Rules of **Department of Social Services**

Division 73—Missouri Board of Nursing Home Administrators Chapter 2—General Rules

Title		Page
13 CSR 73-2.010	Definitions (Moved to 19 CSR 73-2.010)	3
13 CSR 73-2.015	Fees	3
13 CSR 73-2.020	Procedures and Requirements for Licensure of Nursing Home Administrators	3
13 CSR 73-2.025	Licensure by Reciprocity	8
13 CSR 73-2.030	Examination (Rescinded August 11, 1980)	8
13 CSR 73-2.031	Prescribed Course of Instruction and Training	8
13 CSR 73-2.040	Board (Rescinded August 11, 1980)	10
13 CSR 73-2.041	Cumulative Point-Value System (Rescinded November 30, 2001)	10
13 CSR 73-2.050	Renewal of Licenses	10
13 CSR 73-2.051	Retired Licensure Status	14
13 CSR 73-2.055	Renewal of Expired License	16
13 CSR 73-2.060	Registration of Training Agencies and Single Offering Providers	16
13 CSR 73-2.065	Reciprocity Approval of Continuing Education Programs (Rescinded July 30, 1996)	22
13 CSR 73-2.070	Examination (Moved to 19 CSR 73-2.070)	22
13 CSR 73-2.080	Temporary Emergency Licenses	22
13 CSR 73-2.085	Public Complaints	26
13 CSR 73-2.090	Disciplinary Action	29
13 CSR 73-2.095	Standards of Professional Conduct	29

13 CSR 73-2.100	Restoration and Rehabilitation of Suspended/Revoked Licenses (Moved to 19 CSR 73-2.100)	30
13 CSR 73-2.105	Disciplinary Proceedings (Moved to 19 CSR 73-2.105)	30
13 CSR 73-2.110	Display of License (Moved to 19 CSR 73-2.110)	30
13 CSR 73-2.120	Duplicate License (Moved to 19 CSR 73-2.120)	30
13 CSR 73-2.130	Noticed of Change of Address (Moved to 19 CSR 73-2.130)	30

Chapter 2—General Rules

Title 13—DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Division 73—Missouri Board of Nursing Home Administrators Chapter 2—General Rules

13 CSR 73-2.010 Definitions (Moved to 19 CSR 73-2.010)

13 CSR 73-2.015 Fees

PURPOSE: This rule establishes and fixes the various fees and charges authorized by Chapter 344, RSMo.

- (1) The following fees are required by the Board of Nursing Home Administrators:
 - (A) Application Review Fee (including reciprocity) \$100
- (B) National exam fee and computer administration fee for the national exam as fixed by the National Association of Board of Examiners of Long Term Care Administrators (NAB);

(C) State Exam Fee \$ 75
(D) License Renewal Fee \$ 50
(E) License Renewal Late Penalty
Fee (This fee is in addition to the renewal fee listed in subsection (1)(D)) \$ 25
(F) Duplicate License Fee \$ 5
(G) Single Offering Fee (per requested clock hour) \$ 10
(H) Insufficient Funds Charge \$ 25

- (2) Fees listed in (1)(A) and (C)–(H) must be made payable to the Division of Aging in the form of a cashier's check, company check or money order. Fees listed in (1)(B) must be made payable to the National Association of Board of Examiners of Long Term Care Administrators (NAB).
- (3) All fees are nonrefundable.
- (4) The provisions of this rule are declared severable. If any fee fixed by this rule is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction or by the Administrative Hearing Commission, the remaining provisions of this rule shall remain in full force and effect, unless otherwise determined by a court of competent jurisdiction or by the Administrative Hearing Commission.

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo 2000.* Original rule filed Jan. 3, 1992, effective May 14, 1992. Amended: Filed March 4, 1993, effective Aug. 9, 1993. Emergency amendment filed Nov. 17, 1999, effective Dec. 11, 1999, expired June 7, 2000.

Amended: Filed Nov. 1, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. Emergency amendment filed Nov. 30, 2001, effective Jan. 1, 2002, expired June 29, 2002. Amended: Filed Nov. 30, 2001, effective June 30, 2002.

*Original authority: 344.070, RSMo 1969, amended 1979, 1993, 1995.

13 CSR 73-2.020 Procedures and Requirements for Licensure of Nursing Home Administrators

PURPOSE: This rule specifies the minimum requirements for licensure as a nursing home administrator in Missouri.

- (1) Every applicant shall obtain an application form, included herein, from the board. The application shall be completed and returned to the board with a nonrefundable application fee.
- (2) The completed application form shall provide satisfactory proof that the applicant has met the following minimum requirements for Missouri licensure:
 - (A) Twenty-one (21) years of age or over;
 - (B) A high school diploma or equivalent;
 - (C) Of good moral character;
- (D) Has not been convicted of any crime, an essential element of which is fraud, dishonesty or moral turpitude, or which involves the operation of a long-term care facility or other health-care facility, whether or not sentence is imposed. A copy of the record of conviction or plea of guilty or nolo contendere shall be conclusive evidence of the conviction; and
- (E) Experience and/or education from an accredited educational institution in one (1) of the following areas:
- 1. Experience: A minimum of three (3) years of experience in health-care administration, full-time equivalency; or
 - 2. Education:
- A. Associate degree in health-care administration, including a minimum of twenty-one (21) semester hours of course work directly in health-care administration; or
- B. Baccalaureate degree (Bachelor of Science or Bachelor of Arts) in one (1) of the following areas:
 - (I) Health-care administration;
- (II) Gerontology (including a long-term care practicum, internship, or both);
- $\overline{\mbox{(III)}}$ Nursing (BSN or diploma nurse); or
- C. Master's degree or beyond in one (1) of the following areas:
 - (I) Health-care administration;

- (II) Gerontology (including a longterm care practicum, internship or both);
 - (III) Nursing; or
- 3. Experience and education in one (1) of the following areas:
- A. Associate degree AND two (2) years experience in a health-care facility; or
- B. Baccalaureate degree (BS or BA) AND one (1) year experience in a health-care facility; or
- C. Master's degree or beyond AND one (1) year experience in a health-care facility.
- (3) The applicant, shall be eligible to take the examination upon submission of the National Association of Boards of Examiners for Long Term Care Administrators (NAB) Application Form for Computerized Testing, payment of the required fees and satisfactory completion of sections (1) and (2) of this rule.
- (4) If the board determines the applicant has failed to meet one (1) of the criteria outlined in 13 CSR 73-2.020(2)(E)1.-3., the applicant—
- (A) Must complete the course of instruction and training approved by the board pursuant to 13 CSR 73-2.031. The planned curriculum, including a description of each planned course, must be submitted to the board in writing for PRIOR review and approval. Failure to do so within six (6) months following notification of the board's decision will cause reapplication to become necessary for any future consideration.
- (B) May submit additional information for reevaluation if done so no later than two (2) weeks prior to the next board meeting. The applicant will be given notice of the next board meeting date.





Please type or print

in ink and return to: Board of Nursing Home Administrators P.O. Box 1337

Jefferson City, MO 65102

I. IDENTIFYING INF	ORMATIO	N								
1. NAME LAST FIRS					ST			MIDDLE		
		_								
2. ADDRESS - HOME		STREET CITY			Y COUNTY			STATE	ZIP CODE	
ADDRESS - BUSINESS		STREET		CIT	Y		COUNTY	STATE	ZIP CODE	
3. TELEPHONE NUMBER					ALL CORRE	SPONDENC	E WILL BE ADDRE	SSED TO YOUR H	HOME UNL	ESS YOU
HOME		BUSINESS	- -		NOTIFY US	DIFFERENT SE OF HOM	LY. YOU ARE REC IE OR BUSINESS	DUIRED TO NOTIF	Y THIS OF	FFICE OF
4. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMB	ER	5. DATE OF BI	RTH		6. PLACE OF		CITY	STATE		
II. RECIPROCITY IN	FORMATIC	N								
1. HAVE YOU EVER AI IF YES, AND LICEN						ICENSE II	N ANY STATE?		YES	NO
IF YES, AND LICENSE I	ISSUED:									
STATE	DAT	E OF LICENS	SURE	LICENSE N	UMBER		STATUS (CURR	ENT, EXPIRED, I	ETC.)	
				<u>-</u>					YES	NO
2. HAVE YOU EVER I SUSPENDED OR RI		RSING HO	ME AD	MINISTRATO	RS LICEN:	SE OR A	NY HEALTH C	ARE LICENSE		
3. HAVE YOU EVER B OR OTHER HEALTH			AN OF	FENSE INVO	LVING TH	e opera	TION OF A NU	RSING HOME		
4. HAVE YOU EVER E FRAUD OR MORAL			F A CR	IME, AN ESS	ENTIAL EL	EMENT (OF WHICH IS	DISHONESTY,		
5. ARE YOU FAMIL ADMINISTRATORS					ULATION	S GOVE	RNING NUR	SING HOME		
HEIGHT WEIGHT C	OLOR OF HAIR	EYES]							
			EYPLAIN	YES ANSWERS	GIVEN TO OL	IESTIONS 1	4 RELOW			
			LATEAIN	VILORIONERO	GIVEN 10 QC)E3110N3 1-	4 BELOW			
ATTA	CH				······					
RECENTI										ĺ
HER	ìΕ						<u>- · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·</u>			
									_	
MO 886-1116 (10-90)			L	_					DA-190	(Rev. 10/90)

