WHEREAS, the emergence of intergovernmental issues including state and federal aid, state arid federal mandates, home rule, and others requires increased communication arid cooperation between the state and local governments; and

WHEREAS, a state-local partnership for problem-solving and planning will be beneficial to both levels of government and to the people of Missouri ; and

WHEREAS, the current arid future shift of federal responsibilities to state and local governments requires the establishment of a cooperative partnership between state and local government;

WHEREAS, the State should exercise leadership in fostering and encouraging development of a partnership between State and local government; and

NOW, THEREFORE, I, JOHN ASHCROFT, GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI, by virtue of the authority vested ii me by the Constitution and laws of the State of Missouri, hereby establish the MISSOURI COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT COOPERATION. The Commission shall be composed of twenty (20) members, as follows: five (5) state officials, who shall be appointed by the Governor; two (2) Senators (one of each party) who shall be appointed by the President Pro Tem, of the Senate; two (2) Representatives (one of each party) who shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives; four (4) municipal elected officials who shall be appointed by Missouri Municipal League; two (2) elected county officials who shall be appointed by Missouri Association of Counties; two (2) local government administrators, who shall be appointed by the Missouri City Management Association; one (1) Director of the Missouri Municipal League; one (1) Director of the Missouri Association of Counties and one (1) Regional Planning Commission Director appointed by the Missouri Association of Councils of Government.

The Governor shall designate one of the members of the Commission to serve as Chairman, and the Chairman shall call meetings of the Commission. The Missouri Commission on Local Government Cooperation is assigned to the Commissioner of Administration, who shall provide staff assistance as needed. Members of the Council shall receive 110 compensation for their service but shall be reimbursed for their actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties.

The duties of the Commission are:

  1. To undertake, as it deems appropriate, research and investigation into issues and problems pertaining to state-local relations.
  2. To function as a clearinghouse for information relevant to intergovernmental issues.
  3. To serve as a vehicle of communication through which state aid local governments can meet to discuss and resolve shared existing and potential problems.
  4. To review and analyze proposed legislation and regulatory changes that affect state and local government relations.
  5. To coordinate the provision of technical assistance to state arid local government in a broad range of program and policy areas.
  6. To perform other such similar services and research as the Commission shall decide upon.

The Commission shall report annually to the Governor on its activities, and on the results of its studies, and shall include any recommendations for legislative, executive, or judicial administrative action to the Governor, the General Assembly, and the Supreme Court. The Missouri Commission on Local Government Cooperation shall terminate on July 1, 1988 unless renewed by an Executive Order executed prior to that date.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of Missouri, in the City of Jefferson, on this 15th day of April, 1985.

[John Ashcroft's signature]


[Roy D. Blunt's signature]

.pdf version pdf file