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Under this heading will appear the text of proposed
rules and changes. The notice of proposed rulemak-
ing is required to contain an explanation of any new rule or
any change in an existing rule and the reasons therefor.
This is set out in the Purpose section with each rule. Also
required is a citation to the legal authority to make rules.
This appears following the text of the rule, after the word
“Authority.”
ntirely new rules are printed without any special sym-
bology under the heading of the proposed rule. If an
existing rule is to be amended or rescinded, it will have a
heading of proposed amendment or proposed rescission.
Rules which are proposed to be amended will have new
matter printed in boldface type and matter to be deleted
placed in brackets.
Ar; important function of the Missouri Register is to
olicit and encourage public participation in the rule-
making process. The law provides that for every proposed
rule, amendment or rescission there must be a notice that
anyone may comment on the proposed action. This com-
ment may take different forms.
f an agency is required by statute to hold a public hear-
ing before making any new rules, then a Notice of Public
Hearing will appear following the text of the rule. Hearing
dates must be at least 30 days after publication of the
notice in the Missouri Register. If no hearing is planned or
required, the agency must give a Notice to Submit
Comments. This allows anyone to file statements in support
of or in opposition to the proposed action with the agency
within a specified time, no less than 30 days after publica-
tion of the notice in the Missouri Register.
n agency may hold a public hearing on a rule even
though not required by law to hold one. If an agency
allows comments to be received following the hearing date,
the close of comments date will be used as the beginning
day in the 90-day-count necessary for the filing of the order
of rulemaking.
f an agency decides to hold a public hearing after plan-
ning not to, it must withdraw the earlier notice and file a
new notice of proposed rulemaking and schedule a hearing
for a date not less than 30 days from the date of publication
of the new notice.

Proposed Amendment Text Reminder:
Boldface text indicates new matter.
[Bracketed text indicates matter being deleted.]

Title 3—DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION
Division 10—Conservation Commission
Chapter 5—Wildlife Code: Permits for Hunting,
Fishing, Trapping

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

3 CSR 10-5.205 Permits Required; Exceptions. The department
proposes to amend subsection (1)(F).

PURPOSE: This amendment allows youth who have purchased a
Youth Deer and Turkey Hunting Permit to purchase other firearms
deer and turkey hunting permits after their eleventh birthday dur-
ing the same permit year, provided, they are hunter education cer-
tified and surrender the unused portions of their Youth Deer and
Turkey Hunting Permit.

(1) Any person who chases, pursues, takes, transports, ships, buys,
sells, possesses or uses wildlife in any manner must first obtain the
prescribed hunting, fishing, trapping or other permit, or be
exempted under 3 CSR 10-9.110, with the following exceptions:

(F) Any person under twelve (12) years of age may purchase a
Youth Deer and Turkey Hunting Permit without display of a hunter
education certificate card, and may take one (1) antlered deer
statewide, or one (1) antlerless deer in a deer management unit
where any-deer permits are issued, during any portion of the
firearms deer hunting season/s/ except that only an antlerless
deer may be taken in units open during the January portion of
the firearms deer hunting season; one (1) male turkey or turkey
with visible beard during the spring turkey hunting season; and
one (1) turkey of either sex during the fall firearms turkey hunting
season; provided, s/he is hunting in the immediate presence of a
properly licensed adult hunter who has in his/her possession a
valid hunter education certificate card. /No other firearms deer
or turkey hunting permit may be purchased during the pre-
scribed permit year.] Youth Deer and Turkey Hunting Permit
holders attaining the age of eleven (11) during the prescribed
permit year, and who have a valid hunter education certificate
card, may surrender unused portion(s) of the Youth Deer and
Turkey Hunting Permit and purchase other firearms deer and
turkey hunting permits. Deer and turkeys taken under the
Youth Deer and Turkey Hunting Permit must be included in
the total season limits.

AUTHORITY: sections 40 and 45 of Art. IV, Mo. Const. Original
rule filed July 22, 1974, effective Dec. 31, 1974. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 24, 2000. Amended: Filed July 6, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with
John W. Smith, Deputy Director, Department of Conservation,
P.O. Box 180, Jefferson City MO 65102. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 90—State Board of Cosmetology
Chapter 4—Beauty Shops

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 90-4.010 Shops. The board is proposing to amend subsec-
tion (6)(A), and delete the forms that follow this rule in the Code
of State Regulations.

PURPOSE: This rule is being amended to allow cosmetologists
who have been licensed in another state two (2) or more years and
who have obtained licensure in Missouri by reciprocity to be eligi-
ble for an apprentice supervisor in Missouri and delete the forms
that immediately follow the rule in the Code of State Regulations.

(6) Apprentice Supervisors.

(A) Any person desiring to practice as an apprentice supervisor
shall have been licensed as a cosmetologist and/or manicurist /in
Missouri] for not less than two (2) years immediately prior to
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application as an apprentice supervisor. Said person shall provide
to the board—

1. The name and address of the apprentice to be supervised;

2. Apprentice supervisor application properly completed on a
form supplied by the board;

3. Two (2) letters of character reference for the apprentice
supervisor;

4. Two (2) additional letters of reference from licensed cos-
metologists affirming the applicant’s competence as a cosmetolo-
gist and/or manicurist;

5. Proof of successful completion of a twelfth grade education
(diploma or General Educational Development (GED) certificate);

6. Two (2) bust photographs measuring two inches square (2"
X 2") taken within the last two (2) years;

7. An affidavit attesting that the apprentice supervisor shall
be physically present at all times that his/her apprentice is receiv-
ing credited hours toward the required minimum for testing. For
emergency purposes one (1) secondary licensed cosmeto-
logist/manicurist from the apprentice shop shall be named as act-
ing apprentice supervisor. The acting supervisor shall not be
responsible for more than a total of five percent (5%) or one hun-
dred fifty (150) hours of supervision for a cosmetology apprentice.
The acting supervisor shall not be responsible for more than a total
of five percent (5%) or thirty-five (35) hours of supervision for a
manicuring apprentice. The designation of an acting supervisor is
limited to cases of sickness, vacation, or emergencies of the
apprentice supervisor and any misuse of this privilege shall result
in said supervisor’s certificate revocation. The acting apprentice
supervisor shall hold a current license consistent with the training
of the apprentice and must be named and approved;

8. Application for a board-approved training session empha-
sizing teaching methodology. The session shall be eight (8) hours
in length. Those apprentice supervisor applicants who currently
are licensed instructors in the state of Missouri may forego the
training session for becoming a supervisor; and

9. The training session fee.

A. Upon the receipt by the board of all items required by
subsection (6)(A), the board shall schedule the applicant for sem-
inar training as an apprentice supervisor.

B. Upon the successful completion of the seminar, the
board shall issue the applicant a certificate as an apprentice super-
visor. The apprentice supervisor certificate shall expire upon the
apprentice’s completion of training hours. The apprentice supervi-
sor certificate is nontransferable and nonrenewable, unless an
extension of the certificate is necessary for the apprentice to com-
plete his/her hours. The apprentice supervisor certificate shall be
conspicuously displayed within the apprentice shop with a photo-
graph taken within the last two (2) years.

C. The apprentice supervisor shall not hold him/herself out
as a school and shall not train/supervise more than one (1) appren-
tice at a time. The apprentice supervisor shall not accept any fee
from the apprentice or any representative of the apprentice for
instruction, rent, supplies, equipment or any other necessary tools
for instruction.

D. The apprentice supervisor must provide the following
equipment: dresserette, mannequin, manicure table and supplies,
current textbook on theory, facial equipment, thermal iron, hair-
dressing supplies and other equipment as deemed necessary and
reasonable by the board.

E. The apprentice supervisor shall submit monthly reports
by the tenth day of the following month for the apprentice in train-
ing on forms supplied by the board. Upon termination of training
by the apprentice, submit to the board within two (2) weeks a prop-
erly completed termination form supplied by the board. The form
shall list the total number of training hours completed by the
apprentice, allocated by subject area, the date the apprentice ter-
minated training, and shall be accompanied by the apprentice’s
license and any unused materials supplied by the board.

FE. All previously approved apprentice supervisors applying
to supervise an apprentice after September 1, 1995, shall comply
with all regulations for apprentice supervisors as set forth in 4
CSR 90-4.010.

G. The apprentice supervisor has thirty (30) days to begin
training of apprentice subsequent to attending the board-approved
training session as referenced in 4 CSR 90-4.015.

H. The board shall grant a waiver of the training session
fee and completion of a board-approved training session provid-
ed—

(I) Within the first six (6) months of the date of issuance
of the apprentice supervisor certificate either party terminates the
training; and

(II) The apprentice supervisor reapplies to supervise a
new apprentice within the same six (6) months.

AUTHORITY: sections 329.010 and 329.050, RSMo Supp. 1999
and 329.230, RSMo 1994. This version of rule filed June 26,
1975, effective July 6, 1975. For intervening history, please con-
sult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed July 11, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri State Board of Cosmetology, Pamela A. Hoelscher,
Executive Director, P.O. Box 1062, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To
be considered, comments must be received within thirty days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hear-
ing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 145—Missouri Board of Geologist Registration
Chapter 2—Licensure Requirements

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 145-2.055 Complaints, Appeals and Challenges of
Examination

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the procedures by which an exam-
ination candidate may make a complaint about the examination
administration, appeal the examination content and/or make a
challenge to the examination.

(1) Examination Administration Complaints.

(A) A candidate may file a complaint regarding the administra-
tion of the examination by sending a letter to the Missouri Board
of Geologist Registration (MBGR), in which the candidate will
describe the basis for the administrative complaint and will include
pertinent information. The letter of complaint must be postmarked
no later than thirty (30) business days after the date of the exami-
nation and must be sent via traceable mail with delivery-signature
of receipt required (e.g., certified mail).

(B) The MBGR through the executive director will investigate
and determine the validity of the complaint and will respond to the
candidate via traceable mail with delivery-signature of receipt
required (e.g., certified mail) within sixty (60) business days after
receiving the complaint.
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(2) Content Appeals.

(A) A candidate may begin an appeal process of an examination
by submitting a written request to the board office for one or more
of the following:

1. The line-item results;
2. A manual regrade; and/or

3. To inspect his/her examination papers at the office of the
MBGR during mutually convenient normal business hours.

(B) Said request(s) must be postmarked no later than thirty (30)
business days after receipt of the examination results and must be
sent via traceable mail with delivery-signature of receipt required
(e.g., certified mail). In making the request(s), the candidate must
submit payment of the applicable processing fee(s) directly to the
testing service.

(C) At the time of inspection, no one other than the examinee
and/or his/her attorney and a representative of the MBGR shall
have access to the examination papers, and no material other than
the examination papers may be taken into or out of the inspection
room. The inspection shall not exceed four (4) hours, unless spe-
cial accommodations are requested at least seven (7) business days
prior to the inspection and are approved by the executive director.

(3) Examination Challenges.

(A)Within thirty (30) business days after receiving the request-
ed appeal information and/or inspecting the examination papers,
the candidate may issue a challenge by asking the MBGR to review
a particular question(s). In making such a challenge, the candidate
will describe the basis for the challenge and will include pertinent
information. The letter of challenge must be sent to the board
office via traceable mail with delivery-signature of receipt required
(e.g., certified mail).

(B) The MBGR with the executive director will investigate the
challenge and will have a hearing at a mutually agreeable time to
determine the validity of the challenge. The MBGR will hold the
hearing and will respond to the candidate via traceable mail with
delivery-signature of receipting (e.g., certified mail) the challenge
within sixty (60) business days.

(C) In making said challenge, the candidate agrees to abide by
the decision of the MBGR.

AUTHORITY: section 256.462, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed
July 11, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: The public entity cost for this proposed rule is
estimated at $20.86 annually for the life of the rule. It is antici-
pated that the total annual cost will recur each year for the life of
the rule, may vary with inflation and is expected to increase annu-
ally at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee.
A detailed fiscal note, which estimates the cost of compliance with
this rule, has been filed with the secretary of state.

PRIVATE COST: The private entity cost for this proposed rule is
estimated at $1,250.66 annually for life of the rule. It is anticipat-
ed that the total annual cost will recur each year for the life of the
rule, may vary with inflation and is expected to increase annually
at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee. A
detailed fiscal note, which estimates the cost of compliance with
this rule, has been filed with the secretary of state.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Missouri Board of Geologist Registration, Desmond Peters,
Executive Director, P.O. Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
1335. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty
days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No
public hearing is scheduled.
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FISCAL NOTE
PUBLIC ENTITY COST

1. RULE NUMBER

Title: 4 - Department of Economic Development

Division: 145 ~ Missouri Board of Geologist Registration

Chapter: 2 - Licensure Requirements

Type of Rulemaking:  Proposed Rule
Rule Number and Name: 4 CSR 145-2.055 Complaints, Appeals and Challenges of Examination

II. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Affected Agency ar Political Subdivision Estimated Annual Cost of Compliance

5 Decision letters regarding validity $14.90
of complaint regarding administration
of examination (postage)

2 Decision letters regarding $5.96
validity of the challenge (postage)

Total Cost Per Year for the £20.86
Life of the Rule

1l. WORKSHEET
Postage - certified mail (@ $2.98

IV. ASSUMPTIONS
These annual costs will recur each year for the life of the rule, may vary with inflation and
are expected to increase annually at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight
Comrttee.
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I. RULE NUMBER

FISCAL NOTE
PRIVATE ENTITY COST

Title: 4 — Department of Economic Development
Division: 145 — Missouri Board of Geologist Registration
Chapter: 2 — Licensure Requirements

Type of Rulemaking:

Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name:

4 CSR 145-2.055 Complaints, Appeals and Challenges of Examination

1. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Estimate of the number of entitics
by class which would likely be

Classification by types of the
business entities which would

Estimate annual cost of
compliance with the rule by the

affected by the adoption of the likely be affected: affected entities:
proposed rule;
5 Individuals submitting cxamination 14.90
complaints {postage)

10 Individuals appealing examination 29.80
contents {postage)

10 Individuals appealing cxamination 500.00

conients (processing fee submitted
directly to testing service}

10 Individuals appealing ¢xamination 700.00
contents (milcage)

2 Individuals issuing a chailenge 596

(postage)
Total Cost Per Year for the Life of 1,250.66

InI. WORKSHEET
Postage ~ certified mail i@ $2.98
Processing fee @, $50.00

Milcage (average 250 miles) i@ .28

IV. ASSUMPTIONS

the Rule

1. The board anticipates five (5) individuals will submit cxamination complaints annually. The
board estimates this process will cost each applicant approximately $2.98.

2. The board anticipates ten {10) individuals will request the appeal process of the cxamination
annually. The board estimates this process will cost each applicant approximately $122.98.

3. The board anticipates two (2) individuals wilt challenge the examination annually. The board
estimates this process will cost cach applicant approximately $2.98.

4. It is anticipated that the total annual cost will recur cach year for the life of the nule, may vary
with inflation and arc cxpected to increase annually at the rate projected by the Legislative

Ovcersight Committee,
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Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 145—Missouri Board of Geologist Registration
Chapter 2—Licensure Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 145-2.060 Licensure by Reciprocity. The board is propos-
ing to amend section (1) and delete the Editor’s note about form
following 4 CSR 145-2.030.

PURPOSE: This amendment will eliminate duplicate requirements
on applicants for licensure by reciprocity.

(1) An applicant with /an original,] a current license to practice
geology in another state, jurisdiction, territory, or country may be
granted licensure in Missouri without examination, provided the
applicant submits evidence acceptable to the board that the require-
ments under which s/he /was originally] is licensed /were] are
substantially identical or more stringent than the requirements in
this state, at the time of application.

AUTHORITY: sections 256.462.3, RSMo 1994 and 256.468,
RSMo Supp. 1999. Emergency rule filed June 29, 1995, effective
July 9, 1995, expired Nov. 5, 1995. Original rule filed Sept. 28,
1995, effective May 30, 1996. Amended: Filed July 11, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: The proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: The proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Geologist Registration, Desmond Peters,
Executive Director, P.O. Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
1335. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty
days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No
public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 145—Missouri Board of Geologist Registration
Chapter 2—Licensure Requirements

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 145-2.070 Geologist-Registrant In-Training. The board is
proposing to amend subsection (1)(B), and delete the form that fol-
lows this rule in the Code of State Regulations.

PURPOSE: This amendment will reflect the changes made by
Senate Bill 320 of the 88th General Assembly to the qualifications
for the “Geologist-Registrant in-Training” status of section
256.468.7, RSMo Supp. 1999. The board is also proposing to
delete the form that immediately follows this rule in the Code of
State Regulations.

(1) Any person engaged in post-baccalaureate experience in the
practice of geology as defined in section 256.453(7), RSMo, may
apply for geologist-registrant in-training by obtaining an applica-
tion from the board.

(B) The applicant shall have passed /both] the Fundamentals of
Geology /and Principles and Practice of Geology] portion of
the National Geologist Examination as developed by the National
Association for the State Boards of Geology (ASBOG) or its pre-
decessor.

AUTHORITY: sections 256.462.3, RSMo 1994 and 256.468,
RSMo Supp. 1999. Emergency rule filed June 29, 1995, effective

July 9, 1995, expired Nov. 5, 1995. Original rule filed Sept. 28,
1995, effective May 30, 1996. Amended: Filed July 11, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: The proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: The proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Geologist Registration, Desmond Peters,
Executive Director, P.O. Box 1335, Jefferson City, MO 65102-
1335. To be considered, comments must be received within thirty
days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No
public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 2—Licensing of Physicians and Surgeons

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-2.001 Definitions. The board is proposing to amend
section (4).

PURPOSE: The purpose of this amendment is to specify deadline
date exceptions.

(4) The term “timely pay,” as used in section 334.100.2(4)(n),
RSMo, shall mean any license renewal fee received by the board
[within sixty (60) days of] prior to the [license renewal]
licensure expiration date. Renewal forms postmarked by the
post office February 1 or after will be considered delinquent,
however, should January 31 fall on a Saturday, Sunday or legal
holiday, renewal forms postmarked by the post office on the
next business day will not be considered delinquent.

AUTHORITY: sections 334.045, 334.046, 334.090, 334.100 and
334.125, RSMo [Supp. 1995] Supp. 1999 and 334.090, RSMo
1994. Original rule filed Jan. 19, 1988, effective April 15, 1988.
Amended: Filed April 15, 1996, effective Nov. 30, 1996. Amended:
Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Healing Arts, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, P.O.
Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty days after publication of this notice
in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 2—Licensing of Physicians and Surgeons

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-2.005 Examination Requirements for Permanent
Licensure. The board is proposing to delete section (6).
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PURPOSE: The purpose of this amendment is to implement Senate
Bill 141 of the 89th General Assembly.

[(6) The board may waive the provisions of section (4) of
this rule if the applicant is American Specialty Board-certi-
fied, licensed to practice as a physician and surgeon in
another state of the United States or the District of
Columbia and the applicant has achieved a passing score
on a licensing examination administered in a state or terri-
tory of the United States or the District of Columbia. Prior
to waiving the provisions of section (4) of this rule, the
board may require the applicant to achieve a passing score
on one (1) of the following: The American Specialty
Board’s certifying examination in the physician’s field of
specialization, Part Il of the FLEX or the Federation of
State Medical Board’s Special Purpose Examination
(SPEX). If the board waives the provisions of section (4)
of this rule, then the license issued to the applicant may
be limited or restricted to the applicant’s board specialty.]

AUTHORITY: sections 334.031, 334.040 and 334.125, RSMo
[1986] Supp. 1999 and 334.043, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed
Feb. 17, 1988, effective May 12, 1988. For intervening history,
please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed July
25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri State Board of Healing Arts, 3605 Missouri Boulevard,
P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty days after publication of this notice
in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 2—Licensing of Physicians and Surgeons

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-2.065 Temporary Licenses to Teach or Lecture in
Certain Programs. The board is proposing to amend subsection

@ ®).
PURPOSE: The amendment redefines an accredited hospital.

(2) As used in this rule, unless specifically provided otherwise, the
term—

(B) Accredited [teaching] hospital shall mean a hospital locat-
ed in Missouri /which is approved and accredited to teach
graduate medical education by the accreditation counsel
on graduate medical education of the AMA or the educa-
tion committee of the AOA;] and licensed by the Missouri
Department of Health—Bureau of Health Facility Regulation;

AUTHORITY: sections 334.046 [, RSMo Supp. 1989] and
334.125, RSMo [1986] Supp. 1999. Original rule filed Jan. 19,
1988, effective April 15, 1988. For intervening history, please con-
sult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Healing Arts, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, P.O.
Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty days after publication of this notice
in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 2—Licensing of Physicians and Surgeons

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-2.080 Fees. The board is proposing to delete subsec-
tions (1)(Q), (1)(R), and (1)(S) and reletter the remaining subsec-
tions accordingly.

PURPOSE: Since the board no longer utilizes Component I
Federation Licensing Examination, Component II Federation
Licensing Examination or Step 3 United States Medical Licensing
Examination, the board is proposing to delete the required fees
from this rule.

(1) The following fees are established by the State Board of
Registration for the Healing Arts:
[(Q) Component | Federation Licensing

Examination $ 250.00;
(R) Component Il Federation Licensing

Examination $ 300.00;
(S) Step 3 United States Medical Licensing

Examination $450.00;]
[(T)] (Q) Continuing Medical Education

Extension Fee $ 15.00

[(U)] (R) Photocopy Fee—public records (per page) $ .25
[(V)] (S) Document Search Fee—public records

(per hour) $ 20.00

with a minimum fee of $ 5.00

[(W)] (T) Access Fee—public records maintained on computer

facilities, recording tapes or discs, videotapes or films, pictures,

slides, graphics, illustrations or similar audio or visual items or

devices. Actual cost of reproduction plus document search fee (per

hour) $ 20.00
with a minimum fee of $ 5.00
[(X)] (U) Duplicate License Fee $ 30.00

AUTHORITY: sections 334.090.2, RSMo 1994 and 334.125 and
610.026, RSMo Supp. 1999. Emergency rule filed July 1, 1981,
effective July 11, 1981, expired Nov. 8, 1981. Original rule filed
July 14, 1981, effective Oct. 11, 1981. For intervening history,
please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed July
11, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to the proposed amendment with the
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State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts, P.O. Box 4,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 2—Licensing of Physicians and Surgeons

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-2.100 Licensing of International Medical
Graduates—Reciprocity. The board is proposing to delete section
(2) and renumber the remaining section accordingly.

PURPOSE: This amendment implements SBI141 of the 89th
General Assembly.

