54,000 in nonresident fishing permit fees. This is the estimated
net amount of lost revenue from nonresident permits, offset by sales
of a $10 Border Lakes Permit.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than $500 in the aggregate. Allowing Arkansas resident
anglers to fish these specified waters with a Border Lakes Permit
will cost an estimated 3,500 Arkansas anglers $10 each, but will
give them additional fishing opportunities at a lower cost than they
are now paying under a $35 nonresident permit. For anglers who
can benefit under this rule, the proposed change is expected to give
additional fishing opportunities at no additional cost to the angler.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with John W.
Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation, P.O. Box
180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 3 - DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10 — Conservation Commission

Chapter 5 - Wildlife Code: Permits for Hunting, Fishing, Trapping

FISCAL NOTE
PUBLIC ENTITY COSTS

Proposed Rule: 3 CSR 10-5.535 White River Border Lakes Permit
Prepared: April 24, 2000 by the Department of Conservation
Affected Public Entities: Department of Conservatjon

Allowing Arkansas resident anglers to fish these specified waters without a nonresident fishing
permit is expected to cost the Department of Conservation approximately $54,000 in
nonresident fishing permit fees. This is the estimated net amount of lost revenue from
nonresident permits, offset by sales of a $10.00 Border Lakes permit.

FIVE-YEAR
CLASSIFICATION ANNUAL COST!' AGGREGATE COST?
DECREASE IN STATE REVENUE:
(from nonresident anglers) $54,000 $270,000

'Based on Permit Year (March 1 through last day of February next following) NOT fiscal year.

2Based on an average five-year life cost, All permit fees are reviewed annually and adjust-
ments made as needed—normally within five years--to remain competitive with other states.
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Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 6—Wildlife Code: Sport Fishing: Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.405 General Provisions. The department proposes to
amend subsections (1)(A), (1)(B) and (1)(C).

PURPOSE: This amendment modifies reciprocal fishing privileges
on the Mississippi River and establishes a prohibition on the
culling of mussels and clams, bullfrogs and green frogs, turtles and
live bait.

(1) Fish, mussels and clams, bullfrogs and green frogs, turtles and
live bait may be taken only as provided in this chapter or as fur-
ther restricted in 3 CSR 10-4.115, 3 CSR 10-4.116 or other rules
as noted.

(A) Permits Required.

1. Any person, to exercise the privileges of this chapter, must
obtain and have on his/her person the prescribed permit, tempo-
rary permit authorization number(s) or evidence of exemption.
The temporary permit authorization number(s) and picture identi-
fication must be carried at all times while fishing until the actual
permit(s) is received.

2. Any person possessing a valid sport fishing license issued
by the state of [/llinois,] Kentucky, Tennessee, Arkansas or
Kansas, or who is legally exempted from those license require-
ments, without further permit or license, may fish with hook and
line in the flowing portions of the Mississippi, St. Francis or
Missouri /R/rivers within the boundary of Missouri adjacent to the
state where that person is licensed.

3. Any person possessing a valid sport fishing license issued
by the state of Illinois or Nebraska, or who is legally exempted
from those license requirements, without further permit or license,
may fish with hook and line in the flowing portions and backwa-
ters of the Mississippi and Missouri /River] rivers within the
boundary of Missouri adjacent to the state /of Nebraska] where
that person is licensed. These anglers may also fish with hook
and line in the Missouri portion of any oxbow lakes through which
the /Missouri-Nebraska] state boundary passes.

(B) Limits and Possession.

1. Any [fish] species taken into actual possession, unless
released unharmed immediately after being caught, shall continue
to be included in the daily limit of the taker for the day when taken
except as authorized in paragraph (1)(B)5. of this rule.

2. A person may possess only the daily limit of any species
while on the waters or banks thereof to which the limit applies.

3. Regardless of where taken, no fish less than the specified
minimum length limit shall be possessed on the waters or banks
thereof to which length limits apply. The head, tail and skin must
remain attached to all fish for which length limits are established
while those fish are on the waters to which length limits apply or
until the fish have been checked by an agent of the department.

4. Fish held live for release by the sponsor after a bona fide
fishing tournament need not be kept separate and identifiable fol-
lowing tournament judging if released unharmed to the waters
from which taken on the day taken.

5. During the months of September through June, black bass
released unharmed by participants in a bona fide catch-and-release
fishing tournament, which requires entrants to have a boat livewell
with adequate capacity and a pump constantly adding fresh or
recirculating water, shall not be included in the daily limit, how-
ever, at no time may the daily limit be exceeded.

6. A person may possess no more than two (2) statewide daily
limits of any species at any time.

(C) Reciprocal Privileges: Mississippi, Missouri and St. Francis
Rivers.

1. All reciprocal privileges outlined in this rule shall be con-
tingent upon a grant of like privileges by the appropriate neigh-
boring state to the licensed or exempted hook and line anglers of
Missouri.

2. Regulations of the state where the angler is licensed shall
apply in Arkansas and Tennessee boundary waters. Missouri reg-
ulations shall apply in the Missouri portion of Illinois, Kentucky,
Nebraska and Kansas boundary waters. Anglers licensed in Illinois
and Nebraska, when fishing in waters in which they are not
licensed to fish by Missouri, shall comply with the most restrictive
laws and regulations of the two (2) states.

3. Anglers must be licensed in Missouri to fish in tributaries
of the Mississippi, Missouri and St. Francis /R/rivers.

4. Anglers licensed in Arkansas, //llinois,] Kansas, Kentucky
or Tennessee may not fish from or attach any device or equipment
to land under the jurisdiction of Missouri.

5. Anglers licensed in Illinois or Nebraska may fish from or
attach any device or equipment to land under the jurisdiction of
Missouri.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 6—Wildlife Code: Sport Fishing: Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.410 Fishing Methods. The department is amending
sections (1)-(3), (5) and (6), and adding sections (4) and (9) and
renumbering the remaining sections.

PURPOSE: This amendment modifies fishing methods on the
Mississippi River, clarifies the prohibition on the use of spears
powered by explosives; and establishes a requirement that jug lines
be personally attended to at all times.

(1) Fish may be taken by the use of pole and line, trotline, throw-
line, limb line, bank line, jug line, gig, longbow, crossbow, under-
water [speargun] spearfishing, snagging, snaring, grabbing and
falconry, but only as specifically authorized in 3 CSR 10-6.415
through 3 CSR 10-6.620. No person may attempt to take fish by
rock or hand fishing, with or without hook.

(2) Number of Poles and Hooks.

(A) Not more than three (3) unlabeled poles /may be used by
any person at one (1) time. Not/ and not more than thirty-
three (33) hooks in the aggregate, for any or all methods, may be
used by any person at one /(7)] time. /[Minnow traps, hooks,
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trotlines, throwlines, limb lines, bank lines or jug lines may
not be left unattended for more than twenty-four (24)
hours or must be completely removed.]

(B) On the Mississippi River, not more than two (2) unla-
beled poles and not more than fifty (50) hooks in the aggregate
may be used by any person at one time. While fishing concur-
rently on the Mississippi River and other Missouri waters, not
more than fifty (50) hooks in the aggregate may be used and
not more than thirty-three (33) of those hooks may be used in
waters other than the Mississippi River.

(C) Trotlines and throwlines of more than one (1) individual
may be joined together, but the number of hooks in the aggre-
gate shall not exceed the prescribed number for one (1) indi-
vidual on the waters that are being fished and the lines must
be labeled with each person’s full name and address.

(3) Hooks attached to throwlines or trotlines shall be staged not
less than two feet (2') apart. [Trotlines and throwlines of more
than one (1) individual may be attached together but the
number of hooks in the aggregate shall not exceed thirty-
three (33) and the lines must be labeled with each per-
son’s full name and address.]

(4) Minnow traps, hooks, trotlines, throwlines, limb lines or
bank lines may not be left unattended for more than twenty-
four (24) hours or must be completely removed. Jug lines must
be personally attended at all times.

[(4)] (5) No person may use any explosive, poison, chemical, elec-
trical device or equipment capable of transmitting underwater sig-
nals to kill, attempt to kill, or stupefy fish, and no material and
equipment may be possessed for those purposes on waters of the
state or adjacent banks.

[(5)] (6) Fish not hooked in the mouth or jaw, except those legal-
ly taken by snagging, snaring, grabbing, gig, longbow, crossbow,
underwater /speargun] spearfishing or falconry must be returned
to the water unharmed immediately.

[(6)] (7) Fish legally taken by snagging, snaring, grabbing, gig,
longbow, crossbow, [or]/ underwater /spear fishing] spearfishing
or falconry shall be retained by the taker and included in the pre-
scribed daily limit.

[(7)] (8) Minnow traps, trotlines, throwlines, limb lines, bank
lines, jug lines and live boxes shall be plainly labeled on a durable
material with the full name and address of the person using the
equipment.

(9) Spears propelled by explosive substances may not be used.

[(8)] (10) Spearguns may not be possessed on unimpounded waters
or adjacent banks.

[(9)] (11) As an aid to fishing methods, an artificial light may be
used only above the water surface, except that underwater lights
may be used to attract fish while fishing by pole and line.

[(10)] (12) Endangered species and fish included in 3 CSR 10-
6.505 through 3 CSR 10.6.545, their parts or eggs, may not be
used for bait.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995. Amended: Filed
May 30, 1995, effective Jan. 1, 1996. Amended: Filed April 24,
2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 6—Wildlife Code: Sport Fishing: Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.415 Restricted Zones. The department is amending
sections (1)-(5).

PURPOSE: This amendment modifies fishing methods on the
Osage River between Bagnell Dam and U.S. Highway 54; and
restricts fishing methods on a portion of Little Piney Creek in
Phelps County.

(1) The following zones are closed to all fishing:

[(E) Osage River within seventy-five (75) yards of
Bagnell Dam from March 15 through April 30.]

[(F)] (E) Osage River/Lake of the Ozarks within five hundred
twenty-five feet (525') on the left descending bank and nine hun-
dred seventy-seven feet (977') on the right descending bank below
Truman Dam in the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers’ restricted
zone.

[(G)] (F) St. Francis River within two hundred twenty-five feet
(225") below Wappapello Dam.

(2) Fish may be taken only by pole and line from:

[(A) Osage River within seventy-five (75) yards of
Bagnell Dam from May 1 through March 14.]

[(B)] (A) Blue Springs Lake, except that shad may be taken by
dip net or throw net.

[(C)] (B) Clarence Cannon Reregulation pool from the posted
powerline crossing upstream to the no-boating zone four hundred
feet (400") below Clarence Cannon Dam.

[(D)] (C) Little Platte River between Smithville Dam and U.S.
Highway 169.

[(E)] (D) Longview Lake, except that shad may be taken by dip
net or throw net.

[(F)] (E) Sac River from below Stockton Dam to Highway 32.

[(G)] (F) Salt River from below Clarence Cannon Reregulation
Pool Dam to Route A.

[(H)] (G) Lake Taneycomo between the closed zone seven hun-
dred sixty feet (760') below Table Rock Dam to the mouth of Fall
Creek.

(3) Fish may be taken by all prescribed methods except trotlines,
throwlines and limb lines from:

(B) Osage River [from seventy-five (75) yards] below
Bagnell Dam to U.S. Highway 54. Snagging, snaring and grabbing
are also excluded in this zone [from March 15 through April
30].

(4) Fish may be taken by all prescribed methods except gig, cross-
bow and longbow on the following waters and as further restricted
in subsections (5)(D), /(E), (I) and (J)] (F), (H), (K) and (L) of
this rule. Fish taken by gig, crossbow and longbow may not be pos-
sessed on these waters or the banks thereof.
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(C) Little Piney Creek from the Phelps County line in
Sections 9 and 16 of T35N, R8W, including Piney Spring
Branch and Lane Spring Branch, to Milldam Hollow Access.

[(C)] (D) North Fork of White River in Ozark County from the
upper outlet of Rainbow Spring to Blair Bridge.

[(D)] (E) Roubidoux Creek from the elevated utility cable cross-
ing approximately one-half (1/2) mile below the Business 1-44
bridge in Waynesville to its confluence with the Gasconade River.

(5) Fish may be taken by all prescribed methods except that only
flies and artificial lures may be used when fishing, and soft plas-
tic baits and natural and scented baits are specifically prohibited
in:

(H) Little Piney Creek from the Phelps County Line in
Sections 9 and 16 of T35N, R8W, including Piney Spring
Branch and Lane Spring Branch, to Milldam Hollow Access.

[(H)] (I) Meramec River in Crawford and Phelps counties from
Highway 8 bridge to Scott’s Ford.

[(1)] (J) Mill Creek in Phelps County from Yelton Spring to its
confluence with Little Piney River including Wilkins Spring and
spring branch.

[(J)] (K) North Fork of White River in Ozark County from the
upper outlet of Rainbow Spring to Blair Bridge.

[(K)] (L) Roubidoux Creek from the elevated utility cable
crossing approximately one-half (1/2) mile below the Business I-
44 bridge in Waynesville to its confluence with the Gasconade
River.

[(L)] (M) Spring Creek in Phelps County from Relfe Spring to
its confluence with Big Piney River.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 6—Wildlife Code: Sport Fishing: Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.505 Black Bass. The department proposes to amend
subsections (1)(C) and (4)(A) and (B).

PURPOSE: This amendment establishes more restrictive harvest of
largemouth bass on Montrose Lake and clarifies geographic loca-
tion of statewide 12 inch minimum length limit on black bass.

(1) Daily Limit: Six (6) in the aggregate, including smallmouth
bass, largemouth bass, spotted bass and all black bass hybrids,
except:

(C) The daily limit is two (2) black bass on Montrose Lake.

(4) Length Limits.

(A) Streams: All black bass less than twelve inches (12") in total
length must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after
being caught from the unimpounded portion of any stream, includ-
ing Pools 20-26 on the Mississippi River, except as follows:

1. On Big River from the Highway 21 bridge (near
Washington State Park) to its confluence with the Meramec River
and Mineral Fork from the Highway F bridge (Washington
County) to its confluence with the Big River, there is no length
limit on spotted (Kentucky) bass.

2. On the Big Piney River from Slabtown Access to Ross
Access, the Eleven Point River from Thomasville Access to the
Arkansas line, the Meramec River from Scott’s Ford to the rail-
road crossing at Bird’s Nest, the Big River from the Highway 21
bridge (near Washington State Park) to its confluence with the
Meramec River, Mineral Fork from the Highway F bridge
(Washington County) to its confluence with the Big River, Osage
Fork of the Gasconade River from the Skyline Drive bridge (near
Orla in Laclede County) to its confluence with the Gasconade
River and Tenmile Creek from the Highway B bridge (Carter
County) to its confluence with Cane Creek, all smallmouth bass
less than fifteen inches (15") in total length must be returned to the
water unharmed immediately after being caught.

3. On the Jacks Fork River from Highway 17 bridge to
Highway 106 bridge and the Gasconade River from Highway Y
bridge (Pulaski County) to Highway D bridge (Phelps County), all
smallmouth bass less than eighteen inches (18") in total length
must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after being
caught.