BOARD OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE — CONTINUED

III. EDUCATION RECORD									
1. ARE YOU A HIGH SCHOOL GRADUAT	E?							YES	NO
2. LIST BELOW EDUCATION BEYOND HI	GH S	СНО	OL						
SCHOOL NAME AND ADDRE	ss				COURSE OF STUDY	YEARS ATTENDED FROM TO	DID YOU GRADUATE?	LIST DII OR DE	
							□ YES □ NO		
							☐ YES ☐ NO		
							□ YES □ NO		
							□ YES □ NO		
3. HAVE YOU ATTENDED IN THE LAST FEEL PERTAINS TO THIS LICENSE? IF COURSE TITLE, SPONSORING AGENC	SO, 1	PLEAS	SE AT	TACH	H CERTIFICATES	OF ATTENDANG	SHORT COURSE CE COPIES WHIC	S WHIC	H YOU JMENT
IV. EMPLOYMENT HISTORY									
1. MAY THE MISSOURI BOARD OF NUR	SING	HON	1E AD	MINI	STRATORS MAK	E INQUIRY OF	OUR PRESENT	YES	NO
OR PAST EMPLOYERS?									
2. IF YOU HAVE EVER BEEN DISMISSED FROM A POSITION, PLEASE EXPLAIN GIVING DATE, EMPLOYER AND CIRCUMSTANCES. 3. LIST ALL PRESENT AND PAST EMPLOYMENT, BEGINNING WITH YOUR MOST RECENT POSITION.									
NAME AND ADDRESS OF EMPLOYER			·· - ·				TYPE OF BUSINESS		
POSITION TITLE(S)	FF MO.	YR.	MO.	YR.	- NA	ME AND TITLE OF IM	MEDIATE SUPERVISO	OR .	
1,									
2									
3.									
LIST DUTIES IN EACH POSITION TITLE LISTED ABOV	E								
				-					
2.					·····				
3.									
									
NO 995 1115 (40 CO)									
MO 886-1116 (10-90)									



BOARD OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE — CONTINUED

NAME AND ADDRESS OF EMPLOYER					TYPE OF BUSINESS
POSITION TITLE(S)	FR	 	0	NAME AND TITLE OF IMMEDIATE SUPERVISOR	
1.	MO.	YR.	MO.	YR.	
2.				_	
3.					
LIST DUTIES IN EACH POSITION TITLE LISTED ABOV	Æ				
1.					
	-				
2.			-		
			<u> </u>		
3.					
NAME AND ADDRESS OF EMPLOYER					TYPE OF BUSINESS
	rn.	ОМ	1 -	·O	
POSITION TITLE(S)	MO.	YR.	MO.	YR.	NAME AND TITLE OF IMMEDIATE SUPERVISOR
1.					
2.					
3.					
LIST DUTIES IN EACH POSITION TITLE LISTED ABOV		<u> </u>			
1.					
2.					
3.				<u>-</u>	
NAME AND ADDRESS OF EMPLOYER					TYPE OF BUSINESS
POSITION TITLE(S)	FR	ОМ	Т	0	NAME AND TITLE OF HAMEDIATE SUPERVICED
1.	MO.	YR.	MO.	YR.	NAME AND TITLE OF IMMEDIATE SUPERVISOR
			<u> </u>		
2.					
3.					
MO 886-1116 (10-90)	L	L	L	L	

BOARD OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS **APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE** — CONTINUED

LIST DUTIES IN EACH P	OSITION TITE	LE LISTED ABOVE					****	•		
1.	OSMON TIT	LE CISTED ABOVE	-							
	 									
2.										
								,		
3.										
								1		
NAME AND ADDRESS OF	F EMPLOYER							ΤΥ	PE OF BUSI	INESS
POSITIO	ON TITLE(S)		FR	МС	Т	0	NAM	E AND TITLE OF IMME	DIATE SUD	EDVISOR
1.			MO.	YR.	MO.	YR.	IVAIN	TE AND THE OF HAME	DIATE SOF	
2.										
LIST DUTIES IN EACH P	OSITION TITI	LE LISTED ABOVE		L	<u> </u>	<u> </u>	<u> </u>			
1.										
		**								
2.										
·					-					
V. GENERAL										
NURSING HOME AFFI	LIATION (IF A	(NY)								
NAME OF FACILITY							STREET ADDRESS			
CITY			STATE	=			COUNTY			ZIP CODE
BED CAPACITY	LICENSED E	BY MO. DIVISION	OF AG		-		ADMINISTRATOR			
YOUR NAME AS YOU WI							THIS DOCUMENT	MUST BEAR APPLIC	ANT'S NO	TARIZED SIGNATURE
PLEASE REFER TO THE INS	STRUCTION SH	IEET WHEN COMPL	ETING	THE AC	PLICATI				-	
THE FOLLOWING ITEMS MU 1 TWO (2) CURRENT LETT	IST ACCOMPAN	IY THIS FORM:					 COPY OF HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA (ONLY IF NO COLLEGE HOURS HAVE BEEN OBTAINED. RECENT PHOTO (SNAPSHOT ACCEPTABLE). COPY OF CERTIFICATE OF ATTENDANCE FOR EACH SEMINAR FOR WHICH YOU WISI 			
PRESENT EMPLOYERS. 2. COPY OF BIRTH CERTIFIC	CATE.						TO RECEIVE POINTS. 7. MONEY ORDER FOR	\$100.00 MADE PAYABLE		CTOR OF REVENUE (NON-
3. OFFICIAL COLLEGE TRAN		S I HAVE MAT)F TC	FAC	H ANI	D ALI	OF THE OUESTIC		CATION A	RE FULL AND TRUE
TO THE BEST OF MY										THE POLE AND THOSE
SIGNATURE								DATE		
NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER SEAL		v.	CT					COUNTY (OR CITY OF	ST. LOUIS)	
	9	UBSCRIBED AND			OPE M			-		
	0.	SUSCINDED AND	31101	DAY		L , 11110	19	USE RUBBER ST	AMP IN CL	EAR AREA BELOW.
	N	OTARY PUBLIC SIGN	NATURI		<u> </u>		MY COMMISSION EXPIRES		111 01	er of rither blacky 17.
	N	OTARY PUBLIC NAM	Æ (TYP	ED OR F	PRINTED))		-		
AO 886-1116 (10-90)										

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo 2000.*
Original rule filed March 5, 1974, effective March 15, 1974. Rescinded and readopted: Filed May 13, 1980, effective Aug. 11, 1980. Amended: Filed April 14, 1983, effective July 11, 1983. Amended: Filed Oct. 16, 1985, effective March 14, 1986. Amended: Filed Oct. 1, 1987, effective Jan. 14, 1988. Amended: Filed Dec. 4, 1989, effective March 1, 1990. Emergency amendment filed Nov. 17, 1999, effective Dec. 11, 1999, expired June 7, 2000. Amended: Filed Nov. 1, 1999, effective April 30, 2000. Amended: Filed April 30, 2001, effective Jan. 1, 2002.

*Original authority: 344.070, RSMo 1969, amended 1979, 1993, 1995.

13 CSR 73-2.025 Licensure by Reciprocity

PURPOSE: This rule describes the procedures and requirements for reciprocity licensure.

- (1) An applicant who holds a current license as a nursing home administrator in any state, territory or the District of Columbia may apply for a license by reciprocity.
- (2) The applicant must file a notarized application for licensure, along with a nonrefundable application fee of one hundred dollars (\$100) made payable to the director of revenue, and supply the board with satisfactory evidence that the following requirements have been met:
- (A) Twenty-one (21) years of age or older;
- (B) High school graduate or equivalent (if the applicant has completed additional education beyond high school, an official college transcript must be submitted and may serve as satisfactory evidence of high school graduation):
- (C) Good moral character (Evidence of good moral character can be satisfied by submitting two (2) letters of reference that contain the names, addresses and telephone numbers of the writers and must show the writers' original signatures and must have been written within six (6) months of the date of application.);
- (D) No conviction of any crime, an essential element of which is fraud, dishonesty or moral turpitude, or which involves the operation of a long-term care facility or other health-care facility, whether or not sentence is imposed. A copy of the record of conviction or plea of guilty or nolo contendere shall be conclusive evidence of the conviction; and
- (E) Performance as a licensed nursing home administrator in a state, territory or the District of Columbia for at least one (1) year.

- (3) A reciprocity questionnaire shall be forwarded by the board to the appropriate state nursing home administrator licensure board(s) where the applicant was/is licensed. Upon return of the completed questionnaire to the board office, the information supplied by the licensure board shall be reviewed to determine if—
- (A) The license is current and in good standing; and
- (B) The licensee has/has not been disciplined in that state.
- (4) Each case of discipline shall be reviewed by the board to determine if the case for discipline falls within the provisions of section 344.050, RSMo.
- (5) Upon meeting the requirements of section (2) of this rule and upon board approval, the applicant must pay a fifty-dollar (\$50) examination fee and successfully complete the state examination administered by the board. The minimum passing score on that examination is seventy-five percent (75%).
- (6) If the applicant is unable to meet the requirements of subsection (2)(E) of this rule, but meets all other requirements of section (2), the candidate shall be considered an applicant for initial licensure pursuant to 13 CSR 73-2.041. If the results of that evaluation show that the applicant has a minimum of three thousand six hundred (3,600) points, the board shall accept the applicant's passing of the national examination in another state if it was taken within three (3) years of the applicant's submission for licensure in Missouri. The applicant then must meet the requirements of section (5) of this rule by paying the examination fee and successfully complete the state examination administered by the board. If the applicant does not possess a minimum of three thousand six hundred (3,600) points, the applicant will be required to complete a prescribed course of instruction and training as outlined in 13 CSR 73-2.041.
- (7) Applicants for licensure by reciprocity shall not act or serve in the capacity of a nursing home administrator in this state without first procuring a license from this board as provided in sections 344.010—344.100, RSMo.

