WHEREAS, Missouri is home to the most productive automotive industry employees in the country as well as state-of-the-art production facilities; and

WHEREAS, the production of automobiles in Missouri is an essential component of this state's economy; and

WHEREAS, the manufacturing of automobiles in Missouri supports secondary industries including local suppliers of essential automobile parts and products in communities throughout the state; and

WHEREAS, the economic crisis has hit the automotive industry particularly hard; and

WHEREAS, the displacement of a highly skilled workforce threatens the state's economy; and

WHEREAS, technological advancements and innovation can lead America's automotive industry to produce a new generation of high-tech, fuel-efficient vehicles; and

WHEREAS, Missouri's highly skilled automotive industry employees can play a leading role in future automotive ventures.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, JEREMIAH W. (JAY) NIXON, GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the Constitution and laws of the State of Missouri, do hereby create and establish the Missouri Automotive Jobs Task Force.

I hereby charge the Missouri Automotive Jobs Task Force with:

  • Identifying current state economic policies and legislative enactments that help or hinder the development and retention of high-tech automobile production facilities within the state;

  • Evaluating the effectiveness of job training programs, both inside and outside of state government, in preparing workers for the future of the automotive industry;

  • Recommending legislative and policy solutions to strengthen the automotive workforce in Missouri in the short and long-term;

  • Identifying opportunities for future innovation and investment in the industry;

  • Identifying funding sources for implementing any of its recommendations; and

  • Issuing a report outlining its findings and recommendations.

The Task Force shall consist of twelve (12) individuals appointed by the Governor. The Governor shall designate two (2) of the members to act as Co-Chairs of the Task Force. All members of the Task Force shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor.

Members of the Task Force shall receive no compensation for their service to the people of Missouri.

The Task Force is assigned for administrative purposes to the Department of Economic Development. The Director of the Department of Economic Development shall be available to assist the Task Force as necessary, and shall provide the Task Force with any staff assistance the Task Force may require from time to time. All Departments in the Executive Branch of Missouri state government are directed to cooperate with the Task Force, and shall provide such assistance to the Task Force as it shall request.

The Task Force shall meet at the call of its Co-Chairs, and the Co-Chairs shall call the first meeting of the Task Force as soon as possible.

The Task Force shall issue its report and recommendations as soon as practicable, but in no case later than ninety days from the creation of the Task Force unless otherwise agreed to by me.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of Missouri, in the City of Jefferson, on this 13th day of January, 2009.

[Jay Nixon's signature]

Jeremiah W. (Jay) Nixon


[Robin Carnahan's signature]

Robin Carnahan
Secretary of State

.pdf version