4. On the James River from Hooten Town bridge (Stone
County Road A-90) to Highway 13 bridge, all smallmouth bass and
largemouth bass less than fifteen inches (15") must be returned to
the water unharmed immediately after being caught.

(B) Impoundments: No length limits, except:

1. All black bass less than fifteen (15") in total length must
be returned to the water unharmed immediately after being caught
from Blue Springs Lake, Long Branch Lake, Longview Lake,
Mark Twain Lake, /Montrose Lake,] Smithville Lake, Table
Rock Lake, Thomas Hill Lake, Truman Lake or Stockton Lake.

2. All black bass less than thirteen inches (13") in total length
must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after being
caught from Pomme de Terre Lake.

3. All black bass less than twelve inches (12") in total length
must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after being
caught from the Clarence Cannon Reregulation Pool (below Mark
Twain Lake dam).

4. All largemouth bass and smallmouth bass less than fifteen
inches (15") and all spotted (Kentucky) bass less than twelve inch-
es (12") in total length must be returned to the water unharmed
immediately after being caught from Bull Shoals Lake, Lake of the
Ozarks or Norfork Lake.

5. All black bass less than eighteen inches (18") in total
length must be returned to the water unharmed immediately
after being caught from Montrose Lake.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
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John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 6—Wildlife Code: Sport Fishing: Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.510 Channel Catfish, Blue Catfish, Flathead
Catfish. The department proposes to add subsection (1)(C).

PURPOSE: This amendment liberalizes the daily limits on channel
catfish, blue catfish and flathead catfish on the Mississippi River.

(1) Daily Limit: Ten (10) channel catfish and blue catfish in the
aggregate and five (5) flathead catfish, except:

(C) On the Mississippi River, the daily and possession limit
it twenty (20) channel catfish and blue catfish in the aggregate
and ten (10) flathead catfish.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 6—Wildlife Code: Sport Fishing: Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.525 Paddlefish. The department proposes to amend
section (3).

PURPOSE: This amendment lengthens the paddlefish snagging
season on the Mississippi River.

(3) Seasons: March 15 [to] through April 30, except on the
Mississippi River where the season is March 15 through May
15 and September 15 through December 15.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 6—Wildlife Code: Sport Fishing: Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.530 Rock Bass (goggle-eye) and Warmouth. The
department proposes to amend section (4).

PURPOSE: This amendment adds the popular name of rock bass
(goggle-eye) and establishes minimum length limits in portions of
the Eleven Point River and Osage Fork of the Gasconade River.

(4) Length Limits: No length limits, except:

(A) /aJAll rock bass less than nine inches (9") in total length
must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after being
caught on the Big Piney River from Highway 17 bridge to Sand
Shoals bridge on the county road linking Routes AA and E.

(B) All rock bass less than eight inches (8") in total length
must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after
being caught on the Eleven Point River from Thomasville
access to the Arkansas line and the Osage Fork of the
Gasconade River from Skyline Drive bridge (near Orla in
Laclede County) to its confluence with the Gasconade River.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995. Amended: Filed
May 30, 1995, effective Jan. 1, 1996. Amended: Filed April 24,
2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 6—Wildlife Code: Sport Fishing: Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.535 Trout. The department proposes to amend sub-
sections (1)(C) and (4)(C).

PURPOSE: This amendment establishes more restrictive harvest
regulations on trout in a portion of the Little Piney Creek.
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(1) Daily Limit: Five (5) [rainbow trout and brown] trout in the
aggregate, except/—/:

(C) The daily limit is one (1) trout in: Blue Spring Creek in
Crawford County from Blue Spring to its confluence with
Meramec River; Eleven Point River in Oregon County from its
confluence with Greer Spring Branch to Turner Mill; Little Piney
Creek from the Phelps County line in Sections 9 and 16 of
T35N, R8W, including Piney Spring Branch and Lane Spring
Branch, to Milldam Hollow Access; Spring Creek in Phelps
County from Relfe Spring to its confluence with Big Piney River;
Mill Creek in Phelps County from Yelton Spring to its confluence
with Little Piney Creek including Wilkins Spring and spring
branch; and the North Fork of White River in Ozark County from
the upper outlet of Rainbow Spring to Blair Bridge.

(4) Length Limits: No length limits, except/—/:

(C) All trout less than eighteen inches (18") in total length must
be released unharmed immediately after being caught from Blue
Spring Creek in Crawford County from Blue Spring to its conflu-
ence with Meramec River; Eleven Point River in Oregon County
from its confluence with Greer Spring Branch to Turner Mill;
Little Piney Creek from the Phelps County line in Sections 9
and 16 of T35N, R8W, including Piney Spring Branch and
Lane Spring Branch, to Milldam Hollow Access; Spring Creek
in Phelps County from Relfe Spring to its confluence with Big
Piney River; Mill Creek in Phelps County from Yelton Spring to
its confluence with Little Piney Creek including Wilkins Spring
and spring branch; and North Fork of White River in Ozark
County from the upper outlet of Rainbow Spring to Blair Bridge.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 6—Wildlife Code: Sport Fishing: Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.545 White Bass, Yellow Bass, Striped Bass. The
department proposes to amend sections (1) and (4) and add sub-
sections (1)(B) and (4)(B).

PURPOSE: This amendment liberalizes the harvest restrictions on
white bass, yellow bass, striped bass and their hybrids on the
Mississippi River.

(1) Daily Limit: Fifteen (15) white bass, yellow bass, striped bass
and their hybrids in the aggregate, except:

(A) [0/On Thomas Hill Lake where the daily limit is four (4) in
the aggregate.

(B) On the Mississippi River where the daily and possession
limit is thirty (30) in the aggregate.

(4) Length Limits: No length limits, except the daily limit of white
bass, yellow bass, striped bass and their hybrids may include not
more than four (4) fish more than eighteen inches (18") in total
length.

(A) On Thomas Hill Lake, all white bass, yellow bass, striped
bass and their hybrids less than twenty inches (20") in total length
must be returned to the water unharmed immediately after being
caught.

(B) On the Mississippi River, there is no length limit on
white bass, yellow bass, striped bass and their hybrids.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 6—Wildlife Code: Sport Fishing: Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.550 Other Fish. The department proposes to amend
section (1), subsections (2)(B), (D), (E) and (F).

PURPOSE: This amendment liberalizes the daily limits on other
fish and lengthens the season during which they may be taken by
snagging, snaring or grabbing on the Mississippi River; clarifies
inclusive dates and terminology.

(1) Daily Limit: The daily limit for fish, other than those species
listed as endangered in 3 CSR 10-4.111 or defined as game fish,
is fifty (50)/,/ in the aggregate, if taken by pole and line, trotline,
throwline, limb line, bank line, jug line or /by/ underwater
spearfishing. The daily limit if taken by gig, longbow, crossbow,
snaring, snagging, grabbing and falconry is twenty (20) in the
aggregate.

(A) In the Current River from Cedar Grove, downstream to the
Arkansas line, the daily limit may include no more than five (5)
hogsuckers.

(B) In the Mississippi River, the daily and possession limit
for fish included in this rule is one hundred (100) in the aggre-
gate.

(2) Methods and Seasons.

(B) Fish included in this rule may be taken by snagging, snaring
or grabbing from March 15 [to] through May 15 and from
September 15 /to] through January 31, except [that in]:

1. In the Osage River downstream from U.S. Highway 54 to
its confluence with the Missouri River and in the impounded
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waters of Lake of the Ozarks and Truman Lake, fish may be taken
by these methods only from March 15 /to/ through April 30.

2. In the Mississippi River, fish may be taken by these
methods from March 15 through May 15 and from September
15 through December 15.

3. On Lake of the Ozarks and its tributaries, Osage River
below U.S. Highway 54 and Truman Lake and its tributaries, no
person shall continue to snag, snare or grab for any species after
taking a daily limit of two (2) paddlefish.

(D) Fish included in this rule may be taken by gig from streams
and impoundment between sunrise and midnight from September
15 /to] through January 31, and from impounded waters between
sunrise and sunset throughout the remainder of the year.

(E) Fish included in this rule may be taken by crossbow or
underwater spearfishing from impounded waters between sunrise
and sunset throughout the year.

(F) Fish included in this rule may be taken from waters existing
temporarily through overflow outside the banks of a river or ditch
by gig, underwater spearfishing, longbow, crossbow, snagging or
grabbing between sunrise and sunset throughout the year.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 6—Wildlife Code: Sport Fishing: Seasons,
Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-6.615 Bullfrogs and Green Frogs. The department
proposes to amend section (3).

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies inclusive dates.
(3) Seasons: Sunset June 30 /to midnight] through October 31.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 13, 1994, effective Jan. 1, 1995. Amended: Filed
May 30, 1995, effective Jan. 1, 1996. Amended: Filed April 24,
2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 7—Wildlife Code: Hunting: Seasons, Methods,
Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-7.410 Hunting Methods. The department proposes to
amend subsections (1)(D), (H) and (I).

PURPOSE: This amendment corrects information relating to
firearms deer hunting season.

(1) Wildlife may be hunted and taken only in accordance with the
following:

(D) Dogs. Dogs may be used during the prescribed open seasons
to chase, pursue or take wildlife except deer, turkey, mink,
muskrat, beaver and river otter. All dogs used to hunt, chase or
pursue wildlife shall wear a collar while hunting that contains the
full name and address or complete telephone number of the owner,
except this provision does not apply to dogs used by waterfowl and
game bird hunters. Furbearers, squirrels and rabbits may not be
chased, pursued or taken with dogs during daylight hours of the
November portion of the firearms deer season in Bollinger,
Butler, Carter, Dent, Iron, Madison, Oregon, Reynolds, Ripley,
Shannon and Wayne counties.

(H) Special Firearms Provision. During the November and
January portions of the firearms deer season, other wildlife may
be hunted only with a shotgun and shot not larger than No. 4,
except that this provision does not apply to waterfowl hunters, trap-
pers or to a landowner on his/her land or to a lessee on the land
on which s/he resides.

(I) Bows. Longbows and crossbows may be used to take wildlife
during the prescribed hunting seasons. Arrows and bolts contain-
ing any drug, poison, chemical or explosive are prohibited, but
illuminated sights, scopes and quickpoint sights may be used.
Hand-held string releasing mechanisms are permitted with
longbows.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed July 22, 1974, effective Dec. 31, 1974. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 7—Wildlife Code: Hunting: Seasons, Methods,
Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-7.415 Quail: Seasons, Limits. The department pro-
poses to amend provisions of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies inclusive dates.
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Quail may be taken from November 1 /[to/ through January 15.
Daily limit: eight (8) quail; possession limit: sixteen (16) quail.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Sept. 25, 1973, effective Oct. 15, 1973. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 7—Wildlife Code: Hunting: Seasons, Methods,
Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-7.417 Ruffed Grouse: Seasons, Limits. The depart-
ment proposes to amend provisions of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies inclusive dates.

Ruffed grouse may be taken from October 15 /[to]/ through
January 15 in those parts of Boone, Callaway, Montgomery and
Warren counties south of Interstate Highway 70, in that part of
Macon County north of Highway 36, and in Adair, Carter,
Crawford, Iron, Madison, Oregon, Putnam, Reynolds, Ripley, Ste.
Genevieve, Shannon, Sullivan, Schuyler and Washington counties.
Daily limit: two (2) ruffed grouse; possession limit: four (4) ruffed
grouse.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Nov. 29, 1982, effective March 11, 1983. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 7—Wildlife Code: Hunting: Seasons, Methods,
Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-7.420 Rabbits: Seasons, Limits. The department pro-
poses to amend section (1).

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies inclusive dates.

(1) Cottontail and swamp rabbits may be taken between sunrise
and sunset, from October 1 [to] through February 15. Daily
limit: six (6) rabbits; including no more than two (2) swamp rab-
bits; possession limit: twelve (12) rabbits; including no more than
four (4) swamp rabbits.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Sept. 23, 1970, effective Dec. 31, 1970. Amended: Filed
Aug. 8, 1989, effective Sept. 11, 1989. Amended: Filed April 24,
2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 7—Wildlife Code: Hunting: Seasons, Methods,
Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-7.425 Squirrels: Seasons, Limits. The department pro-
poses to amend provisions of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies inclusive dates.

Squirrels may be taken from the fourth Saturday in May /[to]
through January 15. Daily limit: six (6) squirrels; possession
limit: twelve (12) squirrels.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Aug. 26, 1975, effective Dec. 31, 1975. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 7—Wildlife Code: Hunting: Seasons, Methods,
Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-7.430 Pheasants: Seasons, Limits. The department
proposes to amend sections (1) and (2).



Page 1406

Proposed Rules

June 1, 2000
Vol. 25, No. 11

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies inclusive dates.

(1) Male pheasants may be taken from November 1 /to] through
January 15 north of U.S. Highway 36 from the Kansas line to the
Illinois line, and those portions of DeKalb and Buchanan counties
lying south of U.S. Highway 36, and all of Platte and St. Charles
counties. Daily limit: two (2) male pheasants; possession limit:
four (4) male pheasants.

(2) Male pheasants only may be taken from December 1 [to]
through December 12 in Dunklin, New Madrid, Pemiscot and
Stoddard counties. Daily limit: one (1) male pheasant; possession
limit: one (1) male pheasant.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Sept. 25, 1974, effective Dec. 31, 1974. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 7—Wildlife Code: Hunting: Seasons, Methods,
Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-7.441 Crows: Seasons, Methods, Limits. The depart-
ment proposes to amend provisions of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies inclusive dates.

Crows may be taken in any numbers by shotgun, rifle, handguns,
archery and falconry from November 1 /to/ through March 3.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Sept. 25, 1973, effective Oct. 10, 1973. Amended: Filed
Aug.1, 1980, effective Sept. 13, 1980. Amended: Filed April 24,
2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 7—Wildlife Code: Hunting: Seasons, Methods,
Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-7.445 Bullfrogs: Seasons, Methods, Limits. The
department proposes to amend provisions of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies inclusive dates.

Bullfrogs and green frogs may be taken, possessed and transport-
ed from sunset, June 30/, to midnight,] through October 31 by
the holder of a hunting permit by means of a .22 caliber rimfire
rifle or pistol or by pellet gun, longbow, crossbow, hand or hand-
net. An artificial light may be used. Daily limit: eight (8) frogs in
the aggregate; possession limit: sixteen (16) frogs in the aggregate.
Only the daily limit of frogs may be possessed upon the waters and
banks thereof where daily limits apply.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Aug. 18, 1971, effective Dec. 31, 1971. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 7—Wildlife Code: Hunting: Seasons, Methods,
Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-7.450 Furbearers: Hunting Seasons, Methods. The
department proposes to amend provisions of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies inclusive dates.