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo Supp. 1993.* Original rule filed June 28, 1990, effective Dec. 31, 1990. Emergency amendment filed Feb. 4, 1992, effective Feb. 14, 1992, expired June 12, 1992. Amended: Filed Feb. 14, 1992, effective June 25, 1992.

Amended: Filed March 4, 1993, effective Aug. 9, 1993.

*Original authority: 344.070, RSMo 1969, amended 1979, 1993.

13 CSR 73-2.030 Examination

(Rescinded August 11, 1980)

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo 1978. Original rule filed March 5, 1974, effective March 15, 1974. Rescinded: Filed May 13, 1980, effective Aug. 11, 1980.

13 CSR 73-2.031 Prescribed Course of Instruction and Training

PURPOSE: This rule describes the course of instruction and training that may be prescribed by the board under the authority as set forth in section 344.030.1., RSMo.

- (1) Applicants who do not otherwise qualify for examination shall complete one of the following courses of instruction and training. The formal instruction shall be coursework qualifying for academic credit, completed with a grade of not less than "C." A portion of the formal instruction may be from an intensive and comprehensive seminar of at least forty (40) clock hours specific to nursing home administration which has been approved by the board. An applicant who has completed—
- (A) A high school education or the equivalent, must complete three hundred fifteen (315) clock hours of formal instruction and a minimum of two thousand (2,000) clock hours of internship;
- (B) A licensed practical nurse program, must complete two hundred twenty-five (225) clock hours of formal instruction and a minimum of eight hundred (800) clock hours of internship;
- (C) An associate degree, must complete six hundred forty (640) clock hours of internshin:
- (D) A three (3) year diploma program or a baccalaureate of science (BS)/baccalaureate of arts (BA), must complete five hundred (500) clock hours of internship; or
- (E) A masters or beyond, must complete five hundred (500) clock hours of internship.
- (2) The course of instruction and training shall follow the core of knowledge areas and other subject matter as deemed necessary by the board to properly prepare an applicant for health care administration. The core of knowledge shall include, but shall not be limited to, the following subject areas:

- (A) Nursing and Physician Services:
 - 1. Restorative nursing;
 - 2. Rehabilitation;
- 3. Definition, concept and procedures of nursing;
 - 4. Skin and wound care;
 - 5. Infection control procedures;
 - 6. Drug administration and drug effects;
 - 7. Disease recognition and process;
 - 8. Quality assurance;
 - 9. Physician's role in the facility; and
 - 10. Physician/resident relationships;
 - (B) Social Services:
 - 1. Resident rights;
 - 2. Living wills and advance directives;
- 3. Social, emotional, religious, and financial needs of the resident;
 - 4. Family counsel and consultation;
 - 5. Grieving process;
 - 6. Death and dying;
- 7. Communication with the resident; and
 - 8. Ombudsman program;
 - (C) Food Services:
 - 1. Proper nutrition;
 - 2. Therapeutic diets; and
 - 3. Resident satisfaction;
- (D) Social and Therapeutic Recreational Activities:
 - 1. Needs of the resident;
 - 2. Community resources;
 - 3. Rehabilitation services;
 - 4. Volunteers and auxiliaries; and
 - 5. Chemical dependency of the resident;
 - (E) Medical Recordkeeping:
 - 1. Medical records systems;
- 2. Appropriate charting and documentation; and
 - 3. Evaluation and revision of care plans;
 - (F) Pharmaceutical Services:
 - 1. Proper drug handling and control;
 - 2. Proper drug dispensing; and
 - 3. Drug interactions;
 - (G) Personnel Management:
 - 1. Maintaining a positive atmosphere;
 - 2. Grievance procedures;
 - 3. Effective communication;
 - 4. Evaluation procedures;
 - 5. Recruitment of staff;
 - 6. Interviewing candidates;
 - 7. Selecting future employees;
 - 8. Staff development and training;
 - 9. Personnel policies and procedures;
 - 10. Health and safety;
- 11 Departmental organization and management;
 - 12. Professional ethics and conduct;
 - 13. Total quality management; and
 - 14. Health care reform;
 - (H) Financial Management:
 - 1. Budgeting;
 - 2. Marketing principles;

- 3. Asset management; and
- 4. Accounting;
- (I) Marketing and Public Relations:
 - 1. Public relation principles;
 - 2. Marketing principles;
 - 3. Newsletters;
- 4. Community and social organizations;
- 5. Working with the media;
- (J) Physical Resource Management:
 - 1. Building and grounds management;
 - 2. Environmental services;
 - 3. Safety procedures and programs; and
 - 4. Fire and disaster plans; and
- (K) Laws, Regulatory Codes and Governing Boards:
 - 1. Medicare and Medicaid;
- 2. Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA);
- 3. Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA);
- 4. Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA);
 - 5. Life safety;
 - 6. Legislative process;
 - 7. Board responsibilities; and
 - 8. By-laws.
- (3) The course of instruction and training shall include instruction in the services which must be provided in nursing homes, the protection of the rights and interests of the residents and the elements of good nursing home administration as well as other subject matter as deemed necessary by the board to properly prepare that applicant for nursing home administration.
- (4) Instruction and training prescribed by the board shall be recognized as meeting the requirements of this rule only if it is offered by an accredited educational institution or affiliate which has been duly registered with the Missouri Board of Nursing Home Administrators.
- (5) Internships as required by section (1) shall be under the direct supervision of a licensed nursing home administrator approved and designated as a preceptor by the Missouri Board of Nursing Home Administrators. An administrator may be approved and designated as a preceptor for a period of two (2) years, if s/he—
- (A) Has been licensed and employed as a Missouri nursing home administrator for at least thirty-six (36) months immediately prior to application to become a preceptor;
- (B) Is currently serving as the administrator of a duly licensed intermediate care facility (ICF), skilled nursing facility (SNF), or a

Residential Care Facility (RCF) II with sixty (60) or more beds;

13 CSR 73-2

- (C) Is an administrator of an ICF, SNF, or RCF II with sixty (60) or more beds which is in substantial compliance with the rules governing nursing homes; and
- (D) Has not been the subject of any action by any board of nursing home administrators or licensing authority which resulted in discipline, including but not limited to, formal reprimand, probation, suspension or revocation of license or privileges as a nursing home administrator; and
- (E) Has successfully completed a board approved preceptor training program. Nursing home administrators who are approved and designated as a preceptor prior to the effective date of this amendment, shall not have to complete a board-approved preceptor training program until reapplication is made after the current approval period expires.
- (6) Designated preceptors shall request in writing board approval to conduct an internship for an applicant who has been found not qualified for licensure by the board, based upon 13 CSR 73-2.041. Approval may be granted by the board if the preceptor—
- (A) Is not related to the intern within the fourth degree of consanguinity;
- (B) Agrees to give the intern an opportunity to observe and take part in the managerial tasks of the preceptor;
- (C) Will acquaint the intern with the organization and operation of all the various departments of the facility by permitting his/her observation and/or participation in department activities;
- (D) Will hold an exit interview with the intern upon completion of an internship to point out noted strengths and weaknesses; and
- (E) Upon satisfactory completion of the internship will prepare and return to the board office the mandatory form certifying the completion of the required hours of internship.
- (7) The board, for good cause, may refuse to approve or renew a preceptor designation or may refuse to approve an assignment of an intern to a preceptor.
- (8) A preceptor may supervise no more than one (1) intern concurrently.
- (9) Internships shall be completed within nine (9) months of completion of classroom or other formal instruction unless approved by the board.

- (10) A portion of an internship may be completed in a duly licensed RCF II with sixty (60) or more beds if the intern desires experience in an RCF II. The maximum hours of internship that may be served in such an RCF II are designated as follows. Applicants may complete up to—
- (A) 667 clock hours if 2,000 clock hours are required by the board;
- (B) 267 clock hours if 800 clock hours are required by the board;
- (C) 214 clock hours if 640 clock hours are required by the board; or
- (D) 167 clock hours if 500 clock hours are required by the board.
- (11) Each day of an internship experience shall include at least one (1) four (4)-hour block of time within the primary working hours of the administrator.

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo Supp. 1997.* Original rule filed May 13, 1980, effective Aug. 11, 1980. Amended: Filed April 14, 1983, effective July 11, 1983. Amended: Filed Oct. 16, 1985, effective March 14, 1986. Amended: Filed Oct. 1, 1987, effective Jan. 14, 1988. Amended: Filed Jan. 3, 1992, effective May 14, 1992. Amended: Filed July 14, 1993, effective Jan. 13, 1994. Amended: Filed June 30, 1994, effective Feb. 1, 1995. Amended: Filed May 15, 1995, effective Nov. 30, 1995. Amended: Filed April 30, 1998, effective Oct. 30, 1998.

*Original authority: 344.070, RSMo 1969, amended 1979, 1993, 1995.

13 CSR 73-2.040 Board

(Rescinded August 11, 1980)

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo 1978. Original rule filed March 5, 1974, effective March 15, 1974. Rescinded: Filed May 13, 1980, effective Aug. 11, 1980.

13 CSR 73-2.041 Cumulative Point-Value System

(Rescinded November 30, 2001)

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo Supp. 1997. Original rule filed May 13, 1980, effective Aug. 11, 1980. Amended: Filed April 14, 1983, effective July 11, 1983. Amended: Filed Oct. 16, 1985, effective March 14, 1986. Amended: Filed Jan. 3, 1992, effective May 14, 1992. Amended: Filed April 30, 1998, effective Oct. 30, 1998. Rescinded: Filed April 30, 2001, effective Nov. 30, 2001.

