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Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners

Chapter 2—Private Security

PROPOSED RESCISSION

17 CSR 10-2.050 Testing Requirements and Qualification
Standards. This rule established testing requirements for those seek-
ing individual licensing pursuant to these provisions and established
qualification standards pursuant to the duties carried out by individ-
uals providing private security services.

PURPOSE: The board wishes to rescind this rule and adopt a new
rule in its place to clarify the language in the rule and ensure com-
pliance with the applicable law.

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed Dec.
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded:  Filed March 14,
2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Board
of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust,
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners

Chapter 2—Private Security

PROPOSED RULE 

17 CSR 10-2.050 Testing Requirements and Qualification Stan-
dards

PURPOSE: In accordance with generally recognized policing stan-
dards, the Board of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri
(board) has established testing requirements for those seeking indi-
vidual licensing pursuant to these provisions and has established
qualification standards pursuant to the duties carried out by individ-
uals providing private security or proprietary private investigative
services.

(1) All applicants for licensing shall successfully pass a written
examination as presented by the department to potential licensees. A
person failing to obtain a passing score as established by the board
may be allowed to retake the written test three (3) times. An addi-
tional fee and a new Form 5409 P.D. is required each time the test
is retaken.  The test may not be taken more than one (1) time per day.
An applicant shall have the right to review their test. The Private
Officers Licensing Unit (POLU) may refuse to test any person if evi-
dence exists that there is grounds for denial of the license. This
excludes any person holding an active or inactive Peace Officer
Standards and Training (POST) certification and all retired sworn
members of the department. The board has established categories of
testing that reflect the responsibilities and qualifications required for
the type of license sought by the applicant. An information manual
outlining the examination will be available from the POLU. It is the

company’s responsibility to provide training necessary to prepare the
applicant to take and pass the board’s written examination. In addi-
tion to obtaining the license as an armed licensee, the company must
certify that the applicant or licensee has completed the required train-
ing and must present a completed Form 5715 P.D. at the time of
application. The licensee must successfully qualify annually with
their weapon. The qualification will be equivalent to that required for
department police officers. In addition, any person holding an armed
license shall requalify any time they change weapons. A licensee may
only carry and qualify with one (1) weapon per company unless spe-
cific authorization is obtained from POLU. As set out in 17 CSR 10-
2.040(1), a fee will be charged anytime a weapon change is made. 

(A) Applicants for Class A licensing, in addition to those topics
listed in subsection (1)(B) of this rule, shall also be tested on crime
and criminal liability, firearms responsibility and liability, and patrol
techniques. Class A licenses issued to those requesting designation
as a proprietary private investigator shall also be tested on investiga-
tive techniques, illegal electronic surveillance, audio recording, and
visual or video recording when permissible.

(B) Applicants for Class B licensing as provided in this chapter
shall be tested on detention and seizure, how to interact with the gen-
eral public and public officials, the licensing process, including
rules, how to react to crisis situations, and liability issues.

(C) Applicants for proprietary private investigator must possess a
high school diploma and one (1) of the following: A two- (2-) year
degree in Administration of Criminal Justice or a bachelor’s degree;
two (2) consecutive years prior investigative experience in law
enforcement, military police, or military intelligence functions; or
two (2) years consecutive experience with a licensed private security
or proprietary private investigative company, and be certified by that
company as to knowledge of the law and investigative techniques. 

(D) Each armed licensee will complete four (4) hours of training
at the Kansas City, Missouri Police Pistol Range (range) each year.
The curriculum will be set by the range staff. Each armed licensee
may additionally be required to complete four (4) hours of classroom
training every two (2) years. The curriculum will be set by the
POLU. Each company representative who is authorized to sign and
do business with the board as outlined on Form 5486 P.D. along with
all those licensed in an unarmed capacity may be required to com-
plete the four- (4-) hour classroom portion of the training every two
(2) years. Each company representative and licensee will pay the
training fees associated with these continuing education requirements
as set out in 17 CSR 10-2.040(1). 

(2) As all applicants for Class A licenses are granted the authority to
detain or apprehend, each applicant or his/her employer must certi-
fy annually on the Form 5409 P.D. to the satisfaction of the board
that the applicant is physically and mentally capable of being able to
safely detain or apprehend suspects without the necessity of resort-
ing to the displaying or discharging of a weapon except in self-
defense or in defense of another. This will require every applicant to
submit at renewal annually a Form 5409 P.D. The board may inves-
tigate the certification and may reject the application if there is evi-
dence that the certification is false or incorrect.

