WHEREAS, the people of Missouri have a vision about the future of our state--a vision of a future that is bright and positive, one which provides opportunities for every Missourian; and

WHEREAS, state government has a responsibility to work in partnership with the private sector to foster the economic growth necessary to provide these opportunities, and to stimulate development of the human resources necessary to take full advantage of these new opportunities; and

WHEREAS, the crucial planning necessary to meet the challenges facing our state requires a coordinated, cooperative effort embracing all aspects of our state; and

WHEREAS, our people can benefit best from a planning forum that brings together Missourians from all walks of life to identify appropriate goals for the year 2000 and to suggest the strategies necessary for achievement of these goals.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, JOIN ASHCROFT, GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI, by virtue of the powers in me vested by the Constitution and Laws of the State of Missouri, do hereby create and establish the Missouri Opportunity 2000 Commission.

I hereby charge the Missouri Opportunity 2000 Commission with the task of exploring the role and contribution of economic development, education, health, and quality of life, as each of these areas relates to the fulfillment of Missourians' expectations and aspirations about the future of our state.

The Commission shall fully recognize and emphasize the leadership role of the private sector in fulfilling the aspirations of Missouri citizens. It shall work to promote improvement in, and better coordination of, private efforts that contribute to the fulfillment of those aspirations, and it shall study the proper role of government in support of those private efforts. The Commission shall give special emphasis to studying job opportunities and training for those who are chronically unemployed; for those who cannot find meaningful employment because of physical , mental or educational handicaps; and for those who may become unemployed due to changes in technology or sociological shifts in the industrial or economic base of our state.

The Commission shall consist of thirty (30) individuals appointed by the Governor. The Governor shall designate two (2) of the members to act as Cochairmen of the Commission. All members of the Commission shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor.

Members of the Commission shall receive no compensation for their service to the people of Missouri, but may seek reimbursement of their reasonable and necessary expenses incurred as members of the Commission, in accordance with the rules and regulations of the Office of Administration.

The Commission is assigned for administrative purposes to the Office of the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State or his designee shall be available to assist the Commission as necessary, and shall provide the Commission with any staff assistance the Commission may require from time to time. All Departments of Missouri state government are directed to cooperate with the Commission, and shall provide such assistance to the Commission as it shall from time to time request.

The University of Missouri shall act as fiscal agent for the Commission. Through the University of Missouri, and consistent with procedures established by it, the Commission may accept gifts and donations of resources, which shall be devoted, solely to the purposes of the Commission, and expended only with the Commission 5 approval. Through the University, the Commission is authorized to enter into contracts with public or private entities for the purpose of receiving federal funds which may be spent for its purposes as outlined herein.

The Missouri Opportunity 2000 Commission shall meet at the call of its Chairmen, and the chairmen shall call a meeting as soon as possible. The Commission shall produce a plan outlining the steps it intends to take to implement its charge outlined herein.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of Missouri, in the City of Jefferson, on this 18th day of December, 1985.

[John Ashcroft's signature]


[Roy D. Blunt's signature]

.pdf version pdf file