## Rules of Department of Agriculture Division 70—Plant Industries Chapter 45—Noxious Weed Rules

Title	I	Page
2 CSR 70-45.005	Noxious Weed List	3
2 CSR 70-45.010	Terms and Duties of County Weed Control Boards	3

## Title 2—DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Division 70—Plant Industries Chapter 45—Noxious Weed Rules

## 2 CSR 70-45.005 Noxious Weed List

*PURPOSE:* This rule specifies the plants considered to be noxious weeds.

(1) The director of the Department of Agriculture has the authority to designate, or remove, a weed species identified as a noxious weed.

(A) The noxious weed list includes the following plants:

1. Canada thistle (Cirsium arvense L. Scop.);

2. Common teasel (Dipsacus fullonum L.);

3. Cutleaf teasel (Dipsacus laciniatus L.);

4. Field bindweed (*Convolvulus arvensis* L.);

5. Johnson grass (Sorghum halepense L.);

6. Kudzu (*Pueraria montana* [Lour.] Merr.);

7. Marijuana (Cannabis sativa L.);

8. Multiflora rose (*Rosa multiflora* Thunb. ex Murr.);

9. Musk thistle (Carduus nutans L.);

10. Purple loosestrife (*Lythrum salicaria* L. and any hybrids thereof);

11. Scotch thistle (*Onopordum acanthi-um* L.); and

12. Spotted knapweed (*Centaurea* stoebe L., including all subspecies).

(B) The director will establish an advisory group to provide input on other plant species to consider for designation as noxious weeds that can directly or indirectly injure or cause injury to crops (including agricultural and horticultural), livestock, poultry, or other interests of agriculture. The advisory group may include representation from those entities responsible for noxious weed management on their lands or rights-of-way including, but not be limited to, federal, state, county, municipal, university, horticulture, and agriculture groups or agencies.

(C) The department will maintain a list of noxious weeds and make it available to the public.

AUTHORITY: section 263.190, RSMo Supp. 2011.\* Emergency rule filed Aug. 18, 2011, effective Aug. 28, 2011, expired Feb. 23, 2012. Original rule filed Sept. 12, 2011, effective March 30, 2012.

\*Original authority: 263.190, RSMo 1939, amended 1979, 1992, 2011.

PURPOSE: To establish terms and duties of weed control board members.

(1) Appointments of county weed control boards will be for a term of three (3) years with, the initial appointment being made as follows: one (1) man for one (1) year, one (1) man for two (2) years and one (1) man for three (3) years and each year thereafter one (1) man will be appointed to fill the expired term.

(2) Duties of Weed Control Board.

(A) To be fully informed of the requirements of the Johnson grass control and eradication law and to be informed on the control measures recommended by the Missouri College of Agriculture.

(B) Select such personnel as deemed necessary to expedite the county weed control program.

(C) Notify public utilities, the state highway department, county courts, railroads, drainage districts, township boards, special road districts and other public and quasi public corporations of the act and requirements for compliance.

(D) Review the farm maps and reports of farm inspectors to determine progress of eradication and control and report to the director of agriculture the names of those landowners not complying with the requirements of the law.

(E) Field Inspectors—not less than one (1) inspector per township should be employed for field inspection. If in the judgement of the county weed control committee, more are necessary to complete the inspection within the required time, they may be employed.

AUTHORITY: section 263.259, RSMo 1986.\* Original rule filed Dec. 1, 1966, effective Dec. 10, 1966.

\*Original authority: 263.259, RSMo 1957, amended 1959.