St. Louis Blues


While the Missouri General Assembly was considering a bill that would make the St. Louis Blues the official state hockey team, the franchise won the 2019 Stanley Cup championship. Senator Karla May of St. Louis introduced the bill in May, the Blues won the championship on June 12 and Gov. Mike Parson signed Senate Bill 210 into law on July 11. Though the Blues have been in existence since the National Hockey League’s 1967 expansion, the 2019 championship was the team’s first.


Revised Statutes of Missouri (RSMo)

§10.225. St. Louis Blues, official state hockey team. – The St. Louis Blues is selected for and shall be known as the official state hockey team of Missouri. (L. 2019 S.B. 210 §1)

Revisor’s Note: The St. Louis Blues won the first Stanley Cup championship in the team’s history by defeating the Boston Bruins 4-1 in Game 7 of the Cup Final on Wednesday, June 12, 2019.

approved 11 July 2019
effective 28 August 2019


Photo Gallery:

Click on an image below to enlarge and read a caption. This will open a new window in the Missouri State Symbols Flickr album.

symbols/RG104_TourismB_109_21894.jpg symbols/RG104_TourismB_110_21917.jpg


Additional Resources:

St. Louis Blues official website:

Timmermann, Tom. “‘We Did It!’ Blues Hoist Their First Stanley Cup.” St. Louis Post-Dispatch, June 13, 2019.


Back to State Symbols Main Page