
Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts

Chapter 2—Licensing of Physicians and Surgeons

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-2.125 Continuing Medical Education. The board is
proposing to amend sections (1) and (2).

PURPOSE: This amendment deletes AMA’s Category 2 CME from
the rule.

(1) Effective February 1, 2002, each licensee shall complete and
report at least fifty (50) hours of continuing medical education each
renewal period. The board shall not issue a renewal of a licensee’s

certificate of registration unless the licensee demonstrates completion
of fifty (50) hours of continuing medical education accredited by the
American Osteopathic Association (AOA) as Category 1-A or 2-A,
by the American Medical Association (AMA) as Category 1 [or
Category 2—as further specified in this rule,] or American
Academy of Family Practice Prescribed Credit, in the immediately
preceding reporting period. [A maximum of twenty (20) hours
of AMA Category 2 education for which documented credit
is given may be counted towards the fifty (50)-hour require-
ment.] A licensee is not required to complete any continuing med-
ical education hours in the renewal period in which the licensee is
initially licensed to practice the healing arts in Missouri if the
licensee has not previously held a permanent license to practice the
healing arts in Missouri or any other state in the United States of
America. The period for completion of the continuing medical edu-
cation requirements shall be the twenty-four (24)-month period
beginning January 1 of each even-numbered year and ending
December 31 of each odd-numbered year. A licensee who has failed
to obtain and report, in a timely fashion, fifty (50) hours of contin-
uing medical education shall not engage in the practice of medicine
unless an extension is obtained pursuant to section (4) of this rule.

(2) Each licensee shall certify by [signature] attestation, under
penalty of perjury, that s/he has completed the required hours of con-
tinuing medical education listed by him/her on the renewal form (see
4 CSR 150-2.040). 

AUTHORITY: sections 334.075 and 334.125, RSMo 2000. Original
rule filed Oct. 16, 1991, effective March 9, 1992. For intervening
history, please consult the Code of State Regulations. Amended:
Filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the State
Board of Healing Arts, Tina Steinman, Executive Director, PO Box
4, Jefferson City, MO 65102, by facsimile at (573) 751-3166 or via e-
mail at healarts@mail.state.mo.us.  To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts

Chapter 2—Licensing of Physicians and Surgeons

PROPOSED RULE

4 CSR 150-2.153 Reinstatement of an Inactive License

PURPOSE:  This rule provides the requirements physicians must fol-
low to request reinstatement of a license that has been inactive.  

(1) All applicants shall make application for reinstatement of an inac-
tive license upon a form prepared by the board.

(2) No application will be considered unless fully and completely
filled out on the specified form and properly attested.
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(3) All applicants must provide, on the application form, a recent
unmounted photograph, in size no larger than three and one-half
inches by five inches (3 1/2" × 5"). 

(4) All applications shall be sent to the Missouri State Board of
Registration for the Healing Arts, PO Box 4, Jefferson City, MO
65102.

(5) All applicants for reinstatement of an inactive license must sub-
mit a fee as specified in 4 CSR 150-2.080.  The fee shall be sub-
mitted in the form of a cashier’s check or money order drawn on a
United States bank made payable to the Missouri Board of Healing
Arts.

(6) No application will be processed prior to the submission of the
required fee in the appropriate form.

(7) All applicants must submit an activity statement documenting all
employment, professional and nonprofessional activities since the
date the license was placed on inactive status.

(8) All applicants shall have licensure, registration or certification
verification submitted from every state and country in which s/he has
ever held privileges to practice as a physician.  This verification must
be submitted directly from the licensing agency and include the type
of license, registration or certification, the issue and expiration dates,
and information concerning any disciplinary or investigative actions.

(9) An applicant for reinstatement of an inactive license who has not
actively practiced as a physician in another state or country through-
out the period their Missouri license was inactive, shall submit upon
request any documentation requested by the board necessary to ver-
ify that the applicant is competent to practice in Missouri. Such doc-
umentation may include continuing education, additional training, or
applicable documentation acceptable to the board.  If an applicant
under this subsection has been in inactive status for more than five
(5) years, the board may require the applicant to successfully com-
plete reexamination prior to reinstatement.

AUTHORITY: sections 334.125, RSMo 2000 and 334.002, RSMo
Supp. 2003. Original rule filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost state agen-
cies and political subdivisions an estimated seventy dollars and forty-
one cents ($70.41) annually for the life of the rule. It is anticipated
that the total cost will recur annually for the life of the rule, may vary
with inflation and is expected to increase annually at the rate pro-
jected by the Legislative Oversight Committee.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost private enti-
ties an estimated one thousand fourteen dollars and eighty-five cents
($1,014.85) annually for the life of the rule. It is anticipated that the
total costs will recur annually for the life of the rule, may vary with
inflation and is expected to increase annually at the rate projected by
the Legislative Oversight Committee.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the State Board
of Healing Arts, Tina Steinman, Executive Director, PO Box 4,
Jefferson City, MO 65102, by facsimile at (573) 751-3166 or via e-
mail at healarts@mail.state.mo.us.  To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 150—State Board of Registration for the Healing
Arts

Chapter 4—Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists
and Audiologists

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-4.040 Internationally Trained Applicants. The board
is proposing to amend section (2).

PURPOSE: This amendment specifies that the credential evaluation
should verify that the applicant’s degree be the equivalent of a
Speech-Language Pathology or Audiology degree obtained from an
institution accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation of
the American Speech-Language Hearing Association.

(2) An internationally trained applicant graduating from a college or
university which is not approved and accredited by the American
Speech-Language and Hearing Association shall be required to
obtain a credential evaluation verifying that the applicant’s profes-
sional degree is the equivalent of a Speech-Language Pathology or
Audiology degree obtained from an institution accredited by the
Council on Academic Accreditation of the American Speech-
Language Hearing Association.  The credential evaluation service
must be approved by the commission.

AUTHORITY: sections 345.020 and 345.050, RSMo [Supp. 1998]
2000. Original rule filed July 1, 1988, effective Oct. 27, 1988.
Amended: Filed Nov. 16, 1998, effective July 30, 1999. Amended:
Filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the State
Board of Healing Arts, Tina Steinman, Executive Director, PO Box
4, Jefferson City, MO 65102, by facsimile at (573) 751-3166 or via e-
mail at healarts@mail.state.mo.us.  To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts

Chapter 4—Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists
and Audiologists

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-4.053 Acceptable Continuing Education. The board is
proposing to amend subsection (1)(A).

PURPOSE: This amendment revises the list of acceptable activi-
ties/providers of continuing education.

(1) A minimum of twenty (20) hours of the required thirty (30) hours
of continuing education must be obtained as follows:

(A) Activity/Provider approved by the American Speech-
Language-Hearing Association (ASHA), the American Academy of

Audiology (AAA), the American Medical Association (AMA), the
National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management, the
Centers for Disease Control, the National Institute on Deafness
and other Communication Disorders, the American Academy of
Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, the American Academy
of Pediatrics and the American Academy of Neurology; or cours-
es sponsored by the Missouri Speech-Language-Hearing Association
(MSHA) or the Missouri Academy of Audiology (MAA), the
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE), or the
Council for Exceptional Children (CEC); and/or

AUTHORITY: sections 345.030 and 345.051, RSMo [Supp. 1998]
2000. Original rule filed Nov. 17, 1997, effective June 30, 1998.
Amended: Filed Nov. 16, 1998, effective July 30, 1999. Amended:
Filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the State
Board of Healing Arts, Tina Steinman, Executive Director, PO Box
4, Jefferson City, MO 65102, by facsimile at (573) 751-3166 or via e-
mail at healarts@mail.state.mo.us.  To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC
DEVELOPMENT

Division 150—State Board of Registration for the
Healing Arts

Chapter 4—Licensing of Speech-Language Pathologists
and Audiologists

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 150-4.205 Procedural Process for Registration. The board
is proposing to amend subsections (2)(A) and (2)(B).

PURPOSE: This amendment outlines the requirements and proce-
dures for internationally trained applicants applying for a speech-
language pathology assistant registration.

(2) An application will not be considered as officially submitted
unless completely filled out, properly attested and the application fee
has been received by the board. The application fee must be submit-
ted in the form of a cashier’s check or money order payable to the
Missouri Board of Healing Arts, drawn on a United States bank. The
following documents are necessary to be filed with the board in order
to deem the application complete:

(A) [Prior to January 1, 2005 all a]Applicants must furnish
official transcripts from one or more accredited colleges or universi-
ties, confirming a bachelor’s degree in speech-language pathology or
an associate’s degree as a speech-language pathology assistant.  Such
transcripts shall evidence completion of the coursework and clinical
practicum requirements equivalent to that required by the Council on
Academic Accreditation of the American Speech-Language and
Hearing Association. Transcripts shall detail all coursework and clin-
ical practicum hours and document the degree(s) awarded and area(s)
of emphasis.

(B) [On or after January 1, 2005 all applicants must fur-
nish official transcripts confirming a minimum of an associ-
ate’s degree as a speech-language pathology assistant from
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one or more accredited colleges or universities which pre-
sent evidence of the completion of coursework and clinical
practicum requirements equivalent to that required or
approved by the Council of Academic Accreditation of the
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association.]
Internationally trained applicants graduating from a college or
university which is not approved and accredited by the American
Speech-Language and Hearing Association shall be required to
obtain a credential evaluation verifying that the applicant’s pro-
fessional degree is equivalent to a degree obtained by an institu-
tion approved and accredited by the American Speech-Language
and Hearing Association.  The credentialing evaluation service
must be approved by the commission.

AUTHORITY: sections 345.015, [and] 345.030 and 345.050, RSMo
[Supp. 1999] 2000. Original rule filed July 31, 2000, effective Feb.
28, 2001. Amended: Filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the State
Board of Healing Arts, Tina Steinman, Executive Director, PO Box
4, Jefferson City, MO 65102, by facsimile at (573) 751-3166 or via e-
mail at healarts@mail.state.mo.us.  To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 4—DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC 
DEVELOPMENT

Division 240—Public Service Commission
Chapter 13—Service and Billing Practices for Residential

Customers of Electric, Gas and Water Utilities

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

4 CSR 240-13.055 Cold Weather Maintenance of Service:
Provision of Residential Heat-Related Utility Service During Cold
Weather.  The commission proposes to eliminate an unneeded ref-
erence to the states Utilicare program; add a provision dealing with
disconnection notices; transfer of service; defaults on pay agree-
ments; and other changes that may be submitted in comments.

PURPOSE:  The changes in this amendment require that disconnec-
tion of service notices only be issued to customers where a real intent
to disconnect exist, that customers who move from one residence to
another within the same utility service territory not be treated as new
customers, that customers who pay their payment agreement amount
before disconnection can continue to be on a deferred payment plan
and that customers who break a payment agreement are eligible for
payment plans under the cold weather rule if their last default on a
payment agreement was three (3) or more years ago.

(1) The following definitions shall apply in this rule:
(C) Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)

means the federal LIHEAP administered by the Missouri Division of
Family Services under section 660.110, RSMo; and

(D) Registered elderly or handicapped customer means one who is
sixty (60) years old and above, or is handicapped to the extent that
s/he is unable to leave the premises without assistance and who files
with the utility a form approved by the commission attesting to the
fact that s/he meets these qualifications and which also lists an

agency or person the utility shall contact as required in this rule.[;
and]

[(E) Utilicare means the state program of energy assis-
tance established by section 660.122, RSMo.]

(4) A utility may not threaten to disconnect service when it has
no present intent to disconnect service or when actual discon-
nection is prohibited under this rule.  Notice of the intent to dis-
connect shall be used only as a warning that service will in fact
be disconnected in accordance with the procedures set forth in
this rule, unless the customer or occupant remedies the situation
which gave rise to the enforcement efforts of the utility.

[(4)](5) Weather Provisions. Discontinuance of gas and electric ser-
vice to all residential users, including all residential tenants of apart-
ment buildings, for nonpayment of bills where gas or electricity is
used as the source of space heating or to control or operate the only
space heating equipment at the residence is prohibited—

(A) On any day when the National Weather Service local forecast
between 6:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m., for the following twenty-four (24)
hours predicts that the temperature will drop below thirty degrees
Fahrenheit (30° F); and

(B) On any day when utility personnel will not be available to
reconnect utility service during the immediately succeeding day(s)
(Period of Unavailability) and the National Weather Service local
forecast between 6:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. predicts that the tempera-
ture during the Period of Unavailability will drop below thirty
degrees Fahrenheit (30° F).

(C) Nothing in this section shall prohibit a utility from establish-
ing a higher temperature threshold below which it will not discon-
tinue utility service.

[(5)](6) Discontinuance of Service. From November 1 through
March 31, a utility may not discontinue heat-related residential util-
ity service due to nonpayment of a delinquent bill or account pro-
vided—

(A) The customer contacts the utility and states his/her inability to
pay in full;

(B) The customer applies for financial assistance in paying his/her
heat-related utility bill from any federal, state, local or other heating
payment fund program for which s/he may be eligible;

(C) The utility receives an initial payment and the customer enters
into a payment agreement both of which are in compliance with sec-
tion [(8)](10) of this rule;

(D) The customer complies with the utility’s requests for infor-
mation regarding the customer’s monthly or annual income; and

(E) There is no other lawful reason for discontinuance of utility
service.

(7) Whenever a residential customer, whose service is paid in full
or under a payment agreement that they have not broken, moves
to another residence within the territory served by a utility, the
request for like service at the new residence shall not be consid-
ered an application for new service for purposes of this rule.
Such service shall be provided at the new residence and shall be
considered a continuation of the prior service.  A utility shall not
have the right to accelerate collection or to terminate service, or
to change the terms of service to any customer by virtue of the
change in the customer’s residence. 

[(6)](8) Deposit Provisions. A utility shall not assess a new deposit
or bill deposits that were previously assessed during or after the peri-
od of this rule to those customers who enter into a payment agree-
ment and make timely payments in accordance with this rule.

[(7)](9) Reconnection Provisions. If a utility has discontinued heat-
related utility service to a residential customer due to nonpayment of
a delinquent account, the utility, from November 1 through March
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31, shall reconnect service to that customer without requiring a
deposit; provided—

(A) The customer contacts the utility, requests the utility to recon-
nect service and states an inability to pay in full;

(B) The customer applies for financial assistance in paying his/her
heat-related utility bill from any federal, state, local or other heating
payment fund program for which s/he may be eligible;

(C) The utility receives an initial payment and the customer enters
into a payment agreement both of which are in compliance with sec-
tion [(8)](10) of this rule;

(D) The customer complies with the requests of the utility for
information regarding the customer’s monthly or annual income;

(E) None of the amount owed is an amount due as a result of unau-
thorized interference, diversion or use of the utility’s service, and the
customer has not engaged in such activity since last receiving ser-
vice; and

(F) There is no other lawful reason for continued refusal to pro-
vide utility service.

[(8)](10) Payment Agreements. The payment agreement for service
under this rule shall comply with the following:

(A) A pledge of an amount equal to any payment required by this
section by the agency which administers LIHEAP[, Utilicare] or
ECIP, or a combination of these, shall be deemed to be the payment
required. The utility shall confirm in writing the terms of any pay-
ment agreement under this rule, unless the extension granted the cus-
tomer does not exceed two (2) weeks.

(B) Payment Calculations.
1. The utility shall first offer a twelve (12)-month budget plan

which is designed to cover the total of all preexisting arrears, current
bills and the utility’s estimate of the ensuing bills.  

2. If the customer states an inability to pay the budget plan
amount, the utility and the customer may upon mutual agreement
enter into a payment agreement which allows payment of preexisting
arrears over a reasonable period in excess of twelve (12) months. In
determining a reasonable period of time, the utility and the customer
shall consider the amount of the arrears, the time over which it devel-
oped, the reasons why it developed, the customer’s payment history
and the customer’s ability to pay.  

3. A utility shall permit a customer to enter into a payment
agreement to cover the current bill plus arrearages in fewer than
twelve (12) months if requested by the customer.

4. The company may revise the required payment in accordance
with its budget or levelized payment plan.

5. If a customer defaults on a deferred payment agreement
but has not yet had service discontinued by the utility, the utility
shall permit such customer to be reinstated on the deferred pay-
ment agreement if the customer pays in full the amounts that
should have been paid up to that date pursuant to the original
payment agreement (including any amounts for current usage
which have become past due).  A utility shall be obliged to per-
mit such reinstatement only once during the course of a deferred
payment agreement.

