Missouri Digital Heritage :: Educational Resources :: Timeline of Missouri History : 1800-1820

Timeline of Missouri History: 1800-1820




1800 Moses Austin made the first sheet lead and cannonballs manufactured in Missouri
1800 Spain returned the Louisiana Territory to France (Oct. 30) Fort Osage
Fort Osage
1803 The Louisiana Purchase was signed (Apr. 30)
1804 The Lewis and Clark Expedition set out from St. Louis (May 14)
1805 The Territory of Louisiana was established; the seat of government was St. Louis (Mar. 3)
1808 The city of Ste. Genevieve was incorporated (June 18)
1808 Joseph Charless founded the first newspaper in Missouri, the "Missouri Gazette"
1808 Fort Osage was established on the Missouri River
1809 The Missouri Fur Company was organized in St. Louis. The abundance of animal pelts in the Mississippi Valley region played a key role in the development of the Upper Louisiana territory. Prominent members of the Company included fur trader Manuel Lisa, Auguste and Pierre Chouteau, and William Clark
1811 The first shocks of the New Madrid earthquakes, the worst in US history, occurred (Dec. 16)
1812 A portion of the Territory of Louisiana became the Territory of Missouri (June 4)
1812 The first general assembly of the Territory of Missouri met (Oct. 1); the five original counties were organized: Cape Girardeau, New Madrid, St. Charles, St. Louis, and Ste. Genevieve
1816 Mid-Missouri’s first circuit court opened at Cole’s Fort (July 8)
1817 The steamboat Zebulon M. Pike reached St. Louis, the first steamboat to navigate the Mississippi River above the mouth of the Ohio River (Aug. 2)
1818 The Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives presented the first petition to Congress from Missouri requesting statehood (Jan. 8)