Student Involvement

According to state law, students age 15-17 are allowed to participate on Election Day as “Missouri Youth Election Participants” (RSMo. 115.104). These students aid the local election authority and poll workers at the polls on Election Day and must take an oath affirming their duties. Students are recommended by their school’s chief administrative officer and then the local election authority appoints participants for Election Day. 

Many county clerks and election authorities participate in the Missouri Youth Election program.  Some county clerks and election authorities reward their Youth Participants with certificates, scholarships, and recommendation letters for college entrance.

Election authorities in Buchanan County, Carroll County, Johnson County, Laclede County,Lafayette County, Ozark County, Ray County, Taney County, and Platte County all participate in the Youth Election program.  For more information about the program in that county, or to learn how to sign up to be a Youth Election Participant, please contact the election authority in that county by clicking on the county name.

You may also visit this website: /elections/countyclerks to get the contact information for your election authority.