(C) Initial Payments.
1. For a customer who has not defaulted on a payment plan

under the cold weather rule within the last three (3) or more years,
the initial payment shall be the amount of the monthly payment cal-
culated in subsection [(8)](10)(B) of this rule.

2. For a customer who has defaulted on a payment plan under
the cold weather rule within the last three (3) years, the initial pay-
ment shall be an amount equal to the total of the delinquent install-
ments, unless the utility and customer agree to a lesser amount.

[(9)](11) If a utility refuses to provide service pursuant to this rule
and the reason for refusal of service involves unauthorized interfer-
ence, diversion or use of the utility’s service situated or delivered on
or about the customer’s premises, the utility shall maintain records
concerning the refusal of service which, at a minimum, shall

include: the name and address of the person denied reconnection, the
names of all company personnel involved in any part of the determi-
nation that refusal of service was appropriate, the facts surrounding
the reason for the refusal and any other relevant information.

[(10)](12) The commission shall recognize and permit recovery of
reasonable operating expenses incurred by a utility because of this
rule.

[(11)](13) A utility may apply for a variance from this rule by filing
an application for variance with the commission pursuant to the com-
mission’s rules of procedure.

AUTHORITY: sections 386.250 and 393.140, RSMo 2000 and
393.130, RSMo Supp. 2003. Original rule filed June 13, 1984,
effective Nov. 15, 1984. Amended: Filed Dec. 30, 1992, effective
Oct. 10, 1993. Amended: Filed March 10, 1995, effective Jan. 30,
1996. Emergency amendment filed Nov. 8, 2001, effective Nov. 18,
2001, expired March 31, 2002. Amended: Filed Aug. 16, 2002, effec-
tive April 30, 2003. Amended: Filed April 9, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment is expected to cost pri-
vate entities approximately nine hundred twenty-one thousand dol-
lars ($921,000) in the first year, and five hundred twelve thousand
dollars ($512,000) each year thereafter, for the life of the rule.
These costs may vary with inflation.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file comments in support of or in opposition to
this proposed amendment with the Missouri Public Service
Commission, Dale Hardy Roberts, Secretary of the Commission, PO
Box 360, Jefferson City, MO 65102. To be considered, comments
must be received at the commission’s offices on or before June 17,
2004, and should include a reference to Commission Case No. GX-
2004-0496. If comments are submitted via a paper filing, an origi-
nal and eight (8) copies of the comments are required. Comments
may also be submitted via a filing using the  commi-
ssion's electronic filing and information system at
<http://www.psc.mo.gov/efis.asp>. A public hearing regarding
this proposed amendment is scheduled for July 9, 2004, at 10:00
a.m. in Room 310 of the Governor Office Building, 200 Madison
Street, Jefferson City, Missouri. Interested persons may appear at
this hearing to submit additional comments and/or testimony in sup-
port of or in opposition to this proposed amendment, and may be
asked to respond to commission questions. Any persons with special
needs as addressed by the Americans with Disabilities Act should
contact the Missouri Public Service Commission at least ten (10) days
prior to the hearing at one (1) of the following numbers: Consumer
Services Hotline 1-800-392-4211 or Relay Missouri at 711.
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Title 5—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION

Division 80—Teacher Quality and Urban Education
Chapter 805—Educator Preparation

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

5 CSR 80-805.015  Procedures and Standards for Approval of
Professional Education Programs in Missouri. The State Board of
Education is proposing to amend the Purpose, sections (1), (4), (5),
(6), (7), (8), (9), (10), (11), (12), (13) and the incorporated by ref-
erence materials, delete sections (2) and (3), and add new sections
(3), (4), (5), (13), (14), (15) and (16).

PURPOSE:  This amendment updates the format of the rule to be
consistent with other administrative rules, clarifies language in the
rule, provides additional criteria for the review and evaluation of pre-
liminary teacher education programs in Missouri, and streamlines
the number of administrative rules.

PURPOSE: This rule provides procedures and standards for approval
of professional education programs in baccalaureate degree granting
four (4)-year colleges and universities in Missouri. The rule also
provides procedures and standards for approval of preliminary
teacher education programs in associate’s degree granting two (2)-
year colleges in Missouri and acceptance of credits from the two
(2)-year colleges for purposes of teacher certification and student
transfer to the four (4)-year colleges and universities.

(1) For the purpose of this rule, unless the context clearly requires
otherwise, the following terms shall mean:

(A) Advanced certification program[—]. A post-baccalaureate
[degree] program leading to [advanced] additional certification
[or endorsement];

(B) Annual reports[—]. Written reports prepared by the profes-
sional education unit each year attesting to its continuing capacity to
meet the [board’s] standards and requirements of the State Board
of Education (board);  

(C) Approved program[—]. The status granted a professional edu-
cation program by the [State Board of Education] board autho-
rizing the recommendation of candidates for certification as a result
of the program having demonstrated its capacity to satisfy the
[board’s] standards for the preparation of educational professionals,
not to exceed [five (5)] seven (7) years;

[(D) Board—The Missouri State Board of Education;]
[(E)](D) Candidates[—]. Individuals [who are seeking admis-

sion] admitted to or [are] enrolled in programs for initial or
advanced preparation of teachers or other professional school [staff]
personnel;  

[(F)](E) Certification[—]. The official recognition by the [State
Board of Education] board that an individual has met state
requirements and is, therefore, approved to practice as a duly certi-
fied/licensed education professional;

[(G)](F) Clinical experiences[—]. [Program components]
Activities that are conducted in off-campus settings, such as a
school, classroom, or community center.  They include classroom
observations, tutoring, assisting teachers and administrators, student
teaching, and internships;  

[(H)](G) Conceptual framework[—]. The rationale and organiz-
ing principles that guide the development of the design, [and] cur-
riculum, and accountability for professional education [including
the categorization of knowledge];

[(I)](H) Conditional [program] approval[—]. The status granted
a professional education program by the [State Board of
Education] board authorizing an institution to recommend candi-
dates for certification from such programs for a period, not to exceed
two (2) years, with conditions and limitations stipulated by the board;

[(J)](I) Denial of approval[—]. [State Board of Education]
Board action [which] that denies or removes the authorization of
an institution to recommend candidates for state certification from
programs [which] that fail to meet the [board’s] standards and
requirements for the preparation of educational professionals;

[(K) Department—The Missouri Department of Elementary
and Secondary Education;]

[(L)](J) Diversity[—]. [The variety of backgrounds of can-
didates, faculty, and school personnel] Differences among
groups of people based on culture, ethnicity, race, language, socio-
economic status, gender, regional/geographic background and excep-
tionalities.  The [department] Department of Elementary and
Secondary Education (DESE) does not consider diversity of geo-
graphic origins, religion, or language group to be good faith repre-
sentation of wide-range cultural diversity;

[(M)](K) Evaluation team[—]. A team selected by [the
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education] DESE
for the purpose of conducting an on-site review and evaluation of an
institution’s professional education unit and programs; the team
includes a member of [the department] DESE, faculty from ele-
mentary or secondary schools and institutions of higher education
possessing [State Board of Education] board approved profes-
sional education programs;

[(N)](L) Governance[—].  The system and structure for defining
policy and administering procedures for the professional education
unit;

[(O)](M) Initial certification programs[—]. Programs at the bac-
calaureate or post-baccalaureate levels that prepare candidates for
their first [teaching] certificate of license to teach;

[(P)](N) Interim review[—]. A review conducted during a period
of program approval, consistent with board procedures and standards
and authorized by the commissioner of education when s/he has rea-
son to believe that an institution or an approved program is no longer
in compliance with state standards or when an institution recom-
mends a candidate for certification from a nonapproved program; 

(O) Preliminary professional education program.  A program
that provides the  introductory or early phases of teacher prepa-
ration culminating in a two (2)-year associate’s degree;

[(Q)](P) Professional community[—]. Professional education
candidates, faculty/staff in PK-12 schools, higher education faculty,
and others in the educational enterprise;

[(R)](Q) Professional education unit[—]. [The professional
education unit is the] An institution of higher education, college,
school, department, or other administrative entity within the institu-
tion that is primarily responsible for the initial and advanced prepa-
ration of teachers and other professional school personnel;

[(S)](R) Professional education faculty[—]. Those individuals
employed by a college or university who teach one (1) or more
courses in education, provide services to education students (e.g.,
advising or supervising student teaching), or administer some por-
tion of the unit; professional education faculty may include both
higher education faculty and school-based personnel who are con-
sidered to be members of an institution’s professional education unit;

[(T)](S) Professional education program[—]. A planned sequence
of courses and experiences leading to a degree, state certification,
and/or adequate preparation to provide professional education ser-
vices in schools;

[(U)](T) Program approval process[—]. The [process]
sequence of events by which professional education programs are
reviewed and evaluated by [the Department of Elementary and
Secondary Education] DESE to determine if they meet the
[board’s] standards for the preparation of school personnel; and

[(V)](U) Scholarly activities[—]. The active involvement in
one’s area of specialization as demonstrated through such faculty
activities as research, articles published, program evaluation studies,
documentation of ongoing activities, grant seeking, and presentations
at professional meetings.
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[(2) Each institution of higher education desiring board
approval of its professional education program(s) shall sub-
mit a written request to the commissioner of education.

(3) An institution desiring program approval shall submit to
the department, Teacher Education Section, annual reports
in a form consistent with the rules, regulations and appen-
dices promulgated by the board.]

[(4)](2) Professional education programs at institutions of higher
education shall be evaluated according to the [unit] standards listed
below and in the Missouri Standards for Teacher[s] Education
Programs (MoSTEP) [(Appendix A) and Standards for School
Leaders (Appendix B),] and the Benchmarks for Preliminary
Teacher Education Programs, which are hereby incorporated by
reference and made a part of this rule.

(A) Standard 1:  Performance Standards for Education
Professionals. (Initial and Advanced) The professional education unit
ensures that candidates for professional certification possess the
knowledge, skills, and competencies defined as appropriate for their
area of responsibility.

(B) Standard 2:  Program and Curriculum Design. (Initial and
Advanced)  The professional education unit has high quality profes-
sional education programs that are derived from a conceptual frame-
work that is knowledge-based, articulated, shared, coherent, consis-
tent with the unit and/or institutional mission, and continuously eval-
uated.

(C) Standard 3:  Clinical Experiences. (Initial and Advanced)  The
professional education unit ensures that clinical experiences for pro-
grams are well-planned, of high quality, integrated throughout the
program sequence, and continuously evaluated.

(D) Standard 4:  Composition, Quality, and Competence of
Student Population. (Initial and Advanced)  The professional educa-
tion unit has and implements plans to recruit, admit, and retain a
diverse student population who demonstrate potential for profession-
al success in schools.  

(E) Standard 5:  Qualifications, Composition, Assignments, and
Development of Professional Education Faculty, and Quality of
Instruction. (Initial and Advanced) The professional education unit
has and implements plans to recruit, employ[,] and retain a diverse
faculty who demonstrate professional qualifications and high quality
instruction.  

(F) Standard 6:  Governance, Organization, and Authority. (Initial
and Advanced)  Governing boards and administrators shall indicate
commitment to the preparation of educational personnel, as related
to the institution’s mission and goals, by adopting and implementing
policies and procedures supportive of programs for the preparation
of professional educators.

(G) Standard 7:  Professional Community. (Initial and Advanced)
The professional education unit and the professional [education]
community collaborate to improve programs for the preparation of
school personnel and to improve the quality of education in the
schools.

(H) Standard 8:  Resources [F]for Operating the Unit [A]and
[F]for Supporting Teaching [A]and Learning. (Initial and Advanced)
The professional education unit has sufficient facilities, equipment,
and budgetary resources to fulfill its mission[s] and offer quality
programs.  The unit has adequate resources to support teaching and
scholarship by faculty and candidates.

(3) In lieu of MoSTEP listed above, the board will recognize the
standards of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher
Education (NCATE) as they apply to a professional education
unit in an institution of higher education.

(4) An institution of higher education desiring initial approval of
its professional education program(s) shall submit a written

request and supporting documentation in accordance with the
standards and procedures in MoSTEP.

(5) An institution of higher education desiring continuing
approval of its professional education program(s) shall submit to
DESE annual reports in a form consistent with the rules and reg-
ulations promulgated by the board.

[(5)](6) An evaluation team shall conduct an on-site review of an
institution’s professional education program(s) [based upon the
institution’s responses] to [the standards in its annual
reports] determine compliance with MoSTEP listed above and
shall prepare a report for the commissioner of education.

[(6)](7) The commissioner of education shall review the team’s
report and may request additional information from the institution
before recommendations are made to the board.

[(7)](8) For professional education programs [rated unsatisfacto-
ry] that receive a rating of “not met” by the evaluation team or
programs for which the commissioner of education has indicated to
the institution that s/he may recommend denial of approval, the insti-
tution shall be afforded an opportunity for a hearing to provide evi-
dence to support approval or conditional approval of those programs.
The hearing shall be conducted by the commissioner of education or
his/her designee according to the provisions of Chapter 536, RSMo.

[(8)](9) The commissioner of education shall recommend to the
board that the professional education program(s) of the institution be
granted approval[,]; conditional approval; or be denied approval.
The recommendation of the commissioner of education shall not
include denial of approval to programs for which the institution was
not afforded an opportunity for a hearing [to provide evidence to
support approval or conditional approval] according to the
provisions of Chapter 536, RSMo.

[(9)](10) The board shall review the recommendations of the com-
missioner of education and shall grant approval; [or] conditional
approval[,]; or deny approval of an institution’s professional educa-
tion program(s).  The board shall not deny approval to programs for
which the institution was not afforded an opportunity for a hearing
[to provide evidence to support approval or conditional
approval.] according to the provisions of Chapter 536, RSMo.

[(10)] (A) Should the board grant conditional approval to any pro-
fessional education program(s) offered by an institution, the institu-
tion’s authorization to recommend candidates for certification shall
not exceed two (2) years with conditions and limitations stipulated by
the board.  Conditional approval for a professional education pro-
gram(s) shall not be extended or renewed without consent of the
board or its designee.

[(11)](B) Should the board deny approval to any [of an institu-
tion’s] professional education program(s) offered by an institution
of higher education, the commissioner of education shall notify the
institution of the denial and inform the institution of the reasons for
the denial.

[(12)](11) The commissioner of education may authorize an interim
review of an institution or an approved professional education pro-
gram(s) [consistent] in accordance with the rules and regulations
promulgated by the board.  As a result of the review, and upon the
recommendation of the commissioner of education, the board may
discontinue an institution’s authorization to recommend candidates
for certification.  

[(13)](12) Requisite conditions, guidelines, procedures and stan-
dards, as set forth in the rules[,] and regulations [and appendices]
promulgated by the board, shall be followed by institutions seeking
board approval of their professional education programs.
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(13) DESE will accept, for purposes of teacher certification and
student transfer to baccalaureate degree granting four (4)-year
institutions of higher education, credits from state-approved pre-
liminary teacher education programs in Missouri’s two (2)-year
colleges to meet general education, subject knowledge and/or
professional education competencies equivalent to those in the
first two (2) years of the baccalaureate educational experience.

(14) All institutions of higher education in Missouri seeking
DESE approval for preliminary professional education programs
shall be reviewed and evaluated by DESE and approved by the
board pursuant to MoSTEP and the Benchmarks for Preliminary
Teacher Education Programs. 

(15) It is not the intent of this rule to cause Missouri’s four (4)-
year teacher preparation institutions to deny acceptance of cred-
it for candidates from any two (2)-year or other four (4)-year
institutions of higher education.

(16) It is not the intent of this rule to deny acceptance of any non-
professional education credit earned at two (2)-year community
colleges to meet the renewal requirements for a certificate of
license to teach.

AUTHORITY:  sections 161.092[,] and 168.021, RSMo Supp.
[2002] 2003 and 161.097[,] and 161.099 [and 168.021], RSMo
2000.  This rule was previously filed as 5 CSR 80-800.015.  Original
rule filed Sept. 29, 1986, effective Jan. 12, 1987.  Amended:  Filed
Aug. 1, 1988, effective Nov. 25, 1988.  Amended:  Filed April 25,
1990, effective Sept. 28, 1990. Amended: Filed Oct. 31, 1996, effec-
tive June 30, 1997. Amended: Filed Dec. 23, 1998, effective Aug.
30, 1999. Amended: Filed July 28, 2000, effective Feb. 28, 2001.
Amended: Filed Sept. 24, 2002, effective April 30, 2003. Amended:
Filed April 5, 2004.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, Attn: Dr.
Charles Brown, Assistant Commissioner, Teacher Quality and Urban
Education, PO Box 480, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0480.  To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after pub-
lication of this notice in the Missouri Register.  No public hearing is
scheduled.