(3) Additionally, each applicant applying for a license under these
provisions must meet these standards—

(A) Meet the qualifications in 17 CSR 10-2.020(3);
(B) Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age to hold an armed

license and be at least eighteen (18) years of age to hold an unarmed
license;

(C) Be able to read, write, and understand the English language;
(D) Meet physical and mental standards equivalent to those

required of department police officers;
(E) Be capable of understanding and performing the duties and

responsibilities of a licensee;
(F) If the applicant served in the Armed Forces of the United

States within ten (10) years prior to the date of application, the final
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discharge of the applicant from the armed forces must be honorable
or general under honorable conditions;

(G) Not have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor in fed-
eral or state court;

(H) Be of good moral character by having  no felony convictions,
misdemeanor convictions, or city ordinance convictions, which have
as an essential element fraud, dishonesty, an act of violence, bribery,
illegal drug use, sexual misconduct, and other similar acts constitut-
ing moral turpitude as defined by the common law of Missouri except
that city ordinance convictions involving driving while intoxicated or
driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs will be considered on
a case-by-case basis;

(I) For armed applicants, not be the respondent named in a full
order of protection currently in effect issued after a hearing by a
court of competent jurisdiction; 

(J) Have no prior revocation of a security license; 
(K) Failing to meet the standards as set out herein;
(L) Making any false statements or giving any false information in

connection with an application for a license;
(M) Failing to provide information deemed necessary in order to

establish eligibility;
(N) Holding a license which is suspended, including a suspension

which is currently under review or under a stay pending the outcome
of litigation in a court of competent jurisdiction; 

(O) Providing other facts or actions which demonstrate that the
applicant is unsuitable or ineligible for license; and

(P) Being terminated from or resigning under investigation or
threat of discharge from the department shall make an individual
ineligible for a license, but s/he may appeal to the board pursuant to
the appeal process contained in this chapter.

(4) Applicants and their employers, in the event of license denial,
will be given a written notification. Applicants may appeal in writ-
ing to the POLU within thirty (30) days of denial notification. The
appeal should contain a brief statement responding to the reasons for
denial. The board will then notify the applicant in writing of its for-
mal decision on the matter. Applicants have no right to a hearing or
presentation to board.

(5) The board reserves the right to prohibit the holder of a license
from carrying any firearm.

(6) All licenses granted by the board as set out herein may be tem-
porary until the completion of the applicant’s criminal history
records check. Armed licenses will not be issued until the criminal
history records check results are received by the POLU.

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Dec.
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded and readopted:
Filed March 14, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will cost state agencies or polit-
ical subdivisions twelve thousand, five hundred fifteen dollars
($12,515) in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities five
hundred fifty-five thousand dollars ($555,000) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Board of
Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust, Kansas
City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners

Chapter 2—Private Security

PROPOSED RESCISSION

17 CSR 10-2.055 Firearms Regulations and Qualification. This
rule established requirements for persons seeking licenses for posi-
tions authorized to carry approved firearms.

PURPOSE: The board wishes to rescind this rule and adopt a new
rule in its place to clarify the language in the rule and ensure com-
pliance with the applicable law.

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed May
28, 1993, effective Jan. 31, 1994. Rescinded and readopted: Filed
Dec. 15, 1999, effective Aug. 30, 2000. Rescinded: Filed March 14,
2013.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Board
of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust,
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners

Chapter 2—Private Security

PROPOSED RULE 

17 CSR 10-2.055 Weapons Regulations and Firearms Qualification

PURPOSE: Applicants seeking licenses for positions authorized to
carry approved firearms must be certified as qualified to carry those
firearms pursuant to requirements as established by the Board of
Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri (board) herein.

(1) A licensee is authorized to carry only firearms in a strong side
hip holster approved by the board and only if the licensee has quali-
fied with that firearm as set out herein. All licensees must have a
completed Verification of Firearms Training Form (Form 5715 P.D.)
before reporting to the Private Officers Licensing Unit (POLU). The
firearms approved by the board are as follows: .38 caliber, double
action solid frame revolvers (five (5) or six (6) shot); and semi-auto-
matics, double action only or double/single action, which are
equipped with a decocker or decocker safety. This requirement lim-
its the semi-automatics which may be carried to .40, .45, and 9mm
calibers. Striker action firearms are acceptable. The department
shooting range supervisor or his/her designee may deny a licensee
the opportunity to qualify if, in their discretion, they believe a per-
son or a firearm does not meet the requirements set out herein or pre-
sents a danger to others.

