- Research Request
- Links to Local Historical, Museum, & Genealogical Agencies
- Recent Accessions
- Citing Records
- Contact Information
- Missouri History
- About the Archives
PATRON RESOURCE AGREEMENT
Welcome to the Missouri State Archives! You may use the research facilities during our regular and extended hours. To ensure that we continue to meet patron needs, we have developed these guidelines to make your Archive experience a pleasurable one.
Please sign the Archives Guest Register to acknowledge that you have read and understand these policies. Staff members are available to answer any questions you may have. We appreciate your assistance in helping to preserve our collections for use by future patrons.
Sign and complete an entry in the Archives Guest Register. If applicable, list the topic of your research (i.e., Missouri History, Family, Census, Judicial, Legislature, Elections, etc.)
Free lockers are available to store your personal possessions, including purses, briefcases, bags and coats. These items are not allowed in the research room. Archives holdings are legally protected by RSMo 570.210. Locker keys must be returned at the end of the day.
Only paper, pencils, and laptop computers are allowed in the research room. Materials should be supported on the tables at all times. This is to protect materials from damage. We appreciate your assistance.
Food and drink are not allowed in the Archives. A snack area is available on the second floor. Smoking is not allowed in the Missouri State Information Center.
Staff members are available to offer instruction on the use of finding aids and equipment.
The Archives stacks are closed to researchers; closed-stack material is retrieved only by Archives staff. To protect fragile holdings, the Archives reserves the right to restrict patron access to, and photocopying of, some material. A maximum of two boxes of research material is allowed on tables at any time. Patrons may be required to wear gloves (furnished) when using original materials in the reading room. Patrons will be given microfilm copy rather than original documents, if available. Advance request must be made for use of records from the stacks on Thursday evenings, Saturdays, and holidays.
Tracing or writing on original material is not permitted. Do not damage the records.
Patrons may retrieve microfilm in the Microfilm Reading Room. Limit microfilm use to five rolls at a time. The Archives reserves the right to ask patrons to return microfilm at any time. Please rewind the film when you are finished; place the reel in the correct box and deposit in the return basket. Staff will refile microfilm boxes.
Patrons may retrieve reading room materials; staff will reshelve.
Please fill out a Copy Request Form to facilitate copying. Photocopies cost $0.10 per page; microfilm copies are $0.50 per page; photocopies of oversize materials are $1.00 per page. Copy requests must be submitted no later than one hour before closing. Fees must be paid upon completion of the day's research. Copies may be mailed if payment is made in advance.
Archives materials do not circulate and are not available through inter-library loan.