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20 CSR 400-11.100 Navigator Examination 
and Licensing Procedures and Standards 

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the applica-
tion process, fees, examination, and initial 
training for navigators. 

(1) Application and Fees. Application for a 
navigator license shall include the following, 
as applicable: 

(A) Initial Licensure. 
1. Individual navigator. 

A. A completed application form, 
which is included herein as Exhibit 1 of this 
rule revised July 24, 2013, or any form which 
substantially comports with the specified 
form. 

B. Twenty-five dollar ($25) applica-
tion fee. 

2. Entity navigator. 
A. A completed application form, 

which is included herein as Exhibit 2 of this 
rule revised July 24, 2013, or any form which 
substantially comports with the specified 
form.  

B. Fifty dollar ($50) application fee. 
C. List of all Missouri-licensed navi-

gators conducting business on behalf of the 
entity. 

(2) Required Examination.  
(A) Before an individual may be licensed as 

a navigator, the applicant must first take and 
pass an examination testing the individual’s 
knowledge regarding health insurance, health 
insurance exchanges, and navigator roles and 
responsibilities. The department may contract 
with an independent testing service(s) to 
administer an examination. In order to take the 
examination, an individual must register and 
pay an applicable testing fee.   

(B) An individual may satisfy the examina-
tion requirement by demonstrating achieve-
ment of a passing score on any approved cer-
tification examination that allows the 
individual to perform duties identified in 42 
U.S.C. section 18031(i) or related duties, 
irrespective of whether the examination is for 
purposes of serving as a navigator, certified 
application counselor, in-person assister, or 
health center outreach and enrollment assis-
tance worker.     

(3) Initial Training. Initial training shall be 
that training which is sufficient to pass the 
examination referenced in section (2) above.   
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AUTHORITY: sections 374.045 and 
376.2000–376.2014, RSMo Supp. 2013.* 
Emergency rule filed July 24, 2013, effective 
Aug. 3, 2013, expired Jan. 29, 2014. Original 
rule filed July 24, 2013, effective Jan. 30, 
2014. 

*Original authority: 374.045, RSMo 1967, amended 
1993, 1995, 2008; 376.2000, RSMo 2013; 376.2002, 
RSMo 2013; 376.2004, RSMo 2013; 376.2006, RSMo 
2013; 376.2008, RSMo 2013; 376.2010, RSMo 2013; 
376.2011, RSMo 2013; 376.2012, RSMo 2013; and 
376.2014, RSMo 2013. 
 
 
20 CSR 400-11.120 Continuing Education 
for Individual Navigators  

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the contin-
uing education requirements for individual 
navigators. All forms referenced in this reg-
ulation may be accessed at the depart-
ment’s website at www.insurance.mo.gov. 

(1) As used in this rule, the following terms 
shall mean: 

(A) Approved course—an educational pre-
sentation offered in a class, seminar, self-
study or other form of instruction regarding 
navigator roles and responsibilities, Missouri 
law, ethics, and the health insurance exchange 
operating in this state; 

(B) Navigator Continuing Education Cer-
tificate of Course Completion—The form 
which is included herein as Exhibit 1 of this 
rule revised September 20, 2013, or any form 
which substantially comports with the speci-
fied form, completed by the authorized 
provider of an approved course which signi-
fies satisfactory completion of the course and 
reflects the hours of credit earned;  

(C) Navigator Continuing Education Certi-
fication Summary—The form which is 
included herein as Exhibit 2 of this rule 
revised September 20, 2013, or any form 
which substantially comports with the speci-
fied form, completed by the licensee which 
documents compliance with the continuing 
education requirements in section 376.2006, 
RSMo; 

(D) Navigator Continuing Education 
Provider Application for Course Approval—
The form which is included herein as Exhibit 
3 of this rule revised September 20, 2013, or 
any form which substantially comports with 
the specified form, completed by the course 
provider which requests approval of a contin-
uing education course;   

(E) Credit hour—Fifty (50) minutes of 
uninterrupted instruction pertaining to an 
approved course. Partial hours of credit are 
not allowed. Credit hours earned through 
self-study will be determined by the following 
method: 

1. Printed material—Page count of fif-
teen (15) pages will equal one (1) credit hour; 

2. Computer-based or Internet courses 
will be calculated as:  three (3) screens (750 
words) will equal one (1) printed page and 
forty-five (45) screens will equal one (1) 
credit hour; 

(F) Director—The director of the Depart-
ment of Commerce and Insurance or his/her 
designee; and 

(G) Licensee—An individual who is 
licensed by the department as a navigator. 

(2) Individual Navigator Continuing Educa-
tion Requirements. 