(2) All applicants seeking licensure for positions for which firearms
may be possessed must qualify annually with the firearm(s) on the
department pistol range and under the supervision of the depart-
ment’s firearms instructors. The firearms qualifications standards

shall be in accordance with those established by department for its
officers.

(3) An applicant must display the ability to safely and properly han-
dle his/her approved firearm.

(4) An applicant who is determined by the range instructor to be
unqualified or incapable of handling a firearm shall not be licensed.

(A) Any applicant who displays an inability to handle a firearm
safely and properly will be disqualified from carrying a firearm.

(B) An applicant who does not attain the minimum scores for qual-
ification shall be given a maximum of two (2) additional opportuni-
ties to qualify. An additional fee and new Form 5409 P.D. is required
for each additional qualification and will be scheduled by the POLU.

(5) In addition to the applicant successfully passing an approved
firearms qualification test, the applicant or his/her employer must
satisfy the physical certification requirements for a Class A license
as established herein.

(6) Licensees holding an armed license may wear their approved
firearm with their uniform, unless classified as a nonuniformed pro-
prietary private investigator, while at work and while traveling direct-
ly to and from work.

(7) Those licensed as private security and proprietary private inves-
tigators must comply with city ordinance and state law which pro-
hibits carrying a firearm or other weapon readily capable of lethal
use into any building owned or occupied by any agency of the state
government. This includes the POLU and any other office within the
building or any other building occupied by the department.

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed May
28, 1993, effective Jan. 31, 1994. Rescinded and readopted: Filed
Dec. 15, 1999, effective Aug. 30, 2000. Rescinded and readopted:
Filed March 14, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will cost state agencies or polit-
ical subdivisions less than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggre-
gate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities five
hundred ten dollars ($510) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Board of
Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust, Kansas
City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners

Chapter 2—Private Security

PROPOSED RESCISSION

17 CSR 10-2.060 Regulation, Suspension and Revocation. This
rule gave the board the power to suspend or revoke any license grant-
ed by it and set out an appeal process for any license so affected.

PURPOSE: The board wishes to rescind this rule and adopt a new
rule in its place to clarify the language in the rule and ensure com-
pliance with the applicable law.

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 1994. Original rule filed Dec.
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded: Filed March 14,
2013.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rescission will not cost state agen-
cies or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500)
in the aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the Board
of Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust,
Kansas City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register. No public hearing is scheduled.

Title 17—BOARDS OF POLICE COMMISSIONERS
Division 10—Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners

Chapter 2—Private Security

PROPOSED RULE 

17 CSR 10-2.060 Regulation, Suspension, and Revocation

PURPOSE: Under section 84.720, RSMo, the Board of Police
Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri (board) shall regulate indi-
viduals providing private security/proprietary private investigative
services. Pursuant to this authority, the board has the power to sus-
pend, impose a fine, order probation, or revoke any license granted
by it and is obligated to furnish an appeal process for any license so
affected.

(1) The board may monitor and investigate allegations of improper
conduct and the activities of individuals providing private security
and proprietary private investigative services and firms, companies,
partnerships, entities, or political subdivisions providing security ser-
vices or proprietary private investigative services pursuant to these
rules.

(2) All licenses shall expire one (1) year from the date of initial
issuance. For licenses renewed after their expiration date, the
licensee will be processed as a new applicant. 

(3) A licensee must carry his/her license with him/her at all times
while they are working. The license card must be worn on the out-
ermost garment while on duty. The licensee must produce such
license immediately at the request of a police officer; employee of the
board; or person that the licensee has stopped or detained, if the
licensee holds a license which allows him/her to stop and detain per-
sons. 

(4) The Private Officers Licensing Unit (POLU) will approve in
advance all uniforms to be worn by any licensee. No uniform identi-
cal to or bearing resemblance to any uniform used by the department
shall be approved. Additionally, no uniforms, badges, or other
insignia  using the word “police” shall be approved for use, except
as provided in 17 CSR 10-2.030(1)(A)4. Companies licensed under
this chapter shall provide the board a description, including the type
and color of the company uniform along with a photograph of the
uniform. The company name must appear on the uniform or a patch
and the word “security” must also appear on the uniform or patch.
The word “security” must be clearly displayed on the outermost
clothing to be worn by the licensee.

(5) Individuals providing private security services or proprietary pri-
vate investigative services are required to file a discharge of firearms
report with the board within five (5) days of the incident whenever
they discharge a firearm in the course of their occupation, other than
formal firearms training.

(6) Individuals providing private security services or proprietary pri-
vate investigative services are required to notify the POLU when they
are arrested or have court cases pending within five (5) days of the
incident.