Title 5—DEPARTMENT OF ELEMENTARY AND
SECONDARY EDUCATION

Division 80—Teacher Quality and Urban Education
Chapter 805—Educator Preparation

PROPOSED RESCISSION

5 CSR 80-805.016  Procedures for Approval of Preliminary
Professional Education Programs in Missouri. This rule provided
procedures and standards for the approval of preliminary profession-
al education programs in associate degree granting two (2)-year col-
leges in Missouri. 

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because the authorization of
two (2)-year colleges to offer professional education course work will

be included in rule 5 CSR 80-805.015, Procedures and Standards for
Approval of Professional Education Programs in Missouri, and thus
it is no longer needed as a separate rule.

AUTHORITY: sections 161.092, 161.097 and 161.099, RSMo 1994,
and 168.021, RSMo Supp. 1999.  Original rule filed July 28, 2000,
effective Feb. 28, 2001. Rescinded: Filed April 5, 2004.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate. 

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, Attn: Dr.
Charles Brown, Assistant Commissioner, Teacher Quality and Urban
Education, PO Box 480, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0480.  To be con-
sidered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after pub-
lication of this notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is
scheduled.

Title 8—DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND
INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS

Division 10—Division of Employment Security
Chapter 3—Unemployment Insurance

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

8 CSR 10-3.010 Registration and Claims in General. The division
is amending section (9).

PURPOSE:  This amendment deletes reference to rule 8 CSR 10-
3.020, which is being rescinded.

(9) A benefit week under this rule begins on Sunday and ends on
Saturday, except that a claimant who has been filing claims under [8
CSR 10-3.020 or] 8 CSR 10-3.040 shall use the same type of
weekly period for further claims in the same series.

AUTHORITY: sections 288.040, 288.070 and 288.220.5, RSMo
2000. Original rule filed Sept. 30, 1946, effective Oct. 10, 1946. For
intervening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended:  Filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Division of Employment Security, Attn:  Gracia Y. Backer, Director,
PO Box 59, Jefferson City, MO  65104-0059.  To be considered, com-
ments must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of
this notice in the Missouri Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 8—DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND
INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS

Division 10—Division of Employment Security
Chapter 3—Unemployment Insurance
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PROPOSED RESCISSION

8 CSR 10-3.020 Registration and Claims of Certain Workers
Who Become Totally Unemployed Because of a Mass Layoff Due
to a Temporary Cessation of Work. This rule provided a means to
file unemployment claims through the use of the division’s form,
Notice of Partial or Temporary Total Unemployment.

PURPOSE:  This rule is being rescinded, as it is no longer needed.
Claims for unemployment benefits may be filed through the Internet
or by telephone. 

AUTHORITY: sections 288.030, 288.040, 288.070, 288.130 and
288.220.5, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed Sept. 30, 1946, effective
Oct. 10, 1946. For intervening history, please consult the Code of
State Regulations.  Rescinded:  Filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Division of Employment Security, Attn:  Gracia Y. Backer, Director,
PO Box 59, Jefferson City, MO  65104-0059.  To be considered, com-
ments must be received within (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 9—DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH
Division 10—Director, Department of Mental Health

Chapter 5—General Program Procedures

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

9 CSR 10-5.210 Exceptions Committee Procedures. The depart-
ment proposes to amend section (2).

PURPOSE: The purpose of the amendment is to clarify that the
exception process neither replaces nor presupposes the appeal
process, and to establish that disqualified individuals may not
request an exception until twelve (12) months after being disquali-
fied. 

(2) Rules Subject to an Exception. Only the following rules may be
the subject of an exception:

[(A) Rules related to disqualification from employment
under 9 CSR 10-5.190 and 9 CSR 10-5.200;]

[(B)] (A) Licensure rules for residential facilities and day pro-
grams promulgated under 9 CSR 40;

[(C)] (B) Certification rules for alcohol and drug abuse programs
and psychiatric programs promulgated under 9 CSR 10-7 and 9 CSR
30;

[(D)] (C) Certification rules under 9 CSR 45 for programs serv-
ing persons who are developmentally disabled under the Community
Based Waiver Program;

[(E)] (D) Any administrative rule promulgated by the Department
of Mental Health that specifically allows for an exception[.]; and

(E) Rules related to disqualification from employment under 9
CSR 10-5.190 and 9 CSR 10-5.200. In the context of employment
disqualification the following apply.

1. A person may not request an exception until twelve (12)
months have passed since the sentence of the court or since the
department gave official notice of the person’s name being added
to the Department of Mental Health disqualification registry.

2. The exceptions option under this administrative rule does
not replace or substitute for the appeal procedures afforded
under Department Operating Regulation (DOR) 2.205 and 9
CSR 10-5.200 or any other administrative process.  A person is
not required to exhaust the appeal procedures as a prerequisite
to requesting an exception; however, an exception will not be con-
sidered while an appeal is pending.

AUTHORITY: sections 630.050 and 630.656, RSMo 2000 and
630.170, RSMo Supp. 2003. Original rule filed Feb. 23, 2001, effec-
tive Sept. 30, 2001. Amended: Filed, Nov. 3, 2003, effective April 30,
2004. Amended: Filed: April 13, 2004.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment by writing to
Richard H. Overmann, Regulatory Process Coordinator,  Office of
Quality Management, Department of Mental Health, PO Box 687,
Jefferson City, MO 65102.  To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.010 Applicability

PURPOSE: This rule defines the active and abandoned dry cleaning
facilities that are subject to the requirements of this chapter. This rule
is designed specifically to protect the quality of groundwater in the
state as well as to protect human health and the overall quality of the
environment. This rule is promulgated on the authority of sections
260.900 to 260.960, RSMo.

(1) This rule applies to the owner or operator of any active facility
or owner or operator of any abandoned facility, on which a dry clean-
ing facility is or was located, as the term is defined in this rule.  This
includes coin-operated facilities.  The term dry cleaning facility
includes all contiguous land, structures and other appurtenances and
improvements on the land used in connection with the dry cleaning
facility.   

(2) Dry cleaning facilities located in prisons, governmental entities,
hotels, motels, and industrial laundry facilities are excluded from this
rule.  

AUTHORITY: sections 260.900 and 260.905, RSMo 2000. Original
rule filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.
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NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To be accepted, written
requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To
be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
June 25, 2004.  Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be
accepted.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.020 Definitions

PURPOSE: This rule defines specific terms used in this chapter.

(1) Definitions.
(A) Definitions beginning with the letter A. 

1. “Abandoned dry cleaning facility” means any real property
premises or individual leasehold space in which a dry cleaning facil-
ity formerly operated. 

2. “Active dry cleaning facility” means any real property
premises or individual leasehold space in which a dry cleaning facil-
ity currently operates.

(B) Definitions beginning with the letter B. (Reserved)
(C) Definitions beginning with the letter C. 

1. “Chlorinated dry cleaning solvent” means any dry cleaning
solvent which contains a compound which has a molecular structure
containing the element chlorine.

2. “Claim” means a written demand for money or services from
the Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response Trust (DERT) Fund for
cleanup at a dry cleaning facility.

3. “Commission” means the Hazardous Waste Management
Commission created in section 260.365, RSMo. 

4. “Corrective action” means those activities described in sub-
section 1 of section 260.925, RSMo; 

5. “Corrective action plan” means a plan approved by the direc-
tor to perform corrective action at a dry cleaning facility.

(D) Definitions beginning with the letter D. 
1. “Department” unless otherwise stated, means the Missouri

Department of Natural Resources.
2. “DERT Fund” means the Dry-Cleaning Environmental

Response Trust (DERT) Fund.
3. “Director” means the director of the Missouri Department of

Natural Resources.
4. “DNAPL” means dense non-aqueous phased liquid.

DNAPLs are chemicals that exist in a denser-than-water, immiscible
phase when released to the environment.  They include halogenated
organic solvents such as tetrachloroethylene (PCE), trichloroethylene
(TCE) and 1,1,1-trichloroethane (TCA), substituted aromatics,
phthalates, polychlorinated biphenyls (PCB) mixtures, coal and
process tars, and some pesticides.

5. “Dry cleaning facility” means a commercial establishment
that operates, or has operated in the past in whole or in part for the
purpose of cleaning garments or other fabrics on-site utilizing a
process that involves any use of dry cleaning solvents. Dry cleaning
facility includes all contiguous land, structures and other appurte-
nances and improvements on the land used in connection with a dry
cleaning facility but does not include prisons, governmental entities,
hotels, motels or industrial laundries. Dry cleaning facility does
include coin-operated dry cleaning facilities.  

6. “Dry cleaning solvent” means any and all non-aqueous sol-
vents used or to be used in the cleaning of garments and other fab-
rics at a dry cleaning facility and includes but is not limited to per-
chloroethylene, also known as tetrachloroethylene, and petroleum-
based solvents, and the products into which such solvents degrade.

7. “Dry cleaning unit” means a machine or device which uti-
lizes dry cleaning solvents to clean garments and other fabrics and
includes any associated piping and ancillary equipment and any con-
tainment system. 

8. “Dry cleaning waste” means waste which is generated at a
dry cleaning facility during the cleaning of garments and contains dry
cleaning solvents.  Some or all of this waste may also be hazardous
waste.  

(E) Definitions beginning with the letter E. 
1. “Environmental response surcharge” means either the annu-

al dry cleaning facility registration surcharge or the dry cleaning sol-
vent surcharge. 

2. “Existing contamination” means the discovery of the soil,
groundwater, surface and drinking waters in excess of the applicable
state cleanup levels.  It also includes the presence of DNAPL/free
product or vapors in soils, basements, sewer and utility lines and
nearby surface and drinking waters.   

(F) Definitions beginning with the letter F. 
1. “Facility closure” means an active dry cleaning facility that

has ceased operations for sixty (60) continuous days.  
2. “Free product” means a dry cleaning solvent that is present

as a non-aqueous phase liquid (for example, pools of regulated sub-
stances at the surface or perched in the subsurface on top of an
impermeable rock stratum or on top of groundwater).

3. “Fund” means the Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund created in section 260.920, RSMo. 

(G) Definitions beginning with the letter G. (Reserved)
(H) Definitions beginning with the letter H. (Reserved)
(I) Definitions beginning with the letter I. 

1. “Industrial laundry facility” means dry cleaners solely
engaged in supplying laundered or dry-cleaned work uniforms, wip-
ing towels, dust control items, etc. to industrial and commercial
users. 

(J) Definitions beginning with the letter J. (Reserved)
(K) Definitions beginning with the letter K. (Reserved)
(L) Definitions beginning with the letter L. (Reserved)
(M) Definitions beginning with the letter M. 

1. “Multi-source site” means a site that contains contaminants
from more than one (1) source or operation. (e.g., a dry cleaner in
combination with a service station or auto part facility).

(N) Definitions beginning with the letter N. 
1. “Non-chlorinated solvent” means any dry cleaning solvent

that does not contain any compounds with the element chlorine (e.g.,
Stoddard Solvent, Pure Dry, Green Earth, DF2000, Rynex, etc.).  A
facility that uses carbon dioxide as the sole solvent in the cleaning of
garments is exempt from this definition.

(O) Definitions beginning with the letter O. 
1. “Operator” means any person who is or has been responsi-

ble for the operation of dry cleaning operations at a dry cleaning
facility.

2. “Owner” means any person who owns the real property
where a dry cleaning facility is or has operated.

(P) Definitions beginning with the letter P. 
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1. “Person” means an individual, trust, firm, joint venture, con-
sortium, joint-stock company, corporation, partnership, association
or limited liability company. Person does not include any govern-
mental organization.  

2. “Prioritization” means to arrange in order of importance for
expenditures from the DERT Fund.   

(Q) Definitions beginning with the letter Q. (Reserved)
(R) Definitions beginning with the letter R. 

1. “Release” means any spill, leak, emission, discharge,
escape, leak or disposal of dry cleaning solvent from a dry cleaning
facility into the soils or waters of the state.

(S) Definitions beginning with the letter S. (Reserved)
(T) Definitions beginning with the letter T. (Reserved)
(U) Definitions beginning with the letter U. (Reserved)
(V) Definitions beginning with the letter V. (Reserved)
(W) Definitions beginning with the letter W. (Reserved)
(X) Definitions beginning with the letter X. (Reserved)
(Y) Definitions beginning with the letter Y. (Reserved)
(Z) Definitions beginning with the letter Z. (Reserved)

AUTHORITY: sections 260.900 and 260.905, RSMo 2000. Original
rule filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176. To be accepted, written
requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To
be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
June 25, 2004.  Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be
accepted.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.030 Registration and Surcharges

PURPOSE:  This rules explains the requirements of registration of
active dry cleaning facilities and the requirements of the solvent
providers.

(1) Every active dry cleaning facility shall pay, in addition to any
other environmental response surcharges, an annual dry cleaning
facility registration surcharge in accordance with 260.935, RSMo.

(A) The annual dry cleaner facility registration surcharge follows:

1. Five hundred dollars ($500) for facilities which use no more
than one hundred forty (140) gallons of chlorinated solvents and no
more than one thousand four hundred (1,400) gallons of petroleum,
non-chlorinated solvents per year; 

2. One thousand dollars ($1,000) for facilities which use more
than one hundred forty (140) gallons of chlorinated solvents or more
than one thousand four hundred (1,400) gallons of petroleum, non-
chlorinated solvents per year and less than three hundred sixty (360)
gallons of chlorinated solvents and less than three thousand six hun-
dred (3,600) gallons of petroleum, non-chlorinated solvents per year;
and 

3. Fifteen hundred dollars ($1,500) for facilities which use at
least three hundred sixty (360) gallons of chlorinated solvents or at
least three thousand six hundred (3,600) gallons of petroleum, non-
chlorinated solvents per year. 

(B) The annual dry cleaning facility registration surcharge is due
on April 1 of each calendar year on a form provided by the depart-
ment, on a reproduction of a form provided by the department, or a
substitute version of a form approved by the department.  The annu-
al dry cleaning facility registration fee is determined based upon sol-
vent use for the previous calendar year.  Failure to keep registration
current, may cause an active dry cleaning facility to be ineligible for
the Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response Trust (DERT) Fund.  

(C) If any person does not pay the annual dry cleaning facility reg-
istration surcharge in full within thirty (30) days from the date pre-
scribed for such payment, the department shall impose and such per-
son shall pay, in addition to the annual dry cleaning facility registra-
tion surcharge owed by such person, a penalty of fifteen percent
(15%) and interest upon the unpaid amount at the rate of ten percent
(10%) per annum from the date prescribed for payment of the annu-
al dry cleaning registration surcharge and penalties until such pay-
ment is actually made. Such penalty and interest shall be deposited
in the DERT Fund.   

(2) Every seller or provider of dry cleaning solvent for use in this
state shall pay, in addition to any other environmental response sur-
charges, a dry cleaning solvent surcharge on the sale or provision of
dry cleaning solvent in accordance with 260.940, RSMo. The dry
cleaning solvent surcharge required in this section shall be paid by
the seller or provider on a quarterly basis and shall be paid to the
department for the previous quarter.  Quarterly reporting periods
shall end on March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 of
each calendar year.  Quarterly reports and the accompanying sur-
charge payment shall be received by the department no later than
thirty (30) days after the end of each reporting quarter.    

(A) The amount of the dry cleaning solvent surcharge imposed by
this section on each gallon of dry cleaning solvent shall be an amount
equal to the product of the solvent factor for the dry cleaning solvent
and the rate of eight dollars ($8) per gallon. 

1. The solvent factor for each dry cleaning solvent is as follows: 
A. For perchloroethylene, the solvent factor is 1.00;
B. For 1,1,1-trichloroethane, the solvent factor is 1.00; 
C. For other chlorinated dry cleaning solvents, the solvent

factor is 1.00; and 
D. For any non-chlorinated dry cleaning solvent, the solvent

factor is 0.05. 
(B) In the case of a fraction of a gallon, the dry cleaning solvent

surcharge imposed by this section shall be the same fraction of the
fee imposed on a whole gallon. 

(C) Dry cleaning solvent surcharge reporting will be done on a
form provided by the department, on a reproduction of a form pro-
vided by the department, or a substitute version of a form approved
by the department.  This form shall include a list of facilities that the
solvent provider has provided solvents to and the type of solvent and
amount delivered to each.    

(D) The dry cleaning solvent surcharge required in this section
shall be paid to the department by the seller or provider of the dry
cleaning solvent, regardless of the location of such seller or provider.