[(2) The board may waive the provisions of subsection
(1)(D) of this rule if the applicant is American Specialty
Board-certified, licensed to practice as a physician and sur-
geon in another state of the United States or the District
of Columbia and the applicant has achieved a passing
score on a licensing examination administered in a state or
territory of the United States or the District of Columbia.
Prior to waiving the provisions of subsection (1)(D) of this
rule, the board may require the applicant to achieve a pass-
ing score on one (1) of the following: The Appropriate
Specialty Board’s certifying examination in the physician’s
field of specialization, Component 2 of the FLEX before
January 1, 1994, Step 3 of the USMLE or the Special
Purpose Examination (SPEX). If the board waives the pro-
visions of subsection (1)(D) of this rule, then the license
issued to the applicant may be limited or restricted to the
applicant’s board specialty.]

[(3)] (2) As used in this rule, the term fifth pathway shall mean a
candidate for licensure who has successfully completed four (4)
years of medical education in Mexico and then completes a train-
ing program in the United States at a medical college approved and
accredited by the AMA or its Liaison Committee on Medical
Education or an osteopathic college approved and accredited by the
American Osteopathic Association (AOA) in lieu of completing a
year of internship and social service work in Mexico.

(A) A fifth pathway candidate may be eligible for licensure to
practice the healing arts in this state if s/he satisfies the following
requirements:

1. An applicant must have completed all of the prescribed
curriculum at his/her school of medicine and the curriculum in this
state and the applicant must have completed training at a medical
school whose curriculum has been approved by the proper
Mexican government agency;

2. An applicant must meet the academic requirements for
licensure in Mexico; and

3. An applicant must be either American Specialty Board-eli-
gible or have completed three (3) years of postgraduate training in
one (1) recognized specialty area of medicine in a program which
is approved and accredited to teach postgraduate medical education
by the accreditation council on graduate medical education of the
AMA or the education committee of the AOA.

AUTHORITY: sections 334.031, 334.040 and 334.125, RSMo
[1986] Supp. 1999 and 334.035, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed
July 12, 1984, effective Jan. 1, 1987. For intervening history,

please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed July
25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri State Board of Healing Arts, 3605 Missouri Boulevard,
P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty days after publication of this notice
in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEPARTMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 3—Licensing of Physical Therapists and
Physical Therapist Assistants

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-3.203 Acceptable Continuing Education. The board
is proposing to amend section (5).

PURPOSE: This amendment corrects typographical errors.

(5) Acceptable continuing education is automatically approved if
such course or activity is obtained as follows:

(B) Academic coursework completed at a regionally accredited
college or university in subject matter directly related to the prac-
tice of physical therapy, as defined in section 334.500(4), RSMo
in which the licensee earns a grade of a “C” or above. For the pur-
pose of this subsection each semester credit hour shall be accept-
able as ten (10) hours of continuing education, each trimester cred-
it hour shall be acceptable as eight (8) hours of continuing educa-
tion, one-quarter credit hour shall be acceptable as seven (7) hours
of continuing education.

1. An official transcript, from a regionally accredited college
or university, indicating successful completion of academic course-
work in appropriate subject matter related to practice of physical
therapy as specified in section /(3)] (4) of this rule, specifically
reporting that the licensee earned a grade of at least a “C” for that
course, and the number of credit hours awarded for the course shall
be the document(s) necessary as proof of compliance if audited by
the board to submit proof.

(E) Professional program presentations presented by the licensee
in subject matter directly related to the practice of physical thera-
py which meets the criteria specified in section /(3)] (4) of this
rule as delivered in a lecture and/or demonstration format other
than academic curricula.

1. The maximum continuing education hours for presentation
activities per licensee shall not exceed fifteen (15) hours during
any two (2)-year reporting period.

2. The delivering of a presentation for the first time or a
workshop or course shall be creditable for three (3) hours of con-
tinuing education for each hour of actual presentation time (this
ratio reflects the preparation time required in delivering an initial
presentation).

3. The delivering of a presentation, workshop or course for a
second time shall be creditable for one (1) hour of continuing edu-
cation for each hour of actual presentation time (this ratio reflects
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the lesser degree of preparation time required for the second pre-
sentation of a workshop or course).

4. The delivering of a presentation, workshop or course more
than two (2) times, in any two (2)-year reporting period, is not
acceptable for continuing education hours (this reflects the mini-
mal preparation time necessary for multiple presentations of the
same workshop or course).

5. A written announcement of a presentation schedule and/or
brochure specifically identifying the licensee as /a or/ the presen-
ter of a course/seminar/program which meets the criteria specified
in section /(3)] (4) of this rule and section 334.500(4), RSMo shall
be the document(s) necessary as proof of compliance if audited by
the board to submit proof.

(H) Publication of a chapter in a peer-reviewed physical therapy
or medical publication shall be creditable for five (5) hours of con-
tinuing education.

1. A copy of the chapter as published in a peer-reviewed
physical therapy or medical publication specifically identifying the
licensee as the author of such chapter, as well as a copy of the
cover of the publication, shall be the document(s) necessary as
proof of compliance if audited by the board to submit proof.

(I) Videotaped presentation reviews which identify a specific
sponsor, sponsoring group or agency, provided that the videotaped
presentation meets the criteria specified in section /(3)] (4) of this
rule.

1. A certificate of completion of a videotaped presentation
review specifically identifying the licensee as well as the specific
sponsor, along with the name of the facilitator or program official
present during the review, as well as all others in attendance dur-
ing the review, provided that /the/ such presentation meets the cri-
teria specified in section /(3)] (4) of this rule and section
334.500(4), RSMo, shall be the document(s) necessary as proof of
compliance if audited by the board to submit proof.

(J) Home study courses, which meet the criteria specified in
section /(3)] (4) of this rule and section 334.500(4), RSMo, which
result in the awarding of a certificate of completion, shall be cred-
itable for the number of hours specified on the certificate of com-
pletion.

1. A certificate of completion verifying the completion of a
home study course meeting the criteria specified in section /(3)]
(4) of this rule and section 334.500(4), RSMo, specifically identi-
fying the licensee and the continuing education hours such course
is creditable for, shall be the document(s) necessary as proof of
compliance if audited by the board to submit proof.

(L) Initial CPR [(Cardiac Pulmonary Resuscitation)]
(Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation) certification or recertification
shall be creditable for each hour of actual attendance in certifica-
tion or recertification training.

1. A copy of a CPR certification or recertification certificate,
specifically identifying the licensee as the person awarded such
certification or recertification, shall be the document(s) necessary
as proof of compliance if audited by the board to submit proof.
This credit for continuing education hours shall only be applicable
once during each two (2)-year reporting period.

AUTHORITY: sections 334.125 and 334.507, RSMo Supp. [1998]
1999. Original rule filed May 14, 1999, effective Dec. 30, 1999.
Amended: Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Healing Arts—Advisory Commission for

Physical Therapists, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, P.O. Box 4,
Jefferson City, MO 65102, (573) 751-0098. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 4—Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists
and Audiologists

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-4.051 Definitions. The board is proposing to amend
subsection (1)(D).

PURPOSE: This rule amends the definition of “hour of continuing
education.”

(1) For the purpose of this chapter, the following definitions shall
apply:

(D) Hour of continuing education—means a minimum of fifty
(50) minutes and up to a maximum of sixty (60) minutes spent
in actual attendance at and/or completion of an approved continu-
ing education activity; continuing education units (CEUs) are
rounded down to the nearest hour; and

AUTHORITY: sections 345.030 and 345.051,RSMo Supp. [1998]
1999. Original rule filed Nov.17, 1997, effective June 30, 1998.
Amended: Filed Nov. 16, 1998, effective July 30, 1999. Amended:
Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri State Board of Healing Arts, Tina Steinman, Executive
Director, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered,
comments must be received within thirty days after publication of
this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is sched-
uled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 4—Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists
and Audiologists

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-4.055 Applicants for Provisional Licensure. The
board is proposing to amend the original purpose statement and
sections (4), (6) and (8).

PURPOSE: This amendment changes the text of this rule to be con-
sistent with legislative amendments made to Chapter 345, RSMo
effective with the passage of House Bill 1601 of the 89th General
Assembly.

PURPOSE: This rule provides the requirements for speech-lan-
guage pathology and [clinical] audiology provisional licensure
pursuant to section 345.022, RSMo.
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(4) The fee for provisional licensure shall be an appropriate fee, to
be established by the board. The fee shall be sent in the form of a
bank draft, post office money order or express money order
payable on a United States Bank made payable to the /Missouri
Board of Healing Arts] State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts. Personal and/or corporate checks will not be
accepted. No application will be processed until the licensure fee
is received.

(6) Applicants for provisional licensure must submit the following
documentation:

(B) Proof of passage of the National Examination in Speech-
Language Pathology and/or [Clinical] Audiology. Examination
scores must be submitted to the board directly from the
Educational Testing Service. The passing score shall remain con-
sistent with the passing score set by the American Speech-
Language-Hearing Association, on the date of licensure applica-
tion;

(8) Applicants seeking provisional licensure in both speech-lan-
guage pathology and /clinicall audiology shall meet the qualifica-
tions and submit the required documentation as stated above for
both professions.

AUTHORITY: sections 345.022 and 345.030, RSMo [Supp.
1995] Supp. 1999. Original rule filed July 12, 1996, effective
Jan. 30, 1997. Amended: Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to the proposed amendment with the
State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts, P.O. Box 4,
Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 4—Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists
and Audiologists

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-4.060 Fees. The board is proposing to amend sections
(1)-(3), add a new section (4), and renumber the remaining sec-
tions accordingly.

PURPOSE: This amendment changes the renewal period from
annual to biennial for Speech-Language Pathologists and
Audiologists, aides and provisional licensees and establishes the
fee for Speech-Language Pathology Assistants’ registration, renew-
al, and reinstatement.

(1) The following fees are established by the Advisory
Commission for Speech-Language Pathologists and /[Clinicall
Audiologists and are payable in the form of a cashier’s check or
money order:
(B) Biennial Licensure Renewal Fee—Odd Numbered Years
(personal checks acceptable) $/25.00]50.00

(2) The following fees apply to speech-language pathology and
[clinical] audiology aides:
(A) [Registered] Registration Application
Processing Fee $25.00
(B) Biennial Registration Renewal Fee—QOdd Numbered Years
(personal checks acceptable) [$10.00] $20.00

(3) The following fees apply to speech-language pathology and
[clinical] audiology provisional licensees:

(4) The following fees apply to speech-language pathology
assistants:

(A) Registration Application Processing Fee $25.00
(B) Biennial Registration Renewal Fee—

Odd Numbered Years

(personal checks acceptable) $20.00
(C) Reinstatement Fee $10.00

[(4)] (5) All fees are nonrefundable.

[(5)] (6) The provisions of this rule are declared severable. If any
fee fixed by this rule is held invalid by a court of competent juris-
diction or by the Administrative Hearing Commission, the remain-
ing provisions of this rule shall remain in full force and effect,
unless otherwise determined by a court of competent jurisdiction
or by the Administrative Hearing Commission.

AUTHORITY: sections 345.015, 345.022, 345.030, [345.051],
345.045, [RSMo 1994] and 345.055, RSMo [1997] Supp.
1999. Original rule filed July 1, 1988, effective Oct. 27, 1988.
Amended: Filed April 2, 1992, effective Dec. 3, 1992. Amended:
Filed July 12, 1996, effective Jan. 30, 1997. Amended: Filed Nov.
17, 1997, effective June 30, 1998. Amended: Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri State Board of Healing Arts, 3605 Missouri Boulevard,
P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty days after publication of this notice
in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 4—Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists
and Audiologists

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-4.105 Educational Requirements. The board is
proposing to amend the original purpose statement, amend section
(1) and add new subsections (1)(A), (1)(B), and (1)(C).

PURPOSE: This amendment deletes the word “clinical” as it pre-
cedes the word “audiology” in the original purpose statement;
amends the terminology in section (1) with the addition of subsec-
tions (A)-(C). This amendment is consistent with amendments to
Chapter 345, RSMo effective with the passage of House Bill 1601
of the 89th General Assembly.
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PURPOSE: This rule details the educational requirements for
speech-language pathology [/clinical] and audiology aides.

(1) To be eligible for registration as an audiology aide or speech-
language pathology aide, each applicant must: /-7) be of good
moral character and 2) hold a high school diploma or
equivalent.]
(A) Be at least eighteen years of age;
(B) Furnish evidence of good moral character;
(C) Furnish evidence of educational qualifications which
shall be at a minimum:
1. Certification of graduation from an accredited high
school or its equivalent; and
2. Proposed plan for on-the-job training as will be provid-
ed by a licensed speech-language pathologist or licensed audi-
ologist (respective of registration requested) specifying employ-
ment dates, duties and responsibilities.

AUTHORITY: sections 345.015 and 345.030, RSMo [1986]
Supp. 1999. Original rule filed April 2, 1992, effective Dec. 3,
1992. Amended: Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Healing Arts—Advisory Commission for
Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, 3605 Missouri
Boulevard, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102, (573) 751-0098.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty days
after publication in this notice in the Missouri Register. No pub-
lic hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 4—Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists
and Audiologists

PROPOSED RESCISSION

4 CSR 150-4.110 Supervision Requirements. This rule detailed
the supervision requirements for speech-language pathology/clini-
cal audiology aides.

PURPOSE: The board is proposing to rescind this rule and pro-
pose a new rule that more clearly details the supervision require-
ments for speech-language pathology and audiology aides.

AUTHORITY: section 345.015, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed
April 2, 1992, effective Dec. 3, 1992. Rescinded: Filed July 25,
2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the

Missouri Board of Healing Arts—Advisory Commission for
Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, 3605 Missouri
Boulevard, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102, (573) 751-0098.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No pub-
lic hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 4—Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists
and Audiologists

PROPOSED RULE
4 CSR 150-4.110 Supervision Requirements

PURPOSE: This rule details the supervision requirements for
speech-language pathology and audiology aides.

(1) All applications for registration to practice as a speech-lan-
guage pathology aide must include a statement from a speech-lan-
guage pathologist, holding current unrestricted licensure to prac-
tice in the state of Missouri pursuant to section 345.015(10),
RSMo, acknowledging willingness to provide on-the-job training
and acceptance of the legal and ethical responsibilities for super-
vising the aide.

(2) All applications for registration to practice as an audiology aide
must include a statement from an audiologist holding current unre-
stricted licensure to practice in the state of Missouri pursuant to
section 345.015(1), RSMo acknowledging willingness to provide
on-the-job training and acceptance of the legal and ethical respon-
sibilities for supervising the aide.

(3) The supervising speech-language pathologist and/or audiolo-
gist is responsible for all of the aide’s activities.

(A) It is the responsibility of the supervising speech-language
pathologist or supervising audiologist (respective of aide’s regis-
tration) to protect the interests of all patients and/or clients at all
times during which the aide is practicing and/or interacting with
patients and/or clients; this responsibility includes the supervisor’s
and the aide’s compliance with the ethical standards of practice as
specified in rule 4 CSR 150-4.080.

(B) The supervising speech-language pathologist or supervising
audiologist (respective of aide’s registration) retains, at all times,
the primary role in determining the competency level of the aide.

(C) When the speech-language pathology aide or audiology aide
is involved in diagnostic and/or intervention activities, the aide
must be directly supervised. Direct supervision is defined as on-
site, in view of the aide and patient/client.

(D) It is the responsibility of the supervising speech-language
pathologist or supervising audiologist (respective of aide’s regis-
tration) to determine the amount of indirect supervision to be pro-
vided to the aide based on the following factors:

1. The skill and experience of the aide;

2. The skill and expertise required for the task assigned;

3. The individual needs of the patient and/or client receiving
Services;

4. The setting in which the delivery of services is/will be per-
formed.

(E) The supervising speech-language pathologist or supervising
audiologist (respective of aide’s registration) shall ensure that the
scope and intensity of training for the aide encompasses all activ-
ities assigned to the aide.
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(F) The supervising speech-language pathologist or supervising
audiologist (respective of aide’s registration) shall provide contin-
ual opportunities to ensure that the aides’ practices are current and
his/her skills are maintained.

(G) The supervising speech-language pathologist or supervising
audiologist (respective of the aide’s registration) shall provide the
aide with information specifying the aides role(s) and function(s).

(H) The number of aide’s supervised by a speech-language
pathologist and/or audiologist shall be consistent with the delivery
of appropriate quality services.

AUTHORITY: sections 345.015 and 345.030, RSMo Supp. 1999.
Original rule filed April 2, 1992, effective Dec. 3, 1992.
Rescinded and readopted: Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Missouri Board of Healing Arts—Advisory Commission for
Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, 3605 Missouri
Boulevard, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102, (573) 751-0098.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No pub-
lic hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 4—Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists
and Audiologists

PROPOSED RESCISSION

4 CSR 150-4.115 Scope of Practice. This rule detailed the scope
of practice for speech-language pathology/clinical audiology aides.

PURPOSE: The board is proposing to rescind this rule and pro-
pose new language that more clearly details the scope of practice
for speech-language pathology and audiology aides.

AUTHORITY: section 345.015, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed
April 2, 1992, effective Dec. 3, 1992. Rescinded: Filed July 25,
2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Board of Healing Arts—Advisory Commission for
Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, 3605 Missouri
Boulevard, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102, (573) 751-0098.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No pub-
lic hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 4—Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists
and Audiologists

PROPOSED RULE
4 CSR 150-4.115 Scope of Practice

PURPOSE: This rule details the scope of practice for speech-lan-
guage pathology and audiology aides.

(1) The supervising speech-language pathologist shall assign all
duties of the speech-language pathology aide.

(2) The supervising audiologist shall assign all duties of the audi-
ology aide.

(3) Speech-language pathology aides may only engage in tasks that
are planned, delegated, and supervised by the supervising speech-
language pathologist.

(4) Audiology aides may only engage in tasks that are planned,
delegated, and supervised by the supervising audiologist.

(5) The tasks performed by a speech-language pathology or audi-
ology aide under direct supervision may include orienting the
patients and/or clients to the clinical environment.

(6) The tasks performed by a speech-language pathology or audi-
ology aide under indirect supervision may include, but not be all
inclusive of the following:

(A) Setting up the treatment area;

(B) Providing checks and service maintenance to equipment;

(C) Performing clerical duties;

(D) Transporting patients and/or clients to and from treatment
areas;

(E) Constructing and modifying clinical materials as directed
and specified by the supervising speech-language pathologist or
supervising audiologist.

(7) Aides shall not be allowed to perform the following tasks:

(A) Interpret observations and/or data;

(B) Make diagnostic statements;

(C) Determine case selections;

(D) Disclose clinical information (data or impressions relative to
patient and/or client performance, behavior, or progress) either
verbally or in writing to anyone other than the supervising speech-
language pathologist or supervising audiologist;

(E) Compose or present clinical reports, verbally or in writing
to anyone other than the supervising speech-language pathologist
or supervising audiologist;

(F) Refer a patient and/or client to other professionals, agencies,
or individuals for services;

(G) Use a title other than speech-language pathology aide or
audiology aide pursuant to respective registration issued by the
board;

(H) Sign any patient and/or client documents/documentation;

(I) Discharge a patient and/or client from services;

(J) Administer or interpret hearing screenings or diagnostic
tests;

(K) Fit or dispense hearing instruments;

(L) Make ear impressions;

(M) Perform any procedure for which the aide is not qualified,
or has not been adequately trained, or both;
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(N) Provide counseling to a patient and/or client or the patient’s
and/or client’s family; or
(O) Write, develop or modify treatment plans.

AUTHORITY: sections 345.015 and 345.030, RSMo Supp. 1999.
Original rule filed April 2, 1992, effective Dec. 3, 1992.
Rescinded and readopted: Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Missouri Board of Healing Arts—Advisory Commission for
Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, 3605 Missouri
Boulevard, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102, (573) 751-0098.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No pub-
lic hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 4—Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists
and Audiologists

PROPOSED RESCISSION

4 CSR 150-4.120 Procedural Process for Registration. This rule
detailed the registration process for speech-language patho-
logy/clinical audiology aides.

PURPOSE: The board is proposing to rescind this rule and pro-
pose a new rule that more clearly details the registration process
for speech-language pathology and audiology aides.

AUTHORITY: section 345.015, RSMo 1986. Original rule filed
April 2, 1992, effective Dec. 3, 1992. Rescinded: Filed July 25,
2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Board of Healing Arts—Advisory Commission for
Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, 3605 Missouri
Boulevard, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102, (573) 751-0098.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No pub-
lic hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 4—Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists
and Audiologists

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 150-4.120 Procedural Process for Registration

PURPOSE: This rule details the registration process for speech-
language pathology and audiology aides.

(1) Application for registration to practice as a speech-language
pathology and/or audiology aide shall be made on forms obtained
from the Missouri State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts,
P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102.

(2) An application will not be considered as officially submitted
unless completely filled out, properly attested and the application
fee has been submitted and received by the board. The application
fee must be submitted in the form of a cashier’s check or money
order payable to the State Board of Registration for the Healing
Arts, drawn on a United States bank or firm. The following docu-
ments are necessary to be filed with the board in order to deem the
application complete:

(A) All applicants shall submit a copy of their birth certificate
confirming their date of birth;

(B) All applicants shall submit a copy of their high school grad-
uation diploma, or a certificate confirming their equivalency there-
of;

(C) All applicants shall provide, on a form provided by the
board, a proposed plan of on-the-job training, signed by the super-
vising licensed speech-language pathologist as specified in section
345.015(10), RSMo; or licensed audiologist as specified in section
345.015(1), RSMo (respective of type of registration requested)
which shall specify employment dates, employment title, duties
and responsibilities;

(D) All applicants shall provide, on a form provided by the
board, a proposed plan for active employment or verification of
active employment and supervision by a supervising licensed
speech-language pathologist or audiologist (respective of type of
registration requested) in a setting in which direct and indirect
supervision is provided on a systematic basis; and a statement by
the supervising licensed speech-language pathologist or supervis-
ing licensed audiologist acknowledging willingness to provide on-
the-job training and acceptance of the legal and ethical responsi-
bilities of supervising the applicant applying for registration to
practice as an aide;

(E) Verification of licensure, registration and/or certification to
practice in other state(s) or territories shall be submitted to the
board directly from the issuing agency, documenting their record
of the applicant, if applicable; and

(F) All applicants shall present with the application a recent,
unmounted, identifiable photograph not larger than three and one-
half inches by five inches (3 1/2" x 5") nor smaller than two inch-
es by three inches (2" % 3").

(3) The completed application, including all documents, support-
ing material(s) and official transcripts required by the board, must
be received at least thirty (30) days before the next regularly sched-
uled commission meeting. Applications completed fewer than thir-
ty (30) days before the next regularly scheduled meeting may be
scheduled for the following regularly scheduled meeting.

(4) Following the commission and board’s review, the applicant
will be informed by letter either that the application has been
approved or that it has been rejected. Any rejection letter will out-
line, with as much specificity as practicable, the reasons for rejec-
tion.