13 CSR 73-2.050 Renewal of Licenses

PURPOSE: This rule describes the conditions and procedures for renewal of a nursing home administrator license according to the provisions of section 344.040, RSMo.

- (1) By April 1 of each year, the board shall mail an application for renewal of license, to the last recorded address on file, to every person to whom a license was issued or renewed during the current year.
- (2) As a requirement for renewal of license, a licensee shall provide the board, on the annual application form for license renewal, satisfactory evidence of twenty (20) clock hours of board-approved continuing education obtained during the current licensure year or carried from the preceding year. A minimum of five (5) clock hours must be in patient-care related offerings, as defined in 13 CSR 73-2.031(2)(A)–(F) and must be obtained during the current licensure year.
- (A) A minimum of fifteen (15) clock hours toward the twenty (20) required shall be obtained through attendance at board-approved continuing education programs or academic courses, as defined in 13 CSR 73-2.031(2)(A)–(K), and must meet the following criteria:
- 1. Be prior approved by the board. In the case of academic courses, the licensee must submit a course description from the college for board review. A maximum of five (5) clock hours per semester hour may be approved by the board. Upon successful completion of the course (grade of "C" or above), an official copy of the grade report must be submitted to the board office as verification of course completion;
- 2. Be offered by a registered training agency approved by the board or a single offering provider (as outlined in 13 CSR 73-2.060);
- 3. Programs held out-of-state, may be considered for prior approval by the board upon submission of the following information:
- A. Evidence that the program has been approved by another state licensure board for nursing home administrators or by the National Continuing Education Review Service (NCERS) under the National Association of Boards (NAB); and
- B. A brochure or other detailed information from the program which must include: offering title, date and location; program objectives; speaker credentials; and a detailed agenda.
- (B) A maximum of five (5) clock hours toward the twenty (20) required may be obtained as follows:

- 1. For the purposes of this subsection, the following definitions shall apply:
- A. Referred publication—a publication that undergoes an anonymous review process that determines whether or not the article will be published; and
- B. National health-care publication—a publication that is—
- (I) Published by a health-care association whose mission statement/bylaws indicate its scope is national;
 - (II) Mailed nationwide: and
- (III) Addressing content contained within the long-term care core of knowledge outlined in 13 CSR 73-2.031(2)(A)-(K);
- 2. Publishing health-care related articles of at least fifteen hundred (1,500) words shall be granted—
- A. Five (5) clock hours if article appears in a national health-care referred publication;
- B. Four (4) clock hours if article appears in a regional health-care referred publication;
- C. Three (3) clock hours if article appears in a state health-care referred publication;
- D. Two (2) clock hours if article appears in a national health-care publication; and
- E. One (1) clock hour if article is published;
- 3. Serving as a registered preceptor for an applicant who has been required by the board to complete three hundred (300) clock hours of internship as described in 13 CSR 73-2.031. One (1) clock hour per full month as a preceptor shall be granted with a maximum of two (2) clock hours per internship; and
- 4. An administrator lecturing at a board-approved seminar may receive credit equal to each hour or quarter hour of presentation time with a maximum of three (3) hours credit earned per licensure year. This credit may be in addition to actual hours of attendance at the seminar but credit shall be granted for only one (1) presentation of the same seminar.
- (C) Applicants who are initially licensed between January 1 and April 30 in any year need only to complete ten (10) clock hours of board-approved continuing education, at least two and one half (2 1/2) of which must be in patient care-related offerings, for their first renewal period.
- (D) Applicants who are initially licensed between May 1 and June 30 in any year need not complete any board-approved continuing education for their first renewal period.
- (E) Licensees making application for renewal of license shall be responsible for filing evidence of continuing education clock hours with the executive secretary BEFORE



the renewal application is approved by the board. The evidence submitted may be subject to audit and review by the board and additional documentation may be requested. To facilitate submission of any additional evidence to the board prior to expiration of licenses June 30, all renewal forms must be completed and received by the executive secretary prior to May 30. Information provided in the application shall be given under oath.

- (F) Up to a maximum of fifteen (15) excess clock hours from subsection (2)(A), of continuing education may be carried forward to apply toward the renewal of license in the following year. However, the five (5) clock hours required in patient-care related offerings described in section (2) of this rule MUST be applied in the current year. Any excess hours will NOT be used to meet the next year's requirement of five (5) clock hours in patient-care related offerings.
- (3) If an incomplete application is received by the board prior to May 30, the board shall grant the licensee a thirty (30)-day extension if needed, effective May 31. If an incomplete application is received by the board between May 31 and June 30, the board shall grant the licensee a thirty (30)-day extension, if needed, effective the date the incomplete application is received. An incomplete application shall not include an application that lacks completion of the continuing education requirements prior to June 30. The licensee shall submit a completed application within the thirty (30)-day period or the board may refuse to renew the license. The notarized renewal application, fee and supporting documentation must all be submitted to the board office prior to June 30 to avoid the late penalty fee of twenty-five dollars (\$25).
- (4) When the required information, documentation and fee are received and approved by the board within the specified time period, the board shall issue the annual license.

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo Supp. 1995.* Original rule filed May 13, 1980, effective Aug. 11, 1980. Amended: Filed Oct. 16, 1985, effective March 14, 1986. Amended: Filed Oct. 1, 1987, effective Jan. 14, 1988. Amended: Filed June 28, 1990, effective Dec. 31, 1990. Emergency amendment filed March 19, 1991, effective April 1, 1991, expired July 20, 1991. Amended: Filed April 1, 1991, effective Aug. 30, 1991. Amended: Filed Jan. 3, 1992, effective July 1, 1992. Amended: Filed June 30, 1994, effective Feb. 1, 1995. Amended: Filed Jan. 31, 1996, effective July 30, 1996.

*Original authority: 344.070, RSMo 1969, amended 1979, 1993, 1995.



MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES DIVISION OF AGING	MISSOURI BOARD OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS
MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES	DIVISION OF AGING
	MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES

APPLICANT NAME		TELEPHONE NUMBER		LICENSE NUN	IBER
HOME ADDRESS					
NURSING HOME AFFILIATION					
NAME OF FACILITY				TELEPHONE	JUMBER
ADDRESS					
	ISTRATOR OF THE				
List the hours you wish to submit for the the attached print out.	renewal of your lice	ense for the year i	beginning .	July 1, 1991, that are	not listed on
SECTION A					
Attach evidence (certificates of attendance correspondence courses, college courses, e TO THE BOARD OFFICE.					
OFFERING TITLE	BOARD APPROVAL NUMBER	SPONSO	R	DATE(S)	CLOCK HOURS
					And the second s
•				:	
				TOTAL >	1
SECTION B				TOTAL	
A MAXIMUM of five (5) clock hours toward	rd the twenty (20) r	equired may be ob	tained as	outlined in 13 CSR	73-2.050(2)(B).
 Publishing articles in national healthcar hundred (1,500) words shall be granted. 	re related publicatio	ns. Two (2) clock	hours per p	published article of	at least fifteen
NAME OF ARTICLE		NAME OF JOU	IRNAL	DATE PUBLISHED	NO CLOCK HRS. REQUESTED
				TOTAL	-
2. Serving as a preceptor for a nursing the PRECEPTOR SHALL BE GRANTED.	nome administrator-	in-training. ONE (1) CLOCK	<u> </u>	MONTH AS A
NAME OF STUDENT		DATE OF PRECEPTOR		NUMBER OF HOURS REQU	
	· · · · ·		, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,		
		TOTAL	•		
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY	СНЕСК NUMBER	MONEY ORDER	CASH	AMOU	INT REC'D.
METHOD OF PAYMENT	J. 2011 110 110 110 110 110 110 110 110 11		OASH.	\$	AT ALOD.

MO 886-2462 (2-91)

 An administrator lecturing time to a maximum of the attendance at the seminof the agenda describing 	three (3) hours nar, but credit s	credit earned per lic	ensure year. This c	redit may	be in addition to	actual hours of	
PRESENTATION TI	TLE	BOARD APPROVAL NUMBER	SPONSOR	_	DATE(S)	CLOCK HOURS	
					TOTAL	·	
Effective February 28, 198 IF YOU HAVE NOT OBTAIL						rior to May 30.	
I plan to attend or content of attendance or conto avoid the penalty fe	complete the m	inimum of 20 clock he courses or seminars.	ours, the application	n is incom	plete until I forward	evidence	
OFFERING TITLE	E	BOARD APPROVAL NUMBER	SPONSOR		DATE(S)	CLOCK HOURS	
					TOTAL	•	
1,						, swear	
that all of the information I	have provided al	bove is true to the bes	st of my knowledge a	and belief	and that all suppor	ting documents	
are attached.							
MUST BE SIGN IN PRESENCE OF N		SIGNATURE					
NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER SEAL	STATE OF	<u> </u>	<u>-</u>	COUNTY (O	R CITY OF ST LOUIS)		
	SUBSCRIBED AND	D SWORN BEFORE ME, TH	IS 19 MY COMMISSION	USE RUE	BER STAMP IN CLEA	AR AREA BELOW.	

NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED)							
Please attach renewal fee of Missouri Board of Number P. O. Box 1337 615 Howerton Ct. Jefferson City, Missouri NOTE: IF RETURNING AF	rsing Home Adm uri 65102	inistrators			PENALTY FFF TO	FALING \$75.00	
TOTAL II HELDHING AT	. LII GOIL GOII	, LEAVE ATTAVIT	THE REMEMBERS	- 445 4	L-VALIFIEL IV		

MO 886-2462 (2-91)

13 CSR 73-2.051 Retired Licensure Status

PURPOSE: This rule establishes the procedures by which a currently licensed administrator may retire his/her license and the procedures for reactivating the license, pursuant to section 344.105, RSMo.