Striped skunk, raccoon, opossum, badger, red fox, gray fox and
bobcat may be taken in any numbers by hunting from November
20 [to] through January 20 provided that bobcat may be taken
only in that part of the state west and south of a line running west
from the Illinois border on Interstate Highway 70 to U.S. Highway
63; north on U.S. Highway 63 to U.S. Highway 36; west on U.S.
Highway 36 to U.S. Highway 65; north on U.S. Highway 65 to the
Iowa border. Pelts of furbearers may be possessed, transported,
consigned for processing and sold only by the taker from
November 20 [to] through February 4, except that bobcats or
their pelts shall be delivered by the taker to an agent of the depart-
ment in the county of harvest or any open county for registration
or tagging before selling, transferring, tanning or mounting, but
not later than February 4. Tagged bobcats or their pelts may be
possessed throughout the year. It shall be illegal to purchase or sell
untagged bobcats or their pelts. Other pelts may be delivered or
shipped and consigned by the taker to a licensed taxidermist or
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tanner before the close of the possession season for pelts. These
pelts must be recorded by the taxidermist or tanner and shall not
enter the raw fur market. After tanning, pelts may be possessed,
bought or sold without permit. Skinned carcasses of legally taken
furbearers may be sold by the taker throughout the year. Coyotes
may be taken by hunting, and pelts and carcasses may be pos-
sessed, transported and sold in any numbers throughout the year;
except that coyotes may not be chased, pursued or taken during
daylight hours from April 1 through the day prior to the beginning
of the prescribed spring turkey hunting season, and may not be
chased, pursued or taken through the prescribed spring turkey
hunting season, and no furbearers may be chased, pursued or taken
during daylight hours with the aid of dogs from November 1
through the prescribed November portion of the firearms deer
hunting season, during any extended firearms deer hunting season
in deer management units open to hunting or with firearms from a
boat at night, or be taken with the aid of an electronic call at night.
The dens or nests of furbearers shall not be molested or destroyed.
No person shall accept payment for furbearers taken by another.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Aug. 16, 1972, effective Dec. 31, 1972. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 7—Wildlife Code: Hunting: Seasons, Methods,
Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-7.455 Turkeys: Seasons, Methods, Limits. The
department proposes to amend subsection (1)(C) of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment corrects an error in the current para-
graph.

(1) Turkeys may be pursued, taken, killed, possessed or transport-
ed only as permitted in this rule.

(C) Fall Archery Season. A person possessing the prescribed
archer’s hunting permit may take two (2) turkeys of either sex from
October 1 through January 15, excluding the dates of the
November portion of the firearms deer season. Turkeys may be
taken only by longbow; without the use of dogs, bait, recorded
calls or live decoys; from one-half (1/2) hour before sunrise to
one-half (1/2) hour after sunset. An archer, while in the act of
pursuing or hunting turkey on an archer’s permit, shall not have a
firearm on his/her person.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Dec. 15, 1975, effective Dec. 31, 1975. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 9—Wildlife Code: Confined Wildlife:
Privileges, Permits, Standards

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-9.110 General Prohibition; Applications. The depart-
ment proposes to amend sections (1), (2) and paragraph (3)(D)1.

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies a cross-reference, deletes
reference to a specific variety of species of pheasants, and adds
three species to the Approved Aquatic Species List.

(1) A maximum of five (5) specimens of any native wildlife not
listed in 3 CSR 10-4.110(4) or 3 CSR 10-9.240, except endangered
species, bats, hellbenders and alligator snapping turtles, may be
taken and possessed alive by a resident of Missouri without per-
mit, but these animals shall not be bought or sold. Bones, skins,
shells and other parts of such wildlife may be possessed for per-
sonal use without permit, but these wildlife parts in any form shall
not be bought or sold.

(2) Except for federally-designated endangered species and species
listed in 3 CSR 10-9.240, the following may be bought, sold, pos-
sessed, transported and exhibited without permit: bison; amphib-
ians, reptiles, and mammals not native to Missouri; and those birds
(except ring-necked [and Korean] pheasants and gray par-
tridge/s/) not native to the continental United States.

(3) Fish, crayfish and salamanders may be bought, sold, trans-
ported, propagated, taken and possessed by any person without
permit throughout the year in any number or size and by any
method providing—

(D) That the privileges of this section apply only to species list-
ed in the Approved Aquatic Species List (including all subspecies,
varieties and hybrids of the same bought, sold, transported, prop-
agated, taken and possessed for purposes of aquaculture), species
frozen or processed for sale as food products, species incapable of
surviving in fresh water, species held only in aquaria or other
closed containers having water discharged only into approved
municipal waste treatment facilities or on-site waste treatment sys-
tems that include sand filtration or chlorination, or with written
authorization of the director.

1. Fishes.
A. Shovelnose sturgeon (Scaphirhynchus platorynchus)
B. Paddlefish (Polyodon spathula)
C. Spotted gar (Lepisosteus oculatus)
D. Longnose gar (Lepisosteus osseus)
E. Shortnose gar (Lepisosteus platostomus)
F. Bowfin (Amia calva)
G. Gizzard shad (Dorosoma cepedianum)
H. Threadfin shad (Dorosoma petenense)
I. Rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus niykiss)
J. Golden trout (Oncorhynchus aquabonita)
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K. Cutthroat trout (Oncorhynchus clarkii)
L. Brown trout (Salmo trutta)
M. Brook trout (Salvelinus fontinalis)
N. Coho salmon (Oncorhynchus kisutch)
O. Northern pike (Esox lucius)
P. Muskellunge (Esox masquinongy)
Q. Goldfish (Carassius auratus)
R. Grass carp (Ctenopharyngodon idella)
S. Common carp (Cyprinus carpio)
T. Golden shiner (Notemigonus crysoleucas)
U. Bluntnose minnow (Pimephales notatus)
V. Fathead minnow (Pimephales promelas)
W. Blue Sucker (Cycleptus elongatus)
[W.] X. Bigmouth buffalo (Ictiobus cyprinellus)
[X.] Y. Black bullhead (Ameirus melas)
[Y.] Z. Yellow bullhead (Ameirus natalis)
[Z.] AA. Brown bullhead (Ameirus nebulosus)
[AA.] BB. Blue catfish (Ictalurus furcatus)
[BB.] CC. Channel catfish (Ictalurus punctatus)
[CC.] DD. Flathead catfish (Pylodictis olivaris)
[DD.] EE. Mosquitofish (Gambusia affinis)
[EE.] FF. White bass (Morone chrysops)
[FF.] GG. Striped bass (Morone saxatilis)
[GG.] HH. Green sunfish (Lepomis cyanellus)
[HH.] 11. Pumpkinseed (Lepomis gibbosus)
[1.] JJ. Warmouth (Lepomis gulosus)
[JJ.] KK. Orangespotted sunfish (Lepomis humilis)
[KK.] LL. Bluegill (Lepomis macrochirus)
[LL.] MM. Longear sunfish (Lepomis megalotis)
[MM.] NN. Redear sunfish (Lepomis microlophus)
[NN.] OO0. Smallmouth bass (Micropterus dolomieu)
[00.] PP. Spotted bass (Micropterus punctulatus)
[PP] QQ. Largemouth bass (Micropterus salmoides)
[QQ.] RR. White crappie (Pomoxis annularis)
[RR.] SS. Black crappie (Pomoxis nigro maculatus)
[SS.] TT. Yellow perch (Perca flavescens)
UU. Sauger (Stizostedion canadense)
[TT.] VV. Walleye (Stizostedion vitreum)
WW. Freshwater drum (Aplodinotus grunniens)
[UU.] XX. Bighead carp (Hypophthal-michthys nobilis)
2. Crustaceans.
A. Northern crayfish (Orconectes virilis)
B. White river crayfish (Procambarus acutus)
C. Red swamp crayfish (Procambarus clarkii)
3. Amphibians.
A. Tiger salamander larvae (Ambystoma tigrinum)

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. This rule
was previously filed as 3 CSR 10-4.110(5), (6) and (10). Original
rule filed June 26, 1975, effective July 7, 1975. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 9—Wildlife Code: Confined Wildlife:
Privileges, Permits, Standards

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-9.230 Class I Wildlife. The department proposes to
amend provisions of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment deletes reference to a specific variety
of pheasants.

Class I wildlife shall include bullfrogs and green frogs and birds
(including ring-necked /and Korean] pheasants and gray par-
tridge/s/) native to the continental United States, and those species
of mammals (except bison and those listed in 3 CSR 10-9.240) and
nonvenomous reptiles and amphibians native to Missouri.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed June 9, 1993, effective Jan. 31, 1994. Amended: Filed
June 5, 1996, effective Dec. 30, 1996. Amended: Filed May 10,
1999, effective March 1, 2000. Amended: Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 9—Wildlife Code: Confined Wildlife:
Privileges, Permits, Standards

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-9.420 Wildlife Hobby Permit. The department pro-
poses to amend section (1).

PURPOSE: This amendment deletes reference to a specific variety
of species of pheasants.

(1) A wildlife hobby permit authorizes the holder to purchase, pos-
sess and propagate not more than fifty (50) ring-necked /or
Korean] pheasants and bobwhite quail, in the aggregate, for per-
sonal use only and not for sale; and to hold in captivity not more
than one (1) game mammal purchased from a Missouri wildlife
breeder permit holder, except that Class II wildlife, hoofed mam-
mals and skunks may not be held under this permit. Game mam-
mals may be held in captivity but may not be propagated or sold.
This permit shall be obtained prior to receipt of wildlife. The per-
mittee must furnish proof that game mammals and birds were
legally obtained. Wildlife must be confined in humane and sani-
tary facilities that meet standards specified in 3 CSR 10-9.220.
Wildlife may be disposed of only in accordance with instructions
of an agent of the department but may not be released, sold or
given away. The permittee is subject to all provisions of section
578.023, RSMo.
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AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. This rule
previously filed as 3 CSR 10-9.620. Original rule filed Aug. 27,
1975, effective Dec. 31, 1975. For intervening history, please con-
sult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed April 24,
2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 9—Wildlife Code: Confined Wildlife:
Privileges, Permits, Standards

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-9.625 Field and Retriever Trial Permit. The depart-
ment proposes to amend sections (1) and (5).

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies the use of dogs to chase and
pursue wildlife.

(1) To conduct a field or retriever trial, application for a permit
must be made to the department by a resident, and postmarked not
less than ten (10) days prior to the trial. The application shall
specify location of trial headquarters in Missouri, area where the
trial will be held, type of wildlife to be chased or pursued,
approximate number of hunters, approximate number of dogs and
starting and closing dates, extending through a period of not more
than ten (10) consecutive days for any single trial permit. Permits
and conditions for trials at August A. Busch Memorial
Conservation Area, St. Charles County, James A. Reed Memorial
Wildlife Area, Jackson County, Pony Express Conservation Area,
DeKalb County and Whetstone Creek Conservation Area,
Callaway County, may be obtained from the respective area man-
ager upon receipt of proper application postmarked not less than
thirty (30) days prior to the trial.

(5) Except as otherwise provided in this rule, permits will not be
valid for hound field trials during or five (5) days prior to the
spring turkey or firearms deer hunting seasons except on estab-
lished field trial areas. Permits for raccoon field trials will be valid
during nighttime hours and provide for casting no more than four
(4) dogs at one time during or five (5) days prior to the spring
turkey hunting season. In field trials under permit, wildlife not
prohibited in 3 CSR 10-7.410 may be /pursued] chased by dogs
under control but may be pursued and taken only during the open
seasons and only by persons possessing a valid hunting permit.
The sponsoring organization shall issue identification bearing the
field trial permit number to all persons without a valid hunting per-
mit who enter dogs in a trial; provided, that this identification shall
not be required for trials held entirely on one (1) contiguous tract
of land where an agent of the department is provided with a com-
plete list of the names and addresses of all participants before the
trial.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Aug. 27, 1975, effective Dec. 31, 1975. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 9—Wildlife Code: Confined Wildlife:
Privileges, Permits, Standards

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-9.627 Dog Training Area Permit. The department pro-
poses to amend provisions of ths rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment reduces confusion among dog train-
ers that chukars are exotic partridge.

A dog training area permit is required to operate a dog training
area, and to purchase, hold, release and shoot on the training area
legally acquired pheasants, /chukars] exotic partridge and quail
as an aid to dog training. Dog training areas shall be a single tract
of land not more than twenty (20) acres in size and posted with
signs, which sign is incorporated into this rule by reference,
specified by the department. Shooting privileges shall be limited to
the individual permittee and not more than two (2) training assis-
tants, whose names shall be listed on the permit application and
specified in the permit. All shooters shall possess the prescribed
hunting permit. The permittee shall attach to each game bird killed
on the area a leg band obtained from the department at a cost of
ten dollars ($10) per hundred (100) bands, and no game birds shall
be transported from the area without the prescribed leg band. Fee:
twenty dollars ($20).

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Aug. 31, 1965, effective Dec. 31, 1965. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 9—Wildlife Code: Confined Wildlife:
Privileges, Permits, Standards

PROPOSED RULE
3 CSR 10-9.640 Licensed Trout Fishing Area Permit

PURPOSE: This rule establishes a Licensed Trout Fishing Area
Permit.

To maintain and operate a licensed trout fishing area, and to stock
legally acquired trout. Fee: one hundred dollars ($100).

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: The permit established under this proposed rule
will cost those business operations covered under the rule $100 per
year. It is expected that ten to twelve existing businesses will be
affected by this requirement, for a total estimated private entity
cost of $1,000 to $1,200.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with John W.
Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation, P.O. Box
180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 3 - DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10 — Conservation Commission
Chapter 9 - Wildlife Code: Confined Wildlife: Privileges, Permits, Standards

FISCAL NOTE
PRIVATE ENTITY COSTS

Proposed Rule: 3 CSR 10-9.640 Licensed Trout Fishing Area Permit
Prepared: April 24, 2000 by Department of Conservation
Affected Private Entities: Businesses operating a Licensed Traut Fishing Area

This permit will cost those business operations covered under the rule $100 per year. ltis
expected that ten to twelve existing businesses will be affected by this requirement, for a total
estimated private entity cost of $1,000 to $1,200.

FIVE-YEAR
CLASSIFICATION ANNUAL cOsT! AGGREGATE COST?
Licensed Trout Fishing Area
Permittees $1,200.00 $6,000.00

' Based on Permit Year (March 1 through last day of February next following) NOT
fiscal year.

_2 Based on an average five-year life cost. All permit fees are reviewed annually and
adjustments made as needed—normally within five years—to remain competitive with other
states.
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Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission

Chapter 9—Wildlife Code: Confined Wildlife:
Privileges, Permits, Standards

PROPOSED RULE

3 CSR 10-9.645 Licensed Trout Fishing Area Permit:
Privileges, Requirements

PURPOSE: This rule delineates the privileges and requirements
associated with the Licensed Trout Fishing Area Permit.

(1) A representative of the department shall inspect each proposed
licensed trout fishing area to determine that it meets all require-
ments of this rule before a permit is issued.

(2) Permits will not be issued for water areas where:

(A) The department manages trout populations that are main-
tained by stocking or natural reproduction.

(B) The release of trout is likely to jeopardize any wildlife des-
ignated as a state or federal threatened or endangered species.

(C) There is not year-round trout habitat.