AUTHORITY: sections 345.015 and 345.030, RSMo Supp. 1999.
Original rule filed April 2, 1992, effective Dec. 3, 1992.
Rescinded and readopted: Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: The public entity cost for this proposed rule is
estimated at $9,478 for the first year of implementation of the rule.
Thereafter, the board is anticipating an annual growth rate of 10%
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in applicants and estimates the total annual cost will be $947.80
for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the total annual cost
will recur each year for the life of the rule, may vary with inflation
and is expected to increase annually at the rate projected by the
Legislative Oversight Committee. A detailed fiscal note, which esti-
mates the cost of compliance with this rule, has been filed with the
secretary of state.

PRIVATE COST: The private entity cost for this proposed rule is
estimated at $9,616 for the first year of implementation of the rule.
Thereafter, the board is anticipating an annual growth rate of 10%
in applicants and estimates the total annual cost will be $961.60
for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the total annual cost
will recur each year for the life of the rule, may vary with inflation
and is expected to increase annually at the rate projected by the
Legislative Oversight Committee. A detailed fiscal note, which esti-
mates the cost of compliance with this rule, has been filed with the
secretary of state.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Missouri Board of Healing Arts—Advisory Commission for
Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, 3605 Missouri
Boulevard, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102, (573) 751-0098.
To be considered, comments must be received within thirty days
after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No pub-
lic hearing is scheduled.
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FISCAL NOTLC
PUBLIC ENTITY COST

1. RULE NLMBER

Tirle: 4 - Department of Cconomic Development

Division: 150 - Professional Registration/State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts
Chapter: 4 - Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists

Tvpe of Rulemaking:  Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 4 CSR 150-4.120 Procedural Process for Registration

[ SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Affected Agency or Political Subdivision Estimated Cost of Compliance
State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts Estimated Cost of Compliance for First $9,478.00
Year of Implementation of the Rule
Estimated Annual Cost of Compliance for 594780
the Lite of the Rule
1Il. WORKSHEET
Expenditure of Money or Reduction in [ncome
CLASSIFICATION FEE AMOUNT NUMBER IN CLASS AGGREGATE COST
Application Printing Cost $3.26 200 5652.00
Statute, Rules and Regulation Printing 5.50 200 5100.00
Cost
License Printing Cost £ 200 $22.00
Application Mailing .70 200 5340.00
Correspondence Mailing £33 200 $66.00
License Mailing 5.29 200 $58.00
Total: 1,238.00
i STAFF i ANNUAL SALARY 1O | HOURLY | COST PCR TIME PER COST PER TOTAL
: P OSALARY INCLT:DE SALARY | MINUTE | APPLICATION | APPLICATION COST
5 FRINGE
i BENEFITS
tLicensure Technician Il ¢ 525,188.00 $32.925.75 $15.83 26 1.5 hours §23.40| $4.680.00
i Director of Operations  © §31.932.00 341.741.51 320.07 33110 minules $3.30 F660.00
Executive Director P558.215.36 $76.099.12 536.39 61| 13 minutes $9.15| $1.830.00
Account Cleek 11 1521,322.00 $28.133.56 i 313.33 23110 minules $2.30 $460.00
Clerk IV ¢ 8524,684.00 $32.266.92! St531 26| 3 minutes 578 $136.00
) ‘Fotal: $7.786.00

The above staff salaries were calculated using the following formula:

Employce’s salarics were calculated using their annual salary multiplied by 30.72% for fringe benefits and then was divided
by 2080 hours per vear to determing the hourly salary. The hourly salary was then divided by 60 minutes to determine the
cost per minute. The cost per minute was then multiplied by the amount of time individual staff spent on the processing of
applications for registration. The total cost was based on the cost per application multiplied by the estimated 200
applications.

It is estimated that approximately ten (10} applicants out of the total estimated two hundred (200) applicants may be
assigned for investigative review. It is further estimated that if an investigative review is assigned an investizator will
devote approximately two (2) hours investigating the applicant and/or situation, collecting the necessary documents and
preparing an investigative report {or the board’s review. This would alse include approximately thity (30) minutes of a
Clerk Stenographer 1l to assemble this information for board review, copy the report to the board, log the investigative in
the computer system, ete.
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STATT ANNLAL | SALARY TO | HOURLY [COSTPER]| TIME PCR COST PER TOTAL
SALARY INCLUDE SALARY MINUTE | APPLICATION | APPLICATION COsT
FRINGE
BENEFITS ;
Investigator 531,344.00 $40,07288| 31970 3312 hours 33040 $394.00
Clerk Stenographer 11 £19.260.00 $25.176.67 $12.10 20|30 minutes 56.00 S60.00
Total: 545400

The above investigative staff salarics were caleulated using the following formula:

Salaries of employees involved in the investigative process were calculated using their annual salary multiplied by 30.72%
for fringe benefits and then was divided by 2080 hours per year to determine the hourly salary. The hourly salary was then
divided by 60 minules to determine the cost per minute. The cost per minute was then multiplicd by the amount of lime
individual staff spent investigating the applicant or the situations. The total cost was based on the cost per application
multiplied by an estimated ten (10} applicants cut of the total estimated two hundred (200) applicants that may be assigned
for investigative review.

GRAND TOTAL FOR FIRST YEAR OF IMPLEMENTATION OF THE RULE: $9,478.00

IV. ASSUMPTIONS

It is estimated that the following staff time will be devoted on each application for registration and devoted to the
follewing duties:

Licensure Technician 1T — 1.5 hours per application
Dutics: telephone time devoted to applicants requesting licensure application forms, answering inquiries relative to the
documents necessary for licensure. processing the application, corresponding to the applicant acknowledging receipt
of the application and advising of lacking documentation, updating the file as documents are received, and reviewing
the file for completion and review by the Director of Operations

Dircctor of Operations — 10 minutes per application
Duties: review the file and supporting documentation for approval or directing the file for the review of the board.

Executive Director - 15 minutes per application
Duties: review applications directed to the board for review and approval. It is estimated that ten (200) out of the
estimated two hundred (200} applications estimated to receive per vear will require board review.

Agcount Clerk I - 10 minutes per application
Duties: enter fee as received and prepare a revenue transmittal, post the fee and reconcile the fee on a daily, monthly,
and ycarly basis

Clerk IV — 3 minutes per applicaiion
Duties: enter the fee on the daily fee log and disseminate the fee to the Licensure Supervisor.

The board anticipates 200 individuals will apply for registration during the first year. The board estimates this
registration process will cost the board approximately $47.39 per application.

The public entity cost for this proposed amendment is cstimated to be §9,478.00 for the first year of implementation of
the rule. Thereafter, the board is anticipating an annual growth rate of 10% in applicants and estimates the total annual
cost will be $947.80 for the life of the rule, Tt is anticipated that the total annual cost will recur cach year for the life of
the rule, however, may vary with inflation and is expected to increase annually at the rate projected by the Legislative
Oversight Committee,
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FISCAL NOTE
PRIVATE ENTITY COST

1. RULE NUMBER

Title: Department of Economic Development

Division:  Division of Professionai Registration/State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts

Chapter: 4 — Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists

Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 4 CSR 150-4.120 Procedural Process for Registration

I SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Estimate of the number of entities Classification by types of the Estimate cost of compliance
by class which would likely be business entities which would
affeeted by the adoption of the likely be affected:
proposed rule:
200 Individuals {application) $5,000.00
200 Individuals (notary) $500.00
200 Individuals (transcript} 32,000.00
200 Individuals (verification) 52,000.00
200 Individuals (postage) 566.00
Estimated Cost of Compliance for $9.616.00
the First Year of Implementation of
the Rule
Estimated Annual Cost of $961.60

Compliance for the Life of the Rule

HI, WORKSHEET

Application for Registration @ $23.00

Notary @ §2.50

Caopy of high school diploma (#@.25

Verification of licensure, registration and:or certification fec & $10.00
Birth certificate ¢ $10.00

Postage @@} $.33

V. ASSUMPTIONS

s The board anticipates 200 individuals will apply for registration during the first vear, The board estimates this
registration process will cost each applicant approximately 548 08

= The private cntity cost for this proposed amendment is estimated to be $9.616.00 for the first vear of
implementation of the rule. Thereatter, the board is anticipating an annual growth rate of 10% in applicants and
cstmates the total annual cost will be $961.60 for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the toral annual cost
will recur each year for the life of the rule, however, may vary with inflation and is expected to increasc
annually at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight Commiltee,
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Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 4—Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists
and Audiologists

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-4.125 Display of Certificate. The board is proposing
to amend the original purpose statement and the terminology used
in the text of the rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment deletes the word “clinical” as it pre-
cedes the word “audiology” and changes “registration certificate”
to “certificate of registration” in the original purpose statement;
and amends the text of the rule changing the terminology to be
consistent with amendments to Chapter 345, RSMo effective with
the passage of House Bill 160] of the 89th General Assembly.

PURPOSE: This rule details the requirements for displaying a
speech-language pathology [/clinical] and/or audiology aide cer-
tificate of registration.

[A registrant] Speech-language pathology and audiology aides
shall display the -certificate issued by the State Board of
Registration for the Healing Arts in a prominent place in /the pri-
mary] each location of practice.

AUTHORITY: sections 345.015, 345.030 and 345.065, RSMo
[1986] Supp. 1999. Original rule filed April 2, 1992, effective
Dec. 3, 1992. Amended: Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: The proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: The proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Healing Arts—Advisory Commission for
Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, 3605 Missouri
Boulevard, Jefferson City, MO 65102, (573) 751-0098. To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is
scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 4—Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists
and Audiologists

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-4.130 Renewal of Certificate of Registration. The
board is proposing to amend the original purpose statement and the
text of the rule.

PURPOSE: This amendment deletes the word “clinical” as it pre-
cedes the word “audiology” and amends the text of the rule to be
consistent with the amendments of Chapter 345, RSMo effective
with the passage of House Bill 1601 of the 89th General Assembly.

PURPOSE: This rule details the process for renewing a speech-
language pathology [/clinical] or audiology aide registration cer-
tificate.

Each registered speech-language pathology or /clinical] audiology
aide shall /annually] biennially pay the nonrefundable fee for
renewal of the certificate of registration. The executive director
shall not consider a /license] registration to be renewed until the
completed registration renewal form signed by the supervising
[licensed] speech-language pathologist//clinical] and/or audiolo-
gist and the renewal fee have been received by the State Board of
Registration for the Healing Arts. /The registered speech-lan-
guage pathologist/clinical audiologist shall furnish a signed
statement on forms provided by the board regarding the
performance of the aide. This must accompany the renew-
al form.]

AUTHORITY: sections 345.015, 345.030 and 345.051, RSMo
[1986] Supp. 1999. Original rule filed April 2, 1992, effective
Dec. 3, 1992. Amended: Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: The proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: The proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Board of Healing Arts—Advisory Commission for
Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, 3605 Missouri
Boulevard, Jefferson City, MO 65102, (573) 751-0098. To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is
scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the

Healing Arts
Chapter 6—/Licensing] Registration of Athletic
Trainers

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-6.020 Applicants for /Licensure] Registration as
Athletic Trainers. The board is proposing to amend the title of
this rule and this chapter by changing the term “Licensing” to
“Registration”; amend the original purpose statement; add new
sections (3), (4) and (5); and renumber the remaining sections
accordingly.

PURPOSE: The purpose of this amendment is to change the ter-
minology used throughout the rule to be consistent with the termi-
nology of sections 334.700-334.725, RSMo and specify the docu-
ments applicants for registration must submit to the board.

PURPOSE: This rule provides requirements to applicants desiring
[permanent licensure] registration in Missouri to practice as
athletic trainers.

(3) All applicants for registration shall present, attached to the
application, a recent photograph, not larger than three and
one-half inches by five inches (3 1/2" x 5").
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(4) All applicants shall provide a functional protocol form(s),
signed by a physician licensed to practice pursuant to Chapter
334, RSMo. The protocol form shall specify what procedures
the athletic trainer may perform or initiate during the physi-
cian’s absence. If practicing under the direction of more than
one (1) physician the applicant shall submit a functional pro-
tocol form signed by each physician.

(5) If the applicant is applying for registration as an athletic
trainer based upon meeting the National Athletic Trainers
Association (NATA) certification qualifications, then the appli-
cant shall provide proof that the NATA certification is current
at the time the application is submitted to the board.

[(3)] (6) Proof which is acceptable to the board of experience and
educational quality equal to that mentioned in section
334.708.1(1), RSMo is set forth in materials which are incorpo-
rated by reference and retained at the office of the board. The
materials can be summarized in that the results of a role delin-
eation study completed /in March 71982] by the National Athletic
Trainers’ Association (NATA) Board of Certification in conjunc-
tion with the Professional Examination Service, New York, New
York, serve as a primary basis for development of a list of compe-
tencies and is incorporated by reference in this rule. The role
delineation study /was]/ is designed to identify actual job respon-
sibilities and tasks performed by certified athletic trainers in high
schools, colleges and professional athletic organizations through-
out the United States and was conducted in an attempt to establish
a valid base for construction of the national certification examina-
tion for athletic trainers. The list of competencies subsequently
developed by the NATA Professional Education Committee serves
as a guide to the development of educational programs leading to
certification as an athletic trainer and is intended to assist both
instructional personnel and students in identifying knowledge and
skills to be mastered. Thus, educational backgrounds of registered
athletic trainers in Missouri should follow these competencies. The
competencies identified are categorized according to seven (7)
major tasks comprising the role of the certified athletic trainer:

(A) Prevention of athletic injuries/illnesses;

(B) Evaluation and recognition of athletic injuries/illnesses and
medical referral;

(C) First aid and emergency care;

(D) Rehabilitation and reconditioning;

(E) Organization and administration;

(F) Counseling and guidance; and

(G) Education. Although the necessary competencies identified
for each major task are not stated as such, they are listed wherev-
er appropriate according to the following commonly accepted
method of classifying behavioral objectives:

1. Cognitive domain (knowledge and intellectual skills).
Psychomotor domain (manipulative and motor skills) and, affec-
tive domain (attitudes and values). The materials will be made
available to any interested person, upon written request, at a cost
not to exceed the actual cost of reproduction.

[(4)] (T) The board shall charge each person applying for [licen-
sure] registration to practice as an athletic trainer an appropriate
fee, which will be established by the board. The fee shall be sent
with the application and in the form of a bank draft, postal money
order or express money order. (Personal checks will not be accept-
ed.)

AUTHORITY: sections 334.125 and 334.706[.3(2)], RSMo
[1986] Supp. 1999 and 334.702, 334.704, 334.708, 334.710
and 334.712, RSMo 1994. Emergency rule filed April 5, 1985,
effective April 15, 1985, expired Aug. 13, 1985. Original rule filed
May 3, 1985, effective Aug. 15, 1985. Amended: Filed July 25,
2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri State Board of Healing Arts—Athletic Trainers Advisory
Committee, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City,
MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.
No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 6—Registration of Athletic Trainers

PROPOSED RULE
4 CSR 150-6.025 Examination

PURPOSE: This rule provides specific instructions to applicants
regarding examination procedures.

(1) The executive director will, as soon as practicable, notify
applicants of the date, time and place the examination is scheduled
to be held.

(2) The board shall conduct examination of applicants for registra-
tion to practice as an athletic trainer at least once each calendar
year provided applicants support such administration.

(3) Any applicant detected to be seeking or giving help during the
hours of the examination will be dismissed and his/her papers can-
celled.

(4) To receive a passing score on the examination, the applicant
must achieve the passing score recommended by the National
Athletic Trainers Association or its successor. Scores from a por-
tion of an examination taken at one (1) test administration may not
be averaged with scores from any other portion of the examination
taken at another test administration to achieve a passing score.

(5) An applicant may retake the examination for registration to
practice as an athletic trainer upon payment of an appropriate fee
established by the board.

AUTHORITY: section 334.706, RSMo Supp. 1999. Original rule
filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: The public entity cost for this proposed rule is
estimated at $25.89 annually for the life of the rule. It is antici-
pated that the cost will recur each year for the life of the rule, may
vary with inflation and is expected to increase annually at the rate
projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee. A detailed fiscal
note, which estimates the cost of compliance with this rule, has
been filed with the secretary of state.

PRIVATE COST: The private entity cost for this proposed rule is
estimated at $152.83 annually for the life of the rule. It is antici-
pated that the cost will recur each year for the life of the rule, may
vary with inflation and is expected to increase annually at the rate
projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee. A detailed fiscal
note, which estimates the cost of compliance with this rule, has
been filed with the secretary of state.
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NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Missouri State Board of Healing Arts—Athletic Trainers Advisory
Committee, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City,
MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.
No public hearing is scheduled.
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FISCAL NOTE
PUBLIC ENTITY COST

L. RULE NUMBER

Title: 4 — Department of Economic Development

Division: 150 - Division of Professiona! Registration — State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts

Chapter: 6 — Registration of Athletic Trainers

Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 4 CSR 150-6.025 Examination

II. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Affected Agency or Political Subdivision Estimated Annual Cost of Compliance

State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts $25.89

II. WORKSHEET

Expenditure of Money or Reduction in Income

CLASSIFICATION FEE AMOUNT NUMBER IN CLASS | AGUGREGATE COST
Application Printing Cost $3.26 ] $3.26
Statute, Rules and Regulation Printing Cost £.50 1 $.50
License Printing Cost $.11 1 $.11
Application Mailing $1.70 1 $1.70
Correspondence Mailing 5.33 1 $.33
License Mailing £20 1 £29
TOTAL $6.19
STAFF ANNLUAIL SALARY T | HOURLY | COST PER TIME PER COSTPER [ TOTAL |
SALARY INCLUDE SALARY | MINUTE | APPLICATION | APPLICATION | COST |

: FRINGE

! BENEFITS !

Liccosure Technician 1~ $25.188.00| 532925750 T Bi5E3 26]45 minutes Ttk $11.70;
Director of Operations $31.932.60 $41.741.51 $20.07 333 minues | $4.95i 5493
Fxecutive Director 25821536 S?6.099.l2| $36.59 615 minutes RERGT £3.05

Total: $19.70

Staff salaries were calculated using the following formuia:
Emplovee’s salaries were calculated using their annual salary multiplied by 30.72% for fringe benefits and then was divided

by 2080 hours per year to determine the hourly salary. The hourly salary was then divided by 60 minutes to determine the
cost per minute. The cost per minute was then multiplied by the amount of time individual staff spent on the processing of
applications for registration. The total cost was based on the cost per application multiplied by the estimated one (1)

application,

GRAND TOTAL FOR FIRST YEAR OF TMPLEMENTATION OF THE RULE: $25.89
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[V. ASSUMPTIONS
o [t is estimated that the following staff time will be devoted on each application for registration and devoted to the

following duties:

Licensure Technician [ - 45 minutes per application
Duties; telephone time devoted to applicants requesting examination application forms, answering inquiries relative
to the documents necessary for examination, processing the application. corresponding to the applicant
acknowledging receipt of the application and advising of lacking documentation, updating the file as documents are
received, and reviewing the file for completion and review by the Director of Operations

Director of Operations — |5 minotes per application
Duties review the file and supporting documentation for approval or directing the file for the review of the advisery

comimittee.

Executive Director — 5 minutes per application
Duties: review applications directed to the advisory commitiee and possibly board for review and approval.

+  The board anticipates one (1) individual will apply for the examination annually. The board estimates this application
process will cost the board approximately $23.89 per application.

»  The public enlity cost for this proposed rule is estimated to be $25.89 annually for the life of the rule. It is anticipated
that the total annual cost will recur each year for the life of the rule, however, may vary with inflation-and is expected to
increase annually at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight Commitiee.
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FISCAL NOTE
PRIVATE ENTITY COST

I. RULE NUMBER

Title: 4 - Department of Economic Development

Division: 150 - Division of Professional Registration-State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts

Chapter: & — Registration of Athletic Trainers

Type of Rulemaking: Propose Rule

Rule Number and Name: 4 CSR 150-6.025 Examination

Il SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Estimate of the number of Classification by types of the Estimate Annuat Cost of
entitics by class which would business entities which would Compliance for the
likely be affected by the likely be affected: Life of the Rule:
adoption of the proposed rule:
1 Physician Assistant Applicants $1s50.00
(licensure application fee)
i Physician Assistant Applicants $2.50
{notary)
1 Physician Assistant Applicants $.33
(postage)

Total Annual Cost for the life of
the rule: $152.83

III. WORKSHEET

Licensure Application Fee /@ §150.00
Notary Fee @ $2.50
Postage @ $.33

IV. ASSUMPTIONS

I.  The board estimates that approxiﬁlalciy one (1) applicant will apply for licensure per vear. The application
fee is set out in 4 CSR 150-6.050.

2. It is not possible to estimate costs that an applicant could occur should the board investigate his/her
background, such costs could include legal representation, delay of licensure approval, etc.

4. The private entity cost for this proposed rule is estimated to be $1352.83 annually for the life of the rule. it
is anticipated that the total annual cost will recur each year for the life of the rute, however, may vary with
inflation and is expected to increase annually at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee.



August 15, 2000
Vol. 25, No. 16

Missouri Register

Page 2071

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 6—/Licensing] Registration of Athletic
Trainers

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-6.030 Registration by Reciprocity. The board is
proposing to amend section (2), add new sections (4)-(7), amend
the previous section (4) and renumber the remaining sections
accordingly.

PURPOSE: This amendment specifies all requirements for athletic
trainers seeking registration by reciprocity; section (2) requires
licensure, certification and/or registration verification from other
states; section (3) requires submission of a Functional Protocol
Form identifying the physician(s) designated and agreeing to be the
Athletic Trainer’s supervisor; section (6) requires photograph sub-
mission on the application form; section (7) specifies where appli-
cations shall be submitted.

(2) [The] All applicants [is] are required to make application upon
[a] forms prescribed by the board.

(4) All applicants shall furnish, on a form prescribed by the
board, verification of registration/licensure from every state,
territory or country in which the applicant has ever been reg-
istered/licensed to practice as an athletic trainer.

(5) All applicants shall provide a functional protocol form(s),
signed by a physician licensed to practice pursuant to Chapter
334, RSMo. The protocol form shall specify what procedures
the athletic trainer may perform or initiate during the physi-
cian’s absence. If practicing under the direction of more than
one (1) physician the applicant shall submit a functional pro-
tocol form signed by each physician.

(6) All applicants for reciprocity shall present, attached to the
application, a recent photograph, not larger than three and
one-half inches by five inches (3 1/2" x §").

(7) All applications shall be sent to the executive director of the
State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts, 3605 Missouri
Boulevard, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102.

[(4)](8) The board shall charge /to] an appropriate fee which will
be established by the board to each person applying for registra-
tion by reciprocity as an athletic trainer. The fee shall be sent with
the application and in the form of a bank draft, postal money order
or express money order. (Personal checks will not be accepted.)