- (1) Any currently licensed nursing home administrator may request to retire the license if s/he has maintained an active Missouri license at least ten (10) years and has retired from the practice of nursing home administration.
- (2) Licensees interested in making application must submit the following information to the Board:
- (A) A fee of twenty-five dollars (\$25) made payable to the Division of Aging;
- (B) His/her original wall license and all other evidence of licensure; and
 - (C) One of the following:
- 1. An affidavit that includes the date on which the licensee retired from such practice and such other facts the Board may require to verify the retirement; or
- 2. Sign the request for retired status that appears on the nursing home administrator license renewal application and return such application to the Board prior to the active license expiring on June 30 of the year of renewal.
- (3) Information provided in the request for retired status shall be given under oath subject to the penalties for making a false affidavit. A sample Affidavit Requesting Retired Licensure Status is hereby incorporated by reference as part of this rule.
- (4) The Board shall issue a new license to the licensee indicating that the licensee is retired once the Board has received the required information and has approved the request for retired licensure status.
- (5) A retired license may be reactivated within five (5) years of the granting of the retired license by filing the following information with the Board:
- (A) An affidavit requesting reactivation of the retired license;
- (B) A fee of fifty dollars (\$50) made payable to the Division of Aging; and
- (C) Satisfactory evidence of the completion of twenty (20) clock hours of board approved continuing education (including clock hours carried forward from the last renewal date), as described in 13 CSR 73-2.050(2)(A) and (B), for each calendar year the license was retired. All clock hours must be completed after the granting of the retired license or completed within the same licensure year the licensee was granted the retired license. The

Board may prorate the required clock hours for any portion of a calendar year as follows:

- 1. Ten (10) months or more, but less than twelve (12) months—twenty (20) clock hours (including a minimum of five (5) patient care hours);
- 2. Seven (7) months or more, but less than ten (10) months—fifteen (15) clock hours (including a minimum of five (5) patient care hours);
- 3. Four (4) months or more, but less than seven (7) months—ten (10) clock hours (including a minimum of two and one-half (2.5) patient care hours); or
- 4. Less than four (4) months—five (5) clock hours (including a minimum of two and one-half (2.5) patient care hours).
- (6) If more than five (5) years have passed since the issuance of a retired license to a licensee, the licensee shall follow the procedures for initial licensure stated in section 344.030, RSMo.
- (7) No person shall act or serve in the capacity of a nursing home administrator in this state or hold himself or herself out as a nursing home administrator if his or her license is retired.
- (8) Retired licensees shall remain subject to disciplinary action for violations of Chapter 344, RSMo and the rules promulgated thereunder.

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo 2000.* Original rule filed Oct. 24, 2000, effective May 30, 2001.

*Original authority: 344.070, RSMo 1969, amended 1979, 1993, 1995.

MISSOURI BOARD OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS Affidavit Requesting Retired Licensure Status

STATE OF MISSOURI)) ss.
COUNTY OF)
I, being of lawful age and first duly sworn, state that on, I retired from the practice of nursing home administration and hereby, (date)
further state that I have maintained an active nursing home administrator license number
for at least ten years between the dates of and and, that
these statements are true and correct according to my best knowledge and belief. I understand
that I cannot act or serve in the capacity of a nursing home administrator or hold myself out as a
nursing home administrator once the license is retired. In addition, I further understand that a
retired licensee shall remain subject to disciplinary action for violations of Chapter 344, RSMo
and the rules promulgated thereunder.
(Signature)
Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of,
Notary Public
My commission expires:

13 CSR 73-2.055 Renewal of Expired License

PURPOSE: This rule describes the conditions and procedures for renewing a license that has expired.

- (1) Any licensee who fails to submit the required application, documentation and/or fee for license renewal prior to expiration of that license on June 30, may be relicensed by meeting the requirements of this regulation provided that the license has not been expired for a period of more than twelve (12) months.
- (2) The licensee must complete and forward to the board office a license renewal application (see 13 CSR 73-2.050), along with the fifty-dollar (\$50) renewal fee, plus a twenty-five dollar (\$25) penalty fee. Satisfactory evidence of twenty (20) clock hours of board-approved continuing education, at least five (5) of which must be in patient care-related offerings, as defined in 13 CSR 73-2.031(2)(A)–(F), must also be submitted with the license renewal application. Information provided in the application shall be given under oath.
- (3) The licensee shall also supply the board with a notarized statement indicating employment status from the point the license expired through the filing of the application for late renewal. The licensee shall include in the notarized statement written reasons as to why the license was not renewed prior to the expiration date of June 30.
- (4) The twenty (20) clock hours of board-approved continuing education must be obtained as described in 13 CSR 73-2.050(2)(A) and may include clock hours as outlined in 13 CSR 73-2.050(2)(B)1.– 4.
- (5) Upon receipt of the required application, documentation and fee, the board may issue the annual license effective the date the late renewal is approved by the board.
- (6) A person whose license has expired for a period of more than twelve (12) months must meet the requirements set out in 13 CSR 73-2.020 for initial licensure.
- (7) Upon expiration of the license, a licensee cannot act in the capacity of a nursing home administrator. To do so is a violation of section 344.020, RSMo and may be grounds for denial of the late renewal application or be cause for discipline of the license.

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo Supp. 1995.* Original rule filed June 28, 1990, effective Dec. 31, 1990. Amended: Filed June

30, 1994, effective Feb. 1, 1995. Amended: Filed Jan. 31, 1996, effective July 30, 1996.

*Original authority: 344.070, RSMo 1969, amended 1979, 1993, 1995.

13 CSR 73-2.060 Registration of Training Agencies and Single Offering Providers

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the requirements for registration with the board for training agencies and single offering providers offering courses of study and training intended to qualify applicants for initial licensing or renewal of license as a nursing home administrator.

- (1) All organizations described in 13 CSR 73-2.010(6) which offer any course of study or program of instruction and training to prepare applicants for licensure as nursing home administrators or for the renewal of license as nursing home administrators shall register with the board.
- (A) These entities shall complete the application for registration as a training agency and submit it to the board along with the supporting documentation required by the form.
- (B) This registration, if granted by the board, shall be established for up to twelve (12) months and notice of this registration and time periods will be made available to licensees by the executive secretary of the board. The registration of any agency may be terminated at any time at the discretion of the board. The agency's board approval number must be printed in all program promotional materials that are approved for nursing home administrators.
- (C) The program shall follow the long-term care core of knowledge areas as described in 13 CSR 73-2.031(2). All approved training agencies must submit to the board office in advance, the following information regarding each program they wish to approve for nursing home administrator clock hours:
- 1. Date, time and location of presentation broken down into specific time periods, topic titles and speakers;
- 2. A program outline including the purpose and content objectives;
- 3. Statements regarding presenter qualifications in his/her particular subject matter area; and
- 4. Number of clock hours requested, deleting time allotted for breaks and lunch.
- (D) If the training agency wishes to approve a program but is not the sponsoring agency and provider, the agency must submit the application for approval of a single offering as described in section (2) of this rule. No

fee will be charged for this process as referenced in subsection (2)(B).

- (E) Thirty (30) days prior to the date the training agency status will expire, the agency must make reapplication if the agency wishes to continue as an approved provider beyond the designated period. The training agency's ability to comply with the board's rules and policies for offering continuing education programs to licensed nursing home administrators will be carefully reviewed during the reapplication process.
- (2) Organizations or persons who do not qualify under 13 CSR 73-2.010(6) but who wish to sponsor education seminars shall submit three (3) copies of the application for approval of a single offering a minimum of forty-five (45) days in advance of the presentation.
- (A) The sponsoring agency and its role must be clearly identified in the application. For first time single offering providers, the organization's mission statement/goals must be included.
- (B) There shall be a separate, nonrefundable fee of ten dollars (\$10) per requested clock hour for each single offering application filed with the board. The education and training unit of any state agency, or a section of a department, will be exempt from these application fees.
- (C) The program shall follow the long-term care core of knowledge areas as described in 13 CSR 73-2.031(2).
- (D) Applications approved by the board must reflect the board approval number in the program's promotional materials.
- (3) The education and training unit of the Missouri Division of Aging, in order to provide topical education which may be of an immediate nature, shall be exempt from the forty-five (45)-day advance notice stipulation.
- (4) The training agency and single offering provider must—
- (A) Record attendance accurately at each presentation, with the use of sign-in/out sheets as needed, reflecting the number of clock hours of actual attendance of each nursing home administrator;
- (B) Submit, within thirty (30) days of the conclusion of the approved program, to the board office a composite evaluation and a roster signed by each nursing home administrator attendee including license number and number of clock hours issued to each licensee; and
- (C) Provide each nursing home administrator written evidence of his/her attendance which shall include: title of offering, date of



offering, number of clock hours actually attended and the board approval number.

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo Supp. 1993.* Original rule filed May 13, 1980, effective Aug. 11, 1980. Amended: Filed Aug. 12, 1981, effective Nov. 12, 1981. Amended: Filed April 14, 1983, effective July 11, 1983. Amended: Filed Oct. 16, 1985, effective March 14, 1986. Amended: Filed Oct. 1, 1987, effective Jan. 14, 1988. Amended: Filed Dec. 4, 1989, effective March 1, 1990. Rescinded and readopted: Filed Jan. 3, 1992, effective May 14, 1992.