(3) A permittee may release legally acquired rainbow trout or
brown trout for fishing and harvest throughout the year, under the
following conditions:

(A) The immediate source of the trout to be stocked must be
certified as negative for Viral Hemorrhagic Septicemia, Infectious
Pancreatic Necrosis, Infectious Hematopoietic Necrosis,
Mpyxobolus cerebralis or other diseases which may threaten fish
stocks within the state. Certification will only be accepted from
federal, state or industry personnel approved by the department
and only in accordance with provisions of the fish importation per-
mit regulations (see 3 CSR 10-9.110(4)).

(B) The permittee shall keep an accurate record of all trout of
each species acquired, propagated, sold, held and released. These
records shall be subject to inspection by an authorized agent of the
department at any reasonable time. The permittee shall provide
each customer or guest with a receipt indicating the date and num-
ber of trout taken. Customers or guests must retain this receipt
during transport and storage of the trout.

(4) Customers or guests may fish for and take rainbow trout and
brown trout in any numbers within the licensed trout fishing area
without additional permits.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with John W.
Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation, P.O. Box
180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 10—Wildlife Code: Commercial Permits:
Seasons, Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-10.707 Fur Dealer’s Permit. The department proposes
to amend provisions of this rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies inclusive dates.

To buy, sell, possess, process, transport and ship the pelts and car-
casses of furbearers from July 1 /to] through June 30. Fee: three
hundred dollars ($300).

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Aug. 16, 1973, effective Dec. 31, 1973. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 10—Wildlife Code: Commercial Permits:
Seasons, Methods, Limits

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-10.782 Commercial Musseling: Seasons, Methods.
The department proposes to amend section (1).

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies inclusive dates.

(1) Mussels may be taken for commercial purposes from sunrise
to sunset from April 1 /to] through August 31, only by hand or
brail. Brails must be less than twenty feet (20') in length and only
three (3) brails per boat may be possessed. Mussels may not be
possessed on waters open to commercial musseling during hours
closed to harvest. Commercial musselers may possess mussels
only from April 1 /to] through September 15. All endangered
species, regardless of size, all washboard mussels (Megalonaias
nervosa), all threeridge mussels (Amblema plicata) that can pass
through a ring with an inside diameter of three inches (3"), all
mapleleaf mussels (Quadrula quadrula) that can pass through a
ring with an inside diameter of two and three-fourths inch-
es (2 3/4") and all other mussels that can pass through a ring
with an inside diameter of two and one-half inches (2 1/2") must
be returned unharmed immediately to the bed where taken.
Mussels may be taken in any numbers by the holder of a commer-
cial musseling permit from commercial waters. Mussels may not
be taken or possessed in Pool 24 of the Mississippi River west of
the navigation channel.
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AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. 1V, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed April 28, 1992, effective Feb. 26, 1993. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 11—Wildlife Code: Definitions

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-11.805 Definitions. The department proposes to amend
sections (11), (14) (18) and (20)-(49).

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies several definitions and
improves the consistency of wording within the Wildlife Code.

(11) Commission: The Conservation Commission as /established
by the Constitution] specified in Section 3, Reorganization
Act of 1974, pursuant to Article IV, Section 40(a) of the
Constitution of Missouri (see also Article IV, Section 12).

(14) Department: The Department of Conservation as specified in
Section 3, Reorganization Act of 1974, pursuant to Article IV,
Section 40(a) of [the state constitution] Constitution of
Missouri (see also Article IV, Section 12).

(18) Field or retriever trials: An organized contest, demonstration
or trial of dogs where prizes or awards of any kind are offered and
where dogs under control are used to chase, pursue or retrieve
wildlife.

(20) Flies, lures and baits: The following are authorized for use
except where restricted in 3 CSR 10-4.115, 3 CSR 10-4.116, 3
CSR 10-6.415, and 3 CSR 10-6.535:

(A) Fly—A lure constructed on a single-point hook, of feath-
ers, tinsel, chenille, yarn, fur, hair, silk, rayon or nylon thread
or floss, with or without spinner.

(B) Artificial lure—A manufactured lure other than a fly or
soft plastic bait (unscented).

(C) Soft plastic bait (unscented)—Synthetic eggs, synthetic
worms, synthetic grubs and soft plastic lures.

(D) Natural and scented baits—A natural fish food such as
bait fish, crayfish, frogs permitted as bait, grubs, insects, lar-
vae, worms, salmon eggs, cheese, corn and other food sub-
stances not containing any ingredient to stupefy, injure or kill
fish. Does not include flies or artificial lures. Includes dough
bait, putty or paste-type bait, any substance designed to attract
fish by taste or smell and any fly, lure or bait containing or
used with such substances.

[(20)] (21) Furbearing animals: furbearers: Mink, muskrat, opos-
sum, river otter, striped skunk, spotted skunk /(civet cat)], bad-

ger, beaver, raccoon, /weasel (ermine)] long-tailed weasel, red
fox, gray fox, bobcat, mountain lion, black bear and coyote.

[(21)] (22) Game birds: Geese, ducks, ring-necked /and Korean]
pheasant, gray partridge, ruffed grouse, wild turkey, northern bob-
white quail, Virginia rail, sora rail, American coot, American
woodcock, common snipe, mourning dove and crows.

[(22)] (23) Game fish: Shall include the following in which the
common names are to be interpreted as descriptive of, but not lim-
iting, the classification by Latin names:

(A) Ambloplites, all species of rock bass, commonly known as
[rock bass] goggle-eye, redeye, [goggle-eye] shadow bass,
Ozark bass.

(B) Lepomis gulosis, commonly known as warmouth bass.

(C) Esox, [those] all species commonly known as muskellunge,
tiger muskie, muskie-pike, hybrid, northern pike, chain pickerel,
grass pickerel.

(D) Ictalurus, all species except bullheads, commonly known as
channel catfish, blue catfish, Mississippi cat, Fulton cat, spotted
cat, white cat, willow cat, fiddler cat.

(E) Micropterus, all species of black bass and their hybrids,
commonly known as largemouth bass, lineside bass, smallmouth
bass, brown bass, Kentucky bass, spotted bass.

(F) Polyodon, all species, commonly known as paddlefish,
spoonbill.

(G) Pomoxis, all species, commonly known as crappie, white
crappie, black crappie.

(H) Pylodictis, commonly known as flathead catfish, goujon,
yellow cat, river cat.

(I) Morone, all species and their hybrids, commonly known as
white bass, yellow bass, striped bass.

(¥) Oncorynchus and Salmo, all species commonly known as
salmon and trout.

(K) Stizostedion, all species and their hybrids, commonly
known as walleye, pike perch, jack salmon, sauger.

[(23)] (24) Game mammals: Deer, fox squirrel, gray squirrel,
groundhog (woodchuck), cottontail rabbit, swamp rabbit, jack rab-
bits, [bears and also the following furbearers: mink,
muskrat, opossum, otter, striped skunk, spotted skunk
(civet cat), badger, beaver, raccoon, weasel (ermine), red
fox, gray fox, bobcat and coyote] and furbearers as defined.

[(24)] (25) Grab: The act of snagging or attempting to snag a fish
by means of a pole, line and hook manipulated by hand.

[(25)] (26) Hook: Single- or multiple-pronged hooks and the ordi-
nary artificial lures with attached single- or multiple-pronged
hooks and dropper flies. A multiple-pronged hook or two (2) or
more hooks employed to hold a single bait, shall be considered a
single hook in counting the allowable total in use.

[(26)] (27) Landowner: Any Missouri resident who is the owner
of at least five (5) acres in one (1) continuous tract, or any mem-
ber of the immediate household whose legal residence or domicile
is the same as the landowner’s for at least thirty (30) days last past.
Except as provided in 3 CSR 10-7.435, in the case of corporate
ownership, this definition shall apply only to those corporate
shareholders who reside on lands held by the corporation.

[(27)] (28) Length of fish: Total length is measured from the tip
of the snout to the end of the tail, with the fish laid flat on the rule
with mouth closed and tail lobes pressed together. The length of
paddlefish is measured from the eye to the fork of the tail. The
length of sturgeon is measured from the tip of the snout to the fork
of the tail.
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[(28)] (29) Lessee: Any Missouri resident who resides on at least
five (5) acres of land in one (1) continuous tract owned by others,
or any member of the immediate household whose legal residence
[or] and domicile is the same as the lessee’s for at least thirty (30)
days last past.

[(29)] (30) Limit: The maximum number or quantity, total length,
or both, of any wildlife permitted to be taken or held in possession
by any person within a specified period of time according to this
Code.

[(30)] (31) Longbow: A bow drawn and held by hand and not fas-
tened to a stock nor to any other device which maintains the bow
in a drawn position. /[Hand-held string releasing mechanisms
are permitted.] This definition includes compound bows.

[(317)] (32) Managed deer hunt: A prescribed deer hunt conducted
on a designated [conservation areas, state parks, national
wildlife refuges, military bases and city or county proper-
ties] area for which harvest methods, harvest quotas and numbers
of participants are determined annually and presented in the deer
hunting rule (3 CSR 10-7.435).

[(32)] (33) Mouth of stream or ditch: The point at which a line
projected along the shore of a main stream or ditch at the existing
water level at time of measurement crosses any incoming stream or
ditch.

[(33)] (34) Mussels: All species of freshwater mussels and clams.
Includes all shells and alive or dead animals. Two (2) shell halves
(valves) shall be considered one (1) mussel.

[(34)] (35) Muzzleloading firearm: Any firearm capable of being
loaded only from the muzzle.

[(35)] (36) Night vision equipment: Optical devices (that is,
binoculars or scopes) using light amplifying circuits that are elec-
trical or battery powered.

[(36)] (37) Open season: That time when the pursuing and taking
of wildlife is permitted.

[(37)] (38) Other fish: All species other than those listed as endan-
gered in 3 CSR 10-4.111 or defined in this rule as game fish.

[(38)] (39) Poisons, contaminants, pollutants: Any substances that
have harmful effect upon wildlife.

[(39)] (40) Pole and line: Fishing methods using tackle normally
held in the hand, such as a cane pole, casting rod, spinning rod or
fly rod, to which not more than three (3) hooks with bait or lures
are attached. This fishing method does not include snagging, snar-
ing, grabbing or trotlines or other tackle normally attached in a
fixed position.

[(40)] (41) Possessed and possession: The actual and constructive
possession and control of things referred to in this Code.

[(47)] (42) Public roadway: The right of way which is either
owned in fee or by easement by the state of Missouri or any coun-
ty or municipal entity, or which is used by the general public for
travel and is also regularly maintained by Department of
Transportation, federal, county or municipal funds or labor.

[(42)] (43) Pursue or pursued: Includes the act of trying to find,
to seek or to diligently search for wildlife for the purpose of tak-
ing this wildlife.

[(43)] (44) Sell: To exchange for compensation in any material
form and the term shall include offering for sale.

[(44)] (45) Speargun: A mechanically powered device that propels
a single- or multiple-pronged spear underwater/, but does not
include devices powered by explosive substances].

[(45])] (46) Store and storage: Shall also include chilling, freezing
and other processing.

[(46)] (47) Take or taking: Includes killing, trapping, snaring, net-
ting or capturing in any manner, any wildlife, and also refers to
pursuing, molesting, hunting, wounding; or the placing, setting or
use of any net, trap, device, contrivance or substance in an attempt
to take; and every act of assistance to every other person in taking
or attempting to take any wildlife.

[(47)] (48) Transport and transportation: All carrying or moving
or causing to be carried or moved from one (1) point to another,
regardless of distance, vehicle or manner, and includes offering or
receiving for transport or transit.

[(48) Trout lures: The following classes of lures are autho-
rized for use in trout fishing waters, except where restricted
in 3 CSR 10-4.115, 3 CSR 10-4.116, 3 CSR 10-6.415 and
3 CSR 10-6.535:

(A) Fly—A lure constructed on a single-point hook, of
feathers, tinsel, chenille, yarn, fur, hair, silk, rayon or nylon
thread or floss, with or without spinner.

(B) Artificial lure—A manufactured lure other than a fly
or soft plastic bait (unscented).

(C) Soft plastic bait (unscented)—Synthetic eggs, syn-
thetic worms, synthetic grubs and soft plastic lures.

(D) Natural and scented baits—A natural fish food such
as bait fish, crayfish, frogs permitted as bait, grubs,
insects, larvae, worms, salmon eggs, cheese, corn and
other food substances not containing any ingredient to
stupefy, injure or kill fish. Does not include flies or artifi-
cial lures. Includes dough bait, putty or paste-type bait,
any substance designed to attract fish by taste or smell
and any fly, lure or bait containing or used with such sub-
stances.]

(49) Underwater spearfishing: The taking of fish by a diver while
underwater, with the aid of a manually or mechanically propelled,
single- or multiple-pronged spear. /Spears propelled by explo-
sive substances may not be used.]

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed Aug. 27, 1975, effective Dec. 31, 1975. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 240—Public Service Commission
Chapter 2—Practice and Procedure

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 240-2.125 Procedures for Alternative Dispute
Resolution. The commission is adding section (7).

PURPOSE: This amendment will establish procedures for arbitra-
tions conducted by the commission, particularly pursuant to the
Telecommunications Act of 1996, 47 U.S.C. section 252.

(7) Arbitration.

(A) The commission may arbitrate a dispute between two (2)
or more parties, either pursuant to statutory authority or with
the consent of all parties.

(B) An arbitration shall not be conducted as a contested
case. Except as otherwise provided herein, no other sections of
the commission’s procedural rules shall apply to an arbitra-
tion. No intervention or briefs amicus curiae shall be allowed
in an arbitration. No discovery shall be allowed in an arbitra-
tion except as the commission may order. On its own motion or
on the motion of any party, the commission may issue a pro-
tective order to safeguard confidential or proprietary informa-
tion from disclosure. An arbitration shall be closed to the pub-
lic and records concerning an arbitration shall be closed
records.

(C) An arbitration shall be commenced by the filing of a
unanimous agreement to arbitrate or, in cases in which arbi-
tration is mandated by law, by the filing of a petition request-
ing arbitration.

1. A unanimous agreement to arbitrate shall be executed
by all parties and shall include:

A. A waiver by each party of its rights under the
statutes and the commission’s practice rules pertaining to con-
tested cases to engage in discovery, to have an evidentiary hear-
ing, to present evidence, to cross-examine witnesses, and to
seek rehearing or reconsideration;

B. A statement setting out the commission’s jurisdiction
over the parties and the issues, including any applicable dates
or time limits relevant to the arbitration;

C. A statement of the issue or issues presented to the
commission for arbitration; and

D. A proposed procedural schedule suggesting a date
for all significant procedural events, which shall include an ini-
tial arbitration conference, the filing of position statements, the
submission of a staff report and recommendation, an oral pre-
sentation, and the filing of briefs.