AUTHORITY: sections 334.125 and 334.706[.3(2)], RSMo
[1986] Supp. 1999 and 334.702, 334.704, 334.708, 334.710
and 334.712, RSMo 1994. Emergency rule filed April 5, 1985,
effective April 15, 1985, expired Aug. 13, 1985. Original rule filed
May 3, 1985, effective Aug. 15, 1985. Amended: Filed April 4,
1988, effective Aug. 18, 1988. Amended: Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri State Board of Healing Arts—Athletic Trainers Advisory

Committee, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City,
MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.
No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 6—Registration of Athletic Trainers

PROPOSED RULE
4 CSR 150-6.060 Renewal of Registration

PURPOSE: This rule provides information to athletic trainers
regarding annual renewal of registration.

(1) A registration shall be renewed on or before the expiration of
the registration by submitting the signed renewal notice, protocol
form(s) and fee to the board. The registration fee shall be the
appropriate fee established by the board.

(2) The board shall mail an application for renewal to each person
registered in this state at the last known mailing address. The fail-
ure to mail the application or the failure to receive it does not,
however, relieve any person of the duty to renew and to pay the fee
required nor provide exemption from the penalties provided for
failure to renew.

(3) All registrants shall renew with the board on the application
form furnished by the board before January 30 of the year in which
such registration is due for renewal.

(4) Renewal application forms postmarked by the post office
January 31 or after will be considered delinquent, however, should
January 30 fall on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, renewal
forms postmarked by the post office on the next business day will
not be considered delinquent.

(5) Any person practicing as an athletic trainer without a current
registration shall be subject to discipline under section 334.715,
RSMo.

(6) A registrant not actively engaged in the practice of athletic
training, but who wishes to renew his/her registration, must sub-
mit a statement advising the reason(s) why a protocol form is not
completed.

AUTHORITY: sections 334.125 and 334.706, RSMo Supp. 1999
and 334.710, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: The public entity cost for this proposed rule is
estimated at $518.70 for the first year of implementation of the
rule. Thereafter, the board is anticipating an annual growth rate of
thirty-one (31) licensees per renewal period and estimates the
annual cost will be $1,037.40 plus a continuous annual increase
of $518.70 for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the total
annual cost will recur each year for the life of the rule, may vary
with inflation and is expected to increase annually at the rate pro-
jected by the Legislative Oversight Committee. A detailed fiscal
note, which estimates the cost of compliance with this rule, has
been filed with the secretary of state.

PRIVATE COST: The private entity cost for this proposed rule is
estimated to be $1,560.23 for the first year of implementation of
the rule based upon the board’s estimate that thirty-one licensees
will renew their registration during the first renewal period. The
board anticipates an annual growth rate of thirty-one licensees per
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year. Therefore, the board estimates that the private entity annual
cost to comply with this rule will be $3,120.46 plus a continuous
annual increase of $1,560.23 for the life of the rule. It is antici-
pated that the total annual cost will recur for the life of the rule,
however, may vary with inflation and is expected to increase annu-
ally at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee.
A detailed fiscal note, which estimates the cost of compliance with
this rule, has been filed with the secretary of state.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Missouri State Board of Healing Arts—Athletic Trainers Advisory
Committee, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City,
MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.
No public hearing is scheduled.
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1. RULE NUMBER

Title:

Division:
Chapter:
Twype of Rulemaking:

Rule Number and Name:

[L SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Froposed Rule
4 CSR 150-6.060 Renewal of Registration

FISCAL NOTE

PUBLIC ENTITY COST

4 - Department of Ecenomic Development

6 — Registration of Athletic Trainers

Affected Agency or Political Subdivision

State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts

Estimated Cost of Compliance for First

150 — Division of Professional Registration/State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts

Estimated Cost of Compliance

Year of Implementation of the Rule

Estimated Annual Cost of Compliance for

the Life of the Rule

$318.70

$1.037.40 annually
plus a continuous
annual increase of

S$518.70
IIl. WORKSHEET
Expenditure of Money or Reduction in Income
CLASSIFICATION FEE AMOUNT NUMBER IN CLASS AGGREGATE COST
Application Printing Cost $326 31 $101.06
Statute, Rules and Regulation Printing Cost $.50 31 $15.50
License Printing Cost $.11 31 $3.41
Application Mailing $1.70 31 $52.70
Correspondence Mailing $33 31 $10.23
License Mailing $239 31 $£8.99
Total: S191.89
i STAFF ANNUAL SALARY TO | HOURLY | COST PER TIME PER COSI PER TOTAL
: SALARY INCLLDE SALARY MINUTE | APPLICATHN | APPLICATION COST
; FRINGE
BENEFITS
Licensure Technician [ 525, 188.00 §32,925.75 $1.'>§3_ .26 | 13 minutes 51.30 S40.03
Director of Operations $£31.932.00 S41.741.51 $20.07 33| 3 minutes 51.63 S31IS
Exccutive Director $58.215.36- 57609912 $36.39 6115 minutes $3.05 S94.53
Accouni Clerk Tt $21.522.00 $28.133.56 $1353] 23710 minutes 3230 $71.30
Clerk 1V $24.68400]  $32.266.02 §15.31 2613 minutes $78]  S24IR
Total: $281.21

The above staff salaries were calculated using the following formula:
Cmployee’s salaries were calculated using their annual salary multiplied by 30.72% for fringe benefits and then was divided
by 2080 hours per year to determine the hourly salary. The hourly salary was then divided by 60 minutes to determine the
cost per minute. The cost per minute was then multiplied by the amount of time individual staff spent on the processing of
applications for registration renewal. The total cost was based on the cost per application multiplied by the estimated thivty-
one {3 1) applications for registration renewal.

It is estimated that approximately one (1) licensee out of the total estimated thirty-one (31} licensees for renewal may be
assigned for investigative review. It is further estimated that if an investigative review is assigned an investigator will devote
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approximately two (2) hours investigating the applicant andfor situation, collecting the necessary documents and preparing an
investigative report for the board’s review. This would also include approximately thirty (30) minutes of a Clerk
Stenographer [I to assemble this information for board review, copy the report to the beard, Jog the investigative in the
computer system, etc.

STATF ANNUAL | SALARY 10 | HOURLY | COSTPER| TIME PER COST PLER TOTAL
SALARY INCLUDE  © SALARY | MINUTE | APPLICATION | APPLICATION | COST
FRINGE ?
BENEFITS
Investigator $31,334.00 ) $40,972 388 .33 2hours 539.60 $39.60
Clerk Stenographer [l $19.260.00 $25.176.67 -20 30 minutes i $6.00 $6.00
210 s el o ala il T S

The above investigative staff salaries were calculated using the following formula:

Salaries of emnployees involved in the Investigative process were calculated using their annual salary multiplied by 30.72%
for fringe benefits and then was divided by 2080 hours per vear to determine the hourly salarv. The hourly salary was then
divided by 60 minutes to determine the cost per minute. The cost per minute was then mulitiplied by the amount of time
individual staff spent investigating the applicant or the situations. The total cost was based on the cost per renewal of
registration multiplicd by an estimated one {1} licensee out of the total estimated thirty-one (31) licensees that may be
assigned for investigative revicw., ‘

ANNUAL FOR THE LIFE OF THE RULE: $518.70

1V. ASSUMPTIONS
+ It is estirated that the following staff time will be devoted on each application for registration renewal and devoted to
the following dutics:

Licensure Technictan IT— 15 minutes per application
Duties: telephone time devoted to applicants requesting renewal forms, answering inquiries relative to the documents
necessary for renewal, processing the renewal application, corresponding to the applicant acknowledging receipt of the
renewal application and advising of lacking documentation, updating the file as documents are received. and reviewing
the file for completion and review by the Direclor of Operations

Director of Operations — 5 minutes per application
Duties: review the flle and supporting documentation for approval or directing the file for the review of the board.

Executive Director — 5 minutes per application
Dutics: review rencwal applications directed to the board for review and approval. [t is estimated that one (1} out of
the estimated thirty-one {31) renewal applications estimated to receive per year will require board review,

Account Cleck 11 — 10 minutes per application
Dutics: enter fee as received and prepare a revenue transmittal, post the fee and reconcile the fee on a daily, monthly,
and yearly basis

Clerk 1V — 3 minutes per application
Duties: enter the fce on the daily fee log and disseminate the fee to the Licensure Supervisor.

* The board anticipates thirty-onc (31) individuals will apply for renewal annually. The board estimates this renewal
process will cost the board approximately $16.72 per application.

s The public ¢ntity cost for this proposed rule is estimated at S518.70 for the first year of implementation of the rule,
Thereafter, the board is anticipating an annual growth rate of thirty-one (31) licensees per renewal period and estimates
the annual cost will be $1,037.40 plus a continuous annual increase of $518.70 for the life of the rule. It is anticipaled
that the total annual cost will recur each vear for the life of the rule, may vary with inflation and is expected to increase
annually at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee.
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FISCAL NOTE
PRIVATE ENTITY COST

I. RULE NUMBER

Title:  Department of Economic Development
Division:  Division of Profcssional Registration/State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts
Chapter: 6 — Registration of Athletic Trainers

Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 4 CSR 150-6.060 Renewal of Registration

I1. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Estimate in the annualas to the

Estimate of the number of entities
by class which would likely be
affected by the adoption of the

proposed rule:

Classification by types of the
business entities which would
likely be affected:

cost of compliance with the rule
by the affected entities:

31 individuals {application} £1,530.00
3 Individuals (postage) 51023
Estimated Cost of Compliance for $1,360.23

First Year of bmplementation of the

. Rule
Estimated Allfmual Cost of

$3.120.46 annually plus a continuous

Compliance for the Life of the Rule annual increase of $1,560.23

. WORKSHEET

Annual Registration Renewal Fee (@ $50.00
Postage @ $.33

V. ASSUMPTIONS

¢ The board anticipates thirty-one (31} individuals will apply for renewal of registration during the first rencwal
period. The board estimates this registration process will cost each applicant approximately 350.33.

*  The private entity cost for this proposed rule is estimated to be 51.560.23 for the first year of implementation of
the rule based upon the board’s estimate that thirty-one (31) licensees will renew their tegistration during the
first renewal period. The board anticipates an annual growth rate of thirty-one (31) licensees per year.
Therefore, the beard estimates that the private entity annual cost to comply with this rule will be $3,120.46 plus
an continuous annual increase of $1,560.23 for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the total annual cost will
recur for the life of the rule, however, may vary with inflation and is expected to increase annually at the Tate

projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee.
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Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 6—Registration of Athletic Trainers

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 150-6.070 Name, Address and/or Physician Supervision
Changes

PURPOSE: This rule outlines the requirements and procedures
athletic trainers must adhere to in notifying the board of name
and/or address changes or a change of team and/or consulting
physician supervisor.

(1) All individuals practicing as a registered athletic trainer under
registration issued by the board shall ensure that his/her current
registration certificate bears the current legal name of that indi-
vidual.

(2) A registrant whose name has changed since registration was
issued must submit a copy of the legal document verifying the
name change to the board within fifteen (15) days of such change.

(3) Registrants must submit written notification of any address
change, home or business, to the board within fifteen (15) days of
such change.

(4) A registrant who has a change in their team physician and/or
consulting physician shall submit to the board a new functional
protocol form within fifteen (15) days of such change.

AUTHORITY: section 334.706, RSMo Supp. 1999. Original rule
filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than 3500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Missouri State Board of Healing Arts—Athletic Trainers Advisory
Committee, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City,
MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.
No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 7—Physician Assistants

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-7.100 Applicants for /Registration] Licensure. The
board is proposing to amend the title, the original purpose state-
ment, amend sections (10), (13), (14) and (15) and delete the form
that immediately follows this rule in the Code of State Regulations.

PURPOSE: The board proposes amendments to this rule changing
the term “registration” to “licensure” as applicable to physician
assistants;, and other grammatically necessary changes thereof,
consistent with legislative amendments to Chapter 334, RSMo as
enacted with the passage of House Bill 1601 in 1998.

PURPOSE: This rule provides information regarding requirements
to applicants desiring [registration] licensure in Missouri for
practice as a physician assistant.

(10) Applicants shall submit the /registration] licensure applica-
tion fee in the form of a cashier’s check or money order drawn on
or through a United States bank made payable to the /Missouri
Board of Healing Arts] State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts. Personal checks will not be accepted.

(13) When an applicant has filed an application and an appropri-
ate fee, to be established by the board in conjunction with the
director of the Division of Professional Registration for /registra-
tion] licensure and the application is denied by the board or sub-
sequently withdrawn by the applicant, that fee will be retained by
the board as a service charge.

(14) The board may require the applicant to make a personal
appearance before the board and/or commission prior to rendering
a final decision regarding [registration] licensure.

(15) An applicant may withdraw an application for /registration]
licensure anytime prior to the board’s vote on the applicant’s can-
didacy for [registration] licensure.

AUTHORITY: sections 334.125, 334.735, [RSMo Supp. 1996
and] 334.738, [and] 334.742 and 334.743, RSMo [1994] Supp.
1999. Emergency rule filed Sept. 15, 1992, effective Sept. 25,
1992, expired Jan. 22, 1993. Original rule filed April 2, 1992,
effective Dec. 3, 1992. Amended: Filed Jan. 3, 1997, effective July
30, 1997. Amended: Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: The proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: The proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts—Advisory
Commission for Physician Assistants, 3605 Missouri Boulevard,
Jefferson City, MO 65109. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 7—Physician Assistants

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-7.120 /Registration] Licensure Renewal. The board
proposes to amend the title and Purpose of the rule and sections

(H-03).

PURPOSE: The amendments proposed to sections (1), (2) and (3)
of this rule change the term “registered” to “licensed” as applica-
ble to physician assistants;, and other grammatically necessary
changes as a result thereof. These changes are proposed consistent
with legislative amendments to Chapter 334, RSMo enacted with
the passage of House Bill 1601 in 1998.

PURPOSE: This rule provides information to physician assistants
[registered] licensed in Missouri regarding renewal of [registra-
tion] licensure.
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(1) The /[registration] licensure renewal fee shall be an appropri-
ate fee established by the board. Each applicant shall /register]
make application for licensure renewal with the board on /a/
application forms furnished by the board, before January 31 of the
year the [registration] license is due for renewal.

(2) The failure to mail the application form or the failure to receive
the licensure registration renewal application form does not
relieve any [registrant] licensee of the duty to renew the /regis-
tration] license and pay the renewal fee, nor shall it exempt any
[registrant] licensee from the penalties provided in sections
334.735 to 334.748, RSMo for failure to renew.

(3) Licensure /R/renewal forms postmarked by the post office
February 1 or after will be considered delinquent, however, should
January 31 fall on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, renewal
forms postmarked by the post office on the next business day will
not be considered delinquent.

AUTHORITY: sections 334.125, 334.735, [RSMo Supp. 1997
and] 334.738 and 334.743, RSMo [Supp. 1998] Supp. 1999.
Emergency rule filed Sept. 15, 1992, effective Sept. 25, 1992,
expired Jan. 22, 1993. Original rule filed April 2, 1992, effective
Dec. 3, 1992. Amended: Filed Jan. 3, 1997, effective July 30,
1997. Amended: Filed Sept. 10, 1998, effective March 30, 1999.
Amended: Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: The proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: The proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts—Advisory
Commission for Physician Assistants, 3605 Missouri Boulevard,
P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102, (573) 751-0098. To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is
scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 7—Physician Assistants

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-7.122 Supervision, Name and Address Change
Requirements, Retirement Affidavits. The board proposes
amendments to the Purpose and sections (1), (2), (3) and (4) of
this rule.

PURPOSE: The amendments proposed to sections (1), (2), (3) and
(4) change the term “registered” to “licensed” as applicable to
physician assistants, and other grammatically necessary changes,
consistent with legislative amendments to Chapter 334, RSMo
enacted with the passage of House Bill 1601 in 1998.

PURPOSE: This rule provides the requirements and time frames
[registrants] licensees must follow in reporting a change in super-
vision, name and/or address change, or to document retirement
from practice.

(1) [Registrants] Licensed physician assistants who have a
change of physician supervision, for any reason, must submit writ-

ten notification and the required form to the board within fifteen
(15) days of such occurrence.

(2) [Registrants] Licensed physician assistants must submit
written notification of any address change to the board within fif-
teen (15) days of such occurrence.

(3) [Registrants] Licensed physician assistants whose names
[has] have changed since [registration] licensure was issued
must submit a copy of the legal document verifying the name
change to the board, within fifteen (15) days of such occurrence.

(4) [Registrants] Licensed physician assistants who retire from
practice as a physician assistant shall file an affidavit, on a form
furnished by the board, stating the date of retirement. The /regis-
trant] licensee shall submit any other documentation requested by
the board to verify retirement. /Registrants] Licensees who reen-
gage in practice as a physician assistant after submitting an affi-
davit of retirement shall reapply for [registration] licensure as
required in sections 334.735 and /334. 748] 334.738, RSMo and
pursuant to the provisions of rule 4 CSR 150-7.125.

AUTHORITY: sections 334.125, 334.735, [RSMo Supp. 1996
and] 334.738 and 334.743, RSMo [1994] Supp. 1999. Original
rule filed Jan. 3, 1997, effective July 30, 1997. Amended: Filed
July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts—Advisory
Commission for Physician Assistants, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, P.
O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102, (573) 751-0098. To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is
scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 7—Physician Assistants

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-7.125 Late Registration and Reinstatement
Applicants. The board is proposing to amend the Purpose and sec-
tions (1), (5), (9), (10), and (11).

PURPOSE: The board proposes amendments to the original pur-
pose statement as well as to sections (1), (5) (9), (10), and (11) of
this rule changing the term “registered” to “licensed” and other
grammatically necessary changes consistent with the legislative
amendments to Chapter 334, RSMo as enacted with the passage of
House Bill 1601 in 1998.

PURPOSE: This rule provides information to physician assistants
[registered] licensed in Missouri regarding penalty of not renew-
ing.

(1) Whenever a [registered] licensed physician assistant fails to
renew his/her [registration] license before the [registration]
license expiration date, his/her application for renewal of /regis-
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tration] license shall be denied unless it is accompanied by all fees
required by statute and rule, together with a statement of all
addresses where s/he has practiced and resided since the expiration
of his/her last period of [registration] licensure, the nature of
his/her practice since expiration and whether, since expiration, any
registration or license, or right of his/her to practice in any other
state or country has been suspended or revoked; whether s/he has
been the subject of any disciplinary action by any licensing agency
of any state or country or by any professional organization or soci-
ety; whether s/he has been charged or convicted of any crime in
any court of any state or country; whether s/he has been addicted
to a drug habit or has been guilty of any unprofessional or dis-
honorable conduct as defined by section 334.100, RSMo; and all
details pertaining to all those occurrences. This statement shall be
completed upon forms provided by the board and shall be made by
the applicant under oath.

(5) All applicants shall submit the renewal fee along with the delin-
quent fee established by the board. This fee shall be submitted in
the form of a cashier’s check or money order drawn on a United
States bank made payable to the /Missouri Board of Healing
Arts] State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts.
Personal checks will not be accepted.

(9) Applicants whose [registration] license has been revoked,
suspended or inactive for more than two (2) years shall submit any
other documentation requested by the board necessary to verify
that the [registrant] licensee is competent to practice and is
knowledgeable of current medical techniques, procedures and
treatments, as evidenced by continuing education hours, reexami-
nation, or other applicable documentation acceptable and approved
by the board pursuant to the provisions of section 334.100.6,
RSMo.

(10) The board may require an applicant to make a personal
appearance before the board and/or commission prior to rendering
a final decision regarding [registration] license renewal/rein-
statement.

(11) An applicant may withdraw his/her application for [registra-
tion] license anytime prior to the board’s vote on the applicant’s
candidacy for [registration] license renewal/reinstatement.

AUTHORITY: sections 334.125, 334.735, [RSMo Supp. 1996
and] 334.738 and 334.743, RSMo [1994] Supp. 1999.
Emergency rule filed Sept. 15, 1992, effective Sept. 25, 1992,
expired Jan. 22, 1993. Original rule filed April 2, 1992, effective
Dec. 3, 1992. Amended: Filed Jan. 3, 1997, effective July 30,
1997. Amended: Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts—Advisory
Commission for Physician Assistants, 3605 Missouri Boulevard,
Jefferson City, MO 65109. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts

Chapter 7—Physician Assistants

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-7.140 Grounds for Discipline, Procedures. The
board is proposing to amend sections (1)-(6).

PURPOSE: The board proposes amendments to sections (1),
(2)D)14., 2)(D)17., 2)D)19., (2)H), (2)J), 2)L), ()(P),
2)W)2., (3), (4), (5), (6) of this rule changing the term “regis-
tered” to “licensed” and other grammatically necessary changes
consistent with the legislative amendments to Chapter 334, RSMo
as enacted with the passage of House Bill 1601 in 1998.

(1) The board may refuse to issue or renew any physician assistant
[registration] license required pursuant to this chapter for one (1)
or any combination of causes stated in section (2) of this rule. The
board shall notify the physician assistant in writing of the reasons
for the refusal and shall advise the physician assistant of their right
to file a complaint with the Administrative Hearing Commission as
provided by Chapter 621, RSMo.