*Original authority: 344.070, RSMo 1969, amended 1979, 1993.

4. State the content objectives.

MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES	
Application for Approval	615 Howerton Court P.O. Box 1337
Of Continuing Education 1. Sponsoring Agency/Provider (If sponsoring	Jefferson City, MO 65102
vider are different, please attach the detail	
in item #1 and #2 in the attached Criteria.)	
Person submitting the application	
Person to notify of approval	Telephone number
Address	
Offering Title	
No. clock hours requested Date to be of Adm:PC:	ffered Time offered
No. of times to be offered Place	
City, State	Registration fee
2. Include the names and telephone numbers of members. (At least one member should be a liadministrator.)	
3. Attach the names of the instruction staff A. Experience of each member of the facult	
area, and;	cy related to content
B. Educational qualifications of each member	per of the faculty.

^{5.} Give a descriptive overview of the program including: target population, purpose, DETAILED outline of content including topic titles with descriptions and speakers. Please specify the amount of time allotted to each item in the outline.

isminutes.	cluding coffee breaks and meats
7. Explain how this offering relates nursing home administrator and identif Care Core Of Knowledge" the areas cover	y from the attached "Long Term
8. Describe the content evaluation yo copy of the evaluation tool(s).	ou plan to use. Please include a
9. Explain your agency's system for r tion on attendance records.	ecording and maintaining informa
10. If approved, this agency will issue cate of attendance including clock howNo. If "No", explain.	e to each participant a certifi- ers actually attendedYes
11. If approved, this agency will issu Administrators a complete listing of p of clock hours awarded to eachYe	articipants including the number
12. If approved, this agency will issu Administrators, an evaluation by the partiesNo. If "No", explain.	
DATE Signatu	re of Authorized Agent
Title	of Authorized Agent

MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES DIVISION OF AGING MO BOARD OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS Application for Registration As a Training Agency

615 Howerton Court P.O. Box 1337 Jefferson City, MO 65102

- 1. Agency Name
- 2. Name of Chief Contact Person

Telephone Number

- 3. Agency Address-Street, City, State, Zip Code
- 4. Purpose of Agency
- 5. If Accredited, List Name of Accrediting Body and Date Accredited
- 6. Date Agency Began Operations
- 7. Attach names, titles, experience and educational qualifications of the Education Committee (if any).
- 8. Describe the administrative and organizational structure of the unit which assumes responsibility for educational activities of nursing home administrators. Include names, titles and qualifications.

IF APPROVED AS A TRAINING AGENCY, I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT:

- 1. This agency will follow affirmative action standards assuring equal access to all approved programs for all nursing home administrator licensees without regard to race, color, sex, religion, national origin, creed, age, ancestry, veteran or handicap status.
- 2. Nursing home administrator attendance will be monitored at all approved educational programs.
- 3. A certificate of attendance will be issued to each participant and shall reflect the number of clock hours actually attended.
- 4. A roster of attendees including name, license number and clock hours earned, shall be issued to the Board within 30 days of the offering date.
- 5. A systematic method for recording and maintaining attendance will be kept for a period of two years.
- 6. A method for content evaluation will be implemented for each approved program.

- 7. This agency will comply with all pertinent Missouri laws and regulations as a condition of approval as a training agency for nursing home administrators.
- 8. The programs sponsored/provided by this agency shall be consistent with the criteria for continuing education established by the Board and, shall be of value in developing skills in long-term or related health-care administration while addressing content within the long term care core of knowledge.
- 9. This agency shall provide adequate facilities and appropriate instructional materials to carry out continuing education programs.

I ALSO HEREBY CERTIFY THAT:

- 1. ALL STATEMENTS MADE IN THIS REQUEST ARE TRUE TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE AND BELIEF.
- 2. I UNDERSTAND THAT APPROVAL OF THIS REQUEST DESIGNATES THIS AGENCY AS A REGISTERED TRAINING AGENCY OF CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR A ONE (1) YEAR PERIOD OR UNLESS IT IS REVOKED FOR CAUSE. FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH RULES OR TO MEET STANDARDS, REFUSAL TO ALLOW REASONABLE INSPECTION OR TO SUPPLY INFORMATION UPON REQUEST OF THE BOARD OR IT'S REPRESENTATIVES, ARE CAUSE FOR REVOCATION.

•	
Signature of Authorized Agent	Date
Title of Authorized Agent	

13 CSR 73-2.065 Reciprocity Approval of Continuing Education Programs (Rescinded July 30, 1996)

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo Supp. 1993. Original rule filed April 18, 1990, effective Nov. 30, 1990. Rescinded: Filed Jan. 31, 1996, effective July 30, 1996.

13 CSR 73-2.070 Examination (Moved to 19 CSR 73-2.070)

13 CSR 73-2.080 Temporary Emergency Licenses

PURPOSE: This rule sets forth the procedure for requesting an emergency license and extension and the conditions which must be met

- (1) Application for a temporary emergency license shall be made to the executive secretary of the board. The application shall demonstrate that the applicant meets the requirements for a temporary emergency license as set forth in section 344,030.5., RSMo and shall include the following:
- (A) The notarized signature of the appropriate authority at the facility where the emergency exists and of the person for whom the license is requested;
- (B) The name of the licensed administrator who has died, been removed or vacated the position and the effective date of the death, removal or vacancy;
- (C) A statement as to whether the facility is newly licensed. Newly licensed shall mean licensed, either initially or because of a change of operator, within ninety (90) days prior to the request for an emergency license. If the facility has been newly licensed, the application shall also include a sworn statement from the operator setting forth the reasons why the departure of the previous administrator was not anticipated by the operator at the time the facility was licensed;
- (D) A complete initial application and a fee for the person for whom the emergency license is requested;
- (E) A complete copy of the most recent statement of deficiencies from the Missouri Division of Aging for the facility where the emergency exists; and
- (F) Applications for a temporary emergency license shall be filed with the board immediately upon notification of, or realization by, the person making the application, but in no event more than ten (10) working days from the effective date referred to in subsection (1)(B).

- (2) After receipt and review of the required information, the board may issue a temporary emergency license for a period not to exceed ninety (90) days. The person to whom it is issued is fully responsible for the facility as if initially licensed as a nursing home administrator and shall confirm his/her understanding of this fact in a statement upon receipt of the temporary emergency license.
- (3) A temporary emergency license shall not be granted by the board to an individual to act as an administrator in a newly licensed facility unless clear and convincing evidence is presented which, in the board's best judgement, demonstrates that the departure of the previous administrator was not anticipated by the operator at the time the facility was newly licensed. All individuals or entities intending either to build or become the operator of a facility must be familiar with the laws pertaining to licensure of nursing home administrators and long-term care facilities and take necessary steps to insure continued compliance with the statutory and regulatory provisions before becoming an operator.
- (4) A temporary emergency license may be issued only to a person—
- (A) Twenty-one (21) years of age or over, who is a high school graduate or equivalent and is of good moral character;
- (B) Who had been preceded in the position by a fully licensed nursing home administrator; and
- (C) Who previously has not been denied a nursing home administrator's license or has not had a nursing home administrator's license suspended or revoked.
- (5) Request for extension of a temporary emergency license shall be made in writing and submitted to the executive secretary no later than twenty-one (21) days in advance of the temporary emergency license date of expiration. Upon recommendation of the officers of the Missouri Board of Nursing Home Administrators, temporary emergency license extensions may be issued for up to ninety (90) days. The extension may only be considered upon a showing that the person seeking the renewal of a temporary emergency license meets the qualifications for licensure and has filed an application for a regular license, accompanied by the application fee and the examination has not yet been given. No temporary emergency license may be renewed more than one (1) time.

AUTHORITY: sections 344.030.4, RSMo Supp. 1989 and 344.070, RSMo Supp. 1993.* Original rule filed May 13, 1980, effective Aug. 11, 1980. Amended: Filed Dec. 10, 1984, effective April 11, 1985. Amended: Filed Oct. 1, 1987, effective Jan. 14, 1988.

*Original authority: 344.030.4, RSMo 1969, amended 1979, 1987, 1988, 1989 and 344.070, RSMo 1969, amended 1979, 1993.



MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES BOARD OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

TEMPORARY EMERGENCY LICENSE APPLICATION

THE STATUTE REFERENCE TO EMERGENCY LICENSE IS:

344.030.5 The board may issue a temporary emergency license for a period not to exceed ninety days to a person twenty-one years of age or over, of good moral character and a high school graduate or equivalent to serve as an acting nursing home administrator, provided he is replacing a licensed nursing home administrator who has died, has been removed or has vacated his position. No temporary emergency license may be issued to a person who has had a nursing home administrator's license denied, suspended or revoked. A temporary emergency license may be renewed for one additional ninety-day period upon a showing that the person seeking the renewal of a temporary emergency license meets the qualifications for licensure and has filed an application for a regular license, accompanied by the application fee, and the examination has not yet been given. No temporary emergency license may be renewed more than one time.