(E) If any person does not pay the dry cleaning solvent surcharge
in full on the date prescribed for such payment, the department shall
impose and such person shall pay, in addition to the dry cleaning sol-
vent surcharge owed by such person, a penalty of fifteen percent
(15%) and interest upon the unpaid amount at the rate of ten percent
(10%) per annum from the date prescribed for payment of the dry
cleaning solvent surcharge and penalties until such payment is actu-
ally made. Such penalty and interest shall be deposited in the DERT
Fund.  

(F) An operator of a dry cleaning facility shall not purchase or
obtain solvent from a seller or provider who does not pay the dry
cleaning solvent charge, as provided in this rule. Any operator of a
dry cleaning facility who fails to obey the provisions of this rule shall
be required to pay the dry cleaning solvent surcharge for any dry
cleaning solvent purchased or obtained from a seller or provider who
fails to pay the proper dry cleaning solvent surcharge as determined
by the department. Any operator of a dry cleaning facility who fails
to follow the provisions of this subsection shall be charged a penalty
of fifteen percent (15%) of the dry cleaning solvent surcharge owed
and shall be responsible for payment of fifteen percent (15%) of the
dry cleaning solvent surcharge owed and shall be responsible for pay-
ment of interest at the rate of ten percent (10%) per annum from the
date prescribed for payment. If a seller or provider of dry cleaning
solvent charges the operator of a dry cleaning facility the dry clean-
ing solvent surcharge provided for in this section when the solvent is
purchased or obtained by the operator and the operator can prove that
the operator made full payment of the surcharge to the seller or
provider but the seller or provider fails to pay the surcharge to the
department as required by this section, then the operator shall not be
liable pursuant to this subsection for interest, penalties or the seller’s
or provider’s unpaid surcharge.

(G) A solvent supplier shall not provide dry cleaning solvents to
an active dry cleaning facility that has not paid its annual dry clean-
ing facility registration surcharge.

(3) The department will provide a receipt to each person that pays the
annual dry cleaning facility registration surcharge and the dry clean-
ing solvent surcharge.  

(4) An owner or operator of a facility will inform the department of
the opening of a new dry cleaning facility on a form provided by the
department within thirty (30) days of the start of operations.

(5) An owner or operator of an active dry cleaning facility will noti-
fy the department of a change in ownership of the facility on a form
provided by the department within thirty (30) days after the change
of ownership occurs.  

AUTHORITY: sections 260.905, 260.935 and 260.940, RSMo 2000.
Original rule filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176. To be accepted, written
requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To
be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
June 25, 2004.  Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be
accepted.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.040 Reporting and Record Keeping 

PURPOSE: This rule explains how the owner and operator of an
active dry cleaning facility shall keep records demonstrating compli-
ance with the requirements of this chapter.  These records shall be
furnished to the department on request.  The rule establishes the
reporting requirements to the General Assembly and the governor’s
office. 

(1) Owners and operators of an active dry cleaning facility shall
cooperate fully with inspections, monitoring and testing conducted
by the department, as well as requests for document submission, test-
ing and monitoring by the department, in regards to a claim for the
Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response Trust (DERT) Fund.  

(2) Participants will provide copies of records or reports, within five
(5) calendar working days upon receipt of a written request for such
records, in regards to a claim for the DERT Fund.  A written request
shall be made by certified mail to the mailing address.  

(3) The department will provide the General Assembly and the gov-
ernor an annual report on the items listed in 260.955, RSMo at the
beginning of November.  

AUTHORITY: sections 260.905 and 260.955, RSMo 2000. Original
rule filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost state agen-
cies and political subdivisions two thousand four hundred and eight
dollars ($2,408) in the aggregate of the estimated duration of the
rule. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost private enti-
ties six hundred fifty-nine thousand four hundred thirty dollars
($659,430) in the aggregate of the estimated duration of the rule. 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176. To be accepted, written
requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To
be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
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June 25, 2004.  Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be
accepted.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.
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Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.050 Reporting of Releases and Existing
Contamination   

PURPOSE: This rule describes the steps for reporting and initial
abatement of the spilling, leaking, emitting, discharging, escaping,
leaching, or disposing of dry cleaning solvents onto the ground sur-
face or into groundwater, surface water, or subsurface soil and the
reporting of existing contamination at dry cleaner sites.

(1) Owners or operators of an active dry cleaning facility shall report
to the department within twenty-four (24) hours of the discovery of
a release of dry cleaning solvents from spills or leaks that result in a
release to the environment that equals or exceeds its reportable quan-
tity under Comprehensive Environmental Response Compensation
and Liability Act of 1980 (CERCLA) (40 CFR 302.4) or for petro-
leum products listed in 260.500(6)(b), RSMo at the site or in the sur-
rounding area. The reportable quantity for dry cleaning solvents not
listed in Comprehensive Environmental Response Compensation and
Liability Act of 1980 (CERCLA) (40 CFR 302.4) and for petroleum
products listed in 260.500(6)(b), RSMo is one hundred (100)
pounds.  The National Response Center phone number is (800) 424-
8802 and the department’s Environmental Emergency Response
phone number for reporting releases is (573) 634-2436.

(2) Owners or operators of an active dry cleaning facility shall con-
tain and immediately clean up a release of dry cleaning solvents that
is less than the reportable quantity.  If cleanup cannot be accom-
plished within twenty-four (24) hours, owners or operators shall
immediately notify the department. 

(3) Owners or operators of an active or abandoned dry cleaning facil-
ity shall report to the department within twenty-four (24) hours of the
discovery of existing contamination of dry cleaning solvents that is
discovered in soils, groundwater, vapors, surface water, etc., that
exceeds the departments cleanup guidelines.  

(4) The department may require owners and operators to submit a
report to the department summarizing the steps taken to clean up the
release, within thirty (30) days after a reportable quantity release
confirmation.   

(5) If directed to do so by the department, owners or operators of an
active or abandoned dry cleaning facility shall be required to follow
the application procedures to the Dry-Cleaning Environmental
Response Trust (DERT) Fund in accordance with 10 CSR 25-17.090
and conduct site characterization and corrective action in accordance
with 10 CSR 25-17.080.  

(6) The department may respond and conduct emergency response
procedures to mitigate any emergency release to protect human
health and the environment that if in the opinion of the department,
the owner or operator has not satisfactorily responded to at an active
or abandoned facility. The department may initiate procedures to
recover the costs of these actions from the owner or operator.     

(7) Failure to comply with 10 CSR 25-17.050 and failure to pay cost
recovery as outlined in 10 CSR 25-17.050(7), may cause a dry clean-
ing facility to be ineligible for the DERT Fund.  

AUTHORITY: sections 260.905 and 260.910, RSMo 2000. Original
rule filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost state agen-
cies and political subdivisions four thousand one hundred twenty-two
dollars ($4,122) in the aggregate of the estimated duration of the
rule. 

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost private enti-
ties four thousand one hundred twenty-two dollars ($4,122) in the
aggregate of the estimated duration of the rule.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To be accepted, written
requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To
be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
June 25, 2004.  Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be
accepted.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.
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Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.060 Site Prioritization and Completion

PURPOSE: This rule describes the requirements for the prioritization
of sites and for determining the completion of cleanup of sites.

(1) The department shall prioritize the order in which to use funds
from the Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response Trust (DERT) Fund
using standardized site assessment prioritization criteria.  The crite-
ria shall include but may not be limited to:

(A) Risk to human health or the environment;
(B) The present and future use of the affected property, ground-

water, or surface water;
(C) The effect that interim remedial measures have on the site;
(D) The benefit of corrective action compared to the cost of cor-

rective action; and
(E) Other factors that the director deems relevant, which include

but are not limited to:
1. Whether a public water supply well or one (1) or more

domestic drinking water wells are contaminated or threatened with
levels above state or federal drinking water limits, and no alternative
source is readily available;

2. Whether a surface water intake is contaminated or threatened
with levels above state or federal drinking water limits, and no alter-
native source is readily available; and

3. Whether a high probability exists for direct human exposure
to contaminated media.

(2) The department shall determine whether the proposed level of
corrective action is sufficient by using the following criteria, which
include but are not limited to;

(A) The characteristics of the contaminated dry cleaning facility;
(B) Cleanup standards and procedures developed by the depart-

ment in guidance documents or other state and federal regulations;
and 

(C) Any other factors which the department considers relevant
may be used in determining the level at which corrective action is
deemed completed.  

AUTHORITY: section 260.905, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed April
15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To be accepted, written
requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To

be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
June 25, 2004.  Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be
accepted.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.070 Closure of Facilities

PURPOSE: This rule describes the requirements for the permanent
closure of active dry cleaning facilities.

(1) An owner or operator of an active dry cleaner facility will notify
the department sixty (60) days after facility closure on a form pro-
vided by the department.  

(2) Each owner or operator of an active dry cleaner facility which
has ceased operation for sixty (60) continuous days shall remove all
dry cleaning solvents and dry cleaning wastes from the facility no
later than ninety (90) days after the last day of operation.

(A) Each owner or operator shall dispose of all dry cleaning waste
in accordance with 10 CSR 25-4.261.

(B) An owner or operator may request a written extension of the
sixty (60)-day time limit.  This written extension will include a brief
description of the reason for the extension, list of the type and quan-
tity of solvents stored on site, and a plan for inspections of the facil-
ity.  

(3) To ensure eligibility in the Dry-Cleaning Environmental
Response Trust (DERT) Fund, the owner or operator of the closed
facility should immediately measure for contamination in areas
where a release of dry cleaner solvents is most likely to occur.     

AUTHORITY: section 260.905, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed April
15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost state agen-
cies and political subdivisions two thousand seven hundred eighty-
four dollars ($2,784) in the aggregate of the estimated duration of
the rule.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost private enti-
ties one hundred twenty-four thousand eight hundred  fourteen dol-
lars ($124,814) in the aggregate of the estimated duration of the rule. 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To be accepted, written
requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To
be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
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June 25, 2004.  Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be
accepted.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.
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Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.080 Site Characterization and Corrective Action

PURPOSE: This rule describes the steps for the assessment, investi-
gation, and corrective action of contamination of dry cleaning sol-
vents.

(1) Owners or operators shall conduct assessments, investigations,
and corrective actions of contamination and shall do so in accordance
with risk-based guidance developed by the department.   

(2) When required by the department, owners or operators of active
or abandoned dry cleaning facilities shall conduct investigations to
determine if the active or abandoned dry cleaning facility is the
source of off-site impacts. These impacts include, but are not limit-
ed to, the discovery of dry cleaning solvents, the presence of dense
non-aqueous phased liquid (DNAPL)/free product or vapors in soils,
basements, sewer and utility lines and nearby surface and drinking
waters that have been observed by the department or brought to its
attention by another party. 

(3) The department will approve the work plan only after ensuring
that implementation of the plan will adequately protect human
health, safety and the environment. 

(4) Upon approval of the corrective action plan, the owner or opera-
tor shall implement the plan including modifications to the plan made
by the department. Owners and operators shall monitor, evaluate and
report the results of implementing the plan in accordance with a
schedule and in a format established by the department.  

AUTHORITY: section 260.905, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed April
15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost state agen-
cies and political subdivisions four hundred twenty-seven thousand
nine hundred sixty-eight dollars ($427,968) in the aggregate of the
estimated duration of the rule.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost private enti-
ties $79,000,000 in the aggregate of the estimated duration of the
rule.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To be accepted, written
requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To
be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
June 25, 2004.  Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be
accepted.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.



May 17, 2004
Vol. 29, No. 10Page 818 Proposed Rules



Page 819
May 17, 2004
Vol. 29, No. 10 Missouri Register



May 17, 2004
Vol. 29, No. 10Page 820 Proposed Rules



Page 821
May 17, 2004
Vol. 29, No. 10 Missouri Register



May 17, 2004
Vol. 29, No. 10Page 822 Proposed Rules



Page 823
May 17, 2004
Vol. 29, No. 10 Missouri Register



Page 824 Proposed Rules
May 17, 2004

Vol. 29, No. 10

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.090 Application Procedures

PURPOSE: This rule describes the application procedures for the
Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response Trust (DERT) Fund. 

(1) Any owner or operator of an active or abandoned dry cleaning
facility who wishes to participate in the Dry-Cleaning Environmental
Response Trust (DERT) Fund shall apply to the DERT Fund on a
form provided by the department. 

(A) An application form shall be submitted for each site for which
an owner or operator of an active or abandoned dry cleaning facility
desires participation in the DERT Fund.

(B) Applications shall include information on all known environ-
mental conditions that exist at the site.  To be eligible, one (1)
groundwater or one (1) soil sample shall provide proof that the level
of contamination at the site exceeds the department’s cleanup levels
or other evidence confirming contamination must be provided.  

(2) The department shall review applications within thirty (30) days
of receipt of the application and respond to such application in writ-
ing with one (1) of the following options:

(A) A notice of acceptance of eligibility;
(B) If the response is a request for clarification or information, it

shall specify a date by which the applicant shall respond; or
(C) If the response is a rejection, it shall list the reasons for the

rejection.

AUTHORITY: section 260.905, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed April
15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost state agen-
cies and political subdivisions forty-three thousand nine hundred
fifty-six dollars ($43,956) in the aggregate of the estimated duration
of the rule.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost private enti-
ties $7,398,652 in the aggregate of the estimated duration of the
rule.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To be accepted, written
requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To
be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
June 25, 2004.  Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be
accepted.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.
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Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.100 Participation and Eligibility for Funding 

PURPOSE: This rule describes eligibility requirements for participa-
tion and funding of the Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response Trust
(DERT) Fund.

(1) Any owner or operator of an active or the owner or operator of
an abandoned dry cleaning facility may apply to participate in the
Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response Trust (DERT) Fund.  

(A) Dry cleaning facilities located in prisons, governmental enti-
ties, hotels, motels and industrial laundries are not eligible for par-
ticipation in the DERT Fund.  

(B) Governmental entities that own or are in possession and con-
trol of an abandoned facility otherwise eligible for coverage may
apply to the DERT Fund as long as the governmental entity follows
the procedures of 10 CSR 25-17.050 through 10 CSR 25-17.170.  

(2) An active or abandoned dry cleaning facility may be considered
ineligible if the owner or operator owes the annual dry cleaning facil-
ity registration surcharge or dry cleaning solvent surcharge, includ-
ing any penalties or interest, at the time the application for the DERT
Fund is submitted or contamination from dry cleaner solvents was
discovered.  

AUTHORITY: sections 260.905 and 260.925, RSMo 2000. Original
rule filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176. To be accepted, written
requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To
be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
June 25, 2004. Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accept-
ed.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.110 Eligible Costs

PURPOSE: This rule describes eligible costs associated with the
assessment, investigation, or remediation of dry cleaning sites.

(1) Monies from the Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response Trust
(DERT) Fund shall be utilized to address contamination resulting
from releases of dry cleaning solvents in accordance with section
260.925, RSMo.  

(A) Eligible payments from the DERT fund shall include:
1. Costs for investigation and assessment of releases from a dry

cleaning facility, including costs of off-site investigations and assess-
ments of contamination which may have moved off of the dry clean-
ing facility;

2. Costs for necessary or appropriate emergency action, includ-
ing but not limited to treatment, restoration or replacement of drink-
ing water supplies, to assure that the human health or safety is not
threatened by a release or potential release;

3. Costs for remediation of releases from dry cleaning facilities,
including contamination which may have moved off of the dry clean-
ing facility, which remediation shall consist of the preparation of a
corrective action plan, which may include activity and use limitations
for the site, and the cleanup of affected soil, groundwater and sur-
face waters, using an alternative that is cost-effective, technological-
ly feasible and reliable, and provides adequate protection of human
health and environment and to the extent practicable minimizes envi-
ronmental damage. Costs for remediation beyond that necessary to
achieve contaminant levels that are protective of human health and
the environment are not eligible;

4. Costs for operation and maintenance of corrective action;
5. Costs for monitoring of releases from dry cleaning facilities

including contamination which may have moved off of the dry clean-
ing facility;

6. Payment of reasonable costs incurred by the director in pro-
viding field and laboratory services;

7. Reasonable costs of restoring property as nearly as practica-
ble to the condition that existed prior to activities associated with the
investigation of a release or cleanup or remediation activities;

8. Costs of removal and proper disposal of wastes generated by
a release of a dry cleaning solvent; and

9. Payment of costs of corrective action conducted by the
department or by entities other than the department but approved by
the department, whether or not such corrective action is set out in a
corrective action plan; except that, there shall be no reimbursement
for corrective action costs incurred before August 28, 2000.  Costs,
under this paragraph, are not eligible unless the department has
declared a hazardous substance emergency and has provided an
opportunity and/or requirement to the responsible party, if available,
to conduct the corrective action activities.