2. A petition for arbitration shall be served by the peti-
tioner upon the respondent prior to filing with the commission
and shall include:

A. A statement setting out the commission’s jurisdiction
over the parties and the issues, including any applicable dates
or time limits relevant to the arbitration, and a citation to any
provisions authorizing the commission to arbitrate the parties’
dispute without their consent;

B. A statement of the issue or issues presented to the
commission for arbitration;

C. A statement of the position of each party on each
issue presented to the commission for arbitration, so far as
known;

D. A statement of the facts and authorities considered
by petitioner to support its position;

E. A certificate signed by the petitioner or the petition-
er’s attorney showing the date and manner of service of the
petition upon the respondent; and

F. Any other matter required or permitted by law.

(D) In an arbitration initiated by filing a petition, the
respondent or respondents shall have twenty-five (25) days
from the date the petition is filed with the commission within
which to file an answer.

1. The answer shall be served by the respondent upon the
petitioner prior to filing with the commission and shall include:

A. A response to the statement setting out the commis-
sion’s jurisdiction contained in the petition;

B. A response to the statement of the issue or issues pre-
sented to the commission for arbitration contained in the peti-
tion, including any additional issue or issues, the resolution of
which is necessary for resolution of the issue or issues present-
ed by the petition;

C. A response to the statement of the positions of the
parties on each issue, including such correction or amplifica-
tion as may be desired;

D. A statement of the facts and authorities considered
by the respondent to support its position;

E. A certificate signed by the respondent or the respon-
dent’s attorney showing the date and manner of service of the
answer upon the petitioner; and

F. Any other matter required or permitted by law.

2. In any arbitration in which the answer presents addi-
tional issues for resolution, the petitioner shall, not later than
ten (10) days after the filing of the answer, file a reply to those
additional issues and serve the reply upon the respondent. The
reply need not include a statement of jurisdiction or a response
thereto.

3. Upon the filing of the answer, or upon the filing of the
reply in an arbitration in which a reply is filed, the commis-
sion shall issue a procedural schedule setting dates for all sig-
nificant procedural events, including the submission of a staff
report and recommendation, an oral presentation, and the fil-
ing of briefs.

(E) In any arbitration:

1. The commission’s staff shall not be a party but shall
serve solely in an advisory capacity to the commission.

2. The commission may direct the staff to investigate and
consider the positions of the parties on each issue and the facts
and authorities referred to by the parties in support of their
positions, rendering a report and recommendation to the com-
mission on or before the date set in the procedural schedule.

A. The staff shall serve a copy of its report and recom-
mendation upon each party and any party may file a response
to the staff’s report and recommendation within ten (10) days
of receipt thereof. Any such response shall include a certificate
signed by the party or the party’s attorney showing the date
and manner of service of the response upon all other parties.

B. In its investigation and consideration of the positions
of the parties on each issue and the facts and authorities
referred to by the parties in support of their positions, the staff
shall have authority to seek discovery from any party pursuant
to commission rule.

3. The commission may designate a special master or neu-
tral third party to preside over the arbitration. Such special
master or neutral third party may be any person deemed qual-
ified and appropriate by the commission, whether or not the
person is an employee of the commission. The order designat-
ing the special master or neutral third party shall state the
scope of the authority delegated to the special master or neu-
tral third party.

(F) In any arbitration, the commission may convene an oral
presentation at which each party shall be permitted to make a
statement in support of its position on each issue, in opposition
to any other party’s position on any issue, and in support or
opposition to staff’s report and recommendation, if any. The
length of the statements of the parties shall be set by the com-



Page 1416

Proposed Rules

June 1, 2000
Vol. 25, No. 11

mission. The commission may question the parties and their
representatives and may question staff concerning its report
and recommendation, if any.

(G) In any arbitration, the commission may permit each
party to file written arguments or briefs in support of its posi-
tion on each issue, in opposition to any other party’s position
on any issue, and in support or opposition to staff’s report and
recommendation. The scheduling for the filing of such written
arguments or briefs, and the length and format thereof, shall
be set by the commission.

(H) In any arbitration, the commission shall render a deci-
sion resolving each issue submitted for arbitration by adopting
the position proposed by one of the parties according to the
information available to it and the standards imposed by law.
The position adopted by the commission shall be the best of
those proposed by the parties.

AUTHORITY: section 386.410, RSMo Supp. [1998] 1999.
Original rule filed March 10, 1995, effective Nov. 30, 1995.
Rescinded and readopted: Filed Aug. 24, 1999, effective April 30,
2000. Amended: Filed April 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Public Service Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts,
Secretary, P.O. Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be consid-
ered, comments must be received within thirty days after publica-
tion of this notice in the Missouri Register. Comments should refer
to Case No. AX-2000-644 and be filed with an original and eight
copies. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 5—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION
Division 80—Urban and Teacher Education
Chapter 800—Teacher Certification and Professional
Conduct and Investigations

PROPOSED RESCISSION

5 CSR 80-800.010 Certification Standards for Teachers in
Missouri Public Schools. This rule detailed the application
process, certification standard and qualification for certificates of
license to teach.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded and resubmitted as other
rules are being proposed.

AUTHORITY: sections 161.092, 168.011, 168.021 and 168.400,
RSMo 1994. Original rule filed June 27, 1972, effective July 7,
1972. Amended: Filed May 21, 1976, effective Oct. 1, 1976.
Amended: Filed June 27, 1977, effective Oct. 17, 1977. Amended:
Filed Feb. 27, 1978, effective Sept. 1, 1978. Amended: Filed Oct.
31, 1978, effective Feb. 15, 1979. Amended: Filed July 13, 1979,
effective Oct. 12, 1979. Amended: Filed Dec. 28, 1979, effective
April 14, 1980. Amended: Filed July 1, 1980, effective Nov. 14,
1980. Amended: Filed May 11, 1983, effective Aug. 15, 1983.
Amended: Filed March 20, 1984, effective Aug. 13, 1984.
Amended: Filed March 8, 1985, effective July 1, 1985. Amended:
Filed Sept. 16, 1985, effective Dec. 26, 1985. Amended: Filed
Oct. 29, 1986, effective Feb. 12, 1987. Amended: Filed Oct. 30,
1987, effective March 25, 1988. Amended: Filed Aug. 1, 1988,
effective Nov. 25, 1988. Amended: Filed Dec. 22, 1988, effective

April 27, 1989. Amended: Filed Aug. 1, 1989, effective Nov. 27,
1989. Amended: Filed Nov. 30, 1989, effective March 26, 1990.
Amended: Filed Feb. 27, 1990, effective June 28, 1990. Emergency
amendment filed Aug. 17, 1990, effective Aug. 27, 1990, expired
Dec. 25, 1990. Amended: Filed Aug. 17, 1990, effective Feb. 14,
1991. Amended: Filed May 23, 1991, effective Dec. 9, 199I.
Amended: Filed Jan. 28, 1992, effective Aug. 6, 1992. Amended.:
Filed Sept. 23, 1992, effective May 5, 1993. Amended: Filed April
28, 1994, effective Nov. 30, 1994. Amended: Filed May 24, 1995,
effective Dec. 30, 1995. Amended: Filed July 17, 1996, effective
Feb. 28, 1997. Amended: Filed Jan. 25, 1998, effective Sept. 30,
1998. Rescinded: Filed April 26, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education,
Attention Dr. Celeste Ferguson, Assistant Commissioner, Division
of Urban and Teacher Education, P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City,
MO 65102-0480. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 5—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION
Division 80—Urban and Teacher Education
Chapter 800—Teacher Certification and Professional
Conduct and Investigations

PROPOSED RULE

5 CSR 80-800.200 Application for Certificate of License to
Teach and/or Endorsement

PURPOSE: The State Board of Education is authorized to grant
certificates of license to teach in any of the public schools of the
state and establish requirements and qualifications for those cer-
tificates. This rule outlines the procedures for application for a
certificate of license to teach where the applicant has a recom-
mendation from a state-approved teacher preparation program or
has earned a Doctor of Philosophy degree.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The publication of the full text of the mate-
rial that the adopting agency has incorporated by reference in this
rule would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. Therefore, the full
text of that material will be made available to any interested per-
son at both the Office of the Secretary of State and the office of the
adopting agency, pursuant to section 536.031.4, RSMo. Such
material will be provided at the cost established by state law.

(1) An applicant for a Missouri certificate of license to teach who
possesses good moral character and has successfully completed a
state-approved teacher preparation program or earned a Doctor of
Philosophy degree may be granted an initial Missouri certificate of
license to teach in their major area of study subject to the specific
certification requirements found in the Compendium of Missouri
Certification Requirements which is incorporated by reference and
made a part of this rule.

(2) Applications for a Missouri certificate of license to teach shall
be submitted on the forms provided by the State Board of
Education and may be obtained by writing the Teacher
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Certification Section of the Department of Elementary and
Secondary Education at P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City, MO 65102
or downloading from the Internet.

(3) An application is not considered officially filed with the board
until it has been determined by the board or department staff to be
complete and the application is submitted on the forms provided by
the board, signed and accompanied by two (2) full sets of finger-
prints with the appropriate fee as set by the Missouri State
Highway Patrol and/or the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
and any other applicable forms. All information should be received
by the board within ninety (90) days of the date of the application.

(A) The applicant is responsible for the payment of any fees
required by the Missouri Highway Patrol and/or FBI.

(B) For the purposes of this rule, the fingerprint cards shall be
completed by any law enforcement agency and sent directly to the
department.

(4) The applicant shall request that each state or United States ter-
ritory regulatory entity in which a professional license including a
certificate of license to teach is held or has ever been held to sub-
mit verification of certification or licensure directly to the depart-
ment, including information regarding any disciplinary action.

(5) An applicant for a Missouri certificate of license to teach who
has successfully completed a state-approved teacher preparation
program must comply with the following additional criteria:

(A) The applicant must possess a baccalaureate degree from an
accredited college or university;

(B) The applicant must possess an overall grade point average of
2.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale;

(C) The applicant must request and obtain the recommendation
of the designated certification official from a state-approved bac-
calaureate or higher level teacher preparation program; and

(D) The applicant must achieve a score equal to or in excess of
the qualifying score on the exit assessment(s) as defined in the
rules promulgated by the board. The official score report shall be
submitted to the Department of Elementary and Secondary
Education (DESE).

(6) In addition to the above criteria, an applicant for a Missouri
certificate of license to teach who has successfully obtained certi-
fication by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards
(NBPTS) and possesses good moral character may be granted a
Missouri certificate of license to teach in their area of NBPTS cer-
tification most closely aligned with the current areas of certifica-
tion approved by the board. The certificate of license to teach will
be a professional classification II (PC II) or a continuous profes-
sional classification (CPC), if the applicant possesses a masters
degree.

(7) An applicant for an initial Missouri certificate of license to
teach who has earned a Doctor of Philosophy degree (Ph.D.) from
an institution of higher education accredited by a regional accred-
itation agency including but not limited to North Central
Association of Colleges and Schools must comply with the follow-
ing additional criteria:

(A) The applicant must have completed and provide documen-
tation of a valid Ph.D. degree being conferred in their major area
of post-graduate study;

(B) The applicant may only be granted a professional classifica-
tion I (PC I) level and/or a PC II level certificate of license to teach
pursuant to the rules promulgated by the board. A CPC level cer-
tificate of license to teach will not be issued; and

(C) The applicant must achieve a score equal to or in excess of
the qualifying score on the exit assessment(s) as defined in the
rules promulgated by the board. The official score report shall be
submitted to DESE.

(8) Endorsements or additional certificates of license to teach may
be granted as follows:

(A) The applicant may take the appropriate content knowledge
or specialty area exit assessment(s) for certification and must
achieve a score equal to or in excess of the qualifying score on the
content knowledge or specialty area exit assessment(s) as defined
in the rules promulgated by the board; or

(B) If the board has not designated a content knowledge or spe-
cialty area exit assessment(s) for a particular certification area or
grade level or the applicant chooses not to take the appropriate
content knowledge or specialty area exit assessment(s), the appli-
cant must meet the certification standards for the area of certifica-
tion and/or endorsement area as set forth in the Compendium of
Missouri Certification Requirements which is incorporated by ref-
erence and made a part of this rule.

(9) Following review by the department, the applicant shall be
informed in writing of the decision regarding the application for a
certificate of license to teach.

(10) The holder of a certificate of license to teach shall ensure that
DESE has their current legal name and address.

(A) A holder of a certificate of license to teach whose name is
changed by marriage or court order shall notify the department
within thirty (30) days of the name change and provide a copy of
the appropriate documents verifying the name change.

(B) A holder of a certificate of license to teach whose address
has changed shall inform the department in writing of the change
within thirty (30) days of the effective date of the change.

AUTHORITY: sections 161.092, 168.011, 168.081, 168.400,
168.405 and 168.409, RSMo 1994 and 168.021 and 168.071,
RSMo Supp. 1999. Original rule filed April 26, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost the
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
817,390 in the Fiscal Year 2001, with that cost reoccurring annu-
ally thereafter over the life of the rule. A fiscal note containing the
estimated cost of compliance has been filed with the secretary of
state.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost private
entities, the applicants for a certificate of license to teach,
$3414,380 in the Fiscal Year 2001, with that cost reoccurring annu-
ally thereafter over the life of the rule for approximately 16,515
new applicants. The cost for the life of the rule for each individual
in-state applicant is $22 and $47 for each individual out-state
applicant. A fiscal note containing the estimated cost of compli-
ance has been filed with the secretary of state.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education,
Attention Dr. Celeste Ferguson, Assistant Commissioner, Division
of Urban and Teacher Education, P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City,
MO 65102-0480. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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FISCAL NOTE
PUBLIC ENTITY COST

I. RULE NUMBER

Title: 5 - Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Division: 80 - Urban and Teacher Education

Chapter: 800 - Teacher Certification and Professional Conduct and Investigations
Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 5 CSR 80-800.200 Application for Certificate of License to Teach and/or
Endorsement

II. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Affected Agency or Estimated Cost of Compliance
Political Subdivision in the Aggregate

Dept. of Elementary and Secondary Education | $ 17,390 per year for the life of the rule

I1I. WORKSHEET

$17,390 includes the cost for approximately 16,515 applications, printing, duplication, and mailing,
associated with certificate of license to teach applications.

IV. ASSUMPTIONS
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I. RULE NUMBER
Title:
Division:

Chapter:

FISCAL NOTE

PRIVATE ENTITY COST

80 - Urban and Teacher Education

Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

5 - Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

800 - Teacher Certification and Professional Conduct and Investigations

Rule Number and Name: 5 CSR 80-800.200 Application for Certificate of License to Teach and/or

Endorsement

II: SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Estimate the number of entities
which would likely be affected

Classification of types of the
business entities which would

Estimate in the aggregate as to
the cost of compliance with

by the adoption of the likely be affected: the rule by the affected
proposed rule: entities:
16,515 per year Applicants for Certificates of | $ 414,380 per year for the life
License to Teach including of the rule or $22.00 per

provisional and PhD.
applicants

individual in-state applicant
and $47.00 per individual out-
state applicant for the life of
the rule.

III. WORKSHEET

In-State Applicants

$22.00 for fingerprinting x 14,473 in-state applications = $318,406 per year for in-state applications.

Out-State Applicants
$22.00 for fingerprinting + $25.00 application processing fee = $47.00 x 2042 applications =
$95,974 per year for out-state applications.