THE RULEMAKING REFERENCE TO EMERGENCY LICENSE IS 13 CSR 73-2.080:

- (1) Application for a temporary emergency license shall be made to the executive secretary of the board. The application shall demonstrate that the applicant meets the requirements for a temporary emergency license as set forth in section 344.030.5, RSMo (1986), and shall include the following:
 - (A) The notarized signature of the appropriate authority at the facility where the emergency exists, and of the person for whom the license is requested;
 - (B) The name of the licensed administrator who has died, has been removed or has vacated the position and the effective date of the death, removal or vacancy;
 - (C) A statement that the facility is not newly licensed. "Newly licensed" shall mean licensed, either initially or because of a change of operator, within ninety (90) days prior to the request for a temporary emergency license;
 - (D) A complete initial application and a fee for the person for whom the emergency license is requested;
 - (E) A complete copy of the most recent statement of deficiencies from the Missouri Division of Aging for the faiclity where the emergency exists; and
 - (F) Applications for a temporary emergency license shall be filed with the board immediately upon notification of, or realization by, the person making the application, but in no event more than ten (10) working days from the "effective date" referred to in (1)(B).
- (2) After receipt and review of the required information, the board may issue a temporary emergency license for a period not to exceed ninety (90) days. The person to whom it is issued is fully responsible for the facility as if initially licensed as a nursing home administrator and shall confirm his/her understanding of this fact in a statement upon receipt of the temporary emergency license.
- (3) A temporary emergency license shall not be granted by the board to an individual to act as an administrator in a newly licensed facility unless clear and convincing evidence is presented which, in the board's best judgment, demonstrates that the departure of the previous administrator was not anticipated by the operator at the time the facility was newly licensed. All individuals or entities intending either to build or become the operator of a facility must be familiar with the laws pertaining to licensure of nursing home administrators and long-term care facilities and take necessary steps to insure continued compliance with the statutory and regulatory provision before becoming an operator.
- (4) A temporary emergency license may be issued only to:
 - (A) A person twenty-one (21) years of age or over, who is a high school graduate or equivalent and who is of good moral character;
 - (B) A person who has been preceded in the position by a fully licensed nursing home administrator; and
 - (C) A person who has not previously been denied a nursing home administrator's license or who has not had a nursing home administrator's license suspended or revoked.
- (5) Request for extension of a temporary emergency license shall be made in writing and submitted to the executive secretary no later than twenty-one (21) days in advance of the temporary emergency license date of expiration. Upon recommendation of the officers of the Missouri Board of Nursing Home Administrators, temporary emergency license extensions may be issued for up to ninety (90) days. The extension may only be considered upon a showing that the person seeking the renewal of a temporary emergency license meets the qualifications for licensure and has filed an application for a regular license, accompanied by the application fee and the examination has not yet been given. No temporary emergency license may be renewed more than one (1) time.

MO 886-0522 (12-87)

DA-188 (R12-87)



	e following information m y be issued.	nust be provided to allow	r tuli consideration t	y the boa	ra wnetner a temporary	emergency acense	
1. Where emergency exists:							
,	NAME OF FACILITY			CITY			
2.	The above facility \square has \square has not been licensed within 90 days of this temporary emergency license request, either by initial license or by change of operator.						
3.	NAME OF ADMINISTRATOR WHO IS	S OR WILL BE VACATING THE POSIT	ION	4. DATE TI	HE POSITION WAS OR WILL BE VAC	ATED	
5.	Reason the emergency exists (why the position was vacated before a replacement was secured: resigned, was asked to resign, death)						
6.	6. A complete copy of the most recent statement of deficiencies report (DA-107 and DA-110) from the facility licensure authority, the Missouri Division of Aging, □ is □ is not attached. If not, why not:						
	The current census for w		ency licensed admin	strator will	be responsible is		
0.							
9.	9. I have ascertained that this person is 21 years of age or older, a high school graduate or equivalent and of good moral character YES NO						
10.	☐ It is ☐ it is not plan	nned that this person may	continue as administ	ator after o	exam and licensure.		
11.	The temporary emergence	cy license is requested for	days (may b	e requeste	ed for up to 90 days).		
12. A complete application for licensure is attached along with the application review fee of one hundred dollars (\$100.00). (Please forward the signed application and fee and required documents which are available, expediting the balance of required documents to complete the application.)							
V	We, the undersigned, conf	firm with our NOTARIZEI	D signatures that the	informatio	on herein is complete and	d accurate to the	
t	est of our knowledge. It is	understood that the Miss	ouri Board of Nursing	Home Ad	ministrators may NOT iss	ue this temporary	
€	emergency license and tha	it, if issued, it may be effect.	ctive for fewer than th	e maximur	n 90 days.		
FAC	ILITY AUTHORITY	TITLE	٦	ELEPHONE		DATE	
	JST BE SIGNED IN ESENCE OF NOTARY	APPLICANT SIGNATURE				DATE	
NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER SEAL STATE OF MISSOURI		COUNTY (OR CITY OF ST. LOUIS)					
		SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BE		19			
ļ		NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE	MY COMI EXPIRES		USE RUBBER STAMP IN C	LEAR AREA BELOW.	
		NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OF	RPRINTED)				
MO 8	86-0522 (12-87)						



THE STATUTE REFERENCE TO TEMPORARY EMERGENCY LICENSE EXTENSION IS:

344.030.5 The board may issue a temporary emergency license for a period not to exceed ninety days to a person twenty-one years of age or over, of good moral character and a high school graduate or equivalent to serve as an acting nursing home administrator, provided he is replacing a licensed nursing home administrator who has died, has been removed or has vacated his position. No temporary emergency license may be issued to a person who has had a nursing home administrator's license denied, suspended or revoked. A temporary emergency license may be renewed for one additional ninety-day period upon a showing that the person seeking the renewal of a temporary emergency license meets the qualifications for licensure and has filed an application for a regular license, accompanied by the application fee, and the examination has not yet been given. No temporary emergency license may be renewed more than one time.

THE RULE MAKING REFERENCE TO TEMPORARY EMERGENCY LICENSE EXTENSION IS:

13 CSR 73-2.080(5) Request for extension of a temporary emergency license shall be made in writing and submitted to the executive secretary no later than twenty-one (21) days in advance of the temporary emergency license date of expiration. Upon recommendation of the officers of the Missouri Board of Nursing Home Administrators, temporary emergency license extensions may be issued for up to ninety (90) days. The extension may only be considered upon a showing that the person seeking the renewal of a temporary emergency license meets the qualifications for licensure and has filed an application for a regular license, accompanied by the application fee and the examination has not been given. No temporary emergency license may be renewed more than one (1) time.

THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION MUST BE PROVIDED TO ALLOW FULL CONSIDERATION BY THE BOARD'S OFFICERS WHETHER A TEMPORARY EMERGENCY LICENSE MAY BE GRANTED:

TARREON FEM OTHER ENGINEEROTES	SENSES FERSON		DATE TEMPOHARY EME	RGENCY LICENSE EXPIRES		
REASON EXTENSION IS CONS	SIDERED NECESSARY					
TEMPORARY EMERGENCY LI	CENSE EXTENSION IS REQUESTED FOR	D	AYS (MAY BE REQUE	STED FOR UP TO 90 DAYS).		
We, the undersigned, conf	firm with our NOTARIZED signatures	that the informa	tion herein is comp	plete and accurate to the		
best of our knowledge. It is	s understood that the Missouri Board o	of Nursing Home	Administrators may	NOT issue the extension		
	e issued for fewer than the maximum nii	nety (90) days.				
TEMPORARY EMERGENCY LICENSED ADMINISTRATOR				DATE		
FACILITY AUTHORITY	TITLE		TELEPHONE	DATE		
NOTARY PUBLIC EMBOSSER SEAL	STATE OF MISSOURI		COUNTY (OR CITY OF ST. LOUIS)			
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN BEFORE ME, THIS						
	DAY OF	19				
	NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE	MY COMMISSION EXPIRES	USE RUBBER STA	MP IN CLEAR AREA BELOW.		
	NOTARY PUBLIC NAME (TYPED OR PRINTED)	1				
MO 996-0523 (12-87)						

MO 886-0523 (12-87)

NAME OF TEMPORARY EMERGENCY LICENSED DERSON



13 CSR 73-2.085 Public Complaints

PURPOSE: This rule establishes a procedure for receipt, handling and disposition of public complaints by the board of nursing home administrators.

- (1) The State Board of Nursing Home Administrators shall receive and process each complaint made against any licensed nursing home administrator, or other person or entity, which complaint alleges certain acts or practices which may constitute one (1) or more violations of the provisions of Chapter 344, RSMo. Any member of the public or the profession, or any federal, state or local official, may make and file a complaint with the board. Complaints received from sources outside Missouri will be processed in the same manner as those originating within Missouri. No members of the State Board of Nursing Home Administrators shall file a complaint with this board while s/he holds that office, unless that member excuses him/herself from further board deliberations or activity concerning the matters alleged within that complaint. Any staff member or employee of the board may file a complaint pursuant to this rule in the same manner as any member of the public.
- (2) Complaints should be mailed or delivered to the following address: State Board of Nursing Home Administrators, P. O. Box 1337, 615 Howerton Court, Jefferson City, MO 65102. However, actual receipt of the complaint by the board at its administrative offices in any manner shall be sufficient. Complaints may be based upon personal knowledge, or upon information and belief, reciting information received from other sources.
- (3) All complaints shall be made in writing and shall fully identify their maker by name and address. Complaints may be made on forms provided by the board, which shall be available upon request. Complaints need not be made by affidavit, but oral or telephone communications will not be considered or processed as complaints. Any person attempting to make an oral or telephone complaint against an individual will be provided with a complaint form and requested to complete it and return it to the board. Any staff member or employee of the board may make and file a complaint based upon information and belief, in reliance upon oral, telephone or written but unsigned communications received by the board, unless those communications are believed by that staff member or employee to be false.
- (4) Each complaint received under this rule shall be logged in a book maintained by the

board for that purpose. Complaints shall be logged in consecutive order as received. The logbook shall contain: a record of each complainant's name and address; the name and address of the subject(s) of the complaint; the date each complaint is received by the board; a brief statement of the acts complained of, including the name of any person injured or victimized by the alleged acts or practices; a notation whether the complaint resulted in its dismissal by the board or in formal charges being filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission; and the ultimate disposition of the complaint. This logbook shall be a closed record of the board.