(2) The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the
Administrative Hearing Commission as provided by Chapter 621,
RSMo, against any holder of any certificate of registration or
authority, permit or license required by this chapter or any person
who has failed to renew or has surrendered a certificate of regis-
tration or authority, permit or license for any one (1) or any com-
bination of the following causes:

(D) Misconduct, fraud, misrepresentation, dishonesty, unethical
conduct or unprofessional conduct in the performance of the func-
tions or duties of any profession licensed or regulated by this chap-
ter, including, but not limited to the following:

1. Obtaining or attempting to obtain any fee, charge, tuition
or other compensation by fraud, deception or misrepresentation;
willfully and continually overcharging or over-treating patients; or
charging for services which did not occur unless the services were
contracted for in advance, or for services which were not rendered
or documented in the patient’s records;

2. Attempting, directly or indirectly, by way of intimidation,
coercion or deception, to obtain or retain a patient or discourage
the use of a second opinion or consultation;

3. Willfully and continually performing inappropriate or
unnecessary treatment, diagnostic tests or medical or surgical ser-
vices;

4. Delegating professional responsibilities to a person who is
not qualified by training, skill, competency, age, experience, licen-
sure, registration or certification to perform them;

5. Misrepresenting that any disease, ailment or infirmity can
be cured by a method, procedure, treatment, medicine or device;

6. Performing or prescribing medical services which have
been declared by board rule to be of no medical or osteopathic
value;

7. Final disciplinary action by any professional physician
assistant association or society or licensed hospital or medical staff
of such hospital in this or any other state or territory, whether
agreed to voluntarily or not, and including, but not limited to, any
removal, suspension, limitation, or restriction of his/her registra-
tion, license or staff or hospital privileges, failure to renew such
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privileges of registration or license for cause, or other final disci-
plinary action, if the action was in any way related to unprofes-
sional conduct, professional incompetence, malpractice or any
other violation of any provision of this chapter;

8. Signing a blank prescription form; or dispensing, pre-
scribing, administering or otherwise distributing any drug, con-
trolled substance or other treatment without sufficient examina-
tion, or for other than medically accepted therapeutic or experi-
mental or investigative purposes duly authorized by a state or fed-
eral agency, or not in the course of professional practice, or not in
good faith to relieve pain and suffering, or not to cure an ailment,
physical infirmity or disease, except as authorized in section
334.104, RSMo;

9. Exercising influence within a physician assistant-patient
relationship for purposes of engaging a patient in sexual activity;

10. Terminating the medical care of a patient without ade-
quate notice or without making other arrangements for the contin-
ued care of the patient;

11. Failing to furnish details of a patient’s medical records to
other treating physician assistants, physicians or hospitals upon
proper request; or failing to comply with any other law relating to
medical records;

12. Failure of any physician assistant or applicant, other than
the physician assistant subject of the investigation, to cooperate
with the board during any investigation;

13. Failure to comply with any subpoena or subpoena duces
tecum from the board or an order of the board;

14. Failure to timely pay /registration] license renewal fees
specified in this chapter;

15. Violating a probation agreement with this board or any
other licensing or regulatory agency;

16. Failing to inform the board of the physician assistant’s
current residence and business address;

17. Advertising by an applicant or [registered] licensed
physician assistant which is false or misleading, or which violates
any rule of the board, or which claims without substantiation the
positive cure of any disease, or professional superiority to or
greater skill than that possessed by any other physician assistant.
An applicant or [registered] licensed physician assistant shall
also be in violation of this provision if s/he has a financial interest
in any organization, corporation or association which issues or
conducts such advertising;

18. Violation of one (1) or any combination of the standards
listed in the American Academy of Physician Assistants’ Code of
Ethics. The board adopts and incorporates by reference the
American Academy of Physician Assistants’ Code of Ethics. A
copy of the American Academy of Physician Assistants’ Code of
Ethics is retained at the office of the board and is available to any
interested person, upon written request, at a cost not to exceed the
actual cost of reproduction; and

19. Loss of national certification, for any reason, shall result
in the termination of /registration] licensure;

(H) Revocation, suspension, restriction, modification, limita-
tion, reprimand, warning, censure, probation or other final disci-
plinary action against the holder of or applicant for /[registration]
licensure or other right to practice any profession regulated by this
chapter by another state, territory, federal agency or country,
whether or not voluntarily agreed to by the physician assistant or
applicant, including, but not limited to, the denial of licensure or
registration, surrender of the license or registration, allowing
physician assistant license or registration to expire or lapse, or dis-
continuing or limiting the practice of the physician assistant while
subject to an investigation or while actually under investigation by
any licensing authority, medical facility, branch of the armed
forces of the United States of America, insurance company, court,
agency of the state or federal government, or employer;

(J) Assisting or enabling any person to practice or offer to prac-
tice any profession licensed or regulated by this chapter who is not

[registered] licensed and currently eligible to practice under this
chapter; or knowingly performing any act which in any way aids,
assists, procures, advises, or encourages any person to practice
who is not /registered] licensed and currently eligible to practice
under this chapter;

(L) Failure to display a valid /certificate or registration]
license as required by this chapter;

(P) Using, or permitting the use of, his/her name under the des-
ignation of “physician assistant,” “/registered] licensed physician
assistant,” “physician assistant-certified,” or any similar designa-
tion with reference to the commercial exploitation or product
endorsement of any goods, wares or merchandise;

(W) Being unable to practice as a physician assistant or with a
specialty with reasonable skill and safety to patients by reasons of
medical or osteopathic incompetency, or because of illness, drunk-
enness, excessive use of drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or as a result
of any mental or physical condition.

1. In enforcing this paragraph the board shall, after a hearing
by the board, upon a finding of probable cause, require a physician
assistant to submit to a reexamination for the purpose of establish-
ing his/her competency to practice as a physician assistant or with
a specialty conducted in accordance with rules adopted for this
purpose by the board, including rules to allow the examination of
the pattern and practice of said physician assistant’s professional
conduct, or to submit to a mental or physical examination or com-
bination thereof by at least three (3) physician assistants, one (1)
selected by the physician assistant compelled to take the examina-
tion, one (1) selected by the board, and one (1) selected by the
two (2) physician assistants so selected who are graduates of a pro-
fessional school approved and accredited by the Commission for
the Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs and has
active certification by the National Commission on Certification of
Physician Assistants.

2. For the purpose of this paragraph, every physician assistant
[registered] licensed under this chapter is deemed to have con-
sented to submit to a mental or physical examination when direct-
ed in writing by the board and further to have waived all objections
to the admissibility of the examining physician’s testimony or
examination reports on the ground that same is privileged.

3. In addition to ordering a physical or mental examination to
determine competency, the board may, notwithstanding any other
law limiting access to medical or other health data, obtain medical
data and health records relating to a physician assistant or appli-
cant without the physician assistant’s or applicant’s consent.

4. Written notice of the reexamination or the physical or men-
tal examination shall be sent to the physician assistant, by regis-
tered mail, addressed to the physician assistant at his/her last
known address. Failure of a physician assistant to designate an
examining physician to the board or failure to submit to the exam-
ination when directed shall constitute an admission of the allega-
tions against him/her, in which case the board may enter a final
order without the presentation of evidence, unless the failure was
due to circumstances beyond his/her control. A physician assis-
tant/’s/ whose right to practice has been affected under this para-
graph shall, at reasonable intervals, be afforded an opportunity to
demonstrate that s/he can resume competent practice as a physi-
cian assistant with reasonable skill and safety to patients.

5. In any proceeding under this paragraph neither the record
of proceedings nor the orders entered by the board shall be used
against a physician assistant in any other proceeding. Proceedings
under this paragraph shall be conducted by the board without the
filing of a complaint with the /a/Administrative /h/Hearing
[c]Commission.

6. When the board finds any person unqualified because of
any of the grounds set forth in this paragraph, it may enter an order
imposing one (1) or more of the disciplinary measures set forth in
section (4) of this rule.
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(3) After the filing of such complaint, before the Administrative
Hearing Commission, the proceedings shall be conducted in accor-
dance with the provisions of Chapter 621, RSMo. Upon a finding
by the Administrative Hearing Commission that the grounds, pro-
vided in section (2) of this rule, for disciplinary action are met, the
board may, singly or in combination, warn, censure or place the
person named in the /compliant] complaint on probation on such
terms and conditions as the board deems appropriate for a period
not to exceed ten (10) years, or may suspend /[registration,]
license, certificate or permit for a period not to exceed ten (10)
years, or restrict or limit his/her [registration] license, certificate
or permit for an indefinite period of time, or revoke his/her [reg-
istration, ] license, certificate, or permit for an indefinite period of
time, or revoke his/her [registration,] license, certificate or per-
mit, or administer a public or private reprimand, or deny his/her
application for /registration] licensure, or permanently withhold
issuance of /registration] licensure or require the physician assis-
tant to submit to the care, counseling or treatment of physicians
designated by the board at the expense of the individual to be
examined, or require the physician assistant to attend such contin-
uing educational courses and pass such examinations as the board
may direct.

(4) In any order of revocation, the board may provide that the per-
son may not apply for reinstatement of /registration] licensure
for a period of time ranging from two to seven (2-7) years follow-
ing the date of the order of revocation. All stay orders shall toll
this time period.

(5) Before restoring to good standing a [registration,] license,
certificate or permit issued under this chapter which has been in a
revoked, suspended or inactive state for any cause for more than
two (2) years, the board may require the applicant to attend such
continuing education courses and pass such examinations as the
board may direct.

(6) In any investigation, hearing or other proceeding to determine
a [registered] licensed physician assistant’s or applicant’s fitness
to practice, any record relating to any patient of the /registered]
licensed physician assistant or applicant shall be discoverable by
the board and admissible into evidence, regardless of any statuto-
ry or common law privilege which such /[registrant] licensee,
applicant, record custodian or patient might otherwise invoke. In
addition, no such /registered] licensed physician assistant, appli-
cant, or record custodian may withhold records or testimony bear-
ing upon a /registrant’s] licensee’s or applicant’s fitness to prac-
tice on the ground of privilege between such physician assistant
[registrant] licensee, applicant or record custodian and a patient.

AUTHORITY: sections 334.100, 334.125, 334.735, [RSMo
Supp. 1996] 334.736, [and] 334.74]1 and 334.743, RSMo
[1994] Supp. 1999. Emergency rule filed Sept. 15, 1992, effec-
tive Sept. 25, 1992, expired Jan. 22, 1993. Original rule filed
April 2, 1992, effective Dec. 3, 1992. Amended: Filed Jan. 3,
1997, effective July 30, 1997. Amended: Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts—Advisory
Commission for Physician Assistants, Tina Steinman, Executive
Director, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered,
comments must be received within thirty days after publication of

this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is sched-
uled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 7—Physician Assistants

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-7.200 Fees. The board proposes amendments to sub-
sections (1)(A), (1)(E) and (1)(F).

PURPOSE: The board proposes amendments to (1)(A), (E) and (F)
changing the term “Registration” to “Licensure” consistent with
legislative amendments to Chapter 334, RSMo enacted with the
passage of House Bill 1601 in 1998.

(1) The following fees are established by the Missouri State Board
of Registration for the Healing Arts in conjunction with the direc-
tor of the Division of Professional Registration:

(A) [Registration] Licensure Application Fee $195.00
(E) Temporary /Registration] Licensure Fee $ 50.00
(F) Temporary /Registration] Licensure

Renewal Fee $ 50.00

AUTHORITY: sections 334.125, 334.735, 334.736, [RSMo
Supp. 1995 and] 334.738 and 334.743, RSMo [1994] Supp.
1999. Emergency rule filed Sept. 15, 1992, effective Sept. 25,
1992, expired Jan. 22, 1993. Original rule filed April 2, 1992,
effective Dec. 3, 1992. Amended: Filed April 16, 1996, effective
Nov. 30, 1996. Amended: Filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts—Advisory
Commission for Physician Assistants, 3605 Missouri Boulevard,
P.O. Box 4, Jefferson City, MO 65102, (573) 751-0098. To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is
scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 7—Physician Assistants

PROPOSED RULE
4 CSR 150-7.300 Applicants for Temporary Licensure

PURPOSE: This rule provides the requirements to apply for physi-
cian assistant temporary licensure.

(1) Applicants for temporary licensure are required to make appli-
cation on forms prepared by the board.

(2) No application will be considered unless fully and completely
made out on the specified forms and properly attested.



August 15, 2000
Vol. 25, No. 16

Missouri Register

Page 2081

(3) Applications shall be sent to the State Board of Registration for
the Healing Arts, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson
City, MO 65102.

(4) The fee for temporary licensure shall be an appropriate fee, to
be established by the board. The fee shall be sent in the form of a
cashier’s check or money order drawn on a United States bank or
firm; payable to the State Board of Registration for the Healing
Arts. Personal and/or corporate checks will not be accepted. No
application will be processed until the licensure fee is received.

(5) All applicants shall attach to the application a recent photo-
graph not larger than three and one-half inches by five
inches (3" x5").

(6) All applicants are required to submit satisfactory evidence of
completion of a physician assistant program accredited by the
Committee on Allied Health, Education and Accreditation of the
American Medical Association, or its successor. Applicants shall
submit official transcripts from their school of graduation con-
firming the degree awarded and date of degree award or a copy of
their diploma.

(7) All applicants are required to submit a letter of reference from
the director of the physician assistant program from which the
applicant graduated as proof of the applicant’s moral character.

(8) All applicants are required to submit verification of licensure,
registration or certification from every state or territory in which
the applicant is or has ever been licensed, registered or certified to
practice as a physician assistant; and all other professional licens-
es, registrations, or certifications issued to the applicant regardless
of whether or not such license, registration or certification is cur-
rent.

(9) All applicants shall submit a complete curriculum vitae. This
document must include the names and addresses of all previous
employers, supervisors and job titles, from the date of high school
graduation to the date of licensure application.

(10) All applicants shall furnish, on forms provided by the board,
verification of physician supervision.

(11) Each applicant shall instruct the National Commission on
Certification of Physician Assistants to submit the applicant’s
admission letter for the certification examination; such letter shall
specify the date the applicant is scheduled to take the certification
examination.

(12) Each applicant shall instruct the National Commission on
Certification of Physician Assistants to submit the applicant’s cer-
tification examination results directly to the board.

(13) The temporary license shall be valid until the examination
results are received by the board, not to exceed three weeks fol-
lowing the mailing of the results by the National Commission on
Certification of Physician Assistants.

(14) The temporary license shall automatically terminate if the
temporary licensee fails the examination or does not sit for the
examination as scheduled. The temporary licensee may apply for
temporary licensure renewal pursuant to rule 4 CSR 150-7.310.

(15) Temporary licensees may be issued permanent licensure upon
successful passage of the National Commission on Certification of
Physician Assistants examination as determined by the National
Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants; submis-
sion/completion of all the requirements specified in rule 4 CSR

150-7.100, an updated activities statement, the application form
and application fee.

(16) When an applicant has filed his/her application and the appro-
priate fee for temporary licensure, and the applicant is denied by
the board pursuant to the provisions of section 334.100, RSMo
and/or rule 4 CSR 150-7.140, or is subsequently withdrawn by the
applicant, the fee will be retained by the board pursuant to the pro-
visions of rule 4 CSR 150-7.200.

(17) The board may require the applicant for temporary licensure
to make a personal appearance before the advisory commission
and/or board before a final decision regarding licensure is ren-
dered.

(18) An applicant may withdraw his/her application for temporary
licensure any time prior to the board’s vote on his/her candidacy
for licensure.

AUTHORITY: sections 334.100, 334.125, 334.735, 334.736,
334.738, 334.742, 334.743, 334.745 and 334.749, RSMo Supp.
1999. Original rule filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: The public entity cost for this proposed rule is
estimated at $336.49 annually for the life of the rule. It is antici-
pated that the cost will recur each year for the life of the rule, may
vary with inflation and is expected to increase annually at the rate
projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee. A detailed fiscal
note, which estimates the cost of compliance with this rule, has
been filed with the secretary of state.

PRIVATE COST: The private entity cost for this proposed rule is
estimated at $706.79 annually for the life of the rule. It is antici-
pated that the cost will recur each year for the life of the rule, may
vary with inflation and is expected to increase annually at the rate
projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee. A detailed fiscal
note, which estimates the cost of compliance with this rule, has
been filed with the secretary of state.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the State
Board of Registration for the Healing Arts—Advisory Commission
for Physician Assistants, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, P.O. Box 4,
Jefferson City, MO 65102, (573) 751-0098. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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FISCALNOTE
PUBLIC ENTITY COST

I. RULE NUMBER

Title: 4 — Department of Economic Development

Division: 150 - Diivision of Professional Registration — State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts

Chapter: 7 — Physiclan Assistants

Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 4 CSR 130-7.300 Application for Temporary Licensure

IL SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Affected Ageney or Political Subdivision Estimated Annual Cost of Compliance

State Board of Registration for the Healing Aris $336.49

11l. WORKSHEET

Expenditure of Money or Reduction in Income

CLASSIFICATION FEE AMOUNT NUMBER IN CLASS | AGGREGATE COST

Application Printing Cost $3.20 13 £42.38

Statute. Rules and Regulation Printing Cost $.50 13 $6.50

License Printing Cost St 13 51.43

Application Mailing $1.70 13 $22.10

Correspondence Mailing $.33 13 £4.29

License Mailing 5.29 i3 £3.77

TOTAL 580,39

STAFY ANNUAL SALARY TO | HOURLY | COST PER TIME PER COST PER. TOTAL
SALARY INCLUDE SALARY | MINUTE 3§ APPLICATION | APPLICATION CosT |
FRINGL: i
) BENEFITS I

Licensure Technician | $23.188.00 $32.925.75 $15.83 2643 minutes $11.70; §is2.10
: Director of Operations 531,932.00 $41,741.51 $20.07 .33 ] 13 minutes $a.951 86435
! Executive Director $38.213.36 $76.099.12 $36.59 61| 5 minutes $3.03] S39.65
Tatal: $256.10

Staff salaries were calculated using the following formula;

Employee’s salaries were calculated using their annual salary multiplied by 30.72% for fringe benefits and then was divided
by 2080 hours per year to determine the hourly salary. The hourly salary was then divided by 60 minutes to determine the
cost per minute. The cost per minute was then multiplied by the amount of time individual staff spent on the processing of
applications for registration. The total cost was based on the cost per application multiplied by the estimated thirteen (13}
applications.

GRAND TOTAL FOR FIRST YEAR OF IMPLEMENTATION OF THE RULE: $336.49
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IV. ASSUMPTIONS
e It is estimated that the foltowing staff time will be devoted on each application for registration and devoted 1o the
following duties:

Licensure Technician [ — 48 minutes per application
Duties: telephone time devoted Lo applicants requesting [icensure application forms, answering inquiries relative to
the documents necessary for licensure, processing the application, corresponding to the applicant acknowledging
receipt of the application and advising of lacking documentation, updating the file as documents are recerved, and
reviewing the file for completion and review by the Director of Operations

Director of Operations -- 15 minutes per application
Duties: review the file and supporting documentation for appraval or directing the file for the review of the advisory
commitiee.

Executive Dhrector ~ 5 minutes per application
Duties: review applications directed to the advisory committee and possibly board for review and approval.

e The board anticipates thirteen (13) individuals will apply for registration anneally. The board estimates this application
process will cost the board approximately $25.89 per application.

» The public entity cost for this proposed amendment is estimated to be $336.49 annually for the life of the rule. It is
anticipated that the total annual cost will recur cach year for the life of the rule, however, may vary with inflation and is
expected to increase annually at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee.
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L. RULE NUMBER

FISCAL NOTE
PRIVATE ENTITY COST

Title: 4 - Department of Economic Development

Division: 150 - Division of Professional Registration-State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts
Chapter: 7 — Physician Assistants
Type of Rulemaking: Propose Rule

Rule Number and Name:

4 CSR 150-7.300 Applicants for Temporary Licensure

IL SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Estimate of the number of Classification by types of the Estimate Annual Cost of
entitics by class which would business entities which would Compliance for the
likely be affected by the likely be affected: Life of the Rule:
adoption of the proposed rule:
13 Physician Assistant Applicants $650.00
(teruporary licensure application}
2 Physician Assistant Applicants $20.00
(state verification of licensure)
13 Physician Assistant Applicants $32.50
(notary)
13 Physician Assistant Applicants 54.29
(postage)
Total Annual Cost for the life of
the rule: $706.79

III. WORKSHEET

Temporary Licensure Application @ $50.00
State Verification of Licensure Fee @ $10.00
Notary Fee ¢ $2.50

Postage @@ $.33

IV. ASSUMPTIONS

I, The board cstimates that approximately 13 physician assistant new graduates will apply for temporary
licensure per year. The application fee is set out in 4 CSR 150-7.200.

2. The board estirnates $10.00 for state licensure verification. This cost figure was based on a comparison of
costs per state which indicated that the vast majority of states require a $10.00 verification fee. The board
assumes only 1% of the total estimated applicants applying for temporary licensure will be or have been
licensed to practice in another state.
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3. Itis not possible 1o estimate costs that an applicant could occur should the board investigate his/her
background, such costs could include legal representation, delay of licensure approval, etc.

4. The private entity cost for this proposed amendment is estimated to be $706.79 annually for the life of the
rule. It is anticipated that the total annual cost will recur each year for the life of the rule, however, may
vary with inflation and is expected 10 increase annually at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight
Commirtee.
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Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts
Chapter 7—Physician Assistants

PROPOSED RULE
4 CSR 150-7.310 Applicants for Temporary Licensure Renewal

PURPOSE: This rule provides the requirements to apply for physi-
cian assistant temporary licensure renewal.

(1) Physician assistant temporary licensees who fail the National
Commission on Certification of Physician Assistant Examination
on their first sitting or who do not take the examination as sched-
uled may apply for temporary licensure renewal one (1) time.
Temporary licensure renewal will be determined at the discretion
of the board, on an individual basis.

(2) Applicants for temporary licensure renewal are required to
make application on forms prepared by the board.

(3) No application will be considered unless fully and completely
made out on the specified forms and properly attested.

(4) Applications shall be sent to the State Board of Registration for
the Healing Arts, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, P.O. Box 4, Jefferson
City, MO 65102.

(5) The fee for temporary licensure renewal shall be an appropri-
ate fee, to be established by the board. The fee shall be sent in the
form of a cashier’s check or money order drawn on a United States
bank and/or firm, payable to the State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts. Personal and/or corporate checks will not be accept-
ed. No application will be processed until the temporary licensure
renewal fee is received.

(6) All applicants shall furnish an updated curriculum vitae detail-
ing activities and employment since issuance of original temporary
license.

(7) Each applicant shall instruct the National Commission on
Certification of Physician Assistants to submit the applicant’s
admission letter for the certification examination; such letter shall
specify the date the applicant is scheduled to take the certification
examination.

(8) Applicants applying for temporary licensure renewal due to
failure of the certification examination, as determined by the
National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants, are
required to inform their supervising physician, in writing, of the
examination results. A copy of this notification must be submitted
to the board with the licensure renewal application.

(9) Applicants applying for temporary licensure renewal due to
failure to take the certification examination as scheduled must
show good and exceptional cause, verified under oath, as to the
circumstances, which prevented the applicant/temporary licensee
from taking the examination as scheduled. Good and exceptional
cause shall include:

(A) Death in the immediate family;

(B) Illness documented by physician statement;

(C) Accident;

(D) Jury duty; and

(E) Other exceptional causes as determined by the board.

(10) Each applicant shall instruct the National Commission on
Certification of Physician Assistants to submit the applicant’s cer-
tification examination results directly to the board.

(11) The renewed temporary license shall be valid until the exam-
ination results are received by the board, not to exceed three (3)
weeks following the mailing of the results by the National
Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants.

(12) The renewed temporary license will automatically terminate
if the licensee fails the examination or does not sit for the exami-
nation as scheduled.

(13) Temporary licensees may be issued permanent licensure upon
successful passage of the National Commission on Certification of
Physician Assistants examination as determined by the National
Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants; submis-
sion/completion of all the requirements specified in rule 4 CSR
150-7.100, an updated activities statement, the application form
and application fee.

(14) When an applicant has filed his/her application and the appro-
priate fee for temporary licensure renewal, and the applicant is
deemed to be ineligible or denied by the board pursuant to the pro-
visions of section 334.100, RSMo and/or rule 4 CSR 150-7.140,
or is subsequently withdrawn by the applicant, the fee will be
retained by the board pursuant to the provisions of rule 4 CSR 150-
7.200.

(15) The board may require an applicant for temporary licensure
renewal to make a personal appearance before the advisory com-
mission and/or board prior to rendering a final decision regarding
temporary licensure renewal.