(B) At any multi-source site, the department shall utilize the mon-
eys in the fund to pay for the proportionate share of the liability for
the assessment, investigation, and corrective action costs which is
attributable to a release from one (1) or more eligible dry cleaning
facilities and for that proportionate share of the liability only.  At any
multi-source site, the director is authorized to make a determination
of the relative liability of the fund for costs of corrective action,
expressed as a percentage of the total cost of assessment, investiga-
tion, and corrective action at a site, whether known or unknown. The
director shall issue an order establishing such percentage of liability.
Such order shall be binding and shall control the obligation of the
fund until or unless amended by the director. In the event of an
appeal from such order, such percentage of liability shall be control-
ling for costs incurred during the pendency of the appeal. 

(2) Nothing in section (1) of this rule shall be construed to authorize
the department to obligate moneys in the fund for payment of costs
that are not integral to corrective action for a release of dry cleaning
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solvents from a dry cleaning facility.   Moneys from the fund shall
not be used: 

(A) For corrective action at sites that are contaminated by solvents
normally used in dry cleaning operations where the contamination
did not result from the operation of a dry cleaning facility;

(B) For corrective action at sites, other than dry cleaning facilities,
that are contaminated by dry cleaning solvents which were released
while being transported to or from a dry cleaning facility;

(C) To pay any fine or penalty brought against a dry cleaning facil-
ity operator under state or federal law;

(D) To pay any costs related to corrective action at a dry cleaning
facility that has been included by the United States Environmental
Protection Agency on the national priorities list;

(E) For corrective action at sites with active dry cleaning facilities
where the owner or operator is not in compliance with sections
260.900 to 260.960, RSMo, rules and regulations adopted pursuant
to sections 260.900 to 260.960, RSMo, orders of the director pur-
suant to sections 260.900 to 260.960, RSMo, or any other applica-
ble federal or state environmental statutes, rules or regulations;

(F)  For corrective action at sites with abandoned dry cleaning
facilities that have been taken out of operation prior to July 1, 2004,
and not documented by or reported to the department by July 1,
2004. Any person reporting such a site to the department shall
include any available evidence that the site once contained a dry
cleaning facility;

(G) Assessment, investigation, and remediation costs incurred
prior to August 28, 2000;

(H) Compensating third parties for bodily injury or property dam-
age caused by a release from a dry cleaning facility, other than prop-
erty damage included in the corrective action plan under 10 CSR 25-
17.110(1)(A)7;

(I) Costs necessary to remove an underground or aboveground
storage tank system;

(J) Costs of demolition and removal of building, equipment, etc.,
except as required as a result of necessary cleanup activities and pre-
approved by the department;

(K) Costs of disposal of soil, groundwater, etc., that is not conta-
minated with contaminants associated with dry cleaning solvents at
levels such that the Department of Natural Resources requires cor-
rective action;

(L) Markup of costs charged by a treatment facility which is used
for the disposal of contaminated soil, groundwater, etc;

(M) Markup of costs charged by laboratory for analysis of soil,
groundwater, surface water, etc., samples;

(N) Markup of costs by the environmental consultant or contrac-
tor of major subcontracted work done as part of the assessment,
investigation, or remedial work, such as drilling, well installation, or
push-probe investigations;

(O) Installation of new or repair and maintenance of existing dry
cleaning equipment;

(P) Preparation of claim submittals;
(Q) Paving or resurfacing, except as required as a result of neces-

sary cleanup activities.  Costs for resurfacing shall be paid on the
basis of the actual cash value of the surface which existed immedi-
ately prior to cleanup activities; and

(R) Other costs not relevant to the assessment, investigation, or
remediation of contamination caused by dry cleaning solvents from
eligible facilities, as determined by the department. 

AUTHORITY: sections 260.905 and 260.925, RSMo 2000. Original
rule filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To be accepted, written
requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To
be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
June 25, 2004.  Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be
accepted.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.120 Payment of Deductible and Limits on
Payments

PURPOSE: This rule explains the deductible amounts and limits on
expenditures from the Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response Trust
(DERT) Fund.

(1) The Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response Trust (DERT) Fund
shall not be liable for the payment of costs in excess of one (1) mil-
lion dollars at any one (1) contaminated dry cleaning site. 

(2) The DERT Fund shall not be liable for the payment of costs for
any one (1) site in excess of twenty-five percent (25%) of the total
moneys in the fund during any fiscal year. 

(3) The owner or operator of an active and the owner or operator of
an abandoned dry cleaning facility shall be liable for the first twen-
ty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) of corrective action costs incurred
because of a release from an active or abandoned dry cleaning facil-
ity.  

AUTHORITY: sections 260.905 and 260.925, RSMo 2000. Original
rule filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176. To be accepted, written
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requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO, 65102-0176.  To
be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
June 25, 2004.  Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be
accepted.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.130 Suspension of Collection of Surcharges;
Reinstatement

PURPOSE: This rule describes the procedures for suspension of col-
lection of surcharges and the reinstatement of those surcharges.

(1) If the unobligated principal of the Dry-Cleaning Environmental
Response Trust (DERT) Fund equals or exceeds five (5) million dol-
lars on April first of any year, the annual dry cleaning facility regis-
tration surcharge and the dry cleaning solvent surcharge imposed by
sections 260.935 and 260.940, RSMo, shall not be collected on or
after the next July first until such time as on April first of any year
thereafter the unobligated principal balance of the fund equals two
(2) million dollars or less, then the annual dry cleaning facility reg-
istration surcharge imposed by section 260.935, RSMo and the dry
cleaning solvent surcharge imposed by section 260.940, RSMo shall
again be collected on and after the next July first. 

AUTHORITY: sections 260.905 and 260.945, RSMo 2000. Original
rule filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To be accepted, written
requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To
be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
June 25, 2004.  Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be
accepted.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.140 General Reimbursement Procedures

PURPOSE: This rule describes general reimbursement procedures
for the Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response Trust (DERT) Fund.

(1) Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response Trust (DERT) Fund par-
ticipants are required to seek pre-approval of site assessment, inves-
tigation, or remedial activities by following the procedures outlined
below:

(A) Obtain proposals from qualified contractors or consultants to
demonstrate that a fair and reasonable price will be paid; and

(B) Submit the bid(s) or proposal(s) to the director.  The bids
should contain the following:

1. Cost estimate for field activities;
2. Cost estimate for removal, treatment, and/or disposal of con-

taminated media, which includes but is not limited to soil, water, and
air;

3. Cost estimate for project management, supervision, data
analysis, reporting, and other activities as appropriate;

4. Cost estimate for collection and analysis of samples for con-
taminated media, which includes but is not limited to soil, water, and
air;

5. Contingency costs, expressed as unit costs, for any addition-
al costs which may be incurred if conditions warrant;

6. Cost estimate for any equipment purchased to conduct reme-
dial activities; and

7. Cost estimate for any anticipated work not described above.

(2) The department will respond in writing within sixty (60) days
after the work plan and cost estimate is received by the department.
One (1) of the following responses will be made:

(A) The response will include a statement of whether the cost esti-
mate(s) are eligible, reasonable, and necessary.  

1. This response will be based on the information and reports
submitted for the particular project and compared to a review of cost
estimates for similar claims;

(B) If the cost estimate is incomplete or contains costs which are
higher than the department deems reasonable, the director may:

1. Ask the participant to solicit additional cost estimates;
2. Ask the participant to justify the cost estimate in writing; and
3. Agree to pay a lesser cost deemed reasonable by the director;

and  
(C) The department reserves the right to reject a proposed cost

estimate, that the department deems ineligible, unreasonable, and
unnecessary.  Any rejection shall be made in writing and shall con-
tain the specific reasons for the rejection of the cost estimate.

(3) Reimbursement of the DERT Fund monies will be accomplished
based on the site prioritization method described in 10 CSR 25-
17.060. 

(A) DERT Funds will be allocated to prioritized sites in the fol-
lowing proportions:  high priority sites—sixty percent (60%); medi-
um priority sites—thirty percent (30%); low priority sites—ten per-
cent (10%).  In any fiscal year, if the funding allocations in any pri-
ority category are not used, those funds may be reallocated to other
priority categories, starting with any high priority sites and followed
by medium and low priority sites.  

(B) Sites that are not allocated with monies for a fiscal year, but
wish to proceed with cleanup and remain eligible for future available
funding, shall have assessment, investigation, and corrective action
work plans and cost estimates pre-approved by the department.
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Failure to obtain approval for these costs may subject the DERT Fund
participant to reduction or denial of reimbursement of costs.

(4) Participants requesting payment from the DERT Fund shall send
invoices for the work done along with any reports generated for the
work to the DERT Fund address.

(A) Invoices shall be submitted within six (6) months of the date
that the proposed work is completed.

(B) Failure to submit invoices within the time frame may result in
a denial of payments

(C) Original invoices are requested.  Photocopies may be submit-
ted with a signed statement that the copies are accurate and true.

(5) Eligible costs will be reduced by the applicable deductible for the
dry cleaning facility until such deductible amount is met.  

(6) The department will respond in writing to every request for reim-
bursement within thirty (30) days of receipt of the request.  If the
response indicates that some or all of the costs are being denied, then
the response will state the reasons for the denial of costs.

AUTHORITY: section 260.905, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed April
15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176. To be accepted, written
requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To
be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
June 25, 2004.  Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be
accepted.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.150 Claims

PURPOSE: This rule describes who can make claims against the
Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response Trust (DERT) Fund, when
and how such claims shall be made, how to request payment from the
DERT Fund and describes claims appeals.

(1) To ensure eligibility in the Dry-Cleaning Environmental
Response Trust (DERT) Fund the owner or operator should submit a

notice to the department as soon as reasonably possible after a dry
cleaning facility becomes aware of contamination.

(2) After being accepted in the DERT Fund, prior to the initiation of
any assessment, investigation, or cleanup activities, whether within
the deductible or in excess of the deductible, the costs shall be first
approved by the department.  Failure to obtain approval for these
costs may subject the DERT Fund participant to reduction or denial
of reimbursement of costs.

(A) Fund participants are not required to obtain prior approval of
the department for the reasonable costs of emergency response or of
necessary first aid.  The DERT Fund participant shall notify the
department of such activities as soon as practical.  

(3) Before the initiation of any assessment, investigation, or cleanup
activities, the DERT Fund participant will provide a consent of
access form that states the property’s owners consent for the depart-
ment or its agents or contractors to access the facility or property.

(4) The department and the commission retain the final authority to
make a determination concerning all eligibility issues, including but
not limited to whether costs for products and services were reason-
able, and whether the costs incurred were necessary to achieve the
cleanup activities required by the Department of Natural Resources.  

(5) Claim Dispute Resolution.
(A) If a DERT Fund participant disagrees with a payment deci-

sion, he or she shall send or deliver the objection(s) or reason(s) for
the disagreement in writing to the department within ninety (90) days
of the date the check or claim denial is issued.  

(B) The department will then review the claim considering the
objections or reasons, and respond in writing to the DERT Fund par-
ticipant within thirty (30) days of receipt.  The director must—

1. Affirm the decision previously made;
2. Modify the decision previously made;
3. Refer the claim to the commission; or
4. Request additional information or clarification from the

owner or operator making the appeal. Within thirty (30) days of
receipt of the additional information or clarifications, the department
shall take one (1) of the three (3) steps listed above.  If no response
is received, the department may terminate the dispute resolution
process, which leaves in place the original decision.

(C) If the DERT Fund participant still disagrees with department’s
decision, he or she may request further review by sending a written
request within sixty (60) days of receipt of the director’s decision to
the commission, in accordance with 10 CSR 25-1.010.  

(D) The commission will then consider the disputed claim at one
(1) of its two (2) next regularly scheduled meetings. 

AUTHORITY: section 260.905, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed April
15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions eighty-two thousand eight hundred sev-
enty-two dollars ($82,872) in the aggregate of the estimated duration
of the rule.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule is estimated to cost private enti-
ties forty-three thousand nine hundred fifty-six dollars ($43,956) in
the aggregate of the estimated duration of the rule.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
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Box 176, Jefferson City, MO, 65102-0176.  To be accepted, written
requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To
be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
June 25, 2004.  Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be
accepted.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.
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Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.160 Notification of Abandoned Sites

PURPOSE: This rule describes the requirements for the notification
of abandoned dry cleaning sites.  

(1) Owners or former operators of abandoned dry cleaners shall
inform the department of the existence of an abandoned dry cleaning
facility on a form provided by the department.  Any available evi-
dence that the property once contained a dry cleaning facility shall
accompany the form.

(2) This form shall be postmarked by July 1, 2004.  

AUTHORITY: sections 260.905 and 260.925, RSMo 2000. Original
rule filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To be accepted, written
requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To
be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
June 25, 2004.  Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be
accepted.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.

Title 10—DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
Division 25—Hazardous Waste Management Commission

Chapter 17—Dry-Cleaning Environmental Response
Trust Fund

PROPOSED RULE

10 CSR 25-17.170 Violations of Dry Cleaning Remediation Laws

PURPOSE: This rule describes the violations and penalties for vio-
lation of the dry cleaning regulations.

(1) The department may bring civil damages not to exceed five hun-
dred dollars ($500) for each violation, against a participant of a dry
cleaning facility for the following:

(A) For operation of an active dry cleaning facility in violation of
10 CSR 25-17.010 through 10 CSR 25.17.170, or operate an active

dry cleaning facility in violation of any other applicable federal or
state environmental statutes, rules or regulations;

(B) Prevent or hinder a properly identified officer or employee of
the department or other authorized agent of the director from enter-
ing, inspecting, sampling or responding to a release at reasonable
times and with reasonable advance notice to the operator as autho-
rized by section 260.910, RSMo;

(C) Knowingly make any false material statement or representation
in any record, report or other document filed, maintained or used for
the purpose of compliance with 10 CSR 25-17.040;

(D) Knowingly destroy, alter or conceal any record required to be
maintained by 10 CSR 25-17.040; and

(E) Willfully allow a release in excess of a reportable quantity or
knowingly fail to make an immediate response to a release in accor-
dance with 10 CSR 25-17.050.

AUTHORITY: sections 260.905 and 260.910, RSMo 2000. Original
rule filed April 15, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: The Missouri Hazardous Waste Management Commission
will hold a public hearing on this proposed rule and others begin-
ning at 9:00 a.m. on June 16, 2004 at the Elm Street Conference
Center, 1738 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.  Any person
wishing to speak at the hearing shall send a written request to the
Secretary of the Hazardous Waste Management Commission at PO
Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176. To be accepted, written
requests to speak must be postmarked by midnight on June 2, 2004.
Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be accepted.

Any person may submit written comments on this proposed rule.
Written comments shall be sent to the Director of the Hazardous
Waste Program at PO Box 176, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0176.  To
be accepted, written comments must be postmarked by midnight on
June 25, 2004.  Faxed or e-mailed correspondence will not be
accepted.

Please direct all inquiries to the Rules Coordinator of the
Hazardous Waste Program, at 1738 E. Elm, Jefferson City, MO
65102, telephone (573) 751-3176.

Title 12—DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Division 10—Director of Revenue

Chapter 4—State Use Tax

PROPOSED RESCISSION

12 CSR 10-4.340 Dual Operators. This rule indicated when a con-
tractor was considered a dual operator and set forth the procedures
to be used by the dual operator to determine when purchases became
subject to use tax. Examples were given for clarification purposes.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded because it is superseded by
other rules.

AUTHORITY: section 144.705, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed
October 15, 1985, effective March 24, 1986. Rescinded: Filed April
14, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.
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PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate. 

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to the proposed rescission with the
Department of Revenue, Office of Legislation and Regulations, PO
Box 629, Jefferson City, MO 65105. To be considered, comments
must be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this
notice in the Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 13—DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES
Division 70—Division of Medical Services

Chapter 15—Hospital Program

PROPOSED RULE

13 CSR 70-15.190 Out-of-State Hospital Services Reimbursement
Plan

PURPOSE:   This rule establishes the method of reimbursing out-of-
state hospitals for inpatient or outpatient care provided to any recip-
ients of Missouri Medicaid, whether they are under age twenty-one
(21) or age twenty-one (21) and over.

(1) Covered inpatient hospital services include those items and ser-
vices allowed by the Medicaid State Plan including medically neces-
sary care in a semi-private room.  If prior authorized Missouri
Medicaid may reimburse for a private room if it is certified medically
necessary by a physician to avoid jeopardizing the health of the
patient or to protect the health and safety of other patients.  No pay-
ment will be made for any portion of the room charge when the
recipient requests and is provided a private room when the private
room is not medically necessary.

