WHEREAS, the negative effects of drought are being experienced in numerous areas across the State of Missouri, including among farmers and agricultural producers; and

WHEREAS, I have been advised by the Director of the Missouri Department of Natural Resources that parts of the State of Missouri are experiencing rapidly escalating drought conditions; and

WHEREAS, the U.S. Drought Monitor indicates all or portions of 53 counties are in severe or extreme drought; and

WHEREAS, temperatures across the State of Missouri are anticipated to exceed record heat levels over the next several days, with little precipitation predicted in the weather forecast; and

WHEREAS, early response to pending drought can greatly reduce negative impacts upon Missouri citizens, farmers, and livestock; and

WHEREAS, state and federal agencies have interdependent roles in identifying and mitigating drought impacts that require prioritized coordination and collaboration; and

WHEREAS, the Missouri Department of Natural Resources, Missouri Department of Agriculture, Missouri Department of Conservation, and Missouri Department of Transportation can work together with federal agencies and stakeholders to ensure availability of resources to those most significantly impacted by drought; and

WHEREAS, the State Water Resources Plan established pursuant to Section 640.415, RSMo, authorized the development of the Missouri Drought Response Plan; and

WHEREAS, the Missouri Drought Response Plan provides for intergovernmental communication, cooperation, and coordination of efforts for drought mitigation.

NOW THEREFORE, I, MICHAEL L. PARSON, GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF MISSOURI, by virtue and authority vested in me by the Constitution and laws of the State of Missouri, do hereby declare a drought alert for the counties of Barry, Barton, Boone, Butler, Camden, Carter, Cedar, Christian, Cole, Cooper, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Gasconade, Greene, Hickory, Howard, Howell, Iron, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Laclede, Lafayette, Lawrence, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Mississippi, Moniteau, New Madrid, Newton, Oregon, Ozark, Pemiscot, Pettis, Phelps, Polk, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Saline, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, Stone, Taney, Texas, Wayne, Webster, and Wright.

I further direct that, as additional counties enter severe, extreme, or exceptional drought according to the U.S. Drought Monitor, they shall be declared in drought alert.

I order and direct the Director of the Missouri Department of Natural Resources to activate and designate a chairperson for the Drought Assessment Committee and request that all Missouri and federal agencies participate as needed.

I further direct the Director of the Missouri Department of Natural Resources to promote the use of the Condition Monitoring Observer Reports to better identify statewide drought impacts.

I further direct all state agencies to examine how the State can support affected communities, as well as those communities that may be affected in the future, through temporary suspension of administrative rules, appropriations, or other means of support to mitigate the effects of the drought conditions.

This Executive Order shall be effective immediately and shall remain in effect until December 1, 2022, unless terminated or extended by subsequent order.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State of Missouri, in the City of Jefferson, on this 21st day of July, 2022.

[Michael L. Parson's signature]


[Jay Ashcroft's signature]

.pdf version pdf_sm.gif