(16) An applicant may withdraw his/her application for temporary
licensure renewal anytime prior to the board’s vote on the applica-
tion.

AUTHORITY: sections 334.100, 334.125, 334.735, 334.736,
334.738, 334.742, 334.743, 334.745 and 334.749, RSMo Supp.
1999. Original rule filed July 25, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: The public entity cost for this proposed rule is
estimated to be $244. 11 annually for the life of the rule. It is antic-
ipated that the cost will recur each year for the life of the rule,
however, may vary with inflation and is expected to increase annu-
ally at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee.
A detailed fiscal note, which estimates the cost of compliance with
this rule, has been filed with the secretary of state.

PRIVATE COST: The private entity cost for this proposed rule is
estimated at $264.29 annually for the life of the rule. It is antici-
pated that the cost will recur each year for the life of the rule, may
vary with inflation and is expected to increase annually at the rate
projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee. A detailed fiscal
note, which estimates the cost of compliance with this rule, has
been filed with the secretary of state.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the State
Board of Registration for the Healing Arts—Advisory Commission
for Physician Assistants, 3605 Missouri Boulevard, P.O. Box 4,
Jefferson City, MO 65102, (573) 751-0098. To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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FISCAL NOTE
PUBLIC ENTITY COST
I. RULE NUMBER
Title: 4 - Department of Economic Development
Division: 150 — Division of Professional Registration/State Board of Registraticn for the Healing Arts
Chapter: 7 — Physiclan Assistants
Type of Rulemaking:  Proposed Rule
Rule Number and Name: 4 CSR 150-7.310 Applicants for Temporary Licensure Renewal
IT. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT
Affected Agency or Political Subdivision Estimated Annual Cost of Compliance
State Board of Registration for the 524411
Healing Arts
I1I. WORKSHEET
Expenditure of Moeney or Reduction in Income
CLASSIFICATION FEE AMOUNT | NUMBER IN CLASS AGGREGATE COST
Application Printing Cost $3.26 13 $42.38
Statute. Rules and Regulation Printing £.50 13 $6.50
Cost
License Printing Cost S.1E £1.43
Application Mailing 51.70 3 $22.10
Correspondence Mailing 533 13 $£4.29
License Mailing 5.29 13 $3.77
Total: $80.47
STAFF ANNUAL SALARY TO | HOURLY | COST PER TIMEPER  COST PER TOTAL
SALARY INCLUDBLE ¢ SALARY | MINUTL | APPLICATION | APPLICATION COST
FRINGE ' 5
BENEFITS
Ticensure Technictan 1 $25,188.00 §32.92537% $15.83 26| 15 minutes §1.30 516.50
Director of Operations $31.932.00 F41,741.51: $20.07 33| 5 minutes 51.65 §21.43;
Executive Director $58,215.36 $76.099.12! $36.59 61 |5 minutes 53.05 $39.63
Account Clerk 1] $21.322.00 $28.13356, 513.33 23| 1O minutes 5230 $29.90
Clerk 1V $24.684.00 $32,266.92| $13.51 .26 | 3 minutes L8 s10.14
Total: $118.04

The above staff salaries were calculated using the following formula:
Employee’s salaries were calculated using their annual salary multiplied by 30.72% for fringe benefits and then was divided
by 2080 hours per year to determine the hourly salary. The hourly salary was then divided by 60 minutes to determine the
cost per minute. The cost per minute was then multiplied by the amount of fime individual staff spent on the processing of
applications for registration renewal. The total cost was based on the cost per application multiplied by the estimated thirtcen
{13) apphications for registration renewal.

1t is estimated that approximately one (1} licensee out of the total estimated thirteen (13} licensees for renewal may be
assigned for investigative review. kt is further estimated that if an investigative review is assigned an investigatar will devote
approximately two (2) hours investigating the applicant and/or situation, collecting the necessary documents and preparing an
investigative report for the board’s review. This would alse include approximately thirty (30) minutes of a Clerk
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Stenographer Il to assemble this information for board review, copy the report to the board. log the Investigative in the
computer system, etc.

STALF ANNUAL ) SALARY TO | HOURLY | COST PER TIMEPER  © COSTPER . TOTAL
SALARY INCLUDE SALARY { MINUTE | APPLICATION | APPLICATION COST
[FRINGE
BENEFITS
SInvestigator S313:41.00 $40,572.88 F19.70 33| 2 hours £39.60 $39.60
Clerk Stenographer [1 $19.260.00 $23.176.67 $12.10 20/ 30 minutes : S6.00 $6.00
Total: $45.60

The above investigative staff salaries were calculated using the following formula:

Salaries of employees involved in the investigative process were caleulated using their annual salary multiplied by 30.72%
for fringe benefits and then was divided by 2080 hours per year to determine the hourly salary. The hourly salary was then
divided by 60 minutes to determine the cost per minute. The cost per minute was then multiplied by the amount of time
individual statf spent investigating the applicant or the situations. The total cost was based on the cost per renewal of
registration multiplied by an estimated one (1) applicant out of the total estimated thirteen {13) applicants that may be
assigned for investigative review,

ANNUAL FOR THE LIFE OF THE RULE: S$244.11

IV. ASSUMPTIONS

» [t is cstimated that the following staff time will be devoted on each application for registration renewal and devoted to
the following duties:

Licensure Technician 1I — 15 minutes per application
Dutics: telephone time devoted to applicants requesting renewal forms, answering inquiries relative 1o the documents
necessary for renewal, processing the renewal application, corresponding to the applicant acknowledging receipt of the
renewal application and advising of lacking decumemtation, updaling the file as documents are received. and reviewing
the file for completion and review by the Director of Operations

Director of Operations 3 minutes per application
Duties: review the file and supporting documentation for approval or directing the file for the review of the board.

Executive Director — 5 minutes per application
Duties: review renewal applications directed to the board for review and approval. It s estimated thar one (1) out of
the estimated thirteen {13} renewal applications estimated to receive per vear will require board review.

Account Clerk 1T -~ [0 minutes per application
Duties: enter fee as received and prepare a revenue transmittal, post the fee and reconcile the fee on a daily, monthly,
and yearly basis

Clerk [V — 3 minutes per application
Duties: enter the fee on the daily fee log and disseminate the fee to the Licensure Supervisor.

s  The board anticipates thirteen {13) individuals will apply for registration during the first vear. The board estimates this
renewal process will cost the board approximately $18.78 per application.

s The public entity cost for this proposed amendment is estimated to be $244.11 annually for the life of the rule. It is
anticipated that the total annuat cost will recur each year for the life of the rule, however, may vary with inflation and is
expected to increase annually at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight Committee.
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FISCAL NOTE
PRIVATE ENTITY COST
I. RULE NUMBER

Title:  Department of Economic Development

Division:  Division of Professional Registration/State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts

Chapter: 7. Physician Assistants

Type of Rulemaking: Proposed Rule

Rule Number and Name: 4 CSR 130-7.310 Applicants for Temporary Licensure Renewal

[1. SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT

Estimate of the number of entities
by class which would likely be
affected by the adoption of the

proposed rule:

Classification by types of the
business entities which would
likely be affected:

Estimate in the annualas to the
cost of compliance with the rule
by the affected entities:

13 Individuals (application) $260.00
13 Individuals (postage) S4.29
Estimated Annual Cost of $264.29

Compliance for the Life of the Rule

HI. WORKSHEET

Biennial Registration Renewal Fee @ $20.00
Postage @ $.33

IV. ASSUMPTIONS

¢ The board anticipates thirteen {13) individuzls will apply for renewal of registration during the first renewal

period. The board estimates this registration process will cost each applicant approximately $20.33.

The private entity cost for this proposed amendment is estimated to be $264.29 annually for the life of the
rule. It is anticipated that the total annual cost will recur each year for the life of the rule, however, may
vary with inflation and is expected to increase annually at the rate projected by the Legislative Oversight
Committee.
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Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT
Division 200—State Board of Nursing
Chapter 4—General Rules

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 200-4.040 Mandatory Reporting Rule. The board is
proposing to amend sections (4) and (5).

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies what can be reported by the
board to mandated reporters when a mandated report has been
received.

(4) [In cases where a nurse voluntarily submits to an
employee assistance program or to rehabilitation program
for alcohol or drug impairment and no disciplinary action is
taken by the facility, the facility is not mandated to report
but may report. If the nurse is subsequently disciplined by
the facility for violating provisions of the employee assis-
tance program or rehabilitation program or voluntarily
resigns in lieu of discipline, the facility must report to the
board under the above provision.] In response to a written or
verbal inquiry on a specific nurse from a hospital or ambula-
tory surgical center regarding reports received by the board
under the provisions of section 383.133, RSMo, and this rule,
the board may provide the following information:

(A) Whether any reports have been received;

(B) A brief description of the facts that gave rise to the
issuance of the report, including the dates of occurrence
deemed to necessitate the filing of the report;

(C) The nature of the final action taken by the hospital or
ambulatory surgical center; and

(D) Disciplinary action that the board took on each report.

(5) [In response to a written or verbal inquiry from a hos-
pital or ambulatory surgical center regarding reports
received by the board on a specific nurse, the board may
provide the following information:] In cases where a nurse
voluntarily submits to an employee assistance program or to a
rehabilitation program for alcohol or drug impairment and no
disciplinary action is taken by the facility, the facility is not
mandated to report but may report. If the nurse is subse-
quently disciplined by the facility for violating provisions of the
employee assistance program or rehabilitation program or vol-
untarily resigns in lieu of discipline, the facility must report to
the board under the above provision.

[(A) Whether any reports have been received;

(B) The nature of the action taken; and

(C) Disciplinary action which the board took on each
report or if the board has taken action on the report.]

AUTHORITY: sections 335.036, RSMo Supp. 1999 and
[383,133] 383.133, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed Aug. 5,
1987, effective Nov. 12, 1987. Amended: Filed Jan. 8, 1988, effec-
tive April 28, 1988. Amended: Filed April 19, 1996, effective Nov.
30, 1996. Amended.: Filed July 11, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
State Board of Nursing, Calvina Thomas, Executive Director, P.O.
Box 656, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments

must be received within thirty days after publication of this notice
in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 5—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION
Division 30—Division of School Services
Chapter 4—General Administration

PROPOSED RESCISSION

5 CSR 30-4.020 Standards for the Approval of Courses and
Administration of Reimbursement for the Education of Persons
Under Veterans’ Education, Vocational Rehabilitation, Job
Training Partnership Act, P.L. 97-300 and Other Employment
Training Funding Sources Contracting With the State Board of
Education. The State Board of Education had the authority to
establish standards for the approval of courses for the education of
eligible persons as provided by Chapters 32-36, United States
Code; the Comprehensive Employment and Training Act, P.L. 95-
524; and the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. This rule proposed com-
mon approval standards for three programs and incorporated by
reference the relevant federal law or regulations or both. All ref-
erences to the State Board of Education included the program sec-
tions within the Department of Elementary and Secondary
Education assigned responsibility for administration of the pro-
grams involved.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded and resubmitted as other
rules are being proposed. Rescission is necessary due to changes
in federal legislation and a change in the assignment of the rule
from the Division of School Services (formerly the Division of
Administration) to the Division of Vocational and Adult Education.

AUTHORITY: sections 161.172, 178.430, 178.590 and 178.610,
RSMo 1986 and 178.530, RSMo Supp. 1991. Original rule filed
May 20, 1981, effective Nov. 16, 1981. Amended: Filed Aug. 13,
1982, effective Nov. 15, 1982. Amended: Filed Nov. 1, 1983, effec-
tive March 15, 1984. Amended: Filed July 17, 1990, effective Dec.
31, 1990. Amended: Filed June 1, 1992, effective Feb. 26, 1993.
Rescinded: Filed July 7, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education,
Attention Dr. Nancy Headrick, Assistant Commissioner, Division
of Vocational and Adult Education, P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City,
MO 65102-0480. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 5—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION
Division 60—Vocational and Adult Education
Chapter 120—Vocational Education

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

5 CSR 60-120.070 Vocational-Technical Education Enhance-
ment Grant Award Program. The board is proposing to amend
sections (2), (3), (4), and (7).
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PURPOSE: This amendment is to allow for flexibility in adminis-
tering the program. The revision includes removing the minimum
cost of items purchased and the dates in which the request for pro-
posals will be available from the division as well as when the pro-
posals are to be received by the division.

(2) Eligible institutions shall include public high schools, area
vocational-technical schools and community colleges that operate
department-approved occupational preparatory (long-term) voca-
tional education programs. Grant awards shall be made under the
following conditions:

(B) An advisory committee with no fewer than twelve (12)
members shall be established by each eligible institution prior to a
grant award. This committee shall be composed of at least two (2)
members representing each of the following groups: business per-
sons, labor leaders, parents, senior citizens, community leaders
and teachers. The committee shall assist the grant recipient with
the development of a plan which will ensure that graduates proceed
to a two (2)- or four (4)-year college/university or a high wage job
with workplace skill development opportunities. This plan shall be
developed prior to the close of the fiscal year that the grant recip-
ient receives an initial grant under this grant award program.
Eligible institutions that apply for grant funds after receiving an
initial grant award shall submit a description of the accomplish-
ments made toward the implementation of their initial plan and any
modifications to their initial plan; and

(C) A budget shall be developed which details all major expen-
diture categories and itemizes all equipment purchases. Equipment
purchases with grant funds shall—

1. Have prior approval of the Division of Vocational and
Adult Education; and

2. Be appropriate to the instructional content of the vocation-
al education course or program./; and]

[3. Not be less than one hundred dollars ($100) per
item purchased.]

(3) A request for proposals will be made available to eligible insti-
tutions by the Division of Vocational and Adult Education /by
January 1 of] for each fiscal year. Applicants must develop a
grant proposal and forward it to the division no later than /March
317 of each fiscal year] the published date in order to receive
consideration. Grant awards will be effective July 1 of each year.

(4) Grant proposals must contain at least the following:

(C) A description of how the funds made available by this grant
award program will be used to enhance the vocational education
offerings at the institution and address demand occupations;

(I) An assurance by secondary school districts that student per-
formance standards will be established within the district that lead
to or qualify students for graduation, and that these standards /will
be revised to] meet or exceed the /performance standards
adopted by the State Board of Education, with the advice
and counsel of the Commission on Performance, as estab-
lished by the Outstanding Schools Act/] Show-Me
Standards;

(J) An assurance that prior to the close of the fiscal year of the
grant award a plan will be developed with the assistance of the pre-
scribed advisory committee, to ensure that graduates proceed to a
two (2)- or four (4)-year college/university or a high wage job
with workplace skill development opportunities;

(7) Beginning July 1, 1994, the commissioner of education shall
request from the director of the Division of [Employment
Security] Workforce Development, Department of /Labor and
Industrial Relations] Economic Development, an annual listing
of demand occupations in the state, including substate projections.
The listing shall include those occupations for which, in the judg-
ment of the director of the Division of /[Employment Security]

Workforce Development, there are critical shortages to meet pre-
sent and future employment needs necessary to the economic
growth and competitiveness of the state. The Division of
Vocational and Adult Education will publish the list of demand
occupations annually in its request for proposals.

[(A) The initial implementation year of the Vocational-
Technical Education Enhancement Grant Award Program
will begin on July 1, 1994. The Division of Vocational and
Adult Education, as a means of providing sufficient plan-
ning time for eligible institutions to prepare grant propos-
als, shall use a list of demand occupations as prepared by
the Missouri Occupational Information Coordinating
Committee. This list will be developed prior to December
1, 1993.

(B) For subsequent years, the Division Vocational and
Adult Education will use the list prepared by the director
of the Division of Employment Security.

(C) The Division of Vocational and Adult Education will
publish the list of demand occupations annually in its
request for proposals.]

AUTHORITY: section 178.585, RSMo [1994] Supp. 1999.
Original rule filed Nov. 10, 1993, effective June 6, 1994.
Amended: Filed Nov. 22, 1994, effective June 30, 1995. Amended.:
Filed July 7, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education,
Attention Dr. Nancy Headrick, Assistant Commissioner, Division
of Vocational and Adult Education, P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City,
MO 65102-0480. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 5S—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION
Division 60—Vocational and Adult Education
Chapter 480—Employment Training

PROPOSED RULE

5 CSR 60-480.100 Standards for the Determination of Eligible
Training Providers and Administration of Reimbursement for
the Education of Persons Under the Workforce Investment Act
of 1998 and Other Employment Training Funding Sources
Contracting With the State Board of Education

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the criteria and procedures for
the determination of eligible training providers under the
Workforce Investment Act of 1998, any revisions or amendments to
this Act, or replacement legislation.

PUBLISHER'’S NOTE: The publication of the full text of the mate-
rial that the adopting agency has incorporated by reference in this
rule would be unduly cumbersome or expensive. Therefore, the full
text of that material will be made available to any interested per-
son at both the Office of the Secretary of State and the office of the
adopting agency, pursuant to section 536.031.4, RSMo. Such
material will be provided at the cost established by state law.

(1) All references to the State Board of Education (the board) in
this rule may be construed to include the program sections within
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the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (the
department) assigned responsibility for administration of the pro-
grams involved. The provisions of this section apply to the appli-
cation and certification of eligible training providers.

(A) All interested providers of training must apply and be deter-
mined eligible to receive Workforce Investment Act funds. State
approved procedures, entitled Training Provider Certification,
which is incorporated by reference and made a part of this rule,
will be followed in the determination of eligible training providers.
Programs of training offered by eligible training providers must
annually meet performance levels in order to remain on the state
list. All approved training providers will be included on a state list.
A copy of the Training Provider Certification document is available
from the Employment Training Section, Division of Vocational and
Adult Education, Department of Elementary and Secondary
Education, P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City, MO 65102.

(B) Training providers will be required to annually provide per-
formance information and program cost information as specified in
the Training Provider Certification document which is incorporat-
ed by reference and made a part of this rule.

(C) The department will annually review performance levels for
programs approved under the state procedures. Programs that do
not achieve these performance levels may lose their eligibility and
be removed from the state list. Training providers can appeal a
denial or termination of eligibility pursuant to the rules promul-
gated by the board and Training Provider Certification document
which is incorporated by reference and made a part of this rule.

(D) Public not-for-profit and/or for-profit institutions shall oper-
ate in compliance with the Workforce Investment Act; applicable
federal and state laws and regulations; Division of Workforce
Development issuances; and local ordinances.

(E) The institution shall permit on-site inspections by authorized
representatives of the department; Missouri Division of Workforce
Development; local workforce investment boards; Missouri
Department of Higher Education; the United States Department of
Labor; and/or any other state, federal or local agency as legally
authorized to monitor activities for which funds have been provid-
ed.

(F) Good housekeeping must be maintained throughout the insti-
tution at all times.

(G) There shall be sufficient, qualified and capable personnel
connected with the institution to ensure good administration,
supervision and instruction.

(H) The charges for tuition, fees and/or other charges for the
course or program of education shall be reasonable, based on the
services to be rendered, the books, supplies, equipment to be fur-
nished and/or the operating costs of the institutions.

1. The institution shall establish and maintain a policy for the
refund of the unused portion of tuition, fees and other charges in
the event an eligible person fails to enter the course, withdraws or
is discontinued at any time prior to completion.

(I) Appeal procedures for the denial or termination of eligibili-
ty.

1. Training providers shall have the right to appeal a denial of
eligibility or termination of eligibility, pursuant to the rules pro-
mulgated by the board and the Training Provider Certification doc-
ument which is incorporated by reference and made a part of this
rule.

A. An appeal must be submitted in writing to the depart-
ment within forty-five (45) days of the complainant being notified
of a denial or termination of eligibility.

B. An Appeal Review Board will review the appeal and
provide a written decision to the complainant within thirty (30)
days after receipt of the appeal.

C. If the Appeal Review Board’s decision does not resolve
the appeal, the complainant has fifteen (15) days to submit a writ-
ten request for a hearing to the department. A hearing will be con-
ducted within thirty (30) days of receipt of the written request by

representatives from the complainant, the Appeal Review Board
and the local Workforce Investment region in which the com-
plainant operates. A written decision shall be issued within fifteen
(15) days following the hearing.

D. If this decision does not resolve the appeal, the com-
plainant has fifteen (15) days to submit a written request to the
department requesting a review by the Missouri Training and
Employment Council (MTEC). MTEC or its designee shall review
the appeal and issue a final decision within thirty (30) days from
receipt of the request. The MTEC or its designee’s decision is
final.

(2) The provisions of this section apply to the administration of
individual training account (ITA) referrals under the Workforce
Investment Act and other funding sources contracting with the
board for individual referrals.

(A) For the purpose of administering this rule, an ITA referral
is a student referred by a state or local entity under contract with
the department for skill training or training-related service for
which the board has contracted to reimburse a public, not-for-prof-
it or for-profit institution.

(B) The board shall enter into written agreements with public,
not-for-profit and/or for-profit institutions for the purpose of
administering ITAs and developing and providing procedures that
assist in administering the program.

(C) Public not-for-profit and/or for-profit institutions shall oper-
ate in compliance with the Workforce Investment Act; applicable
federal and state laws and regulations; Division of Workforce
Development issuances; and local ordinances.

(D) An institution’s tuition rate for a course(s) will be the basis
for calculating reimbursement payments for an ITA.

1. Tuition payments shall be made on the basis of the school’s
instructional periods, (that is, quarters, terms or semesters).
Institutions shall submit reimbursement requests for tuition pay-
ments of ITAs for each instructional period. However, the follow-
ing exceptions shall apply:

A. Any instructional period that is at least twenty (20)
weeks but no more than thirty-nine (39) weeks, will be treated as
having a minimum of two (2) equal instructional periods;

B. Any instructional period that is at least forty (40) weeks
but no more than fifty-nine (59) weeks, will be treated as three (3)
equal instructional periods;

C. Courses with instructional periods that are at least sixty
(60) weeks or more will be divided into additional segments of
twenty (20) weeks; and/or

D. Institutions offering approved programs in licensed
practical nursing, surgical technology, respiratory therapy, dental
technology, emergency medical technician-paramedic; radiology
and/or massage therapy may only request a one (1)-time reim-
bursement for an ITA.

2. Costs for equipment, fees and supplies are to be reim-
bursed separately as those costs are incurred. Registration fees are
limited to a maximum of one hundred dollars ($100) per student.

3. In case of a student termination, the refund policy of the
institution shall apply to funds received from the board.

AUTHORITY: sections 178.430, 178.440, 178.450 and 178.460,
RSMo 1994 and 178.530, RSMo Supp. 1999. Original rule filed
July 7, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
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Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education,
Attention Dr. Nancy Headrick, Assistant Commissioner, Division
of Vocational and Adult Education, P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City,
MO 65102-0480. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 5—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION
Division 60—Division of Vocational and Adult
Education
Chapter 900—Veterans’ Education

PROPOSED RULE

5 CSR 60-900.050 Standards for the Approval of Courses for
the Education of Persons Under Veterans’ Education and
Vocational Rehabilitation

PURPOSE: The State Board of Education has the authority to
establish standards for the approval of courses for the education of
eligible persons as provided by Chapters 32-36, Title 38, United
States Code and the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. This rule propos-
es common approval standards for these programs.