(2) Payment for authorized inpatient hospital services shall be made
on a prospective per diem basis for services provided outside
Missouri if the services are covered by the Missouri Medical
Assistance (Medicaid) Program.  To be reimbursed for furnishing
services to Missouri Medicaid recipients, out-of-state providers must
complete a Missouri Medical Assistance Program Provider
Participation Application and have the application approved by the
Missouri Department of Social Services, Division of Medical
Services.

(3) Determination of Payment.  The payment for inpatient hospital
services provided by an out-of-state provider shall be the lowest of:

(A) At the out-of-state hospital’s election, the prospective inpatient
payment may be based on information from the hospital’s Medicare
base year cost report and all financial documentation required by
Missouri regulations for hospitals operating in Missouri with infla-
tionary increases as granted by the Missouri General Assembly or
the out-of-state hospital may be exempt from the cost report filing
requirements if the hospital accepts the projected statewide average
per diem rate for Missouri hospitals as calculated by the Department
of Social Services, Division of Medical Services for the state fiscal
year in which the service was provided.  The effective date for any
increase above the statewide average per diem rate for Missouri hos-
pitals shall be the first day of the month following the Division of
Medical Services determination of per diem rate based on informa-
tion from the hospital’s Medicare base year cost report and all finan-
cial documentation required by Missouri regulation for hospitals
operating in Missouri;

(B) The amount of total charges billed by the hospital. The
provider’s billed charges must be their usual and customary charges
for services; or

(C) The Medicare deductible or coinsurance, if applicable, up to
the amount allowed by the Missouri Medicaid program.

(4) Per Diem Reimbursement Rate Computation.  The per diem
reimbursement rate computation is the same as calculated for
Missouri hospitals at 13 CSR 70-15.010(3).

(5) If a provider fails to submit all financial documentation required
by Missouri regulations (Medicare cost report, working trial balance,
audited financial statements, Medicaid supplemental schedules, and
Worksheet C2552-83 for ancillary costs and charges) for hospitals
operating in Missouri within thirty (30) days of making the election
to receive payment based on information from cost reports, the pay-
ment shall be based on the projected statewide average per diem rate
in Missouri as developed by the Department of Social Services,
Division of Medical Services for the state fiscal year.  

(6) Out-of-state hospitals shall present claims to Missouri Medicaid
within three hundred sixty-five (365) days from the date of service.
In no case shall Missouri be liable for payment of a claim received
beyond one (1) year from the date services were rendered. Inpatient
and outpatient hospital services must be submitted on the UB-92
claim form.

(7) Out-of-state hospitals are subject to the Department Concurrent
Hospital Review process (utilization review) for all non-emergency
services.

(8) The payment for authorized outpatient hospital services provided
by an out-of-state hospital shall be the lowest of:

(A) At the out-of-state hospital’s election, a prospective outpatient
payment percentage calculated using the Medicaid over-all outpatient
cost-to-charge ratio from the fourth, fifth, and sixth prior base year
cost reports and all documentation required by Missouri regulation
for hospitals operating in Missouri regressed to the current state fis-
cal year or the out-of-state hospital may be exempt from the cost
report filing requirement if the hospital accepts the projected
statewide average outpatient payment percentage as developed by the
Department of Social Services, Division of Medical Services for the
state fiscal year in which the service was provided.  The effective
date for any increase above the statewide average outpatient payment
percentage shall be the first day of the month following the Division
of Medical Services determination of the outpatient payment per-
centage based on information from the hospital’s Medicare base year
cost report and all financial documentation required by Missouri reg-
ulation for hospitals operating in Missouri; or

(B) The amount of total charges billed by the hospital.

(9) Outpatient Reimbursement Rate Computation.  The outpatient
reimbursement rate computation is the same as calculated for
Missouri hospitals at 13 CSR 70-15.160.

(10) Disproportionate Share Providers.  Out-of-state hospitals do not
qualify for disproportionate share (DSH) payments unless they have
a low income utilization rate exceeding twenty-five percent (25%) for
Missouri residents and the out-of-state hospital can demonstrate that
the provision of services to Missouri residents has not been consid-
ered in establishing their DSH status in any other state. 

(11) All Medicaid services are subject to program compliance
reviews.  Reviews can be performed before services are furnished,
after services are furnished and before payment is made, or after pay-
ment is made.

(12) Regardless of changes of ownership, management, control,
operation, leasehold interests by whatever form for any hospital pre-
viously certified for participation in the Medicaid program, the
department will continue to make all the Title XIX payments direct-
ly to the entity with the hospital’s current provider number and hold
the entity with the current provider number responsible for all
Medicaid liabilities.
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(13) Participation in the Missouri Medicaid program shall be limited
to hospitals who accept as payment in full for covered services ren-
dered to Medicaid recipients the amount paid in accordance with
Missouri statute and regulations. 

(14) Definitions.
(A) The definitions from regulation 13 CSR 70-15.010 are incor-

porated as 13 CSR 70-15.190.
(B) Base year cost report—shall be either a 1995 Medicare cost

report and Missouri’s supplemental cost report schedules for those
hospitals enrolled in the Missouri Medicaid program as of the effec-
tive date of this regulation or the most recent submitted cost report
to Medicare and Missouri’s supplemental cost report schedules for
those hospitals that elect to enroll in Missouri Medicaid after the
effective date of this regulation.    

(C) Out-of-state—not within the physical boundaries of Missouri.
(D) Usual and customary charge—the amount which the individ-

ual provider charges the general public in the majority of cases for a
specific procedure or service.

AUTHORITY: section 208.201, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed April
15, 2004.  

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rule will cost state agencies or polit-
ical subdivisions $4,665,800 annually over the life of the rule.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Department
of Social Services, Division of Medical Services, 615 Howerton
Court, Jefferson City, MO 65109.  To be considered, comments must
be received with thirty (30) days after publication in the Missouri
Register. If to be hand-delivered, comments must be brought to the
Division of Medical Services at 615 Howerton Court, Jefferson City,
Missouri.  No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 30—Secretary of State

Chapter 51—Broker-Dealers, Agents, 
Investment Advisers, and 

Investment Adviser Representatives

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

15 CSR 30-51.170 [Denial, Revocation and Suspension of
Registration] Dishonest or Unethical Business Practices by
Broker-Dealers and Agents. The commissioner is amending the title,
the Purpose and section (1) and adding a new section (2).

PURPOSE: The purpose of this amendment is to clarify the dishon-
est or unethical practices of broker-dealers and agents.

PURPOSE:  This rule [prescribes grounds for the denial, revo-
cation or suspension of the registration of] identifies dishonest
or unethical business practices for broker-dealers[,] or agents [and
investment advisers].

(1) Grounds for the [denial, revocation and suspension of reg-
istration] discipline or disqualification of broker-dealers or
agents shall include, in addition to other grounds specified in section
409.4-412(d) of the Missouri Securities Act of 2003 (the Act), the
following “dishonest or unethical practices in the securities busi-
ness”:

(D) [Willful switching, churning, overtrading or reloading of
securities in a customer’s account for the purpose of accu-
mulating or compounding commission or i] Inducing trading in
a customer’s account [which] that is excessive in size or frequency
in view of the financial resources and character of the account for
the purpose of accumulation or compounding commissions;

(E) Recommending to a customer the purchase, sale or exchange
of any security without reasonable grounds to believe that this trans-
action or recommendation is suitable for the customer based upon
reasonable inquiry concerning the customer’s investment objectives,
financial situation and needs, and any other relevant information
known by the [applicant or registrant] broker-dealer or agent;

(H) Making false, misleading, deceptive, exaggerated or flamboy-
ant representations or predictions in the solicitation or sale of a secu-
rity, as, for example:

1. That the security will be resold or repurchased;
2. That it will be listed or traded on an exchange or established

market;
3. That it will result in an assured, immediate or extensive

increase in value, future market price or return on investment;
4. With respect to the issuer’s financial condition, anticipated

earnings, potential growth or success;
5. That there is a guarantee against risk or loss; or
6. A [R]representation that a security is being offered to a cus-

tomer at the market or a price related to the market price, unless the
[applicant or registrant] broker-dealer or agent knows or has rea-
sonable grounds to believe that—

A. A market for the security exists other than that made, cre-
ated or controlled by the [applicant or registrant] broker-dealer
or agent, or by any person for whom s/he is acting or with whom
s/he is associated in the distribution, or any person controlled by,
controlling or under common control with the [applicant or regis-
trant] broker-dealer or agent; [and] or

B. The security is traded in an established securities market,
and the fact that the [applicant or registrant] broker-dealer or
agent is in a control position with respect to the market for that secu-
rity is fully disclosed to the investor;

(I) Failing to disclose a dual agency capacity or effecting transac-
tions upon terms and conditions other than those stated per confir-
mations; or failing to disclose that the [applicant or registrant]
broker-dealer or agent is controlled by, controlling, receiving com-

pensation from, affiliated with or under common control with the
issuer of any security before entering into any contract with or for a
customer for the purchase or sale of the security, or if this disclosure
is not made in writing, failing to give or send a written disclosure at
or before the completion of the transaction;

[(M) Operating a securities business while being unable to
meet current liabilities, or violating any rule or order relating
to minimum capital, bond, recordkeeping and reporting
requirements, or provisions concerning use, commingling or
hypothecation of securities;]

[(N)](M) Failing or refusing to furnish a customer, upon reason-
able request, information to which s/he is entitled, or to respond to
a formal written reprimand or complaint;

[(O)](N) Extending, arranging for, or participating in arranging
for credit to a customer in violation of the regulations of the
Securities and Exchange Commission or the regulations of the
Federal Reserve Board;

[(P)](O) [Executing a transaction in a margin account with-
out securing] Failing to secure from the customer a properly exe-
cuted written margin agreement [, including, but not limited to,
written authorization for] that authorizes the existence of the
margin account [, within ten (10) days] promptly after the initial
transaction in the account;

(P) Failing to segregate customers’ free securities or securities
held in safekeeping;

(R) Charging unreasonable and inequitable fees for services per-
formed, including miscellaneous services such as collection of
mon[eys]ies due for principal, dividends or interest, exchange or
transfer of securities, appraisals, safekeeping or custody of securi-
ties, and other services related to its securities business;

(S) Offering to buy from or sell to any person any security at a
stated price unless the [applicant or registrant] broker-dealer or
agent is prepared to purchase or sell, as the case may be, at a price
and under the conditions as are stated at the time of the offer to buy
or sell;

(U) Publishing or circulating or causing to be published or circu-
lated, any notice, circular, advertisement, newspaper article, invest-
ment service or communication of any kind which purports to report
any transaction as a purchase or sale of any security unless the
[applicant or registrant] broker-dealer or agent believes that the
transaction was a bona fide purchase or sale of this security; or
which purports to quote the bid or asked price for any security,
unless the [applicant or registrant] broker-dealer or agent
believes that the quotation represents a bona fide bid for, or offer of,
the security; or using any advertising or sales material in such a fash-
ion as to be deceptive or misleading, such as the distribution of any
nonfactual datum, material or presentation based on conjecture,
unfounded or unrealistic claims or assertions in any brochure, flyer,
or display by words, pictures, graphs or otherwise, designed to sup-
plement, detract from, supersede or defeat the purpose or effect of
any prospectus or disclosure;

(W) Sharing, by an agent, directly or indirectly, in profits or loss-
es in the account of any customer without the written authorization
of the customer and the broker-dealer [an] the agent represents;

[(Z) Failing to disclose any investor, in connection with the
solicitation of a securities purchase when the market value
of the security is not reported in a bona fide newspaper as
described in subsection (1)(Y), the value the purchaser
would receive if the purchaser would resell the securities at
the same instant the purchase is effected, unless the pur-
chaser would receive at least one hundred percent (100%)
of the amount paid for the initial purchase;]

[(AA)](Z) In connection with the solicitation of a sale or purchase
of an Over the Counter (OTC) non-National Association of Securities
Dealers Automated Quotation (NASDAQ) security, failing to prompt-
ly provide the most current prospectus or the most recently filed
periodic report filed under Section 13 of the Securities Exchange Act
when requested to do so by a customer;
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[(BB)](AA) Marking any order tickets or confirmations as unso-
licited when in fact the transaction was solicited;

[(CC) Failing to disclose, on each statement of account
sent to account holders having a designated security shown
as a long position in the person’s account as of the state-
ment date, the price at which the broker-dealer is offering to
buy the security or, if no price is available, the average of the
bid prices by other dealers and the date of the most recent
bid available from the broker-dealer and the amount of
money represented by the long position, if it were to be sold
at the bid price shown on the statement, provided, however,
this requirement applies only to accounts holding a desig-
nated security acquired in non-exempt transactions effected
on or after October 1, 1990 in designated securities as set
forth in 15 CSR 30-51.169(1)(F), which were acquired
through the broker-dealer presently holding the account or a
predecessor broker-dealer;]

[(DD)](BB) Failing to comply with any applicable provision of the
Conduct Rules of the National Association of Securities Dealers, or
any applicable fair practice or ethical standard promulgated by the
Securities and Exchange Commission or by a self-regulatory organi-
zation approved by the Securities and Exchange Commission; 

[(EE)](CC) Engaging in any acts or practices enumerated in 15
CSR 30-51.169; and

(DD) Aiding or abetting any of the acts or practices enumerat-
ed in this rule.

[(FF) For an investment adviser, paying solicitor fees if
such fees aren’t paid in accordance with 15 CSR 30-
51.145(1), charging performance based fees that are not in
accordance with 15 CSR 30-51.145(2), or having custody
or possession of a client’s funds and/or securities if such
custody or possession is not maintained in accordance with
15 CSR 30-51.100.]

(2) The conduct set forth above is not inclusive.  Engaging in
other conduct such as nondisclosure or incomplete disclosure of
material fact, or other deceptive practices are dishonest or uneth-
ical business practices.

AUTHORITY: sections 409.4-412 and 409.6-605, RSMo Supp. 2003.
Original rule filed June 25, 1968, effective Aug. 1, 1968. For inter-
vening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended: Filed April 8, 2004. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed amendment with the
Missouri Secretary of State’s Office, Doug Ommen, Commissioner of
Securities, 600 West Main Street, Jefferson City, MO 65101.  To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.  No public hear-
ing is scheduled.

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 30—Secretary of State

Chapter 51—Broker-Dealers, Agents, 
Investment Advisers, and 

Investment Adviser Representatives

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 30-51.172  Dishonest or Unethical Business Practices by
Investment Advisers and Investment Adviser Representatives

PURPOSE:  This rule identifies dishonest or unethical business prac-
tices for investment advisers or investment adviser representatives.

(1) Grounds for the discipline or disqualification of investment advis-
ers or investment adviser representatives (adviser) shall include, in
addition to other grounds specified in section 409.4-412(d) of the
Missouri Securities Act of 2003 (the Act), the following “dishonest
or unethical practices in the securities business.”