Total
$318,406 + $95,974 = $414,380 per year for the life of the rule or $22.00 per in-state applicant
and $47.00 per out-state applicant for the life of the rule.

IV. ASSUMPTIONS
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Title 5—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION
Division 80—Urban and Teacher Education
Chapter 800—Teacher Certification and Professional
Conduct and Investigations

PROPOSED RESCISSION

5 CSR 80-800.210 Application for Certificate of License to
Teach and/or Endorsement for Individuals Possessing a
Certificate of License to Teach from Another State. This rule
detailed the application process for out-of-state certificates of
license to teach.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded and resubmitted as other
rules are being proposed.

AUTHORITY: sections 161.092, 168.011 and 168.081, RSMo 1994
and 168.021 and 168.071, RSMo Supp. 1998. Emergency rule filed
March 22, 1999, effective April 1, 1999, expired Sept. 27, 1999.
Original rule filed March 22, 1999, effective Sept. 30, 1999.
Rescinded: Filed April 26, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education,
Attention Dr. Celeste Ferguson, Assistant Commissioner, Division
of Urban and Teacher Education, P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City,
MO 65102-0480. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 5—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION
Division 80—Urban and Teacher Education
Chapter 800—Teacher Certification and Professional
Conduct and Investigations

PROPOSED RULE

5 CSR 80-800.220 Application for Certificate of License to
Teach and/or Endorsement for Administrators

PURPOSE: The State Board of Education is authorized to grant
certificates of license to teach in any of the public schools of the
state and establish requirements and qualifications for those cer-
tificates. This rule outlines the procedures for application for a
certificate of license to teach for school administrators including
superintendent, principal, advanced principal, special education
administrator and vocational director.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The publication of the full text of the mate-
rial that the adopting agency has incorporated by reference in this
rule would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. Therefore, the full
text of that material will be made available to any interested per-
son at both the Office of the Secretary of State and the office of the
adopting agency, pursuant to section 536.031.4, RSMo. Such
material will be provided at the cost established by state law.

(1) An applicant for an administrator may be granted an adminis-
trator certificate of license to teach in the following areas subject
to the specific certification requirements found in the Compendium

of Missouri Certification Requirements which is incorporated by
reference and made a part of this rule and criteria established in
the rules promulgated by the board, to an individual who possess-
es good moral character:

(A) Superintendent, grades K-12;

(B) Principal, grades K-8; grades 5-9; and/or grades 9-12;

(C) Advanced principal, grades K-8; grades 5-9; and/or grades
9-12;

(D) Special education administrator, grades K-12; and/or

(E) Vocational director.

(2) Applications for an administrator Missouri certificate of
license to teach shall be submitted on the forms provided by the
State Board of Education and may be obtained by writing the
Teacher Certification Section of the Department of Elementary and
Secondary Education at P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City, MO 65102
or by downloading from the Internet.

(3) An application is not considered officially filed with the board
until it has been determined by the board or department staff to be
complete and the application is submitted on the forms provided by
the board, signed and accompanied by two (2) full sets of finger-
prints with the appropriate fee as set by the Missouri State
Highway Patrol and/or the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
and any other applicable forms. All information should be received
by the board within ninety (90) days of the date of the application.

(A) The applicant is responsible for the payment of any fees
required by the Missouri Highway Patrol and/or FBI.

(B) For the purposes of this rule, the fingerprint cards shall be
completed by any law enforcement agency and sent directly to the
department.

(4) The applicant shall request and obtain the recommendation of
the designated certification official for a state-approved baccalau-
reate or higher level teacher preparation program.

(5) The applicant must possess a baccalaureate degree from a
state-approved teacher preparation program.

(6) The applicant must achieve a score equal to or in excess of the
qualifying score on the exit assessment(s) as defined in the rules
promulgated by the board. The official score report shall be sub-
mitted to the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
(DESE).

(7) The applicant shall request that each state or United States ter-
ritory regulatory entity in which a professional license including a
certificate of license to teach is held or has ever been held to sub-
mit verification of certification or licensure directly to the depart-
ment, including information regarding any disciplinary action.

(8) The applicant for an administrator certificate of license to teach
as a superintendent must comply with the following additional cri-
teria:

(A) The applicant shall request and obtain the recommendation
of the designated certification official from a state-approved edu-
cational specialist or advanced degree program for the preparation
of superintendents; and

(B) The applicant must achieve a score equal to or in excess of
the qualifying score on the exit assessment(s) as defined in the
rules promulgated by the board. The official score report shall be
submitted to DESE.

(9) The applicant for an administrator certificate of license to teach
as a principal must comply with the following additional criteria:

(A) The applicant shall request and obtain the recommendation
of the designated certification official for a state-approved masters
in educational administration or higher level program for the
preparation of principals;
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(B) The applicant must possess a masters degree or higher from
a state-approved program for the preparation of principals;

(C) The applicant must possess two (2) years of teaching expe-
rience; and

(D) The applicant must achieve a score equal to or in excess of
the qualifying score on the exit assessment(s) as defined in the
rules promulgated by the board. The official score report shall be
submitted to DESE.

(10) The applicant for an administrator certificate of license to
teach as an advanced principal must comply with the following
additional criteria:

(A) The applicant shall request and obtain the recommendation
of the designated certification official for a state-approved masters
in educational administration or higher level program for the
preparation of principals;

(B) The applicant shall complete a planned program of at least
thirty (30) semester hours of graduate credit culminating in an edu-
cational specialist or doctoral degree with a major emphasis in
educational administration from a state-approved program for the
preparation of principals;

(C) The applicant must possess two (2) years of teaching expe-
rience; and

(D) The applicant must achieve a score equal to or in excess of
the qualifying score on the exit assessment(s) as defined in the
rules promulgated by the board. The official score report shall be
submitted to DESE.

(11) The applicant for an administrator certificate of license to
teach as a special education administrator must comply with the
following additional criteria:

(A) The applicant must possess a masters degree or higher from
a state-approved program in educational administration, special
education or a related field;

(B) The applicant must possess or be eligible to possess a cer-
tificate of license to teach in an area of special education;

(C) The applicant must possess two (2) years of teaching expe-
rience;

(D) The applicant shall submit an official transcript showing
completion of nine (9) semester hours of graduate course work in
special education, with two (2) of the nine (9) semester hours
focused on special education administration; and

(E) The applicant must achieve a score equal to or in excess of
the qualifying score on the exit assessment(s) as defined in the
rules promulgated by the board. The official score report shall be
submitted to DESE.

(12) The applicant for an administrator certificate of license to
teach as a vocational director must comply with the following addi-
tional criteria:

(A) The applicant must possess a masters degree or higher from
a state-approved college or university;

(B) The applicant must possess a valid Missouri certificate of
license to teach in the content area of secondary education and/or
vocational-technical;

(C) The applicant must possess three (3) years of full-time
teaching experience at the level grade 7-adult, as approved by the
department;

(D) The applicant must possess two (2) years of full-time teach-
ing experience in practical arts or vocational-technical education;
and

(E) The applicant must possess two (2) years of full-time work
experience outside of education.

(13) An applicant for a Missouri administrator certificate of
license to teach who possesses a valid administrator certificate of
license to teach from another state and possesses good moral char-

acter may be granted a Missouri administrator certificate of license
to teach.

(A) The applicant must achieve a score equal to or in excess of
the qualifying score on the exit assessment(s) as defined in the
rules promulgated by the board. The official score report shall be
submitted to DESE.

(B) The applicant shall request that each state or United States
territory regulatory entity in which a professional license includ-
ing a certificate of license to teach is held or has ever been held to
submit verification of certification or licensure directly to the
department, including information regarding any disciplinary
action.

(C) The applicant shall submit two (2) full sets of fingerprints
on cards provided by the board.

1. The applicant is responsible for the payment of any fees
required by the Missouri Highway Patrol and/or FBI.

2. For the purpose of this rule, the fingerprint cards shall be
completed by any law enforcement agency and sent directly to the
department.

(14) Following review by the department, the applicant shall be
informed in writing of the decision regarding the application for a
certificate of license to teach.

(15) An administrator certificate of license to teach may be issued
for a principal for a period of five (5) years and may be renewed
once for an additional five (5) years. The requirements for renew-
al are as follows:

(A) Written request for renewal of the certificate of license to
teach;

(B) Submission of an official transcript showing fifteen (15)
graduate semester hours toward a two (2)-year graduate program
culminating in an educational specialist or doctoral degree with a
major emphasis in educational administration from a state-
approved program for the preparation of principals; and

(C) Submission of a letter from the designated certification offi-
cial at a state-approved college or university that the individual has
completed the fifteen (15) hours towards their educational special-
ist or doctoral degree with a major emphasis in educational admin-
istration.

(16) An administrator certificate of license to teach may be issued
for an advanced principal and/or superintendent for a period of ten
(10) years and may be renewed an unlimited number of times. The
requirements for renewal are as follows:

(A) Written request for renewal of the certificate of license to
teach; and

(B) Documentation of five (5) years experience in school admin-
istration during the previous ten (10) years.

(17) If a superintendent or advanced principal seeks to renew an
administrator certificate of license to teach, however, the individ-
ual has not been employed as a school administrator for five (5)
years of the previous ten (10) years, the individual must submit the
following:

(A) Written request for renewal of the certificate of license to
teach; and

(B) Submission of an official transcript showing six (6) gradu-
ate semester hours appropriate for administrators from a state-
approved college or university or documentation verifying a pro-
fessional development plan equivalent to six (6) graduate semester
hours as approved by DESE.

(18) An administrator certificate of license to teach may be issued
for a special education administrator for a period of ten (10) years
and may be renewed an unlimited number of times. The require-
ments for renewal are as follows:
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(A) Written request for renewal of the certificate of license to
teach; and

(B) Documentation of five (5) or more years of experience as a
special education administrator during the previous ten (10) years.

(19) If a special education administrator seeks to renew their
administrator certificate of license to teach, however, the individ-
ual has not been employed as a special education administrator for
five (5) years in the previous ten (10) years, the individual must
submit the following:

(A) Written request for renewal of the certificate of license to
teach; and

(B) Submission of an official transcript showing six (6) gradu-
ate semester hours appropriate for administrators from a state-
approved college or university.

(20) An administrator certificate of license to teach may be issued
for a vocational director for a period of five (5) years and may be
renewed for an additional five (5) years. The requirements for
renewal are as follows:

(A) Completion of the Vocational Leadership Academy focused
upon general and vocational administration from a state-approved
college or university to prepare vocational education administra-
tors. The Vocational Leadership Academy shall include the com-
petencies identified for the certificate of license to teach;

(B) Achieve a score equal to or in excess of the qualifying score
on the exit assessment(s) as defined in the rules promulgated by the
board. The official score report shall be submitted to DESE;

(C) Annual memberships in the state and national vocational
school administrators’ professional organizations, Missouri
Council of Vocational Administrators (MCVA) and National
Council of Local Administrators (NCLA), including participation
in at least three (3) annual state and/or national meetings of pro-
fessional, vocational education organizations;

(D) Participation in workshops and/or seminars on general or
vocational education administration, instructional leadership activ-
ities, or curriculum development totaling at least thirty (30) clock
hours; and

(E) Participation in one (1) accreditation-evaluation of schools
by the North Central Association or DESE evaluation teams.

(21) A ten (10)-year administrator certificate of license to teach as
a vocational director may be issued to the individual meeting the
criteria for the five (5)-year certificate and the following addition-
al criteria:

(A) Annual memberships in the state and national vocational
school administrators’ professional organizations, MCVA and
NCLA, including participation in at least eight (8) annual state
and/or national meetings of professional, vocational education
organizations;

(B) Participation in workshops and/or seminars on general or
vocational education administration, instructional leadership activ-
ities, or curriculum development totaling at least sixty (60) clock
hours;

(C) Participation in two (2) accreditation-evaluations of schools
by the North Central Association or DESE evaluation teams; and

(D) Evidence of six (6) graduate semester hours toward an
advanced degree from a state-approved college or university.

(22) The ten (10)-year administrator certificate of license to teach
as a vocational director may be renewed an unlimited number of
times by the individual meeting the following criteria:

(A) Possession of five (5) years experience in school adminis-
tration during the previous ten (10) years;

(B) Annual memberships in the state and national vocational
school administrators’ professional organizations, MCVA and
NCLA, including participation in at least eight (8) annual state

and/or national meetings of professional, vocational education
organizations;

(C) Participation in workshops and/or seminars on general or
vocational education administration, instructional leadership activ-
ities, or curriculum development totaling at least sixty (60) clock
hours;

(D) Participation in two (2) accreditation-evaluations of schools
by the North Central Association or DESE evaluation teams; and

(E) Completion of one of the following:

1. An advanced degree; or

2. A Professional Development Agreement approved by the
assistant commissioner of Vocational and Adult Education that
includes graduate courses and/or professional development activi-
ties equivalent to nine (9) semester hours of graduate credit.

(23) The holder of an administrator certificate of license to teach
shall ensure that DESE has their current legal name and address.

(A) A holder of an administrator certificate of license to teach
whose name is changed by marriage or court order shall notify the
department within thirty (30) days of the name change and provide
a copy of the appropriate documents verifying the name change.

(B) A holder of an administrator certificate of license to teach
whose address has changed shall inform the department in writing
of the change within thirty (30) days of the effective date of the
change.

AUTHORITY: sections 161.092, 168.011, 168.081, 168.400,
168.405 and 168.409, RSMo 1994 and 168.021 and 168.071,
RSMo Supp. 1999. Original rule filed April 26, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost the
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
$1,363.64 in the Fiscal Year 2001, with that cost reoccurring
annually thereafter over the life of the rule. A fiscal note contain-
ing the estimated cost of compliance has been filed with the secre-
tary of state.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost private
entities, the applicants for an administrator certificate of license to
teach, $35,415 in the Fiscal Year 2001, with that cost reoccurring
annually thereafter over the life of the rule for approximately 1,295
new applicants. The cost for the life of the rule for each individual
in-state applicant is $22.00 and $47.00 for each individual out-
state applicant. A fiscal note containing the estimated cost of com-
pliance has been filed with the secretary of state.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education,
Attention Dr. Celeste Ferguson, Assistant Commissioner, Division
of Urban and Teacher Education, P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City,
MO 65102-0480. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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FISCAL NOTE
PUBLIC ENTITY COST

I. RULE NUMBER

Title: 5 - Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Division: 80 - Urban and Teacher Education

Chapter: 800 - Teacher Certification and Professional Conduct and Investigations
Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 5 CSR 80-800.220 Application for Certificate of License to Teach and/or
Endorsement for Administrators

II. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Affected Agency or Estimated Cost of Compliance
Political Subdivision in the Aggregate

Dept. of Elementary and Secondary Education | $ 1,363.64 per year for the life of the rule

1. WORKSHEET

$1,363.64 per year includes the cost for approximately 1,295 applications, printing, duplication, and
mailing associated with administrator applications.