(1) All references to the State Board of Education (the board) in
this rule may be construed to include the Department of
Elementary and Secondary Education (the department) and the
appropriate program sections. The provisions of this section apply
to accredited courses and nonaccredited courses.

(A) A course shall not be approved unless the institution has
operated that course successfully for a period of twenty-four (24)
calendar months for veterans’ education courses or six (6) calen-
dar months or for one (1) graduating class for vocational rehabili-
tation courses. Successful operation shall mean an operation which
is sound educationally and financially. The following are excep-
tions:

1. Any course to be pursued in a public or other tax-support-
ed educational institution;

2. Any course which is offered by an educational institution
which has been in operation for more than two (2) years or six (6)
calendar months, whichever is appropriate, if the course is similar
in character to a course previously given by the institution;

3. Any course which has been offered by an educational insti-
tution for a period of more than two (2) years or six (6) calendar
months, whichever is appropriate, notwithstanding the institution
has moved to another location within the same general locality or
has made a complete move with substantially the same faculty, cur-
ricula and students, without change in ownership;

4. Any course which is offered by an educational institution
of college level and which is recognized for credit toward a stan-
dard college degree; or

5. Any course for vocational rehabilitation when a needed
course is not available at any other institution offering approved
courses within a fifty-five (55)-mile commuting distance as
approved by the department.

(B) The educational institution must operate in compliance with
all applicable federal, state laws and/or regulations and/or local
ordinances.

(C) The institution shall make available the instructional facili-
ties and all appropriate records and accounts for inspection by the
authorized representatives of the department, United States
Department of Education and the Department of Veterans Affairs.

(D) Institutions may make a request for an exception to any of
the requirements or provisions of this rule. The institutions must

make the request in writing and provide justification for the excep-
tion. An exception may be allowed only at the discretion of the
department.

(E) Any approval issued under the provisions of this rule may be
withdrawn or suspended by the department for cause. Before any
approval is suspended or withdrawn, the department shall serve a
notice in writing to the affected institution with a statement of the
reason for its action, unless exigent circumstances warrant imme-
diate suspension of future enrollments. The notice shall be served
not less than ten (10) days before the effective date of the action.
Upon request during the ten (10)-day period, the institution shall
be entitled to a hearing before the department. The affected insti-
tution shall be notified within a reasonable time of the depart-
ment’s action.

(F) Advertising must be completely truthful and factual and
must avoid leaving any misleading, false or exaggerated impres-
sion, either by actual statement, omission or intimation.

1. Institutions which have courses approved for eligible per-
sons shall limit their advertisement of this fact to a statement such
as Approved for Veterans’ Education by the department, Approved
for Veterans, or G.I. Approved. Statements such as Approved by
the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) or VA Approved are not
acceptable as the Department of Veterans Affairs is not the approv-
ing agency.

2. Advertising must clearly indicate that training or education
and not employment, is being offered. Advertising under help
wanted classifications is prohibited.

3. Advertising must include the correct name and location of
the institution.

4. Institutions shall assume full responsibility for the actions,
statements and conduct of their field representatives.

5. Institutions with courses approved by the department must
comply with the advertising criteria of state-approving agencies in
the states in which advertising is used.

(G) For veterans’ education, a course with a vocational objec-
tive will not be approved unless the eligible person or the institu-
tion offering that course, establishes that at least one-half (1/2) of
the persons completing the course, over the preceding two (2)-year
period, excluding the number of persons who completed those
courses with assistance under Title 38, United States Code
(U.S.C.), while serving on active duty and the number of persons
who are unavailable for employment, have been employed in the
occupational category for which the course was designed to pro-
vide training.

(H) A change of ownership, administration or location without
consent of the department shall be sufficient cause to withdraw the
approval or suspend future enrollments.

(D) Institutions which have live projects as a part of the instruc-
tion program shall submit a statement of policies for approval by
the department. The purpose of the policy is to prevent schools
from emphasizing a commercial enterprise rather than work relat-
ed to hands-on and classroom training.

1. The statement of policies must provide information regard-
ing charges for instructor and student labor and materials used in
live projects instruction.

2. The institution shall keep records on file concerning live
projects which will show that the institution is not violating its
statement of policies.

3. The utilization of participants in custodial maintenance
within the school for areas other than the immediate shop or work
area is expressly forbidden.

4. Students cannot perform capital improvements on buildings
and facilities owned by a private-for-profit agency. Capital
improvements are any modification, addition or restoration which
increases the usefulness, productivity or serviceable life of an
existing building or structure, or major item of equipment which
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is classified for accounting purposes as a fixed asset and the
recorded value is increased by the cost of the improvement and
subject to depreciation.

(J) The charges for tuition, fees and other charges for the course
or program of education shall be reasonable, based on the services
to be rendered, the books, supplies and equipment to be furnished
and the operating costs of the institution.

(2) The provisions of this section apply to accredited courses.

(A) A course may be approved as an accredited course if it
meets one (1) of the following requirements:

1. The course has been accredited and approved by a nation-
ally recognized accrediting agency or association. Candidate for
accreditation status is not a basis for approval of a course as
accredited;

2. Credit for the course is recognized by the department for
credit toward a high school diploma or for a certificate of license
to teach; or

3. The course is conducted under 20 U.S.C. 11-28 concern-
ing vocational education.

(B) Any curriculum offered by an educational institution which
is a member of one of the nationally recognized accrediting agen-
cies or associations and which leads to a degree, diploma or cer-
tificate may be accepted as an accredited course by the department.
Any curriculum accredited by one of the specialized nationally rec-
ognized accrediting agencies or associations and which leads to a
degree, diploma or certificate may also be accepted as an accred-
ited course by the department. Approval of the individual subjects,
required or elective, which are designated as a part of the curricu-
lum will not be necessary. This approval may include noncredit
subjects that are prescribed as a required part of the curriculum.
The course objective may be educational leading to a high school
diploma or a standard college degree or it may be vocational or
professional leading to an occupation.

(C) A nationally recognized accrediting agency or association is
one (1) that appears on the list published by the United States
Department of Education. The department may utilize the accred-
itation of accrediting agencies or associations for approval of the
course specifically accredited and approved by that agency or asso-
ciation.

(D) Applications for initial approval or for approval of addition-
al courses shall be made on the application provided by the depart-
ment. The application form and attachments should be submitted
to the director of Veterans’ Education, Department of Elementary
and Secondary Education, P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City, MO
65102. Courses approved under Veterans’ Education guidelines
may be accepted for vocational rehabilitation. Courses for program
specific purposes will be approved by the respective program. The
application shall include the required copies of the school’s cata-
log or bulletin which must be certified as true and correct in con-
tent and policy by an authorized representative of the school. The
catalog, bulletin or separate publication must specifically state the
following:

1. Institution policy and regulations relative to standards of
progress required of the student by the institution. This policy will
define the grading system of the institution, the minimum grade
considered satisfactory, conditions for the interruption for unsatis-
factory grades or progress, and a description of the probationary
period, if any, allowed by the institution and conditions of reen-
trance for those students dismissed for unsatisfactory progress. A
statement will be made regarding progress records kept by the
institution and furnished the student;

2. Institution policy and regulations relating to student con-
duct, conditions for dismissal for unsatisfactory conduct, condi-
tions of reentrance of students dismissed for unsatisfactory con-
duct; and

3. Institution policy and regulations relating to student atten-
dance for resident courses not leading to a standard college degree,

conditions for dismissal for unsatisfactory attendance and condi-
tions of reentrance of students dismissed for unsatisfactory atten-
dance.

(E) The department may approve the application of the school
when the school and the courses are found to have met the follow-
ing criteria:

1. Adequate records are kept by the school to show the
progress of each eligible person.

A. The records must be sufficient to show continued pur-
suit at the rate for which enrolled and the progress being made.

B. They must include a final grade in each subject for each
term, quarter or semester; record of withdrawal from any subject
to include the last day of attendance for a resident course; and
record of reenrollment in subjects from which there was a with-
drawal.

C. The school must provide a system for establishing and
reporting promptly to the department, Department of Veterans
Affairs or other appropriate federal agency, the last date of atten-
dance or the last date of pursuit of an eligible person who discon-
tinues a subject(s) or fails to comply with the school’s withdrawal
procedures.

D. They may include records such as attendance for resi-
dent courses, periodic grades and examination results;

2. The school maintains a written record of previous educa-
tion and training of the eligible person which clearly indicates that
appropriate credit has been given by the school for previous edu-
cation and training, with the training period shortened proportion-
ately and the person and the Department of Veterans Affairs and
vocational rehabilitation so notified. The record must be cumula-
tive in that the results of each enrollment period, whether term,
quarter or semester, must be included so that it shows each subject
undertaken and the final result—that is, passed, failed, incomplete
or withdrawn;

3. The school enforces a policy relative to standards of con-
duct and progress required of the eligible persons.

A. The school policy relative to standards of progress must
be specific enough to determine the point in time when education-
al benefits should be discontinued, when the eligible person ceas-
es to make satisfactory progress.

B. No eligible person will be considered to have made sat-
isfactory progress when s/he fails all subjects undertaken, except
when there is a showing of mitigating circumstances, when
enrolled in two (2) or more unit subjects.

C. The policy must include the grade or grade point aver-
age that will be maintained if the student is to graduate. For exam-
ple, a college must require a 1.5 grade point average the first year,
a 1.75 average at mid-year the second year and a cumulative aver-
age of 2.0 thereafter on the basis of 4.0 for an A. The policy may
include a probationary period of two (2) quarters or semesters
when the student falls below the required average. If a probation-
ary period is allowed, it will not be necessary to report unsatis-
factory progress to the Department of Veterans Affairs until the
completion of the probationary period.

D. The enrollment of a veteran or other person eligible for
veterans’ benefits shall not be considered valid under applicable
federal law and/or regulation, for a course for which the grade
assigned is not used in computing the requirements for graduation;
including a course from which a student withdraws after an offi-
cial drop-add period, not to exceed thirty (30) days, unless there
are mitigating circumstances;

4. The school maintains adequate attendance records for eli-
gible persons enrolled in resident courses not leading to a standard
college degree; and

5. The school must provide, upon request by the department,
an authenticated copy of the latest report of accreditation from the
appropriate accreditation agency(ies).
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(3) The provisions of this section apply to courses which cannot be
considered as accredited courses pursuant to this rule.

(A) Applications for initial approval or for approval of addition-
al courses shall be made on the application provided by the depart-
ment. The required copies of the completed application and all
attached materials should be submitted to the department.

(B) The school shall notify the appropriate section of the depart-
ment of any change in personnel, charges, ownership or any other
information contained in the initial application. The changes shall
be submitted promptly on forms provided by the department.

(C) The institution must be financially sound and capable of ful-
filling its commitments for the approved educational program.

(D) The institution must require good discipline, orderliness and
regular attendance at all times.

(E) The institution shall publish its standards of conduct,
progress and attendance which are required of students and shall
enforce these standards. These standards must define the follow-
ing:

1. The school’s grading system;

2. The minimum satisfactory grade level;

3. Conditions for interruption of training due to unsatisfactory
grades or progress;

4. A description of any probationary period;

5. Conditions for a student’s reentrance/readmission follow-
ing dismissal and/or suspension for unsatisfactory progress, con-
duct or attendance; and

6. Conditions for dismissal due to unsatisfactory conduct
and/or attendance.

(F) Good housekeeping must be maintained throughout the insti-
tution at all times.

(G) There shall be sufficient, qualified and capable personnel
connected with the institution to ensure good administration,
supervision and instruction.

1. All personnel connected with the institution shall be of
good reputation and character.

2. The administrator shall have at least three (3) years of
experience in a public or private school in administrative work or
possess a college degree with at least a minor in the field of admin-
istration.

3. All instructors must be proficient in the trade or occupa-
tion to be taught, as evidenced by at least three (3) years of expe-
rience beyond the learning stage in the trade, occupation or subject
or shall possess a college degree with at least a minor in the sub-
ject involved. These qualifications must be clearly shown on a per-
sonnel record form provided by the department for each person on
the school staff.

4. No instructor shall have a daily schedule (both in school
and outside of school) of more than fifty-five (55) hours per week,
nor shall any instructor be engaged in instructional work for more
than forty-eight (48) hours per week. The instructional workday of
instructors will include break times allowed the students. Business
school teachers shall not teach more than forty-eight (48) hours per
week including evening school.

(H) The institution must provide adequate facilities.

1. All classroom, laboratory and shop areas must be well-
lighted, heated and ventilated.

2. Adequate space must be provided in classrooms, laborato-
ries and shops for the number to be trained.

3. Separate toilet facilities must be provided for both sexes, if
both sexes are enrolled in the institution. At least one (1) stool
must be provided for each twenty-five (25) students and at least
one (1) urinal for each thirty-five (35) male students. Adequate
lavatory facilities must be provided in those institutions involving
work with laboratory or shop tools.

4. Adequate locker space must be provided each student in
those institutions where needed for storage of student tools, sup-
plies and/or clothing.

5. Classrooms must be equipped with comfortable chairs and
tables or armchairs and with a blackboard of sufficient size for use
by the instructors. Classrooms must be separate from shops and
laboratories and must be partitioned so that there is a minimum of
noise from shops and laboratories.

6. An adequate library must be provided which is easily
accessible and which contains sufficient reference materials so that
each student will be provided with essential related information.

7. Tools and/or laboratory equipment must be provided in
sufficient quantities and in good quality.

8. Teaching materials must include modern teaching aids,
charts, films, projectors, mock-ups, models, and the like, when
those materials are necessary to the teaching of the trade, occupa-
tion or subject.

9. Institutions may not be operated in connection with a com-
mercial enterprise unless approved by the department.

10. Institutions shall not be located in conjunction with living
quarters.

11. Accommodations for the disabled shall be provided by the
institution in accordance with applicable federal and state laws
and/or regulations.

(I) The course of study must be adequate to prepare the student
for the stated course objective.

1. The course of study applicable to veterans and other per-
sons eligible for veterans’ benefits shall provide for a minimum of
twelve (12) weeks and a minimum of three hundred (300) hours of
instruction. Shorter courses will not be approved unless an excep-
tion is granted by the department pursuant to the rules promulgat-
ed by the board.

2. The course of study shall be consistent in quality, content
and length with similar courses offered by public and private
schools in the state which have recognized accepted standards.

3. The course of study shall provide for a schedule of the tests
and examinations to be given.

4. The grading policy must provide for periodic evaluation of
the student’s proficiency and progress.

(J) A copy of the course outline, schedule of tuition, fees and
other charges, regulations pertaining to absences, grading policy
and rules of operation and conduct will be furnished the eligible
person upon enrollment. The established student complaint proce-
dures must be posted in a conspicuous place within the school.

(K) Upon completion of training, the eligible person will be
given a certificate by the school indicating the approved course and
indicating that training was satisfactorily completed.

(L) The school must maintain adequate records which include
the following:

1. A written record of the previous education and training of
the eligible person that clearly indicates that appropriate credit has
been given for previous education and training, with the training
period shortened proportionately and the eligible persons, the
Department of Veterans Affairs and vocational rehabilitation so
notified;

2. Accurate and current records of attendance, tardiness,
makeup work, proficiency and progress;

3. Individual instructor’s class records and permanent office
records for each student;

4. Placement or location records for graduates;

5. The institution shall maintain financial records in accor-
dance with generally accepted accounting principles and which
accurately reflect and support the receipts and charges applicable
to veterans and vocational rehabilitation supported students.
Further, that all these records and supporting documents shall be
retained in accordance with current state and/or federal laws,
and/or regulations; and

6. The institution shall submit any records, documents,
reports and/or data requested by the department necessary for the
administration of the veterans and vocational rehabilitation pro-
grams.
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(M) The charges for tuition, fees and other charges for the
course or program of education shall be reasonable, based on the
services to be rendered, the books, supplies and equipment to be
furnished and the operating costs of the institutions. The following
referral policy applies only to eligible persons receiving veterans
benefits:

1. The institution shall establish and maintain a policy for the
refund of the unused portion of tuition, fees and other charges in
the event an eligible person fails to enter the course or withdraws
or is discontinued at any time prior to completion and the policy
shall provide that the amount charged to the eligible person for
tuition, fees and other charges for a portion of the course does not
exceed the approximate pro rata portion of the total charges for
tuition, fees and other charges that the length of the completed por-
tion of the course bears to its total length.

(N) The institution shall use a satisfactory method of selecting
students. Entrance requirements shall be based upon ability of the
individual to perform at a level commensurate with the physical or
mental demands, or both, of the course. Instruments for measur-
ing ability shall include previous school records, previous work
records, psychological testing as and when necessary.

(O) An accurate and current organizational chart shall be avail-
able showing the following:

1. Daily hours of instruction including beginning and ending
time of classes, lunch, break periods, and the like;

2. Instructor’s schedule including instructor’s name, subject
taught, time and room assignment; and

3. A class schedule must be maintained for each student in
institutions having a curriculum composed of single unit subjects.

(4) The provisions of this section apply to charges and reimburse-
ments for accredited and nonaccredited courses. For the purpose
of administering this rule, an individual referral is a student
referred by a sponsoring agency for skill training or training-relat-
ed service for which the department has contracted to reimburse a
public, not-for-profit or for-profit institution. The cost of training
for individual referrals with the Division of Vocational
Rehabilitation shall be reimbursed in the following way:

(A) The department shall enter into written agreements with
public, not-for-profit and for-profit institutions for the purpose of
administering individual referrals and shall develop and provide
procedures which assist in administering the program;

(B) Courses which meet the following conditions are eligible to
be included in the individual referral program:

1. Courses which are approved under this rule; and

2. Courses which are offered outside of the boundaries of
Missouri may be utilized when they are approved by a comparable
agency as determined by the department;

(C) Tuition payments shall be made on the basis of the school’s
instructional periods, (that is, quarters, terms or semesters).
However, the following guidelines shall apply:

1. Any instructional period that is at least twenty (20) weeks
but no more than thirty-nine (39) weeks, will be treated as having
a minimum of two (2) equal instructional periods;

2. Any instruction period that is at least forty (40) weeks but
no more than fifty-nine (59) weeks, will be treated as three (3)
equal instructional periods. Programs of instruction in licensed
practical nursing, surgical technology, respiratory therapy, dental
technology, emergency medical technician-paramedic, radiology
and massage therapy are excluded;

3. Courses with instructional periods that are at least sixty
(60) weeks or more will be divided into additional segments of
twenty (20) weeks; and/or

4. The total instructional program for licensed practical nurs-
ing, surgical technology, respiratory therapy, dental technology,
emergency medical technician-paramedic, radiology and/or mas-
sage therapy will be treated as one (1) instructional period;

(D) Costs for equipment, fees and supplies are to be reimbursed
separately as those costs are incurred. Registration fees are limit-
ed to a maximum of one hundred dollars ($100) per student;

(E) In case of a student termination, the following refund poli-
cy shall apply to funds received from the department:

1. Within the first week of each instructional period, the
school may retain ten percent (10%) of the tuition;

2. Within the second and third week of each instructional
period, the school may retain twenty percent (20%) of the tuition;

3. After the beginning of the fourth week in each instruction-
al period but prior to twenty-five percent (25%) of each instruc-
tional period, the school may retain twenty-five percent (25%) of
the tuition;

4. After completing twenty-five percent (25%) but prior to
completing fifty percent (50%) of the instructional period, the
school may retain fifty percent (50%) of the tuition;

5. After completing fifty percent (50%) of the instructional
period, the school may retain one hundred percent (100%) of the
tuition;

6. For short courses where there is a conflict in the refund
pursuant to this rule, the school will retain the greater amount; or

7. For courses offered by an accredited school that lead
toward an associate or higher degree or programs of instruction in
licensed practical nursing, surgical technology, respiratory thera-
py, dental technology, emergency medical technician-paramedic,
radiology and/or massage therapy the refund policy of the institu-
tion will be applied;

(F) Services provided prior to or after dates approved by the
authorizing document will not be reimbursed;

(G) Institutions shall submit reimbursement request for tuition
payments of individual referrals for each instructional period; and

(H) Due to the short-term, intense nature of proprietary, trade
or technical school courses, and the close involvement by voca-
tional rehabilitation counselors and others in the vocational train-
ing process, monthly progress reports to the vocational rehabilita-
tion counselor are required.

AUTHORITY: sections 161.172, 178.430, 178.590 and 178.610,
RSMo 1994 and 178.530, RSMo Supp. 1999. Original rule filed
July 7, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education,
Attention Dr. Nancy Headrick, Assistant Commissioner, Division
of Vocational and Adult Education, P.O. Box 480, Jefferson City,
MO 65102-0480. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 7—DEPARTMENT OF [HIGHWAYS AND]
TRANSPORTATION

Division 10—Missouri Highways and Transportation
Commission

Chapter 14—Adopt-A-Highway Program

PROPOSED AMENDMENT
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7 CSR 10-14.010 Purpose. The commission is amending the fis-
cal note with respect to the Adopt-A-Highway Program and pro-
poses to amend previous section (1) and to add new section (3).

PURPOSE: This amendment revises the fiscal note information
and further describes the purpose of the Adopt-a-Highway
Program.

(1) The purpose of the Adopt-A-Highway Program is to /increase
public awareness of the environmental needs along
Missouri’s highways and to] provide volunteer community sup-
port for anti-litter and highway beautification programs with the
potential for a cost savings to the Missouri Department of
Transportation for use for other highway purposes.

(3) The program is not intended as a means of providing a pub-
lic forum for the participants to use in promoting name recog-
nition or political causes. Missouri highway right-of-way is not
a public forum.

AUTHORITY: section 227.030, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed
Feb. 15, 1995, effective July 30, 1995. Amended: Filed July 10,
2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.
However, this amendment may result in a savings of approximate-
ly $1,422,892 per year to the Missouri Department of Transpor-
tation. See attached fiscal note.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities, including small businesses, more than $500 in the aggre-
gate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Department of Transportation, Mari Ann Winters, Secretary to the
Commission, P.O. Box 270, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is
scheduled.
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FISCAL NOTE
PUBLIC ENTITY COST

L 7 CSR 10-14.10

Title: 7 - Missouri Department of Transportation

Division: 10 - Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission
Chapter; 14 - Adopi-A-Highwav Program

Type of Rulemaking: Amended Rule

Rule Number and Name: 7 CSR 10-14.010, Purpose.