(A) Recommending to a client to whom investment, supervisory,
management, or consulting service are provided that he/she pur-
chase, sell, or exchange any security when the adviser does not have
reasonable grounds to believe that the recommendation is suitable for
the client on the basis of information furnished by the client after rea-
sonable inquiry concerning the client’s overall portfolio, investment
objectives, financial situation and needs, investment experience, and
any other information known by the adviser;

(B) Inducing trading in a client’s account when:
1. The size or frequency of such trading is excessive given the

financial resources, investment objectives, and character of the
account; and

2. The adviser directly benefits from the number of securities
transactions effected in a client’s account; 

(C) Ordering the purchase or sale of a security for a client’s
account without authority to do so;

(D) Ordering the purchase or sale of a security for a client’s
account upon a third-party’s instruction without first receiving the
client’s third-party trading authorization in writing;

(E) Establishing fictitious accounts in order to execute transac-
tions, which would otherwise be prohibited;

(F) Exercising any discretionary power in ordering the purchase or
sale of securities for a client without first obtaining the client’s writ-
ten discretionary authority within ten (10) business days after the
date of the first transaction placed pursuant to oral discretionary
authority, unless the discretionary power relates solely to the price at
which, or the time when, an order involving a definite amount of a
specified security shall be executed, or both;

(G) Borrowing money or securities from a client unless the client
is a broker-dealer, an affiliate of the investment adviser, or a finan-
cial institution engaged in the business of loaning funds;

(H) Lending money to a client unless the investment adviser is a
financial institution engaged in the business of lending funds or the
client is an affiliate of the adviser;

(I) Failing to furnish to a client purchasing securities in an offer-
ing, no later than the date of confirmation of the transaction, either
a final prospectus or a preliminary prospectus and an additional doc-
ument, which together include all information set forth in the final
prospectus, or making oral or written statements contrary to or
inconsistent with the disclosures contained in the prospectus;

(J) Misrepresenting to any client or prospective client the qualifi-
cations of the adviser or its employees, or to misrepresent the nature
of the advisory services being offered or fees to be charged for such
services, or to omit to state a material fact necessary to make the
statements made regarding qualifications, services or fees, in light of
the circumstances under which they are made, not misleading;

(K) Providing to a client a report or recommendation prepared by
someone other than the adviser without also disclosing to the client
that someone else prepared that report or recommendation.  This
prohibition does not apply to an adviser’s use of published research
reports or statistical analysis when rendering advice, nor when an
adviser orders such a report in the normal course of providing ser-
vice;

(L) Rendering advice to a client before making written disclosure
to that client about any material conflict of interest relating to the
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adviser, its representative, or any of its employees, when that conflict
could reasonably be expected to impair the rendering of unbiased and
objective advice including: 

1. Compensation arrangements connected with advisory ser-
vices to clients which are in addition to compensation from those
clients for such services; and

2. Charging a client an advisory fee for rendering advice when
the adviser or its employees will also receive a commission for exe-
cuting securities transactions pursuant to that advice;

(M) Failing to disclose to any client or prospective client all mate-
rial facts with respect to:

1. Any financial condition of the adviser that is reasonably like-
ly to impair the ability of the adviser to meet contractual commit-
ments to clients, if the adviser has discretionary authority (express or
implied) or custody over such client’s funds, assets, or securities, or
requires payment of advisory fees six (6) or more months in advance
and in excess of five hundred dollars ($500) per client; or

2. Any legal or disciplinary event that is material to an evalua-
tion of the adviser’s integrity or ability to meet contractual commit-
ments to clients;

(N) Charging a client an unreasonable and inequitable advisory fee
in light of the fees charged by other advisers providing essentially the
same services;

(O) Paying solicitor fees if such fees are not paid in accordance
with 15 CSR 30-51.145(1), charging performance based fees that are
not in accordance with 15 CSR 30-51.145(2), or having custody or
possession of a client’s funds and/or securities if such custody or
possession is not maintained in accordance with 15 CSR 30-51.100;

(P) Guaranteeing a client that a specific result will be achieved
(gain or no loss) as a result of advice that will be rendered;

(Q) Disclosing the identity, affairs, or investments of any client to
any third party unless required by law to do so, or unless consented
to by the client;

(R) Entering into, extending or renewing any investment advisory
contract, other than a contract for impersonal advisory services,
unless such contract is in writing and discloses, in substance:

1. The services to be provided;
2. The term of the contract;
3. The advisory fee or the formula for computing the fee;
4. The amount or the manner of calculation of the amount of the

prepaid fee to be returned in the event of contract termination or non-
performance;

5. Whether the contract grants discretionary power to the advis-
er or its representatives; and

6. That no assignment of such contract shall be made by the
adviser without the client’s consent;

(S) Publishing, circulating, or distributing any advertisement that
does not comply with 17 CFR section 275.206(4)-1; 

(T) Failing or refusing to furnish a customer, upon reasonable
request, information to which s/he is entitled, or to respond to a for-
mal written reprimand or complaint;

(U) Engaging in any conduct or act, either directly or indirectly
through any other person, which would violate any applicable pro-
fessional, fair practice or ethical standard established by state or fed-
eral law or regulation; and

(V) Aiding or abetting any of the acts or practices enumerated in
this rule. 

(2) The conduct set forth above is not inclusive.  Engaging in other
conduct such as nondisclosure or incomplete disclosure of material
fact, or other deceptive practices are dishonest or unethical business
practices.

AUTHORITY: sections 409.4-412 and 409.6-605, RSMo Supp. 2003.
Original rule filed April 8, 2004. 

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Secretary of State’s Office, Doug Ommen, Commissioner of
Securities, 600 West Main Street, Jefferson City, MO 65101.  To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.  No public hear-
ing is scheduled.

Title 15—ELECTED OFFICIALS
Division 30—Secretary of State

Chapter 51—Broker-Dealers, Agents,
Investment Advisers, and 

Investment Adviser Representatives

PROPOSED RULE

15 CSR 30-51.173 Supervision Guidelines for Investment
Advisers

PURPOSE:  This rule provides guidance for reasonable supervision
by investment advisers.

(1) The phrase “failed reasonably to supervise” under section 409.4-
412(d)(9) of the Missouri Securities Act of 2003 (the Act) is a stan-
dard allowing each investment adviser (firm) the flexibility to fash-
ion procedures and systems that address its particular organizational
and management structure.  Yet the following are guidelines that pro-
vide guidance to registered investment advisers with two (2) or more
employees of factors considered by the commissioner in evaluating
reasonable supervision.  

(2) The following guidelines shall be factors in considering what is
reasonable supervision for any firm, which employs two (2) or more
individuals, whether:

(A) The firm has established current procedures and systems for
supervising the activities of agents, employees and Missouri office
operations that are reasonably designed to achieve compliance with
applicable state and federal securities laws and regulations; 

(B) The firm has established current procedures and systems that
could reasonably be expected to allow a supervisor reasonably dis-
charging his/her supervisory duties under such established proce-
dures to prevent and detect violations of the Act, and the firm regu-
larly reviews these procedures and systems;

(C) The firm has reasonably implemented the procedures and sys-
tems referred to in subsections (A) and (B) above; 

(D) The firm provides appropriate initial and periodic refresher
training to supervisors, employees and representatives regarding the
firm’s procedures and systems and additional initial and periodic
training to supervisors in the procedures and systems referred to in
subsections (A) and (B) above;

(E) The firm reasonably follows up on indications of wrongdoing,
“red flags.”  Such red flags may consist of, but are not limited to,
activities of unauthorized personnel, churning, unauthorized trading,
low level of production but high expenses, garnishment of wages,
regulatory actions, prior disciplinary history of one (1) or more cus-
tomer complaints and recent customer complaints;

(F) The firm has an adequate system to track and monitor the sta-
tus of customer complaints;

(G) The firm has designated a qualified supervisor of the invest-
ment adviser for each representative or employee;  
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(H) The designated supervisor of employees located in Missouri
maintains a principal place of business in Missouri, or in a location
that allows the supervisor to visit the premises of supervised agents
in Missouri within a reasonable time; 

(I) The designated supervisor is responsible for supervising no
more representatives at any one (1) time than would allow the super-
visor to effectively execute his supervisory duties.  The appropriate
number of representatives which one (1) person can reasonably
supervise is dependent on the nature of the business conducted by the
persons supervised, technical resources available to the supervisor,
additional personnel available to assist the supervisor, and other
resources made available to assist the supervisor;

(J) The firm conducts annual compliance examinations of supervi-
sory locations with effective deficiency and follow-up procedures.
Unannounced examinations may be reasonable if there are compli-
ance issues concerning agents or activities; 

(K) The firm reasonably audits for compliance including reason-
able follow-up and proof, independent of the representative, that mail
is reviewed for customer complaints and other red flags; 

(L) The firm has and implements procedures and systems for rea-
sonable oversight of supervisors; and

(M) The firm has a reasonable policy for disciplinary and pro-
gressive supervisory action, which is reasonably implemented.

AUTHORITY: sections 409.4-412(d)(9) and 409.6-605, RSMo Supp.
2003. Original rule filed April 8, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will not cost state agencies or
political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will not cost private entities
more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Secretary of State’s Office, Doug Ommen, Commissioner of
Securities, 600 West Main Street, Jefferson City, MO 65101.  To be
considered, comments must be received within thirty (30) days after
publication of this notice in the Missouri Register.  No public hear-
ing is scheduled.

Title 19—DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
AND SENIOR SERVICES

Division 60—Missouri Health Facilities Review 
Committee

Chapter 50—Certificate of Need Program 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

19 CSR 60-50.300 Definitions for the Certificate of Need Process.
The Committee proposes to amend sections (8), (9) and (12).

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies previous definitions for terms
used in the Certificate of Need (CON) review process.

(8) Health care facility means those described in section 197.366,
RSMo, which replaces section 197.305.7, RSMo.

(9) Health care facility expenditure includes the capital value of new
construction or renovation costs, architectural/engineering fees,
equipment not in the construction contract, land acquisition costs,
consultants’/legal fees, interest during construction, predevelopment
costs as defined in section 197.305(13), RSMo, in excess of one hun-
dred fifty thousand dollars ($150,000) incurred over a twelve (12)-
month period, any existing land and building converted to medical
use for the first time, and any other capitalizable costs as listed on

the “Proposed Project Budget” form MO 580-1863.

(12) Major medical equipment means any piece of equipment and
collection of functionally related devices acquired to operate the
equipment and additional related costs such as software, shielding,
and installation, acquired over a twelve (12)-month period with an
aggregate cost of one [(1)] million dollars ($1,000,000) or more,
when the equipment is intended to provide the following services:

(18) The most current version of Form MO 580-1863 may be
obtained by mailing a written request to the Certificate of Need
Program (CONP), 915G Leslie Boulevard, Jefferson City, MO
65101, or in person at the CONP Office, or, if technically feasible,
by downloading a copy of the form from the CONP website at
[www.dhss.state.mo.us/con] www.dhss.mo.gov/con.

AUTHORITY: section 197.320, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed June
2, 1994, effective Nov. 30, 1994. For intervening history, please con-
sult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed April 12, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support or in opposition to
this proposed amendment with Thomas R. Piper, Director, Certificate
of Need Program, 915G Leslie Blvd., Jefferson City, MO 65101. To
be considered, comments must be received by 5:00 p.m. on June 17,
2004. A public hearing has been scheduled for June 17, 2004, at
10:00 a.m. at the Certificate of Need Program Office located at 915G
Leslie Blvd., Jefferson City, Missouri.

Title 19—DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
AND SENIOR SERVICES

Division 60—Missouri Health Facilities Review
Committee

Chapter 50—Certificate of Need Program 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

19 CSR 60-50.400 Letter of Intent Process. The Committee pro-
poses to amend sections (1), (2), (3), (4) and (5).

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies the process for submitting a
Letter of Intent to begin the Certificate of Need (CON) review process
and further outlines the projects subject to CON review.

(1) Applicants shall submit a Letter of Intent (LOI) package to begin
the Certificate of Need (CON) review process at least thirty (30) days
prior to the submission of the CON application and will remain valid
in accordance with the following time frames:

(A) For full reviews, expedited equipment replacements, expedit-
ed long-term care (LTC) renovation or modernization reviews and
expedited LTC facility replacement reviews, [an] a LOI is valid for
six (6) months;

(B) For expedited LTC bed expansion reviews in accordance with
section 197.318.8, RSMo, [an] a LOI is valid for twenty-four (24)
months; and

(C) For non-applicability reviews, [an] a LOI is valid for six (6)
months.

(2) Once filed, [an] a LOI may be amended, except for project
address, not later than ten (10) days in advance of the CON applica-
tion filing, or it may be withdrawn at any time without prejudice.
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(3) A LTC bed expansion or replacement as [defined in these rules
includes all of the provisions] sought pursuant to section
197.318.8 through 197.318.10, RSMo, [requiring] requires a CON
application, but [allowing] allows for shortened information
requirements and review time frames. When [an] a LOI for [an] a
LTC bed expansion, except replacement(s), is filed, the Certificate
of Need Program (CONP) staff shall immediately request certifica-
tion for that facility of average licensed bed occupancy and final
Class 1 patient care deficiencies for the most recent six (6) consecu-
tive calendar quarters by the Division of [Health Standards and
Licensure (DHSL)] Senior Services and Regulation (DSSR),
Department of Health and Senior Services, through [an] a LTC
Facility Expansion Certification (Form MO 580-2351) to verify com-
pliance with occupancy and deficiency requirements pursuant to sec-
tion 197.318.8, RSMo. Occupancy data shall be taken from the
[DHSL’s] DSSR’s most recently published [Quarterly Survey]
Six-Quarter Occupancy of [Hospital and Nursing Home]
Intermediate Care and Skilled Nursing Facility (or Residential
Care Facility) [Bed Utilization] Licensed Beds reports. For LTC
bed expansions or replacements, the sellers and purchasers shall be
defined as the owner(s) and operator(s) of the respective facilities,
which includes building, land, and license. On the Purchase
Agreement (Form MO 580-2352), both the owner(s) and operator(s)
of the purchasing and selling facilities should sign.

(4) The [Certificate of Need Program (]CONP[)] staff, as an
agent of the Missouri Health Facilities Review Committee
([c]Committee), will review LOIs according to the following provi-
sions:

(F) A CON application must be made if:
1. The project involves the development of a new [health care

facility] hospital costing [in excess of] one [(1)] million dollars
($1,000,000) or more, except for a facility licensed under Chapter
197, RSMo, meeting the requirements described in 42 CFR, sec-
tion 412.23(e);

2. The project involves the acquisition or replacement of major
medical equipment in any setting not licensed under Chapter 198,
RSMo, costing [in excess of] one [(1)] million dollars
($1,000,000) or more;

3. The project involves the acquisition or replacement of major
medical equipment for a health care facility licensed under Chapter
198, RSMo, costing [in excess of] four hundred thousand dollars
($400,000) or more;

4. The project involves the acquisition of any equipment or beds
in a long-term care hospital meeting the requirements found in 42
CFR section 412.23(e) at any cost;

5. The project involves a capital expenditure for renovation,
modernization or replacement, but not additional beds, by or on
behalf of an existing health care facility licensed under Chapter 198,
RSMo, costing [in excess of one (1) million dollars] six hundred
thousand dollars ($600,000) or more; [or]

6. [Prior to January 1, 2003, the] The project involves
either additional [long-term care] LTC (licensed or certified resi-
dential care facility I or II, intermediate care facility, or skilled nurs-
ing facility) beds or LTC bed expansions or replacements licensed
under Chapter 198, RSMo, as defined in section (3) above of this
rule, [regardless of cost with certain exemptions and excep-
tions.] costing six hundred thousand dollars ($600,000) or more;
or

7. The project involves the expansion of an existing health
care facility as described in subdivisions (1) and (2) of section
197.366, RSMo, that either:

A. Costs six hundred thousand dollars ($600,000) or
more; or 

B. Exceeds ten (10) beds or ten percent (10%) of that facil-
ity’s existing licensed capacity, whichever is less; and

(G) An exception may exist if the LOI test verifies that the pro-
posed new long-term care beds (excluding long-term care hospi-

tal beds) cost less than six hundred thousand dollars ($600,000)
or do not exceed ten (10) beds or ten percent (10%) of that facil-
ity’s existing licensed capacity, whichever is less, and the pro-
posed beds are in the same licensure category as the existing facil-
ity’s license.

(5) For [an] a LTC bed expansion proposal pursuant to section
197.318.8(1)(e), RSMo, the CONP staff shall request occupancy
verification by the [DHSL] DSSR who shall also provide a copy to
the applicant.

AUTHORITY: section 197.320, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed June
2, 1994, effective Nov. 30, 1994. For intervening history, please con-
sult the Code of State Regulations. Amended: Filed April 12, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support or in opposition to
this proposed amendment with Thomas R. Piper, Director, Certificate
of Need Program, 915G Leslie Blvd., Jefferson City, MO 65101. To
be considered, comments must be received by 5:00 p.m. on June 17,
2004. A public hearing has been scheduled for June 17, 2004, at
10:00 a.m. at the Certificate of Need Program Office located at 915G
Leslie Blvd., Jefferson City, Missouri.

Title 19—DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
AND SENIOR SERVICES

Division 60—Missouri Health Facilities Review
Committee

Chapter 50—Certificate of Need Program 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

19 CSR 60-50.420 Review Process. The Committee proposes to
amend sections (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8), (9), (10) and (11).

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies the process for submitting a
Certificate of Need (CON) application for a CON review, and
removes unneeded provisions.

(3) All filings must occur at the principal office of the [c]Committee
during regular business hours. The CONP staff, as an agent of the
[c]Committee, shall provide notification of applications received
through publication of the Application Review Schedule (schedule),
as follows: 

(A) For full applications, the schedule shall include the filing date
of the application, a brief description of the proposed service, the
time and place for filing comments and requests for a public hearing,
and the tentative date of the meeting at which the application is
scheduled for review. Publication of the schedule shall occur on the
next business day after the filing deadline. The publication of the
schedule is conducted through the following actions:

1. The schedule shall be submitted to the secretary of state’s
office for publication in the next regularly scheduled Missouri
Register;

2. A press release about the CON application schedule shall be
sent [to] by e-mail to all legislators and all newspapers of general
circulation in Missouri as supplied by the Office of Public
Information, Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS)[,
Office of Public Information]; 

3. The schedule shall be posted on the CON website; and
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4. The schedule shall be [mailed] e-mailed to all affected per-
sons who have registered with the CONP staff as having an interest
in such CON applications.