IV. ASSUMPTIONS
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FISCAL NOTE
PRIVATE ENTITY COST

I. RULE NUMBER

Title: 5 - Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Division: 80 - Urban and Teacher Education
Chapter: 800 - Teacher Certification and Professional Conduct and Investigations

Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 5 CSR 80-800.220 Application for Certificate of License to Teach and/or
Endorsement for Administrators

II: SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Estimate the number of entities | Classification of types of the Estimate in the aggregate as to
which would likely be affected | business entities which would | the cost of compliance with

by the adoption of the likely be affected: the rule by the affected
proposed rule: entities:
1,295 per year Applicants for an $35,415 per year for the life of
Administrator Certificate of the rule or $22.00 per
License to Teach individual in-state applicant

and $47.00 per individual out-
state applicant for the life of
the rule.

IIl. WORKSHEET

In-State Applicants
$22.00 for fingerprinting x 1018 in-state applications = $22,396.00 per year for in-state applications.

Out-State Applicants
$22.00 for fingerprinting + $25.00 application processing fee = $47.00 x 277 applications = $13,019.00
per year for out-state applications.

Total
$22,396.00 + $13,019.00 = $35,415.00 per year for the life of the rule or $22.00 per in-state applicant
and $47.00 per out-state applicant for the life of the rule.

IV. ASSUMPTIONS
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Title 5—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION
Division 80—Urban and Teacher Education
Chapter 800—Teacher Certification and Professional
Conduct and Investigations

PROPOSED RULE

5 CSR 80-800.230 Application for a Pupil Personnel Services
Certificate of License to Teach and/or Endorsement

PURPOSE: The State Board of Education is authorized to grant
certificates of license to teach in any of the public schools of the
state and establish requirements and qualifications for those cer-
tificates. This rule outlines the procedures for application for a
pupil personnel services certificate of license to teach for coun-
selors, advanced counselors, school psychological examiners,
school psychologists, vocational adult education supervisors, post-
secondary vocational counselors, placement coordinators and
vocational evaluators.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The publication of the full text of the mate-
rial that the adopting agency has incorporated by reference in this
rule would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. Therefore, the full
text of that material will be made available to any interested per-
son at both the Office of the Secretary of State and the office of the
adopting agency, pursuant to section 536.031.4, RSMo. Such
material will be provided at the cost established by state law.

(1) An applicant for a pupil personnel services certificate of
license to teach may be granted in the following areas subject to
the specific certification requirements found in the Compendium of
Missouri Certification Requirements which is incorporated by ref-
erence and made a part of this rule and criteria established in the
rules promulgated by the board, to an individual who possesses
good moral character:

(A) School counselor, grades K-8, grades 9-12, and/or K-12;

(B) Advanced school counselor, grades K-12;

(C) School psychological examiner, grades K-12;

(D) School psychologist, grades K-12 ;

(E) Vocational adult education supervisor;

(F) Post-secondary vocational counselor;

(G) Placement coordinator; and/or

(H) Vocational evaluator.

(2) Applications for a pupil personnel services Missouri certificate
of license to teach shall be submitted on the forms provided by the
State Board of Education and may be obtained by writing the
Teacher Certification Section of the Department of Elementary and
Secondary Education at P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City, MO 65102
or by downloading from the Internet.

(3) An application is not considered officially filed with the board
until it has been determined by the board or department staff to be
complete and the application is submitted on the forms provided by
the board, signed and accompanied by two (2) full sets of finger-
prints with the appropriate fee as set by the Missouri State
Highway Patrol and/or the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
and any other applicable forms. All information should be received
by the board within ninety (90) days of the date of the application.

(A) The applicant is responsible for the payment of any fees
required by the Missouri Highway Patrol and/or FBI.

(B) For the purposes of this rule, the fingerprint cards shall be
completed by any law enforcement agency and sent directly to the
department.

(4) The applicant shall request that each state or United States ter-
ritory regulatory entity in which a professional license including a

certificate of license to teach is held or has ever been held to sub-
mit verification of certification or licensure directly to the depart-
ment, including information regarding any disciplinary action.

(5) The applicant for a pupil personnel services certificate of
license to teach as a school counselor, advanced school counselor,
school psychological examiner, and/or school psychologist must
comply with the following additional criteria:

(A) The applicant shall request and obtain the recommendation
of the designated certification official for a state-approved masters
or higher level school counselor, school psychological examiner, or
school psychologist preparation program;

(B) The applicant must possess a masters or higher degree from
a state-approved school counselor, school psychological examiner,
or school psychologist preparation program; and

(C) The applicant must achieve a score equal to or in excess of
the qualifying score on the exit assessment(s), not to include the
principles of learning and teaching, as defined in the rules pro-
mulgated by the board. The official score report shall be submit-
ted to the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
(DESE).

(6) The applicant for a pupil personnel services certificate of
license to teach as an advanced school counselor must comply with
the following additional criteria:

(A) The applicant shall request and obtain the recommendation
of the designated certification official for a state-approved masters
in guidance and counseling or higher level program for the prepa-
ration of school counselors;

(B) The applicant shall complete a planned program of at least
thirty (30) semester hours of graduate credit culminating in an edu-
cational specialist or doctoral degree with a major emphasis in
guidance and counseling from a state-approved program for the
preparation of school counselors; and

(C) The applicant must achieve a score equal to or in excess of
the qualifying score on the exit assessment(s), not to include the
principles of learning and teaching, as defined in the rules pro-
mulgated by the board. The official score report shall be submit-
ted to DESE.

(7) The applicant for a pupil personnel services certificate of
license to teach as a vocational adult education supervisor must
comply with the following additional criteria:

(A) The applicant must possess a baccalaureate level or higher
degree from a state-approved college or university; and

(B) The applicant must possess two (2) years of full-time work
experience outside of teaching.

(8) The applicant for a pupil personnel services certificate of
license to teach as a post-secondary vocational counselor must
comply with the following additional criteria:

(A) The applicant must possess a masters or higher level degree
in guidance and counseling, rehabilitation counseling or educa-
tional and counseling psychology from a state-approved college or
university;

(B) The applicant must possess two (2) years of teaching or
counseling experience; and

(C) The applicant must possess one (1) year of paid employment
other than teaching or counseling.

(9) The applicant for a pupil personnel services certificate of
license to teach as a placement coordinator must comply with the
following additional criteria:

(A) The applicant must possess a minimum of one (1) year of
appropriate business or industrial experience, which uniquely
qualifies the individual for the position of a placement coordina-
tor; and
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(B) The applicant must possess a valid, unencumbered, undisci-
plined professional license or certificate from Missouri as a coun-
selor; or

(C) The applicant must possess a Missouri certificate of license
to teach as a counselor; or

(D) The applicant must possess a Missouri certificate of license
to teach as a vocational teacher.

(10) The applicant for a pupil personnel services certificate of
license to teach as a vocational evaluator must comply with the fol-
lowing additional criteria:

(A) The applicant must possess a masters or higher level degree
in vocational evaluation, counseling, or a closely related area from
a state-approved college or university or possess a baccalaureate
degree in rehabilitation services with an emphasis in vocational
evaluation from a state-approved college or university; and

(B) The applicant must possess twenty-four (24) months of full-
time work experience outside of education.

(11) Additional certificates of license to teach may be granted pur-
suant to rules promulgated by the board.

(12) An applicant for a Missouri pupil personnel services certifi-
cate of license to teach who possesses a valid certificate of license
to teach from another state closely aligned to a current certifica-
tion area approved by the board and possesses good moral charac-
ter may be granted a Missouri certificate of license to teach.

(A) The applicant must achieve a score equal to or in excess of
the qualifying score on the exit assessment(s), not to include the
principles of learning and teaching, as defined in the rules pro-
mulgated by the board. The official score report shall be submit-
ted to DESE.

(B) The applicant shall request that each state or United States
territory regulatory entity in which a professional license includ-
ing a certificate of license to teach is held or has ever been held to
submit verification of certification or licensure directly to the
department, including information regarding any disciplinary
action.

(C) The applicant shall submit two (2) full sets of fingerprints
on cards provided by the board.

1. The applicant is responsible for the payment of any fees
required by the Missouri Highway Patrol and/or FBI.

2. For the purpose of this rule, the fingerprint cards shall be
completed by any law enforcement agency and sent directly to the
department.

(13) Following review by the department, the applicant shall be
informed in writing of the decision regarding the application for a
certificate of license to teach.

(14) A pupil personnel services certificate of license to teach may
be issued for a school counselor, school psychological examiner
and/or school psychologist for a period of five (5) years and may
be renewed an unlimited number of times. The requirements for
renewal are as follows:

(A) Written request for renewal of the certificate of license to
teach;

(B) Verification of two (2) years experience as a school coun-
selor, school psychological examiner, or school psychologist in a
school setting;

(C) Documentation of attendance at three (3) professional work-
shops totaling fifteen (15) clock hours approved by the department;
and

(D) Submission of an official transcript showing six (6) semes-
ter hours appropriate to school counselors, school psychological
examiners, or school psychologists from a state-approved college
or university; or documentation verifying ninety (90) clock hours

of professional workshops/in-services appropriate for school coun-
selors, school psychological examiners, or school psychologists.

(15) A pupil services certificate of license to teach may be issued
for an advanced school counselor for a period of ten (10) years and
may be renewed an unlimited number of times. The requirements
for renewal are as follows:

(A) Written request for renewal of the certificate of license to
teach;

(B) Verification of two (2) years experience as a school coun-
selor in school setting;

(C) Documentation of attendance at three (3) professional work-
shops totaling fifteen (15) clock hours approved by the department;
and

(D) Submission of an official transcript showing six (6) semes-
ter hours appropriate to counselors from a state-approved college
or university appropriate to school counselors or documentation
verifying ninety (90) clock hours of professional workshops/in-ser-
vices appropriate for school counselors.

(16) If a school counselor, advanced school counselor, school psy-
chological examiner, and/or school psychologist seeks to renew
their pupil personnel services certificate of license to teach, how-
ever, the individual has not been employed in a school setting, the
individual must submit the following:

(A) Written request for renewal of the certificate of license to
teach; and

(B) Submission of an official transcript showing eight (8) semes-
ter hours appropriate to school counselors, school psychological
examiners, or school psychologists from a state-approved college
Or university.

(17) A pupil personnel services certificate of license to teach may
be issued for a vocational adult education supervisor, for a period
of five (5) years and may be renewed once by meeting the follow-
ing criteria:

(A) Completion of the Vocational Leadership Academy focused
upon general and vocational administration from a state-approved
college or university to prepare vocational education supervisors.
The Vocational Leadership Academy shall include the competen-
cies identified for the certificate of license to teach;

(B) Annual memberships in the state and national vocational
school administrators’ professional organizations, Missouri
Council of Vocational Administrators (MCVA) and National
Council of Local Administrators (NCLA), including participation
in at least three (3) annual state and/or national meetings of pro-
fessional, vocational education organizations;

(C) Participation in workshops and/or seminars on general or
vocational education administration, instructional leadership activ-
ities, or curriculum development totaling at least fifteen (15) clock
hours; and

(D) Participation in one (1) accreditation-evaluation of schools
by the North Central Association or DESE evaluation teams.

(18) A ten (10)-year pupil personnel services certificate of license
to teach as a vocational adult education supervisor may be issued
to the individual meeting the criteria for the five (5)-year certifi-
cate and the following additional criteria:

(A) Annual memberships in the state and national vocational
school administrators’ professional organizations, MCVA and
NCLA, including participation in at least eight (8) annual state
and/or national meetings of professional, vocational education
organizations;

(B) Participation in workshops and/or seminars on general or
vocational education administration, instructional leadership activ-
ities, or curriculum development totaling at least fifteen (15) clock
hours; and
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(C) Participation in one (1) accreditation-evaluation of schools
by the North Central Association or DESE evaluation teams.

(19) The ten (10)-year pupil personnel services certificate of
license to teach as a vocational adult education supervisor may be
renewed an unlimited number of times by the individual meeting
the following criteria:

(A) Possession of five (5) years experience in school supervision
during the previous ten (10) years;

(B) Annual memberships in the state and national vocational
school administrators’ professional organizations, MCVA and
NCLA, including participation in at least eight (8) annual state
and/or national meetings of professional, vocational education
organizations;

(C) Participation in workshops and/or seminars on general or
vocational education administration, instructional leadership activ-
ities, or curriculum development totaling at least fifteen (15) clock
hours;

(D) Participation in one (1) accreditation-evaluation of schools
by the North Central Association or DESE evaluation teams; and

(E) Completion of two (2) graduate semester hours related to
adult vocational education.

(20) A nonrenewable pupil personnel services certificate of license
to teach may be issued for a post-secondary vocational counselor
for a period of five (5) years. A ten (10)-year pupil personnel cer-
tificate of license to teach as a post-secondary vocational counselor
may be issued and renewed an unlimited number of times by the
individual meeting the criteria for the five (5)-year certificate and
the following additional criteria:

(A) Possession of two (2) years out of the previous five (5) years
experience in counseling at the post-secondary level;

(B) Successful completion of a course in vocational education (if
not taken as part of the individual’s masters or higher level pro-
gram);

(C) Annual memberships in the state and national school pro-
fessional organization, including participation in at least five (5)
annual state and/or national meetings of vocational school profes-
sional organizations; and

(D) Completion of one (1) of the following requirements:

1. Attendance at eight (8) professional workshops/seminars
totaling fifteen (15) clock hours, appropriate for post-secondary
counselors servicing individuals enrolled in vocational education;
or

2. Completion of six (6) hours of graduate credit appropriate
for post-secondary counselors.

(21) A nonrenewable pupil personnel services certificate of license
to teach may be issued for a placement coordinator for a period of
five (5) years. A ten (10)-year pupil personnel certificate of license
to teach as a placement coordinator may be issued and renewed an
unlimited number of times by the individual meeting the criteria
for the five (5)-year certificate and the following additional crite-
ria:

(A) Possession of a Missouri certificate of license to teach as a
counselor or in a vocational-technical area;

(B) Possession of two (2) years out of the previous five (5) years
experience as a placement coordinator;

(C) Successful completion of a course in vocational education (if
not taken as part of the individual’s masters or higher level pro-
gram); and

(D) Completion of one (1) of the following requirements:

1. Attendance at three (3) of the five (5) previous Missouri
Association of Career and Technical Education summer confer-
ences and at least three professional workshops/seminars, totaling
fifteen (15) clock hours, appropriate to placement coordinators; or

2. Attendance at three (3) of the five (5) previous Missouri
Association of Career and Technical Education summer confer-

ences and a minimum of three (3) semester hours of graduate cred-
it appropriate for post-secondary counselors.

(22) A nonrenewable pupil personnel services certificate of license
to teach may be issued for a vocational evaluator for a period of
five (5) years. A ten (10)-year pupil personnel certificate of
license to teach as a vocational evaluator may be issued and
renewed an unlimited number of times by the individual meeting
the criteria for the five (5)-year certificate and the following addi-
tional criteria:
(A) Completion of two (2) years full-time employment as a
vocational evaluator;
(B) Completion of the following course work:
1. Standardized testing;
2. Occupational information or job analysis; and
3. Two (2) courses with a primary focus in at least one (1) of
the following content areas:
A. Philosophy and process of vocational evaluation and
assessment;
B. Individualized vocational evaluation planning;
C. Vocational evaluation report development and commu-
nication;
D. Work samples and systems;
E. Situational and community-based assessment;
F. Behavioral observation;
G. Functional aspects of disability;
H. Vocational interviewing;
I. Assessment of learning;
J. Functional skills assessment; and/or
K. Modifications and accommodations.