1L SUMMARY OF FISCAL IMPACT
Estimate of number of entities by | Classification by types of the Estimate in the aggregate as to the
class which would likely be affected | business entities which would likely |cost of compliance with the rule by
by adoption of rule: be affected: the affected entities:
Missouri Department of
1 Transportation (MoDO'T) (S 1,422, 892)savings

111 WORKSHEET
MoDOT%s expenditures:

Signs, including installation:

$149/for 2 signs x 200 groups-permanent sign $ 29,800
Trash Bags:

J15/bag x 15 bags x 4 pickups per year = $9/group

$9 x 4,673 groups participating 42,057
Safety Vests:

.38 x 47,000 (approx. individual participants}

divided by 3 (one-time charge and vests may be reused} 5,953

TOTAL $ 77.810
MoDOT savings per yeat

Adopt-A-Highway litter pick up averages 15 trash bags
per pick up at four pick ups per year.
(4,673 groups x 4 pick ups x 15 trash bags = 280,380 bags}

Labor cost if agency did trash pick up rather than
volunteers - 280,380 total bags {divided by 3 bags picked up per hour
— 93,560 bags / hour x average labor rate of $16.04/hr. $1,500,702
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Minus State Expenditures -$ 77810

TOTAL STATE SAVINGS PER YEAR $1,422,892

v. ASSUMPTIONS

The fiscal impact on the Missouri Department of Transportation is based upon the following
assumptions and methodolgy:

{a) There were 4,673 groups during the year 1999. Each group is to perform a program activity at
feast 4 times per vear. Each activity averages in!5 bags of trash being picked up. This calculates at a total
of 280,380 trash bags per year. The average worker would pick up 3 bags of trash per hour. A MoDOT
employees average labor rate (pay grade 5) is §16.04. Therefore, it would cost MoDOT $1,500,702 in

labor expenses to do the work of the adopters.

(b) These public entity costs will recur each year for the life of the rule; however, the number of
program participants will vary from year to year and are almost impossible to predict accurately.
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Title 7—DEPARTMENT OF [HIGHWAYS AND]
TRANSPORTATION

Division 10—Missouri Highways and Transportation
Commission

Chapter 14—Adopt-A-Highway Program

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

7 CSR 10-14.020 Definitions. The commission proposes to
amend sections (3), (4), and (7), add new sections (9) and (12) and
renumber remaining sections.

PURPOSE: This amendment contains additional definitions of
terms used in this chapter.

(3) Adopter representative means a group member designated to
represent the volunteer group and serve as its liaison with the com-
mission. [Usually the person who signs the agreement is
the adopter representative.] The adopter representative is the
person who signs the agreement.

(4) Agreement means the written agreement between the volunteer
individual or group adopting a section of highway right-of-way and
the [Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission]
commission.

(7) Department means the [Missouri
Transportation Department] Missouri
Transportation.

Highways and
Department of

(9) Participant means any individual, including individuals
within a group, who will be participating in the program activ-
ity.

[(9)] (10) Program means the Adopt-A-Highway Program.

[(710)] (11) Program activity means litter pickup and/or beautifi-
cation and/or mowing.

(12) Violent criminal activity means any offense having as an
element the use, attempted use, or threatened use of physical
force against the person or property of another or any offense
involving weapons.

AUTHORITY: section 227.030, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed
Feb. 15, 1995, effective July 30, 1995. Emergency amendment filed
Feb. 8, 2000, effective Feb. 18, 2000, expired Aug. 15, 2000.
Amended: Filed July 10, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities, including small businesses, more than $500 in the aggre-
gate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Department of Transportation, Mari Ann Winters, Secretary to the
Commission, P.O. Box 270, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is
scheduled.

Title 7—DEPARTMENT OF [HIGHWAYS AND]
TRANSPORTATION

Division 10—Missouri Highways and Transportation
Commission

Chapter 14—Adopt-A-Highway Program

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

7 CSR 10-14.030 Application for Participation. The commission
proposes to amend the previous section (1) and subsection (2)(B)
and add a new section (1) and subsections (3)(A), and (3)(B), and
delete previous subsections (2)(A) and (2)(C).

PURPOSE: This amendment is to further identify criteria for eli-
gible adopters and criteria in determining whether an application
is rejected or accepted.

(1) The adopter or adopter representative of a group who
desires to participate in the program shall submit an applica-
tion to the commission on a form provided by the commission.

[(7)] (2) Eligible Adopters. Eligible adopters include civic and
nonprofit organizations, commercial and private enterprises and
individuals/./: 1) who have not been convicted of, or pled guilty
or no contest to, a violent criminal activity, except as provided
below; 2) whose participants have not been convicted of, or
pled guilty or no contest to, a violent criminal activity, except
as provided below; 3) for whom state or federal courts have not
taken judicial notice of a history of violence; or 4) who do not
deny membership on the basis of race, color, or national ori-
gin. Any individual adopter or participant may be eligible ten
(10) years after the completion of any incarceration, probation
or parole. Applicants who do not meet the eligibility require-
ments will be denied participation in the program. /The pro-
gram is not intended as a means of providing a public
forum for the participants to use in promoting name recog-
nition or political causes.] The commission reserves the right to
limit the number of adoptions for a single group.

[(2)] (3) Acceptance of Application. The commission will have
sole responsibility in determining whether an application is reject-
ed or accepted and determining what highways will or will not be
eligible for adoption.

(A) [The commission may refuse to grant a request to
participant if, in its opinion, granting the request would
Jjeopardize the program, be counterproductive to its pur-
pose or have undesirable results such as increased litter,
vandalism or sign theft.] The commission may refuse to grant
a request to participate if the applicant has submitted false
statements of a material fact or has practiced or attempted to
practice any fraud or deception in an application. Material
facts include statements regarding convictions of violent crim-
inal activity or membership qualifications.

(B) An application completed by an individual on behalf of
a group or organization must identify the group or organiza-
tion for which the application is being submitted and failure to
identify the group or organization on the application will result
in rejecting the application.

[(B) Applicants must adhere to the restrictions of all
state and federal nondiscrimination laws. Specifically, the
applicant must not discriminate on the basis of race, reli-
gion, color, national origin or disability. Such discrimination
disqualifies the applicant from participation in the pro-
gram.]
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(C) [Applicants with a history of unlawfully violent or
criminal behavior will be prohibited form participation in
the program.] The adopter representative will certify on the
application form that the group or organization does not deny
membership on the basis of race, color, or national origin.

AUTHORITY: section 227.030, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed
Feb. 15, 1995, effective July 30, 1995. Emergency amendment filed
Feb. 8, 2000, effective Feb. 18, 2000, expires Aug. 15, 2000.
Amended: Filed July 10, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities, including small businesses, more than $500 in the aggre-
gate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Department of Transportation, Mari Ann Winters, Secretary to the
Commission, P.O. Box 270, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is
scheduled.

Title 7—DEPARTMENT OF /HIGHWAYS AND]
TRANSPORTATION
Division 10—Missouri Highways and Transportation
Commission
Chapter 14—Adopt-A-Highway Program

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

7 CSR 10-14.040 Agreement /[7erms]; Responsibilities of
Adopter and Commission. The commission proposes amending
the rule title and to amend section (1) and subsections (2)(C),
2)(D), 2)(F), 2)(G), 2) (L), (3)(B), and add new subsections
2)(B), 2)(E), 2)(F), (2)(S), (2)(T) and (3)(D) and delete section
4).

PURPOSE: This amendment provides for additional terms of the
written agreement between the adopter and the commission to pro-
mote the safety of the program and to develop a record keeping sys-
tem for tracking the program’s success.

(1) If an application is approved by the commission, the adopter
or adopter representative shall execute a written agreement with
the commission, and upon signing by both parties, the agreement
becomes effective and provides for the individual’s or group’s
participation in the program.

(2) Responsibilities of Adopter. The adopter shall—

(B) Provide to the commission, in writing, the name and
complete mailing address, including street address, of the
adopter representative and notify the commission within thir-
ty (30) days, in writing, of any change of the adopter represen-
tative’s name or address;

[(B)](C) Abide by all safety requirements as listed in the depart-
ment’s Safety Tips brochure;

[(C)](D) Have [all members of the group] the adopter, if the
adopter is one individual, or the adopter representative partic-
ipating in the program activity attend a safety training meeting
conducted by the /adopter representative, or designee,] com-
mission before participation in /any/ the initial program activity;

(E) Have all members of the group participating in the pro-
gram activity attend a safety training meeting conducted by the

adopter representative, before participation in the initial pro-
gram activity;

(F) Have the adopter or adopter representative submit to the
commission, in writing on a form provided by the department,
the following information: 1) the name and street address of
each participant; 2) a release of liability signed by each partic-
ipant or parent or legal guardian of the participant if partici-
pant is a minor; 3) the participant’s acknowledgement that
he/she has attended a safety training meeting; and 4) if the
participant is not a minor, the participant’s statement that
he/she has not been convicted of, or pled guilty or no contest
to, a violent criminal activity;

[(D)I(G) Properly use all safety equipment provided by the
department and perform the work in a safe, responsible, and pro-
fessional manner;

[(E)](H) Provide one (1) adult supervisor for every eight (8) par-
ticipants between thirteen and seventeen (13-17) years of age and
one (1) adult supervisor for every four (4) participants between six
and twelve (6-12) years of age. No one under the age of six (6)
will be allowed to participate in the program;

[(F)](X) Adopt a section of highway right-of-way for a minimum
of three (3) years and submit a new application every three (3)
years if the adopter wants to continue participation in the pro-
gram;

[(G)](J) Collect litter along the adopted section a minimum of
[four (4) times per year] twice every six (6) months, or as
required by the commission;

[(H)](K) Adopt for litter pickup a minimum of two (2) miles in
rural areas and one-half (1/2) mile in urban areas. Shorter lengths
may be permissible in special circumstances;

[()J(L) Provide prior notice, as required by the commission,
before performing any program activity;

[(J)]J(M) Restrict program activities to the areas of right-of-way
outside the pavement and shoulder areas;

[(K)J(N) Perform program activity between the hours of one (1)
hour after sunrise to one (1) hour before sunset and not during
inclement weather;

[(L)](O) Prohibit /members] participants from possessing,
consuming, or being under the influence of alcohol or drugs while
participating in the program;

[(M)](P) Place litter in trash bags provided by the department
and place filled trash bags at a designated location;

[(N)](Q) Separate tires, batteries and other trash as needed for
proper disposal according to local landfill requirements; /and/

[(O)J(R) Indemnify and hold harmless the commission and
department and their officers, employees and agents from any
claim, lawsuit or liability which may arise from adopter’s partici-
pation in the program/./;

(S) Have the adopter or adopter representative submit to the
commission within five (5) working days of any program activ-
ity, the following information: 1) the adopter’s name; 2) the
date of the program activity; 3) the total hours involved in the
program activity; and 4) the total number of bags of trash
picked up. This information can be provided by calling the
department representative, by E-mailing the department rep-
resentative or by filling out and mailing the Activity Report
form provided by the department. This information will enable
the department to monitor the program’s success; and

(T) Not subcontract or assign its responsibilities under this
program to any other enterprise, organization, or individual
unless assignee is also an active adopter.

(3) Responsibilities of Commission. The commission shall—

(B) Except as provided for in 7 CSR 10-14.050, //nstall]
install and maintain signs, if desired by the adopter [that con-
form with 7 CSR 10-14.050], at both ends of the adopted sec-
tion;
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(D) Provide safety training to the adopter, if the adopter is
one individual, or the adopter representative which includes
but is not limited to a safety video and Safety Tips brochure;

[(D)J(E) Provide the adopter with safety equipment; and

[(E)](F) Remove and dispose of filled trash bags from the adopt-
ed section as soon as practical after the litter pickup is finished.

[(4) Termination of Agreement. The commission reserves
the right to terminate the agreement and remove the signs
when, in the sole judgment of the commission, it is found
the adopter has not met the terms and conditions of the
agreement or there is concern about the safety of the ad-
opters, traveling public or Missouri Highways and Trans-
portation Department (MHTD) employees.]

AUTHORITY: section 227.030, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed
Feb. 15, 1995, effective July 30, 1995. Emergency amendment filed
Feb. 8, 2000, effective Feb. 18, 2000, expires Aug. 15, 2000.
Amended: Filed July 10, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities, including small businesses, more than $500 in the aggre-
gate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Department of Transportation, Mari Ann Winters, Secretary to the
Commission, P.O. Box 270, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is
scheduled.

Title 7—DEPARTMENT OF /HIGHWAYS AND]
TRANSPORTATION
Division 10—Missouri Highways and Transportation
Commission
Chapter 14—Adopt-A-Highway Program

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

7 CSR 10-14.050 Sign /Specifications]. The commission pro-
poses to amend this rule to delete the word “Specifications” from
the rule heading, amend subsections (1)(A), (1)(B), (1)(C), sec-
tions (2) and (3), delete the previous section (4) and add a new sec-
tion (4).

PURPOSE: This amendment is to clarify the purpose and intent of
the adopt-a-highway signs.

(1) The signs shall—

(A) Identify /and recognize] the adopter, but are not intended
to be, an advertising medium or serve as a means of providing a
public forum for the participants;

(B) Be /designated] designed by the department /regarding]
as to size, color, [location,] and text; and

(C) Have the actual name of the adopter with no telephone num-
bers, logos, slogans or addresses, including internet addresses,
with verbiage kept to a minimum.

(2) The signs shall not contain wording which is obscene, /or/ pro-
fane, or sexually suggestive or implies an obscenity, /or/ profan-
ity or sexual content.

(3) The erection of a sign is not a requirement for participation in
the program. /The commission, at their sole discretion, may

refuse to erect a sign under the program.] If a sign is dam-
aged, destroyed, stolen, or removed from its foundation by an
act of vandalism, the department will provide and erect a
replacement sign at department cost. If the replacement sign is
damaged, destroyed, stolen or removed from its foundation by
an act of vandalism, the department will provide and erect one
additional replacement sign at department cost. If the second
replacement sign is damaged, destroyed, stolen, or removed
from its foundation by an act of vandalism, no further sign will
be provided or erected.

(4) [The signs cannot be used as a memorial.] Two (2) signs
will be erected for each adopter, one at each end of the adopt-
ed section, at a location determined by the department.

AUTHORITY: section 227.030, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed
Feb. 15, 1995, effective July 30, 1995. Emergency amendment filed
July 10, 2000, effective July 20, 2000, expires Nov. 17, 2000.
Amended: Filed July 10, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities, including small businesses, more than $500 in the aggre-
gate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Department of Transportation, Mari Ann Winters, Secretary to the
Commission, P.O. Box 270, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is
scheduled.

Title 7—DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Division 10—Missouri Highways and Transportation
Commission
Chapter 14—Adopt-A-Highway Program

PROPOSED RULE

7 CSR 10-14.060 Modification or Termination of the
Agreement

PURPOSE: This rule provides for the commission to terminate or
modify the program agreement.

(1) The agreement may be modified or terminated at the sole dis-
cretion of the commission.

(2) The commission reserves the right to terminate the program
agreement and remove the signs when, in the sole judgment of the
commission, it is found that:

(A) Continuing the agreement would be counterproductive to the
program’s purpose, or have undesirable results such as increased
litter or vandalism or would jeopardize the safety of the partici-
pants, traveling public or department employees;

(B) The adopter is not meeting or has not met the terms and
conditions of the agreement or any of the requirements set forth in
7 CSR 10-14.030-7 CSR 10-14.050; or

(C) Actions of the adopter may be contrary to any legislative
restrictions or any restrictions on the use of appropriated funds for
political activities.

(3) After three years of participation in the program, an adopter
may terminate the agreement upon written notice to the commis-
sion.
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AUTHORITY: section 227.030, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed
July 10, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities,
including small businesses, more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Department of Transportation, Mari Ann Winters, Secretary to the
Commission, P.O. Box 270, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty days after publi-
cation of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is
scheduled.

Title s—DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND
INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS
Division 5—Administration
Chapter 1—Adaptive Telephone Equipment Program

PROPOSED RESCISSION

8 CSR 5-1.010 Adaptive Telephone Equipment Program. This
rule established the standards and procedures for the provision of
state-funded adaptive telephone equipment to eligible subscribers.
This rule implemented sections 209.251, RSMo through 209.259,
RSMo.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because sections 209.251,
RSMo through 209.259, RSMo have been amended. The current
statewide equipment distribution program is expanded and pro-
gram eligibility requirements are changed. The administration of
the program was transferred to the Missouri Assistive Technology
Advisory Council which has authority to promulgate rules neces-
sary to implement and administer the program.

AUTHORITY: section 286.060, RSMo Supp. 1998. Emergency rule
filed Jan. 28, 1999, effective March 1, 1999, expired Aug. 28,
1999. Original rule filed Jan. 28, 1999, effective July 30, 1999.
Rescinded: Filed July 10, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Labor and Industrial Relations, Attn: Robert A.
Crouch Jr., P.O. Box 59, Jefferson City, MO 65104-0059. To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hear-
ing is scheduled.

Title 11—-DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Division 45—Missouri Gaming Commission
Chapter 5—Conduct of Gaming

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

11 CSR 45-5.183 Cards—Specifications. The commission is
amending section (1).

PURPOSE: This amendment is to allow the commission the dis-
cretion to approve gambling games that utilize cards with specifi-

cations that vary from the standard minimum requirements. It also
removes antiquated references to Class B licensees.

(1) Unless otherwise approved by the commission, /A/// all
cards used for gambling games must meet the following specifica-
tions:

(F) The design to be placed on the backs of cards used by
licensees shall contain the name or trade name of the Class A [or
Class BJ licensee where the cards are to be used and shall be sub-
mitted to the commission for approval prior to use of such cards in
gaming activity;

(H) Nothing in this section shall prohibit decks of cards with one
(1) or more jokers contained therein; provided, however, such jok-
ers shall not be used by the Class /B/ A licensee in the play of any
games other than pai gow poker;

(I) In addition to satistying the requirements of this section, the
cards used by a Class /B] A licensee at poker must—

1. Be visually distinguishable from the cards used by that
Class /B] A licensee to play any other table games; and
2. Be made of plastic; and

(J) Each Class /B] A licensee which elects to offer the game of
poker shall be required to have and use on a daily basis at least six
(6) visually distinguishable card backings for the cards to be used
at the game of poker. These card backings may be distinguished,
without limitation, by different logos, different colors or different
design patterns.

AUTHORITY: sections 313.004, 313.805, 313.830, RSMo 1994
and 313.845, RSMo Supp. [1996] 1999. Original rule filed Dec.
17, 1996, effective Aug. 30, 1997. Amended: Filed July 3, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state
agencies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT
COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support of or in
opposition to this proposed amendment with the Missouri Gaming
Commission, 3417 Knipp Drive, P.O. Box 1847, Jefferson City,
MO 65102. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.
A public hearing is scheduled for October 3, 2000 at 10:00 a.m.
in the Missouri Gaming Commission hearing room located at 3417
Knipp Drive, Jefferson City, Missouri.

Title 15— ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 40—State Auditor
Chapter 3—Rules Applying to Political Subdivisions

PROPOSED RESCISSION

15 CSR 40-3.100 Revision of Property Tax Rates by School
Districts. This rule applied to school districts and was designed to
implement section 137.073, RSMo as it applied to revising prop-
erty tax rates.

PURPOSE: The state auditor’s office is proposing to rescind this
rule and propose a new rule in order to comply with provisions of
Article X, Section 22 of the Missouri Constitution and section
137.073, RSMo Supp. 1999, as revised by Senate Bill 894, 90th
General Assembly, 2000. 15 CSR 40-3.120 will replace 15 CSR
40-3.100 and 15 CSR 40-3.110.

AUTHORITY: section 137.073.6, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 1992, effective Aug. 6, 1992. Amended: Filed June 14,
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1994, effective Nov. 30, 1994. Emergency amendment filed June
14, 1996, effective June 24, 1996, expired Dec. 20, 1996.
Amended: Filed June 14, 1996, effective Nov. 30, 1996.
Emergency rescission filed July 14, 2000, effective July 24, 2000,
expires Feb. 22, 2001. Rescinded: Filed July 14, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri State Auditor’s Olffice, 224 State Capitol, Jefferson City,
MO 65101. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.
No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 15— ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 40—State Auditor
Chapter 3—Rules Applying to Political Subdivisions

PROPOSED RESCISSION

15 CSR 40-3.110 Revision of Property Tax Rates by Political
Subdivisions Other Than School Districts. This rule applied to
political subdivisions other than school districts and was designed
to implement section 137.073, RSMo as it applied to revising
property tax rates.

PURPOSE: The state auditor’s office is proposing to rescind this
rule and propose a new rule in order to comply with provisions of
Article X, Section 22 of the Missouri Constitution and section
137.073, RSMo Supp. 1999, as revised by Senate Bill 894, 90th
General Assembly, 2000. 15 CSR 40-3.120 will replace 15 CSR
40-3.100 and 15 CSR 40-3.110.

AUTHORITY: section 137.073.6, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed
Jan. 3, 1992, effective Aug. 6, 1992. Amended: Filed June 14,
1994, effective Nov. 30, 1994. Emergency amendment filed June
14, 1996, effective June 24, 1996, expired Dec. 20, 1996
Amended: Filed June 14, 1996, effective Nov. 30, 1996.
Emergency rescission filed July 14, 2000, effective July 24, 2000,
expires Feb. 22, 2001. Rescinded: Filed July 14, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private
entities more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Missouri State Auditor’s Olffice, 224 State Capitol, Jefferson City,
MO 65I01. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.
No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 40—State Auditor
Chapter 3—Rules Applying to Political Subdivisions

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 40-3.120 Calculation and Revision of Property Tax
Rates

PURPOSE: This rule applies to all political subdivisions and is
designed to implement section 137.073, RSMo as it applies to cal-
culating and revising property tax rates.

(1) The following forms with instructions are available from the
State Auditor’s Office—Tax Rate Review Section, and have been
adopted and approved for use by school districts and all other polit-
ical subdivisions to compute and substantiate the annual tax rate
ceiling(s) pursuant to the requirements of the Missouri
Constitution Article X, Section 22 and section 137.073, RSMo:

(A) Tax Rate Summary Page;

(B) Form A Computation of Reassessment Growth and Rate for
Compliance with Article X, Section 22 and Section 137.073;

(C) Form B New Voter Approved Tax Rate or Tax Rate Increase;

(D) Form C Debt Service;

(E) Form G Recoupment for Political Subdivisions.

AUTHORITY: section 137.073.6, RSMo Supp. 1999. A version of
this rule was previously filed as 15 CSR 40-3.100 and 15 CSR 40-
3.110. Emergency rule filed July 14, 2000, effective July 24, 2000,
expires Feb. 22, 2001. Original rule filed July 14, 2000.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than $500 in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than $500 in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement
in support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the
Missouri State Auditor’s Office, 224 State Capitol, Jefferson City,
MO 65I01. To be considered, comments must be received within
thirty days after publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.
No public hearing is scheduled.
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