(7) No person licensed under these provisions shall divulge to any
unauthorized person or company any information or knowledge
received from the department or any source when the divulgence
would be detrimental to effective law enforcement. Under no cir-
cumstances may any records received from the department, whether
generated by computer or otherwise, be accessed for personal use.

(8) The chief of police or his/her designee may impose a fine, order
probation, order a suspension, or revoke a license of any company
granted under section 84.720 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri pur-
suant to the procedures set forth in section (10) of this rule, when
there exists information that the licensee or, if the licensee is an orga-
nization, any of its officers, directors, partners, or associates has—

(A) Failed to meet the qualifications in 17 CSR 10-2.020(3);
(B) Failed to maintain the physical and mental standards required

of department police officers;
(C) Failed to understand and perform the duties and responsibili-

ties of a licensee;
(D) Been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor in federal or

state court;
(E) Failed to be of good moral character by having a felony con-

viction, misdemeanor conviction, or city ordinance conviction, an
essential element of which is fraud, dishonesty, an act of violence,
bribery, illegal drug use, sexual misconduct, and other similar acts
constituting moral turpitude as defined by the common law of
Missouri except that city ordinance convictions involving driving
while intoxicated or driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
will be considered on a case-by-case basis;

(F) For armed licensees, been named as the respondent in a full
order of protection currently in effect issued after a hearing by a
court of competent jurisdiction; 

(G) Failed to meet the standards as set out herein;
(H) Made a false statement or given any false information in con-

nection with an investigation by the POLU or the department;
(I) Provided other facts or actions which demonstrate that the

applicant is unsuitable or ineligible to continue to hold a license; and
(J) Being terminated from or resigning under investigation or

threat of discharge from the department shall make an individual
ineligible for a license, but s/he may appeal to the board pursuant to
the appeal process contained in this chapter.

(9) Any fine imposed by the chief of police shall not exceed the sum
of five thousand dollars ($5,000). No suspension shall exceed ninety
(90) days except that a suspension which is challenged and pending
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before a court of competent jurisdiction will continue in effect until
a final judgment by a court of competent jurisdiction unless the court
has issued a stay.

(10) When the chief of police or his/her designee determines that a
license granted pursuant to section 84.720 of the Revised Statutes of
Missouri shall be suspended or revoked, the following procedures
shall apply:

(A) Notice of fine, probation, suspension, or revocation shall be
mailed to the licensee and their company at the address maintained
in the Private Officers Licensing Unit (POLU);

(B) Notice of suspension or revocation shall be signed by the chief
of police or his/her designee and shall indicate—

1. The decision to suspend or revoke;
2. The reason(s);
3. Duration of the suspension, if determinable;
4. Condition of reinstatement, if any; and
5. A description of the appeal process;

(C) Upon receipt of a notice of fine, suspension, or revocation, the
individual or organization affected may request a review of the action
of the POLU by filing a notice of appeal, in writing, with the POLU
within thirty (30) business days of the dated written notification of
suspension or revocation at 635 Woodland, Suite 2104, Kansas City,
MO 64106;  

(D) In the case of an appeal, the discipline initially assessed will
continue in effect until and unless it is reversed or amended by the
board;

(E) In the event of an appeal, the case shall be submitted to the
board solely on the record. The record shall consist of all documen-
tary evidence obtained by or submitted to the chief of police or the
POLU by the parties, any agreed upon statement of the case agreed
to by all the parties, and the legal briefs as might be filed by the par-
ties or their representatives. Individuals or organizations denied a
license upon application may appeal to board pursuant to this sec-
tion; and

(F) The chief of police or his/her designee may place a licensee on
probation in lieu of a fine, suspension, or revocation.  

AUTHORITY: section 84.720, RSMo 2000. Original rule filed Dec.
5, 1979, effective March 17, 1980. For intervening history, please
consult the Code of State Regulations. Rescinded and readopted:
Filed March 14, 2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rule will cost state agencies or polit-
ical subdivisions less than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggre-
gate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities three
thousand, two hundred dollars ($3,200) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS: Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Board of
Police Commissioners of Kansas City, Missouri, 1125 Locust, Kansas
City, Missouri 64106. To be considered, comments must be received
within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the Missouri
Register. No public hearing is scheduled.
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Title 19—DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SENIOR SERVICES

Division 20—Division of Community and Public Health
Chapter 1—Food Protection

PROPOSED RESCISSION

19 CSR 20-1.025 Sanitation of Food Establishments. This rule
established up-to-date sanitation standards for food-service establish-
ments designated in Chapter 196, RSMo, using the federal Food and
Drug Administration 1999 Food Code.