(A) Any individual licensed as a navigator 
shall complete courses or programs of 
instruction equivalent to a total of at least 
twelve (12) hours of instruction during the 
two- (2-) year licensure period.   

(B) Of the twelve (12) hours of instruction 
during the two- (2-) year license period, indi-
vidual navigators must complete three (3) 
hours of instruction covering ethics and Mis-
souri law. Courses on ethics and Missouri law 
must be approved as such by the director to 
be eligible for meeting this requirement. 

(C) An individual navigator may satisfy the 
continuing education requirement by demon-
strating completion of continuing education 
that allows the individual to be certified or 
recertified to perform the duties identified in 
42 U.S.C. section 18031(i) or related duties, 
irrespective of whether the continuing educa-
tion is for purposes of serving as a navigator, 
certified application counselor, in-person 
assister, or health center outreach and enroll-
ment assistance worker.  

(D) An individual navigator who satisfies 
the continuing education requirement through 
subsection (C) must also complete three (3) 
hours of instruction covering ethics and Mis-
souri law. Courses on ethics and Missouri law 
must be approved as such by the director to 
be eligible for meeting this requirement. 

(E) An individual navigator must submit the 
form “Navigator Continuing Education Certi-
fication Summary” to the director to show 
compliance with section 376.2006, RSMo, at 
the time of their biennial license renewal. The 
director may examine the licensee’s continuing 
education records wherever they may be 
found. 

(3) Navigator Continuing Education Provider 
Requirements. 

(A) A continuing education provider must 
seek course approval by completing the form 
“Navigator Continuing Education Provider 
Application for Course Approval” and sub-
mitting a filing fee of fifty dollars ($50) per 
course. Courses shall be approved for a peri-

od of no more than one (1) year.   
(B) A continuing education provider must 

furnish the form “Navigator Continuing Edu-
cation Certificate of Course Completion” to 
any licensee who earns continuing education 
credit hours after completing an approved 
course. The director may examine the contin-
uing education provider’s approved courses 
and records for such courses. 

(C) Within thirty (30) days of the date a 
course is completed by a licensee, continuing 
education providers shall electronically notify 
the director of the credit hours earned by a 
licensee. 
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AUTHORITY: sections 374.045 and 376.2004 
through 376.2014, RSMo Supp. 2013.* Emer-
gency rule filed Sept. 20, 2013, effective Sept. 
30, 2013, expired March 28, 2014. Original 
rule filed Sept. 20, 2013, effective March 30, 
30, 2014. Non-substantive change filed Sept. 
11, 2019, published Oct. 31, 2019. 

*Original authority: 374.045, RSMo 1967, amended 
1993, 1995, 2008; 376.2004, RSMo 2013; 376.2006, 
RSMo 2013; 376.2008, RSMo 2013; 376.2010, RSMo 
2013; 376.2011, RSMo 2013; 376.2012, RSMo 2013; and 
376.2014, RSMo 2013. 
 
 
20 CSR 400-11.140 Renewal Applications 
and Fees—Individual Navigators and Entity 
Navigators 

PURPOSE: This rule prescribes the license 
renewal application process and fees for indi-
vidual navigators and entity navigators. All 
forms referenced in this regulation may be 
accessed at the department’s website at 
www.insurance.mo.gov. 

(1) Renewal Application and Fees. Applica-
tion for renewal of a navigator license shall 
include the following, as applicable: 

(A) Individual Navigator. 
1. A completed renewal application 

form, which is included herein as Exhibit 1 
of this rule, or any form which substantially 
comports with the specified form; 

2. Twenty-five dollar ($25) application 
fee.  If the renewal application is not received 
before the license expires, a late fee of ten 
dollars ($10) must be added to the application 
fee; and 

3. A completed Navigator Continuing 
Education Certification Summary form refer-
enced in 20 CSR 400-11.120(1)(C); or 

(B) Entity Navigator. 
1. A completed renewal application 

form, which is included herein as Exhibit 2 
of this rule, or any form which substantially 
comports with the specified form; 

2. Fifty dollar ($50) application fee. If 
the renewal application is not received before 
the license expires, a late fee of fifteen dollars 
($15) must be added to the application fee; 
and 

3. List of all Missouri-licensed navigators 
conducting business on behalf of the entity. 
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AUTHORITY: sections 374.045, 376.2006, 
and 376.2014, RSMo Supp. 2013.* Emergen-
cy rule filed July 15, 2015, effective July 25, 
2015, expired Feb. 25, 2016. Original rule 
filed July 15, 2015, effective Jan. 30, 2016.  

*Original authority: 374.045, RSMo 1967, amended 
1993, 1995, 2008; 376.2006, RSMo 2013; and 376.2014, 
RSMo 2013. 