- (5) Each complaint logged pursuant to this rule shall be acknowledged in writing. The acknowledgment shall state that the complaint is being investigated and shall be referred to the board or an appropriate board subcommittee for consideration following the investigation. The complainant may be notified of the ultimate disposition of the complaint, excluding judicial appeals, and may be provided with a copy of the decisions (if any) of the Administrative Hearing Commission and the board. The provisions of this section shall not apply to complaints filed by staff members or employees of the board, based upon information and belief, acting in reliance on third-party information received by the board.
- (6) Both the complaint and any information obtained as a result of the complaint investigation shall be considered a closed record of the board and shall not be available for inspection by the public.
- (7) This rule shall not be deemed to limit the board's authority to file a complaint with the Administrative Hearing Commission or with a court, charging a licensee, permittee or other person or entity with any actionable conduct or violation, whether or not this complaint exceeds the scope of the acts charged in a preliminary public complaint filed with the board and whether or not any public complaint has been filed with the board.
- (8) The board interprets this rule, which is required by law, to exist for the benefit of those members of the public who submit complaints to the board. This rule is not deemed to protect or to inure to the benefit of those licensees, permit holders, registrants or other persons or entities against whom the board has instituted or may institute administrative or judicial proceedings concerning possible violations of the provisions of Chapter 344, RSMo.

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo Supp. 1993.* Original rule filed Oct. 4, 1988, effective March 15, 1989. Amended: Filed Jan. 3, 1992, effective May 14, 1992.

*Original authority: 344.070, RSMo 1969, amended 1979, 1993.

MISSOURI BOARD OF NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

PUBLIC COMPLAINT FORM

In order for our office to process your complaint, we will need the following questionnaire filled out as completely as possible. (Please type or print clearly.) Your Name: Phone: (Home) (Work) Your Address: (Street) (City) (State) (Zip Code) SUBJECT OF COMPLAINT Administrator/Applicant Name:_____ Name of Facility: Facility Address: (Street) (City) (State) (Zip Code) Describe in detail your complaint. ENCLOSE COPIES OF ALL DOCUMENTS RELEVANT TO YOUR COMPLAINT. (Provide as much information as possible.)



Page 2 Public Complaint Form
Have you contacted the administrator/applicant about the problem? () Yes () No If yes, please explain what happened.
Have you contacted any other agency about your complaint? () Yes () 1
If yes, please indicate which agency and its address.
May we provide a copy of your complaint and information to other governmental agencies? () Yes () No
Are you willing to testify in a court of law to the facts that you have stated in this complaint? () Yes () No
BY FILING THIS COMPLAINT, I AM HEREBY ATTESTING TO THE ACCURACY OF THE STATEMENTS MADE IN THIS COMPLAINT.
Your Signature Date
Please return your complaint form to:
Missouri Board of Nursing Home Administrators 1440 Aaron Court P. O. Box 1337 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102 (314) 751-3511

13 CSR 73-2.090 Disciplinary Action

PURPOSE: This rule describes the condition and procedure for disciplinary action, as defined in section 344.050, RSMo, against licenses.

- (1) The board may refuse to issue or renew any certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required pursuant to this chapter for one (1) or any combination of causes stated in section (2) of this rule. The board shall notify the applicant in writing of the reasons for the refusal and shall advise the applicant of his/her right to file a complaint with the Administrative Hearing Commission as provided by Chapter 621, RSMo.
- (2) The board may cause a complaint to be filed with the Administrative Hearing Commission as provided by Chapter 621, RSMo, against any holder of any certificate of registration or authority, permit or license required by this chapter or any person who has failed to renew or has surrendered his/her certificate or registration or authority, permit or license for any one (1) or any combination of the following causes:
- (A) Use or unlawful possession of any controlled substance, as defined in Chapter 195, RSMo, or alcoholic beverage to an extent that this use impairs a person's ability to perform the work of any profession licensed or regulated by this chapter;
- (B) Has been finally adjudicated and found guilty, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, pursuant to criminal prosecution under the laws of any state or of the United States, for any offense reasonably related to the qualifications, functions or duties of any professional licensed or regulated under this chapter, for any offense an essential element of which is fraud, dishonesty or an act of violence, or for any offense involving moral turpitude, whether or not sentence is imposed;
- (C) Use of fraud, deception, misrepresentation or bribery in securing any certificate of registration or authority, permit or license issued pursuant to this chapter or in obtaining permission to take any examination given or required pursuant to this chapter;
- (D) Obtaining or attempting to obtain any fee, charge, tuition or other compensation by fraud, deception or misrepresentation;
- (E) Performing incompetent, misconduct, gross negligence, fraud, misrepresentation or dishonesty in the performance of the functions or duties of any profession licensed or regulated by this chapter (refer to 13 CSR 73-

- 2.095 for a partial listing of those functions and duties);
- (F) Violating, assisting or enabling any person to violate, any provision of this chapter, or of any lawful rule adopted pursuant to this chapter;
- (G) Impersonating any person holding a certificate of registration or authority, permit or license, or allowing any person to use his/her certificate of registration or authority, permit, license or diploma from any school;
- (H) Granting of disciplinary action against the holder of a license or other right to practice any profession regulated by this chapter by another state, territory, federal agency or country upon grounds for which revocation or suspension is authorized in this state;
- (I) Adjudging a person incapacitated or disabled by a court of competent jurisdiction;
- (J) Assisting or enabling any person to practice or offer to practice any profession licensed or regulated by this chapter who is not registered and currently eligible to practice under this chapter;
- (K) Issuing a certificate of registration or authority, permit or license based on a material mistake of fact;
- (L) Violating the drug laws or regulations of this state, any other state or the federal government;
- (M) Knowingly failing to report abuse or neglect of a resident in a long-term care facility, as required by section 198.070, RSMo, of which s/he has actual knowledge that it is abuse or neglect.
- (3) The Administrative Hearing Commission shall have no authority to require issuance of a license, pending a final determination by the commission, in any case in which an applicant is seeking initial licensure.
- (4) No license may be suspended or revoked and no application for renewal of a license may be denied under this section until the licensee has been afforded an opportunity for hearing after due notice as provided in sections 621.015–621.205, RSMo.
- (5) Upon a finding by the Administrative Hearing Commission that the grounds, provided in section (2) of this rule, for disciplinary action are met, singly or in combination, the board may place upon probation, suspend or revoke a certificate of registration or authority, permit or license.

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo Supp. 1993.* Original rule filed May 13, 1980, effective Aug. 11, 1980. Amended: Filed Oct. 16, 1985, effective March 14, 1986. Amended: Filed Oct. 1, 1987, effective Jan.

14, 1988. Amended: Filed Dec. 4, 1989, effective March 1, 1990.

13 CSR 73-2

*Original authority: 344.070, RSMo 1969, amended 1979, 1993.

13 CSR 73-2.095 Standards of Professional Conduct

PURPOSE: The Board of Nursing Home Administrators is committed to high standards of care for the aging population in Missouri nursing homes. To assure that those standards are met by licensed administrators in Missouri, the board provides standards of conduct consistent with accepted standards of the nursing home administration profession. Behavior (acts, knowledge and practice) which fails to conform to the accepted standards shall constitute unprofessional conduct. This rule sets out those standards which must be maintained by the nursing home administrator.

(1) The administrator shall—

- (A) Be held responsible for informing him/herself of the needs of the residents and the needs of the facility and apprise the operator of these needs on a routine basis;
- (B) Be held responsible for the actions of all employees with regard to Chapter 198, RSMo, unless—
- 1. Upon learning of the violation, the administrator attempted to immediately correct the violation;
- 2. The administrator did not sanction the violation; and
- 3. The administrator did not attempt to avoid learning of the violation;
- (C) Establish and enforce policies and procedures to safeguard patient or resident care;
- (D) Establish and enforce policies and procedures for the protection of residents rights, funds and property;
- (E) Establish and enforce policies and procedures for all nursing home rules as stated in 13 CSR 15;
- (F) Not permit or allow another person to use his/her nursing home administrator license for any purpose;
- (G) Report through the proper channels the incompetent, unethical or illegal practice of any health care professional; and
- (H) Devote reasonable time and attention to the management of the health, safety and welfare of the residents of the facility.
- (2) Failure of the licensee to comply with any of the provisions of section (1) of this rule in performing any of the acts covered by the licensure law may be considered by the board

to be conduct which is detrimental to the interest of the public and may be deemed in violation of the licensure law and shall be sufficient cause for the board to pursue a complaint against the offending licensee to the Administrative Hearing Commission.

AUTHORITY: section 344.070, RSMo Supp. 1993.* Original rule filed Jan. 19, 1988, effective April 11, 1988. Amended: Filed June 28, 1990, effective Dec. 31, 1990.

*Original authority: 344.070, RSMo 1969, amended 1979, 1993.

13 CSR 73-2.100 Restoration and Rehabilitation of Suspended/Revoked Licenses

(Moved to 19 CSR 73-2.100)

13 CSR **73-2.105** Disciplinary Proceedings (Moved to 19 CSR **73-2.105**)

13 CSR 73-2.110 Display of License (Moved to 19 CSR 73-2.110)

13 CSR 73-2.120 Duplicate License (Moved to 19 CSR 73-2.120)

13 CSR 73-2.130 Notice of Change of Address (Moved to 19 CSR 73-2.130)