PURPOSE: This rule is being rescinded as it is outdated and is being
replaced with a rule that incorporates updated federal Food and
Drug Administration Food Code language.

AUTHORITY: sections 192.006, 196.190, 196.195, 196.210,
196.220, 196.225, 196.230, 196.235, 196.240, 196.245, 196.250,
and 196.265, RSMo 2000, and 192.020, RSMo Supp. 2004. Original
rule filed April 26, 1999, effective Oct. 30, 1999. Amended: Filed
March 1, 2005, effective Sept. 30, 2005. Rescinded: Filed March 11,
2013.

PUBLIC COST: This proposed rescission will not cost state agencies
or political subdivisions more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the
aggregate.

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rescission will not cost private enti-
ties more than five hundred dollars ($500) in the aggregate.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rescission with the
Department of Health and Senior Services, Division of Community
and Public Health, Harold Kirbey, Division Director, PO Box 570,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570.  To be considered, comments must
be received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in
the Missouri Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.  

Title 19—DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND
SENIOR SERVICES

Division 20—Division of Community and Public Health
Chapter 1—Food Protection

PROPOSED RULE

19 CSR 20-1.025 Missouri Food Code

PURPOSE: This rule establishes up-to-date sanitation standards for
food establishments designated in Chapter 196, RSMo.

PUBLISHER’S NOTE: The secretary of state has determined that the
publication of the entire text of the material which is incorporated by
reference as a portion of this rule would be unduly cumbersome or
expensive. This material as incorporated by reference in this rule
shall be maintained by the agency at its headquarters and shall be
made available to the public for inspection and copying at no more
than the actual cost of reproduction. This note applies only to the ref-
erence material. The entire text of the rule is printed here.

(1) Food establishments shall comply with the sanitation standards
and processes contained in the Department of Health and Senior
Services Missouri Food Code manual. The manual is incorporated by
reference in this rule as published March 11, 2013, by the
Department of Health and Senior Services and is available on the
web at www.health.mo.gov or by contacting the department at PO
Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, (573) 751-6095. This rule
does not incorporate any subsequent amendments or additions.

AUTHORITY: sections 192.006 and 196.045, RSMo 2000, and sec-
tion 192.020, RSMo Supp. 2012. Original rule filed April 26, 1999,
effective Oct. 30, 1999. Amended: Filed March 1, 2005, effective
Sept. 30, 2005. Rescinded and readopted: Filed March 11, 2013.

PUBLIC COST:  This proposed rule will cost state agencies or polit-
ical subdivisions seven thousand three hundred thirty-nine dollars
($7,339) in the first year and three thousand two hundred dollars
($3,200) annually in the aggregate.   

PRIVATE COST: This proposed rule will cost private entities
$1,345,000 in the aggregate. However, the majority of food estab-
lishments, operating in jurisdictions inspected under state regula-
tions, will have no additional costs associated with the adoption of
this proposed rule. 

Eight hundred seventy-five thousand dollars ($875,000) is a one-
(1-) time cost for those food establishments currently operating with
dated refrigeration, who will now need to replace or repair their
equipment to maintain food temperatures at or below forty-one
degrees Fahrenheit (41 °F); four hundred twelve thousand five hun-
dred dollars ($412,500) is also a one- (1-) time cost which will be
divided among food establishments that prepare or serve raw or par-
tially cooked potentially hazardous foods (PHFs). Their menus will
now be required to inform consumers by way of a disclosure and
reminder of the increased risk of foodborne illnesses associated with
eating raw or undercooked PHFs. Fifty thousand dollars ($50,000),
a one- (1-) time cost, will impact food establishments preparing thin
mass foods, such as hamburgers. These food establishments will be
required to purchase a small-diameter probe thermometer that can
more accurately take temperatures of these type foods; and finally
seven thousand five hundred dollars ($7,500) is an annual cost that
will impact food establishments operating on a private water system
that continuously have unsafe water sample results. These food
establishments will now be required to install continuous disinfection
(a chlorinator) to assure the water used and served is safe for con-
sumption by the consumer.

NOTICE TO SUBMIT COMMENTS:  Anyone may file a statement in
support of or in opposition to this proposed rule with the Missouri
Department of Health and Senior Services, Division of Community
and Public Health, Harold Kirbey, Division Director, PO Box 570,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570. To be considered, comments must be
received within thirty (30) days after publication of this notice in the
Missouri Register.  No public hearing is scheduled.  
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