(23) The holder of a pupil personnel services certificate of license
to teach shall ensure that DESE has their current legal name and
address.

(A) A holder of a pupil personnel services certificate of license
to teach whose name is changed by marriage or court order shall
notify the department within thirty (30) days of the name change
and provide a copy of the appropriate documents verifying the
name change.

(B) A holder of a pupil personnel services certificate of license
to teach whose address has changed shall inform the department in
writing of the change within thirty (30) days of the effective date
of the change.

AUTHORITY: sections 161.092, 168.011 and 168.081, RSMo 1994
and 168.021 and 168.071, RSMo Supp. 1999. Original rule filed
April 26, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost the
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
$588.63 in Fiscal Year 2001, with that cost reoccurring annually
thereafter over the life of the rule A fiscal note containing the esti-
mated cost of compliance has been filed with the secretary of state.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost private
entities, the applicants for a pupil personnel services certificate of
license to teach, $17,198 in Fiscal Year 2001, with that cost reoc-
curring annually thereafter over the life of the rule for approxi-
mately 559 new applicants. The cost for the life of the rule for each
individual in-state applicant is $22 and $47 for each individual
out-state applicant. A fiscal note containing the estimated cost of
compliance has been filed with the secretary of state.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education,
Attention Dr. Celeste Ferguson, Assistant Commissioner, Division
of Urban and Teacher Education, P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City,
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MO 65102-0480. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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FISCAL NOTE
PUBLIC ENTITY COST

I. RULE NUMBER

Title: 5 - Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Duvision: 80 - Urban and Teacher Education

Chapter: 800 - Teacher Certification and Professional Conduct and Investigations
Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 5 CSR 80-800.230 Application for a Pupil Personnel Services Certificate of
License to Teach and/or Endorsement

II. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Affected Agency or Estimated Cost of Compliance
Political Subdivision in the Aggregate

Dept. of Elementary and Secondary Education | § 588.63 per year for the life of the rule

III. WORKSHEET

$588.63 includes the cost for approximately 559 applications, printing, duplication, and mailing,
associated with pupil personnel services applications.

1IV. ASSUMPTIONS
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I. RULE NUMBER
Title:
Division:

Chapter:

FISCAL NOTE

PRIVATE ENTITY COST

80 - Urban and Teacher Education

Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 5 CSR 80-800.230 Application for a Pupil Personnel Services Certificate of

License to Teach and/or Endorsement

II: SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

5 - Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

800 - Teacher Certification and Professional Conduct and Investigations

Estimate the number of entities
which would likely be affected

Classification of types of the
business entities which would

Estimate in the aggregate as to
the cost of compliance with

by the adoption of the likely be affected: the rule by the affected
proposed rule: entities: -

559 per year Applicants for a Pupil $17,198 per year for the life of

Personnel Services Certificate the rule or $22.00 per
of License to Teach individual in-state applicant
and $47.00 per individual out-
state applicant for the life of
the rule.

1. WORKSHEET

In-State Applicants

$22.00 for fingerprinting x 363 in-state applications = $7,986 per year for in-state applications.

Qut-State Applicants

$22.00 for fingerprinting + $25.00 application processing fee = $47.00 x 196 applications = $9,212 per

year for out-state applications.

Total

$7,986 + $9,212 = $17,198 per year for the life of the rule or $22.00 per in-state applicant and $47.00

per out-state applicant for the life of the rule.

IV. ASSUMPTIONS
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Title 5—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION
Division 80—Urban and Teacher Education
Chapter 800—Teacher Certification and Professional
Conduct and Investigations

PROPOSED RULE

5 CSR 80-800.260 Alternative Certification and Special
Assignment Certificate of License to Teach

PURPOSE: The State Board of Education is authorized to grant
certificates of license to teach in any of the public schools of the
state and establish requirements and qualifications for those cer-
tificates. This rule outlines the procedures for alternative certifi-
cation by application for a special assignment certificate of license
to teach when the applicant is employed by a Missouri public
school district.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The publication of the full text of the mate-
rial that the adopting agency has incorporated by reference in this
rule would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. Therefore, the full
text of that material will be made available to any interested per-
son at both the Office of the Secretary of State and the office of the
adopting agency, pursuant to section 536.031.4, RSMo. Such
material will be provided at the cost established by state law.

(1) An applicant for a special assignment Missouri certificate of
license to teach who possesses good moral character may be grant-
ed a certificate of license to teach in one (1) of the areas of special
assignment upon joint application with a Missouri public school
district. The special assignment certificate of license to teach is
limited to the employing Missouri public school district.
Endorsements will not be granted.

(2) Applications for a special assignment Missouri certificate of
license to teach shall be submitted on the forms provided by the
State Board of Education and may be obtained by writing the
Teacher Certification Section at the Department of Elementary and
Secondary Education at P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City, MO 65102
or downloading from the Internet.

(3) An application is not considered officially filed with the board
until it has been determined by the board or department staff to be
complete and the application is submitted on the forms provided by
the board, signed and accompanied by two (2) full sets of finger-
prints with the appropriate fee as set by the Missouri State
Highway Patrol and/or the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
and any other applicable forms. All information should be received
by the board within ninety (90) days of the date of the application.

(A) The applicant is responsible for the payment of any fees
required by the Missouri Highway Patrol and/or FBI.

(B) For the purposes of this rule, the fingerprint cards shall be
completed by any law enforcement agency and sent directly to the
department.

(4) The applicant must possess a baccalaureate or higher degree
from an accredited college or university

(5) The applicant must possess an overall grade point average of
2.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale.

(6) Applicants must document a minimum of three (3) years of
work experience in which the content of their baccalaureate or
higher degree major is significantly applied in the area of special
assignment. Exceptions may be made on the school district’s rec-
ommendation and approved by the Department of Elementary and
Secondary Education (DESE).

(7) The applicant shall request that each state or United States ter-
ritory regulatory entity in which a professional license including a
certificate of license to teach is held or has ever been held to sub-
mit verification of certification or licensure directly to the depart-
ment, including information regarding any disciplinary action.

(8) The employing school district must develop a mentoring pro-
gram to provide adequate support to the special assignment cer-
tificate of license to teach holders to ensure proper transition into
the classroom environment.

(9) The applicant for a special assignment certificate of license to
teach under the five percent (5%) program must comply with the
following additional criteria:

(A) Submission of a joint application with a Missouri public
school district whose total classroom teachers with a special
assignment certificate of license to teach reported semi-annually to
DESE core data does not exceed five percent (5%);

(B) The applicant must not hold, have held or be eligible to hold
a certificate of license to teach;

(C) The five percent (5%) special assignment certificate of
license to teach is limited to the baccalaureate major or higher
degree area of study. The major area of study must be listed as an
area of secondary and/or middle school education certification in
the rules promulgated by the board. In addition, a five percent
(5%) special assignment certificate of license to teach may be
granted in art, music or foreign language, grades kindergarten
through twelve (K-12), if the area was the applicant’s baccalaure-
ate or higher degree major area of study. Five percent (5%) spe-
cial assignment certificates of license to teach will not be issued in
early childhood education, elementary education, special educa-
tion, pupil personnel services, and/or administrator; and

(D) The five percent (5%) special assignment certificate of
license to teach is limited to the baccalaureate major or higher
degree area of study and the original sponsoring Missouri public
school district. The five percent (5%) special assignment certifi-
cate of license to teach may only be used in the original sponsor-
ing Missouri public school district.

(10) The five percent (5%) special assignment certificate of license
to teach is valid for up to one (1) school year. The five percent
(5%) special assignment certificate of license to teach may be
renewed annually for a maximum total of three (3) school years by
joint application from the original sponsoring Missouri public
school district and the five percent (5%) certificate holder and doc-
umentation by the school district administrator that the five percent
(5%) certificate holder is being mentored and progressing annual-
ly towards a professional classification certificate of license to
teach in the area of assignment as set forth in the Compendium of
Missouri Certification Requirements which is incorporated by ref-
erence and made a part of this rule. A five percent (5%) special
assignment certificate of license to teach may only be issued for a
maximum of three (3) years and the holder is ineligible for con-
sideration of another five percent (5%) special assignment certifi-
cate of license to teach.

(11) The applicant for a special assignment certificate of license to
teach under the alternative teacher certification program must
comply with the following additional criteria:

(A) Documentation of the applicant’s acceptance into an
Alternative Teacher Certification Program offered by Missouri
colleges/universities with state-approved teacher education pro-
grams. Early childhood, elementary education and administrators
will not be included in the Alternative Teacher Certification
Program;

(B) Verification of the completion of a general education back-
ground satisfactory to the teacher education institution;
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(C) Documentation of participation in a structured interview
selected by the teacher education institution. The interview should
assess the candidate’s beliefs regarding the nature of teaching, the
nature of students and the goals and mission of education as a pro-
fession. The interview may be utilized for screening purposes (for
example, the Missouri preprofessional teacher interview) or for
diagnostic and counseling purposes (for example, the selection
research, incorporated preservice teacher perceiver);

(D) Documentation of a contract between the applicant and the
higher education institution which has an Alternative Teacher
Certification Program approved by the board. The contract should
permit the applicant to enroll in course work demonstrating under-
standing of the following:

1. Adolescent development;

2. The psychology of learning; and

3. Teaching methodology in the content area. The course
work must be completed prior to special assignment certification
and employment; and

(E) Documentation of a four (4)-party contract with the appli-
cant, the employing Missouri school district, the recommending
teacher preparation program, and DESE upon the completion of
the course work outlined above.

(12) The alternative teacher certification special assignment cer-
tificate of license to teach is valid for a period of one (1) school
year and may be renewed by joint application from the original
sponsoring Missouri public school district and the certificate hold-
er and documentation by the school district administrator that the
certificate holder is being mentored and progressing annually
towards a professional classification certificate of license to teach
in the area of assignment as set forth in the Compendium of
Missouri Certification Requirements which is incorporated by ref-
erence and made a part of this rule.

(13) The applicant for a special assignment certificate of license to
teach under the critical needs program must comply with the fol-
lowing additional criteria:

(A) Submission of a letter from the school district’s superinten-
dent documenting a critical need in the area of certification as
approved by DESE;

(B) Documentation of a plan of an academic program of study
from a state-approved teacher preparation program;

(C) Documentation of a four (4)-party contract with the appli-
cant, the employing school district, the recommending teacher
preparation program, and DESE.

(14) The critical needs special assignment certificate of license to
teach is valid for up to one (1) school year and may be renewed by
joint application from the original sponsoring Missouri public
school district and the certificate holder and documentation by the
school district administrator that the certificate holder is being
mentored and progressing annually towards a professional classifi-
cation certificate of license to teach in the area of assignment as
set forth in the Compendium of Missouri Certification
Requirements which is incorporated by reference and made a part
of this rule.

(15) The applicant for a special assignment certificate of license to
teach under the foreign exchange program must comply with the
following additional criteria:

(A) Possession of a valid certificate of license to teach or simi-
lar title from a country with which DESE has a memorandum of
understanding; and

(B) The applicant must obtain a criminal history and back-
ground check similar to the FBI check from the applicant’s coun-
try of origin.

(16) The foreign exchange special assignment certificate of license
to teach is valid for up to one (1) school year and may be renewed
pursuant to the memorandum of understanding and the criteria as
set forth in the Compendium of Missouri Certification
Requirements which is incorporated by reference and made a part
of this rule.

(17) The applicant shall be informed in writing of the decision
regarding the application for a certificate of license to teach.

(18) The holder of a special assignment certificate of license to
teach shall ensure that DESE has their current legal name and
address.

(A) A holder of a special assignment certificate of license to
teach whose name is changed by marriage or court order shall noti-
fy the department within thirty (30) days of the name change and
provide a copy of the appropriate documents verifying the name
change.

(B) A holder of a special assignment certificate of license to
teach whose address has changed shall inform the department in
writing of the change within thirty (30) days of the effective date
of the change.

AUTHORITY: sections 161.092, 168.011 and 168.081, RSMo 1994
and 168.021 and 168.071, RSMo Supp. 1999. Original rule filed
April 26, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost the
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
$158 in the Fiscal Year 2001, with that cost reoccurring annually
thereafter over the life of the rule. A fiscal note containing the esti-
mated cost of compliance has been filed with the secretary of state.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost private
entities, the applicants for a special assignment certificate of
license to teach, $4,725 in the Fiscal Year 2001, with that cost
reoccurring annually thereafter over the life of the rule for approx-
imately 150 new applicants. The cost for the life of the rule for
each individual in-state applicant is $22 and $47 for each individ-
ual out-state applicant. A fiscal note containing the estimated cost
of compliance has been filed with the secretary of state.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education,
Attention Dr. Celeste Ferguson, Assistant Commissioner, Division
of Urban and Teacher Education, P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City,
MO 65102-0480. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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FISCAL NOTE
PUBLIC ENTITY COST

I. RULE NUMBER

Title: 5 - Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Division: 80 - Urban and Teacher Education

Chapter: 800 - Teacher Certification and Professional Conduct and Investigations
Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 5 CSR 80-800.260 Alternative Certification and Special Assignment
Certificate of License to Teach

II. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Affected Agency or Estimated Cost of Compliance
Political Subdivision in the Aggregate

Dept. of Elementary and Secondary Education | $ 158 per year for the life of the rule

III. WORKSHEET

$158 includes the cost for approximately 150 applications, printing, duplication, and mailing, associated
with special assignment applications.

IV. ASSUMPTIONS
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FISCAL NOTE
PRIVATE ENTITY COST
I. RULE NUMBER
Title: 5 - Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
Division: 80 - Urban and Teacher Education
Chapter: 800 - Teacher Certification and Professional Conduct and Investigations

Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 5 CSR 80-800.260 Alternative Certification and Special Assignment Certificate
of License to Teach

II: SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Estimate the number of entities | Classification of types of the Estimate in the aggregate as to
which would likely be affected | business entities which would | the cost of compliance with

by the adoption of the likely be affected: the rule by the affected
proposed rule: entities:
150 per year Applicants for a Special $4,725 per year for the life of
Assignment Certificate of the rule or $22.00 per
License to Teach individual in-state applicant

and $47.00 per individual out-
state applicant for the life of
the rule.

HI. WORKSHEET

In-State Applicants
$22.00 for fingerprinting x 93 in-state applications = $2,046 per year for in-state applications.

Out-State Applicants
$22.00 for fingerprinting + $25.00 application processing fee = $47.00 x 57 applications =
$2,679 per year for out-state applications.

Total
$2,046 + $2,679 = $4,725 per year for the life of the rule or $22.00 per in-state applicant and
$47.00 per out-state applicant for the life of the rule.

IV. ASSUMPTIONS
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