(B) For expedited applications the schedule shall include the filing
date of the application, a brief description of the proposed service,
including the name and location of all participating facilities, the time
and place for filing comments and requests for a public hearing, and
the tentative decision date for the application. Publication of the
schedule shall occur on the next business day after the filing dead-
line. The publication of the schedule is conducted through the fol-
lowing actions:

1. The schedule shall be submitted to the secretary of state’s
office for publication in the next regularly scheduled Missouri
Register; and

2.  The schedule shall be posted on the CON website.
(C)  For non-applicability reviews, the listing of non-applicability

letters to be confirmed shall be posted on the CON website at least
twenty (20) days prior to each scheduled meeting of the committee
where confirmation is to take place.

[(4) When an application for a full review is filed pursuant to
section 197.318.1, RSMo, the CONP staff shall immediate-
ly request certification of licensed and available bed occu-
pancy and deficiencies for each of the most recent four (4)
consecutive calendar quarters in the county and fifteen (15)-
mile radius by the DHSS.]

[(5)] (4) The CONP staff shall review CON applications relative to
the Criteria and Standards in the order filed.

[(6)] (5) The CONP staff shall notify the applicant in writing regard-
ing the completeness of a full CON application within fifteen (15)
calendar days of filing or within five (5) working days for an expe-
dited application.

[(7)] (6) Verbal information or testimony shall not be considered part
of the application. 

[(8)] (7) Subject to statutory time constraints, the CONP staff shall
send its written analysis to the committee as follows:

(A) For full CON applications, the CONP staff shall send the
analysis twenty (20) days in advance of the first committee meeting
following the seventieth day after the CON application is filed. The
written analysis of the CONP staff shall be sent to the applicant no
less than fifteen (15) days before the meeting. 

(B) For expedited applications which meet all statutory and rules
requirements and which have no opposition, the CONP staff shall
send its written analysis to the committee and the applicant within
two (2) working days following the expiration of the thirty (30)-day
public notice waiting period or the date upon which any required
additional information is received, whichever is later. 

(C) For expedited applications which do not meet all statutory and
rules requirements or those which have opposition, they will be con-
sidered at the earliest scheduled committee meeting where the writ-
ten analysis by the CONP staff can be sent to the Committee and the
applicant at least seven (7) days in advance.

[(9)] (8) See rule 19 CSR 60-50.600 for a description of the CON
decision process.

[(10)] (9) An applicant may withdraw an application without preju-
dice by written notice at any time prior to the committee’s decision.
Later submission of the same application or an amended application
shall be handled as a new application with a new fee.

[(11)] (10) In addition to using the Community Need Criteria and
Standards as guidelines, the committee may also consider other fac-
tors to include, but not be limited to, the number of patients requir-

ing treatment, the changing complexity of treatment, unique obsta-
cles to access, competitive financial considerations, or the special-
ized nature of the service.

AUTHORITY: section 197.320, RSMo 2000. Emergency rule filed
Aug. 29, 1997, effective Sept. 8, 1997, expired March 6, 1998.
Original rule filed Aug. 29, 1997, effective March 30, 1998. For
intervening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended: Filed April 12, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support or in opposition to
this proposed amendment with Thomas R. Piper, Director, Certificate
of Need Program, 915G Leslie Blvd., Jefferson City, MO 65101. To
be considered, comments must be received by 5:00 p.m. on June 17,
2004. A public hearing has been scheduled for June 17, 2004, at
10:00 a.m. at the Certificate of Need Program Office located at 915G
Leslie Blvd., Jefferson City, Missouri.

Title 19—DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SENIOR SERVICES

Division 60—Missouri Health Facilities Review
Committee

Chapter 50—Certificate of Need Program 

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

19 CSR 60-50.450 Criteria and Standards for Long-Term Care.
The committee proposes to amend sections (1)–(5), delete section (6)
and renumber and amend the remaining sections.

PURPOSE: This amendment clarifies the criteria and standards
against which any project involving a long-term care facility would
be evaluated in a Certificate of Need (CON) review, and removes
unneeded provisions. 

(1) [All additional long-term care (LTC) beds in nursing
homes, hospitals, and residential care facilities (RCF), and
beds in long-term acute hospitals are subject to the LTC bed
minimum occupancy requirements (MOR) pursuant to sec-
tions 197.317 and 197.318(1), RSMo, with certain exemp-
tions and exceptions pursuant to sections 197.305(7) and
197.312, RSMo, and LTC bed expansions and replacements
pursuant to sections 197.318.8 through 197.318.10,
RSMo.] For purposes of determining need and evaluating area
occupancy, residential care facility (RCF) I and RCF II shall be
one separate classification and intermediate care facility (ICF)
and skilled nursing facility (SNF) shall be another separate clas-
sification. 

(2) [The MOR for additional LTC beds pursuant to section
197.318.1, RSMo, shall be met if the average occupancy for
all licensed and available LTC beds located within the coun-
ty and within fifteen (15) miles of the proposed site exceed-
ed ninety percent (90%) during at least each of the most
recent four (4) consecutive calendar quarters at the time of
application filing as reported in the Division of Health
Standards and Licensure (DHSL), Department of Health and
Senior Services, Quarterly Survey of Hospital and Nursing 
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Home (or Residential Care Facility) Bed Utilization and certi-
fied through a written finding by the DHSL, in which case
the] The following population-based long-term care bed need
methodology for the fifteen (15)-mile radius shall be used to deter-
mine the maximum size of the need:

(A) Approval of additional [intermediate care facility/skilled
nursing facility (] ICF/SNF[)] beds will be based on a service area
need determined to be fifty-three (53) beds per one thousand (1,000)
population age sixty-five (65) and older minus the current supply of
ICF/SNF beds shown in the [Inventory] Six-Quarter Occupancy of
Hospital and Nursing Home Licensed and Available ICF/SNF Beds
as provided by the Certificate of Need Program (CONP) which
includes licensed beds and Certificate of Need (CON)-approved
beds; and

(B) Approval of additional RCF beds will be based on a service
area need determined to be sixteen (16) beds per one thousand
(1,000) population age sixty-five (65) and older minus the current
supply of RCF beds shown in the [Inventory] Six-Quarter
Occupancy of Residential Care Facility Licensed and Available
Beds as provided by the CONP which includes licensed beds and
CON-approved beds.

(3) Replacement Chapter 198, RSMo, beds qualify for [an excep-
tion to the LTC bed MOR plus] shortened information require-
ments and review time frames if an applicant proposes to[—]:

(4) For LTC bed expansions involving a Chapter 198, RSMo, facil-
ity [qualify] that qualifies for [an exception to the LTC bed
MOR. In addition to the] shortened information requirements and
review time frames, the applicants shall also submit the following
information:

(5) An exception to the [LTC bed MOR and] CON application fil-
ing fee will be recognized for any proposed facility which is designed
and operated exclusively for persons with acquired human immuno-
deficiency syndrome (AIDS).

[(6) An exception to the LTC bed MOR will be recognized for
a proposed LTC facility where at least ninety-five percent
(95%) of the patients require kosher diets pursuant to sec-
tion 197.318.5, RSMo.]

[(7)] (6) Any newly-licensed Chapter 198, RSMo, facility estab-
lished as a result of the Alzheimer’s and dementia demonstration pro-
jects pursuant to Chapter 198, RSMo, or aging-in-place pilot pro-
jects pursuant to Chapter 198, RSMo, as implemented by the
[DHSL] Division of Senior Services and Regulation (DSSR), may
be licensed by the [DHSL] DSSR until the completion of each pro-
ject. If a demonstration or pilot project receives a successful evalua-
tion from the [DHSL] DSSR and a qualified Missouri school or uni-
versity, and meets the [DHSL] DSSR standards for licensure, this
will ensure continued licensure without a new CON.

[(8)] (7) For LTC renovation or modernization projects which do not
include increasing the number of beds, the applicant should docu-
ment the following, if applicable:

(A) The proposed project is needed to comply with current facili-
ty code requirements of local, state or federal governments;

(B) The proposed project is needed to meet requirements for licen-
sure, certification or accreditation, which if not undertaken, could
result in a loss of accreditation or certification;

(C) Operational efficiencies will be attained through reconfigura-
tion of space and functions;

(D) The methodologies used for determining need; 
(E) The rationale for the reallocation of space and functions; and
(F) The benefits to the facility because of its age or condition.

[(9)] (8) The most current version of Form MO 580-2352 may be
obtained by mailing a written request to the CONP, 915G Leslie
Boulevard, Jefferson City, MO 65101, or in person at the CONP
Office, or, if technically feasible, by downloading a copy of the form
from the CONP web site at [www.dhss.state.mo.us/con]
www.dhss.mo.gov/con.

AUTHORITY: section 197.320, RSMo 2000. Emergency rule filed
Aug. 29, 1997, effective Sept. 8, 1997, expired March 6, 1998.
Original rule filed Aug. 29, 1997, effective March 30, 1998. For
intervening history, please consult the Code of State Regulations.
Amended: Filed April 12, 2004.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed amendment will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS: Anyone may file a statement in support or in opposition to
this proposed amendment with Thomas R. Piper, Director, Certificate
of Need Program, 915G Leslie Blvd., Jefferson City, MO 65101. To
be considered, comments must be received by 5:00 p.m. on June 17,
2004. A public hearing has been scheduled for June 17, 2004, at
10:00 a.m. at the Certificate of Need Program Office located at 915G
Leslie Blvd., Jefferson City, Missouri.

Title 20—DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE
Division 200—Financial Examination

Chapter 2—Reinsurance and Assumptions

PROPOSED AMENDMENT

20 CSR 200-2.100 Credit for Reinsurance. The department is
amending sections (2), (3), (4) and (13) of this rule.

PURPOSE: The purpose of this amendment is to clarify that credit
for reinsurance ceded will not be allowed where the assuming insur-
er’s certificate of authority has been suspended for reasons related
to the assuming insurer’s financial condition. 

(2) Pursuant to section 375.246.1(1), RSMo, the director shall allow
credit for reinsurance ceded by a domestic insurer to assuming insur-
ers which were licensed in this state as of the date of the ceding
insurer’s statutory financial statement. For purposes of this rule, an
insurer whose certificate of authority has been suspended or
revoked for one (1) or more of the grounds set forth in section
375.881.1(1), (2), or (3), RSMo, shall be deemed not licensed in
this state. 

(3) Credit for Reinsurance—Accredited Reinsurers. 
(A) Pursuant to section 375.246.1(2), RSMo, the director shall

allow credit for reinsurance ceded by a domestic insurer to an assum-
ing insurer which is accredited as a reinsurer in this state as of the
date of the ceding insurer’s statutory financial statement. An accred-
ited reinsurer is one which—

1. Files with the director the following:
A. A properly executed application for approval as an autho-

rized reinsurer, the form of which is set forth as Exhibit 1 of this
rule, included herein; 

B. A certified copy of a letter or a certificate of authority or
of compliance as evidence that the company is licensed to transact
insurance or reinsurance in at least one (1) state or, in the case of a
United States branch of an alien assuming insurer, is entered through
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and licensed to transact insurance or reinsurance in at least one (1)
state; 

C. A properly executed appointment of the director to
acknowledge or receive service of process, the form of which is set
forth as Exhibit 2 of this rule, included herein; 

D. A properly executed Form AR-1, which is set forth as
Exhibit 3 of this rule, included herein, as evidence of its submission
to this state’s jurisdiction and to this state’s authority to examine its
books and records; 

E. A copy of its articles of incorporation or association, as
amended, duly certified by the proper officer of the state under
whose laws it is organized or incorporated; 

F. A copy of its bylaws, certified by its secretary; 
G. A biographical sketch of its directors and officers as list-

ed in its annual statement, accompanied by the original signatures of
those directors and officers, the form of which is set forth as Exhibit
4 of this rule, included herein; 

H. A copy of the registration statement of any holding com-
pany system if it is a member of such a system; and 

I. Its most currently dated audited financial report; 
2. Files with the director in addition to its initial application,

and annually after that, prior to March 1 of each year, a certified
copy of the annual statement it has filed with the insurance depart-
ment of its state of domicile or, in the case of an alien assuming
insurer, with the state through which it is entered and in which it is
licensed to transact insurance or reinsurance, including an actuarial
certification and management discussion and analysis;

3. Includes, with the documents required to be filed under pre-
ceding provisions of this section, the appropriate filing fees as set
forth in section 374.230, RSMo; and 

4. Maintains a surplus as regards policyholders in an amount
not less than twenty (20) million dollars and whose accreditation has
not been denied by the director within ninety (90) days of its sub-
mission or, in the case of companies with a surplus as regards poli-
cyholders of less than twenty (20) million dollars, whose accredita-
tion has been approved by the director. 

(4) Credit for Reinsurance—Qualified Reinsurer Domiciled and
Licensed in Another State. 

(A) Pursuant to section 375.246.1(3), RSMo, the director shall
allow credit for reinsurance ceded by a domestic insurer to an assum-
ing insurer which is qualified as a reinsurer as of the date of the ced-
ing insurer’s statutory financial statement. A qualified reinsurer is
one which—

1. Files the following with the director: 
A. A properly executed application for approval as an autho-

rized reinsurer, the form of which is set forth as Exhibit 1 of this
rule; 

B. Certified copy of a letter or a certificate of authority or of
compliance as evidence that the company is licensed to transact
insurance or reinsurance in at least one (1) state or, in the case of a
United States branch of an alien assuming insurer, is entered through
and licensed to transact insurance or reinsurance in at least one (1)
state; and

C. A properly executed appointment of the director to
acknowledge or receive service of process, the form of which is set
forth as Exhibit 2 of this rule; 

2. Files with the director in addition to its initial application,
and annually after that, prior to March 1 of each year, a certified
copy of the annual statement it has filed with the insurance depart-
ment of its state of domicile or, in the case of an alien assuming
insurer, with the state through which it is entered and in which it is
licensed to transact insurance or reinsurance, including an actuarial
certification and management discussion and analysis required as
part of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC)
annual statement requirements; 

3. Files with the director a properly executed Form AR-2, the
form of which is set forth as Exhibit 5 of this rule, included herein,

as evidence of its submission to this state’s authority to examine its
books and records; 

4. Is domiciled and licensed in (or, in the case of a United States
branch of an alien assuming insurer, is entered through and licensed
in) a state which employs standards regarding credit for reinsurance
substantially similar to those applicable under the Law on Credit
Reinsurance, section 375.246, RSMo (the Act) and this rule; 

5. Includes with the documents required to be filed under pre-
ceding provisions of this section the appropriate filing fees as set
forth in section 374.230, RSMo; and

6. Maintains a surplus as regards policyholders in an amount
not less than twenty (20) million dollars.

(13) Authority. This rule is promulgated pursuant to the authority
granted by sections 37[5]4.045 and 375.246, RSMo. 

AUTHORITY: sections 374.045, RSMo [Supp. 1993] 2000 and
375.246.4, RSMo [Supp. 1991] Supp. 2003.  This rule was previ-
ously filed as 4 CSR 190-11.350. Original rule filed Jan. 8, 1991,
effective Jan. 1, 1992. Amended: Filed July 2, 1991, effective Jan.
1, 1992.  Amended: Filed Oct. 15, 1992, effective June 7, 1993.
Amended: Filed April 7, 2004.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST:  This proposed amendment will not cost private
entities more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING AND NOTICE TO SUBMIT COM-
MENTS:  A public hearing will be held on this proposed amendment
at 10 a.m. on June 22, 2004.  The public hearing will be held at the
Harry S Truman State Office Building, 301 West High Street,
Jefferson City, Missouri.  Opportunities to be heard at the hearing
shall be afforded to any interested person.  Interested persons,
whether or not heard, may submit a written statement in support of
or in opposition to the proposed amendment, until 5:00 p.m. on June
22, 2004.  Written statements shall be sent to Stephen R. Gleason,
Department of Insurance, PO Box 690, Jefferson City, MO 65102.  

SPECIAL NEEDS:  If you have any special needs addressed by the
Americans With Disabilities Act, please notify us at (573) 751-6798
or (573) 751-2619 at least five (5) working days prior to the hearing.
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